View Full Version : Things you don't get.

Pages : 1 [2] 3

23-01-2018, 12:17 PM
Donuts and cup cakes
Playing FIFA on games consoles (been p1sh since pro ev was the main game about 10 years ago).
Prosecco
Starting the majority of social media posts with "when..." (okay that's more of a peeve)
People's fascination with Royal Weddings and Babies (Especially those that are otherwise not into the Royal Family!.. "what dress do you think she'll wear, what will they call it etc etc **** off!!)
Leaving the label on baseball caps is now the fashion?
Tonic water - it's honking
Tea & Coffee
IPA and fruity-tasting beers (I want my lager to taste like lager.. not apricots)
Drinking games - they're *****, not amusing, and don't make me drink any quicker than I would be if I was just sitting having a laugh and a drink.
Formula 1
Bull-ring type piercings on women

FFS. You seriously need to get some stress relief.

23-01-2018, 03:28 PM
People that cant accept something costs what it costs, and try to negotiate and haggle over prices like they're in a bazaar somewhere. I blame The Apprentice TV show, where the competitors all seem to be encouraged to haggle at every possible opportunity.

Surely you"get" people wanting to save money?

I've saved loads by asking for a better price and playing one provider against another.

23-01-2018, 03:36 PM
Surely you"get" people wanting to save money?

I've saved loads by asking for a better price and playing one provider against another.

It depends on the product or service. But if you've advertised something at a certain price, done the work to complete satisfaction, the client agreed the terms and proce before you got underway etc etc, and then the client starts haggling:rolleyes: I just get this feeling of dread and 'oh why did i bother putting my effort into doing great work for this person'. Its all about respect and appreciation for someone's labour. If you're in a flea market on holiday, I get that's acceptable. But i never feel comfortable doing it even then, to be honest.

23-01-2018, 04:04 PM
It depends on the product or service. But if you've advertised something at a certain price, done the work to complete satisfaction, the client agreed the terms and proce before you got underway etc etc, and then the client starts haggling:rolleyes: I just get this feeling of dread and 'oh why did i bother putting my effort into doing great work for this person'. Its all about respect and appreciation for someone's labour. If you're in a flea market on holiday, I get that's acceptable. But i never feel comfortable doing it even then, to be honest.

I understand and no, I'd never haggle an agreed price. I'll ask for estimates and I'll pay whichever price I take.

I will ask for the price to be sharpened if I'm buying stuff like hi-fi equipment, furniture, luxury goods, cars and more.

I even managed to save several hundred off my house sale fees by playing a cheaper estate agent (Mov8, I think) off against my preferred one, Neilsons. Same with Pickford's removals.

Strangely enough, I don't like haggling for ordinary stuff when I'm abroad even though it's expected.

23-01-2018, 09:59 PM
I understand and no, I'd never haggle an agreed price. I'll ask for estimates and I'll pay whichever price I take.

I will ask for the price to be sharpened if I'm buying stuff like hi-fi equipment, furniture, luxury goods, cars and more.

I even managed to save several hundred off my house sale fees by playing a cheaper estate agent (Mov8, I think) off against my preferred one, Neilsons. Same with Pickford's removals.

Strangely enough, I don't like haggling for ordinary stuff when I'm abroad even though it's expected.

I hate haggling. If I see a shop window advertising articles but with no price then I'll avoid it like the plague.

23-01-2018, 10:14 PM
People who go to concerts then spend the entire time blethering and/or constantly going back and forth to the bar. I came to see the band play, not to spend my evening getting jostled by folk who don’t seem interested. If having a drink is that important, buy the CD and sit in the house/pub, it’s surely cheaper.

Professional athletes who don’t seem to understand how to utilise the benefits in front of them to maximise their ability to perform. People who work in an office don’t knowing and willingly use an old computer as it will detrimentally affect their performance, why do athletes drink/eat crap knowing it will lessen their body’s ability to perform?

24-01-2018, 11:36 AM
FFS. You seriously need to get some stress relief.

There's another thing I don't get (enough of) :greengrin

24-01-2018, 11:03 PM
Just watched an Aussie dude, Sam Simmons on Live at the Apollo, makes Russell Howard out to be a comedy genius. Absolute pish I have to say.

24-01-2018, 11:29 PM
The late John Martyn.
I know there's loads of musicians who love his work (Clappers for one) however, he's not my bag and I don't know why.

24-01-2018, 11:41 PM
The late John Martyn.
I know there's loads of musicians who love his work (Clappers for one) however, he's not my bag and I don't know why.

That really is a sweet little mystery.

24-01-2018, 11:47 PM
That really is a sweet little mystery.

May you never ... find the answer. :wink:

28-01-2018, 07:38 PM
Folk that don't like fish.

28-01-2018, 08:00 PM

Generally? Or as food or pets or as main characters in a film?

28-01-2018, 08:12 PM
Ufc.

patch1875
28-01-2018, 08:16 PM

He was good in Marillion.

28-01-2018, 08:18 PM

To eat.

28-01-2018, 11:41 PM
Those bright verge lights at each end of the Queensferry Crossing. :wtf:

Tornadoes70
29-01-2018, 12:31 AM
Decent chips. Are they a thing of the past?

Most chippies buy in huge bags of ready to fry ones. The secret to crisp on the outside relatively soft inside is to peel in season fresh as you can find them maris pipers. Fry them once for around 4 or 5 minutes and let them rest for an hour or two. After resting fry them again until your personal choice of colour and how well done you like them and they are normally how you remember them from days gone by. Lots of salt and their ready to go. Once a week I'll do this for a treat using my home fryer. The fresher the potato the crisper they'll fry up.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

29-01-2018, 06:31 AM

Cod or haddock I'm fine with but even the smell of just about everything else makes me feel sick.

Jay
29-01-2018, 07:41 AM

Bones

29-01-2018, 07:55 AM

Madame Peeve likes us to have a varied and balanced diet so I'll often eat fish and may sometimes even enjoy it, but I'll rarely choose it in a restaurant.

I generally avoid shellfish (especially things like oysters - that look like they may have come out of someones nose) but will eat the likes of langoustines where at least there's a decent lump of 'meat' to get your teeth around.

29-01-2018, 08:02 AM

Cod or haddock I'm fine with but even the smell of just about everything else makes me feel sick.

this.
https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/experts-how-does-sight-smell-affect-taste/

Its no wonder green tomato ketchup didn't take off.

29-01-2018, 09:34 AM
Me too. I can eat fish and chips, but anything else gives me the boak. I find it quite annoying as when I’m watching chefs on tv cooking it, I often thing it looks delicious.

29-01-2018, 10:55 AM
I don't like anything that's smoked.
I gave up smoking years ago and can't stand it now so why should I eat stuff that reminds me of it? :wink:

beensaidbefore
29-01-2018, 11:54 AM
Me too. I can eat fish and chips, but anything else gives me the boak. I find it quite annoying as when I’m watching chefs on tv cooking it, I often thing it looks delicious.

I was the same until recently. Tried quite a few and nowhere near as fishy as I feared!! Salmon is actually ne of the fishiest I found.

Try sole or seabass really quite nice.

29-01-2018, 11:56 AM
I was the same until recently. Tried quite a few and nowhere near as fishy as I feared!! Salmon is actually ne of the fishiest I found.

Try sole or seabass really quite nice.

Farmed salmon is the pishiest - turns my stomach.

29-01-2018, 04:01 PM
I don't get how it's called 'progress' to stop using a light bulb that lights up instantly to one that takes several minutes to light up.
:crazy: (and stuff this 'saving the environment' bollocks, btw)

Stick
29-01-2018, 08:54 PM

I was the same years ago, but love all fish now.
Try starting with swordfish as this isn't "fishy", at all. Taste and texture very like pork.
Then move onto Marlin which again is more like pork or lamb. Then tuna steak,(not tinned) cooked with lemon grass in oven.
Shark is like chicken, best from a restaurant as it needs prepared properly.
Fresh ,as in harbour restaurant fresh, sea bass is very slightly fishy similar to chippy cod.
If you still can't stand it by now then give up, or try calamari, which is like onion rings.

29-01-2018, 09:19 PM
If you still can't stand it by now then give up, or try calamari, which is like onion rings.

No. They may look like onion rings but if you,'ve tasted calimari that taste like onion rings you were eating onion rings

Stick
29-01-2018, 09:45 PM
No. They may look like onion rings but if you,'ve tasted calimari that taste like onion rings you were eating onion rings

Yes your right. Was trying for a wee bit of humour to finish off with, should have added a smiley face.
Love calimari and onion rings but not at the same time.

29-01-2018, 10:47 PM

Had calimari in Naples, they'd wiped its bum, squirted some lemon juice on it and then grilled it for 3 seconds on each side before putting it on a plate and looking very similar to how it came out the sea. I had pizza the next evening.

