View Full Version : Neil Lennon.

Pages : 1 [2] 3

24-02-2018, 08:36 PM
I think you’ll find everyone agrees what Lennon thinks and says. It’s the manner in which he done it. I don’t see what is that hard to grasp or why folk feel the need to take it out of context to start an argument. Lennon was daft to blow up like that, was he right though in what he said after it.. Yes!

If he’d just kept the head and went right into Clancy’s office he could have put across his point in private rather than in front of the cameras where the media will have a field day. Right after him saying about the way players have to conduct themselves on and off the park.

Hope this helps for those who think myself and others are putting the boot in. I’m one of Lennons biggest fans and still think he’s the best manager we’ve had In many years.

Normally agree with your posts cat but think you are wrong today

Was Lennon correct that the decision was wrong? Yes
Is he a passionate manager? Yes
Did the bad decision cost us? Yes

We could go back to Calderwood type managers who couldn’t give a toss

Give me Lenny anytime

24-02-2018, 08:38 PM
Normally agree with your posts cat but think you are wrong today

Was Lennon correct that the decision was wrong? Yes
Is he a passionate manager? Yes
Did the bad decision cost us? Yes

We could go back to Calderwood type managers who couldn’t give a toss

Give me Lenny anytime

That’s fair enough, I’m delighted we have him as manager I just think he should have kept his cool and delt with it privately. I’m just gutted he’ll now serve a ban which is the last thing we need.

majorhibs
24-02-2018, 08:41 PM
That’s fair enough, I’m delighted we have him as manager I just think he should have kept his cool and delt with it privately. I’m just gutted he’ll now serve a ban which is the last thing we need.

Are you going to be on the panel, TC? If so, heaven help us, as you seem to have already totally decided the outcome!

Roxyhibee
As a rule, I can’t be bothered with any manager (including any of ours) going on about the ref and connecting it with a result.

But this today was quite different - it looked very like Clancy’s decision was deliberately made to antagonise and then follow it up with a theatrical ‘take on’ of Lennon to put him in his place from previous. I’m sober and certain of this.

Neil Lennon knows this and as angry as that interview is, it’s sentiments are genuine and articulated excellently.

Will he get into trouble.? Most definitely. But he is standing up for our club and I back him 100%.

Opinions mate 👍. We’re sitting good and could have been out of site at half time today

Poor 2nd half but we go again on Wednesday. GGTTH

24-02-2018, 08:43 PM
Are you going to be on the panel, TC? If so, heaven help us, as you seem to have already totally decided the outcome!

It doesn’t take a genius to know he will get a ban. Do you honestly think he’ll get away with that?? He says it himself he’ll prob be in trouble.

24-02-2018, 08:45 PM
Opinions mate 👍. We’re sitting good and could have been out of site at half time today

Poor 2nd half but we go again on Wednesday. GGTTH

That’s exactly it, be a boring board if we all agreed 👍🏼

Onto wed now and I think we’ll take 3 points and expect a positive reaction from the boys.

24-02-2018, 08:48 PM
Are they agreeing in the manner he done it screaming in the refs face? Or are they agreeing about what he said in the interview which I think all are agreeing with him.

There is a difference in the two.

he screamed in the refs face after the ref had sent him off

what was he sent off for?

majorhibs
24-02-2018, 08:50 PM
It doesn’t take a genius to know he will get a ban. Do you honestly think he’ll get away with that?? He says it himself he’ll prob be in trouble.

Prob, but your doing a fair old job of talking about how bad it’s going to be, before anything’s begin! Armageddon-esque in fact!

24-02-2018, 08:51 PM

I’ve no idea, that’s what makes it worse. If he’d gone to the stand then went to see him after I don’t think it would be as bad. But because he blew up after he was already sent to the stand it will give Clancy more amo against him. Clancy is a clown and He’ll he loving it Lennon lost it. Remember SFA never go against the refs.

24-02-2018, 08:51 PM
Prob, but your doing a fair old job of talking about how bad it’s going to be, before anything’s begin! Armageddon-esque in fact!

Won’t be Armageddon, but I’d rather have him in the dugout than not!

24-02-2018, 08:54 PM

How can he possibly deal with it privately, cat?

majorhibs
24-02-2018, 08:55 PM
Won’t be Armageddon, but I’d rather have him in the dugout than not!

Agreed. But I’d rather the establishment did not know that many of our own reckon he should be hung drawn & quartered, they already think like that anyway but we mebbes should try & avoid that.

JK Rolling
24-02-2018, 08:58 PM
We all like passion BUT the Manager should always set the standard for behaviour. Aggression like that from your figurehead, no matter the circumstances, isn’t acceptable.

His behaviour was an complete embarrassment. He always talks about his Mental Health issues too, he needs to curb his aggression first.

He’ll be given a lengthy ban and it hurts us at a crucial time of the season.

It achieves absolutely nothing other than a fine/ban.

Pathetic.

24-02-2018, 08:59 PM
I’ve no idea, that’s what makes it worse. If he’d gone to the stand then went to see him after I don’t think it would be as bad. But because he blew up after he was already sent to the stand it will give Clancy more amo against him. Clancy is a clown and He’ll he loving it Lennon lost it. Remember SFA never go against the refs.

I agree. I like Lennon a lot but it’s stupid, unnecessary, and just plain rude to get in his face like that. Our discipline on the park has been fine this season though, so I doubt there will be any knock-on effect outside of Lennon having to sit in the stand for a couple of games.

Doubt Leanne will be too pleased either.

24-02-2018, 08:59 PM
How can he possibly deal with it privately, cat?

Easy... Black bag over the head and straight in the boot of his car!!

Joking aside, go speak with him in his office after the game away from the media and cameras.

24-02-2018, 09:00 PM
I agree. I like Lennon a lot but it’s stupid, unnecessary, and just plain rude to get in his face like that. Our discipline on the park has been fine this season though, so I doubt there will be any knock-on effect outside of Lennon having to sit in the stand for a couple of games.

Doubt Leanne will be too pleased either.

I think Petries face summed it up.

24-02-2018, 09:01 PM
Are they agreeing in the manner he done it screaming in the refs face? Or are they agreeing about what he said in the interview which I think all are agreeing with him.

There is a difference in the two.

They agree with you that he went too far with the sarcastic clapping and they also said it was disrespectful to call the ref by his surname. They weren’t scathing about it though and understood that he was showing passion.

Other than that it was all about how he was right to be aggrieved and that he’s good value in interviews whatever the result.

Willie Millar on Sportsound said Lennon was 100% correct and the rest of them were kinda saying that’s what you get with Lennon.

The only place I’m seeing people blaming him is on here.

Kickback is full of folk claiming to be concerned about his mental health and that he’s having a breakdown. It’s pretty tasteless stuff.

capitals_finest
24-02-2018, 09:04 PM
I have not seen it but heard the BBC radio commentary and was pleasantly surprised by the backing our manager received. In my opinion he is right to speak up after yer another poor decision that may cost this club come the end of the season.

24-02-2018, 09:04 PM
They agree with you that he went too far with the sarcastic clapping and they also said it was disrespectful to call the ref by his surname. They weren’t scathing about it though and understood that he was showing passion.

Other than that it was all about how he was right to be aggrieved and that he’s good value in interviews whatever the result.

Willie Millar on Sportsound said Lennon was 100% correct and the rest of them were kinda saying that’s what you get with Lennon.

Kickback is full of folk claiming to be concerned about his mental health and that he’s having a breakdown. It’s pretty tasteless stuff.

Isn’t that exactly what I have posted?

I’d ignore those clowns over the road, nothing shocks me with that lot!

24-02-2018, 09:05 PM

Apparently it was the fourth official who got him sent off for swearing. He then reported this to Clancy who then sent Lennon off. Players swear at refs every week and yet this poor little lamb of the official variety seems to have acted as if he'd never heard bad language in a stadium before.

24-02-2018, 09:05 PM
Neil was spot on, this ref is a joke and cost us and the club as a whole. I love Lennon’s passion and if I was a player I would that is the manager I would want to work with. The guy is showing the players he is a winner and is speaking up for us fans. These ref’s are a joke and get away with murder every week and get paid for it and answer to no one. We are so lucky to have a manager in Lennon.

Great post.

Lennon is spot on with his comments. We've been shafted by refs so many times that it's about time someone stood up for us.

24-02-2018, 09:11 PM
His take on the game form Hibs TV...

https://youtu.be/sL-2dJDJiB4

Mantis Toboggan
24-02-2018, 09:15 PM
I really like him as our manager. And the penalty was harsh. But I can't defend Lennons reaction. It affected the rest of the game and he is looking at a ban which is a nightmare.

24-02-2018, 09:16 PM
Isn’t that exactly what I have posted?

I’d ignore those clowns over the road, nothing shocks me with that lot!

I’m not sure exactly where you stand but my own view is that we’ve never come out complaining about refs before and it’s got us nowhere.

If this is headline news and it makes the ref on Wednesday night think twice before making a rash decision then it’s well worth it. Clancy will certainly need to be more careful the next time he has one of our games as he’ll know every decision will be scrutinised more than usual. That’s got to be a good thing.

The divide on here appears to be that some like yourself would rather he’d done the quiet word thing and the rest of us that think he’s played a blinder!

I think we all agree with his after match interviews :aok:

24-02-2018, 09:20 PM
I’m not sure exactly where you stand but my own view is that we’ve never come out complaining about refs before and it’s got us nowhere.

If this is headline news and it makes the ref on Wednesday night think twice before making a rash decision then it’s well worth it. Clancy will certainly need to be more careful the next time he has one of our games as he’ll know every decision will be scrutinised more than usual. That’s got to be a good thing.

The divide on here appears to be that some like yourself would rather he’d done the quiet word thing and the rest of us that think he’s played a blinder!

I think we all agree with his after match interviews :aok:

Totally agree with his comments in the interview, really hope it makes life difficult for Clancy if he does ref another Hibs game, which I think he will. I started a thread ages ago on refs and was shot down saying i was paranoid. There is a huge issue in the game and it’s a mix between being very poor and cheating both are happening imo.

Kiddo
24-02-2018, 09:23 PM
Neil Lennon is a winner, he’s the reason we got out the championship he’s the reason we’re fourth in the league, he creates a siege mentality and I love it. About time we had someone that stands up for us as a club

24-02-2018, 09:27 PM
Apparently it was the fourth official who got him sent off for swearing. He then reported this to Clancy who then sent Lennon off. Players swear at refs every week and yet this poor little lamb of the official variety seems to have acted as if he'd never heard bad language in a stadium before.

Exactly. Fourth official needs to grow a pair IMO

24-02-2018, 09:31 PM
I don't get this "finally someone is standing up for the club" quote that is on every page of this thread. We let in 2 goals in a game we were in full control of, and everyone is focusing on a manager who totally lost it. I want us to win, and this was a game we could've & should've won- yet after I'm feeling glad we escaped with a point.

