View Full Version : Elgin v Hibs

Pages : 1 [2] 3

26-07-2019, 08:04 PM
:agree: The cynic in me thinks that apologising is an easy way out for making intentionally wrong decisions. I hope this doesn’t become a trend.

Normally they don’t bother how it affects teams, far less apologise

26-07-2019, 08:05 PM
This is pathetic.

We could do with a couple of changes and another goal. No need to go all out for another couple as just the win is enough to qualify but we could do with just putting the game to bed.

Alarm bells should be ringing here. Too bloody easy.

Fingers out Hibs and get another goal.

TheHarpy76
We’re ****** woeful at the back 😰

EDIT: 2-0 😁

We look weak.

Nae bother.

Get in.

Flo

That’s better.

Yaaaas

2-0 Kamberi

2-0

Kamberi

Thank **** for that.

26-07-2019, 08:06 PM
Alarm bells should be ringing here. Too bloody easy.

Fingers out Hibs and get another goal.

Answered!

Shh

Jackson and McGregor been far from solid at the back.

2-0. Kamberi. PATHETIC!

Another goal for Flo. Looked more like himself the last 2 games.

Hibs really need to put this game to bed. Bit wasteful so far.

........and thank you.

Answered!

Indeed. On cue

Elgin have had a couple of moments, but I’ve not been concerned at all.

That'll do.

Hopefully we relax a bit and score a couple more.

26-07-2019, 08:07 PM
Well done Flo.

Kamberi on a hat-trick. Lol.

Too slow and lazy on the ball at the back.

26-07-2019, 08:08 PM
Flo is back 😍

Seriously, what’s Jackson been up to tonight? Looked a shambles. Him and McGregor forever charging out of position.

Kamberi on a hat-trick. Lol.

Bit like Geoff Hurst??

Elgin have had a couple of moments, but I’ve not been concerned at all.

I agree but the longer a game stays 1-0 the more likely it gets that one mistake, lapse in concentration etc could be costly.

Irrelevant now though as we have the 2nd.

26-07-2019, 08:09 PM
Big Flo getting his confidence back.

In other news, Mrs Smartie has just arrived back from Fife with 2 Stephens steak bridies for me to have as part of a late dinner.

Yaaaaaas.

I agree but the longer a game stays 1-0 the more likely it gets that one mistake, lapse in concentration etc could be costly.

Irrelevant now though as we have the 2nd.

Of course, PB. But some of the comments are way OTT.

Seriously, what’s Jackson been up to tonight? Looked a shambles. Him and McGregor forever charging out of position.

He doesn't look comfortable on the left hand of the defence. Will be better on the right when Hanlon comes in

Boyle on for Horgan

26-07-2019, 08:10 PM
Pretty torrid conditions now as well.

26-07-2019, 08:10 PM
In other news, Mrs Smartie has just arrived back from Fife with 2 Stephens steak bridies for me to have as part of a late dinner.

Yaaaaaas.

You jammy B’stard!!

Bet they are like Elephants lugs tae??

PS.... local Nisa for me in morning!

26-07-2019, 08:11 PM

Yaaaaaas.

Steak Bridies at this time of night?

:agree: The cynic in me thinks that apologising is an easy way out for making intentionally wrong decisions. I hope this doesn’t become a trend.

Folk apologise for mistakes too, you know.

Yaaaaaas.

#Jealous

Of course, PB. But some of the comments are way OTT.

I agree with that as well.

We have been far from flashy tonight but we are getting the job done and a couple of nervy moments aside have looked fairly comfortable.

A game that few will recall in years to come which is generally a good thing when playing a lower league team away in the cup.

26-07-2019, 08:12 PM
Vela booked

26-07-2019, 08:12 PM
I agree with that as well.

We have been far from flashy tonight but we are getting the job done and a couple of nervy moments aside have looked fairly comfortable.

A game that few will recall in years to come which is generally a good thing when playing a lower league team away in the cup.

Exactly. And it should have been the third goal anyway, given the shocking decision earlier.

26-07-2019, 08:13 PM

Yaaaaaas.

Btw, what’s the other part??

26-07-2019, 08:13 PM
Is one of the take aways from tonight that our starting central defence v St Mirren is likely to be Hanlon and A N Other? Whilst we haven't really been troubled I don't think Jackson and McGregor have really sold themselves as a partnership.

26-07-2019, 08:14 PM
I’m going to stand outside the east stand applauding this performance.

Ronster117
26-07-2019, 08:14 PM
Btw, what’s the other part??

Soooooo don't tell us....too much info incoming

26-07-2019, 08:15 PM
Need to be careful no red cards

Really pleased for Flo, I'm hoping this will kickstart his confidence for the rest of the season.

Is one of the take aways from tonight that our starting central defence v St Mirren is likely to be Hanlon and A N Other? Whilst we haven't really been troubled I don't think Jackson and McGregor have really sold themselves as a partnership.

Yeah they’ve been a little ragged at times.

26-07-2019, 08:16 PM
I’m going to stand outside the east stand applauding this performance.

I've built a small platform above my sofa in the style of Waldorf and Statler and have just started to shed silent tears of pride.

Think so PB. Hanlon and McGregor with James in for Whittaker. I can see Whittaker moving to LB

Tomsk

I don't wish to set off a Hanlon debate but your comment really doesn't give me peace of mind.

Dobosz83
26-07-2019, 08:17 PM

Yip. Hanlon for me has nailed his position. Porteous on his return would be alongside him IMO.

Another takeaway is Vela will get stuck in and will be useful for launching counter attacks as he has a bit of technical ability in tight spots.

26-07-2019, 08:17 PM
And yet Jackson was excellent v Arbroath. Obviously prefers right side.

26-07-2019, 08:18 PM
wonder if that big digger is to pick out all our 2nd half goals if the keeper gets too tired

Been looking at it all night thinking I want a shot. Thank duck I'm no there :greengrin.