30-01-2018, 06:41 AM
Yes your right. Was trying for a wee bit of humour to finish off with, should have added a smiley face.
Love calimari and onion rings but not at the same time.Not a huge fan after the time I thought they were onion rings... I love the idea of fish it's just that I often see it again later. Some of them I simply cannot tolerate [emoji40]

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

30-01-2018, 07:21 AM
I was the same years ago, but love all fish now.
Try starting with swordfish as this isn't "fishy", at all. Taste and texture very like pork.
Then move onto Marlin which again is more like pork or lamb. Then tuna steak,(not tinned) cooked with lemon grass in oven.
Shark is like chicken, best from a restaurant as it needs prepared properly.
Fresh ,as in harbour restaurant fresh, sea bass is very slightly fishy similar to chippy cod.
Funnily enough I have had swordfish. I tried it in Greece a few years ago. I’ve also had calamari.

30-01-2018, 09:08 AM
I still don't get it.

I love all fish, be it haddock, trout, prawns, mussels, octopus or squid etc etc.

I certainly prefer fish to steak, which is extremely hit or miss, in my experience.

I had sea bass last night. Pan fred skin side down in a little olive oil for 4 minutes, then turned and fried for a further 1 minute.

Simple, easy and delicious. I eat the crispy skin, but Mrs HR leaves hers so I get to pick on it. :drool:

speedy_gonzales
30-01-2018, 09:14 AM
Dunno how it's not been mentioned yet, but this unchecked fashion of wearing shoes with no socks!
Like most fashions, these things are cyclical, I get wearing trainers without socks, sandals (obviously) and espadrilles but leather shoes & brogues?!?
Unlike many fashions though it's not just the kids, grown men with hairy ankles, jeans a couple inches too short and a pair of Louboutin loafers,,,,I just don't get it!

30-01-2018, 11:52 AM
Dunno how it's not been mentioned yet, but this unchecked fashion of wearing shoes with no socks!
Like most fashions, these things are cyclical, I get wearing trainers without socks, sandals (obviously) and espadrilles but leather shoes & brogues?!?
Unlike many fashions though it's not just the kids, grown men with hairy ankles, jeans a couple inches too short and a pair of Louboutin loafers,,,,I just don't get it!

Seconded. What's 'cool' these days is baffling at times. But then again 'poppers' were fashionable at one time too... and I got that.. at the time.

30-01-2018, 12:01 PM
Another good mystery.

People who refuse to even try a bit of things to see if they like them or not.

Things that millions of people eat or drink every day, because they're enjoyable.

Try a bit gherkin. Oh no.

Olive? Oh no.

A mussel? Oh no.

Some crab meat? Oh no.

FFS!

What's the worst that could happen?

30-01-2018, 12:09 PM
Another good mystery.

Things that millions of people eat or drink every day, because they're enjoyable.

Olive? Oh no.

A mussel? Oh no.

Some crab meat? Oh no.

FFS!

Olive might have you arrested for harassment? :dunno:

30-01-2018, 12:14 PM
Everyone apart from me seems to like their bacon well-done and crispy.

Much prefer my roll full of big soft bacon :agree:

30-01-2018, 12:41 PM
Another good mystery.

Olive? Oh no.

A mussel? Oh no.

Some crab meat? Oh no.

FFS!

I have a policy of always giving something a try at least once. What’s handy is if someone orders something you’ve not tried before. You can have a taste and see if you like it.

30-01-2018, 01:43 PM

I'm exactly the same. Crispy bacon is pish.

30-01-2018, 01:49 PM
I have a policy of always giving something a try at least once. What’s handy is if someone orders something you’ve not tried before. You can have a taste and see if you like it.

I'm the same, however if it doesn't pass the sniff test then it's getting nowhere near my tongue.

30-01-2018, 04:42 PM
I'm the same, however if it doesn't pass the sniff test then it's getting nowhere near my tongue.

Thats a good policy to have for a few things! :-)

30-01-2018, 06:17 PM
Another good mystery.

Olive? Oh no.

A mussel? Oh no.

Some crab meat? Oh no.

FFS!

That's what living with Mrs PB is like. She's a bloody nightmare. I do all the cooking in our house and it's like dealing with a 5 year old.

'I don't like that'
Have you tried it'
'No but it looks funny'

I have to hide things or pretend they are something else so she will eat it.

The only food I have refused to at least try as an adult is gooseberries. I had a gooseberry fool as a child and was sick not long after. It may or may not have been that but it put me off them, I tried a gooseberry crumble a few years later and it made me feel like I was about to throw up again. My tastes may have changed but it's pretty much a phobia now.

30-01-2018, 06:51 PM
As a child brought up as a buthers son, I used to eat hearts, kidney and liver regularly and enjoy it. Now I can't stand liver or kidney, hate the taste and texture of liver and the taste of kidney makes me want to puke.

30-01-2018, 08:11 PM

I'm with you there!

I don't get crispy bacon - it looses the good taste all while adding a worse texture.

30-01-2018, 08:14 PM
I'm with you there!

I don't get crispy bacon - it looses the good taste all while adding a worse texture.

My bacon preferences are:

Crispy Streaky

Soft Back Bacon

30-01-2018, 08:15 PM

Crispy Streaky

Soft Back Bacon

I didn't consider different types actually - I very rarely have streaky... There's maybe a crispiness exemption in there though.

Jay
30-01-2018, 08:17 PM
That's what living with Mrs PB is like. She's a bloody nightmare. I do all the cooking in our house and it's like dealing with a 5 year old.

'I don't like that'
Have you tried it'
'No but it looks funny'

The only food I have refused to at least try as an adult is gooseberries. I had a gooseberry fool as a child and was sick not long after. It may or may not have been that but it put me off them, I tried a gooseberry crumble a few years later and it made me feel like I was about to throw up again. My tastes may have changed but it's pretty much a phobia now.

Must be a woman thing. Only difference is that im the cook so i have to hide food from myself. Which i actually do :greengrin

30-01-2018, 08:30 PM
I don't get how/why others don't get that I don't like, or indeed even want to sample, eating something just because they happen to like it.

You like eating mussels?

Fine. Just don't do it anywhere near me. You like eating bogeys? Same applies.

And if you like picking bits of sweet corn out your **** to recycle I will find you repulsive.

In the same way I despise the cretins on I'm a "Celebrity" being feted for eating bugs, eyeballs and testicles.

And YES I would eat a gooseberry - but I wouldn't bore you all with a TV show about it (or harass you if you didn't fancy eating one too).

30-01-2018, 08:33 PM

'I don't like that'
Have you tried it'
'No but it looks funny'

Ironically, given a previous post of mine, I used to be like that with fish.

I had fish in Poland when I was a boy and I was sick as a dog with the result that I couldn't/wouldn't eat anything but tinned tuna for many years.

Eventually I was able to eat "special" fish ( breaded and cooked to order) from the BBQ in Corstorphine, but battered fish still made me queasy.

Now, I love it in any guise. Maybe you'll have a gooseberry renaissance 😁

PS My wife is the same as yours when it comes to experimenting with food. Infuriating.

30-01-2018, 08:35 PM

Crispy Streaky

Soft Back Bacon

Perfect.

30-01-2018, 08:40 PM
I don't get how/why others don't get that I don't like, or indeed even want to sample, eating something just because they happen to like it.

You like eating mussels?

Fine. Just don't do it anywhere near me. You like eating bogeys? Same applies.

And if you like picking bits of sweet corn out your **** to recycle I will find you repulsive.

In the same way I despise the cretins on I'm a "Celebrity" being feted for eating bugs, eyeballs and testicles.

And YES I would eat a gooseberry - but I wouldn't bore you all with a TV show about it (or harass you if you didn't fancy eating one too).

I think you may have taken taken things a touch too far there.

30-01-2018, 11:27 PM
^
|

I don't get why that whisky glass above doesn't fill up

31-01-2018, 06:07 AM
Painted on eyebrows 🤣

31-01-2018, 08:03 AM
^
|

I don't get why that whisky glass above doesn't fill up

Frustrating, isn't it.

31-01-2018, 11:13 AM
I still don't get it.

I love all fish, be it haddock, trout, prawns, mussels, octopus or squid etc etc.

I certainly prefer fish to steak, which is extremely hit or miss, in my experience.

I had sea bass last night. Pan fred skin side down in a little olive oil for 4 minutes, then turned and fried for a further 1 minute.

Simple, easy and delicious. I eat the crispy skin, but Mrs HR leaves hers so I get to pick on it. :drool:

I hope it was farmed. I just read that we shouldn't buy wild bass from January - March as the species is endangered and this is their reproduction season.

31-01-2018, 11:25 AM
I didn't consider different types actually - I very rarely have streaky... There's maybe a crispiness exemption in there though.

Fair point raised by Scouse - streaky bacon is a different ball game. And often very nice when served in an all inclusive buffet :greengrin

Perhaps I was a bit rash(er) with my statement.

But I stand by my opinion that generally speaking, bacon should be served soft... especially when in a roll!

I don't get folk that don't get that :greengrin

31-01-2018, 05:32 PM
I hope it was farmeed.

It was M&S.

