View Full Version : A-league football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]

PHeffernan
21-01-2024, 10:42 PM
Aye, but seems there is no dosh in the transfer kitty.

Makes you wonder what picture was presented to Monty in regard to available money for reinforcements when they went through the interview process.

Thing is only one team in Scotland has paid a fee for a player in this window so it's not as if Hibs business is much different from the other 40 Scottish clubs.
As we know if you buy a good player in the January you pay a premium price and Hibs are not going to do that.

At the start of the break I reckoned 3rd and 4th were gone and the transfer window, too date, hasn't caused me to change that opinion. Odds are we need to reel in St Mirren and Kilmarnock to claim the last European place.

21-01-2024, 11:02 PM
[QUOTE=PHeffernan;7554892]Thing is only one team in Scotland has paid a fee for a player in this window so it's not as if Hibs business is much different from the other 40 Scottish clubs.
As we know if you buy a good player in the January you pay a premium price and Hibs are not going to do that.

At the start of the break I reckoned 3rd and 4th were gone and the transfer window, to date, hasn't caused me to change that opinion. Odds are we need to reel in St Mirren and Kilmarnock to claim the last European place.

Pretty sure the possibility of money being available in the January window by a new incoming manager would have been discussed though.

Guess we can assume the answer was….’Naw, there’s nane’.

23-01-2024, 11:30 AM
Martin Boyle penalty puts the Socceroos 1-0 up at half time against Uzbekistan

Hand ball decision……Dog knows what hand ball is these days……I would be going berserk if I was the Uzbek coach.

Dunno where players are supposed to put their hands.

23-01-2024, 11:31 AM
Martin Boyle penalty puts the Socceroos 1-0 up at half time against Uzbekistan

Hand ball decision……Dog knows what hand ball is these days……I would be going berserk if I was the Uzbek coach.

Dunno where players are supposed to put their hands.

Just said that on the other thread - outrageous. Would never have been mentioned again if they'd just got on the game.

25-01-2024, 09:01 AM
Anyone watching the Melbourne City v Adelaide game?

I missed it, but my missus swears she heard the commentator say words to the effect..

‘And the talk among people in the know is Jeggo is coming back’………she wasn’t sure which club they were talking about….Jeggo’s home town is Melbourne but he did play for Adelaide for a couple of seasons…

25-01-2024, 09:02 AM

I missed it, but my missus swears she heard the commentator say words to the effect..

‘And the talk among people in the know is Jeggo is coming back’………she wasn’t sure which club they were talking about….Jeggo’s home town is Melbourne but he did play for Adelaide for a couple of seasons…

Only catch the Sat/Sun UK games. Hopefully someone can clarify.

25-01-2024, 09:44 AM

Independent tweet confirms his destination is Melbourne City.

Only thing not confirmed is…..when.

27-01-2024, 08:55 AM
Nisbet having another decent game for CCM

CCM4LIFE
27-01-2024, 09:18 AM
How about that goal from Miguel Di Pizzio? He's 18 btw!

https://www.instagram.com/reel/C2mU_C9Sbzx/

28-01-2024, 10:15 AM
Australia v Indonesia..in round of 16 Asia Cup

Martin Boyle starts.

Lewis Miller and another player never travelled with the squad as they are ‘under the weather’.

Wasn’t stated, but I’m guessing Covid maybe.

Pity…I reckon he may have started tonight.

28-01-2024, 11:23 AM
Martin Boyle scores with superb diving header at back post to put the Aussies 2-0 up just before half time.

EGL2000
28-01-2024, 12:12 PM
Great finish from Boyle, just launched himself at the ball!

31-01-2024, 05:45 AM
Adelaide v Sydney on shortly.

Hope I don’t put the mockers on him, but keep an eye out for Adelaide’s keeper Joe Gauci.

He improves every season and has been named in the Socceroo squad for the World Cup matches next week, having got his first call up not long ago.

Could he be the answer for us?

Posted this back in November on the anniversary of when they hung Ned Kelly.

Rumours today that Gauci is being targeted by Aston Villa.

31-01-2024, 07:56 AM
Posted this back in November on the anniversary of when they hung Ned Kelly.

Rumours today that Gauci is being targeted by Aston Villa.

He wouldn’t be eligible for a work permit in England so they’d either need to loan him out until he is eligible or hope that he can get an Elite Sporting Contribution exemption (which clubs have a limit of).

31-01-2024, 08:10 AM
He wouldn’t be eligible for a work permit in England so they’d either need to loan him out until he is eligible or hope that he can get an Elite Sporting Contribution exemption (which clubs have a limit of).

Interestingly, if it goes through….and the mail is it will….then he’ll be the second Adelaide United keeper to join an EPL club in a week.

Brighton signed 19 year old Steven Hall for their academy set up a week ago.

02-02-2024, 09:48 AM
Perth v Melbourne City just kicked off.

Jimmy Jeggo on the bench.

26-02-2024, 12:18 AM

NoticedJoe Gauci already on Aston Villa’s bench this weekend.

