View Full Version : Things you don't get.

Pages : [1] 2 3

05-01-2018, 10:07 PM
Horse racing or even just horses, can't begin to understand the fascination with them.

Monarchists, some people seem to love the Windsors more than life itself, wtf is all that about?

06-01-2018, 12:12 AM
Hearts, or any general violence. Celebrity talent/challenge TV.

06-01-2018, 12:26 AM
Kardashians

Mixu62
06-01-2018, 12:41 AM
"Famous" YouTubers.

06-01-2018, 12:51 AM
The Simpsons
Frazier
Strictly
Big Brother
Cricket
Athletics
Practical jokes
Hiking
etc, etc .....

I've come to the conclusion I must be a miserable old ghet. :yawn:

stuart-farquhar
06-01-2018, 01:17 AM
Guinness. A truly awful concoction.

06-01-2018, 01:32 AM
Kardashians

Did you know their father was on the OJ Simpson defence team?

06-01-2018, 05:49 AM
"reality" tv.

06-01-2018, 06:36 AM
Whisky, absolutely revolting stuff.

06-01-2018, 07:52 AM
They fidget spinner things...how is that an entertaining thing to anybody?

06-01-2018, 07:58 AM
Kardashians

Oh Yes, that's another big mystery to me. :agree:

06-01-2018, 08:07 AM
"Famous" YouTubers.

My 8 year old barely watches TV anymore, instead he's got his favourite blogs on YouTube, mainly Minecraft tutorial videos but also a couple of other gamer channels. I kind of get the attraction of watching something and then trying to replicate it. I'd rather he was watching something that then stimulates his fantasy in an interactive sense instead of sitting him in the comatose world of Peppa Pig an the likes.

06-01-2018, 08:13 AM
They fidget spinner things...how is that an entertaining thing to anybody?

:agree: Hula hoops for couch potatoes?

06-01-2018, 08:34 AM
Kardashians

Retweet

How anyone can get enjoyment watching a bunch of spoilt brats day-by-day lives is beyond me.

06-01-2018, 08:47 AM
Expensive things that don't last. Washing machines, computers, fridges, TV, dishwashers. People know how to make components that last, so why do we tolerate having to replace this assembly line rubbish and get a new one shipped from Guangdong every three years?

06-01-2018, 10:33 AM
Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club. It’s alright, but not as good asThe White Album, Revolver or Rubber Soul. So no idea how polls always seem to vote it the greatest album of all time.

06-01-2018, 10:39 AM
Jeans hanging down around yer erse cheeks.

06-01-2018, 11:37 AM
Whisky, absolutely revolting stuff.

I agree, however I'm a devout masochist so ..... :drunk: :wink:

06-01-2018, 11:40 AM
Did you know their father was on the OJ Simpson defence team?

I did not know that. Thanks for the info.

I'll tell Mrs R. It might stop her watching it :greengrin:

06-01-2018, 11:44 AM
Game of Thrones. Watched a series and a bit then admitted defeat, just don't understand the hype at all.

Cocaine. Crap drug that's expensive, people taking it don't look like some 'classy' socialite, most just mark themselves as chavs with more money than sense.

06-01-2018, 11:58 AM
Game of Thrones. Watched a series and a bit then admitted defeat, just don't understand the hype at all.

Cocaine. Crap drug that's expensive, people taking it don't look like some 'classy' socialite, most just mark themselves as chavs with more money than sense.

I like fantasy as a genre, so I was expecting to love it. I read the book first and was told the TV series was amazing, and like you say I never really 'got' it. Tried it twice in fact.

06-01-2018, 12:03 PM
Big bushy beards. I don't care how fashionable they are, most guys with them just look daft.

06-01-2018, 12:28 PM
...the whole 'time passing faster as you get older' thing. It's shocking. At this moment Liz Kershaw is playing a Manics song from the This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours album which she says is TWENTY years old today.

Which obviously makes no sense. I'm hurtling towards old age at breakneck speed and it's no fair.

06-01-2018, 12:32 PM
...the whole 'time passing faster as you get older' thing. It's shocking. At this moment Liz Kershaw is playing a Manics song from the This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours which she says is TWENTY years old today.

Which obviously makes no sense. I'm hurtling towards old age at breakneck speed and it's no fair.

My mum used to say "Life is like a toilet roll. The nearer you get to the end, the faster it goes".

I don't suppose for one second that she made the quote up, but for me at my age, it's truth is indisputable.

06-01-2018, 12:38 PM
Star wars, what a load of sheite.

06-01-2018, 12:39 PM

Star Trek anaw.

06-01-2018, 12:42 PM
My mum used to say "Life is like a toilet roll. The nearer you get to the end, the faster it goes".

I don't suppose for one second that she made the quote up, but for me at my age, it's truth is indisputable.

At least your mum told you. I had no idea the whole space time continuium was going to be like this. When I was ten à six week summer holiday felt like a lifetime compared to a year of being forty something. It's a shock.

06-01-2018, 12:43 PM
Cars.

A mode of transport to get me from A to B. I can't be bothered with the inevitable questions when you buy a new one. How many miles to the gallon? How does it drive? What's the engine? Shall we take it a spin?

Do these people do the same with other big purchases? How does that fridge cool? How many BTUs does that oven have? Shall we put that washing machine through a rinse cycle, see how she flows?

06-01-2018, 12:52 PM
Cars.

A mode of transport to get me from A to B. I can't be bothered with the inevitable questions when you buy a new one. How many miles to the gallon? How does it drive? What's the engine? Shall we take it a spin?

Do these people do the same with other big purchases? How does that fridge cool? How many BTUs does that oven have? Shall we put that washing machine through a rinse cycle, see how she flows?
Some people get a lot of enjoyment from driving. Some cars are designed only to get people from A to B, whilst others are designed for enjoyment and performance. Things like washing machines are designed only to wash clothes.

06-01-2018, 12:57 PM
Some people get a lot of enjoyment from driving. Some cars are designed only to get people from A to B, whilst others are designed for enjoyment and performance. Things like washing machines are designed only to wash clothes.

I understand that but I don't get it. 'Going for a drive' as a leisure activity is totally alien to me.

06-01-2018, 01:00 PM
I understand that but I don't get it. 'Going for a drive' as a leisure activity is totally alien to me.
I quite enjoy driving my car when I’m on my own, but I wouldn’t take it out just for a drive. Maybe if I had a really expensive car, I might feel differently.

06-01-2018, 01:30 PM
At least your mum told you. I had no idea the whole space time continuium was going to be like this. When I was ten à six week summer holiday felt like a lifetime compared to a year of being forty something. It's a shock.

I'm 57 and my birthday is in 6 weeks. If I achieve average Scottish life expectancy, I've only got 19 years to live. What a sobering thought.

Not only does time fly, you think about your mortality more and more.

06-01-2018, 01:34 PM
I'm 57 and my birthday is in 6 weeks. If I achieve average Scottish life expectancy, I've only got 19 years to live. What a sobering thought.

Not only does time fly, you think about your mortality more and more.

If you lived in parts of Glasgow you've already beat the dice by reaching 57.

06-01-2018, 01:42 PM
If you lived in parts of Glasgow you've already beat the dice by reaching 57.

Jeezo.

I haven't been following the depression and anxiety thread, but the realisation just now that 3/4 of my life is already over, might change that!

Kinell!

06-01-2018, 02:03 PM
I quite enjoy driving my car when I’m on my own, but I wouldn’t take it out just for a drive. Maybe if I had a really expensive car, I might feel differently.

If you had a new one of these, you'd take it out for a drive. Believe me.

https://www.topgear.com/car-reviews/bmw/4-series-coupe/435d-xdrive-m-sport-5dr-auto-professional-media/first-drive

hibs#1
06-01-2018, 02:07 PM
I like fantasy as a genre, so I was expecting to love it. I read the book first and was told the TV series was amazing, and like you say I never really 'got' it. Tried it twice in fact.

I've attempted watch the 1st episode 3 times and still never finished.just couldn't get into it at all.

06-01-2018, 02:11 PM
I've attempted watch the 1st episode 3 times and still never finished.just couldn't get into it at all.

I gave up after 2 goes.

06-01-2018, 02:23 PM
Wheat beer. I love loads of different styles of beer but the appeal of wheat beer eludes me.

06-01-2018, 02:51 PM
Jeezo.

I haven't been following the depression and anxiety thread, but the realisation just now that 3/4 of my life is already over, might change that!

Kinell!

Or instead, just use the slightly worrying reality of ageing to come to a realisation that you better get a move on with if you want to do all that stuff you wanted to do!

Slight hijack, apologies :greengrin

06-01-2018, 03:19 PM
Or instead, just use the slightly worrying reality of ageing to come to a realisation that you better get a move on with if you want to do all that stuff you wanted to do!

Yes, very good point.

06-01-2018, 03:46 PM

Or count your blessings that you've had a good life and sit back and relax. If you spend all you're time stressing about achieving a list of goals then the chances are you're not living for the moment and that's what life's about IMO.

beensaidbefore
06-01-2018, 03:48 PM
The clothes in Urban outfitter's.

06-01-2018, 03:48 PM
I struggle to understand betting odds.

I'm ok with 2-1 etc but when it goes to 13-8 , 11-4 I'm struggling.
I also know what the prices mean but can't fathom them at a glance as in what is a better price.

beensaidbefore
06-01-2018, 03:49 PM
Guys wearing skin tight jeans with no socks!

