View Full Version : Hibs sold?

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

16-06-2019, 07:43 AM
I know, I can't see how a thread like this would ever bite us on the backside.

Folk have had a bit of fun discussing a rumour. That's it. Big deal.

We are all having a good laugh at the characters being put forward. But not out of the question it being a small investment with the likely restructuring if European club football and Hibs potentially being in a Tier 2 situation with lots if upside potential. Investor can increase stake as things evolve. As people have said we are are a well run club with great facilities unlike the crackpots across the city.

16-06-2019, 01:14 PM
So just to be clear, as long as a would be savior throws a few quid around for a few years, you wouldn’t care if a generation down the line when you might not be around any more, they or their successors walk out leaving a shell of a club, bankrupt and facing liquidation, with devastated, broken hearted future hibees everywhere. You wouldn’t care as long as you get to see a few shiny pots being raised in your twilight years? Aye, selfish sounds about right.

admittedly that’s an extremely pessimistic and melodramatic outlook on what could happen but there are enough rotting corpses of clubs scattered throughout football history to suggest it’s not entirely far fetched.

investment in Hibs is not a bad thing. But I’d like to know exactly what’s on the table before grabbing it with both hands. Once the family silver is sold it’s gone forever.

Yip, got it in one. :agree:

BlackSheep
16-06-2019, 01:42 PM
A lot of doom and gloom about a potential takeover... of the worst happened and we had a 10 year period of (relative) success then were left for dead as it were, then I don’t think hibs would fall far before picking themselves up... maybe drop to the championship for a another period but as long as our youth policy doesn’t disappear we could regain a footing again... Hibs are too much of an institution for that to happen.

16-06-2019, 02:40 PM
A lot of doom and gloom about a potential takeover... of the worst happened and we had a 10 year period of (relative) success then were left for dead as it were, then I don’t think hibs would fall far before picking themselves up... maybe drop to the championship for a another period but as long as our youth policy doesn’t disappear we could regain a footing again... Hibs are too much of an institution for that to happen.

Scottish Football is different to England where if you fall away you can be stuck for decades. Look at Blackpool, Portsmouth and some of the clubs in League 2 and Non League as examples of what can go wrong. Scotland is a bit different, I believe most of the teams in the top flight would rise to the top flight again eventually if they had to start all over (although after Rangers the rules have changed and I believe you would need to start in the Lowland league now rather than League 2.)

I know a few Rangers fans that said that League 2 and 1 years were actually a top laugh and away days were fun and different from the norm. Would they do it again? Nah, but they enjoyed it. Much like I enjoyed the Championship, it renewed a bit of love for the club in my eyes after years of absolutely bang average, passionless football.

So yes. I would take 10/15 years of trophies and European nights if it meant having to try and get 5 promotions or so from the Lowland league. Would be more trophies at the end of the day :greengrin

Hibernian32
16-06-2019, 04:06 PM
Scottish Football is different to England where if you fall away you can be stuck for decades. Look at Blackpool, Portsmouth and some of the clubs in League 2 and Non League as examples of what can go wrong. Scotland is a bit different, I believe most of the teams in the top flight would rise to the top flight again eventually if they had to start all over (although after Rangers the rules have changed and I believe you would need to start in the Lowland league now rather than League 2.)

I know a few Rangers fans that said that League 2 and 1 years were actually a top laugh and away days were fun and different from the norm. Would they do it again? Nah, but they enjoyed it. Much like I enjoyed the Championship, it renewed a bit of love for the club in my eyes after years of absolutely bang average, passionless football.

So yes. I would take 10/15 years of trophies and European nights if it meant having to try and get 5 promotions or so from the Lowland league. Would be more trophies at the end of the day :greengrin

It wouldn't be more trophys tho would it we'd be THE Hibernians

16-06-2019, 04:17 PM
I believe there’s a small snippet in the Saudi Record by Sheik Keffa Jakshuni dismissing any links which makes it a goer for me.

You obviously missed the update where he announced the name of the Saudi billionaire, Yousuf Bin Had.

21-06-2019, 07:27 AM
Reports in at least one paper that Partick Thistle are set to be sold to a group that currently own Nice and Barnsley.

One of the people involved is a Chinese American billionaire........

21-06-2019, 07:33 AM
Wonder if our investment/takeover is still on. A lot of people put their necks out on this one....

21-06-2019, 07:54 AM
Don't hold your breath.

21-06-2019, 07:55 AM
You obviously missed the update where he announced the name of the Saudi billionaire, Yousuf Bin Had.

😁

21-06-2019, 08:24 AM
Obviously people got the signals all wrong

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-7165259/Partick-Thistle-line-hit-jackpot-billionaires-eye-stunning-takeover.html

Renfrew_Hibby
21-06-2019, 08:53 AM
Lucky Thistle, maybe

Hibernian32
21-06-2019, 09:02 AM
No jealousy in this what so ever but why the **** would you buy Partick and no Hibs

21-06-2019, 09:04 AM
No jealousy in this what so ever but why the **** would you buy Partick and no Hibs

A feeder club for the others they own?

21-06-2019, 09:08 AM
A feeder club for the others they own?

Partick just made Barnsley a lot of ££ through Lindsay so makes sense.

21-06-2019, 11:47 AM

Yeh, good luck to Partick Thistle if someone is prepared to put some money into them … with any luck they will do something about the huge gap site behind one goal where there should be a stand.

But I'm with you on this … if you are serious about growing a club to the extent that it will challenge for the odd cup or two and the top 6 regularly, why the hell pick one on the door step of the bigot brothers? …. far better to pick a Dundee club or someone like Dunfermline surely.

