View Full Version : Match Updates Stirling v Hibs

Pages : 1 2 [3]

13-07-2019, 04:41 PM
I'm taking a tiny crumb of comfort that we were missing...

Marciano
Gray
McGregor
Porteous
Stevenson
Slivka
Boyle
Kamberi

I just want to hear Heckingbottoms interview now. His reaction will be interesting.

None of those players were signed by Hecky.

I'm worried.

Weegreenman
He said that he was pleased that pre-season was over and to be into competitive matches. Looks far from that to me. Poor team, dreadful result and performance to match. No excuses. Finger out pronto or it’ll be a slog this season.

This result will see our ST fly off the shelf :rolleyes:

We've got a very very strong squad.

No we haven’t.

13-07-2019, 04:42 PM
Lightened my mood with that ! Cheers Hutchhibby !!

I might've stole it from Micky Flanagan 😉

13-07-2019, 04:42 PM
None of those players were signed by Hecky.

I'm worried.

Me too. I'm now apprehensive about what kind of midfielders he's going to sign.

13-07-2019, 04:43 PM
I’ll tell you at the end of the group stages when we’ve either qualified or we haven’t.

If playing players for fitness today means we’re in better shape come the start of the league season and we progress in the cup then i today really doesn’t matter and Heckingbottom got it right.

If we don’t qualify past the group stage then he got it wrong.

Important to qualify as one of the top four group winners as well so that we are seeded in the next round.

13-07-2019, 04:43 PM
I'm taking a tiny crumb of comfort that we were missing...

Marciano
Gray
McGregor
Porteous
Stevenson
Slivka
Boyle
Kamberi

I just want to hear Heckingbottoms interview now. His reaction will be interesting.

They probably would’ve all contributed more today.

The team we had should’ve 100% had enough but I’ll also cling on to hope that when they return and we bring in 2 or 3 we’ll have a decent squad

13-07-2019, 04:44 PM
No we haven’t.

I know. I was sarcastically using Ron's words.

13-07-2019, 04:46 PM
A few weeks ago I posted a wee joke that our recruiting reminded me of Jim Duffy with players coming in that he knew from leagues he managed in.As we know that was a disaster and it’s beginning to look as if the mistake has been repeated.It’s early doors but other than Allan I see nobody signed who is an improvement on what was already here.

Chefki Kuqi
13-07-2019, 04:47 PM
Nice day out, great wee stadium and good weather for it too. Always thought Stirling Albion were a sleeping giant, gave us sone scares today at least.

I am concerned Doidge didn’t step up for the penalty, it may not be his game but I’d like the striker to be all over it. As it stands I believe he got one shot on target, decent header though.

13-07-2019, 04:50 PM
One thing you have to credit us Hibs fans for is that we always stick with our manager, through thick and thin.

13-07-2019, 04:53 PM
Nice day out, great wee stadium and good weather for it too. Always thought Stirling Albion were a sleeping giant, gave us sone scares today at least.

I am concerned Doidge didn’t step up for the penalty, it may not be his game but I’d like the striker to be all over it. As it stands I believe he got one shot on target, decent header though.

Maybe still not got over missing one v Arbroath

Lewiehas2
13-07-2019, 04:56 PM
No we haven’t.

From what I’ve seen, I expect our strongest team to be:
Marciano
Gray/James
Jackson
Porteous/Hanlon
Stevenson
Boyle
Mallan
Slivka
Allan
Horgan
Kamberi

Subs/squad:
Maxwell
Gray/James
Porteous/Hanlon
Mcgregor
Whittaker
Murray
Newell
Shaw
Doidge

That’s not a bad squad, at all. Better than the rest besides the old firm and possibly Aberdeen. We clearly need a dominant centre midfielder with energy, hopefully Omeonga or the like too. But I’m not unhappy with that squad in the slightest. Players need to get fitter/sharper and more clinical, missed a good few chances today and were poor second half, but I’m optimistic we’ll get it right

gillythehibby

I'm really hoping this is you at the wind-up. "Stirling Albion A sleeping Giant". Ffs 😂😂

heid the baw
I reckon these games are glorified friendlies. Played mid July in a cup that has poor prize money and no route into Europe. Wee league formula where you either play a team home or away once. Penalty shoot outs for extra points.
Sorry but for me it is mickey mouse and only useful for giving players a run out.
Not in the slightest bothered about today's result.

13-07-2019, 04:58 PM
There’s been a few lately especially under Fenlon as historically we probably wouldn’t have looked at players from the lower English leagues but they are so highly paid it’s where we and others find ourselves. They are overrated due to where they play and how much they get paid and folk think of the Scottish game as third world (ask Noel Gallagher😂), which it isn’t. I just remember the utter dross Fenton signed TBH.

I really can't remember our team ever being filled with lower English league players, even under Fenlon. McGivern came from Man C, Doherty & a certain Leigh Griffiths from Wolves, Soares from Stoke & Francomb from Norwich. All of these were loans initially. We signed Matt Done from Barnsley & he had a decent career after us & Taiwo from Carlisle but a lot of these guys only played a few games. I doubt if we ever had more than 1 or 2 lower league players in our team at any time. We were certainly never filled with them. Anyway for years people have been telling us on this board that we should be following the Well/Killie example & signing players like Moult, Main or Jones. TBH I don't think it matters where players come from, the only important thing is how they perform for Hibs!

13-07-2019, 04:59 PM
Marciano
Gray/James
Jackson
Porteous/Hanlon
Stevenson
Boyle
Mallan
Slivka
Allan
Horgan
Kamberi

Subs/squad:
Maxwell
Gray/James
Porteous/Hanlon
Mcgregor
Whittaker
Murray
Newell
Shaw
Doidge

That’s not a bad squad, at all. Better than the rest besides the old firm and possibly Aberdeen. We clearly need a dominant centre midfielder with energy, hopefully Omeonga or the like too. But I’m not unhappy with that squad in the slightest. Players need to get fitter/sharper and more clinical, missed a good few chances today and were poor second half, but I’m optimistic we’ll get it right

Problem being that’s the majority of the new comers only squad players?

Bed wetting to the side, that's up there with the worst results in our history

Eh not quite.

I reckon these games are glorified friendlies. Played mid July in a cup that has poor prize money and no route into Europe. Wee league formula where you either play a team home or away once. Penalty shoot outs for extra points.
Sorry but for me it is mickey mouse and only useful for giving players a run out.

