20-07-2019, 03:04 PM
This, though this is in part due to injuries
Allan on the bench is a joke.
Hecky showing his favourites, Doidge much worse than Flo
loanheadhibby
Berwick Rangers have conceded 40 goals since they last scored themselves. :shocked:
Any chance we can sneak in a friendly against them?
Here’s Lucy!
20-07-2019, 03:05 PM
Last two seasons under Lenny we scored for fun in the league cup group stages.
No, we didn’t.
Kamberi making runs all the time, far from disinterested. Need someone like Allan to actually feed him the ball.
Allan on for Kamberi and Murray on for Campbell.
madsen5
This is the theory I’m currently subscribing to also.
Beginning to worry that he only talks a good game.
Substitutions?
Kamberi and Campbell off, Allan and Murray on.
Dominated in midfield by the Alloa 3.
We’ve got a young untested midfielder and Stevie Mallan in the middle. I’m not surprised. Mallan is going to end up dropped as the season goes on (unless we don’t actually sign anyone else, which would be a disaster).
Allan on for Kamberi and Murray on for Campbell.
Change of shape?
20-07-2019, 03:06 PM
I’m the complete opposite of a bed wetter but if there’s no positive changes in personnel, performance and result in this second half then doubts will creep in. Heckingbottom talks a good game, I’ll give him that.
Bangkok Hibby
20-07-2019, 03:06 PM
Thanks...different! Let's see
tonyrougier123
20-07-2019, 03:07 PM
This is the theory I’m currently subscribing to also.
Me too!
Here’s Lucy!
20-07-2019, 03:07 PM
Scottie coming on 45 minutes later than he should have imo.
20-07-2019, 03:08 PM
Praying that Josh Vela is the messiah 🙏🏾
tonyrougier123
I’m the complete opposite of a bed wetter but if there’s no positive changes in personnel, performance and result in this second half then doubts will creep in. Heckingbottom talks a good game, I’ll give him that.
If youve started to dribble your sheets will be wringing soon!! 😂
supermcginn
Kamberi is streets ahead of doidge.
Scottie coming on 45 minutes later than he should have imo.
Keeping him fresh for the Final then????
Change of shape?
4-3-2-1 by the looks of it.
20-07-2019, 03:09 PM
Depends how quick he got changed.
9dd attempt at save from Rocky that could have been an Og.
Here’s Lucy!
Keeping him fresh for the Final then????
:agree: Hope so!
AZhibee
1 attacker now? Or Boyle creeping up?
You maybe want to check that again
First season under Lenny then my mistake.
Doidge has done literally nothing. I’m pretty optimistic but starting to get concerned even if we win this.
20-07-2019, 03:10 PM
From afar it sound a bit of a shambles especially as good money has been spent. He’s not even interested in Dylan is also a worry. Never mind ore season (cup game) and all that 😡
20-07-2019, 03:10 PM
Good play by Murray twice and keeper saves Allen's shot. Flores corner from Mallan into keepers arms
Odd that he wasn't involved last week and only lasted 45 mins today
dmc1875
20-07-2019, 03:11 PM
Kamberi miles ahead of Doidge and he gets brought off? Joke if that’s tactical
20-07-2019, 03:12 PM
I think there’s definitely something going on with Flo. Hecky has mentioned twice now about money becoming available for more signings, wouldn’t be surprised to see him away.
20-07-2019, 03:12 PM
No goals from open play after 150 minutes of competitive football is worrying.
Here’s Lucy!
20-07-2019, 03:13 PM
Doidge is not one to fill me with hope.
Especially when considering the opposition.
supermcginn
Trying to force him out.
It is when you consider that both games were against lower league opposition.
20-07-2019, 03:14 PM
Can see Alloa winning this
Have we spent the 1m cash injection then?
Here’s Lucy!
Trying to force him out.
That’s what it appears.
tonyrougier123
Can see Alloa winning this
Even with the change in shape and subs?
It'll be fine
You can always go in the Arbroath end on Tuesday. :aok:
CloudSquall
20-07-2019, 03:16 PM
I really hope he wasn't serious when he said he was done in the transfer market.
