View Full Version : Match Updates The Most Boring Football Team in the World v Hibs

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Man Down Under
05-10-2019, 04:00 PM
We played worse with 1 man up. One hic up and they get the fear, should have dominated.

Sent from my SM-A205GN using Tapatalk

05-10-2019, 04:00 PM
I’ll get slated for this but he isn’t good enough for us. We’ve wasted a lot of cash on him.

No idea why you would get slated, it's fairly obvious.

05-10-2019, 04:01 PM
I guess a point means were stuck with Hecky for longer now...feels like we are stuck on some sort of limbo at moment.

We are crap and he keeps grinding out results to save himself. Must win next 3 league games or surely he has to go

Our modern day Jim Duffy

hibeerealist
Doidge misses another sitter FFS

The manager will take the flack for not being able to defend anone goal lead vs ten men. Arent they both to blame?

He picks the team, if it needs changing he can change it we can’t.

I’ll get slated for this but he isn’t good enough for us. We’ve wasted a lot of cash on him.

League 2 scorer says it all, that's his level, simple as that.

We had absolutely everything in our favour with twenty minutes left and managed to blow it man.

Indeed. We were far from negative today though.

This is like a Hieronymus Bosch painting of hell expressed throough the medium of Hibernian football.

Thinking more Edward Munch's The Scream.

05-10-2019, 04:02 PM
Another frustrating thing about current situation is how bad Hearts and Aberdeen are yet we still can’t beat them or make up points on either.

We have 3 strikers - no CDM and we wonder why we aren’t finishing games off.

We made up 1 point on Hearts.

05-10-2019, 04:02 PM
2 points dropped in watching the game but I’d have been happy with a draw before the game. Just missing the cutting edge. Work in progress

So is painting the Forth Bridge, all work in progress but bloody boring as hell.
He's gotta go.

hibeerealist
05-10-2019, 04:03 PM
Although we should have won that with the amount of chances, and that’s down to the players, I still can’t help but feel heckingbottom is out his depth. We sat deep and let Aberdeen come on to us after they went down to 10. This is when managers need to show a tactical awareness to stop that happening.

You would hope so, still a work in progress (until when - May).

If we're honest after the derby if we'd been offered 2 draws and into the semis in the next 3 games we would have all took it.

Still a sore one though.

Said many times pre-season we are a team of too many draw (under Lennon and PH) - we need four strikers at the club, every single season - we try and scrape by with three due to systems. One day they'll learn and one day we will have a squad with four different kinds of striker.

We are awful to watch and it's a horribly defensive system set up not to lose rather than going for the win. We'll struggle all year under Heckingbottom. The football is dire.

We made up 1 point on Hearts.

Yes but considering how bad they have been this season we are still behind them on goal difference.

Today was a shambles not to come back with 3 points.

They had x2 18 year olds playing.

05-10-2019, 04:04 PM
Our modern day Jim DuffySadly yes.. starting to fear we will never get rid mate

Life as a Hibee is dull and lifeless at moment a bit like watching this Hibs team tbh

Correct. Should have been an easy win. Players need to take that on the chin.

Do you not think heckingbottom should shoulder any of th blame. Tactics cost us after they went down to 10, we sat deep and it didn’t seem like he was changing anything really to combat that.

Why didn’t we sign Shankland?

The boy can score goals.
He was absolutely rank rotten in the game I watched him play last night. Against part to me players as well. Not defending Doidge or the team in general but we are at least creating chances. Sounds like we should have won as well so surely this is an improvement. I'd Aberdeen had 11 men on the park all game would we have been getting so worked up. Most folk would have taken a draw prior to ko and in fact looking at the prediction thread most folk expected us to lose!!

Sounds like the kind of day when the strikers are hoping the defenders bail him/them out.

Still sounds like an improvement based on the number of chances created.

Feels like a defeat rather than a point gained. So damn f****** gutted and angry!

We surely must be the only side that are so stupid enough to sit back with a 1-0 lead against 10 men with half an hour to go! Did we not learn our lessons from the derby a couple of weeks ago?

We can’t seem to score more than 1 goal which is massively alarming!

The boy can score goals.

Doidge scored 34 goals in two years in the English League Two which is a higher standard than the Championship. He gets into the right positions but I feel he's suffering from both a lack of confidence and a real weight of expectation on him right now.

He'll come good eventually but I'm not sure we have the patience or indeed the time to wait.

05-10-2019, 04:05 PM
One point at Pittodrie when it could have been three has to be disappointing, but - truth is - we weren't very good, so it's better than nothing. I wouldn't be expecting too many points from the upcoming encounters on this showing though.

05-10-2019, 04:06 PM
A draw under normal circumstances would be fine. A draw in the circumstances today most certainly is not. Woeful after they went down to ten.

