View Full Version : Liverpool friendly @ Murrayfield

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

10-06-2019, 10:34 AM
Wow …. That's the walk up price for a Hibs Cat A game and the cut off point for me when arguments about Hibs pricing are on the go. I always defend Hibs on their general ST and walk up pricing, with the only time I agree its too high being the £28 for the Ugly sisters and Hearts.

If those prices are correct I'm not as worried about this game's effect as I was.

It’s actually £25 plus ticketmastet charges. Not cheap but I consider it decent value.

10-06-2019, 10:43 AM
Cheapest £28, most expensive is £60 per ticket plus the £7 charge so £67 each for East Stand in pre sale just now.

That's disgraceful.

McSwanky
10-06-2019, 10:58 AM
Aye, but you’ll get to see James Milner going through the motions. Worth every penny.

That's the spirit. Destroy your own point in one fell swoop by deliberately choosing one of the players that nobody will be going specifically to see! Top work.

Just got tickets for me and the family, should be a good wee evening. Hope you enjoy whatever you decide to do instead. Win win! :thumbsup:

10-06-2019, 11:01 AM
It’s actually £25 plus ticketmastet charges. Not cheap but I consider it decent value.

Perhaps if it was a competitive match mate. But this is a friendly which by and large tend to be tepid affairs …. the worst, the very worst, football match I ever attended was Sporting Lisbon v Feyenoord in a pre season tournament at St James park years ago, even the ref looked like he was nodding off it was so boring :greengrin

10-06-2019, 11:01 AM
I've no issue with the game being in Edinburgh but the pricing is awful.

If people want to be mugs and pay it then why wouldn't they charge high prices?

McSwanky
10-06-2019, 11:02 AM
Wow …. That's the walk up price for a Hibs Cat A game and the cut off point for me when arguments about Hibs pricing are on the go. I always defend Hibs on their general ST and walk up pricing, with the only time I agree its too high being the £28 for the Ugly sisters and Hearts.

If those prices are correct I'm not as worried about this game's effect as I was.

Why do you think they're charging so much? It sounds like the pricing levels have taken you by surprise - they were about what I would have expected. But I'm glad you're not so worried any more. :thumbsup:

10-06-2019, 11:10 AM
Why do you think they're charging so much? It sounds like the pricing levels have taken you by surprise - they were about what I would have expected. But I'm glad you're not so worried any more. :thumbsup:

Not a surprise mate, considering they are from a league where the fans have demonstrated about ticket prices.

10-06-2019, 11:11 AM
That's disgraceful.

I disagree.

10-06-2019, 11:14 AM
Perhaps if it was a competitive match mate. But this is a friendly which by and large tend to be tepid affairs …. the worst, the very worst, football match I ever attended was Sporting Lisbon v Feyenoord in a pre season tournament at St James park years ago, even the ref looked like he was nodding off it was so boring :greengrin

I paid more for the Barcelona friendly at Wembley and this is literally on my doorstep with no travel or accommodation costs, suits me fine.

HFC93
10-06-2019, 11:14 AM
That's the spirit. Destroy your own point in one fell swoop by deliberately choosing one of the players that nobody will be going specifically to see! Top work.

Just got tickets for me and the family, should be a good wee evening. Hope you enjoy whatever you decide to do instead. Win win! :thumbsup:

Harsh on Milner.

McSwanky
10-06-2019, 11:16 AM
Not a surprise mate, considering they are from a league where the fans have demonstrated about ticket prices.

So you expected the ticket prices to be this high, and yet you were obviously really concerned about the effect this game would have on the Hibs support in the future. Then you heard what the ticket prices were, and you're not so worried any more?

Something doesn't add up!

McSwanky
10-06-2019, 11:17 AM
Harsh on Milner.

Comedy genius, well done! :top marks

pollution
10-06-2019, 11:19 AM
I have been dipping in and out with this thread so apologies if already asked: are Liverpool fans happy with this home game?

How many are prepared to travel??

10-06-2019, 11:25 AM
If people want to be mugs and pay it then why wouldn't they charge high prices?

Quite disrespectful to call fellow Hibs fans mugs, but you bash on.

10-06-2019, 11:26 AM

They pricing levels are surprising because they are higher than the ticket prices for the same fixture in the Champions League last November at Anfield.

Adult prices for the Champions League Game started at £9, with the most expensive ticket being £59.

https://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/tickets/324657-liverpool-v-napoli-ticket-selling-details

HFC93
10-06-2019, 11:28 AM
Comedy genius, well done! :top marks

Won it all, 61 caps for England and fifth most Premier League appearances. Please show more respect.

James Milner > Mo Salah

10-06-2019, 11:34 AM
They pricing levels are surprising because they are higher than the ticket prices for the same fixture in the Champions League last November at Anfield.

Adult prices for the Champions League Game started at £9, with the most expensive ticket being £59.

https://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/tickets/324657-liverpool-v-napoli-ticket-selling-details

£9 was a junior section price not an adult

So you expected the ticket prices to be this high, and yet you were obviously really concerned about the effect this game would have on the Hibs support in the future. Then you heard what the ticket prices were, and you're not so worried any more?

Something doesn't add up!

Well because I don't believe so many folk will be willing to pay that amount to watch Liverpool have a kick about … not sure what doesn't add up :greengrin And for the record I didn't 'expect' the ticket prices to be high, in fact I never mentioned the cost until it was confirmed a few posts ago, I'm just not that surprised that tickets are expensive for this.

McSwanky
Won it all, 61 caps for England and fifth most Premier League appearances. Please show more respect.

James Milner > Mo Salah

I have literally no answer to that. I'm out!

McSwanky
10-06-2019, 11:36 AM
Well because I don't believe so many folk will be willing to pay that amount to watch Liverpool have a kick about … not sure what doesn't add up :greengrin And for the record I didn't 'expect' the ticket prices to be high, in fact I never mentioned the cost until it was confirmed a few posts ago, I'm just not that surprised that tickets are expensive for this.

Fair enough. I've had enough of arguing abut this now anyway, my attention span has never been that good!

Hope you have a nice day on the 28th July, whatever you decide to do! :thumbsup:

10-06-2019, 11:40 AM
Fair enough. I've had enough of arguing abut this now anyway, my attention span has never been that good!

Hope you have a nice day on the 28th July, whatever you decide to do! :thumbsup:

I'll be outside Murrayfield carrying a large placard with 'DOWN WITH THIS SORT OF THING' written on it :greengrin

McSwanky
10-06-2019, 11:43 AM
I'll be outside Murrayfield carrying a large placard with 'DOWN WITH THIS SORT OF THING' written on it :greengrin

:soapbox: :greengrin

GreenOnions
10-06-2019, 11:43 AM

Careful now

10-06-2019, 11:56 AM
£9 was a junior section price not an adult

"Adults: £9*-£59

*Local general sale price"

It literally tells you the prices if you follow the link. Regardless, the most expensive ticket for a decider to see if Liverpool progress in the Champions League is still cheaper than the most expensive for a friendly at Murrayfield.

10-06-2019, 12:01 PM

*Local general sale price"

It literally tells you the prices if you follow the link. Regardless, the most expensive ticket for a decider to see if Liverpool progress in the Champions League is still cheaper than the most expensive for a friendly at Murrayfield.

£9 is the junior price

10-06-2019, 12:02 PM
£9 is the junior price

Literally copied and pasted from the link.

Over 65s: £9*-£44

Young Adults: £9*-£29.50

Juniors: £9 (within the advertised family sections)"

https://d3j2s6hdd6a7rg.cloudfront.net/v2/uploads/media/siteuploads/0001/68/thumb_67603_siteuploads_sitelargeimage.jpeg

10-06-2019, 12:03 PM
I bet you half the folk at the Spice girls concert haven’t even seen them live let alone been to the places where they come from 😂

A load of wannabees.

I've seen both Liverpool and Napoil live albeit fifty years ago and that will do for me. If I have a favourite English team then it's Liverpool but I've got no desire to go and watch them in a friendly against an Italian team.

10-06-2019, 12:41 PM
I was at a Liverpool friendly a couple of years back. It was £15.00 quid and I left early. shocking game.

Liverpool starting team was

1 Loris Karius
56 Connor Randall 45'
6 Dejan Lovren
21 Lucas Leiva (c) 67'
18 Alberto Moreno 67' 90'
35 Kevin Stewart
16 Marko Grujic 31' 45'
19 Sadio Mané 45'
53 Oviemuno Ejaria 45'
10 Philippe Coutinho 34' 45'
11 Roberto Firmino 45'

Not heard of half of them and was at the match :greengrin

10-06-2019, 01:01 PM
Literally copied and pasted from the link.

Over 65s: £9*-£44

Young Adults: £9*-£29.50

Juniors: £9 (within the advertised family sections)"

https://d3j2s6hdd6a7rg.cloudfront.net/v2/uploads/media/siteuploads/0001/68/thumb_67603_siteuploads_sitelargeimage.jpeg

👍

PH91
10-06-2019, 02:01 PM
I was at a Liverpool friendly a couple of years back. It was £15.00 quid and I left early. shocking game.