PHeffernan
26-02-2024, 01:53 AM
Perth v Melbourne City just kicked off.

Jimmy Jeggo on the bench.

Ah well, a warm bench is much better than a cold one.

andrew70
02-03-2024, 07:35 AM
Josh Nisbet scores for CCM.

Playing in the 10 role today he’s been very efficient.

02-03-2024, 07:48 AM

If he doesn’t come to us I’ll be massively unhappy. Been banging that drum for a while now.

Bridge hibs
02-03-2024, 08:39 AM
If he doesn’t come to us I’ll be massively unhappy. Been banging that drum for a while now.

The laddie is a grafter and never hides, I like his energy too, certainly has a good engine

02-03-2024, 09:57 AM

Suspensions mean he was pushed forward….quiet game by his standards but after Hibs supporters got over their ‘Josh Who, FFS’ moment, I think they would love his commitment.

A very clever player whose contract expires in June.

Hibs surely have approached him in some form by now.

29-03-2024, 07:45 AM
Adelaide Utd v Western United kicking off in their A League Good Friday clash in a couple of minutes.

Musa Toure…who Hibs are credited with an interest in..on the Adelaide bench

29-03-2024, 09:49 AM
Musa Toure came on as a sub in 81 minute replacing Irankunda in his last home game before reporting to Bayern Munich.

Only touched the ball a couple of times and hardly involved at all.

Commentator acknowledged Hibs interest in him.

Really can’t offer a definitive opinion on Toure as he hasn’t actually started a game in the A League with all his appearances coming off the bench…..all 9 of them I think.

Certainly haven’t seen anything from him to suggest he’d be a candidate for our first team, but as I say, he hasn’t played much to make a judgement on.

02-04-2024, 10:20 AM
Josh Nisbet provides the assist for Max Balard to score his first A League goal in the 93rd minute and Central Coast Mariners defeat
Melbourne City 2-1.

Jamie MacLaren, Jimmy Jeggo and Celtic loanee Marco Tilio all started on the bench for City.

If Mariners beat Wellington Phoenix on Saturday at picturesque Sauce BottleStadium on Saturday they replace the Phoenix at the top of the A League table.

02-04-2024, 01:55 PM

"At 1.60m, Nisbet is the shortest current player in the A-League".

Getting this in early - not got it physically for "Scottish football"

15 stone monsters only please. Daz McGregor on creatine or nothing for me.

05-04-2024, 10:22 AM
WSW 1 v 2 Brisbane Roar

Some game this played in a monsoon must win for both teams

80 minutes gone

TNT

05-04-2024, 10:50 AM
WSW 1 v 2 Brisbane Roar

Some game this played in a monsoon must win for both teams

80 minutes gone

TNT

Summer ended with a bang, and it’s been constant rain…state government this morning asking everybody in Sydney to drive only when a necessity and work from home if possible……..so I was surprised the game was able to go ahead…..but the pitch held up remarkably given the water that must have landed on it.

Looks worse two hours up the road in Newcastle…….rugby league players kicking up puddles with every step they take!

It’s just on 10pm out my way and so far we’ve had just over 52 mm of rain today….there’s 24 mm to the inch…..

Half an hour away a suburb is being evacuated due to flooding…….

andrew70
06-04-2024, 07:19 AM
Poor game so far in the top of the table clash between Nisbets CCM and the Phoenix.

Bridge hibs
06-04-2024, 07:49 AM
Poor game so far in the top of the table clash between Nisbets CCM and the Phoenix.

Very scrappy, Im hoping amongst the scrappiness some football might break out

Oops, goal CCM 🤣

andrew70
06-04-2024, 08:38 AM
Very scrappy, Im hoping amongst the scrappiness some football might break out

Oops, goal CCM 🤣

They’ll take that win. Big turnaround that last min goal.

Bridge hibs
06-04-2024, 08:42 AM
They’ll take that win. Big turnaround that last min goal.

Och I missed the rest of the game as was taking the mutt out

Green forever
06-04-2024, 09:14 AM
Melbourne Victory v Melbourne City on just now, Jimmy Jeggo playing for City who are one nil up, Jamie McLaren the bench.

06-04-2024, 09:20 AM
Melbourne Victory v Melbourne City on just now, Jimmy Jeggo playing for City who are one nil up, Jamie McLaren the bench.

Rumours are that McLaren has been lined up for a move to Auckland FC

12-04-2024, 10:10 AM
Adelaide’s 18 year old striker Nestory Irakunda just scored a goal that demonstrated why Bayern Munich have signed him.

Musa Toure, who we have been linked with, on the bench for Adelaide against Macarthur.

12-04-2024, 11:30 AM
Toure comes on in 86th minute for his 10th (all off the bench);A League appearance

24-04-2024, 11:09 AM
Central Coast mariners just beat a team from Kyrgistan 3-0 to qualify for AFC Cup final against a club side from Lebanon.

The final will be played somewhere in west Asia.

A million dollar pay day even if they lose double that and more if they win.