20-07-2019, 03:17 PM
I really hope he wasn't serious when he said he was done in the transfer market.
What have you seen that makes you want to let him spend more of our money?
You can always go in the Arbroath end on Tuesday. :aok:
It's a measured opinion, and the first one wasn't particularly genuine.
Radio suggesting we should have had a penalty
mayo hibee
Have we spent the 1m cash injection then?
Spent a good chunk of it on Doidge.
20-07-2019, 03:18 PM
Looked. Like a pen to me- altho doidge didn't complain too much
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Should it have been a penalty?
hibee62
That looked like a pretty obvious push on Doidge when set to get a head on goal.
Doidge smothered in the 6 yard box soon after, on the end of a Boyle knock down.
Can we get a refund?
Cleared off line there from Boyle /Doidge
Radio suggesting we should have had a penalty
Wasn't a penalty mate.
20-07-2019, 03:19 PM
125k i think....? So...more still in the bank?
Wir doomed, doomed ah tell yis
Man Down Under
Just started watching but looks like give will score soon tbh
Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk
I thought there was a touch but Doidge made the most of it.
Great cross from Hanlon though.
20-07-2019, 03:20 PM
Better pressure Doidge with good header well saved.
Wasn't a penalty mate.
or was it? :wink:
Looked. Like a pen to me- altho doidge didn't complain too much
That looked like a pretty obvious push on Doidge when set to get a head on goal.
Doidge smothered in the 6 yard box soon after, on the end of a Boyle knock down.
Playing a bit better now.
20-07-2019, 03:21 PM
Wasn't a penalty mate. Never a pen, Doidge wrong side to get header
Here’s Lucy!
20-07-2019, 03:21 PM
Come on Hibs, put this game to bed.
20-07-2019, 03:22 PM
Good save keeper from Whitts drive and Alloa get corner after quick brrak
20-07-2019, 03:23 PM
playing better apparently?
has allan made the difference?
20-07-2019, 03:23 PM
11 back at corner and Rocky flaps. Lucky to get it clear
20-07-2019, 03:24 PM
playing better apparently?
has allan made the difference?
Driving the team forward but Murray equally playing positively. Better balls in to Doidge are seeing him win the ball in the air.
erin-go-bragh87
Is Dodge Rowan Vine in disguise?
Much better last 10.
Fraser Murray has been sharp.
or was it? :wink:
I'm certain 😁
20-07-2019, 03:25 PM
Murray only bright spark...Horgan brutal and Boyler still cannae cross
20-07-2019, 03:25 PM
So, if last week was a game we were told was a one off and wouldn't define our season, how about now?
We were p1sh in the first half against Dunfy...but it's only a friendly, don't worry.
P1sh last week... but it's only the first competitive game of the season, don't worry.
P1sh again today................. Can we start worrying now?
mayo hibee
20-07-2019, 03:26 PM
125k i think....? So...more still in the bank?
It was at least twice that.
We have zero balance and cohesion.
Lee Marvin
So, if last week was a game we were told was a one off and wouldn't define our season, how about now?
We were p1sh in the first half against Dunfy...but it's only friendly, don't worry.
P1sh last week... but it's only the first competitive game of the season, don't worry.
The answer to that is yes.
We were p1sh in the first half against Dunfy...but it's only a friendly, don't worry.
Yes
Really you’re allowed to worry whenever you want. :agree:
20-07-2019, 03:27 PM
Oh jeez....that brings back memories!!!☹☹☹☹
There should be no excuses imho. I know we have no devine right but we should be beating teams like Stirling, Elgin and Arbroath!
1-0. Thank ****
penihibs
Sportsound is chronic, what a shammy Chick Young is. I'm off oot!!
Go on Hibs😀
Goal Doidge. 1v1
There should be no excuses imho. I know we have no devine right but we should be beating teams like Alloa, Stirling, Elgin and Arbroath!
And on cue a goal
Thank god for that. Nice finish it looked like
20-07-2019, 03:28 PM
There should be no excuses imho. I know we have no devine right but we should be beating teams like Stirling, Elgin and Arbroath!
