View Full Version : Liverpool friendly @ Murrayfield

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

hibby rae
27-07-2019, 02:59 PM
Me too .. nothing but glory hunters.. I really don’t see the affiliation most of those people have with Liverpool..

Personally I'm looking forward to watching two of the best club sides in the world at the moment. I also went to see France play the first time they were World Cup champions. Attending either occasion doesn't make you a glory hunter. Wouldn't bother with Hibs if I was! 😂

27-07-2019, 03:07 PM
Tickets now secured. Looking forward to this, as are my old man & step son. Looks like there’s loads going on in the fanzone pre-match.

Pickpockets & shoplifting for beginners.

27-07-2019, 03:09 PM

Very droll, you should be on the radio with material like that.

dalkeith stu
27-07-2019, 03:11 PM
Me too .. nothing but glory hunters.. I really don’t see the affiliation most of those people have with Liverpool..

Simmer doon FFS!!!
I have a soft spot for liverpool as i grew up in the 80's watching Barnes, Rush and King Kenny!!! I've tryed recently to get tickets for Anfield but its silly money!! Why would i pass up the chance to see them on my doorstep?!?!?
Hopefully this continues and we get more big teams coming next year.

27-07-2019, 03:17 PM
Scottish Rugby venue show cases 2 very rich football clubs from the top leagues in 2 countries out with Scotland. Not sure what benefits it will have for Scottish football.

27-07-2019, 03:17 PM
Some people on this thread are just jealous.

27-07-2019, 03:19 PM
Scottish Rugby venue show cases 2 very rich football clubs from the top leagues in 2 countries out with Scotland. Not sure what benefits it will have for Scottish football.

it was never intended to benefit Scottish football :confused:

It does however benefit Scottish football fans who want to go and watch it.

27-07-2019, 03:21 PM
https://media1.tenor.com/images/b0a5cb45d7817a4d9a023b62b28a25b0/tenor.gif?itemid=8397690

27-07-2019, 03:27 PM
it was never intended to benefit Scottish football :confused:

It does however benefit Scottish football fans who want to go and watch it.
Really, and yet every season I continually read about English football is p... h, plastic teams, all owned by outsiders, not worth watching & yet here we are putting money into an alternative sport's stadium & 2 very wealthy clubs :confused:

27-07-2019, 03:34 PM
Really, and yet every season I continually read about English football is p... h, plastic teams, all owned by outsiders, not worth watching & yet here we are putting money into an alternative sport's stadium & 2 very wealthy clubs :confused:

Yes you read comments from a small proportion of people who dislike the English game in Scotland, then there are the masses who watch every English game on TV and................. Believe it or not some folk even go to England just to watch Premiership games, often just for the occasion and not necessarily because they have some affiliation to either team. So little wonder that when a top premiership team plays in Scotland people want to go and watch. It's really not that hard to understand. Not to mention the folk that have a keen interest in Italian football wanting to see Napoli.

27-07-2019, 03:37 PM

I bet you’re fun at parties. I support 2 teams, Hibs & Scotland. I also love watching football. Wether it’s Edinburgh City of a Wednesday night or Barcelona if I happen to be in the city, I love it. The Euro champions and Diego’s team are playing in my city so I’m going to go along for a fun day out, with my step son & my old man, whilst you’re sat at home on your phone trying to troll folk you’ve never even met.

27-07-2019, 03:37 PM
Some right clowns on here, they are European Champions, and some folk just love good football, this is a great occasion especially for youngsters

BlackSheep
27-07-2019, 03:41 PM
I support neither Liverpool nor Napoli, but it’s a rare chance to see both live and with an affordable occasion so what the heck, all those deriding the fixture need to chill... what offence does Edinburgh hosting a friendly between two big clubs matter to you if you are not interested anyway!!

27-07-2019, 03:42 PM
I bet you’re fun at parties. I support 2 teams, Hibs & Scotland. I also love watching football. Wether it’s Edinburgh City of a Wednesday night or Barcelona if I happen to be in the city, I love it. The Euro champions and Diego’s team are playing in my city so I’m going to go along for a fun day out, with my step son & my old man, whilst you’re sat at home on your phone trying to troll folk you’ve never even met.

27-07-2019, 03:45 PM
Mon the Napoli.

27-07-2019, 03:49 PM
Yes you read comments from a small proportion of people who dislike the English game in Scotland, then there are the masses who watch every English game on TV and................. Believe it or not some folk even go to England just to watch Premiership games, often just for the occasion and not necessarily because they have some affiliation to either team. So little wonder that when a top premiership team plays in Scotland people want to go and watch. It's really not that hard to understand. Not to mention the folk that have a keen interest in Italian football wanting to see Napoli.

Totally different heading down to watch a competitive Premier league fixture or taking in a competitive Italian fixture, this is like the Harlem globe trotters on tour, but I bet Scottish Rugby are rubbing their hands. :agree:

27-07-2019, 03:50 PM
Mon the Napoli.

:greengrin Was about to post you missing.

27-07-2019, 04:02 PM
Totally different heading down to watch a competitive Premier league fixture or taking in a competitive Italian fixture, this is like the Harlem globe trotters on tour, but I bet Scottish Rugby are rubbing their hands. :agree:

People want to see it, it's a sell out, get over it.

The people rubbing their hands are the people who enjoy themselves, watching and doing things that entertain them.

27-07-2019, 04:03 PM
Saw Napoli 50 odd years ago.Didn’t think they were up to much:greengrin

27-07-2019, 04:08 PM

👍

Turnbullsmate
27-07-2019, 04:25 PM

Thanks for the memory....Cracking night !!!

27-07-2019, 04:38 PM

Yip me too, proper European football great days.

pontius pilate
27-07-2019, 04:43 PM
Is this game live on the telly does anybody know for the poor unfortunates who dont have a ticket

27-07-2019, 04:47 PM

Assume that was the last time they played in Edinburgh

27-07-2019, 04:50 PM

Bobby Duncan - immediate association with that wonderful game. I was in the process of "changing ends" and saw that magnificent strike in all of its glory.

Mantis Toboggan
27-07-2019, 04:51 PM
Is this game live on the telly does anybody know for the poor unfortunates who dont have a ticket

It's on liverpool tv. So you should be able to get a stream somewhere

27-07-2019, 04:59 PM

Same as me love football and always keen to take a game in. European champions and top Italian team playing in the city and son likes Liverpool so no brainer. Hope it is a decent game which I think it will be.

27-07-2019, 05:11 PM
:greengrin Was about to post you missing.

