View Full Version : Heckingbottom
11-08-2019, 07:19 PM
How does he come back from this? Hibs will have to win every game from until the first round of fixtures have been played, that includes beating Hearts and Celtic at Easter Rd a week apart. Not going to happen is it. We will be several points adrift of the top 6 by then imo.
He wins next week, then wins the week after. We don't suddently HAVE to beat Celtic because we lost to Rangers.
11-08-2019, 07:19 PM
How does he come back from this? Hibs will have to win every game from until the first round of fixtures have been played, that includes beating Hearts and Celtic at Easter Rd a week apart. Not going to happen is it. We will be several points adrift of the top 6 by then imo.
Mr C, you rarely say much that I don't agree with, granted you say it as it is which I think is good, however, you don't know that we will be adrift of the top 6, wait until after the St Johnstone game before these uncharacteristic statements from you 😂
11-08-2019, 07:20 PM
Man Utd , arguably the biggest football club in the world , were beaten 6-1 at HOME to Manchester City previously. Real Madrid were hammered 5-0 by Barcelona a few years back. It happens to every single club from time to time.
If we don't improve then questions about Heckingbottom should be asked but being hammered away to the second biggest team in the country is not in itself a sacking offence.
The manner of the defeat is.
11-08-2019, 07:25 PM
Wow. Its the second game of the season ffs against one of two sides who will probably finish the season in excess of 20 points ahead of third place.
heid the baw
11-08-2019, 07:30 PM
The worst aspect of today was how often the ball out of defence was passed straght to the path of a rangers player in acres of space. It's beyond poor ball retention, it's inviting them to score. Ojo, Morelos, taverner, Jones ect are all players who will drive at you and once they get up a good head of speed, they are in behind you.
It was a shambolic display. No-one has turned us over like that since Malmo, but I feel like the days of coming away from ibrox with something are over for the foreseeable
11-08-2019, 07:38 PM
Mr C, you rarely say much that I don't agree with, granted you say it as it is which I think is good, however, you don't know that we will be adrift of the top 6, wait until after the St Johnstone game before these uncharacteristic statements from you 😂
Thats why I put IMO at the end of my post. In My Opinion. :wink:
11-08-2019, 07:39 PM
Wow. Its the second game of the season ffs against one of two sides who will probably finish the season in excess of 20 points ahead of third place.
Any team that moves the ball quickly will beat us easily this season.
Hibees1973
11-08-2019, 07:40 PM
The way Hibs are run and the way Dempster goes on about our structure I feel our recruitment dept has played a heavily influential part in recruitment alongside previous managers.
However, given all our major signings (apart from Allan, who was signed on a pre contract in January) are all lower league English players it seems to me our recruitment team took a back seat in the signings this summer. There is no doubt they are all here because of Heckingbottom. Allan has put every one of Heckingbottom’s signings in the shade.
The pressure is now on the squad, especially all these new English players and in turn Heckingbottom. I have major doubts on the calibre of these players and their ability to cope with the SPFL.
Far to early to say we are in for a poor season, but if we are judged on who we have lost and who we have signed it does not look too good.
11-08-2019, 07:45 PM
We definitely weren't pish last week, played well and scored 2 perfectly good goals. St Mirren shown today they are not pushovers.
Today being poor doesn't suddenly make last week rubbish.
We Were pish last week, I’ve watched Hibs through thick and thin for many years and have had years and years of season tickets. I was bored out my tits last week. We should be doing better and not accepting that pish.
Just back from ibrox so not been able to read all the posts on here.
Im sure it will have been brought up but bringing on kamberi for allan with 10 men is the most ridiculous tactical decision i have ever witnessed watching hibs.
That decision took us from a likely defeat to taking an absolute hiding. How on earth did he think that, already being a midfielder down, that making us two midfielders down was going to pan out? Even if allan was injured slivka was on the bench.
If i was mallan, vela or murray i would be livid with hecky as he hung them out to dry. They had to try and deal with the rangers 2 full backs as well as their 3 midfield players. Its no wonder they absolute walked over us in that last 25 mins. Mallan and vela were absolutely burst by the end.
11-08-2019, 08:03 PM
We Were pish last week, I’ve watched Hibs through thick and thin for many years and have had years and years of season tickets. I was bored out my tits last week. We should be doing better and not accepting that pish.
You can watch Hibs for many years and still have little knowledge of football. We weren't pish last week.
What was the game plan ? Surely not to aimlessly pass the ball to a rangers player, to fail to tackle, to allow Jones to run uninterrupted at Which, to allow one of the smallest players to out jump our 2 centre Half's. It was shambolic no one seemed to know what their role was.:confused:
11-08-2019, 08:07 PM
If we win all these games we will be top of the league. By all means get stuck in. You were there and have every right to be angry but this sort of hysterical nonsense helps nobody.
11-08-2019, 08:11 PM
What was the game plan ? Surely not to aimlessly pass the ball to a rangers player, to fail to tackle, to allow Jones to run uninterrupted at Which, to allow one of the smallest players to out jump our 2 centre Half's. It was shambolic no one seemed to know what their role was.:confused:
PH tells you in his interview. The plan was to press higher and move the ball quickly and we didn't do it until about 10 minutes before half time.
No excuses from me btw, buck stops with him but whatever his game plan was wasn't carried out by the players until about 35 mins in. That's his fault as much as it is the players.
11-08-2019, 08:14 PM
You can watch Hibs for many years and still have little knowledge of football. We weren't pish last week.
So you're saying that you have better knowledge of football?
We were pish last week against St Mirren. We won and that's all that matters, but we were far from impressive.
PH tells you in his interview. The plan was to press higher and move the ball quickly and we didn't do it until about 10 minutes before half time.
No excuses from me btw, buck stops with him but whatever his game plan was wasn't carried out by the players until about 35 mins in. That's his fault as much as it is the players.
Rangers must have been evesdropping on his team talk because that's the only team doing any of that !!!
11-08-2019, 08:17 PM
We were gash.
gillythehibby
11-08-2019, 08:22 PM
Thats absolutely nonsense
We were probably more inept up at Rugby park when the lights kept going out
Also shambles at Well just before Lenny left
Embarrassed up at pittodrie
Lets not kid on that we were never poor under Lennon. Going down to 10 men killed us, as we had a real foothold in the game for the previous 20 mins and the fans were starting to get on Rangers backs
Did i say we were never poor under Lenny? Did we ever get beat 6-1 against the huns?
K-Zazu
11-08-2019, 08:26 PM
How much would it cost to pay him off? How long is his contract for?
11-08-2019, 08:28 PM
How much would it cost to pay him off? How long is his contract for?
2022 I think
loanheadhibby
11-08-2019, 08:29 PM
We were honking against St Mirren last week. We laboured to a win. St Mirren had 15 shots at our goal. The Huns had 34 shots at our goal today. If the alarm bells are not ringing now for all of us, something is far wrong.
11-08-2019, 08:31 PM
Ok, and the Earth is flat 👍
11-08-2019, 08:36 PM
Lennon had his bad days as well, the game up t Aberdeen springs to mind when we never turned up, a disgrace.also the 5-5 game with rangers what was that about? I think we have a manager who is very nieve, he has to wake up to the fact that we are not playing Rochdale or S****horpe and you cannot get it even slightly wrong against the big boys up here or you are well stuffed. Some of his selections seem to be bizarre , Hanlon and McGregor who have been found out at this level time and time again get a start and the new CB on the bench ! When we went down to ten men it should have been damage limitation time and brought on another midfielder or defender but no he tries to go and win the game ! he will be watched like a hawk in the near future regarding his team selections and his pronouncements-a high press ! maybe he meant a tall cupboard as iv'e never seen hide nor hair of it.
11-08-2019, 08:40 PM
What is different, and I don’t know why, there was a sense of optimism when Lennon and Stubbs were in charge. Heckingbottom, for me, doesn’t give the positive vibe that we had under Stubbs and Lennon. His signings don’t seem to have improved us and I am struggling to see what the game plan is with his side. We can’t use the time to gel excuse as everyone brings in players and Heckingbottom did the player recruitment early. With Mallan and Allan in midfield we at least need a holding midfielder that is gritty and can cover ground quickly.
I don’t see the intensity and pressing game he has talked about and I am a bit worried about how this will pan out.
11-08-2019, 08:42 PM
Lennon had his bad days as well, the game up t Aberdeen springs to mind when we never turned up, a disgrace.also the 5-5 game with rangers what was that about? I think we have a manager who is very nieve, he has to wake up to the fact that we are not playing Rochdale or S****horpe and you cannot get it even slightly wrong against the big boys up here or you are well stuffed. Some of his selections seem to be bizarre , Hanlon and McGregor who have been found out at this level time and time again get a start and the new CB on the bench ! When we went down to ten men it should have been damage limitation time and brought on another midfielder or defender but no he tries to go and win the game ! he will be watched like a hawk in the near future regarding his team selections and his pronouncements-a high press ! maybe he meant a tall cupboard as iv'e never seen hide nor hair of it.
There were reasons for that 5-5 game and I think the way Lennon went about that game deserves a lot of credit, we had to pump rangers to pop them to Europe, we went for it and it was one of the best games that season
thebausburst
11-08-2019, 08:43 PM
Managers ultimately live and die by their signings and his are clearly poor, we have gone backwards since SC win, just look at the difference in the quality of the 2016 championship team/squad vs this 2019 SLP major investment version, surely even the most happy clapper will admit we’ve gone seriously backwards!
11-08-2019, 08:57 PM
What is different, and I don’t know why, there was a sense of optimism when Lennon and Stubbs were in charge. Heckingbottom, for me, doesn’t give the positive vibe that we had under Stubbs and Lennon. His signings don’t seem to have improved us and I am struggling to see what the game plan is with his side. We can’t use the time to gel excuse as everyone brings in players and Heckingbottom did the player recruitment early. With Mallan and Allan in midfield we at least need a holding midfielder that is gritty and can cover ground quickly.
I don’t see the intensity and pressing game he has talked about and I am a bit worried about how this will pan out.
Summed up perfectly. Absolutely no optimism or excitement watching us now. Allan our only exciting player and wasn’t even signed by him
11-08-2019, 09:06 PM
Yes you can. And we were rank rotten last week.
11-08-2019, 09:15 PM
So bad we won and were much the better side, scoring one and having another perfectly good one disallowed. Dreadful stuff indeed. Today was awful, but last week wasn't and hopefully next week isn't.
11-08-2019, 09:17 PM
I thought we were a bit pedestrian last week against a ten man defence who i thought played not bad and that was proved today when they beat Aberdeen. A big wake up call for PH today and we will see what he is made of now, no more daft selections and substitutions please !
11-08-2019, 09:35 PM
So bad we won and were much the better side, scoring one and having another perfectly good one disallowed. Dreadful stuff indeed. Today was awful, but last week wasn't and hopefully next week isn't.
I was bored out of my skull for the majority of the first half last week, the second half was a bit better (not for the first time a PH side doesn't perform in the first half of a game.) We just about deserved the win, but it was far from good and didn't fill me with much confidence for the season ahead.
11-08-2019, 09:39 PM
I think I actually fell asleep during the 1st half last week it was that boring.
11-08-2019, 09:45 PM
First half was absolutely dreadful last week, you’re kidding yourself on if you think it wasn’t.
Second half was a lot better though and should have won by more.
11-08-2019, 09:46 PM
The whole world may well have heard of The Rangers and Celtic but Hibs don't **** it from any team in this league.
I expect the manager in charge to show some bottle, ability and tactical nounce at these times not to IMO cower at the thought of playing what I deem a mediocre team that are beatable.
Not good enough Heckingbottom we **** it from nobody. You did.