31-01-2018, 07:14 PM
Painted on eyebrows 🤣

Depends entirely where you're painting them 🤔

EH6 Hibby
31-01-2018, 07:44 PM
As a child brought up as a buthers son, I used to eat hearts, kidney and liver regularly and enjoy it. Now I can't stand liver or kidney, hate the taste and texture of liver and the taste of kidney makes me want to puke.

Is eating Heart a Scouse thing? I’d never heard of it before, but I went out with a scouser and he ate it. Never tried it, but if it’s anything like Lucer and Kidneys, I don’t need to, both make me feel physically sick when I so much as look at them.

31-01-2018, 08:58 PM
Is eating Heart a Scouse thing? I’d never heard of it before, but I went out with a scouser and he ate it. Never tried it, but if it’s anything like Lucer and Kidneys, I don’t need to, both make me feel physically sick when I so much as look at them.

There's heart in haggis so it can't be that strong.

31-01-2018, 09:54 PM

No I don't think so, lambs hearts are very good and have no strong taste like liver or kidney.

01-02-2018, 01:51 AM

'I don't like that'
Have you tried it'
'No but it looks funny'

I think it’s the food you were brought up on. My gran lived with us when I was growing up and she was Greek. She practically lived in the kitchen and as kids we were used to eating loads of continental style food. As I said earlier in the thread I can’t eat fish, but it’s not through trying.
The thing I really can’t understand is people who go abroad and go to places serving British food and showing British tv shows. Stay in Britain if that’s what you like.

HibernianJK
01-02-2018, 08:51 AM
Not a huge fan after the time I thought they were onion rings... I love the idea of fish it's just that I often see it again later. Some of them I simply cannot tolerate [emoji40]

Same here my mum got them for us on holiday once and told us they were onion rings. Never touched one since.

02-02-2018, 07:45 PM
Energy saving light bulbs.

You go into a dark room and turn on the light and wait for 3 hours, until there's enough light to make out some shapes that you don't bump into stuff. You're utterly screwed if you actually need the light for such things as reading or... seeing properly, however.

Useless things.

02-02-2018, 08:36 PM

You go into a dark room and turn on the light and wait for 3 hours, until there's enough light to make out some shapes that you don't bump into stuff. You're utterly screwed if you actually need the light for such things as reading or... seeing properly, however.

Useless things.

:agree: I get that they're important... But.
It's like the olden days. Every time I turn on the light in the front room, I hear Bob Crampsey's voice talking about the Stygian gloom.

02-02-2018, 09:02 PM
The queensferry crossing (north bound)

Been over this bridge a few times over the last couple of weeks and I just don’t understand. I go on the same road as I always did, there’s no other roads I can see that are now cut off but i pop out at the new bridge. It’s like they’ve just built the new one and swapped places with the old one?!

I’m sure there’s a logical explanation but it’s messed with my head every time I’ve gone over it.

02-02-2018, 09:15 PM

Been over this bridge a few times over the last couple of weeks and I just don’t understand. I go on the same road as I always did, there’s no other roads I can see that are now cut off but i pop out at the new bridge. It’s like they’ve just built the new one and swapped places with the old one?!

I’m sure there’s a logical explanation but it’s messed with my head every time I’ve gone over it.

Thought exactly the same the other day.

02-02-2018, 09:51 PM
Folk that hate puns.

02-02-2018, 10:07 PM

Useless things.

Better going LED, instant light at a fraction of the price for energy.

Time For Heroes
02-02-2018, 10:30 PM
Folk that hate puns.

It's as if they are PUNishing themselves

03-02-2018, 06:14 AM
Selling fancy doughnuts in my boozer (tasty as they are)

03-02-2018, 06:26 AM
Folk that hate puns.

Yep, get them PUNted.

03-02-2018, 06:29 AM
Better going LED, instant light at a fraction of the price for energy.

:agree: I'm loving what the advancement of LED technology has done for home lighting. There's some great designs to be had now.

Jay
03-02-2018, 07:18 AM
I dont get why First bus have put their prices up, by 30p a journey for me, and still provide a rubbish service!

03-02-2018, 10:23 AM

David Copperfield designed it specially .

03-02-2018, 11:38 AM
David Copperfield designed it specially .

As I said, I knew there’d be a logical explanation.

Cheers for clearing it up.

03-02-2018, 12:00 PM
Plumbers who come and price for a job, say they want the work and then you never hear from again. Absolute timewasters.

03-02-2018, 04:13 PM
Plumbers who come and price for a job, say they want the work and then you never hear from again. Absolute timewasters.

Happened to me 4 times on the spin when needing our shower sorted, absolute jokers :grr:

stuart-farquhar
03-02-2018, 04:21 PM
People who don’t get Spoonerisms. Cupid stunts.

03-02-2018, 04:58 PM
Willie Collum (gave us a pen at Hunbox) WTF?

08-02-2018, 08:31 AM
why I don't get change on the bus?

08-02-2018, 10:46 AM
Why people (myself included) accept cold food from Greggs. It’s supposed to be hot and you wouldn’t accept cold food anywhere else.

08-02-2018, 11:21 AM
Why people (myself included) accept cold food from Greggs. It’s supposed to be hot and you wouldn’t accept cold food anywhere else.

That's a good one, that :agree:

08-02-2018, 11:55 AM

Because a cold steak bake is better than a hot stake bake :wink:

08-02-2018, 12:54 PM
Because a cold steak bake is better than a hot stake bake :wink:

And a steak bake of any temperature is better than no steak bake.

08-02-2018, 02:22 PM
And a steak bake of any temperature is better than no steak bake.

A hot OR cold steak bake is much better than a warm one, for sure.
A warm one is marginally better than none however, that can change depending on degree of hunger.

08-02-2018, 05:54 PM

Their argument is that if it’s kept hot, it’s subject to VAT.

Hot or not, it’s still overpriced crap and the only way I’d buy anything like a steak bake is if it was half the price and from Iceland or Farmfoods, or whoever sells them frozen.

08-02-2018, 08:38 PM
Their argument is that if it’s kept hot, it’s subject to VAT.

Hot or not, it’s still overpriced crap and the only way I’d buy anything like a steak bake is if it was half the price and from Iceland or Farmfoods, or whoever sells them frozen.

The only difference is sitting or take away. I get charged the same whether its cool - can be eaten immediately without blistering the inside of my mouth to volcanic. This involves blistering the inside as well as scalding the lips and chin generally as the gravy is runnier..
In my experience you don't want the food hot unless you are taking it for a 20 minute walk.

08-02-2018, 09:08 PM
The only difference is sitting or take away. I get charged the same whether its cool - can be eaten immediately without blistering the inside of my mouth to volcanic. This involves blistering the inside as well as scalding the lips and chin generally as the gravy is runnier..
In my experience you don't want the food hot unless you are taking it for a 20 minute walk.

You are correct that VAT must be charged on all food that is eaten in, but there is a differentation when it comes to takeaways.

VAT must be charged on hot takeaways but not on cold food or drink items, and if an item such as a sausage roll is hot simply because of it being recently removed from the oven then no VAT need be charged. Greggs sell freshly baked products, not hot held products.

pollution
09-02-2018, 11:14 AM
Whenever I was forced into buying anything from Greggs i felt unwell an hour later.

The steak bake was the worse. I don't know what it is about their food but it makes me boak.

Except their yum yums!

09-02-2018, 11:56 AM

:agree: Nothing worse than getting a steak bake that's just out the bloody oven.

10-02-2018, 11:39 PM
Jeans/trousers that have great hulking big holes deliberately cut on them in the so called name of fashion. Besides that, wearing them must make you bloody freezing!! What’s the point other than regurgitating the same silly stoopid fashion from 20/30 years ago. Even then I didn’t get it.

11-02-2018, 07:44 AM
Whenever I was forced into buying anything from Greggs i felt unwell an hour later.

The steak bake was the worse. I don't know what it is about their food but it makes me boak.

Except their yum yums!

Steak bakes give me the ****s and within half an hour of eating one I need to find a toilet urgently.

Still eat them though, can’t live your life scared of ****ting yourself.

As for the temperature, cold or like warm for me. I’ve not got the patience to leave it until it cools down so if it’s just out the oven it just means a burnt mouth for me.

11-02-2018, 08:19 AM

I think its the pastry

11-02-2018, 11:46 AM
I don't get how when someone chooses to WhatsApp you, particularly with a question, and you reply immediately (as in within seconds) your reply doesn't get 2 blue ticks straight away. Like have they just decided to fire out a question and not hang around for the 6 seconds required to get an answer?

Weirdos

11-02-2018, 02:28 PM
I don't get how when someone chooses to WhatsApp you, particularly with a question, and you reply immediately (as in within seconds) your reply doesn't get 2 blue ticks straight away. Like have they just decided to fire out a question and not hang around for the 6 seconds required to get an answer?

Weirdos

I'm the opposite. If I send someone a Whatsapp (no matter how soon after their message to me) I'd be weirded out if it immediately went 2 blue ticks... Unless it's an urgent question they're asking.