Perhaps we shouldn’t bother entering it in future seeing it’s so Mickey Mouse and just concentrate on winning the league like big teams do?

GoalsMcGinley
13-07-2019, 05:01 PM

Utter drivel.

13-07-2019, 05:01 PM
Pre-season results and performances have not been very good, to put it mildly, and that seems to have carried over into today's performance.

Stirling Albion (part timers from the lowest league in Scotland) should be getting blown away by Hibs. Can anyone honestly believe Stirling would have got a result like today against Celtic, The Rangers or Aberdeen?

The signing of players, from the lower English leagues, most Hibs fans have never heard of does not fill me with high expectations. Rather the reverse. It concerns me.

13-07-2019, 05:02 PM
Marciano
Gray/James
Jackson
Porteous/Hanlon
Stevenson
Boyle
Mallan
Slivka
Allan
Horgan
Kamberi

Subs/squad:
Maxwell
Gray/James
Porteous/Hanlon
Mcgregor
Whittaker
Murray
Newell
Shaw
Doidge

That's more or less the same first team that struggled to beat any of the top 4 last season. Maybe I'm being too ambitious but if that's our starting 11 I might stay in the hoose on a saturday more often.

RossScott1991
Almost get the feeling Hecky is fighting a losing battle with the negativity towards him and signing players from England. Seems like whenever we hit a bad patch fans are going to be set on auto pilot and quick to jump to that conclusion.

Today wasn’t ideal or perfect, but Mallan, Allan and Hanlon were all abysmal today. Thought Jackson looks comfortable on ball solid enough, their goal game from a little poor backwards flick from Hanlon back into danger zone. Doidge looks hardworking and decent in air, starved of service and needs a second striker to play with but don’t think he looks a bad player at all. We should be winning these games, but I’m going to reserve judgement when the league season starts. That’s when I will assess these signings and manager, I’ve no doubt we will win the games at ER in these glorified friendlies.

Chefki Kuqi
I'm really hoping this is you at the wind-up. "Stirling Albion A sleeping Giant". Ffs 😂😂

A wee bit, just think that a city like that should be doing a wee bit better, espescially when Livy, Falkirk, Dunfermline and even Motherwell in close proximity do so much better.

A sleeping championship also ran, I suppose.

heid the baw
13-07-2019, 05:03 PM
Perhaps we shouldn’t bother entering it in future seeing it’s so Mickey Mouse and just concentrate on winning the league like big teams do?

Last season Killie lost first game on penalties at home to St Mirren, then came from behind twice against Dumbarton to scrape a win. Won their next 2 comfortably and went on to have a great league campaign

13-07-2019, 05:03 PM

We can realistically win 2 out of the 3 competitions that we enter every season, the League Cup's one of them. We cannot afford to be taking these games lightly.

13-07-2019, 05:06 PM
Almost get the feeling Hecky is fighting a losing battle with the negativity towards him and signing players from England. Seems like whenever we hit a bad patch fans are going to be set on auto pilot and quick to jump to that conclusion.

Today wasn’t ideal or perfect, but Mallan, Allan and Hanlon were all abysmal today. Thought Jackson looks comfortable on ball solid enough, their goal game from a little poor backwards flick from Hanlon back into danger zone. Doidge looks hardworking and decent in air, starved of service and needs a second striker to play with but don’t think he looks a bad player at all. We should be winning these games, but I’m going to reserve judgement when the league season starts. That’s when I will assess these signings and manager, I’ve no doubt we will win the games at ER in these glorified friendlies.

Yes, let’s blame the fans. None of the players have done enough yet and that’s regardless of where they got signed from. If they had been impressive it would be stated, again regardless of where they came from.

Lee Marvin
13-07-2019, 05:06 PM
Last season Killie lost first game on penalties at home to St Mirren, then came from behind twice against Dumbarton to scrape a win. Won their next 2 comfortably and went on to have a great league campaign

Hearts drew away to some league one outfit and Haring looked the worst player in history. Went on to win first 9 games with haring one of their best players.

Poor result, yes. But the bedwetting here is extraordinary.

13-07-2019, 05:08 PM
Hearts drew away to some league one outfit and Haring looked the worst player in history. Went on to win first 9 games with haring one of their best players.

Poor result, yes. But the bedwetting here is extraordinary.

It’s not bed wetting when you take into consideration performances against Arbroath and Carslile also. It’s an extremely worrying start to the season.

13-07-2019, 05:09 PM
Bed wetting to the side, that's up there with the worst results in our history

Hearts weren't playing today "Robbo".

DetroitHibs
13-07-2019, 05:10 PM
What worries me is PH doesn’t want to start with two up top. Our best performance of the preseason has been the second half again the Pars when we went with two up front. This pishy one up top doesn’t work.

13-07-2019, 05:12 PM
What worries me is PH doesn’t want to start with two up top. Our best performance of the preseason has been the second half again the Pars when we went with two up front. This pishy one up top doesn’t work.

It was the same for me last season. We started going McNulty up top on his norm and we stalled.

13-07-2019, 05:13 PM
I don’t get the inconsistencies in intensity between players across the pitch. Again down our left hand side Newell and James were lacking any sort of urgency while down the other side Horgan was always busy trying to work something. That is a pattern for the last few games not sure why that’s being allowed to happen.

I also don’t get why Allan was in such an advanced position first half almost as a striker at times. Throughout the game though Doidge was crying out for a strike partner. The midfield had a lack of forward pass options all second half why wasn’t someone brought on to partner him.

davhibby
13-07-2019, 05:15 PM
Yes, let’s blame the fans. None of the players have done enough yet and that’s regardless of where they got signed from. If they had been impressive it would be stated, again regardless of where they came from.

His point about player performance was correct though. Most of our worst performers today were guys who weren't signed by Hecky and are escaping any sort of comment. Hanlon in particular is a worry for me, was poor most of last season and seems to have picked up from there this pre season.

13-07-2019, 05:16 PM
We have not brought in any physicality at all to the midfield and that's a must in the SPFL you cannot play tippy tappy football up here unless you have the right players who will bite and fight as well ...so two working and footballing midfielders needed and another forward as well ...Hecky needs to see what Scottish football is .. the lethargic one paced stuff is guff and won't work ..sorry !!