11-08-2019, 09:46 PM
One of the problems I reckon is, players have came out and said he’s heavy into tactics. That itself is hilarious. Secondly the free flowing attacking football can’t happen cause it sounds to me as if all the boys are to worried about moving into a position they shouldn’t be, where as under Stubbs and Lennon going forward it was quite relaxed and get the goal type.
Hecky is coming across negative and old school.
he sold the directors fast attacking high pressing football.
we were told when he arrived the info is being drip fed as didn’t want to overload them. He said it’s now his team.
I can always take losing specially to the old firm, especially away, but today was a joke.
Sign rubbish, expect rubbish results.
how long do we give these boys, they should be showing something, to sub Allan and Horgan is completely unforgivable. Total contradiction is he came out and said he wanted to go for it, no point losing 2-1 etc, why the hell bring off our biggest threats.
our squad quality has gone massively backwards. He doesn’t know the league and neither do his signings
hecky out.
Out of his depth. Saved by a wee bounce we got when he first came in.
Saved by Omeonga and McNulty who weren’t his signings [emoji85]
It’s the “high press” apparently, make the opponent have a mistake which we can capitalise on with our star striker didgy
11-08-2019, 10:08 PM
The thing that bothers me is that anyone on here could've limited the damage when Mackie went. Even going 450 to escape with a 2-1 defeat even with McGregor, Hanlon and Whittaker who are all past it.
11-08-2019, 10:14 PM
The thing that bothers me is that anyone on here could've limited the damage when Mackie went. Even going 450 to escape with a 2-1 defeat even with McGregor, Hanlon and Whittaker who are all past it.
I don’t want a manager to accept defeat when we go down to ten men but I do want a manager that can get a team organised when we go down to ten men to be able to attack and keep the ball.
We didn’t concede all those goals because we were chasing the game - I could probably have accepted that.
We conceded them without laying a glove on Rangers.
It’s a huge black mark against everyone involved.
11-08-2019, 10:26 PM
What is clear is that he’s under pressure, if not internally, then certainly from the support.
Not great to be at this point already.
He’s been backed, no question. He has a bunch of signings in that, given where they came from, certainly seem like players of his choosing. Time to step up. Sure, losing at Ibrox isn’t a surprise, but getting utterly walloped is. Someone referenced this as being a potential Fenlon / Malmo moment for him, and it well could be.
We’ve got Morton up next, St Johnstone, then Motherwell. He needs to get a reaction from the players, some good performances and wins from that run. If he doesn’t then it could well be time to consider cutting our losses.
11-08-2019, 10:27 PM
You've still to reply on what makes you so knowledgeable when it comes to football? I can't believe how patronising a post this is.
11-08-2019, 10:27 PM
I don’t want a manager to accept defeat when we go down to ten men but I do want a manager that can get a team organised when we go down to ten men to be able to attack and keep the ball.
We didn’t concede all those goals because we were chasing the game - I could probably have accepted that.
We conceded them without laying a glove on Rangers.
It’s a huge black mark against everyone involved.
We lost them because he was naive. Getting sliced open at will because we had no shape and had 2 up top. Sometimes you are better cutting your losses and shut up shop rather than getting pumped.
11-08-2019, 10:37 PM
You've still to reply on what makes you so knowledgeable when it comes to football? I can't believe how patronising a post this is.
Because I didn't say I was knowledgeable, just that you attending games for years isn't relevant in making your opinion more correct.
11-08-2019, 10:39 PM
Too early to write him off but have we put in a good performance against a top side since he's arrived??
11-08-2019, 10:39 PM
Hecky and Robbie need to get tough with the players
No more Mr Nice guys
It is the players or them
We are still to see the levels of fitness the players have never seen before and the mythical fast high press that will lead to a brand of exciting attacking football
I am thinking the level of football in the second half of our first season back in the Premiership under Neil Lennon
11-08-2019, 10:41 PM
We definitely weren't pish last week
So, do you actually go to Easter Road?
The Pointer
11-08-2019, 10:44 PM
I haven't been able to read many comments but I hope Leeann has Heckingbottom in her office at 9 o'clock sharp for a meeting without coffee. A serious debrief is necessary to prevent a further disaster.
Some are saying The Rangers and Celtic aren't our immediate competitors which is of course nonsense. They're just two teams in our league and as we have a larger budget than some clubs, they have one larger than us, but it shouldn't stop eleven players on the park busting a gut to defeat them.
Hecky has a lot of explaining to do - and I have an Ibrox season ticket holder to face.
11-08-2019, 10:45 PM
I haven't been able to read many comments but I hope Leeann has Heckingbottom in her office at 9 o'clock sharp for a meeting without coffee. A serious debrief is necessary to prevent a further disaster.
Some are saying The Rangers and Celtic aren't our immediate competitors which is of course nonsense. They're just two teams in our league and as we have a larger budget than some clubs, they have one larger than us, but it shouldn't stop eleven players on the park busting a gut to defeat them.
Hecky has a lot of explaining to do - and I have an Ibrox season ticket holder to face.
I like how the lack of coffee lets everyone know it’s a serious meeting.
11-08-2019, 10:48 PM
Out of his depth. Saved by a wee bounce we got when he first came in.
Exactly this - I’m a wee bit concerned that this is another Jim Duffy type situation.
11-08-2019, 11:09 PM
Because I didn't say I was knowledgeable, just that you attending games for years isn't relevant in making your opinion more correct.
Apologies. I obviously misread your post.
scm70nyd1973
11-08-2019, 11:16 PM
It's fair to say that no manager would get an easy ride after a result like today, but should Paul get a bit of leeway due to his results so far?
Or does his style of football have alarm bells ringing, regardless of results?
i am going to try and be as measured as I possibly can here and I am not calling for PH's head - but - whatever way you want to look at it this result at Castle Greyskull is surely (I stand to be corrected on this) by far the worst since the 7 nil gubbing we got there near to the end of Lexo's tenure. It is not quite up there like that cup final or Malmo but it is not that far away from it.
Alarm bells wouldn't ordinarily be ringing for me given who we were playing and where but a "lesson from history" makes me a wee bit twitchy if I am honest and I can see why my fellow Cabbage lovers are concerned by a result like this and - let's not forget it - a pretty inept performance to accompany it.
I am am more concerned with the style of play we might have to put up with and where that can take us as I can't stand to watch it. I am sad as we appear to be heading back to the bad old days of the two uglies being at the top and all the rest are supposedly non meaningful. If we are back to the bad old days then from my point of view we really need to have a team playing enjoyable football so that our interest is maintained. I just have a horrible feeling we are not going to get that from PH but he obviously has to be given a chance and I sincerely hope he proves me to be wrong and I can say that I was wrong - nothing would give me greater pleasure !
Basildon Hibs
11-08-2019, 11:18 PM
Spot on. Another thing that bothers me about the mindset of Scottish teams outwith the OF is that they all think they should be aiming for 3rd or 4th / Europe' before the season even starts.
You should always be aiming for first place.
😎
Hecks inherited Neil Lennon's team and initially benefitted from "the new manager buzz" - enjoying some decent results with gritty but unspectacular football. Once a top 6 place had been clinched, he could not inspire a victory out of the players and the season fizzled out meekly.
The summer gave him a chance to bring in his own players - lower league standard in the main and with no SPL experience. Allan was not his signing.
The additional quality that I felt Hibs needed never arrived, and failing to sign McNulty and Omeonga and Ojo merely served to frustrate and disappoint.
The league cup games came and went with unspectacular to okay performances, where the necessary points were secured to progress in the competition against lower league/inferior quality sides.
The 1st league game, again, was unspectacular, with Hibs huffing and puffing and genuinely struggling to find a way through a resolute St. Mirren. Allan's goal saved the day as well as Hecks neck from a harsher post-match inquisition.
The signs leading up to The Sevco game were ominous - uninspiring football from a disjointed and questionable quality Hibs led by an uninspiring, cliche-spouting manager.
The Ibrox capitulation, then, did not come as a surprise to this Hibby, whether we had 10 or 11 on the pitch.
The truth is that I am genuinely questioning the 'quality', the 'hunger' and the 'collective capabilities' of this current group of players, or indeed our managers belief in this group of players, and most importantly whether he can inspire them to produce the 'fast-paced-pressing-game' he talks of.
For the sake of my beloved club, indeed Hecks himself, I hope he goes on to dispel my present doubts.
I feel your pain mate, as its all been said before best saying heehaw
12-08-2019, 06:08 AM
I just assumed it was a cost saving thing.
12-08-2019, 06:27 AM
We won despite having a goal 4 yards onside ruled out, hitting the post twice, missing two open goals and two one on ones. St Mirren didn’t have any chances as good as any of them.
It wasn’t a performance that will live long in the memory but we deserved to win last week and deserved to win by more than we did.
12-08-2019, 06:42 AM
Getting our players in early was a real benefit for us yesterday, and saved us from a real beating.:faf:
We've signed sheite, we are slow all over the park and have a manager who talks a good game without having the ability to produce one, welcome to the usual crap we get most years under another useless manager.
mcfly
12-08-2019, 06:45 AM
At the end of the day he will be judged on his team.
Well this is his team and his signings so far, lack ability and more so effort.
Let’s see what character they have this sat because there is no doubt the pressure is on. If they hides and go into their shell then get rid.
My concern is Heckingbottoms style of play. It’s boring to watch and he will drive fans away. The feel good factor is gone at Easter road now and the grumbles will only get worse.
If yesterday had been a derby match he would have been sacked before now. He has to be given a chance but drastic improvement is needed or he will be out.
I hope yesterday was just a bad day and we move on up 🤞
12-08-2019, 06:51 AM
Getting our players in early was a real benefit for us yesterday, and saved us from a real beating.:faf:
We've signed sheite, we are slow all over the park and have a manager who talks a good game without having the ability to produce one, welcome to the usual crap we get most years under another useless manager.
Apart from that though you feeling pretty good about the season ahead?
12-08-2019, 06:53 AM
Coffee’s for closers.
12-08-2019, 06:54 AM
Stevenson and Gray being back into the team and to 100% will make a big difference. Not saying we’ll turn into world beaters but it’ll massively improve us.
12-08-2019, 06:55 AM
Apart from that though you feeling pretty good about the season ahead?
I'm just hoping we sign a few players on the last day of the window better than the crap this one has signed and gelled together this good with all the time he's had with them. :greengrin
Bare in mind i hope they are free transfers, as i wouldnt give him another penny to spend on transfer fee's. £350k on that huddy up front. :faf:
12-08-2019, 06:57 AM
I'm just hoping we sign a few players on the last day of the window better than the crap this one has signed and gelled together this good with all the time he's had with them. :greengrin
As long as the crap players really want to be here though.
12-08-2019, 06:58 AM
The worst of it is that only three of his signings were deemed good enough to play and one was taken off at half time. We had an average team last year and we've brought in a batch of average players on top of that.
We desperately needed some star quality brought in this summer and the only one who meets that standard is a player that he didn't even sign.
12-08-2019, 07:55 AM
We just needed to get to the last 5 or 10 minutes at 2-1, and then hope we’d get the chance to get the ball in to the box and hope something would drop for us.
The way he set up was a joke. Agree on the likes of McGregor, Hanlon and Whittaker. Our ‘senior’ players aren’t what they were. Hanlon is obviously younger but he has been out of form for too long now.
12-08-2019, 08:03 AM
We just needed to get to the last 5 or 10 minutes at 2-1, and then hope we’d get the chance to get the ball in to the box and hope something would drop for us.
The way he set up was a joke. Agree on the likes of McGregor, Hanlon and Whittaker. Our ‘senior’ players aren’t what they were. Hanlon is obviously younger but he has been out of form for too long now.
