View Full Version : Hibs sold?
02-07-2019, 08:17 AM
The guy gavin who does the hibs podcast says there's a press conference at 11
Is the 11am press conference the new fabled 5pm announcement on Hibs.net? :hyper
So with 10m coming in from McGinn and 50m from the new investors we should be looking at filling in a couple of the corners then putting in bids for Rogic, Christie, Tavernier and maybe someone like Ollie McBurnie. Would guarantee us 1st or 2nd then we can build on it next season getting to the knockout stages of the Europa League, adding another couple of players and probably stopping Celtics 10 in a row
Then we could all sit back and see who could stop our 10 in a row. :thumbsup:
AugustaHibs
02-07-2019, 08:24 AM
:troll:
:)
02-07-2019, 08:24 AM
I would take malonga coming home over the 6 million, to be quite honest.
Barman Stanton
02-07-2019, 08:25 AM
Sitting at work clock watching for an 11am announcement that is likely not even happening!
sean04
02-07-2019, 08:30 AM
Is the 11am press conference the new fabled 5pm announcement on Hibs.net? :hyper
He asks questions at the press conferences so defo something on
EI255
02-07-2019, 08:30 AM
I would take malonga coming home over the 6 million, to be quite honest.I'll take both [emoji16][emoji106]
Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
02-07-2019, 08:32 AM
All over it now.
Where? Nothing on newsnow.
02-07-2019, 08:33 AM
Where? Nothing on newsnow.
Evening News and Daily Record both running stories now.
02-07-2019, 08:34 AM
Evening News and Daily Record both running stories now.
Retreads from the Sun.
02-07-2019, 08:37 AM
"Hibs could be set for a major investment following weeks of rumours that the Easter Road club was about to be sold.
Reports suggest..." :blah:
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-set-for-fresh-major-investment-1-4957378
02-07-2019, 08:37 AM
From Beeb Gossip column:-
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/48836648
02-07-2019, 08:44 AM
Retreads from the Sun.
I read that twice.
02-07-2019, 09:01 AM
Sir Tom is in the building...
Edina Erin
02-07-2019, 09:07 AM
The name Harry Cumming has been mentioned on Twitter by David Low @Heavidor
FYI David Low brought Fergus McCann to Celtic. David Low also made a bid for Hibs a few years ago.
Leith_Hibee
02-07-2019, 09:12 AM
FYI David Low brought Fergus McCann to Celtic. David Low also made a bid for Hibs a few years ago.
Does anyone know anything about this dude? Does he have deep pockets?
Greenworld
02-07-2019, 09:14 AM
Sir Tom is in the building...Are you at Easter road
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
David Low is an arse
If one set of fans deserve major investment and a bit of good fortune it's ****ing us. Good karma at last years after fighting to save our club from extinction and years of mostly sub standard rubbish on the park while we built a superb infrastructure while other teams *****ed the cash and got out of it via administration. Well ****ing desrved Hibs.
02-07-2019, 09:15 AM
Does anyone know anything about this dude? Does he have deep pockets?
Is he not just a financial advisor?
02-07-2019, 09:16 AM
He was the broker at the time not actually trying to buy the club
02-07-2019, 09:17 AM
David Low is an arse
Thats for sure, likes to pretend he is ITK
FatPat
Wonder if its JK Rowling thats the millionaire investor - we could be renamed the Leith Wizards :greengrin
Not the name I have heard but don't want to say the one I heard in case it is rubbish.
Had never heard of the guy before but very exciting if it comes true.
HFC93
David Low is a numpty.
02-07-2019, 09:22 AM
If one set of fans deserve major investment and a bit of good fortune it's ****ing us. Good karma at last years after fighting to save our club from extinction and years of mostly sub standard rubbish on the park while we built a superb infrastructure while other teams *****ed the cash and got out of it via administration. Well ****ing desrved Hibs.
I'd be surprised if there hasn't been interest over the years in buying Hibs. We're a well run Club with a good asset base and a significant support base (in Scottish terms at least). Add in the stunning city of Edinburgh and the fact that we have an active following overseas in Ireland, Australia and the US, then we are a very attractive proposition for investors.
I think the only reason STF has not sold before now, is that he wants to make sure that the next owner can be trusted in having the best interests of the Club at heart.
02-07-2019, 09:25 AM
Is there any way to see this 11am press conference or do we not even 100% know if this is even happening?
02-07-2019, 09:28 AM
"Hibs could be set for a major investment following weeks of rumours that the Easter Road club was about to be sold.
Reports suggest..." :blah:
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-set-for-fresh-major-investment-1-4957378
Nobody even bothered to proof read that before publishing it. How far journalism has fallen.
02-07-2019, 09:29 AM
Just passed by and the stadium car park is full of media, looks like the 11:00am announcement is for real.
HFC93
02-07-2019, 09:29 AM
Is there any way to see this 11am press conference or do we not even 100% know if this is even happening?
I haven't see any confirmation regarding this other than excited Hibs fans. We'll see.
02-07-2019, 09:30 AM
http://hcaconsulting.ca/consultant/f-harry-cummings/
02-07-2019, 09:30 AM
Sky Sports allegedly there - so SSN maybe?
02-07-2019, 09:32 AM
I haven't see any confirmation regarding this other than excited Hibs fans. We'll see.
Okay fair enough. I guess, like most on here, I'm excited but cautious about this news. Lets see what the day brings...
Greenworld
02-07-2019, 09:38 AM
Not the name I have heard but don't want to say the one I heard in case it is rubbish.
Had never heard of the guy before but very exciting if it comes true.Spit it out man what have you to loose
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
02-07-2019, 09:42 AM
Sky Sports allegedly there - so SSN maybe?
Somebody must have luke shanleys number 😂
Bob Box Fish
02-07-2019, 09:44 AM
Irvine Welsh, Mikey Forrestor and two Russian sailors just pulled up in a limousine outside the West Stand
Hibernian32
02-07-2019, 09:48 AM
Irvine Welsh, Mikey Forrestor and two Russian sailors just pulled up in a limousine outside the West Stand
:faf::faf::faf:
02-07-2019, 09:50 AM
"The consortium is being fronted by an Edinburgh-based businessman and a Hibs-supporting author who is now based in America. They are believed to be working with investors from overseas, who made their fortune in the pharmaceutical industry".
02-07-2019, 09:51 AM
Ten minutes!!!!!!!
Hibernian32
02-07-2019, 09:52 AM
I feel I should walk the dog round to just confirm if there is any sky crew hanging about but I don't want to leave and miss the news:confused:
02-07-2019, 09:53 AM
Ten minutes!!!!!!!
:hyper:I'm waiti
Bob Box Fish
02-07-2019, 09:53 AM
"The consortium is being fronted by an Edinburgh-based businessman and a Hibs-supporting author who is now based in America. They are believed to be working with investors from overseas, who made their fortune in the pharmaceutical industry".
A pharmaceutical company who prides itself on purity and payment plans to make it affordable to all.