Possible Hibs targets Josh Nisbet and Jacob Farrell both had solid games with Nisbet providing an excellent ball for the second goal.

24-04-2024, 11:49 AM
Central Coast mariners just beat a team from Kyrgistan 3-0 to qualify for AFC Cup final against a club side from Lebanon.

The final will be played somewhere in west Asia.

A million dollar pay day even if they lose double that and more if they win.

Possible Hibs targets Josh Nisbet and Jacob Farrell both had solid games with Nisbet providing an excellent ball for the second goal.

Just googled Central Coast Mariners to read about this, and one of the first things that came up was a story about one of the players being arrested at the airport after the first leg, and temporarily suspended by the league, after being charged with rape!

I take it that's big news over there?

24-04-2024, 12:14 PM
Just googled Central Coast Mariners to read about this, and one of the first things that came up was a story about one of the players being arrested at the airport after the first leg, and temporarily suspended by the league, after being charged with rape!

2 EPL players, 19 year old, arrested for alleged rape, big news over here.

24-04-2024, 12:31 PM

One report said arrested at airport….when they returned from the first leg…other reports said he was arrested at a property in Terrigal.

Certainly made the news….but fitba isn’t the main sport here so it hasn’t received the same blanket publicity that there would be if it was a Rugby League or AFL player.

The guy was Angel Torres…a Colombian who was their top scorer….he scored a few goals right enough, but I didn’t fancy him much as I would describe him as someone who played for himself rather than the team.

29-04-2024, 10:02 AM
Josh Nisbet wins CCM players player of the year.

29-04-2024, 10:10 AM

Surely we’re offering him a contract.

29-04-2024, 11:16 PM

And CCM supporters player of the year.

Mariners are playing in the AFC cup final in Oman on 5th May.

Wouldn’t expect any announcement on Nisbet’s future until after then, but so far nothing leaking out about his plans yet.

Dmas
30-04-2024, 06:04 AM
See Jamie Mac has announced he’s leaving end of the season also says he’s leaving the league, be interesting to see where he goes, also seen some really impressive stats on wellington phoenix goalie Alex Paulsen only 21 as well be worth keeping an eye on him, 27 games 80.9% save percentage 26 conceded 12.94 goals saved 11 clean sheets and 3 pens saved out of 5 faced not bad for a young lad at all

30-04-2024, 07:14 AM
See Jamie Mac has announced he’s leaving end of the season also says he’s leaving the league, be interesting to see where he goes, also seen some really impressive stats on wellington phoenix goalie Alex Paulsen only 21 as well be worth keeping an eye on him, 27 games 80.9% save percentage 26 conceded 12.94 goals saved 11 clean sheets and 3 pens saved out of 5 faced not bad for a young lad at all

McLaren was on a rumoured $1 million a year contract at City and was offered a much lesser amount on an extension which he turned down.

Was also rumoured that he was going to our new sister club in Auckland, but now the smart money is on him following Jason Cummings example and going to India.

30-04-2024, 07:44 AM

Said it before on here this season but Paulsen has been very good and should be keeping an eye on him. However we have such a poor record of turning promising young keepers into first team regulars!

30-04-2024, 08:21 AM
I saw a Twitter page yesterday linking Rangers and some English championship clubs with a player from MacArthur, Raphael Borges Rodrigues.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/raphael-borges-rodrigues/profil/spieler/704398

Looking at his profile he seems to fit the sort of criteria of a player we would go for, anybody know much about him or think we would have a chance?

30-04-2024, 09:54 AM
I saw a Twitter page yesterday linking Rangers and some English championship clubs with a player from MacArthur, Raphael Borges Rodrigues.

Looking at his profile he seems to fit the sort of criteria of a player we would go for, anybody know much about him or think we would have a chance?

He plays on the left wing.

I first saw him play in a tournament for the Olyroos…..the under 23 national side a few months ago and while he was ok, he was no stand out.

Played a few games with Melbourne City before moving to Macarthur this season.

Watched him a few times with Macarthur recently and while he’s done ok and scored a couple of goals, I would be very surprised if overseas clubs considered him ‘star’ material and tbh sounds like yet another agent beating the drums.

He may well play overseas at some point but would be surprised if Rangers were interested in him….Celtic already made a faux pas signing Tillio, and there isn’t much between them at the moment imho.

He’s 20 though, and has plenty time to develop a bit I guess.

Dmas
30-04-2024, 11:03 AM
Said it before on here this season but Paulsen has been very good and should be keeping an eye on him. However we have such a poor record of turning promising young keepers into first team regulars!

Yeah I see your point, I do think you need to be weary though with young goalkeepers check the Andy McNeil example it just needs a high profile error or 2 and your done for, signing a young guy who is playing regular already might be different though as the confidence will be established

30-04-2024, 12:21 PM

You just like him cause of his name. If it had half the amount of syllables he’d never get a mention :wink:

30-04-2024, 02:13 PM
You just like him cause of his name. If it had half the amount of syllables he’d never get a mention :wink:

Absolutely.