Just stop wasting time and punt Hecky ffs.
Spot on. We always hear the word ‘perspective’ being trotted out after a bad result but it works both ways.

In isolation a draw away to Aberdeen is a decent result but as you say, looking at the bigger picture where we have won a single league game since April and are now 7 games in the league without a win and sitting 2 points off bottom spot, A draw against a team down to 10 men in those circumstances is not a good result in my book.

No doubt those revelling in negativity and enjoying Hibs being ***** will continue to back Heckingbottom though.

CLASS OF 72 -73
05-10-2019, 04:06 PM
A half decent manager has the nous to keep a lead against 10 men. He aint half decent.
Brings on Newell for a holding midfielder. Get shot

05-10-2019, 04:07 PM
i'm looking very much forward to the international break

05-10-2019, 04:09 PM

The boy can score goals.

He wasn’t Vegan enough.

05-10-2019, 04:09 PM
Would Whittaker for Hallberg instead of Newell not have been a better change. Newell from little I have seen offers no defensive cover. Feel sorry for Doidge he will be gutted however we have blown an enormous opportunity today but that happens if you can't score goals.

05-10-2019, 04:10 PM
i'm looking very much forward to the international break

I feel your pain. During the next international break I expect I'll be feeling your other pain too.

05-10-2019, 04:12 PM
Entitled to my humble opinions yes or no. No so sure about being called a plum though.

The fact that you assumed I was referring to you speaks volumes.

BlackSheep
05-10-2019, 04:12 PM
Perfect opportunity to throw Kamberi on and try 2 up top when Aberdeen went down to 10.... Kamberi would have buried those 1 on 1s... what little faith i had in Heckingbottom has dwindled even further that he can’t see these opportunities... his tactics are shocking!!

05-10-2019, 04:17 PM
Spot on. We always hear the word ‘perspective’ being trotted out after a bad result but it works both ways.

In isolation a draw away to Aberdeen is a decent result but as you say, looking at the bigger picture where we have won a single league game since April and are now 7 games in the league without a win and sitting 2 points off bottom spot, A draw against a team down to 10 men in those circumstances is not a good result in my book.

No doubt those revelling in negativity and enjoying Hibs being ***** will continue to back Heckingbottom though.

I really don't think today is the catastrophe people are making it out to be. OK, it might've been poor game management which meant we didn't see it out, but I think the nervy defence and plentiful missed opportunities just point to a lack of confidence. When we do get that win, and it will come, I think things will begin to pick up quite quickly.

I'm certainly still behind the manager, and not because I "revel in negativity".

05-10-2019, 04:19 PM
:music: what's it like to win a game
:music: what's it like to, what's it like to

05-10-2019, 04:20 PM
The fact that you assumed I was referring to you speaks volumes.

ha ha could be ma parania kicking in as my mental health has been pretty low recently, but hey ho have a go big man.

The Tubs
05-10-2019, 04:21 PM
A half decent manager has the nous to keep a lead against 10 men. He aint half decent.

In fairness, I think Hallberg had taken a knock.

05-10-2019, 04:21 PM
I really don't think today is the catastrophe people are making it out to be. OK, it might've been poor game management which meant we didn't see it out, but I think the nervy defence and plentiful missed opportunities just point to a lack of confidence. When we do get that win, and it will come, I think things will begin to pick up quite quickly.

I'm certainly still behind the manager, and not because I "revel in negativity".

He has to go and go soon.

05-10-2019, 04:22 PM

There were better alternatives that Newall to replace Hallberg

05-10-2019, 04:22 PM
ha ha could be ma parania kicking in as my mental health has been pretty low recently, but hey ho have a go big man.

Im sorry to hear that, hope you feel better soon.

The Tubs
05-10-2019, 04:23 PM

This may be true.

05-10-2019, 04:23 PM
Im sorry to hear that, hope you feel better soon.

Thanks and I may start feeling better when Hecky goes.

05-10-2019, 04:24 PM

Whittaker surely?? He was everyone's pick as MOTM last week, coming on to firm up a defence when needed. Its almost like PH hates choosing the obvious option.

05-10-2019, 04:25 PM
Whittaker surely?? He was everyone's pick as MOTM last week, coming on to firm up a defence when needed. Its almost like PH hates choosing the obvious option.

Or he thinks that the game is done and can get another of his signings on the park??

Would have been SW for me

05-10-2019, 04:28 PM
Perfect opportunity to throw Kamberi on and try 2 up top when Aberdeen went down to 10.... Kamberi would have buried those 1 on 1s... what little faith i had in Heckingbottom has dwindled even further that he can’t see these opportunities... his tactics are shocking!!