02-07-2019, 09:54 AM
I feel I should walk the dog round to just confirm if there is any sky crew hanging about but I don't want to leave and miss the news:confused:
02-07-2019, 09:54 AM
All quiet on SSN. :confused:
02-07-2019, 09:55 AM
Just drove past. Car park rammed, a few folk coming and going. No obvious news vans (which there was when the Lenny rumours broke).
A few fans hanging around including a well known pal of Kano’s and chief Dempster/Petrie basher.
No security or any sign of anything out of the ordinary. Doesn’t look like a major press conference is about to start.
Confirmed
All quiet on SSN. :confused:
There’s definitely not a press conference at 11am.
At most there’ll be a press release but I suspect the press conference thing is a joke that’s grown arms and legs.
02-07-2019, 09:56 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10094
02-07-2019, 09:57 AM
Confirmed
Naughty
Just drove past. Car park rammed, a few folk coming and going. No obvious news vans (which there was when the Lenny rumours broke).
A few fans hanging around including a well known pal of Kano’s and chief Dempster/Petrie basher.
No security or any sign of anything out of the ordinary. Doesn’t look like a major press conference is about to start.
What about at HTC, are you going that way?
02-07-2019, 09:59 AM
Wow!
Debts cleared. Land at HTC and ticket office transferred to club. Significant seven figure investment in the club.
Statement now on website
Wow.
he Board of Hibernian today announced that the majority shareholding in the Club has passed from HFC Holdings Limited – owned by Sir Tom Farmer and Rod Petrie - to Bydand Sports LLC, a new company set up for that purpose by US businessman Ronald Gordon.
AugustaHibs
02-07-2019, 10:01 AM
Hermit Crab, get it up you for telling me I was a troll :)
Right I want Leigh signed along with Mbappe.
As a result of the transaction:
- Ron Gordon has become the Executive Chairman of Hibernian
- Sir Tom and Ron worked together in the transaction to eliminate the Club’s mortgage debt
- The Club is now debt free, six years ahead of plan
- Ron is making a seven-figure cash injection to the Club
- HFC Holdings has transferred the Ticket Office and 15 acres of land at HTC to the Club
- The new owner is backing the Board’s existing plans and the executive leadership and football management team
- Archie Paton, a senior Sports Industry Executive who has assisted Ron in the transaction, will become a Non-Executive on the Board
Following the transaction around one-third of the shares in Hibernian Football Club will be owned by existing shareholder supporters with Ron becoming the new majority shareholder.
tonyrougier123
02-07-2019, 10:02 AM
Wow im shock real shock here...................
02-07-2019, 10:03 AM
This is huge huge news!
It's happened! :faint:
ElginHibbie
"Ron was born and raised in Peru"
So clearly he watched Stevenson play for Scotland against Peru and that's how this all came about
02-07-2019, 10:04 AM
All hail our new overlord.
Where's Griffiths? Where's the 6 million? Where are the cheese ends?
HibbyDave
02-07-2019, 10:04 AM
Seven figure cash sum ....... hmmm
Let’s hope it’s multi millions and not just £10,000.21
02-07-2019, 10:05 AM
Holy ****. Figured something was happening but this is huge - what a day!
Well, well, well.
Potentially interesting times ahead. Clearing the debt is a huge financial boost in itself and an additional invest adds an air of excitement. All we can do is strap ourselves in for the ride now.
itslegaltender
This guy?
Background
Mr. Ronald J. Gordon, also known as Ron, serves as President of Telemundo Stations Group at Telemundo Group, Inc. Mr. Gordon is Co-Founder of ZGS Communications, Inc. (a/k/a ZGS Broadcasting Holdings Inc.) and serves as its Chief Executive Officer. He served as President of ZGS Communications, Inc until April 2009. Mr. Gordon has been Chairman of ZGS Communications, Inc. since December 28, 2011. Mr. Gordon worked on Capitol Hill and briefly, for the Republican National Committee. He serves as Director of John Marshall Bank and John Marshall Bancorp, Inc. Mr. Gordon received a B.A. in International Relations with a minor in Economics from Syracuse University.
02-07-2019, 10:06 AM
Watch our season ticket sales rocket as all the zoomers who "wouldnae be back till Petries away" come crawling back.
02-07-2019, 10:06 AM
https://media1.tenor.com/images/e397480de734fc500b734b32e4fee09d/tenor.gif?itemid=7976782
02-07-2019, 10:07 AM
Lol we were actually right for once
02-07-2019, 10:07 AM
I just got the e-mail. Come back CWG, we need you today :greengrin
02-07-2019, 10:08 AM
https://youtu.be/HMuYfScGpbE
02-07-2019, 10:08 AM
This guy?
Background
Mr. Ronald J. Gordon, also known as Ron, serves as President of Telemundo Stations Group at Telemundo Group, Inc. Mr. Gordon is Co-Founder of ZGS Communications, Inc. (a/k/a ZGS Broadcasting Holdings Inc.) and serves as its Chief Executive Officer. He served as President of ZGS Communications, Inc until April 2009. Mr. Gordon has been Chairman of ZGS Communications, Inc. since December 28, 2011. Mr. Gordon worked on Capitol Hill and briefly, for the Republican National Committee. He serves as Director of John Marshall Bank and John Marshall Bancorp, Inc. Mr. Gordon received a B.A. in International Relations with a minor in Economics from Syracuse University.
Yes. Not the Atari owner.
Mr Grieves
02-07-2019, 10:09 AM
WOW, Tam McManus got something right
02-07-2019, 10:09 AM
Holy Moly....
STF ....gone
The Tache ....gone
The debt ....gone
6 figure investment .... in
new bloke that I can't even find a picture of .... in
02-07-2019, 10:10 AM
What does this mean for HSL? Can they still buy shares?
02-07-2019, 10:10 AM
WOW, Tam McManus got something right
Always liked that guy :duck:
02-07-2019, 10:12 AM
https://youtu.be/8lcUHQYhPTE
Well, well, well.
Potentially interesting times ahead. Clearing the debt is a huge financial boost in itself and an additional invest adds an air of excitement. All we can do is strap ourselves in for the ride now.
ISTR we were repaying STF about £500k per annum, so presumably that is now released into the football budget.
Explains why we were cool about not getting a new sponsor!
Is it this guy ???
Bydand Group
http://www.towardexcellence.com/profiles/gordon.htm
He's an animal trainer !! :confused::confused:
02-07-2019, 10:13 AM
Is it this guy ???
Bydand Group
http://www.towardexcellence.com/profiles/gordon.htm
He's an animal trainer !! :confused::confused:
You might be barking up the wrong tree
02-07-2019, 10:14 AM
What price are we to win the treble again
02-07-2019, 10:16 AM
Holy Moly....
STF ....gone
The Tache ....gone
The debt ....gone
It's better than that... it's a SEVEN figure investment.
barcahibs
02-07-2019, 10:18 AM
Think it might be this guy. Spanish speaker so loads of Barca signings coming up. No mention of submarines or the Baltic though which is worrying.
https://www.pressreader.com/usa/the-washington-post/20090403/281767035152035
He does have 5 Emmy awards though so will no doubt improve the half time entertainment
Holy Moly....
