27-11-2019, 11:17 AM
The luck is now going his way.
27-11-2019, 11:19 AM
Joe Newell though. [emoji102]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
27-11-2019, 11:26 AM
He does put himself about well and brings others into play but he’s not a natural finisher. He’s getting a few breaks he wasn’t getting before hopefully it continues.
27-11-2019, 12:07 PM
Christian Doidge, Doidge, Doidge
Hibiza
27-11-2019, 12:17 PM
Le
wandoidgeski😀
27-11-2019, 12:19 PM
I am the only one left who still thinks he's a huddy? :dunno::greengrin
No. :greengrin But he's our huddy!
27-11-2019, 12:21 PM
Doidgey...
To the tune of ‘Good Enough’ by Dodgy (get it? :wink:)
Doidgey’s good enough for us, he’s good enough for me
When he scores one, he’s likely to get three
Dah Dah Dah Dah Dah
I’ll get my coat :greengrin
27-11-2019, 12:31 PM
He does put himself about well and brings others into play but he’s not a natural finisher. He’s getting a few breaks he wasn’t getting before hopefully it continues.
Most, if not all, of the 'natural finishers' get all sorts of goals and a fair proportion that go in off something or connections that weren't meant exactly the way they end up. Getting in there is the main thing.
27-11-2019, 12:51 PM
Most, if not all, of the 'natural finishers' get all sorts of goals and a fair proportion that go in off something or connections that weren't meant exactly the way they end up. Getting in there is the main thing.
I agree natural finishers get all sorts of goals unfortunately he’s not one of them. His work rate is great and he brings others into the game and he will get some goals I just don’t see him scoring lots of league goals. I hope I’m wrong and he’s 20+ goals
27-11-2019, 01:03 PM
He was getting pelters when he was playing crap and now he's getting praise for playing well.
Could probably say the same for every player that ever played the game!
27-11-2019, 01:12 PM
I agree natural finishers get all sorts of goals unfortunately he’s not one of them. His work rate is great and he brings others into the game and he will get some goals I just don’t see him scoring lots of league goals. I hope I’m wrong and he’s 20+ goals
I thought his goals in the league cup were very calm finishes and showed huge promise.
Pittodrie was a horror show, but what he has proven of late is that he is capable of getting into good positions to score, which is half the battle. It's nice when you see a cleanly hit shot into the corner but in truth, sometimes the sclaffs are as effective and the ugly finishes recently have counted for as many as the good finishes.
The header at St Johnstone was a cracking finish, and we've not had many strikers in recent years capable of scoring those.
His all round play has been good and that has been solid for a good 8 games or so in a row now.
I like him, he's doing well.
27-11-2019, 01:19 PM
He was getting pelters when he was playing crap and now he's getting praise for playing well.
Exactly, he was pish for ages and has now come onto a game that i clearly saw he was capable of from the very beginning.
Percy Vere
27-11-2019, 01:20 PM
So pleased he is finding the net, complete monkey off his back and fans off it as well 👏
Absolutely
I rallied hard in here for a lot of PHs signings and got quite a bit of flack for it. So great to see them coming good.
27-11-2019, 01:22 PM
He’s sitting on 5 league goals now so should be getting 12-15 minimum.
He’ll keep scoring if he keeps getting in to the box. His 5 goals in the league have a combined distance of about 20 yards. No coincidence that, since he started spending a bit more time there, he’s started scoring.
27-11-2019, 01:23 PM
It's obvious he isn't a lone striker, much like Flo isn't. We don't really have the midfield capable of supporting either in the final third properly.
It's no surprise that all his goals atm have come with Flo being around him. Even last night when we went 4-3-3 for a short period he looked a bit isolated, then Boyle we moved up front beside him and he was getting into the positions for cut-backs/crosses when we slipped Boyle in behind.
Delighted that we seem to be able to score goals again.
27-11-2019, 01:26 PM
Pleased that playing alongside Flo is working now and that should save us some money in January although I still think we need another striking option. Shaw needs to go out on loan as well so probably two strikers required.
