View Full Version : Steven Gerrard
04-05-2018, 03:43 PM
Sevco’s turnover is about £30m and Celtic’s is £90m. How do they bridge that gap and stay within UEFA FFP rules?
04-05-2018, 03:44 PM
I’ve a friend who’s a Rangers fan. Says 4th this season, 2nd next, and champions the year after🤣
Dan Sarf
04-05-2018, 03:44 PM
Does he mean exicting the Premier League? :greengrin
TelaStella
04-05-2018, 03:53 PM
Is he taking charge now or after the season?
04-05-2018, 04:00 PM
Is he taking charge now or after the season?
June 1st
Fuzzywuzzy
04-05-2018, 04:01 PM
They're £20m in the hole, relying on season tickets and soft loans. If any investor is looking for some kind of return they have serious issues. They'll be back to the the Murray levels of debt shortly
04-05-2018, 04:05 PM
And until King ponies up the cash to offer existing shareholders their 20p a share then no new investor can take an equity position, nor can there be a new share issue.
04-05-2018, 04:11 PM
Stubbs? If you had told me when relagated that he would win us the cup in 2 years- I'd never have believed.
stubbs had two goes at getting us out of the championship and failed..do you think Rangers fans will be happy being 2nd fiddle to Celtic for two years ? Plus Hibs didn't just change the manager, they changed who was running the club. IMHO Leanne had as much to do with the turn round at ER as Stubbs did...Rangers are still run by crooks.
04-05-2018, 04:32 PM
Thought Gerrard spoke very well. Neil Lennon did pretty well as a manager did he not when taking the Celtic job.
Down to the personality and also who he has as assistant. McAllister is a smart appointment given he will trust him and no doubt get on well. Thought Gerrard came over very well and spoke clearly and passionately. Think he could do well and a great opportunity for him and he is clearly ambitious.
Did McAllister get sacked from both his managerial jobs?
04-05-2018, 04:37 PM
5m for SJM would only leave them with 19m not a lot!
ginger_rice
04-05-2018, 04:41 PM
Perhaps , but I'd assume Gerrard has very wise advisors and will have taken steps to guarantee certain funds are available. I just can't see Gerrard and his people being taken for a fool by someone like Dave King, hope I'm wrong though.
If it's amything like the pub he was involved in in Formby then no he hasn't
04-05-2018, 04:47 PM
This will end in tears. A board and manager have to be on the same page and the chances of that happening at Sevco are slim to none. They'll probably see an initial improvement on the pitch, but you can guarantee it won't end so sweetly.
Agree, and because of that he's on a hiding to nothing. They may improve slightly if they get a cash injection but still be well behind their main rivals. And that's a massive fail for all the Orcs.
I actually feel a wee bit sorry for the guy before he's even started.
Rumble de Thump
04-05-2018, 04:48 PM
Probably the strangest thing about this whole scenario is that someone has described Stevie Gerrard as having spoken clearly.
04-05-2018, 04:50 PM
Did they ask him why he’s not taking over now?
The end of this season could have huge implications on his first season so I’d have thought it would make sense for him to take these games to assess the squad and exert whatever influence he can.
04-05-2018, 04:52 PM
Did they ask him why he’s not taking over now?
The end of this season could have huge implications on his first season so I’d have thought it would make sense for him to take these games to assess the squad and exert whatever influence he can.
Don’t know if he was asked directly but he seemed to indicate he had contractual obligations to Liverpool and BT.
04-05-2018, 04:52 PM
Probably the strangest thing about this whole scenario is that someone has described Stevie Gerrard as having spoken clearly.
that's what his interpreter said
04-05-2018, 05:06 PM
that's what his interpreter saidJamie carragher got the interpreter gig at ibrox. He speaks the language and is excellent at Public relations.
04-05-2018, 05:10 PM
Jamie carragher got the interpreter gig at ibrox. He speaks the language and is excellent at Public relations.
only after he agreed to gob on a sellick scarf and promised to call all kaffliks taigs/tarriers/papes then signed off with WATP, no surrender
04-05-2018, 05:11 PM
only after he agreed to gob on a sellick scarf and promised to call all kaffliks taigs/tarriers/papes then signed off with WATP, no surrender[emoji4]
04-05-2018, 05:15 PM
Don’t know if he was asked directly but he seemed to indicate he had contractual obligations to Liverpool and BT.
Fair enough then.
I thought it was a bit strange but suppose that makes sense.
04-05-2018, 05:17 PM
Fair enough then.
I thought it was a bit strange but suppose that makes sense.
Regardless of him not being there, I think Ibrox will be a different place tomorrow and they’ll win comfortably.
04-05-2018, 05:20 PM
Regardless of him not being there, I think Ibrox will be a different place tomorrow and they’ll win comfortably.Tradishuns seem to be important here so I imagine they'll stick with the likes of Ha ha Halliday so I'm thinking they'll struggle tomorrow.
04-05-2018, 05:34 PM
This history he's on about, I'm amazed he's heard of the petrofac. Surely someone wrote the script for him here?
04-05-2018, 05:37 PM
Wonder what the odds are of Gerrard being next seasons first managerial casualty............:taxi
04-05-2018, 05:44 PM
4 years!!! Well played sir. Massive salary even when he gets mutually consented after one yesr
Rumble de Thump
04-05-2018, 06:00 PM
The average salary for gardeners in the Ibrox area has certainly gone up in recent years.
percy veer
04-05-2018, 06:06 PM
Even if there is, £24m won’t even touch the sides of what they need to spend to get anywhere close to challenging Celtc.
24 million is a heck of a load of cash plus loan deals, people going on about celtic like they are unbeatable, I hate rangers but celtic have been a bit poor at times aswell this year
04-05-2018, 06:11 PM
They can't have 24m in loans without upsetting FFP. They can't have it in shares until the King business is sorted.
Maybe it's a "donation". [emoji52]
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
green is good
04-05-2018, 06:13 PM
I'd imagine he's on a fair wedge so a four year deal for an untried manager is a mighty big risk.
I hope he's a massive failure and they have to punt him within a few months :greengrin
04-05-2018, 06:13 PM
They can't have 24m in loans without upsetting FFP. They can't have it in shares until the King business is sorted.
Maybe it's a "donation". [emoji52]
Did King not say something about a share issue today in his interview?
04-05-2018, 06:17 PM
Did King not say something about a share issue today in his interview?AFAIK, that can't happen until the minority shareholders are sorted out.....
.....by him.
Even when that does happen, the current lenders will expect to be repaid out of the share issue...or at least have their loans converted to shares....before there is any new cash for the club.
So....to get 24m....they'll need a share issue of....ooooo.....35 to 40m.
04-05-2018, 06:23 PM
If it's amything like the pub he was involved in in Formby then no he hasn't
Turned out nice again!
Or not!
04-05-2018, 06:31 PM
Wish I could go into a job and be **** at it for six months, get sacked and still.get paid for the following three and and a half years.
04-05-2018, 06:36 PM
Wish I could go into a job and be **** at it for six months, get sacked and still.get paid for the following three and and a half years.
Be a politician is a better deal re pay offs
Alan62
04-05-2018, 06:45 PM
AFAIK, that can't happen until the minority shareholders are sorted out.....
.....by him.
Even when that does happen, the current lenders will expect to be repaid out of the share issue...or at least have their loans converted to shares....before there is any new cash for the club.
When asked about 'fresh finance' coming into the club, King said:
"I think it's pretty much what you know. We are continuing to invest. There's going to be a rights issue you're aware of as well. We're well on the way to having the funds in place to support what Mark and Steve will want to do in the transfer window."
His head bobbed around a lot while he was saying this and it's hard to tell if he's being honest when one eye is looking at 'Steve' to his right and Mark to his left but it appears at least that Gerrard believes it.