06-01-2018, 03:50 PM
Or count your blessings that you've had a good life and sit back and relax. If you spend all you're time stressing about achieving a list of goals then the chances are you're not living for the moment and that's what life's about IMO.

Nonsense. Life is a war, me vs laziness :greengrin

06-01-2018, 04:01 PM
Nonsense. Life is a war, me vs laziness :greengrin

I surrendered that fight a while back and now we're allies in a holy war against the evil axis of industriousness and assiduity. :greengrin

pollution
06-01-2018, 04:06 PM
Wheat beer. I love loads of different styles of beer but the appeal of wheat beer eludes me.

It makes me sneeze!

06-01-2018, 04:17 PM

On a similar note people who don’t dress appropriately for the weather.

Was a game recently and it was bloody Baltic (Celtic I think) and I had a pair of big boots, two pairs of socks, long johns, jeans, thermal vest, t-shirt, hoodie and a big jacket.

Walking outside there was young guys wearing trackies with no socks and trainers and basically a tracksuit top.

I don’t get how these young guys are surviving these matches without freezing to death?!

Same applies to people who wear jumpers and big coats in the summer, always think they must stink and be really uncomfortable.

06-01-2018, 04:48 PM
Reality tv programmes, total pish. Every single one of them.

06-01-2018, 04:53 PM

Don't get sci-fi at all. Guff stuff, IMO

06-01-2018, 05:56 PM

Was a game recently and it was bloody Baltic (Celtic I think) and I had a pair of big boots, two pairs of socks, long johns, jeans, thermal vest, t-shirt, hoodie and a big jacket.

Walking outside there was young guys wearing trackies with no socks and trainers and basically a tracksuit top.

I don’t get how these young guys are surviving these matches without freezing to death?!

Same applies to people who wear jumpers and big coats in the summer, always think they must stink and be really uncomfortable.

The super skinny, elasticated cuff, jobby catcher trackie bottoms, that are usually a few inches too short as well.

looks like they’re wearing their wee brothers clothes!

06-01-2018, 06:34 PM
Dogs, and pets generally actually. I'd keep some fish, but just don't understand the appeal of anything else.

06-01-2018, 06:40 PM

I also know what the prices mean but can't fathom them at a glance as in what is a better price.

Divide the 2nd number by the 1st and that gives you the odds to 1. So 13/8 is 1.625/1 and 11/4 is 2.75/1.

06-01-2018, 06:53 PM
Radiohead
The Big Bang theory
Mrs Browns boys
monarchists
Tories
Pate

beensaidbefore
06-01-2018, 07:12 PM

Generally when I am putting a coupon on in the bookies I try to do a quick sum always remembering to add the stake back on.

To use your 11-4, I would figure 3x4 =12, ie 4 goes into 11 almost 3 times, so for a £1 bet you would get back almost £4.

If it was the other way round, 4-11, I would count the 11 as £1.10 and figure that the 4 would be worth a bit less than 40p to the pound.

To accumulate £1 using those bets, the stake for the second bet is the potential winnings from the first. In this instance, £4 @ 4-11 = approx 4x40p = £1.60 + £4 stake.

Given you started with a quid, that would make those odds roughly 4.6/1. Because I was I bit loose with the figure, and to make it a bit easier for the next sum, I would round the £5.60 down to £5 and go about it the same way for the next odds. ie, 7-5 = 7x£5.

Follow this process regardless how much you plan to bet, and then simply multiply the figure by 5,10,20 etc.

Hope this helps rather than baffles you more😜

06-01-2018, 07:32 PM
Skinny jeans. Saw a pair in Debenhams that were waist 42 with a 30 leg and the style was skinny???

06-01-2018, 07:49 PM
Skinny jeans. Saw a pair in Debenhams that were waist 42 with a 30 leg and the style was skinny???

Lol, that is mental.

hibs#1
06-01-2018, 08:01 PM

Did they fit though?

06-01-2018, 08:10 PM
Did they fit though?

Nah, couldn't get them past my knees.

06-01-2018, 08:22 PM
Dogs, and pets generally actually. I'd keep some fish, but just don't understand the appeal of anything else.

This. Why keep a wild animal in your house? More so, why do people keep them in the kitchen? It is a dangerous place for them and it is hardly hygienic. My sister in law recently got a puppy and the whole family are obsessed, my wife especially. They treat it like a child. At Christmas, it got presents wrapped and with tags from ‘Granny and Grandad’ from my in-laws and from ‘Auntie and Uncle’ from my wife and I. Weird. I am biased though as I have an extreme phobia of dogs.

I would add F1 and cricket as spectator sports to the list. I can see how they might be mildly entertaining to participate in but they are utterly boring to watch.

06-01-2018, 08:43 PM
This. Why keep a wild animal in your house? More so, why do people keep them in the kitchen? It is a dangerous place for them and it is hardly hygienic. My sister in law recently got a puppy and the whole family are obsessed, my wife especially. They treat it like a child. At Christmas, it got presents wrapped and with tags from ‘Granny and Grandad’ from my in-laws and from ‘Auntie and Uncle’ from my wife and I. Weird. I am biased though as I have an extreme phobia of dogs.

I would add F1 and cricket as spectator sports to the list. I can see how they might be mildly entertaining to participate in but they are utterly boring to watch.

I'll field this one.

I thought cricket was stultifingly boring though enjoyed playing it in PE at school.

I travelled a bit in Australia one summer in my early twenties, watched a fair bit of cricket and got the bug - it's obviously a lot slower than football or most other team sports but you just need to accept that it works at a different pace. Once I made that leap then I started to appreciate all the subtleties and nuances of the game.

It's a really rich, fascinating game for a spectator if you get to grips with the basics of it and realise just how many variables are involved.

06-01-2018, 09:13 PM
I'll field this one.

I thought cricket was stultifingly boring though enjoyed playing it in PE at school.

I travelled a bit in Australia one summer in my early twenties, watched a fair bit of cricket and got the bug - it's obviously a lot slower than football or most other team sports but you just need to accept that it works at a different pace. Once I made that leap then I started to appreciate all the subtleties and nuances of the game.

It's a really rich, fascinating game for a spectator if you get to grips with the basics of it and realise just how many variables are involved.
Well said. I would also add that it’s a unique and fascinating duel between bowler and batsman that can last for hours. I enjoy the shorter forms of cricket, but nothing can beat a test match on a wicket that’s starting to break up.

06-01-2018, 09:23 PM
If you had a new one of these, you'd take it out for a drive. Believe me.

https://www.topgear.com/car-reviews/bmw/4-series-coupe/435d-xdrive-m-sport-5dr-auto-professional-media/first-drive
I’ve never been a fan of bmw. I was thinking more along the lines of a super car like a Lamborghini. There’s no practical reason for owning a super car other than to drive it for pleasure.

06-01-2018, 09:42 PM
Parents who let their kids annoy the **** out of other guests in a restaurant or other public place. I know this might border on a peeve but it's not the annoyance I'm on about here, it's the failure of parents to teach their kids that in later life annoying other people can be detrimental to your health and the shape of your nose.

06-01-2018, 09:46 PM
Well said. I would also add that it’s a unique and fascinating duel between bowler and batsman that can last for hours. I enjoy the shorter forms of cricket, but nothing can beat a test match on a wicket that’s starting to break up.

Definitely :agree:

In some cases that duel can take up their entire careers.

yonder1875
06-01-2018, 09:49 PM
Bootcut jeans.

06-01-2018, 09:50 PM
Business Consultants. Essentially management who can't do their jobs bringing in someone who doesn't have a clue about their business telling them how to do their job by spouting a lot of corporate language pish while getting paid mega bucks for it.

Saturday Boy
06-01-2018, 10:47 PM
Internet forums? WTF are they all about?

beensaidbefore
06-01-2018, 11:11 PM
Parents who let their kids annoy the **** out of other guests in a restaurant or other public place. I know this might border on a peeve but it's not the annoyance I'm on about here, it's the failure of parents to teach their kids that in later life annoying other people can be detrimental to your health and the shape of your nose.

Very well said.

The amount of people with no manners annoys me. What annoys me more is their children are going to grow up with no concept of what manners are. It sounds like something my grandparents would say ffs but it really gets on my goat.

06-01-2018, 11:51 PM
Very well said.

The amount of people with no manners annoys me. What annoys me more is their children are going to grow up with no concept of what manners are. It sounds like something my grandparents would say ffs but it really gets on my goat.

Kids have too much power these. A quick smack did me no harm when I was young. It taught me what the boundaries were and that set me up for my future life and the responsibilities that I would face. Kids today are been given no boundaries and that worries me, tbh.

beensaidbefore
07-01-2018, 12:00 AM
Kids have too much power these. A quick smack did me no harm when I was young. It taught me what the boundaries were and that set me up for my future life and the responsibilities that I would face. Kids today are been given no boundaries and that worries me, tbh.

It worries me too.

07-01-2018, 08:34 AM
People/adults who feel the need to post their entire lives online.

- getting ready for a night out
- 85 pictures of night out
- feeling rough today, need hugs
- cba with work
- bored at work
- takeaway for tea
- watching Corrie/game of thrones/teem moms/whatever
- going to the gym
- at the gym
- on the treadmill, gotta lose 8 stone by Friday for the wedding
and on and on and on

No one gives a toss. And inevitably they’ll get defensive about their private life if someone makes a comment about something they’ve posted.

07-01-2018, 09:31 AM
Very well said.

In my experience it’s older people who lack manners more than younger folk. Especially some older people towards the younger generations.