27-11-2019, 01:43 PM
Pleased that playing alongside Flo is working now and that should save us some money in January although I still think we need another striking option. Shaw needs to go out on loan as well so probably two strikers required.
To be honest I'd be happy to let Shaw go out on loan and then just bring in another loanee ourselves from down south that could prove a different option. Flo, Doidge, Boyle are probably the first choice strikers and I don't see us really getting anyone better than them, not because they're amazing but because January is a hard time to find a striker that will come in and hit the ground running. I'd rather if we had a young striker sitting on the bench most week it would be someone else's while ours goes out and plays to get more experience before coming back in the summer ready to fight for a place hopefully.
27-11-2019, 02:54 PM
I am the only one left who still thinks he's a huddy? :dunno::greengrin
Come back in a year and ask again! He'll either be "a legend" or he'll be hacking it at Cheltenham or Rochdale or summat.
I don't think his general play was back but more his striking ability was brutal, some of his misses were laughable, he seems to have his confidence back and scoring now.
To be honest I'd be happy to let Shaw go out on loan and then just bring in another loanee ourselves from down south that could prove a different option. Flo, Doidge, Boyle are probably the first choice strikers and I don't see us really getting anyone better than them, not because they're amazing but because January is a hard time to find a striker that will come in and hit the ground running. I'd rather if we had a young striker sitting on the bench most week it would be someone else's while ours goes out and plays to get more experience before coming back in the summer ready to fight for a place hopefully.
If Shaw goes on loan I'd like to see us bring in another Boyle type striker, someone with pace and a wee bit strength, someone who can worry defenders.
27-11-2019, 03:58 PM
I don't think his general play was back but more his striking ability was brutal, some of his misses were laughable, he seems to have his confidence back and scoring now.
If Shaw goes on loan I'd like to see us bring in another Boyle type striker, someone with pace and a wee bit strength, someone who can worry defenders.
Yeah or perhaps another Grant Holt type option of experience.
27-11-2019, 03:59 PM
Come back in a year and ask again! He'll either be "a legend" or he'll be hacking it at Cheltenham or Rochdale or summat.
Yeah, where he'll suddenly become a scoring sensation. :rolleyes:
He does seem to work hard and get in the right areas but of his 5 goals:
1. v St J, woeful effort, very lucky rebound
2. v St J, excellent flicked finish
3. v St J, good header
4. v Well, woeful effort, very lucky deflection
5. v St M, probably ok-ish, but unlikely to trouble the keeper, header, very lucky deflection
I guess you could say you make your own luck but for me the jury is still very firmly out. I would not be at all surprised if he goes on another longish drought.
HFC93
27-11-2019, 04:08 PM
3. v St J, good header
5. v St M, probably ok-ish, but unlikely to trouble the keeper, header, very lucky deflection
I guess you could say you make your own luck but for me the jury is still very firmly out. I would not be at all surprised if he goes on another longish drought.
Ugly goals count the same as Mallanesque screamers.
27-11-2019, 04:09 PM
3. v St J, good header
He won’t if he keeps getting in to those positions. When you’re only a few yards out you don’t need to do very much other than direct the ball towards the goals. A scruffy goal is a goal.
27-11-2019, 04:19 PM
Ugly goals count the same as Mallanesque screamers.
We can't rely on either of these types of goals
27-11-2019, 04:23 PM
He won’t if he keeps getting in to those positions. When you’re only a few yards out you don’t need to do very much other than direct the ball towards the goals. A scruffy goal is a goal.
I hope you're right, This is what worries me though:
https://youtu.be/ESRkG4xOIRs?t=237
A striker brimming with the confidence of 4 goals in the last 2 games tucks that calmly into the far post corner. He's had umpteen chances like this and most of them end up bouncing off the keeper.
27-11-2019, 04:58 PM
We can't rely on either of these types of goals
What type can you rely on?
mcfly
27-11-2019, 05:10 PM
3. v St J, good header
I was very critical of the guy when he wasn’t scoring...
but your post means he just cannot win. A goal is a goal. I don’t care if he gets lucky. He was in the right place at right time.