13-07-2019, 05:21 PM

I couldn't care less where the players Hibs sign come from. That's not what's important.

What is important is that any new signings must surely be good quality players, with the right attitude and behaviour, on and off the pitch. The fact that these players have been playing in lower leagues in England maybe gives an indication of how good they are.

It's early days, but the jury is currently out on whether the new signings will make it or not.

smack
13-07-2019, 05:21 PM

He missed a penalty in an earlier game so maybe he didn’t get the choice of taking it

Squirrel 1875
13-07-2019, 05:22 PM
So many of my concerns during preseason confirmed today. This is a very poor hibs squad filled with distinctly average lower English league players. Alarm bells have been ringing for me within the first couple of games tactics wise, the signing made them louder. Today, well, we are a shambles.

13-07-2019, 05:23 PM
I haven’t read the whole thread so may have been discussed earlier.....why did our centre forward not take a penalty. That does not sit well with me.

13-07-2019, 05:24 PM
I don’t get the inconsistencies in intensity between players across the pitch. Again down our left hand side Newell and James were lacking any sort of urgency while down the other side Horgan was always busy trying to work something. That is a pattern for the last few games not sure why that’s being allowed to happen.

I also don’t get why Allan was in such an advanced position first half almost as a striker at times. Throughout the game though Doidge was crying out for a strike partner. The midfield had a lack of forward pass options all second half why wasn’t someone brought on to partner him.

New guys need a rocket and to understand what it means.

13-07-2019, 05:25 PM
Don’t let him sign any more players if that’s the standard he’s going for. Guys used to playing in stadiums like that in League 2 and with a striker who won’t even take a penalty out of 6

13-07-2019, 05:25 PM
1) We should be playing two up front against everyone except maybe Celtic and Rangers away..Doige looks the best of the new signings but needs support
2) We should be passing a team like Stirling off the park, our players should be far superior in technique and athleticism
3) If we are struggling to break down a team like Stirling Albion, then our manager should be changing things and making tactical changes and substitutions
4) If a top Division Team get's 15 corners against a league 2 side, we should be scoring at least one if not two goals from them, with our amazing training facilities and full time players and coaching staff we should have enough to outfox part-timers at least once or twice from a set piece.
5) It doesn't matter what team we picked today, it should have been good enough to beat a part time league two side...or they shouldn't be in our first team squad.

We failed with all of the above

that needs to change going forward.

Over to Hecky now...get things sorted.

13-07-2019, 05:26 PM
Don’t forget we were pretty average last year till we brought in..

McNulty
Omeonga

Plus Milligan found form after his return from Asia Cup.

Both McNulty and Omeonga added a different dimension to midfield and up front. McNulty lost form slightly near the end but I would still take him back 100% but only if price is right.

Today didn’t surprise me - the other results have been warning signs and what we found in our championship years is do not under estimate anyone - especially away from home.

Like others I do worry we are still minimum 4 players short from hitting same levels as last year let alone finishing 3rd.

Midfield need at last 2 high energy players - 1 being defensive.
Striker x 1 (x2 if Flo leaves?!)
Left back - James is a right back.

As others have stated getting a draw against a part time team isn’t acceptable - especially with the resources at our disposal.

13-07-2019, 05:27 PM

Have to agree. Played as a competitive friendly in my book. No need to get our nuts in a knot.

13-07-2019, 05:27 PM

Shame about the League Cup not having a route into Europe.
Clubs appear to be of the view that high placed league position warrants that more.

In some recent seasons the prize money for winning the League Cup has been more than for winning the Scottish Cup.

Ross County got £200.000 for winning it in 2016 .
Celtic £250.000 the following year.
Not counting the cash from earlier rounds.
It is more now.

Is it not our not so noisy neighbours that call it "mickey mouse" having not won it since sliced breed was invented :greengrin

We ,like most other teams at present,realistically look at doing well in the 2 cup tourneys.

13-07-2019, 05:28 PM
I normally avoid match day threads like the plague because they depress me too much. There was no option today with next to no BBC coverage.

I could try and blame the closet Duncans on here except that the Hibs supporters are even more negative.

Torto7
13-07-2019, 05:28 PM
I thought early doors that Allan and Mallan won't work and I'm sticking to that. The worrying thing for me is the lack of balance. None of our strikers look like they're capable of playing on their own up front. If Flo leaves and MM comes in then it doesn't help in the slightest in that regard. That leaves us with the option of going two up front and Mallan/Allan in a middle two gives me the fear. In fact Mallan/Allan with another gives me the fear as well. We could go with a diamond in midfield but we then lose Boyle and the width that we so desperately lack. Another issue with the diamond is neither Lewis or SDG are attacking fullbacks which you need with this formation. Could we see a return to 3-5-2?

Marciano
SDG/Jackson(If we play three then the R/L Ch needs to be able to go into wide areas)
Porteous/McGregor
Hanlon/Lewis
Boyle
Omeonga
New DM
Allan/Mallan
Lewis/Horgan
Doidge
McNulty/Flo depending on what happens with these two.

Horgan can be used in various positions depending on tactical needs.

13-07-2019, 05:29 PM
We are doomed.

Lewiehas2
13-07-2019, 05:31 PM
That's more or less the same first team that struggled to beat any of the top 4 last season. Maybe I'm being too ambitious but if that's our starting 11 I might stay in the hoose on a saturday more often.

I’m hoping Allan adds spark we missed in number 10 role, having Boyle back a big difference, more mobility at centre half but think we’ll be 4th/5th unless we sign a very good midfielder to complement Mallan

13-07-2019, 05:33 PM
I've calmed down a bit now. Today was a lesson and one I'm sure he and the players will learn from. Today will be forgotten if we scud Alloa on Saturday which i fully expect us to do. Over to you Hecky.

13-07-2019, 05:36 PM
Second in our league with 2 points and one away game played (two home games to come)

Let’s not slash our wrists yet.

Not the best, but still very early in pre season. I know this counts, but pre this round robin league cup we’d have been playing teams like this as a pre season friendly.

Chill.

13-07-2019, 05:36 PM
His point about player performance was correct though. Most of our worst performers today were guys who weren't signed by Hecky and are escaping any sort of comment. Hanlon in particular is a worry for me, was poor most of last season and seems to have picked up from there this pre season.