The failure to at least try to turn the screw on an Aberdeen side down to ten men, in a poor run of form and lacking in confidence speaks to either spectacular timidity or a brutal lack of awareness of game management.

Some managers seem to be able to make average players into good ones and good players into excellent ones. PH seems to be able to make most players into average ones.

05-10-2019, 04:31 PM

Kamberis shocking miss late on suggests hes not on top scoring form himself.

05-10-2019, 04:34 PM

In fairness to Kamberi he did not have the luxury of an hour and a half's game time he has not played in a wee while.
The Doige one can have no such excuses.

05-10-2019, 04:34 PM
Doidge scored 34 goals in two years in the English League Two which is a higher standard than the Championship. He gets into the right positions but I feel he's suffering from both a lack of confidence and a real weight of expectation on him right now.

He'll come good eventually but I'm not sure we have the patience or indeed the time to wait.

Is it??? They will undoubtably be paid more on average but it's a league bursting with mediocre cloggers. As it goes Doidge has ably demonstrated a lack of finesse which is commonplace down in the depths of English football. I really hope he does turn a corner and starts to bang them in, but from what I've seen Doidge simply does not have the skill levels - the raw ability - to get into double figures at SPL level.

05-10-2019, 04:36 PM

:agree: and for the second week on the trot ... perplexing

05-10-2019, 04:42 PM
In fairness to Kamberi he did not have the luxury of an hour and a half's game time he has not played in a wee while.
The Doige one can have no such excuses.

Flo's had two substitute appearances recently. Prior to that he started in the Derby, failed to score, lost the game, and had two full games against the might of Killie and Motherwell, also failed to score and we lost both.

05-10-2019, 04:44 PM
Flo's had two substitute appearances recently. Prior to that he started in the Derby, failed to score, lost the game, and had two full games against the might of Killie and Motherwell, also failed to score and we lost both.

OK then granted the Doige one should be playing ahead of Flo, where the hell does that leave us.

05-10-2019, 04:45 PM
So is painting the Forth Bridge, all work in progress but bloody boring as hell.
He's gotta go.

They dinnae need to do that anymore. 😉

05-10-2019, 04:46 PM
OK then granted the Doige one should be playing ahead of Flo, where the hell does that leave us.

It's Ollie time.

"The most boring football team in the world v the other most boring football team in the world"

We need a "James Keatings" type player

05-10-2019, 04:49 PM
They dinnae need to do that anymore. 😉

Oh it still needs painted just not so often. Do you think that one covering lasts a lifetime.

hibeerealist
The

Weight of expectation - FFS we are not expecting a hatrick, although it should have been today, just score a f kn goal the guy is pants.

And what has Doidge done?

05-10-2019, 04:50 PM
It's Ollie time.

Am still no going back while he is at E.R. my choice.

05-10-2019, 04:50 PM
What pisses me off right now are the posters who are accusing those of us who are unhappy as somehow wanting us to lose. Im absolutely sickened by how this season is panning out , im absolutely gutted and i spend fortunes supporting Hibs , keep my mouth shut at the games but come on here to give a fair opinion . Right now i see next to no positives to take and our manager is a complete flop simple as that

05-10-2019, 04:52 PM
What pisses me off right now are the posters who are accusing those of us who are unhappy as somehow wanting us to lose. Im absolutely sickened by how this season is panning out , im absolutely gutted and i spend fortunes supporting Hibs , keep my mouth shut at the games but come on here to give a fair opinion . Right now i see next to no positives to take and our manager is a complete flop simple as that

Oh so right but we have no right to complain it's just Hibs.

I retain my position since the summer.

Heckingbottom out.

Oh it still needs painted just not so often. Do you think that one covering lasts a lifetime.

I knew that would be the response, I just couldn't be arsed typing it only needs to be done every 25 years now.

05-10-2019, 04:53 PM
I knew that would be the response, I just couldn't be arsed typing it only needs to be done every 25 years now.

Yawn!

05-10-2019, 04:54 PM
Yawn!

Bed time for you? 👍

05-10-2019, 04:56 PM
Bed time for you? 👍

Ha ha you could be right it sure aint Hecky-time

05-10-2019, 04:57 PM
Ha ha you could be right it sure aint Hecky-time

I concur.

05-10-2019, 04:59 PM
Am still no going back while he is at E.R. my choice.

You aren't going back to ER because Ollie Shaw is still a squad player? Is this right?

05-10-2019, 05:00 PM

And Heckinbottom 2 must have suffered One to the head if he thinks Newell can ever replace anyone who can actually keep a position and stop the opposition by closing down and tackling.

****in clueless.

05-10-2019, 05:01 PM
And what has Doidge done?

What gave you the impression that I thought Doidge had been a massive success?

BlackSheep
05-10-2019, 05:01 PM

He’s hardly played for a month, had only a few touches and you expect top form?