It would be interesting to pick that quote of King's apart.
1. He thinks the journalists know their financial strategy.
2. Who is the 'we' that are continuing to invest? Recent incoming cash has been from soft loans and at least one of the providers of those soft loans has gone.
3. He thinks the rights issue is a given, yet he hasn't yet made the cash available for his offer to the shareholders at 20p a share.
4. While he is confident that 'Steve' and Mark will have the funds, they aren't yet in place.
Any other thoughts?
04-05-2018, 06:52 PM
AFAIK, that can't happen until the minority shareholders are sorted out.....
.....by him.
So that's what they mean by "going for 55" - it's the amount they want to raise from the share issue.
It's very achievable as Murray managed that with a share issue for the predecessor club, albeit he had to find £53.5m of the money himself as the fans only put up £1.5m.
04-05-2018, 06:54 PM
I can see him pulling on the boots.
Broon and McGinnif he's still here will rag doll him.
I just can't see them doing anything to touch Celtic. Not one of their players would get in the Celtic team and I would say few would get in the Hibs or Aberdeen teams.
That's a real **** ton of money they have to spend!!
Alan62
04-05-2018, 06:56 PM
I posed the question to a Rangers minded friend recently about which of the starting 11 who got humped 5-0 by Celtic would get in Hibernian's top team. He suggested I was being ridiculous. BUT, honestly, who would? I can't think of any that would replace our best 11.
04-05-2018, 07:02 PM
I can see him pulling on the boots.
Broon and McGinnif he's still here will rag doll him.
I just can't see them doing anything to touch Celtic. Not one of their players would get in the Celtic team and I would say few would get in the Hibs or Aberdeen teams.
That's a real **** ton of money they have to spend!!
I don’t think it’s as difficult a job as many are predicting.
If they’d not dropped so many daft points at ibrox (should be relatively easy to sort that) and had a better record against Celtic (a much more difficult challenge) then they’d be right up there. I also think they don’t need to win the league next season for him to be a success, if they can pull away from the rest and run Celtic close I think even the most moronic hun will recognise progress is being made. His season next year will probably be defined by his record against Celtic, if he can beat them once or twice that’ll give him some breathing space.
FWIW I hope I’m wrong but I think he’ll be a really good appointment for them.
04-05-2018, 07:11 PM
If they’d not dropped so many daft points at ibrox (should be relatively easy to sort that) and had a better record against Celtic (a much more difficult challenge) then they’d be right up there. I also think they don’t need to win the league next season for him to be a success, if they can pull away from the rest and run Celtic close I think even the most moronic hun will recognise progress is being made. His season next year will probably be defined by his record against Celtic, if he can beat them once or twice that’ll give him some breathing space.
The first part of your post could so easily be applied to us.
Dropped daft points at Easter Road earlier in the season (Hamilton, St Johnstone, Motherwell was 8 points) and dropped 7 points against Celtic. That's 15 points so if we cut that out next year, in theory we'll be up there too.
04-05-2018, 07:18 PM
The first part of your post could so easily be applied to us.
Dropped daft points at Easter Road earlier in the season (Hamilton, St Johnstone, Motherwell was 8 points) and dropped 7 points against Celtic. That's 15 points so if we cut that out next year, in theory we'll be up there too.
I agree but we don’t have a budget about a hundred times those clubs so it’s more difficult for us to replicate our form next year never mind improve on it.
Given their resources (even if they don’t get the investment) improving their home form should be an absolute given and it likely will be imo.
04-05-2018, 07:19 PM
I agree with this, but to do so requires a resilience that Sevco do not possess.
They've actually played well at times this season and had some decent results, but they can't help self-destructing every time they have a minor setback.
They have imploded and started turning on each other under McCoist, Warburton, Pedro and Murty.
That is not going to change under Slippy G, because the fans don't have what it takes to overcome a couple of defeats.
Their own sense of entitlement has been further fuelled, and will continue to be their downfall.
04-05-2018, 07:22 PM
So that's what they mean by "going for 55" - it's the amount they want to raise from the share issue.
It's very achievable as Murray managed that with a share issue for the predecessor club, albeit he had to find £53.5m of the money himself as the fans only put up £1.5m.
You and me ended up footing the bill for that wheeze.[emoji35]
Topographic Hibby
04-05-2018, 07:44 PM
I just can’t understand how he has fallen for the “investment” nonsense and funds being available for players?
Gerrard might have a keen footballing brain, but his business brain must be somewhere else. Even simple awareness of current events and keeping up to date in your chosen area of employment must be a foreign land.
Surely his advisors must have been screaming “show me (us) the money!!!” at the NewCo blazers. Doesn’t he have lawyers, accountants, image consultants, branding executives and agents that are there to protect their client from crooks, shysters, and glib & shameless liars?
Alexa, order popcorn. Lots of it......
CathroMustStay
04-05-2018, 07:52 PM
You stay classy Sevco bigots.
https://streamable.com/ew0eb (https://streamable.com/ew0eb)
Can't wait for Gerrard being a bigger failure than Caixinha was.
04-05-2018, 07:53 PM
I just can’t understand how he has fallen for the “investment” nonsense and funds being available for players?
Gerrard might have a keen footballing brain, but his business brain must be somewhere else. Even simple awareness of current events and keeping up to date in your chosen area of employment must be a foreign land.
Surely his advisors must have been screaming “show me (us) the money!!!” at the NewCo blazers. Doesn’t he have lawyers, accountants, image consultants, branding executives and agents that are there to protect their client from crooks, shysters, and glib & shameless liars?
Even if current spending is maintained and there’s no additional investment it’d be an absolute piece of piss to improve this rangers team, does that for a year and he can leave with a successful year on his managerial CV then blame the board for him leaving.
I think it’s about as low risk gamble as he could have got for his first job in management. If he hadn’t taken this but gone to some English championship club it would have been a much more difficult job for him.
04-05-2018, 07:54 PM
‘Tis indeed baffling. He seems very badly advised.
04-05-2018, 07:57 PM
Read the question... "I actually can't think of a single time a big name player has taken over a BIG club WHO IS IN TROUBLE and turned it around."
Liverpool had won the League, League Cup and European Cup in 83/84 and reached the european Cup final again in 85. Dalglish had a tremendous squad full of experienced players who had won at the very highest level. Yes he had the aftermath of Heysel to cope with, but when he became player manager they were hardly a "Big Club in Trouble"
I read the question, still stands.
04-05-2018, 08:08 PM
Even if current spending is maintained and there’s no additional investment it’d be an absolute piece of piss to improve this rangers team, does that for a year and he can leave with a successful year on his managerial CV then blame the board for him leaving.
I think it’s about as low risk gamble as he could have got for his first job in management. If he hadn’t taken this but gone to some English championship club it would have been a much more difficult job for him.
They can’t maintain the current level of spending though. They are losing £6m+ a year and have no further sources of cash. The have to pay back £3m+ to close brothers. The chairman is currently defying a court order from the court of session and the can’t have a share issue while that remains the same.
04-05-2018, 08:11 PM
They can’t maintain the current level of spending though. They are losing £6m+ a year and have no further sources of cash. The have to pay back £3m+ to close brothers. The chairman is currently defying a court order from the court of session and the can’t have a share issue while that remains the same.
I don’t know the first thing about finances but I’d bet they find a way to make that happen, one way or another.
Rumble de Thump
04-05-2018, 08:14 PM
I don’t know the first thing about finances but I’d bet they find a way to make that happen, one way or another.
Sounds like you're qualified to work on the The Rangers board then :wink:
04-05-2018, 08:33 PM
I think that’s an astonishing position to take. The Rangers are dysfunctional and under huge scrutiny. Poor results will not be tolerated for long.