I think that is mainly down to people having their first look at the new guys and being unimpressed so therefore commenting on them?

13-07-2019, 05:37 PM
I normally avoid match day threads like the plague because they depress me too much. There was no option today with next to no BBC coverage.

I could try and blame the closet Duncans on here except that the Hibs supporters are even more negative.

Hibs just drew to league 2 Stirling Albion. Did you expect positivity?

13-07-2019, 05:38 PM
Second in our league with 2 points and one away game played (two home games to come)

Not the best, but still very early in pre season. I know this counts, but pre this round robin league cup we’d have been playing teams like this as a pre season friendly.

Chill.

Slash our wrists? Aw you’ve opened a can of worms there

GoalsMcGinley
13-07-2019, 05:40 PM
6 games without a win but it’s fine coz it’s early doors [emoji1303]

13-07-2019, 05:41 PM

Chill.

I don’t think anyone is particularly concerned about not qualifying. We will still go through.

The nature of the performance, against a bunch of part timers is what gives cause for concern. At the end of that game today, you’d never have known it was a full time team against a part time team. Horgan, in particular, could hardly move.

13-07-2019, 05:51 PM
Most of the negativity comes from playing in these games after our 1st season getting into Europe!!
The more competitive European competition with trips abroad has a more glamorous appeal.
So, its down to the team to make sure were in Europe next time!!!!

13-07-2019, 05:52 PM
I haven’t read the whole thread so may have been discussed earlier.....why did our centre forward not take a penalty. That does not sit well with me.
I don’t care. All our players that took penalties. Scored.

13-07-2019, 05:53 PM
I don’t care. All our players that took penalties. Scored.

Apart from Scott Allan in the shoot-out you mean

13-07-2019, 05:57 PM
Most of the negativity comes from playing in these games after our 1st season getting into Europe!!
The more competitive European competition with trips abroad has a more glamorous appeal.
So, its down to the team to make sure were in Europe next time!!!!

I don’t agree. If we tucked away our part time opponents today there would be very little negativity.

13-07-2019, 06:00 PM
Apart from Scott Allan in the shoot-out you mean
No. I knew what I meant. He took a pen and scored.:aok:

13-07-2019, 06:01 PM
Let’s have that conversation.

Should he have played his strongest eleven do you think?

I think he should.

Always in a cup competition that we have a chance in. I expect a lot more than today in a cup tie.

13-07-2019, 06:04 PM
Will be nice to have a couple of home games on the bounce now. I think at least one of our 3 friendlies so far should have been at Easter Road

DetroitHibs
13-07-2019, 06:04 PM
It’s worrying when your struggling to beat a bunch of part timers however you want to dress it up. Friendly, training session, competitive game, makes no difference. These players have trained for weeks, had a preseason and should be blowing these part time teams away. These are guys that train 2-3 times a week and graft for a living.

13-07-2019, 06:06 PM
Any Hibs side with Scott Allan in it should beat Stirling - and inside 90 minutes also.

13-07-2019, 06:08 PM
It’s worrying when your struggling to beat a bunch of part timers however you want to dress it up. Friendly, training session, competitive game, makes no difference. These players have trained for weeks, had a preseason and should be blowing these part time teams away. These are guys that train 2-3 times a week and graft for a living.

Thats the worry. 4 or 5 goals against Alloa will make me feel a bit more optimistic

13-07-2019, 06:10 PM
Brilliant turn out today by the fans a big round of applause to everyone that made the effort today filled two stands

13-07-2019, 06:10 PM
I don’t agree. If we tucked away our part time opponents today there would be very little negativity.
I think your missing my point, both the team and fans were buzzing this time last year!
Now we are having to play teams we think are so far below us, its treated like a friendly???
This should be treated like a wake up call, and put it behind us and move on!!!!

TheGreenMan
13-07-2019, 06:15 PM
Not a lot of teams will come away from Stirling Albion with 2 points this season.

13-07-2019, 06:16 PM
Not a lot of teams will come away from Stirling Albion with 2 points this season.

13-07-2019, 06:17 PM

[emoji23]

13-07-2019, 06:17 PM

😄

13-07-2019, 06:21 PM
I think your missing my point, both the team and fans were buzzing this time last year!
Now we are having to play teams we think are so far below us, its treated like a friendly???
This should be treated like a wake up call, and put it behind us and move on!!!!

I found some of Heckingbottom’s comments a bit odd in the lead up. Talking about leaving players behind because they’d get more work at East Mains than they would in the game.

I hope he takes a different approach next week. There was a total lack of drive and energy in the team, right from the start. We should be running right over the top of teams like that.

13-07-2019, 06:23 PM

The poor ones will. Decent teams will come away with 3 points.

13-07-2019, 06:23 PM
Heckingbottom saying Boyle and Kamberi will be back in team on Saturday

13-07-2019, 06:26 PM
Heckingbottom saying Boyle and Kamberi will be back in team on Saturday

Weird that we did not use Shaw today? We needed fresh legs for last 20 but only one change?

13-07-2019, 06:27 PM
Will be nice to have a couple of home games on the bounce now. I think at least one of our 3 friendlies so far should have been at Easter Road

we're ripped up and resown a new pitch, I assume that we are trying to give the new surface as much time as possible before setting foot on it.

13-07-2019, 06:29 PM
we're ripped up and resown a new pitch, I assume that we are trying to give the new surface as much time as possible before setting foot on it.

True forgot about that

13-07-2019, 06:30 PM
Weird that we did not use Shaw today? We needed fresh legs for last 20 but only one change?

Can only think hes trying to get 90mins into the legs of all but Newell.

We did win today.

We didn't. We drew but gained a bonus point. A subtle but important difference

Who was that young No 3?

What a revelation

At the start of the second half he had a steep over pivot and swing before laying off an inch perfect pass reminded me of Dani Alves 😁

13-07-2019, 06:31 PM

Trying to get minutes into them. Shaw will probably get 90 next game.

13-07-2019, 06:36 PM

Whoosh!

13-07-2019, 06:38 PM
Did we beat Dundee Utd on pens on our way to the SC or we erasing that win also ?