Give him a break - he’s a striker scoring goals. 🤦*♂️
heidtheba
27-11-2019, 05:20 PM
Personally I'd be delighted if he scored a couple of scrappy goals each game. Another point, just how many derbies have we lost/drawn due to some Hertz player scoring some ridiculously flukey/dire/scuffed/deflected or otherwise unworthy goal? Too many for my liking.
I'd love a Doidge ugly goal against that lot!
27-11-2019, 05:23 PM
but your post means he just cannot win. A goal is a goal. I don’t care if he gets lucky. He was in the right place at right time.
I'm still in the 'Big Huddie' camp, re Doidge, but a big Huddie scoring fairly regularly is an asset.
Who knows how it's going to pan out in the long term but I'm just enjoying his goals for now.
27-11-2019, 05:24 PM
Exactly this, what’s the point in dissecting the guys goals.
Fancy him to get another on Saturday now
27-11-2019, 05:32 PM
Exactly this, what’s the point in dissecting the guys goals.
Fancy him to get another on Saturday now
Me too. Hope he scuffs one in while sitting on his arse - AmaDoidge Konte.
27-11-2019, 05:35 PM
His goals have taken us from Relegation candidates to top six position this taking a lot of pressure of The New ManagerHowever all scoring streaks come to an end and hope it’s not going to be famine feast famine
27-11-2019, 05:48 PM
His goals have taken us from Relegation candidates to top six position this taking a lot of pressure of The New ManagerHowever all scoring streaks come to an end and hope it’s not going to be famine feast famine
We are potent in attack. Allan is capable. Mallan. Boyle. Horgan. They all need to chip in and will. Kamberi needs to keep getting in amongst the goals. Doidge doesn't have to do it on his own and every striker in the world can have a lean spell. As long as he has confidence that he's doing the right things and belief that his teammates will provide chances then he will get goals.
27-11-2019, 06:30 PM
He might have had more goals had hecky played 2 up front
I just don’t get it...
The guy was getting criticised for not scoring and missing chances etc. He’s now scoring and he’s getting criticised for how he scores them.
WTF.
Frankly I don’t really give a damn how he scores them as long as they cross the line!
The boy cannae win!
27-11-2019, 06:38 PM
What type can you rely on?
A striker who can clinically put away good chances
Lucky deflections and long range wondergoals are part of the game but few footballers are going to get 15+ of these in a season
Dunno why people need to turn everything into a pointless debate lol, the point is that we shouldn't get carried away because he's not proved himself to be a clinical striker just yet
27-11-2019, 06:50 PM
A striker who can clinically put away good chances
Lucky deflections and long range wondergoals are part of the game but few footballers are going to get 15+ of these in a season
Dunno why people need to turn everything into a pointless debate lol, the point is that we shouldn't get carried away because he's not proved himself to be a clinical striker just yetSo what were his 2nd and 3rd goal at St Johnstone?
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
We signed him for a hefty fee, hurrah hurrah
To play up front with Kamberi, hurrah hurrah
He terrorises centre backs
And ruins people’s FIFA packs
Christian Doidge, Hibernians number nine!
27-11-2019, 07:17 PM
So what were his 2nd and 3rd goal at St Johnstone?
Those are just 2 *decent* goals in what has been about 4 months worth of time.
I don't want to jump on the guys back because goals are goals and I'm just glad he's scoring them and his overall play is starting to look better now he has a bit of confidence back and a striker partner.
But some of the points brought up are accurate in that a bulk of his goals at the moment have had a slice of luck to go with them. While you do at times make your own luck it won't last forever. That's when the talent will have to shine through, which only time will tell if he has enough of it.
Someone linked to a finish earlier from the Motherwell game where he hits it straight at the keeper where most successful strikers would have picked the spot in the bottom corner with relative ease and to be honest the situation doesn't look far off his first goal against St Johnstone where he gets the slice of luck for it to bounce back to his feet.
He won't always get second bites at the same chances or deflections to help it past the keeper. And he won't always get 3/4 golden chances to score/set up a goal in a game like he did in Aberdeen. There will come games where he gets just 1 opportunity to grab us a winner or equaliser and the jury is still out on if he has it in him to be backed in that situation. But at least for now he's hopefully starting to get his confidence back for when those situations do come.