Johnny Clash
07-01-2018, 09:37 AM

Sometimes though I’ve taken the dog out for a walk on a cold winter’s day and somehow ended up wearing clobber I’d easily wear in the summer - and been ok. Usually involving a tee shirt and Hibs tracky top. Must be a layer thing??!!! 🙄

07-01-2018, 10:22 AM

Quite right, I'd rather clean out a fish tank than walk behind a dog and pick up its crap and chuck it in a wee bin, dinnae get the appeal.

07-01-2018, 10:35 AM
The Foo Fighters. Do absolutely nothing for me.

07-01-2018, 10:59 AM
The Foo Fighters. Do absolutely nothing for me.

They've had a great career of a lot of songs that sound pretty much the same.

07-01-2018, 11:13 AM
They've had a great career of a lot of songs that sound pretty much the same.

Have you ever heard of a wee ensemble called Status Quo? :wink:

Jay
07-01-2018, 11:20 AM

You can discipline and teach boundaries without smacking. I have four boys very close in age and could happily take them anywhere knowing theyd behave. I never smacked them. Teaching a child to behave by hurting them just seemed odd to me. Maybe thats one of the things I dont get :greengrin

07-01-2018, 01:58 PM
I don’t get why people park on the double yellow lines outside Asda at newhaven when there’s a great big car park there?

Same applies to people parking in the drop off areas at supermarkets when there’s always spaces in the car park?

07-01-2018, 02:07 PM
Folk who go on holiday and spend 2 weeks doing things they could do here and barely even acknowledge they are in a different culture. Guy in my work goes to the same place every year and is delighted that he can have a full fried breakfast, go a wander all morning then get to the Red Lion pub at lunchtime and drink John Smiths all afternoon before having a roast dinner for his dinner then getting back on the pints.

Each to their own but I don't get it at all.

07-01-2018, 02:14 PM
Folk who go on holiday and spend 2 weeks doing things they could do here and barely even acknowledge they are in a different culture. Guy in my work goes to the same place every year and is delighted that he can have a full fried breakfast, go a wander all morning then get to the Red Lion pub at lunchtime and drink John Smiths all afternoon before having a roast dinner for his dinner then getting back on the pints.

I get that tbh. Life’s just a bit better with the sun on your back.

That might just be because I’m a lazy fat ******* though 😂

07-01-2018, 02:21 PM
I get that tbh. Life’s just a bit better with the sun on your back.

That might just be because I’m a lazy fat ******* though 😂

I'm not saying I'm not a hypocite btw. Much as I love trying new food, new drink and different things; if there's football or boxing on I'll be 1st in the queue at the local Scottish or Irish bar for a pint and a big screen TV.

07-01-2018, 02:48 PM
People who complain like hell on social media or to a friend about a meal or other experience in hotel,bar, pub restaurant etc. When you ask them if they complained at the time most say "no, the manager asked if everything had been okay and we just said yes, we even left a tip".

07-01-2018, 03:12 PM

I know what you mean. We took a day trip to Magaluf years ago and there were pubs showing repeats of Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses all day long.

07-01-2018, 04:53 PM
I don’t get why people park on the double yellow lines outside Asda at newhaven when there’s a great big car park there?

Same applies to people parking in the drop off areas at supermarkets when there’s always spaces in the car park?

Because they’re selfish lazy ****tards!

especially when you watch a couple/2 people arrive in a car, stop in the drop off area, one goes in whilst the other sits and waits! Usually with a sea of empty parking spaces just a few feet away

07-01-2018, 05:03 PM
The darts. Cant think of a more boring thing to watch on telly. Looks even worse being there!!

07-01-2018, 05:29 PM
You can discipline and teach boundaries without smacking. I have four boys very close in age and could happily take them anywhere knowing theyd behave. I never smacked them. Teaching a child to behave by hurting them just seemed odd to me. Maybe thats one of the things I dont get :greengrin

:agree: The only lesson a kid will get from smacking is that smacking is ok. I don't get why some folks need to resort to it, there's much more effective ways of getting your kids to toe the line.

07-01-2018, 05:33 PM
People who complain like hell on social media or to a friend about a meal or other experience in hotel,bar, pub restaurant etc. When you ask them if they complained at the time most say "no, the manager asked if everything had been okay and we just said yes, we even left a tip".

:agree: That's one of life's great mysteries to me. There's something really two faced about that kind of behaviour and providing your criticism is constructive then the restaurant can actually learn from the experience and improve themselves.

Jay
07-01-2018, 05:34 PM
:agree: The only lesson a kid will get from smacking is that smacking is ok. I don't get why some folks need to resort to it, there's much more effective ways of getting your kids to toe the line.

My boys were no angels, they just learned to do things without being smacked. My oldest two are 21 &22 and still crumble at one of my looks when they start :greengrin

07-01-2018, 06:31 PM

I think that’s a bit black and white and there’s a danger of criticising people’s parenting here which I think is wrong and not what this thread is for.

I give my boy a smack on the bum when I feel he deserves it but I’m reluctant to justify it on here.

Like Mrs S. I feel I could take my 4 year old pretty much anywhere and not worry about his behaviour, I feel the way my wife and I have disciplined him has contributed to that.

Each to their own though.

07-01-2018, 06:38 PM
The darts. Cant think of a more boring thing to watch on telly. Looks even worse being there!!

Magic day/night out, dinnae fancy the BDO version though.

07-01-2018, 06:44 PM
I think that’s a bit black and white and there’s a danger of criticising people’s parenting here which I think is wrong and not what this thread is for.

I give my boy a smack on the bum when I feel he deserves it but I’m reluctant to justify it on here.

Like Mrs S. I feel I could take my 4 year old pretty much anywhere and not worry about his behaviour, I feel the way my wife and I have disciplined him has contributed to that.

Each to their own though.

Sorry if it came across as condescending, it wasn't meant that way. I just personally see no need for smacking, not with kids anyway. :wink:

07-01-2018, 07:00 PM
Sorry if it came across as condescending, it wasn't meant that way. I just personally see no need for smacking, not with kids anyway. :wink:

You’ve never met my boy

07-01-2018, 07:48 PM
Not sure if this is the correct thread but I think it ties in with the earlier posts about time running away as you get older.

For about 5 years I met the same 3 guys most Saturday nights. We went for a few pints then went back to someones flat to watch MOTD then sometimes we headed out and other times we called it a night. We played 5 a sides together, a couple of us played 11s together, we were what would be termed best mates. Then it just stopped and I can't pinpoint why. There was no falling out and we have seen each other since but for some reason our friendship loosened.

The obvious answer is that life happened. One guy got engaged and is now married with 2 kids and still lives in Aberdeen, I moved back to Edinburgh, live with my partner and have a baby, another lives in Warsaw and the final guys lives in London. I have seen members of the group as individuals over the last few years and we all still consider each other mates but it's just a strange thought that the chances of us all having a beer together as a group of 4 like the old days is pretty slim. I sometimes struggle to get how that happens.

07-01-2018, 08:22 PM
I really don’t ‘get’ the increasing submission to and prioritisation of the modern-day agent of ignorance, the mobile phone.

Fair play though, the perceived ‘need’ for these devices is arguably the finest confidence trick since organised religion!

07-01-2018, 10:10 PM
Not sure if this is the correct thread but I think it ties in with the earlier posts about time running away as you get older.

For about 5 years I met the same 3 guys most Saturday nights. We went for a few pints then went back to someones flat to watch MOTD then sometimes we headed out and other times we called it a night. We played 5 a sides together, a couple of us played 11s together, we were what would be termed best mates. Then it just stopped and I can't pinpoint why. There was no falling out and we have seen each other since but for some reason our friendship loosened.

The obvious answer is that life happened. One guy got engaged and is now married with 2 kids and still lives in Aberdeen, I moved back to Edinburgh, live with my partner and have a baby, another lives in Warsaw and the final guys lives in London. I have seen members of the group as individuals over the last few years and we all still consider each other mates but it's just a strange thought that the chances of us all having a beer together as a group of 4 like the old days is pretty slim. I sometimes struggle to get how that happens.

"Ob-la-di, ob-la-da" - Paul McCartney :coffee:

08-01-2018, 10:57 PM
Why everyone is using the word literally and mostly wrongly.

Ed Sheeran.

09-01-2018, 01:11 AM

It's not really in any way related to your post, but I saw a thing on Facebook recently that I found quite poignant.

One time, many years ago, you went out to play with your mates for the last time, but none of you realised it at the time.

You just sort of drift, evolve, move on, and stop doing the things that you did, replacing them with something else.

09-01-2018, 08:17 AM

I also know what the prices mean but can't fathom them at a glance as in what is a better price.Get them quoted in decimal format. You get 3, 2.625 and 3.75 for 2/1, 13/8 and 11/4. Easier than fractions.

09-01-2018, 09:10 AM
It's not really in any way related to your post, but I saw a thing on Facebook recently that I found quite poignant.

One time, many years ago, you went out to play with your mates for the last time, but none of you realised it at the time.

You just sort of drift, evolve, move on, and stop doing the things that you did, replacing them with something else.

This is why grown men cry when watching the 'Stand By Me' movie.

09-01-2018, 10:08 AM

Ed Sheeran.

Unfortunately, and disappointingly, it is now grammatically acceptable to use the word "literally" to emphasise or exaggerate a point.

My head literally exploded when I read that this informal useage had been included in the Oxford dictionary.