The day I don’t get excited about the possibility of us signing a winger called Raphael Borges Rodrigues just put me down.

Even if I have completely made up the rumour myself in the hope it gains some traction.

01-05-2024, 05:34 AM
For those interested and assuming it’s covered by a UK channel

10am UK time today (Wednesday 1/5) Central Coast Mariners play the final game of the regular season against Adelaide United at the picturesque Sauce Bottle Stadium.

A draw or a win to the Mariners will see them leapfrog Wellington Phoenix in the table and finish on top, thus winning ‘The Premiers Plate’ and being crowned ‘Premiers’.

A defeat will mean that Wellington Phoenix will be crowned Premiers and if the Nix then make the Grand Final the Grand Final will be played in New Zealand rather than in Australia.

Apart from possible but unconfirmed Hibs targets Josh Nisbet and Jacob Farrell lining up for the Mariners, the latest ‘Australian Wunderkid’ Nestory Irankunder, who has signed for Bayern Munich will be on show in the Adelaide side.

01-05-2024, 08:43 AM
For those interested and assuming it’s covered by a UK channel

10am UK time today (Wednesday 1/5) Central Coast Mariners play the final game of the regular season against Adelaide United at the picturesque Sauce Bottle Stadium.

A draw or a win to the Mariners will see them leapfrog Wellington Phoenix in the table and finish on top, thus winning ‘The Premiers Plate’ and being crowned ‘Premiers’.

A defeat will mean that Wellington Phoenix will be crowned Premiers and if the Nix then make the Grand Final the Grand Final will be played in New Zealand rather than in Australia.

Apart from possible but unconfirmed Hibs targets Josh Nisbet and Jacob Farrell lining up for the Mariners, the latest ‘Australian Wunderkid’ Nestory Irankunder, who has signed for Bayern Munich will be on show in the Adelaide side.

Everything crossed today that the Mariners get humped 🤞🤞🤞🤞

01-05-2024, 08:46 AM
Everything crossed today that the Mariners get humped 🤞🤞🤞🤞

Each to their own.

01-05-2024, 09:53 AM
Half time Mariners 1 v Adelaide 0

Scorer: Jacob Farrell, a header from a free kick.

Rain is falling in biblical proportions and Mariners seem to be affected a bit by the conditions.

It doesn’t rain here that often, but when it does rain, it rains like x@#$

01-05-2024, 10:59 AM
Central Coast Mariners are the A League Premiers of 2023/2024 after beating Adelaide United 2-0 in rain sodden Gosford.

They will only have time for a quick couple of celebration shandies before flying out of Sydney tomorrow to Oman to play in the final of the AFC Cup..

01-05-2024, 12:12 PM
Central Coast Mariners are the A League Premiers of 2023/2024 after beating Adelaide United 2-0 in rain sodden Gosford.

They will only have time for a quick couple of celebration shandies before flying out of Sydney tomorrow to Oman to play in the final of the AFC Cup..

Boooo! 😁

01-05-2024, 07:31 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/17-a-league-stars-hearts-hibs-could-sign-candidates-to-continue-transfer-trend-4611934

Bit of a nothing article in the Evening News but seems relevant to this thread.

Any of the players in that article likely to be of interest?

hibsforeurope
01-05-2024, 08:03 PM
I see a lot of chat about signing this nisbet from
CCM. What’s the comparable standard of the A league?
It’s hard to judge how good a player he is, not sure how good the standard of the league is.
It has Chris Meuller vibes for me, much heralded as a good player in the MLS but wasn’t up to the required standard for Hibs.

01-05-2024, 08:05 PM
It’s hard to judge how good a player he is, not sure how good the standard of the league is.
It has Chris Meuller vibes for me, much heralded as a good player in the MLS but wasn’t up to the required standard for Hibs.

Hearts have done well from that market, Nisbet, Rowles, Atkinson and that other midfielder with the German sounding name came from Australia and they’re a million points above us this season.

St Mirren signed Baccus from Australia and possibly Ryan Strain too although I think he’s maybe from New Zealand?

There’ll be good and bad signings from there but it’s definitely not a market we can turn our nose up to.

hibsforeurope
01-05-2024, 08:14 PM
Hearts have done well from that market, Nisbet, Rowles, Atkinson and that other midfielder with the German sounding name came from Australia and they’re a million points above us this season.

St Mirren signed Baccus from Australia and possibly Ryan Strain too although I think he’s maybe from New Zealand?

There’ll be good and bad signings from there but it’s definitely not a market we can turn our nose up to.

Hadn’t realised hearts had so many.
Unlike meuller I wouldn’t pin all our hopes on nisbet coming in and making an immediate impact.

I guess I’m basing my judgement on jeggo and miller, who we could/have improve on.

02-05-2024, 02:59 AM

I think the main factor is not what the standard of the A League is, but what the standard of the player in question is.

Tom Rogic came from the same league…same club in fact, and didn’t do too badly, so ruling out everybody from a particular league because it’s considered of lesser quality than the SPL would be a bit counter productive.