Kiddo
24-02-2018, 09:34 PM
I don't get this "finally someone is standing up for the club" quote that is on every page of this thread. We let in 2 goals in a game we were in full control of, and everyone is focusing on a manager who totally lost it. I want us to win, and this was a game we could've & should've won- yet after I'm feeling glad we escaped with a point.
When have we ever had a manager that’s spoke up about decisions that have clearly and continually went against us?

24-02-2018, 09:55 PM

No, the referee helped them to two goals. If you imagine this game is only played on the park you're very much mistaken.

BegbieHSC
24-02-2018, 10:00 PM
I love Lenny more than ever after today.

Brings the passion, mentality and backbone we've been crying out for years.

Long may he reign!!!!

:nlgwa:nlgwa:nlgwa:nlgwa

24-02-2018, 10:04 PM
Don’t really care about him going mental at the ref. Clancy is a disgrace.

If Lennon deserves any stick for not really doing anything to change the flow of the game second half.

24-02-2018, 10:08 PM
I see it that Neil Lennon has taken one for the club.
He knows he will be in the dog house with the SFA and is facing another ban, but the end result is that the whole football world has heard our manager be up front, open and honest about the scandalous (some say corrupt) officiating that has seen us being denied penalties ( vRangers, v Falkirk) and goals disallowed/missed(Hearts twice). He has simply highlighted and brought to everyone's attention the appalling standard of refereeing in Scotland.
The financial well-being of our club is being affected, as is our progress in the league. If a player can be served a retrospective card, then why can't Hibs be given a retrospective goal (and points)- when the cameras clearly show the ball well over the goal line against The Jambos?
I'm really struggling to think of a decision that has gone in our favour when it comes to the derby. That lot have literally been handed a get-out-of-jail card on too many occasions. Little wonder they celebrate so hysterically after some of the games against us.

24-02-2018, 10:12 PM
I think Petries face summed it up.He's just worried it will affect his cosy chair at SFA HQ

guthrie01
24-02-2018, 10:15 PM

Took a look at Kickback and it really is shocking what their fans come out with.

Just weeks after Goncalves admitted leaving due to the racism from the Hearts supporters, now ridiculing another manager about his mental issues. Not to mention the recent outings of their beloved secterain song they like to share with the Rangers.

Hope we dish out a solid beating at ER and send them down to the bottom 6 where they belong.

24-02-2018, 10:15 PM
Lennon's comments are bang on. No wonder he lost it. That is up there with the worst refereeing performance I have ever seen. Clancy just guessing decisions. Absolute clown.

24-02-2018, 10:17 PM
Easy... Black bag over the head and straight in the boot of his car!!

Joking aside, go speak with him in his office after the game away from the media and cameras.

Do you think the Clancy would give a ****? Cheating *******.

24-02-2018, 10:59 PM
There are two separate issues here.

The first is Lennon's reaction to an "incompetent" refereeing decision for the penalty, which we all support.

The second was Lennon's overreaction to Clancy's "incompetent" decision to send him to the stand, which was wrong and he wouldn't accept such behavior from one of our players. Lennon should have waited until after the game to call Clancy out for "incompetence" as opposed to giving Clancy a genuine reason to report him.

24-02-2018, 11:07 PM
Lenny is Hibs, so ****ing what.

24-02-2018, 11:10 PM
^^ On your 2nd point, a lot of us don’t think he did anything wrong at all.

I’m delighted he reacted in the way he did and hope he does the same again the next time a ref costs us points.

24-02-2018, 11:37 PM
He's just worried it will affect his cosy chair at SFA HQ

No need

Tornadoes70
24-02-2018, 11:44 PM
^^ On your 2nd point, a lot of us don’t think he did anything wrong at all.

I’m delighted he reacted in the way he did and hope he does the same again the next time a ref costs us points.

100%

Anyone who disagrees with this is on the same team as Chic Young who said it was a deserved penalty and who took great issue with Lenny instead of being objective in describing the situation.

Good on you Lenny. A 'referee' who turned a blind eye to the hun deliberately playing the ball with his arm but in contrast then gifts a penalty against us fully deserves to be called out.

mon the cabbage!!!

24-02-2018, 11:44 PM
No need

Why? It's an opinion.

majorhibs
24-02-2018, 11:48 PM
He's just worried it will affect his cosy chair at SFA HQ

No need

Is that not a possibility?

24-02-2018, 11:53 PM
Is that not a possibility?

Not even remotely.

24-02-2018, 11:55 PM
Why? It's an opinion.

That's not an opinion.

It's spiteful nonsense.

majorhibs
24-02-2018, 11:56 PM
Not even remotely.

Such certainty from someone who isn’t actually “Rodders”

25-02-2018, 12:02 AM
Such certainty from someone who isn’t actually “Rodders”

The idea that RPs position at the SPFL is in any way influenced by the behaviour of Neil Lennon is utterly ludicrous, so yes, I'm certain that's not what he was thinking.

That's not mind reading, like the initial post was, it's common sense.

25-02-2018, 12:02 AM
That's not an opinion.

It's spiteful nonsense.

In your opinion.

25-02-2018, 12:03 AM
In your opinion.

Unless the poster can mind read, it's more than an opinion.

25-02-2018, 12:12 AM
Unless the poster can mind read, it's more than an opinion.

The poster stated his opinion, you disagreed with it. What's not to get?

majorhibs
25-02-2018, 12:19 AM
Just back doon here, Stoneyburn! Like wi Rodders at SFA, superior intellects are at work, the minions like you & I should be grateful that we even get tae speak on the same website on matters like this. My cap is in my hands as we speak, as should be yours.

bubblesmorrison
25-02-2018, 12:40 AM
His actions today could cost us dearly. He’ll face a huge ban given his previous history! What example does it set to the players.

I think the example it sets is we have a manager that cares and wont take any crap

25-02-2018, 12:48 AM
We know that things are great on the pitch when all some moaning Minnie’s have to complain about is Rod Petrie,

A man who brought us the Scottish Cup 🏆

25-02-2018, 12:54 AM
Just back from the game. I just don’t to talk it about it

25-02-2018, 01:13 AM
The Lennon debate between ‘the not Hibs class’ brigade and the ‘about time we had a passionate manager who called out the entire stinking cesspit for what it is’ troops will go on, with me on the latter side.

Leave the poker-assed petit bourgeois Edinburgh snobbery to the Yams - they are far better at that ludicrous affection. All it does for us is get us proverbial sand kicked in our face. I love the chippy, provocative, passionate, don’t-****-with-us siege mentality Hibs of NL. More power to this ginger godlike force, I say!

25-02-2018, 01:24 AM
His actions today could cost us dearly. He’ll face a huge ban given his previous history! What example does it set to the players.

Ah well, if we only had Kenny Miller playing for us, eh. Jog on

cad
25-02-2018, 03:59 AM
I understand the reason behind the outburst ,but any sporting organisation will come down heavily on their officials being abused,it just won't be tolerated .
I can see Lennon in the stands for the rest of the season and a heavy fine,they dont care about this referee and his previous with Hibs it's not about that, it's about the disregard and abuse of their official he's in for a sore one .

25-02-2018, 05:04 AM
That's not an opinion.

It's spiteful nonsense.How is it spiteful?? Just coz you don't agree with it...it's a forum and all about opinions last time I checked

25-02-2018, 05:07 AM
The Lennon debate between ‘the not Hibs class’ brigade and the ‘about time we had a passionate manager who called out the entire stinking cesspit for what it is’ troops will go on, with me on the latter side.

Leave the poker-assed petit bourgeois Edinburgh snobbery to the Yams - they are far better at that ludicrous affection. All it does for us is get us proverbial sand kicked in our face. I love the chippy, provocative, passionate, don’t-****-with-us siege mentality Hibs of NL. More power to this ginger godlike force, I say!
Posh people in Gorgie? Bwhahahahahahahahahahahahahaha....

Bollocks - need to change my colostomy bag

Ok back again - bwhahahahahahahahahahaahahaha..........

Alfiembra
25-02-2018, 05:51 AM
I feel there are those on here that will never take to and will be critical of Neil Lennon no matter what he might achieve with Hibs.
My own thoughts are that over the time he has been here I’ve seen a passion and determination from a manager I’ve never experienced from a Hibs manager in over 50 years supporting the club, and I love the man for it.
We’ve had many different types and styles of managers and this may be where there is conflict with many on here.
Managers like Tony Mowbray and Alan Stubbs, for example, are what I would call studious, and scholars of the game and they displayed a more polite almost academic approach to management. They both had great teams to watch and had success with the club, their teams had great flair fantastic to watch but with a soft underbelly.
I’m not saying Neil is none of those things, he’s got all of these attributes in bucketfuls. But he adds a driving force to that and an unquestionable determination to succeed and is instilling in this club that we will not give up and be bullied out of games.
My fear is that we fail to keep up with his expectations and if the criticism grows to an extent that it gets back to the club and staff then he might move on to somewhere he feels his efforts are more appreciated.

As I said in over 50 years following Hibs this is the first time I’ve had real hope that we can emerge from the doldrums and become a force to be reckoned with, a team that can mount a serious and sustained challenge for not just the cups but the league title itself. I firmly believe Neil Lennon is the manager that can deliver that.

25-02-2018, 06:01 AM
Can't be arsed reading 11 pages of people bickering over Lennon, personally I like the fact he's sticking up for us and shows that in his passion, also good to see him lay into these terrible referees we have in Scotland right now, they're all a ****ing disgrace week after week.

25-02-2018, 06:07 AM
I really like him as our manager. And the penalty was harsh. But I can't defend Lennons reaction. It affected the rest of the game and he is looking at a ban which is a nightmare.

IMO it didnae effect any of the game, we were played off the park way before his sending off, from the last 10-15mins of the first half right tae the end.

oh, and I think this could well be the catalyst for the rest of the season, Hibs 4 Hamilton 0

BlackSheep
25-02-2018, 06:27 AM
If Lennon gets a touch line ban I’m not sure how it’s a ‘nightmare’. The squad trains together through the week and he will be there in the dressing room before the match and at halftime. It’s 90 minutes without direct contact! While will miss him on the bench it’s certainly it as bad as some on here are thinking. The only aspect of the incident Lennon will regret is likely the fine he’ll face due to his reaction.

25-02-2018, 06:28 AM
Ah well, if we only had Kenny Miller playing for us, eh. Jog on

I’d rather he wasn’t. Good response though!