Andymac85
26-07-2019, 08:18 PM
Willie Collum is actually hilarious. It takes skill to be that incompetent.

26-07-2019, 08:19 PM
Jackson has been fine imo, don’t see what people are seeing that’s so bad about his performance tonight.

26-07-2019, 08:19 PM
I think Mackie has been looking good the last couple of games. Solid again tonight, he has so much energy and bursts up the pitch well.

26-07-2019, 08:20 PM
i like Newall, seems a bit of a radge.

Think so PB. Hanlon and McGregor with James in for Whittaker. I can see Whittaker moving to LB

No chance Whitty at left back, James maybe. I'd say Mackie if Lewis isn't available.

There he is. Hi Scott 👋

26-07-2019, 08:21 PM
Vela looks a bit knackered.

26-07-2019, 08:22 PM
No chance Whitty at left back, James maybe. I'd say Mackie if Lewis isn't available.

I’m happy with what you’ve suggested SH.

percy veer
26-07-2019, 08:23 PM
Jackson has been fine imo, don’t see what people are seeing that’s so bad about his performance tonight.

I'm thinking the same, Newell has been no bad aswell

26-07-2019, 08:23 PM

I don't think he's been bad either but him and McGregor just seem very similar. A bit old school, like if Man Utd had with 2 of Vidic rather than having the more cultured player alongside. Neither are comfortable playing the left hand CB role either. For me it has to be Hanlon and one of the other 2, soon to be 3, for balance.

SJNB Hibby
26-07-2019, 08:24 PM
I think Mackie has been looking good the last couple of games. Solid again tonight, he has so much energy and bursts up the pitch well.

Hasnt put a foot wrong---should have had an assist there if Flo had put that on target
My MOTM

He plays advantage for less than two seconds?

I’m happy with what you’ve suggested SH.

Cheers mate.

He plays advantage for less than two seconds?

Guys a clown.

26-07-2019, 08:25 PM
Cheers mate.

I actually forgot about James who for me is a stick on to start against St Mirren

26-07-2019, 08:26 PM
Kamberi limping?

Not a great sign for next week

26-07-2019, 08:27 PM
Elgin are leaving the boot in a bit here

Boyle down holding his knee 😬

Andymac85
Oh ****

This doesn’t look good

Boyle having to go off.

Kamberi limping?

Not a great sign for next week

That’s why we need another striker.

Looks like he’s done. Hope it’s not too serious

Boyle done

26-07-2019, 08:28 PM
Boyle going off injured

**** sake. These circumstances are definitely unseen. Get another winger signed pronto.

Now another winger

coco22
Vela looks a bit knackered.

Dropped out of it plus interestingly the players have started to look for SA as the outball instead since he came on (good option!!)

Cummings 😬

Looks fine

Was that Ron Gordon in the stand shaking everyone’s hand?

26-07-2019, 08:29 PM
Cummings 😬

:hyper

Oh ****. Looks like his knee. At least he is walking on it.

I wasn't suggesting Doidge was offside. I was wondering if Kamberi was offside when the ball was played to Doidge.

He wasn’t mim!

26-07-2019, 08:30 PM
Remember when we thought our ridiculous injury situation would only last one season?

26-07-2019, 08:30 PM
Really hoping kamberi’s isn’t too bad, he’ll be a big player again for us this season imo

26-07-2019, 08:31 PM
Just goes to show how short we are, another striker and a winger needed and probably another central midfielder although I guess Slivka may come back in at some point.

I hope we aren't done.

Todi114
26-07-2019, 08:32 PM
Vela and newell look good
allan is class
Kamberi looks interested
porteous Gray and Stevenson to come back
boyle hopefully just a precaution

That is a red card for me. Cyclical and no attempt to play the ball

Cummings 😬

A player that certainly splits opinions...not least in my family..as I would love it and my dad wouldn't 😂

****ing shocking challenge

tonyrougier123
26-07-2019, 08:33 PM
If we are starting the season with our best striker and winger wrapped in cotton wool,we better be back in the transfer market.

Canny afford to be light in those areas. Doidge looks decent 👍

26-07-2019, 08:34 PM
So if it ends like this hearts will need to win 5-0 to beat us to being seeded?

We’re dropping like flies here

26-07-2019, 08:35 PM

Please let this be true.

****ing shocking challenge

Bronski beat and hacks down Allan.

One for you 1980s music fans

That is a red card for me. Cyclical and no attempt to play the ball

Warranted a booking and a firm talking to. Never a red IMO.

Please let this be true.

I’m sure it is, they need to win and win by 4 to tie on goal difference with us and 5 to beat us to being seeded

26-07-2019, 08:36 PM
I like what I've seen from Doidge. He's clearly had a good football education.

tonyrougier123
26-07-2019, 08:37 PM

😂😂👍👍

No, it ain't necessarily so.......

Please let this be true.

Think it is, livi would need to win by 6 I think they said earlier.

I’m sure it is, they need to win and win by 4 to tie on goal difference with us and 5 to beat us to being seeded

If it was 4 and a tie would they not be better on goals scored?

Livi need 5.

Good stuff.

26-07-2019, 08:38 PM

I'm seeking out a balcony.

Full time 2-0

Job done. Safe journey home guys :aok:

26-07-2019, 08:39 PM
No surprise to see Newell performing well after having a few games to settle into Scottish football, Heck's tactics and match fitness. We'll have far tougher challenges than Elgin, but it's good to see him expressing his talents.

26-07-2019, 08:40 PM
No surprise to see Newell performing well after having a few games to settle into Scottish football, Heck's tactics and match fitness. We'll have far tougher challenges than Elgin, but it's good to see him expressing his talents.

Indeed. We have a lot of good footballers.

26-07-2019, 08:40 PM
That was unacceptable.

