13-07-2019, 03:29 PM
Newall off at last. Murray on.
Newell off Murray on
K-Zazu
Is it only top spot in the group that goes through?
renato
13-07-2019, 03:30 PM
We have 4,865 chances and they score with their first shot at goal. Our clinical finishing continues.
Groundhog season, for the last 5 seasons...
13-07-2019, 03:30 PM
Wee cup etc.
mayo hibee
13-07-2019, 03:31 PM
I fear Newell may be in for a long hard season of abuse from the Hibs support.
Top two go through.
Bangkok Hibby
8 winners 4 best runners-up
13-07-2019, 03:32 PM
Newell not impressive
I fear Newell may be in for a long hard season of abuse from the Hibs support.
Why?
Aw well, least we have players who want to play for us
13-07-2019, 03:33 PM
Kilted Kangaroo for anyone looking for a bevvy, appears to have been better than the game.
13-07-2019, 03:35 PM
I fear Newell may be in for a long hard season of abuse from the Hibs support. Why the **** is he at Hibs then if he is that pish. Somebody must have rated him.
mayo hibee
13-07-2019, 03:36 PM
Why?
Because so far reports are that he can't beat a man, can't cross a ball and looks like he doesn't give a ****. There's an opening for club scapegoat at the moment and some of our fans are not exactly renowned for their patience.
13-07-2019, 03:36 PM
Just not acceptable I'm afraid...against League 2 opposition. Pathetic
13-07-2019, 03:37 PM
Hibs truly have no idea how to play 4-3-3/4-2-3-1, painful to watch.
13-07-2019, 03:38 PM
Well the decision to leave players at home is going well. Newell looks really poor it has to be said.
13-07-2019, 03:38 PM
Anything but a win here is an atrocious result. It’s not pre season anymore Hecky.
13-07-2019, 03:40 PM
Is it ok to be concerned yet?
This is a competitive game. No "only a friendly" excuses here. We should be hammering them.
Just not acceptable I'm afraid...against League 2 opposition. Pathetic Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk Early days yet but agree it would appear to be pretty poor, think I may give up on Hibs and .net at least until next Sat. Not even confident Hibs would beat them on pens.
Here’s Lucy!
13-07-2019, 03:42 PM
Even if we win now, it’s a poor show.
Berwickhibby
13-07-2019, 03:43 PM
Again embarrassing
13-07-2019, 03:44 PM
Site crashing for anyone else?
13-07-2019, 03:45 PM
Is it ok to be concerned yet?
Yes, we shouldn't be mucking about in the League Cup.
Poor from Hibs.
13-07-2019, 03:45 PM
This has been truly dreadful.
Not impressed at all by almost every single player that's played today.
Pathetic result.
13-07-2019, 03:46 PM
I jinxed it, my bad.
Still though, shocking performance.
Hard to get on this thread now. Was fine until the goal.
Liam6270
How has doidge played?
The seagulls are gathering.
Very slow
vercol36
Be nice to hear what’s happening in the game, instead of having to wade through the digital tears of grown men...
13-07-2019, 03:47 PM
It looks like we cannot play this formation at all. Beaten by Arbroath and drawn with Stirling Albion playing it.
Serious improvement required 1st game of season or not.. 1 of only 2 trophies we can win and we are messing about with half strength teams?? Why??
I jinxed it, my bad.
Still though, shocking performance.
Shaking my fist at you
How has doidge played?
Good first half, not in the game second.
Liam6270
13-07-2019, 03:48 PM
Good first half, not in the game second.
Cheers pal
13-07-2019, 03:48 PM
Yeah. We’ve restricted guests now so should be better.
Not that you’ll want to be reading it. :greengrin
13-07-2019, 03:49 PM
Serious improvement required 1st game of season or not.. 1 of only 2 trophies we can win and we are messing about with half strength teams?? Why??
No indication of what Hecky sees as first 11 at all.
itslegaltender
This starting to look like a touch of the Calderwoods team.
Here’s Lucy!
Aye.
We’ve not to panic cause these games are only for fitness
Bangkok Hibby
Much better thanks
13-07-2019, 03:50 PM
Thanks 👍
Come full time probably no.
Hecky is signing passengers.
Hibs are about drivers
I'd sell Newell already
NC1875
Same old Hibs.
Full time
1-1
We’ve not to panic cause these games are only for fitness
Grrrrrr
HibbyDave
13-07-2019, 03:51 PM
Wtf is going on with the site??
Chuck out the visitors?
This starting to look like a touch of the Calderwoods team.
Behave.
They're not even that good.
Hmmm, not very inspiring.
https://youtu.be/geLucCUG4i0
This has been a disgraceful performance.
Woeful. We are miles off it.
Full time
1-1
Shocking, just not good enough
EI255
That's a shocker of a result, no matter what way anyone dresses it up. Stirling just as rusty as us. Not good.
Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
13-07-2019, 03:52 PM
Slowly zapping enthusiasm for the new season...