Correct. These games should be easy pickings for us.
It was at least twice that.
Still leaves a no bad balance?
We are brilliant!!! Cup is coming home! Doidge best signing in years!
Great finish Doidge after making his first decent forward run. Brilliant ball from Fraser M who has been excellent. More of that please Doidge.
Doidge scores. Lovely ball over the top from Murray
Haha
AZhibee
Yes
#heckyin
Thank ****
20-07-2019, 03:29 PM
‘Bout ******* time.
Right, let’s bury this game.
Relax chaps. It’s all simply a limbering up exercise. I expect we’ll bag a late brace.
Breaks through just ahead of the defenders and dinks the ball over the keeper who looks to have taken a knock.
Much better.
Announce hecksit.
AZhibee
Yes
Are we allowed to stop worrying yet? :greengrin
In all seriousness, the very fact I was reluctant to even joke about that because the game isn’t over is very telling.
20-07-2019, 03:30 PM
And breathe
Told you all, 1 goal and everything is smelling of roses!!!!!
I expect Alloa to equalise. That’s how bad it is.
In the meantime I’m going to stand outside Christian Doidge’s apartment and start clapping.
Their Keeper about to be stretchered off after clash with Doidge as he scored
Man Down Under
Keeper down as the goal goes in, guaranteed he's fine and will continue like nothing happened.
andybev1
20-07-2019, 03:31 PM
good goal by doidg
20-07-2019, 03:31 PM
Their Keeper given the Rab C headband look off after clash with Doidge at goal. Alloa change GK
20-07-2019, 03:32 PM
Thank god for that. Nice finish it looked like
You related to yoda perhaps? 😄😄
Man Down Under
I retract my comment, he took a sore one
Good
Aye thank ****
mayo hibee
hecksit
That could catch on.
20-07-2019, 03:33 PM
Are we allowed to stop worrying yet? :greengrin
In all seriousness, the very fact I was reluctant to even joke about that because the game isn’t over is very telling.
Not going by last week's game, no.
I retract my comment, he took a sore one
Gash on his head and burst nose from the looks of it. Dull one.
The title challenge is back on.
InchHibby
20-07-2019, 03:34 PM
Might sneak another couple as they’ll have to open up a bit now. Maybe
20-07-2019, 03:35 PM
Still on course for 11/12 points :aok:
Doidge moves ahead of Vine and O'Brien and level with big Dave in the "competitive goals for Hibs" list.
Clancy is hopeless.
If Whitaker could find a Hibs player with a cross it'd be much appreciated. Getting into good positions but so wasteful.
So we play 2 up and create bugger all, go 1 up and add creative players and then we score hmmm!
20-07-2019, 03:36 PM
Doidge moves ahead of Vine and O'Brien and level with big Dave in the "competitive goals for Hibs" list.
Dreadful five minutes from Whittaker. Doidge has came 8nto game more. Bizarre foul as Allen jumps out of lunging challenge and penalised for landing on tackler
Arbroath will be tough on Tuesday.
Matty will be overcome with emulsion! 😉
tonyrougier123
20-07-2019, 03:37 PM
Dreadful five minutes from Whittaker. Doidge has came 8nto game more. Bizarre foul as Allen jumps out of lunging challenge and penalised for landing on tackler
I take it this shape suits doidge better
20-07-2019, 03:38 PM
I take it this shape suits doidge better
Maybe that, maybe better service but could be Alloa tiring
dmc1875
20-07-2019, 03:38 PM
Maybe that, maybe better service but could be Alloa tiring
Think it’s the latter.
20-07-2019, 03:39 PM
If Whitaker could find a Hibs player with a cross it'd be much appreciated. Getting into good positions but so wasteful.
We've actually worked some decent positions only for the standard of cross to be very poor - Whittaker has been the most culpable.
mayo hibee
So we play 2 up and create bugger all, go 1 up and add creative players and then we score hmmm!
4-4-2 is dead as a formation. Especially with two wingers in the team. Even at this level we were overrun in midfield.
This is why any centre forward that can only play as part of a front two is no use in modern football eg Maclaren (and possibly Kamberi).