We've already established that Newell is *****. That result just imbalances the whole order. :grr:

Todi114
26-07-2019, 08:41 PM
Can’t believe the stick joe newell has taken
first look at him tonight
him and vela look like playing most weeks

decent of tory boy to apologise

Not accepting that to be honest. Cheating no other word

I swear I must be watching a different game than everyone else.

26-07-2019, 08:42 PM
Mallan is my only frustration from that one. Bring back the Mallan who shoots ASAP.

And don't get me started on his defensive side..

Two gifted goals separated the sides.

1 convincing performance out of 4 but 3 wins out of 4 so can’t argue.

Folk will be talking Newell up tonight as he looked competent. He’s not.

Allan and Marciano are our two true quality players with Vela and Kamberi the closest after that. Everyone else is alright.

Job done. PH now has to pick his best starting 11 and get them gelling for a good league campaign

I swear I must be watching a different game than everyone else.Aye it your watching with your eyelids shut...Newell was our best player tonight.. far better than Horgan on the other side

26-07-2019, 08:43 PM

And the BT pundits too apparently.

I know there were some people unhappy with how we played tonight but I’m pretty comfortable with what I saw.

The new signings are better than I first thought and it showed we’ve got good strength in depth in the squad.

When the league starts teams will come out at us a bit more and that’ll give us more space to work with.

Good nights work imo.

Juice-Terry
Mallan is my only frustration from that one. Bring back the Mallan who shoots ASAP.

I concur.

Allan and Marciano are our two true quality players with Vela and Kamberi the closest after that. Everyone else is alright.Jeezo do u ever take a break from your constant negativity

26-07-2019, 08:44 PM
Jeezo do u ever take a break from your constant negativity

Maybe it’s his way of seeing things?

Still lots missing and surely folk can see that

26-07-2019, 08:45 PM
I know there were some people unhappy with how we played tonight but I’m pretty comfortable with what I saw.

The new signings are better than I first thought and it showed we’ve got good strength in depth in the squad.

When the league starts teams will come out at us a bit more and that’ll give us more space to work with.

Good nights work imo.

Absolutely. Some crazy comments on here.

Allan and Marciano are our two true quality players with Vela and Kamberi the closest after that. Everyone else is alright.

Take a night off. Boring

Wee Effen Bee
So. Lots of game time for new/fringe players; 8 goals; 1 against; topped the group and some good partnerships being tested! A sound LC campaign. I’m sure some fowlk will find negatives though!

Good nights work imo.

Got the job done on a small, dry and then slippy pitch. Never looked like conceding and could've scored more.

Folk moaning about not seeing the high press and then we score two goals from opposition errors because of it and it's not good enough.

If it was 4 and a tie would they not be better on goals scored?

Livi need 5.

Yes, 4-0 will see Hearts ahead of us on more goals scored.

26-07-2019, 08:46 PM

....... but both Craigan and Stewart continually insist on casting doubt as to where or even whether Heckingbottom has a place for Allan in a starting eleven. :rolleyes:

26-07-2019, 08:46 PM
Crappy weather and worse referee didn't help. If he makes correct decisions first half we likely win 4/5. Happy with what I saw from Hibs.

26-07-2019, 08:47 PM

Why?

Unless he is shooting and causing problems from that then he won't get away with the defensive side as he is badly lacking off the ball.

It's clickbait on .net mate.

You missed the bit about quality players?

I take lots of time off when we’re convincing.

Newell up against Rangers/Celtic/Sheep/Yam?

Yeah, alright.

Can’t believe the stick joe newell has taken
first look at him tonight
him and vela look like playing most weeks

Correct. Some wouldn’t know a footballer in a million attempts. Both excellent tonight.

Liam6270
26-07-2019, 08:48 PM
Kamberi looks hungry again, Vela looks very composed, can play a bit and doesn’t mind mixing it up, I thought Whittaker played well, Newell is very neat and tidy and getting better, Horgan and Allan going to massive for us this season, Marciano definitely number 1 and finally it looks like it will Be Porteous and AN other at CH.

What a squad we have by the way!

26-07-2019, 08:48 PM

Nonsense.

26-07-2019, 08:49 PM

Good nights work imo.

Tonight is the first chance I’ve had to see us this season due to holiday but I wasn’t expecting much from the new players based on what I’d been reading on here. Very pleasantly surprised with what I saw tonight.

We won the group, we’re in the next round. That’s all we all wanted surely.

We’re dropping like flies here

A 4-0 win for Hearts and a 5-0 win for Livingston is needed to prevent us from being seeded.

I think both are possible, I'd say we're one goal short of being certainties for being seeded after tonight.

You missed the bit about quality players?

I take lots of time off when we’re convincing.

Newell up against Rangers/Celtic/Sheep/Yam?

Yeah, alright.

Has he played against them yet?

26-07-2019, 08:50 PM

The best Hibs teams I've seen have had a couple of really quality players, a couple just behind them and the rest ok.

We've also had teams devoid of real quality, the majority of them ok and a couple of duffers.

I think we're close to being a good side and I'm looking forward to the league starting.

Boyle's injury is the biggest concern of the night, far more concerning than any aspect of the performance which was perfectly acceptable.

26-07-2019, 08:51 PM

He is best ignored

26-07-2019, 08:52 PM
Heckingbottom saying it’s the same knee Boyle injured previously.

Hopefully it’s not a bad one this time

hibee316

Are you alright though?

Absolutely. Some crazy comments on here.

Yup, very strange responses on here to an incredibly comfortable victory. They should have had a player sent off early on and Kamberi had one disallowed.

We were never in any danger tonight.

Much bigger tests to come but the squad is looking decent.

26-07-2019, 08:53 PM
He is best ignored

There are reasons why there is an ignore button on Hibs.net!

Bangkok Hibby
I thought I heard some booing at times when Whittaker was on the ball. Hope I'm wrong, thought he played well enough tonight.

Based on tonight my view of the new boys is:

Jackson looks a rugged sort but he'll play his part and doesn't look scared of a challenge.