11-02-2018, 02:42 PM
Rugby players and that grab the shirt, angry face, kind of push each other thing they sometimes do when there's a bad tackle or something.

Either have a square go or walk away. The in between thing just looks silly

11-02-2018, 02:42 PM

Weirdos

I have no idea what any of that means.

Things I don't get...

11-02-2018, 04:48 PM
Rugby players and that grab the shirt, angry face, kind of push each other thing they sometimes do when there's a bad tackle or something.

Either have a square go or walk away. The in between thing just looks silly

(Un) fortunately a punch or any violent conduct making contact with the head is a minimum of 12 weeks ban now. Long gone are the days of a right good dust up with no one sent off anymore. I remember listening to Fergus Slattery commentating and there was a bit of pushing and shoving Slattery said with a sigh " ah, the modern day punch up" Fergus was a good old fashioned forward back in the day.

27-02-2018, 04:32 PM
The word “patching”, as in to ignore. The wife used it earlier. I know I can be a bit of a dinasaur at times but never heard of that word before and had to google it. Is it a word the kids use these days or fairly common and passed me by all these years? 🤨

27-02-2018, 04:46 PM
Folk wanting games to go ahead in atrocious weather...

27-02-2018, 05:15 PM
(Un) fortunately a punch or any violent conduct making contact with the head is a minimum of 12 weeks ban now. Long gone are the days of a right good dust up with no one sent off anymore. I remember listening to Fergus Slattery commentating and there was a bit of pushing and shoving Slattery said with a sigh " ah, the modern day punch up" Fergus was a good old fashioned forward back in the day.

Or when rugby commentator Bill McLaren described a double headbutt as "a little tete-a-tete"

Jay
27-02-2018, 05:20 PM
The word “patching”, as in to ignore. The wife used it earlier. I know I can be a bit of a dinasaur at times but never heard of that word before and had to google it. Is it a word the kids use these days or fairly common and passed me by all these years? 🤨

Id never heard it until a year or so ago when my older teens used it. Stupid word.

27-02-2018, 06:29 PM

My daughter uses it along with the term patched. Does my head in and if my wife started using it, I think it would end up in divorce.

27-02-2018, 08:14 PM

I will pretend I never saw this post and thus continue my life of blissful ignorance about this abomination.

What's wrong with "dingied" or "slung him/her a deefie" ??

27-02-2018, 10:34 PM

I think it's a relatively modern word and originates from the youth.

I heard younger people saying it at work to begin with and now I hear older people saying it as well.

It seems to be a word that's used quite commonly these days although I tend to avoid it.

28-02-2018, 01:39 AM
I like fantasy as a genre, so I was expecting to love it. I read the book first and was told the TV series was amazing, and like you say I never really 'got' it. Tried it twice in fact.

I'd say it took me a season and a half, binge watched, to really get into it. But, I have persevered and can't wait for the final season!

28-02-2018, 01:55 AM
Peeing in public isn't against the law for the sake of having a law.

If you get caught, you'll be prosecuted for"Public Nuisance", which is what it is.

It's not fair to expect people to put up with the mess and the smell.

I'm sure the lawyers/courts/judges etc would love to argue about where it was and wasn't acceptable to pee in public. The amount of legislation that would require would make a lot of rich people even richer.

Is it fair for someone to be publicly humiliated by peeing themselves in the street just because a bit of waste ground behind a bush has a pee smell until the next time it rains?

Here in NZ, there seems to be plentiful public toilets for the most part, but they are pretty hard to find in the UK these days IIRC.

Jay
28-02-2018, 05:44 AM
Is it fair for someone to be publicly humiliated by peeing themselves in the street just because a bit of waste ground behind a bush has a pee smell until the next time it rains?

Here in NZ, there seems to be plentiful public toilets for the most part, but they are pretty hard to find in the UK these days IIRC.

But somehow women manage

28-02-2018, 07:34 AM
But somehow women manage

ladies do. women don't :greengrin

28-02-2018, 07:38 AM
But somehow women manage

So you keep saying, but I think you’re naive, and wrong, if you think no woman has peed in the street / public.

28-02-2018, 07:45 AM
But somehow women manage

No they don't, they are just as bad if not worse than men.

Jay
28-02-2018, 07:47 AM
So you keep saying, but I think you’re naive, and wrong, if you think no woman has peed in the street / public.

Ive never said a woman has never peed in the street but its not a common occurrence. Happy to be proved wrong,anybody say when they last saw a woman pee outdoors? Im in my 50s and can hand on heart say that me and my pals have never ventured there since toddlerhood :agree:

Jay
28-02-2018, 08:08 AM
No they don't, they are just as bad if not worse than men.

Dont believe you.

28-02-2018, 08:24 AM
Dont believe you.

Well there are plenty of images and you tube videos to suggest otherwise!

28-02-2018, 08:49 AM
Ive never said a woman has never peed in the street but its not a common occurrence. Happy to be proved wrong,anybody say when they last saw a woman pee outdoors? Im in my 50s and can hand on heart say that me and my pals have never ventured there since toddlerhood :agree:

Last week, out cycling in the borders. A lady cyclist stopped and asked the rest of us to avert our gaze.

28-02-2018, 09:36 AM
Last week, out cycling in the borders. A lady cyclist stopped and asked the rest of us to avert our gaze.
Maybe she was homophobic and you misinterpreted her? :wink:

28-02-2018, 09:44 AM

http://metro.co.uk/2015/11/03/woman-caught-weeing-against-wall-while-smoking-cigarette-on-google-street-view-5477227/

28-02-2018, 09:50 AM

Oh aye? :greengrin

28-02-2018, 09:57 AM

You are Gary Locke and I claim my ten pounds! :greengrin

28-02-2018, 10:15 AM
You are Gary Locke and I claim my ten pounds! :greengrin

Busted.

28-02-2018, 10:15 AM
Oh aye? :greengrin

😉

Jay
28-02-2018, 11:27 AM

Thats not something ill be checking out :Ummm:

Its just not something I see and I dont think I know anybody who would but I see plenty men doing it.

Jay
28-02-2018, 11:28 AM

Fairs do's, different scenario though

Jay
28-02-2018, 11:30 AM
http://metro.co.uk/2015/11/03/woman-caught-weeing-against-wall-while-smoking-cigarette-on-google-street-view-5477227/

Its made the news, says it all.

28-02-2018, 01:04 PM
Its made the news, says it all.

A headline splash no doubt. :cb

Jay
28-02-2018, 02:38 PM
ladies do. women don't :greengrin

Its not often me and my pals are called ladies but i'll go with that :agree:

28-02-2018, 06:25 PM

I saw it a couple of years ago, in full view of an entire pub in a Main Street in Wellington. Rancid. I’ve seen it numerous times at music festivals and the like. It happens. Maybe you can’t see them because they’re squatting behind something.

I’m not advocating that you just go peeing everywhere and anywhere at all times of day, and preferably not on anyone’s property either, but when alcohol is involved and it’s late at night, there is sometimes no other viable option. As noted, it would preferably be a park or something rather than in someone’s doorway or the like. The latter is not acceptable.

28-02-2018, 07:14 PM
Maybe she was homophobic and you misinterpreted her? :wink:

:greengrin but definitely no homophobicism involved in this instance. She was out, cycling. :wink:

Jay
28-02-2018, 08:05 PM
I saw it a couple of years ago, in full view of an entire pub in a Main Street in Wellington. Rancid. I’ve seen it numerous times at music festivals and the like. It happens. Maybe you can’t see them because they’re squatting behind something.

I’m not advocating that you just go peeing everywhere and anywhere at all times of day, and preferably not on anyone’s property either, but when alcohol is involved and it’s late at night, there is sometimes no other viable option. As noted, it would preferably be a park or something rather than in someone’s doorway or the like. The latter is not acceptable.

A couple of years ago, kinda proves my point. Its not common.

28-02-2018, 08:53 PM

No-one should be forced to wet themselves. If they can't hold it in any longer, they should pee somewhere. If they get caught for doing so, bad luck, but it's no-one else's fault that they found themselves in that situation.

The only real alternative would be to allow folk to pee in public, but if that happened, and it wasn't an offence, it would become even more common place.

28-02-2018, 08:56 PM

George Street, Edinburgh every Friday and Saturday night. Even saw it Princes Street one evening. Not a rare occurrence.

Jay
28-02-2018, 09:14 PM
George Street, Edinburgh every Friday and Saturday night. Even saw it Princes Street one evening. Not a rare occurrence.

Fair enough, ive never seen it but theres enough of you saying it happens. Im not that much of a regular in town at weekends unless im heading for nightshift

28-02-2018, 11:17 PM
Is this pish conversation still ongoing?

01-03-2018, 12:45 AM

I've never seen a man doing such a thing during the subsequent two years.

Isn't it the fact that men are more likely to have drunk higher volumes of liquid than women (i.e. pints), rather than women being incredibly adept at controlling their bladders at all times?

I'm not sure where you are looking that you seem to constantly see men peeing in public all over the place?