27-11-2019, 07:17 PM
He got up well last night to get his head on that. The cross was arguably just a wee bit high and he got a good leap and connected with the ball.
Did he get a bit fortunate that it came off the defender? Yes. However he was in a good position, got up well, got a header towards goal and with a wee bit of luck it hit the net.
No idea why there is a problem really.
27-11-2019, 07:23 PM
Lucky goals or not what he brings to the team with hold up play and getting in dangerous positions is signs of a really good player . He’s thriving with 2 up front long may it continue
27-11-2019, 08:00 PM
He may not be a natural finisher but he’s going to get us regular goals due to the positions he take up.
I despair reading comments like ‘still a big huddie’- he never was that. He’s a good player and the type we’ve been lacking for a long time.
I hope he gets many more messy goals. Very few players get lots of them for a reason.
27-11-2019, 08:02 PM
3. v St J, good header
No, I think these goals will give him confidence and he'll finish more emphatically in the future.
27-11-2019, 08:17 PM
Watching his interview on Hibs TV with Mallan post match, get the impression Doidge is a very popular player in the changing room
Orchard_Hibs
27-11-2019, 08:27 PM
People criticising doidge’s goals for being scrappy need to have a look at pippo inzaghi highlights reel, one of the all time greats at goal scoring.
I think I even read once that pirlo used to aim his free kicks at pippo as they would end up in the back of the net more times than not if they deflected off him.
27-11-2019, 08:38 PM
People criticising doidge’s goals for being scrappy need to have a look at pippo inzaghi highlights reel, one of the all time greats at goal scoring.
I think I even read once that pirlo used to aim his free kicks at pippo as they would end up in the back of the net more times than not if they deflected off him.
Alex Ferguson said Inzaghi was born offside. :greengrin
27-11-2019, 08:45 PM
He’s scored more goals in the Scottish Premiership than Messi, Ronaldo, Suarez and Kane combined.
’baller.
27-11-2019, 08:46 PM
Alex Ferguson said Colin Nish was born offside. :greengrin
Remember that in one of his interviews
27-11-2019, 11:01 PM
Didier Doidgba
Roberto Doidgio
Hristo Doidgkov
I'm off to bed
27-11-2019, 11:43 PM
Doidge comes to a new country, plays for a club that isn’t vegan friendly, signs for a manager that gets punted having played him as a lone striker then goes on a scoring run including a hat trick and two match winning goals and some people want to say he’s lucky 😂 Doidge will do great for us now we have a manager with a concept of playing a style that suits our best players, not trying to fit class players into some kind of *****y system.
Big90inOz
28-11-2019, 12:37 AM
The guy is getting into the right spots and getting reward however by getting into those positions and the goals he has scored he is dragging a couple of defenders with him every time. He has a decent touch, he is strong and has a good leap from a standing position so he will worry defenders, they know now they are in for a tough afternoon which helps to create space for others to exploit. He is much improved now he has support
Didier Doidgba
Roberto Doidgio
Hristo Doidgkov
I'm off to bed
Doiedgo Maradoidga
Zinedoidge Zidoidge
Christian Ronaldoidge
28-11-2019, 01:08 AM
Only a blind man would think Doidge didn't have it
Delighted he getting the goals now
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkSaid it from the start. Great runs, holds ball up, wins headers and now scoring goals
RIP Bestie
28-11-2019, 03:26 AM
I don't think even the stauchest supporter of Doidge could describe his efforts against either Celtic or Motherwell as being "directed towards goal". I can't remember the others off the top off my head but do recall thinking you are a lucky c***.
percy veer
28-11-2019, 04:13 AM
I don't think even the stauchest supporter of Doidge could describe his efforts against either Celtic or Motherwell as being "directed towards goal". I can't remember the others off the top off my head but do recall thinking you are a lucky c***.
give the boy a break for gawd sake, People wont be happy even if he scores every game from now on. I just don't get the constant negativity, it's very tedious.