Vela looks like he will buzz about, get stuck in and has a bit quality on the ball as well, when he gets up to full speed he'll be a top signing.

Newell will be frustrating. Does some very nice things and some not so good. I reckon he'll be one of those guys who one fan sees as a 9/10 and another sees as a 3.

Doidge improves me more every time I see him. I'm not convinced he'll bang in 20 goals a season but he'll be a player very much appreciated by those playing near him. A solid signing.

Tonight wasn't a performance to be inspired by but it was a professional job in tough conditions. We are through the group, as we should be, have a good chance of being seeded and have given most players a lot of game time in the lead up to the league season. We could maybe do with a couple more bodies but overall I'm pretty comfortable with where we are. We'll be in and about that battle for one of the top 4 places again.

hibee316
26-07-2019, 08:54 PM
I thought I heard some booing at times when Whittaker was on the ball. Hope I'm wrong, thought he played well enough tonight.

I think that was from the home fans but could be wrong..

It's clickbait on .net mate.

It’s not clickbait pal, it’s an opinion that differs from yours.

Go rent a brain and understand that not everyone reaches for moisturiser when we beat a league 2 team by two gifted goals.

That’s good enough for you. Enjoy watching our players who need 40 touches to decide where the balls going when we’re playing top six teams.

Thank goodness we have Allan. I also left out Horgan in the earlier post. He’s going to be standout for us this season.

It'll be interesting to see what we're like once we get out of first gear.

Marvellous
26-07-2019, 08:56 PM
He is best ignored

Agreed. Attention seeking bore.

26-07-2019, 08:56 PM
There are reasons why there is an ignore button on Hibs.net!

He is on ignore, unfortunately still see his negative posts when someone replies to him which is a pain

hibee316
26-07-2019, 08:57 PM

Go rent a brain and understand that not everyone reaches for moisturiser when we beat a league 2 team by two gifted goals.

That’s good enough for you. Enjoy watching our players who need 40 touches to decide where the balls going when we’re playing top six teams.

Thank goodness we have Allan. I also left out Horgan in the earlier post. He’s going to be standout for us this season.

If course you are allowed different opinions!
It's the way you post it though that gets everyone's backs up.

You just come across as very angry.

26-07-2019, 08:58 PM
We're winning these games without really getting out of 1st gear. Which could either be a great thing or an awful thing, depending on whether we have any more gears or not.

He is best ignored

Agreed. I'd be grateful if folk could stop quoting this WUM, since I do have him on ignore. Kinda defeats the point.

He is on ignore, unfortunately still see his negative posts when someone replies to him which is a pain

Aye it's a bit of a pain that that's the case. Probably my main wee grumble about an otherwise top notch fans forum.

Kamberi looks hungry again, Vela looks very composed, can play a bit and doesn’t mind mixing it up, I thought Whittaker played well, Newell is very neat and tidy and getting better, Horgan and Allan going to massive for us this season, Marciano definitely number 1 and finally it looks like it will Be Porteous and AN other at CH.

What a squad we have by the way!
Porteous is fourth choice right now, has to earn his way back in. Doesn't deserve to walk in over McGregor and Hanlon.

Go rent a brain ? Nice one.

26-07-2019, 08:59 PM
Still pretty convinced our squad is light by two or three players. If PH makes no more signings I think the thin-ness will speak for itself soon enough.

ElginHibbie

Aye, homes fans some of whom also gave Allan it tight when he came on

Not saying they were Sevco fans...but they were

No, it ain't necessarily so.......

Can't wait for Hibs to Hit that perfect beat..

26-07-2019, 09:00 PM
He is on ignore, unfortunately still see his negative posts when someone replies to him which is a painWont be from me again mate...hes deffo on ignore from now on...drains the life out of me

26-07-2019, 09:01 PM
He is best ignored

You really can’t handle an opinion that differs from yours can you?

You absolutely s**t yourself and resort to having digs.

What makes you think it’s alright to have snidey digs?

Others can debate it without resorting to digs.

Why are you hopelessly incapable of just debating when you don’t agree?

Thank God we weren't winning these games 6-0 as some on here would be in for a big letdown.

I still think we need 2 signings but we're progressing.

A 4-0 win for Hearts and a 5-0 win for Livingston is needed to prevent us from being seeded.

I think both are possible, I'd say we're one goal short of being certainties for being seeded after tonight.

The poppy thieves won't score 4, no chance, I fancy East Fife to get at least a draw.

26-07-2019, 09:02 PM

Tonight is the first chance I’ve had to see us this season due to holiday but I wasn’t expecting much from the new players based on what I’d been reading on here. Very pleasantly surprised with what I saw tonight.

We won the group, we’re in the next round. That’s all we all wanted surely.

Agree we were good. Another day and competent offficials we win by 5. Some good stuff imo and job done. Jewell was good as was Vela definitely need another centre mid imo. Hope Boyle is ok but looked bad.

26-07-2019, 09:03 PM
Thank God we weren't winning these games 6-0 as some on here would be in for a big letdown.

I think that's about right.

26-07-2019, 09:03 PM
Agree we were good. Another day and competent offficials we win by 5. Some good stuff imo and job done. Jewell was good as was Vela definitely need another centre mid imo. Hope Boyle is ok but looked bad.

Hope Boyle is ok

26-07-2019, 09:04 PM

I'm more than happy to take on board your comments about Hibs no matter how negative they might seem to some. I agree with a lot of them.

It's your attempts at humour that do my head in.

Musselbound

Why on earth would Elgin fans be booing Whittaker?

Still pretty convinced our squad is light by two or three players. If PH makes no more signings I think the thin-ness will speak for itself soon enough.

I thought so too but I wonder if allowing youngsters to play a few games might just bring out more in them than giving them a game or two when we’re struggling for bodies.

I know that probably sounds obvious but I’m definitely guilty of wanting youngsters to be given game time and then wanting an instant return from them on the pitch and wanting new signings to fill out the squad at the same time.