I'm here, I wouldn't want to disappoint you pal! :greengrin

LustForLeith
27-07-2019, 06:37 PM
Whose all going tomorrow? Is there some sort of pre match occasional Murrayfield? I couldn’t find anything about it

berwickhibee
27-07-2019, 06:52 PM
Whose all going tomorrow? Is there some sort of pre match occasional Murrayfield? I couldn’t find anything about it

Fan zone at 1.

European cup there.
Jamie webster there for a sing along.
Q & A with ex players.

Also says to be in seat for 4 for pre match entertainment.

LustForLeith
27-07-2019, 08:47 PM
Fan zone at 1.

European cup there.
Jamie webster there for a sing along.
Q & A with ex players.

Also says to be in seat for 4 for pre match entertainment.

Thanks!

27-07-2019, 09:30 PM

Me too. They arrived thinking that they were here to take in the sights of Princes Street and the castle then tuck into some haggis and shortbread followed by a kick about in Leith. Hibs has different plans for that night.

McSwanky
27-07-2019, 10:18 PM
Is this thread still going? Some right torn faces on here!

Sent from my COL-L29 using Tapatalk

monarch
27-07-2019, 10:27 PM
This game proves that you can fool most of the people most of the time.

If it was a competitive game or if you are a genuine Liverpool fan then fair enough. But for a neutral paying up to £55 to watch a training session to make the rich even richer ? Give me strength.

Remember not to fall asleep when trying to follow the multiple sub switches during the second half.

27-07-2019, 10:33 PM
This game proves that you can fool most of the people most of the time.

If it was a competitive game or if you are a genuine Liverpool fan then fair enough. But for a neutral paying up to £55 to watch a training session to make the rich even richer ? Give me strength.

Remember not to fall asleep when trying to follow the multiple sub switches during the second half.

Already falling asleep listening to yours and others opinions on an event you have no interest in but seem determined to slag those who do. It's sold out completely, folk know exactly what they are going to see and are happy to pay for it, they are not being fooled, conned or otherwise.

Craigmount Hibs
28-07-2019, 01:02 AM
Already falling asleep listening to yours and others opinions on an event you have no interest in but seem determined to slag those who do. It's sold out completely, folk know exactly what they are going to see and are happy to pay for it, they are not being fooled, conned or otherwise.
Spot on. If you're going, enjoy. If you're not going - spend your energy commenting on how bad a referee Willie Collum is. Or how good a manager Trophies Levein is.

28-07-2019, 02:16 AM
Saw Liverpool over 40 years. Did not think they were up to much either. Lucky to loose just 1-0.

28-07-2019, 07:41 AM
Hope those "Liverpool fans"who only discovered liverpool within the last 3 years have a thouroughly terrible day watching a reserve side train and it rains heavily.

28-07-2019, 07:50 AM
Hope everyone going has a great day, cmon the pool 😆👍

28-07-2019, 07:51 AM
Hope those "Liverpool fans"who only discovered liverpool within the last 3 years have a thouroughly terrible day watching a reserve side train and it rains heavily.

Well done wishing fellow football fans a terrible day, thankfully folk like you won’t be there.

28-07-2019, 07:52 AM
Looking forward to a good day out, table booked for lunch nearby then onto the fan zone.

28-07-2019, 07:56 AM
Well done wishing fellow football fans a terrible day, thankfully folk like you won’t be there.

Enjoy your tourist football. Absolutely everthing thats wrong with the modern game happening today 👍

28-07-2019, 07:57 AM
I don't get why people can't just accept some people like different things. The idea of 'fan zones' and watching a pre season kick about holds no appeal for me so I'm keeping my money in my pocket and doing other things today. Obviously other people feel differently and that's their choice. I hope they enjoy their day and get what they want from it.

It's the great thing about having a choice in how we spend our leisure time. No one is forced to do anything they don't want to. If it's not for you then fine, I don't see why there's any need to tear into the people who are going along to enjoy a day out.

28-07-2019, 07:57 AM
Enjoy your tourist football. Absolutely everthing thats wrong with the modern game happening today 👍

Yes I have not got a ticket either🙄

28-07-2019, 07:58 AM

😂😂😂 It’s keeping your interest though, what a sad life you must lead.

28-07-2019, 08:02 AM
😂😂😂 It’s keeping your interest though, what a sad life you must lead.

Now now dont get personal. If you dont like it maybe you should post on liverpool.net about it if you dont want people giving their opinion on this farce.

28-07-2019, 08:05 AM
Now now dont get personal. If you dont like it maybe you should post on liverpool.net about it if you dont want people giving their opinion on this farce.

I don’t mind you having an opinion but wishing fellow football fans a terrible day out is not an opinion it’s you being an erse.

28-07-2019, 08:09 AM
I don’t mind you having an opinion but wishing fellow football fans a terrible day out is not an opinion it’s you being an erse.

Football tourists. Those who never posted on facebook or twitter about liverpool until they started playing well. The same ones who will openly slag old firm fans for the same thing. I have no problem with genuine liverpool fans who have supported them for years having their day but the majority of the people at the game today will be glory hunters. Those who dont bother their arse to go along to tynecastle or easter road but will fork out 55 quid for this. Doesnt sit right at all with me

28-07-2019, 08:09 AM

The weather forecast isn't too bad, light cloud and warm so you may be disappointed. Anyway, my son and i have decent, well fitting rainwear and are going to enjoy ourselves so GIRUY :agree:

28-07-2019, 08:14 AM
Football tourists. Those who never posted on facebook or twitter about liverpool until they started playing well. The same ones who will openly slag old firm fans for the same thing. I have no problem with genuine liverpool fans who have supported them for years having their day but the majority of the people at the game today will be glory hunters. Those who dont bother their arse to go along to tynecastle or easter road but will fork out 55 quid for this. Doesnt sit right at all with me

So what, you’ve made it clear what you think of it and why you won’t go but wishing people a terrible day, deary me that’s just childish.

28-07-2019, 08:28 AM

It doesn’t have to sit right with you. People are entitled to spend their time and money doing what they wish, without having other people pontificate on those choices. There’ll be plenty people on here who smoke or drink or other activities that aren’t for everyone, which many others would look down on or could criticise, but don’t.

Things not sitting right with any one person can be a slippery slope - someone could make the point that using £400 on a season ticket for football when there’s people homeless and starving who could use that £400 to survive, doesn’t sit right. But I’m sure there are 12 thousand plus people who feel it’s right for them. And they’d be quite correct to feel that way. Just as there are people who feel it’s right for them to go to this match.

Theres an an awful lot of people on here who are very quick to tell the world how they won’t be going and how this type of thing is their type of thing. If it’s not for you, that’s fair enough, but many seem to be spending a lot of their time going on about something they want nothing to do with.

To those who are going today, hope you have a great time and an enjoyable match. I won’t be there, for various reasons, but I would have liked to have been.

