View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v St Mirren

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Mr_F
05-12-2018, 08:28 PM
Mallan bullied and schooled from every other midfielder he’s played this season. Suppose he can take 1 in 15 decent dead balls tho so worth it eh

heidtheba
05-12-2018, 08:29 PM
Can we all quickly agree on a Hibs player who we think is 'p&*h, past it, needs emptied asap' please? Every time we've done that tonight they've scored or set one up...

05-12-2018, 08:29 PM
McLaren coming on.

Mr_F
05-12-2018, 08:30 PM
Swap Mallan for Hammil?

Mallan bullied and schooled from every other midfielder he’s played this season. Suppose he can take 1 in 15 decent dead balls tho so worth it eh

Going by this thread he will score the winner from a set piece.

MaClaren gets 4 mins

Can we all quickly agree on a Hibs player who we think is 'p&*h, past it, needs emptied asap' please? Every time we've done that tonight they've scored or set one up...

Why is Maclaren even coming on, he’s been pish all season. Lennon gtf

Going by this thread he will score the winner from a set piece.

Yeah he's terrible... (fingers crossed)

05-12-2018, 08:31 PM
Utd v Arsenal game is thoroughly enjoyable.

Off the bar
Horgan off for Maclaren, Horgan played ok for me tonight

Sub should have been made 10 minutes ago

05-12-2018, 08:32 PM
Match attendance announced as 15k. Laughable. More like 9k.

C’mon Hibs, let’s get this winner!

FF is a third full max. I’m in the east so don’t know what this looks like?

Mr_F
05-12-2018, 08:33 PM
Most on here would rather have Shaw than Miller :faf:

05-12-2018, 08:33 PM
Abysmal stuff like, classic relegation six pointer performance from us.

Off the bar
05-12-2018, 08:34 PM
5 minutes added on

Sub should have been made 10 minutes ago

Another Lennon thing! But he's not the only manager that seems to do this

I’m not there tonight, has the second half been more encouraging?

Some result for Aberdeen.

05-12-2018, 08:35 PM
Drawing your home games and getting beat away is relegation form.

Plain and simple.

Benny Brazil
Sometimes wonder why some people suppprt Hibs with some of the garbage posted on here

In the West now. Looks like 8-9k to me?

Killie 2nd in the table, you can't but admire what Clarke has achieved there.

Curly1875
Kilmarnock currently top of the league. Mental

nope

Mr_F
That’s all come from the maverick Mallan no being actually any good with the ball in open play with a clear shot. Absolute passenger

As it stands, Killie top of the league.

05-12-2018, 08:36 PM
Almost 2-3 them. Slack pass from Mallan and Stevenson left it.

That’s all come from the maverick Mallan no being actually any good with the ball in open play with a clear shot. Absolute passenger

You’re so boring

Much, but it's still two draws at home against the bottom two sides of the league.

05-12-2018, 08:37 PM
nope

However we have scored 2 compared to the 1 of St Mirren in this half. Better than the 1st half, that’s for sure.

Better 2nd half for sure, but just not good enough. Nowhere near it.

vercol36
Killie 2nd in the table, you can't but admire what Clarke has achieved there.

1st according to BBC!

He's contributed a lot more this season than the likes of Kamberi.

05-12-2018, 08:38 PM
Sometimes wonder why some people suppprt Hibs with some of the garbage posted on here

I'm pretty certain that some of them don't.....

Yeah...not good enough

****ing terrible.

Not good

spirited displays at home against the two bottom teams....2 points against st.johnstone/Dundee/st.mirren, back to the bad old days sadly

As it stands, Killie top of the league.
Great, well done them.

Off the bar
05-12-2018, 08:39 PM

Not really good enough.

Not nearly good enough

05-12-2018, 08:40 PM
****ing terrible.

Not much needs to be added to this really. A game that nearly everyone admitted was a must win including our assistant manager.

05-12-2018, 08:40 PM
Kilmarnock top of the league. Mental.

supermcginn
05-12-2018, 08:41 PM
Time for change.