Liverpool starting team was

1 Loris Karius
56 Connor Randall 45'
6 Dejan Lovren
21 Lucas Leiva (c) 67'
18 Alberto Moreno 67' 90'
35 Kevin Stewart
16 Marko Grujic 31' 45'
19 Sadio Mané 45'
53 Oviemuno Ejaria 45'
10 Philippe Coutinho 34' 45'
11 Roberto Firmino 45'

Not heard of half of them and was at the match :greengrin

Firmino, coutinho, mane, lovren, randall. Some top names in there.

10-06-2019, 02:16 PM
May get a full kit and a half and half scarf for this game.

10-06-2019, 02:22 PM
May get a full kit and a half and half scarf for this game.

Take your car. I'll steal your hubcaps while your watching the game. Give you that real feeling of being a Liverpool fan. Maybe have a pizza while your waiting on the polis arriving.

10-06-2019, 02:30 PM
Quite disrespectful to call fellow Hibs fans mugs, but you bash on.

You're right. I should've been more respectful and asked whether or not their kids would be happy to be in their company when attending. We can't all be like you, though.

10-06-2019, 02:32 PM
Take your car. I'll steal your hubcaps while your watching the game. Give you that real feeling of being a Liverpool fan. Maybe have a pizza while your waiting on the polis arriving.

I’ll send the car registration details :aok:

10-06-2019, 02:37 PM
I've got mine, 28 and 11 for adult and child. I dont feel violated or exploited by planet football though, what's wrong with me?

10-06-2019, 02:46 PM

You really need some new material.

It’s alloys now, hubcaps are worthless

10-06-2019, 02:48 PM
Taking my half and half Lpool/Hibs scarf to this game. Mighty even get my .net name on the back of my Liverpool shirt.

10-06-2019, 10:06 PM
Has at the UEFA cup game at Anfield. Their fans were brutal. Picking on lone Hibs fans and raining bottles down on us. Hibs boys stood u to them . Have hated them ever since. Even became an Everton ‘fan’ because of that game. Went down to a few games in the Kevin Sheedy area. Wore a Hibs t-shirt and the Everton boys were magic.

12-06-2019, 10:42 AM
78 tickets purchased. We're taking our teams to the match. A wee day out for them.

12-06-2019, 10:56 AM
78 tickets purchased. We're taking our teams to the match. A wee day out for them.

Another 70 odd youngsters lost to Scottish football for ever.

12-06-2019, 11:33 AM

Shameful really. If Hibs go under because of this game and the very real prospect of the theft of 90% of our fan base then there will be blood on Ronaldo7 and Liverpool’s hands. :agree:

12-06-2019, 12:01 PM
Shameful really. If Hibs go under because of this game and the very real prospect of the theft of 90% of our fan base then there will be blood on Ronaldo7 and Liverpool’s hands. :agree:

Hibs, hertz, celtc, and the currants will take a hit, but the sheep will undoubtedly prosper. 😉

Barman Stanton
12-06-2019, 12:04 PM

Why does no one ever think about the kids!

12-06-2019, 01:43 PM
Over 40k tickets sold (http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/people/liverpool-v-napoli-at-bt-murrayfield-more-than-40-000-tickets-sold-for-edinburgh-glamour-tie-1-4945966)

12-06-2019, 01:46 PM
Lets hope it doesn't trump Easter Road's record

12-06-2019, 01:55 PM
Other TV famous teams will do the same if this cash cow sells out.

12-06-2019, 02:08 PM

Being fair, I think both clubs are famous for titles, cup wins, European trophies and the like before TV.

12-06-2019, 03:05 PM

It’s not a new idea!

Barman Stanton
12-06-2019, 03:21 PM

TV famous teams? :faf: This is like Miserable.net at times.

12-06-2019, 08:10 PM
Tickets secured. Sitting above the Napoli fans. :aok:

12-06-2019, 08:15 PM
I disagree.

Fair enough, I would say that paying up to £60 for a pre season bounce game is a complete rip off.

12-06-2019, 08:20 PM
Fair enough, I would say that paying up to £60 for a pre season bounce game is a complete rip off.

It is a complete rip off but would you pay it if it was Man United v Liverpool at the same venue?

12-06-2019, 08:47 PM

Or you could say that you’re paying as little as £28. £28 to watch the European Champions and third best side England has seen for god knows how long (possibly even ever?)

More than reasonable imo.

12-06-2019, 08:49 PM

Probably a good thing IMO.

12-06-2019, 10:51 PM
Maybe it’s my age. Maybe I’m just stupid. Maybe I’m missing something that ‘Captain Obvious’ would soon point out to me. I can’t see what all the negativity is about this friendly taking place in Edinburgh.

One reason given is “it will lure young Hibs fans away from continuing to follow their local team”. Absolute codswallop.

I’ve supported Hibs as my team of choice since 1962.

Was my Scottish national patriotism changed when Engerlund won in ‘66? Of course it wasn’t.

Was my head turned in 1967 when Celtic became the first Scottish team to win the European Cup? Definitely not.

I will admit though that a year later, when Man Utd won the same trophy, they became my “English team” but I never for one minute considered giving in to the fact that I needed to follow European champions as my main first team.

Why then is it that so many on here believe that is what will happen to our young support on the back of a friendly game between 2 top European teams being played on our own doorstep?

Oh!! And btw, ‘ManU fan’ I may be, but first and foremost, I’m a fan of football.

So, yes, I’ve bought my tickets but I’ll still be at ER either side of my visit to Murrayfield for the Alloa, Arbroath LC games and oh yeah, the Newcastle game, after all, watching EPL teams in Edinburgh must surely be frowned upon eh??!! :wink::wink:

12-06-2019, 10:58 PM
A chance to see the best club team in the world, on my doorstep for £28? A no brainer.

I'm going with a Dunfermline fan, a Hearts fan and an Aussie. They might also go to a game or two at Easter Road with me but I've not been able to convert them into Hibees yet, not sure this game will make a difference.

12-06-2019, 11:06 PM

I say the £28 I have paid represents good value for such an event.

13-06-2019, 02:24 AM
I'm with those who wouldn't be going if I had the chance. Pre-season friendlies are rubbish regardless of who is playing.

I went to see Wellington Phoenix v Newcastle Utd here a few years back - 0-0 and utter guff. Newcastle had a strong team out too as I recall.

I really only enjoy football, or any sport now, when I feel that there's something important at stake.

13-06-2019, 06:52 AM
I'm with those who wouldn't be going if I had the chance. Pre-season friendlies are rubbish regardless of who is playing.

I went to see Wellington Phoenix v Newcastle Utd here a few years back - 0-0 and utter guff. Newcastle had a strong team out too as I recall.

I really only enjoy football, or any sport now, when I feel that there's something important at stake.

Nowadays I'm only really interested in Hibs or a day oot, instead of watching every kick of a ball on TV.

It would be stretching it a bit to call this a day oot.

I won't be there.

13-06-2019, 06:54 AM
Nowadays I'm only really interested in Hibs or a day oot, instead of watching every kick of a ball on TV.

It would be stretching it a bit to call this a day oot.

I won't be there.

You have chosen wisely not to buy a ticket in that case.

13-06-2019, 07:00 AM
You have chosen wisely not to buy a ticket in that case.

I respect the choices of those whose football spectating experience criteria are met by this game and have chosen to buy a ticket, and I find the storm surrounding the game peculiar.

13-06-2019, 07:03 AM
Imagine the record attendance for a football game in Edinburgh became a Liverpool v Napoli friendly.

13-06-2019, 07:08 AM
You can get in to real football (SPL and English prem) cheaper than you can get in to this kick about.

StirlingHibee
13-06-2019, 07:28 PM
Got 4 tickets - looking forward to a good day out seeing some top players.

13-06-2019, 07:34 PM
Tickets bought, table at Murrayfield Hotel reserved. Should be a decent Sunday day out.

13-06-2019, 07:37 PM
You can get in to real football (SPL and English prem) cheaper than you can get in to this kick about.

No chance can you see an English game cheaper, you need to get there first. Also you can’t get tickets to watch Liverpool as easy as you can for this if at all. No negatives for this game if you want to see Liverpool live and you live in Edinburgh.

13-06-2019, 08:18 PM
It is a complete rip off but would you pay it if it was Man United v Liverpool at the same venue?

Not for a pre season friendly, no.

I even turned down the Hibs v Barcelona pre season match a few years ago.

Or you could say that you’re paying as little as £28. £28 to watch the European Champions and third best side England has seen for god knows how long (possibly even ever?)

More than reasonable imo.

You would have to pay me £28 to go and watch Liverpool. :greengrin

Fair enough everyone's free to spend their own money as they wish. I hope you enjoy your day.