In fact Dunfermline for me are the relative sleeping giant of Scottish football. They have a decent stadium and the possibility to attract a decent support .. certainly to the extent that they could easily push their way to the country's 7th biggest club crowd wise.

Renfrew_Hibby
21-06-2019, 12:00 PM
Yeh, good luck to Partick Thistle if someone is prepared to put some money into them … with any luck they will do something about the huge gap site behind one goal where there should be a stand.

But I'm with you on this … if you are serious about growing a club to the extent that it will challenge for the odd cup or two and the top 6 regularly, why the hell pick one on the door step of the bigot brothers? …. far better to pick a Dundee club or someone like Dunfermline surely.

The youth set up at Thistle will soon be far in advance of most clubs in Scotland. Haven't the Weir's set aside sonething like £4 or £6 Million to build a state of the art youth academy and training centre.

Thistle will be part of a pool of clubs, maybe Nice at the top of the portfolio. PTFC will be a place to help develope players for the bigger clubs in the group.

This sort of set up is going to be much more common in the future. Instead of Chelsea loaning out 40 odd players all over the shop, they could own a pyramid of clubs in different locations which would allow them not only to recruit larger numbers of potential Chelsea first team players but also have complete control over that development as all clubs would be under the auspices of the parent/controlling club.

21-06-2019, 12:04 PM
Good for them. Decent club in the shadow of their bigoted folk singing ugly sisters

21-06-2019, 12:29 PM
Obviously people got the signals all wrong

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-7165259/Partick-Thistle-line-hit-jackpot-billionaires-eye-stunning-takeover.html

Not clicking on the link, can anyone paste?

21-06-2019, 12:31 PM
Not clicking on the link, can anyone paste?

It's the Partick thistle story.

21-06-2019, 12:41 PM
Good for them. Decent club in the shadow of their bigoted folk singing ugly sisters

Saw on twitter the other day, some fans were calling their fans bigoted aswell...

21-06-2019, 12:45 PM
It's the Partick thistle story.

I know :greengrin but what IS the story?

Greenworld
22-06-2019, 10:01 AM
I know :greengrin but what IS the story?The crux of the story is a billionaire hoping to generate even more money in trading players

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

stantonsboots
22-06-2019, 11:16 AM
It's not the same people, the people interested in investing in us are two boys who were born in Leith but now live in America.

22-06-2019, 11:33 AM
It's not the same people, the people interested in investing in us are two boys who were born in Leith but now live in America.

Who?

22-06-2019, 12:13 PM
Who?

Begbie & Sick Bpy

22-06-2019, 12:13 PM
[QUOTE=southsider;5819661]Begbie & Sick Boy QUOTE]

22-06-2019, 12:50 PM
Begbie & Sick Bpy

Mikey Forrester and Russian Sailors.

22-06-2019, 01:26 PM

Aye? …. Well if you know them can you tell them to get the finger oot before this thread or the club for that matter dies of old age, because the longer this goes on the more its starting to smell like sheeeyite.

stantonsboots
22-06-2019, 01:30 PM
Aye? …. Well if you know them can you tell them to get the finger oot before this thread or the club for that matter dies of old age, because the longer this goes on the more its starting to smell like sheeeyite.
I don't know them, was just told about it in march
That they were down at East mains(by someone who works their) that they were looking to invest

22-06-2019, 02:07 PM
I don't know them, was just told about it in march
That they were down at East mains(by someone who works their) that they were looking to invest

Who?

Crazyhorse
22-06-2019, 03:12 PM
I know :greengrin but what IS the story?

The Jags are going to be as big as Barnsley.

22-06-2019, 03:18 PM
Do Craig and Charlie Reid live in the US?

22-06-2019, 03:42 PM

They arent exactly minted.

22-06-2019, 03:45 PM
They arent exactly minted.

I’ve never heard them proclaim to be anyway.

22-06-2019, 06:14 PM
I’ve never heard them proclaim to be anyway.

You could hardly imagine Tom Farmer needing to go Cap in Hand to them.

stantonsboots
22-06-2019, 07:28 PM
You could hardly imagine Tom Farmer needing to go Cap in Hand to them.true but I believe they sent him a letter from America:greengrin

22-06-2019, 07:29 PM
true but I believe they sent him a letter from America:greengrin

Wasn’t asking him to get married was it?

BlackSheep
22-06-2019, 09:07 PM

No, Charlie lives in Colinton!!

147lothian
22-06-2019, 11:43 PM

I heard him saying Hibs were going for a song

23-06-2019, 06:34 AM

And Craig lives in the Grange. We use the same Butcher on Ratliff Terrace.

23-06-2019, 11:18 AM
And Craig lives in the Grange. We use the same Butcher on Ratliff Terrace.

I bet you can't wait to name drop drop him in conversations.

"I was at the butcher this morning...you know, the same one Craig Reid goes to"

"Really? Hows was Craig's dinner?"

"He said it was Offal"

Badum Tish!!

23-06-2019, 05:43 PM
I bet you can't wait to name drop drop him in conversations.

"I was at the butcher this morning...you know, the same one Craig Reid goes to"

"Really? Hows was Craig's dinner?"

"He said it was Offal"

Badum Tish!!

Whit a load a mince...

SANH 1875
23-06-2019, 05:50 PM
this pun tripe is really starting to rind. back on story, if we do get sold it better be a crackling deal.

ManlyOz
01-07-2019, 06:52 PM
Investment announcement this week, probably tomorrow,Rod Petrie to leave??? This is the story I’ve been told.

01-07-2019, 06:54 PM
Investment announcement this week, probably tomorrow,Rod Petrie to leave??? This is the story I’ve been told.

What was the story with Rod getting that job in the SFA, didn’t he need to be at Hibs to remain in the position?