Silky
Gash on his head and burst nose from the looks of it. Dull one.
Sounds like a good Saturday night!!
20-07-2019, 03:40 PM
3-0 Elgin
Whittaker is murder
Love this forum, all the game until he scores Diodge is brutal, he scores now attention deflected to Whittiker????
Sounds like a good Saturday night!!
20-07-2019, 03:41 PM
Love this forum, all the game until he scores Diodge is brutal, he scores now attention deflected to Whittiker????
He is murder though.
20-07-2019, 03:41 PM
Great goal line clearance from Murray and then Doidge header ruled out for offside.
Ardenttwo
20-07-2019, 03:42 PM
3-0 Elgin
Have to watch Shane Sutherland on Friday. Very dangerous striker
20-07-2019, 03:42 PM
Doidge goal offside
20-07-2019, 03:44 PM
2-0.
Great finish James after Mallan dummies shot three times and rolls it to him
Screamer from James.
20-07-2019, 03:45 PM
Good goal by James. Shaw on for Boyle.
Better 2nd half, Doidge better on his own up front.
PEACH Tom James
Another one of Hecky's ***** journeyman Calderwood pish makes it 2-0.
Better Hibs.
Edinburgh City 1-0 Dunfermline. Danny Handling
These new boys look immense
Great finish from James after Mallan lays it off just outside the box.
james took that well, nice control
20-07-2019, 03:46 PM
Some strike
the new mallan :wink:
20-07-2019, 03:46 PM
These new signings are murder.....
Like the look of James one of the better performers first half and a cracking goal pretty comfortable with both feet as well
20-07-2019, 03:47 PM
Some strike
the new mallan :wink:
Would prefer the new McGinn!!!!!
james took that well, nice control
His highlights reel did show he has a shot on him. :greengrin
2-0 and im still no happy.....bring back petrie
Inconsequential
20-07-2019, 03:48 PM
Well done Jamesie! I tell you this boy! :wink:
Here’s Lucy!
Better, Hibs :flag:
Would prefer the new McGinn!!!!!
That's Vela, is it no'? :greengrin
Great finish James after Mallan dummies shot three times and rolls it to him
No way just read he's useless.
20-07-2019, 03:49 PM
These new signings are murder.....
For real or are you being sarcastic.....just curious
Whittaker just absolutely embarrassed himself in front of goal.[emoji23]
MacGruber
So... only 2 Heckingbottom signings playing and both score. Get the rest in lol
Whittaker completes a miserable half for him blazing over from 8 yards with schoolboy sized keeper to beat
That's Vela, is it no'? :greengrin
Al take 2 McGinn's any day!!!!!
20-07-2019, 03:50 PM
He's murder.
angus hibby
4-4-2 is dead as a formation. Especially with two wingers in the team. Even at this level we were overrun in midfield.
This is why any centre forward that can only play as part of a front two is no use in modern football eg Maclaren (and possibly Kamberi).
Can play two up front if it’s a midfield diamond or we play 3-5-2.
oh dear whitty, oh dear
20-07-2019, 03:51 PM
Thank heavens. I'm spared listening to BBC Sportsound any longer and their bunch of inarticulate, bantering berks.
Hopefully James will go to RB and Mackie can come back in v Arbroath.
Sportsound said James scored with his wrong foot, don't they know ges a right footed right back, ****** amateurs.
AZhibee
HibsTV guys response to that was classic “oh my oh my oh my, oh dear” yes
He's murder.
Has been since he signed. Two years on and he’s still getting a game. Scary.
Whittaker out in front in the sitter of the season competition already.
Dreadful miss.
Here’s Lucy!
Whittaker completes a miserable half for him blazing over from 8 yards with schoolboy sized keeper to beat
He’s murder.
20-07-2019, 03:52 PM
oh dear whitty, oh dear
If it’s Shaw that misses that you’re reminded of his goals to minutes ratio.
(I’m just being a dick, I’m not there today, does sound similar to one Shaw missed at Dunfermline though.)
20-07-2019, 03:53 PM
Now that could be open to a number of interpretations! :greengrin
If it’s Shaw that misses that you’re reminded of his goals to minutes ratio.