We nearly did. We were still in the game at 2-1 at 73 minutes. After that we conceded and collapsed.
We played 20 mins with ten men trying to get back into it. He could have shut up shop but we wouldn’t have had any chance of getting back into it. He decided to try hang in there and nick a goal instead. Once we conceded the game was over and we collapsed. It happens in football.
12-08-2019, 08:07 AM
Stevenson and Gray being back into the team and to 100% will make a big difference. Not saying we’ll turn into world beaters but it’ll massively improve us.
I agree but I think the time for us relying on Gray so much has to end. Physically he isn't up to it anymore and it's costing us big time. A more ruthless club might've moved him on and signed 2 fullbacks in the summer.
Yes, I do.
sean04
12-08-2019, 08:07 AM
100%. A fit gray and Stevenson makes a huge difference. We could change our back 4 from yesterday. Gray,Jackson,Porto,Stevenson
12-08-2019, 08:09 AM
I agree but I think the time for us relying on Gray so much has to end. Physically he isn't up to it anymore and it's costing us big time. A more ruthless club might've moved him on and signed 2 fullbacks in the summer.
Yes, I do.
That’s true regarding Gray. If he’s fit he’s one of the best full backs in the league. Problem is how often he’s injured. Fingers crossed he can get a run of games going as he could make the world of difference.
12-08-2019, 08:09 AM
Hecky and Robbie need to get tough with the players
No more Mr Nice guys
A nice guy is exactly what LD wanted, someone to be all cuddly and friendly with the players after the nasty Lennon shouted at some of them.
12-08-2019, 08:10 AM
One of the most boring managers I can remember, can’t even listen to his interviews.
He’s signed duds on longish term contracts and we will now be stuck with them. Desperately needing Gray and Stevenson back shows no improvement in the signings. Is Vela any better than Bartley/Milligan .... I know who I’d rather have.
Early warning signs came against a poor Celtic team in the cup last year. We barely had a shot on goal and a pathetic way to go out the cup
12-08-2019, 08:17 AM
We nearly did. We were still in the game at 2-1 at 73 minutes. After that we conceded and collapsed.
We played 20 mins with ten men trying to get back into it. He could have shut up shop but we wouldn’t have had any chance of getting back into it. He decided to try hang in there and nick a goal instead. Once we conceded the game was over and we collapsed. It happens in football.
He got it totally wrong. We never really gave ourselves a chance to get up the pitch because putting on the second striker left us so short further back that we couldn’t get a hold of the ball.
We had an unfit Gray, who was miles off it, a 35 year old Whittaker who was left totally exposed, Vela who was well off it and Mallan who people just run past. We weren’t really hanging on, they were missing chances and it was inevitable they were going to score at some point.
12-08-2019, 08:19 AM
One of the most boring managers I can remember, can’t even listen to his interviews.
He’s signed duds on longish term contracts and we will now be stuck with them. Desperately needing Gray and Stevenson back shows no improvement in the signings. Is Vela any better than Bartley/Milligan .... I know who I’d rather have.
Early warning signs came against a poor Celtic team in the cup last year. We barely had a shot on goal and a pathetic way to go out the cup
A poor Celtic team? They were on their way to winning the treble treble!
We weren’t great that day but in no way could that Celtic side be labelled a poor one.
12-08-2019, 08:20 AM
A nice guy is exactly what LD wanted, someone to be all cuddly and friendly with the players after the nasty Lennon shouted at some of them.Lennon bullied some of them, big difference
That’s true regarding Gray. If he’s fit he’s one of the best full backs in the league. Problem is how often he’s injured. Fingers crossed he can get a run of games going as he could make the world of difference.
I honestly think if he can't get fit and stay fit this season he shouldn't be relied on any longer, long contract or not.
12-08-2019, 08:22 AM
We weren’t great that day but in no way could that Celtic side be labelled a poor one. Anything for a shot at Hecky. If Hibs had half of those players it would be the best Hibs side in 70 years. Nothing like a poor Celtic team.
12-08-2019, 08:27 AM
I’m angrier about the result this morning than I was last night.
Matty’s ‘Heckingbottom’s Malmo’ has captured it.
When have we ever held on to see a manager ‘turn it around’ in terms of a huge improvement in the style of play?
He’s not the man for the job.
12-08-2019, 08:29 AM
Anything for a shot at Hecky. If Hibs had half of those players it would be the best Hibs side in 70 years. Nothing like a poor Celtic team.
Yeah, I’ve had my fair share of pops at Heckingbottom and his new signings since yesterday afternoon so I don’t want to sound like a hypocrite but imo too many people are looking at it in a black and white context, either Hecky good or Hecky bad.
The truth imo is that he did some things excellently last season and did a very good job for us, why try and deny that? I think he’s had a ‘mare of a transfer window though and if he genuinely thinks we’re done he’s living on a different planet. I also think he’s really toiling to know what to do up against the better sides, he’s being shown up badly in these games. He’s not going to lose his job any time soon so he will get time to rectify these things, whether he will though I’ve got my doubts.
12-08-2019, 08:29 AM
When have we ever held on to see a manager ‘turn it around’ in terms of a huge improvement in the style of play?
I've woke up this morning the opposite.
Time to clear the head and get behind the manager and the players. Week 2 in the league, I will reserve calling for his head until after the first round of fixtures are bye with.
12-08-2019, 08:35 AM
No you aren't.
12-08-2019, 08:37 AM
Worst thing about yesterday, for me, is that it wasn’t totally unexpected. I maybe didn’t expect it to be quite as bad, but I thought they’d run over the top of us and beat us comfortably.
Heckingbottom talking publicly about how we were going to play, then signing players who don’t seem to suit that style in the slightest is just bizarre.
That team & display show how out his depth PH is.
Going to Ibrox with a midfield 3 of Allan, Mallan & Vela.
Even a midfield 5 adding in Newell + Horgan.
Then the subs he made... :rolleyes:
Clueless to say the least
12-08-2019, 08:44 AM
No you aren't.
Aren’t what?
12-08-2019, 08:46 AM
Does hecky only use one striker up front for every game
12-08-2019, 08:50 AM
My thinking too.
10 men against a hungry,expensive, organised and FIT huns. We were back in it at 2-1, but, i must say, that 1st half showing should have had us atleast 4 behind, my god this game could have seen us losing 10 or more goals, I hope tae god that this was a one off, but, I like others dont think so, uninspired signings and uninspired league cup games, we have a long season ahead.
InchHibby
12-08-2019, 08:55 AM
Totally agree, and I like the last bit 😂
12-08-2019, 08:58 AM
I do agree with those who point out that Hecky was only ever going to be a couple of terrible results away from pressure. He was largely unknown to most fans, so, fairly or not, he had more to prove than a recognised name with a proven track record. One of those terrible results has arrived early, meaning he already faces intense scrutiny. I really hope he can turn this around, but I'm worried.
12-08-2019, 09:01 AM
Lennon done it. We went from fairly boring in the Championship, fairly boring for 6 months of the Prem to being probably the most exciting team in the league. Then back to being boring again.
12-08-2019, 09:01 AM
Does hecky only use one striker up front for every game
Probably. Like near enough every other manager in world football now.
Rangers play either Defoe or Morelos
Celtic play either Sparky or Edouard
Aberdeen play Cosgrove
Man City play Aguero
Liverpool play Firmino
Bayern play Lewandowski
I think you get where this is going.. I genuinely can’t think of any decent sides off the top of my head that play 2 strikers now.
12-08-2019, 09:03 AM
I haven't been able to read through the whole thread, so don't know if the following has already been covered, i.e. I wonder what Ron Gordon's reaction was to this shambolic and embarrassing performance and result?
12-08-2019, 09:04 AM
Every team is in danger of a scudding in Glasgow. Even the Huns shipped 5 goals to Celtic a couple of times recently. It can happen in football. Are we gonna sack the manager after every bad result
12-08-2019, 09:04 AM
We can dissect every tiny detail of the game but the bottom line is losing 6-1 to them is unacceptable.
sean04
12-08-2019, 09:13 AM
Every team is in danger of a scudding in Glasgow. Even the Huns shipped 5 goals to Celtic a couple of times recently. It can happen in football. Are we gonna sack the manager after every bad result
Can't see rangers or Celtic dropping points at home this year
12-08-2019, 09:16 AM
We lasted 7 minutes with the 2 strikers on the park before capitulating. That’s not good management whatever way you want to spin it
12-08-2019, 09:16 AM
I don’t get the give him time argument.
Sometimes it’s just obvious that things aren’t working out. Giving more time simply makes matters worse.
Think back to Cathro at Hearts. They all wanted him to succeed and claimed he just needed time. They’ve still not recovered.
I know it’s not pleasant but let’s be a bit bold and ruthless and make the change.
12-08-2019, 09:17 AM
Sometimes it’s just obvious that things aren’t working out. Giving more time simply makes matters worse.
Think back to Cathro at Hearts. They all wanted him to succeed and claimed he just needed time. They’ve still not recovered.
I know it’s not pleasant but let’s be a bit bold and ruthless and make the change.
He has lost 1 game
12-08-2019, 09:17 AM
Lennon bullied some of them, big difference
I honestly think if he can't get fit and stay fit this season he shouldn't be relied on any longer, long contract or not.
Like he’s bullying the Celtic players now??!!
I’d love a bit of that back at ER!!
12-08-2019, 09:18 AM
Cathro never started anything like as well as Heckingbottom. Cathro wouldn't win a derby away from home if his life depended on it.
12-08-2019, 09:18 AM
We won our first game and topped our league cup group while playing half a team each game. A 6-1 defeat with ten men to a Rangers side who will be miles clear in second doesn’t mean that it’s not working out.
And that’s not taking into account how he done last season.
Another thing to consider is Heckingbottom is not Ron's choice, I wonder if he has a strong business streak in him he might decide he's not the man for the job.
12-08-2019, 09:20 AM
He has lost 1 game
I know, and it sounds harsh.
I don’t do away games but I’ve been to every game at ER since he arrived. Can’t say I’ve enjoyed many and going by the chat around me at the game I’m not the only one.
Same feeling is kinda replicated on here going by recent threads.
12-08-2019, 09:22 AM
16 wins, 4 draws and 1 defeat in competitive games since his return, including a Scottish Cup. They must be terrified of him.
12-08-2019, 09:24 AM
16 wins, 4 draws and 1 defeat in competitive games since his return, including a Scottish Cup. They must be terrified of him.
That’s irrelevant to what happened here though?
I know, and it sounds harsh.
I don’t do away games but I’ve been to every game at ER since he arrived. Can’t say I’ve enjoyed many and going by the chat around me at the game I’m not the only one.
Same feeling is kinda replicated on here going by recent threads.
Yesterday was a horrible game, dont think anyone will ever disagree but just because it's not been fast free flowing football doesnt mean he should be out a job, if we keep getting results then fans will be happy, yes we all want to see exciting football but for me its ultimately the result that matters, if he goes on a losing streak the next few weeks then yes of course his position should be looked at but until then let's get behind him
I haven't been able to read through the whole thread, so don't know if the following has already been covered, i.e. I wonder what Ron Gordon's reaction was to this shambolic and embarrassing performance and result?
He is very performances orientated. He will be looking at the signings and results and wont be slow to get PH out. I think PH will get 11 SPL games then there will be a performance review.
12-08-2019, 09:26 AM
He is very performances orientated. He will be looking at the signings and results and wont be slow to get PH out. I think PH will get 11 SPL games then there will be a performance review.
And that's how it should be, not after one defeat, a very bad defeat but still only 1 defeat
12-08-2019, 09:27 AM
That’s irrelevant to what happened here though?