01-07-2019, 06:55 PM
https://twitter.com/the_tman10/status/1145762735973707777?s=21

Tam McManus saying there’ll be interesting news over the next couple of days.

Is that your source Manlyoz?

ManlyOz
01-07-2019, 06:56 PM
Not to sure , just been told rod definitely leaving .

01-07-2019, 06:56 PM
What was the story with Rod getting that job in the SFA, didn’t he need to be at Hibs to remain in the position?

I thought he did, but someone else said he didn’t have to be attached to a club

01-07-2019, 06:57 PM
. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190701/c03b49b1a4d73cd87944275057a1140c.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

01-07-2019, 06:59 PM
I thought he did, but someone else said he didn’t have to be attached to a club

I think you need to be attached to a club to get the gig but not to keep it.

Hibernian32
01-07-2019, 07:00 PM
. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190701/c03b49b1a4d73cd87944275057a1140c.jpg

Not this again ffs

01-07-2019, 07:03 PM
I don't mean to be mean, but look at the first "I also know" reply :greengrin
Don't ever change, TheCat :aok:

ManlyOz
01-07-2019, 07:05 PM
https://twitter.com/the_tman10/status/1145762735973707777?s=21

Tam McManus saying there’ll be interesting news over the next couple of days.

Is that your source Manlyoz?

No, but have seen that also

01-07-2019, 07:08 PM
OK, I'll own up. I just bought Hibs and plan to invest my vast wealth in the club.

All those years selling Pegs has finally paid off.

01-07-2019, 07:11 PM
OK, I'll own up. I just bought Hibs and plan to invest my vast wealth in the club.

All those years selling Pegs has finally paid off.

No I'm the benefactor

01-07-2019, 07:15 PM
Tam hasn't exactly got a great record on these things so I'll wait and see

01-07-2019, 07:16 PM
Imagine we got some serious investment then 15% of 50 million 😂😂😂 we can only hope!

01-07-2019, 07:17 PM
No I'm the benefactor

No. I'M the benefactor.

01-07-2019, 07:18 PM
If Rod is going, as someone has suggested above, persons must have bought his shares

He was the first to break the news on twitter about Neil Lennon.

He’s not wrong in this case.

01-07-2019, 07:19 PM

So Omeonga and Sparky to be announced then.

01-07-2019, 07:21 PM

I’ll take a PM then😄

If Rod is going, as someone has suggested above, persons must have bought his sharesIf someone was to buy Rod's shares the dosh would go to him, not the club.

He hasn't exactly given much away tbh. I would have thought media outlets would be all over this if there was significant investment coming our way.

01-07-2019, 07:22 PM
No. I'M the benefactor.
No yer no. I'm American based so I'm the benefactor.....

01-07-2019, 07:22 PM
I’ll take a PM then😄

As will I 😜

ManlyOz
01-07-2019, 07:23 PM

Yip, wait and see too! got told this morning of pretty decent source looks like same as tam did, Rod leaving and Sir Tom selling part club to an investor , and getting announced next few days. If true sounds good for the club.

01-07-2019, 07:23 PM

Do you know the details of it? Takeover, investment into the training centre, none of the above?

01-07-2019, 07:24 PM
What a time to be a Hibee! Let the good times roll!!!

01-07-2019, 07:25 PM
If someone was to buy Rod's shares the dosh would go to him, not the club.

I agree with that, but gives them a foothold in hibs to invest
Would also think they’d need STF’s too, would give the. 51%, of Tam is taking about a take over

Might just be an investment in East Mains by someone

Torto7
01-07-2019, 07:25 PM
As will I 😜

And me please.

01-07-2019, 07:27 PM
It will probably be an investment into the training ground if anything. Don't think people should whip themselves up into a frenzy yet.

01-07-2019, 07:28 PM

I’ve been told it’s a goer too, but no details

Can we fill the corners in and get a helipad?

If we’re getting investment, why we signing players from Forest Green and Yeovil 🤔

01-07-2019, 07:29 PM
If we’re getting investment, why we signing players from Forest Green and Yeovil 🤔

Might explain spening 350k on a bit of a punt

01-07-2019, 07:31 PM
We are going to buy hotels in the south of England and make a fortune from them, a certain Mr Duff told me !

01-07-2019, 07:32 PM

Like people have said, spending £1m extra on players is unsustainable because you have to pay them £1m players wages.

01-07-2019, 07:37 PM
I don't mean to be mean, but look at the first "I also know" reply :greengrin
Don't ever change, TheCat :aok:

It's almost as though he never left.

01-07-2019, 07:39 PM
Sorry no PMs guys and by no way claiming to be in the know. I’m just led to believe it’s not pish and incoming*.

*If pish apologies.

01-07-2019, 07:42 PM
Apparently the investor is the managing director of Sives Surfacing.

Seems an upright bloke.

https://www.sivessurfacing.com/meet-the-team/

01-07-2019, 07:44 PM
a source told me some posters are stepping into fantasy land, group stages of the champions league are just around the corner, he also told me the catering were going to stop selling leathery/soggy pies that stick to the foil, as part of the deal

ok, i took the part about the pies just too far, pigs will fly and there's a wee man on the moon

Greenworld
01-07-2019, 07:49 PM
Sorry no PMs guys and by no way claiming to be in the know. I’m just led to believe it’s not pish and incoming*.

*If pish apologies.50 / 50 your guessing

01-07-2019, 07:49 PM

Seems an upright bloke.

Think they've just launched in Swindon and Bath too with a Polish investor Dawid Duuf

01-07-2019, 07:52 PM
Announcement will probably be something like "we've secured funding for the security camera upgrade".