HibeeHibernian4
05-12-2018, 08:41 PM
When we get it back to 1-1, last season we'd have gone on to win it 2 or 3-1. Instead, we throw it away again and make victory nigh on impossible. Shambles. :rolleyes:

MacGruber
05-12-2018, 08:42 PM
Like Lennon. Done a great job. His time is up now though. MvLaren on for 2 mins needing a goal. Piss take

On the plus side Mavrias looks pretty tidy and Slivka looked good when he came on. Maclaren is weak as ****, although would still have him in over Shaw who isn't going to cut it by the looks of things.

Scrappy draw - illustrates where we are and where we are likely to remain, unless we have a successful window in January.

05-12-2018, 08:43 PM
Pretty poor show all round - somebody somewhere needs to start making a team out of this squad of players ...

05-12-2018, 08:44 PM
Scrappy draw - illustrates where we are and where we are likely to remain, unless we have a successful window in January.We scored 2 good goals and the keeper sold the ones we lost. We needed a successful summer window.

05-12-2018, 08:44 PM
Slivka making a positive impact again. Can't wait till he's back on the bench for the next 3 weeks.

Nice to see Oli get a goal. Worked hard. Porteous really good. Rest range from meh to dreadful.

05-12-2018, 08:45 PM
Slivka making a positive impact again. Can't wait till he's back on the bench for the next 3 weeks.

Nice to see Oli get a goal. Worked hard. Porteous really good. Rest range from meh to dreadful.

Slivka was my only positive today. I don’t really rate him but he was a definite improvement.

berwickhibee
What is wrong with kamberi??

H18S NX
these goals we are losing lately,so self inflicted

05-12-2018, 08:46 PM
On the plus side Mavrias looks pretty tidy and Slivka looked good when he came on. Maclaren is weak as ****, although would still have him in over Shaw who isn't going to cut it by the looks of things.

The thing is though come next week we'll be saying the opposite. Too many players having an off day far too often. Need a little consistency and that starts with the formation and lineup. Build from that and look to shake things up in January.

05-12-2018, 08:46 PM
That full time?

05-12-2018, 08:47 PM
Awful awful awful

tonyrougier123
05-12-2018, 08:50 PM
if we make top 6 it will be a mini miracle,Erse has fell oot this team!!

05-12-2018, 08:51 PM
Looking objectively we actually scored 2 well worked goals and lost the game because our keeper sold us out twice. Ambrose ducks so he must have had a shout.

05-12-2018, 08:53 PM
Had to leave early tonight, but doesn't sound like it got much better. Hibs currently worst team in the league & the team everyone will relish playing sadly.

05-12-2018, 08:55 PM
Looking objectively we actually scored 2 well worked goals and lost the game because our keeper sold us out twice. Ambrose ducks so he must have had a shout.

You could be right, bit id need to see both again to say keeper at fault. The first again is hard to tell. No one expects him to hit from there and iirc was it not Bogdan who kicked the ball up the pitch which is why he was so far out in the first place? all happened so fast for me to really see what happened

05-12-2018, 08:59 PM
I thought we had lost again when i logged on.....we drew and got a point...im happy

H18S NX
05-12-2018, 09:03 PM
Take a bow Ryan Porteous,very good game tonight.

05-12-2018, 09:04 PM

Ambrose glanced it into his own net didnt he?

05-12-2018, 09:04 PM

He should have been man of the match, definitely wasn’t Horgan!

Hibees1973
05-12-2018, 09:05 PM
Lennon must be frustrated at what he is getting from his players.

He seems to be getting desperate though given some of his team selections/substitutions. For example, the team against Kilmarnock, Slivka for Kamberi toinight.

What a mess we are in!

We cannot seem to stop losing goals. The only change Lennon has not done this year is change the goalie. Why not bring Marciano in now....we will then have a full set.

RossScott1991
05-12-2018, 09:05 PM
My assessment of the game was that was slow ponderous tedious crap.