Still, time will tell!
04-05-2018, 09:10 PM
Whilst Gerrard looks every bit the young, modern manager in this pic, King's coupon looks no different from the coupon parked outside of every Tesco trying to tap you for 50p !
04-05-2018, 09:39 PM
I have no idea like everyone else whether he will succeed or not but it represents a massive gamble on Rangers behalf. There is no evidence whatsoever he will make a good manager or not, he certainly lacks knowledge of the game in Scotland. To me both parties have gone on the strength of a name. Very risky IMO.
04-05-2018, 10:24 PM
Have to disagree. This is high risk for The Govan mob and beggars belief :wink: from Gerrard. I think he has seriously underestimated the task at hand, the 'culture' he will be getting involved in and the delusional expectation of an increasingly paranoid and ugly fanbase.
Just improving The Rangers isn't enough. That lot will absolutely be expecting him to deliver titles. The pressure is on right from the start and they are miles behind Celtic in terms of getting it right on the pitch.
Taking over a club like Reading in the Championship for example would have been a far smarter initiation to management. Way less expectation, pressure, media intrusion (not to be overlooked) and he'd be cutting his teeth in a league that he isn't expected to win.
The Rangers fans aren't going to be happy with him finishing runners up every season - which they might not even do. It's an absolute no win situation for him and I expect it will end badly. Which will be good.
Fuzzywuzzy
04-05-2018, 10:29 PM
Deary, deary me.......
"No matter what happens in my life Rangers are an ever present concern of mine every minute of the day. Work application is consistent as is in keeping with our Protestant upbringing. The turmoil of our club has really stretched my happiness . Today is great day to be a Rangers fan. I said to my little nephew last night if this happens you might just get a feeling of the real privedge of supporting our club. He has followed as as child with distinction through the ****. I don’t post much as you lot are too profound for me. So proud to be Staunch🇬🇧Happy Gerrard Day!"
A little nugget from bears den. Apparently Mssr. Gerrard "gets it"
04-05-2018, 11:04 PM
I was speaking with a reasonably sensible Sevco fan yesterday. He likes Gerrard and feels that he'll be able to get good loan players from England to help them out. Also takes the view that it's all about stopping 10 in a row. Nine titles for Celtc doesn't bother him because both clubs have already done that.
I pointed out that Celtc's financial advantages (bigger stadium, Champions League money) mean that Sevco would also need Celtc to slip back after Rodgers moves on. Despite that, he was still optimistic.
The Pointer
04-05-2018, 11:17 PM
Whilst Gerrard looks every bit the young, modern manager in this pic, King's coupon looks no different from the coupon parked outside of every Tesco trying to tap you for 50p !
He's got the same make-up artist as Trump. Check the white eye surround.
04-05-2018, 11:40 PM
Yet another huge gamble by Sevco in the desperation to stop 10IAR... which will end in tears, acrimony and the English media having a laugh at Scotland. If Gerrards target is to stop Celtic next season, he'll be off before the summer has ended.
04-05-2018, 11:49 PM
Had a look at the BBC site for manager reaction. Rogers - ok, Rafa - mmn ex manager - ok, Pochettino what???? Allerdyce - scaping now(although tbf he wasn't doing any forelock tugging). No McCann, no Levein (ok apparently he was in the bog), no Archibald or Wright. More hype than the Breadman and won't last as long. They'll be a few Sevco fans regretting naming their daughter Lourdes ....
joebakerforever
05-05-2018, 12:04 AM
As Ken Dodd is no longer available, King reckoned Gerrard was the next best Scouser to manage the Diddymen :devil:
05-05-2018, 12:17 AM
He'll slip on his erse.
05-05-2018, 12:19 AM
As Ken Dodd is no longer available, King reckoned Gerrard was the next best Scouser to manage the Diddymen :devil:
Just like Ken Dodd's dug..... They're deid...
SG won't last a season. It's all a sham.
05-05-2018, 12:25 AM
Didnt Ken Dodd have tax issues too? Just saying like :wink:
05-05-2018, 12:40 AM
TRFC new manager is ...... Steven Ger-scarred.
05-05-2018, 12:53 AM
He looks like a corpse.
05-05-2018, 02:44 AM
nobody becomes a good manager on day 1 in the job and as far as I'm concerned you can run youth set ups and u21's all you like, nothing prepares you for the pressure of a full management job in a big league other than proper managerial experience.
I am struggling to think of a single case of a top British player starting out his managerial career with a big club in turmoil that has ended well.
Shearer at Newcastle - relegated, sacked
Zola at West Ham - came 17th..sacked
Stuart Pearce Man City - Came 15th in first full season, but lost 9 of last 10 games and got knocked out of the cup by Doncaster. 2nd full season sacked after narrowly missing relegation and being knocked out of the cup by Chesterfield.
Tony Adams Portsmouth - sacked after 16 games
John Barnes Celtic: Supercaleyarefantasticcelticareatrocious...need I say more...sacked
( incidentally Barnes got back into management at Tranmere in 2009 and had chippy scouser Jason Macateer as his assistant. They managed just 3 wins in their first 14 games and things really fell apart when it was reported in the press that the players referred to them as "Dumb & Dumber" ! Sacked.
I actually can't think of a single time a big name player has taken over a BIG club who is in trouble and turned it around...please let me know if you can.
Alan Stubbs :wink:
NZ Green
05-05-2018, 04:48 AM
I think he'll do quite well to be honest, seems a sensible character who will have alot of support and advice from down south. Wonder if he'll be at Easter Road on the last game of the season, I reckon so.
05-05-2018, 06:06 AM
I think he'll do quite well to be honest, seems a sensible character who will have alot of support and advice from down south. Wonder if he'll be at Easter Road on the last game of the season, I reckon so.
I reckon he won’t be. He said in his interview with BT Sport that he is mindful to show respect to the people currently managing the team and back off and leave them to it. Mind you, that respect didn’t extend to referring to them by name, so who knows.
05-05-2018, 08:13 AM
Respect my erchie. He doesn’t want to be associated with the dross that’s there just now and have his ‘reputation’ tarnished by a losing debut.
05-05-2018, 08:17 AM
I think he'll be at all their remaining games. Be negligent if he didn't imo
05-05-2018, 08:21 AM
Certainly got folks talking for sure 19 pages worth.
05-05-2018, 08:41 AM
This will make or break Sevco.
05-05-2018, 09:30 AM
Deary, deary me.......
"No matter what happens in my life Rangers are an ever present concern of mine every minute of the day. Work application is consistent as is in keeping with our Protestant upbringing. The turmoil of our club has really stretched my happiness . Today is great day to be a Rangers fan. I said to my little nephew last night if this happens you might just get a feeling of the real privedge of supporting our club. He has followed as as child with distinction through the ****. I don’t post much as you lot are too profound for me. So proud to be Staunch🇬🇧Happy Gerrard Day!"
A little nugget from bears den. Apparently Mssr. Gerrard "gets it"
The spirit of Max Weber and a lesson in work ethics while capitalising on a marquee signing. Not something one readily associates with the follow followers of the Govan Tribute Act.
05-05-2018, 09:31 AM
I don't think he needs to be and it will be dependant on his other commitments. What's left of this season will have no bearing on what he has to do for next season. He will be looking at wholesale changes I would imagine with plenty of potential targets to watch.
05-05-2018, 09:47 AM
Would give them credit for trying something different that makes headlines for the right reasons. Pedro who was a repeat of that guy LeGuen guy who tried to take on Barry LeFudd and lost. No surprises either that throwbacks like Bomber Brown and Alex Rae who seem to have had it sussed in terms of what was wrong, have been ignored.