Enjoy :greengrin

McSwanky
28-07-2019, 08:44 AM
Football tourists. Those who never posted on facebook or twitter about liverpool until they started playing well. The same ones who will openly slag old firm fans for the same thing. I have no problem with genuine liverpool fans who have supported them for years having their day but the majority of the people at the game today will be glory hunters. Those who dont bother their arse to go along to tynecastle or easter road but will fork out 55 quid for this. Doesnt sit right at all with meI'm going today. And none of your generalisations above apply to me. How can you be so sure who the majority of fans there will be?

You're coming across as arrogant, seld centred and very, very bitter. Can't you just live and let live?

Sent from my COL-L29 using Tapatalk

28-07-2019, 09:04 AM
Liverpool squad: Fabinho, Van Dijk, Wijnaldum, Lovren, Milner, Gomez, Henderson, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Lallana, Mignolet, Brewster, Robertson, Origi, Matip, Kent, Lewis, Hoever, Duncan, Wilson, Alexander-Arnold, Elliott, Van den Berg, Lonergan.

28-07-2019, 09:05 AM
I'm looking forward to it today. Meeting up with 68 parents and children from our local football team. Some will go to the fan zone, some will go for a pre match lunch, but I'm sure we'll all have a good day out. 🍺

Most of the boys will be at Easter road on Tuesday night, watching another English Premier League team against their favourites.

28-07-2019, 09:10 AM

Lol, is that not just the entire EPL nowadays.
I'm not bothered though,it's a chance to see my 2nd team in my hometown

28-07-2019, 09:13 AM
I hope no one will miss the Hibs game due to lack of funds and the bairns needing new school clothes.

28-07-2019, 09:14 AM
I hope no one will miss the Hibs game due to lack of funds and the bairns needing new school clothes.

Eh?

28-07-2019, 09:15 AM

I'm not going but, why are so many people bothered about what other folk spend their money on? 😒

28-07-2019, 09:16 AM
Liverpool squad: Fabinho, Van Dijk, Wijnaldum, Lovren, Milner, Gomez, Henderson, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Lallana, Mignolet, Brewster, Robertson, Origi, Matip, Kent, Lewis, Hoever, Duncan, Wilson, Alexander-Arnold, Elliott, Van den Berg, Lonergan.Wow thats some reserve squad Scouse 😆👍

28-07-2019, 09:17 AM
Wow thats some reserve squad Scouse 😆👍

Certainly is, imagine how strong the first team squad must be 😂

28-07-2019, 09:19 AM
I don't support either team but going with a few mates to the game which is something we rarely do as all support different Scottish teams (ones even a Jambo) so can never find a game we're all interested in.

Also, not sure where some of naysayers are getting their ticket prices but I've picked mine up for £28. I'm also going to watch us vs Newcastle on Tuesday and St Mirren on Saturday.

28-07-2019, 09:22 AM
Certainly is, imagine how strong the first team squad must be 😂😆 enjoy yer day mate 👍

28-07-2019, 09:25 AM
I hate the football tourists that come to Hibs games now...

P.s. can't wait for the game today!

28-07-2019, 09:27 AM
I'm now regretting not buying a ticket but I'm hoping it will be widely broadcast on Liverpool TV.

:pray:

28-07-2019, 09:33 AM
Eh?

So I hope we don’t get 6000 at Easter rd on Tuesday due to people spending their hard earned on a daft Liverpool promotional tour 👍

28-07-2019, 09:33 AM
Hope they do this every year, the reaction has been absolutely hilarious. So bitter over a daft friendly. "Everything that is wrong with the modern game" I mean FFS :faf:

It's a game of football.

28-07-2019, 09:35 AM
So I hope we don’t get 6000 at Easter rd on Tuesday due to people spending their hard earned on a daft Liverpool promotional tour 👍

A Sunday family day out with youngsters may well appeal more than a meaningless friendly at night! Everyone has a choice how they spend their cash.

28-07-2019, 09:37 AM

So what? Don’t pay the money or give give it any attention. Go for a nice walk instead.

28-07-2019, 09:41 AM
So what? Don’t pay the money or give give it any attention. Go for a nice walk instead.

No thanks. Imagine being out in that rain on a sunday :greengrin

28-07-2019, 09:44 AM
Hopefully Hibs or Hearts get to play a glamour friendly against Real Madrid or someone at Anfield. Great idea. It would capture people's imagination and gain us new fans.

So what, you’ve made it clear what you think of it and why you won’t go but wishing people a terrible day, deary me that’s just childish.

Yup very childish.

I hope the Napoli fans have a great day. :greengrin

No thanks. Imagine being out in that rain on a sunday :greengrin

Are you Scotsman hack Alan Patullo by any chance?

28-07-2019, 09:45 AM
Hope they do this every year, the reaction has been absolutely hilarious. So bitter over a daft friendly. "Everything that is wrong with the modern game" I mean FFS :faf:

It's a game of football.

Almost as hilarious as your posts, mate.

Mantis Toboggan
28-07-2019, 09:51 AM
This is now just blatant trolling from one individual who seems to be overly sensitive to rain as well as one off friendlies.

28-07-2019, 09:54 AM
This is now just blatant trolling from one individual who seems to be overly sensitive to rain as well as one off friendlies.

If you think im trolling report me then 👍 im not though. Giving a opinion isnt trolling as much as some on here think it is. Calling a hibs friendly meaningless but talking up a liverpool friendly on a hibs forum. Now thats trolling.

28-07-2019, 09:55 AM
So I hope we don’t get 6000 at Easter rd on Tuesday due to people spending their hard earned on a daft Liverpool promotional tour ��:agree: Guaranteed, indirectly this will be taking money away from Hibs yet people seem unconcerned with that!

28-07-2019, 09:55 AM
If its half as bad as our game against Barcelona I feel for the punters. I hated every minute of that watching Hibs getting humiliated by a team barely trying a leg. At least the teams will be evenly matched this time.

28-07-2019, 10:00 AM
:agree: Guaranteed, indirectly this will be taking money away from Hibs yet people seem unconcerned with that!

A lot of people never bothered to turn up v Alloa and Arbroath either nothing to do with this game today.

28-07-2019, 10:01 AM
Almost as hilarious as your posts, mate.

:faf: yours are much funnier

28-07-2019, 10:02 AM
A lot of people never bothered to turn up v Alloa and Arbroath either nothing to do with this game today.

It wasn't raining yesterday though... :dunno:

28-07-2019, 10:04 AM
If you think im trolling report me then 👍 im not though. Giving a opinion isnt trolling as much as some on here think it is. Calling a hibs friendly meaningless but talking up a liverpool friendly on a hibs forum. Now thats trolling.

