View Full Version : Match Updates St Johnstone vs Hibs

Pages : 1 2 [3]

09-11-2019, 03:46 PM
Booo, May scores for St Johnstone

1-4

09-11-2019, 03:47 PM
Pleased to see that Ron Gordon is watching the game - his first chance to see what this team is really about.

It is. Must have been wondering what he had got himself in to.
He will be feeling he made the right decision to pull the plug on Heckenbottom and Eddie May will get a wee pat on the back.
All good.

thegaffer12
I’ve been one of his biggest critics this season but credit where it’s due, he’s put in a shift. Linked up well with Stevenson down the left and unlucky not to have scored when his effort in the 1st half hit the post.

Cheers! Always a fan of players turning a corner

4-1

Bit of bad defending from Paul Hanlon there, standard.

just couldn't keep a clean sheet :(

Was just thinking, a welcome clean sheet!
😔

4-1

****ing booooo

May Out, Whittaker out, Doidge out, Gordon out

Christian, Christian the Vegan, what a ****ing signing na na na

Mallan for Allan. Horgan for Newell.

I'll take the draw right now

Bad times when May scores against you.

Evening ruined! :grr:

09-11-2019, 03:48 PM
Still no clean sheet in the league since August - May out!

Still time to concede another 3

Mallan for Allan. Horgan for Newell.

For their win bonuses.

Nooooooooooo...

No way they can score 3 more in a minute or two... Can they? ;)

09-11-2019, 03:49 PM
just couldn't keep a clean sheet :(

A Doidge hat trick...there will be no clean sheets tonight :cb

Just a pity we've no game next week. GGTTH

Amazing result today much needed. Don't think anyone of us would have predicted this result. Well done to every man jack and the supporters who's travelled through :thumbsup:

Shocking defending for their goal. Defend like that, then it’s a swift return to the Championship

09-11-2019, 03:50 PM
Still time to concede another 3

Cashing out now!

Wull
we have played great, but that was a very poor goal to give away

FT 4-1

Well done all!

Shocking defending for their goal. Defend like that, then it’s a swift return to the Championship

Unless we score more than we concede, like today :wink:

What a performance!

09-11-2019, 03:51 PM
FT

Not felt like this for a very long time! Buzzing! Well played lads! 😁

Superb. Well done Hibs, well deserved.

Well done the Hibees!! 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

09-11-2019, 03:52 PM
It's good to still be on .net at the end of a game :aok:

Excellent Hibs. Wow this feels good

Well, 3 points for the first time since day 1 - onwards and upwards

Squirrel 1875
First time since Paul Heckingbottom was appointed I’ve enjoyed watching a hibs game and thought we played well from start to finish. Thank the lord that impostor is gone.

Much much better. As always the international break comes at a crap time but the players can leave the pitch with their heads held high. Applause for the fans that travelled as always.

Good result, glad to see doidge get his goals, he has been no where near as bad as folk have made out, hopefully this is the start of some progress but still a fair bit to go

Todi114
09-11-2019, 03:53 PM
On Alba @ 6.00

09-11-2019, 03:54 PM
Just a pity we've no game next week. GGTTH

but the players going into the international break feeling better about themselves.

P.S. Kilmarnock have dropped 2 points to us today.

All good.

Jack Ross to Easter Road in the next couple of weeks and we will be sorted.

Superb. Well done Hibs. And well done Doidge.

Well done lads, well deserved win. Onwards and upwards

09-11-2019, 03:55 PM
Who knew! 2 up front works!!

09-11-2019, 03:56 PM
Well played Hibs. Well worth staying up for.

18Craig75
09-11-2019, 03:57 PM
Doidge deserves his basket of Malbec this evening!

09-11-2019, 03:57 PM
Great result, but Hibs need to stop conceding so many late goals.

gazzag70
09-11-2019, 03:59 PM
Great to have positive vibes back around our club. Well done Eddie May and everyone else at the club, superb performance. GGTTH!

scooby
09-11-2019, 03:59 PM
Brilliant today, just what we all needed.
Well done Eddie, Grant, Whits, players and fans.

09-11-2019, 04:00 PM
Maybe Leanne was right and the summer recruitment wasn’t bad, just a ***** manager!

09-11-2019, 04:01 PM
Great result, was really important to get the three points today, but to do it with some style and so emphatically, should give everyone the confidence to kick on.