13-06-2019, 08:49 PM

You know football's ****ed when £28 for a friendly when players won't break a sweat and are probably contractually forbidden to tackle is deemed good value.

Power of marketing...

13-06-2019, 09:00 PM
No chance can you see an English game cheaper, you need to get there first. Also you can’t get tickets to watch Liverpool as easy as you can for this if at all. No negatives for this game if you want to see Liverpool live and you live in Edinburgh.

I was at 2 Newcastle league games, 1 West Ham game at the Olympic stadium, 2 FA cup ties, 2 League 1 games and a Wembley final last season and paid less than £28 each time. I was in the top tier each time apart from West Ham. This friendly is a rip off and not for me but by all means you should go and enjoy your day.

supermcginn
13-06-2019, 09:02 PM
You know football's ****ed when £28 for a friendly when players won't break a sweat and are probably contractually forbidden to tackle is deemed good value.

Power of marketing...

They are european champions it's not really marketing lol.

13-06-2019, 09:10 PM
Not for a pre season friendly, no.

I even turned down the Hibs v Barcelona pre season match a few years ago.

You would have to pay me £28 to go and watch Liverpool. :greengrin

Fair enough everyone's free to spend their own money as they wish. I hope you enjoy your day.

Would you pay £28 or more if it was Man U playing.

13-06-2019, 09:13 PM
I was at 2 Newcastle league games, 1 West Ham game at the Olympic stadium, 2 FA cup ties, 2 League 1 games and a Wembley final last season and paid less than £28 each time. I was in the top tier each time apart from West Ham. This friendly is a rip off and not for me but by all means you should go and enjoy your day.

My point was you had to pay to travel which cost far more.
It’s not for everyone I get that, it just happens to suit me perfectly.

13-06-2019, 09:15 PM

Power of marketing...

No the power of seeing a club you like in the city where you live is what does it for me.

Here’s Lucy!
13-06-2019, 09:15 PM
They are european champions it's not really marketing lol.

Eh, lol?

Yes, Liverpool are European Champions.

Yes, it is marketing.

Yes, it’ll be Liverpool reserves, who could probably still whip every team in Scotland apart from Celtic and Rangers.

No, £28 is not much money.

Here’s Lucy!
13-06-2019, 09:17 PM
No the power of seeing a club you like in the city where you live is what does it for me.

Spot on, Scouse. :aok:

13-06-2019, 09:19 PM
No brainer these games don't come about often especially the European champions and undoubtedly the best English club side of them all. Juergen doesn't do friendlies. :greengrin

Here’s Lucy!
13-06-2019, 09:20 PM
No brainer these games don't come about often especially the European champions and undoubtedly the best English club side of them all. Juergen doesn't do friendlies. :greengrin

And again, a guy who gets Liverpool. :aok:

13-06-2019, 09:27 PM
Eh, lol?

Yes, it is marketing.

Yes, it’ll be Liverpool reserves, who could probably still whip every team in Scotland apart from Celtic and Rangers.

It’s Liverpool’s second last friendly before the season starts. It may well be a little different from their strongest 11, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s not a kick in the arse off it.

supermcginn
13-06-2019, 09:49 PM
Eh, lol?

Yes, it is marketing.

You dont need marketing to get folk to pay to watch the best team in europe. You need marketing to sell a product or event that there isn't much interest in, this is not one of these events as its clearly going to be a sell out. Also its only 12 days before their first league game so it certainly won't be a reserve team.

13-06-2019, 09:52 PM
You dont need marketing to get folk to pay to watch the best team in europe. You need marketing to sell a product or event that there isn't much interest in, this is not one of these events as its clearly going to be a sell out. Also its only 12 days before their first league game so it certainly won't be a reserve team.

They're not even the best team in England

13-06-2019, 09:58 PM
Would you pay £28 or more if it was Man U playing.

Not for a friendly I wouldn't.

I'd be prepared to pay a decent amount for a Manchester Utd v Liverpool league/cup game but not for a pre season friendly.

I wouldn't expect to pay any more than about £10 for any friendly game, regardless of which teams were involved.

They're glorified training sessions for the players, why anyone would pay through the nose for anything like that is beyond me but each to their own.

13-06-2019, 10:09 PM

It cost me not much less to watch Hamilton v Hibs last season.

13-06-2019, 10:38 PM
Dont really bother with friendlies myself even when Hibs are involved. Made an exception for Hanlons testimonial last summer, mainly because my dads a Blackburn fan and we so rarely get to go to a game together. Can’t remember how much it cost. Poor game in baking heat with both teams arsing around in the sun. Not really worth it.

liverpool though? Well they’re Liverpool aren’t they. They’ll be worth a watch for people who can afford it.

Hibeewilly
13-06-2019, 10:45 PM

I'd be prepared to pay a decent amount for a Manchester Utd v Liverpool league/cup game but not for a pre season friendly.

I wouldn't expect to pay any more than about £10 for any friendly game, regardless of which teams were involved.

They're glorified training sessions for the players, why anyone would pay through the nose for anything like that is beyond me but each to their own.
My feelings entirely Sir David. Unless Hibs are playing I can't get interested these days

14-06-2019, 06:00 AM

I’ve chummed Mrs Beefster to a couple of games at Newcastle to see Arsenal. Overall, it cost way more than £28pp and the top tier (in the corner) is like watching a subbuteo match in the kitchen from the top of the tree in next door’s garden.

14-06-2019, 06:13 AM
It’s Liverpool’s second last friendly before the season starts. It may well be a little different from their strongest 11, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s not a kick in the arse off it.

Agree think it will be strong team though they do have a strong squad and will likely have the bulk of their top team playing. Watched a couple of their games in the US tour last season and the games seemed competitive enough though it was Man U they were playing in one which brings its own competitive tension.

Here’s Lucy!
14-06-2019, 04:28 PM
Dont really bother with friendlies myself even when Hibs are involved. Made an exception for Hanlons testimonial last summer, mainly because my dads a Blackburn fan and we so rarely get to go to a game together. Can’t remember how much it cost. Poor game in baking heat with both teams arsing around in the sun. Not really worth it.

liverpool though? Well they’re Liverpool aren’t they. They’ll be worth a watch for people who can afford it.

And that's the whole point right there.

15-06-2019, 08:15 AM

I've watched Manchester United at home in the Champions League and the match and atmosphere was instantly forgettable. This was only a couple of years ago and I don't remember the score anymore.

I've seen Messi, Suarez and Neymar play together in a league game at the Nou Camp only for Barca to lose 0-1 and it felt like you could hear a pin drop in the stadium.

The price is high but if you want to see the Champions League winners and you live in Edinburgh you won't get it any cheaper.

15-06-2019, 08:16 AM
I've watched Manchester United at home in the Champions League and the match and atmosphere was instantly forgettable. This was only a couple of years ago and I don't remember the score anymore.

I've seen Messi, Suarez and Neymar play together in a league game at the Nou Camp only for Barca to lose 0-1 and it felt like you could hear a pin drop in the stadium.

The price is high but if you want to see the Champions League winners and you live in Edinburgh you won't get it any cheaper.

Not after this investment in Hibs 😉

15-06-2019, 08:32 AM

I don't want to see the Champions League winners and I don't live in Edinburgh. :greengrin

15-06-2019, 09:39 AM
I don't want to see the Champions League winners and I don't live in Edinburgh. :greengrin

You'll change your mind on the former if this takeover happens!

15-06-2019, 09:41 AM

Well that makes your stance pretty understandable!

15-06-2019, 10:33 AM

This is the same as golf though, there is a world number one and a European number one, who are often different players.

which doesn’t change the fact that Liverpool are the winners of the champions league, just as Man City are the winners of the EPL.

15-06-2019, 10:40 AM

Best in Europe which includes England, the so called best team in England were in the same competition but failed in their quest to be the Champions of Europe 😁

15-06-2019, 10:59 AM
You'll change your mind on the former if this takeover happens!

:faf: I'll change that to I don't want to see the current Champions League winners. :greengrin

supermcginn
15-06-2019, 11:17 AM
Champions league > epl

15-06-2019, 01:39 PM
Best in Europe which includes England, the so called best team in England were in the same competition but failed in their quest to be the Champions of Europe 😁

The so called best team in Europe failed to beat the best team in England over the course of 38 games 😉

15-06-2019, 02:09 PM
The so called best team in Europe failed to beat the best team in England over the course of 38 games 😉

We are still the Champions Of Europe though! The so called best team in England haven’t even come close to winning it 😂
Add that to the fact that I have seen Liverpool win everything League titles and all, I’m pretty happy.

15-06-2019, 02:47 PM
We are still the Champions Of Europe though! The so called best team in England haven’t even come close to winning it 😂
Add that to the fact that I have seen Liverpool win everything League titles and all, I’m pretty happy.