01-07-2019, 07:53 PM
50 / 50 your guessing

Or I’m not claiming to be in the know but passing on I’ve been told somethings happening tomorrow. Saving my bacon from the people that seem to go absolute mental when anything is ever posted.

01-07-2019, 07:53 PM
https://youtu.be/HMuYfScGpbE

01-07-2019, 07:56 PM
50 / 50 your guessing

Doubt it. He's pretty spot on.

01-07-2019, 07:56 PM
Only buying us to get their hands on the McGinn money FACT :cb

01-07-2019, 07:57 PM
Announcement will probably be something like "we've secured funding for the security camera upgrade".

It’s what I'm expecting too tbh.

hibsforeurope
01-07-2019, 07:57 PM
It will be investment to pay for the indoor pitch, CCTV upgrade and new sound system. Which in turn might free up some cash for player budget.

01-07-2019, 07:58 PM

Cat and dug home they are supplying the sniffer dugs

Hibernian32
I know we are trying to get a indoor pitch and all that jazz but we have a state of the art training centre recentlyish built.

Why would we look for investment in this area, seems daft considering we never seeked investment to built that or the East stand

Sniffer dogs paid for

Greenworld
Or I’m not claiming to be in the know but passing on I’ve been told somethings happening tomorrow. Saving my bacon from the people that seem to go absolute mental when anything is ever posted.Lol its a no winner site here I will apoligise is something good happens you have 48 hours [emoji23][emoji23]

01-07-2019, 08:01 PM
Chips in the West Lower

Pretty please 😁👍🏾⚽️🏆🇳🇬

01-07-2019, 08:04 PM
I really hope something comes of this in the next few days and it doesn’t drag out over summer.

01-07-2019, 08:10 PM
Lol its a no winner site here I will apoligise is something good happens you have 48 hours [emoji23][emoji23]

Good man.

Juice-Terry
01-07-2019, 08:11 PM
Announcement at 11 am tomorrow. Apparently.

yonder1875
01-07-2019, 08:12 PM
Already can’t be arsed with all our new plastic fans.

HFC93
01-07-2019, 08:18 PM
Just spotted one of the Barclay Brothers on the 35.

01-07-2019, 08:19 PM

Pretty harsh on Jane Park.

01-07-2019, 08:21 PM

If I see someone from the far east with a half and half scarf taking pictures of an opposition player then I'm out.

01-07-2019, 08:22 PM

All the football tourists in the East Stand spending the whole game taking pictures of Sir David Gray. 🙄

Actually, I can't really blame them.

01-07-2019, 08:22 PM

What are you talking about? I love the Edinburgh Hibernians. Florence Kamberry my number #1

01-07-2019, 08:24 PM
What are you talking about? I love the Edinburgh Hibernians. Florence Kamberry my number #1

This one doesn't even know we're called the Edinburgh Hibernators!

01-07-2019, 08:24 PM

Like dis post if u fink dat the hiberniees should sign Marco McSparkles.

ThatDayInMay
01-07-2019, 08:25 PM

Seems an upright bloke.

Trying to fish for bites here surely 😂!

01-07-2019, 08:25 PM
We should look to initiate a merger and buy hearts and all their assets (lol) to become a football powerhouse in Edinburgh

01-07-2019, 08:28 PM
We should look to initiate a merger and buy hearts and all their assets (lol) to become a football powerhouse in Edinburgh

Overcome tribalism in Edinburgh while we’re at it.

Good shout!

Hibernian32
01-07-2019, 08:28 PM

Hahaha what assets

Souter96Mac
01-07-2019, 08:29 PM
Will need to extend each stand by another tier or so to fit in all of the tourists.

01-07-2019, 08:30 PM

Can I for one suggest Craig Levein for job as Trophy Room tour guide.

01-07-2019, 08:31 PM
Hahaha what assets

Chips 🤷

Dublin07
01-07-2019, 08:32 PM
Hahaha what assets

Their manager won the double in 86 as a player, won the league as a manager after 10 games and invented a new formation in international football. What an asset that would be for any club

01-07-2019, 08:34 PM
So with 10m coming in from McGinn and 50m from the new investors we should be looking at filling in a couple of the corners then putting in bids for Rogic, Christie, Tavernier and maybe someone like Ollie McBurnie. Would guarantee us 1st or 2nd then we can build on it next season getting to the knockout stages of the Europa League, adding another couple of players and probably stopping Celtics 10 in a row

01-07-2019, 08:36 PM
That won't work - every time he gets near a trophy he gets diarrhea..........

01-07-2019, 08:37 PM
So with 10m coming in from McGinn and 50m from the new investors we should be looking at filling in a couple of the corners then putting in bids for Rogic, Christie, Tavernier and maybe someone like Ollie McBurnie. Would guarantee us 1st or 2nd then we can build on it next season getting to the knockout stages of the Europa League, adding another couple of players and probably stopping Celtics 10 in a row

How funny would it be if something like that was to happen and someone from out with the old firm bubble was to stop 10 in a row.

01-07-2019, 08:39 PM
That won't work - every time he gets near a trophy he gets diarrhea..........

His idea job then. Every minutes a toilet break.

01-07-2019, 08:48 PM
Exciting times ahead.

01-07-2019, 08:50 PM
Exciting times ahead.Is it? Is it genuine playing squad investment or something else?

01-07-2019, 08:54 PM

More like trophy room bouncer as he’s proven to stop any trophy getting into the cabinet

01-07-2019, 08:56 PM
More like trophy room bouncer as he’s proven to stop any trophy getting into the cabinet

I was thinking about the enjoyment of the seethe factor him taking the job.