05-05-2018, 09:58 AM
I don't think he needs to be and it will be dependant on his other commitments. What's left of this season will have no bearing on what he has to do for next season. He will be looking at wholesale changes I would imagine with plenty of potential targets to watch.
There are 5 players on a combined weekly wage of £100k a week you have Long term deals. I would imagine he wants to see what they are made of.
05-05-2018, 10:06 AM
There are 5 players on a combined weekly wage of £100k a week you have Long term deals. I would imagine he wants to see what they are made of.
He will be well aware of them.
05-05-2018, 11:01 AM
He will be well aware of them.
But has he seen them play, see what their attitude is. If I was taking over would to see games against Dons and us to see what they are made off.
LustForLeith
05-05-2018, 11:48 AM
Which five out of curiosity?
I think it’s a PR stunt instead of a rational managerial appointment. And I bet almost every Rangers fan walking about with a Tim Henman today would be laughing st Celtic if they were in Rangers shoes, trailing their rivals and bringing in a player with no managerial experience as Boss.
Surprised they didn’t go for Clarke.
05-05-2018, 11:50 AM
But has he seen them play, see what their attitude is. If I was taking over would to see games against Dons and us to see what they are made off.
Fair point.
05-05-2018, 12:02 PM
I think it’s a PR stunt instead of a rational managerial appointment. And I bet almost every Rangers fan walking about with a Tim Henman today would be laughing st Celtic if they were in Rangers shoes, trailing their rivals and bringing in a player with no managerial experience as Boss.
Surprised they didn’t go for Clarke.Gonny humour me here.....
Tim Henman?
Semi???
LustForLeith
05-05-2018, 12:22 PM
Gonny humour me here.....
Tim Henman?
Semi???
An unexpected semi to be precise!
05-05-2018, 12:25 PM
Can huns have a tim if so cold showers and images of queen budge should do
05-05-2018, 12:38 PM
An unexpected semi to be precise!Writing it down......
(In case my muddled mind forgets.... and I tell the world I have an Arthur Ashe....)
05-05-2018, 12:41 PM
Surprised they didn’t go for Clarke.
Agreed. Clarke would have been the smart football appointment, but Gerrard is the sexy PR story that makes the Huns feel better about themselves and helps to sooth their pain when they fail to stop Celtic.
05-05-2018, 12:44 PM
Writing it down......
(In case my muddled mind forgets.... and I tell the world I have an Arthur Ashe....)
Best not to talk about the current state of your Boris Becker at all, TBH :wink:
05-05-2018, 12:46 PM
Best not to talk about the current state of your Boris Becker at all, TBH :wink:[emoji16]
Rod Laver....
05-05-2018, 12:49 PM
[emoji16]
Rod Laver....
That’s a bit underhanded
05-05-2018, 12:51 PM
[emoji16]
Rod Laver....
:aok: :tee hee: Steffi Graffed my a*** off.
05-05-2018, 12:51 PM
That’s a bit underhandedIt's deserved. He was on about my Venus.
05-05-2018, 12:52 PM
Be a politician is a better deal re pay offsHouse of Lords is where the real money is[emoji6]
05-05-2018, 12:53 PM
Imo, this is the Huns last 'Throw of the dice' and I sincerely hope and pray it goes tits-up for them - I dream of a Scotland Hun-free or at least a Scotland where they're of no consequence whatsoever !
05-05-2018, 12:55 PM
When asked about 'fresh finance' coming into the club, King said:
"I think it's pretty much what you know. We are continuing to invest. There's going to be a rights issue you're aware of as well. We're well on the way to having the funds in place to support what Mark and Steve will want to do in the transfer window."
His head bobbed around a lot while he was saying this and it's hard to tell if he's being honest when one eye is looking at 'Steve' to his right and Mark to his left but it appears at least that Gerrard believes it.
It would be interesting to pick that quote of King's apart.
1. He thinks the journalists know their financial strategy.
2. Who is the 'we' that are continuing to invest? Recent incoming cash has been from soft loans and at least one of the providers of those soft loans has gone.
3. He thinks the rights issue is a given, yet he hasn't yet made the cash available for his offer to the shareholders at 20p a share.
4. While he is confident that 'Steve' and Mark will have the funds, they aren't yet in place.
Any other thoughts?Other thoughts?
south African judge summed it up for me. Glib and shameless liar. Lost respect for gerrard on this one.
05-05-2018, 01:13 PM
Wonder how the BBC bosses in London will play it ... will they simply ignore the ban on a local journalist and attend press conferences.
05-05-2018, 01:25 PM
King: the plan is to win games.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44016122
Well thanks for that.
How anyone can meet that dead-eyed corpse and think ‘yeah, I want to work for this guy’ is beyond me.
anon1875
05-05-2018, 01:44 PM
I think he will do well unfortunately. I'm interested to see who he's going to bring in. I still fancy our chances of finishing above them next year if we can keep our strikers.
05-05-2018, 04:42 PM
Rangers Tweet today was quite funny.
https://twitter.com/RangersFC/status/992800270059999232?s=19
05-05-2018, 04:47 PM
Not remotely for me
CathroMustStay
05-05-2018, 04:57 PM
Rangers Tweet today was quite funny.
https://twitter.com/RangersFC/status/992800270059999232?s=19
As funny as Jim Davidson.
CathroMustStay
05-05-2018, 04:57 PM
https://www.lastditchtackle.com/rangers-fans-belt-out-sectarian-song-to-welcome-gerrard/
06-07-2018, 08:13 PM
Not sure if it’s Gerard’s first game in the dug out and I know it’s pre season but the Huns put 6 past Bury tonight.
06-07-2018, 08:16 PM
Not sure if it’s Gerard’s first game in the dug out and I know it’s pre season but the Huns put 6 past Bury tonight.
The big question is did Miller play himself for Livi away to QotS?
06-07-2018, 08:21 PM
The big question is did Miller play himself for Livi away to QotS?
Yes. Curently2 each but he hasn’t scored.
06-07-2018, 08:28 PM
Yes. Curently2 each but he hasn’t scored.
Think he was on the bench, Lee Miller started
06-07-2018, 08:30 PM
Think he was on the bench, Lee Miller started
:aok: Just saw the name Miller. Forgot about that lanky streak o pish being there.:greengrin
Stubbs
Rodgers
Clarke
Gerrard
Miller
McInness
Never a bigger set of names in our league. Can’t wait to get stuck into the 6 of them
06-07-2018, 08:48 PM
Stubbs
Rodgers
Clarke
Gerrard
Miller
McInness
Never a bigger set of names in our league. Can’t wait to get stuck into the 6 of them
The bigger they are the harder they fall. :cb
06-07-2018, 08:54 PM
Delighted for Zak Rudden to score his goal tonight, going to be a good striker with a good career if he screws the nut - not to happy seeing him thump that The Rangers badge though :cb
Good lad, good Hibee, he'll go far - well done lad :aok:
06-07-2018, 08:58 PM
Bury arw ***** though
06-07-2018, 08:58 PM
The Rangers supporters all getting very excited.
To be fair they were top scorers in the league last year but couldn’t defend to save their lives. They’ve spent 6 million on 2 centre halves so if they’re any good they’ll improve a fair bit IMO.
06-07-2018, 09:00 PM
Stubbs
Rodgers
Clarke
Gerrard
Miller
McInness
You forgot Levein...
guthrie01
06-07-2018, 09:08 PM
Give me a 6 pack and 5 minutes and I could put 6 past Bury, no doubt their supporters will be giving it the #goingfor55 again though
You forgot Levein...
Ah didnae 😂
Proper competition these days.. nonwanting too many successes but we’ve got the beating of them on our best days
06-07-2018, 09:40 PM
Ah Steven Gerrard....