Id say you are. No one in their right mind would deny the fact that Liverpool are a bigger, greater, infinitely more iconic and charismatic club than Manchester city.

i just think it’s a bit of a stretch to suggest that the team that swept the board in English football this season aren’t the best team in England. After all, Porto were hardly Europe’s best team in 2004 were they? Neither were Liverpool in 2005. They both won the champions league.

15-06-2019, 02:52 PM
Id say you are. No one in their right mind would deny the fact that Liverpool are a bigger, greater, infinitely more iconic and charismatic club than Manchester city.

i just think it’s a bit of a stretch to suggest that the team that swept the board in English football this season aren’t the best team in England. After all, Porto were hardly Europe’s best team in 2004 were they? Neither were Liverpool in 2005. They both won the champions league.

It’s not just a bit of a stretch mate, it’s a bit of banter 👍

Green&White
15-06-2019, 05:48 PM

Power of marketing...I was going to get the father tickets for his father's Day but cheapest available are
£40 a ticket way in the corner at the very top apparently. 28 quid seems fair compared to that. I detest ticket master as they don't show you seats that are or aren't available and bump the price up the more they sell

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

15-06-2019, 07:03 PM
I was going to get the father tickets for his father's Day but cheapest available are
£40 a ticket way in the corner at the very top apparently. 28 quid seems fair compared to that. I detest ticket master as they don't show you seats that are or aren't available and bump the price up the more they sell

The prices are set, if there are no £28 tickets left then they have been sold, the prices have not been increased according to demand.

Green&White
15-06-2019, 07:08 PM
The prices are set, if there are no £28 tickets left then they have been sold, the prices have not been increased according to demand.You know that for a fact? If so I find it ridiculous that possibly the worst seats in the place are amongst the dearest?!

Stairway 2 7
15-06-2019, 07:18 PM
No kids tickets on sale now?

Stairway 2 7
15-06-2019, 07:19 PM
Champions league > epl

Its like saying the Scottish Cup winner is the best in Scotland that year, can't compare knock out competitions to league

16-06-2019, 08:42 AM
You know that for a fact? If so I find it ridiculous that possibly the worst seats in the place are amongst the dearest?!

The ticket prices were set and don’t change because of demand. £28 for behind the goals, £39.20 as you move in to the corner, £50.40 as you move further round towards the side stands and then the most expensive (£67.20) in the side stands

16-06-2019, 08:48 AM

I reckon if given the choice most Liverpool fans would prefer to be Champions of England right now than Champions of Europe. Be honest , which would you have preferred?

16-06-2019, 08:53 AM
A chance to watch the likes of Salah, Mane, Robertson and Alexander Arnold strut their stuff on our home soil? Yes please. Don't know why some people are so against this.

16-06-2019, 08:53 AM
I reckon if given the choice most Liverpool fans would prefer to be Champions of England right now than Champions of Europe. Be honest , which would you have preferred?

Exactly. You can win the Champions League finishing 4th in your domestic league. Spurs almost won it FFS.

16-06-2019, 09:06 AM

Not too bothered if I’m honest, just desperate to see Liverpool win another major trophy. Maybe would have felt differently if the league had not been so close, there was really nothing between us. Also very satisfying the amount of other countries champions we beat on the way to winning it.

16-06-2019, 09:18 AM
Not too bothered if I’m honest, just desperate to see Liverpool win another major trophy. Maybe would have felt differently if the league had not been so close, there was really nothing between us. Also very satisfying the amount of other countries champions we beat on the way to winning it.

Fair enough.

I reckon the fact Liverpool have not been he champions of England for 30 odd years now is a monkey they need off their back asap.

Im sure the Berlin Wall was still standing last time Liverpool won the league :greengrin

16-06-2019, 09:39 AM
Fair enough.

I reckon the fact Liverpool have not been he champions of England for 30 odd years now is a monkey they need off their back asap.

Im sure the Berlin Wall was still standing last time Liverpool won the league :greengrin

The Champions League wasn't even a thing, the last time Liverpool won the league. :faf:

16-06-2019, 09:44 AM
The Champions League wasn't even a thing, the last time Liverpool won the league. :faf:

Although I don't support an English team I don't currently mind Liverpool , Klopp is a class act and Liverpool's style of play is fantastic to watch. Prefer them to Man Utd anyway :greengrin

The fact that they have not won the league for so long though is a failure of that football club and I dont think they can be seen as a success until they do.

16-06-2019, 09:48 AM

No but the European cup was 😂

A Manure fan laughing at Liverpool 😂😂😂😂😂😂

16-06-2019, 10:44 AM
Exactly. You can win the Champions League finishing 4th in your domestic league. Spurs almost won it FFS.

You can win the Scottish cup being a part time 4th tier side,can't be very prestigious.

16-06-2019, 04:31 PM

Th Berlin Wall wasn't even bulit yet the last time Hibs won the league

16-06-2019, 05:27 PM
Th Berlin Wall wasn't even bulit yet the last time Hibs won the league

I know but we're not trying to claim that we're one of the biggest clubs in the world. :greengrin

16-06-2019, 06:24 PM
I know but we're not trying to claim that we're one of the biggest clubs in the world. :greengrin

Neither are Liverpool, they don’t have to claim it, it is already fact and has been for years, Probably before you were born 😂

16-06-2019, 06:29 PM
Neither are Liverpool, they don’t have to claim it, it is already fact and has been for years, Probably before you were born ��

You are correct. Liverpool are one of the biggest clubs in the world undoubtedly.

Their failure to win the league for almost 3 decades though is a disgrace for a club that size and I don't think the club will be seen as successful until they do.

The Baldmans Comb
16-06-2019, 07:01 PM
A chance to watch the likes of Salah, Mane, Robertson and Alexander Arnold strut their stuff on our home soil? Yes please. Don't know why some people are so against this.

Because these great players won't be trying that hard as its a pre season friendly and there is nothing at stake and they may not be even playing or at best get a half each.

Nor will the brilliance and athleticism of these players be on show as there is an unwritten rule in any friendly game between the players of both sides that you don't tackle hard and you don't play at full pace.

The managers are only concerned with building up fitness and trying out different shapes so will join in the charade by substituting half the team after 60 minutes and just like every other friendly the game dies and peters out after around 75 minutes.

None of this is reasons for not going as you get to say you watched two of the worlds most well known teams in front of 70,000 people in a happy friendly atmosphere in a top class venue.

Lets not try to pretend its proper football though as its not.

16-06-2019, 07:06 PM
You are correct. Liverpool are one of the biggest clubs in the world undoubtedly.

Their failure to win the league for almost 3 decades though is a disgrace for a club that size and I don't think the club will be seen as successful until they do.

😂 That is a stance taken by those who are jealous of Liverpool’s previous successes and seek to belittle them by any yard stick they can. It’s not one shared by the club and their supporters who rightly still proclaim Liverpool as a massive club in English and European football. The word disgrace in terms of success on the pitch can never be levelled against Liverpool.

16-06-2019, 07:09 PM
Because these great players won't be trying that hard as its a pre season friendly and there is nothing at stake and they may not be even playing or at best get a half each.

Nor will the brilliance and athleticism of these players be on show as there is an unwritten rule in any friendly game between the players of both sides that you don't tackle hard and you don't play at full pace.

The managers are only concerned with building up fitness and trying out different shapes so will join in the charade by substituting half the team after 60 minutes and just like every other friendly the game dies and peters out after around 75 minutes.

None of this is reasons for not going as you get to say you watched two of the worlds most well known teams in front of 70,000 people in a happy friendly atmosphere in a top class venue.

Lets not try to pretend its proper football though as its not.

The footballers on display will still show more than what we normally watch in the SPL at allegedly 100%. It’s proper football all right just on a different level that you recognise.

The Baldmans Comb
16-06-2019, 07:28 PM
The footballers on display will still show more than what we normally watch in the SPL at allegedly 100%. It’s proper football all right just on a different level that you recognise.

Its a friendly match so it can't possibly be a proper football match.

Proper football involves fan rivalry, it requires controversy, it requires a nasty edge on the pitch, it requires passion, it requires people caring about the result, it requires dissent, it requires getitrightfknupye.

This is not a competitive game of football as nothing is at stake. There is no win bonus, there is no goal scoring bonus for the strikers, nothing goes into the player pool bonus and every single player is under strict instructions not to over tackle.

No one remembers the score and no one really cares who wins or loses other than the diehard fans and even then I doubt it.

Ask yourself this when either team scores how will the players celebrate compared to a EPL or Serie A goal.

The won't give a flying fck.

I am assuming you are a Liverpool fan in which case name me a memorable Liverpool friendly win that you cant get out of your mind and let's see if anyone has heard of it.

It is still a very well worth occasion if this is your thing and enjoy saying "you were there" but the pretence that this is some huge competitive showdown between the Champion League winners and Series A's finest is frankly laughable.

16-06-2019, 07:38 PM

Proper football involves fan rivalry, it requires controversy, it requires a nasty edge on the pitch, it requires passion, it requires people caring about the result, it requires dissent, it requires getitrightfknupye.