When does Ron want fans to give more money?
Horgan is only player that seems to be any good at the moment. Horgan has reacted well to new competition for his place. I've heard we've got a really strong squad though :rolleyes:
Can someone please keep us informed of the progress on the penalties
My 7-1 prediction was just a tad optimistic...
Here’s Lucy!
Wtf is going on with the site??
Chuck out the visitors?
It’s been done.
That’s woeful. Not one to get too wound up but that’sa competitive game and Stirling are in pre-season too.
Terrible result.
Pitiful stuff.
Disgraceful performance and result.
We have 2 realistic chances every season of a trophy, this is one of them so I expect them to de dispatched professionally. With the best players available.
Massive reality check for Heckingbottom here. That score is unacceptable.
13-07-2019, 03:53 PM
FT. Missed two sitters and denied a pen in last minute. Lack luster would best describe that performance and far cry from the organised high temp team I hoped for. Formation just didn't work and players looked very slow and unwilling to put a shift in. Heck treating these as additional pre-season games is risky and means getting cohesion is impossible
I know a Stirling Albion fan and even he says they are a bit of a joke team.
Midfielder and forward urgently required...and better than what we have, not squad players.
Bring back Petrie
Slowly zapping enthusiasm for the new season...
When does Ron want fans to give more money?
Horgan is only player that seems to be any good at the moment. Horgan has reacted well to new competition for his place. I've heard we've got a really strong squad though :rolleyes:
I doubt Newall would be competition for a game of 5’s a world of Football.
Suburban Hibby
Penalties or FT?
We have been absolutely abysmal
I’ve been trying very hard to support the new players but all six played today and we couldn’t beat Stirling Albion.
Hecky is in for a shock if he thinks we only need a central midfielder.
That’s woeful. Not one to get too wound up but that’sa competitive game and Stirling are in pre-season too.
Terrible result.
Not one to get too wound up haha
A league 2 team matty, a mid table league 2 team at that
GoalsMcGinley
Diabolical performance. Anyone willing to accept that needs to take a good, long look at themselves. Embarrassing!!
hibernian95
By all accounts sounds very lethargic, think the players have forgot this is a competitive fixture. Onto penalties and hopefully 2 points and we can move on. Not great though.
As devoid of a plan as I've ever seen Hibs. No idea how to score a goal.
13-07-2019, 03:54 PM
Not sure why Olly wasn't brought on. Midfield looks weak..we need players. Quite glad we have these cup matches to give the club a wake up call before the league starts.
Here’s Lucy!
Not good at all.
Bangkok Hibby
Looks like Arbroath will top the table with Hibs or Stirling 2nd
leithsansiro
13-07-2019, 03:55 PM
Woeful. We are miles off it.
Not a great result, but the league cup group stages are still, essentially, played at a level only vaguely higher than friendlier by SPL sides, as evidenced by Hibs not putting out a first choice 11. There’s no way that squad selection will start a single league game.
Nothing short of embarrassing.
Just pathetic how the hell we cannot best Stirling in 90 mins.
Who on earth plays one upfront against Stirling Albion? Ridiculous.
Cannot wait for this season to be over
TheHarpy76
Penalties or FT?
Penalties.
Winner gets a bonus point.
When do the pens start?
Take the lid off.
Well we should get 4 derbies this season with both teams looking like bottom 6 material:cb
Bangkok Hibby
13-07-2019, 03:56 PM
When do the pens start?
Now
YanYansen
An absolute disgrace not to be scudding a mid-table League 2 side, who let's not forget are not only also in "pre-season" but are part-time.
PH needs to take a look at himself and respect the fact that this is a competition we should be looking to win, and pick a side accordingly. These are NOT friendlies.
Only for today. Hibs win the rest of the games and will win the league.
1-0 James
HibbyDave
Stirling score first pen
hhibs
Awful performance.
PH did really nothing to change the pattern of the game so poor on him.
Terrible start and not great viewing for our new owner.
cameronw-hfc
13-07-2019, 03:57 PM
Jeez, folk making judgments based on our 4th game of the season. First competitive game. Forgot the mighty hibs had to smash every lower league team we play, every time, otherwise its unacceptable. :confused:
13-07-2019, 03:59 PM
Forgot the mighty hibs had to smash every lower league team we play, every time, otherwise its unacceptable. :confused:
Well yes we should be smashing a team that is at the same time of pre season and and in League 2.
Allan misses.
We actually losing on pens to Stirling
Allan missed
Jeez, folk making judgments based on our 4th game of the season. First competitive game. Forgot the mighty hibs had to smash every lower league team we play, every time, otherwise its unacceptable. :confused:
It's unacceptable to not beat them
Haven’t you got any standards? We should be destroying teams from league two.