STF ....gone
The Tache ....gone
The debt ....gone
Guy on the right ...
https://www.mediamoves.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/5401.jpg
hibsdaft
Incredible news. Clearing the debt and a seven figure investment is phenomenal.
Nothing on fan ownership/ HSL?
It's better than that... it's a SEVEN figure investment.
Let's hope the seven figures are 9,999,999:greengrin
A Gordon for me, a Gordon for me, if you're no a Gordon yer no use to me!
02-07-2019, 10:19 AM
Boakback will be goin intae meltdoon the noo. Wheres the submarine
This is pretty exciting stuff, although bit going to start making room in the trophy cabinet yet for the Champions League.
One question - how much was the club paying towards the debt every year? I'm sure I've read £500k on here. If that's the case that's 3 new players on just over £3k per week. Pretty significant for us, even without the extra investment talked about.
We've played in South Morocco and we're owned by some guy from Peru, but the greatest game in history was the one we won 3-2!
02-07-2019, 10:20 AM
A Gordon for me, a Gordon for me, if you're no a Gordon yer no use to me!
And if you're Craig Gordon you're not a goal-ie.
02-07-2019, 10:20 AM
Seethe, tears, snotters then a mad race to get to the cludgie before Levein.
02-07-2019, 10:21 AM
From Brian McLauchlin’s Twitter
Barman Stanton
Nah they are trying to pick negatives in it.
blaird03
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ron_Gordon
Ok - own up, who updated Wikipedia ?
When i 1st looked there was no mention of the Hibs link.
Not even sure this is the guy.
blaird03
02-07-2019, 10:22 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10095
Here he is
02-07-2019, 10:24 AM
Creeps over the road
02-07-2019, 10:25 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D-dpcedWsAEgGJG?format=jpg&name=900x900
Callyballybe
02-07-2019, 10:25 AM
Incredible. A significant turning point in our clubs history. Debt free six years ahead of schedule as well can't be underplayed - essentially another £500,000 year that we wouldn't have otherwise had.
The next few years will certainly be interesting..
02-07-2019, 10:26 AM
Company named after the Clan Gordon motto. Ya beauty 😁👍
02-07-2019, 10:27 AM
yeah well, who ever it was, got the wrong man!
02-07-2019, 10:28 AM
If yi wirnae comin back tae ER cos Petrie wis still here, well, yis huvnae any excuses noo, hope tae see a mad surge in ST,s in the next week or so.
02-07-2019, 10:29 AM
Jeezy peeps:
Mr. Gordon is a founder and director of John Marshall Bank, one of the leading community banks serving the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. The bank has posted steady profits and growth for over 10 years with assets of over $1.4 billion and today is considered one of the best managed and most innovative small business banks in the region.
02-07-2019, 10:29 AM
He sold a lot of Spanish media outlets to NBC last year for $75m!! This guy has got a fair bit of change lying around. Trying not to get too excited!!
02-07-2019, 10:30 AM
Hes got £75m floating about from selling some companies last year.
bringbackbenny
02-07-2019, 10:31 AM
Creeps over the road
One of the usual roasters trolling that RG was born in Edinburgh, he's a hearts fan, friend of Mercer lol.
Were does Easter Road come into this? Will this new chap own that? Or is the stadium/land ring fenced and safe of any potential future sale?
I just got the e-mail. Come back CWG, we need you today :greengrin
Clearing the debt as people say is worth 500k a year. Plus the club owns everything again. 5 players at 2k a week. The investment must be in.playing squad so can expect to be bringing in a higher calibre of player. He obviously sees the potential of the club from what has happened over the last 3 years. Given the state of the nutters across the city we with this investment should be the third force and potentially challenging the ugly brothers from Glasgow. Europa group stages and the potential to be in a pan-European league. Exciting times folksm
02-07-2019, 10:32 AM
That's a different Ron Gordon. We're going to have this mix-up for the rest of time, it seems.
02-07-2019, 10:32 AM
Blue suit and a green tie...he's gonna have to get that sorted out ! Nice hair though and great smile...he's like a 60 year old Scott Allan !:greengrin:greengrin
02-07-2019, 10:35 AM
Blue suit and a green tie...he's gonna have to get that sorted out ! Nice hair though and great smile...he's like a 60 year old Scott Allan !:greengrin:greengrin
I'm quite disappointed Leanne did not deem the new owner good enough to wear her black and white top.
02-07-2019, 10:35 AM
Were does Easter Road come into this? Will this new chap own that? Or is the stadium/land ring fenced and safe of any potential future sale?
Think it is safe, but a fair question to ask if anyone does know?
02-07-2019, 10:36 AM
Just get those big tv screens installed in the corners for starters!! 💰💰💰🤠🤠🤠
Jpdhfc
I'm like a kid the week before Christmas dont know if I will get everything I want but I know I'm going to like what's coming.
Stadium, ticket office, and training centre are owned by Hibs, not the holding company. That's significant.
02-07-2019, 10:37 AM
Hopefully this doesn't mean we lose LD?
RP was probably on his way out anyway given his new role at the top. Clash of interests and all that.
STF, a huge thank-you for all you've done for our Club.
Debt free - wow, just wow. Great, simply great news.
I'm delighted for the club as a whole, and us, the supporters.
We can only wait and see what this means for us all in the future.
02-07-2019, 10:38 AM
If you don’t already have a season ticket I’d think it would be wise to get one ASAP. There may not be many left if you hang fire GGTTH. Very exciting times ahead.
02-07-2019, 10:41 AM
I think Ron may call an EGM and outline his plans for the club to HSL members and shareholders. Interesting times.
02-07-2019, 10:42 AM
Just get those big tv screens installed in the corners for starters!! 💰💰💰🤠🤠🤠
Checklist for first day in charge
1) Build Helipad
2) Fill in the corners
3) improve pies
4) Get us at least one of the "Sparky's"
5) Have a photoshoot done talking to The Tache in Greggs queue (we would cream ourselves over that)
6) Announce that we will be bringing in safe standing at the front of the Famous 5 and the singing section will be moved there
7) Announce that there will be major investment and confirm it will not involve glass curtains, castle views or a plaza
8) Be photographed with Pat Stanton
9) Mention that Hermit Crab is a Doom and Gloomer in a press conference
10) Announce Proclaimers concert at ER on last day of the season after the final match..free to all season ticket holders
02-07-2019, 10:43 AM
Checklist for first day in charge
1) Build Helipad
2) Fill in the corners
3) improve pies
4) Get us at least one of the "Sparky's"
5) Have a photoshoot done talking to The Tache in Greggs queue (we would cream ourselves over that)
6) Announce that we will be bringing in safe standing at the front of the Famous 5 and the singing section will be moved there
7) Announce that there will be major investment and confirm it will not involve glass curtains, castle views or a plaza
8) Be photographed with Pat Stanton
9) Mention that Hermit Crab is a Doom and Gloomer in a press conference
10) Announce Proclaimers concert at ER on last day of the season after the final match..free to all season ticket holders
How about 2 sparkys :greengrin
02-07-2019, 10:45 AM
How about 2 sparkys :greengrin
I did say "at least one" :greengrin
02-07-2019, 10:46 AM
Stadium, ticket office, and training centre are owned by Hibs, not the holding company. That's significant.