Positives : Gained a point on Hamilton.

05-12-2018, 09:07 PM

MAC was on for 5 mins.

ionahibby
05-12-2018, 09:07 PM
What is wrong with kamberi??

I’ve got a feeling Kamberi doesn’t want to be here anymore. Maybe promised things that haven’t come to fruition?

calamitus
05-12-2018, 09:08 PM
I'm afraid he's not good enough at this level yet. Hearts signed experience, we put up with untested youth. Make your own mind up.

Sorry, bur that couldn't be further from the truth. He was our best defender in the second half. Really controlled his area, and his driving forward and distribution were excellent

bodhibs
05-12-2018, 09:10 PM
I’ve got a feeling Kamberi doesn’t want to be here anymore. Maybe promised things that haven’t come to fruition?

Been thinking this, his head don't seem in it anymore

05-12-2018, 09:11 PM

Kamberi certainly does look off, but promised what exactly? He is going through a bad spell, only he can change that.

05-12-2018, 09:11 PM
Missing spark and drive in the midfield and the hopeful cross from wide areas just too predictable and being dealt with easily by defences.
Coming from behind twice a positive, but against opposition like St Mirren it’s small beer. A point more than we had and desperately in need of a win. Will take any kind of a win at Hamilton on Saturday.

05-12-2018, 09:12 PM
Sorry, bur that couldn't be further from the truth. He was our best defender in the second half. Really controlled his area, and his driving forward and distribution were excellent

Defensively he was fine. His distribution is very poor though.

05-12-2018, 09:14 PM

But gave away a really stupid free kick from which they took the lead.

05-12-2018, 09:16 PM
Lennon must be frustrated at what he is getting from his players.

He seems to be getting desperate though given some of his team selections/substitutions. For example, the team against Kilmarnock, Slivka for Kamberi toinight.

What a mess we are in!

We cannot seem to stop losing goals. The only change Lennon has not done this year is change the goalie. Why not bring Marciano in now....we will then have a full set.

No, the players must frustrated with the ****ing manager and his **** changes every single week.

05-12-2018, 09:17 PM
Been thinking this, his head don't seem in it anymore

Think it's our manager who has clearly lost focus, not Flo Kamberi.

One thing about Flo however, he needs a good partner up front and our summer recruitment was awful in that sense - to go with only Flo, an unfit Jamie and young player in Ollie was ridiculous and we needed at least one more proven striker and another creative midfielder.

I'd be seriously questioning that, not Flo Kamberi's 'head'.

We’re not a team. We’re just a collection of individuals now.

No drive. Not enough will to win. After we equalised we did more to kill the game than they did by giving away stupid fouls. We even kicked the ball away after the ref had given some of them.

We’re in bother.

Kamberi certainly does look off, but promised what exactly? He is going through a bad spell, only he can change that.
He’s injured.

Hannah_hfc
05-12-2018, 09:18 PM
Poor tonight, until we scored we look like a team very short in confidence. Mavrias I thought had a good attitude all game, didn’t stop trying. A couple poor balls in the first half but got into it second half.

05-12-2018, 09:18 PM
We’re not a team. We’re just a collection of individuals now.

No drive. Not enough will to win. After we equalised we did more to kill the game than they did by giving away stupid fouls. We even kicked the ball away after the ref had given some of them.

We’re in bother.

Spot on. A collection of spontaneous players playing at any time with no reason nor rhyme.! Left with no “team” at all.

05-12-2018, 09:23 PM
Defensively he was fine. His distribution is very poor though.

Some of it was definitely below par, some of it was very good. Much more good than poor.

K.Marx
05-12-2018, 09:31 PM
All our big players are awful at the moment. Boyle, Kamberi, Mallan. The list goes on.

05-12-2018, 09:40 PM
I thought we had lost again when i logged on.....we drew and got a point...im happy

You know things are bad when people are happy with a point at home to st.mirren

05-12-2018, 09:45 PM
Rotten performance against a team we should be winning comfortably against. I don't know whats happened to us in the last few weeks but we are stuck in a real rut.