Currently the biggest enigma in Scottish football
The rangers fans you speak to (when the care in community project you're involved with insists you speak to them) guarantee you that he'll be a success and will revolutionise the game
Or...
As the rest of the world knows
He's a massive gamble that will not be able to loosen the Celtic grip on the domestic game
Give SG one round of games with bad results and a poor old firm Derby performance and his position will be under a severe amount of pressure
I still can't genuinely see why das Huns think it's a first rate appointment. Some have drawn comparisons to hibs appointing Mowbray or Stubbs but for me these are worlds and expectations apart
K-Zazu
06-07-2018, 09:45 PM
Has anybody noticed that the rangers 1st round Europa League qualifying game is live on BT Sports? If Gerrard wasn’t the manager no danger would this be live on tele
06-07-2018, 09:50 PM
Has anybody noticed that the rangers 1st round Europa League qualifying game is live on BT Sports? If Gerrard wasn’t the manager no danger would this be live on tele
But he is and that’s the benefit of having someone of his stature.
The media are going to be all over him.
06-07-2018, 10:43 PM
Stubbs
Rodgers
Clarke
Gerrard
Miller
McInness
Imagine we had folk who would dare to talk our league up?
06-07-2018, 11:08 PM
Stubbs
Rodgers
Clarke
Gerrard
Miller
McInness
When you include Lennon that looks like a natural order
06-07-2018, 11:52 PM
I am in La Cala just now missed the Rangers by a few days Stevie G left a bit of legacy seemingly signed everything and donated loads made lots of friends leaving a really good impression. Well done.
07-07-2018, 05:28 AM
I am in La Cala just now missed the Rangers by a few days Stevie G left a bit of legacy seemingly signed everything and donated loads made lots of friends leaving a really good impression. Well done.
Don’t worry, rangers will turn him into a top rate A hole soon enough
They have that affect on people
07-07-2018, 06:35 AM
But he is and that’s the benefit of having someone of his stature.
The media are going to be all over him.
The media appear to fall all over anyone and anything to do with that mob anyway
I remember huge excitement when the baker's team scored 6 at ER in his 1st game in charge. For the life of me I can't remember how that season ended! :wink:
16-08-2018, 08:13 PM
The Huns seeing off Maribor isn't too shabby. He's done not too bad.
16-08-2018, 08:23 PM
The Huns seeing off Maribor isn't too shabby. He's done not too bad.
People are still in denial that the huns are **** , they are solid . Theyre not amazing going forward but they are so tight at the back they only need 1 goal and its game over .
I see them winning the league this year unless Celtic seriously up their game and sign some defenders that can actually defend
16-08-2018, 08:25 PM
Certainly got off to a good start.
16-08-2018, 08:27 PM
They will be a pain this season.
The old 1 and 2 combo is back.
murray26
16-08-2018, 08:37 PM
People are still in denial that the huns are **** , they are solid . Theyre not amazing going forward but they are so tight at the back they only need 1 goal and its game over .
I see them winning the league this year unless Celtic seriously up their game and sign some defenders that can actually defend
Unfortunately we’re heading back to the bad old days of Celtic/ Rangers reverse forecast for the next 100 years.. exciting times eh..
16-08-2018, 08:40 PM
They are solid.
They are not world-beaters and still have many obstacles to overcome.
16-08-2018, 08:41 PM
We'll beat them. Mark my words.
16-08-2018, 08:42 PM
Unfortunately we’re heading back to the bad old days of Celtic/ Rangers reverse forecast for the next 100 years.. exciting times eh..
Yip and only the other clubs to blame. Should have been totally held to account for their cheating and when clubs voted not to scrap the voting system that favours the OF they shot themselves in the foot. There will never be a league winner from outside of OF again sadly
16-08-2018, 08:42 PM
Hearts and Rangers have both improved this year.
Part of me thinks that as long as we improve as well then I’d argue it’s good for the game up here to have a strong Celtic, Rangers, Hibs, Aberdeen and Hearts. We are by any measure the 5 biggest clubs so having us all competing is a positive.
On the other hand I don’t really care about anyone other than Hibs so I hope it all goes tits up for the rest of them.
16-08-2018, 09:11 PM
We'll beat them. Mark my words.
I hope we do but doubt we will tbh
Now that Rangers are through I wouldn't be surprised if there's another bid for Lafferty in the next day or two.
16-08-2018, 09:16 PM
Rangers are a lot stronger defensively and in midfield and in McGregor have a better keeper than Fotheringham. Morelos is hit or miss though and that could hold them back. Unfortunately I expect them to finish second providing they don't go into financial meltdown again :pray::greengrin We need a strong watercarrier type in midfield to compete with them and Hertz.
16-08-2018, 09:19 PM
Rangers are a lot stronger defensively and in midfield and in McGregor have a better keeper than Fotheringham. Morelos is hit or miss though and that could hold them back. Unfortunately I expect them to finish second providing they don't go into financial meltdown again :pray::greengrin We need a strong watercarrier type in midfield to compete with them and Hertz.
Agree with all of this. Rangers have certainly improved, particularly in defence. Hearts look stronger; time will tell with Aberdeen. We need reinforcements, midfield the priority.
Oh, and **** Gerrard.
17-08-2018, 11:29 AM
Yip and only the other clubs to blame. Should have been totally held to account for their cheating and when clubs voted not to scrap the voting system that favours the OF they shot themselves in the foot. There will never be a league winner from outside of OF again sadly
For clubs read "Aberdeen"
17-08-2018, 11:34 AM
Those predicting him to be sacked by Christmas were being incredibly presumptuous about his ability, though I'm not sure what that was based on.
I liked him before he went to Rangers but he immediately went down in my estimation after his comments following the Aberdeen game. However, he has done and impressive job so far - if they ally the attacking prowess they showed last year with the clean sheets that they are keeping, they'll be hard to keep up with this season.
Need to keep taking points off them like we have done in recent seasons.
17-08-2018, 11:39 AM
Those predicting him to be sacked by Christmas were being incredibly presumptuous about his ability, though I'm not sure what that was based on.
I liked him before he went to Rangers but he immediately went down in my estimation after his comments following the Aberdeen game. However, he has done and impressive job so far - if they ally the attacking prowess they showed last year with the clean sheets that they are keeping, they'll be hard to keep up with this season.
It wasn't so much a reflection of his ability but of the nuthouse of a club he has joined.
His comments were unacceptable but necessary, because if you're not a dick when you join Sevco, you quickly have to become one to get anywhere with "ra peepul".
It's a shame as I used to like Gerrard and think he could be a very good manager. I just can't want him to succeed there.
17-08-2018, 11:53 AM
I see he is complaining about the low offer for Morelos and how disrespectful it is.Lafferty/Hearts Gerrard?
Sad to say but he seems to be putting a strong team together even though I'm told their skint. 😣
17-08-2018, 12:16 PM
Was it ever properly explained why they did that?
I'm Spartacus
17-08-2018, 02:58 PM
So, Gerrard's comments that the £3.75M offer for Morelos is embarrassing yet they offer £200k for Lafferty PLUS Celtic receive £7M for Armstrong yet cannot pull the £4M for McGinn.
I hate the Old Firm more than ever. Praying anybody outside the old firm win the league, they need starved of the money that allows them to bully everybody else.
17-08-2018, 06:23 PM
Obviously always been a fan of Stevie G and admired how his spirit, passion and undoubted ability could make it seem that he could almost single handedly take a game by the scruff of the neck when the chips were down.
I was extremely disappointed when he took The Rangers job as there was no way I could ever hold him in the same high esteem while he managed that manky mob. What has disappointed me even more since he took over is that rather than be his own man he seems to have read the script (the one that the knuckle draggers aspire too) and is coming across as an utter knob in my opinion.