09-11-2019, 04:01 PM
Same team to play Motherwell please

09-11-2019, 04:04 PM
Excellent today. No complaints. Naismith and Kamberi the 2 best. Doidge took his chances well, delighted for him.

09-11-2019, 04:04 PM
How many times have we started a game with two up front? Is this the first time?

We played Doidge & Kamberi up front together in 2 of our 4 League Cup group games. It wasn't hugely successful.

SCHAEDYSHORTS
09-11-2019, 04:05 PM
Well done lads, fantastic result & sounds like we played well from start to finish, can’t remember the last time we did that. It was also a pleasure to be on the forum today & read upbeat match updates, it’s been a while as well! Let’s get the feel good factor back!
:flag::hibees

Devonhibs
09-11-2019, 04:06 PM
Dont forget its on Alba at 1800 anaw.

Bob Box Fish
09-11-2019, 04:07 PM
Brilliant result. Onwards and upwards.

09-11-2019, 04:11 PM
Presently in 8th place 2 points off 6th---with a game in hand

What a difference a win makes ah?? Oh and sacking a clueless manager

Pilrig_Sauzee
09-11-2019, 04:12 PM
Well done all. Brilliant result and pleased for Doidge. Hopefully this is where his and the team’s season finally starts in earnest.

09-11-2019, 04:19 PM
How is Newell playing?

Played well, unlucky not to score a couple. Doesn’t look out of place in the team as has been suggested, seems like he was quite vocal with organising midfield too.

Hard not to give Doidge MOTM, but Kamberi was outstanding today.

09-11-2019, 04:20 PM
We played Doidge & Kamberi up front together in 2 of our 4 League Cup group games. It wasn't hugely successful.

Too early to judge in those warm up games.

09-11-2019, 04:21 PM
Great result, was really important to get the three points today, but to do it with some style and so emphatically, should give everyone the confidence to kick on.

Agree! Gives the team a good start to build on now, apart from their goal it was very good, won comfortably, played well so no worries of it being a lucky win.

09-11-2019, 04:27 PM
Jason Naismith was fantastic the day my motm but we put in a great shift although Flo never scored the day he put a shift in!!!

Moan the hibs!!!

kevo1875
09-11-2019, 04:31 PM
Hibs were great today , played at a high tempo , high pressed st johnstones defence , some great balls into the box for the big guy to attack , no bad performances from anyone but kamberi was an absolute stand out...onwards n upwards hibs , well done guys GGTTH

09-11-2019, 04:34 PM
A bit of common sense applied to the team selection and it worked. Positive from the start then positive when we went in front, what a difference.

Flo was superb. Naismith’s best game. Thought Hallberg was quietly effective.

09-11-2019, 04:39 PM
Let's not get carried away with how brilliant we all are on Hibs Net in picking our team & formation. We actually played with less forward players today than in the majority of our games this season. The difference was we played 2 central strikers who it seems complemented each other well. We also played today with no real wide players yet the prior overwhelming consensus on Hibs Net is we need pace out wide. The fact is whatever formation you play you have to make sacrifices elsewhere. You can't play 2 central strikers & Scott Allan & also have wingers. Similarly you can't really play Mallan & Allan in the same team unless Steve M is part of a mid 3 as it was today. The diamond (I'm assuming that's what it was) worked well today but may be less effective against a team sitting in at ER. I'm happier today than for many months but let's enjoy it for now & be truly supportive of the team going forward.

09-11-2019, 04:40 PM
Too early to judge in those warm up games.

Hibs Net didn't think it was too early to judge! 😊

09-11-2019, 04:44 PM
A few key things:

- 2 up top finally, worked a charm
- Mallan dropped, we had far better cohesion
- Hecky gone, he is far away one of the worst Hibs managers I've ever had the displeasure to witness. First game I've enjoyed watching in far too long. An absolute imposter and I'll be laughing at any club who decides to employ him
- The players looked energised and a lot more free to play open football, none of this nonsense having 2 midfielders sitting 1 yard in front of the centre backs

Finally the fans can get 100% behind the players and club

09-11-2019, 04:55 PM
Not long in from work but going by the radio punters we were like night and day, Miller was signing our praises saying we were easy on the eye, good passing football and some good goals.

Sound very much like Heckingbottom's negativity was the main reason we were boring, the players may not be brilliant but they came here with a decent reputation, hopefully a new manager with attacking values can kick them on.

09-11-2019, 04:59 PM
Moan the hibs!!!

Nope, that was last week.