Lennon needs to come out and tell us what the hell is going on because it's nowhere near good enough. That was two bottom 6 teams on show tonight. Where was the urgency when we were behind?!

And btw what on earth was Stevenson thinking right at the end when the ball came out to him and instead of taking a chance on what was literally the last seconds of the game and punting it back into the box, he turns and plays it back to the keeper?! I love Lewis and i'm always one to leap to his defence but that was totally poor especially from such an experienced playee. Last seconds of the game, we're drawing to a piss poor team - get the ball lobbed back into the box and give ourselves a half decent crack at a winner! It was as if he just panicked.

Oli Shaw for me isn't ready. Took his goal well but for me he's far too lightweight. I think in time he will develop but atm we can't rely on him as one of our main strikers.

05-12-2018, 09:48 PM

No offence but it's a pretty sad state of affairs when we become happy with a draw to St Mirren. If thats where we're at now then i'm very worried.

05-12-2018, 10:00 PM
How Lennon missed Horgan was gone with about 25 minutes left I'll never know. We could have got a sub on then and given us some much needed energy. Normally when you see the socks down like Mallan and players struggling to jog back then you have watched a team pressing for the whole game. Our midfield should have had to pay an entrance fee tonight as they were passengers most of the night. Shaw and Kamberi could have taken a wee bench out to sit on as there was next to no movement from them.

We are almost at the point we were with Butcher imo. Lennon calling the team rejects, Parker now saying players aren't working. Lots of players injured and in and out and those playing just going through the motions. If the teams below us pick up a few points in December we could be in a bit of trouble. We completely lack character and that is from the Manager down. You can only be called a winner when you are winning and now we have a team mostly made up of Lennon's signings we look completely devoid of fight and will to win.

Hamilton may be even worse than St Mirren who were dreadful but I don't fancy our chances come Saturday.

05-12-2018, 10:09 PM
Piss poor again, no one seems to know what they're doing, no urgency off the ball and no urgency on it until we had 15 mins left. Far too many players going through the motions, Kamberi, Boyle, Horgan and Mallan all brutal at the moment and Bogdan needs dropped, I blame him for both goals.

SideBurns
05-12-2018, 10:14 PM
How Lennon missed Horgan was gone with about 25 minutes left I'll never know. We could have got a sub on then and given us some much needed energy. Normally when you see the socks down like Mallan and players struggling to jog back then you have watched a team pressing for the whole game. Our midfield should have had to pay an entrance fee tonight as they were passengers most of the night. Shaw and Kamberi could have taken a wee bench out to sit on as there was next to no movement from them.

We are almost at the point we were with Butcher imo. Lennon calling the team rejects, Parker now saying players aren't working. Lots of players injured and in and out and those playing just going through the motions. If the teams below us pick up a few points in December we could be in a bit of trouble. We completely lack character and that is from the Manager down. You can only be called a winner when you are winning and now we have a team mostly made up of Lennon's signings we look completely devoid of fight and will to win.

Hamilton may be even worse than St Mirren who were dreadful but I don't fancy our chances come Saturday.

I doubt Hamilton are worse than St.Mirren, as they won 3-1 in Paisley on Saturday. I thought St.Mirren were absolutely brutal, but once again we lacked a cutting edge, imagination, and decisiveness in the final third.

Other than that, I can't disagree with your post. It is worrying, and I've seen the same signs under too many managers in years gone by.

05-12-2018, 10:23 PM
I doubt Hamilton are worse than St.Mirren, as they won 3-1 in Paisley on Saturday. I thought St.Mirren were absolutely brutal, but once again we lacked a cutting edge, imagination, and decisiveness in the final third.

Other than that, I can't disagree with your post. It is worrying, and I've seen the same signs under too many managers in years gone by.