Jay
09-01-2018, 10:13 AM

And some women :wink:

09-01-2018, 11:47 AM
People who drink coffee all the time, carrying those branded cups as if it's a permanent attachment to their hand.

People who take backpacks everywhere.

09-01-2018, 11:58 AM
American football.

I get the concept and there’s the potential for a great game however for the life of me I can’t understand how people can put up with the amount of breaks in play.

09-01-2018, 12:04 PM

The bar scene in The Deer Hunter gets to me in a similar fashion.

09-01-2018, 12:35 PM
American football.

I get the concept and there’s the potential for a great game however for the life of me I can’t understand how people can put up with the amount of breaks in play.
it does get annoying, its better than it used to be they have reduced the amount of breaks this season because of complaints (viewer numbers dropping). But the big games will still be the same. Watching games on demand cut out the breaks for you and its so much better. Also try Redzone on sky during the regular season its a bit like Soccer Saturday but they show the games instead of listening to Charlie Nicholas.

09-01-2018, 12:48 PM
I don't get why HMRC go after some poor sod working extra hours for minimum wage to make ends meet, yet allow businesses llike Rangers get away with £70m unpaid tax.

09-01-2018, 01:00 PM
it does get annoying, its better than it used to be they have reduced the amount of breaks this season because of complaints (viewer numbers dropping). But the big games will still be the same. Watching games on demand cut out the breaks for you and its so much better. Also try Redzone on sky during the regular season its a bit like Soccer Saturday but they show the games instead of listening to Charlie Nicholas.

Cheers, I used to love playing an American football game in the computer when I was a kid so I do like the concept of it, i just find the amount of stoppages makes it impossible to watch (for me)

I was in NY when the super bowl was on last year, got back to the hotel room with a few beers (had been out walking since about 7 in the morning) and planned to just sit and chill watching it. There were less than 5 minutes to go until half time but from memory I don’t think I’m exaggerating when I say almost 30 minutes later it still wasn’t half time. Ended up falling asleep and missing it all.

Bonkers

09-01-2018, 01:10 PM
Dance music and all its various forms

09-01-2018, 01:14 PM

Or, to phrase that differently, dancing. :wink:

09-01-2018, 01:14 PM

And rap.

09-01-2018, 01:22 PM
grown men who like comic books.

09-01-2018, 01:32 PM
grown men who like comic books.

You're a marvel.

09-01-2018, 01:35 PM
Social media, what does it do that texts and emails don’t?

Instagram being one, I see my wife constantly tapping her screen looking at endless photos of, what I assume are celebrities.

09-01-2018, 01:36 PM
Why Natalie Sawyer is no longer on transfer deadline night 😢

09-01-2018, 01:37 PM
Cheers, I used to love playing an American football game in the computer when I was a kid so I do like the concept of it, i just find the amount of stoppages makes it impossible to watch (for me)

I was in NY when the super bowl was on last year, got back to the hotel room with a few beers (had been out walking since about 7 in the morning) and planned to just sit and chill watching it. There were less than 5 minutes to go until half time but from memory I don’t think I’m exaggerating when I say almost 30 minutes later it still wasn’t half time. Ended up falling asleep and missing it all.

Bonkers
The super bowl is its own thing, they make the most money from that so they advertise at every opportunity. The regular season isn't nearly as bad. Look up Red Zone as I suggested it might be a game changer for you.

09-01-2018, 02:04 PM
Unfortunately, and disappointingly, it is now grammatically acceptable to use the word "literally" to emphasise or exaggerate a point.

My head literally exploded when I read that this informal useage had been included in the Oxford dictionary.

Hopefully it won't be followed into the dictionary by the word "useage". :wink:

09-01-2018, 02:15 PM
I don't get why HMRC go after some poor sod working extra hours for minimum wage to make ends meet, yet allow businesses llike Rangers get away with £70m unpaid tax.

While I agree with the principle of what you're saying about large scale non-payment of tax, I'm pretty sure Hector chased some incarnation of Rangers through the courts for that money, and eventually won. Unfortunately, they were bust by that point and can't pay...(Although, my head's wasted with the Rangers and Hearts financial comings and goings, and it's entirely possible I just made that up :greengrin)

09-01-2018, 03:18 PM
Big game hunting.

The appeal of killing an animal for a trophy is beyond me. I know the apologists give all sorts of reasons why hunting is actually 'good for the economy', 'funds conservation' and 'takes place within controlled areas' but I still don't get it. If anything shooting an animal kept withing a confined and controlled environment makes it even less of an 'achievement' in my eyes.

09-01-2018, 03:30 PM
Coffee. I've worked with people that are absolutely addicted to the stuff (I appreciate more so for the caffeine content than the taste) and will get through 7 or 8 cups a day but I just find the stuff horrid.

09-01-2018, 04:08 PM
Coffee. I've worked with people that are absolutely addicted to the stuff (I appreciate more so for the caffeine content than the taste) and will get through 7 or 8 cups a day but I just find the stuff horrid.

I'm the opposite and don't get how people in my work get through the day without it.

I'm up at quarter to 6 and have a cup, shower then another cup. Cup at back of 8 as soon as I get into work, one at 9 when others get in, cup at 10.30, 1 at lunchtime and another at 3, 1 when I get home and another after dinner. If I'm out at a Hibs game or training or whatever you can add another 1 in when I get home from that.

8 cups a day is about standard for me. I tried changing to herbal teas and stuff but it's not the same.

09-01-2018, 04:49 PM
Hopefully it won't be followed into the dictionary by the word "useage". :wink:

I feel terrible.

Depression is a side effect of using too much MDMA. :wink:

09-01-2018, 04:51 PM
People who take their office job seriously.

I can understand a police officer, a fireman, doctor taking their job seriously, someone actually contributing to society, saving lives etc, even architects or engineers who actually accomplish things.

What I don't get are people in bog standard office jobs who wouldn't be missed taking their job that seriously you would think Wall Street going up or down depends on their every move.

I can only imagine how depressing life is for them outside of the office.

09-01-2018, 04:54 PM

People who think that "dance music" is a recent phenomenon.

My head literally exploded whern I heard a programme a couple of years ago celebrating "20 years of dance music".

09-01-2018, 04:55 PM
People/adults who feel the need to post their entire lives online.

- getting ready for a night out
- 85 pictures of night out
- feeling rough today, need hugs
- cba with work
- bored at work
- takeaway for tea
- watching Corrie/game of thrones/teem moms/whatever
- going to the gym
- at the gym
- on the treadmill, gotta lose 8 stone by Friday for the wedding
and on and on and on

No one gives a toss. And inevitably they’ll get defensive about their private life if someone makes a comment about something they’ve posted.

Your list seems to be missing - Posting / replying to a thread on .Net. :na na::cb:wink::greengrin

09-01-2018, 04:59 PM
Anyhoo.

Cookery programmes on TV (like Masterchef) where putting pretty coloured flowers on the food somehow makes it better dish.
What’s that all about?

09-01-2018, 05:03 PM
Anyhoo.

Cookery programmes on TV (like Masterchef) where putting pretty coloured flowers on the food somehow makes it better dish.
What’s that all about?

One of the chef judges across here lost here recently came out with "arrêtez de me faire bouffer des putain de fleurs"- "stop making me eat f***ing flowers".

I literally laughed my head off.

speedy_gonzales
09-01-2018, 05:30 PM
Big game hunting.

The appeal of killing an animal for a trophy is beyond me. I know the apologists give all sorts of reasons why hunting is actually 'good for the economy', 'funds conservation' and 'takes place within controlled areas' but I still don't get it. If anything shooting an animal kept withing a confined and controlled environment makes it even less of an 'achievement' in my eyes.
That must be similar to the groups of guys sitting around a pond with power bait on the end of their line.
If I fish, I fish for food and enjoy the rare time for contemplation and to "decompress" whilst taking in the great outdoors, sitting around a purpose built water course just isn't the same.

09-01-2018, 05:35 PM

I can understand a police officer, a fireman, doctor taking their job seriously, someone actually contributing to society, saving lives etc, even architects or engineers who actually accomplish things.

What I don't get are people in bog standard office jobs who wouldn't be missed taking their job that seriously you would think Wall Street going up or down depends on their every move.

How efficient do you think any of the services you mentioned, or any industry really, would be if their admin, clerical, secreterial and so on support adopted your attitude?

I work in an office and I'm under no illusions that I'm replaceable. It's a matter of personal pride though and I take my job seriously because I'm being paid to do so and have built a relationship with my customers that is built on my ability to do my job well. I pay tax, I provide a service, I work hard and in doing so I allow other businesses to do the same. In other words I, in a small way, 'contribute to society'.

I find dismissive attitudes like yours far harder to understand than I do understanding people who take their job seriously.

09-01-2018, 05:37 PM
How efficient do you think any of the services you mentioned, or any industry really, would be if their admin, clerical, secreterial and so on support adopted your attitude?

I work in an office and I'm under no illusions that I'm replaceable. It's a matter of personal pride though and I take my job seriously because I'm being paid to do so and have built a relationship with my customers that is built on my ability to do my job well. I pay tax, I provide a service, I work hard and in doing so I allow other businesses to do the same. In other words I, in a small way, 'contribute to society'.

I find dismissive attitudes like yours far harder to understand than I do understanding people who take their job seriously.

I can't believe how seriously you've taken that post, 'kin LOLZ.

09-01-2018, 05:43 PM

Aah the classic get pulled up on my ignorant comment so dismiss it as a joke response. Good one.