Mo Saleh started playing in the Egyptian league, but if every club followed that philosophy he wouldn’t have been signed by anyone.

Big clubs judge a player on his performances and their coaching staff make a determination if he is capable of playing in the league their team plays in.

Of course there are no guarantees with any player signed from anywhere, but there are many players signed from the A League who are playing in Scotland and England regularly, so that should say something.

But again, it’s the quality of the player that matters…..and I’m pretty sure Nisbet’s agent will be fielding offers from not just Hibs.

FWIW I’d be a happy man if we signed Nisbet and his team mate Jacob Farrell.

02-05-2024, 03:06 AM
Hadn’t realised hearts had so many.
Unlike meuller I wouldn’t pin all our hopes on nisbet coming in and making an immediate impact.

I guess I’m basing my judgement on jeggo and miller, who we could/have improve on.

Hibs didn’t sign Jeggo from the A League though, they signed him from Belgium…….he did play in the A League earlier in his career true, but presumably they judged his worth mostly on his most recent performances, which as I say were in Europe not the A League…..which he last played in 5or 6 years earlier.

Similar story with Strain..who incidentally is the grandson of former Hibs centre forward Gerry Baker, brother of Joe.
Strain was born in England, spent time in the youth teams of Aston Villa before his family moved to Adelaide and he spent a few years coming through the ranks of Adelaide United and did play for them in the A League.
He then moved to Israel and played in the Israeli league for a season…and St Mirren signed him from the Israeli league.

hibsforeurope
03-05-2024, 10:08 AM
Hibs didn’t sign Jeggo from the A League though, they signed him from Belgium…….he did play in the A League earlier in his career true, but presumably they judged his worth mostly on his most recent performances, which as I say were in Europe not the A League…..which he last played in 5or 6 years earlier.

Similar story with Strain..who incidentally is the grandson of former Hibs centre forward Gerry Baker, brother of Joe.
Strain was born in England, spent time in the youth teams of Aston Villa before his family moved to Adelaide and he spent a few years coming through the ranks of Adelaide United and did play for them in the A League.
He then moved to Israel and played in the Israeli league for a season…and St Mirren signed him from the Israeli league.

Jeggo was maybe slightly different example, he wasn't great here but has moved to one of the biggest clubs in the A-League. But your point is fair not to judge a whole league on the basis of a few example players.

03-05-2024, 10:37 AM
Jeggo was maybe slightly different example, he wasn't great here but has moved to one of the biggest clubs in the A-League. But your point is fair not to judge a whole league on the basis of a few example players.

His signing by Melbourne City was a surprise to lot of people.

Don’t want to bag the laddie, but his performances for City are no better or worse than his performances at Hibs, and just like at Hibs he’s considered a steady professional rather than some kind of star signing.

Melbourne City ARE one of the A League’s biggest clubs, as you pointed out, but they are having an atrocious season by their standards, and just limped into the championship play offs by finishing in sixth place on the league ladder.

There are no internal transfers permitted in the A League, and I think it was a case of the new MC coach who came in to replace the one who got the sack not long after the start of the season, looking around to see what WAS available mid season to try and bolster his squad, and as luck would have it for him and Jeggo…..Jeggo could sign after requesting a release from Hibs.
There weren’t a lot of other options available.

04-05-2024, 10:18 AM
Sydney Vs Macarthur in the elimination fin has a lot going on .
1-0 Sydney just now against 10 man Macarthur

Green forever
05-05-2024, 07:45 AM
Melbourne Victory v Melbourne City in elimination game on now , 1-0 to City who have already missed a penalty (not taken by McLaren who is playing and captain) . Victory now down to ten men , Jeggo and McLaren have both been booked.

05-05-2024, 10:03 AM
Jeggo misses the penalty in the shoot out that puts Melbourne City out, with Melbourne Victory going through.
3-2 on penalties set after 1-1 after 90 mins

05-05-2024, 10:20 AM
Jeggo misses the penalty in the shoot out that puts Melbourne City out, with Melbourne Victory going through.
3-2 on penalties set after 1-1 after 90 mins

TBF he was one of 3 to miss in the shoot out for MC . Plus the one the keeper saved in regulation time. Keeper made 4 penalty saves.

05-05-2024, 05:06 PM
Asian Cup Final underway in Muscat, Oman

Half time 0-0 between Central Coast Mariners and Al Ahed of Lebanon.

Al Ahed side contains ex SPFL Lee Erwin.

05-05-2024, 06:02 PM
Central Coast Mariners have won the AFC Cup.

They won 1-0.

Not a pretty game, but Alou Kuol’s nutmeg of the goalie in the 84th minute was enough.

Mariners now 2.3 million dollars better off, and jump on a plane tomorrow for their finals match against Sydney on Friday.

Super achievement for the wee club.

05-05-2024, 06:52 PM
Central Coast Mariners have won the AFC Cup.

They won 1-0.

Not a pretty game, but Alou Kuol’s nutmeg of the goalie in the 84th minute was enough.