😂 You are so entertaining........whoosh

28-07-2019, 10:06 AM

How many would you expect to be there on Tuesday if this game wasn't happening? :confused:

28-07-2019, 10:06 AM

Well it obv is or they don’t like Hibs?!

28-07-2019, 10:07 AM

More likely that a few (not many) decided they couldn't afford all three games and made a choice to go today. Maybe their kids were pushing to see Salah or Mane.

I regard today's kick about in the same way I do boxing, horse racing or Formula One ie boring and irrelevant. Others enjoy those sports though so I won't criticise them for having different tastes.

28-07-2019, 10:07 AM
How many would you expect to be there on Tuesday if this game wasn't happening? :confused:

We have 13000 (almost) STs. So half that turning up for games isn’t great.

28-07-2019, 10:08 AM
I am not going for reasons that are utterly irrelevant to the people who are. If you have tickets, I hope you have a great day out - this is the entertainment industry after all. I mean, people go to watch Hearts week in, week out, and you're berating them for going to watch two excellent footballing sides?

No entertainment in Hearts? You obviously missed yesterday's kickback match day thread!

28-07-2019, 10:09 AM
Maybe Hibs should arrange a friendly with Liverpool, ER would sell out.

28-07-2019, 10:09 AM
We have 13000 (almost) STs. So half that turning up for games isn’t great.

We have 12500 ST holders being asked to fork out more cash to watch s training fixture on a Tuesday. 10k crowd max

28-07-2019, 10:11 AM
Yup very childish.

I hope the Napoli fans have a great day. :greengrin

Thanks mate. 😁

gogsy23
28-07-2019, 10:13 AM
Are you Scotsman hack Alan Patullo by any chance?

He comes over as a very bitter man. Hampden is a terrible venue for watching sport and concerts. Little parking and getting away from it is a joke. Apart from our memorable days there its a hovel

28-07-2019, 10:15 AM
:agree: Guaranteed, indirectly this will be taking money away from Hibs yet people seem unconcerned with that!

How is it in any way taking money away from Hibs?

I really don't get that argument. We aren't playing the same day.

28-07-2019, 10:17 AM
Some overreaction posts from one or two posters on this thread today.

Because people won’t go on Tuesday as they are skint from spending £50+ watching the Harlem globe trotters

Heckingbottom has stated he doesn’t like friendly games I think his comments will be more of a factor of the crowd than what’s going on at Murrayfield today.

It's not. It's that simple. If you're using that argument, you could use it for anything. Hibs fan buys a new car? Ford are taking money away from Hibs. New film out in the cinema? Money could have been spent on Hibs. Hibs fan goes out to dinner? Big chain restaurant is robbing Hibs of fans. Any Hibs fan going to the Hibs Club etc before games? Could have just bought another Hibs fan a ticket, Hibs Club is taking money from Hibs.

I'm convinced that the vast majority of the posters saying that it's taking away from Hibs are trolling.

28-07-2019, 10:18 AM
Hopefully Hibs or Hearts get to play a glamour friendly against Real Madrid or someone at Anfield. Great idea. It would capture people's imagination and gain us new fans.

About as likely as Hearts winning the league. When I was in Singapore went to see Arsenal vs PSG (last year). It was very competitive and lots of Arsenal players playing to impress. Arsenal fans came from all over Asia to see their team, bringing great home made banners. The atmosphere was electric at seeing their heroes. The players appreciated iit and lifted their game. Ozil got a heroes reception for all that Turkish guff he was getting back home. All over the city there where fans conventions - it was like seeing kids at christmas. I doubt if today's will come close to the action on the pitch or the sheer joy of the fans.

28-07-2019, 10:22 AM
Hopefully this will become an annual event with Murrayfield hosting a top premier team against foreign opposition. there is certainly a massive market for it.

28-07-2019, 10:22 AM
Hibs had a low crowd v Alloa last Saturday. Probably more went to the proclaimers at night don’t see anyone blaming them as they are Liverpool v Napoli

28-07-2019, 10:25 AM
Hopefully this will become an annual event with Murrayfield hosting a top premier team against foreign opposition. there is certainly a massive market for it.

:fishin:

28-07-2019, 10:27 AM

Not really just stating the obvious, if it’s Man City or Utd a whole different set of people will back it, some of whom are against today no doubt.

28-07-2019, 10:33 AM
Not really just stating the obvious, if it’s Man City or Utd a whole different set of people will back it, some of whom are against today no doubt.

Why the name change again Boatman?

28-07-2019, 10:34 AM

Obvious mate. Most Hibs fans are not rich so they have a budget. Many will go today's game with Kids and family instead of watching Betfred cup or Tuesdsy's friendly. So less revenue for Hibs.

28-07-2019, 10:36 AM

A wee tournament with Hibs and Hearts and two big non Scottish teams would be good. Call it the International Festival Cup.

28-07-2019, 10:37 AM
Why the name change again Boatman?

If you read the getting over losing someone thread on the private board, I for a period felt I wanted to lie low under a different name. This weekend and the visit of Liverpool felt the ideal time to resume as normal. It will never change again.

Thanks mate. 😁

No problem mate, mind take your wellies and a brolly with you, it's wild out there! :wink:

If you read the getting over losing someone thread on the private board, I for a period felt I wanted to lie low under a different name. This weekend and the visit of Liverpool felt the ideal time to resume as normal. It will never change again.

Good man, I did read it

H18S NX
28-07-2019, 10:40 AM
I hope everyone going to the game today has a great day out,just wish it was Man city,cause i would be there.:aok:

28-07-2019, 10:51 AM
Because people won’t go on Tuesday as they are skint from spending £50+ watching the Harlem globe trotters

Aw for ****s sake. If I had known the Harlem Globe Trotters were in Edinburgh, I would have been there instead of Murrayfield.

Weir07
28-07-2019, 10:54 AM
Of course people are entitled to do what they want and spend their money as they wish, just as they're entitled to support which ever football team they want to but personally I support an Edinburgh club and regularly attend matches, can't understand why anyone would actively support the Old Firm or an English premiership team if they're from Edinburgh or buy expensive sports subscriptions so that money goes to already vastly wealthy clubs, this "glamour" friendly at Murryfield falls squarely in that category. Appreciate others will have a different point of view but this is a fans forum so there will be a range of opinions, to be honest, it's not exactly left field to have a negative view of this friendly if you want the best for Hibs or Scottish football in general.

28-07-2019, 10:56 AM
Aw for ****s sake. If I had known the Harlem Globe Trotters were in Edinburgh, I would have been there instead of Murrayfield.

They kuntz get everywhere. Damn these global yank sports enterprises stealing from the pockets of great British institutions like LFC.