To get the thread back on track I don't get people who express a strong opinion then don't have the conviction to defend their stance.

09-01-2018, 05:45 PM

You’d be even more efficient S, if you stayed off Hibs.net 😀

Although all power to the regular posters for giving me threads to read as more often than not too lazy to post.

09-01-2018, 05:46 PM
You’d be even more efficient S, if you stayed off Hibs.net 😀

Although all power to the regular posters for giving me threads to read as more often than not too lazy to post.

This place can feel like a full time job at times....

09-01-2018, 05:55 PM

Thankfully I don't get the phrase in bold.

09-01-2018, 05:56 PM

Aah the classic get pulled up on my ignorant comment so dismiss it as a joke response. Good one.

To get the thread back on track I don't get people who express a strong opinion then don't have the conviction to defend their stance.

Got to say I’m with PB on this.

IGRIGI, your post is really quite insulting to people who take pride in their job. I equally don’t have any illusions that my company would flounder if I wasn’t there, but I really enjoy my job, I like the company I work for, I choose to put in the effort to do my job well, take pride in that, and contribute to society as much as the next person. I work hard, and I feel good about myself in not being a lazy selfish loafer (that’s not intended to imply you are btw), that some are.

I’ll also add to the thread in saying I don’t get people who are purposely lazy, avoid work, find every excuse under the sun to pass work off on others whilst never offering to help or support their colleagues, whine about how busy they are when they complete about 40% of the output of their colleagues, last in first out mentality.

09-01-2018, 05:58 PM
Your list seems to be missing - Posting / replying to a thread on .Net. :na na::cb:wink::greengrin

:greengrin:thumbsup:

What do you mean? Everyone should know when you’ve done that hahaha :greengrin

09-01-2018, 06:06 PM

Or, to put it another way, contentious people. :wink:

09-01-2018, 06:14 PM

I've only ever worked in an office environment and I concur, If you wernae there nobody would bat an eyelid.

09-01-2018, 06:16 PM
I'm the opposite and don't get how people in my work get through the day without it.

I'm up at quarter to 6 and have a cup, shower then another cup. Cup at back of 8 as soon as I get into work, one at 9 when others get in, cup at 10.30, 1 at lunchtime and another at 3, 1 when I get home and another after dinner. If I'm out at a Hibs game or training or whatever you can add another 1 in when I get home from that.

8 cups a day is about standard for me. I tried changing to herbal teas and stuff but it's not the same.

I wondered how you had such an interest in everything. ;-)

09-01-2018, 06:17 PM

I have worked in the same type.of i.t job for about 10 years. Ive worked in a place i didnt try hard, pissed about and didnt care. I hated it and was bored. Im now in another company and made a concious choice to take it seriously, and i must say i enjoy it 99% of the time. It makes the days and week pass easier, i dont dread going into work and ive had a wage rise, sometimes upwards of 10% just about every year. If i left im sure i would be easily replaced, showing a positive attitude and showing you care about your role, looking to better yourself goes a long way in any job. I only wish i had this attitude at 18. Oh and my life is great outside work.

09-01-2018, 06:30 PM

What a bizarre post! You my friend are what I class as a job snob. Never look down on someone unless you are helping them up!

09-01-2018, 07:01 PM

You're spot on PB. :aok:

09-01-2018, 07:28 PM
Never look down on someone unless you are helping them up!

Nice phrase :top marks

09-01-2018, 07:28 PM

If I had that amount of caffeine I'd literally not get a wink of sleep.

I used to drink about 6 or 7 cups of tea a day and had terrible insomnia for years , couple of years ago cut out all caffeine and although I still don't sleep great its night and day compared to when I was drinking caffeine all day.

09-01-2018, 07:39 PM
One of the chef judges across here lost here recently came out with "arrêtez de me faire bouffer des putain de fleurs"- "stop making me eat f***ing flowers".

I literally laughed my head off.

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

09-01-2018, 09:34 PM
Not going to be popular but...adults who play computer games.

I know it’s a world away from jet set willy but sorry poindexter, that’s basically what it is. ;-)

09-01-2018, 10:29 PM
This relatively recent trend of footballers , managers etc covering their mouth with their hands when they are talking during or after a game. What's that all about.

09-01-2018, 11:42 PM
Not going to be popular but...adults who play computer games.

I know it’s a world away from jet set willy but sorry poindexter, that’s basically what it is. ;-)

Ach lighten up. :greengrin

09-01-2018, 11:43 PM
Folk whose default state is being a pain in the arse. What do they get out of that?

09-01-2018, 11:57 PM
I've only ever worked in an office environment and I concur, If you wernae there nobody would bat an eyelid.

Yet the Police and Fire Services and NHS workers have much higher sickness rates than office workers and seem to manage when people are absent.

10-01-2018, 05:31 AM
Ach lighten up. :greengrin

Given the amount of people in their 30’s and 40’s who have consoles, I’m probably in the minority nowadays. The days of them being for nerds have gone and I can definitely see the appeal but it’s not for me and can’t play one for any more than five minutes.

10-01-2018, 08:39 AM
This relatively recent trend of footballers , managers etc covering their mouth with their hands when they are talking during or after a game. What's that all about.

That's about stopping lip readers finding out tactics or learning their insults 😁

10-01-2018, 08:41 AM
Folk whose default state is being a pain in the arse. What do they get out of that?

Attention?

Some sort of feeling of power?

10-01-2018, 10:18 AM
That's about stopping lip readers finding out tactics or learning their insults 😁

First time I saw it was in American Baseball. Apparently, at one time a team had a lip reader watch the tv screen and somehow passed on the oppositions intentions to his team.

10-01-2018, 12:48 PM
Attention?

Some sort of feeling of power?

Probably/possibly. I wonder if they ever realise how much more attention and power you can get by not being a pain in the arse though.

The Pointer
10-01-2018, 08:46 PM
People who think that "dance music" is a recent phenomenon.

My head literally exploded whern I heard a programme a couple of years ago celebrating "20 years of dance music".

They've never listened to Robbie Shepherd/Gary Innes? Whit!

The Pointer
10-01-2018, 08:57 PM

Fortunately these people enjoy the jobs I find utterly boring (and in the Council I don't know wtf most of them do, but anyhow...). It means I can get on with the stuff I like doing thereby presumably contributing to the amount of stuff they prefer doing.

11-01-2018, 12:08 AM
"Things you don't get"

I don't get newspapers anymore. Nuff said. :coffee:

11-01-2018, 06:45 AM
Peoole who look for a negative in a postive story.

Example, Joe Bloggs donates £1m to sick childs fund.

"It means nothing to him, only doing it for publicity, he has loads of money blah blah blah

11-01-2018, 07:02 AM
This could be a long list, but then, as a coffee-drinking, backpack wearing, video-game playing young adult, clearly I'm going to be wrong :greengrin

Game of Thrones - I'm a big fantasy fan, and GoT is derivative garbage. It's written by a guy who continually writes himself into corners, leaving the only option to be killing off characters.

On trains or public transport - people who sit right beside you when there are plenty of available seats.

Indie, pop, RnB or dance music. Seriously, what's the appeal?

On the music theme, yobcasting - why are you playing it through your bloody phone speakers? Put some ****ing headphones in.

Vodka.

People who look for conspiracy everywhere.

People who like Christmas music.

People who like Abba.

Racing as a spectator sport - why do people pay exorbitant ticket prices to go to F1 and the like? You sit in the one spot and things occasionally whizz past you...you see much more of it on the tele.

Tech addicts, particularly those that worship at the altar of Apple. Who actually wants to queue in the cold overnight to spend £1k on a new phone, and why?!

People who live every aspect of their lives through social media - social media can be a force for good, but it's increasingly becoming a bothersome thing for me (especially Facebook). I use Twitter for professional purposes, and my 'network' is very good (and very much a bit of an echo chamber, as anyone who follows me will know). But Facebook is a God-awful outlet for many folk to post every aspect of their, or their families lives on. Especially the drama. Dear God, the drama...

11-01-2018, 08:42 AM
This could be a long list, but then, as a coffee-drinking, backpack wearing, video-game playing young adult, clearly I'm going to be wrong :greengrin

Obviously there's going to be some idiosyncratic, personal choices on here that don't make sense to some, but I had to do a double take at the poster who said he didn't get 'backpacks' :faf: I mean, what's not to get? It's a bag you can carry that allows you to use your arms for doing other stuff! What's not to like?

11-01-2018, 08:50 AM
I'd also like to add, people who go for a walk in the country, clean up after their dogs, put it in a wee black bag and.... Hang it from a tree branch :rolleyes:

11-01-2018, 09:42 AM
Peoole who look for a negative in a postive story.

Example, Joe Bloggs donates £1m to sick childs fund.

"It means nothing to him, only doing it for publicity, he has loads of money blah blah blah

Yes, this is good.

If someone famous decides to use their fame to support, and publicise, a worthy cause, they're almost always criticised for doing so.

If Bob Geldof and Midge Ure hadn't got off their backsides and created Live Aid, it may never have been brought to the world's attention.

But , Geldof in particular, was slated for self interest. :bitchy:

That's probably more of a peeve than a "don't get", when I think about it, because I think the reason people criticise is guilt and jealousy.

11-01-2018, 10:00 AM
Obviously there's going to be some idiosyncratic, personal choices on here that don't make sense to some, but I had to do a double take at the poster who said he didn't get 'backpacks' :faf: I mean, what's not to get? It's a bag you can carry that allows you to use your arms for doing other stuff! What's not to like?