25-02-2018, 06:41 AM
I started reading this thread last night, went to bed, finished reading it this morning and I'm still of the opinion he did the right thing. He is calling out ineptitude and injustice and shining a spotlight on a system that has cost us enough points this season as to have made us genuine title contenders.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

25-02-2018, 06:57 AM
I started reading this thread last night, went to bed, finished reading it this morning and I'm still of the opinion he did the right thing. He is calling out ineptitude and injustice and shining a spotlight on a system that has cost us enough points this season as to have made us genuine title contenders.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

Correct, it isn't a one off, it has been numerous bad decisions go against us.

NL is passionate and a winner, can fully understand his reaction.

Greenworld
25-02-2018, 07:10 AM
His actions today could cost us dearly. He’ll face a huge ban given his previous history! What example does it set to the players.His actions are of someone that can clearly see a referee cheating.
The example to the players is off a winner who accepts nothing less and I would want all my players to have a strong attitude.
Remember he was standing up for the players in a way they cannot, he will now get a chance to say his piece to the powers that be .
Remember the ref is the one in the wrong here Lennon I support 100%

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

Greenworld
25-02-2018, 07:13 AM
Disappointed in Lennon today, just when the team needed leadership he was up in the stand.
The players need to have a look at themselves too, Rocky got us a point today, our motm.Thought the team improved massively when he went to the stand funnily enough

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

25-02-2018, 07:17 AM
Surely the highlight of the whole incident was when Lenny took his seat in the stand?
Right next to Rod Petrie 🤣
You could tell by the amused look on Petrie's face he was dying to say something to Lennon - but (wisely!) decided against it 👍

Petrie ! Instead of giving Lennon a look, have a flinking look and say something about the refereeing decisions that are costing your club money almost every week, instead of thinking what are my mates at the SFA lunchclub n smoking jackets going to say on Monday....will it affect.my place at the top table ..??

25-02-2018, 07:22 AM
Love his aggression but don't know how anyone can say that wasn't over the top.

Thought it was an embarrassment to be honest, he won't enjoy watching that back.

Fair enough he's frustrated but there's a way of doing things.

That's what you get with a character always playing on the edge I suppose?

25-02-2018, 07:30 AM

If Lennon was perfect, he'd be nowhere near ER. Same goes for many of the players we've brought to ER in the last 3 years. Stokes was a problem waiting to happen, but he won us the cup. Ambrose is always 3 games away from a calamity and on and on.

Give me flawed characters, average crowds of 19000, derby dominance, and competing for Europe every day of the week over the turgid mediocrity we've suffered under weak, bland, spineless losers we've had to suffer at Hibs for far far too long.

25-02-2018, 07:35 AM
Neil suffers from anxiety and depression. Those that have experienced those conditions know that the source lies with the logical brain overcoming the emotional brain.

His ability to handle the pressures of top flight management will rely upon his behavioural control in adverse situations such as disputed penalty awards and goal line calls.

If the players were to spit the dummy and abuse the referee we would be rightly aggrieved if their sending off had cost us the game.

Maybe we should avoid polarising the debate in terms of right and wrong and see our brilliant manager for the complex character that he is.

25-02-2018, 07:51 AM
It's the only chance us the fans get to see the referee get a rite rollicking,regardless of the punishment the referee deserved to know how much of disgrace he was rite at that moment in time in front of our support. Much rather that than a quiet word in the office, referees always scurry away like little rats and never seem to have a case to answer, when they should!

Why stop at a rollicking why not nut him that would teach him, he would think twice in future :wink:seriously Lennon could say what he needed to say on TV radio and papers and all three would have lapped it up and the fans would know what he thought without a mad rant.

25-02-2018, 07:54 AM
Can't be arsed reading 11 pages of people bickering over Lennon, personally I like the fact he's sticking up for us and shows that in his passion, also good to see him lay into these terrible referees we have in Scotland right now, they're all a ****ing disgrace week after week.

Pretty much sums things up for me. The reason we've had soft underbellies in the past is that we just used to roll over and accept cheats like Clancy. Doesn't happen under Lennon which is brilliant to see.

MacGruber
25-02-2018, 08:00 AM
I'm not bothered about Lennon's reaction.
It's not big or clever and he shouldn't have done it.
It is however understandable if not something to condone.
Besides, as wrong as it is I like the passion and sticking up for Hibs.

The only thing that bothers me about Lennon yesterday is not reacting to how the game was going. 2-0 up and tide turning. Bartley should have been on at 2-0 not 2-2.
Hearts score 1 and shut it down. We should have done that at 2 but we kept trying to play and didn't change.
Who knows if it would have seen it out but would have had more chance.

Said that, I love the man. & yes, I didn't want Lennon to begin with and thought he was rubbish. I'm fickle that way!

percy veer
25-02-2018, 08:06 AM
If he gets a ban stick him in the front row next to the dugout, stick it up them

25-02-2018, 08:23 AM
Pretty much sums things up for me. The reason we've had soft underbellies in the past is that we just used to roll over and accept cheats like Clancy. Doesn't happen under Lennon which is brilliant to see.

Whether or not we "accept" them the outcome is the same - penalty and 2-2. Just with this outcome we're now likely without the manager on the touchline for a few games.

Uncontrolled outbursts at the ref change nothing and in many ways can impede us. The only way we see change is if all the clubs come together to make a controlled, professional public issue of it and force change.

25-02-2018, 08:27 AM
Whether or not we "accept" them the outcome is the same - penalty and 2-2. Just with this outcome we're now likely without the manager on the touchline for a few games.

Uncontrolled outbursts at the ref change nothing and in many ways can impede us. The only way we see change is if all the clubs come together to make a controlled, professional public issue of it and force change.

Nonsense. Incendiary armed revolution is the only way to effect change against an intransigent football authorities.

25-02-2018, 08:32 AM
Staying quiet has done hee-haw for us for decades.

This is a welcome change. Keep it up Lenny:cb

25-02-2018, 08:35 AM
Surprised admins haven’t gone to town on some of the comments on this thread. Personal abuse is ok for some i assume?

25-02-2018, 08:42 AM
Staying quiet has done hee-haw for us for decades.

This is a welcome change. Keep it up Lenny:cb

Totally agree with that. I can remember when Pat Stanton was sent to the stand and received a fine that he refused to pay. Guess what, it was down to yet another incompetent or cheating referee.

angus hibby
25-02-2018, 08:45 AM
Lennon says he didn’t say or do anything to warrant being sent off so we have to take his word for that. Says he expected a warning and he’d have been fine with that.

Trouble is, it was a great chance for the referee to put himself in the limelight. The “I’m gonna make the headlines for sending off Neil Lennon” probably went though Clancys mind. Gone are the days when some refs want to keep a low profile by going through a game almost unnoticed (a sign they’ve had a good game). Clancy knows by sending Lennon off everyone will be talking about it. It’s the same with some refs in England.

Fairly sure if Steve Clarke had committed the same offence yesterday, he wouldn’t have been sent to the stand.

25-02-2018, 08:49 AM
Just back doon here, Stoneyburn! Like wi Rodders at SFA, superior intellects are at work, the minions like you & I should be grateful that we even get tae speak on the same website on matters like this. My cap is in my hands as we speak, as should be yours.

You should be doffing your cap to the mind readers.

25-02-2018, 08:54 AM
The poster stated his opinion, you disagreed with it. What's not to get?

An opinion about what someone is thinking?

Ok.

I think Petrie was thinking, "I like what you've done with your hair, Neil".

25-02-2018, 08:57 AM
Garry Parker is a very able deputy.

Every now and then we'll lose Lennon from the touch line for a few games. It's the price you pay for him fighting our corner and standing his ground. I'm all for it (on days like yesterday anyway, when he's clearly in the right).

A bit like Efe - you take the rough with the smooth.

25-02-2018, 09:02 AM
I dont mind Neil getting upset but he needs to keep his head in that situation.

We were getting mauled as other posters pointed out and I'd rather he directed all that energy towards getting Hibs team going. It was felt to me like he didn't know how to get us back in the game and was hoping we would cling on after the 2nd goal.

25-02-2018, 09:03 AM

in what way did it affect the game?

25-02-2018, 09:03 AM

Every now and then we'll lose Lennon from the touch line for a few games. It's the price you pay for him fighting our corner and standing his ground. I'm all for it (on days like yesterday anyway, when he's clearly in the right).

Too true Parks is able enough to run the bench but everyone in the West Stand knows from last season when Lennon spent some time in the front row of the Directors Box he is still in charge and you can hear him loud and clear better than you can from the dug out.

25-02-2018, 09:05 AM
Too true Parks is able enough to run the bench but everyone in the West Stand knows from last season when Lennon spent some time in the front row of the Directors Box he is still in charge and you can hear him loud and clear better than you can from the dug out.

Turnbull preferred running things from that position.

25-02-2018, 09:05 AM

Yep.

I didn't like Lennon's actions at the time yesterday, but the more I think about it, I actually think it'll be good for Hibs.

He might have to sit in the stand for a few weeks, though. He was giving a 4 week ban last time, although 2 weeks were suspended.

25-02-2018, 09:06 AM

majorhibs
25-02-2018, 09:13 AM
Nonsense. Incendiary armed revolution is the only way to effect change against an intransigent football authorities.

Nonsense. Having the Sex Pistols sing songs about it is the only way. Look what THAT did for Punk Rock in the ‘70s.

25-02-2018, 09:14 AM
Regardless of what you think of NL's actions yesterday, it's bang out of order to bring his health (mental or physical) into it, IMHO.

25-02-2018, 09:28 AM
Regardless of what you think of NL's actions yesterday, it's bang out of order to bring his health (mental or physical) into it, IMHO.

Correct :top marks

25-02-2018, 09:30 AM

You can say that again!

25-02-2018, 09:30 AM

I’ve no idea why anyone would do that to be honest. It’s nothing to do with his reaction yesterday!

25-02-2018, 09:35 AM
I’ve no idea why anyone would do that to be honest. It’s nothing to do with his reaction yesterday!

:agree: Even if it was, can you imagine someone saying, "must be his arthritis (or diabetes/COPD/hypertension etc) flaring up again" as if someone's health conditions are fair game for all and sundry to discuss? :confused:

25-02-2018, 09:38 AM
:agree: Even if it was, can you imagine someone saying, "must be his arthritis (or diabetes/COPD/hypertension etc) flaring up again" as if someone's health conditions are fair game for all and sundry to discuss? :confused:

Couldn’t agree more FS. A poster has said the on Kickback that’s exactly what they are talking about and for me shows Hearts fans for exactly what the are, the lowest of the low!

25-02-2018, 09:39 AM

Yes, I can imagine that. Pretty sure we did that with a Ian Murray, McPake, McGeouch, Allan etc. Lots of people have attributed Allan’s performances at other clubs to his lack of control over his diabetes. I don’t think it’s quite the same though as it’s not an implication of a lack of autonomy/control over one’s decisions.