They just got pumped 4-0 from Dundee and we even beat then 6-0. They have picked up a few good results and are better at home but they haven't half suffered some big losses this season. The three teams at the bottom are dreadful and we, at the moment, don't look any better, Fortunately we got enough points at the start of the season to give us plenty breathing room as we need it. Very difficult decision for Leeann in terms of giving Lennon a wedge in January. I hope those below us keep their distance and then I would keep the purse tightly shut.

05-12-2018, 10:23 PM
He’s injured.

Well he's starting every game so he can't be injured. Maybe not 100% but if he's fit enough to start that's no excuse for tonight - he was diabolical.

05-12-2018, 10:25 PM
He’s injured.

I’m not sure he’s injured tbh. And if he is - is it an injury to his ball control skills? As they seem to have deserted him..together with his work rate ...

SideBurns
05-12-2018, 10:35 PM
They just got pumped 4-0 from Dundee and we even beat then 6-0. They have picked up a few good results and are better at home but they haven't half suffered some big losses this season. The three teams at the bottom are dreadful and we, at the moment, don't look any better, Fortunately we got enough points at the start of the season to give us plenty breathing room as we need it. Very difficult decision for Leeann in terms of giving Lennon a wedge in January. I hope those below us keep their distance and then I would keep the purse tightly shut.

Sorry, i didn't see that result tonight. Out of the 3 bottom teams I've seen at ER, Dundee were certainly the best. I didn't think St.Mirren were better than the Hamilton team we thrashed 6-0; I just thought we were a lot worse tonight than we were against Accies. But if you don't think Lennon can be trusted with January's transfer budget, surely by extension you must think we need a new manager?

05-12-2018, 10:46 PM
Sorry, i didn't see that result tonight. Out of the 3 bottom teams I've seen at ER, Dundee were certainly the best. I didn't think St.Mirren were better than the Hamilton team we thrashed 6-0; I just thought we were a lot worse tonight than we were against Accies. But if you don't think Lennon can be trusted with January's transfer budget, surely by extension you must think we need a new manager?

I think he has done enough to be given until the end of the season. The injuries haven't helped and he might get a selection that works eventually. What I don't want is for him to spend a fortune in a season we are unlikely to achieve anything. We need a couple of players but I don't want us spending big and then getting rid of him in the summer. If he can get us moving in the right direction by the end of the season then back him again in the summer.

Mr_F
05-12-2018, 10:51 PM
You’re so boring

No as boring as you or being subjected to watchin Mallan

SideBurns
05-12-2018, 10:59 PM
I think he has done enough to be given until the end of the season. The injuries haven't helped and he might get a selection that works eventually. What I don't want is for him to spend a fortune in a season we are unlikely to achieve anything. We need a couple of players but I don't want us spending big and then getting rid of him in the summer. If he can get us moving in the right direction by the end of the season then back him again in the summer.

Fair enough. But given how well things were going a couple of months ago, I'd find it hard to write off a transfer window because of a lack of trust in the manager to use the budget properly. If things don't improve during the rest of December, I think a change will be necessary. Lennon has been great for Hibs, but there is life beyond his time at the club; I still hope he can turn it around, but i honestly no longer believe it.

05-12-2018, 11:00 PM
All our big players are awful at the moment. Boyle, Kamberi, Mallan. The list goes on.

I thought Boyle played well tonight. Never stopped trying and set up our first goal.

05-12-2018, 11:07 PM
Fair enough. But given how well things were going a couple of months ago, I'd find it hard to write off a transfer window because of a lack of trust in the manager to use the budget properly. If things don't improve during the rest of December, I think a change will be necessary. Lennon has been great for Hibs, but there is life beyond his time at the club; I still hope he can turn it around, but i honestly no longer believe it.

I don't believe he will turn it round either but stranger things have happened. Parker's words suggest that the spray paint cans are being shook in preparation for the writing on the wall. If we play like we played tonight for most of the games in December I won't need to worry about money being wasted in January by Lennon.

06-12-2018, 04:04 AM
First observation - you canny beat a .net Match thread!

2nd - only 6 weeks or so ago I think it's fair to say we were all (largely all of us!?) happy with how things were generally going and with Lennon himself.