Its probably getting smacked on the back of the head by folk wearing a backpack that are seemingly oblivious to their surroundings (particularly whilst using public transport) that the poster doesnae get, he makes a valid point.

11-01-2018, 10:10 AM
Its probably getting smacked on the back of the head by folk wearing a backpack that are seemingly oblivious to their surroundings (particularly whilst using public transport) that the poster doesnae get, he makes a valid point.

A huge backpack on public transport, granted :agree:

11-01-2018, 10:22 AM
I'd also like to add, people who go for a walk in the country, clean up after their dogs, put it in a wee black bag and.... Hang it from a tree branch :rolleyes:

Ah yes,, the toly tree. How we love to see them in blossom.

11-01-2018, 10:55 AM
Perhaps I should have been clearer, I'm not talking about people travelling or hiking etc I was taking about people who have them every day. What do you need that requires a backpack all the time. Keys wallet, phone, maybe a packed lunch. Other than that I don't get! And yes the public transport backpack people are a pain.

11-01-2018, 10:55 AM
You wouldn’t believe how many people who try and jump into the taxi with these massive backpacks still on. They duck their head down and move forward, but the backpack can’t duck and hits the top of the door, leaving them on their arse in the back of the taxi.

11-01-2018, 11:08 AM
Perhaps I should have been clearer, I'm not talking about people travelling or hiking etc I was taking about people who have them every day. What do you need that requires a backpack all the time. Keys wallet, phone, maybe a packed lunch. Other than that I don't get! And yes the public transport backpack people are a pain.

Some of them look as if they're going on a spacewalk.
I wish :greengrin

11-01-2018, 11:21 AM
Eyebrows that 90% of females seem to think look good now days.

Those god awful trainers that kids are kicking about it, hurrachas I think there called and any imitation of them.

Vegans.

Reality t.v shows like madei n chelsea, Geordie Shore etc.

Lip fillers, or whatever they are called. I am seeing more and more young girls with faces that look terrible due to plumped up lips.

The beard craze.

Man buns/Top Knots

11-01-2018, 11:36 AM
Eyebrows that 90% of females seem to think look good now days.

Those god awful trainers that kids are kicking about it, hurrachas I think there called and any imitation of them.

Vegans.

Reality t.v shows like madei n chelsea, Geordie Shore etc.

Lip fillers, or whatever they are called. I am seeing more and more young girls with faces that look terrible due to plumped up lips.

The beard craze.

Man buns/Top Knots
steady now mate. :greengrin

11-01-2018, 11:37 AM

My laptop.

11-01-2018, 11:43 AM
steady now mate. :greengrin

:faf: :faf: yours is acceptable mate, im talking about those ZZ top efforts or ones a bird could made a nest in

11-01-2018, 11:48 AM
Bodywarmers, gilets etc.

Why would you not want sleeves, it's just weird?

11-01-2018, 11:52 AM
I use Twitter for professional purposes, and my 'network' is very good

Mate you follow me, that's neither professional or good :greengrin

11-01-2018, 12:02 PM
:faf: :faf: yours is acceptable mate, im talking about those ZZ top efforts or ones a bird could made a nest in
Good man :greengrin.

11-01-2018, 12:10 PM

I have mine most work days - laptop, charger, notepads, work phone, lunch, sometimes sports clothes if I'm doing something after work.

11-01-2018, 01:30 PM
Mate you follow me, that's neither professional or good :greengrin

You don't tweet enough to be a nuisance to me though :greengrin

11-01-2018, 01:34 PM
You don't tweet enough to be a nuisance to me though :greengrin

Sounds like a challenge!

hibs#1
11-01-2018, 01:57 PM
Bodywarmers, gilets etc.

I've worked mostly outside,and much prefer a bodywarmer keeps you warm with still the a bit mobility don't like too big jackets.

11-01-2018, 05:48 PM
Bodywarmers, gilets etc.

A bodywarmer is the only thing I can get my son to wear in the winter, he hates big padded jackets etc and would rather go to school with no jacket at all! A bodywarmer is our compromise :greengrin

11-01-2018, 06:11 PM
Given the amount of people in their 30’s and 40’s who have consoles, I’m probably in the minority nowadays. The days of them being for nerds have gone and I can definitely see the appeal but it’s not for me and can’t play one for any more than five minutes.

For me whilst I can get right into a FIFA night with my mates or similar (I mean physically in the same room, beers etc) the appeal of online gaming is a mystery to me. Sitting in a darkened room like a ****ing teenager playing randoms 14 year old lads from across the globe most of whom rarely see the light of day and caring to an extreme degree about levels and XPs etc etc etc.

Weird IMO.

11-01-2018, 06:38 PM
Sounds like a challenge!

Does twitter have a :hyper equivalent?

11-01-2018, 06:46 PM
I’m sure I’ll be in the minority with this one but I don’t get why people have such a problem with folk peeing in public places...... if they do it discreetly?!

There was a story in the paper the other week with a guy wanting a run cancelled as some runners were having to go to the toilet in the park, would this guy rather they pissed themselves? Same happened to me before hampden when we won the cup, I had a long walk between the bowling club and the ground and found myself bursting on a piss so I found a bit waste ground, went to the corner and took a piss behind a bush, one of the local residents saw me and went daft, With no public toilets near by wtf was I meant to do? I’d rather go to a toilet as well but sometimes needs must!

hibs#1
11-01-2018, 08:27 PM
I’m sure I’ll be in the minority with this one but I don’t get why people have such a problem with folk peeing in public places...... if they do it discreetly?!

There was a story in the paper the other week with a guy wanting a run cancelled as some runners were having to go to the toilet in the park, would this guy rather they pissed themselves? Same happened to me before hampden when we won the cup, I had a long walk between the bowling club and the ground and found myself bursting on a piss so I found a bit waste ground, went to the corner and took a piss behind a bush, one of the local residents saw me and went daft, With no public toilets near by wtf was I meant to do? I’d rather go to a toilet as well but sometimes needs must!

I agree with you key word being discreet. I've pee'd all over the place,with work and nights out.

andybev1
11-01-2018, 10:44 PM
Expensive things that don't last. Washing machines, computers, fridges, TV, dishwashers. People know how to make components that last, so why do we tolerate having to replace this assembly line rubbish and get a new one shipped from Guangdong every three years?

Inbuilt obsolesence - Started with light bulbs I think. Things are deliberately built with weaker metals etc. interesting and infuriating at the same time.

andybev1
11-01-2018, 11:51 PM

This. drives me mad.

11-01-2018, 11:54 PM
This. drives me mad.

This :agree:

12-01-2018, 05:45 AM
I agree with you key word being discreet. I've pee'd all over the place,with work and nights out.

Sounds like the key word is aim. :-)

12-01-2018, 06:13 AM

Agreed, on route home to my old house I had a pre planned discreet pee stop as often required after night out. :-)

Jay
12-01-2018, 07:02 AM

Do the same as women..pee before you leave anywhere and know where the nearest toilet is at all times! Its not okay to pee in the streets its just not. Can you imagine the smell in those residential areas. Id go nuts too.

12-01-2018, 07:11 AM
Do the same as women..pee before you leave anywhere and know where the nearest toilet is at all times! Its not okay to pee in the streets its just not. Can you imagine the smell in those residential areas. Id go nuts too.

I agree with this - however I have also done it. But I can certainly see why folk go daft about it.

12-01-2018, 07:15 AM
Cups of tea. Folk in my work come in and spend the first 15-20 mins of the day getting "settled in" and in the kitchen making a cup of tea because they couldn't possibly start working without one apparently. They then proceed to make another one on an hourly basis throughout the course of the day, probably spending around 15% of their working day in the kitchen making them. Some folk will even turn up late for meetings and happily tell Chief Executives etc "sorry, had to go make a cup of tea". It seems to have became an accepted form of skiving.

12-01-2018, 07:20 AM

I don't understand why people think peeing in the street should be acceptable. Either get your mates to treat you like a child and make sure you've went before you leave each place, or start wearing diapers.

12-01-2018, 08:53 AM
Peeing in public isn't against the law for the sake of having a law.

If you get caught, you'll be prosecuted for"Public Nuisance", which is what it is.

It's not fair to expect people to put up with the mess and the smell.

I'm sure the lawyers/courts/judges etc would love to argue about where it was and wasn't acceptable to pee in public. The amount of legislation that would require would make a lot of rich people even richer.

12-01-2018, 09:15 AM

I do!!!

I’m maybe a bad example as I’ve genuinely got a terrible bladder and been to the doctors about it but even if I didn’t, once the seal is broken, so to speak, it’s very difficult to control.

I’m not talking about doing it on a street, or in someone’s stairway as that is clearly out of line. I’m talking about going behind a bush, a tree or down a lane that’s not used.

12-01-2018, 09:21 AM
I do!!!

I’m maybe a bad example as I’ve genuinely got a terrible bladder and been to the doctors about it but even if I didn’t, once the seal is broken, so to speak, it’s very difficult to control.

I’m not talking about doing it on a street, or in someone’s stairway as that is clearly out of line. I’m talking about going behind a bush, a tree or down a lane that’s not used.