FT. Missed two sitters and denied a pen in last minute. Lack luster would best describe that performance and far cry from the organised high temp team I hoped for. Formation just didn't work and players looked very slow and unwilling to put a shift in. Heck treating these as additional pre-season games is risky and means getting cohesion is impossible
He said that he was pleased that pre-season was over and to be into competitive matches. Looks far from that to me. Poor team, dreadful result and performance to match. No excuses. Finger out pronto or it’ll be a slog this season.
13-07-2019, 04:00 PM
We should though tbf. This is one of just 2 competitions we have a chance of winning so surely we should be looking to get a better result than a draw with a League 2 side?
mentalhibee
What’s confusing about hibs fans finding it unacceptable that we can’t beat Stirling Albion over 90mins? It’s a farce!
Every time we’ve filled our team with low level English league players it hasn’t ended well. There’s a thought process in English based people that if they are good players in the English 3rd tier then they’ll piss all over the Scottish game. With a few exceptions we’ve seen many failures. No idea what the score is with Dylan but at least we knew he was a player. You would think these new guys would be at least out to impress at the start!
An absolute disgrace not to be scudding a mid-table League 2 side, who let's not forget are not only also in "pre-season" but are part-time.
PH needs to take a look at himself and respect the fact that this is a competition we should be looking to win, and pick a side accordingly. These are NOT friendlies.
We should be beating a side like Stirling regardless of team selection. It wasn't as if we were playing a team of youngsters...
PH needs to take some blame though. This whole "it's all about fitness" is quite frankly a lot of rubbish. A substantial turnover in the squad, key thing is team cohesion which we do not have. Our midfield is a joke still, no balance. League starts fairly soon when you think about it and we look hopeless. Can't defend and struggle to score goals.
AugustaHibs
13-07-2019, 04:01 PM
Can folk stop talking pish and going on about how it’s only this many games etc.. ALBION ROVERS HAVE ALSO JUST PLAYED THEIR FIRST COMPETITIVE MATCH.
vahibbie
Only for today. Hibs win the rest of the games and will win the league.
Will they tho ? Based on what?
What else are we meant to make judgements on?
And yes it is totally unacceptable not to scud a team 3 leagues below us.
No idea why you would think otherwise.
BigKev
It is unacceptable. If you think otherwise then explain why.
Hibs should beat a League 2 team at any stage of the season.
13-07-2019, 04:02 PM
Bonus point!!!!! Yassssss! The cup is ours!
Can folk stop talking pish and going on about how it’s only this many games etc.. ALBION ROVERS HAVE ALSO JUST PLAYED THEIR FIRST COMPETITIVE MATCH.
Who were they playing?
well done Maxwell..let's move on..things need to change..over to you Hecky.
You genuinely must be mad if you don’t think it’s embarrassing that we cannot beat a mid-table league 2 team.
Worried that Heckingbottom has vastly underrated the standard up here. If he hasn't then the new players certainly have.
13-07-2019, 04:03 PM
Well if it isn't unacceptable its time it started being. This club is supposed to be on the up, this club is supposed to be on the road to challenging Aberdeen for best of the rest … drawing competitive games with mid table 2nd division clubs in front of a crowd who were 90% on our side in a competition we have to be looking at winning isn't the way to go about it.
13-07-2019, 04:03 PM
Hibs win 5-4 penalty shoot out
13-07-2019, 04:04 PM
Outcome?
Bob Box Fish
Poor first half and terrible second half.
Struggling to think of a poorer midfield we can put out since the Butcher days?
Newell and James not SPL level. Our recruitment team must have been looking at best bits videos from the past 5 years?
We need a striker, proper left back to cover Stevenson and two proper centre midfielders with a bit dig in them.
Plenty time to get the right men in but with the current lot looking at bottom six.
Onwards and upwards ...
Hecky is going to have to get tough. If he wants to play 4-4-2 then Allan or Mallan will have to be sacrificed unfortunately. We have been rotten with one striker.
Should have been a comfortable win today. This result could also be a good thing though, a wake up call as such.
franck sauzee
How do you work that out? We've only played one game
Inclined to agree. The league cup is one of 3 major honours in domestic football.
Hibs should be looking to win these games.
If Hibs fail to come out of this group then that would not be an acceptable outcome for me.
Bangkok Hibby
Hibs win 5-4 penalty shoot out
Though Allan missed?
13-07-2019, 04:05 PM
Yass! 2 pts away from home v the 25/1 good things! 😁
Here’s Lucy!
An embarrassing ‘phew’ from me.
ChickenCurryYLT
Alarm bells ringing. Any one that says other wise is kidding themselves on.
Robbo6-2
Wow that was awful
JimboHibs
Hibs and scudding in the same sentence 😂😂 your at the wind up.
Every time we’ve filled our team with low level English league players it hasn’t ended well. There’s a thought process in English based people that if they are good players in the English 3rd tier then they’ll piss all over the Scottish game. With a few exceptions we’ve seen many failures. No idea what the score is with Dylan but at least we knew he was a player. You would think these new guys would be at least out to impress at the start!