Mariners now 2.3 million dollars better off, and jump on a plane tomorrow for their finals match against Sydney on Friday.

Super achievement for the wee club.

Maybe we should be looking at their manager 😉

05-05-2024, 08:10 PM
Maybe we should be looking at their manager 😉

Replaced Monty, lost his first four games and everybody was calling for him to get the sack

Certainly turned things around.

He’ll win coach of the year.

Previously he’d been sacked by MK Dons.

07-05-2024, 11:28 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/17-a-league-stars-hearts-hibs-could-sign-candidates-to-continue-transfer-trend-4611934

I messaged McDermott about Oskar Zawada (last on that list) and he confirmed they are aware of him.

Big strong striker - we don’t have anyone like him just now.

Nisbet I’m not sure of. Seen him play very well and seen him less involved. He’s also smaller than Mickey Weir!

07-05-2024, 11:31 AM
Yeah I see your point, I do think you need to be weary though with young goalkeepers check the Andy McNeil example it just needs a high profile error or 2 and your done for, signing a young guy who is playing regular already might be different though as the confidence will be established

Paulsen is a very confident guy. Big future.

I reckon he’d be better off with at least another season at the Phoenix though.

08-05-2024, 01:10 AM

I reckon the editor has said to young Ben…”Quick, we need to fill some space, comprise a list of A Leaguers and label it as ones Hibs might want to look at, but hurry up!

In summary, and again this is nothing more than my personal opinion which is likely to be as misplaced as the next man or woman….

There are 2 players in the A League who Hibs should consider signing in the summer window.

1 Josh Nisbet…who appears on this list and
2 Jacob Farrell….who does not.

Look ‘em up on Google if you want.

One thing for certain though, whether you agree or disagree with either me or this list…we WILL see more signings from the A League over the next few years.
Why? Because Bill Foley recently said in the launch of his new A League team that it’s part of his strategy to unearth young talent at Auckland FC and bring them to Hibs to develop them further.

08-05-2024, 06:57 AM
I reckon the editor has said to young Ben…”Quick, we need to fill some space, comprise a list of A Leaguers and label it as ones Hibs might want to look at, but hurry up!

In summary, and again this is nothing more than my personal opinion which is likely to be as misplaced as the next man or woman….

There are 2 players in the A League who Hibs should consider signing in the summer window.

One thing for certain though, whether you agree or disagree with either me or this list…we WILL see more signings from the A League over the next few years.
Why? Because Bill Foley recently said in the launch of his new A League team that it’s part of his strategy to unearth young talent at Auckland FC and bring them to Hibs to develop them further.

3…Zawada

08-05-2024, 10:05 AM

I do expect Auckland FC will be a bit of a damp squib. They have tried there already with A League teams and they never got the support or backing to make it worthwhile.

The Nix are a well established team in NZ, and do bounce around the country a bit with home games so have developed a more than just city based following. I guess this means more games at the cake tin at least from next season!

Hibiza
08-05-2024, 05:01 PM
Overrated league . Players and managers

09-05-2024, 08:23 PM

Thanks for your input 🤣

09-05-2024, 08:52 PM

True but they always seem to do reasonably well in making World cups and doing ok in them

10-05-2024, 12:37 AM

Well thought out statement backed up by indisputable evidence.

I’m not sure though that you could name 20 Australian players, so not sure how you can include players in your statement.

Can you tell me who the player is who was born outside the British Isles and has the most EPL appearances?

What!?

He comes from there?

Can’t be!

Moral of the story….just as you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, so you shouldn’t judge an individual player by the country he comes from.

10-05-2024, 11:56 AM
First of two legged semi final to decide who goes through to…..and hosts ….the Grand Final, played in pouring rain in Sydney.

Sydney FC 1 v Central Coast Mariners 2

Sydney went ahead after 25 minutes but the effervescent Josh Nisbet equalised with the last attack of the first half.

Mariners went ahead through a penalty and then the wheels fell off Sydney’s wagon.

Jack Rodwell was deservedly shown a straight red for a lunging ‘tackle’ that connected with a Mariner’s shin, and later another defender was shown a second yellow meaning Sydney finished with 9 men.

Josh Nisbet was awarded MOM.

Second leg at Gosford a week on Saturday.

10-05-2024, 12:33 PM
First of two legged semi final to decide who goes through to…..and hosts ….the Grand Final, played in pouring rain in Sydney.

Sydney FC 1 v Central Coast Mariners 2

Sydney went ahead after 25 minutes but the effervescent Josh Nisbet equalised with the last attack of the first half.

Mariners went ahead through a penalty and then the wheels fell off Sydney’s wagon.

Jack Rodwell was deservedly shown a straight red for a lunging ‘tackle’ that connected with a Mariner’s shin, and later another defender was shown a second yellow meaning Sydney finished with 9 men.

Josh Nisbet was awarded MOM.

Second leg at Gosford a week on Saturday.

Nisbet looked good once again

10-05-2024, 12:47 PM
Nisbet looked good once again

Aye.