Different rules. That was at the KO stage

13-07-2019, 06:39 PM
I really can't remember our team ever being filled with lower English league players, even under Fenlon. McGivern came from Man C, Doherty & a certain Leigh Griffiths from Wolves, Soares from Stoke & Francomb from Norwich. All of these were loans initially. We signed Matt Done from Barnsley & he had a decent career after us & Taiwo from Carlisle but a lot of these guys only played a few games. I doubt if we ever had more than 1 or 2 lower league players in our team at any time. We were certainly never filled with them. Anyway for years people have been telling us on this board that we should be following the Well/Killie example & signing players like Moult, Main or Jones. TBH I don't think it matters where players come from, the only important thing is how they perform for Hibs!
It was a scatter gun approach and some may be ok. Matt Done never looked like a professional footballer to me but I know nothing so wheel them all in and let’s see what we get 🤞🤞🤞🤞

13-07-2019, 06:40 PM
We two thirds won.

No we one third lost

13-07-2019, 06:42 PM
Trying to get minutes into them. Shaw will probably get 90 next game.

Hope not. Today showed we need to play our strongest possible 11. It’s not about getting folk minutes now IMO.

13-07-2019, 06:46 PM
Hope not. Today showed we need to play our strongest possible 11. It’s not about getting folk minutes now IMO.
I’d like to see the following line up for Tuesday

Marciano

Whittaker
McGregor
Hanlon
Mackie

Boyle
Mallan
Allan
Murray
Horgan

Kamberi

13-07-2019, 06:49 PM

Nobody is treating it like a friendly though, that’s what is so disappointing about today’s result.

Lee Marvin
13-07-2019, 06:59 PM
Nobody is treating it like a friendly though, that’s what is so disappointing about today’s result.

Hibs definitely didn't treat that like a competitive game today. Read heckingbottoms quotes pre match

Squirrel 1875
13-07-2019, 07:04 PM

Marciano

Whittaker
McGregor
Hanlon
Mackie

Boyle
Mallan
Allan
Murray
Horgan

Kamberi

Interestingly, I agree. How many of those players are “Hecky’s”

coco22
13-07-2019, 07:05 PM
Interestingly, I agree. How many of those players are “Hecky’s”

My line up and thoughts too!

His signings will bed in but shows where we are (nae pish in my pants just a bit disappointed!)

13-07-2019, 07:12 PM
We can realistically win 2 out of the 3 competitions that we enter every season, the League Cup's one of them. We cannot afford to be taking these games lightly.

Exactly, if we were writing off one of the competitions, it would probably have to be the league. Sorry.

13-07-2019, 07:16 PM

Marciano

Whittaker
McGregor
Hanlon
Mackie

Boyle
Mallan
Allan
Murray
Horgan

Kamberi

No Heckingbottom signings at all. Like it.

K-Zazu
13-07-2019, 07:17 PM

Marciano

Whittaker
McGregor
Hanlon
Mackie

Boyle
Mallan
Allan
Murray
Horgan

Kamberi

We don’t play Tuesday do we?

13-07-2019, 07:18 PM
I said a while back that Mallan and Allan would likely not work together in the same midfield and it's one or the other.

To me that leaves Mallan on the bench maybe a tad harsh and some fans will not accept it but Allan is just the better player. We are actually in need of 2 proper central midfielders, basically the core of our team, Mallan can't play there he should be further up the park when he plays.

This has been problem area #1 in our squad for a year and we don't look any closer to solving it than we did back then, if anything it looks worse now that Bartley is gone. Hoping Hecky has targets in mind to get soon.

13-07-2019, 07:19 PM

Not this Tuesday, no.

We play Arbroath a week on Tuesday.

13-07-2019, 07:20 PM

No game until next Saturday

13-07-2019, 07:27 PM
Hibs definitely didn't treat that like a competitive game today. Read heckingbottoms quotes pre match

In the case it’s totally unprofessional in a competitive game.

13-07-2019, 07:30 PM

That's a whoosh moment, definitely!

Only one other team this season can play for two points this season.

13-07-2019, 07:38 PM

I reckon all teams in their league can play for two points as they'll all play there twice

13-07-2019, 07:41 PM
Was at the game today, few things that disappointed me was the amount of times we played long. We have football players on the park, so use them. Oh to have an Ambrose playing out from the back!

Doidge is a hard worker, but he always comes short, need another striker to go the other way

We had so many chances, if we’d gone 2-0 up we’d have won quite comfortably
We had 17 shots and 15 corners, if we’d taken a fraction of the chances we created, we’d all be sitting happy tonight
We didn’t, so we’re not

Some good performances from Maxwell at pens, Whittaker, Horgan and young Josh Campbell.
Well done Josh!

snedzuk
13-07-2019, 07:42 PM
To find out the answer. I'm sure fans putting more money into the club would mean we can strengthen our very competitive and very very strong squad...possibly to the point where we don't draw with part-timers.

Being honest I expect our development team to be able to beat Stirling any time of the year and this result in, one of the only competitions we have a reasonable chance of winning, is very very poor. You build a successful football club via successful football results. We've had a lot of talk about initiatives and fans putting more money into the club. Maybe we need to just simply focus on being a football club for a while.

Hecky says he hates pre-season games but when we reach competitive games he still treats them as pre-season games for fitness. Bit strange to me. Get working on tactics and team cohesion. Got an image in my head of the pre-match team talk with a whiteboard that just says "Run around a lot".

....which is then ignored

Chefki Kuqi
13-07-2019, 07:48 PM
Was at the game today, few things that disappointed me was the amount of times we played long. We have football players on the park, so use them. Oh to have an Ambrose playing out from the back!

Doidge is a hard worker, but he always comes short, need another striker to go the other way

We had 17 shots and 15 corners, if we’d taken a fraction of the chances we created, we’d all be sitting happy tonight
We didn’t, so we’re not

Some good performances from Maxwell at pens, Whittaker, Horgan and young Josh Campbell.
Well done Josh!

Would say the long balls were my main complaint. Whats the point of having such a coveted midfield if we’re bypassing them?

13-07-2019, 07:54 PM

We didn’t, so we’re not

Well done Josh!