I’m afraid that’s where I’m increasingly at. Still early days but we will be in trouble if our manager and some of his signings have underestimated Scottish football
Currie Hibee
Disappointing result but not getting carried away at this stage. Should get a better idea after 1st 10 league games.
Bet Ojo is a relieved man today.:cb
If Becky's signings are as bad as this thread indicates then maybe it's as well we missed out on Ojo! Thought I'd try to find a ray of happy clapping sunshine!
Utter pish. One up top against Stirling ****ing Slbion.
Here’s Lucy!
Though Allan missed?
Sudden death.
Personally I thing we should start bringing youth through quicker
13-07-2019, 04:06 PM
Heckingbottom has got to lay it down to the team after this game. Season has started now. Buck up your ideas.
It doesn’t help that he’s been downplaying pre season for weeks and we’ve looked slower for it.
5-4 hibs win
What was the penalty breakdown?
This is my fear as well.
Though Allan missed?
He did
wallpaperman
Hamilton drew with Queens Park, Livingston drew with Falkirk.
It’s very very early, stop wetting the bed folks.
Bangkok Hibby
How do you work that out? We've only played one game
pretty simple really. Arbroath get 3 points for a win. Only 2 points for a penalty shoot out win.
HibbySpurs
13-07-2019, 04:07 PM
You’re going to be in a minority here...
Hibs failing to beat Stirling Albion in 90 minutes home or away, 1st competitive match or last match of the season, under strength team or otherwise is, was and always will be entirely unacceptable.
They are a part time L2 outfit FFS, how you can even attempt to make excuses for drawing with the likes of Stirling is beyond me (& I suspect many others).
I await the head coaches comments with interest.
James, Horgan, Mallan, Whittaker and Murray scored. Allan missed.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/48976480
Both they teams are *****. Who cares if they drew with them.
ChickenCurryYLT
I’m assuming you weren’t there today?
Bangkok Hibby
13-07-2019, 04:08 PM
He did
Didnt realise it was sudden death 👍🏻🙏🏻
pretty simple really. Arbroath get 3 points for a win. Only 2 points for a penalty shoot out win.
You think Arbroath will take at least a point from us at ER?
scotiaf
I have to say listening from afar the updates were *****e :)
wallpaperman
Eh, like, well, we still get to play Arbroath, so entirely in our own hands.
It's not bed wetting.
It's a legitimate concern. The performances have been very poor. Pre season, early doors or not in a competitive game we should be smashing Stirling Albion.
Heckingbottom has got to lay it down to the team after this game. Season has started now. Buck up your ideas.
It doesn’t help that he’s been downplaying pre season for weeks and we’ve looked slower for it.
First big test for him now. Honeymoon period well and trully over
When does Ron want money from the fans?
Some of those players should get their ***** kicked for that. We are badly badly lacking in midfield.
13-07-2019, 04:09 PM
How many games have Stirling played? It’s a shocking result and we couldn’t score from open play against a team 3 leagues below us. I listened to the manager talk about these games and how hw was going to be rotating the squad for all 4 games. In my lifetime hibs have never been good enough to be leaving players out for games. Heckingbottom has underestimated the opposition and hopefully today’s slip up will make him realise that. There’s no real harm been done today, but hopefully it’s a wake up call.
Hibs failing to beat Stirling Albion in 90 minutes home or away, 1st competitive match or last match of the season, under strength team or otherwise is, was and always will be entirely unacceptable.
They are a part Tim L2 outfit FFS, how you can even attempt to make excuses for drawing with the likes of Stirling is beyond me (& I suspect many others).
With an attitude like that of course he’s going to be in a minority on this thread, or board.
However, it doesn’t mean he’s wrong.
Worried that Heckingbottom has vastly underrated the standard up here. If he hasn't then the new players certainly have.
Agreed. Can't see how signing lower league players from England is going to improve us compared to last season. We might get 1 gem but on the whole the standard of player won't be good enough to compete at the top of the Scottish premiership.
They are a part Tim L2 outfit FFS, how you can even attempt to make excuses for drawing with the likes of Stirling is beyond me (& I suspect many others).
I’m not joking when I say I think our development team would expect to get a result against Stirling, never mind the first team.
This is a game that should have been a comfortable win, and a thoroughly dominant performance.
Robbo6-2
Bed wetting to the side, that's up there with the worst results in our history
13-07-2019, 04:10 PM
Wasn't there so not qualified to comment upon team or individual performances. Very disappointed though.
Onto the next game and a win now.
Steady
Heckingbottom spoke about ‘taking them to new levels of fitness’ and playing with ‘intensity’.
First competitive season and we looked no fitter or sharper than a part time, league two side. The signs were there in the friendlies as well.
Absolute dog *****
1875Sean
Has Boyle had a setback?
BigKev
13-07-2019, 04:11 PM
I’m afraid that’s where I’m increasingly at. Still early days but we will be in trouble if our manager and some of his signings have underestimated Scottish football
He had a dozen or so games to acquaint himself with Scottish football last season. I don't think he's underestimated it. His signing record at Barnsley was good so we have to trust in his beliefs.