Just stating that he’s done alright since leaving us mate
12-08-2019, 09:29 AM
What does Celtic have to do with it? He was bullying a player to the point that the player wanted to walk out of the club. That is disgusting.
12-08-2019, 09:29 AM
You sound as if you may know something about how Mr Gordon thinks and operates. Hopefully, he won't tolerate performances like yesterday, from players and/or coaches.
sean04
12-08-2019, 09:31 AM
Lennon will implode at Celtic aswell. Things are rosey when your winning. Wait til the suffer a wee defeat and rangers go top of the league. When things got tough at us he didn't have a clue. Left us in a mess and lost the plot a few times. Baffling team selections
12-08-2019, 09:34 AM
Yesterday was a horrible game, dont think anyone will ever disagree but just because it's not been fast free flowing football doesnt mean he should be out a job, if we keep getting results then fans will be happy, yes we all want to see exciting football but for me its ultimately the result that matters, if he goes on a losing streak the next few weeks then yes of course his position should be looked at but until then let's get behind him
If we keep getting results? Mate we just got destroyed. Are you calling that a result?
You do know rangers are in our league?
12-08-2019, 09:39 AM
Lennon will implode at Celtic aswell. Things are rosey when your winning. Wait til the suffer a wee defeat and rangers go top of the league. When things got tough at us he didn't have a clue. Left us in a mess and lost the plot a few times. Baffling team selections
Exactly. Wait till they suffer a couple of setbacks and see how he does. I’d guess his selection tombola comes out again and it’ll be all the players fault.
I think we’ve got some deeper issues at Hibs. Heckingnbottom and the players are at fault for yesterday but there have been recruitment issues since Stubbs left. Bit weird that a lot of our signings seem to be coming from the same agency, could be a coincidence but it’s strange.
12-08-2019, 09:43 AM
We weren’t great that day but in no way could that Celtic side be labelled a poor one.
Celtic were very good that night and much better than when we beat them in the league. They also play better in the cup usually.
12-08-2019, 09:52 AM
Agree we were ridiculously exposed by putting flo up front. He would have been better playing wide midfield to give us a bit of running if coming on. Our midfield was being outplayed with 11 never mind 10. Also totally exposed the defence who were struggling anyway. Seemed a strange move to do this at Ibrox. As you say keeping more in midfield might actually have given us more ball as it was there was no shape and we couldn't string two passes together. Part of me was wondering if there was a bit of PH maybe showing the board give me more money as this is how short we are. Thought vela showed some fight late on when others were clearly throwing the towel in.
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 09:52 AM
Diddy football played by diddy footballers. Heckys worse than butcher and that's saying something. We'll struggle for top 6. Lennon's fault still but:hahaha::hahaha::hahaha::hahaha::greengrin
12-08-2019, 09:54 AM
Diddy football played by diddy footballers. Heckys worse than butcher and that's saying something. We'll struggle for top 6. Lennon's fault still but:hahaha::hahaha::hahaha::hahaha::greengrin
He’s worse than Butcher? 😂 **** sake. There’s been some overreacting going on after yesterday but that’s too far.
It was Lennon’s fault when he had us absolutely free falling down the table last season. I don’t see anyone blaming him for yesterday.
12-08-2019, 09:57 AM
He’s worse than Butcher? 😂 **** sake. There’s been some overreacting going on after yesterday but that’s too far.
Agree enoughs enough. :greengrin
12-08-2019, 10:01 AM
This thread is probably the most infested I have witnessed since I joined Hibsnet.
12-08-2019, 10:02 AM
Lennon's form in his last 12-15 games was Butcher-esque as was his treatment of the likes of Kamberi.
Yesterday was abysmal but looking at all the previous results was an outlier.
12-08-2019, 10:06 AM
If we keep getting results? Mate we just got destroyed. Are you calling that a result?
You do know rangers are in our league?
Until yesterday we were undefeated so far, yes against lower league teams and st mirren but no defeats, and obviously no yesterdays game was not a result and I thought that would have been pretty obvious, if we win the next 4 or 5 games on the bounce will we have the same threads, of course we wont
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:07 AM
It was Lennon’s fault when he had us absolutely free falling down the table last season. I don’t see anyone blaming him for yesterday.
Never have i seen us go to ibrox and set up to get beat or a draw. The guy's a zoomer and should hand in the resignation before it gets worse as it will. He's signed average players and goes on about how he likes to play "High Pressing Football" where about like? He's been here 6 months or so and I am still waiting to see it. Guys a clown and evident to see why he failed in England. A specialist in failure.
12-08-2019, 10:09 AM
Never have i seen us go to ibrox and set up to get beat or a draw. The guy's a zoomer and should hand in the resignation before it gets worse as it will. He's signed average players and goes on about how he likes to play "High Pressing Football" where about like? He's been here 6 months or so and I am still waiting to see it. Guys a clown and evident to see why he failed in England. A specialist in failure.
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:10 AM
Lennon's form in his last 12-15 games was Butcher-esque as was his treatment of the likes of Kamberi.
Yesterday was abysmal but looking at all the previous results was an outlier.
Previous results e.g lying down to Celtic at Easter Road. Allowing hearts to somehow manage a draw at Easter Road. Won't even mention St Mirren last weekend or Ibrox yesterday as that's enough for A P45 Itself. The guy is the most negative boring manager I've witnessed at hibs.
Barman Stanton
12-08-2019, 10:11 AM
Agree it was a shocker of a result. But your own team are not doing so great either. Levein? Now there is a manager that might just be as bad as Butcher.
12-08-2019, 10:13 AM
Previous results e.g lying down to Celtic at Easter Road. Allowing hearts to somehow manage a draw at Easter Road. Won't even mention St Mirren last weekend or Ibrox yesterday as that's enough for A P45 Itself. The guy is the most negative boring manager I've witnessed at hibs.
A win last weekend is enough for a P45 in itself?
Stupendous banter.
12-08-2019, 10:14 AM
You can’t have been watching Hibs very long then.
12-08-2019, 10:16 AM
The one thought that has niggled away since he was appointed is that he was 2nd choice. Whether people want to spin it or not hibs clearly decided to go for Appleton and then for whatever reason didnt get him.
Its like when scotland went for O'Neill and ended up with McLeish. Its putting the new guy on the back foot as soon as he arrives.
12-08-2019, 10:23 AM
The one thought that has niggled away since he was appointed is that he was 2nd choice. Whether people want to spin it or not hibs clearly decided to go for Appleton and then for whatever reason didnt get him.
Its like when scotland went for O'Neill and ended up with McLeish. Its putting the new guy on the back foot as soon as he arrives.
Do we usually get our first choice? I genuinely don’t know but I wouldn’t be surprised if we don’t.
12-08-2019, 10:24 AM
Do we usually get our first choice? I genuinely don’t know but I wouldn’t be surprised if we don’t.
Dont know but its never publicised if it is. It was with heckingbottom and immediately put him on the back foot imo.
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:26 AM
Hecky's a diddy. Simple's
12-08-2019, 10:28 AM
Dont know but its never publicised if it is. It was with heckingbottom and immediately put him on the back foot imo.
Then he won like 7 games from 8, including at Hearts, so this is nonsens
(not meaning your point is nonsense, just that it isn't an excuse)
So you've decided to just join now and slag off our manager, I smell something rotten...
LTYF
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:28 AM
You can’t have been watching Hibs very long then.
And you're still stuck in the stone ages. Thinking yesterday was okay and heckys style of play is okay.
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:29 AM
So you've decided to just join now and slag off our manager, I smell something rotten...
LTYF
Your heeds obviously to close to your rear end then pal.
You've got your own manager to slag and your own problems over by that big bus shelter, maybe try and fix your wonderful playing surface would be a start, looked great at the weekend eh?
12-08-2019, 10:32 AM
And you're still stuck in the stone ages. Thinking yesterday was okay and heckys style of play is okay.
Who has said that?
12-08-2019, 10:32 AM
Then he won like 7 games from 8, including at Hearts, so this is nonsense.
I was talking about the perception of him. Not the results. So no, its not nonsense. Unfortunately for you.
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:33 AM
Simple the guy sits in and invites pressure and against Celtic, Rangers & Aberdeen that simply will not work. He is so negative and his signing's have been below par and not cut out to play in the SPFL. Anyone that disagree's obviously has Hecky tinted specks on.
12-08-2019, 10:34 AM
Hibernian, give us a goal!
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:34 AM
You've got your own manager to slag and your own problems over by that big bus shelter, maybe try and fix your wonderful playing surface would be a start, looked great at the weekend eh?
You imagining things or making things up as they go along? I'm no hearts fan but clearly your no hibs fan either. As previously stated your heid is up yer a***
12-08-2019, 10:35 AM
I was talking about the perception of him. Not the results. So no, its not nonsense. Unfortunately for you.
Okay, I edited my initial post.
Also, was that your perception of him with 2 minutes to go at Tynecastle when we were 2-1 up?
''great result, but would appleton have won 2-0''
green with envy
12-08-2019, 10:37 AM
Let's assume we finished 7th, how could that be worse than Butcher?
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:40 AM
Let's assume we finished 7th, how could that be worse than Butcher?
Because we've came on absolute Leaps and bounds since Butcher and finishing anywhere except 4th with the standard of the rest of the league is absolutely torture.
12-08-2019, 10:45 AM
I didn’t say anything like that.
Heckingbottom said all the right things before yesterday about taking the game to them etc but couldn’t put it into practice effectively. I put that down to a mixture of what appears to be poor recruitment, injuries and poor management of the team and the game situations.
Just looking at his record as a manager, after taking over Barnsley properly after being caretaker he has a stinking record there, W23 D23 L37 27.71%, his short spell at Leeds W4 D4 L4 25%, so far here it's W10 D5 L5 50%. He looks to be the type of coach that gets an instant surge from the players then it all goes flat and boring
12-08-2019, 10:49 AM
I vote we sack Heckingbottom and let Hibs.net pick the side and the tactics and the contracts. We have soooooo many experts on here I cannot imagine why we looked elsewhere for a head coach 🤔
12-08-2019, 10:50 AM
Just looking at his record as a manager, after taking over Barnsley properly after being caretaker he has a stinking record there, W23 D23 L37 27.71%, his short spell at Leeds W4 D4 L4 25%, so far here it's W10 D5 L5 50%. He looks to be the type of coach that gets an instant surge from the players then it all goes flat and boring
Similar to Lennon.
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:50 AM
I didn’t say anything like that.
Heckingbottom said all the right things before yesterday about taking the game to them etc but couldn’t put it into practice effectively. I put that down to a mixture of what appears to be poor recruitment, injuries and poor management of the team and the game situations.
So the managers talking absolute nonsense to keep the fans sweet and isn't fit to lead this team. Simple, no manager has ever set out to "Sit in" at ibrox it was embarrassing and he will continue to do the exact same when they come to Easter Road and when we go to Parkhead etc. The guys tactics are all over the place. He doesn't have a scooby. Negative football and to consider how far we have come he is NOT the guy to take us forward.
green with envy
12-08-2019, 10:51 AM
Because we've came on absolute Leaps and bounds since Butcher and finishing anywhere except 4th with the standard of the rest of the league is absolutely torture.
Still isn't worse than getting relegated.
12-08-2019, 10:52 AM
I vote we sack Heckingbottom and let Hibs.net pick the side and the tactics and the contracts. We have soooooo many experts on here I cannot imagine why we looked elsewhere for a head coach 🤔
I agree :greengrin
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:53 AM
Clearly you have 0 ambition for Hibs and want us to be a wee mid table pondering about winning a cup every 30 years, glass half full kind of guy. We are a huge club with backing of a new multi millionaire owner based in one of the best city's on planet earth and the mediocrity we have seen over the years isn't good enough and with hecky here we will plummet right back down to before Stubbs came in.