(I’m just being a dick, I’m not there today, does sound similar to one Shaw missed at Dunfermline though.)
Listen Shaw is young he has time to get even worse yet give him a chance 😉
Whittaker might be the solution.
To the seagull problem.
20-07-2019, 03:54 PM
hunners and thousands of seagulls
The Leith Dutch
To the seagull problem.
Needed a Booth replacement for years.....
To the seagull problem.
But, would we get money for him??????
20-07-2019, 03:55 PM
For real or are you being sarcastic.....just curious
Sorry should have added a smiley, sarcasm:greengrin
Weegreenman
20-07-2019, 03:57 PM
To the seagull problem.
Top bants :greengrin
20-07-2019, 03:57 PM
Take it and move on
20-07-2019, 03:58 PM
Let's put the hysteria to bed now, shall we?
Is Heckingbottom just good at talking a good game? There has to be question marks over leaving Leeds and why it took him a while to get back into football.
He certainly talks the talk...
Good second half. Murray and Allan making a positive impact. What a goal from Tom James, well set up by Mallan.
I thought Whittaker was decent tbh. Awful miss, but didn't have a bad half by any means.
20-07-2019, 03:59 PM
Hecky showing his favourites, Doidge much worse than Flo
Scored though
20-07-2019, 03:59 PM
The Arbroath game will be my first of the season …. Tell me it will get better, somebody, pleeeease :confused:
Wins a win and we move on.
20-07-2019, 04:00 PM
get the flamethrowers on now and practise on they seagulls
H18S NX
The result just papers over the cracks,we were woeful,our final ball into the box was disgraceful,yes,we were the better team but only just,there is still a long way to go i'm afraid.
I predict Whittaker to have a good season. Hopefully move on now from the previous poor performances. Hecky needs to learn quick what his team and formation for the upcoming season will be.
Better 2nd half, Whittaker played well other than that shocker.
Kamberi is much better than Doidge
Hulk1875
Getting pretty bored of the negative comments wether it’s sarcastic or not
Tarrahib
20-07-2019, 04:01 PM
Depends how quick he got changed.
First up best dressed!
Take it and move on
Are we playing football or stealing a bike?
The result just papers over the cracks,we were woeful,our final ball into the box was disgraceful,yes,we were the better team but only just,there is still a long way to go i'm afraid.
We weren't only just the better team, it wasnt great but lets not pretend we weren't in control for most of the match, just couldnt get in behind their 9 defenders, although we dont close down quick enough out of possession
20-07-2019, 04:02 PM
I really don't understand all the negativity. I enjoyed the second half, we played some decent stuff and could certainly have won more comfortably. Alloa didn't get a sniff.
20-07-2019, 04:02 PM
East Kilbride beat st.mirren on penalties
20-07-2019, 04:03 PM
I actually quite like the new cup format, it certainly throws up some scores?
Tarrahib
20-07-2019, 04:03 PM
The Arbroath game will be my first of the season …. Tell me it will get better, somebody, pleeeease :confused:
How would you know its better if you have not seen any other game.
Don't knock until you try it.
20-07-2019, 04:05 PM
Let's put the hysteria to bed now, shall we?
While it is still dry??
get the flamethrowers on now and practise on they seagulls
On this thread?
Whittaker got himself in to decent positions and defended well. His final ball today was woeful though. Struggled to find a Hibs player unless he played the ball along the ground.
20-07-2019, 04:06 PM
A win’s a win and I’m delighted with any Hibs win.
Some other observations:
Millerbottom’s signings are the goal scorers.
Miller bottom turns it around in the 2nd half AGAIN after getting it all wrong in the first half AGAIN.
We’re slow to move, slow to pass and just slow.
Both goals were well taken.
If we want top 4, no danger we’re finished in the transfer market.
20-07-2019, 04:06 PM
Very lethargic and pedestrian. That's 2 performances in a row like that in competitive matches. Performances need stepped up big time starting with Arbroath
sean04
20-07-2019, 04:07 PM
I thought 2nd half was decent. Need to sharpen up in the final 3rd. Alloa didn't have a shot on target. More convincing than the scoreline suggests
Just going by BBC text, Whittaker was our most mentioned player (positively) & appeared to have more attempts on goal than any other player.