09-11-2019, 05:03 PM

Blatant trolling is against the rules.

09-11-2019, 05:11 PM
Harry Kewell is here. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191109/9ccf0ccde54f6a947824648d4045c9f2.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

So is Uncle Albert.

Still don't think this post received the plaudits it deserves, post of the day! ☺

09-11-2019, 05:13 PM
Just back, game on ALBA [emoji16]

09-11-2019, 05:17 PM

Not trolling in the slightest. Since PH was sacked we've had many posters on here telling us they knew from the 1st game at Stirling that our team/signings/formation were rubbish. I'm not saying they were wrong.

09-11-2019, 05:20 PM
Not trolling in the slightest. Since PH was sacked we've had many posters on here telling us they knew from the 1st game at Stirling that our team/signings/formation were rubbish. I'm not saying they were wrong.

Even though he’s lost his job and we had t won in the months until today?

09-11-2019, 05:32 PM
While today was a good result, there needs to be more use of substitutions.

09-11-2019, 05:33 PM

It is trolling. You’re looking to gauge a negative reaction to your post about the football forum as a whole when everyone seems to be delighted by today’s result. You backed a kipper in Hecky, today proves it completely perhaps time to build a bridge.

H18S NX
09-11-2019, 05:37 PM
Hibs played very well today,thought Kamberi was a stand out.

09-11-2019, 06:01 PM
It is trolling. You’re looking to gauge a negative reaction to your post about the football forum as a whole when everyone seems to be delighted by today’s result. You backed a kipper in Hecky, today proves it completely perhaps time to build a bridge.

I was never convinced by PH & I said it on many occasions.

Potty78
09-11-2019, 06:07 PM
While today was a good result, there needs to be more use of substitutions.

What did u want to see?

09-11-2019, 06:12 PM
wtf was that hendry tackle on porteous all about

and get scott allan to sign a further 2 years extension, i know a player when i see one :)

09-11-2019, 06:21 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed that today. Stand out were Kamberi and Doidge. Kamberi midway through the 2nd half ran down three defender right across their back line which force them to punt and we got possession back. Thats the kind of hard work and attitude we need from him every game. Doidge could have had 5 today, some great finishing.Back 4 never troubled, in fact the full backs were almost playing wingbacks for most of the game.Maxwell is growing in confidence with each game. Porto is just great and gonna be a superstar, he need to learn to not make the simple mistakes, they are the ones that usually cost us. Hanlon was never troubled. The midfield diamond worked well, especially with the full backs pushing up, letting the diamond narrow. Hallberg coasted it, Newel had a good game, not having to push himself out wide he showed glimpses of being a good footballer, totally different to how he has been playing. Slivka was solid and competent, rarely missed a pass but maybe, as he is know to, forgetting that players will close him down, so wasted a few balls that way but nothing crucial. Allan, not his best game, but having him on the pitch for 90 minutes means you a always a second away from a bit of brilliance that will change the game. His goal was excellent, moved past a few players, looked for options, found none and shoots and scores, on in one flowing run with the ball. He can go missing in games for periods but I stick to my opinion above, he has to be on the pitch for the whole match. Even Dallas' shocking lack of cards for the assaults on Porto and Hallberg? didn't upset me today. Big grin on my face all the way back to Edinburgh.

It's great having our team back.

HendoDelivered
09-11-2019, 06:22 PM
Come on the Hibees!

09-11-2019, 07:13 PM
Much better today from the Cabbage.
More of the same please. :aok:

09-11-2019, 07:14 PM
Really pleased to see significant improvement in Newall as well.

09-11-2019, 07:29 PM
Just watched it back

MOM - Kamberi

Doidge - intelligent run for his 2nd, and a soaring accurate header for his 3rd

Allan - another goal from a driving run

The foul by Hendry on Porteous at the start of the 2nd half was reckless.
Took his standing left leg when it was planted.
That's how you put players out for the season.

Good attacking and balanced team selection from Eddie May.
Other than the obvious, he chose Newell over Horgan as well as Allan over Mallan.
Any more than 2 of those guys in the team at any one time and you have a problem.
Don't think anyone on here posted Newell in their team for today.

RMQ1967
09-11-2019, 07:57 PM
Get yer money on St Johnstone.

Hope you didn't lose too much 🤫

09-11-2019, 08:16 PM
Hibs played very well today,thought Kamberi was a stand out.

Outstanding. Naismith has a fine game too.