This is not a competitive game of football as nothing is at stake. There is no win bonus, there is no goal scoring bonus for the strikers, nothing goes into the player pool bonus and every single player is under strict instructions not to over tackle.

No one remembers the score and no one really cares who wins or loses other than the diehard fans and even then I doubt it.

Ask yourself this when either team scores how will the players celebrate compared to a EPL or Serie A goal.

I am assuming you are a Liverpool fan in which case name me a memorable Liverpool friendly win that you cant get out of your mind and let's see if anyone has heard of it.

It is still a very well worth occasion if this is your thing and enjoy saying "you were there" but the pretence that this is some huge competitive showdown between the Champion League winners and Series A's finest is frankly laughable.

This has never been billed a as a showdown and quite frankly the only laughable thing is your pathetic attempt to belittle what is a friendly and has only ever been a friendly along with the many friendliest that are played every pre season. Do me a favour and **** off with your pish made up descriptions of a pre season friendly game. If you have no interest then fine, leave it to those that do and stop trying to belittle it you sad *******.

supermcginn
16-06-2019, 08:16 PM

For an unimportant game you are certainly getting pretty worked up about it! Chill out and get a life!

The Baldmans Comb
16-06-2019, 08:20 PM
This has never been billed a as a showdown and quite frankly the only laughable thing is your pathetic attempt to belittle what is a friendly and has only ever been a friendly along with the many friendliest that are played every pre season. Do me a favour and **** off with your pish made up descriptions of a pre season friendly game. If you have no interest then fine, leave it to those that do and stop trying to belittle it you sad *******.

If I can try to unpick your wee rage then I think you are saying in between your little temper tantrum that this game as you say yourself is just a friendly friendly and is only ever meant to be a friendly that ranks alongsige the many other friendliest friendly that every team plays when it plays a pre sesson friendly.

Now had you been a little bit more knowledgeable and had a bit more savvy about you then you would have comeback with what would have been quite a clever ratort about what happened last year pre season between exactly the same two teams.

Wee mind working is it......lol.

Liverpool 5 v Napoli 0 in Dublin. Lovely summer night, full house, some classy goals and an all round excellent football evening for those that like this sort of occasion.

Unfortunately you let your rage take over and proved my point utterly and completely as you didn't know this game had taken place or if you did it had completely disappeared from your mind as it was a game that ultimately meant nothing.

Now run along as you are completely out of your depth though by all means have another strop and I promise not to respond. 😂.

16-06-2019, 08:22 PM
😂 That is a stance taken by those who are jealous of Liverpool’s previous successes and seek to belittle them by any yard stick they can. It’s not one shared by the club and their supporters who rightly still proclaim Liverpool as a massive club in English and European football. The word disgrace in terms of success on the pitch can never be levelled against Liverpool.

I can think of a time it was off it though. 5 years with no European football for any English side is testimony to that. Conquering that part of Europe doesn’t get much commemorating these days.

17-06-2019, 02:50 AM
If I can try to unpick your wee rage then I think you are saying in between your little temper tantrum that this game as you say yourself is just a friendly friendly and is only ever meant to be a friendly that ranks alongsige the many other friendliest friendly that every team plays when it plays a pre sesson friendly.

Now had you been a little bit more knowledgeable and had a bit more savvy about you then you would have comeback with what would have been quite a clever ratort about what happened last year pre season between exactly the same two teams.

Wee mind working is it......lol.

Liverpool 5 v Napoli 0 in Dublin. Lovely summer night, full house, some classy goals and an all round excellent football evening for those that like this sort of occasion.

Unfortunately you let your rage take over and proved my point utterly and completely as you didn't know this game had taken place or if you did it had completely disappeared from your mind as it was a game that ultimately meant nothing.

Now run along as you are completely out of your depth though by all means have another strop and I promise not to respond. 😂.

Out of my depth 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

Away and try to belittle someone as clueless as yourself, your mock intelligence is wasted on me.

17-06-2019, 02:53 AM
I can think of a time it was off it though. 5 years with no European football for any English side is testimony to that. Conquering that part of Europe doesn’t get much commemorating these days.

And nor should it be commemorated , that’s why I said on the pitch as I was well aware that issue would be raised.

17-06-2019, 02:59 AM

Patronising.

17-06-2019, 03:59 AM
Patronising.

I didn’t mean it to sound so, in the context of the discussion I was just making a point.

17-06-2019, 04:09 AM
Does anyone just actually watch football anymore? Always has to be some agenda against just enjoying a match on here.

17-06-2019, 07:58 AM
Does anyone just actually watch football anymore? Always has to be some agenda against just enjoying a match on here.

If watch even a second of football not involving Hibs, live or on TV, I throw chilli powder in my eyes and carry out a 4 day self flagellation process.

It's been a tough few days after I accidentally walked by my local park and saw a few kids having a kick about.

McSwanky
17-06-2019, 08:51 AM
If watch even a second of football not involving Hibs, live or on TV, I throw chilli powder in my eyes and carry out a 4 day self flagellation process.

It's been a tough few days after I accidentally walked by my local park and saw a few kids having a kick about.

:top marks:greengrin

17-06-2019, 08:56 AM
Why are Scottish peoples “English teams” always the likes of Manchester United or Liverpool? Rarely hear of anyone following unfashionable clubs.

Barman Stanton
17-06-2019, 09:03 AM
Why are Scottish peoples “English teams” always the likes of Manchester United or Liverpool? Rarely hear of anyone following unfashionable clubs.

This. You very rarely saw Man City mentioned before their recent success. Always find it odd that Hibs fans go down the glory hunting route when most will dislike old Firm fans for that very reason. Also Hibs fans calling the likes of Liverpool and City 'we' is just weird to me.

McSwanky
17-06-2019, 09:21 AM

I guess the answer lies in your second last word. Choosing a "second team" is rarely going to be about the same reasons you support your first team. So of course most people (kids) are going to choose the popular clubs, they's generally better to watch.

This. You very rarely saw Man City mentioned before their recent success. Always find it odd that Hibs fans go down the glory hunting route when most will dislike old Firm fans for that very reason. Also Hibs fans calling the likes of Liverpool and City 'we' is just weird to me.

I agree with your last sentence. But then I also find it weird Hibs fans referring to Hibs as 'we,' unless they actually have an active role in the club. Maybe controversial...

Barman Stanton
17-06-2019, 09:26 AM
I guess the answer lies in your second last word. Choosing a "second team" is rarely going to be about the same reasons you support your first team. So of course most people (kids) are going to choose the popular clubs, they's generally better to watch.

I agree with your last sentence. But then I also find it weird Hibs fans referring to Hibs as 'we,' unless they actually have an active role in the club. Maybe controversial...

Most football fans would call the club you support as we surely? You support a team your whole life it becomes a part of you. Not quite the same as watching and English fantasy league team on tv. I find it weird that you would find it weird (or something like that).

McSwanky
17-06-2019, 09:27 AM
Most football fans would call the club you support as we surely? You support a team your whole life it becomes a part of you. Not quite the same as watching and English fantasy league team on tv. I find it weird that you would find it weird (or something like that).

See, I knew it would be controversial! :greengrin

Barman Stanton
17-06-2019, 09:33 AM
See, I knew it would be controversial! :greengrin

Nah its just weird :greengrin

17-06-2019, 10:25 AM
Apologies to The Baldmans Comb, my response last night after a day drinking on what was an emotional day for me was totally inappropriate and disproportionate to the posts he made. I then stupidly carried on my daft rant this morning. I was totally out of order and have no problem admitting it.

hughio
17-06-2019, 10:39 AM
Apologies to The Baldmans Comb, my response last night after a day drinking on what was an emotional day for me was totally inappropriate and disproportionate to the posts he made. I then stupidly carried on my daft rant this morning. I was totally out of order and have no problem admitting it.

Ha ha!
The evils of drink.

Love a man that can apologize though.Respect for that.

These fan sites are dangerous.

17-06-2019, 10:54 AM

Yup …. There's a chance that both teams will pass within at least 20 miles of my house on the way to Edinburgh. I never thought stuff like that could happen to ordinary folk like me.

BTW, good for you for post #391 :top marks

17-06-2019, 11:29 AM

If you think back to the foundation of any club and their beginnings in local communities with local officials, local players and local fans that probably gave rise to 'we' as a way to refer to the team. For me it goes like this when it comes to Hibs … 'they' got relegated and spent 3 seasons in the championship during which time 'we' won the cup :greengrin

Anyway …. Professional sport is the only form of 'entertainment' where folk will consistently pay for the product even when that product is utterly rank and in some cases makes them thoroughly depressed … no other form of entertainment or business in general for that matter relies on blind brand loyalty like sport does. The expression 'football without fans is nothing' is absolutely true and from that perspective its far from unreasonable for folk to refer to their club as 'we' or 'us'

Where that theory falls down a bit is when its folk with no connection to the community the club comes from and their support is purely based on the glamour, success and size of the club as advertised on television, like half the support of the ugly sisters or the guy from Lagos who is just fanatical about Man United …. their claim to the expression 'we' is weak at best.