Dan Sarf
20-07-2019, 04:10 PM
Just want to mention that NEVER am I EVER going to listen to BBC's Open All Mouths again. Ever.
EVER.
20-07-2019, 04:11 PM
Arbroath top, Elgin and us both on GD of +2 they sit 2nd on alphabetical order
20-07-2019, 04:11 PM
East Kilbride beat st.mirren on penalties
Thats a shocker. Not a good start for Goodwin
sean04
20-07-2019, 04:14 PM
Just going by BBC text, Whittaker was our most mentioned player (positively) & appeared to have more attempts on goal than any other player.
Wouldn't call them attempts on goal
20-07-2019, 04:15 PM
SAME OLD ALLOA, ALWAYS CHEATING
https://youtu.be/2dLNKHtQTWw
20-07-2019, 04:16 PM
Arbroath top, Elgin and us both on GD of +2 they sit 2nd on alphabetical order
That's not the reason. We're playing in a 'North' section and they're further north.
Wouldn't call them attempts on goal
Whitty 6 attempts per BBC, 2 on target. Mallan & Doidge mentioned as having some efforts on goal. Only mention of Kamberi was committing a foul.
20-07-2019, 04:21 PM
That's not the reason. We're playing in a 'North' section and they're further north.
20-07-2019, 04:23 PM
A wins a win, hopefully it builds confidence and we move on from here. It doesn’t seem like pretty football is coming our way but I would prefer winning football regardless.
20-07-2019, 04:23 PM
ER att: 5470
9962 at the remaining 10 games with East Kilbride still to disclose their att
HibeeDave
20-07-2019, 04:36 PM
Just want to mention that NEVER am I EVER going to listen to BBC's Open All Mouths again. Ever.
EVER.
I have to agree, I listened to this for this first time today and it’s terrible
20-07-2019, 04:37 PM
A win’s a win and I’m delighted with any Hibs win.
Some other observations:
Millerbottom’s signings are the goal scorers.
Miller bottom turns it around in the 2nd half AGAIN after getting it all wrong in the first half AGAIN.
We’re slow to move, slow to pass and just slow.
Both goals were well taken.
If we want top 4, no danger we’re finished in the transfer market.
That’s great. But why are you calling him Millerbottom? Heck will do fine no?
20-07-2019, 04:38 PM
I'm afraid that wasn't reflected in the flesh. Whitty was mostly solid against Alloa, while being skinned more than once & if you had seen the sitter he missed after being put through by a
hilarious defensive mistake I'm not sure the word positive would have been relevant.
I loved him first time around, but he is very slow now, can't see him playing much unless we get badly hit by injuries.
bookert
20-07-2019, 04:39 PM
His crossing and shooting erratic at best, his effort at the end of the match was laughable.
20-07-2019, 04:41 PM
I listened to it and I thought it was good entertainment (it always is). I thought Tam McManus was poor though. He sounded like he was on sedatives and made some lazy observations that fans that other spectators clearly disagree with.
20-07-2019, 04:41 PM
Because the quality and style of football since he came in has often been very reminiscent of Miller’s less attack minded teams.
20-07-2019, 04:42 PM
Because the quality and style of football since he came in has often been very reminiscent of Miller’s less attack minded teams.
You really need to get a life
Suspect he may be trying to liken the style to that of the infamous Alex Miller ..... and not in a positive way [emoji15]
You really need to get a life
And you need to shut up.
I'm afraid that wasn't reflected in the flesh. Whitty was mostly solid against Alloa, while being skinned more than once & if you had seen the sitter he missed after being put through by a
hilarious defensive mistake I'm not sure the word positive would have been relevant.
I loved him first time around, but he is very slow now, can't see him playing much unless we get badly hit by injuries.
Obviously you were there so I 100% accept & appreciate your comments. It just seems a bit strange that our most criticised player on this forum & our right back had 35% of our attempts on goal, per the BBC
Tobias Funke
20-07-2019, 04:44 PM
And you need to shut up.