A decent percentage of the female population have their peeing mechanism wrecked by childbirth: they don't pee on the street / behind bushes / down lanes. They understand their limitations, and adapt their behaviour. Try wine or shorts instead of pints, and plan your route. :greengrin

12-01-2018, 09:24 AM
A bodywarmer is the only thing I can get my son to wear in the winter, he hates big padded jackets etc and would rather go to school with no jacket at all! A bodywarmer is our compromise :greengrin

My younger son (17) won't go out in anything but a hoody even at below zero temps. This seems to be the norm for his age group - I don't get that either. :confused:

12-01-2018, 10:21 AM
Cups of tea. Folk in my work come in and spend the first 15-20 mins of the day getting "settled in" and in the kitchen making a cup of tea because they couldn't possibly start working without one apparently. They then proceed to make another one on an hourly basis throughout the course of the day, probably spending around 15% of their working day in the kitchen making them. Some folk will even turn up late for meetings and happily tell Chief Executives etc "sorry, had to go make a cup of tea". It seems to have became an accepted form of skiving.

I find the coffee drinkers are even worse re. this type of behaviour.
(I'll leave smokers out of this because they're getting a hard enough time as it is). :wink:

Jay
12-01-2018, 10:22 AM
I do!!!

Dont you talk to me about bladders Mr Bingo! Ive had four kids!! Pee in the pan man!!:greengrin

12-01-2018, 10:32 AM
Dont you talk to me about bladders Mr Bingo! Ive had four kids!! Pee in the pan man!!:greengrin

Gardyloo!!!!!!! :singing:

Jay
12-01-2018, 10:43 AM
Gardyloo!!!!!!! :singing:

:tee hee::tee hee::tee hee:

12-01-2018, 01:55 PM
Does twitter have a :hyper equivalent?

I don't know Sylar is going to find out :greengrin

12-01-2018, 04:24 PM
Separate hot and cold taps where the hot water is like lava and the cold is like liquid helium. Why do toilets in the UK still install these things?

Johnny Clash
12-01-2018, 05:02 PM
I don’t get the fact that most our bathrooms do not have a bidet!

12-01-2018, 06:01 PM
Separate hot and cold taps where the hot water is like lava and the cold is like liquid helium. Why do toilets in the UK still install these things?
Funnily enough I’m looking to get a new bathroom fitted and almost all of them seem to have separate taps.

12-01-2018, 08:59 PM

I blame the smoking ban, skivers gonna skive.

13-01-2018, 08:23 PM

sorry cant agree with your fist part, i got a skelp every now and again and i didnt grow up thinking smacking was or is ok, in fact i have never and would never raise a hand to my kids so agree with your second part, usually the look is enough to let them know!!

13-01-2018, 10:47 PM
I don't get people thinking that giving up alcohol for a while is a "waste of time". :wink:

SuperAllyMcleod
13-01-2018, 10:51 PM
I'll field this one.

All fair enough but I don’t get the hype around the Ashes. It’s a tournament that only has two possible winners!

What is it about the English and their love of sporting events with only two teams - The Boat Race is another one!

I have to say that I don’t get F1 - it’s a sport where you need to be a millionaire before you can take it up seriously and even after that it seems to come down to who has the best car. It may be interesting if the drivers were randomly allocated cars before each race, we would then find out who the best driver was.

13-01-2018, 10:57 PM
Brand driven follow the crowd non individuals.

13-01-2018, 11:01 PM
All fair enough but I don’t get the hype around the Ashes. It’s a tournament that only has two possible winners!

What is it about the English and their love of sporting events with only two teams - The Boat Race is another one!

I have to say that I don’t get F1 - it’s a sport where you need to be a millionaire before you can take it up seriously and even after that it seems to come down to who has the best car. It may be interesting if the drivers were randomly allocated cars before each race, we would then find out who the best driver was.

I don't get F1 either.

14-01-2018, 12:01 AM
sorry cant agree with your fist part, i got a skelp every now and again and i didnt grow up thinking smacking was or is ok, in fact i have never and would never raise a hand to my kids so agree with your second part, usually the look is enough to let them know!!

It's not so much the fact that smacking kids will mean that they smack their kids that I meant, it's more that kids learn from smacking that violence is an acceptable way confirm authority or win an argument. When you hit a kid to make a point then that is the natural conclusion that the kid will learn.

14-01-2018, 07:11 AM
It's not so much the fact that smacking kids will mean that they smack their kids that I meant, it's more that kids learn from smacking that violence is an acceptable way confirm authority or win an argument. When you hit a kid to make a point then that is the natural conclusion that the kid will learn.

Nah not having that at all. If you were to constantly beat a kid with no other form of parenting involved you may have a point. But to suggest that a child who is occasionally smacked whilst also being chastised and brought up in a proper manner by caring and loving parents will learn tbe natural conclusion of violence is to confirm authority or win an argument is total nonsense.

14-01-2018, 08:52 AM

I’ve seen parents who give it the “I don’t agree with hitting kids” line being hit/kicked/slapped by their kid when they’re having a tantrum.

Where do you reckon they leaned that?

14-01-2018, 09:12 AM
Brand driven follow the crowd non individuals.

Feeling dismissive about millions of people yesterday, were we? :hilarious

14-01-2018, 09:36 AM
Feeling dismissive about millions of people yesterday, were we? :hilarious

Not just yesterday, every day!

14-01-2018, 09:59 AM

I don't get F1 either.

I'm not a massive fan of F1, but I do "get it".

I went to Silverstone in 1987 when Nigel Mansell caught Nelson Piquet with only a couple of laps to go, having been over 30 seconds behind.

There were loudspeakers around the track and the commentator kept the crowd informed as to how far behind Mansell was. It was a while ago so my memory may not be 100%accurate, but this is how I recall it;

30 seconds became 28. 28 became 26 and so on until he was about 10 seconds behind. Every couple of laps the commentator screamed that it was another lap record. It was amazing driving.

The next thing though, although the previous gap had been 10 seconds, was the 2 of them flying down the straight in front of us and Mansell was right up Piquet's exhaust. He'd caught up a huge gap!

We were watching on Hanger Straight, just before Stowe corner and the Mansell tricked Piquet into blocking to his left, then overtook on the inside. It was so exciting. The overtaking manoeve happened right in front of us. The noise that went up from the stands was deafening.

The noise of the cars, the smell of the high octane fuel, the speed. The speed is incredible.

And that's just the races. The whole experience is exciting. From the vast car parks accommodating every model of car you can think of, from Fiat Stradas ( in our case) to rare Ferraris, Lamborghinis and the rest.

The F1 village itself is an adult playground. All sorts of stalls, exhibitions, food and drink. I remember these tall, gorgeousMarlborough models in red jump suits wandering around handing out free cigs and lighters.

It was a very enjoyable experience and I wouldn't hesitate to go again, although I'm not sleeping in the car this time!!

Is it expensive? Yes, but not that much more than other world sporting events.

For example, if you want a 3 day weekend ticket for the Open at Carnoustie next July, you'll pay up to £165.

A general admission weekend ticket at Silverstone costs £185.

It's also a myth that the car wins the race and not the driver, but that's for another forum.

14-01-2018, 10:00 AM
Not just yesterday, every day!

Mr Scouse, meet Mr Trump...

14-01-2018, 10:03 AM
I don't get people thinking that giving up alcohol for a while is a "waste of time". :wink:Maybe they think it's a waste of drinking time?

14-01-2018, 10:04 AM
I'm not a massive fan of F1, but I do "get it".

I went to Silverstone in 1987 when Nigel Mansell caught Nelson Piquet with only a couple of laps to go, having been over 30 seconds behind.

There were loudspeakers around the track and the commentator kept the crowd informed as to how far behind Mansell was. It was a while ago so my memory may not be 100%accurate, but this is how I recall it;

30 seconds became 28. 28 became 26 and so on until he was about 10 seconds behind. Every couple of laps the commentator screamed that it was another lap record. It was amazing driving.

The next thing though, although the previous gap had been 10 seconds, was the 2 of them flying down the straight in front of us and Mansell was right up Piquet's exhaust. He'd caught up a huge gap!

We were watching on Hanger Straight, just before Stowe corner and the Mansell tricked Piquet into blocking to his left, then overtook on the inside. It was so exciting. The overtaking manoeve happened right in front of us. The noise that went up from the stands was deafening.

The noise of the cars, the smell of the high octane fuel, the speed. The speed is incredible.

And that's just the races. The whole experience is exciting. From the vast car parks accommodating every model of car you can think of, from Fiat Stradas ( in our case) to rare Ferraris, Lamborghinis and the rest.

The F1 village itself is an adult playground. All sorts of stalls, exhibitions, food and drink. I remember these tall, gorgeousMarlborough models in red jump suits wandering around handing out free cigs and lighters.

It was a very enjoyable experience and I wouldn't hesitate to go again, although I'm not sleeping in the car this time!!

Is it expensive? Yes, but not that much more than other world sporting events.

For example, if you want a 3 day weekend ticket for the Open at Carnoustie next July, you'll pay up to £165.

A weekend ticket at Silverstone costs £185.

It's also a myth that the car wins the race and not the driver, but that's for another forum.

Good account and explanation :aok:

14-01-2018, 10:34 AM
Good account and explanation :aok:

Thanks.

I found this account of the race. My version wasn't too far from the actuality.

Mansell was 28 seconds behind with 29 laps to go after a tyre change. He was also running on fumes. Astonishing.

https://www.f1fanatic.co.uk/2012/07/12/1987-british-grand-prix-flashback/

14-01-2018, 11:32 AM
Nah not having that at all. If you were to constantly beat a kid with no other form of parenting involved you may have a point. But to suggest that a child who is occasionally smacked whilst also being chastised and brought up in a proper manner by caring and loving parents will learn tbe natural conclusion of violence is to confirm authority or win an argument is total nonsense.