If course you are allowed different opinions!
It's the way you post it though that gets everyone's backs up.

You just come across as very angry.

When people have digs because of:

1. Their bias against the poster
2. Their inability to debate an opinion from their snowflake outlook
3. Then I’m the bad guy.

Angry would be accurate.

Notice how others who disagree don’t need to resort to that.

Both those results need to come in?

Not going to happen.

We have the seeding.

26-07-2019, 09:05 PM

Absolutely last 2 games have been good and progressing nicely for the start of the season.

Yup, very strange responses on here to an incredibly comfortable victory. They should have had a player sent off early on and Kamberi had one disallowed.

We were never in any danger tonight.

Much bigger tests to come but the squad is looking decent.
Probably Jambo trolls. Best to ignore.

I'm more than happy to take on board your comments about Hibs no matter how negative they might seem to some. I agree with a lot of them.

It's your attempts at humour that do my head in.

Guilty as charged.

Why on earth would Elgin fans be booing Whittaker?

Hun contingent.

Guilty as charged.

26-07-2019, 09:06 PM

What happens if we are tied on goal difference?

delaCalz
26-07-2019, 09:06 PM

Lol you mean digs like this:
Go rent a brain and understand that not everyone reaches for moisturiser when we beat a league 2 team by two gifted goals

26-07-2019, 09:07 PM
The best Hibs teams I've seen have had a couple of really quality players, a couple just behind them and the rest ok.

We've also had teams devoid of real quality, the majority of them ok and a couple of duffers.

I think we're close to being a good side and I'm looking forward to the league starting.

Boyle's injury is the biggest concern of the night, far more concerning than any aspect of the performance which was perfectly acceptable.

I agree with you Smartie.

As I said, I can’t argue with 3 wins out of 4 but Arbroath aside, which I commented on the match thread how good it looked, the performances of the players aren’t impressing me.

ElginHibbie
Hun contingent.

Yup, also booed Allan

Lol you mean digs like this:
Go rent a brain and understand that not everyone reaches for moisturiser when we beat a league 2 team by two gifted goals

Retaliation to an unprovoked dig you mean?

hibee316
26-07-2019, 09:09 PM

Jeez.

How to make friends and influence people.

I will tell you What, I don't disagree with what you have said, I think the jury is out in all the players. It isn't fair to make a proper judgment on them for a while yet. They might turn out good, might turn out crap.

I think Newell could struggle at times, but I also think Hecky has a point about having a left footer in there.
But I won't make a judgement till much later. There was definitely flashes there tonight of something really good.

Saying that, I'm pretty sure no one is going to have a go at my post as I try not to come across as an erse...

3. Then I’m the bad guy.

Angry would be accurate.

Calling out people for having a “snowflake outlook” while simultaneously acting the victim over a few digs received on an Internet forum 😂😂😂

Good nights work imo.

Tough match, away from home to bunch of cloggers on a soaking wet night. Never going to be silky.

Hibs looked pretty good to me, will get better too.

26-07-2019, 09:10 PM
Good win and top the group with better than evens chance to be seeded. That's job done for me. Elgin were very physical tonight but we stood up reasonably well to their tactics not helped by a woeful referee and two poor assistants. Heck has done what he said he would do and the vast majority of the first team have a good amount of games in their legs. Some absolute bamsticks in our support. One boy arrived to shout abuse at Newell and Whitts with 5 mins to go. He was told and admitted he had been in the pub for most of the game. Flo, Newell and Fax best players for me. Mallan got swamped by them doubling up and it wasn't his best game

26-07-2019, 09:10 PM

You truly are a miserable drama queen. You've seen Newell for what 4-5 games and judged him already?
Yet Vela plays 2 games and he is quality?

delaCalz
26-07-2019, 09:11 PM
Retaliation to an unprovoked dig you mean?

Lol, so it just depends...and you having digs at players is ok

26-07-2019, 09:11 PM
Don`t think we can read too much into results or performances in these LC matches . Real test will be in league . That said I thought we played well tonight but obviously a bit disappointed we didn`t turn dominance into a much bigger win . Hard for PH to experiment with best selection while making sure we qualify and players get match practice before league but would have liked to see Shaw get more game time in group matches . Tonight I think he would have been more effective than Kamberi ( poor apart from goal I thought especially given opposition ) or Doidge but I can see why PH wanted to give others time to get match fit and play together .

26-07-2019, 09:12 PM
Jeez.

How to make friends and influence people.

I will tell you What, I don't disagree with what you have said, I think the jury is out in all the players. It isn't fair to make a proper judgment on them for a while yet. They might turn out good, might turn out crap.

I think Newell could struggle at times, but I also think Hecky has a point about having a left footer in there.
But I won't make a judgement till much later. There was definitely flashes there tonight of something really good.

Saying that, I'm pretty sure no one is going to have a go at my post as I try not to come across as an erse...

And I don’t attack, I retaliate, but the attackers seem to be in the clear.

With Newell, he’s not quick, he needs a long time on the ball and he shoots straight the keeper.

I know he scored and others will focus on that.

We’ve had a heavy touch throughout these games and I’m looking for us to qualify for Europe. 4 games plus friendlies in, I’m getting more and more grateful for the quality we do have.

26-07-2019, 09:13 PM
You truly are a miserable drama queen. You've seen Newell for what 4-5 games and judged him already?
Yet Vela plays 2 games and he is quality?

Both are judged on what they’ve done so far.

How long does it take you to spot a player?

26-07-2019, 09:13 PM
Lol, so it just depends...and you having digs at players is ok

On a forum to discuss the team where I praise others?

Liam6270
26-07-2019, 09:14 PM

Explain how Newell is not competent?

26-07-2019, 09:15 PM
Calling out people for having a “snowflake outlook” while simultaneously acting the victim over a few digs received on an Internet forum 😂😂😂

Par for the course with people who use the term 'snowlflakes'.