Saw him earlier saying how he was hoping to go to Europe and that Spain or Netherlands probably suited his style of play.

Dunno how he’ll take to Dingwall on a Wednesday night in November.😂

17-05-2024, 04:16 AM
3 Macarthur A League players arrested and charged with corruption charges related to SouthAmerican organised crimes.

Da Villa their Mexican captain accused of being instructed by crime lords to ensure yellow cards issued when required.

Early news is that he offered players $10,000 to get yellow cards on demand.

Appearing in court later today

Certainly makes a change to see fitba leading the afternoon news bulletins!

17-05-2024, 08:04 AM
3 Macarthur A League players arrested and charged with corruption charges related to SouthAmerican organised crimes.

Da Villa their Mexican captain accused of being instructed by crime lords to ensure yellow cards issued when required.

Early news is that he offered players $10,000 to get yellow cards on demand.

Appearing in court later today

Certainly makes a change to see fitba leading the afternoon news bulletins!

More on the story here

https://www.theguardian.com/football/article/2024/may/17/a-league-players-arrested-alleged-betting-corruption-soccer-football-south-west-sydney-club

17-05-2024, 10:12 AM
One of the players charged is the elder brother of St Mirren’s Baccus

18-05-2024, 08:50 AM
Wellington Phoenix 1 v 2 Melbourne Victory ( 1-2) ET

Play off Extra Time being played

Second half still to come

TNT Sports

18-05-2024, 08:57 AM
Wellington Phoenix 1 v 2 Melbourne Victory ( 1-2) ET

Play off Extra Time being played

Second half still to come

TNT Sports

i'm watching this , Is this a semi final to get to a cup final or is this the weird set up where any off the top 4 can win the League ?

18-05-2024, 08:58 AM
i'm watching this , Is this a semi final to get to a cup final or is this the weird set up where any off the top 4 can win the League ?

It's the 2nd leg semi with the other semi final later this morning. 2 winners play for the league decider or whatever they call it.

18-05-2024, 09:01 AM
It's the 2nd leg semi with the other semi final later this morning. 2 winners play for the league decider or whatever they call it.

Cheers :aok:

It's mental how you can finish 4th but still win the league

18-05-2024, 09:18 AM
Cheers :aok:

It's mental how you can finish 4th but still win the league

You can finish 6th and potentially win the play offs and be crowned champions.

I suppose in Scotland you could finish 6th before the split and win it too

18-05-2024, 09:35 AM
About to start, Central Coast Mariners v Sydney in the second leg of the semi finals to decide who plays Melbourne Victory in the Grand Final.

Central Coast at home and won the first leg 2-1.

If Central Coast win the Grand final will be on their home ground.
If Sydney win, it will be in Melbourne.

Wellington and Mariners would be the final most neutrals think would be the most deserved, and they finished 1 and 2 on the ladder……so that almost guarantees a Melbourne v Sydney grand final😂

18-05-2024, 10:40 AM
About to start, Central Coast Mariners v Sydney in the second leg of the semi finals to decide who plays Melbourne Victory in the Grand Final.

Central Coast at home and won the first leg 2-1.

If Central Coast win the Grand final will be on their home ground.
If Sydney win, it will be in Melbourne.

Wellington and Mariners would be the final most neutrals think would be the most deserved, and they finished 1 and 2 on the ladder……so that almost guarantees a Melbourne v Sydney grand final😂

Half time 0-0

Ref looks like he’s under instructions to ensure a Sydney v Melbourne grand final.

18-05-2024, 10:44 AM
Half time 0-0

Ref looks like he’s under instructions to ensure a Sydney v Melbourne grand final.

CCM have looked like they’re happy just to see the game out and take the 0-0. Fair enough if it works but they’ve been ***** to watch.

Gorebridge Hibb
18-05-2024, 11:07 AM
CCM have looked like they’re happy just to see the game out and take the 0-0. Fair enough if it works but they’ve been ***** to watch.

Yip. Mariners not in it.

Green forever
18-05-2024, 11:14 AM
All kicking off now , Sydney score but ruled out for dubious offside. Also strange that they're not using goal line technology ..

18-05-2024, 12:15 PM
All kicking off now , Sydney score but ruled out for dubious offside. Also strange that they're not using goal line technology ..

Was offside right enough…Fabio in offside position and impeded the defender who was going for the clearance….ball clearly over the line.

I don’t know what counts as a hand ball these days though….thought Mariners got away with one there.

Referee obviously a wrestling fan….number of fouls unpunished was enormous…….he does that every game btw.

Probably Mariners worst attacking performance of several seasons, not just this one, but they did what they had to do to get through.

A full stadium next week for the final,and if they win they’ll get a toilet seat as a trophy and the huge monetary prize of F All😂

18-05-2024, 12:22 PM
Was offside right enough…Fabio in offside position and impeded the defender who was going for the clearance….ball clearly over the line.

I don’t know what counts as a hand ball these days though….thought Mariners got away with one there.

Referee obviously a wrestling fan….number of fouls unpunished was enormous…….he does that every game btw.