The playing of the long ball is an obvious sign that we've nothing in midfield. No creativity, no power, no dominance, no nothing.

penihibs
13-07-2019, 08:01 PM
1) We should be playing two up front against everyone except maybe Celtic and Rangers away..Doige looks the best of the new signings but needs support
2) We should be passing a team like Stirling off the park, our players should be far superior in technique and athleticism
3) If we are struggling to break down a team like Stirling Albion, then our manager should be changing things and making tactical changes and substitutions
4) If a top Division Team get's 15 corners against a league 2 side, we should be scoring at least one if not two goals from them, with our amazing training facilities and full time players and coaching staff we should have enough to outfox part-timers at least once or twice from a set piece.
5) It doesn't matter what team we picked today, it should have been good enough to beat a part time league two side...or they shouldn't be in our first team squad.

We failed with all of the above

that needs to change going forward.

Over to Hecky now...get things sorted.

Your bang on!

13-07-2019, 08:04 PM

:doh: :greengrin

13-07-2019, 08:08 PM
How did Campbell do today?

elevengoats
13-07-2019, 08:08 PM
One thought I had watching the game today was that Kamberi is a way better forward than Doidge. Hope Doidge proves me wrong of course.

hibIBZ
13-07-2019, 08:11 PM

I thought he did well in a midfield that struggled to get space and the ball to feet. Worked hard and never hid, but hard to tell what he can do with the ball as it was often flying over his head

13-07-2019, 08:12 PM
One thought I had watching the game today was that Kamberi is a way better forward than Doidge. Hope Doidge proves me wrong of course.

I really want to see Kamberi up front with Doidge this season. I don't think either of them are lone strikers.

13-07-2019, 08:12 PM

Thought he was alright actually.

Did more than Mallan and possibly Allan as well.

13-07-2019, 08:13 PM

I didn’t think he was in the game really. Much as I thought at Arbroath and most of the game at Carlisle.

I’ve saw others praise him for today. Not to say I’m right, but I just didn’t see it. We had absolutely nothing in the middle of the park today IMO.

He’s young so it would be wrong to be overly critical of him. If he was deemed to have done well today then it just highlights how desperately we need some midfielders for me.

elevengoats
13-07-2019, 08:17 PM
I really want to see Kamberi up front with Doidge this season. I don't think either of them are lone strikers.

Maybe but I feel we will play 433 most games with a midfield 3 of Allan, Mallan and a new defensive Mid and then 2 wingers / wide forwards (Horgan and Boyle?) and a lone striker. But let’s see.

13-07-2019, 08:23 PM
The long balls were the worst part of the game. Far too many.

It’s to early to write them off obviously, but the new signings look poor, especially Newell and Doidge.

I think people are giving Campbell a break because he’s a young laddie and that’s fair enough. But he was a bit lost today.

We need quite a few new players in before the league starts, especially in attacking areas. The starts might say we had a lot of shots but there was next to nothing clear cut and that’s shocking against Stirling Albion.

Heckingbottom needs to change his style of play or we are in for a long long depressing season.

CloudSquall
13-07-2019, 08:24 PM
I'm concerned about this hoofball talk given we've got Horgan, Allan and Mallan in the middle of the park.

SideBurns
13-07-2019, 08:29 PM

We didn’t, so we’re not

Well done Josh!

Good enough summary for me. Think if we'd taken one of our chances in the early part of the 2nd half, we'd have won comfortably. But, we didn't and after Stirling came back into the game we struggled. The constant use of the long, diagonal ball was murder.

Campbell, Horgan & Whittaker for me too, but would add Jackson to that who was better than Hanlon at the back.

13-07-2019, 08:36 PM
I said a while back that Mallan and Allan would likely not work together in the same midfield and it's one or the other.

To me that leaves Mallan on the bench maybe a tad harsh and some fans will not accept it but Allan is just the better player. We are actually in need of 2 proper central midfielders, basically the core of our team, Mallan can't play there he should be further up the park when he plays.

This has been problem area #1 in our squad for a year and we don't look any closer to solving it than we did back then, if anything it looks worse now that Bartley is gone. Hoping Hecky has targets in mind to get soon.

13-07-2019, 09:25 PM
I felt Campbell was poor to be honest. Yes he is young so can be excused but he didn’t move the ball forward much at all.
We will need a lot better in that position going forward.

Here’s Lucy!
13-07-2019, 09:42 PM
I felt Campbell was poor to be honest. Yes he is young so can be excused but he didn’t move the ball forward much at all.
We will need a lot better in that position going forward.

I don’t think ‘youth’ is a suitable ‘get-out’ clause.

If he’s good enough, his age doesn’t matter.

Either Fergie, or the wonderful Bill Shankly (no guys, there is no ‘e’ in his surname!) said this.

Who are we to argue with those two managerial giants?

13-07-2019, 10:01 PM
Heck seemed pleased with the tactics today on his HibsTv interview. He is right about keeping them out of our box but from an attacking point of view we were all over the shop without any real plan. I think the HibsTV cameraman must have been drinking what the players were on as he was lacking focus and seemed to have an issue with brightness and colour. Interesting to hear Flo was in for fitness training too.

13-07-2019, 10:13 PM
Still to see this high pressing game Hecky keeps banging on about I appreciate it is early doors in the season but the real stuff has now started today was a cup tie played at preseason pace
High pressing to me is HIBS January onwards the season before last with Kamberi Maclaren McGinn McGeouch Allan and Boyle pressurising the opposition defence high up the pitch forcing them into making mistakes sorry to say I saw nothing of that today

13-07-2019, 11:10 PM
This Dunfermline fan did a vlog of todays game. Good watch for an unbiased opinion.

https://youtu.be/Wcki0-2AkoA

Crunchie
13-07-2019, 11:12 PM
Disappointing result but not getting carried away at this stage. Should get a better idea after 1st 10 league games.

That's where I sit, very disappointing not to win but still very early days.

Anyone questioning The Heck this early, genuinely thinking they could pick a better team, make better subs etc, must have a very high opinion of themselves.

Far better Hibs teams over the years have been put out by lower league opposition, we're not even at that stage yet so let's not get carried away.

13-07-2019, 11:30 PM
I'm just so glad we got all our players in so early, as we all know getting players in early makes such a difference, when you wait to the end of the window, you get all the sheite nobody else wants. :greengrin

Although if you do wait until the end of the window, you can then guarantee yourself a well balanced squad that will serve you well over the coming season.

13-07-2019, 11:31 PM
This Dunfermline fan did a vlog of todays game. Good watch for an unbiased opinion.

Enjoyed that totally unbiased opinion up until the time Stirling Albion scored

13-07-2019, 11:31 PM

That looks like a great wee vlog. Well done the young guy.

