View Full Version : Match Updates Dundee FC v Hibernian FC k/o 12:30

Pages : 1 2 [3]

supermcginn
27-08-2017, 01:28 PM
Big Dave should have got the last 20 minutes, bringing murray on was a strange sub.

we know the script :greengrin only surprise is we didn't concede a goal to a player that hasn't scored for a few years :)

Yeah, that's another one!

Missed opportunity there, Dundee are decidedly average and only their keeper worth talking about.

Impressed with Slivka, Barker and Bartley but McGinn looks a different player we saw in the 1st few games, too many bad passes and seems to be trying to do too much himself, needs more composure, that could be said about a few players today, composure.Agree Mcginn was poor again today as he was last week...get him off the corners too...dreadful delivery time and again today. SJM is a great player but he's not what the press make him out to be just yet...his end product was awful today

15 freakin corners

27-08-2017, 01:29 PM
Fraser Murray got at least two, maybe three shots away. I don't think we became any less attacking with the substitution.

Yes, but surely was crying out for big Dave?

High-On-Hibs
I would say that wasteful corners cost us more than anything today. Needs to be seriously worked on.

Fraser Murray got at least two, maybe three shots away. I don't think we became any less attacking with the substitution.

I don't think Fraser Murray did badly, but we had no striker. Stokes out left.

There was a ball drilled across the box from Slivka, naebody there. Simon Murray would have been in that general area.

OsloHibs
Should have won that.

Simon Murray looks to have gone "off the boil" a bit in the last couple of games, and Hibs then rely too much on Anthony Stokes for goals.

Hibs need to reinforce the striker department IMO, but decent goalscorers don't come cheap...

We have a decent striker on the bench in Big Davy, was bizarre he wasn't brought on today.

27-08-2017, 01:30 PM
Simon Murray looks to have gone "off the boil" a bit in the last couple of games, and Hibs then rely too much on Anthony Stokes for goals.

Hibs need to reinforce the striker department IMO, but decent goalscorers don't come cheap...

to be fair he didnt really get much service, midfield were pretty poor i thought today, in saying that he should have scored

Poor result and so wasteful with all that possession!

There aren't any was easy games at this level, we are very unfortunate not to go home with the three points. It was one way traffic, we created plenty and should have had at least one penalty.

I thought overall our play was very good, Bartley makes a huge difference to our side. Just seen the stats, it really was one sided.

27-08-2017, 01:31 PM
attempts

5 v 21

I actually thought some of our corners were well worked and intelligent. Maybe a bit more practice needed.

It's better than lumping it into the box where it'll be inevitably cleared or the ref will blow for a "foul"

Poor result and so wasteful with all that possession!

It's not a poor result. Keeper was MOTM and any point away from home is a good one.

Bain saved Dundee simple as that. Thought Hibs were good today.

15 corners all wasted. 21 shots 1 goal, 1 point, these are the telling facts from the game

High-On-Hibs
27-08-2017, 01:32 PM
I actually thought some of our corners were well worked and intelligent. Maybe a bit more practice needed.

It's better than lumping it into the box where it'll be inevitably cleared or the ref will blow for a "foul"

Too many of our corners were on top of their goalkeeper. You just can't do that in the game anymore.

27-08-2017, 01:33 PM
There aren't any was easy games at this level, we are very unfortunate not to go home with the three points. It was one way traffic, we created plenty and should have had at least one penalty.

I thought overall our play was very good, Bartley makes a huge difference to our side. Just seen the stats, it really was one sided.

I agree.

Dundee looked not to bad at times in possession and I think other teams will drop points at Dens.

27-08-2017, 01:34 PM
15 corners all wasted. 21 shots 1 goal, 1 point, these are the telling facts from the game

So we played well then.

27-08-2017, 01:34 PM
Dundee have been reported for theft

the jammy ****s

27-08-2017, 01:35 PM
Poor performance overall by Hibs today - Dundee will be happy with the point - better teams will punish us badly if we don't pick up our energy/concentration levels, some shocking decision making today coupled with poor finishing - doubt we will make top six playing like this ... should have had a penalty first half - thought the officials were poor today, Lennon's substitution Murray for Murray was not the best idea he's had ...

27-08-2017, 01:35 PM
McCann, there was contact, liar, Boyd, you got the luck you needed! wtf!

27-08-2017, 01:36 PM
Should have won that but 7 points from the first 4 games of the season I'll take that.

Nothing more impartial than two ex rangers players and the manager of the team we just played giving post match analysis.

Well done sky.

Shut up neil McCann his hands out at the side of his body, it's a clear handball

Poor performance overall by Hibs today - Dundee will be happy with the point - better teams will punish us badly if we don't pick up our energy/concentration levels, some shocking decision making today coupled with poor finishing - doubt we will make top six playing like this ... should have had a penalty first half - thought the officials were poor today, Lennon's substitution Murray for Murray was not the best idea he's had ...

Poor? Doubt we'll make the top six?

We were all over them!!

I thought we played well.

27-08-2017, 01:37 PM
So we played well then.

We did. Same old problem of not being anywhere near clinical enough though.

McCann, handball not deliberate! Commons arguing with him!

watching that scott allan hand in the box again, ref right in front of it, how many refs would have given the penalty

Poor performance overall by Hibs today - Dundee will be happy with the point - better teams will punish us badly if we don't pick up our energy/concentration levels, some shocking decision making today coupled with poor finishing - doubt we will make top six playing like this ... should have had a penalty first half - thought the officials were poor today, Lennon's substitution Murray for Murray was not the best idea he's had ...In what way was that poor today?? Dominating a match away from home...this place is incredible sometimes

27-08-2017, 01:38 PM
Another poor result

Boyd stopping short of fellating Neil McCann in the gantry.

Fraser Murray. Too young, not ready. Weak.

Mr Grieves
Boyd is an absolute fud.

watching that scott allan hand in the box again, ref right in front of it, how many refs would have given the penalty

One was given on Matchvof the day last night in similar circumstances. Officials that know what they're doing (or maybe have more help)

2 points dropped...if we want top 6 these are the teams you need to be taking three points from.

27-08-2017, 01:39 PM
Another poor result

Shh

He couldn't be any ******n nearer! Cheat

didnt really do much wrong when he came on though?

27-08-2017, 01:40 PM
NL 'bid that came in was laughable'

Lennon, bid from Forrest for McGinn laughable

Did you actually watch the game serious question. Dominated from when we lost the goal. Dundee never in it. Tempo was high we passed well and Scott Bain getting MOTM says it all.

I seriously wonder if folk post on here after just seeing the score. Attempts on goal 5-21 far from struggled.

27-08-2017, 01:41 PM
We should easily avoid relegation on that performance and the ship is steadied after last week's defeat. But we won't be making many headlines this season.

27-08-2017, 01:42 PM
Dunno what game you were watching, good lord what a load of rubbish

We should easily avoid relegation on that performance and the ship is steadied after last week's defeat. But we won't be making many headlines this season.

Feels like I fell asleep in August and have just woke up in May.

We've played 4 games, give yourself a shake.

Did you actually watch the game serious question. Dominated from when we lost the goal. Dundee never in it. Tempo was high we passed well and Scott Bain getting MOTM says it all.

I seriously wonder if folk post on here after just seeing the score. Attempts on goal 5-21 far from struggled.It's incredible TC....some of the posts on here just absolutely laughable...how anyone can say that was poor is beyond me. 7 out of 12 is a decent start for a promoted team...gives us something to build on after the break

27-08-2017, 01:43 PM
Headlines like "Hibs win at Ibrox" you mean?

Offer for McGinn laughable and we're in a strong position, unless someone puts up enough money he's going nowhere.

Like winning at Ibrox and stuff? Nah, agree.

High-On-Hibs

I seriously wonder if folk post on here after just seeing the score. Attempts on goal 5-21 far from struggled.

True, but we still didn't win. It's the same old story. We do the hard things right and allow the basics to cost us.

chinaman
Nothing more impartial than two ex rangers players and the manager of the team we just played giving post match analysis.

Well done sky.

And "useless butcher" and world champion pie eater fat mccoist doing county v sevco on bt sport at 3

27-08-2017, 01:44 PM
Much better from Hibs today and with better finishing we would have walked it. Bartley made a big difference. Barker looked good in patches. Need to practice our corners though.

Aye sure he his.

Thank God we're out of the championship and can now avoid the technically ******ed hammer-throwing teams. Oh wait.

27-08-2017, 01:45 PM

I seriously wonder about some poster on here and if they really are Hibs supporters, dominated the game and poor finishing cost us, missed opportunity against a decidedly average Dundee team.

27-08-2017, 01:47 PM
You must have watched a different game from me.

Did you think Simon Murray played well?

27-08-2017, 01:48 PM
I seriously wonder about some poster on here and if they really are Hibs supporters, dominated the game and poor finishing cost us, missed opportunity against a decidedly average Dundee team.There's been a big whiff about this place since last week that's for sure

27-08-2017, 01:48 PM

That's all fine and well but we've still only picked up a point from a game that we should've won, something you have to be doing when you're back in the big league

27-08-2017, 01:49 PM
Dominated the game.

Finishing brutal. Powder puff at best.

We may as well not get corners anymore, unless Henderson comes back.

1-1 is a crap result against a Dundee team who were god awful.

27-08-2017, 01:52 PM
I think most people would have taken 7 points from our first 4 games back in the top league. We looked good for long spells today and should have won fairly convincingly. Credit to the Dundee keeper. International break now and a bit of time to take stock. We're doing not too bad.

27-08-2017, 01:57 PM
Aye sure he his.

Funnily enough I'm allowed an opinion.

27-08-2017, 01:59 PM
It's incredible TC....some of the posts on here just absolutely laughable...how anyone can say that was poor is beyond me. 7 out of 12 is a decent start for a promoted team...gives us something to build on after the break

It's a very good start from Hibs. Coming up after 3 years out the top flight as well. Hamilton knocked us but any point away from home is a good one.

27-08-2017, 02:00 PM

I can't agree we were poor. Thought we were the clearly the better side and deserved to win, but I'm not too unhappy with a point. After last week it was very important not to lose again, but also to show a bit of dig and belief. I thought we showed both and when this side has a few more games under its belt I think we'll really start to gel.

27-08-2017, 02:00 PM
That's all fine and well but we've still only picked up a point from a game that we should've won, something you have to be doing when you're back in the big league

You can't help when the keeper saves everything and gets MOTM. Who do we think we are Celtic?

27-08-2017, 02:01 PM
Dominated the game.

Finishing brutal. Powder puff at best.

We may as well not get corners anymore, unless Henderson comes back.

1-1 is a crap result against a Dundee team who were god awful.

Point away from home isn't a crap result. But wouldn't be a match day thread when Hibs don't win and you don't troll.

27-08-2017, 02:02 PM
You can't help when the keeper saves everything and gets MOTM. Who do we think we are Celtic?

Celtc who drew 1-1 at home yesterday you mean? It's almost as if sometimes teams don't get the result their play deserved. :greengrin

27-08-2017, 02:03 PM

Right this is clearly piss taking right??

High-On-Hibs
27-08-2017, 02:03 PM

It can be helped. The finishing needs to be better. Yes their goalkeeper put in a great performance today. But we had some golden opportunities which were much easier for him to save than they should have been. We also should have made more from the sheer number of corners we had. 15 corners and I don't recall us creating a proper opportunity from any of them. So there are things that can be helped.

We don't need to be Celtic to improve on these things either.

27-08-2017, 02:04 PM
It's a very good start from Hibs. Coming up after 3 years out the top flight as well. Hamilton knocked us but any point away from home is a good one.

I agree that any point away from home in this league is a good one, but speaking for myself I just get frustrated that it wasn't all three points given Hibs domination of possession during most of the 90+ minutes.

I'll bet that's exactly how NL feels too.

27-08-2017, 02:04 PM
Did you think Simon Murray played well?

Not exceptionally well but he impressed me again with his technical ability, that shot he had with his back to goal in the first half in particular. He manages to spin round and get shots away before defenders know what's going on.

Scott Allan looked hungry as hell as well. He will be, and already has been, a brilliant signing for them.

27-08-2017, 02:05 PM

Agree with all of this

JJP
27-08-2017, 02:06 PM
One point from six against Dundee and Hamilton is very poor. Had enough chances to take three points today. We have to do better than we have done in our last two games.

27-08-2017, 02:06 PM
I agree that any point away from home in this league is a good one, but speaking for myself I just get frustrated that it wasn't all three points given Hibs domination of possession during most of the 90+ minutes.

I'm frustrated we never won, but I'm not disappointed in the performance like some posters. How anyone can say we were poor is beyond me. Finishing could be better but we are only a few games in. Hopefully that clicks.

27-08-2017, 02:08 PM
It can be helped. The finishing needs to be better. Yes their goalkeeper put in a great performance today. But we had some golden opportunities which were much easier for him to save than they should have been. We also should have made more from the sheer number of corners we had. 15 corners and I don't recall us creating a proper opportunity from any of them. So there are things that can be helped.

We don't need to be Celtic to improve on these things either.

We are just at the start of the season, unlucky not to win today so I don't get the "piss poor result" from some. Yes finishing can be better and hopefully the more games we play that will come.

But as an overall performance, Hibs were good today and at least tried to win the game.

Velma Dinkley
Sounds like their keeper had a great game and one of their players dived in the box at least three times and was given a penalty for one of those. Onwards and upwards.

I think we're all frustrated but thats a good thing in a way. It shows that the overall performance was strong and there's plenty of optimism for the coming season. Sure, there are areas we can improve on but it's still early.

It's miles away from certain other teams who go to places like Motherwelll and surrender meekly.

27-08-2017, 02:10 PM
Two points dropped against a dire team. Deserved the win but lacked composure in the final third.

MacGruber
27-08-2017, 02:12 PM
It was decent performance and controlled most of the game had most chances.

Some negatives in finishing, quick free kicks when it's not on, short corners losing cheap possession, Whittaker looks vulnerable when isolated on the left & Dylan being our last sub. Love Dylan but it needed to be an offensive player on given we lost Barker and S Murray.
Also injuries to Barker and MacGregor(?)

Loads of plusses too tho. Away point, solid in the middle. Barker looks very useful

27-08-2017, 02:13 PM
One point from six against Dundee and Hamilton is very poor. Had enough chances to take three points today. We have to do better than we have done in our last two games.

Should we really be happy with a point away from home against a team rooted to the bottom of the table on zero points?

If so, that's a sign we're going to be some mid-table non-entity. I want Lennon to be raging and the players to admit they have to do better if they're going to achieve anything this season.

27-08-2017, 02:14 PM

The game at this level is all about small margins, just how many effin times do we give possession away from throw ins, with Davy Gray the worst offender, as Captain he should be demanding movement as soon as he takes a shy. Hibs have been terrible with this for years mabe's they need to work on them along with piss poor corners.:flag:

27-08-2017, 02:14 PM
Went to ground looking for the foul after he said Dundee should have had a foul. Walker your a knob

You've only just noticed ??. Walker has a serious grudge against us and I don't know why, maybe it goes back to something that happened when he played for us, I dunno ?. But his OTT comments at the Scottish Cup Final over the pitch-invasion were just a disgrace -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1rDmTV5N28

(from 02:29:50 onwards)

You can actually hear him impatiently trying to interrupt the main commentator, he really was champing at the bit to voice his outrage - "The conduct of some of these Hibs-supporters is absolutely disgraceful" and laughably, a few minutes later - "We're seeing images reminiscent of the 1980 Cup Final" when all you could see on the screen at that moment, was Hibs-fans celebrating and not one fight in sight !! It was like Traynor had phoned him as soon as the first fan was on the pitch and ordered him to stir it !.

27-08-2017, 02:16 PM
We are just at the start of the season, unlucky not to win today so I don't get the "piss poor result" from some. Yes finishing can be better and hopefully the more games we play that will come.

But as an overall performance, Hibs were good today and at least tried to win the game.

We still need more quality, if serious about qualifying for a European place in this league.

27-08-2017, 02:18 PM
Lennon, bid from Forrest for McGinn laughable

The magic hat does bear a grudge, bid comes in just before we play a match some things never change even if it was a laughable bid as the manager says.

27-08-2017, 02:19 PM
I'm frustrated we never won, but I'm not disappointed in the performance like some posters. How anyone can say we were poor is beyond me. Finishing could be better but we are only a few games in. Hopefully that clicks.

Hibs were not poor. The overall team performance was good except in one vital aspect - putting the ball in the back of the net often enough.

Hibs also need to stop giving teams a goal of a start, and conceding needless penalties (albeit there was a dive following a poor challenge in a dangerous area). The players need to be fully switched on and concentrate for 90 minutes.

I think we're all frustrated but thats a good thing in a way. It shows that the overall performance was strong and there's plenty of optimism for the coming season. Sure, there are areas we can improve on but it's still early.

It's miles away from certain other teams who go to places like Motherwelll and surrender meekly.

I agree basically with what you're saying - see my comments above.

27-08-2017, 02:20 PM
Not exceptionally well but he impressed me again with his technical ability, that shot he had with his back to goal in the first half in particular. He manages to spin round and get shots away before defenders know what's going on.

Scott Allan looked hungry as hell as well. He will be, and already has been, a brilliant signing for them.

Thought Allan was very poor today. For all the hype of him being a good signing for Dundee he's not done much so far.

stantonsboots
27-08-2017, 02:22 PM
At the end of the day we should have won 1-0 (possibly 2-0)if the referee had done his job correctly!

27-08-2017, 02:24 PM
Frustrating we didn't put that game to bed with 3 points but a very dominant away performance and I enjoyed watching Hibs today. Bit annoying it takes Anthony until a goal before he wakes up, but came onto a game especially second half. Slivka was simply superb today, what a lovely player to watch - languid in style but never flustered and rarely wasteful in possession. Thought SDG had a great game, Bartley solid, and Whittaker did really well to get over his moment of madness and show composure throughout the rest of the game. Really impressed we were always on the front foot and looking to attack.

Have to be more clinical in front of goal at this level. And to have 15 or so corners which are effectively set pieces, it's a worry we don't capitalise more with the height and physical players we have.

Great feeling (strangely) to come away from an away game really disappointed for the lads - knowing we should have won after the effort they put in.

27-08-2017, 02:40 PM
30mins

GOAL: ross co 1 sevco 0

Morales

should read ross co 0 sevco 1

utter amateurs at the BBC

27-08-2017, 02:49 PM
Disagree with Stevenson being dropped but look at the calibre of player sitting on the bench, Lennon has done a superb job in regards to recruitment

27-08-2017, 03:03 PM
You've only just noticed ??. Walker has a serious grudge against us and I don't know why, maybe it goes back to something that happened when he played for us, I dunno ?. But his OTT comments at the Scottish Cup Final over the pitch-invasion were just a disgrace -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1rDmTV5N28

(from 02:29:50 onwards)

You can actually hear him impatiently trying to interrupt the main commentator, he really was champing at the bit to voice his outrage - "The conduct of some of these Hibs-supporters is absolutely disgraceful" and laughably, a few minutes later - "We're seeing images reminiscent of the 1980 Cup Final" when all you could see on the screen at that moment, was Hibs-fans celebrating and not one fight in sight !! It was like Traynor had phoned him as soon as the first fan was on the pitch and ordered him to stir it !.

Deansy know for years. Just cannot help himself with his pish

27-08-2017, 03:14 PM
We looked good against a poor Dundee side and if only we took our good chances we could have won comfortably.

We dodged a bullet from Stokes again getting himself in a stupid tangle with the keeper, got booked but if not would have certainly ended up on the compliance officers table on Monday morning, he needs to get a grip before it starts to cost us!!!

Having seen all the penalty incidents, I would say, if you are on the receiving end of any of them you would think you'd been cheated by the referee.

The worst part is they got theirs, and we got nothing?????

27-08-2017, 03:15 PM

Should we really be happy with a point away from home against a team rooted to the bottom of the table on zero points?

If so, that's a sign we're going to be some mid-table non-entity. I want Lennon to be raging and the players to admit they have to do better if they're going to achieve anything this season.

At this stage it's acceptable enough to say a point is alright. The league's still new, we've still got players bedding in, to dominate games, not lose and show a massive improvement on last week isn't the end of the world.

Once we're up to speed, then you'd probably look at that and say most teams in the league would have beaten Dundee today. We don't have to be hugely critical everytime we should probably do better.

27-08-2017, 03:18 PM
Boyd is an absolute fud.

And you're shocked by that?

27-08-2017, 03:19 PM
Said before but Whittaker defensively is a liability

27-08-2017, 03:19 PM
Just back. I rarely stay to applaud the players at the end of a draw but they deserved it today.

We totally controlled that game for almost 90 minutes, created plenty of chances and the players showed a massive reaction to last week.

If you're being critical then of course we were wasteful in front of goal but we played so well today and if that level of performance keeps up throughout the season we won't be far away from a top 3 or 4 finish.

27-08-2017, 03:21 PM
Just back. I rarely stay to applaud the players at the end of a draw but they deserved it today.

We totally controlled that game for almost 90 minutes, created plenty of chances and the players showed a massive reaction to last week.

If you're being critical then of course we were wasteful in front of goal but we played so well today and if that level of performance keeps up throughout the season we won't be far away from a top 3 or 4 finish.

Good (and very accurate) post :top marks:aok:

27-08-2017, 03:25 PM
Said before but Whittaker defensively is a liability

Did not bad 'offensively' though ? Did the Dundee winger (or El Bakhtaoui) get past him thereafter ?

Full backs did well today when you look at the full 90 minutes - do you ever recall Hibs getting as many corners in an away game ? Comes from full backs pushing up and creating, assisting, and linking play. I'd cut Whittaker some slack and appreciate how well he did recovering from a lapse.

27-08-2017, 03:29 PM
I'm still struggling to understand him bringing on another midfielder for a striker, surely had to bring on dave

Here's the thinking. We were creating plenty with the ball on the deck. Simon Murray had run his race. The only striker left was Dave. He's not blessed with pace and pumping balls up to him in my opinion would have just resulted in the inevitable two Dundee giant centre backs just lapping it up. I actually called that sub five minutes before. It may have been the wrong call but am certainly not mystified by it.

27-08-2017, 03:35 PM

What a good objective post fom someone who was actually at the game:aok:

27-08-2017, 03:41 PM
So what was missing today then. Im only asking as I had no time to watch or get updates. Bevvied with friends in the garden.

High-On-Hibs
27-08-2017, 03:42 PM
So what was missing today then. Im only asking as I had no time to watch or get updates. Bevvied with friends in the garden.

Composure in the final third and making the most of set pieces.

27-08-2017, 04:03 PM
2 points dropped today, yip. Finishing could and should have been better, aye. Dundee were poor, yes. Their keeper was MOTM.