I was sure i read that he had purchased the lot?
The stadium, the ticket office, the HTC and some land there are all owned by Hibernian Football Club.
The new company owned by Ron Gordon will own the majority shareholding in Hibernian Football Club.
Given that the shareholding is less than 75% owing to HSL and individual shareholders, he would be unlikely (IMO) to be able to transfer them out as (I think) it would require a special resolution which would require a 75% agreement of shareholders.
My favourite Hunchback quote so far belongs to Locky: "Ah well, Hibs are officially debt free. Welcome to the 'living within your means' club".
And the very next post by another lunatic: "Debt free.You are only debt free for as long as you live by your means though.These guys never really invest their own money".
Said with a straight face:faf:
In the words of Don Logan, "I find this astonishing. You're amazing, this is astounding".
Hopefully this doesn't mean we lose LD?
RP was probably on his way out anyway given his new role at the top. Clash of interests and all that.
STF, a huge thank-you for all you've done for our Club.
Debt free - wow, just wow. Great, simply great news.
I'm delighted for the club as a whole, and us, the supporters.
We can only wait and see what this means for us all in the future.
RP resigned yesterday.
Sioux
02-07-2019, 10:50 AM
An owner that owns a bank!!!
Aw naw!!!!!!
Remember this; Vlad has been missing for a few years, and the Russians are the world leaders in facial reconstruction.
Thank **** he doesn't have a submarine, or we'd be in real bother.
02-07-2019, 10:51 AM
I want to dominate that manky mob for decades, decades! As payback for the decades it took us to get to where we are now by honest means, I want them to feel every defeat and every goal against them by us and know, deep down, that we've done it the right way, and they're paying the price for their short sightedness. GIRFUYs. :na na:
02-07-2019, 10:53 AM
Paddington Bear outfit booked for 2020 Scottish Cup final.
02-07-2019, 10:54 AM
So, Ronny has paid around £3m to Farmer & Petrie for their 63% holding and is promising at least £1m in "cash injection" form.
What exactly does he get for his investment - other than the glory of running the greatest team of all?
And does he now need to make an offer for all the other shares, including HSL, to avoid a Dave King scenario?
02-07-2019, 10:55 AM
STF always said he would sell to the right people who had the best interests for the club ans who could take us to the next level.. I trust his judgement.
02-07-2019, 10:56 AM
So, Ronny has paid around £3m to Farmer & Petrie for their 63% holding and is promising at least £1m in "cash injection" form.
What exactly does he get for his investment - other than the glory of running the greatest team of all?
And does he now need to make an offer for all the other shares, including HSL, to avoid a Dave King scenario?
No, he doesn't need to buy the other shares.
He gets the best football club in the world for his investment, and frankly, he should be grateful for that. :greengrin
Make Hibernian Great Again
02-07-2019, 10:59 AM
Nah they are trying to pick negatives in it.
In fairness it seems a few are realising that it's a good da for us and are accepting that we will be a lot stronger. Interesting to see if potter sticks to not signing anybody else. The usual bizarre conspiracy that these yams come up with to explain how we are debt free with a 7 figure investment and an extra half a mill a season to play with. Underneath the bravado they know we are stronger than them and I'm sure their bricking it. Keekback is very polarised between the sane fans and the nut jobs who have some bizarre theories and believe anything that some weirdo in his bedroom has posted about how we came to be in such a healthy position. What makes today all the sweeter is potter is in charge there so once this sinks in and they are served up the inevitable dross this season then potter will be getting it tight. Let the circus that is Hertz roll on. Be just as much fun watching them getting into a lather than the joy today will bring us. Only kidfing. Happy days. I wonder how the weedgie media will see this. Should be fascinating to see the negative angle they will spin on this
Ggtth.
02-07-2019, 11:00 AM
I was sure i read that he had purchased the lot?
- HFC Holdings has transferred the Ticket Office and 15 acres of land at HTC to the Club
02-07-2019, 11:02 AM
£9999999 is also 7 figures - just saying. :greengrin
02-07-2019, 11:02 AM
Paddington Bear outfit booked for 2020 Scottish Cup final.I expect marmalade sandwiches at the kiosk from now on.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
02-07-2019, 11:05 AM
It was printed in the Sun yesterday so I still don't believe it. I never believe anything that comes out that rag even when it's true
I would gauge that it's much more than a £1m as stf has said he wouldn't sell just so he could pass on his ownership. He would only sell to someone who would take the club forward. My guess would be the new pitch at East mains paid for plus between £2-3m invested into the club. How much of that will go on players we will just have to wait and see.
My favourite Hunchback quote so far belongs to Locky: "Ah well, Hibs are officially debt free. Welcome to the 'living within your means' club".
And the very next post by another lunatic: "Debt free.You are only debt free for as long as you live by your means though.These guys never really invest their own money".
In the words of Don Logan, "I find this astonishing. You're amazing, this is astounding".
These guys are ****ing deluded 😂
Paddington Bear outfit booked for 2020 Scottish Cup final.
Ready made nickname for our new owner - Paddy.
02-07-2019, 11:06 AM
I expect marmalade sandwiches at the kiosk from now on.
Get in!
02-07-2019, 11:07 AM
I would gauge that it's much more than a £1m as stf has said he wouldn't sell just so he could pass on his ownership. He would only sell to someone who would take the club forward. My guess would be the new pitch at East mains paid for plus between £2-3m invested into the club. How much of that will go on players we will just have to wait and see.
You would hope if somebody is buying a football club and announcing a cash injection then they would put more than a million.
Very exciting days ahead for Hibs.
02-07-2019, 11:07 AM
Ron Gordon will be interviewed on Radio Scotland in about 20mins.
02-07-2019, 11:08 AM
RP resigned yesterday.
How on earth did I miss that??
Page 27 of their accounts shows £4m of debt so they're not in a position to welcome us to the debt free and living within your means club. Or am I missing something?
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/uploads/tinymce/FINAL%2520SIGNED%2520ACCOUNTS%2520-%2520Electronic%2520Signature.pdf&ved=2ahUKEwiutPD9iZbjAhXNYcAKHV8YDOIQFjAAegQIBxAC&usg=AOvVaw2BVB42m-AmzZRpiQSWaxXi
02-07-2019, 11:10 AM
If there's anything we've learnt in Scottish Football over the past decade or so. It's that you can ***** millions upon millions of stupid money into a football club then ultimately face next to no repercussions when it all goes tits up.
Roll on the spending spree I say.
02-07-2019, 11:16 AM
He would have had to buy Farmer's shares which are at least half the debt he cleared with the bank so £3.5m and clear the same again for the mortgage. So looking at £7 million just for starters. That does not leave much of a six figure sum. But as a stranger to Hibs you do not shell out £7m without seeing some investment potential beyond what remains if the six figure sum. It would be good to get some concrete number on what he us investing beyond what he is paying to take out Farmer. He has built his success on strategy and working with the community but his record of profiting from selling business should have us being a little cautious.
02-07-2019, 11:19 AM
He would have had to buy Farmer's shares which are at least half the debt he cleared with the bank so £3.5m and clear the same again for the mortgage. So looking at £7 million just for starters. That does not leave much of a six figure sum. But as a stranger to Hibs you do not shell out £7m without seeing some investment potential beyond what remains if the six figure sum. It would be good to get some concrete number on what he us investing beyond what he is paying to take out Farmer. He has built his success on strategy and working with the community but his record of profiting from selling business should have us being a little cautious.
When Fergus McCann sold Celtic he made a fortune, but they were unrecognisable compared to the club he bought.
MurrayfieldHibs
02-07-2019, 11:19 AM
If there's anything we've learnt in Scottish Football over the past decade or so. It's that you can ***** millions upon millions of stupid money into a football club then ultimately face next to no repercussions when it all goes tits up.:agree:
Roll on the spending spree I say.:agree:
Lester B
02-07-2019, 11:20 AM
Page 27 of their accounts shows £4m of debt so they're not in a position to welcome us to the debt free and living within your means club. Or am I missing something?
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/uploads/tinymce/FINAL%2520SIGNED%2520ACCOUNTS%2520-%2520Electronic%2520Signature.pdf&ved=2ahUKEwiutPD9iZbjAhXNYcAKHV8YDOIQFjAAegQIBxAC&usg=AOvVaw2BVB42m-AmzZRpiQSWaxXi
I don't think you're missing something. They on the other hand are missing the point and have absolutely no sense of irony, common sense or reality. Just popped over there. One of them states he reckons they will be undefeated this season. They are genuinely insane
02-07-2019, 11:25 AM
STF always said he would sell to the right people who had the best interests for the club ans who could take us to the next level.. I trust his judgement.
couldn't agree more. I trust that man 100%. and then some...
exciting times, we will have to see exactly how it pans out but one thing's for sure. Its gonna be special!
02-07-2019, 11:27 AM
It's amazing how quickly you can loses a lot of your debts when you're screwing over a lot of small local businesses and charities
02-07-2019, 11:29 AM
The shares are worth whatever STF and RP wanted for them. Could be anywhere from Nil to £3.5m
In addition Hibernian Holdings may well have just written off the debt from the club.
E.g. £3.5m to STF / RP as shareholders of HFC holdings, HFC Holdings writes off the debt for free. We'll never know, but he did not need to spend £7m
mayo hibee
02-07-2019, 11:29 AM
Ron Gordon on BBC saying exactly what you'd expect him to say, not much at this stage really.
Brian McLoughlin suggesting £6m to buy the club plus £1m additional funds in investment.
02-07-2019, 11:31 AM
Ron 'no limit what we can achieve by working together.'
02-07-2019, 11:37 AM
Hearts fans ramping up their contributions to FOH as we speak. Christmas cancelled for the young Hearts fans again.
02-07-2019, 11:39 AM
Ronald Gordon:
"People often fear change so let me reassure supporters and everyone associated with the club, that for me, continuity is a strength. Particularly when I have such confidence in the executive and football leadership of the club. Our first priority is to build on the strong foundations we have at Hibs. To build a vision that will take us forward in a way that will reflect the legacy and values of our wonderful club."
02-07-2019, 11:40 AM
The shares are worth whatever STF and RP wanted for them. Could be anywhere from Nil to £3.5m
In addition Hibernian Holdings may well have just written off the debt from the club.
E.g. £3.5m to STF / RP as shareholders of HFC holdings, HFC Holdings writes off the debt for free. We'll never know, but he did not need to spend £7m
I would be very surprised if Farmer wrote off £7 million. We may never know what Ron has paid out but would be surprised if not close to the £7 million figure. Remember to that Farmer charged no interest on the mortgage. Petrie also has to look after his retirement years and not a multi millionaire. He would have wanted something significant for his shares. Think the 6 figure sum is buying put Farmer and Petrie. But you don't do that just for the good of the club. Either you want to grow it with more investment and get some returns in the investment or you think it can or its assets be sold at a profit. That is why I am cautious. Let's hear Ron's plans to see which way he will go
02-07-2019, 11:41 AM
Hearts fans ramping up their contributions to FOH as we speak. Christmas cancelled for the young Hearts fans again.
Selling the SAAB, and the hush puppies and knitted cardigans are on e-bay. Hard times.
02-07-2019, 11:41 AM
It's amazing how quickly you can loses a lot of your debts when you're screwing over a lot of small local businesses and charities
Clear any debts you have by going into ADMINISTRATION. Offer the debtors 50p and a Lucky Bag because, well, let's face it they aren't worth any more... And carry on like it never happened.
... But WE will never forget, or allow them to
02-07-2019, 11:53 AM
Ron 'no limit what we can achieve by working together.'
Does this mean Hearts are no longer our rivals? Our derby is now with the Old Firm? Is that not what happens when a new owner comes in with deep pockets?
02-07-2019, 11:57 AM
Does this mean Hearts are no longer our rivals? Our derby is now with the Old Firm? Is that not what happens when a new owner comes in with deep pockets?
Yes the derby will become a bit like the Barcelona one where the big team morally upright hand out thrashing to their bigoted neighbours living in the dark ages.
02-07-2019, 11:57 AM
Some early reflections:
1. As has been widely noted, we now know why we were all Catherine Tate about not having a sponsor.
2. As has been widely noted, the repayment of debt not only gives the club highly desirable debt free status but also releases around £500k for whatever purpose.
3. Very clever statement from RG to acknowledge that this will always be STF's club. Even if it is nothing more than a platitude.
4. Easy to see why Heckingbottom didn't bat an eyelid at the Hull and Middlesborough speculation now.
5. Can we say 'a-mundo' a lot now, like The Fonz did?
6. Quite frankly, its about time that the club pushed on.
7. Yes, it's also scary that we don't know who owns us but
8. I'll be amazed if STF doesn't keep his eye on us and
9. I'll be amazed if The Tashe doesn't keep an eye on us. After all, he's a multimillionaire now if he wasn't already.
10. What we don't know is why RG chose Hibs. Was it the land at EM or was it something else?
11. We supporters have been given 5 years to buy shares in Hibs, we bought 18.81%. I hope we don't become complacement just because we have a new owner. HSL should still get to at least 26.1% to have a meaningful board presence.
Exciting times ahead.
Crazyhorse
02-07-2019, 12:01 PM
One of the usual roasters trolling that RG was born in Edinburgh, he's a hearts fan, friend of Mercer lol.
What was it the yams used to say? Oh yeah:
They are not our rivals any more. They are no longer on our level.... etc etc.
Garymcl
02-07-2019, 12:04 PM
Interview with Ron Gordon coming up on sky sports news
02-07-2019, 12:04 PM
Disappointed Leeanne forgot her tie :greengrin:wink:
02-07-2019, 12:10 PM
Aye he chose Hibs to get his filthy hands on some land at EM!!!
I mean come on, how did that thought even enter your head?? Had you just been on kickback or something?