01-07-2019, 08:57 PM

Yeah Tesco takeover

01-07-2019, 08:58 PM

Seems an upright bloke.

Doubt it. Pretty small firm with a few vans. Based in my street. What was their turnover?

01-07-2019, 08:58 PM
Yeah Tesco takeover

Every little helps at this level.

01-07-2019, 08:59 PM

👍

01-07-2019, 09:00 PM
Doubt it. Pretty small firm with a few vans. Based in my street. What was their turnover?

Think he’s at the wind up

01-07-2019, 09:02 PM

Seems an upright bloke.

Jim Gray ? 😬

Dublin07
01-07-2019, 09:05 PM

I think it was a Duff attempt at a joke. Never had me Rowland around.

Wakeyhibee
01-07-2019, 09:06 PM

Nice "join date" :greengrin

01-07-2019, 09:16 PM
£6m investment from an Edinburgh/American apparently.

01-07-2019, 09:22 PM

Irvine Welsh?

01-07-2019, 09:23 PM

£6m 😳 Look out Man City here we come 😂😂

Think they've just launched in Swindon and Bath too with a Polish investor Dawid Duuf

Pierogi stands @ ER and Wimpy FFS! 👍

Irvine Welsh?

Don't know the name but I don't think it's him.

01-07-2019, 09:24 PM

What would they want for their investment?

Greenworld
01-07-2019, 09:25 PM
What would they want for their investment?A picture with SDG apparently

01-07-2019, 09:26 PM

That's an important question to ask. FFP means it can't be something for nothing, right?

01-07-2019, 09:26 PM

Not sure. They were at a game earlier this year so its been on the cards for a while.

01-07-2019, 09:27 PM
For a split second I thought it said Elgin/American and I thought I had bought Hibs.....

Renfrew_Hibby

£6M should just about cover the full size indoor pitch at East Mains.

That's an important question to ask. FFP means it can't be something for nothing, right?

Chicks for free? 😉

01-07-2019, 09:28 PM
6m would buy John McGinns left leg 😂

01-07-2019, 09:29 PM
Chicks for free? 😉
Nah. they all went home when they knocked down the pally...

01-07-2019, 09:31 PM
Jim Gray ? ��

I've seen that link a couple of times and only just realised that is who it is.

PH91
01-07-2019, 09:34 PM

No chance you will get the left for that!! The right maybe.

AltheHibby
01-07-2019, 09:36 PM

Annoy me with any more comments like that and you'll be in dire straights me laddo.

01-07-2019, 09:37 PM

Gotta get in the zone Smartie 😁

01-07-2019, 09:38 PM
I meant the one he uses for standing oan

01-07-2019, 09:43 PM
How funny would it be if something like that was to happen and someone from out with the old firm bubble was to stop 10 in a row.

Heartz nearly did it last season

01-07-2019, 09:44 PM
Heartz nearly did it last season

You mean they didn't 😲

01-07-2019, 09:45 PM

Who's Jim gray like?

01-07-2019, 09:47 PM
Who's Jim gray like?

His Dad. A wee bit of his mother in him
as well though.

AltheHibby
01-07-2019, 09:49 PM
His Dad. A wee bit of his mother in him
as well though.

01-07-2019, 09:54 PM
Well, it would be £6.3m if we'd got a shirt sponsor. Disgrace.

01-07-2019, 09:57 PM
Lol its a no winner site here I will apoligise is something good happens you have 48 hours [emoji23][emoji23]

Tick tock, tick tock...

Greenworld
01-07-2019, 09:59 PM
Tick tock, tick tock...LoL I'm waiting impatiently I doubt I will sleep tonight

01-07-2019, 10:01 PM
LoL I'm waiting impatiently I doubt I will sleep tonight

Snap :greengrin

01-07-2019, 10:04 PM
Annoy me with any more comments like that and you'll be in dire straights me laddo.

Money for nothing....

01-07-2019, 10:04 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4433827/hibs-investment-multi-million-tycoon-easter-road/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1562018590

01-07-2019, 10:06 PM
So what are we going to do with this money? Spend it all this season or gradually invest in the squad? Is there more coming?

01-07-2019, 10:08 PM
So what are we going to do with this money? Spend it all this season or gradually invest in the squad? Is there more coming?

Pay off the debt.

01-07-2019, 10:09 PM

A good question I’ve been trying to think of.

You’d imagine it’ll be a one off

I’d imagine some spent on the squad, upgrades needed here and there, new indoor pitch.

Who knows what else...pay off the debt ⬆️

01-07-2019, 10:10 PM

Pay off the debt to STF
Indoor pitch with seating area
Sign McNulty and Omeonga
Helipad

01-07-2019, 10:11 PM
Pay off the debt to STF
Indoor pitch with seating area
Sign McNulty and Omeonga
Helipad

I’m only really fussed about us securing that last one.

01-07-2019, 10:12 PM
Buy Leigh and win the league

01-07-2019, 10:12 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4433827/hibs-investment-multi-million-tycoon-easter-road/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1562018590

And what do they get in return for this £6m figure that is being quoted?

Niffy
01-07-2019, 10:13 PM
https://youtu.be/imOt19j8K4U

What FFP?

A 30% sell on fee for mcginn

01-07-2019, 10:14 PM
Just spotted one of the Barclay Brothers on the 35.

Saw him as well, he had a steak bake in his hand

01-07-2019, 10:15 PM

Most likely they’ll get the usual suspects asking where the £6m has gone if we miss out on a transfer target then they will be accused of financial fraud via a flyering and stickering campaign.

01-07-2019, 10:16 PM

Interesting

01-07-2019, 10:16 PM

I’m going to take a wild guess at the naming rights to HTC.