3rd - I distinctly recall the vast majority on here being thrilled when we signed Mallan, Flo and then McLaren again.

4th - SJM, Allan, McGeouch & Barker all left (any team in Scotland would be markedly worse after losing these players).

5th - We've been plagued off and on with a really bad run of injuries this season which, to me, makes it not really that surprising that Lennon doesn't (a) know and/or (b) been able to determine or pick his best starting 11. Injuries to - Marciano, Gray, Hanlon, Daz, Hyndman, Agyeapong, McLaren and even some speculation Flo hasn't really been 100% fit since his return.

All these factors rolled up plus the other issue of a squad lacking any confidence due to losing a few games and suddenly there's calls for Lennon to go, and abuse for Flo, Jamie & Mallan - apparently they're "Tom Kite" now, and finally - we're going to be in a relegation battle. Personally, I'd say we should reasonably expect Lennon to come out and try to set things straight with the fans, explain how he intends to try and turn round our slump in form, explain what we're doing behind the scenes to try and remedy our never ending run of injuries and what he's gonna try and do in January to bolster the squad. To bin him at this point though is surely madness? We've been brutal for a few weeks yes, but are still only 2 wins off 4th or 5th spot (not that I'm suggesting this would signify "success" or be the limit of our ambitions). Sack Lennon now and who do we get in? Remember the run of "managers" we've had in recent times and be careful what you wish for!

Islington Hibs
06-12-2018, 06:40 AM
First observation - you canny beat a .net Match thread!

2nd - only 6 weeks or so ago I think it's fair to say we were all (largely all of us!?) happy with how things were generally going and with Lennon himself.

3rd - I distinctly recall the vast majority on here being thrilled when we signed Mallan, Flo and then McLaren again.

4th - SJM, Allan, McGeouch & Barker all left (any team in Scotland would be markedly worse after losing these players).

5th - We've been plagued off and on with a really bad run of injuries this season which, to me, makes it not really that surprising that Lennon doesn't (a) know and/or (b) been able to determine or pick his best starting 11. Injuries to - Marciano, Gray, Hanlon, Daz, Hyndman, Agyeapong, McLaren and even some speculation Flo hasn't really been 100% fit since his return.

All these factors rolled up plus the other issue of a squad lacking any confidence due to losing a few games and suddenly there's calls for Lennon to go, and abuse for Flo, Jamie & Mallan - apparently they're "Tom Kite" now, and finally - we're going to be in a relegation battle. Personally, I'd say we should reasonably expect Lennon to come out and try to set things straight with the fans, explain how he intends to try and turn round our slump in form, explain what we're doing behind the scenes to try and remedy our never ending run of injuries and what he's gonna try and do in January to bolster the squad. To bin him at this point though is surely madness? We've been brutal for a few weeks yes, but are still only 2 wins off 4th or 5th spot (not that I'm suggesting this would signify "success" or be the limit of our ambitions). Sack Lennon now and who do we get in? Remember the run of "managers" we've had in recent times and be careful what you wish for!

Great post! While I am not a fan of Lennon myself the fire him would be absurd. His record here is decent and the bad run, while worrying, is not remotely justified in firing him. On that basis there is hardly a manager in the country that could survive.

Moreover I wager it is not even on the Boards mind.Dempster does not seem that sort of character. If is possible, given his personality, he walks, but fired no - things would need to get a lot worse and that is from someone who did not really support his appointment and has been broadly unconvinced by him since.

06-12-2018, 06:47 AM
Bogdan needs dropped after last night's performance.To lose a goal from 55yards was inexcusable. Not the first time I feel he has let us down.

06-12-2018, 05:03 PM

Ambrose didn't duck, it was a crap header that went in

06-12-2018, 06:04 PM
Bogdan needs dropped after last night's performance.To lose a goal from 55yards was inexcusable. Not the first time I feel he has let us down.

No way was he at fault for the first goal he was in what I would consider a reasonable starting position for the ball being just over the half way line. An amazing effort.