28-11-2019, 05:14 AM
I just don’t get it...
The guy was getting criticised for not scoring and missing chances etc. He’s now scoring and he’s getting criticised for how he scores them.
WTF.
Frankly I don’t really give a damn how he scores them as long as they cross the line!
The boy cannae win!
He's not scoring all these goals good enough 😉
RupertsBollocks
28-11-2019, 05:38 AM
The saying "you've got to be in it to win it" springs to mind. He's definately getting himself "in it" and is reaping the rewards. Arsey or not, he's giving himself the chance.
Sent from my SM-A530F using Tapatalk
28-11-2019, 05:51 AM
I said when he wasn't scoring that is be more worried if he wasn't getting the chances to miss. He's still getting into good positions and things are going his way.
The more confidence he gets, the more his luck will favour him. I really like him, I think some people sometimes just don't want to admit that they might have judged him too early.
28-11-2019, 05:56 AM
I'm delighted for Doidge but what a difference hacking Flo up top alongside him has made.
28-11-2019, 05:56 AM
He might have had more goals had hecky played 2 up front
No might about it.
28-11-2019, 06:19 AM
Does it really matter if he is lucky or not, he is scoring which is the main thing, I'd take 20 lucky goals all season over 0 goals
sauzeelegod
28-11-2019, 06:23 AM
We signed him for a hefty fee, hurrah hurrah
To play up front with Kamberi, hurrah hurrah
He terrorises centre backs
And ruins people’s FIFA packs
Christian Doidge, Hibernians number nine!
😂👌🏻
28-11-2019, 06:57 AM
Dont care how he scores his goals as long as we are winning
Barman Stanton
28-11-2019, 08:52 AM
His recent goals remind me of a guy who was talked about here recently, Inzaghi. Doesnt matter how they go in, as long as they do. Hard to believe some are still being critical when he has scored 5 in 3.
Are all supports as critical as elements of ours?
28-11-2019, 08:55 AM
I despair reading comments like ‘still a big huddie'
I only call him that in an affectionate way, honest.
28-11-2019, 09:08 AM
A player plays crap and people critisise him.
A player plays well and people praise him.
That's how it works for every player in Football. You don't say a player is great when he's been hopeless just so you can say you're a better supporter. Just like, you don't just call a player rubbish or a huddy when he's been good, just so you like to be different.
Doidge has been really good the last few games. Not just his goals, but his contribution to the team. He wasn't doing that earlier in the season and was rightly called out by people on that. But if he can continue his recent form, he will be a huge asset to us for the rest of the season.
Prediction - He will score the opener in a 3-1 win against Killie.
28-11-2019, 09:58 AM
A player plays crap and people critisise him.
A player plays well and people praise him.
That's how it works for every player in Football. You don't say a player is great when he's been hopeless just so you can say you're a better supporter. Just like, you don't just call a player rubbish or a huddy when he's been good, just so you like to be different.
If only all that was true.
Players don’t always get credit for playing well and sometimes aren’t criticised when they’ve played badly. I can’t believe you could read this forum and truly believe everyone gets a fair hand from everyone.
It’s currently very fashionable to make early judgements on players and stick to them.
01-12-2019, 06:14 AM
Thought his goal wasn’t fortuitous yesterday as I seen it described but brilliant from him, put pressure on their keeper who didn’t do the basics right as a result, got the ball clean and got his result. Clever player.
My only gripe with him is his lack of pace, quite noticeable at times with a few through balls or the ones over the top, he got to none of them.
01-12-2019, 07:52 AM
My only gripe with him is his lack of pace, quite noticeable at times with a few through balls or the ones over the top, he got to none of them.
Think that’s why two up top is imperative when he’s playing, let’s him do the ugly stuff with a runner off him
01-12-2019, 08:16 AM
Played very well again yesterday :agree:
ABZHFC
29-01-2020, 02:48 AM
What happens after Doidge gets this goal that everyone thinks he needs?
Does he go on to score 20 a season until he retires or is it simply a case of getting the fans off his back?
:whistle::whistle: