View Full Version : Transfer rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11

26-01-2018, 12:50 PM
Extremely unusual signing, paying money for someone recovering from a cruciate injury!

True, they must have a lot of faith in his recovery and also his ability.

26-01-2018, 01:53 PM
I must say I'm a bit disappointed in the lack of business from Hibs'. I know we've got a couple of loans and the Stokes and Swanson situations are causing hurdles but ...... we could do with a cherry being pulled out the pie to give us a bit of a lift.
Doesn't help when you see your rivals strengthening their squads.
The reason why we've not been able to do that is in your post?

26-01-2018, 01:55 PM
That's true but maybe RB aside, this should've been addressed last summer no? We all knew we still needed a goalscorer before the season started.

and we signed stokes, no one could have predicted that halfway through the season this would have happened

26-01-2018, 02:40 PM
and we signed stokes, no one could have predicted that halfway through the season this would have happened

I don't know, what's happened looks similar to when he was at Blackburn and Celtic...

NthCarolinaHibs
26-01-2018, 02:43 PM
I don't know, what's happened looks similar to when he was at Blackburn and Celtic...

Aye,but surely his previous,would,or should have spurred him on to not make it happen again 🤔

26-01-2018, 02:50 PM

i wasnt aware something happened at celtic, just thought the manager didnt fancy him.

hibee62
26-01-2018, 02:53 PM
Aye but you don't get invited unless you've got ambition

I think Kenny Millar, the one formerly of the sun, mentioned in the summer that aberdeen were being bankrolled by some American investor. Think this was when they signed Greg Stewart ahead of us and hearts. He also said he understood that our wages were on a par with Hearts but about £1000 a week below aberdeen.

26-01-2018, 03:00 PM
Average 1st team salaries according to Sporting Inteligence, https://www.globalsportssalaries.com/

1 Celtic £735,040 $955,552
2 Rangers £329,600 $428,480
3 Aberdeen £136,382 $177,296
4 Hearts £95,514 $124,168
5 Hibernian £87,100 $113,230
6 Dundee £59,904 $77,875
7 Partick Thistle £58,175 $75,628
8 Ross County £56,394 $73,312
9 Kilmarnock £55,100 $71,630
10 St Johnstone £47,992 $62,389
11 Motherwell £42,662 $55,461
12 Hamilton £41,488 $53,934

26-01-2018, 03:04 PM
i wasnt aware something happened at celtic, just thought the manager didnt fancy him.

BAD boy Anthony Stokes was booted out of the Celtic squad for their vital SPL clash with Motherwell — after a hotel bust-up with Neil Lennon.

RONNY DEILA accused Anthony Stokes (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/anthony-stokes) of disrespecting his Celtic team-mates by taking to social media to complain about being left out of the squad for Celtic's 3-1 Ladbrokes Premiership win over Inverness at a freezing Tulloch Caledonian Stadium.

26-01-2018, 03:09 PM
BAD boy Anthony Stokes was booted out of the Celtic squad for their vital SPL clash with Motherwell — after a hotel bust-up with Neil Lennon.

RONNY DEILA accused Anthony Stokes (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/anthony-stokes) of disrespecting his Celtic team-mates by taking to social media to complain about being left out of the squad for Celtic's 3-1 Ladbrokes Premiership win over Inverness at a freezing Tulloch Caledonian Stadium.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/celtic/celtic-punish-anthony-stokes-for-attending-real-ira-linked-function-1-2686483

26-01-2018, 03:16 PM
Aye,but surely his previous,would,or should have spurred him on to not make it happen again 🤔

He is an arse who can't help be anything other than a **** up and the next **** up is never far away.

Having said that I thought his last spell at Hibs was good, and as we all know he played a remarkable Cup Final.
Looks like Stubbs is due a medal for getting that season out of him with no drama (that we were told about).

26-01-2018, 03:27 PM
Average 1st team salaries according to Sporting Inteligence, https://www.globalsportssalaries.com/

1 Celtic £735,040 $955,552
2 Rangers £329,600 $428,480
3 Aberdeen £136,382 $177,296
4 Hearts £95,514 $124,168
5 Hibernian £87,100 $113,230
6 Dundee £59,904 $77,875
7 Partick Thistle £58,175 $75,628
8 Ross County £56,394 $73,312
9 Kilmarnock £55,100 $71,630
10 St Johnstone £47,992 $62,389
11 Motherwell £42,662 $55,461
12 Hamilton £41,488 $53,934

I don't know what the difference in squad sizes is but as Hertz are supposedly chucking big money at a few players these averages would suggest that they have some "very" low paid first team players.

Souter96Mac
26-01-2018, 03:31 PM
I don't know what the difference in squad sizes is but as Hertz are supposedly chucking big money at a few players these averages would suggest that they have some "very" low paid first team players.

Bearing in mind they play a lot of young players who will be on next to nothing.

26-01-2018, 03:42 PM
The figures are a load of tosh.No club publishes players wages never mind first team squad.

26-01-2018, 03:55 PM
The figures are a load of tosh.No club publishes players wages never mind first team squad.

They wouldn’t need to. Any half decent agent working in the Scottish game could put together such figures from his own dealings with clubs.

26-01-2018, 03:58 PM
They wouldn’t need to. Any half decent agent working in the Scottish game could put together such figures from his own dealings with clubs.

They couldn't be as accurate as those figures are. They're not even rounded to the nearest £10.

The authors have simply looked at the clubs' accounts, and applied whatever arbitrary methods they think fit.

26-01-2018, 04:00 PM
Just as a matter of interest how would an agent know the salary of every first team player at every club?

26-01-2018, 04:03 PM
Just as a matter of interest how would an agent know the salary of every first team player at every club?
He wouldn't, you are correct. I doubt if my wife could tell you what my salary is but if you read various forums there are loads who have all kind of wide ranging knowledge......

26-01-2018, 04:22 PM

Clubs will regularly phone agents and say what players do you have in a certain wage bracket. Someone like John Colqhuon will know roughly what each club will pay for players based on their dealings with them.

26-01-2018, 04:32 PM
Clubs will regularly phone agents and say what players do you have in a certain wage bracket. Someone like John Colqhuon will know roughly what each club will pay for players based on their dealings with them.

Roughly, perhaps. But not to the £ the way that survey indicates.

The amount of effort that would be required to contact every agent in every country, all of whom (don't forget) have their own agendas, would be far too time-consuming and expensive for Sporting Intelligence. It's far easier and cheaper to maintain a database of the clubs' accounts, update that every time a new set is published, and then apply whatever criteria they think fit.

The "exactitude" of the figures quoted gives them an apparent credibility which is undeserved IMO.

26-01-2018, 05:04 PM
Roughly, perhaps. But not to the £ the way that survey indicates.

The amount of effort that would be required to contact every agent in every country, all of whom (don't forget) have their own agendas, would be far too time-consuming and expensive for Sporting Intelligence. It's far easier and cheaper to maintain a database of the clubs' accounts, update that every time a new set is published, and then apply whatever criteria they think fit.

The "exactitude" of the figures quoted gives them an apparent credibility which is undeserved IMO.

Agreed - but ballpark they're probably not miles off.

At least you can get a general idea of relative budgets.

26-01-2018, 05:12 PM
Agreed - but ballpark they're probably not miles off.

At least you can get a general idea of relative budgets.They may be, they may not be. There's no way of being sure.

If they're using information that's already in the public domain, anyone with a calculator could come up with their own version.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

26-01-2018, 07:21 PM
That's true but maybe RB aside, this should've been addressed last summer no? We all knew we still needed a goalscorer before the season started.What's with every post of yours been ultra negative...you are all over the place having digs at our club....give it a rest pls it's getting boring mate...u are slagging Hibs off for loan signings...isn't that mostly what Sevco have done this window too??

26-01-2018, 07:26 PM
What's with every post of yours been ultra negative...you are all over the place having digs at our club....give it a rest pls it's getting boring mate...u are slagging Hibs off for loan signings...isn't that mostly what Sevco have done this window too??

Opinions huh...I'm sure I'm not the only one who's a little disappointed with the business we've done this month compared to the teams around us in the league.

26-01-2018, 07:30 PM
Opinions huh...I'm sure I'm not the only one who's a little disappointed with the business we've done this month compared to the teams around us in the league.I'm not overjoyed myself but it's not as easy as what you think...we have 2 high earners that it appears Lennon wants rid of in Stokes and Swanson...and obviously moving them on is key to further additions. That's my reading of it anyway

26-01-2018, 07:33 PM
I'm not overjoyed myself but it's not as easy as what you think...we have 2 high earners that it appears Lennon wants rid of in Stokes and Swanson...and obviously moving them on is key to further additions. That's my reading of it anyway

I totally get it's not easy but other teams seem to be doing it. Don't think we'll see Swanson go now, hope he gets his chance. Stokes a definite away, be interesting to see if we'd have anyone lined up should stokes go

26-01-2018, 07:44 PM
The "other teams" factor shouldn't really be a factor but unfortunately it is.

We need to accept that we're coming out of a damaging 3 year stint outside the top league, and that will be harming us.

Aberdeen should be in a much stronger position than us.

Hearts and Rangers are hard to read as they don't seem to need to live by the same financial realities as the rest of us.

Yes, we're getting good, big crowds, but we need to live within our means.

As has been mentioned above, I reckon Lennon is doing his best within (correctly) fairly rigorous constraints.

If he shifts a couple of our bigger earners, I'm sure we'll see some interesting additions.

If we keep these crowds up, hold a position high up in the Premier League and get to Hampden a few times over the next few years then we'll see ourselves doing a bit more in the transfer market.

(BTW - I have no idea how Stubbs managed to get hold of the players he did in the Championship. Very impressive indeed).

27-01-2018, 01:27 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180127/b471e11b2d4895d9a9bf0c603360896d.jpg
This guy is usually spot on in all matters Accies. Breakdown of the Docherty deal.

27-01-2018, 04:01 PM
Not a rumour, just a plea. We should sign Stephen Dobbie.

27-01-2018, 04:20 PM

It’s a creative midfielder we need more than out and out forward.

27-01-2018, 05:05 PM

I agree. A short term no brainer. Seasoned, proven finisher. We do need more creativity in the midfield too and think we need to sacrifice SJM to reinvest in that area.

Firestarter
27-01-2018, 05:16 PM
Anyone heard anything about Cillian Sheridan next week possibly?

27-01-2018, 05:19 PM

I hope not. On a related note, I can't believe he's only 28. Feels like he's been around forever.

27-01-2018, 05:19 PM

Instead of Swiss boy? No thanks.

Firestarter
27-01-2018, 05:21 PM
He's playing or playing for a top level Polish side and he would be ideal up front imo. Swiss boy is unknown Sheridans scored goals in Scotland.

27-01-2018, 05:21 PM
I hope not. On a related note, I can't believe he's only 28. Feels like he's been around forever.

I was just about to post similar.....he surely can’t really only be 28?!

Tbf if we do sign him he’ll probably just stay on the bench most of the time anyway so I’m sure he can fulfill that role as well as anyone.

27-01-2018, 05:22 PM
He's playing or playing for a top level Polish side and he would be ideal up front imo. Swiss boy is unknown Sheridans scored goals in Scotland.

How would he be able to continue his Podcasting?

Firestarter
27-01-2018, 05:25 PM
How would he be able to continue his Podcasting?

No idea he done a podcast. Does he need to be connected to Polish internet to do so?

27-01-2018, 05:27 PM
No idea he done a podcast. Does he need to be connected to Polish internet to do so?

I didn't realise they had the internet over there...

27-01-2018, 05:30 PM
I'm not overjoyed myself but it's not as easy as what you think...we have 2 high earners that it appears Lennon wants rid of in Stokes and Swanson...and obviously moving them on is key to further additions. That's my reading of it anyway

Whittie can go too, IMO. Another high earner? Get rid now.
If current form is a guide, how good will he be in 3 years time?

Firestarter
27-01-2018, 05:30 PM

It's the old style yin that cuts off when someone phones apparently. They still have teletext too which I'm jealous of.

27-01-2018, 05:31 PM

Not this season ... but last season, and the season before that and the season before that and the season before that. I would be more inclined to believe a rumour that Cillian Murphy is about to sign :faf:

Firestarter
27-01-2018, 05:31 PM

Whittaker is injured. He's not on a high wage.

Firestarter
27-01-2018, 05:32 PM
Not this season ... but last season, and the season before that and the season before that and the season before that. I would be more inclined to believe a rumour that Cillian Murphy is about to sign :faf:

Fair enough pal was only asking. It's a rumours thread after all.

27-01-2018, 05:32 PM

Current form? He’s no played in weeks?!

Not sure why Whittaker has creeped in as a scapegoat when he’s been injured?!

27-01-2018, 05:51 PM
Fair enough pal was only asking. It's a rumours thread after all.

It wasn't personal mate, this one has been getting trotted out season after season and it just made me laugh to see it again. I've been on this board for 10 years and haven't been in a position to pass on or create a single rumour, so yer at least one ahead of me :greengrin

27-01-2018, 06:01 PM
I passed a rumour once.Seem to remember it was very painful.

27-01-2018, 06:07 PM
Another goal set up by scott allan today. Just saying....

Wellbankhibby
27-01-2018, 07:23 PM
Another goal set up by scott allan today. Just saying.... Bring him back. So what if he engineered a move to go to rangers. Yes we have him a platform and he was very good for us. What's wrong with some people on this site. If it Betters the team sign him.

Ronster117
27-01-2018, 07:32 PM

I thought that today listening to the bbc open all mics..... we don’t need creative players, we have them already, just need a out and out poacher/goal scorer to put away the chances that our creative players are making in every game.

27-01-2018, 07:44 PM
I thought that today listening to the bbc open all mics..... we don’t need creative players, we have them already, just need a out and out poacher/goal scorer to put away the chances that our creative players are making in every game.

We need that too but we need to create more gilt edged chances too. And score from more half chances

JimboHibs
27-01-2018, 07:49 PM

Is he a high earner.

27-01-2018, 07:58 PM

He is exactly the type of player we need. Wouldn’t cost a fee and reasonable wages.

hibs#1
27-01-2018, 07:59 PM
He is exactly the type of player we need. Wouldn’t cost a fee and reasonable wages.