01-07-2019, 10:21 PM

Could be right.
I'd love it if they called it HTC 😀

01-07-2019, 10:24 PM
Could be right.
I'd love it if they called it HTC 😀

So is it the mobile phone company investing then? :-)

01-07-2019, 10:25 PM
Most likely they’ll get the usual suspects asking where the £6m has gone if we miss out on a transfer target then they will be accused of financial fraud via a flyering and stickering campaign.

It's some kind of quasi-ponzi pyramid scheme then?!

Niffy
01-07-2019, 10:26 PM
The mysterious investor would have been sent into Hecky’s office to get the sales pitch.

“Hello sir, here’s what I’ll expect from your money and how much I really am looking forward to your money being a crucial part of our team ... sign here. “

(Thumbs up to Leanne behind his back )

01-07-2019, 10:34 PM
Excitement and fear at same time. Be nice to have the details once it comes out. Investment is good but a potential buyout makes me worried unless person/consortium are minted.

Investment worries me as well, Farmer isn’t getting any younger, neither is Petrie and we will need fresh impetus eventually.

Strange times at the moment.

01-07-2019, 10:37 PM
We release Aussie WC captain Milligan in a free shocking the whole Hibernian community
Hibernian Community Foundation main sponsor of Hibs
Milligan signs for Southend
Southend have a wimpy franchise in the stadium
Who is the American owners of Wimpy?
Tidy ice creams and burgers as catering
Everyone’s a winner

01-07-2019, 10:38 PM
We release Aussie WC captain Milligan in a free shocking the whole Hibernian community
Hibernian Community Foundation main sponsor of Hibs
Milligan signs for Southend
Southend have a wimpy franchise in the stadium
Who is the American owners of Wimpy?
Tidy ice creams and burgers as catering
Everyone’s a winner

This is the only theory that makes any sense so far IMO.

01-07-2019, 10:44 PM
Maybe it's the Glazers! After seeing what we did with McGinn they want a hefty share in Hibs in return for us having "special arrangements" when it comes to transferring players...

Juniper Greens
01-07-2019, 10:56 PM

This story is nonsense, makes me doubt the sun's "scoop" on SJM to Man U

01-07-2019, 10:59 PM

Now I know it's the Sun but quite interesting reading that this individual was a guest at the Rangers game when the boy ran on the pitch and confronted Tavenier.

Leanne was obviously raging about it in her interview afterwards, which at the time felt like general anger at the clubs reputation being tarnished.

But if this person was indeed her guest you could see why she'd have been even more peed off.

01-07-2019, 11:05 PM
Now I know it's the Sun but quite interesting reading that this individual was a guest at the Rangers game when the boy ran on the pitch and confronted Tavenier.

Leanne was obviously raging about it in her interview afterwards, which at the time felt like general anger at the clubs reputation being tarnished.

But if this person was indeed her guest you could see why she'd have been even more peed off.

And he’s coughing up the dough for the new CCTV. It all makes sense now.

01-07-2019, 11:16 PM

If I was trying to sell Hibernian to outside investors huns at home would be the last game I would take them to. Then and their ***** and all.

Wakeyhibee
01-07-2019, 11:36 PM

A trophy?

01-07-2019, 11:48 PM
Pay off the debt.

We owe about £3.6 million to Farmer through mortgage. Maybe he will convert to shares and sell but that will be no injection of capital but give investor a significant shareholding and some money to invest in team.

01-07-2019, 11:51 PM
Likely to be a fan. Taking Farmer's debt gives a shareholding plus some money to spend on squad. So major say in running the club and funds to improve team. If I had £100m would do the same.

DetroitHibs
02-07-2019, 12:00 AM

His left arse cheek more like

02-07-2019, 12:04 AM
His left arse cheek more like
$4 per kilo then, sounds about right.....

02-07-2019, 12:27 AM
Not clicking on anything to do with that rag - so any chance someone could share what it says?

02-07-2019, 12:38 AM
HIBS could be set for a major multi-million pound cash investment from an Edinburgh-born business tycoon.
SunSport can reveal a deal is close to being sealed which could see a whopping £6million injected into the Easter Road (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/14943/hibernian/) club.

Behind-the-scenes negotiations are believed to have been ongoing for months.
And it’s understood Hibees chiefs are hopeful they’ll be able to finalise an agreement this week before making an announcement.
It’s thought the mystery businessman was born in Scotland’s capital but made his money in the US.

Ironically he was given the VIP treatment when Hibs faced Rangers (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/14923/rangers/) towards the end of last season – the night James Tavernier was confronted by a Hibs supporter on the touchline of the pitch.
Despite that controversy Easter Road chief executive Leeann Dempster continued discussions over securing the investment – with a deal now close to being struck.

02-07-2019, 12:48 AM
HIBS could be set for a major multi-million pound cash investment from an Edinburgh-born business tycoon.
SunSport can reveal a deal is close to being sealed which could see a whopping £6million injected into the Easter Road (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/14943/hibernian/) club.

And it’s understood Hibees chiefs are hopeful they’ll be able to finalise an agreement this week before making an announcement.
It’s thought the mystery businessman was born in Scotland’s capital but made his money in the US.

Ironically he was given the VIP treatment when Hibs faced Rangers (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/14923/rangers/) towards the end of last season – the night James Tavernier was confronted by a Hibs supporter on the touchline of the pitch.
Despite that controversy Easter Road chief executive Leeann Dempster continued discussions over securing the investment – with a deal now close to being struck.

"Well, I initially thought putting a bit of money Hibs' way was a little, i don't know how to put this, eh...a little absurd maybe. But then... then there was this moment when the boy went to banjo that hun and frankly it was all I could do not to whip the chequebook out there and then.”

cocteautwin
02-07-2019, 04:32 AM

LOL. Hearts have received £18m for nothing in return in the past few years. I say nothing, but they did actually get a 2-0 pasting from Arbroath the other day, so I suppose that's something.