12-08-2019, 10:54 AM
So the managers talking absolute nonsense to keep the fans sweet and isn't fit to lead this team. Simple, no manager has ever set out to "Sit in" at ibrox it was embarrassing and he will continue to do the exact same when they come to Easter Road and when we go to Parkhead etc. The guys tactics are all over the place. He doesn't have a scooby. Negative football and to consider how far we have come he is NOT the guy to take us forward.
We were absolutely ripped in the first half of the last game against them at ER. Altered formation and got back in the game. We had McNulty instead Of Doige. Omegana instead of Newell and 11 men until almost the end of the game.
12-08-2019, 10:57 AM
Nobody could do worse than Butcher. He achieved the impossible by getting us relegated from the position he inherited. In his own unique way, he was something of a miracle worker at Hibs, proving a reverse Midas touch.
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 10:58 AM
We were absolutely ripped in the first half of the last game against them at ER. Altered formation and got back in the game. We had McNulty instead Of Doige. Omegana instead of Newell and 11 men until almost the end of the game.
Therefore the recruitment and his tactics on more than 1 occasion has been all over the shop... See the trend?? He isn't the man to take us forward simple as. Tactics all over the shop against rangers on more than 1 occasion and against celtic on more than 1 occasion. Negative guy who plays negative football. Blamed young mackie(Aye rush of blood to the head from him) but the fact he never took any blame tells you what kind of guy he is.
green with envy
12-08-2019, 11:08 AM
Clearly you have 0 ambition for Hibs and want us to be a wee mid table pondering about winning a cup every 30 years, glass half full kind of guy. We are a huge club with backing of a new multi millionaire owner based in one of the best city's on planet earth and the mediocrity we have seen over the years isn't good enough and with hecky here we will plummet right back down to before Stubbs came in.
Stop slavering. I simply asked you assuming we finish just outside the top 6 would be worse than Butcher who got us relegated, it was that simple a question. That absolutely doesn't mean that I believe Heckingbottom is the man to take us to the next level.
As for your comment about having 0 ambition, what does that even mean? I've followed Hibs H&A for over 40 years inc that embarrassment of a performance yesterday and know exactly the ambition that i'm thriving for as a Hibs fan and as for Hibs winning a cup every 30 years, you clearly are not the brightest when it comes to maths or just not up to scratch with the history of Hibernian FC.
green with envy
12-08-2019, 11:30 AM
And you clearly never had your specks on when you looked at my comment i said that is what you would be happy with ya donut. No that we as a club win a trophy every 30 years maybe your not the brightest tbh.
]Clearly you have 0 ambition for Hibs and want us to be a wee mid table pondering about winning a cup every 30 years,
I'm not making sense of this, I've seen Hibs win 4 major trophies and yet you're asking me if I would be happy seeing us win 1 cup in 30 years, is that correct?
Back to my Butcher question, again how would Heckingbottom assuming we finished just outside the top 6 be worse than a manager that got us relegated?
12-08-2019, 11:31 AM
And you clearly never had your specks on when you looked at my comment i said that is what you would be happy with ya donut. No that we as a club win a trophy every 30 years maybe your not the brightest tbh.
If you can't post without flinging insults at folk, you won't be able to keep posting.
Debate your point, but leave the insults out.
12-08-2019, 11:34 AM
Simple the guy sits in and invites pressure and against Celtic, Rangers & Aberdeen that simply will not work. He is so negative and his signing's have been below par and not cut out to play in the SPFL. Anyone that disagree's obviously has Hecky tinted specks on.
You imagining things or making things up as they go along? I'm no hearts fan but clearly your no hibs fan either. As previously stated your heid is up yer a***
Even I can smell something here.
12-08-2019, 11:36 AM
Sorry to nitpick but should that not read 33.3 %?
Barman Stanton
12-08-2019, 11:38 AM
Even I can smell something here.
Imagine how sad you would have to be to try and wind up your rivals when your own team is in an absolute state!
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 11:43 AM
]Clearly you have 0 ambition for Hibs and want us to be a wee mid table pondering about winning a cup every 30 years,
I'm not making sense of this, I've seen Hibs win 4 major trophies and yet you're asking me if I would be happy seeing us win 1 cup in 30 years, is that correct?
Back to your Butcher question, again how would Heckingbottom assuming we finished just outside the top 6 be worse than a manager that got us relegated?
Yes as that's clearly the context i was asking you if you would be happy with us going along seeing us win a trophy every 30 years what are you not understanding about that? As i previously stated. New owners, big stadium, SOME very decent players and recent cup success you are trying to say being outwith the top 6 is anywhere near as good enough? Finishing in the bottom 6 is logistically as bad as being relegated. Crowds will disperse, players wont be looking to join a team in the bottom 6. High standard managers wont look to join us. Funding will be cut. No European competitions, but of course you'll be right.
Giveusagoal!
12-08-2019, 11:48 AM
Imagine how sad you would have to be to try and wind up your rivals when your own team is in an absolute state!
Not sad at all. No hearts fan here. As i said the second you guys start getting outwitted or someone says something of sense there automatically they are a hearts fan or a rangers fan. Delusion is strong on hibs.net due to a bunch of old tadgers thinking they ken it all when realistically there just a bunch of sad old weirdos who are sat at home without jobs.
12-08-2019, 11:51 AM
someone says something of sense.
Still waiting on that part
12-08-2019, 11:55 AM
Comparing him to Butcher speaks for itself no?!
12-08-2019, 11:56 AM
Comparing him to Butcher speaks for itself no?!
People also compared aspects of NLs tenure to Butcher.
green with envy
12-08-2019, 11:57 AM
Not sad at all. No hearts fan here. As i said the second you guys start getting outwitted or someone says something of sense there automatically they are a hearts fan or a rangers fan. Delusion is strong on hibs.net due to a bunch of old b******* thinking they ken it all when realistically there just a bunch of sad old weirdos who are sat at home without jobs.
Ach well at least you've got school on Wednesday.
12-08-2019, 11:58 AM
People also compared aspects of NLs tenure to Butcher.
And Lennon ultimately got binned....
Mantis Toboggan
12-08-2019, 11:58 AM
Not sad at all. No hearts fan here. As i said the second you guys start getting outwitted or someone says something of sense there automatically they are a hearts fan or a rangers fan. Delusion is strong on hibs.net due to a bunch of old tadgers thinking they ken it all when realistically there just a bunch of sad old weirdos who are sat at home without jobs.
Definitely at least one sad weirdo on this thread
12-08-2019, 11:59 AM
And Lennon ultimately got binned....
He did. I don’t think either of them are comparable to TB. Nowhere near it in fact.
12-08-2019, 12:00 PM
See this is the sort of post that, when folk get emptied for it - because let's face it, you're not adding anything other than insults here - we get slagged off for.
"I couldn't behave and hibs.net banned me for nothing, what a shower of roasters etc"...
Behave yourself.
Giveusagoal!
Tbh the fact I've got a bunch of 50-60 year old men on toast here is absolutely excellent. Who says Mondays are crap eh?
Glad your hard drives not been checked yet are we? Can smell the noncery from here.
Deary dear.
Mantis Toboggan
12-08-2019, 12:01 PM
Tbh the fact I've got a bunch of 50-60 year old men on toast here is absolutely excellent. Who says Mondays are crap eh?
You've got **** all on toast you absolute tool
12-08-2019, 12:02 PM
You've got **** all on toast you absolute tool
You wonder what the point in that was, eh?
12-08-2019, 12:03 PM
You chose to join in, as well.
Well you’ll have plenty time to spend for the rest of the day doing something else.
Cheerio
12-08-2019, 12:04 PM
If playing older men on a Monday are your thing then fair play. Might want to try other forums for the full experience.
12-08-2019, 12:05 PM
Hecks inherited Neil Lennon's team and initially benefitted from "the new manager buzz" - enjoying some decent results with gritty but unspectacular football. Once a top 6 place had been clinched, he could not inspire a victory out of the players and the season fizzled out meekly.
The summer gave him a chance to bring in his own players - lower league standard in the main and with no SPL experience. Allan was not his signing.
The additional quality that I felt Hibs needed never arrived, and failing to sign McNulty and Omeonga and Ojo merely served to frustrate and disappoint.
The league cup games came and went with unspectacular to okay performances, where the necessary points were secured to progress in the competition against lower league/inferior quality sides.
The 1st league game, again, was unspectacular, with Hibs huffing and puffing and genuinely struggling to find a way through a resolute St. Mirren. Allan's goal saved the day as well as Hecks neck from a harsher post-match inquisition.
The signs leading up to The Sevco game were ominous - uninspiring football from a disjointed and questionable quality Hibs led by an uninspiring, cliche-spouting manager.
The Ibrox capitulation, then, did not come as a surprise to this Hibby, whether we had 10 or 11 on the pitch.
The truth is that I am genuinely questioning the 'quality', the 'hunger' and the 'collective capabilities' of this current group of players, or indeed our managers belief in this group of players, and most importantly whether he can inspire them to produce the 'fast-paced-pressing-game' he talks of.
For the sake of my beloved club, indeed Hecks himself, I hope he goes on to dispel my present doubts.
Nailed it. That's how I see it too.
Sorry to nitpick but should that not read 33.3 %?
Going by Wiki mate
12-08-2019, 12:07 PM
Best thread on .net......toast an a cupper tea for me
12-08-2019, 12:22 PM
Yeah, I’ve had my fair share of pops at Heckingbottom and his new signings since yesterday afternoon so I don’t want to sound like a hypocrite but imo too many people are looking at it in a black and white context, either Hecky good or Hecky bad.
The truth imo is that he did some things excellently last season and did a very good job for us, why try and deny that? I think he’s had a ‘mare of a transfer window though and if he genuinely thinks we’re done he’s living on a different planet. I also think he’s really toiling to know what to do up against the better sides, he’s being shown up badly in these games. He’s not going to lose his job any time soon so he will get time to rectify these things, whether he will though I’ve got my doubts.
I think that's fair. I keep looking at his time at dirty Leeds and then the difference Bielsa made with the same players after his departure.
Now Bielsa is probably in a class of his own - but we saw it with Mowbray, Stubbs and Lennon - the manager making an immediate positive impact on the team. Heckingbottom hasn't as far as I can tell. He talks a good game - but I suspect it simply comes over as gobbledegook to the players. It's too much head and not enough heart.
12-08-2019, 01:32 PM
It seems we are not alone in slating our manager but Newcastle fans are shouting for Bruce to get the sack after ONE game ! Some of the comments are echoing what our fans are saying about yesterday and they lost by one to Arsenal ! Fans need to get a grip.
TBF he wasn't a popular choice.
12-08-2019, 01:42 PM
I'm not asking he be sacked I just think their needs to be a more positive way of playing the big teams. Sevco are a team whom we can take on if set up right and give them a bloody good game. Celtic is yes a lot more difficult but you still have a dig.
It was like what are we going to do to stop Sevco as a pose to what questions can we ask. Problem was we failed to stop them.
12-08-2019, 01:51 PM
I'm not asking he be sacked I just think their needs to be a more positive way of playing the big teams. Sevco are a team whom we can take on if set up right and give them a bloody good game. Celtic is yes a lot more difficult but you still have a dig.
It was like what are we going to do to stop Sevco as a pose to what questions can we ask. Problem was we failed to stop them.
I don’t have a problem setting up negatively against the Rangers and Celtic away from home, try to keep it tight, get the crown on their back and grow into the game.
We had an attacking side yesterday and it’s was stupid, played right into their hands IMO. We never had the ball for the attacking players to play, what’s the point in that?