Is he not at Dundee for the season anyway?

27-01-2018, 08:02 PM

Yep. It's the most obvious pre contract deal for us ever huh?

I would think there will be a way for Celtic to recall him if they wanted too. He’s a great player who opens up defences with great passing.

Yes, pointless discussion, I’ve no idea why his names come up so much in this transfer window.

hibs#1
27-01-2018, 08:04 PM
I would think there will be a way for Celtic to recall him if they wanted too. He’s a great player who opens up defences with great passing.

I agree would say he would be the perfect type of player for us,Just thought the loan deal would have ruled out a January signing.

27-01-2018, 08:19 PM
I agree would say he would be the perfect type of player for us,Just thought the loan deal would have ruled out a January signing.

It might do and I’ve no idea if we are interested. I’d be surprised if Celtic didn’t have a mechanism for recalling him though.

27-01-2018, 08:19 PM
Yes, pointless discussion, I’ve no idea why his names come up so much in this transfer window.

It’s just because he is exactly the type of player we need.

27-01-2018, 08:24 PM
It’s just because he is exactly the type of player we need.

But never in a million years a Lennon type player, someone we’ve not actually been linked with and someone who’s already in the middle of a loan at another club.

I understand why his name may pop up at some point but I don’t understand why he’s got the amount of discussion he has done.

27-01-2018, 08:25 PM
Can't believe there is mention of Scott Allan...a player that made a transfer request to leave us. Stokes never did that and he's a returning player...how's that working out for us? Whittaker? O'Connor?

What returning player has really looked great?

Hate us looking at, thinking of, or signing players who have been at the club before. When was last time it worked out well for the club?

27-01-2018, 08:27 PM
Can't believe there is mention of Scott Allan...a player that made a transfer request to leave us. Stokes never did that and he's a returning player...how's that working out for us? Whittaker? O'Connor?

What returning player has really looked great?

Hate us looking at, thinking of, or signing players who have been at the club before. When was last time it worked out well for the club?

Deeks....

27-01-2018, 08:49 PM
Deeks....

He was better first time around. He was good but not terrific 2nd time.

27-01-2018, 08:50 PM

Apart from his debut at Hamilton 😉

27-01-2018, 08:51 PM

They don't need it , they're all over here

RossScott1991
27-01-2018, 09:12 PM
We need a proper Hibs striker. And what i mean by that is I'm 26 years old, and throughout most of my time supporting Hibs we have always had good strikers. Even poor Hibs team (i.e fenlon aka griffiths) - maybe calderwood and butcher teams exception. But i think this season especially it us one of the weakest strike force we have had at club. Shaw is young, mclaren no idea how good he is. Murray isn't at the required level IMO

27-01-2018, 09:29 PM
They don't need it , they're all over here

Just nae need

27-01-2018, 09:30 PM

He was super 2nd time round.

27-01-2018, 09:36 PM
Gary O’Connor was good second time round.

We are desperate for a new striker and I’m not convinced we will get one of the required standard before Wednesday.

We need one that gets the fans going and walks into our starting line up.

Now I know this would be extremely hard to get at this time of year, but if we lose stokes and potentially Mcginn that’s a hell of a lot of money to reinvest with.

27-01-2018, 09:48 PM
We need a proper Hibs striker. And what i mean by that is I'm 26 years old, and throughout most of my time supporting Hibs we have always had good strikers. Even poor Hibs team (i.e fenlon aka griffiths) - maybe calderwood and butcher teams exception. But i think this season especially it us one of the weakest strike force we have had at club. Shaw is young, mclaren no idea how good he is. Murray isn't at the required level IMO
Couldn’t agree more.

Similar age to yourself and we’ve always seemed to have a fairly good forward but struggling this season.

27-01-2018, 10:05 PM
We need a proper Hibs striker. And what i mean by that is I'm 26 years old, and throughout most of my time supporting Hibs we have always had good strikers. Even poor Hibs team (i.e fenlon aka griffiths) - maybe calderwood and butcher teams exception. But i think this season especially it us one of the weakest strike force we have had at club. Shaw is young, mclaren no idea how good he is. Murray isn't at the required level IMOI agree it seems we`re weak in attack this season but hopefully McLaren will improve things once match fit . You mention Fenlon team as weak but in Fenlon`s only full season we finished 7th ( should have made top 6 but had terrible decisons against Hearts - Griffiths " goal " and at Tannadice just before split ) and made cup final after beating 3 SPL teams and Ayr on way .

27-01-2018, 10:12 PM
I honestly don't get the desire to bring Allan back. Have we not learnt anything with the Stokes saga?

Allan doesn't score goals (something we're crying out for) and treated the club terribly when he left m

I could probably forgive that but this is a guy who can't get a start at a team who were second bottom of the league until today.

He's failed everywhere he's gone except for his brief time with us.

If he'd never played for Hibs there wouldn't be a single poster mentioning him.

Finally, can you honestly see him fitting in a Neil Lennon team?

27-01-2018, 10:20 PM
We can't get him back, he is on a season long loan deal at Dundee so it's pointless even discussing him until next summer. :greengrin

27-01-2018, 10:25 PM
Squad pretty much perfect as it is. Anybody who disagrees is a Yam fud who should be launched. #GGTTH

27-01-2018, 10:39 PM
So not many if any rumours . Lots here talking about Scott Allan but if we`re looking at ex players what about Eoin Doyle who has experience as a striker and in midfield ? Possibility for striker if Stokes leaves ? Francisco Sandaza though he has some offfield baggage too .

Tornadoes70
27-01-2018, 10:55 PM
So not many if any rumours . Lots here talking about Scott Allan but if we`re looking at ex players what about Eoin Doyle who has experience as a striker and in midfield ? Possibility for striker if Stokes leaves ? Francisco Sandaza though he has some offfield baggage too .

Billy Mackay, El Baktoui or Kris Doolan are potentially the type of forwards who could provide goals and assists and help sharpen up our current ones.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

27-01-2018, 10:58 PM

We are getting chances they are being missed, we need to sign clinical finishers and perhaps Maclaren might be that but another person creating chances for us to miss is mot required a striker or two and IMO that is exactly what we need.

27-01-2018, 11:01 PM
Billy Mackay, El Baktoui or Kris Doolan are potentially the type of forwards who could provide goals and assists and help sharpen up our current ones.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

Squad players at most. Would be majorly disapointed if any of them were seen as what we needed upfront.

27-01-2018, 11:01 PM

Doyle too is on loan at Oldham. So pointless chat

Keyser Sauzee
27-01-2018, 11:02 PM

Mon the Cabbage!!!

El Baktoui hasn’t scored near enough goals for a poor Dundee team to be considered, he’s not good enough.

Tornadoes70
27-01-2018, 11:08 PM
Squad players at most. Would be majorly disapointed if any of them were seen as what we needed upfront.

El Baktoui hasn’t scored near enough goals for a poor Dundee team to be considered, he’s not good enough.

Fair enough.

I'm just suggesting players who have scored goals in the Scottish leagues who could possibly do a job for us and could help progress SM and Ollie in particular.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

27-01-2018, 11:10 PM
Doyle too is on loan at Oldham. So pointless chat

Swanson to St Js and we get Craig in return, should solve a few problems.

We need a good moaner to shout crap at the ref while the game plays on.

27-01-2018, 11:13 PM

Can't see anybody wanting to take Stokes. If we want rid we'll have to pay him to go away. That means no money to replace him.

27-01-2018, 11:13 PM

Aye, we've not had a good finger pointer at ER for a couple of seasons right enough :greengrin

27-01-2018, 11:21 PM
We are getting chances they are being missed, we need to sign clinical finishers and perhaps Maclaren might be that but another person creating chances for us to miss is mot required a striker or two and IMO that is exactly what we need.

The Dobster is a natural finisher. He scored two cracking goals at ER in a pre-season friendly against Sunderland some years ago. I've always admired him as a player. Not 100% sure he could do a job for us now but he's maybe worth a punt.

1875STEVE
27-01-2018, 11:30 PM
Can't see anybody wanting to take Stokes. If we want rid we'll have to pay him to go away. That means no money to replace him.

Lennon said today we had two enquires for him.

27-01-2018, 11:33 PM
Aye, we've not had a good finger pointer at ER for a couple of seasons right enough :greengrin

We have one on the touch line :greengrin

28-01-2018, 12:01 AM

Fully agree. We need someone who's great at finding space where they can then hide from the ball.

28-01-2018, 12:38 AM
I think the board know the pressure is on to get a big signing in.

I hope they delicer

28-01-2018, 12:51 AM
I think the board know the pressure is on to get a big signing in.

I hope they delicer

Didn't know Leanne had lice.
I also hope they delicer.
It would be cruel not to.

MagicSwirlingShip
28-01-2018, 03:44 AM
The board pulled Ambrose out the hat this time last year, and we were a Championshii club at the time with a lower average attendance.

Keeping Mcginn, getting Dylan on a new extended deal, and a Striker with a bit guile would be a great window on our part.

28-01-2018, 04:22 AM
Wonder if Kenny Miller at 38 could be that striker he could help boyle and Murray and shaw be more clinical also be a good striker coach

28-01-2018, 07:00 AM
Wonder if Kenny Miller at 38 could be that striker he could help boyle and Murray and shaw be more clinical also be a good striker coach

Naw

28-01-2018, 08:07 AM

One thing nobody ever accused Miller of is being clinical. [emoji23] Hard worker yes, fast yes and definitely someone who made the most of his talents but never clinical. Didn’t he have the nickname Kenny sitters for a while?

28-01-2018, 08:19 AM
One thing nobody ever accused Miller of is being clinical. [emoji23] Hard worker yes, fast yes and definitely someone who made the most of his talents but never clinical. Didn’t he have the nickname Kenny sitters for a while?

Kenny Misser, ISTR

28-01-2018, 08:37 AM

I think it was a Scotland qualification campaign around 2010 during which he missed a bucket load of one on ones and almost single handedly threw away any chance we had of the play offs.

Brunswickbill
28-01-2018, 09:55 AM
I think it was a Scotland qualification campaign around 2010 during which he missed a bucket load of one on ones and almost single handedly threw away any chance we had of the play offs.

I remember one of the pundits saying “It’s not his first touch that’s the problem; it’s just that his second touch is always a slide tackle.” But he has made the very best of his abilities and has scored many important goals during his career.

28-01-2018, 10:14 AM

Better than 1 in 3 at club level and better than 1 in 4 at Internatiinal level. I think you’re a slaver.

HibernianJK
28-01-2018, 10:15 AM
Hat trick for Dobbie yesterday, great finisher. Not the answer long term but 18 month deal wouldn’t say no.

28-01-2018, 10:24 AM
Steven Fletcher
Malonga

Both would suit our current style of play.

RossScott1991
28-01-2018, 10:30 AM
Are we actually linked with everyone? its a big ask to cram in all this business in space of 3 days. We won't get anywhere near what we are after this stage in the window.

28-01-2018, 10:49 AM
Are we actually linked with everyone? its a big ask to cram in all this business in space of 3 days. We won't get anywhere near what we are after this stage in the window.

This Kamberi guy is the only one just now. Although it seems we need to get rid before we sign him.

28-01-2018, 10:50 AM
I expect there will be quite a bit of movement over the next couple of days.

If it was me I would get rid of Stokes, Big Dave and Fontaine.

28-01-2018, 10:55 AM
I expect there will be quite a bit of movement over the next couple of days.

If it was me I would get rid of Stokes, Big Dave and Fontaine.

I'd like to think so however, I get the feeling this window will go down as another damp squib.

28-01-2018, 11:14 AM
Didn't know Leanne had lice.
I also hope they delicer.
It would be cruel not to.

Liam Henderson to delice her?

28-01-2018, 11:21 AM
It wont even be a case of are clubs interested in Stokes He will only agree to move if it suits him
Not playing for a club seems to have become the. norm while picking up good signing on fees and a decent wage

28-01-2018, 11:23 AM
I'd like to think so however, I get the feeling this window will go down as another damp squib.

"Following sales of John McGinn and Anthony Stokes on deadline day, Hibs brought in Generic Youngster on a loan deal from Hull until the end of the season. The striker - who previously scored 0 goals in 5 games on loan at Dagenham & Redbridge - is hoped to solve Hibs' goalscoring problems."

28-01-2018, 11:28 AM
"Following sales of John McGinn and Anthony Stokes on deadline day, Hibs brought in Generic Youngster on a loan deal from Hull until the end of the season. The striker - who previously scored 0 goals in 5 games on loan at Dagenham & Redbridge - is hoped to solve Hibs' goalscoring problems."

It’s almost like you’ve seen this movie before.

In all seriousness with us playing on Wednesday if people are going to be leaving I’m expecting news of bids to be coming in today or tomorrow. Battery on my phone is taking a tanking refreshing this page.

28-01-2018, 11:29 AM

Sauce? :wink:

28-01-2018, 11:32 AM

This. Almost 100% that if we received a decent fee for mcginn we would be lucky to see any of it invested in the squad. Seen it play out that way so many times before.

28-01-2018, 11:32 AM

It was earlier than that. Remember he had two guild edge chances at the San Siro back in 2005ish.

He did IIRC destroy Norway at their place around the same campaign.

Gordy M
28-01-2018, 11:36 AM
This. Almost 100% that if we received a decent fee for mcginn we would be lucky to see any of it invested in the squad. Seen it play out that way so many times before.

Really, since LD has been here? Maybe you could remind me when that happened as i cant remember that?

28-01-2018, 11:37 AM
Really, since LD has been here? Maybe you could remind me when that happened as i cant remember that?

Cummings in the summer.

28-01-2018, 11:43 AM
Cummings in the summer.

Are you sure? Did Stokes and Ambrose cost us nothing? Signing on fees and significant wages are still reinvestment in the squad.

28-01-2018, 11:44 AM
Are you sure? Did Stokes and Ambrose cost us nothing? Signing on fees and significant wages are still reinvestment in the squad.

I don’t think there was a significant increase in quality signed compared to previous seasons when we hadnt sold anyone.

I don’t know what contracts these guys are on though so that’s just my perception of our transfer activity.

28-01-2018, 11:49 AM
I don’t think there was a significant increase in quality signed compared to previous seasons when we hadnt sold anyone.

I don’t know what contracts these guys are on though so that’s just my perception of our transfer activity.

Slivka also cost a fee as well. We definitely reinvested in the squad in the summer, just not very well.

28-01-2018, 11:51 AM
Slivka also cost a fee as well. We definitely reinvested in the squad in the summer, just not very well.

Well enough to get us challenging at the top of the league and good enough to go toe to toe with Celtic.

It's going to take time to build us up but we've defo not made a bad start.

28-01-2018, 12:10 PM
We are in a tricky place.

Stokes needs to be offloaded but is highest paid player by a mile so if he doesn’t go we would either keep him or pay him off. Either way doesn’t free up wages. If he does go it might be last minute so not enought time to replace.

Big Dave needs to go as well but sounds like nothing imminent so same scenario to Stokes but at lower cost

The Swanson move I assume is partly to give us some space if above doesn’t happen but given we need creativity real risk that backfired for us.

We could get McGinn bids in and one acceptable but very very little time to replace and use funds.

Perfect answer is-

McGinn stays
Swanson goes on loan
Stokes goes to another club
Big Dave goes to another club

We therefore free c £8k wages and bring in Swiss trialist and say Templeton and Ally Crawford. Arguably stronger than before.

28-01-2018, 12:22 PM

Honestly mate, why do you bother with Hibs. You never seem to post anything positive

28-01-2018, 12:22 PM

Stokes needs to be offloaded but is highest paid player by a mile so if he doesn’t go we would either keep him or pay him off. Either way doesn’t free up wages. If he does go it might be last minute so not enought time to replace.

Big Dave needs to go as well but sounds like nothing imminent so same scenario to Stokes but at lower cost

The Swanson move I assume is partly to give us some space if above doesn’t happen but given we need creativity real risk that backfired for us.

We could get McGinn bids in and one acceptable but very very little time to replace and use funds.

Perfect answer is-

McGinn stays
Swanson goes on loan

We therefore free c £8k wages and bring in Swiss trialist and say Templeton and Ally Crawford. Arguably stronger than before.

Maybe give Hamilton Fraser Murray on loan as they still need bodies.

28-01-2018, 12:23 PM

We signed 6 international players in the summer & another 2, on loan, in this window. Obviously they haven't all worked out but I don't think Hibs can be accused of a) not investing in the squad or b) not attempting to improve the quality.

28-01-2018, 12:26 PM

Perfect answer is-

McGinn stays
Swanson goes on loan

I'd definitely be keeping Danny Swanson - in fact, I'd be dropping Boyle to the bench for a few games and starting with Danny. Boyle has been off the pace for the last few games, unsure if it's a niggle or just that teams are doubling up on him and marking him far more closely. Either way, for me he has been very poor.

28-01-2018, 12:35 PM
Cummings in the summer.What a nonsense comment...am sure you like everyone else.on here was happy with our summer activity. Almost every one to a man was claiming it was one of our best windows ever. Now with the benefit of hindsight your coming out accusing LD and board of some sort of lack of ambition because the likes of Stokes and Whittaker haven't worked out. Absolute nonsense on here these days honestly...this forum is starting to border on the ridiculous

28-01-2018, 12:41 PM
What a nonsense comment...am sure you like everyone else.on here was happy with our summer activity. Almost every one to a man was claiming it was one of our best windows ever. Now with the benefit of hindsight your coming out accusing LD and board of some sort of lack of ambition because the likes of Stokes and Whittaker haven't worked out. Absolute nonsense on here these days honestly...this forum is starting to border on the ridiculous

Och calm down.

FWIW I didn’t go back and study all our signings in the summer, it was just a comment based on the fact that very few of our recent signings seem to make the starting 11.

In hindsight and thinking about it more i was probably wrong but hysterical reactions like yours to a post just because you disagree with it is as bad for this message board as the people you’re getting all upset about.

28-01-2018, 12:56 PM
Och calm down.

FWIW I didn’t go back and study all our signings in the summer, it was just a comment based on the fact that very few of our recent signings seem to make the starting 11.

In hindsight and thinking about it more i was probably wrong but hysterical reactions like yours to a post just because you disagree with it is as bad for this message board as the people you’re getting all upset about.Not hysterical it's factual...everyone back at end of August was delighted with our summer signings and overall window. U accuse me of hysteria then admit you shouldn't have made your original comment about lack of ambition from the board?? Ok then... let's leave it there

Fwiw i agree many of those summer signings haven't worked out...but we were all happy enough at the time that's for sure

shetlandhibee
28-01-2018, 01:09 PM
Not hysterical it's factual...everyone back at end of August was delighted with our summer signings and overall window. U accuse me of hysteria then admit you shouldn't have made your original comment about lack of ambition from the board?? Ok then... let's leave it there

Fwiw i agree many of those summer signings haven't worked out...but we were all happy enough at the time that's for sure
yes your right, myself included" best window ever,, and most internationals sighned in one window etc, was what most were saying:top marks

28-01-2018, 01:12 PM
Not hysterical it's factual...everyone back at end of August was delighted with our summer signings and overall window. U accuse me of hysteria then admit you shouldn't have made your original comment about lack of ambition from the board?? Ok then... let's leave it there

You can still disagree with people without getting all excited like you did.

Anyway, I agree, now I’ve had the last word let’s just leave it there 😊

28-01-2018, 01:14 PM
Hearts pick up another 300k with the sale of Isma to some mob in Uzbekistan.

28-01-2018, 01:39 PM

Mon the Cabbage!!!
Not hibs class, El Baktoui has struggled since he moved from the Pars.

28-01-2018, 01:44 PM
Cynical

28-01-2018, 01:44 PM
Not hibs class, El Baktoui has struggled since he moved from the Pars.

He gets pelters from the Dundee fans but I've always thought he looks like a player.

Great touch, good movement, dangerous around the box.

K-Zazu
28-01-2018, 01:49 PM

They signed him for 200k I think, Hearts I mean, when they bought him under Ian Cathro

28-01-2018, 01:51 PM
He gets pelters from the Dundee fans but I've always thought he looks like a player.

Great touch, good movement, dangerous around the box.
So why has he struggled, scored for fun with Pars, admittedly in a lower league.

28-01-2018, 01:57 PM
So why has he struggled, scored for fun with Pars, admittedly in a lower league.

Iirc he hadn't played professional football before, he was a futsal player...and I think thats where he would be best - some incredible skills, but not got the game awareness or discipline for this level...a mixed bag for Dundee

28-01-2018, 02:01 PM
Fully agree. We need someone who's great at finding space where they can then hide from the ball.

Spooky, last time I seen him was at Falkirk retail park, plenty spaces but he squeezed his Merc in between two cars, must be a thing he has.

28-01-2018, 02:12 PM
Iirc he hadn't played professional football before, he was a futsal player...and I think thats where he would be best - some incredible skills, but not got the game awareness or discipline for this level...a mixed bag for Dundee
Think you've probably put your finger on it, great to have in your 5 aside team.

28-01-2018, 04:20 PM
Kenny Misser, ISTR

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrinThat is good
Clever, not nasty

28-01-2018, 04:37 PM

Supposed to be in for Stokes

28-01-2018, 04:40 PM

According to Kickback? I’ll be very surprised if Porter was.

28-01-2018, 04:40 PM

Who? Hertz? 😂😂😂

28-01-2018, 04:41 PM
According to Kickback? I’ll be very surprised if Porter was.

Presume he means the Uzbekistan team?

28-01-2018, 04:43 PM

I thought he meant Hearts!! No way would Hearts take him.

28-01-2018, 04:46 PM

Hertz

28-01-2018, 04:49 PM
Hertz

Well that’ll no happen.

andybev1
28-01-2018, 04:53 PM

Probably recouping money spent rather than money for more signings - we have some very big money sales to come relative to this, which will no doubt be used for players so not too much to worry about IMO.

28-01-2018, 04:56 PM

Moaning about things that haven't even happened. It was only a matter of time :top marks

Tobias Funke
28-01-2018, 05:28 PM
Moaning about things that haven't even happened. It was only a matter of time :top marks

Par for the course with this particular poster sadly. A very negative and angsty individual.

BegbieHSC
28-01-2018, 09:49 PM
I see the Daily Hun/Sellic are trying to tout McGinn to other teams, claiming we've halved our McGinn evaluation to £2.5m cause we're para about time on his contract.

Frankly, they can **** off. Sick of the Weegie media trying to unsettle us/**** us over.

Here's the text, so you don't have to give them the clicks that increases their advertising revenue.
"And the Daily Record (live transfer blog, 7.58am) reports that the Edinburgh giants may now be forced to climb down somewhat on McGinn’s valuation with Cardiff City keen and accept offers of around half the £5 million they were initially demanding. (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-11916437)
So if the reports are true and McGinn could be signed for as little as £2.5 million, Celtic should not need any further encouragement. Manager Brendan Rodgers is a huge fan of the 2016/17 Scottish Championship Player of the Year, after all."

28-01-2018, 10:07 PM
I see the Daily Hun/Sellic are trying to tout McGinn to other teams, claiming we've halved our McGinn evaluation to £2.5m cause we're para about time on his contract.

Frankly, they can **** off. Sick of the Weegie media trying to unsettle us/**** us over.

Here's the text, so you don't have to give them the clicks that increases their advertising revenue.
"And the Daily Record (live transfer blog, 7.58am) reports that the Edinburgh giants may now be forced to climb down somewhat on McGinn’s valuation with Cardiff City keen and accept offers of around half the £5 million they were initially demanding. (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-11916437)
So if the reports are true and McGinn could be signed for as little as £2.5 million, Celtic should not need any further encouragement. Manager Brendan Rodgers is a huge fan of the 2016/17 Scottish Championship Player of the Year, after all."

We play Der Hun on Saturday...

Tornadoes70
28-01-2018, 10:15 PM

I'd have to ask the question - Does anybody actually still read what the largely Jabba controlled Scottish media still say regarding biased rumour/fake news and especially from the Record? Its become apparent to most that they are becoming quite irrelevant to the majority of us who now obtain our information elsewhere. They're 'old' news! In my opinion.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

29-01-2018, 09:05 AM

Must admit I watched the Cardiff game yesterday and McGinn would walk straight into that team, the one thing they lacked a was a bit of bite in the middle, yes it was Man City but they had a soft middle, I also thought Paterson did quite well considering the opposition.

29-01-2018, 10:18 AM
Killie doing more business, Steve Clark seems to have some decent contacts down South.

29-01-2018, 10:19 AM
Killie doing more business, Steve Clark seems to have some decent contacts down South.

Where are they getting the money from?

29-01-2018, 10:24 AM

Who have they signed?

29-01-2018, 10:41 AM
Where are they getting the money from?

Did they not do a deal with bank to basically wipe their bebt?

29-01-2018, 10:50 AM
Who have they signed?
Aaron Tshibola from Aston Villa, defender.

Firestarter
29-01-2018, 10:52 AM
Aaron Tshibola from Aston Villa, defender.

He's good on the telly.

29-01-2018, 10:53 AM

Lets see where they finish in the League

29-01-2018, 10:54 AM
He's good on the telly.
Yip, Clark bring some quality in with this signing.

29-01-2018, 11:03 AM
Tshibola is a centre midfielder who was absolutely slated by MK Dons fans and Robbie Neilson ended his loan early.

Eaststandee
29-01-2018, 11:09 AM
Did they not do a deal with bank to basically wipe their bebt?

Sounds like they are just going to build all the debt back up

29-01-2018, 11:31 AM
I'd have to ask the question - Does anybody actually still read what the largely Jabba controlled Scottish media still say regarding biased rumour/fake news and especially from the Record? Its become apparent to most that they are becoming quite irrelevant to the majority of us who now obtain our information elsewhere. They're 'old' news! In my opinion.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

I often berate the written sports media in Scotland about the drivel within their pages, but haven't bought, or read a paper since 21/5/16. Problem is that everyone still gets to see the articles online, usually after someone has posted to highlight some nonsense. While they still attract online clicks, they will still be relevant to a degree, but they certainly don't command the same power in the game they once had.

29-01-2018, 11:32 AM
Tshibola is a centre midfielder who was absolutely slated by MK Dons fans and Robbie Neilson ended his loan early.
Think I'll wait till I've seen him play against the hibs before forming an opinion. No disrespect to MK dons fans.

29-01-2018, 11:35 AM
Celtic siging Charly Musonda on loan from Chelsea

Boy looks a good talent

29-01-2018, 11:37 AM
Celtic siging Charly Musonda on loan from Chelsea

Boy looks a good talent

Midfielder so maybe takes another club out of SJM bidding if there actually is to be any.

29-01-2018, 11:51 AM
Have just heard that Hearts have made a bid for Cardiff's Joe Bennett, seemingly Potter was "hugely Impressed" by his "Hearts-minded" performance against Man City.

29-01-2018, 01:33 PM
Aubameyang to Arsenal for £55M. Pretty frightening that that actually looks like a bargain these days!

nellio
29-01-2018, 01:44 PM
Aubameyang to Arsenal for £55M. Pretty frightening that that actually looks like a bargain these days!

Lightning quick and scores loads of goals at a top level. Just a bit of a party animal apparently. I'm sure moving to London wont help with that!

29-01-2018, 01:46 PM

If we had announced that signing today first thing I'd have to do would be to google him to see who he is - as a non follower of English football I've never heard of him.

29-01-2018, 01:48 PM
If we had announced that signing today first thing I'd have to do would be to google him to see who he is - as a non follower of English football I've never heard of him.

German football. Plays for Dortmund, scores outrageous goals.

29-01-2018, 01:50 PM
I follow Dortmund and I've always thought he was ALMOST top quality but not quite. I would love too see him tear up the EPL but I will be surprised if he does. He does score goals but the number he misses has attracted constant criticism......

Saint Hibee
29-01-2018, 02:06 PM
Just read the EEN. Why the hell does anyone want Kyle Lafferty? He’s mince!

JDHibs
29-01-2018, 02:28 PM

Thats a myth.

He would score barrel loads in our team, sure hes got 11 or so goals, which for a team that dont score many and have been crap all season along with their hoof ball tactics, is a good return. Look at what he does for N.Ireland who play to his strengths.

Hes a twat, and i dont like him, but hes a decent player.

andybev1
29-01-2018, 02:50 PM
http://www.espn.co.uk/football/soccer-transfers/story/3336400/arsenal-wont-sign-pierre-emerick-aubameyang-this-month-arsene-wenger

Just seen wenger has ruled it out

29-01-2018, 02:53 PM
http://www.espn.co.uk/football/soccer-transfers/story/3336400/arsenal-wont-sign-pierre-emerick-aubameyang-this-month-arsene-wenger

Just seen wenger has ruled it out

That story is 3 weeks old. Today's:

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11670/11227901/arsenal-agree-60m-in-principle-to-sign-borussia-dortmund-striker-pierre-emerick-aubameyang

andybev1
29-01-2018, 02:54 PM
That story is 3 weeks old. Today's:

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11670/11227901/arsenal-agree-60m-in-principle-to-sign-borussia-dortmund-striker-pierre-emerick-aubameyang

sorry, my bad

29-01-2018, 02:59 PM
sorry, my bad
Were the comments about Theo Walcott not a sufficient clue? :greengrin

29-01-2018, 03:00 PM
I follow Dortmund and I've always thought he was ALMOST top quality but not quite. I would love too see him tear up the EPL but I will be surprised if he does. He does score goals but the number he misses has attracted constant criticism......

Sounds like he'll fit in well at Arsenal then.

29-01-2018, 03:01 PM

Someone bought his strike partner. Find that even more baffling

andybev1
29-01-2018, 03:02 PM
Neil Warnock said to be weighing up a £2 million bid.

Read more at: https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/john-mcginn-will-leave-hibs-but-hopefully-not-till-summer-1-4675096

Add a million more

29-01-2018, 03:03 PM
Someone bought his strike partner. Find that even more baffling

Carlisle gave Cole Stockton a contract. Trumps the lot. :na na:

hhibs
29-01-2018, 03:34 PM
Neil Warnock said to be weighing up a £2 million bid.

Read more at: https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/john-mcginn-will-leave-hibs-but-hopefully-not-till-summer-1-4675096

Add a million more

Nah,we are told this is a tough time to get in good players,at least double that,thank you !

29-01-2018, 03:40 PM
If a 2 million bid is made we will bite their hand off.

29-01-2018, 03:43 PM
If it's £2m up front with further cash if they're promoted, and a % of his next sale, that'd be decent enough for me.

29-01-2018, 03:50 PM
Over inflation on players down south bid for somebody up here and we get every penny he is worth and FA more.

2m is derisory in this climate for a full international.

29-01-2018, 04:04 PM
Over inflation on players down south bid for somebody up here and we get every penny he is worth and FA more.

Not a Scotland international with a handful of caps to his name it’s not I’m afraid. £2m with add ons is as good as we could expect I guess.
Would rather we kept hold of him until end of season though

29-01-2018, 04:10 PM
Not a Scotland international with a handful of caps to his name it’s not I’m afraid. £2m with add ons is as good as we could expect I guess.

and don't forget St Mirren will be getting s substantial % of the sale. £3 million absolute minimum + 20% sell on. Cash up front.

Caversham Green
29-01-2018, 04:32 PM

He seems to have lost his way a bit, but based on his performances as a youngster at Reading (which is presumably what Clark remembers about him) I would have been delighted if he's signed for Hibs.

Souter96Mac
29-01-2018, 04:49 PM
£2 million? Would be disappointed if this was the case. Should be at the very least 3.

29-01-2018, 05:00 PM
Would Kamara be people's preferred choice should McGinn be going?

I really hope we can get 1-2 more in this window even if they are loans. I hope Stokes is gone as well.

29-01-2018, 05:36 PM

I disagree, derisory like all offers up here.

29-01-2018, 05:41 PM
Would Kamara be people's preferred choice should McGinn be going?

I really hope we can get 1-2 more in this window even if they are loans. I hope Stokes is gone as well.

Whose place will they take. No point in getting players for the sake of it. I always feel its injuries that hurt more than lack of players. A striker who can get us ten goals between now and the end of the season is what we need. I suspect mclaren will get a few once up to speed. We might get lucky in the next couple of days, you never know.

29-01-2018, 06:15 PM
I disagree, derisory like all offers up here.
Thats the market hibs operate in unfortunately.

29-01-2018, 06:26 PM
If SJM has a decent 6 months at Hibs, he'll still be worth 1.5m in the summer. More interest / competition. Even the Celtic might be able to rustle that up ?

29-01-2018, 06:35 PM
Swanson not going anywhere according to Tommy Wright

Said he’s staying with us to fight for his place. It’s on the bbc website

29-01-2018, 06:39 PM
Whose place will they take. No point in getting players for the sake of it. I always feel its injuries that hurt more than lack of players. A striker who can get us ten goals between now and the end of the season is what we need. I suspect mclaren will get a few once up to speed. We might get lucky in the next couple of days, you never know.

I thought it would make sense whose place Kamara would take...it was a hypothetical should McGinn be leaving. I suggested Kamara as his replacement...

Hulk1875
29-01-2018, 07:32 PM
Tim Cahill signs for Millwall there was rumours about him being offered to hibs and hearts im sure

29-01-2018, 07:38 PM

Slivka is a full international, so is big Dave. Being a full international means absolutely nothing, especially for Scotland.

29-01-2018, 07:42 PM
Rumour we are signing a Swedish guy on laon from Brighton :wink:

29-01-2018, 08:02 PM
Musonda signed for Celtic on an 18 month loan deal. Could be some signing for them. Hope he starts tomorrow!

29-01-2018, 08:07 PM
Motherwell turn down £200k offer for their keeper from Celtic.

Probably not outwith the question they could turn their attention to Marciano. Bid of that amount would probably be enough to get him from us.

Lee Marvin
29-01-2018, 08:09 PM

Probably not outwith the question they could turn their attention to Marciano. Bid of that amount would probably be enough to get him from us.

Why would 200k be enough to buy marciano out of his 3.5yr deal???

29-01-2018, 08:10 PM
Musonda signed for Celtic on an 18 month loan deal. Could be some signing for them. Hope he starts tomorrow!

Heard a lot about this lad, but he’s 21 now, only had 27 senior appearances, and scored one goal

XXIVMMXVI
29-01-2018, 08:12 PM
Sturridge signed for WBA on loan. Could be a great signing for them if he manages to stay fit and gets a good run of games.

Why would 200k be enough to buy marciano out of his 3.5yr deal???

How much do you think he is worth?

£200k is probably on the light side but wouldn’t be a million miles off the mark imo, especially when we’ve just signed a ready made replacement.

no danger £200k is getting you marciano

29-01-2018, 08:13 PM
no danger £200k is getting you marciano

It was only a few games ago there was a clammer for him to be dropped.

Lmc2105
29-01-2018, 08:14 PM

Just said that myself on SM Bingo wouldn’t surprise me at all if Celtic were to come knocking for him.

29-01-2018, 08:15 PM
Sturridge signed for WBA on loan. Could be a great signing for them if he manages to stay fit and gets a good run of games.