09-11-2019, 08:29 PM
Just in from a brilliant day oot in Perth. It was a mixed supporters bus today, some saintees and some Hibees and we all got on famously. Great hospitality organised for us, both pre match and post match, this is exactly what a day out at the football should be like. And oh aye, what a brilliant team performance today, each player seemed to know exactly what their roles were and they all worked like Trojans throughout. Now we'll have to return the hospitality when they come to ER in 2020 but that will be no hardship!

09-11-2019, 08:32 PM
Anyone else think Newell played his best game for us today.

09-11-2019, 08:38 PM
Just in from a brilliant day oot in Perth. It was a mixed supporters bus today, some saintees and some Hibees and we all got on famously. Great hospitality organised for us, both pre match and post match, this is exactly what a day out at the football should be like. And oh aye, what a brilliant team performance today, each player seemed to know exactly what their roles were and they all worked like Trojans throughout. Now we'll have to return the hospitality when they come to ER in 2020 but that will be no hardship!

09-11-2019, 08:38 PM

Yip. He fitted in very well to the overall team performance and merited his place.

09-11-2019, 08:40 PM
I was impressed that we were still pressing St. J high up the pitch in the 90th minute.

hibeerealist
09-11-2019, 08:53 PM
Agree with the many posts saying we played very well and naming a few players in particular, Kamberi, Newell etc. I think they all played well and what we seen today was a group of players applying themselves properly, good movement on the ball and off the ball, good sensible passing and more.......

Sorry Paul but this was a performance that they never gave you and it seemed to me today and to others around us that these players must have played the way they did in the last 6-8 weeks in a way that could only result in you losing your job!!

I get the selection was good from EM, formation likewise but the input from the players was so much more than anything previously, it is very true that a manager is only as good as what his players give him.

Great to watch a Hibs team going for it at every opportunity today and just maybe, we might have a decent season after all.

If any of you players are reading the forum well done let’s have more of this.

Unfortunately PH and RS never got this from the players this season at all and they must be wondering why!!

09-11-2019, 09:03 PM
Agree with the many posts saying we played very well and naming a few players in particular, Kamberi, Newell etc. I think they all played well and what we seen today was a group of players applying themselves properly, good movement on the ball and off the ball, good sensible passing and more.......

Sorry Paul but this was a performance that they never gave you and it seemed to me today and to others around us that these players must have played the way they did in the last 6-8 weeks in a way that could only result in you losing your job!!

I get the selection was good from EM, formation likewise but the input from the players was so much more than anything previously, it is very true that a manager is only as good as what his players give him.

Great to watch a Hibs team going for it at every opportunity today and just maybe, we might have a decent season after all.

Unfortunately PH and RS never got this from the players this season at all and they must be wondering why!!

I honestly think Heckingbottom's tactics were very negative and stifled the players, it was shown on a good few occasions when they went ahead in a game they seemed to close ranks and drop deep to hold onto the lead instead of just going for it by attacking more. May has realised this and allowed the players the freedom to express themselves with a more fluid attacking formation and style, maybe there isn't too man bad players in the squad and they just needed the freedom to play the game properly, Heckingbottom's career stats are littered with draws and losses with not enough wins, he's a negative manager.

09-11-2019, 09:08 PM
What did u want to see?

Substitutes used when they can have an impact. Today we have one at 82 minutes and 2 more at 91 minutes. Why bother with the latter 2 when the game is won?

09-11-2019, 09:12 PM
Substitutes used when they can have an impact. Today we have one at 82 minutes and 2 more at 91 minutes. Why bother with the latter 2 when the game is won?

quite baffling :agree: i'm convinced the only reason is to make sure they got their appearance bonus

could be wrong right enough :duck:

09-11-2019, 09:12 PM

Wasting time?

09-11-2019, 09:15 PM

I thought he was decent against st Mirren and done well at Hamilton, today he showed a bit of dig aswell hope he gets a fair crack at the whip and those who seem to have written him off give him a chance under a new manager

09-11-2019, 09:50 PM
Harry Kewell is here. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191109/9ccf0ccde54f6a947824648d4045c9f2.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

Uncle Albert's odds slashed to 2/1.

NC1875
10-11-2019, 07:10 AM

Really ? After a 4-1 win you’re moaning about the time the subs were made ?

10-11-2019, 08:09 AM
Jeff Stelling announced on SSN that a group of guys in Beverley had collected £1600 and were going to head to wherever the team that scores the first goal in the 1500 games comes from, step forward Hibs!