I would also suggest that in this day and age of increasing fan ownership anybody who has bought into their club and is a part owner of it … in our case folk who have bought shares or are members of HSL or both … has increased their right to refer to the club they follow as 'we' :aok:

Barman Stanton
17-06-2019, 12:02 PM
If you think back to the foundation of any club and their beginnings in local communities with local officials, local players and local fans that probably gave rise to 'we' as a way to refer to the team. For me it goes like this when it comes to Hibs … 'they' got relegated and spent 3 seasons in the championship during which time 'we' won the cup :greengrin

Anyway …. Professional sport is the only form of 'entertainment' where folk will consistently pay for the product even when that product is utterly rank and in some cases makes them thoroughly depressed … no other form of entertainment or business in general for that matter relies on blind brand loyalty like sport does. The expression 'football without fans is nothing' is absolutely true and from that perspective its far from unreasonable for folk to refer to their club as 'we' or 'us'

Where that theory falls down a bit is when its folk with no connection to the community the club comes from and their support is purely based on the glamour, success and size of the club as advertised on television, like half the support of the ugly sisters or the guy from Lagos who is just fanatical about Man United …. their claim to the expression 'we' is weak at best.

I would also suggest that in this day and age of increasing fan ownership anybody who has bought into their club and is a part owner of it … in our case folk who have bought shares or are members of HSL or both … has increased their right to refer to the club they follow as 'we' :aok:

One of our oldest sung songs even starts 'We are Hibernian FC'!

McSwanky
17-06-2019, 12:47 PM

You've clearly thought about this way more than me... Flattered you deemed my one-liner important enough for a 4 paragraph answer! :greengrin

17-06-2019, 01:13 PM
You've clearly thought about this way more than me... Flattered you deemed my one-liner important enough for a 4 paragraph answer! :greengrin

You shouldn't be. There are libraries full of books spawned by theories or opinions which only stretch to one sentence. You could probably write a university degree thesis on the concept of 'we' as applied to fitba fans … or at least I could :greengrin

15-07-2019, 05:07 PM
Tickets arrived today

South stand renamed “The Kop” on ground plan enclosed with tickets 😁

16-07-2019, 02:02 AM
Something very few people under 40 (and not many under 50) have managed.

In the meantime, the following teams have won the English top tier:

Arsenal (four times)
Leeds United
Manchester United (thirteen times)
Blackburn Rovers
Chelsea (five times)
Manchester City (four times)
Leicester City

16-07-2019, 02:27 AM
Ha ha!
The evils of drink.

Love a man that can apologize though.Respect for that.

These fan sites are dangerous.

Well done mate. It takes a real person to admit behaving like a twat.

17-07-2019, 08:47 PM
Tickets arrived today

South stand renamed “The Kop” on ground plan enclosed with tickets 😁

Mines arrived today. Sitting above the Napoli fans.

17-07-2019, 09:55 PM
Game is sold out now !

Not sure if Salah will be back as a few of the players giving extra holiday time after ACN and Copa America.

17-07-2019, 10:01 PM
Any Hibs fans going who aren't going to the Alloa game on Saturday?

17-07-2019, 11:58 PM

People support different teams for various reasons.

I know someone from Edinburgh who is a Sheffield Wednesday fan, that is his main team. I haven't a clue why?

A friend of mine is a born and bred Londoner who lives in Haringey near to Spurs ground and not that far from the Emirates. He supports Hull City. That is because he was at University in Hull many years ago.

My brother-in-law is a Charlton fan. He gre up in North Wales, went to University in Birmingham and now lives in Purley, near Croydon. He started watching Charlton when they were playing at Selhurst Park.

There are plenty of Newcastle and Sunderland fans here in Edinburgh (some also support Hibs or Hearts). You could hardly accuse them of being glory hunters.

18-07-2019, 06:48 AM
I can’t get remotely interested in Hibs friendlies or even testimonials. In the case of testimonials I would rather donate to someone I thought worthy of recognition rather than attend these kind of sham matches. I am not criticising those that do, it is just something I tired of years ago.

As for a friendly involving two clubs I don’t support, well, i just can’t get excited about it. If it’s your bag, enjoy it, have a good day, take the kids, have a hotdog, just don’t bring me back a two team scarf as a souvenir.:greengrin

With so much hypocrisy, I actually feel like a Hearts fan, I am actually going to this game now with a works outing.:rolleyes:

Anybody want me to get them a two team scarf?:greengrin

Barman Stanton
18-07-2019, 06:53 AM

I know someone from Edinburgh who is a Sheffield Wednesday fan, that is his main team. I haven't a clue why?

A friend of mine is a born and bred Londoner who lives in Haringey near to Spurs ground and not that far from the Emirates. He supports Hull City. That is because he was at University in Hull many years ago.

My brother-in-law is a Charlton fan. He gre up in North Wales, went to University in Birmingham and now lives in Purley, near Croydon. He started watching Charlton when they were playing at Selhurst Park.

There are plenty of Newcastle and Sunderland fans here in Edinburgh (some also support Hibs or Hearts). You could hardly accuse them of being glory hunters.

Oh totally, and I get that. I’m more talking about the more recent Man City fans. Not as bad as folks from Edinburgh that support Aberdeen due the 80s though.

18-07-2019, 06:58 AM

Why is that relevant,the two games don’t clash?

18-07-2019, 07:00 AM

But the reason people follow the glory hunting teams is usually they were successful when these people were young and falling in love with football. There is no excuse for this in developed football cultures and leagues - Europe/Latin America. But think you can accept that in Africa and Asia where these deep leagues and cultures do not exist.

I am from Hawick and followed Hibs in the late 60s because I liked their flair style and were in Edinburgh and I could get to games. Most of my classmates followed the Old Firm. Some Leeds or Liverpool. No Hearts fans.

18-07-2019, 07:06 AM
Don’t really get the seethe about “glory hunting” if people want to watch the best available games/teams live as football fans then let them get on with it.

18-07-2019, 07:10 AM

Yes

18-07-2019, 07:47 AM
Don’t really get the seethe about “glory hunting” if people want to watch the best available games/teams live as football fans then let them get on with it.

That's fine. As long as they understand they can't slag Celtic and rangers fans for the same thing.

sadtom
18-07-2019, 07:48 AM
Nowt against either side, in fact still have a soft spot for Pool since i was a kid. However. If they want a game in Embra, unless they are playing us, them, Edin city or Spartans (etc) then they can take their star*****er fitba and politely ***** right off!
They wouldn't tolerate it in their own cities so i'm b*ggered if we should entertain it in ours.
Against modern fitba and all the Hollywood bullsh*t thats comes with it.

supermcginn
18-07-2019, 07:50 AM

Yes. I'll choose how I spend my free time thanks.

18-07-2019, 07:54 AM

Surely not. 😂

18-07-2019, 09:16 AM

Yup, me.

18-07-2019, 09:58 AM
The Liverpool of Dalglish etc or Napoli with Maradona I would go and see. Not these two quite ordinary sides playing out a meaningless money spinning kick about.

18-07-2019, 09:58 AM
The Liverpool of Dalglish etc or Napoli with Maradona I would go and see. Not these two quite ordinary sides playing out a meaningless money spinning kick about.

I’m not quite sure how a Liverpool side who just won the Champions League and have one of the highest ever points totals in history in England could be described as ordinary.

18-07-2019, 09:59 AM

This Liverpool side are anything but ordinary 😂

18-07-2019, 10:08 AM

Me, I'm going to see the Lion King instead of going to Hibs v Alloa. I went to Stirling though does that make you feel better?

Mantis Toboggan
18-07-2019, 10:12 AM
That's fine. As long as they understand they can't slag Celtic and rangers fans for the same thing.

That's fine, theres still loads of things i can slag old firm fans about

18-07-2019, 11:19 AM

Very strange comment. Liverpool have had some great teams over the years but there can't be any question about their current quality and excitement levels in watching this group of players. The Champions League winners who finished with 97 points in their domestic league being called ordinary is one of the most bizarre things I've heard on here.

As for Napoli, this is one of the best teams in their history. They've finished 2nd in Seria A two years in a row behind an excellent Juventus team and although there are no world class players in their team, still plenty of quality and well known names.

18-07-2019, 11:21 AM
After watching our lacklustre pre season friendlies im not spending over the odds to watch another one that doesn't involve my team

18-07-2019, 11:28 AM
Very strange comment. Liverpool have had some great teams over the years but there can't be any question about their current quality and excitement levels in watching this group of players. The Champions League winners who finished with 97 points in their domestic league being called ordinary is one of the most bizarre things I've heard on here.