02-07-2019, 04:42 AM
"Well, I initially thought putting a bit of money Hibs' way was a little, i don't know how to put this, eh...a little absurd maybe. But then... then there was this moment when the boy went to banjo that hun and frankly it was all I could do not to whip the chequebook out there and then.”
There is also the chance that with that one random stupid act of violence lthe potential investor might have thought to himself “ Naw f#*k
that this Club and Sport is nuts!”

02-07-2019, 05:24 AM

****ers At The Sun

“Ironically he was given the VIP treatment when Hibs faced Rangers towards the end of last season – the night James Tavernier was confronted by a Hibs supporter on the touchline of the pitch.”

02-07-2019, 05:27 AM

They can't help getting a wee dig in

02-07-2019, 05:30 AM
So will that be the end of HSL?

chippy
02-07-2019, 05:40 AM

Why would that be the case. If this is true maybe they envisage a partnership with HSL, maybe could bring many more fans on board

02-07-2019, 05:42 AM

We will find out today no doubt

Maybes tomorrow?

chippy
02-07-2019, 05:44 AM
We will find out today no doubt

Maybes tomorrow?

Is that the end of Hibsnet?

02-07-2019, 06:00 AM
Is that the end of Hibsnet?

They may take our club but they will never take our HIBS.net!

:hibees

Edit:

Meeting at 11.O0 am today apparently

02-07-2019, 06:18 AM
https://www.snsgroup.co.uk/image/167/18465532/18465532_450_450_73045_0_stretch_0_ebc4249ed7cc464 bf17a93ede54e923e.jpg

The directors box against Rangers.

02-07-2019, 06:20 AM
https://www.snsgroup.co.uk/image/167/18465532/18465532_450_450_73045_0_stretch_0_ebc4249ed7cc464 bf17a93ede54e923e.jpg

So it's either Marine Le Pen in front or the two guys with identical wig/beard disguises behind...

02-07-2019, 06:21 AM

Why?

I certainly hope not.

02-07-2019, 06:25 AM
So it's either Marine Le Pen in front or the two guys with identical wig/beard disguises behind...

Are the 2 similar looking guys not the motherwell management team?

02-07-2019, 06:26 AM

That's what I thought.

Niffy
02-07-2019, 06:26 AM

Or soor puss fur coat in front.

I may have just ****ed up our 6m

02-07-2019, 06:29 AM

Looks like whoever it is has just has had a tour of the Stadium is that no Tom Wright to the left?
Hope he paid his £12?

02-07-2019, 06:33 AM
So just to summarise.
There is a press conference at 11.00am.
An American (either with or without Edinburgh ties) is becoming the major shareholder.
Rod is stepping down but Sir Tom and him may still have a very small holding between them.
The American is paying between £5m and £6m for the shares.
He may or may not have football interests elsewhere.
He does not own or has never driven a submarine.
Have I missed anything?

Niffy
02-07-2019, 06:33 AM
In all seriousness though. What would be the best way to make 6m work in the SPFL ?
Celtic just blew more than that getting in one player , not counting his on going wage.

Would it just give us say 3 years of decent wage structure?
Would we still be paying off STFs loan ?

It’s not a league winning amount is it ...

02-07-2019, 06:35 AM
In all seriousness though. What would be the best way to make 6m work in the SPFL ?
Celtic just blew more than that getting in one player , not counting his on going wage.

Would it just give us say 3 years of decent wage structure?
Would we still be paying off STFs loan ?

It’s not a league winning amount is it ...

Will we even have anything more to play with! Or is it being used to buy out STF ?

ManlyOz
02-07-2019, 06:36 AM
So just to summarise.
An American (either with or without Edinburgh ties) is becoming the major shareholder.
Rod is stepping down but Sir Tom and him may still have a very small holding between them.

Have I missed anything?

Sounds about right , heard Sir Tom selling about 60% to investor.

02-07-2019, 06:38 AM
So just to summarise.
Have I missed anything?

If there was a press conference at 11am it would be all over the media, not just in The Sun.

If there is anything happening at 11am it’ll be a press release.

Niffy
02-07-2019, 06:40 AM
I believe Dempster would put any cash to good use , but if it is true, and it is 6m... and it ALL went on squad budget , we’d be looking at 3rd best playing staff financially for maybe 3 years ?

Don’t want to sound anti improvement, but 6m ain’t going to guarantee anything.

02-07-2019, 06:41 AM

The money would go to STF in that case, not the club.

sean04
02-07-2019, 06:42 AM
6million to start with further investment

02-07-2019, 06:42 AM
Maybe the £6M is to become the main shareholder and there will therefore be further investment?

02-07-2019, 06:45 AM
That's what I thought.

Yes Robinson and Lasley. Who is guy next to Leanne?

02-07-2019, 06:45 AM

In that case, it's a sale on the secondary market and there is zero investment in Hibs, unless the "investor" plans to buy the shares from STF AND put money into the club.

BTW, no other news outlets are reporting this story (discounting the regurgitating of the Sun original).

02-07-2019, 06:50 AM
In that case, it's a sale on the secondary market and there is zero investment in Hibs, unless the "investor" plans to buy the shares from STF AND put money into the club.

BTW, no other news outlets are reporting this story (discounting the regurgitating of the Sun original).

Given Kenny Millar’s previous employment it wouldn’t surprise me for The Sun to be primary source of Exclusives regarding Hibs.

02-07-2019, 06:51 AM
It's interesting news, but £6m isn't going to change us overnight.