I dare say there will be other games or sequences of games throughout the season where we are 2nd best, our keeper has a blinder, the oppo's team miss a few good chances and we potentially walk away with some points we maybe didn't deserve. That's what happens over a whole season.

I'd be more worried if we put in another *****e performance as a team like we did v Hamilton last week. We didn't. We played well in parts, dominated possession and chances and were clearly the better team. Their pend was dodgy and we could have had 2. It's disappointing to only take a point yes, but let's get things in perspective!!

27-08-2017, 04:03 PM
Gutted we didn't win, so one sided, and should have buried them. Timewasting in 46 mins, happily settling for a draw. Goalie got MOTM award, tells a tale

27-08-2017, 04:30 PM

Goals. Hibs done well all over but final third we lacked that cutting edge. Dundee keeper was MOTM so tells you how it went. Good point though away from home but unlucky not to get all 3.

27-08-2017, 04:44 PM
Not long home and just seen their Penalty. I hope Mr Compliance officer is watching that. Shocker. Conned the ref.

27-08-2017, 05:22 PM
Point away from home isn't a crap result. But wouldn't be a match day thread when Hibs don't win and you don't troll.

The point isn't whether you are home or away it's when you are THAT on top in a game you should be winning and based on todays performance it's a poor result. If Dundee had dominated and we defended well I would probably say it was a good result.

This is a problem we have had the last few years even in the championship where we dominate and have loads more chances than the opposition but end with a draw or a late sucker punch. Aberdeen are at the level when they do enough to get the result no matter what's required. That should be our aspiration.

27-08-2017, 05:23 PM
Just seen the penalty on Sportscene. As the footage shows that it was a dive, what can happen now? FWIW I didn't blame the ref as I thought it was a penalty at the time.

27-08-2017, 05:38 PM
Do we still have a compliance officer if so he should be taking action for a blatant dive and deliberate handball by th Dundee players.

27-08-2017, 05:41 PM
Just seen the penalty on Sportscene. As the footage shows that it was a dive, what can happen now? FWIW I didn't blame the ref as I thought it was a penalty at the time.

Clear dive and hopefully it's looked at and the guy gets banned but I don't blame the ref either. It was a stupid attempt at a challenge from Whittaker and it certainly looked like a penalty at the time.

27-08-2017, 06:09 PM

You're right actually, Murray was unlucky there and I was maybe harsh. Partly my point though is that in first few weeks of the season everything he touched was a goal. Last 2 games he's been a bit more true to his Dundee Utd form which isn't a major criticism, it was always gonna be tough to maintain the form of first few games.

Totally disagree on Allan though, he did very little and wasn't working hard to get on the ball. Coup for Dundee to get him but he's not done much so far.

27-08-2017, 07:39 PM
15 or 16 corners but most of them looked to be hit and hope and one of the short ones was really poor. Do we not practice these?

27-08-2017, 07:45 PM
15 or 16 corners but most of them looked to be hit and hope and one of the short ones was really poor. Do we not practice these?

Not sure if it showed on TV, but Dundee had 11 players in the box defending corners. Really difficult to get a clean header when this is the case, hence we tried to mix it up.
But I agree that some of the balls were poor. Think I know the solution though.....

27-08-2017, 07:53 PM
Not sure if it showed on TV, but Dundee had 11 players in the box defending corners. Really difficult to get a clean header when this is the case, hence we tried to mix it up.
But I agree that some of the balls were poor. Think I know the solution though.....

Someone to deliver?

27-08-2017, 07:56 PM
Someone to deliver?

Anyone better than we have😄
Over the last couple of years we've had Allan, Henderson and Keatings who delivered great set pieces, McGinn, unfortunately is not in that league,

27-08-2017, 07:59 PM
Anyone better than we have😄
Over the last couple of years we've had Allan, Henderson and Keatings who delivered great set pieces, McGinn, unfortunately is not in that league,Henderson was no better than average, just took 2 brilliant ones in the final.