05-10-2019, 05:04 PM
You aren't going back to ER because Ollie Shaw is still a squad player? Is this right?

No just while hecky is there, I happen to think that Shaw has potential and would show up even better with a good experienced No 9 alongside him for a season or so.

Oh so right but we have no right to complain it's just Hibs.

Eh?

BlackSheep
The failure to at least try to turn the screw on an Aberdeen side down to ten men, in a poor run of form and lacking in confidence speaks to either spectacular timidity or a brutal lack of awareness of game management.

Some managers seem to be able to make average players into good ones and good players into excellent ones. PH seems to be able to make most players into average ones.

He has consistently done this all season, we take the lead and instead of turning the screw we have sat back and probed, whilst letting teams come at us... against hearts it was corner after corner until we broke and the same happened today... St Johnstone as well... to happen consistently it’s posts to poor management... it’s his tactics and they’re crap!!

He came in when we need to steady the ship and those tactics worked to do that, he had the summer to create a team that we have been familiar with the past few seasons, and exciting, fast and attractive football team.

Get him out before it’s too late.

Squirrel 1875
05-10-2019, 05:06 PM
Well, that was absolutely dreadful. Brutal finishing from Doidge, but to sit back like that when they’re down to ten man and just invite pressure is rubbish. I’m sure I’ll take the usual flack from the usual suspects about how “I’m revelling” in all this but I’m genuinely gutted after that. We needed that win so bad, but as per Heckingbottom doesn’t make the right calls at the important times. Newell for Hallberg when Whittaker is on the bench? Doidge had to walk after the second sitter, or, put a second man up top to retain possession up that end of the park as we’re playing ten men. Shockers. Time was up weeks ago.

05-10-2019, 05:07 PM

Eh? He started the Derby on the 25th, two weeks ago, and played in the two defeats before that. He's been given plenty of game time and failed to find the net consistently.

05-10-2019, 05:10 PM
Eh?

To explain we should not complain on here when our team is pish and has been for a wee while now, anyone seen doing such will be frowned apon on even termed a dirty jamboid spy type.
I have been watching the Hibs for close to 60 years and when they are crap I will say they are crap and when they are good I will heap praise but this shower and manager no.
Seen it all before and they need to get rid as soon as.

05-10-2019, 05:10 PM

Seriously? He's been rotten for months apart from a wee spell that coincided with interest from some Swiss team.

05-10-2019, 05:14 PM
To explain we should not complain on here when our team is pish and has been for a wee while now, anyone seen doing such will be frowned apon on even termed a dirty jamboid spy type.
I have been watching the Hibs for close to 60 years and when they are crap I will say they are crap and when they are good I will heap praise but this shower and manager no.
Seen it all before and they need to get rid as soon as.

Agreed.. 👍

BlackSheep
05-10-2019, 05:15 PM
Eh? He started the Derby on the 25th, two weeks ago, and played in the two defeats before that. He's been given plenty of game time and failed to find the net consistently.

The point I was making was not to expect a player to come on after sitting out the last few matches and expect magic!

BlackSheep
05-10-2019, 05:18 PM
Kamberi should’ve been on at 60 mins to capitalise on our man advantage, tire them out chasing two strikers.

Then it should have been Whittaker on to defend the lead for the last 10.

Heckingbottom has not got a clue.

Robbo6-2
05-10-2019, 07:01 PM
James was good

Maxwell solid

Porto excellent mom

Hanlon and Lewy decent

Allan ok in patches

Hallberg very good.

The rest, absolutely pathetic.

Subs very poor. Said it before, we sign a Rangers youngster on loan who is no better than our own. Fraser Murray is better than Horgan, Mallan, Middelton,Newell
It genuinely amazes me he cant get in this side never mind the squad.

I counted how many touches Vela got in the first half. 4 times and each time he turned back. Thats right our centre mid touched it 4 times and gave away 1 free kick. Is there even been a more ineffectual footballer in the history of our club.

06-10-2019, 02:10 PM
1 league win in 8. He has to go now surely?

It’s when you see what Motherwell are doing and even Livingstone Given turnover in playing staff they had
We never seem to make our extra income than these teams count and it’s got to be down to two factors or combination of
1 Recruitment
2 ) Manager Managing ,and getting best out of players , finding a style of play and Managing games Coaching etc
While the three draws have stopped our losing streak , We look no nearer to winning a game because of the above

The games against Ross County and and Hamilton are now crucial to win or we are stuck in bottom three and perilously near the bottom by end of October and you would then need to ask what will change
But am confident we can win them if we can score more and that’s where I am at a loss as to what he can do now unless he gives Shaw a few games to see if that is the answer and brings Fraser Murray off the Bench instead of Newell