Probably Mariners worst attacking performance of several seasons, not just this one, but they did what they had to do to get through.

A full stadium next week for the final,and if they win they’ll get a toilet seat as a trophy and the huge monetary prize of F All😂

I like how the ref looked at the monitor then told the whole stadium it was a goal but offside , That's what we need in Scotland referees that communicate to supporters rather than them running away

19-05-2024, 04:19 AM
An all too familiar feeling being at that Wellington game last night. Gutted!

Between Hibs, Phoenix and Scotland it’s not an easy life of fitba supporting.

25-05-2024, 10:04 AM
Grand final has started and is meant to be on the TV but can't seem to find it.

25-05-2024, 10:11 AM
Grand final has started and is meant to be on the TV but can't seem to find it.

TNT 4. 421 on Sky

25-05-2024, 10:20 AM
It’s been dire so far.

25-05-2024, 10:57 AM
It’s been dire so far.

Aye.

Both teams cancelling each other out and still trying to win their personal physical battles.

25-05-2024, 12:01 PM
Different second half.

Mariners relentlessly pressing and Nisbet cuts the ball back for Edmondson to net the equaliser in time added on.

1-1 and now in extra time

25-05-2024, 12:06 PM
Different second half.

Mariners relentlessly pressing and Nisbet cuts the ball back for Edmondson to net the equaliser in time added on.

1-1 and now in extra time

Typical, I turned it off at HT bored of it…

Greenio
25-05-2024, 12:09 PM
2-1 Mariners

Game coming to life in et

25-05-2024, 12:11 PM
Aye.

Both teams cancelling each other out and still trying to win their personal physical battles.

I'll be gutted if we don't go for Nisbet.

25-05-2024, 12:49 PM
Mariners have swept the boards

3-1 win aet

Display of exuberance at full time

26-05-2024, 06:51 AM
Josh Nisbet awarded the ‘Johnny Warren Medal’….the annual award that goes to the player considered the best player throughout the A League during the season.

26-05-2024, 07:30 AM
Josh Nisbet awarded the ‘Johnny Warren Medal’….the annual award that goes to the player considered the best player throughout the A League during the season.

Played every single minute. Unreal.

26-05-2024, 10:50 AM
Played every single minute. Unreal.

And travelled the equivalent of 3 times around the world to win the AFC Cup.

He might be wee, but he’s no pushover.

He said after the Grand Final that he was going to take a few weeks to ‘consider offers’.

Hope we made one.

18-10-2024, 07:54 PM
Few games on the TV tomorrow morning

CCM drew 0-0 with Melbourne Victory earlier

19-10-2024, 06:42 AM
Aukland FC win 2-0 against Brisbane Roar.
Newcastle Jets currently 1-0 against Melbourne City

Melbourne City's scorer was Celtic's Marco Tilio, they also have former Hibs player Jego and Hearts player Atkinson playing for them today.

Bridge hibs
19-10-2024, 06:47 AM
Aukland FC win 2-0 against Brisbane Roar.
Newcastle Jets currently 1-0 against Melbourne City

Jeggo playing for Melbourne

19-10-2024, 07:34 AM
Jeggo sent off, stupidity

ChilliEater
19-10-2024, 07:37 AM

Yes - I'm not sure "stupidity" really encapsulates just how stupid it was :hilarious

19-10-2024, 01:34 PM

Just don’t understand how experienced pros do such stupid things as Jeggo did.

VAR is always going to catch you.

02-11-2024, 05:11 AM
Aukland FC 3 wins in 3 and top of the league.

WellingtonHibby
02-11-2024, 07:36 AM

The Phoenix turned in the most Hibs-in-a-derby performance in the Old Fern Derby, I felt like I was back at Easter Road!

02-11-2024, 07:38 AM

Sure the boy who scored two for Auckland was linked with us a while back but the deal fell through because his dad became unwell and didn’t want to leave the country?

02-11-2024, 08:09 AM
Been watching A league football on the TV for a number of seasons now and just watched the CCM game on the TV and it's possibly the worst game of football I have seen the A league serve up.

In saying that the WSW Vs Adelaide isn't a bad game at all , 26 minutes in and it's 3-1 for Adelaide 😁

02-11-2024, 08:15 AM
It’s all kicking off!

Will take VAR half an hour to sort this lot out.

Goodnight Fred! :greengrin
Brilliant

Bridge hibs
02-11-2024, 08:17 AM
Been watching A league football on the TV for a number of seasons now and just watched the CCM game on the TV and it's possibly the worst game of football I have seen the A league serve up.

In saying that the WSW Vs Adelaide isn't a bad game at all , 26 minutes in and it's 3-1 for Adelaide 😁I turned that game off, I love my football but ffs that was grim. That WSW keeper made a real **** up, young lad too

03-11-2024, 07:26 PM
Sure the boy who scored two for Auckland was linked with us a while back but the deal fell through because his dad became unwell and didn’t want to leave the country?

Affirmative.

Was with Melbourne Victory at the time.