So he chose West Brom over Inter Milan. Don't know if that says more about the level of Italian football these days or how English players are that wrapped up in the premier league and won't try anything different.

29-01-2018, 08:16 PM
So he chose West Brom over Inter Milan. Don't know if that says more about the level of Italian football these days or how English players are that wrapped up in the premier league and won't try anything different.
He comes from the Midlands - he may feel that money isn't an issue any more and wants to move home. Fair play to him if that's the case......

Lee Marvin
29-01-2018, 08:17 PM

£200k is probably on the light side but wouldn’t be a million miles off the mark imo, especially when we’ve just signed a ready made replacement.

I don't know, but why would hibs sell for peanuts with 2 days of transfer window to go?!? That would be an absolutely horrific deal for us

Just said that myself on SM Bingo wouldn’t surprise me at all if Celtic were to come knocking for him.

A hunch?

by a few on here, that goes for hee haw

XXIVMMXVI
29-01-2018, 08:18 PM

Apparently it is to be closer to his family in the Midlands. The two Milan teams haven't been the same in recent years, still two massive clubs with Inter sitting 4th though.

29-01-2018, 08:21 PM
How much do you think he is worth? £200k is probably on the light side but wouldn’t be a million miles off the mark imo, especially when we’ve just signed a ready made replacement.

We got him on the cheap and I'm sure his former club would be due a cut of any future fee!

I don't know, but why would hibs sell for peanuts with 2 days of transfer window to go?!? That would be an absolutely horrific deal for us

Should stress I’m only speculating they may be interested, absolutely nothing more to it than a hunch.

There were rumours that we’re skint but Lennon wantsa few players in, this may be a way of getting some funds in if he feels Bain is a decent replacement.

Wonder if the green brigade fuds would start waiving Israel flags?

Lmc2105
A hunch?

Yeah more than anything else Billy, Bain would be a steady replacement. I think we need to raise some kind of funds to get something done. Who knows what could happen

Lmc2105
29-01-2018, 08:22 PM
We got him on the cheap and I'm sure his former club would be due a cut of any future fee!

Was 40% not mentioned?!

29-01-2018, 08:23 PM
Was 40% not mentioned?!

Not sure the percentage but there is Defo a sell on clause!

Lmc2105
29-01-2018, 08:24 PM
Not sure the percentage but there is Defo a sell on clause!

With McGinn & Marciano will we ever make a good profit 😕

29-01-2018, 08:25 PM
With McGinn & Marciano will we ever make a good profit dde15

Ha indeed!

29-01-2018, 08:37 PM

We'd let our first choice international goalkeeper go for 200k? Whilst hearts are getting 300k for a piss poor striker. Not a chance.

Absolutely no need for us to sell him.

29-01-2018, 08:51 PM

Probably not outwith the question they could turn their attention to Marciano. Bid of that amount would probably be enough to get him from us.Ru having a laugh?? 200k for Rocky who is on a 4 year deal...Aye ok then

29-01-2018, 08:51 PM

But since then he has made outstanding saves in every game since the break that have kept us in the game

29-01-2018, 08:55 PM
That new Celtic signing taking number 67 really is ***** patter

Someone else done it a couple of years ago for them as well.

Do they have any decent youngsters or fringe players we could be sniffing around?

29-01-2018, 08:57 PM
Was 40% not mentioned?!

50% was bandied about on here when the deal was done.

29-01-2018, 09:08 PM
Seems to be nothing but who is possibly leaving, who's coming in is just as important.

29-01-2018, 09:35 PM
Looks like Hertz are struggling to cover Naismith's wages. Goncalvez off to the back of beyond for 6 figures and Laughatme possibly off to Sunderland.

29-01-2018, 09:42 PM
If we do lose anyone like SJM down south hopefully we get a loan back till end of the season to soften the blow and more time for a replacement.

29-01-2018, 09:44 PM
If we do lose anyone like SJM down south hopefully we get a loan back till end of the season to soften the blow and more time for a replacement.

His replacement was signed in the summer...

Lmc2105
29-01-2018, 09:54 PM
Rangers potentially set to get 6M for Morelos from China.
Scott Burns is usually spot on

29-01-2018, 10:03 PM

That can't be right surely. We need to get a Chinese club interested in SJM. 10m minimum to them

Lmc2105
29-01-2018, 10:08 PM
That can't be right surely. We need to get a Chinese club interested in SJM. 10m minimum to them

Could you imagine!! :greengrin

29-01-2018, 10:25 PM
200K for an international, first choice keeper on a 4 year deal!!! This place is priceless at times!! :faf::faf::faf::faf:

29-01-2018, 10:30 PM

Wow, great deal for Rangers at 6 million. When are we getting our China millions though?

29-01-2018, 10:32 PM
Feel sorry for the Mackems

Me too ..almost unbelievable if true they have no chance of staying up if depending on him !!

RossScott1991
29-01-2018, 10:37 PM
Lots of huns on twitter claiming Morelos is worth 15million... Jesus !!

We should try cart McGinn off to a Chinese mob for ransom hahaha

29-01-2018, 10:43 PM
Rangers will still be perceived as a club that you need to offer decent fees for players. Morelos will be on a wage that will likely be decent meaning he is slightly more happy to knock back a move if the wages are not enough.

Our problem is SJM will be on a wage that even if a club offer him 7,8k pw that would turn head and unfortunately that will mean buying club know they can unsettle player with smaller bid than perhaps the players ability is worth.

Like it or not outside Sevco and Celtic we are all seen as didies who will just accept what we are offered and be happy with it.

21sMay
29-01-2018, 10:50 PM
been told we will look to sign Murray Davidson if mcginn is sold. can't say I'd be impressed as he spends alot of time out injured

29-01-2018, 11:00 PM

They seem desperate to sell him.

30-01-2018, 06:24 AM

They’ve apparently rejected the bid. Got to be a load of pish, if anyone came calling to them with that kind of money they’d surely bite their hand off.

30-01-2018, 06:58 AM
They’ve apparently rejected the bid. Got to be a load of pish, if anyone came calling to them with that kind of money they’d surely bite their hand off.

100%, especially for him

30-01-2018, 07:08 AM
100%, especially for him

It’s like their Barrie McKay for 6 million story. Traynor is trying to shamelessly drum up interest for one of their players via his media chums.

30-01-2018, 07:25 AM
Why can we not sell players to these mental leagues for daft money? Keeps happening for Hearts rangers etc

30-01-2018, 07:50 AM
Why can we not sell players to these mental leagues for daft money? Keeps happening for Hearts rangers etc

We don't have any foreign mercenaries in our team

30-01-2018, 08:06 AM
That’s Danny Wilson away to the MLS.

Football is about lifestyle these days.

30-01-2018, 08:11 AM

Football is about lifestyle these days.That will strengthen the the rangers back line straight away 😆

hibs#1
30-01-2018, 08:17 AM

Football is about lifestyle these days.

Johnny Russell trying to get a move there as well,think more players will start going as you say lifestyle is important to players now cant blame them for wanting to go the US.

30-01-2018, 08:19 AM

I didn't know they were still touring? :greengrin