25-02-2018, 09:42 AM
Would hope that when Neil is summoned to the ivory towers that hibs lawyer accompanies him and also present videos of how incompetent and biased Glancy is towards us.

25-02-2018, 09:44 AM
Would hope that when Neil is summoned to the ivory towers that hibs lawyer accompanies him and also present videos of how incompetent and biased Glancy is towards us.

I’m sure they will have some sort of case built up to show how bad he is. I hope he mentions the other refs as well who have been absolutely shocking.

Silky
25-02-2018, 09:45 AM
Yep.

I didn't like Lennon's actions at the time yesterday, but the more I think about it, I actually think it'll be good for Hibs.

He might have to sit in the stand for a few weeks, though. He was giving a 4 week ban last time, although 2 weeks were suspended.

I think Lennon's right. And it's about time we as a club showed a bit of fight rather than bending over and taking it like we did in the past. As for any ban, I think Neil is entitled to his opinion and is covered by Article 10 of the Human Rights Act.
"Everyone has the right to freedom of expression. This right shall include freedom to hold opinions and to receive and impart information and ideas without interference by public authority".
I honestly think any ban would contravene this and the negative media coverage of the event today also infringes Neil's right to a fair trial.
Hibs have to defend their manager as strongly as possible and make it clear that making an example of bosses who speak out Bout dodgy officials will not be tolerated.

25-02-2018, 09:47 AM

25-02-2018, 09:56 AM
We know that things are great on the pitch when all some moaning Minnie’s have to complain about is Rod Petrie,

A man who brought us the Scottish Cup 🏆

:agree: ffs, the officials performance yesterday was so anti Hibs that I really think it was Petrie's responsibility to be down there in their face instead of leaving it to Neil again. We need to up the ante here, the least I demand is Petrie stomping on his hat on the touchline next time we get a goal that bursts the back of the net at the rustingarena ruled out for not crossing the line.

25-02-2018, 10:01 AM
We've lost out on 5 points from refereeing decisions is what Lennon was saying.

2 yesterday
2 for the ghost goal.
1 for sevco handball

Quite rightly lennon has lost the plot. If we miss out on Europe by one point and you look back at these decisions it's criminal referees don't face punishment. If I wasn't compliant in my job I'd be out within the hour.

25-02-2018, 10:04 AM
I doubt Scottish referees have ever forgiven Lennon for the strike and it probably costs us.
He’s a good manager though so worth it overall.

mcfly
25-02-2018, 10:06 AM
I just hope hibs have done their homework on how bad the referees are.

The SFA will be wanting to punish Neil heavily for yesterday.

The referees are protected far too much. They should be held to account to explain their decisions.

Yesterday was a game of 2 halves. At 2-2 we were hanging on but it’s another point gained.

25-02-2018, 10:10 AM
Another strike would be no bad thing bring in overseas refs again as the standard and integrity of ours is at an all time low. It's almost like being back with Valentine and McGinlay etc.

25-02-2018, 10:12 AM

That is just sooooo wrong

So you are saying NL should just look on from the touchline and think to himself " I must have a private word with that Clancy chap "

Nah, Lenny did the right thing yesterday and came out with all the right things, albeit he will get a touchline ban

25-02-2018, 10:30 AM

Thanks S, x 2 :greengrin

25-02-2018, 10:33 AM
Thanks S, x 2 :greengrin

Haha, you were definitely correct

25-02-2018, 10:33 AM
That is just sooooo wrong

So you are saying NL should just look on from the touchline and think to himself " I must have a private word with that Clancy chap "

Nah, Lenny did the right thing yesterday and came out with all the right things, albeit he will get a touchline ban

Yeah I’m saying he shouldn’t have blew up the way he did. Many managers go into their office after matches all over the world and say what they want to say.

Whether I or you agree with what he says and I do agree which I’ve said Christ knows how many times now, screaming in the refs face will do nothing for him bar give him a ban.

25-02-2018, 10:35 AM

The bit in bold - that's been tried many many times to absolutely no avail. Nothing changes.

The decisions going against our club just in recent weeks alone are bewildering, as videos posted on this thread show. Games against Hearts, The Rangers at ER, and now again yesterday.

It's long past time for referees to be held accountable for their failures.

If a Hibs player had handled the ball in his own penalty box in the same way as The Rangers player did, quite clearly, at ER a few weeks ago, I'm certain there would have been a penalty awarded. How could Clancy (same referee as yesterday) not see that one? And what about his so-called assistant? Was he struck blind too? Something just really stinks in our game.

25-02-2018, 10:35 AM
With regards to the 2 serious errors Klancy has made which have been referred to by NL it will be hard for the SFA not to conclude that he is a bad referee?

25-02-2018, 10:36 AM
I just hope hibs have done their homework on how bad the referees are.

The SFA will be wanting to punish Neil heavily for yesterday.

The referees are protected far too much. They should be held to account to explain their decisions.

Yesterday was a game of 2 halves. At 2-2 we were hanging on but it’s another point gained.

If all managers pulled together I’m sure then something could be done. The standard is costing teams not just ours far to many points because these refs want to be centre of attention.

The ones who are just poor shouldn’t be anywhere near top flight Football. As for the ones who cheat who knows how we could sort that problem.

25-02-2018, 10:37 AM
Love having a manager who actually has a pair of balls and calls out the SFA for their complete and utter incompetence.

25-02-2018, 10:38 AM
The bit in bold - that's been tried many many times to absolutely no avail. Nothing changes.

The decisions going against our club just in recent weeks alone are bewildering, as videos posted on this thread show. Games against Hearts, The Rangers at ER, and now again yesterday.

It's long past time for referees to be held accountable for their failures.

If a Hibs player had handled the ball in his own penalty box in the same way as The Rangers player did, quite clearly, at ER a few weeks ago, I'm certain there would have been a penalty awarded. How could Clancy (same referee as yesterday) not see that one? And what about his so-called assistant? Was he struck blind too? Something just really stinks in our game.

It’s cheating plain and simple. Sadly though it’s Hibs and Lennon who’ll suffer though for his actions.

25-02-2018, 10:50 AM
It’s cheating plain and simple. Sadly though it’s Hibs and Lennon who’ll suffer though for his actions.

So the referee and his assistants are bomb proof? They don't ever "suffer" for their actions? That cannot be right. I know referees have a difficult job to do, but that's irrelevant if the accusation is one of cheating. They must be seen to be completely impartial at all times.

If there is cheating going on by some officials, then that has to be brought out into the open, not dealt with in private.

25-02-2018, 10:57 AM
Regardless of what you think of NL's actions yesterday, it's bang out of order to bring his health (mental or physical) into it, IMHO.Absolutely

25-02-2018, 11:03 AM
Not bothered reading the thread but the opening post is a load of utter nonsense.

147lothian
25-02-2018, 11:19 AM
Not bothered reading the thread but the opening post is a load of utter nonsense.

I tend to agree, he opening post just looks like attention seeking, 13 pages for a nonsense post, what do folk want a return to the days of descent standard on the touchline under Terry Butcher?

Sauzee16
25-02-2018, 11:22 AM
Neil Lennon is a brilliant head coach borderline a very, very brilliant manager. Thesnis doing amazing for us now the shackles are off that he wouldn't have had at Bolton or Celtic. He actually cares too. We are very lucky to have him.

25-02-2018, 11:27 AM
So the referee and his assistants are bomb proof? They don't ever "suffer" for their actions? That cannot be right. I know referees have a difficult job to do, but that's irrelevant if the accusation is one of cheating. They must be seen to be completely impartial at all times.

If there is cheating going on by some officials, then that has to be brought out into the open, not dealt with in private.

I give up.

I’m agreeing with everyone about what Lennon is saying, the officials should be punished because it’s ridiculous what they get away with. Now for the last time...Yes he could have done it away from the cameras he could have done it then gave the exact interview after to highlight the issue.

He didn’t have to scream in the face of the ref, even if we all agree and feel the very same you can’t do that. Because what that does is give him a ban and I don’t care what folk think about refs that’s not good for Lennon or Hibs.

25-02-2018, 11:27 AM
I tend to agree, he opening post just looks like attention seeking, 13 pages for a nonsense post, what do folk want a return to the days of descent standard on the touchline under Terry Butcher?

Yip. Certainly attention seeking.

25-02-2018, 11:29 AM

That’s what you think that’s fair enough. Since you haven’t bothered reading the thread though I’ll not bother about your opinion but thanks for posting.

25-02-2018, 11:30 AM

😂😂 no bother!

25-02-2018, 11:31 AM

There is an entire scale in the middle of the two managers, it's not one or the other. Debate is healthy, an echo chamber is not.

25-02-2018, 11:34 AM
There is an entire scale in the middle of the two managers, it's not one or the other. Debate is healthy, an echo chamber is not.

It’s brilliant how some folk love to take a post out of context to suit their own views. I’m a huge fan of Lennon soon as anyone says anything negative it’s jumped on. As you say nothing wrong with a debate, but in one post I’m called a Hearts **** 😂

25-02-2018, 11:35 AM
About to discuss it on Sportsound before the Celtic game starts for anyone interested.

If he hadn’t done the screaming in the face thing would such an issue have been made of it? I’m not convinced it would.

If the biggest worry is that he gets a touchline ban is that really so bad? I think it’s a price worth paying.

Peanut Shaz
25-02-2018, 11:37 AM
Neil Mccann in the papers today also having a go at the standards of refereeing. "it's a stonewaller. It's difficult for a manager to hold that anger in". "That to me is very poor officiating".
Perhaps it is time for the managers to get together and challenge the SFA about the standard of refereeing. Guaranteed most wouldn't want to get involved for fear of retribution but maybe it's time to stand up and be counted. Obviously nothing will change, but to bring it more into the open maybe not a bad idea.

25-02-2018, 11:37 AM
I’d rather he wasn’t. Good response though!

Can’t even remember posting that 😂 surprised that I even managed to type anything!!!

25-02-2018, 11:39 AM
Can’t even remember posting that 😂 surprised that I even managed to type anything!!!

😁👍🏼 It’s all good!

25-02-2018, 11:41 AM
I give up.

I’m agreeing with everyone about what Lennon is saying, the officials should be punished because it’s ridiculous what they get away with. Now for the last time...Yes he could have done it away from the cameras he could have done it then gave the exact interview after to highlight the issue.

He didn’t have to scream in the face of the ref, even if we all agree and feel the very same you can’t do that. Because what that does is give him a ban and I don’t care what folk think about refs that’s not good for Lennon or Hibs.

I give up too. Are you saying he should have screamed in the referee's face "away from the cameras" after the game? If so, do you think that won't possibly result in a ban too?

25-02-2018, 11:43 AM
100%

Anyone who disagrees with this is on the same team as Chic Young who said it was a deserved penalty and who took great issue with Lenny instead of being objective in describing the situation.