When you consider they are quoting a term first coined by a literary character who, quite literally, beat himself up because of his own feelings of emasculation attributable to his inability to perform in the bedroom then it probably shouldn't come as a surprise.

26-07-2019, 09:15 PM
Explain how Newell is not competent?

See above.

26-07-2019, 09:16 PM
From what ive seen , we have improved game by game. New players all look decent enough so far , they will improve as the games come faster. Would still like to see us sign a centre midfielder, bring in a good loan striker and allow oli to get regular game time on loan to a championship team

Liam6270
See above.

You’re at it

Both are judged on what they’ve done so far.

How long does it take you to spot a player?

Longer than a few games. I recall Scott Allan took longer to really show his quality in his 1st spell. Yes, we didn't set the heather alight, but I see more positives than negatives and am willing to give the team and individuals a proper chance to prove themselves before I write them off as incompetent.

26-07-2019, 09:17 PM

Can't really take seriously the opinions of anyone who uses the term snowflake unironically.

Unless they're referring to snow of course. :rolleyes:

26-07-2019, 09:17 PM
Fairly comfortable but thought we should have kicked in and scored another couple of goals.

26-07-2019, 09:18 PM
I agree with you Smartie.

As I said, I can’t argue with 3 wins out of 4 but Arbroath aside, which I commented on the match thread how good it looked, the performances of the players aren’t impressing me.

I think it’s unfair to judge as Hecky has admitted he’s been playing players to get 3 full games of match time under their belts. He’s managed that whilst gelling a lot of new players & combinations and winning our group (which I know was a must anyway)

Roll on the st Mirren game where our strongest team should play, injuries aside. I think we’ll see a strong performance and win

26-07-2019, 09:18 PM

When you consider they are quoting a term first coined by a literary character who, quite literally, beat himself up because of his own feelings of emasculation attributable to his inability to perform in the bedroom then it probably shouldn't come as a surprise.

Lol, what’s the etymology got to do with it when the context of its use is in the current slang definition?

HFC93
26-07-2019, 09:19 PM

3. Then I’m the bad guy.

Angry would be accurate.

You've lost me at 'snowflake'.

26-07-2019, 09:19 PM
Lol, what’s the etymology got to do with it when the context of its use is in the current slang definition?

Sorry I'm not debating, just retaliating.

26-07-2019, 09:20 PM
Bizarre that some people are choosing to judge the new signings on the basis of games that have been played at pre season tempo regardless of whether it's positively or negatively. As for Newell he's been a regular at a level where some (including Scotty & Sparky McNulty) have struggled to make an impact so I think he must have something about him.

Liam6270
26-07-2019, 09:21 PM

Hahaha me too!

vercol36
26-07-2019, 09:21 PM

Absolutely. It’s pretty much a dead cert that anyone who uses that word is a fuc&ing simpleton

26-07-2019, 09:23 PM
Longer than a few games. I recall Scott Allan took longer to really show his quality in his 1st spell. Yes, we didn't set the heather alight, but I see more positives than negatives and am willing to give the team and individuals a proper chance to prove themselves before I write them off as incompetent.

I prefer to see if the strengths and weaknesses of the squad can be identified earlier. After watching football for this long, I think some things positive and negative can be seen early.

In the commentary, it was mentioned that Hibs will play stacking football this year. We may well but without Boyle for example, we’re not blessed with a lot of pace in the final 3rd.

26-07-2019, 09:24 PM

Can't really take seriously the opinions of anyone who uses the term snowflake unironically.

Unless they're referring to snow of course. :rolleyes:

Biggest positive about the popularisation of that particular term is it is typically a great indicator of the users character.

delaCalz
On a forum to discuss the team where I praise others?

Ah right so you asked this:

So its fine for you to make snidey digs at players because it's a forum (to SUPPORT the club, Inc players etc) but not you. Ok got it

Jamie McLaren actually turning out to be gash is looking like the worst thing that’s happened to Hibs.net since Terry Butcher was the Hibs manager.

In all seriousness though, if Speedway wants to have unpopular opinions just let him. I don’t agree with a lot of what he’s saying but nobody on here is changing his mind so why bother IMO.

Sorry for talking about you like you’re not here Speedway but you’re getting too much attention here for my liking. We should be talking about our dazzling display tonight and Newells MOTM performance, not discussing your debating style 😉

Sorry I'm not debating, just retaliating.

And avoiding the question don’t forget.

I thought we were pretty comfortable aside from a couple of moments where we looked dodgy at the back. I think we limited them to one shot on goal and should’ve scored another couple more ourselves, not even counting Flo’s perfectly good goal.

Newell was ok, he was a bit greedy at times and has no pace. Good player with the ball though and linked well in the middle. Doidge worked hard and had a couple of half chances but was rightly taken off before Flo.

Hanlon will provide better balance in central defence, James will be an improvement on Whitty at RB as well.

Worrying stuff about Boyle. Could really do with signing another quick wide player and a central midfielder for cover.

hibee316
26-07-2019, 09:25 PM
And I don’t attack, I retaliate, but the attackers seem to be in the clear.

Right, there are two possible explanations here;

1. There are a number of posters in this thread who are out to get you for having a different opinion to yours.

2. There are a number of posters in this thread who find your posting style antagonistic and get annoyed by it.

What's more likely?

I'm not having a go at you by the way, just trying to think of a reason why you are feeling attacked by folk :)

vercol36
26-07-2019, 09:25 PM
Biggest positive about the popularisation of that particular term is it is typically a great indicator of the users character.

👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽

26-07-2019, 09:26 PM
I thought we were pretty comfortable aside from a couple of moments where we looked dodgy at the back. I think we limited them to one shot on goal and should’ve scored another couple more ourselves, not even counting Flo’s perfectly good goal.

Newell was ok, he was a bit greedy at times and has no pace. Good player with the ball though and linked well in the middle. Doidge worked hard and had a couple of half chances but was rightly taken off before Flo.