01-03-2018, 12:49 AM
No-one should be forced to wet themselves. If they can't hold it in any longer, they should pee somewhere. If they get caught for doing so, bad luck, but it's no-one else's fault that they found themselves in that situation.

The only real alternative would be to allow folk to pee in public, but if that happened, and it wasn't an offence, it would become even more common place.

I just think there should be (and there probably is) some discretion used by Police. If it's the middle of the street and you're drunk and peeing right in someone's doorway or such like, then it's a fair cop. If you've actually done your best to be discreet, stay away from private property, and there's no viable alternative nearby, then I don't think it's deserving of a fine/conviction.

01-03-2018, 12:51 AM
Is this pish conversation still ongoing?

I apologise for my stream of consciousness. :greengrin

Jay
01-03-2018, 06:56 AM
I've never seen a man doing such a thing during the subsequent two years.

Isn't it the fact that men are more likely to have drunk higher volumes of liquid than women (i.e. pints), rather than women being incredibly adept at controlling their bladders at all times?

I'm not sure where you are looking that you seem to constantly see men peeing in public all over the place?

Show me where I said that? Your being silly now Steve.

01-03-2018, 07:31 AM
Show me where I said that? Your being silly now Steve.

Ok, minor exaggeration but you said “I see plenty men doing it”.

Jay
01-03-2018, 07:56 AM
Ok, minor exaggeration but you said “I see plenty men doing it”.

Exactly. I see it when im out on my peeing vigilante shifts.

01-03-2018, 08:24 AM
Why do people seem to have a problem with a bloke nipping into the bushes to relieve themselves when we've got thousands of dogs pishing all over the place?

01-03-2018, 08:42 AM
Exactly. I see it when im out on my peeing vigilante shifts.

You still haven’t explained where you’re seeing plenty men doing it?

01-03-2018, 08:43 AM
Why do people seem to have a problem with a bloke nipping into the bushes to relieve themselves when we've got thousands of dogs pishing all over the place?

I bet the female dogs plan their route and wait til they get home :wink:

01-03-2018, 10:17 AM
I just think there should be (and there probably is) some discretion used by Police. If it's the middle of the street and you're drunk and peeing right in someone's doorway or such like, then it's a fair cop. If you've actually done your best to be discreet, stay away from private property, and there's no viable alternative nearby, then I don't think it's deserving of a fine/conviction.

Yeah, I agree with that.

The police will say it's not their job to differentiate between offences. That's the courts' job.

However, I'm pretty sure the police turn a blind eye to it more often than not.

01-03-2018, 10:31 AM
A few years ago in Aberdeen my mate got an on the spot fine for having a pee 'in the street'. He was desperate, it was 2am and he nipped down a side street, into an unlocked goods yard and took a slash down a drain. Mid stream 3 Police officers jumped on him and issued him with the fine. They must have followed him down there. Now he broke the law but it seems a bit of a waste of Police time given he took reasonable grounds to get out of view and to avoid 'contaminating' the area.

At the same time Aberdeen city Council had a scheme where they had open, uncovered urinals set up on Union Street on weekend evenings for men to pee in. So had we been 20 minutes closer to town my mate could have had a pee in full view of hundreds of people contributing to the resulting stench that anyone who has used high volume use portable toilets will be aware off and been fine but peeing in a drain in a relatively secluded area saw him fined £80.

01-03-2018, 11:55 AM

As per PB's post above, seems to me that the most considerate place would be not behind a bush etc but straight down a drain, and better a drain in the public road than in someone's garden.

01-03-2018, 12:11 PM
Dogs, cats & horses can relieve themselves without fines (unless the owner is with the dog).
I think humans are being victimised. Young policemen's prostrates are obviously still in good order.

01-03-2018, 08:14 PM

Once I hit my mid-twenties I found that after two pints I was at the toilet on a half-hourly basis.

Twenty years on, I tend to drink wine rather than beer but it’s still the same, make sure I go before I leave the pub for example, because if I don’t I’ll be needing to go within fifteen minutes.

I drive a lot with work, usually two or three-hour journeys and I won’t even bother with a coffee for the car unless I’ve got the pit stops carefully planned :greengrin

01-03-2018, 09:25 PM
Fairs do's, different scenario though

Pro cycling's the spectator sport for you, Mrs S:

Peeing on the bike can have other benefits, especially if temperatures dip in the mountains or the windswept French countryside. "In races that are soaking wet and freezing cold, I like to piss myself," Cavendish says. "It warms me up for a split second. You get warm and you don’t have to fuss around."

Jay
01-03-2018, 09:36 PM
Pro cycling's the spectator sport for you, Mrs S:

Peeing on the bike can have other benefits, especially if temperatures dip in the mountains or the windswept French countryside. "In races that are soaking wet and freezing cold, I like to piss myself," Cavendish says. "It warms me up for a split second. You get warm and you don’t have to fuss around."

I dont want to watch it! In my job i clean enough of that and other things up. Its really not a hobby of mine :agree:

02-03-2018, 12:30 AM

I suppose it us the difference between being merely domesticated or being civilised.

Wild birds **** everywhere and I hope you wouldn't advocate our doing the same - and I don't want to hear of any dodgy pornos before someone chips in.

02-03-2018, 04:42 AM
I suppose it us the difference between being merely domesticated or being civilised.

Wild birds **** everywhere and I hope you wouldn't advocate our doing the same - and I don't want to hear of any dodgy pornos before someone chips in.

We’d probably be more upset with birds if they were ****ting big human sized turds though :hilarious

02-03-2018, 09:37 AM

How do you civilise a bladder?

02-03-2018, 09:53 AM
Folk clearing their path / driveway when it’s still belting down with snow.

02-03-2018, 11:06 AM
Folk clearing their path / driveway when it’s still belting down with snow.

Much easier to keep on top of it rather than have it freeze then more snow on it.

02-03-2018, 11:25 AM
Much easier to keep on top of it rather than have it freeze then more snow on it.

:agree: Easier to shovel freshly flallen snow than the hard packed or soggy stuff.

02-03-2018, 11:44 AM

But it's not going to freeze is it? I'm leaving mine.

speedy_gonzales
02-03-2018, 02:24 PM
It'll compact itself under its own weight, trust me, I fell for this back in 2010 and when it came to the point of clearing I was lifting sheets of ice 6 inches thick.
I'm clearing the snow once a day, akin to painting the Forth bridge but it's easy enough to stay on top of it.

02-03-2018, 06:12 PM

Already compacted and frozen underneath.

02-03-2018, 07:33 PM
People who sit in their car in the snow, Rev the arse out it, spin the wheels, car doesn’t move. Oh, I know, I’ll keep revving and revving, and spinning the wheels, it’s bound to work eventually, the 45 minutes I’ve been here doing it and getting nowhere at all don’t count. idiots :rolleyes:

02-03-2018, 08:32 PM
Already compacted and frozen underneath.

Lucky I live in Musselburgh :greengrin

Will be clearing it tomorrow though for something to do!

02-03-2018, 08:36 PM
People who sit in their car in the snow, Rev the arse out it, spin the wheels, car doesn’t move. Oh, I know, I’ll keep revving and revving, and spinning the wheels, it’s bound to work eventually, the 45 minutes I’ve been here doing it and getting nowhere at all don’t count. idiots :rolleyes:
I was in the supermarket yesterday and some idiot was doing just that. There was a queue of around 4 cars behind him as he kept spinning the wheels. Eventually everyone got fed up and we drove round him. He’s probably still there.

05-03-2018, 02:02 PM
Ive never said a woman has never peed in the street but its not a common occurrence. Happy to be proved wrong,anybody say when they last saw a woman pee outdoors? Im in my 50s and can hand on heart say that me and my pals have never ventured there since toddlerhood :agree:I had to stop my taxi dozens of times over the years to allow passengers to pee outside, most of the journeys were less than 10 minutes. I'll guess 40% of them were female. I only ever had two who let flow in their seat and both were women.

05-03-2018, 05:24 PM
Peeing outside is legal if you're a diabetic!

26-07-2018, 01:02 PM
Not sure why either either popped into my head, but the original stories to, not going to the MK Dons game and a Jambo crying on a balcony in Bulgaria, both passed me by.

What was the origins of them?

26-07-2018, 05:49 PM
Not sure why either either popped into my head, but the original stories to, not going to the MK Dons game and a Jambo crying on a balcony in Bulgaria, both passed me by.

What was the origins of them?

The MK Dons stuff arose when AFC Wimbledon were first due to play MK Dons at MK Dons. AFC fans were boycotting it in protest at the fact the club had relocated and rebadged itself from the original 'Wimbledon'. That led to the thread about not going, not organising a bus, not watching the highlights etc etc.

The Bulgarian balcony tears were I think a straight lift from a post on Keechback. Not sure if it was a genuine HOMFC fan or one of us. Their site was absolutely riddled with us at one point, posting all sorts of silliness.