Good on you Lenny. A 'referee' who turned a blind eye to the hun deliberately playing the ball with his arm but in contrast then gifts a penalty against us fully deserves to be called out.

mon the cabbage!!!

And that is why Lennon's reaction to being sent to the stands was wrong. It allows the media to focus on Lennon's behavior whereas a reasoned analysis by Lennon after the game would force Young etc to have to attempt to justify the referee blatantly getting it wrong by refuting Lennon's explanation.

25-02-2018, 11:43 AM
I give up too. Are you saying he should have screamed in the referee's face "away from the cameras" after the game? If so, do you think that won't possibly result in a ban too?

I’m saying he goes sees the ref, keeps the head and puts a formal complaint in. At no point should he scream in the refs face.

25-02-2018, 11:47 AM
And that is why Lennon's reaction to being sent to the stands was wrong. It allows the media to focus on Lennon's behavior whereas a reasoned analysis by Lennon after the game would force Young etc to have to attempt to justify the referee blatantly getting it wrong by refuting Lennon's explanation.

Exactly, he could have got the media on his side but as we know they love a pop at our manager and will have a field day with this. He’s a passionate guy and I’m delighted he’s the way he is. But he went from passionate to losing it yesterday.

If this was Craig Levein I wonder how many on here would be saying it’s passion. Whatever happens I hope Clancy gets pulled but I won’t hold my breath.

25-02-2018, 11:53 AM
I’m saying he goes sees the ref, keeps the head and puts a formal complaint in. At no point should he scream in the refs face.

As hard as that may be to do in the heat of the moment it would be the right thing to do. When the SFA look at the reports from this game it will be Lennon's actions that are top of the list. The performance of the ref won't merit a mention. Not saying that it is right but it certainly the way it is.

25-02-2018, 11:53 AM

OK I get that.

My point is that the approach you are describing is a complete waste of time, especially if the accusation is one of cheating (as you mentioned in an earlier post). That has been tried time and time again, by various managers of various clubs, and it just does not work. Nothing changes.

25-02-2018, 11:56 AM
Neil Mccann in the papers today also having a go at the standards of refereeing. "it's a stonewaller. It's difficult for a manager to hold that anger in". "That to me is very poor officiating".
Perhaps it is time the managers to get together and challenge the SFA about the standard of refereeing. Guaranteed most wouldn't want to get involved for fear of retribution but maybe it's time to stand up and be counted. Obviously nothing will change, but to bring it more into the open maybe not a bad idea.

Why would, say, any The Rangers, manager get involved. Most of the deliberate "honest mistakes" are there for their benefit.

25-02-2018, 11:57 AM
OK I get that.

My point is that the approach you are describing is a complete waste of time, especially if the accusation is one of cheating (as you mentioned in an earlier post). That has been tried time and time again, by various managers of various clubs, and it just does not work. Nothing changes.

I know it could well be a waste of time, but he wouldn’t be looking at a ban. I’d like to see all the top flight managers take a stand together and tell them that something must be done about the standard of refs. Also they should be allowed to say it’s cheating because half the time it is.

25-02-2018, 12:00 PM
Surprised admins haven’t gone to town on some of the comments on this thread. Personal abuse is ok for some i assume?

What Lee.

25-02-2018, 12:00 PM
As hard as that may be to do in the heat of the moment it would be the right thing to do. When the SFA look at the reports from this game it will be Lennon's actions that are top of the list. The performance of the ref won't merit a mention. Not saying that it is right but it certainly the way it is.

Bang on, and it’s all that’s wrong with the SFA!

Pete70
25-02-2018, 12:10 PM
We've lost out on 5 points from refereeing decisions is what Lennon was saying.

2 yesterday
2 for the ghost goal.
1 for sevco handball

Quite rightly lennon has lost the plot. If we miss out on Europe by one point and you look back at these decisions it's criminal referees don't face punishment. If I wasn't compliant in my job I'd be out within the hour.

And Clancy was the ref for 2 of these 3 games.
Pen given yesterday to killie for handball costing us points and a pen not given against sevco for handball costing us points.

It cant be just a coincidence. It's either incompetant referreeing or cheating. Either way, why is it allowed to continue?

25-02-2018, 12:14 PM
I know it could well be a waste of time, but he wouldn’t be looking at a ban. I’d like to see all the top flight managers take a stand together and tell them that something must be done about the standard of refs. Also they should be allowed to say it’s cheating because half the time it is.

It might be a start if there was a combined approach to the SFA by the top flight managers, but I've my doubts as to whether there would ever be 100% complete agreement among them all.

The difficult part of course is the subject of possible cheating, or even a lack of impartiality. How is that proven? I really don't have the answer to that one, but some of the decisions officials are making are simply beyond belief or, it would seem, any logical explanation.

Maybe we could make a start and require referees to explain their decisions? Is that too much to ask? If the same officials say were seen to be making "mistakes" over and over again when officiating matches involving a certain club, then things might become clearer and appropriate action taken?

Peanut Shaz
25-02-2018, 12:14 PM
Why would, say, any The Rangers, manager get involved. Most of the deliberate "honest mistakes" are there for their benefit.

That goes without saying. But maybe the managers who regularly fall foul of these 'honest mistakes' could or should.

Peanut Shaz
25-02-2018, 12:16 PM

I said the same in an earlier post. Something has to change.

25-02-2018, 12:17 PM
It might be a start if there was a combined approach to the SFA by the top flight managers, but I've my doubts as to whether there would ever be 100% complete agreement among them all.

The difficult part of course is the subject of possible cheating, or even a lack of impartiality. How is that proven? I really don't have the answer to that one, but some of the decisions officials are making are simply beyond belief or, it would seem, any logical explanation.

Maybe we could make a start and require referees to explain their decisions? Is that too much to ask? If the same officials say were seen to be making "mistakes" over and over again when officiating matches involving a certain club, then things might become clearer and appropriate action taken?

That’s the difficult part, really is near impossible to prove sadly. You make a good point about having to explain themselves though. I feel they should have to come out and talk about controversial decisions like yesterday. They are getting away with far to much without any punishment.

25-02-2018, 12:20 PM
Sorry but it will never ever happen.

25-02-2018, 12:22 PM
Sorry but it will never ever happen.

I can’t see it happening either which is a shame because it’s not only Lennon who feels this way. How many times do we hear managers after the games say the ref cost us!

25-02-2018, 12:26 PM
I like the idea about refs having to explain their decisions. Take the Scotland rugby game yesterday for example. Big decision needs to be made, the ref says "I need to see the passage of play leading up to X again..... 10 seconds later it's on the big screen. We all watch the penalty incident together and it isnt awarded.

Chances are we'd have taken another look at the corner decision which lead to the first goal as well.

The modern game of football is just too fast paced to have it all judged in realtime.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Pete70
25-02-2018, 12:38 PM
I can’t see it happening either which is a shame because it’s not only Lennon who feels this way. How many times do we hear managers after the games say the ref cost us!

Has it ever been said by a Celtic or a The Rangers manager? :dunno:

25-02-2018, 12:41 PM
OK I get that.

Screaming in the refs face is also a total waste of time, it just also comes with the penalty of a touchline ban.

Clubs need to come together on this. It's the only way to change it as the headline from yesterday for the non Hibs fan is more Lennon being sent to the stand again rather than Hibs being cheated (again)

25-02-2018, 12:41 PM
[/B]

Think it has, but it’s very rare. They know they get 99.9% decisions in their favour.

majorhibs
25-02-2018, 12:54 PM
Screaming in the refs face is also a total waste of time, it just also comes with the penalty of a touchline ban.

Clubs need to come together on this. It's the only way to change it as the headline from yesterday for the non Hibs fan is more Lennon being sent to the stand again rather than Hibs being cheated (again)

“Screaming” in the ref’s face??? You & TC seem to really really like this line for whatever reason. Me, I didnae interpret it as “screaming” but then, I also don’t dislike Neil Lennon.

25-02-2018, 12:59 PM
“Screaming” in the ref’s face??? You & TC seem to really really like this line for whatever reason. Me, I didnae interpret it as “screaming” but then, I also don’t dislike Neil Lennon.

Who doesn’t like Lennon? Are you also denying he wasn’t screaming in his face? What do you call it then?

Wait let me guess.. You are hard as nails right and called yourself Major after a fictional character from Green St? No matter what you say Lennon DID scream in his face. But please continue to make up stuff about how we don’t like Lennon 😂

majorhibs
25-02-2018, 01:04 PM
Who doesn’t like Lennon? Are you also denying he wasn’t screaming in his face? What do you call it then?

Wait let me guess.. You are hard as nails right and called yourself Major after a fictional character from Green St? No matter what you say Lennon DID scream in his face. But please continue to make up stuff about how we don’t like Lennon 😂

Screaming is what banshees & hysterical Ladies too. I would say shouting would probs be more appropriate. But you go on ahead like you’ve been doing since the start of this thread, fan away at the upcoming SFAs flames!

25-02-2018, 01:11 PM
Screaming is what banshees & hysterical Ladies too. I would say shouting would probs be more appropriate. But you go on ahead like you’ve been doing since the start of this thread, fan away at the upcoming SFAs flames!

Again I’ll ask you... Who doesn’t like Lennon?

25-02-2018, 01:19 PM
When it came to the handball in the Sevco game, is it not the case that Clancy ( it might have been the linesman ) saw the handball and told Lennon later that it wasn't a case of him not seeing the incident, just that he didn't think it was a penalty? .... even though from where I was sitting and from the TV later on it was as clear a text book motion towards the ball as you will ever see.

If we are making lists ... what about the decision not to give McLean a 2nd yellow in the Aberdeen game, even though Scott Allan had been booked for an almost identical challenge.

Its no wonder Neil Lennon is losing the plot ..... I struggle to believe in conspiracy theories, but I do believe in incompetence and its time the officials in this country got their act together. Even the normally decent Kenny McLean had a stinker at ER this season.

I don't suppose NL's lambasting of the refs will make any difference ..... But what should be listened to are his comments on the Rugby Park pitch, you only have to look at any game played on it to see that the ball doesn't behave the same way as it does on grass, and I remember commenting on the Hamilton pitch after watching Dylan McGeouch trying to run with the ball and never getting it under control as it bobbled along in front of him.

I'm not having the 'it saves clubs money' talk either .... If you are so skint you cant even afford grass seed some fertilizer a lawnmower and £20,000 a year to employ a competent groundsman you shouldn't be playing football at premiership level anyway.

25-02-2018, 01:22 PM
This man right, starts argument.
This man wonders why people are arguing.
This man continues argument anyway.

Glad I'm only reading the other bits.

25-02-2018, 01:23 PM
Again I’ll ask you... Who doesn’t like Lennon?

Mark David Chapman.