17-08-2018, 06:38 PM
He's definitely been backed, with three money The Rangers have spent this summer, on top of what was spent last summer, if he's not challenging Celtc then he's failed.
Lewiehas2
17-08-2018, 06:38 PM
Obviously always been a fan of Stevie G and admired how his spirit, passion and undoubted ability could make it seem that he could almost single handedly take a game by the scruff of the neck when the chips were down.
I was extremely disappointed when he took The Rangers job as there was no way I could ever hold him in the same high esteem while he managed that manky mob. What has disappointed me even more since he took over is that rather than be his own man he seems to have read the script (the one that the knuckle draggers aspire too) and is coming across as an utter knob in my opinion.
Totally agree, in the same boat as you being a big Liverpool fan. Heartbreaking watching someone I admired become what he has
17-08-2018, 06:43 PM
Spat the dummy out in the draw with Aberdeen (when Morelos got sent off ) saying 'It's been like this for years at Rangers '...Really Stevie ? Considering you have been in the door 5 minutes you are talking utter dug shight
17-08-2018, 06:45 PM
He's definitely been backed, with three money The Rangers have spent this summer, on top of what was spent last summer, if he's not challenging Celtc then he's failed.
Probably laundering his uncles money :greengrin
17-08-2018, 06:47 PM
He has same points as us in league and as we speak has gone one round further in Europe than us with IMO an easier draw so I am not seeing what there is to be impressed about. I'm more impressed Hearts have won twice and beat Celtic.
17-08-2018, 06:51 PM
Probably laundering his uncles money :greengrin
Sssssssshhhh no one outside of Liverpool is supposed to know that :wink:
17-08-2018, 07:12 PM
I hope we do but doubt we will tbh
That's quite the statement to make considering we don't play them until October.
17-08-2018, 07:24 PM
If hearts, Aberdeen and us can beat the old firm at home consistently . Anything could happen.
17-08-2018, 07:26 PM
Sssssssshhhh no one outside of Liverpool is supposed to know that :wink:
Do tell?
17-08-2018, 07:38 PM
Do tell?
Sorry mate you're Not in the Know :greengrin
PeeKay
17-08-2018, 07:45 PM
Do tell?
SG's uncle has been named among Britain's 'most wanted' and police are hunting him over a £60million international drug plot - although actually he is a cousin rather than an uncle?
17-08-2018, 07:47 PM
SG's uncle has been named among Britain's 'most wanted' and police are hunting him over a £60million international drug plot - although actually he is a cousin rather than an uncle?
Let’s hope he falls on his arse on his getaway
17-08-2018, 08:14 PM
Let’s hope he falls on his arse on his getaway
:greengrin:thumbsup:
Gerrard on going to Norwich , 'This does not slip now ' :tee hee:
17-08-2018, 09:05 PM
Tbf it’s mid August. Gerrard has started better than Pedro did but let’s not start handing out the trophies.
Crazyhorse
17-08-2018, 09:35 PM
Yep. Can't understand that sell out of the rest of us.
17-08-2018, 09:40 PM
Yep. Can't understand that sell out of the rest of us.
I thought it was all about Stewart Milne being a dick.
17-08-2018, 09:59 PM
A 22 page thread on Steven Gerrard on Hibs.net.
Honestly?
Jesus wept.
Crazyhorse
17-08-2018, 10:07 PM
I thought it was all about Stewart Milne being a dick.
What did he or Aberdeen gain?
17-08-2018, 10:11 PM
What did he or Aberdeen gain?
Blue pounds continuing to buy houses?
Maybe he saw an opportunity for Aberdeen to sneak in and cement a position within the duopoly in Sevco's absence?
Either way, Stuart Milne is a dick.
18-08-2018, 01:25 AM
Rodgers is bang average. If Gerrard is even a half decent novice manager he could still get close to him on a lesser budget.
18-08-2018, 02:25 AM
Maybe he saw an opportunity for Aberdeen to sneak in and cement a position withwin the duopoly in Sevco's absence?
Slaphead anaw.......
18-08-2018, 03:11 AM
Honestly?
Jesus wept.
Don’t read it then!
18-08-2018, 06:24 AM
Honestly?
Jesus wept.
It’s a 22 pager depending on your threads per page settings. It’s only a 17 pager for me.
18-08-2018, 06:41 AM
It’s a 22 pager depending on your threads per page settings. It’s only a 17 pager for me.
23 here!! I’m certainly not going to add t, erm......
18-08-2018, 07:17 AM
Rodgers is bang average. If Gerrard is even a half decent novice manager he could still get close to him on a lesser budget.
Yeah how NL never won us the league last year i will never know, Rodgers knows nothing. Double treble in a DIDDY country MEH
hhibs
18-08-2018, 10:39 AM
Maybe he saw an opportunity for Aberdeen to sneak in and cement a position within the duopoly in Sevco's absence?
Always follow the money,it would indeed be about houses and property deals.
And,Stewart Milne is indeed, a complete dick.
With Gerrard's arrival we have the prospect of normal service being resumed, ie a 2 club league, heaven help us because no one else will.
18-08-2018, 12:41 PM
Honestly?
Jesus wept.
I bet FollowFollow mentions Lennon more and they’ll be nowhere near as nice
18-08-2018, 12:48 PM
Tbf it’s mid August. Gerrard has started better than Pedro did but let’s not start handing out the trophies.
Strange response to my post.
18-08-2018, 12:56 PM
He gave it to Demba Ba
18-08-2018, 01:26 PM
Strange response to my post.
Not really.
I was one of those who think Stevie G might be gone by Christmas.
Happy to eat humble pie if I am wrong... but we are a few months away...
Ralphy C
18-08-2018, 01:50 PM
Honestly?
Jesus wept.
So you start a 23rd.:rolleyes::rolleyes:
20-08-2018, 10:55 AM
Not really.
I was one of those who think Stevie G might be gone by Christmas.
Happy to eat humble pie if I am wrong... but we are a few months away...
It was. You said 'let's not start handing out the trophies', I simply mentioned that if they continue scoring quite freely and not conceding many, that they'll be hard for us to catch this year. I wasn't handing any trophies out.
As you say, it's early days - but I can't see them having the sort of collapse that would result in him being emptied within the next three months. They've done well enough in Europe that not making it through to the league stage won't be seen as a disaster. Losing to Ayr at home in the LC would put him under huge pressure, but wouldn't cost him his job.
SmashinGlass
20-08-2018, 11:27 AM
I found Gerrard's dismissal of the recent bid for Morelos quite patronising and contradictory. Warned other clubs off his player stating they would need to "blow Rangers out the water" if a bid was to be accepted. Considering their paltry approach to the yams for Laugherty, I found this quite hypocritical.
20-08-2018, 11:34 AM
It was. You said 'let's not start handing out the trophies', I simply mentioned that if they continue scoring quite freely and not conceding many, that they'll be hard for us to catch this year. I wasn't handing any trophies out.
As you say, it's early days - but I can't see them having the sort of collapse that would result in him being emptied within the next three months. They've done well enough in Europe that not making it through to the league stage won't be seen as a disaster. Losing to Ayr at home in the LC would put him under huge pressure, but wouldn't cost him his job.
I don't think Jacomo thinks you were literally trying to hand trophies out to Steven Gerrard :greengrin
20-08-2018, 01:25 PM
I found Gerrard's dismissal of the recent bid for Morelos quite patronising and contradictory. Warned other clubs off his player stating they would need to "blow Rangers out the water" if a bid was to be accepted. Considering their paltry approach to the yams for Laugherty, I found this quite hypocritical.
Just doing his job all clubs do it.
SmashinGlass
20-08-2018, 01:32 PM
Just doing his job all clubs do it.