If we still look awful at full strength then will be the time to question tactics and new faces.
Can't really argue with that
Ah “Robbo” is back ...
Wouldn’t even make the top 100 of bad results ...
We aren’t Hamilton or Livingston though we’re Hibs and should be making easy work of Stirling Albion
13-07-2019, 04:12 PM
Sudden death.
Harsh!
cameronw-hfc
How many games have Stirling played? It’s a shocking result and we couldn’t score from open play against a team 3 leagues below us. I listened to the manager talk about these games and how hw was going to be rotating the squad for all 4 games. In my lifetime hibs have never been good enough to be leaving players out for games. Heckingbottom has underestimated the opposition and hopefully today’s slip up will make him realise that. There’s no real harm been done today, but hopefully it’s a wake up call.
Should clarify, I have nothing wrong with people being upset at the result. I am too, it's the people claiming it's going to be a long season or heckys signings are duds already. Just a bit early for bedwetting imo, each to their own though.
I’ll start worrying when we take part in penalty shoot outs against lower league teams even though we’ve already been knocked out.
Bangkok Hibby
You think Arbroath will take at least a point from us at ER?
Sorry looks like Im as confused as you????
I meant at this moment in time. Arbroath will be top with us or Stirling 2nd.
Here’s Lucy!
That username, coupled with this comment, doesn’t surprise me in the slightest.
13-07-2019, 04:13 PM
Can't really argue with that
I will 100% argue with it
Heckingbottom spoke about ‘taking them to new levels of fitness’ and playing with ‘intensity’.
First competitive season and we looked no fitter or sharper than a part time, league two side. The signs were there in the friendlies as well.
If you’d said that to an alien they’d think Hibs played in purple. They looked every bit as fit and intense.
wallpaperman
Yeah ok Robbo. Think you’ve forgotten what user name you’ve logged in under. :-)
Bangkok Hibby
Eh, like, well, we still get to play Arbroath, so entirely in our own hands.
See answer above. I just meant after todays games
RossScott1991
13-07-2019, 04:14 PM
Absolutely diabolical stuff that today. No much else to be said
dmc1875
13-07-2019, 04:14 PM
It is, but we also aren’t Livingston or Hamilton...
That was nowhere near good enough regardless of the time of year and the new signings look Jim Duffy-esque.
They need to take a long hard look at themselves and realise this isn’t as bad a standard as it looks like they thought.
smithy_hibees
13-07-2019, 04:15 PM
Motherwell n Ross C won though.. who actually cares about anyone else?
Honeymoon period is over for Hecky. Big improvements needed but I’m not sure he has what it takes.
Pat Fenlon 2.0 imo
I agree your thoughts about English over estimation of their game but you say, "every time we've filled our team with low-level English league players" as if this was a regular occurrence. I'm not being funny but when did this happen? I genuinely can't remember it.
We've got a very very strong squad.
Should clarify, I have nothing wrong with people being upset at the result. I am too, it's the people claiming it's going to be a long season or heckys signings are duds already. Just a bit early for bedwetting imo, each to their own though.
It's not bed wetting.
HibbySpurs
With an attitude like that of course he’s going to be in a minority on this thread, or board.
However, it doesn’t mean he’s wrong.
But he is wrong, very wrong. To accept drawing and relying on the lottery of penalties to overcome Stirling Albion is to accept worse than mediocrity.
Shocks of course happen but it does not make them acceptable.
Do you think our chums across the city were happy with relying on pens to beat championship Dundee Utd last night? Yet there’s posters on here prepared to accept the same against Stirling, scary.
Honeymoon period is over for Hecky. Big improvements needed but I’m not sure he has what it takes.
Pat Fenlon 2.0 imo
In the space of five minutes we’ve had Butcher mentioned, Jim Duffy and now Pat Fenlon.
🤣 I love this place.
gillythehibby
13-07-2019, 04:16 PM
They are a part time L2 outfit FFS, how you can even attempt to make excuses for drawing with the likes of Stirling is beyond me (& I suspect many others).
Agreed. Canny beat Stirling Albion who are a ****** pub team, doe not bode well. We should ne blowing them
Away.
andybev1
13-07-2019, 04:17 PM
Interested in what Heck will have to say in post match interview.
Keep having a dig at me about criticising Heckingbottom and his signings but.
I don’t know how hard it is to pick your best xi and when someone gets injured, play your next best player in that position, but it’s a concept that our manager doesn’t subscribe to.
My old man appealed against getting the sack for stealing from his job as a lollipop man, when the police visited his house all the signs were there.
thegaffer12
Did any of the new signings impress today? ANY positives to take?😓
wallpaperman
13-07-2019, 04:18 PM
I’m assuming you weren’t there today?
Why would you assume that from my post?
I’m not glossing over that this was a very poor result, but some of the replies on here are staggering.