28-07-2019, 11:03 AM
It's not. It's that simple. If you're using that argument, you could use it for anything. Hibs fan buys a new car? Ford are taking money away from Hibs. New film out in the cinema? Money could have been spent on Hibs. Hibs fan goes out to dinner? Big chain restaurant is robbing Hibs of fans. Any Hibs fan going to the Hibs Club etc before games? Could have just bought another Hibs fan a ticket, Hibs Club is taking money from Hibs.

I'm convinced that the vast majority of the posters saying that it's taking away from Hibs are trolling.

Agree 100%. Of course everyone has a budget but if you want to go to a Hibs game then you will prioritise it over other things. Attending any kind of football game is a luxury therefore as you say we should presumably be looking to close down all the boozers, theatres, cinemas etc as they are taking away from Hibs.

28-07-2019, 11:04 AM
I think the match attenders and the naysayers should organise a pre-match ruck on The Tynie Plaza before meeting in The Diggers after the game to buy each other copious amounts of 80 shilling before heading out for a nice Sunday night drive.

sahpaton
28-07-2019, 11:07 AM
I wasn’t at Elgin on Friday but I bought bread and milk this morning, does someone wanna come and confiscate my season ticket?

28-07-2019, 11:13 AM
I wasn’t at Elgin on Friday but I bought bread and milk this morning, does someone wanna come and confiscate my season ticket?

Depends if it was 2 or 4 pinter

28-07-2019, 11:14 AM

You are ok as long as you are not saving up to see the show game at Murrayfield.

28-07-2019, 11:58 AM
I hate the football tourists that come to Hibs games now...

P.s. can't wait for the game today!

I think they add something a bit different. Nice to see them enjoying our club and city and it's not like they're doing any genuine fan out of a ticket when we rarely sell out anyway. Often spend a bit of dosh too.

28-07-2019, 11:59 AM
Actually wish I got a ticket for this now

28-07-2019, 12:09 PM
Agree 100%. Of course everyone has a budget but if you want to go to a Hibs game then you will prioritise it over other things. Attending any kind of football game is a luxury therefore as you say we should presumably be looking to close down all the boozers, theatres, cinemas etc as they are taking away from Hibs.

You're not comparing like with like. Going for a meal or to the Zoo is a very different experience to attending a football match.

Holding a football match at Murrayfield between two teams with no connection to Edinburgh is direct competition for the three senior clubs in the city at a time of year when they are playing League Cup games or holding friendlies of their own.

28-07-2019, 12:13 PM
You're not comparing like with like. Going for a meal or to the Zoo is a very different experience to attending a football match.

Holding a football match at Murrayfield between two teams with no connection to Edinburgh is direct competition for the three senior clubs in the city at a time of year when they are playing League Cup games or holding friendlies of their own.

It’s not direct competition, they’re not playing at the same time. If people had to go to one or the other then it would be direct competition and people getting worked up about it would make a little more sense. As it stands it’s getting played on a Sunday night when people would maybe go out for dinner, go to the pictures or whatever else people want to do with their free time. This is just another option that people have been given. One which isn’t competing with Hibs as there is absolutely nothing Hibs related happening on a Sunday evening.

28-07-2019, 12:18 PM
It’s not direct competition, they’re not playing at the same time. If people had to go to one or the other then it would be direct competition and people getting worked up about it would make a little more sense. As it stands it’s getting played on a Sunday night when people would maybe go out for dinner, go to the pictures or whatever else people want to do with their free time. This is just another option that people have been given. One which isn’t competing with Hibs as there is absolutely nothing Hibs related happening on a Sunday evening.

That is not how people budget. They will be deciding do I go to the Abroath and Newcastle games or the show game. Most would be in on Sunday night. The attendance at the Abroath game was poor and I think the Newcastle game will be poorly attended. I think that has been impacted by people going to the show game. The Abroath game was actually vital: our form not to good and we struggled against them in the friendly. We really had to win to progress in what is Scotland's third competition.

Certainly is, imagine how strong the first team squad must be [emoji23]Salah (and Sane?) on African Cup of Nations leave, judging by former's Instagram.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

They are direct competition because they are a similar experience ie football games. Going for a meal isn't direct competition because it's a different experience. Most people like variety in their lives.

Anyway, enjoy yourself this at Murrayfield since that's your thing.

28-07-2019, 12:27 PM
I bought an Eli Manning New York Giants shirt in New York once, I’m now feeling really guilty that I didn’t save my money and buy a Thierry Gathuessi Hibs top when I got back instead 😭. Sorry everyone.

28-07-2019, 12:29 PM
Salah (and Sane?) on African Cup of Nations leave, judging by former's Instagram.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

That was over a week ago at least for those two.

28-07-2019, 12:32 PM
They are direct competition because they are a similar experience ie football games. Going for a meal isn't direct competition because it's a different experience. Most people like variety in their lives.

Anyway, enjoy yourself this at Murrayfield since that's your thing.

If I had a limited budget I would have gone to the Abroath game. Not the Newcastle game as meaningless and the toon treating as training exercise and save money for next round of Betfred. But I am a Hibs fan first and a football second.

28-07-2019, 12:33 PM
I bought an Eli Manning New York Giants shirt in New York once, I’m now feeling really guilty that I didn’t save my money and buy a Thierry Gathuessi Hibs top when I got back instead 😭. Sorry everyone.

As long as you wear your New York giants shirt to the Newcastle friendly then I doubt anyone would mind.

hibby rae
28-07-2019, 12:40 PM
Probs worth pointing out, in the context of the Hibs missing out argument. It's not just Hibs supporters going to today's game. It's not even just people from Edinburgh going. The city will see a massive influx of people today. So the city is benefitting from this. As has already been stated I think this would be great to see every year.

Today's game is a once in a lifetime opportunity for most of us attending today.

28-07-2019, 12:43 PM
Will this surpass Easter Roads record as the highest attendance for a game in Edinburgh?

wallpaperman
28-07-2019, 12:49 PM
Will this surpass Easter Roads record as the highest attendance for a game in Edinburgh?

Yep, if the full amount of tickets based on Murrayfield’s capacity have been sold.

Bit sad, especially for a training match.

norhfc
28-07-2019, 01:03 PM
Is the game being televised, if so which channel ?

28-07-2019, 01:07 PM
Not my bag but I really hope that everyone enjoys the game. Also hope that the piss poor weather hasn't put a damper on any tourists who have come to Scotland for the game

28-07-2019, 01:08 PM
Have my full Liverpool kit on with my half and half scarf.

28-07-2019, 01:11 PM
People getting all upset because folk have decided to attend this game. Seriously, get a life.

If people go along today and enjoy themselves there's no harm it.