27-08-2017, 08:01 PM
Henderson was no better than average, just took 2 brilliant ones in the final.

On set plays? You're having a laugh

one day maybe...
27-08-2017, 08:05 PM
4 points from 6 away from home is not to be sniffed at. 3 points gained at home from 6 is what we should be disappointed with #GGTTH

27-08-2017, 08:08 PM
On set plays? You're having a laughDid we score any more goals from set plays than average that season? At the end of the season we did, fair enough and he scored 2 great free kicks but he isn't a deadball expert at the Riordan/Griffiths level.

Definitely some clouded judgement when it comes to Henderson on here, very good player but not quite as good as folk on here believe.

27-08-2017, 08:10 PM
Did we score any more goals from set plays than average that season? At the end of the season we did, fair enough and he scored 2 great free kicks but he isn't a deadball expert at the Riordan/Griffiths level.

Definitely some clouded judgement when it comes to Henderson on here, very good player but not quite as good as folk on here believe.

I was only commenting on LH's set plays, not his all round game. 14 corners today, and not a decent ball from any of them. Think he would have done better. Set plays are an important part of the modern game

27-08-2017, 08:32 PM
Did we score any more goals from set plays than average that season? At the end of the season we did, fair enough and he scored 2 great free kicks but he isn't a deadball expert at the Riordan/Griffiths level.

We're not going to get someone on Griffiths level to hit dead balls though are we.

27-08-2017, 08:37 PM
I was really impressed with us today, physicality and football were both good - pressed with controlled aggression, and worked some fine openings in the final third. Finishing does need to improve. It will.

I appreciate the point of those who are saying they'd rather we played worse and won, but a good performance was what I was really hoping for today after last week's no show.

Disappointed not to get the win but three very good performances from our first four games back is very encouraging. Plenty more to come from Stokes and Barker as well I reckon.

Marvin was colossal today. Did his usual good stuff but at the heart of a number of good passing moves as well, and was really unlucky not to score.

27-08-2017, 08:44 PM
I was really impressed with us today, physicality and football were both good - pressed with controlled aggression, and worked some fine openings in the final third. Finishing does need to improve. It will.

I appreciate the point of those who are saying they'd rather we played worse and won, but a good performance was what I was really hoping for today after last week's no show.

Disappointed not to get the win but three very good performances from our first four games back is very encouraging. Plenty more to come from Stokes and Barker as well I reckon.

Marvin was colossal today. Did his usual good stuff but at the heart of a number of good passing moves as well, and was really unlucky not to score.

If we keep playing like we did today and somehow we keep failing to win then I would agree with that and say that I would rather we played ugly and won games. However, as you say, I think today was a lot to do with restoring a bit of pride within the team after the shambolic performance last week and we have done that.

As I've already said tonight, if we keep playing like that every week then we'll win more often than not.

27-08-2017, 08:48 PM
We're not going to get someone on Griffiths level to hit dead balls though are we.No but the way folk go on about Henderson you'd think he was at that level.

Henderson is a great player, don't get me wrong, but he isn't a dead ball expert and wont be the solution to our lack of goals from them. Thought from of our short corners today were quite clever, sadly they only really ended up with us getting another corner.

27-08-2017, 08:50 PM
If we keep playing like we did today and somehow we keep failing to win then I would agree with that and say that I would rather we played ugly and won games. However, as you say, I think today was a lot to do with restoring a bit of pride within the team after the shambolic performance last week and we have done that.

As I've already said tonight, if we keep playing like that every week then we'll win more often than not.

Agree completely, SDG

one day maybe...
27-08-2017, 09:01 PM
4 points from 6 away from home is not to be sniffed at. 3 points gained at home from 6 is what we should be disappointed with #GGTTH

28-08-2017, 05:43 AM
Iīm hoping we donīt keep putting in the good performances and not coming away with the wins?