28-07-2018, 04:07 AM
The MK Dons stuff arose when AFC Wimbledon were first due to play MK Dons at MK Dons. AFC fans were boycotting it in protest at the fact the club had relocated and rebadged itself from the original 'Wimbledon'. That led to the thread about not going, not organising a bus, not watching the highlights etc etc.

The Bulgarian balcony tears were I think a straight lift from a post on Keechback. Not sure if it was a genuine HOMFC fan or one of us. Their site was absolutely riddled with us at one point, posting all sorts of silliness.

Didn't somebody ask if people fancied going to the mk game? And then everyone said no?

The tears was someone on KB saying they were on a hotel balcony in Bulgaria in tears of happiness because of some bull****.

Bangkok Hibby
28-07-2018, 04:09 PM
Mrs Brown's boys. Least funny drivel in TV history

Bangkok Hibby
28-07-2018, 04:15 PM
I’m sure I’ll be in the minority with this one but I don’t get why people have such a problem with folk peeing in public places...... if they do it discreetly?!

There was a story in the paper the other week with a guy wanting a run cancelled as some runners were having to go to the toilet in the park, would this guy rather they pissed themselves? Same happened to me before hampden when we won the cup, I had a long walk between the bowling club and the ground and found myself bursting on a piss so I found a bit waste ground, went to the corner and took a piss behind a bush, one of the local residents saw me and went daft, With no public toilets near by wtf was I meant to do? I’d rather go to a toilet as well but sometimes needs must!

Some men of a certain age have significant bladder issues and peeing outside if no suitable toilet is available is their only option. I have no problem with it as long it's done discretely.

28-07-2018, 05:01 PM
I don’t get how when you hear your favourite song on the radio it sounds better than if you just put it on yourself.

29-07-2018, 07:49 AM
Love island. Morally bankrupt show giving wannabe nobodies a shot at 'fame'.

29-07-2018, 08:16 AM
Not sure if this belongs here or in Pet Peeves but....

The way some people have no sympathy or empathy for people in their own community with issues possibly caused by relatable issues but when a celebrity has a similar problem they appear genuinely upset and concerned.

I have a couple of women in my work who know a lady who is an alcoholic. They seem to have no sympathy whatsoever and 'just an alkie' seems the go to phrase. Yet this week it was in the news that Demi Lovato (a singer for those who don't know) had overdosed on heroin and they were both on Facebook commenting on links saying they 'hope she gets the help she needs' and that she 'need help to beat her demons'. In the office it was all 'well she has a problem and we should have some sympathy'.

Same 2 are a right pair of gossips and when an ex colleague got done for drink driving they were all over it with their judgemental pish. When whatever one of Ant and Dec it was who got caught doing the same it was all 'it's nobody else's business really' and 'he obviously has problems and needs help'.

****ing hypocrites.

29-07-2018, 09:48 AM
People who just can’t mind their own business at work.

Recently moved from a private office with just two of us to an open plan office with up to 12 people and finding it really hard.Too many people listen to your phone conversations, shout an opinion about your conversation, interrupt when I am speaking to guy next to me, offer an opinion about a particular problem they here me dealing with, interfere when they know nothing about it. The list is endless,it’s driving me crazy.

pollution
29-07-2018, 11:29 AM
I don’t get how when you hear your favourite song on the radio it sounds better than if you just put it on yourself.

Spot on. Even worse when an adult requests a song to be played just to hear their name on the radio.

I can understand the excitement for children but for Matthew driving from Godalming to Exeter to see his mummy??

29-07-2018, 11:42 PM
I've never got .....
1) Simple Minds
2) the Big Dipper
3) fly fishing
4) cricket
5) horse racing
6) camping

30-07-2018, 12:01 PM

:agree: Brilliant. It's the same with TV and film, even though you have the DVD.

In fact, even Fawlty Towers or Only Fools appearing on council TV (when on all the time on Gold, which I have) is different!

30-07-2018, 12:31 PM
:agree: Brilliant. It's the same with TV and film, even though you have the DVD.

In fact, even Fawlty Towers or Only Fools appearing on council TV (when on all the time on Gold, which I have) is different!

:agree: A bit like meeting up with some past casual acquaintences when they are back in town yet you probably hardly (if ever) saw them when they actually lived here.

31-07-2018, 07:31 AM
I see more and more of these combination locked key boxes fixed to the wall at the front of houses. No way I would leave a set of my house keys in a box on the wall at my house, just asking for trouble.

31-07-2018, 04:37 PM
I see more and more of these combination locked key boxes fixed to the wall at the front of houses. No way I would leave a set of my house keys in a box on the wall at my house, just asking for trouble.

Mostly AirBnB operators. Owners want strangers in their houses.

31-07-2018, 04:40 PM
Mostly AirBnB operators. Owners want strangers in their houses.

Also used by elderly people who have carers going in and don't have the mobility to get to the door.

31-07-2018, 04:54 PM
Also used by elderly people who have carers going in and don't have the mobility to get to the door.
Indeed. But there's been an explosion in the number of keysafes visible recently and not that many people have suddenly got old/infirm!

31-07-2018, 05:03 PM
Indeed. But there's been an explosion in the number of keysafes visible recently and not that many people have suddenly got old/infirm!

Yep. One of the guys in my old stair got rumbled subletting because of it.

Social housing, letting it on AirBnB, key safe wouldn't work so someone buzzed a neighbour for help and she promptly grassed him. No sympathy from me either, folk are desperate for affordable housing in Edinburgh and he was abusing it.

31-07-2018, 05:03 PM

First wave of the Baby Boomers are in their 70's now. :coffee:

31-07-2018, 05:43 PM
Not sure if this belongs here or in Pet Peeves but....

The way some people have no sympathy or empathy for people in their own community with issues possibly caused by relatable issues but when a celebrity has a similar problem they appear genuinely upset and concerned.

I have a couple of women in my work who know a lady who is an alcoholic. They seem to have no sympathy whatsoever and 'just an alkie' seems the go to phrase. Yet this week it was in the news that Demi Lovato (a singer for those who don't know) had overdosed on heroin and they were both on Facebook commenting on links saying they 'hope she gets the help she needs' and that she 'need help to beat her demons'. In the office it was all 'well she has a problem and we should have some sympathy'.

Same 2 are a right pair of gossips and when an ex colleague got done for drink driving they were all over it with their judgemental pish. When whatever one of Ant and Dec it was who got caught doing the same it was all 'it's nobody else's business really' and 'he obviously has problems and needs help'.

****ing hypocrites.

Totally agree, but what I don't get is how done folk challenge that point of view by getting torn into the celebrity, like they don't deserve sympathy or empathy because Joe Bloggs gets called a junkie when they are in that situation.

It's like they don't consider that the empathetic approach is the right one, and that what needs to change is not the attitudes to the celebrities, but to the ordinary folk.

31-07-2018, 06:18 PM
Mostly AirBnB operators. Owners want strangers in their houses.Becoming a problem with tenements in Edinburgh. So many are being installed on communal property without permission from the property owners.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

31-07-2018, 07:55 PM
Becoming a problem with tenements in Edinburgh. So many are being installed on communal property without permission from the property owners.

:agree: An utter blight.

31-07-2018, 10:49 PM
Love Island. Why do people idolize deadbeats whose only claim to fame is getting through a casting process. Gone are the days when role models had to actually achieve something before being granted celebrity status, now they're being worshipped for being thick. No wonder our world is ****ed up!

Jay
01-08-2018, 06:32 AM
Love Island. Why do people idolize deadbeats whose only claim to fame is getting through a casting process. Gone are the days when role models had to actually achieve something before being granted celebrity status, now they're being worshipped for being thick. No wonder our world is ****ed up!

I agree. It saddens me that our teens idolise people who think brexit means we would have no trees, so called beautiful people.

01-08-2018, 07:12 AM

Thats the situation my mum finds herself in.

01-08-2018, 08:11 AM
I agree. It saddens me that our teens idolise people who think brexit means we would have no trees, so called beautiful people.

I was so sure she said cheese at the time - I'd be prepared to let her have that one. :greengrin

I was going to argue that noone really "idolises" them, but you're probably actually right. Everyone is an idol these days.

I did enjoy the show though - was good entertainment. :greengrin

Jay
01-08-2018, 08:20 AM
I was so sure she said cheese at the time - I'd be prepared to let her have that one. :greengrin

I was going to argue that noone really "idolises" them, but you're probably actually right. Everyone is an idol these days.

I did enjoy the show though - was good entertainment. :greengrin

I never saw it other than clips i couldnt avoid. Im delighted to say none of my kids watched it either. They are idolised, ive seen my teens facebook page and teenage girls in particular want to be these people.

01-08-2018, 11:56 AM

The amount of grown men and women who watched it religiously :confused: And I'M the odd one out for refusing to watch it. 10 seconds of it told me it was, as suspected, utter pish containing so many character traits that I despise in life.

I can't believe how much discussion and social airtime this got during the time of a football world cup!!!

01-08-2018, 12:05 PM
The thing about Love Island or other reality TV stars is to an extent I don't blame the 'stars' or other people who want to be like them.