Such a snowflake :rolleyes:
20-07-2019, 04:46 PM
And you need to shut up.
Aye nae bother, you are constantly looking for a reaction from folk, quite sad really
20-07-2019, 04:47 PM
The game stunk of an early season game. First half lethargic, passing very poor. 2nd half much better. Dominated but again passing letting us down too much. Lots to look forward to though.
20-07-2019, 04:47 PM
Better second half. System suited us better. Two up top doesn’t necessarily make you more threatening.
20-07-2019, 04:48 PM
I listened to it and I thought it was good entertainment (it always is). I thought Tam McManus was poor though. He sounded like he was on sedatives and made some lazy observations that other spectators clearly disagree with.
20-07-2019, 04:50 PM
Obviously you were there so I 100% accept & appreciate your comments. It just seems a bit strange that our most criticised player on this forum & our right back had 35% of our attempts on goal, per the BBC
It's weird I know. He did get up the pitch on a regular basis & did have one decent shot on target; I just think he would be badly shown up against better players.
20-07-2019, 04:50 PM
Aye nae bother, you are constantly looking for a reaction from folk, quite sad really
Then either debate the point or continue to show yourself to be intellectually bereft. As you see fit.
Let’s test it.
Did you see Miller’s 87/88, 88/89, 89/90 teams?
If so, do you see the similarities between how his teams style of tempo and play match with how the current manager’s team is playing?
20-07-2019, 04:51 PM
Ah. Shortly after posting I did wonder. Time
will tell. Mind you, I think he already has a better record in derbies than Miller.
20-07-2019, 04:51 PM
It's rare I criticise Whitts as I think he has been useful as a player who can play a couple of positions. He was poor imo particularly in the second half. Nothing wrong with his drive and enthusiasm but his passing and shooting barring one very good effort was really poor. He got in some really good positions today and should have done better with his final ball
20-07-2019, 04:52 PM
Ah. Shortly after posting I did wonder. Time
Will tell.
It will indeed.
It's rare I criticise Whitts as I think he has been useful as a player who can play a couple of positions. He was poor imo particularly in the second half. Nothing wrong with his drive and enthusiasm but his passing and shooting barring one very good effort was really poor. He got in some really good positions today and should have done better with his final ball
I appreciate the clarification.
Dan Sarf
20-07-2019, 04:55 PM
I listened to it and I thought it was good entertainment (it always is). I thought Tam McManus was poor though. He sounded like he was on sedatives and made some lazy observations that fans that other spectators clearly disagree with.
Entertainment? Conceited men yelling incoherent nonsense? You find that entertaining?
20-07-2019, 04:55 PM
Then either debate the point or continue to show yourself to be intellectually bereft. As you see fit.
Let’s test it.
If so, do you see the similarities between how his teams style of tempo and play match with how the current manager’s team is playing?
Not really. From SPL matches I saw if it is Milleresque then PH is a lot better at it than Miller.
20-07-2019, 04:57 PM
Let’s test it.
I was 6 in 1987 so no I didnt see them play, I seen his teams from 1991. He has used a different team almost every game so far as he said he would, do you honestly think there is going to be fast free flowing football already when they are still getting used to how each other play and for some still getting match fit, of course not and you know that but doesnt suit your agenda does it
20-07-2019, 04:58 PM
I thought Whittaker played well other than a couple of stray passes and THAT miss.
Doidge looks like Steven Fletcher in looks and running style, plays like a poor man’s James Collins in terms of ability. Fair enough he scored but I thought he was very poor otherwise. Kamberi was by far the better of the two in the first half.
I’m not a fan of James either. Looks way too pedestrian for my liking.
The midfield looks really imbalanced. It is the opposite to the Fenlon midfield which was overloaded with very similar defensive midfielders. We are overloaded with similar attacking midfielders now.
The centre halves were good, although rarely tested.