13-07-2019, 04:18 PM
Keep having a dig at me about criticising Heckingbottom and his signings but.
I don’t know how hard it is to pick your best xi and when someone gets injured, play your next best player in that position, but it’s a concept that our manager doesn’t subscribe to.
To be fair to Heckingbottom he specifically said he was continuing to use these games for fitness and the team going out wouldn’t be his first eleven come the start of the league season.
He was really clear about that, so that completely invalidates your post, imho.
13-07-2019, 04:19 PM
I really hope Heckingbottom is raging in his interview or I'll be even more concerned
But he is wrong, very wrong. To accept drawing and relying on the lottery of penalties to overcome Stirling Albion is to accept worse than mediocrity.
Shocks of course happen but it does not make them acceptable.
Do you think our chums across the city were happy with relying on pens to beat championship Dundee Utd last night? Yet there’s posters on here prepared to accept the same against Stirling, scary.
What are you going to do?
“Not accept” this result?
By that do you mean moan about it on here and let it play on your mind for the rest of the season?
You could maybe accept that it’s early in the season and results like this are part and parcel of our sport.
The Leith Dutch
Some of those players should get their ***** kicked for that. We are badly badly lacking in midfield.
While we've got a lot of business done early on I think it's obvious to anybody that even with all our players fit and available we'd be playing a makeshift midfield to an extent.
Looking at the players we've got I reckon we're two starting centre midfielders out given that Heckingbottom doesn't seem to fancy Slivka.
I also agree with the poster above - I don't think Allan and Mallan can play in the same team with the formations we currently have available.
In the space of five minutes we’ve had Butcher mentioned, Jim Duffy and now Pat Fenlon.
🤣 I love this place.
You’re right actually, I’d actually back a Fenlon side to beat Stirling Albion...
hibIBZ
13-07-2019, 04:20 PM
I, like everybody else, thought that was very poor. The new signings don't look up to task at the moment. The body language of several players was not something I come to expect either. I thought Jackson did ok and Horgan tried but the rest really looked off the pace. Only 1 sub from heckingbottom as well which I found strange as we were clearly struggling.
You’re right actually, I’d actually back a Fenlon side to beat Stirling Albion...
Even one containing Liam Craig?
13-07-2019, 04:20 PM
It depends on your definition of bedwetting. I agree it’s far too early to be saying it’s going to be a long season. Under Mowbray we lost our first game of the season and most people were rightly concerned. We ended up having a good season. My view is that Heckingbottom has underestimated the opposition and he needs to be playing near to what he thinks is his best 11 or we could find ourselves being embarrassed before the league season starts.
13-07-2019, 04:21 PM
He would have bagged a hat trick
When does Ron want money from the fans?
You've asked that twice in 15 minutes. Why?
13-07-2019, 04:21 PM
By that do you mean moan about it on here and let it play on your mind for the rest of the season?
You could maybe accept that it’s early in the season and results like this are part and parcel of our sport.
I’m not sure how we don’t accept a result as well - was it a sackable offence? Do we protest? Write a strongly worded letter or email to Ron Gordon and Leeann Dempster demanding improvements?
13-07-2019, 04:22 PM
To be fair to Heckingbottom he specifically said he was continuing to use these games for fitness and the team going out wouldn’t be his first eleven come the start of the league season.
He also said that he was looking to win the cup and then he goes and delivers that which completely invalidates Heckingbottom imho.
13-07-2019, 04:22 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MWvevkE0kAI
It's just the first competitive game. It's still good, it's still good.
13-07-2019, 04:23 PM
He also said that he was looking to win the cup and then he goes and delivers that which completely invalidates Heckingbottom imho.
Did we get knocked out the cup today?
13-07-2019, 04:23 PM
Even one containing Liam Craig yes.
hibIBZ
13-07-2019, 04:24 PM
It depends on your definition of bedwetting. I agree it’s far too early to be saying it’s going to be a long season. Under Mowbray we lost our first game of the season and most people were rightly concerned. We ended up having a good season. My view is that Heckingbottom has underestimated the opposition and he needs to be playing near to what he thinks is his best 11 or we could find ourselves being embarrassed before the league season starts.
From what's available, I would say today was our best eleven, which is concerning. Still time in the transfer window
Should have had Kamberi and Boyle in today if they were fit - absolutely no excuse not to given we're into competitive games, regardless of the opposition. Set markers early. Poor from Hibs and the manager today. We're at least four players short.
Lol. You would think that we have lost the league on the last game of the season. You should only post that comment if you know how that feels.....?
stuart-farquhar
13-07-2019, 04:25 PM
Stirling Albion are a 4th division Scottish part-time team.
It's a ridiculously poor performance and result.
The team selected, tactics and overall performance of said team was abject.
Management clearly at fault. Majority of players not good enough.
ChickenCurryYLT
13-07-2019, 04:25 PM
Why would you assume that from my post?
I’m not glossing over that this was a very poor result, but some of the replies on here are staggering.