12-08-2019, 02:22 PM
What's the point of these type of posts on a fans messageboard? 😒
12-08-2019, 02:54 PM
Lennon hit a bad run and it was 4 wins in his last 18 in charge, not great but how it lets certain fans then easily forget the fact Lennon gave us a confidence, backbone, and identity. He had passion in spades and it rubbed off on the fans, hence why we had our largest ever Season Ticket following with him and average attendances.
He surmounted wins against Celtic, Hearts and Rangers, with a very impressive points total to boot.
I hope im wrong of course but let's see how many points Heckingbottom can get us this season and how many wins against those rival teams. Because Lennon made signings for us to be in a position to do those things, aka Ambrose etc. Heckys signings, well, oh dear let's see.
Our best summer signing was STILL a Lennon pursued signing in Allan 🙈
Anyone who sticks their neck out and praised Lennon is told to 'get a grip, get your tongue out' etc, well the harsh reality is its simply just informed football fans recognizing a manager who was brilliant for Hibs.
12-08-2019, 03:12 PM
Lennon hit a bad run and it was 4 wins in his last 18 in charge, not great but how it lets certain fans then easily forget the fact Lennon gave us a confidence, backbone, and identity. He had passion in spades and it rubbed off on the fans, hence why we had our largest ever Season Ticket following with him and average attendances.
He surmounted wins against Celtic, Hearts and Rangers, with a very impressive points total to boot.
I hope im wrong of course but let's see how many points Heckingbottom can get us this season and how many wins against those rival teams. Because Lennon made signings for us to be in a position to do those things, aka Ambrose etc. Heckys signings, well, oh dear let's see.
Our best summer signing was STILL a Lennon pursued signing in Allan 🙈
Anyone who sticks their neck out and praised Lennon is told to 'get a grip, get your tongue out' etc, well the harsh reality is its simply just informed football fans recognizing a manager who was brilliant for Hibs.
Your first sentence kind of contradicts your last. Lennon did get a bounce from hibs, and he was infectious with his passion. Be he also became toxic.
He also had a worse win ratio than heckingbottom currently has, and that's having spent a year in the championship.
I don’t have a problem setting up negatively against the Rangers and Celtic away from home, try to keep it tight, get the crown on their back and grow into the game.
Do you reckon the Queen watches the games and phones them up if things aren't going well?
12-08-2019, 03:28 PM
Back on topic of this thread. I suspect Ron wont let things continue should our playing standard not improve. Any plan he has requires club to be performing. I loved Hecky when he first came in, talked about football in simple terms and said a lot about high press and winning ball back early which is what I want to see.
However, even our decent run of form last season was littered with grinding out results. Where would we have been without Omeonga's through ball to McNulty? So many games where we struggled but managed to win. I'd struggle to name one game under Hecky where I've thought we completely bossed that game and should have scored 6. Think our passing play has become really really poor. Our tempo is shocking and our defence leaky to say the least.
I get the feeling Hecky and Stockdale are the players' mates more than strict managers. I think he'll be out by Decemeber the way this is going. Sure we were 4-1 down and down to 10 men but the last 2 Rangers goals were players giving up and not trying, as if they were before right enough... Mallan's defensive work rate is shocking and he needs dropped.
12-08-2019, 03:37 PM
Do you reckon the Queen watches the games and phones them up if things aren't going well?
12-08-2019, 04:03 PM
What's the point of these type of posts on a fans messageboard? 😒
At least he is being sarcastic. Most of the people talking pish on here are being serious.
I agree with the Hibs way of managerial appointments and Lennon was a one off. Get a manager with potential if heck doesn’t do it he will leave and if he is successful he will leave That’s the market we are in and is the same as the players we sign.
mcfly
12-08-2019, 08:23 PM
I get the feeling we dont know what our best 11 is.
We have to defend better and I would like to see Porteous and Jackson in central defence.
Mallan needs dropped and we desperately need to strengthen midfield as it’s far too weak. Surely the manager must see this.
I do fear if performances don’t improve then he will lose the fans and easter road will become a toxic atmosphere.
The players need to step up and fast or I’m sure the manager will be replaced
12-08-2019, 08:44 PM
I suspect PH is on a steep learning curve as will most of the new boys who came from the English lower leagues, whether they make the transition to the pace of the Scottish game is anybodies guess but they better get their collective fingers out. I was at ER against St Mirren and my overriding memory of the game was utter boredom for most of it, i thought even then that it was like watching an English lower league game where you have all the time in the world to do sod all ! We might have a crap league up here but for the most part managers are pretty savvy and the teams play with i bit of pace which goes unnoticed to most folk in England. When PH said he wanted the team to play a high press and be fitter than they ever had been that might be the case but they are not pressing enough and are not fitter than any other team in Scotland so plenty of work there i think. I want the manager to succeed but the scales need to fall from his eyes and learn from what is wrong with the team and rather sharpish.
Why does his W16 D5 L4 64% record as Barnsley caretaker manager not count?
12-08-2019, 08:58 PM
Well spotted. Maybe we should make him caretaker manager?
12-08-2019, 09:12 PM
I think what players and coaches coming up from England have to take on board is that the leagues here are small and discounting the OF are highly competitive.Including Rangers and Celtic after two games there are only five teams out of forty two with full points.In leagues 1 and2 down south you can drift along during the season and probably spend it mid table under no pressure.This is why decades ago Scottish football opted for smaller leagues as there were far too many games that didn’t matter.There are very few meaningless games here.
12-08-2019, 09:13 PM
Took over from the hugely successful Lee Johnson. It was his team and his style of play.
He basically done what Lennon done last season with Celtic.
12-08-2019, 09:19 PM
His top six record is poor , played 9 ,won 1 ,d 3 ,L 5 .( 1 win and a draw was against Hearts , who were bottom six form )
His bottom six is superb, played 7 ,won 6 ,d 1 L 0 .
Maybe if we let Stubbs job share with PH and let Stubbs take the top six games . PH take the bottom six ones .
But seriously, he needs to improve against the better teams or he will be sacked before Xmas .
12-08-2019, 09:29 PM
His top six record is poor , played 9 ,won 1 ,d 3 ,L 5 .( 1 win and a draw was against Hearts , who were bottom six form )
His bottom six is superb, played 7 ,won 6 ,d 1 L 0 .
Maybe if we let Stubbs job share with PH and let Stubbs take the top six games . PH take the bottom six ones .
But seriously, he needs to improve against the better teams or he will be sacked before Xmas .
If he carries on doing as well against the bottom six and as bad against the top six then he shouldn’t be going anywhere. The rate he’s picking up points currently would have us heading for 3rd or 4th. (I think anyway from a PPG someone put up elsewhere).
12-08-2019, 09:51 PM
What is one’s goalie doing, Sir Thomas?
Less pressure and only a short period of time, or since then his % is pretty poor but for me there has to be question marks over his ability looking at his positions at Barnsley and Leeds, both full time manager jobs and both poor records. There were a few links to Barnsley and Leeds forums saying they were glad he was gone and the football in general was pretty dire.
Jury is definitely out for me, I knew nothing of him prior to coming here but I'm now starting to see a bigger picture of the man, good talker of football but just all talk.
13-08-2019, 06:24 AM
Quite like him in terms of communication and to me comes over well in explaining what he wants. There does seem a bit of a disconnect between how he seems to want us to play and the players brought in. Personally think that some of the criticism of the new players is borderline hysterical as to me it will take a bit of time for new players to settle and move to a new place of work. One or two of these players do need to realise what they are getting in to though and possibly should be benched to take them out of the firing line at present. He doesn't come over as being stupid so I think there is probably some frustration with signings in that he hasn't been able to get in players he would have wanted. Don't believe for one minute he is happy with the make up of the squad. Out of the signings I like Vela and Jackson.
The Rangers game will have put pressure on and he and the team for that matter will need to respond immediately starting Saturday. To me we need 2 or 3 quality players who are starters not squad players now.
I may be wrong however if there is a frustration he maybe isn't getting supported re signings that the decision to put Flo on and leave us so exposed was maybe some message to the board he needs players now.
13-08-2019, 06:27 AM
I’m sure when we went down to ten men away at St Johnstone last season he left two strikers on and went for the win. Extremely naive and stupid to try the same against the huns though.
The main thing that’s worried me since Sunday is that Heckingbottom spoke so well ahead of Sunday about not sitting in and instead we would take the game to them. What we got was absolutely the opposite, whether that was down to them simply having much better players than us I don’t know. But what he spoke about before the game wasn’t carried out during the 90 minutes.
13-08-2019, 06:34 AM
I’m sure when we went down to ten men away at St Johnstone last season he left two strikers on and went for the win. Extremely naive and stupid to try the same against the huns though.
The main thing that’s worried me since Sunday is that Heckingbottom spoke so well ahead of Sunday about not sitting in and instead we would take the game to them. What we got was absolutely the opposite, whether that was down to them simply having much better players than us I don’t know. But what he spoke about before the game wasn’t carried out during the 90 minutes.
I think the personnel he picked was quite attacking, that’s pointless if you can’t get the ball though. That’s what I found strange, it was obvious all week that’s what would happen, I don’t know why that was a surprise to him.
Mallan, Allan, Horgan, Newell, Doidge are all attacking players and that’s half the outfield players he picked so I don’t think he could be accused of setting up negatively, just naively IMO.
13-08-2019, 06:47 AM
Quite like him in terms of communication and to me comes over well in explaining what he wants. There does seem a bit of a disconnect between how he seems to want us to play and the players brought in. Personally think that some of the criticism of the new players is borderline hysterical as to me it will take a bit of time for new players to settle and move to a new place of work. One or two of these players do need to realise what they are getting in to though and possibly should be benched to take them out of the firing line at present. He doesn't come over as being stupid so I think there is probably some frustration with signings in that he hasn't been able to get in players he would have wanted. Don't believe for one minute he is happy with the make up of the squad. Out of the signings I like Vela and Jackson.
The Rangers game will have put pressure on and he and the team for that matter will need to respond immediately starting Saturday. To me we need 2 or 3 quality players who are starters not squad players now.
I may be wrong however if there is a frustration he maybe isn't getting supported re signings that the decision to put Flo on and leave us so exposed was maybe some message to the board he needs players now.
Agree with most.
I don't think he will be happy with what he is getting from his new signings at all, and he knows he has a problem..albeit of his own making
I like Hecky, and the only problem I have with him is when he continuously calls us a 'work in progress' as if we can expect to get a few whippings before we eventually come good.
Well, the three points you get for winning your early games are worth the same as you get for winning your last games, and all count equally towards where we eventually finish in the league.
We got the players in earlier than normal, and I think they should be doing better..
Someone mentioned to me that at times they appear like a bunch of new apprentices turning up at a building site with no idea what they are supposed to be doing....well both games so far have kind of supported that.
Football is a results driven business...we can forget this one as long as a similar result is not repeated, and we beat those teams we should be expecting to beat.
I'm afraid our 6-1 thumping has scratched my confidence a bit, albeit from what looked like a top notch Rangers outfit, and unless we do get a few players in early, I think we'll be battling it out for sixth place.
13-08-2019, 06:50 AM
Took over from the hugely successful Lee Johnson. It was his team and his style of play.
He basically done what Lennon done last season with Celtic.
So he gets no credit at all for having more than 60% win run at that time.
13-08-2019, 06:56 AM
I think the personnel he picked was quite attacking, that’s pointless if you can’t get the ball though. That’s what I found strange, it was obvious all week that’s what would happen, I don’t know why that was a surprise to him.
Mallan, Allan, Horgan, Newell, Doidge are all attacking players and that’s half the outfield players he picked so I don’t think he could be accused of setting up negatively, just naively IMO.