It's not me suggesting it though. There have been many scientific peer reviewed studies that prove smacking is detrimental to children's social and personal development. Children who have experienced corporal punishment from parents as a form of discipline are much more likely to themselves become bullies or develop criminal tendencies. The concept that spanking children is ok providing that the child is otherwise treated well in a loving family has also been disproved in several studies carried out in different cultures and all with the same findings, kids who are smacked are more likely to develop problems with self-esteem and social competency. Smacking is a quick fix but can have long term repercussions.

14-01-2018, 11:38 AM
I’ve seen parents who give it the “I don’t agree with hitting kids” line being hit/kicked/slapped by their kid when they’re having a tantrum.

Where do you reckon they leaned that?

I've seen parents who smack their kids being hit/kicked/slapped by their kids when having a tantrum. All that smacking a kid for showing violet behaviour does is reinforce that violence is an acceptable form of behaviour.

14-01-2018, 11:45 AM
I've seen parents who smack their kids being hit/kicked/slapped by their kids when having a tantrum. All that smacking a kid for showing violet behaviour does is reinforce that violence is an acceptable form of behaviour.

It would be interesting to find a study which compared the number of people who think hitting a child is acceptable who were punished that way themselves compared to those who were not.

(Apologies for the grammar, I hope you understand what I mean).

I would be surprised if the vast majority of those who defend hitting children, had not been hit by their own parents/ guardians.

14-01-2018, 12:23 PM
It's not me suggesting it though. There have been many scientific peer reviewed studies that prove smacking is detrimental to children's social and personal development. Children who have experienced corporal punishment from parents as a form of discipline are much more likely to themselves become bullies or develop criminal tendencies. The concept that spanking children is ok providing that the child is otherwise treated well in a loving family has also been disproved in several studies carried out in different cultures and all with the same findings, kids who are smacked are more likely to develop problems with self-esteem and social competency. Smacking is a quick fix but can have long term repercussions.

And yet many thousands or probably millions suffer no detrimental affect what so ever. Similarily children who were brought up in the era's when smacking as a form of discipline was maybe more prevalent seem on tbe whole to be a whole lot more respectful to authority as opposed to the 'kids' running around and literally 'running' neighbourhoods these days? Seems that way to me anyway.

14-01-2018, 12:32 PM
It would be interesting to find a study which compared the number of people who think hitting a child is acceptable who were punished that way themselves compared to those who were not.

(Apologies for the grammar, I hope you understand what I mean).

I would be surprised if the vast majority of those who defend hitting children, had not been hit by their own parents/ guardians.

It's a well established fact that violence breeds violence and I wouldn't be surprised if there are studies out there confirming your suspicion. I've noticed in some studies it's often mentioned that some people are reluctant to condemn smacking children because it would be a kind of admission that their own parents mistreated them.

14-01-2018, 12:40 PM
It's a well established fact that violence breeds violence and I wouldn't be surprised if there are studies out there confirming your suspicion. I've noticed in some studies it's often mentioned that some people are reluctant to condemn smacking children because it would be a kind of admission that their own parents mistreated them.

I would imagine that you're correct.

In hindsight, this would be a good subject for the Holy Ground ...

14-01-2018, 12:44 PM
And yet many thousands or probably millions suffer no detrimental affect what so ever. Similarily children who were brought up in the era's when smacking as a form of discipline was maybe more prevalent seem on tbe whole to be a whole lot more respectful to authority as opposed to the 'kids' running around and literally 'running' neighbourhoods these days? Seems that way to me anyway.

Elders perceiving that the younger generation show less respect than previous generations is as old as time itself and true in the sense that older people tend to have fully matured and are much more at ease with their social competencies. It's much more an age thing than a generation thing.

Whose to say that those kids "running neighbourhoods" haven't lost their respect towards society because they've been shown little or no respect from society? Most studies concur that antisocial behaviour is more likely to be a result of corporal punishment and none (0) have shown that corporal punishment has long term benefits on behaviour.

14-01-2018, 12:59 PM
Elders perceiving that the younger generation show less respect than previous generations is as old as time itself and true in the sense that older people tend to have fully matured and are much more at ease with their social competencies. It's much more an age thing than a generation thing.

Whose to say that those kids "running neighbourhoods" haven't lost their respect towards society because they've been shown little or no respect from society? Most studies concur that antisocial behaviour is more likely to be a result of corporal punishment and none (0) have shown that corporal punishment has long term benefits on behaviour.

I don't thinks it's perception at all, it's fact. You only have to look at the way younsters respond to authority (a police officer) these days compared to 20 years ago. Studies are one thing, actually living through different generations and experiencing life as it really is are another. I know which one really tells the true story as experienced.

Studies are like stats, you can use them in various contexts to give various meanings, I take my views from real life experiences across differing social spectrums.

14-01-2018, 01:25 PM
I don't thinks it's perception at all, it's fact. You only have to look at the way younsters respond to authority (a police officer) these days compared to 20 years ago. Studies are one thing, actually living through different generations and experiencing life as it really is are another. I know which one really tells the true story as experienced.

Studies are like stats, you can use them in various contexts to give various meanings, I take my views from real life experiences across differing social spectrums.

Funny thing personal experience. My experience tells me that things were worse 20 years ago and even worse 30 or 40 years ago. Niddrie, Greendykes, Wester Hails, Sighthill and many other areas of Edinburgh were rough as **** back in the day.

Personal experience is always subjective and depending on so many unaccountable factors that it's useless as a measuring stick when drawing comparisons. Scientific studies are objective and much more likely to give a better picture of the real situation.

14-01-2018, 01:46 PM
Funny thing personal experience. My experience tells me that things were worse 20 years ago and even worse 30 or 40 years ago. Niddrie, Greendykes, Wester Hails, Sighthill and many other areas of Edinburgh were rough as **** back in the day.

Personal experience is always subjective and depending on so many unaccountable factors that it's useless as a measuring stick when drawing comparisons. Scientific studies are objective and much more likely to give a better picture of the real situation.

Personal experience is useless as a measuring stick!

There is where we will have to draw this conversation to an end I'm afraid and agree to disagree. Otherwise I may come to the conclusion that I have wasted 50 years of my life.

Cheers for the chat though, you raise many interesting points.

14-01-2018, 01:57 PM
Cheers for the chat though, you raise many interesting points.

Likewise Scouse, would be a boring forum if we always agreed.

14-01-2018, 02:06 PM
Likewise Scouse, would be a boring forum if we always agreed.

Rubbish!

14-01-2018, 02:25 PM
Rubbish!

:grr: :greengrin

14-01-2018, 02:53 PM
:grr: :greengrin

Is this gonna be a 5 or a 10 minute argument?
Mr Cleese would like to know. :wink:

18-01-2018, 12:00 PM
The techno music thread. I naively thought there would be music in the links posted, it's just noise. Where's the guitars? :greengrin:duck:

18-01-2018, 12:35 PM
I'll field this one.

Absolutely. Once I started to understand the game, it took hold and has never let me go. I too can watch T20 and 50-over games, but only as a quick fix between the real thing - test matches.

I once tried to watch Aussie Rules, though. Whisky Tango Foxtrot? :confused:

18-01-2018, 04:29 PM
Nandos. Overrated and overpriced *****.

18-01-2018, 05:06 PM
My car's bigger than your car. :na na:

:wtf:

18-01-2018, 05:07 PM
Decent chips. Are they a thing of the past?

18-01-2018, 06:37 PM
Burgers you can't pick up and eat without eating the tower of toppings.

18-01-2018, 06:44 PM

In a chippy probably. Since they switched from fat to oil it's far harder to get the temperature required to make a decent chip.

18-01-2018, 07:40 PM

Bring back beef dripping

22-01-2018, 11:01 AM
People that cant accept something costs what it costs, and try to negotiate and haggle over prices like they're in a bazaar somewhere. I blame The Apprentice TV show, where the competitors all seem to be encouraged to haggle at every possible opportunity.

22-01-2018, 11:19 AM
People that cant accept something costs what it costs, and try to negotiate and haggle over prices like they're in a bazaar somewhere. I blame The Apprentice TV show, where the competitors all seem to be encouraged to haggle at every possible opportunity.

Likewise the need to add a tip to everything for no obvious reason.
If the job is done as quoted then that's the price. Different if some extra work was done free gratis, then, okay, throw in a couple of quid more.

22-01-2018, 11:33 AM
My car's bigger than your car. :na na:

:wtf:

Cars are such a bore.

22-01-2018, 04:31 PM

A mate of mine is notorious for this. On my stag do he even tried to negotiate the price of shots down and succeeded. I bet if I tried that I'd fail.

23-01-2018, 11:49 AM
Donuts and cup cakes
Playing FIFA on games consoles (been p1sh since pro ev was the main game about 10 years ago).
Prosecco
Starting the majority of social media posts with "when..." (okay that's more of a peeve)
People's fascination with Royal Weddings and Babies (Especially those that are otherwise not into the Royal Family!.. "what dress do you think she'll wear, what will they call it etc etc **** off!!)
Leaving the label on baseball caps is now the fashion?
Tonic water - it's honking
Tea & Coffee
IPA and fruity-tasting beers (I want my lager to taste like lager.. not apricots)
Drinking games - they're *****, not amusing, and don't make me drink any quicker than I would be if I was just sitting having a laugh and a drink.
Formula 1
Bull-ring type piercings on women