How else can you possible want to ask that question??
ionahibby
02-07-2019, 12:10 PM
Does this mean we will have the NFL style fan zones outside the stadium now 🤔 🍺
Barman Stanton
02-07-2019, 12:15 PM
Looking forward to having a BBQ from the back of a car in the car park!
Nevi_SOL
02-07-2019, 12:16 PM
Being born in 91 I’ve got a lot of time for what STF done for Hibs as it’s all I’ve known but this is the most exciting time for it too happen. Thank you sir Tom Farmer
02-07-2019, 12:17 PM
http://i.imgur.com/G6PRb90.jpg
02-07-2019, 12:20 PM
Yes, the changes include.
1. The manager to change his name to Paul Heckingass
2. More practising of head kicks in the danger zone
3. Emphasis on avoiding getting felony cards in games
4. Roster refurbishment imminent.
#sunshineandleafs
#mycarwasbroken
02-07-2019, 12:21 PM
Being born in 91 I’ve got a lot of time for what STF done for Hibs as it’s all I’ve known but this is the most exciting time for it too happen. Thank you sir Tom Farmer
It's only just dawned on me that a large proportion of our support have never known an non STF-owned Hibs.
02-07-2019, 12:25 PM
Can I just say thanks to Stuart93 for letting me know first scoop of this early yesterday morning. By far the most itk guy on this board.
More thanks to Sir Tom & Rod Petrie for having the best interests of Hibernian at heart all these years.
02-07-2019, 12:26 PM
Does this mean we will have the NFL style fan zones outside the stadium now
Will that be anything like the fanny zones they have inside the ground at Tynecastle?
02-07-2019, 12:31 PM
Yes, the changes include.
1. The manager to change his name to Paul Heckingass
2. More practising of head kicks in the danger zone
3. Emphasis on avoiding getting felony cards in games
4. Roster refurbishment imminent.
#sunshineandleafs
#mycarwasbroken
We also need to hit the opponents' ballbags more.
Fisherrow Harp
02-07-2019, 12:39 PM
Packers and Jets blow out Wembley and insist on playing European series games at Easter Road. When asked team spokesman said “It’s a Green thing!’
02-07-2019, 12:41 PM
https://twitter.com/simpsonsspfl/status/1146035290630320129?s=21
02-07-2019, 12:43 PM
Maybe we'll get those corners filled in after all
02-07-2019, 12:45 PM
If we actually have more spending power than Hearts for the first time in decades (ever?) then they literally will not be able to cope. It'll be great.
02-07-2019, 12:46 PM
If we actually have more spending power than Hearts for the first time in decades (ever?) then they literally will not be able to cope. It'll be great.
Exactly!
Surely with this takeover we have the 3rd biggest spending power now outside the ugly sisters?
02-07-2019, 12:49 PM
Will that be anything like the fanny zones they have inside the ground at Tynecastle?
An old ex girlfriend of mine had one of those. It was a bit dilapidated, had seen better days and was best avoided for health and safety reasons. Just like Tynecastle in fact.......
02-07-2019, 12:49 PM
Immediate question for me is how does this affect our business this summer?
Have our signings thus far been done knowing this was happening and therfore at the level we should come to expect?
Or does this unlock more money for the manager?
Will Reading now be less likely to accept a low bid for McNulty knowing we've got a cash injection?
Whatever the case its exciting times, and that's not even taking into consideration any extra cash we might get for the SJM!
Barman Stanton
02-07-2019, 12:50 PM
I see there is talk about us making stadium improvements. Us increasing the capacity again would push them over the edge. Their big team chat is looking increasingly laughable at the moment.
02-07-2019, 12:52 PM
I see there is talk about us making stadium improvements. Us increasing the capacity again would push them over the edge. Their big team chat is looking increasingly laughable at the moment.
Where's this coming from?
We need to be selling out ER at curent capacity every week for a stadium expansion to be worthwhile.
02-07-2019, 12:52 PM
We need to be selling out ER at curent capacity every week for a stadium expansion to be worthwhile.
Improvements doesn’t necessarily mean expansion
02-07-2019, 12:53 PM
Be interesting to see if there is a positive impact on season tickets sales after this announcement.
02-07-2019, 12:54 PM
We've sold 2 season tickets in the last hour - let the good times roll! :greengrin
02-07-2019, 12:55 PM
Big Ron said to Luke Shanley on SSN that they’d look at stadium improvements amongst other areas where we could improve and grow.
I took that initially to mean giving certain areas a lick of paint, but more maintenance, rather than expansion. Who knows
Looking forward to us being the winningest ball club in Scotch soccer :hyper
"Improvements" could be touching up the white paint on the steps to the exits, which have been looking decidely manky in my part of the west stand for a while now. :greengrin
02-07-2019, 12:58 PM
Looking forward to us being the winningest ball club in Scotch soccer :hyper
This comment wins you MVP for the day!
02-07-2019, 12:58 PM
Feel in a bit of a daze tbh. Can't really concentrate at work and got a permanent smile on my face. Incredible being debt free plus the investment. This club can really kick on now. Great day.
02-07-2019, 01:00 PM
It doesn't need to be expansion … but it could mean filling in at least the FF / East and East / South corners to enclose the stadium … there are many ways to do that without adding piles of seats. If and when the need for more capacity happens we just rip the roof off the Sir Tom Farmer main stand and add another level :greengrin
02-07-2019, 01:05 PM
well i'm missing STF and oor Roderick already :boo hoo:
i want them back
02-07-2019, 01:06 PM
A BTG upgrade would be good for starters.
02-07-2019, 01:07 PM
We should pay ticketmaster for more bandwidth.
Barman Stanton
02-07-2019, 01:08 PM
"Improvements" could be touching up the white paint on the steps to the exits, which have been looking decidely manky in my part of the west stand for a while now. :greengrin
Oh I totally get that. But all the same, I can just imagine their seethe :greengrin
02-07-2019, 01:09 PM
We should pay ticketmaster for more bandwidth.
It was good to here Ron say on SSN that there is no chance of loyalty points being brought back.[emoji6]
Fisherrow Harp
02-07-2019, 01:13 PM
It may well have been covered already but the fact that ZGS own stations that cover some major population areas in the US might be a big bonus for exposure for us.
02-07-2019, 01:15 PM
It may well have been covered already but the fact that ZGS own stations that cover some major population areas in the US might be a big bonus for exposure for us.
Are they in the Houston area? :pray:
02-07-2019, 01:16 PM
Free wi-fi in the stands...
02-07-2019, 01:18 PM
Better PA system - i.e. one where you can actually hear what is being said - would be a great improvement.
02-07-2019, 01:19 PM
Da Do Ron Ron Ron
Da Do Ron Ron
i hope Ron Does indeed Do
Garymcl
02-07-2019, 01:20 PM
Was down at the clubstore when all this was happening the buzz about the place was excellent everybody just purchasing their hibby goody’s with big smiles on their faces I’ve got to say I was already looking forward to the new season but after this mornings announcement it’s got even better Ggtth :greengrin
Hibernian32
02-07-2019, 01:21 PM
This was actually being done on Friday when I was on the stadium tour.