Hanlon will provide better balance in central defence, James will be an improvement on Whitty at RB as well.

Worrying stuff about Boyle. Could really do with signing another quick wide player and a central midfielder for cover.

You can also add Stevenson offering more from left back as well.

Mackie was fine but I’d have liked to have seen more of him getting forward, especially with Newell tucking inside a lot.

Here’s Lucy!
26-07-2019, 09:27 PM
We won, relatively comfortably. We will almost definitely be seeded. All good, yeah?

The discussion is about ‘snowflakes’.

ehf
26-07-2019, 09:28 PM
See above.

:yawn:

26-07-2019, 09:30 PM
Sorry to digress, but could someone fill me in on where the phrase "snowflake" was originally from?

The first I heard of it was a few years ago when it hit the media that a mother of a child at school had referred to her child as a "precious little snowflake", slightly over-emphasising the vulnerability of the child. After that I seemed to hear it everywhere.

Is it from somewhere else?

BlackSheep
26-07-2019, 09:30 PM
The only thing that now matters is Martin Boyle and whether his injury tonight is anything serious.

26-07-2019, 09:31 PM
Sorry to digress, but could someone fill me in on where the phrase "snowflake" was originally from?

The first I heard of it was a few years ago when a mother of a child at school had referred to her child as a "precious little snowflake", slightly over-emphasising the vulnerability of the child. After that I seemed to hear it everywhere.

Chuck Palahnuiks 'Fight Club'.

I think the term had been used before then but the novel popularised it.

hibee316
26-07-2019, 09:31 PM
The only thing that now matters is Martin Boyle and whether his injury tonight is anything serious.

True.

Did he not ask to come back on though?! Don't know...

Here’s Lucy!
26-07-2019, 09:34 PM

Don’t think it is, he wanted back onto the pitch.

BlackSheep
26-07-2019, 09:34 PM
True.

Did he not ask to come back on though?! Don't know...

I saw that too but who knows... I had ACL surgery a couple years ago and while I’m nowhere near a professional athlete, far from it, I still get pops and bumps in my knee that worry me, fingers crossed it was just a twinge that scared him a bit...

26-07-2019, 09:35 PM

The first I heard of it was a few years ago when a mother of a child at school had referred to her child as a "precious little snowflake", slightly over-emphasising the vulnerability of the child. After that I seemed to hear it everywhere.

FWIW I think tangents are natural. People seem to get quite upset when they see it on a forum, but not every post will allign to the title because conversations naturally veer off. That's an aside. :greengrin

It's a term used very often, usually by contemporary conservative commentators, to belittle social activism, the milenial generation as a whole and just generally any person who is annoyed, upset or hurt by actions/opinions that conflict with their own. It's so overused and at this point is devoid of any actual meaning.

26-07-2019, 09:35 PM

After your input on this evening's game and replies, do you think you are due one ?
It's quite obvious that your posting is becoming more antagonistic.

26-07-2019, 09:36 PM

No avoiding of the question. It was little more than a snidey dig, a retaliation if you like. Your delusions of superior intellect and dismissive attitude towards other posters annoy me so I amused myself, for about 5 seconds, by linking your use of the word snowflake with it's origins and entry into the everyday lexicon.

26-07-2019, 09:36 PM
Jamie McLaren actually turning out to be gash is looking like the worst thing that’s happened to Hibs.net since Terry Butcher was the Hibs manager.

In all seriousness though, if Speedway wants to have unpopular opinions just let him. I don’t agree with a lot of what he’s saying but nobody on here is changing his mind so why bother IMO.

Sorry for talking about you like you’re not here Speedway but you’re getting too much attention here for my liking. We should be talking about our dazzling display tonight and Newells MOTM performance, not discussing your debating style 😉

😄

I think that’s the thing that gets me Bingo. You, smartie and many others can disagree but debate. Others can’t and offer up ‘you lost me at snowflake as their very best response.

Ultimately we’ve all seen many Hibs disappointments over the years and recently we’ve had a feel good run that’s lasted longer most of them do.

In revenue, in crowds, in recruitment since LD came in we’ve really made a lot of progress and I want to see that continue rather than peter out.

I’m sorry but beating Elgin by being gifted the goals isn’t impressive and neither has been much else bar the Horgan derby.

I remember Lennon saying that fourth might be good enough for some but it wasn’t good enough for him. That’s what I thought Lennon gave us despite his various shortcomings, he was desperate for us to not become complacent and stop progressing and that’s the attitude this clubs needs permanently.

I’ve said we’ve got quality players and I’ve said we’ve got poor players.

I’ve said I can’t argue with 3/4 wins but the manner of performance is unimpressive for the most part.

I’m however many thousands of posts in and have been here since 2001 in its current form. I’m not often wrong about players.

However, as has been pointed out earlier, I’m also not funny.

I want the best for Hibs and want us to sign better than we’ve had before especially if we’ve got the biggest ever budget as LD has said.

I don’t see a lot of proof that we’ve signed better so far.

If we have to wait 14 games to make an accurate assessment then fine but what’s the point of the forum in the interim?

26-07-2019, 09:37 PM
No avoiding of the question. It was little more than a snidey dig, a retaliation if you like. Your delusions of superior intellect and dismissive attitude towards other posters annoy me so I amused myself, for about 5 seconds, by linking your use of the word snowflake with it's origins and entry into the everyday lexicon.

Feel better now?

26-07-2019, 09:38 PM
Right, there are two possible explanations here;

1. There are a number of posters in this thread who are out to get you for having a different opinion to yours.

2. There are a number of posters in this thread who find your posting style antagonistic and get annoyed by it.

What's more likely?

I'm not having a go at you by the way, just trying to think of a reason why you are feeling attacked by folk :)

Both I think.

26-07-2019, 09:39 PM
Who just happens to be Elgins local MP!!!Yep, shouldn't officiate any The Rangers or Elgin games or any teams whose results directly effect his two favourites.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

hibee316
26-07-2019, 09:40 PM
Both I think.