I’d find it difficult to find anyone else that had to sit through that to come on here and make a comment like yours.
As another poster has said, the warning signs have been there in every single friendly so far.
This isn’t going to end well.
Fifehibby74
13-07-2019, 04:26 PM
Needs to start strongest fit 11. Hopefully that team wasn’t what Hecky thinks is his strongest!
Manager's not helped himself by basically describing these games as glorified friendlies. How are the players meant to get up for it?
HibbySpurs
Hardly and I did state shock results happen, still doesn’t make them acceptable though.
What I will expect is a marked improvement in our next competitive match after the management team have analysed what went wrong and taken corrective action.
JimboHibs
We did win today.
He also said it's now about winning games. He's failed at the first hurdle against a L2 team who were working normal jobs yesterday. Hibs drawing with Stirling Albion isn't acceptable..ever.
Did we get knocked out the cup today?
Did we beat or even dominate a League 2 team?
Put a brave face on it all you want Matty, you’ve been around long enough see the signs.
13-07-2019, 04:27 PM
We did win today.
We didn’t
13-07-2019, 04:27 PM
From what's available, I would say today was our best eleven, which is concerning. Still time in the transfer window
I wouldn’t agree with that. There’s a good few who didn’t play today.
13-07-2019, 04:28 PM
I feel sorry for Scott Allan.
I'm sure we were as bad as everyone says & it's a dreadful result but match stats show 17 shots to 3 & 15 corners to 3. We had 7 on target & they scored with their only shot on target. I'm more concerned with the apparent lethargy & poor attitude than the actual result.
JimboHibs
13-07-2019, 04:29 PM
We didn’t
Did we beat Dundee Utd on pens on our way to the SC or we erasing that win also ?
Robinho08
13-07-2019, 04:29 PM
Is this going to be the most disappointing pre season as Mixu's? Did we got get beat of Cowdenbeath?
13-07-2019, 04:30 PM
Maxwell over Marciano?
Jackson over McGregor?
Newell over anyone at all?
Best XI?
Should have had Kamberi and Boyle in today if they were fit - absolutely no excuse not to given we're into competitive games, regardless of the opposition. Set markers early. Poor from Hibs and the manager today. We're at least four players short.
I completely agree. We can’t use these games as pre season. We got a fright today, but the damage was minimal. Hopefully the manager now realises that we need to be better prepared for the remaining games.
You've asked that twice in 15 minutes. Why?
To find out the answer. I'm sure fans putting more money into the club would mean we can strengthen our very competitive and very very strong squad...possibly to the point where we don't draw with part-timers.
Being honest I expect our development team to be able to beat Stirling any time of the year and this result in, one of the only competitions we have a reasonable chance of winning, is very very poor. You build a successful football club via successful football results. We've had a lot of talk about initiatives and fans putting more money into the club. Maybe we need to just simply focus on being a football club for a while.
Hecky says he hates pre-season games but when we reach competitive games he still treats them as pre-season games for fitness. Bit strange to me. Get working on tactics and team cohesion. Got an image in my head of the pre-match team talk with a whiteboard that just says "Run around a lot".
Whats Efe Ambrose up to?
Did we beat Dundee Utd on pens on our way to the SC or we erasing that win also ?
Not a like for like comparison tbf
13-07-2019, 04:31 PM
I agree your thoughts about English over estimation of their game but you say, "every time we've filled our team with low-level English league players" as if this was a regular occurrence. I'm not being funny but when did this happen? I genuinely can't remember it.
There’s been a few lately especially under Fenlon as historically we probably wouldn’t have looked at players from the lower English leagues but they are so highly paid it’s where we and others find ourselves. They are overrated due to where they play and how much they get paid and folk think of the Scottish game as third world (ask Noel Gallagher😂), which it isn’t. I just remember the utter dross Fenton signed TBH.
Did we beat or even dominate a League 2 team?
Put a brave face on it all you want Matty, you’ve been around long enough see the signs.
I’m not putting a brave face on anything, I’ve said the result was terrible and we should be putting away teams like Stirling no bother.
I’ve made no defence of the result whatsoever.
Heckingbottom deserves criticism for the performance and the result, but not for not knowing his strongest 11 when he specifically said he wasn’t going to be playing his strongest 11.
Whether or not he should have is a different conversation.
We did win today.
We 100% did not win today. This is not knock-out football. It's a group format. We drew with a part time team and got a bonus point on penalties. It's 3 points for a win, we're on 2.
13-07-2019, 04:32 PM
Hopefully big Ron got a shock watching that and decides to pony up for some decent players
We did win today.
If we won today we’d be on three points, not two and Stirling Albion would be on zero points, not one.
Whats Efe Ambrose up to?
Not a Heckingbottom player, he’s quality.
13-07-2019, 04:33 PM
You’re being ridiculous. We’re in a league format where a win gets you 3 points and a draw 1 point. Winning the penalty shootout at the end of a draw gets you a bonus point. So we 100% didn’t win as we didn’t get 3 points.