02-07-2019, 01:21 PM
I'm sure you get telemondo in Houston lad.
I'm hoping we'll get on TV more and some friendlies over here!
02-07-2019, 01:24 PM
I'm sure you get telemondo in Houston lad.
I'm hoping we'll get on TV more and some friendlies over here!
Yes we get that for sure - I watched a good number of the Europa Cup games on the Spanish stations last season...
02-07-2019, 01:24 PM
Do Do Ron Ron Ron
Do Do Ron Ron
i hope Ron Does indeed Do
The tache met him on a Monday and his heart stood still
Sir Tom see his bank book and said you’ll fit the bill
Fisherrow Harp
02-07-2019, 01:27 PM
Saw El Passo, San Antonio, Boston and Orlando amongst others.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/ZGS_Communications
02-07-2019, 01:32 PM
Loved Ron Gordon's Sky Sports Interview! Saying all the right things, gave a great first impression.
"This is the best financial state the club has been in decades. Certainly with absolutely no debt now, gives us alot of opportunity.
Paul will be supported financially, he knows the tools that he'll have and the resources available. The club will be in a position to take advantage of the right opportunities when they present themselves.
As a starting point we want to be the best of the rest, and then at one point in a position as a club to challenge for the title. We want to compete year in year out and if we can get to that level then we can complete for the title."
02-07-2019, 01:34 PM
Loved Ron Gordon's Sky Sports Interview! Saying all the right things, gave a great first impression.
"This is the best financial state the club has been in decades. Certainly with absolutely no debt now, gives us alot of opportunity.
Paul will be supported financially, he knows the tools that he'll have and the resources available. The club will be in a position to take advantage of the right opportunities when they present themselves.
As a starting point we want to be the best of the rest, and then at one point in a position as a club to challenge for the title. We want to compete year in year out and if we can get to that level then we can complete for the title."
That's very encouraging. No daft targets like winning the league in 3 years. Sensible to target highest possible league finish but make clear this isn't the final goal long term.
my left peg
02-07-2019, 01:39 PM
I’m not sure,we weren’t selling out Easter road when we built the east stand,yet it has been shown to be a shrewd investment with average crowds way over the old capacity.
Edinburgh ‘s population is rising and increasing the capacity even by a few hundred could be a wise move.
Garymcl
02-07-2019, 01:44 PM
Albeit delighted with this news this morning I think it’s important to carry the feel good factor with us supporters continuing to do our bit by purchasing season tickets etc let’s get the ground filled with as many hibbys as possible we can smash the season ticket record I’m confident of this let’s do it :flag:
02-07-2019, 01:49 PM
What did he say about changes to stadium
EI255
02-07-2019, 01:52 PM
This is SO exciting news!!!! [emoji120]
Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
02-07-2019, 01:55 PM
What did he say about changes to stadium
Helipad and retractable roof, plus Safe standing to be installed in the West Stand corporate section.
02-07-2019, 01:59 PM
FFS, DID HE MENTION CHIPS? :timebomb:
Hibs4185
Just popped over to keekback for a laugh at the delusional masses and it’s unavailable! Says bad gateway or something. Tried different browsers etc but same result!
FFS, DID HE MENTION CHIPS? :timebomb:
I think they're called fries now.
02-07-2019, 02:01 PM
Just popped over to keekback for a laugh at the delusional masses and it’s unavailable! Says bad gateway or something. Tried different browsers etc but same result!
shame! :greengrin
I'm sure it will be back later. Hope there's no undercover Hibbies taking the urine...
02-07-2019, 02:02 PM
Yeh, likewise. I suspect it has gone in to meltdown. If anyone can get on and share a few comments it might be worth a laugh to see them on here:thumbsup:
02-07-2019, 02:05 PM
Like we were when we built the new east? That's been well worthwhile since.:agree:
02-07-2019, 02:05 PM
Big Rongo Star
02-07-2019, 02:09 PM
Must be the best financial position the club has ever been in
mayo hibee
02-07-2019, 02:09 PM
A lot of websites around the world down at the moment. Something to do with a system called Cloudfare, any site that uses it is currently down.
Ron's Sky Sports interview.
https://youtu.be/cm9jsUVHDqU
Aiming to be the best of the rest initially, then hoping to challenge for the championship. Don't worry Rangers, we'll stop 10 in a row for you. Just don't hold us back by drawing with us. :cb
02-07-2019, 02:20 PM
If he invests a good few million into the playing budget over the next few years are we likely to end up in a lot of debt to him? Similar to hearts under Romanov or Chelsea with Abrabomvich?
That's my only real fear with this whole thing tbh.
Cat Stanton
02-07-2019, 02:23 PM
Sorry if this has been covered - I couldn't see it anywhere - but in his interviews has he actually clarified WHY he is getting involved?
There is no money to be made right now in Scottish football, and he's not (until now) a Hibs fan, so what's his motivation? Tom Farmer did it for "the community" of Leith, a rich supporter would do it for the emotional pull - but I can't figure out why an American businessman would want to get involved. Does he think there are money-making possibilities here? History says there aren't (with the exception of McCann at Septic - and that isn't a comparable situation).
Sorry if I am being dense. I just find it a bit confusing and wondered if it had come up in any of the interviews?
Thanks for any info.
02-07-2019, 02:24 PM
Sorry if this has been covered - I couldn't see it anywhere - but in his interviews has he actually clarified WHY he is getting involved?
There is no money to be made right now in Scottish football, and he's not (until now) a Hibs fan, so what's his motivation? Tom Farmer did it for "the community" of Leith, a rich supporter would do it for the emotional pull - but I can't figure out why an American businessman would want to get involved. Does he think there are money-making possibilities here? History says there aren't (with the exception of McCann at Septic - and that isn't a comparable situation).
Sorry if I am being dense. I just find it a bit confusing and wondered if it had come up in any of the interviews?
Thanks for any info.
Nope, we don't know why.
rotherhamrob
02-07-2019, 02:24 PM
I'll tell you 1 thing, even though it didn't feel like it at the time and with hindsight relegation turned out to be a blessing in disguise, leanne and stubbs brought in, holy grail delivered and now debt free with significant investment.
I'm in my 50's and since 2016 this is the best I've ever felt about our club, long may it continue.
02-07-2019, 02:26 PM
Ron's Sky Sports interview.
https://youtu.be/cm9jsUVHDqU
Aiming to be the best of the rest initially, then hoping to challenge for the championship. Don't worry Rangers, we'll stop 10 in a row for you. Just don't hold us back by drawing with us. :cb
Thanks for sharing mate!
Love the chat to stability while growing and taking opportunities when appropriate
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0dikX80Ed8
02-07-2019, 02:27 PM
I'll tell you 1 thing, even though it didn't feel like it at the time and with hindsight relegation turned out to be a blessing in disguise, leanne and stubbs brought in, holy grail delivered and now debt free with significant investment.
I'm in my 50's and since 2016 this is the best I've ever felt about our club, long may it continue.
It's been an incredible few years. Think it's only going to get better too.