If tickets were still sale today I'd probably have popped along myself.

wpj
28-07-2019, 01:18 PM
Yep, I hope everyone attending has a great day. I don't think anyone who has been on .net for a while will doubt Scouse's love of Liverpool so I wish you a great day (and I'm a Toffee)

JDT
28-07-2019, 01:19 PM
Is it just me who doesn't understand why Scottish people support English teams more then have the cheek so say Scottish football is s**t?

28-07-2019, 01:42 PM
Probs worth pointing out, in the context of the Hibs missing out argument. It's not just Hibs supporters going to today's game. It's not even just people from Edinburgh going. The city will see a massive influx of people today. So the city is benefitting from this. As has already been stated I think this would be great to see every year.

Today's game is a once in a lifetime opportunity for most of us attending today.

I get the City benefiting bit, but if Liverpool or Napoli are coming to Edinburgh, just think they should be playing Hibs or Hearts, or both. Money goes into the clubs, rather the SRU’s coffers

Rant over, enjoy the match whoever is going

28-07-2019, 01:48 PM
That is not how people budget. They will be deciding do I go to the Abroath and Newcastle games or the show game. Most would be in on Sunday night. The attendance at the Abroath game was poor and I think the Newcastle game will be poorly attended. I think that has been impacted by people going to the show game. The Abroath game was actually vital: our form not to good and we struggled against them in the friendly. We really had to win to progress in what is Scotland's third competition.

Do they not? I’m certainly not deciding if I go to this or one of the Hibs games? I’ve decided I’ll go to this rather than go out for dinner like I do most Sundays. I’ll also be at the Hibs games. So this game for me was in direct competition with other non football related things I would have been doing today. Not in competition with Hibs. I’d suggest lots of people will be the same.

If you think they two games would/will have had noticeably better attendances if this game wasn’t on then I’d suggest you go back to previous years and look at pre season attendances and that should set your mind at ease. Hibs aren’t losing out because of this game.

28-07-2019, 01:50 PM
Has there been any trouble yet?

28-07-2019, 01:50 PM

Why should there be any trouble today?

28-07-2019, 01:51 PM

Trouble with who?

28-07-2019, 01:51 PM
I get the City benefiting bit, but if Liverpool or Napoli are coming to Edinburgh, just think they should be playing Hibs or Hearts, or both. Money goes into the clubs, rather the SRU’s coffers

Rant over, enjoy the match whoever is going

A family of Liverpool fans staying at the Murrayfield hotel this weekend went to Easter Road yesterday and spent over £200 on strips, so some money is going to in Hibs at least 😉

chippy
28-07-2019, 01:52 PM
Do they not? I’m certainly not deciding if I go to this or one of the Hibs games? I’ve decided I’ll go to this rather than go out for dinner like I do most Sundays. I’ll also be at the Hibs games. So this game for me was in direct competition with other non football related things I would have been doing today. Not in competition with Hibs. I’d suggest lots of people will be the same.

If you think they two games would/will have had noticeably better attendances if this game wasn’t on then I’d suggest you go back to previous years and look at pre season attendances and that should set your mind at ease. Hibs aren’t losing out because of this game.

I kinda don’t mind Liverpool as a great club but watching the droves of folk going to Murrayfield feels wrong to me unless it was to play Hibs or Hearts. Feels like football imperialism. If this is the future of football count me out

28-07-2019, 01:53 PM
I kinda don’t mind Liverpool as a great club but watching the droves of folk going to Murrayfield feels wrong to me unless it was to play Hibs or Hearts. Feels like football imperialism. If this is the future of football country m out

Brexit will sort it.

28-07-2019, 01:55 PM

Yes trouble getting served, place is rammed.

chippy
28-07-2019, 02:08 PM
Brexit will sort it.onlybif we believe

Johnrebus2
28-07-2019, 02:19 PM
Hope it pisses down and is a ***** game.

Glory Seekers.

supermcginn
28-07-2019, 02:20 PM
Pubs are buzzing, great day out so far.

28-07-2019, 02:20 PM

Glory Seekers.

Cracking first post chief. You'll do well on here. :aok:

28-07-2019, 02:21 PM

Glory Seekers.

^^^^^

Jealous

28-07-2019, 02:25 PM

Glory Seekers.

Cheers pal enjoy your bitterness.

Johnrebus2
28-07-2019, 02:30 PM
Cracking first post chief. You'll do well on here. :aok:

Many thanks. Actually it's about 20,000 posts. Swore after 19/5/2012, I would not watch Hibernian or any other Scottish game until Petrie had left. Now he has, kept my word and have bought season tickets in FF Upper.

28-07-2019, 02:30 PM

Glory Seekers.

What a horrible post. Many attendees will be parents taking their kids along.

Johnrebus2
28-07-2019, 02:31 PM
Cheers pal enjoy your bitterness.

Many thanks, it's a pleasure.

x

chippy
28-07-2019, 02:32 PM
Brexit will sort it.onlybif we believe

28-07-2019, 02:33 PM
Mignolet
Arnold
Matip
Van Dijk
Robertson
Fabinho
Henderson
Milner
Wijnaldum
Oxlade-Chamberlain
Origi

28-07-2019, 02:34 PM

Glory Seekers.

Can we make this guy Admin. 👍

28-07-2019, 02:38 PM

Glory Seekers.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

You must be a lot of fun :na na:

28-07-2019, 02:39 PM
Many thanks. Actually it's about 20,000 posts. Swore after 19/5/2012, I would not watch Hibernian or any other Scottish game until Petrie had left. Now he has, kept my word and have bought season tickets in FF Upper.

Why the new account then? What was your previous accounts username? Petrie is now Chairman of there SFA though. :confused:

I've only ever seen Hearts fans refer to the that cup final using the date.:confused:

28-07-2019, 02:41 PM

28-07-2019, 02:43 PM

So much youve said that twice now?

28-07-2019, 02:45 PM

For someone not interested in this game, you ain’t half spending a fair bit of time on this thread

28-07-2019, 02:46 PM
For someone not interested in this game, you ain’t half spending a fair bit of time on this thread

Ill post on whatever thread i like as many times as i like. 👍

28-07-2019, 02:46 PM

Probably thought it would hack you off, job done.

28-07-2019, 02:48 PM
Probably thought it would hack you off, job done.

Hacked off �� i only pointed out hes posted the same thing twice. Settle down.

Johnrebus2
28-07-2019, 02:53 PM
Why the new account then? What was your previous accounts username? Petrie is now Chairman of there SFA though. :confused:

I've only ever seen Hearts fans refer to the that cup final using the date.:confused:

That's not how I would spell, 'Their''.

28-07-2019, 02:56 PM

That’s not how I’d spell ‘the’.

Johnrebus2
28-07-2019, 03:01 PM
That’s not how I’d spell ‘the’.

True. Very true.