Agree needed to be more defensive. Personally think he should have played 3 at the back with McGregor and Jackson, didn't understand Jackson being dropped and don't think centre back is a position to be playing game about. Slivka should have started IMO. Wing backs were always going to be an issue though. Would have played FLO up top while appreciating he isn't great at holding the ball up his pace and movement are a threat.
Saw his interview prior to the game and he made a comment about the changes giving the impression that the squad were strong enough to be interchangeable personally don't get that.
13-08-2019, 07:00 AM
Agree with most.
I don't think he will be happy with what he is getting from his new signings at all, and he knows he has a problem..albeit of his own making
I like Hecky, and the only problem I have with him is when he continuously calls us a 'work in progress' as if we can expect to get a few whippings before we eventually come good.
Well, the three points you get for winning your early games are worth the same as you get for winning your last games, and all count equally towards where we eventually finish in the league.
We got the players in earlier than normal, and I think they should be doing better..
Someone mentioned to me that at times they appear like a bunch of new apprentices turning up at a building site with no idea what they are supposed to be doing....well both games so far have kind of supported that.
Football is a results driven business...we can forget this one as long as a similar result is not repeated, and we beat those teams we should be expecting to beat.
I'm afraid our 6-1 thumping has scratched my confidence a bit, albeit from what looked like a top notch Rangers outfit, and unless we do get a few players in early, I think we'll be battling it out for sixth place.
Agree. Some fundamental to worry about on Sunday, shape seemed all over the place and to me when he first came in that was something we appeared to be good at. He is struggling a little I think with midfield and shape of it, too many nice players on the ball who offer little defensively which to me is a recipe for disaster especially against good teams and needs immediate attention.
Greenworld
13-08-2019, 07:05 AM
We played 20 mins with ten men trying to get back into it. He could have shut up shop but we wouldn’t have had any chance of getting back into it. He decided to try hang in there and nick a goal instead. Once we conceded the game was over and we collapsed. It happens in football.At 2-1 you shut up shop and try and hit on the break you don't needing coaching badges to work that out. What he did was no more than gamble and hung the team out to dry
Inept management an over analyser who is boring the players to death .
They have a saying in sales death by PowerPoint.
I have a feeling the players are suffering from death by analysis.
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
13-08-2019, 07:14 AM
At 2-1 you shut up shop and try and hit on the break you don't needing coaching badges to work that out. What he did was no more than gamble and hung the team out to dry
Inept management an over analyser who is boring the players to death .
They have a saying in sales death by PowerPoint.
I have a feeling the players are suffering from death by analysis.
I don’t necessarily disagree with that. I think he probably rolled the dice in the hope we could get a goal and if not we’d probably concede another, possibly another 2 at a push. I don’t think anyone could have seen us conceding 4 in 15 mins.
Greenworld
13-08-2019, 07:15 AM
Another thing to consider is Heckingbottom is not Ron's choice, I wonder if he has a strong business streak in him he might decide he's not the man for the job.No one at Easter Road is Ron's choice from LD down well maybe one guy I think he appointed to the board i can't remember his name.
I think the answer will be yes and he might need to accelerate his plans who would have thought it petrie is away 2 minutes and it's falling apart.
13-08-2019, 07:19 AM
I don’t necessarily disagree with that. I think he probably rolled the dice in the hope we could get a goal and if not we’d probably concede another, possibly another 2 at a push. I don’t think anyone could have seen us conceding 4 in 15 mins.
At the rate we were conceding chances it should have formed part of the thought process IMO.
I also wondered how he envisaged the forwards getting the ball when we had nobody to link midfield to attack. Who on the park was going to create something for our 2 forwards?
Heckers had a nightmare day at the office on Sunday and imo there was lots he got wrong, I don’t agree with some saying it was a sackable offence but I hope he realises a lot of it was down to him and not just the players.
scotiaf
13-08-2019, 07:43 AM
Terrible first half performance, 1 bit of genius from Allan for us in the game. By all accounts a bad result. However we can’t go sacking him after 1 win and 1 large defeat. He gets time to get the new players and injured players back up and running. The whole .net seems to be on self destruct. Manager out, chairman out.
Lets relax and hopefully some good performances & results ahead
13-08-2019, 07:53 AM
It's still early in the season, and Heck should be given time to sort things out. Have to say though I'm not confident he will with the players he's brought in.
I always thought it was a very risky appointment from day 1. A relatively inexperienced Manager who clearly had little knowledge of Hibs or Scottish football. It looks a classic case of him underestimating the standard and pace of the game up here and thinking signing a raft of lower league English players will be good enough. Having said that, he's not been supported very well by the recruitment department.
Everyone in the stadium could see that we were going to continue to concede goals at the rate we did if we continued with 2 up top, essentially meaning we were 2 men down in midfield. It is worrying that nothing was done about it.
The red card and even more so the sub are the reasons we ended up taking a hammering.
The stats showed 30 odd shots on goal from the rangers, i would be interested to know how many were in that last period of the game. I would guess a high percentage.
13-08-2019, 08:09 AM
If he carries on doing as well against the bottom six and as bad against the top six then he shouldn’t be going anywhere. The rate he’s picking up points currently would have us heading for 3rd or 4th. (I think anyway from a PPG someone put up elsewhere).
Exactly.....oh for a manager that beats all the bottom 6. But thats not good enough for some. 3 or 4th is the very best we can ever hope for.
13-08-2019, 08:17 AM
I can't take any responsibility away from Heckingbottom for the result but his players didn't give him any help at all. I don't think by any stretch of the imagination that he'll have worked with the team all week on how to lose the ball regularly in dangerous positions, how to not take responsibility on the ball, and how to pass into hopeless areas time and time again.
Hecky signed the players, he picked the team, he should know what he's got in the dressing room. You can't put a team out at Ibrox that craps themselves at the first sing of a blue jersey.
13-08-2019, 08:25 AM
I can't take any responsibility away from Heckingbottom for the result but his players didn't give him any help at all. I don't think by any stretch of the imagination that he'll have worked with the team all week on how to lose the ball regularly in dangerous positions, how to not take responsibility on the ball, and how to pass into hopeless areas time and time again.
Hecky signed the players, he picked the team, he should know what he's got in the dressing room. You can't put a team out at Ibrox that craps themselves at the first sing of a blue jersey.
There’s no question the players never helped but did we really play to their strengths?
Mallan will never be a disciplined physical midfielder that’ll track runners and stick the boot in, similar could be said about Scott Allan so we’re straight away asking Vela to do the defensive work of 3 players in midfield, that was never going to end well and criticising the players for that would be like us signing Messi and playing him at centre half then complaining he never won enough headers.
13-08-2019, 08:25 AM
At the rate we were conceding chances it should have formed part of the thought process IMO.
I also wondered how he envisaged the forwards getting the ball when we had nobody to link midfield to attack. Who on the park was going to create something for our 2 forwards?
Heckers had a nightmare day at the office on Sunday and imo there was lots he got wrong, I don’t agree with some saying it was a sackable offence but I hope he realises a lot of it was down to him and not just the players.
PH's approach was doomed from KO, but he chose to throw Mackie under the bus by blaming his dismissal for the heavy defeat :rolleyes:
13-08-2019, 08:30 AM
PH's approach was doomed from KO, but he chose to throw Mackie under the bus by blaming his dismissal for the heavy defeat :rolleyes:
Not sure I’d say he’s threw him under the bus he done that himself by picking a ridiculous second yellow card
By all accounts we’d dragged ourselves back into the game at that point
13-08-2019, 08:30 AM
There’s no question the players never helped but did we really play to their strengths?
Mallan will never be a disciplined physical midfielder that’ll track runners and stick the boot in, similar could be said about Scott Allan so we’re straight away asking Vela to do the defensive work of 3 players in midfield, that was never going to end well and criticising the players for that would be like us signing Messi and playing him at centre half then complaining he never won enough headers.
Not disagreeing with any of that also his poisitioning of Scott Allan in the first half against St Mirren was also wrong. Trouble is unless he put Jackson in midfield (which may have been worth considering) he doesn't have any other midfielder in the squad who you could consider physical.
13-08-2019, 08:34 AM
Not disagreeing with any of that also his poisitioning of Scott Allan in the first half against St Mirren was also wrong. Trouble is unless he put Jackson in midfield (which may have been worth considering) he doesn't have any other midfielder in the squad who you could consider physical.
Surely if everyone else can see this though he knows it. His lack of signing a physical defensive minded midfielder is going to probably lose him his job in the end. That and making the same changes he has in mind regardless of how the game is going which was evident by still putting a forward when down to ten men like that was the game plan all along rightly or wrongly.
13-08-2019, 08:36 AM
For me, the players didn't turn up. Mallan did nothing in the game - 1 shot maybe that I can remember but he didn't try to get on the ball, he didn't do anything with it when it came near him (I'm not picking on Mallan here, just because you mentioned him) - Mallan didn't play to his strengths.
When you have players that panic and don't take responsibility it honestly doesn't matter what your formation or system is. We didn't set out to play defensively but we spent the game in our 18 yard box - why? because players repeatedly lost the ball in our own half, either through Rangers pressing them or through unforced errors.
I counted at least 3 times where Marciano played us straight into trouble - when your keeper does that what can you do? It doesn't matter if you have one up top or two up top if that happens, automatically we're on the back foot.
Mackie's red card followed a shocker of a pass, unforced, from Marciano. Mackie then compounded the error with a howler of his own.
Whittaker gave the ball away and our midfielders, who can all pass the ball and take the ball in, couldn't find a Hibs player with a pass with any kind of consistency.
It almost didn't matter if it was Kamberi or Doidge playing up front, I think you or I could have played and had the same impact, because nobody was getting the ball to them.
That could be down to the system, which clearly didn't work, but I don't think you can say categorically that is the case when individually we didn't have a player that played close to their best.
13-08-2019, 08:37 AM
He didn't blame Mackie, he said the sending off changed the game. He's right.
SideBurns
13-08-2019, 08:41 AM
One thing which characterised the teams of both Lennon & Stubbs was that they had the bottle to go to Ibrox & Parkhead and compete for 90 minutes. Lennon was able to field a team so weakened by injury that Stevenson played in central defence with Bartley at right-back and yet we still came away with a 2-1 win. It's why I'm reluctant to be too hard on the likes of Hanlon or McGregor; if folk want to argue they're finished at this level (I don't believe so) then that's a legitimate debate, but neither's character can be questioned.
I understand the Huns have improved, but they're not so good that we should feel lucky to get away with a 6-1 defeat. It was the manner of it which disturbed me. The players' professional pride should be hurt - we'll no doubt find out on Saturday.
13-08-2019, 08:42 AM
Surely if everyone else can see this though he knows it. His lack of signing a physical defensive minded midfielder is going to probably lose him his job in the end. That and making the same changes he has in mind regardless of how the game is going which was evident by still putting a forward when down to ten men like that was the game plan all along rightly or wrongly.
You'd hope so, but he thought Joe Newell would contribute on Sunday, that Stevie Mallan is good playing deep and so on. One thing about this board, there are usually a number of different viewpoints, but with regards Heckingbottom the majority are saying the same things about him and very little of it is positive. When you consider his games in the top 6, his less than impressive BetFred Cup campaign, his poor signings, his boring football then add in Sunday's humiliation I'm not sure how he recovers.
13-08-2019, 08:46 AM
Exactly.....oh for a manager that beats all the bottom 6. But thats not good enough for some. 3 or 4th is the very best we can ever hope for.
Your eyes must be painted on if you think HIS team will beat the bottom 6 sides regularly, and i have more chance of biting my own erse than this lot getting 3rd or 4th place.
13-08-2019, 08:52 AM
For me, the players didn't turn up. Mallan did nothing in the game - 1 shot maybe that I can remember but he didn't try to get on the ball, he didn't do anything with it when it came near him (I'm not picking on Mallan here, just because you mentioned him) - Mallan didn't play to his strengths.