25-02-2018, 01:24 PM
Mark David Chapman.

😂😂👏🏼

Now that made me laugh.

25-02-2018, 01:25 PM
This man right, starts argument.
This man wonders why people are arguing.
This man continues argument anyway.

Glad I'm only reading the other bits.

No argument here, most posters are debating like adults.

Argylehibby
25-02-2018, 01:26 PM
[/B]

Yes, but usually only when they play each other.

25-02-2018, 01:28 PM
Who was the ref that missed the handball in the box by the Falkirk player at Easter Road in the playoffs

You're kidding, transparency is the last thing referees need. While there is doubt, they can hide behind the double doors of incompetence and bias. If forced to explain, they'd have to remove any suggestion of bias, leaving them exposed as simply incompetent and not up to the job.

No argument here, most posters are debating like adults.

Good son.

25-02-2018, 01:29 PM
Good son.

No worries papa.

25-02-2018, 01:31 PM
Yeah I’m saying he shouldn’t have blew up the way he did. Many managers go into their office after matches all over the world and say what they want to say.

Whether I or you agree with what he says and I do agree which I’ve said Christ knows how many times now, screaming in the refs face will do nothing for him bar give him a ban.

Our managers have been going into the referee's room after matches for a quiet word for literally decades to, equally literally, no effect. You are advocating that Neil Lennon should adopt Einstein's definition of madness by doing the same thing over and over again and somehow hoping for a different result. Utterly pointless.

He knew exactly what he was doing confronting the 'referee' yesterday to up the ante on future behaviour from that 'referee' and others - and he was quite right to do so.

25-02-2018, 01:41 PM
No worries papa.

Weird wee fellah. As far back as #243 you were moaning about the arguments you started and here we are 24 hrs in.....
Like the Papa bit though. See what you did there.

25-02-2018, 01:44 PM
Weird wee fellah. As far back as #243 you were moaning about the arguments you started and here we are 24 hrs in.....
Like the Papa bit though. See what you did there.

If you read through I think you will find I was talking about comments being taken out of context. Other than that plenty on here who disagree with me but have put their point across very well.

25-02-2018, 01:46 PM
It's not the first time either. Last season Dunfermline were given a penalty when the ball was leathered at Lewis from point blank range and only 7 days later we had one turned down against away to Morton when Mark Russell pit his hands out to stop a Martin Boyle cross.

Lennon was furious then too and I can't blame him for getting sick of it. I'm not getting into the discussion of whether they should or shouldn't have been given but there is a strange theme developing of these calls going against us.

Add in the case of the Hearts goal that only just crossed the line against us compared to Shaws disallowed goal too. I'm not saying the Hearts goal shouldn't have counted but it's funny that once again the decision was given in their favour when a similar one went against us.

25-02-2018, 01:46 PM
Referees explaining decisions would help a lot I think - it wouldn't make up for the wrong decisions, but perhaps their interpretations might help people understand. Or maybe, as in this case, they might admit that they were just plain wrong:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/3387493.stm

On a similar theme, I remember years ago when we beat Dundee 4-3 at Dens Park in our first season back up, we were denied a stonewall penalty by Hugh Dallas (I know) for a clear foul on Paul Lovering. Everyone couldn't believe it wasn't awarded.

Davie Provan (not someone I'm a massive fan of) wrote in his section in the Sunday paper that he was writing in at the time, that he'd asked Dallas after the game how the hell he didn't award it, and he said that a player had run across his line of vision as it happened, and he didn't see the contact.

These things do happen, and referees should have to explain IMO.

25-02-2018, 01:50 PM
Referees explaining decisions would help a lot I think - it wouldn't make up for the wrong decisions, but perhaps their interpretations might help people understand. Or maybe, as in this case, they might admit that they were just plain wrong:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/3387493.stm

On a similar theme, I remember years ago when we beat Dundee 4-3 at Dens Park in our first season back up, we were denied a stonewall penalty by Hugh Dallas (I know) for a clear foul on Paul Lovering. Everyone couldn't believe it wasn't awarded.

Davie Provan (not someone I'm a massive fan of) wrote in his section in the Sunday paper that he was writing in at the time, that he'd asked Dallas after the game how the hell he didn't award it, and he said that a player had run across his line of vision as it happened, and Lovering and he didn't see the contact.

Today, it would be pretty easy to determine if that last bit was flannel or not. Referees get away with murder. Managers like Neil Lennon know this.

Tom Hart RIP
25-02-2018, 01:50 PM
Sky Sports has the Dundee 3 Hibs 4 game in their archives from 1999.
Watched it recently. Hugh Dallas ignored the most blatant penalty you will ever see.
incompetent refs have been around since I started going (over 50 years)Dont get me started on Bobby Davidson and he almost got the 1974 World Cup final and took the huff when he didn't.

25-02-2018, 01:52 PM
Today, it would be pretty easy to determine if that last bit was flannel or not. Referees get away with murder. Managers like Neil Lennon know this.

That's true, but not every game gets the multi camera live telly treatment.

Also, if Clancy had been made to explain not giving us the handball vs Rangers recently (and didn't say it was a mistake) it maybe makes it harder for him to award yesterday's one.

Hibs1969
25-02-2018, 01:53 PM
Who was the ref that missed the handball in the box by the Falkirk player at Easter Road in the playoffs

Alan Muir. The worst refereeing decision I’ve seen in years when he failed to spot David McCracken playing basketball in his own penalty area. Scandalous and utterly incompetent refereeing.

25-02-2018, 01:54 PM
Kevin Clancy games involving Hibs

Correctly awarded goal to Hearts
Incorrectly awards Kilmarnock a corner in build up to goal
Incorrectly awarded Killie a penalty
Incorrectly denied Hibs a penalty against Rangers
Incorrectly disallowed Brain Graham goal in LC Final against Ross County
Incorrectly sent off John McGinn against Falkirk

25-02-2018, 01:54 PM
Alan Muir. The worst refereeing decision I’ve seen in years when he failed to spot David McCracken playing basketball in his own penalty area. Scandalous and utterly incompetent refereeing.

Now that was cheating in all its glory.

25-02-2018, 01:59 PM
Bear in mind that last week we should've been facing ten men for most of the second half v Aberdeen. Kenny McLean, who wasn't booked when the referee thought he dived in the first half, somehow didn't walk for that foul on Dylan.

25-02-2018, 02:03 PM
That's true, but not every game gets the multi camera live telly treatment.

Also, if Clancy had been made to explain not giving us the handball vs Rangers recently (and didn't say it was a mistake) it maybe makes it harder for him to award yesterday's one.

SPFL coverage is probably good enough.

If we go down the TV route though it probably eliminates 90% of clubs in the country of a fair deal every single game.

25-02-2018, 02:04 PM
SPFL coverage is probably good enough.

If we go down the TV route though it probably eliminates 90% of clubs in the country of a fair deal every single game.

Yeah I'm not a fan of VAR, goal line technology is enough for me.

25-02-2018, 02:05 PM
Sky Sports has the Dundee 3 Hibs 4 game in their archives from 1999.
Watched it recently. Hugh Dallas ignored the most blatant penalty you will ever see.
incompetent refs have been around since I started going (over 50 years)Dont get me started on Bobby Davidson and he almost got the 1974 World Cup final and took the huff when he didn't.

Woah. Lennon probably wouldn't have been stopped getting to that ****! An Airdrie hun.

25-02-2018, 02:05 PM
While a lot of the Media guys are having sympathy for Lennon's outburst a few are highlighting how disrespectful he is being to Clancy
Its for the latter and his previous that i think they will hot him with a Ban that will be more than a game or two
Haven't seen the Sundays but would be nice if a few other Managers used this to speak up about the need for better quality of refereeing
If Clancy refs one of our games post the Split he could well do more damage as he wont want to have been seen to be influenced by Lennon

25-02-2018, 02:07 PM
Yeah I'm not a fan of VAR, goal line technology is enough for me.

Agreed. Makes lower league (and some top tier) play to a different set of laws.
The referees decision might be final, eventually, if someone has a telly.

25-02-2018, 02:17 PM
OK I get that.

Where as screaming at and applauding the ref always gets the desired outcome :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Thief
25-02-2018, 02:20 PM
Our managers have been going into the referee's room after matches for a quiet word for literally decades to, equally literally, no effect. You are advocating that Neil Lennon should adopt Einstein's definition of madness by doing the same thing over and over again and somehow hoping for a different result. Utterly pointless.

He knew exactly what he was doing confronting the 'referee' yesterday to up the ante on future behaviour from that 'referee' and others - and he was quite right to do so.

Great post! I agree in particular with 2nd para - I felt at the time and now totally convinced having watched it again, that Neil knew exactly what he was doing, and his reaction and post match comments combined have achieved exactly what he intended.
Will it change anything? Only time will tell but as numerous others have pointed out, managers have been having a quiet word in referees room for decades and nothing has changed.
Better out than in! [emoji122]

25-02-2018, 02:47 PM

:top marksThis in spades.

How anyone can’t see your point is unbelievable.

It’s all about how we’re treated in future. Lennon has been holding back but yesterday it was time to tell it like it is.

Guaranteed we don’t suffer like this again at Clancy’s hand this season. If Lennon said nothing then we would continue to be fair game to be treated like crap.

Why can't folk see this?!

25-02-2018, 03:11 PM
Make no mistake Clancy and his fourth official will have their stories all ready to stick Lennon in it. It's an utter disgrace of a decision and no wonder he's went berserk about it. Remember this is a manager who had to deal with the Dougie McDonald scenario. That was proven that officials do cheat and lie.

Now we we have a situation where, as others have pointed out, he's seen his team have a perfectly good goal not given in a derby, a stonewall penalty denied against Rangers (by Clancy) and now this all in the space of a couple of months?! No wonder he lost the plot.

And if anyone thinks officials don't cheat then they've never played the game. Some are just more blatant than others.

As for John Fleming, absolute waste of time. Don't think managers bother with him anymore. It's a farce and as Lennon said about Levein's comments, I don't find it funny.

25-02-2018, 03:11 PM
:top marksThis in spades.

How anyone can’t see your point is unbelievable.

It’s all about how we’re treated in future. Lennon has been holding back but yesterday it was time to tell it like it is.

Guaranteed we don’t suffer like this again at Clancy’s hand this season. If Lennon said nothing then we would continue to be fair game to be treated like crap.

Why can't folk see this?!

Not being funny but how do we know it won’t have the opposite effect? It wouldn’t surprise me one bit if those idiots at the SFA give Clancy another Hibs game to prove their point.

Then we’d be in the exact same position as now bar having the manager in the dugout. Could go either way if we have him again this season imo.