28-07-2019, 03:01 PM

Instead of answering the questions you pick up on a typo...:rolleyes:

28-07-2019, 03:05 PM
Hacked off �� i only pointed out hes posted the same thing twice. Settle down.

I'm perfectly settled, you on the other hand are acting like the end of a bell, to use a phrase from JKB's glorious thread from yesterday.

28-07-2019, 03:09 PM

Just so you know, Rod Petrie is an absolute Hibernian legend and you missed a cracking time supporting Hibs recently.

JimboHibs
28-07-2019, 03:14 PM
I kinda don’t mind Liverpool as a great club but watching the droves of folk going to Murrayfield feels wrong to me unless it was to play Hibs or Hearts. Feels like football imperialism. If this is the future of football count me out

Tbf is has been like that for a while now,glamour friendlies as they are described even the pre-season tournaments are generally contested by bigger clubs !!

28-07-2019, 03:28 PM
A glorious sunny afternoon here at Murrayfield

28-07-2019, 03:28 PM

It's ok you didn't miss anything of note ....

28-07-2019, 03:31 PM
Murrayfield is a far better stadium than Hampden.

28-07-2019, 03:35 PM

Biggest and best stadium in the country. Football has been very shortsighted by spending big money to buy and the do up Hampden. Money that would have been better spent improving facilities for grass roots football

28-07-2019, 03:44 PM
Forza Napoli Sempre!

28-07-2019, 03:52 PM

Not for football.

28-07-2019, 04:00 PM

Neither are particularly good.

Johnrebus2
28-07-2019, 04:04 PM
Just so you know, Rod Petrie is an absolute Hibernian legend and you missed a cracking time supporting Hibs recently.

You have a short memory.

28-07-2019, 04:15 PM
Glamour friendlies. What's the point?
Money I suppose.

ionahibby
28-07-2019, 04:21 PM
That linesman clown from Friday officiating too??

28-07-2019, 04:25 PM
Liverpool getting beat 😂😂😂😂

28-07-2019, 04:28 PM

Why is that funny ?

28-07-2019, 04:28 PM
Why is that funny ?

It makes me happy.

2 now btw 😂😂😂

28-07-2019, 04:29 PM

How to confuse 67k glory hunters

28-07-2019, 04:32 PM
Dylan Mcgeouch at the game with Paul Hanlon. Glory hunters as well I suppose

28-07-2019, 04:34 PM
Quite a few empty seats. Can you buy drink in the concourse for this game?

28-07-2019, 04:34 PM

They are well known Napoli fans mate 👍

28-07-2019, 04:37 PM
Pretty lack lustre stuff according to BBC.

28-07-2019, 04:38 PM

It’s pish, but it is a pre season friendly tbf

28-07-2019, 04:38 PM

Who would have thought it

28-07-2019, 04:40 PM
Is it just me who doesn't understand why Scottish people support English teams more then have the cheek so say Scottish football is s**t?

What's to understand?

I guess they support English teams because they think Scottish football is s**t.

28-07-2019, 04:45 PM

Doesnt he know he should be boycotting this game so he can come to Easter road on tuesday

28-07-2019, 04:45 PM

What do they expect? A full-on battle between two motivated sides performing at 100%?

I can't see one player in either team I'd cross the street to watch to be honest. The crowd must be all Reds and fairweather Reds.

28-07-2019, 04:46 PM
Quite a few empty seats. Can you buy drink in the concourse for this game?

Alcohol's banned in every stadium in Scotland for football matches.

28-07-2019, 04:47 PM
Why is that funny ?

It makes me chuckle. :greengrin

28-07-2019, 04:49 PM
It’s pish, but it is a pre season friendly tbf

I detest pre season friendlies to be honest, even when Hibs are involved

28-07-2019, 04:51 PM

I thought so

Tom Hart RIP
28-07-2019, 04:55 PM

I’m there and just saw a guy walking past with a pint in a plastic container.

28-07-2019, 04:56 PM
Neither are particularly good.

Murrayfield would be ok apart from that stupid running track.

Tom Hart RIP
28-07-2019, 04:57 PM
Ps decent game. Napoli look good going forward. Both teams taking it seriously.

28-07-2019, 04:58 PM
I detest pre season friendlies to be honest, even when Hibs are involved

Snap.
This is worse.
Just a massive collection of money from Scottish folks to feed the multi million pound machines that are Liverpool and Napoli and not forgetting the rugby authorities.
At least our version on Tuesday is only £15.

28-07-2019, 04:59 PM
What's to understand?

I guess they support English teams because they think Scottish football is s**t.

And Scottish football won’t get any better if people are spending their hard earned on the English product.

28-07-2019, 05:07 PM
I’m there and just saw a guy walking past with a pint in a plastic container.

It's against the law not sure how that's possible.

28-07-2019, 05:12 PM

Probably a Scouser! 😉

28-07-2019, 05:12 PM

Probably an alcohol free pint.

28-07-2019, 05:14 PM
Probably an alcohol free pint.

What’s the point? 😂

wallpaperman
Sounds like the Liverpool franchise are really putting on a show to entertain the locals who spent a decent amount of money on the game.🤔

Is it the “law” or is it ground rules set by the SFA/SPFL?

28-07-2019, 05:15 PM
3-0 Napoli 😂😂

Archie70
28-07-2019, 05:20 PM

It’s a friendly, which I don’t think are covered as a designated sporting event so irrespective if it is held at a designated sporting event alcohol could be sold legally...I think

Tom Hart RIP
28-07-2019, 05:22 PM

I was surprised when I saw him. He could have brought it from the hospitality I suppose and no one stopped him??

28-07-2019, 05:24 PM
It’s a friendly, which I don’t think are covered as a designated sporting event so irrespective if it is held at a designated sporting event alcohol could be sold legally...I think

Is the correct answer, it is not a designated sporting event according to the definition under the relevant act.

28-07-2019, 05:30 PM
Just switched this on, it may only be a friendly but fair play to the crowd, they are making a helluva noise and creating one of the best atmospheres i have seen in years. :wink:

28-07-2019, 05:34 PM

It's nothing to do with the SFA/SPFL, it's the law in Scotland.

Some people are suggesting the law may not apply to this match as it's a friendly. Personally not aware of any matches being exempt to this law.

28-07-2019, 05:35 PM
I'm watching this and both teams are playing at half-cock. Typical friendly.

Nothing to see here.

28-07-2019, 05:45 PM
Typical friendly as expected.

Liverpool awful especially without key players.

Napoli looked good but Liverpool made them look good.

Left at 70 mins as was like walking football.

Cringed at folk getting half and half scarves etc and saw few folk even get angry at Liverpool.

Bobby Madden was awful as ref too - not quite sure how he managed to get game.

Modern day football really fleecing fans with ticket prices etc as expected.