When you have players that panic and don't take responsibility it honestly doesn't matter what your formation or system is. We didn't set out to play defensively but we spent the game in our 18 yard box - why? because players repeatedly lost the ball in our own half, either through Rangers pressing them or through unforced errors.
I counted at least 3 times where Marciano played us straight into trouble - when your keeper does that what can you do? It doesn't matter if you have one up top or two up top if that happens, automatically we're on the back foot.
Mackie's red card followed a shocker of a pass, unforced, from Marciano. Mackie then compounded the error with a howler of his own.
Whittaker gave the ball away and our midfielders, who can all pass the ball and take the ball in, couldn't find a Hibs player with a pass with any kind of consistency.
It almost didn't matter if it was Kamberi or Doidge playing up front, I think you or I could have played and had the same impact, because nobody was getting the ball to them.
That could be down to the system, which clearly didn't work, but I don't think you can say categorically that is the case when individually we didn't have a player that played close to their best.
I think before you can play football and keep the ball you’ve got to win your battles to earn the right to play football. We didn’t earn the right to play as we didn’t have the players on the park to win the battle, you can’t just turn up at a place like Ibrox and expect to ping the ball about as we’re up against better players so you need to rattle them a bit first. It’s a cliche but you’ve got to keep it tight for the first half hour, get the crowd a bit nervous and then grow into the game.
The problem is, as others have pointed out, there wasn’t really many other options for Heckingbottom in that regard as he’s decided we don’t need a defensive midfielder. I said it before that I understand his logic, I just completely disagree with it, we need a physical presence in there to allow Scott Allan, Mallan and Vela to go forward. Just now we’re asking midfielders to do jobs they’re not good at so we’re losing the side they are good at as well, we’ll get away with that in games against the lesser sides but in bigger games we’ll continue to struggle IMO.
13-08-2019, 08:53 AM
It's still early in the season, and Heck should be given time to sort things out. Have to say though I'm not confident he will with the players he's brought in.
I always thought it was a very risky appointment from day 1. A relatively inexperienced Manager who clearly had little knowledge of Hibs or Scottish football. It looks a classic case of him underestimating the standard and pace of the game up here and thinking signing a raft of lower league English players will be good enough. Having said that, he's not been supported very well by the recruitment department.
Always concerns me when managers ignore those with a proven Scottish pedigree , even at lower levels, and bulk buy lower level EFL players on the basis that the bottom of their leagues is better quality than our Championship.
How much of these signings are his and how much are the recruitment departments I don't know but whoevers responsible its all very uninspiring.
13-08-2019, 08:57 AM
Hibs need to bounce back on Saturday, if we lose at home then Heckingbottom could be gone. He’s already lost a chunk of the support. Players look lost and his signings are out their depth. So getting knocked out the league cup at home to a lower league club could finish him.
13-08-2019, 08:58 AM
Hibs need to bounce back on Saturday, if we lose at home then Heckingbottom could be gone. He’s already lost a chunk of the support. Players look lost and his signings are out their depth. So getting knocked out the league cup at home to a lower league club could finish him.
He didn’t have a chunk of the support to begin with, imo.
13-08-2019, 08:59 AM
I think before you can play football and keep the ball you’ve got to win your battles to earn the right to play football. We didn’t earn the right to play as we didn’t have the players on the park to win the battle, you can’t just turn up at a place like Ibrox and expect to ping the ball about as we’re up against better players so you need to rattle them a bit first. It’s a cliche but you’ve got to keep it tight for the first half hour, get the crowd a bit nervous and then grow into the game.
The problem is, as others have pointed out, there wasn’t really many other options for Heckingbottom in that regard as he’s decided we don’t need a defensive midfielder. I said it before that I understand his logic, I just completely disagree with it, we need a physical presence in there to allow Scott Allan, Mallan and Vela to go forward. Just now we’re asking midfielders to do jobs they’re not good at so we’re losing the side they are good at as well, we’ll get away with that in games against the lesser sides but in bigger games we’ll continue to struggle IMO.
I can see where you're coming from but we had players that can battle in there (Hanlon, McGregor, Whittaker, Vela) and we had experience in there. Allan has played well at Ibrox before.
You don't need to battle to complete a pass though, that's a cliche.
Who does Marciano need to battle with to be able to find a Hibs player when he plays the ball out?
13-08-2019, 09:02 AM
:agree::top marksYou cant pack your midfield with players who cant tackle, or let their opponents run past them as if they are not there. And even worse, when you do that, then play one forward who's immobile, cant hold the ball up and wont run the channels chasing lost causes.
Square pegs in round holes.
13-08-2019, 09:05 AM
I can see where you're coming from but we had players that can battle in there (Hanlon, McGregor, Whittaker, Vela) and we had experience in there. Allan has played well at Ibrox before.
You don't need to battle to complete a pass though, that's a cliche.
Who does Marciano need to battle with to be able to find a Hibs player when he plays the ball out?
Im not absolving the players from blame completely but I don’t think they ever stood a chance.
In terms of the battle I’m talking about I specifically meant in midfield, the fact Whittaker, Mcgregor etc were there had no impact on the midfield battle.
I do think as well though that a lot of the slack play was a result of being on the back foot constantly, this gave the Rangers players encouragement to pounce on us at every opportunity and I suspect that’ll have lead to a nervousness from the players. I’m not saying that’s right as players need to be mentally strong as well as being capable footballers I just think everything was wrong from the off on Sunday and a pumping was completely inevitable. To then blame the players for it when it’s been obvious all week that was going to happen isn’t right imo.
13-08-2019, 09:05 AM
He didn’t have a chunk of the support to begin with, imo.
Personally I wanted Appleton (no good reason tbh other than he looks like a guy who would command respect.) I don't think it helped Heckingbottom, despite the spin, that he wasn't first choice. However he started well, the players really took to him and his use of modern coaching methods, half-time video analysis and I warmed to him.
My opinion now is based on what has gone on since, nothing to do with my initial thoughts on him. Though I concede for some I think he was always on to fail simply because he wasn't Lennon.
13-08-2019, 09:07 AM
Im not absolving the players from blame completely but I don’t think they ever stood a chance.
In terms of the battle I’m talking about I specifically meant in midfield, the fact Whittaker, Mcgregor etc were there had no impact on the midfield battle.
I do think as well though that a lot of the slack play was a result of being on the back foot constantly, this gave the Rangers players encouragement to pounce on us at every opportunity and I suspect that’ll have lead to a nervousness from the players. I’m not saying that’s right as players need to be mentally strong as well as being capable footballers I just think everything was wrong from the off on Sunday and a pumping was completely inevitable. To then blame the players for it when it’s been obvious all week that was going to happen isn’t right imo.
I think ( and said) that Heckingbottom is responsible. The players didn’t help but the buck stops with the manager.
He should have made changes when it was evident it wasn’t working and he didn’t.
Barman Stanton
13-08-2019, 09:09 AM
I'm not convinced Hecky really thinks we don't need a defensive midfielder. From seeing Aberdeen it looks like that is exactly what Ojo was going to be. By all accounts it looks like we were pursuing him for quite a while. Perhaps we simply didnt have a plan B once it fell through. Or we have also been unable to persuade plan B or C to sign for us.
13-08-2019, 09:10 AM
What can Mallan actually do? I keep hearing he is an attacking midfielder but he shows absolute zero qualities I'd want in an attacking midfielder other than decent shooting.
13-08-2019, 09:16 AM
What can Mallan actually do? I keep hearing he is an attacking midfielder but he shows absolute zero qualities I'd want in an attacking midfielder other than decent shooting.
I agree. He’s not for me at all.
Great stats for goals and assists but a more coherent midfield would make us a better all round team imo.
Someone described him a a brilliant subbuteo player and thought that description was spot on.
13-08-2019, 09:30 AM
He plays the proverbial passenger role to perfection.
13-08-2019, 09:38 AM
I seem to remember a lot of people saying McGeouch never contributed enough on the goal side of things. Mallan's goal and assists tally is impressive and contributed to him being the fans player of the year last season. He can't do it on his own though, and we're really missing Omeonga already. There has to be a balance to make a good midfield and right now we have none whatsoever. Maybe Heckingbottom was sure we would get Omeonga back, or if not then Ojo would sign. Maybe he doesn't have a plan C as he never thought we would need it.
13-08-2019, 09:38 AM
He plays the proverbial passenger role to perfection.
He needs to play in his proper position, which is where Allan plays.
When played further forward, he did score a lot of goals for us, even though the game seemed to pass him by a lot.
Then Lennon and now this one are convinced he's a quarterback, albeit one who does not like to be tackled and nobody further forward for him to hit.
I prefer Allan playing where he is, and would drop Mallan but for who, i'm not sure we have anyone any better?
13-08-2019, 09:58 AM
He needs to play in his proper position, which is where Allan plays.
When played further forward, he did score a lot of goals for us, even though the game seemed to pass him by a lot.
Then Lennon and now this one are convinced he's a quarterback, albeit one who does not like to be tackled and nobody further forward for him to hit.
I prefer Allan playing where he is, and would drop Mallan but for who, i'm not sure we have anyone any better?
Slivka for Mallan until JV can show he’s capable. I completely agree with your post btw, he’s never going to lace Scottys boots never mind force him out of position, when he’s not playing qurterback he’s just shooed in for the sake of it, it seems.
13-08-2019, 10:00 AM
So are you saying the manager has signed players without skill, strength of character and ability to take on board instructions and deliver them?
13-08-2019, 10:07 AM
I think ( and said) that Heckingbottom is responsible. The players didn’t help but the buck stops with the manager.
He should have made changes when it was evident it wasn’t working and he didn’t.
:agree: And those changes he did make only made the situation worse.
13-08-2019, 10:10 AM
I'm not convinced Hecky really thinks we don't need a defensive midfielder. From seeing Aberdeen it looks like that is exactly what Ojo was going to be. By all accounts it looks like we were pursuing him for quite a while. Perhaps we simply didnt have a plan B once it fell through. Or we have also been unable to persuade plan B or C to sign for us.
That is where I am. Think one will come in or at minimum a combative athletic centre mid whether they are of the required quality time will tell. Think we will also get a mobile forward.
13-08-2019, 10:30 AM
I seem to remember a lot of people saying McGeouch never contributed enough on the goal side of things. Mallan's goal and assists tally is impressive and contributed to him being the fans player of the year last season. He can't do it on his own though, and we're really missing Omeonga already. There has to be a balance to make a good midfield and right now we have none whatsoever. Maybe Heckingbottom was sure we would get Omeonga back, or if not then Ojo would sign. Maybe he doesn't have a plan C as he never thought we would need it.
McGeouch contributed much more weekly than Mallan. Always available for a pass, always keeping it moving, moving it forward. He is a much better footballer than Mallan.
13-08-2019, 10:33 AM
McGeouch contributed much more weekly than Mallan. Always available for a pass, always keeping it moving, moving it forward. He is a much better footballer than Mallan.
Exactly. The comparison is a bum job.
13-08-2019, 10:35 AM
Hecky rightly criticises the players for not doing the basics. The number one basic for any manager is to put the right team on the field.He refuses to have a proper defensive midfielder so therefore fails that basic requirement and deserves the criticism he is getting.I also hope he doesn't believe what he said in interview about the game up to the sending off but is trying to gee up the team.
13-08-2019, 10:44 AM
Slivka for Mallan until JV can show he’s capable. I completely agree with your post btw, he’s never going to lace Scottys boots never mind force him out of position, when he’s not playing qurterback he’s just shooed in for the sake of it, it seems.
I’ve said it a few times but I’d give fraser Murray a chance.