As for Napoli, this is one of the best teams in their history. They've finished 2nd in Seria A two years in a row behind an excellent Juventus team and although there are no world class players in their team, still plenty of quality and well known names.

Did you watch the CL final? Liverpool played anti-football after that early controversial penalty.

They work very hard but no really inspirational players or quality attractive football.

Napoli were very attractive and attacking under Sarri. But the new manager has moved them to a much more defensive formation.

So we will see hard working/closing down athetic Liverpool versus a defensive Napoli in a pre-season friendly. All at great expense. Unless your a fan if one of the teams then it us going to be an expensive disappointment.

18-07-2019, 11:51 AM
Did you watch the CL final? Liverpool played anti-football after that early controversial penalty.

They work very hard but no really inspirational players or quality attractive football.

Napoli were very attractive and attacking under Sarri. But the new manager has moved them to a much more defensive formation.

So we will see hard working/closing down athetic Liverpool versus a defensive Napoli in a pre-season friendly. All at great expense. Unless your a fan if one of the teams then it us going to be an expensive disappointment.

I still find your comments on Liverpool baffling. Did you watch the Barcelona game at Annfield? Liverpool are consistently one of the most exciting teams in the world. They have the best centre back in the world and outside of Messi and Ronaldo, Salah and Mane are probably as good as anyone else in their positions.

I'd be very interested to see who in your mind right now is a better team in terms of quality or to watch.

Ancelotti is one of the best coaches in the world and has plenty of exciting players in the team.

I'm fully aware it's a pre season friendly and will be played at a slow pace with a few players rested. Apart from kids I don't think anyone in attendance will be expecting much more than a decent day out and a chance to see two teams that are very unlikely to play a competitive game in Edinburgh for a long time.

supermcginn
18-07-2019, 11:53 AM

😂 hilarious

McSwanky
18-07-2019, 12:16 PM

OK, so you have chosen one match as your 'evidence' for Liverpool being boring. Not the most detailed analysis there! Finals and semi finals tend in general to be less open anyway due to the high stakes involved, so that further weakens your argument.

As for your 'at great expense' comment, this is costing me and my family of 4 no more than a standard Hibs match to go and see. Is that what you mean?

18-07-2019, 12:20 PM

Lol banter

18-07-2019, 12:54 PM
I still find your comments on Liverpool baffling. Did you watch the Barcelona game at Annfield?
I never realised that Barcelona had ever played at Stirling Albion’s old stadium?

18-07-2019, 01:23 PM

Are you for real, did you watch Liverpool last season?

No quality, inspiration or attractive football 😂

Away and give us peace or a whoosh 😁

18-07-2019, 01:28 PM

😂😂😂😂

18-07-2019, 02:10 PM

Mental. Liverpool are one of the best teams in the world to watch.

They are also the Champions of Europe and only lost one game all season in the Premier League. They are very very far from being ordinary.

18-07-2019, 02:17 PM
These are 2 of the sides I would be keenest to watch play a competitive game as a neutral. I can't believe anyone would think that this Liverpool team is anything other than brilliant to watch. To be fair they were probably a bit more fun to watch before they sorted their defence out.

I'm just not interested in watching pre-season kickabouts. Occasionally if I've been football-starved I'll be keen to go along and get a first glimpse of the season of my own team, but this just doesn't interest me.

Weegreenman
18-07-2019, 02:23 PM

You really shouldn’t drink whilst on the tinternet :greengrin

James Stephen
18-07-2019, 02:45 PM
These are 2 of the sides I would be keenest to watch play a competitive game as a neutral. I can't believe anyone would think that this Liverpool team is anything other than brilliant to watch. To be fair they were probably a bit more fun to watch before they sorted their defence out.

I'm just not interested in watching pre-season kickabouts. Occasionally if I've been football-starved I'll be keen to go along and get a first glimpse of the season of my own team, but this just doesn't interest me.

Agree with this. I kinda feel I should go, but I really hate pre season games, and generally avoid them (even those including Hibs) - the fact it is after our season has started makes it less attractive to me too.

nellio
18-07-2019, 04:52 PM
Mental comment. I love watching Liverpool so fast and exciting.

Salah not insprinational???? Not sure what more he would have to do!!!

Renfrew_Hibby
18-07-2019, 09:30 PM
Mental comment. I love watching Liverpool so fast and exciting.

Salah not insprinational???? Not sure what more he would have to do!!!

Maybe so but not perhaps in a pre season encounter.
There will be changes galore throughout the match and the usual players getting up to speed and getting some pre season minutes under their belts.
Theres nothing on the line and folk will be scrolling their Facebook after 20 mins.

18-07-2019, 09:52 PM

Yeah because the 1984 European Cup Final Dalglish played in was beezer too right enough. Liverpool didn’t play much football that day either after scoring an early goal only this time they didn’t their defence couldn’t hold out for the clean sheet.

18-07-2019, 10:22 PM

There is no way any human being in the world possibly believes this.

Weegreenman
19-07-2019, 05:10 AM
I stopped doing friendlies years ago. They just don’t have that spark of excitement for me. However I have made this game an exception to my rule. I’ve always had a soft spot for Liverpool. I think the reason for this goes back to times when they ruled England in the Eighties and then there’s the obvious Scottish connections. I used to love watching them play big European nights at Anfield under the flood lights with what’s got to be one of the noisiest and most passionate supports in the world.
This current Liverpool side are exceptional and they have a manager that brings the whole club together.
Really looking forward to having what should be a great day out. :thumbsup:

Hibtastic
19-07-2019, 09:27 AM
There is no way any human being in the world possibly believes this.

Is SingHibs a Manchester United fan by any chance?

Hibeewilly
22-07-2019, 11:42 AM
My mates got a spare ticket if anybody looking for one £29 for £25

22-07-2019, 11:49 AM
My mates got a spare ticket if anybody looking for one £29 for £25

Your mate needs to stop trying to steal Hibs fans who will never come back and will be lost to the Scottish game for good if they dare attend this game.

Or something like that.

22-07-2019, 12:03 PM
Genuinely more excited by Hibs v Newcastle

22-07-2019, 12:06 PM

Likewise. This should be decent enough for a Sunday night as well though.

22-07-2019, 12:52 PM

I'm attending and excited by both.

wallpaperman
22-07-2019, 03:42 PM
Thought about getting tickets for this for me and my daughter (Dejan Lovren fan, would you believe?!) but decided against when all the cheaper ones went.

Liverpool are playing in New York on Thursday against Sporting so will likely arrive back in the UK on Friday/early Saturday.

I’m sure the players are delighted they then have to travel up to Scotland almost immediately. Walking pace game with 22 changes (but it might be good fun for all that).

22-07-2019, 03:53 PM

I’m more excited by Hibs v Arbroath.

Sioux
22-07-2019, 04:20 PM
Thought about getting tickets for this for me and my daughter (Dejan Lovren fan, would you believe?!) but decided against when all the cheaper ones went.

Liverpool are playing in New York on Thursday against Sporting so will likely arrive back in the UK on Friday/early Saturday.

I’m sure the players are delighted they then have to travel up to Scotland almost immediately. Walking pace game with 22 changes (but it might be good fun for all that).

Flights from NY to Edinburgh and Glasgow are possible in this day and age. In fact it’s a little bit quicker than Englandshire.

wallpaperman
22-07-2019, 04:26 PM
Flights from NY to Edinburgh and Glasgow are possible in this day and age. In fact it’s a little bit quicker than Englandshire.

Indeed they are, isn’t the modern world a marvel?

If they go for that option the players will be even more delighted that instead of heading home they are heading off to some random city that they have no connection to, in order to heighten awareness of the Liverpool FC franchise.

22-07-2019, 04:38 PM
My brother in-law is a Liverpool fan and bought the whole family tickets for this. Sitting in block E20.

Also reading Klopp’s comments online, looks like not all of that star studded squad are going to be playing in this friendly. Salah, Allison & Firminio will be joining up with the squad in France a day later & Mane is on extended leave due to Senegal reaching the AFCON final.

22-07-2019, 04:39 PM
Be a shame if it's reserve sides out

wallpaperman
22-07-2019, 04:42 PM

I’m sure they will have to have given some commitment that there will be some stars there, at least playing a half. Clearly not all of them, but surely some must be.

22-07-2019, 04:49 PM
I’m sure they will have to have given some commitment that there will be some stars there, at least playing a half. Clearly not all of them, but surely some must be.

I’d imagine it will be a mixture of 1st team, reserves and youngsters. Similar to who is currently on tour just now.

Klopp’s confirmed that Allison, Firminio and Salah are going to be joining up with the squad the next day in France and Mane’s return date hasn’t been confirmed as is on extended leave due to Senegal reaching the AFCON final.

22-07-2019, 04:57 PM

There will be plenty of players worth seeing on the pitch, and yes it would be a shame for the folk that have paid to see it
Liverpool are training at Tynecastle before the game..