Daydreamer
13-07-2019, 11:43 PM

He looked like a centre back playing in midfield. No guile, limited skill and no threat in the last third. After a season on loan i expected much more from him.

14-07-2019, 12:02 AM
It was bad -very bad- but I'm not panicking yet. A July game in Stirling isn't a basis to make a judgement. Of course we should beat them easily, and it's embarrassing we didn't, but it does take a bit of time to get up to speed again competitively. When we have a few games under our belts, we'll be in a better position to analyse. Not excusing that performance and result, though.

14-07-2019, 12:35 AM

Good effort by the young lad, its nice to see somebody who clearly has a passion the game in general and not just obsessed with his own team.

14-07-2019, 08:09 AM
It was bad -very bad- but I'm not panicking yet. A July game in Stirling isn't a basis to make a judgement. Of course we should beat them easily, and it's embarassing we didn't, but it does take a bit of time to get up to speed again competitively. When we have a few games under our belts, we'll be in a better position to analyse. Not excusing that performance and result, though.

I'd be inclined to agree with that but that argument falls down when you realise that Stirling Albion (a team 3 divisions below us) are at a similar stage in their pre-season. We are both still trying to get up to speed with fitness levels etc again but our superior playing ability should have been the deciding factor.

The fact that it wasn't is extremely disappointing.

14-07-2019, 09:09 AM
I'd be inclined to agree with that but that argument falls down when you realise that Stirling Albion (a team 3 divisions below us) are at a similar stage in their pre-season. We are both still trying to get up to speed with fitness levels etc again but our superior playing ability should have been the deciding factor.

The fact that it wasn't is extremely disappointing.

Perhaps the problem was more in the mind than in the body and we were just a bit complacent, taking the win for granted? Can easily happen in these type of games. It shouldn't, but it does.

14-07-2019, 09:24 AM
Perhaps the problem was more in the mind than in the body and we were just a bit complacent, taking the win for granted? Can easily happen in these type of games. It shouldn't, but it does.

That's a bit of a worry in itself.

Hopefully if that is the case then the players are brought back to Earth and reminded of their responsibilities during the next week before we play Alloa, a team we should be beating but who are two divisions above Stirling Albion so will be a step up in class.

Barman Stanton
14-07-2019, 09:45 AM
Glad I avoided the forum yesterday. It’s almost like some can’t wait for us to have a bad result so they can come on and say told you so. So many seem desperate for Hecky to fail. It was a bad result and performance. It happens, elsepcially this early in these season. Look at Hearts last year. Terrible in the league cup and then went on a big unbeaten run in the league.

14-07-2019, 09:50 AM
Glad I avoided the forum yesterday. It’s almost like some can’t wait for us to have a bad result so they can come on and say told you so. So many seem desperate for Hecky to fail. It was a bad result and performance. It happens, elsepcially this early in these season. Look at Hearts last year. Terrible in the league cup and then went on a big unbeaten run in the league.

What league 2 side did they lose to? I’m sure they pumped ict 5-0 (they should have been thrown out by then)

Barman Stanton
14-07-2019, 09:51 AM
What league 2 side did they lose to? I’m sure they pumped ict 5-0 (they should have been thrown out by then)

I honestly don’t know who they played. I’m not a jambo. But did they not fail to get out the group?

Steven79
14-07-2019, 10:02 AM
I honestly don’t know who they played. I’m not a jambo. But did they not fail to get out the group?

They reached the semi final which was played at Murrayfield.

14-07-2019, 10:06 AM

Peterhead i think. They also drew with East Fife i think before going on to win the league

Barman Stanton
14-07-2019, 10:06 AM
They reached the semi final which was played at Murrayfield.

My mistake then. Could have sworn they struggled. Obviously don’t pay as much attention to Hearts as some on here lol.

14-07-2019, 10:07 AM

View from a Stirling fan with some reasonable footage (missed their goal though)

Barman Stanton
14-07-2019, 10:08 AM
Regardless, I still think some one here (the usual suspects) seem to revel in us not doing well.

14-07-2019, 10:09 AM

View from a Stirling fan with some reasonable footage (missed their goal though)

Put this on here last night. He's a Dunfermline fan. His stuff is pretty good

14-07-2019, 10:16 AM

They should have been kicked out but it got sorted that they had to win the last game in the group which they won 5-0 then got humped off Celtic at murrayfield.

14-07-2019, 10:17 AM
My mistake then. Could have sworn they struggled. Obviously don’t pay as much attention to Hearts as some on here lol.

You’re the one that brought hearts, the league cup and a good start to the season up. Nobody else.

Also nobody is revelling or taking any pleasure in the performance yesterday, that’s just a lazy hideaway comment.

14-07-2019, 10:18 AM

your thinking of the year before when they got beat by Peterhead and didnt get through

Barman Stanton
14-07-2019, 10:32 AM
You’re the one that brought hearts, the league cup and a good start to the season up. Nobody else.

Also nobody is revelling or taking any pleasure in the performance yesterday, that’s just a lazy hideaway comment.

Yeah and I held my hands up and said my mistake. That not allowed?

Disagree. Stand by that some on here revel on us doing sh*t. Especially you.

Barman Stanton
14-07-2019, 10:33 AM
your thinking of the year before when they got beat by Peterhead and didnt get through

Aye probably mate. But my point was more that these kind of results can happen when a team is gelling and getting fit. Huge over reaction on here. And the constant complainers are probably one of the reasons regulars stop posting as much.

TheHarpy76
14-07-2019, 10:36 AM
Hamilton drew with Queens Park, Livingston drew with Falkirk.

It’s very very early, stop wetting the bed folks.

I don’t understand posts like this.

Aye, it’s ok that we drew with ******* Stirling cos Hamilton and Livingston drew as well.

Dublin07
14-07-2019, 10:41 AM

Watching that coverage we should have scored 4-5 easily.

14-07-2019, 10:41 AM

[emoji106] missed it [emoji16]

14-07-2019, 11:00 AM
Yeah and I held my hands up and said my mistake. That not allowed?

Disagree. Stand by that some on here revel on us doing sh*t. Especially you.

How do you get I revel in us doing ****? You’re just making up things as you go along.