Why study for 5 years to be a Doctor or teacher or take a job earning, in real terms, less than your parents or in some cases even grandparents when you can piss about on TV for a few weeks and potentially make a million? Love Island et al are a symptom of the problem rather than the problem itself.

01-08-2018, 12:14 PM
The thing about Love Island or other reality TV stars is to an extent I don't blame the 'stars' or other people who want to be like them.

Why study for 5 years to be a Doctor or teacher or take a job earning, in real terms, less than your parents or in some cases even grandparents when you can piss about on TV for a few weeks and potentially make a million? Love Island et al are a symptom of the problem rather than the problem itself.

The Truman Show was pretty well on the mark.

We, as a society, have created the situation where such careers are a possibility. The only way we can avoid that is for everyone to ignore these programmes. And that isn't going to happen; soap-operas (which is what they are, in truth) are easy on the eye and brain. They're also relatively cheap to make.

Like you, I have no real problem with people "making it" as a so-called reality star. The market is there, just as it is for doctors, software developers and porn actors. If people want to take advantage of the opportunity, so be it.

And the upside is that, if the TV companies can make a lot of money off these programmes, they can direct it into the kind of stuff that I like. :greengrin

01-08-2018, 12:40 PM

The problem is that it’s a tiny minority that actually make it onto these shows and the rest are left to go through life with no skills. I would be worried if my daughter was looking at these people and thinking it was a viable way of making a career for herself.

01-08-2018, 12:52 PM
The problem is that it’s a tiny minority that actually make it onto these shows and the rest are left to go through life with no skills. I would be worried if my daughter was looking at these people and thinking it was a viable way of making a career for herself.

Surely no one is aiming for "reality TV star" as a career aspiration though? Maybe I'm just too out of touch to know for sure. But I think it's very easy to spout hyperbole/exaggerate on social media, and so when someone says "OMG, I want to be like Meg" they're probably doing it after finishing their maths homework with no actual desire to make themselves anything like the contestants.

I think a lot of the people who go on are part-time models already and it just helps boost their profile/CV really and they come out of it with some kind of relevant job/more appearances to raise their profile. Heck, you might even get 1 or 2 who are genuinely looking for love.

01-08-2018, 01:05 PM
Surely no one is aiming for "reality TV star" as a career aspiration though? Maybe I'm just too out of touch to know for sure. But I think it's very easy to spout hyperbole/exaggerate on social media, and so when someone says "OMG, I want to be like Meg" they're probably doing it after finishing their maths homework with no actual desire to make themselves anything like the contestants.

I think a lot of the people who go on are part-time models already and it just helps boost their profile/CV really and they come out of it with some kind of relevant job/more appearances to raise their profile. Heck, you might even get 1 or 2 who are genuinely looking for love.
I don’t know if people see it as a career choice, but it certainly wouldn’t surprise me. If young people are looking up to them, then they are seen as role models surely? My post was more in response to the notion that people will think that they don’t have to get a good education as a career in reality tv is an easier option.

01-08-2018, 01:09 PM

Of course. I certainly won't ve pushing it as a career path for my own daughter. I can see why there is an appeal to some though.

01-08-2018, 01:40 PM
Big Brother was a really interesting programme when it first started, once people realised there was money to be made after it it all turned into a bit of a pantomime. It initially was an interesting social experiment though.

01-08-2018, 01:46 PM
Of course. I certainly won't ve pushing it as a career path for my own daughter. I can see why there is an appeal to some though.
I think you’re right. Kids will naturally look at famous people and want to be like them. The difference now from 20 years ago is that famous people generally had a talent and had worked hard to become famous. I’ve never watched love island, but I’m guessing it’s full of young adults with perfect figures and good looks. It’s not really reflective of society and shouldn’t really be called reality tv as it’s nothing of the sort.

01-08-2018, 01:47 PM
Big Brother was a really interesting programme when it first started, once people realised there was money to be made after it it all turned into a bit of a pantomime. It initially was an interesting social experiment though.

It's easy to forget how good it was when it started.

It did go downhill very quickly.

01-08-2018, 02:54 PM
I don’t know if people see it as a career choice, but it certainly wouldn’t surprise me. If young people are looking up to them, then they are seen as role models surely? My post was more in response to the notion that people will think that they don’t have to get a good education as a career in reality tv is an easier option.

You'd like to think that wouldn't be an option. Generally, you get your education when you're still under your parents control and they'd hopefully steer you right. You'd also be too young to go on any of these shows.

I don't know if they are seen as role models or not, they probably are. I don't see how that's any worse than footballers being role models though - it's probably easier to fall into the bracket of "I'll be a footballer, I don't need an education" than similar about being a reality TV star.

I think you’re right. Kids will naturally look at famous people and want to be like them. The difference now from 20 years ago is that famous people generally had a talent and had worked hard to become famous. I’ve never watched love island, but I’m guessing it’s full of young adults with perfect figures and good looks. It’s not really reflective of society and shouldn’t really be called reality tv as it’s nothing of the sort.

I think it's meant to be seen as being reflective of "aspirational" society rather than actual society. Which is probably just a whole other can of worms. :greengrin

01-08-2018, 04:02 PM

The problem with shows like Big Brother is people are drawn to the conflict so the producers and executives ramp that up. I think it was the 3rd series of Big Brother that the guy from Orkney won that saw viewing figures drop dramatically half way through because they were all quite nice and just a bit dull. After that they threw in people who were self proclaimed 'extroverts' and 'out there' with the token middle aged straight laced 1 or 2 and it became a million miles removed from what it was.

See also Wife Swap, Come Dine With Me etc etc. Take a homophobe and throw them together with Mr Camp and mix Ms Socialist with Mr Thatcher and pretend we have to ask 'what's going to happen?'

pollution
01-08-2018, 04:23 PM
It's easy to forget how good it was when it started.

It did go downhill very quickly.

Donkeys watching donkeys over a farm gate!

01-08-2018, 06:45 PM
Donkeys watching donkeys over a farm gate!

But with extra braying.

01-08-2018, 09:10 PM

Can't remember who tweeted it, but there was a comment along the lines of the path to celebrity being getting your cervix smashed in on national TV.

There's some utter dross on itv2 right now, meant to be a celebrity show but if they changed the word 'celebrity' to '******wit', it would be closer to the mark.

Absolute garbage.

01-08-2018, 11:46 PM
Can't remember who tweeted it, but there was a comment along the lines of the path to celebrity being getting your cervix smashed in on national TV.

There's some utter dross on itv2 right now, meant to be a celebrity show but if they changed the word 'celebrity' to '******wit', it would be closer to the mark.

Absolute garbage.
I have to admit I have never watched any of it, but your description is how I imagine it to be. It’s clearly a generational thing, but on this occasion I’m glad to be too old for that **** :greengrin

stuart-farquhar
02-08-2018, 06:30 AM
You know what.... TV. I prefer walking, talking, biking, hiking,pubs,cafes,people watching,urban strolls,country walks,motor biking, scootering, sports live, fishing, sailing, sports cars, trains, planes and automobiles. So there!!!

02-08-2018, 08:39 AM
You know what.... TV. I prefer walking, talking, biking, hiking,pubs,cafes,people watching,urban strolls,country walks,motor biking, scootering, sports live, fishing, sailing, sports cars, trains, planes and automobiles. So there!!!

What about "the burds" of the world? ;-)

02-08-2018, 09:01 AM

With biking and motorbiking on his list, it's fair to say he does a good bit of riding.

02-08-2018, 09:25 AM
:-) I wonder how long that post'll survive for!

02-08-2018, 11:30 AM

A lot of this year's cast are probably a lot smarter than me or you.

It's just relatively entertaining and easy viewing. People like to live vicariously through the people too.

02-08-2018, 01:31 PM
Easy viewing it may be but, most people now have a multitude of channels available to them to provide something a tad more entertaining than that gash! Rant over. :-)

02-08-2018, 01:39 PM
Easy viewing it may be but, most people now have a multitude of channels available to them to provide something a tad more entertaining than that gash! Rant over. :-)

I have none. Just got rid of my telly. Had enough.

03-08-2018, 10:07 AM
What do you point your furniture at?

03-08-2018, 04:06 PM
What do you point your furniture at?

:faf: That's my big problem right now. :cool2:

03-08-2018, 04:54 PM
You know what.... TV. I prefer walking, talking, biking, hiking,pubs,cafes,people watching,urban strolls,country walks,motor biking, scootering, sports live, fishing, sailing, sports cars, trains, planes and automobiles. So there!!!I couldn't imagine a life without music.