Aberdeen and Hearts have had more than that injected over the last few years with no on field success.

Appreciate that they are both undertaking big stadium projects, but a few million can disappear quickly.

Whatever we do, I hope we are sensible and think carefully about it.

So - for me it needs to go on uniting Griffiths and Deeks for one mental tilt at the league title 😂

02-07-2019, 06:54 AM

This deal goes way bigger than people are expecting or could imagine. All I can say at the moment is Scott Allan, Silvikrin and will never have to wash his own hair again.

Crazyhorse
02-07-2019, 06:54 AM

That’s a good point although frequently the Press are kept in the dark pretty successfully when something is going on at Hibs.

02-07-2019, 07:00 AM
I believe Dempster would put any cash to good use , but if it is true, and it is 6m... and it ALL went on squad budget , we’d be looking at 3rd best playing staff financially for maybe 3 years ?

Don’t want to sound anti improvement, but 6m ain’t going to guarantee anything.

6m will buy out STF and pay for HTC improvements.

02-07-2019, 07:05 AM

Its the Barclay Brothers! Apparently that's one of their favourite disguises since Coisty & McDowell packed it in!

02-07-2019, 07:12 AM

Far from it i think, if the fans sse investment being made then it might encourage more folk to invest in hsl. The cry from some has been that there hasnt been enough investment in the past, it may just spur some people on to join hsl

02-07-2019, 07:20 AM
People are confusing the value of Hibs with our indebtedness to STF. £3m only clears our mortgage/loan, it doesn't buy Hibs unless STF separately agrees to transfer his 55% interest in our club.

02-07-2019, 07:33 AM

:agree: Might be a simple change of ownership with no new money coming into the club. STF is not getting any younger and may be actively looking to hand over the reigns ? That might explain why LD is the one who's been "locked in discussions for months" with the prospective buyer.

Even if there was an injection of £6m, that's not nearly enough to make a material difference to the club's operation or quality on-field over a reasonable period.

02-07-2019, 07:44 AM
It's interesting news, but £6m isn't going to change us overnight.

Aberdeen and Hearts have had more than that injected over the last few years with no on field success.

Appreciate that they are both undertaking big stadium projects, but a few million can disappear quickly.

Whatever we do, I hope we are sensible and think carefully about it.

So - for me it needs to go on uniting Griffiths and Deeks for one mental tilt at the league title 😂

I am sure our owners/Executive have done exactly that.

Greenworld
02-07-2019, 07:49 AM
So does it look like anything happening at the stadium anyone passing

02-07-2019, 07:50 AM
So does it look like anything happening at the stadium anyone passing

The HibsTalk podcast guy Gav is going to a press conference at 11am according to their twitter...

02-07-2019, 07:51 AM
If there was a press conference at 11am it would be all over the media, not just in The Sun.

If there is anything happening at 11am it’ll be a press release.

There is definitely an 11am media conference today for a "significant announcement".
Not sure it's going to be quite as big as The Sun story suggests though...

02-07-2019, 07:58 AM
There is definitely an 11am media conference today for a "significant announcement".
Not sure it's going to be quite as big as The Sun story suggests though...Even if it isn't, doesn't mean in reality it's not

We arnt gonna come out and say we've got 10 million war chest

I can imagine Sir Tom wanting to ease a new owner in gently to ensure he/she was fit for the role. He may be selling a percentage of his shares and the club also accepting investment. The new guy/woman get's a seat on the board and a 5 year process of handover. Hibs get short term investment and STF RP get a chance to see the cut of the mans Jib for a few years before handing over the reigns.

Announcement at 11 is just for Malonga's return. :agree:

02-07-2019, 08:00 AM
Only 120 minutes to go!

02-07-2019, 08:05 AM
6 million investment and the old folk get to keep thier pensions

02-07-2019, 08:05 AM
Is there actually a presser?

Surely all media would be across this

02-07-2019, 08:07 AM
Even if it isn't, doesn't mean in reality it's not

We arnt gonna come out and say we've got 10 million war chest

Omeonga, Ojo and McNulty walk out together with :scarf::scarf::scarf: aloft! :greengrin

The Captain....
02-07-2019, 08:10 AM
:agree: Might be a simple change of ownership with no new money coming into the club. STF is not getting any younger and may be actively looking to hand over the reigns ? That might explain why LD is the one who's been "locked in discussions for months" with the prospective buyer.

Even if there was an injection of £6m, that's not nearly enough to make a material difference to the club's operation or quality on-field over a reasonable period.

Pretty much how I see it if there is any truth in The Sun story...the £6m wouldn't be an investment in Hibs as such in the way that would excite supporters...it would be buying a stake from Farmer or Petrie. There may be subsequent investment but the initial investment wouldn't have any impact on playing budgets for instance.

The other alternative is that I think some of the money will be used for infrastructure projects (indoor pitch, training ground and stadium improvements) if any does filter thru to the club to use. Regardless if £6m is the figure it would have little to no effect on our playing budget imo.

HFC93
02-07-2019, 08:10 AM
Is there actually a presser?

Surely all media would be across this

I’ve not seen any journalists really tweeting about this. You think they would be all over it.

sean04
02-07-2019, 08:14 AM
I’ve not seen any journalists really tweeting about this. You think they would be all over it.

The guy gavin who does the hibs podcast says there's a press conference at 11

02-07-2019, 08:16 AM

One on far left is Oli Shaw’s grandad, doubt its him😜

02-07-2019, 08:16 AM

All over it now.

02-07-2019, 08:17 AM
Yes Robinson and Lasley. Who is guy next to Leanne?

That’s the PR man, then next is Tom Wright Hibs historian