28-07-2019, 05:49 PM
Murrayfield would be ok apart from that stupid running track.

And the expanse of redundant ground behind the goals. Been in the ground a couple of times and wasn’t that impressed. Prefer Hampden and all her faults.

28-07-2019, 05:50 PM
Typical friendly as expected.

Liverpool awful especially without key players.

Napoli looked good but Liverpool made them look good.

Left at 70 mins as was like walking football.

Cringed at folk getting half and half scarves etc and saw few folk even get angry at Liverpool.

Bobby Madden was awful as ref too - not quite sure how he managed to get game.

Modern day football really fleecing fans with ticket prices etc as expected.

Left with 10 to go. Anyone who wears half and half scarves should be immediately given a lifetime ban from football.

Napoli though were outstanding.

Archie70
28-07-2019, 05:51 PM
It's nothing to do with the SFA/SPFL, it's the law in Scotland.

Some people are suggesting the law may not apply to this match as it's a friendly. Personally not aware of any matches being exempt to this law.

Correct it is the law under the criminal law consolidation act..but it only comes into play for games covered by fifa, uefa or the sfa. This is neither so they could sell alcohol if they wanted to.

28-07-2019, 05:55 PM
Correct it is the law under the criminal law consolidation act..but it only comes into play for games covered by fifa, uefa or the sfa. This is neither so they could sell alcohol if they wanted to.

Fair enough, never heard of that exemption.

28-07-2019, 05:56 PM
thank goodness the 75 Napoli fans created some atmosphere, 67k ? i heard a few pins drop

28-07-2019, 05:57 PM
And the expanse of redundant ground behind the goals. Been in the ground a couple of times and wasn’t that impressed. Prefer Hampden and all her faults.

Murrayfield better stadium and facilities - more toilets etc.

Worst seat in Murrayfield better than Hampden.

Was amazed there were still massive queues at food outlets even though there were loads.

Scotland needs it own stadium like Cardiff.

28-07-2019, 05:57 PM
Sometimes joy on wee bairns faces is what its all about. Bitterness can take a back seat for a while.

burtis97
28-07-2019, 06:03 PM
Dylan Mcgeough was at the game 🙄🙄🙄

28-07-2019, 06:05 PM
Sometimes joy on wee bairns faces is what its all about. Bitterness can take a back seat for a while.

Fair point - glad youngsters managed to see some higher level than SPL.

Liverpool do need to sign some players for more depth if they want to challenge City again though.

supermcginn
28-07-2019, 06:05 PM
Napoli were a joy to watch, insigne is class. Murrayfield is excellent.

28-07-2019, 06:08 PM

How did Callejon play?

28-07-2019, 06:09 PM

Thought the boy Milik was outstanding.

Mantis Toboggan
28-07-2019, 06:10 PM

He was indeed, Liverpool couldn't get near him

28-07-2019, 06:24 PM

Insigne was worth the admission money alone. Wonderful player.

Only downside for me is hearing Paul Hanlon was there. Must mean he’ll be lost to Scottish football forever.

28-07-2019, 06:30 PM
Dylan Mcgeough was at the game 🙄🙄🙄

Your the 100th post to tell us that.

28-07-2019, 06:40 PM
Big thanks to Liverpool for showing the youngsters that English football isn't all it's cracked up to be 😉

28-07-2019, 06:42 PM
sources have told me Dylan McGeouch was there

28-07-2019, 06:46 PM
What do they expect? A full-on battle between two motivated sides performing at 100%?

I can't see one player in either team I'd cross the street to watch to be honest. The crowd must be all Reds and fairweather Reds.

Napoli #21, absolutely strolled through the match. It didn't liven up until Liverpool put on their last 4 subs, the young yins.

Napoli waltzed through the Liverpool defence at will, and you could have driven a coach and horses down their left wing.

Again and again they pinged the ball from right to left.

Liverpool couldn't cope.

Two of our boys loved it, but some others were disappointed with the European champs.

Oh well, they'll get their hibs fix on Tuesday.

ShadesLongThrow
28-07-2019, 06:47 PM
Quite enjoyed that. If the Napoli number 24 ever fancied a season in Scotland, he’d be very welcome at ER. Totally ran the game.

28-07-2019, 06:50 PM

Its the actyally enacted by Parliament law. Introduced after the Ugly Sisters pitched battle at Hampden a few decades ago.

28-07-2019, 06:55 PM
Just seen some of the pictures from the game and I am now going to have a moan. By all means play these games but why were Liverpool playing in Black. Napoli play in light blue so there would be no colour clash. I really hate to see that. I'm a bit of a old fart when it comes to football so Liverpool play in red unless there is a clash. It's like Hibs playing in purple, as much as I think the top is ok, we should only wear it if there is a clash. Rant over and I hope everyone who went had a good day out😃

CLASS OF 72 -73
28-07-2019, 06:58 PM
Just seen some of the pictures from the game and I am now going to have a moan. By all means play these games but why were Liverpool playing in Black. Napoli play in light blue so there would be no colour clash. I really hate to see that. I'm a bit of a old fart when it comes to football so Liverpool play in red unless there is a clash. It's like Hibs playing in purple, as much as I think the top is ok, we should only wear it if there is a clash. Rant over and I hope everyone who went had a good day out😃

28-07-2019, 06:59 PM

Marketing the new third strip.

28-07-2019, 07:03 PM

Got fo be joking. Absolute night and day from Hampden.

28-07-2019, 07:04 PM

I get that but do you think that will help shift some more tops? I just don't like it as it's not the real Liverpool strip, and I especially hate black strips.

28-07-2019, 07:06 PM

Jesus! More funds removed from Hibs coffers, maybe.

28-07-2019, 07:07 PM
I especially hate black strips.

Reported.

wallpaperman
28-07-2019, 07:12 PM
Yes!! Official attendance was 65,442, they couldn’t beat our 65,860. 😝

28-07-2019, 07:18 PM
Reported.

😲😲😲
Not keen on white ones either

28-07-2019, 07:18 PM
Got fo be joking. Absolute night and day from Hampden.

Agreed. Hamdump is well named.

28-07-2019, 07:20 PM
Yes!! Official attendance was 65,442, they couldn’t beat our 65,860. 😝

👍

28-07-2019, 07:30 PM

He was excellent. I'm not a Liverpool fan so whilst I was hoping for a bit more from them I was really enjoying watching Napoli go forward. Every time I they went down their left it looked like a goal was coming.

28-07-2019, 07:40 PM
Insigne was tremendous.
Napoli were tremendous.
Murrayfield is much better than Hampden.
The new rules regarding restarts look like they will make a big difference this year. Teams that play out from the back well can defeat a high press.
Enjoyable day.