25-02-2018, 03:13 PM
Make no mistake Clancy and his fourth official will have their stories all ready to stick Lennon in it. It's an utter disgrace of a decision and no wonder he's went berserk about it. Remember this is a manager who had to deal with the Dougie McDonald scenario. That was proven that officials do cheat and lie.

Now we we have a situation where, as others have pointed out, he's seen his team have a perfectly good goal not given in a derby, a stonewall penalty denied against Rangers (by Clancy) and now this all in the space of a couple of months?! No wonder he lost the plot.

And if anyone thinks officials don't cheat then they've never played the game. Some are just more blatant than others.

As for John Fleming, absolute waste of time. Don't think managers bother with him anymore. It's a farce and as Lennon said about Levein's comments, I don't find it funny.

Agree with this, it’s brutal the amount of cheating in our game.

25-02-2018, 03:16 PM
The way I see it is that if he cheated he’ll now be thinking , “damn that was close, better not do that again in a hurry.”

If he simply guessed that it was handball, which is what I think he’s done, he’ll now be thinking that he better be more careful in future.

Either way, the fact that Lennon made a fuss about it and has drawn attention to the issue has got to be good for us.

I can’t see the SFA saying to Clancy, go on son , ref the derby and make sure Hearts thump them!!

25-02-2018, 03:24 PM
My own personal opinion is tgat the vast majority of referees do not cheat. What I do believe is

1. Too many are simply incompetent
2. Most are cowards when it comes to the big decision against the Uglies.
3. 4th Officials are there to do the Admin and instead deliberately get involved because they have nothing better to do. Sit down do the paperwork and signal the subs on and off but stay in your perspex hutches out of everyones way.
4. Referees and Assistants are scrutenized at every game by Supervisors. Mic them up to over rule bad decisions.

Rant over

25-02-2018, 03:26 PM
The way I see it is that if he cheated he’ll now be thinking , “damn that was close, better not do that again in a hurry.”

If he simply guessed that it was handball, which is what I think he’s done, he’ll now be thinking that he better be more careful in future.

Either way, the fact that Lennon made a fuss about it and has drawn attention to the issue has got to be good for us.

I can’t see the SFA saying to Clancy, go on son , ref the derby and make sure Hearts thump them!!

Knowing the way the SFA is run put your money on Clancy being the ref for the derby!! Clowns in charge and they have the brass neck to do something that daft.

25-02-2018, 03:57 PM
I back Lennon 100%. Having a quiet word after the game is a strategy which has got us to where we are now. There is no way the decisions we have had against us this season will balance out over the season. It was the same last season as well when we had to get two or three red cards rescinded.
It’s time to call the SFA out. It’s time to make sure every red knows that if they don’t red the game properly against us we are going to say so. Quietly just accepting injustice never got anyone anywhere.
If we want to compete at the top of the table then we need to be more demanding as a whole club.
It’s what Alex Ferguson done at Aberdeen. He never just accepted any bad decision, he made sure that if a ref was giving a bad decision against Aberdeen then they were going to hear about all week in the papers. By the time he left everyone in Scotland thought the refs favoured them.

25-02-2018, 04:01 PM
I back Lennon 100%. Having a quiet word after the game is a strategy which has got us to where we are now. There is no way the decisions we have had against us this season will balance out over the season. It was the same last season as well when we had to get two or three red cards rescinded.
It’s time to call the SFA out. It’s time to make sure every red knows that if they don’t red the game properly against us we are going to say so. Quietly just accepting injustice never got anyone anywhere.
If we want to compete at the top of the table then we need to be more demanding as a whole club.

Agreed entirely. As for yesterday, both major decisions (corner and pen) went against us.

I am pissed off waiting patiently for "these things to even themselves out".

25-02-2018, 04:04 PM
It’s what Alex Ferguson done at Aberdeen. He never just accepted any bad decision, he made sure that if a red was giving a bad decision against Aberdeen then they were going to hear about all week in the papers. By the time he left everyone in Scotland thought the refs favoured them.

Exactly.
Why do you think the OF rarely get a bad call against them?
1) The ref is a supporter
2) The ref is intimidated by them
3) The ref is keeping in with the SFA party line
4) All of the above

Answers on a postcard to Stewart Regan ... oh, wait a minute :hmmm:

25-02-2018, 04:18 PM
It’s what Alex Ferguson done at Aberdeen. He never just accepted any bad decision, he made sure that if a ref was giving a bad decision against Aberdeen then they were going to hear about all week in the papers. By the time he left everyone in Scotland thought the refs favoured them.

It was easy for Fergie. His Chairman was head of the SFA and his Chairman's son was head of the Referee's Board, this allowed Willie Miller to ref every game.

25-02-2018, 04:30 PM

What would you describe it as then? A quiet, calm, controlled conversation?

Also, can we get over the "I don't dislike" pish? I give him credit where it's due and question him when he gets it wrong. You know, "being objective". You're allowed to not think he's the greatest manager in our history, y'know. It's not a crime.

As I put before, what happened yesterday only sees him away from the touchline, takes the headlines away from the bad decision and changes absolutely nothing in the outcome of the match.

25-02-2018, 05:13 PM
It was easy for Fergie. His Chairman was head of the SFA and his Chairman's son was head of the Referee's Board, this allowed Willie Miller to ref every game.

Like I say, by the time he left everyone thought the refs favoured the dons.
If Lennon hadn’t made the fuss he did do you think the decision would get as much analysis? Do you think the ref will be enjoying his bad decision getting analysed on Sportscene tonight and talked about on sportsound during the week with Lennon still talking about it at his Hamilton presser? No chance.
If we want to be a bigger and more successful club then we need to start acting like them and applying pressure on referees the way they do.

25-02-2018, 05:20 PM

What would you describe it as then? A quiet, calm, controlled conversation?

Also, can we get over the "I don't dislike" pish? I give him credit where it's due and question him when he gets it wrong. You know, "being objective". You're allowed to not think he's the greatest manager in our history, y'know. It's not a crime.

As I put before, what happened yesterday only sees him away from the touchline, takes the headlines away from the bad decision and changes absolutely nothing in the outcome of the match.

When you complain at or about a referee you are not trying to change decisions he has already made. Your trying to pressure him to think twice about giving decisions against you in future.

25-02-2018, 06:24 PM
You're kidding, transparency is the last thing referees need. While there is doubt, they can hide behind the double doors of incompetence and bias. If forced to explain, they'd have to remove any suggestion of bias, leaving them exposed as simply incompetent and not up to the job.

But it's not a question of what referees need. It's what players, coaches, and most importantly what the ordinary football fan needs. The ones who ultimately pay their wages.

25-02-2018, 06:25 PM
If Lennon hadn’t made the fuss he did do you think the decision would get as much analysis? Do you think the ref will be enjoying his bad decision getting analysed on Sportscene tonight and talked about on sportsound during the week with Lennon still talking about it at his Hamilton presser? No chance.
If we want to be a bigger and more successful club then we need to start acting like them and applying pressure on referees the way they do.

Been saying as much for years. Fans can play their part by shouting loudly for every decision/half call too.

25-02-2018, 06:30 PM
All I will say on this is don't take any pish Lenny keep up the good work.

25-02-2018, 06:40 PM
All I will say on this is don't take any pish Lenny keep up the good work.

Agreed. It can be argued he goes way over the top, but he’s near enough always correct when he does it.

25-02-2018, 06:44 PM
To everyone who thinks that the only alternative to squaring up to the referee and yelling in his face is to meekly pop into his room after the game and say "jolly bad show, old bean", there is another way.

Wait until the interviews after the game and then rip the referee a new one. That way the focus is on the wrong decision and not on Lennon's reaction to being sent to the stand.

25-02-2018, 07:00 PM

Never, ever a penalty. Shocking decision especially the ball was going way wide. Funny how Lennon not meant to misbehave given clancys history. I'd be apoplectic with that decision. Some goal by Jones btw. Marciano superb and had flo made it 3-0 would have won. Put it behind us now then three points on weds is all that matters now.

I'm Spartacus
25-02-2018, 07:05 PM
One thing I have an issue with, and yes it might be seen as an over reaction, and I appreciate it’s a different scenario - but he punted Tony Stokes for misbehaving and made an example of him, yes he himself has crossed the line on this occasion. I’m all for him defending the team and club, that’s his role, but his display was out of order IMO.

25-02-2018, 07:13 PM
One thing I have an issue with, and yes it might be seen as an over reaction, and I appreciate it’s a different scenario - but he punted Tony Stokes for misbehaving and made an example of him, yes he himself has crossed the line on this occasion. I’m all for him defending the team and club, that’s his role, but his display was out of order IMO.

Stokes wasn’t just punted for “misbehaving”. He ripped the pish all season. Lennon likes to win and on this occasion went too far with his protests against a rank rotten official. As you say, it’s an entirely different scenario and not at all comparable.

25-02-2018, 07:36 PM
Some posters on here do nothing but follow others about calling them names and giving not so subtle digs at others without ever contributing anything themselves

Honestly mate this is unreal, Some very good arguments put over by many who disagree with me yet all he does is dig after dig after dig. It’s creepy as hell to be honest.

I'm Spartacus
25-02-2018, 07:36 PM
Stokes wasn’t just punted for “misbehaving”. He ripped the pish all season. Lennon likes to win and on this occasion went too far with his protests against a rank rotten official. As you say, it’s an entirely different scenario and not at all comparable.

What I mean, is standards are there for behaviour, he should lead by example. IMO he’s been our best for YEARS, but that isn’t a reason to turn a blind eye.

I’ve been lucky enough to play 2 rounds of golf with Neil and he is an absolute gentleman.

25-02-2018, 07:42 PM
Can we just leave all the personal stuff out please. Believe it or not the admin team have better things to do than deal with this childish nonsense.

25-02-2018, 08:04 PM
What I mean, is standards are there for behaviour, he should lead by example. IMO he’s been our best for YEARS, but that isn’t a reason to turn a blind eye.

I’ve been lucky enough to play 2 rounds of golf with Neil and he is an absolute gentleman.

I'm glad he led by example by calling out the piss poor reffing and linesman performance.

While IMO Killie pies were the better team, being the better team doesn't give you the right to points, and I think NL was bang on to highlight their error strewn performance.

25-02-2018, 08:36 PM
I'm with Lennon on this one. 100%

25-02-2018, 08:42 PM
Just seen the penalty for the first time and completely understand Lennon's reaction. For Clancy to claim that Porteous deliberately handled the ball is ridiculous - if he saw it at all.

I can understand why Lennon said that Clancy was simply guessing and is making it up. Pathetic stuff.

25-02-2018, 09:44 PM
I'm baffled with how many people are excusing his actions. The reasons for it all I agree with but you HAVE to conduct yourself better especially considering you already have a ban waiting to be given if you behave badly again.