Fair enough.

And with that...

Here’s Lucy!
26-07-2019, 09:46 PM
After your input on this evening's game and replies, do you think you are due one ?
It's quite obvious that your posting is becoming more antagonistic.

No, it isn’t.

26-07-2019, 09:46 PM
😄

I think that’s the thing that gets me Bingo. You, smartie and many others can disagree but debate. Others can’t and offer up ‘you lost me at snowflake as their very best response.

Ultimately we’ve all seen many Hibs disappointments over the years and recently we’ve had a feel good run that’s lasted longer most of them do.

In revenue, in crowds, in recruitment since LD came in we’ve really made a lot of progress and I want to see that continue rather than peter out.

I’m sorry but beating Elgin by being gifted the goals isn’t impressive and neither has been much else bar the Horgan derby.

I remember Lennon saying that fourth might be good enough for some but it wasn’t good enough for him. That’s what I thought Lennon gave us despite his various shortcomings, he was desperate for us to not become complacent and stop progressing and that’s the attitude this clubs needs permanently.

I’ve said we’ve got quality players and I’ve said we’ve got poor players.

I’ve said I can’t argue with 3/4 wins but the manner of performance is unimpressive for the most part.

I’m however many thousands of posts in and have been here since 2001 in its current form. I’m not often wrong about players.

However, as has been pointed out earlier, I’m also not funny.

I want the best for Hibs and want us to sign better than we’ve had before especially if we’ve got the biggest ever budget as LD has said.

I don’t see a lot of proof that we’ve signed better so far.

If we have to wait 14 games to make an accurate assessment then fine but what’s the point of the forum in the interim?

One of the interesting things over the last few years at the club is the polarising effect Lennon seems to have had amongst the support.

I loved his time here initially but was glad to see the back of him by the end. The born winner stuff and not settling for 4th place was all total nonsense though.

He was failing badly when he left and looking anything other than a born winner. In fact, he looked like a manager that couldn't handle the pressure of being at a club that doesn't have x10 the budget of their competitors.

Lennons 'ambition' at the club was ultimately hollow and worthless. By the end he was just a petulant child who started bullying the players as he couldn't get his own way.

26-07-2019, 09:50 PM
Flo is back [emoji7]Never in doubt. It is written.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

26-07-2019, 09:51 PM
Yep watched the new boys properly for the first time tonight and Newell looked decent. By his own admission I think he’s surprised by the pace and quality up here. It might take him a wee bit to adapt but I think he will.

Doidge looked way more mobile than the naysayers let on...

Vella looks a very very good addition. I’ve got a good feeling about him for us this season.

As for style of play play I think it’s looking very positive and it’s clear hecky is moulding a squad to play any formation when needed and that’s including changing during games. We won’t lose many this year the question is how many will we win.

26-07-2019, 09:51 PM
One of the interesting things over the last few years at the club is the polarising effect Lennon seems to have had amongst the support.

I loved his time here initially but was glad to see the back of him by the end. The born winner stuff and not settling for 4th place was all total nonsense though.

He was failing badly when he left and looking anything other than a born winner. In fact, he looked like a manager that couldn't handle the pressure of being at a club that doesn't have x10 the budget of their competitors.

Lennons 'ambition' at the club was ultimately hollow and worthless. By the end he was just a petulant child who started bullying the players as he couldn't get his own way.

There’s no doubt he’d lost the plot Neil and there’s no doubt he was unstable.

I don’t know of evidence of him bullying players but their certainly seems to be merit given the Kanberi situation.

I think Lennon spoke what a section of the support was thinking. No more boy band football, no more plucky defeat, no more community club thinking.

I loved that about him and given that we’re a support who have questioned the board’s ambition for much of the time that Rod was in office, I think he spoke for many with his rants, even if they were hollow in the end.

Chefki Kuqi
26-07-2019, 09:53 PM

Completely.

I wouldn’t judge Heck just yet, see where we are by the Winter break. I’d estimate it’ll be 4th or so. We’d all like to see it higher, but merely saying you’re raging about not being 1st doesn’t change anything in my eyes. Heck’s a cool character with a plan, with some patience we might be satisfied.

The Leith Dutch
26-07-2019, 09:53 PM

Was sanguine when he left as it was time to go but two things about Lennon spring to mind:
The best second half of a season I've seen from Hibs and a sense that the OF were worried about playing us rather than vice versa.

Capt Mainwaring
26-07-2019, 09:54 PM
Competent enough job done tonight, and relatively safe and easy win that should see us seeded for the next round. So job done

Liking the look of Vela the more I see of him.

26-07-2019, 09:55 PM
Boyle looked fine after. Think he came off as a precaution

26-07-2019, 09:57 PM
Was sanguine when he left as it was time to go but two things about Lennon spring to mind:
The best second half of a season I've seen from Hibs and a sense that the OF were worried about playing us rather than vice versa.

I think that’s spot on TLD, results show that we’d finally started to worry them.

heid the baw
26-07-2019, 10:09 PM
I think we will be orginised hard to beat this year. Not sure the football will be attractive or exciting,

26-07-2019, 10:14 PM
I think we will be orginised hard to beat this year. Not sure the football will be attractive or exciting,

We have enough good players to be good to watch as shown tonight and on Tuesday.

26-07-2019, 10:28 PM
We're winning these games without really getting out of 1st gear. Which could either be a great thing or an awful thing, depending on whether we have any more gears or not.

I love this. This sounds exactly how a German would analyse a pre season friendly. :greengrin

MacGruber
26-07-2019, 10:34 PM
Boyle looked fine after. Think he came off as a precaution

I have a sinking feeling he won't be alright. Based on no evidence I would add. Same knee, no impact from a player limped up rhe tunnel. Seen it before with these knee injuries, the initial intent to play on or walk off - then bad news after a scan.