I’m not putting a brave face on anything, I’ve said the result was terrible and we should be putting away teams like Stirling no bother.
I’ve made no defence of the result whatsoever.
Heckingbottom deserves criticism for the performance and the result, but not got not knowing his strongest 11 when he specifically said he wasn’t going to be playing his strongest 11.
Whether or not he should have is a different conversation.
Let’s have that conversation.
Should he have played his strongest eleven do you think?
I think he should.
wallpaperman
We 100% did not win today. This is not knock-out football. It's a group format. We drew with a part time team and got a bonus point on penalties. It's 3 points for a win, we're on 2.
We two thirds won.
13-07-2019, 04:34 PM
What has that to do with us ?
Neither Hamilton or Lvingston will be challenging for 3rd place this season. We On the other hand are expecting to do so. Not however if we turn in many more performances like todays.
Don't care that it only first competitive game or not. Totally unacceptable.
hibsmad
13-07-2019, 04:34 PM
Yet to be seen who will be preffered in goal, but of the outfield players...
Stevenson in for Whitaker
Boyle in for Newall
Porteous in for any of the two centre backs
New arse kicking midfielder in for Campbell
Depending on form we will then also have the opportunity to bring in Flo and Gray.
Not great today but I'm still confident for the season ahead.
13-07-2019, 04:35 PM
In all honesty this is the Elephant in the room. The hope is that when you sign professional footballers the mindset of all of them is to be the very best they can be, whatever club they play for and in whatever league it competes.
But we all know that the opinion widely held down south is that the standard of Scottish football is sandwiched somewhere between Evo Stick conference south and the bottom half of league 2. The big fear has always been that guys we sign from the bottom half of the English championship down to league 2 have that same opinion and they think they are going to come up here and have a two or three year holiday pissing all over useless Jock players, backed up by the minimum of effort in training and on the park.
That's not so bad when its one or a couple, but we have half a team composed of players from lower league English football and from what I've read over the last few days in games against Carlisle and now Stirling not one of these players has stood out and at least one looks like he cannae be arsed. So if that attitude is the reason then I suggest they change it bloody quick smart or we are in a whole heap of bother.
The other possible scenario of course is that they just aren't very good and our manager after his first half season in Scottish football has seriously underestimated the quality and type of player he needs to be competitive in this country and has also fallen into the trap of thinking that if you can be half decent in EFL 2 you will automatically be a quality player in the Scottish premiership.
Please please let me be wrong on both counts :confused:
HibbySpurs
13-07-2019, 04:36 PM
Is this going to be the most disappointing pre season as Mixu's? Did we got get beat of Cowdenbeath?
Point is, today was not a pre-season game, it was a competitive cup match the prize for which is lifting one of the three major domestic trophies.
If Heckingbottom thought he could do as some epl clubs do in their league cup and field under strength teams to squeeze through to the latter stages I hope he has learned a lesson today.
We all want Hibs to win every cup I’m sure and today should hopefully show the head coach that he needs to pick a stronger team going forward to give us the best possible chance of lifting the trophy.
13-07-2019, 04:36 PM
I think he should.
Yes, 3 trophies available, common sense tells you two.
13-07-2019, 04:37 PM
I wouldn’t agree with that. There’s a good few who didn’t play today.
I'm taking a tiny crumb of comfort that we were missing...
Marciano
Gray
McGregor
Porteous
Stevenson
Slivka
Boyle
Kamberi
I just want to hear Heckingbottoms interview now. His reaction will be interesting.
JimboHibs
13-07-2019, 04:38 PM
We two thirds won.
That'll do for 👍🇳🇬
I think he should.
I’ll tell you at the end of the group stages when we’ve either qualified or we haven’t.
If playing players for fitness today means we’re in better shape come the start of the league season and we progress in the cup then i today really doesn’t matter and Heckingbottom got it right.
If we don’t qualify past the group stage then he got it wrong.
I feel sorry for Scott Allan.
Don't, he was rubbish as well and missed his penalty.
Not a great result, but that's very funny.....
h18eeynick
13-07-2019, 04:40 PM
My old man appealed against getting the sack for stealing from his job as a lollipop man, when the police visited his house all the signs were there.
Lightened my mood with that ! Cheers Hutchhibby !!
wallpaperman
What has that to d with us ?
Neither Ha!Milton or Lvingston will be challenging for 3rd lace this season. We On the other hand are expecting to do so. Not hover of we turn in many more performances like todays.
Don't care that it only first competitive game of not. Totally unacceptable.
An analogy - other teams in the same division as us struggling to overcome teams ranked many places below them in their first competitive fixture of the season.
I’ll tell you at the end of the group stages when we’ve either qualified or we haven’t.
If playing players for fitness today means we’re in better shape come the start of the league season and we progress in the cup then i today really doesn’t matter and Heckingbottom got it right.
If we don’t qualify past the group stage then he got it wrong.
Cool. See you at the end of the group stages.