You're absolutely right, but still doesn't excuse the fact that he's a hypocrite
20-08-2018, 01:34 PM
You're absolutely right, but still doesn't excuse the fact that he's a hypocrite
All managers are. :greengrin
sauzeelegod
24-08-2018, 04:39 PM
He was at easter road today with Gary Mac. I walked past them at 4pm. Strange.
24-08-2018, 04:44 PM
Russian Visas? The place is right behind the West
sauzeelegod
24-08-2018, 04:50 PM
Ah, makes sense then. Was racking my brains as to why he was there
24-08-2018, 04:54 PM
A wee visit to Scorpio Leisure :dunno:
24-08-2018, 05:06 PM
Yeah how NL never won us the league last year i will never know, Rodgers knows nothing. Double treble in a DIDDY country MEH
pretty sure any manager could come in to celtic and win almost every game
sauzeelegod
24-08-2018, 05:07 PM
A wee visit to Scorpio Leisure :dunno:
Haha. I passed them on the bridge. They turned right towards the stadium entrance. Didn't know about the Russian visa place being there. Makes sense now.
24-08-2018, 05:08 PM
Would everyone travelling to Russia have to go and collect their own visa?
If not I would’ve thought Rangers would’ve sent their dogsbody through to collect.
24-08-2018, 05:10 PM
pretty sure any manager could come in to celtic and win almost every game
You don't think being a good manager is that important? Without a top class manager you can't win anything. Cathro at Celtic wouldn't win the league IMO.
24-08-2018, 05:10 PM
Stevie Gerrard?
Russian visas?
Wtf?
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
24-08-2018, 05:11 PM
Stevie Gerrard?
Russian visas?
Wtf?
They’re away to a Russian team next week in the Europa.
24-08-2018, 05:12 PM
Would everyone travelling to Russia have to go and collect their own visa?
If not I would’ve thought Rangers would’ve sent their dogsbody through to collect.
I agree. Hence why the Scorpio Leisure story is growing legs. It happened.
24-08-2018, 05:12 PM
Does Robert Mueller know about the Russian visa's?
24-08-2018, 05:13 PM
I agree. Hence why the Scorpio Leisure story is growing legs. It happened.
:agree: clearly came through to empty his sacks while keeping out of the media glare.
I’d imagine Gary Mac was just there to look over his shoulder and keep him right.
24-08-2018, 05:14 PM
They’re away to a Russian team next week in the Europa.You've never read Trainspotting, eh no? [emoji16]
24-08-2018, 05:15 PM
You've never read Trainspotting, eh no? [emoji16]
Aye - clearly failed to memorise it though. :greengrin
24-08-2018, 05:15 PM
:agree: clearly came through to empty his sacks while keeping out of he media glare.
I’d imagine Gary Mac was just there to look over his shoulder and keep him right.
I think the nation's media should be made aware that Stevie G spent the afternoon baw deep in Slovakian fanny while Gary Mac was getting his cheapies.
24-08-2018, 05:16 PM
Aye - clearly failed to memorise it though. :greengrinMikey Forrester and the Russian sailors.
S'no so funny when I have to explain it. [emoji849]
24-08-2018, 05:23 PM
You don't think being a good manager is that important? Without a top class manager you can't win anything. Cathro at Celtic wouldn't win the league IMO.
i think a very average manager could yip, pretty sure their last manager wasnt a top class manager and still won the league
24-08-2018, 06:07 PM
i think a very average manager could yip, pretty sure their last manager wasnt a top class manager and still won the league
Tony Mowbray struggled with Celtic but he was excellent with us.
Delia isn’t a great example as there was no competition at all then, Aberdeen weren’t as good as they are now and the rangers were in the lower leagues.
24-08-2018, 06:59 PM
Tony Mowbray struggled with Celtic but he was excellent with us.
Delia isn’t a great example as there was no competition at all then, Aberdeen weren’t as good as they are now and the rangers were in the lower leagues.
i meant in recent seasons, any half decent manager could win something with celtic
CathroMustStay
09-03-2019, 12:15 AM
7/15 away wins in the league with their budget.
0/3 wins against us with their budget.
1/5 wins against Aberdeen with their budget.
Media darling Gerrard is a total fraud.
09-03-2019, 12:23 AM
Gerrard is a fraud!
Discuss.
09-03-2019, 12:27 AM
Gerrard is a fraud!
Discuss.
Put Austin McPhee in his place at Tynecastle with the best put down I've heard during a game - for that he gets my respect. McPhee is a fraud.
Callyballybe
09-03-2019, 12:29 AM
Put Austin McPhee in his place at Tynecastle with the best put down I've heard during a game - for that he gets my respect. McPhee is a fraud.
What did he say?
09-03-2019, 12:41 AM
What did he say?
Family forum :greengrin AM never left the Hearts dugout after it and hid. One thing about Gerrard is he oozes respect and generally conducts himself well during games - but when he barks certain 'coaches' know their place. I can never understand why McPhee gets the praise in the game he has achieved - Hearts are full of awful coaches who are way over-rated.
It's why I'm liking what I see from PH and RS - they are knowledgeable and don't overreact which transmits to the players. Lennon was losing control on the sidelines and losing focus and for me should have left at the beginning of this season. They've introduced professionalism.
One thing I would say is that if Gerrard and The Rangers want to succeed I'd ditch McAllister - he's useless too.
09-03-2019, 02:27 AM
Gerrard is a fraud!
Discuss.
He's been allowed to throw borrowed money at it, in a desperate attempt to stop Celtic getting the ten-in-row. It's still a huge task for a rookie manager and they've dropped too many points. I'd say he's doing a decent, though not outstanding job. Slippy G is no Ole Gunnar Solskjaer :greengrin
Hibernian32
09-03-2019, 02:40 AM
He's been allowed to throw borrowed money at it, in a desperate attempt to stop Celtic getting the ten-in-row. It's still a huge task for a rookie manager and they've dropped to many points. I'd say he's doing a decent, though not outstanding job. Slippy G is no Ole Gunnar Solskjaer :greengrin
Got a lot in common with OGS can't win away at ER this season. OGS just beat PSG away btw...
09-03-2019, 04:26 AM
Steven Gerrard is a guy whose character remains confined to the pitch. Thus far at least. Let's see if he can bring anything to the sidelines.
09-03-2019, 05:17 AM
Listened to Gerrards post match interview and I have to say I think it was very fair.
Respectful towards Hibs, didn’t blame the ref like the media were wanting him too and didn’t get involved about the off field stuff.
Sooner he leaves them the better, doesn’t sit right with me praising a rangers manager.
09-03-2019, 10:17 AM
I've still won as many league titles as Steven Gerrard. :greengrin
09-03-2019, 10:22 AM
Listened to Gerrards post match interview and I have to say I think it was very fair.
Respectful towards Hibs, didn’t blame the ref like the media were wanting him too and didn’t get involved about the off field stuff.
Sooner he leaves them the better, doesn’t sit right with me praising a rangers manager.
I agree, was quite impressed tbh.
It wouldn't have been a surprise for their entire club to go into hysterical meltdown. It was a bad result for them, one that must have hurt yet most of them managed to retain some sort of dignity. I think Halliday deserves praise for his post-match reaction too.
I actually think Gerrard is doing very well. Yes, much of it is built on borrowed brass but they should have cuffed us twice at Easter Road this season and only bad finishing has stopped them from doing so. The worst thing for us would be if they acknowledge this fact and continue to progress. Much better would be if they thought that the world's most successful football club has been let down by their rookie manager, that on their budget they are entitled to better and so must effect another change........
09-03-2019, 10:25 AM
Don't actually mind Gerrard to be honest.
Lets not end up like other clubs and just hating folk for the sake of it.