05-08-2018, 12:25 AM
If you're paid a salary of X pounds/per annum, how come you have to work an extra day for nothing on (some) leap years? Shouldn't you get an extra day off on those ones? :dunno:

05-08-2018, 09:03 AM
If you're paid a salary of X pounds/per annum, how come you have to work an extra day for nothing on (some) leap years? Shouldn't you get an extra day off on those ones? :dunno:Cos it's per year... I'd imagine only those paid weekly or on zero hours 'benefit'

05-08-2018, 09:38 AM
If you're paid a salary of X pounds/per annum, how come you have to work an extra day for nothing on (some) leap years? Shouldn't you get an extra day off on those ones? :dunno:

I'd never really thought of that! Maybe an additional 365th of a days holiday (1.2 minutes) added to my holiday allowance every 4 years would be a fair compromise. :greengrin

Bangkok Hibby
30-08-2018, 04:24 PM
Long single file lines in almost any Wetherspoons. FFS the bars are huge, do you do it in any other pub?

30-08-2018, 06:09 PM
Long single file lines in almost any Wetherspoons. FFS the bars are huge, do you do it in any other pub?

Mainly because of ordering food and you need the assistant to be at the the till to enter table number etc then order.

pollution
30-08-2018, 06:25 PM
Mainly because of ordering food and you need the assistant to be at the the till to enter table number etc then order.

I noticed this for the first time ever at a pub recently.

Six people stood in a straight line to order drinks, not food.

There was room to stand beside the bar. Any good bar staff will know who is next to be served.

I hope that this is not going to be a new thing.

Bangkok Hibby
30-08-2018, 06:44 PM
Mainly because of ordering food and you need the assistant to be at the the till to enter table number etc then order.Nope not having that. Its a bar like any other. Food or not it doesn't happen anywhere else. Ive spoken to managers and staff in Spoons in many cities and none understand it. One manager even put signs up telling customers there was no need to queue. Its a complete mystery!

Sent from my BLA-L29 using Tapatalk

speedy_gonzales
30-08-2018, 06:55 PM
At the risk of upsetting done Wetherspoon regulars, I think it's because they don't regularly frequent pubs and are unfamiliar with the etiquette,,,,
My mum will rarely be found in pub, but she can't walk past a Wetherspoon for a coffee or what have you, and she'll gladly stand in line for that coffee!!!

30-08-2018, 07:15 PM
At the risk of upsetting done Wetherspoon regulars, I think it's because they don't regularly frequent pubs and are unfamiliar with the etiquette,,,,
My mum will rarely be found in pub, but she can't walk past a Wetherspoon for a coffee or what have you, and she'll gladly stand in line for that coffee!!!

Tell her to go to Starbucks and leave the pubs for the boozers! ;-)

30-08-2018, 09:48 PM
Nope not having that. Its a bar like any other. Food or not it doesn't happen anywhere else. Ive spoken to managers and staff in Spoons in many cities and none understand it. One manager even put signs up telling customers there was no need to queue. Its a complete mystery!

Sent from my BLA-L29 using Tapatalk

Pub in Glasgow Airport, we were told to form a queue at the other side of the pillar that splits the bar because they can't tell who's next if there's not an orderly line.

31-08-2018, 06:38 AM

I've never seen that happen before other than once in Aberdeen after our recent 0-0 game, and I'm a fairly regular customer of spoons across Edinburgh/Glasgow.

However, when it happened I didn't mind. I imagine anyone at the tables we queued past weren't happy but I was content to know I'd be served in turn. One for the pet peeves thread is when the bar tenders have no idea who is next (not their fault) and you and another customer both know you were there first but they start shouting their order ahead of you.

Bangkok Hibby
31-08-2018, 01:00 PM
I've never seen that happen before other than once in Aberdeen after our recent 0-0 game, and I'm a fairly regular customer of spoons across Edinburgh/Glasgow.

However, when it happened I didn't mind. I imagine anyone at the tables we queued past weren't happy but I was content to know I'd be served in turn. One for the pet peeves thread is when the bar tenders have no idea who is next (not their fault) and you and another customer both know you were there first but they start shouting their order ahead of you.

Sad days indeed when the bar staff don't know who's next. It was a skill all bar staff had at one time but no more. There's loads of things now become common which piss off us oldies (OK maybe just me) Automatically filling a glass to the top with ice. Pouring a whole bottle of tonic in your gin without asking. Next time you ask for two drams and they're coming out the same optic, pay attention to how quickly the second one is filled. Has the optic had time to fill properly?

stuart-farquhar
05-09-2018, 05:09 PM

You're right!. Should have been top of the he list!!

10-09-2018, 03:55 PM
Gerry Cinnamon.

Just Weegie chaviness all round.

11-09-2018, 05:58 AM
Folk that feel the need to play music on public transport without the aid of earphones.

11-09-2018, 06:23 AM
Gerry Cinnamon.

Just Weegie chaviness all round.

I don't know much about him beyond that one overplayed song that's inexplicably popular. Every time I see him he just screams CELTIC though.

11-09-2018, 07:23 AM
Folk that feel the need to challenge every rule,regulation or procedure and waste time trying to argue their point.

11-09-2018, 08:18 AM
Folk that feel the need to challenge every rule,regulation or procedure and waste time trying to argue their point.

100% agree with this, if they actually just did what everyone else manages to do without a fuss then everyone's life would be a lot easier.

Obviously there's a place for a bit of anarchy/challenge but not with everything and not all the time. Arguing for arguing sake is just idiotic.

11-09-2018, 08:20 AM
Something I don't understand is how do people in front of us take a long time at ATM's and check-in counters etc...yet when we go it seems to be really quick? Never quite understood that....

11-09-2018, 08:38 AM

:agree: Mostly done because they only see the disadvantage to themselves and don't get why said rules are there for the benefit of the many.

Jay
11-09-2018, 09:25 AM
When you're on a course for work and you know that if you just let them teach you you could all get away an hour early but some buffoon keeps asking stupid questions or giving personal scenarios which are totally irrelevant to the course and others join in so you know your there for the duration.

11-09-2018, 09:38 AM
100% agree with this, if they actually just did what everyone else manages to do without a fuss then everyone's life would be a lot easier.

Obviously there's a place for a bit of anarchy/challenge but not with everything and not all the time. Arguing for arguing sake is just idiotic.

I don't mind folk challenging a way of doing things if they have a constructive and workable alternative solution themselves.

My work just seems to be full of the 'this is a ***** way of doing things' mob who shrug their shoulders and look vaguely alarmed when you ask them how they would do it instead.

Bangkok Hibby
11-09-2018, 09:40 AM
When you're on a course for work and you know that if you just let them teach you you could all get away an hour early but some buffoon keeps asking stupid questions or giving personal scenarios which are totally irrelevant to the course and others join in so you know your there for the duration.

Oh yes...the 5 day offshore first aid/advanced first aid is an absolute disgrace. Not the attendees coming out with rubbish though but the trainers. A two day course padded out to five days by tales of heroics from times past.

11-09-2018, 01:19 PM
:agree: Mostly done because they only see the disadvantage to themselves and don't get why said rules are there for the benefit of the many.

Nail on head.

13-09-2018, 03:21 PM
Oh yes...the 5 day offshore first aid/advanced first aid is an absolute disgrace. Not the attendees coming out with rubbish though but the trainers. A two day course padded out to five days by tales of heroics from times past.ha. every bloody course I go on for work is like that. stories of what the trainer did their whole career and how close they are to retirement.

mate we've all done this **** hundreds of times we just need you to sign the form to say we sat the course and we'll get back to actually working. cheers...

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

13-09-2018, 09:20 PM
Something I don't understand is how do people in front of us take a long time at ATM's and check-in counters etc...yet when we go it seems to be really quick? Never quite understood that....

Folk that get their cash out then put the card back into piss about with statements and that.

Should be 1 transaction then back to the end of the queue if you really need to do something else.

14-09-2018, 07:49 AM
I can honestly say I've never seen the film Grease and I have absolutely no intention of watching it. I just just don't get it and the hype that surrounds it. I personally don't think that not having seen it is a big deal to be honest but the looks of utter shock horror I get (mainly from women) when I say this are really funny. It's like in that moment of admitting I haven't seen I have all of a sudden become a social outcast.

Ram it, I'm no watching it.... ever! :greengrin

14-09-2018, 08:02 AM
I can honestly say I've never seen the film Grease and I have absolutely no intention of watching it. I just just don't get it and the hype that surrounds it. I personally don't think that not having seen it is a big deal to be honest but the looks of utter shock horror I get (mainly from women) when I say this are really funny. It's like in that moment of admitting I haven't seen I have all of a sudden become a social outcast.

What is the thing you "don't get" here?

Jay
14-09-2018, 08:05 AM

:shocked: :shocked: :shocked: :shocked:

14-09-2018, 08:10 AM
What is the thing you "don't get" here?

Don't get the hype around the film and how it seems to be a "cult" classic. Also don't get why it seems to be such a big deal to some that I've not seen it and do not want to...

14-09-2018, 08:21 AM
Don't get the hype around the film and how it seems to be a "cult" classic. Also don't get why it seems to be such a big deal to some that I've not seen it and do not want to...

I know what you mean, I get the same attitude and 'how can you not have seen it' pish when I tell people I have never seen Top Gun. And I have to intention to watch it as I cant stand Tom Cruise.