Wonder if they headed up

Marvellous
10-11-2019, 08:24 AM

I doubt he's trolling, there have been a few "told you so" posts over the last week from posters bragging about how they knew in pre-season that his signings weren't good enough.

10-11-2019, 08:32 AM
Wonder if they headed up

Seemingly they do it all the time head to the first team that scores location, brilliant idea 😂

10-11-2019, 08:40 AM
I honestly think Heckingbottom's tactics were very negative and stifled the players, it was shown on a good few occasions when they went ahead in a game they seemed to close ranks and drop deep to hold onto the lead instead of just going for it by attacking more. May has realised this and allowed the players the freedom to express themselves with a more fluid attacking formation and style, maybe there isn't too man bad players in the squad and they just needed the freedom to play the game properly, Heckingbottom's career stats are littered with draws and losses with not enough wins, he's a negative manager.

Absolutely. The Celtic cup game last year clearly demonstrated the PH mindset. We’re well shot of him.

10-11-2019, 11:18 AM
The more i see Scott Allan's goal the more impressed i am

10-11-2019, 11:23 AM
The more i see Scott Allan's goal the more impressed i am

The initial touch to get a wee bit more space was class.

The finish under pressure was really good.

Frankhfc
10-11-2019, 11:24 AM

Levein had the same mindset of negativity as PH. Get in front then drop deeper and sit in to defend it. These managers rarely have successful managerial careers. They're far too rigid and set in their ways.

10-11-2019, 11:34 AM
The initial touch to get a wee bit more space was class.

The finish under pressure was really good.

Yeah all round fantastic goal

10-11-2019, 01:47 PM
Wonder if they headed up

I missed the Jeff Stelling comment. Im assuming the guys will head up for next home game? Would be nice if something could be arranged for them.

10-11-2019, 06:20 PM
I missed the Jeff Stelling comment. Im assuming the guys will head up for next home game? Would be nice if something could be arranged for them.

The gig normally sees you ready to depart as soon as the goal is scored.

10-11-2019, 06:48 PM

Ok, thanks for clarifying.

10-11-2019, 07:04 PM

They’re all sitting about in Beverley (lovely wee place outside Hull) at 3pm in the afternoon and they head right away to the home of the team that scores the first goal? So they’d get to Edinburgh at half 8 that night if they’re ready with a motor running. Not sure how they’d manage if it was Dingwall. Or Plymouth. Genuinely interested.

10-11-2019, 07:14 PM

Are you actually blaming the players for Hecky being sacked?

Do you honestly believe that his influence, team selection and tactics, played no part in the results?

10-11-2019, 07:14 PM
I doubt he's trolling, there have been a few "told you so" posts over the last week from posters bragging about how they knew in pre-season that his signings weren't good enough.

I'd ban anyone who points out people who they think are trolling. Its the equivalent of a player holding up an imaginary yellow or red card to a referee so he will book someone. :faf:

2 or 3 days in after the post, and everyone's at it now. :tee hee:

10-11-2019, 07:47 PM
Don’t think anyone has mentioned the omission of Middleton as well

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

10-11-2019, 07:49 PM

He just offers nothing, no one has noticed his omission, hopefully sent back in January.

10-11-2019, 07:52 PM
He just offers nothing, no one has noticed his omission, hopefully sent back in January.

Canny be, he’s on the front page of the calendar ffs

10-11-2019, 07:56 PM

Expected a lot more from him to be honest, hopefully with a more positive way of playing then we will see a bit more of what he can do. May said that yesterday was the first time he has watched Hibs since Aberdeen at home the last game of last season, he said the team picked was based purely on those who had been working hardest in training, maybe explains why Middleton and Vela were out the squad.

11-11-2019, 08:12 AM
Expected a lot more from him to be honest, hopefully with a more positive way of playing then we will see a bit more of what he can do. May said that yesterday was the first time he has watched Hibs since Aberdeen at home the last game of last season, he said the team picked was based purely on those who had been working hardest in training, maybe explains why Middleton and Vela were out the squad.

I would imagine Murray & Whitty also had significant input to composition of the team. Its entirely possible though that poor trainers were also poor performers on the park.

hughio
11-11-2019, 09:28 AM
Yeah all round fantastic goal

.....and that's me getting a high five at the end of it!!!

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:flag:

11-11-2019, 09:33 AM
We’ve got our team back

Keep it going HIBS