Yes it wasn't a penalty, yes the referee was awful and needed ripped into at some point, but in absolutely NO way is screaming in his face and acting like an absolute bairn is the way to go about it. Right now we could be looking at 5/6 games without our manager. I'm sorry but if our season derails in the time he spends watching from the stands then the board have to ask serious questions about his future. I love Lenny and what he's achieved here and the direction we continue to go in. But what is the point in it all if when it gets to the business end of the season we're left without our gaffer on the touchline because he can't control himself?

I back you Neil, but ffs sort it mate.

25-02-2018, 10:09 PM
I'm baffled with how many people are excusing his actions. The reasons for it all I agree with but you HAVE to conduct yourself better especially considering you already have a ban waiting to be given if you behave badly again.

Yes it wasn't a penalty, yes the referee was awful and needed ripped into at some point, but in absolutely NO way is screaming in his face and acting like an absolute bairn is the way to go about it. Right now we could be looking at 5/6 games without our manager. I'm sorry but if our season derails in the time he spends watching from the stands then the board have to ask serious questions about his future. I love Lenny and what he's achieved here and the direction we continue to go in. But what is the point in it all if when it gets to the business end of the season we're left without our gaffer on the touchline because he can't control himself?

We won’t be without a manager, he’ll be in the stand.

majorhibs
25-02-2018, 10:13 PM

There it is again! Fae “Hibbies”... screaming! You heard the banshee like howls from where you were then, did you? Or you like this wee bandwagon, not “shouting” or anything like we would describe ourselves at the fitba, but you all just seem to want so much to get this “screaming “ nonsense in... cannae quite comprehend it myself!

Tornadoes70
25-02-2018, 10:50 PM
There it is again! Fae “Hibbies”... screaming! You heard the banshee like howls from where you were then, did you? Or you like this wee bandwagon, not “shouting” or anything like we would describe ourselves at the fitba, but you all just seem to want so much to get this “screaming “ nonsense in... cannae quite comprehend it myself!

Its only natural that Neil should aim some righteous indignation at the likes of Clancy who are seemingly free from criticism. I completely back Neil 100% in firing off deserved critique at an apparent cheat who fails to see a stonewaller against the huns yet gives one against us when it was a case of ball played man. Good on you Neil for 'daring' to speak out honestly and candidly.

mon the cabbage!!!

25-02-2018, 10:50 PM
So if he gets a lengthy ban you want the board to “ask serious questions”?

Why not go the whole hog and say he should be sacked. Thats what you mean right?

25-02-2018, 11:11 PM

TONY Stokes :hmmm:

Gerard
25-02-2018, 11:12 PM
I Agree with our HC in his views concerning refs

25-02-2018, 11:18 PM
To those who have a dig about my linking Neil’s touchline behaviour to his emotional struggles have you never had a friend, family member or colleague who goes OTT or seems to lose the plot in public from time to time?

Control and stress go together but few managers demonstrate this as often or as openly as our Neil. He has been forthright about these matters himself in helping to launch an initiative within Scottish Football and this makes it easier for other men like us to discuss such matters out in the open.

I was seeking empathy for Neil and some understanding as someone who has experienced many of the same issues. So much for good intentions.

25-02-2018, 11:22 PM
TONY Stokes :hmmm:

25-02-2018, 11:30 PM

I've never heard him called that before :confused:

Tornadoes70
25-02-2018, 11:32 PM
[QUOTE=RIP;5326358]To those who have a dig about my linking Neil’s touchline behaviour to his emotional struggles have you never had a friend, family member or colleague who goes OTT or seems to lose the plot in public from time to time? He has been open about this himself and this makes it easier for men like us to discuss such matters out in the open.

I was seeking sympathy for Neil and some understanding as someone who has experienced many of the same issues. So much for good intentions.[/QUOTE)

Neil on this occasion has no need to question his natural reaction to what was a real injustice. Clancy omitted to award a stonewall penalty to us against the huns yet instantly awarded a ball played man debatable one against us. Why would any Hibernian supporter seek to scrutinise Neil's instinctive correct behaviour seems the most appropriate debate. Good on you Neil.

mon the cabbage!!!

26-02-2018, 06:35 AM
Neil on this occasion has no need to question his natural reaction to what was a real injustice. Clancy omitted to award a stonewall penalty to us against the huns yet instantly awarded a ball played man debatable one against us. Why would any Hibernian supporter seek to scrutinise Neil's instinctive correct behaviour seems the most appropriate debate. Good on you Neil.

Agree with that. Every manager would be angry. Most complain afterwards. Neil has an occasional habit of getting himself sent off. He had similar issues as a player. He’s a complex individual and I’m a big fan. So are the current squad.

26-02-2018, 07:35 AM
Lennon is a larger than life character who's doing a fantastic job at Hibs, not just in terms of performances on the park, but for the club as a whole. He's trying to change the perception others have of Hibs. Remove the soft touch, "boy-band" stigma. And I'm loving it.

If he's publicly calling out refs who are used to shafting Hibs (free of charge), then all power to him. High time, this club stood up for itself, and put these dubious officials in the public dock :aok:

26-02-2018, 07:51 AM
After watching the so called penalty incident and other infringements by a person masquerading as a referee i fully back Lennon in standing up for hibs.

26-02-2018, 08:01 AM
I'm sorry but if our season derails in the time he spends watching from the stands then the board have to ask serious questions about his future.

What, like is it on a spinning ball or a stationary disc?

I'm Spartacus
26-02-2018, 08:08 AM
I do honestly think Neil is correct, 100%, the decision was an absolute disgrace, the previous decisions have been an absolute disgrace. I just wish he went about it in a totally different way, he then turns his argument into a debate about his behaviour, which is now a smokescreen for Clancy's lack of competence by the authorities.

At least we will now have an audience with the beaks at SFA HQ.

26-02-2018, 08:14 AM
I do honestly think Neil is correct, 100%, the decision was an absolute disgrace, the previous decisions have been an absolute disgrace. I just wish he went about it in a totally different way, he then turns his argument into a debate about his behaviour, which is now a smokescreen for Clancy's lack of competence by the authorities.

That’s true, Clancy will be happy as the heat isn’t as bad on him by the way Lennon went mental. As we all agree with Lennon in his comments I feel that clown should be banned from doing another game in the top flight.

Hibs will have a lot of evidence going into this hearing on the “mistakes” Clancy has made and I hope he gets torn to bits by us. SFA will do nothing sadly as I can’t ever remember a case where a manager has won an appeal agasint a ref after being sent to the stand.

26-02-2018, 08:27 AM
That’s true, Clancy will be happy as the heat isn’t as bad on him by the way Lennon went mental. As we all agree with Lennon in his comments I feel that clown should be banned from doing another game in the top flight.

Hibs will have a lot of evidence going into this hearing on the “mistakes” Clancy has made and I hope he gets torn to bits by us. SFA will do nothing sadly as I can’t ever remember a case where a manager has won an appeal agasint a ref after being sent to the stand.

There would have been nothing more said about the decision if it hadn’t been for Neil Lennon.
There is no benefit to keeping quiet while this keeps happening to us.

26-02-2018, 08:28 AM

You don't think that's a bit of a hysterical overreaction? FFS, managers go bat-**** crazy on the touchline and get bans all the time. You'd think he'd shat on Clancy's whistle and punched some kids in the teeth from the hand-wringing going on here.

26-02-2018, 08:29 AM

I see.

I think Lennon uses it too.

franks
26-02-2018, 09:09 AM
There's talk on hear about NL's inevitable ban and how this will affect Hibs. Am I the only one who thinks a manager having to watch from the stand has little impact on performance?

26-02-2018, 09:19 AM
There's talk on hear about NL's inevitable ban and how this will affect Hibs. Am I the only one who thinks a manager having to watch from the stand has little impact on performance?

Nope, I think the exact same.

Parker will keep us going exactly as he would if Lennon was there.

Lennon can afford to behave the way he does because he knows he has an able team around him.

And by "behave the way he does" I mean that he can get torn in about people when he feels justified in doing so (as he was on Saturday) without fear of the repercussions of being sent to the stand.

This is a good thing.

Sauzee16
26-02-2018, 09:28 AM

Lennon onthe touchline is much more effective.

26-02-2018, 09:28 AM
If the players are going to be affected that much by not having Lennon in the dugout they would need to take a right good look at themselves in the mirror.

The overreaction to this is unbelievable.

26-02-2018, 09:30 AM
If the players are going to be affected that much by not having Lennon in the dugout they would need to take a right good look at themselves in the mirror.

The overreaction to this is unbelievable.

Forgive my ignorance, but I assume he can still do the full pre-match talks/run throughs, can give them the hairdryer treatment at half time in the dressing room and can sit relaying instructions to the team from the stand? If so, doesn't seem to me like that much of an issue?

Green Badger
26-02-2018, 10:33 AM
Forgive my ignorance, but I assume he can still do the full pre-match talks/run throughs, can give them the hairdryer treatment at half time in the dressing room and can sit relaying instructions to the team from the stand? If so, doesn't seem to me like that much of an issue?

I could be wrong but don't think he is allowed to speak with the team pre-match, or allowed into the dressing room at half time or even speak with the bench during the game.

He could always copy the Jose Mourinho tactic of hiding in the team kit basket and getting smuggled into the dressing room (allegedly)

26-02-2018, 10:39 AM
I could be wrong but don't think he is allowed to speak with the team pre-match, or allowed into the dressing room at half time or even speak with the bench during the game.

He could always copy the Jose Mourinho tactic of hiding in the team kit basket and getting smuggled into the dressing room (allegedly)

If it’s a touchline ban, he’s allowed in the changing room before, after and at half-time I think. No comms with any coaching staff after kickoff though (which is almost unenforceable).

26-02-2018, 11:05 AM

Deary me.

26-02-2018, 11:14 AM

Family and close friends only

26-02-2018, 11:19 AM

Pretty sure Lennon has said before that he doesn't mind being up in the stand to watch games.

26-02-2018, 11:31 AM

I think so too. I’d rather we had a manager who had the passion to go mental at ref incompetence and constant wrong calls against us. Better to have that in the stand than some wage thief boss in the dugout who doesnt really care.

26-02-2018, 11:37 AM

100% correct you say, but on other threads you brought his medical condition into it, now also saying he should show an example to the players.

Wind up?

26-02-2018, 11:38 AM
You don't think that's a bit of a hysterical overreaction? FFS, managers go bat-**** crazy on the touchline and get bans all the time. You'd think he'd shat on Clancy's whistle and punched some kids in the teeth from the hand-wringing going on here.

Cat's out of the bag now, you've let Clancy know exactly what's coming next if he doesn't shape up. :bitchy:

26-02-2018, 11:40 AM
100% correct you say, but on other threads you brought his medical condition into it, now also saying he should show an example to the players.

Wind up?

Check the car keys...