14-07-2019, 11:01 AM
Aye probably mate. But my point was more that these kind of results can happen when a team is gelling and getting fit. Huge over reaction on here. And the constant complainers are probably one of the reasons regulars stop posting as much.

It’s been a very poor pre-season followed up by a shocker of a result. I don’t understand why you wouldn’t concentrate on that instead of trying to argue and insult others that obviously don’t share your opinion.

Barman Stanton
14-07-2019, 06:01 PM
It’s been a very poor pre-season followed up by a shocker of a result. I don’t understand why you wouldn’t concentrate on that instead of trying to argue and insult others that obviously don’t share your opinion.

We all want the same thing, but some people are not happy unless they are moaning. This site is an absolute bomb site after a defeat. People already saying we will struggle this season. Loads of my mates don’t go near this site due to the negativity.

Personally I will wait and see how things develop. I understand that most teams with a lot of new players don’t gel over night. Plus we have not finished building the team. Yes it was a poor result and performance but it happens. And apologies for being personal.

Lee Marvin
14-07-2019, 06:05 PM
How do you get I revel in us doing ****? You’re just making up things as you go along.

You found time for a toilet break today yet? Have a moment off, you may find something to enjoy

15-07-2019, 06:34 PM
Just watched the highlights. On another day we win that by 2 or 3 and everyone is happy enough.

15-07-2019, 06:52 PM
Just watched the highlights. On another day we win that by 2 or 3 and everyone is happy enough.

Horrendous clearance by Hanlon for the goal, one of a few mistakes he made.

15-07-2019, 06:57 PM
Horrendous clearance by Hanlon for the goal, one of a few mistakes he made.

Aye was a soft header. A decent result on Saturday and everything will seem a lot better.

15-07-2019, 07:01 PM
Aye was a soft header. A decent result on Saturday and everything will seem a lot better.

Yes, big performance coupled with a high scoring win is what is needed. No more pissing about with team selections from Hecky. Strongest 11 then make changes when the job is done.

15-07-2019, 10:31 PM
Yes, big performance coupled with a high scoring win is what is needed. No more pissing about with team selections from Hecky. Strongest 11 then make changes when the job is done.

This is what gets me to be honest.Surely everybody agrees that in these type of games you pick your best side,win the game quickly and then make your changes to give players a run out from a position of strength with the pressure off.I really don’t understand the thinking behind last Saturday.The comment from the manager that all away Cup ties are difficult was just silly I thought.

Crunchie
15-07-2019, 11:24 PM
This is what gets me to be honest.Surely everybody agrees that in these type of games you pick your best side,win the game quickly and then make your changes to give players a run out from a position of strength with the pressure off.I really don’t understand the thinking behind last Saturday.The comment from the manager that all away Cup ties are difficult was just silly I thought.

Not silly at all, ask any manager and they'll tell you the same. Had we taken our chances we would have won the game comfortably, what is so hard to understand about that?

Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but even a full strength team as you put it might have gottten the same result or worse, it's called cup football, it happens.

I remember being at Forthbank late 90s when we were actually knocked out the Scottish cup by Stirling, a team which contained the great Russell Latapy no less.

I wish all the would be coaches amongst you would realise you might think you could have picked a better team, but the reality is you more than likely wouldn't.

Unless you are a qualified coach of course, but even that would guarantee nothing.

16-07-2019, 09:55 PM
Not silly at all, ask any manager and they'll tell you the same. Had we taken our chances we would have won the game comfortably, what is so hard to understand about that?

Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but even a full strength team as you put it might have gottten the same result or worse, it's called cup football, it happens.

I remember being at Forthbank late 90s when we were actually knocked out the Scottish cup by Stirling, a team which contained the great Russell Latapy no less.

I wish all the would be coaches amongst you would realise you might think you could have picked a better team, but the reality is you more than likely wouldn't.

Unless you are a qualified coach of course, but even that would guarantee nothing.
Sorry but after they enqualised we should have battered them. One change that made no difference in real terms and=d persisted with one striker when in other pre season games we looked completely different when two were on the park. Heck’s either underestimated Stirling’s defensive qualities or his players capabilities. Either way he got it wrong and stuck with it. Hope he learns from it.

17-07-2019, 01:53 AM
Sorry but after they enqualised we should have battered them. One change that made no difference in real terms and=d persisted with one striker when in other pre season games we looked completely different when two were on the park. Heck’s either underestimated Stirling’s defensive qualities or his players capabilities. Either way he got it wrong and stuck with it. Hope he learns from it.

Agree, crap set up from the start and we paid the price for his failure to spot and change it when it wasn't working! :agree:

DetroitHibs
17-07-2019, 03:30 AM
Think we’d all agree, best performance so far has been the second half against the Pars. I believe the only time we have used two up front together.

17-07-2019, 03:56 AM

When will younger lads ever get a start if it isn't league cup ties Vs part time league 2 sides. We didn't play well but 2 absolute sitters missed first half stopped an easy win regardless.

17-07-2019, 10:49 AM

Why do some folk continually make these sort of posts on football fans message boards?

17-07-2019, 11:37 AM
Why do some folk continually make these sort of posts on football fans message boards?

Because they've coached at Barcelona, obviously. See also "have you any experience in running a football club? No? Well you can't have an opinion on the running of a football club!"

You don't need to specialise in sewerage to know a ***** when you see one.

17-07-2019, 01:46 PM
When will younger lads ever get a start if it isn't league cup ties Vs part time league 2 sides. We didn't play well but 2 absolute sitters missed first half stopped an easy win regardless.

Wasn't it only one youngster got a start on Saturday?Still think we should have totally overpowered them.I see the Edinburgh City boss is saying that part time clubs have a job getting a team together at this time of the season.One more reason for saying that was an easy game for us and shouldn't have been difficult in the slightest.

Alfiembra
17-07-2019, 01:49 PM
[QUOTE=You don't need to specialise in sewerage to know a ***** when you see one.[/QUOTE]

:top marks:faf::faf:

17-07-2019, 02:32 PM
Because they've coached at Barcelona, obviously. See also "have you any experience in running a football club? No? Well you can't have an opinion on the running of a football club!"

Quite! 😁

Crunchie
18-07-2019, 03:32 AM

I know what a brain looks like, i wouldn't dream of telling a brain surgeon i could do as good a job as him though :greengrin

Crunchie
18-07-2019, 03:34 AM

The same as folk continually posting to criticise i suppose.