02-07-2019, 02:31 PM
A lot of websites around the world down at the moment. Something to do with a system called Cloudfare, any site that uses it is currently down.
DNS management service... Oops! we use that at work.
Keechback is back though
02-07-2019, 02:36 PM
https://twitter.com/STVNews/status/1146064164701396992?s=09
The Leith Dutch
02-07-2019, 02:41 PM
If he invests a good few million into the playing budget over the next few years are we likely to end up in a lot of debt to him? Similar to hearts under Romanov or Chelsea with Abrabomvich?
I'm hoping Rod's line about "the imperative that the club should live within its means to ensure its stability and well-being" is kept on the wall.
I want the club to be successful but we have to drive up predictable income - more season tickets, higher attendances, more merchandising - and not run up debt to a chairman.
I'm cautiously optimistic about this but I'd like to know why this isn't Romanov, Chuckles Green or Whyte in the making with us spouting delusional crap about owing the money to ourselves.
The "seven figure cash injection to come" is something I'd love to understand how it works from our resident financial gurus.
Presumably at the one end this isn't free money and at the other end isn't the same cost as it would be borrowing from a bank.
So how is it financed? What makes this better than us borrowing money to chase silverware (and yes I would ******ing love a bit of silverware ;) )
02-07-2019, 02:44 PM
Improvements doesn’t necessarily mean expansionAlthough Edinburgh population IS expanding (more than Glasgow) and in ten years we may be looking to broaden our fan base by accommodating our share of a much larger population.
02-07-2019, 02:45 PM
He can invest whatever he wants at the end of the day his shareholding will only be worth what someone will pay for it.
Think on it like this, I have my own business worth £100, I put £1 million of my own money into it by issuing new shares and buying them
I then waste that £1m on a Czech striker I need to let go for nothing.
What is my business worth?
It's worth £100 (if nothing else has changed)
The time to sit up and pay attention is when we are starting to store bank debt/directors loans and or/ our creditors are mushrooming.
Directors loans are less of an issue other than the fact that they reduce the equity in the business and the small shareholders would lose value as the directors would personally have to write them off if a buyer couldn't be found who would take them on.
The only end game for people who plough their own money into a failing business is that they personally suffer financially if they can't turn it around or extract value.
We would see all of this coming a mile off
I have no concerns over your issues
If I did have a concern it would be that in time we were sold to someone less suitable if he tired of us
02-07-2019, 02:47 PM
Another small interview https://twitter.com/stvnews/status/1146064164701396992?s=21
What I really like about him is he’s not coming in making out he knows exactly what to do and going to make a lot of changes, sounds like he has full support of George, Leanne and Paul and will trust them with their plan and back them financially.
Certainly exciting times.
02-07-2019, 02:52 PM
The thing that gives me a lot of reassurance is that we've done this from the position of financial security and not through desperation or monumental debt. Things looking very promising.
02-07-2019, 02:55 PM
Nope, we don't know why.
I'd imagine his motives are similar to Farmer's. Leaving a legacy. Farmer will forever be remembered for what he did for the club. No reason why Ron Gordon can't do the same.
There is no real money to made in any sport business tbh, Sanchez gets paid 350k a week at Man Utd, I doubt when you factor that and other wages, that Man Utd gives any owners a chance of making money. We could see sponsorships appearing around the place though.
Certainly wealth to be had, just not of the financial variety.
Bangkok Hibby
02-07-2019, 02:58 PM
I don't care why he's done it to be honest. His enthusiasm is obvious from his interview and his support for Leeann, Paul and George is good to hear. Good times ahead I'm sure.
02-07-2019, 03:00 PM
I'd imagine his motives are similar to Farmer's. Leaving a legacy. Farmer will forever be remembered for what he did for the club. No reason why Ron Gordon can't do the same.
There is no real money to made in any sport business tbh, Sanchez gets paid 350k a week at Man Utd, I doubt when you factor that and other wages, that Man Utd gives any owners a chance of making money. We could see sponsorships appearing around the place though.
Certainly wealth to be had, just not of the financial variety.
Bit in bold hopefully.
madhibby
02-07-2019, 03:01 PM
I'm hoping Rod's line about "the imperative that the club should live within its means to ensure its stability and well-being" is kept on the wall.
I want the club to be successful but we have to drive up predictable income - more season tickets, higher attendances, more merchandising - and not run up debt to a chairman.
I'm cautiously optimistic about this but I'd like to know why this isn't Romanov, Chuckles Green or Whyte in the making with us spouting delusional crap about owing the money to ourselves.
The "seven figure cash injection to come" is something I'd love to understand how it works from our resident financial gurus.
Presumably at the one end this isn't free money and at the other end isn't the same cost as it would be borrowing from a bank.
So how is it financed? What makes this better than us borrowing money to chase silverware (and yes I would ******ing love a bit of silverware ;) )
My understanding/hope is he has paid Sir Tom the amount of outstanding debt the club owed to Sir Tom (I think around £3m) for STF to trasnfer his shares to him plus a much smaller sum to Rod Petrie to acquire his Hibs shares (which were 10% compared with STF's 90%). This gives Ron Gordon around a 70% share of the club. As part of that deal he has also gifted the Hibees a further sum which is the 7 figure investment quoted - lets say it might be £5m making his total investment over £8m.
From Hibs perspective the £500k annual debt repayment to STF is no longer required and thus can be an addition to the player budget plus they have another £5m to spend - say some on player budget, some on ground improvements, some on the 11 a side indoor training pitch?
With the fans including HSL still holding 30% shares this makes asset stripping well nigh impossible - although I'm sure Hibs due diligence would have established owners intentions.
Hope this makes sense - of course I'm not privy to the deal but this how i think it might work.
02-07-2019, 03:03 PM
My understanding/hope is he has paid Sir Tom the amount of outstanding debt the club owed to Sir Tom (I think around £3m) for STF to trasnfer his shares to him plus a much smaller sum to Rod Petrie to acquire his Hibs shares (which were 10% compared with STF's 90%). This gives Ron Gordon around a 70% share of the club. As part of that deal he has also gifted the Hibees a further sum which is the 7 figure investment quoted - lets say it might be £5m making his total investment over £8m.
From Hibs perspective the £500k annual debt repayment to STF is no longer required and thus can be an addition to the player budget plus they have another £5m to spend - say some on player budget, some on ground improvements, some on the 11 a side indoor training pitch?
With the fans including HSL still holding 30% shares this makes asset stripping well nigh impossible - although I'm sure Hibs due diligence would have established owners intentions.
Hope this makes sense - of course I'm not privy to the deal but this how i think it might work.
Good summary
Investment not cash injection is my understanding of how it has been described, where did it say "cash injection"?
02-07-2019, 03:09 PM
Investment not cash injection is my understanding of how it has been described, where did it say "cash injection"?
"Ron is making a seven-figure cash injection to the Club"
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10094
02-07-2019, 03:10 PM
On the official site
Already sh*te-ing it.
Robinho08
02-07-2019, 03:17 PM
https://youtu.be/cm9jsUVHDqU 🇳🇬