22-07-2019, 05:20 PM

In the recent Dortmund friendly, eleven recognised starters from last season played at least a half, I think the only exceptions were Salah and Firmino because of international exertions. There will be loads of substitutions made but the stars will be out there.

wallpaperman
22-07-2019, 05:24 PM
In the recent Dortmund friendly, eleven recognised starters from last season played at least a half, I think the only exceptions were Salah and Firmino because of international exertions. There will be loads of substitutions made but the stars will be out there.

That’s good to hear. Think a lot of people will be disappointed that Salah, in particular won’t play any part.

23-07-2019, 10:01 AM
I’m looking for a couple of tickets for me & my laddie if anyone has spares.

berwickhibee
23-07-2019, 11:19 AM
I’d imagine it will be a mixture of 1st team, reserves and youngsters. Similar to who is currently on tour just now.

Klopp’s confirmed that Allison, Firminio and Salah are going to be joining up with the squad the next day in France and Mane’s return date hasn’t been confirmed as is on extended leave due to Senegal reaching the AFCON final.

Thats what i read too.

Firmino.allison and salah to link up in time for evian training camp.2 days after murrayfield.

But trent.VVD.robbo.ox.origi.etc will be there.

But hopefully the 2 brazilians and egyptian want a run out🙏

23-07-2019, 02:44 PM
Looking forward to seeing a good Napoli side too.

CathroMustStay
24-07-2019, 04:56 AM

Serves the non-LFC/non-Napoli supporting mugs right, for paying £40+ for a friendly with the tempo lucky to be above that of an extended Melwood training session.

Corporate culture never ceases to work wonders on the masses.

24-07-2019, 05:14 AM
Serves the non-LFC/non-Napoli supporting mugs right, for paying £40+ for a friendly with the tempo lucky to be above that of an extended Melwood training session.

What a crap post, just because you have no interest no need to label those who do as mugs. And there were plenty of tickets less than £30 👍

24-07-2019, 07:10 AM

Jeezo. What a bitter post.

Ridiculous.

24-07-2019, 07:43 AM
I am not going for reasons that are utterly irrelevant to the people who are. If you have tickets, I hope you have a great day out - this is the entertainment industry after all. I mean, people go to watch Hearts week in, week out, and you're berating them for going to watch two excellent footballing sides?

24-07-2019, 08:29 AM

Lol

HibsGW
24-07-2019, 08:35 AM

Yeh true, £28 pound to see some of the best players in the world is ridiculous when we all pay £28 to watch Uche Ikpeazu bump into Darren McGregor for 90 minutes.

Mantis Toboggan
24-07-2019, 08:36 AM

Will spend my money on whatever the **** I want actually

24-07-2019, 11:12 AM
Yeh true, £28 pound to see some of the best players in the world is ridiculous when we all pay £28 to watch Uche Ikpeazu bump into Darren McGregor for 90 minutes.

Not the best players in the world though is it? Reserve sides. Such a proper shame. I am gutted for all those who have recently decided to have Liverpool as an "English team"

24-07-2019, 11:13 AM
40 quid to watch Liverpool reserves seems a bit steep

Mantis Toboggan
24-07-2019, 11:14 AM
Not the best players in the world though is it? Reserve sides. Such a proper shame. I am gutted for all those who have recently decided to have Liverpool as an "English team"

Your sympathy is most welcome at this difficult time

24-07-2019, 11:33 AM

How about £28 to watch Liverpool & Napoli first team squads?

24-07-2019, 11:38 AM
I canny believe the dickesh comments from some in here. If you don’t want go, fine. No need to slate others who do. I’m sure I spend my cash on loads of things others wouldn’t. So what?

My step son is desperate to go and see some of the players he’d never normally get the chance to watch. Has anyone ever tried to buy a ticket for a Liverpool league or cup tie? Near impossible. This might be the laddie’s only opportunity.

If anyone has any spares, give me a shout.

24-07-2019, 11:39 AM

I paid £28 to watch the first team squads of both Liverpool and Napoli, it seems you are quoting a different event.

24-07-2019, 11:40 AM
I canny believe the dickesh comments from some in here. If you don’t want go, fine. No need to slate others who do. I’m sure I spend my cash on loads of things others wouldn’t. So what?

My step son is desperate to go and see some of the players he’d never normally get the chance to watch. Has anyone ever tried to buy a ticket for a Liverpool league or cup tie? Near impossible. This might be the laddie’s only opportunity.

Best comment on here. Some other posters seem to have a real anger against other folk spending money on things they don't like.

24-07-2019, 11:42 AM

Then don't go. You won't find me on a Kylie fan website having a pop at those who decided to pay whatever price to see her in Edinburgh a few weeks ago.

24-07-2019, 12:24 PM

I put it down to Man U fans jealousy :greengrin, their best result last season was their city rivals winning the league.

EI255
24-07-2019, 12:31 PM
Then don't go. You won't find me on a Kylie fan website having a pop at those who decided to pay whatever price to see her in Edinburgh a few weeks ago.That's a fair comment.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

Andy.1875
24-07-2019, 12:40 PM

If it wasn't for work commitments I would have bought tickets for this..
Football is not just about Hibs!
Though Hibs are the team that I support, I will quite happily go to non Hibs matches if I think that it may be a decent game.

wallpaperman
24-07-2019, 03:24 PM
I probably fall in between the two polarising opinions on this one.

Wouldn’t have minded seeing the game, but when I looked at the schedule they had before this game and the pricing, made my mind up not to bother.

As long as people aren’t expecting more than a glorified bounce game, played at half pace, then it could be an enjoyable day out.

The pricing is way out of whack for what it is, in my opinion, despite the lowest prices being on par with what we pay, plus the costs of Murrayfield.

thebausburst
24-07-2019, 05:43 PM
What a crap post, just because you have no interest no need to label those who do as mugs. And there were plenty of tickets less than £30 👍

Agree 100%, great opportunity to see the European Champions in your own back yard I for one am going and looking forward to it 👍

24-07-2019, 06:13 PM
Agree 100%, great opportunity to see the European Champions in your own back yard I for one am going and looking forward to it 👍

Murrayfield is your own back yard? LTYF! :wink:

24-07-2019, 06:37 PM

Some people are just jealous mate :greengrin

25-07-2019, 11:22 AM
Tickets now secured. Looking forward to this, as are my old man & step son. Looks like there’s loads going on in the fanzone pre-match.

25-07-2019, 11:35 AM
Tickets now secured. Looking forward to this, as are my old man & step son. Looks like there’s loads going on in the fanzone pre-match.

Hi. A few of us are going but we've ended up with 4 spare tickets - 2 adult and 2 under 16. Just looking for face value ie £80 in total for the 4. Anybody interested?

25-07-2019, 11:42 AM
http://i.imgur.com/59uTvlk.jpg

26-07-2019, 12:50 PM
Hi. A few of us are going but we've ended up with 4 spare tickets - 2 adult and 2 under 16. Just looking for face value ie £80 in total for the 4. Anybody interested?

Hope this is OK - bringing message up again in case anyone is interested?

26-07-2019, 01:13 PM
Hope this is OK - bringing message up again in case anyone is interested?

What section are they for?

26-07-2019, 02:51 PM
What section are they for?

W5 (lower tier)

andybev1
26-07-2019, 04:33 PM
Got tickets but probably peeing down. hope not

26-07-2019, 05:00 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/49129123

27-07-2019, 12:53 PM
Scottish Rugby just confirmed that's it's a sell out tomorrow. Friendly or not, it will be a great occasion.

27-07-2019, 02:00 PM
Scottish Rugby just confirmed that's it's a sell out tomorrow. Friendly or not, it will be a great occasion.

It’s been sold out for weeks. The odd returned ticket apart. Already loads of fans kicking about town. Great for the city.

ED Hibee
27-07-2019, 02:13 PM
It’s been sold out for weeks. The odd returned ticket apart. Already loads of fans kicking about town. Great for the city.

So if it’s a sell out does that mean Liverpool will now have the highest attendance at a football match in our city?

27-07-2019, 02:26 PM
Hope it pishes down all day and it's a total failure 👍

27-07-2019, 02:47 PM

💩

27-07-2019, 02:50 PM

Thanks

27-07-2019, 02:50 PM

Another person coming across like a right dick over this fixture :rolleyes:

murray26
27-07-2019, 02:53 PM

Me too .. nothing but glory hunters.. I really don’t see the affiliation most of those people have with Liverpool..

27-07-2019, 02:56 PM
Me too .. nothing but glory hunters.. I really don’t see the affiliation most of those people have with Liverpool..

And another one

27-07-2019, 02:58 PM
And another one

Trolls :agree:

Saturday Boy
27-07-2019, 02:59 PM
There’s plenty Liverpool fans in town today. Good fun, if a bit wet.

Curious though, are all the bald/ shaven heads something to do with the water down there, or a cultural reaction to the Fast Show? 😳