20-07-2019, 05:03 PM
Good those new signings folk have been writing off got us the 3 points today 😜. Was a poor watch changes at half time made a difference
20-07-2019, 05:05 PM
I was 6 in 1987 so no I didnt see them play, I seen his teams from 1991. He has used a different team almost every game so far as he said he would, do you honestly think there is going to be fast free flowing football already when they are still getting used to how each other play and for some still getting match fit, of course not and you know that but doesnt suit your agenda does it
So you’re now admitting to having a dig without having a clue about the point being made. Is that right?
As to your point, with attacking players Horgan, Boyle, Kamberi and Doidge all starting today, I expected to see much faster football and more accurate passing given the manager’s comments that he was spending pre-season getting players to ‘levels of fitness they’d never previously known’, ‘legs in the team that mean we press high up and the pitch’ and ‘getting information into them’.
I saw little to no evidence of that until players he did not sign came on.
Looked like a Miller style of play prior to that.
20-07-2019, 05:08 PM
So you’re now admitting to having a dig without having a clue about the point being made. Is that right?
As to your point, with attacking players Horgan, Boyle, Kamberi and Doidge all starting today, I expected to see much faster football and more accurate passing given the manager’s comments that he was spending pre-season getting players to ‘levels of fitness they’d never previously known’, ‘legs in the team that mean we press high up and the pitch’ and ‘getting information into them’.
Funny, I keep thinking of Bertie Auld.
20-07-2019, 05:10 PM
No not at all, you have picked a few years out of a very long time in charge, boyle has been out injured for a long time so never going to be at full speed, kamberi isnt that quick and neither is doidge and they are not that type of player, horgan ran at folk pretty much the whole game, so not quite sure why you were expecting that so early in the season, well I do actually because it means you can have a swipe at the manager. Doidge also scored after getting past his man, or did you not see that?
20-07-2019, 05:24 PM
Entertainment? Conceited men yelling incoherent nonsense? You find that entertaining?
What do you mean conceited?
And the yelling?! Isn’t it natural and even customary to raise your voice and possibly yell a bit when a team scores and your are the commentator?
Genuinely not understanding your appraisal here. Help me understand.
EVER.
I have not listened to that **** fir a long long time. Always see the negative in Hibs imho!
20-07-2019, 05:26 PM
No not at all, you have picked a few years out of a very long time in charge, boyle has been out injured for a long time so never going to be at full speed, kamberi isnt that quick and neither is doidge and they are not that type of player, horgan ran at folk pretty much the whole game, so not quite sure why you were expecting that so early in the season, well I do actually because it means you can have a swipe at the manager. Doidge also scored after getting past his man, or did you not see that?
At what point should I expect football players to run and kick footballs that reach their team mates?
Did Boyle have brain surgery that made him forget how to run? If he’s not up to speed why is he playing competitive football given that He was kept back from playing against Stirling for being not up to speed?
How many excuses do you have for piss poor football against piss poor opposition?
20-07-2019, 05:27 PM
If there is any way possible to do so, we need to get onto the training ground first thing on Monday morning and practice crossing (under pressure and not) and movement to get onto the end of crosses.
We actually played quite a lot of decent stuff in decent areas, and our final ball was atrocious. There were a few players who had decent games other than the quality of their final ball. Whittaker was especially guilty, Horgan almost as bad, but several others (including Scott Allan) were guilty of terrible delivery at times.
If wasn't pretty, but we got the job done and will be wiser for the experience. Having slagged pre-season friendlies on another thread, I'm actually quite interested to see how we do against Newcastle, a decent team. We've got away with a lot of sloppiness so far, we won't against them, and that will probably give us a better idea of how ready we are for the new season.
I went looking for a good performance to settle my nerves. Whilst I most certainly didn't get that, I do think that some of the reaction is a bit hysterical.
20-07-2019, 05:28 PM
At what point should I expect football players to run and kick footballs that reach their team mates?
Did Boyle have brain surgery that made him forget how to run? If he’s not up to speed why is he playing competitive football given that He was kept back from playing against Stirling for being not up to speed?
How many excuses do you have for piss poor football against piss poor opposition?
Did you actually just ask why a player who needs to get match fit was playing in a football match, at this point I bow out of this as you are clearly at it