09-03-2019, 10:26 AM
Family forum :greengrin AM never left the Hearts dugout after it and hid. One thing about Gerrard is he oozes respect and generally conducts himself well during games - but when he barks certain 'coaches' know their place. I can never understand why McPhee gets the praise in the game he has achieved - Hearts are full of awful coaches who are way over-rated.
It's why I'm liking what I see from PH and RS - they are knowledgeable and don't overreact which transmits to the players. Lennon was losing control on the sidelines and losing focus and for me should have left at the beginning of this season. They've introduced professionalism.
One thing I would say is that if Gerrard and The Rangers want to succeed I'd ditch McAllister - he's useless too.
Good post. Hun at my work was saying that McAllister is just too nice to get the respect of some players which sounds a bit strange but I see what he's getting at.
09-03-2019, 04:33 PM
Didn't blame the ref but did spend quite a bit of his interview stating that the ref was 5 yards away from Omeonga winning the ball from Tavernier and completely missing a "blatant 10 times out of 10, or a 100 times out of a 100 foul".
Here’s Lucy!
09-03-2019, 04:39 PM
Gerrard is actually ok imo.
09-03-2019, 06:36 PM
Any chance of an outline of what he said to Nanny. :greengrin
Crazyhorse
09-03-2019, 10:54 PM
Very true. Let’s hope they keep that plonker.
09-03-2019, 11:01 PM
Undefeated watching his team who are mostly defeated when they play Hibernian.
19-05-2025, 04:56 PM
Shock new surprise 8/11 favourite for The Rangers hot seat according to The Sun and the Daily Ranger
Trinity Hibee
19-05-2025, 05:58 PM
Shock new surprise 8/11 favourite for The Rangers hot seat according to The Sun and the Daily Ranger
I’d be surprised if he went back, why tarnish the reputation he has? He isn’t competing with Celtic next year
19-05-2025, 06:22 PM
I’d be surprised if he went back, why tarnish the reputation he has? He isn’t competing with Celtic next year
Was hoping the 49ers might start a move away from Sevco and all the baggage that brings and kick on into the 21st century with a fresh start fresh investment and a new broom
Slippy G seemed to go along with all that no one likes us we don’t care blah blah blah fortress Ibrox playing to the masses telling them what they want to hear
19-05-2025, 06:34 PM
Gerrard bolted first time around as soon as he could because they had a nothing transfer budget, that hasn't changed and there's no evidence thus far that it will. Phil Mac has an interesting piece today regarding the two people fronting the takeover, the hard of thinking Sevco support are going to be disappointed (again) if his information is correct.
19-05-2025, 06:35 PM
Slippy G[emoji23]
Bring him home, Wazza Rooney filling the Alan McGregor role and Bomber Brown as the new McCann...
19-05-2025, 06:42 PM
Gerrard bolted first time around as soon as he could because they had a nothing transfer budget, that hasn't changed and there's no evidence thus far that it will. Phil Mac has an interesting piece today regarding the two people fronting the takeover, the hard of thinking Sevco support are going to be disappointed (again) if his information is correct.
Do you have a link ?
I could do with a laugh :greengrin
19-05-2025, 06:45 PM
Do you have a link ?
I could do with a laugh :greengrin
Here you go mate, the point being made is that there's no bottomless pit of money arriving at Ibrox any time soon...
https://philmacgiollabhain.ie/2025/05/19/sevco-prepare-to-lift-the-takeover-trophy/#google_vignette
19-05-2025, 06:46 PM
Here you go mate, the point being made is that there's no bottomless pit of money arriving at Ibrox any time soon...
https://philmacgiollabhain.ie/2025/05/19/sevco-prepare-to-lift-the-takeover-trophy/#google_vignette
Thanks
👍
20-05-2025, 03:44 PM
We will have to see what happens. Let’s hope their dreams of big transfers prove incorrect. If Gerrard returns, I want him to slip flat on his face again then bolt once more. May the circus continue.
21-05-2025, 03:57 PM
The Sun reporting that Russell Martin has allegedly found another job in the UK ( Leicester? my guess ) and is no longer in the running leaving the way clear for a return to Ibrox for the Slippy one
I won’t post the link
21-05-2025, 04:17 PM
Gerrard bolted when his stock was high and Villa came up. After failing there and miserably in Saudi his stock is back at Sevco levels.
https://i.pinimg.com/1200x/c9/1d/e6/c91de6de704b39469675eb19a55d6969.jpg
21-05-2025, 04:27 PM
Rangers only won anything under Gerrard because somehow Celtic had a bigger car crash of a manager.
It could be very, very ugly for him if it’s Rodger’s Celtic vs The The’s with Gerrard.
21-05-2025, 04:29 PM
Rangers only won anything under Gerrard because somehow Celtic had a bigger car crash of a manager.
It could be very, very ugly for him if it’s Rodger’s Celtic vs The The’s with Gerrard.
Plus Beale was supposed to be "the brains" and I can't see them having him back!
21-05-2025, 04:55 PM
Gerrard bolted when his stock was high and Villa came up. After failing there and miserably in Saudi his stock is back at Sevco levels.
https://i.pinimg.com/1200x/c9/1d/e6/c91de6de704b39469675eb19a55d6969.jpg
Yes his stock was high and Villa appeared at a good time once Gerrard found there was no money available. For what it's worth, I think he'd have gone to Villa anyway, Gerrard would make the best of going back to Sevco if he had to but if anyone at Sevco thinks he'd prefer to be at Ibrox instead of the EPL they are delusional. If he can repair his reputation (can't see it myself) he'll be off for the first decent opportunity that comes up.
21-05-2025, 05:14 PM
Not sure that's strictly true, Lennon was obviously a disaster but Rangers record that season was incredible.
They got 102 points, never lost a single game and only conceded 13 goals in 38 games. That would win the league in most seasons regardless of the Celtic manager.
Celtic haven't bettered that points total since 2016/17.
21-05-2025, 05:50 PM
Not sure that's strictly true, Lennon was obviously a disaster but Rangers record that season was incredible.
They got 102 points, never lost a single game and only conceded 13 goals in 38 games. That would win the league in most seasons regardless of the Celtic manager.
Celtic haven't bettered that points total since 2016/17.
Huge caveat being that was played in empty stadiums.
21-05-2025, 06:31 PM
And Rangers players miraculously staying clear of covid when everyone else was affected.
21-05-2025, 06:32 PM
I get that, but as much as I dislike Sevco you can't deny that's an impressive league season.
The following season the team that Gerrard built got within an inch of winning the Europa league, so he definitely put together a very good side.
21-05-2025, 06:33 PM
I get that, but as much as I dislike Sevco you can't deny that's an impressive league season.
The following season the team that Gerrard built got within an inch of winning the Europa league, so he definitely put together a very good side.
Or Michael Beale did?
21-05-2025, 06:47 PM
Or Michael Beale did?
Surely the manager has to get credit? Especially when considering Beale was a failure when he actually got the top job.
21-05-2025, 07:51 PM
What’s the opposite of a redemption arc?
21-05-2025, 07:53 PM
Google says.....
Condemnation Arc - The total opposite of a Redemption Arc, where even if the subject does come to realize where they've gone wrong in their life, it comes at a point in time where it's far too late to prevent the deservedly miserable end they're set to meet.
So, Gerrard for Ibrox then?
21-05-2025, 07:54 PM
Degradation Arc which is where I'd expect Gerrard to be heading if he returns.
That was in the days when you had decapitate someone and all their living relatives in the box for the ref to consider giving a penalty (ie no pens awarded against them)
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Paul1642
21-05-2025, 07:57 PM
That was in the days when you had decapitate someone and all their living relatives in the box for the ref to consider giving a penalty (ie no pens awarded against them)
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Was the Gerrard era pre VAR? I think it was but not certain.