View Full Version : New Hearts Manager
Keyser Sauzee
10-08-2017, 01:41 PM
Hartley was in at hearts yesterday and Presley is in today, it will be between those 2.
10-08-2017, 01:42 PM
Hartley was in at hearts yesterday and Presley is in today, it will be between those 2.
Doing interviews at Tynie?
Keyser Sauzee
10-08-2017, 01:44 PM
No sure If it was at Tynie but meetings were/are being held with those 2.
stu in nottingham
10-08-2017, 02:03 PM
Freedman was not particularly popular at Forest although he did manage at an exceedingly difficult time with an impossible chairman over him. he responded with very negative tactics which did not go down well with the faithful. It would be interesting to see what he would achieve given a reasonable chance and if he would play the same way.
Regards McClaren, I don't believe it either. I'd love to though as he is a complete joke.
Salt N Sauzee
10-08-2017, 02:04 PM
I'll eat my magic hat if anyone external is appointed. The only reason McPhee is still there is they couldn't afford the £240k contract pay off they would have had to give him on top of the £300k they gave Cathro. Better to make him useful for his money and keep him on in some sort of coaching capacity. There's no way they're appointing externally. Daly or Levein is my guess. They'll probably hope Daly gets a couple of wins in the next few weeks and then they can keep him on without any new signings and then bin him at the end of the season if he avoids relegation. Totally cash strapped.
How would anyone know this? Total guess work.
10-08-2017, 02:09 PM
They released a statement saying they won't be employing from within & it will be a manager with experience.
FWIW i think Freedman could get it,won't matter thou as they are utter ***** there's not one of the Hearts starting 11 who would get into our starting 11.
They released a statement the other week saying the stand was on track. Then another blaming the builders for not working in the rain.
Moral of the story is they lie.
10-08-2017, 02:20 PM
So it's Paula or Priscilla. Well rustle my handbag. :aok:
10-08-2017, 02:20 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFLkswU4xBQ
All this talk about McClaren, I think it's time to watch this beauty again :greengrin
I can't watch, I get a red face for him
10-08-2017, 02:21 PM
Doing interviews at Tynie?
Standing room only!
10-08-2017, 02:31 PM
Aye right! :greengrin
10-08-2017, 03:27 PM
I can't watch the Dutch accent one, which is horrific.
I could watch the Iceland match one all day long though.
10-08-2017, 04:31 PM
The yams are in a panic. The budgie is unavailable next week due to some 'prior commitments' which seem to have her priority. Maybe she's away to Miami for a Golden Girls reunion.
Meantime the natives get to keep Daly the Mouth for at least another two games. No progress being made to make new super duper signings (even tho' they've no cash).
And then there's the curtain wall!
Laff? I'm about wettin masel.
It's like Game of Toilets, with s***er Levein aiming to continue holding the seat of the throne. The plop thickens.
The new stand , the size of the club, the ambition of the club and the size of the fan base. Why wouldn't a manager want the job. There will be managers who are at clubs that would want to manage this club.
John Daly
WillowbraeHibby
10-08-2017, 06:07 PM
The new stand , the size of the club, the ambition of the club and the size of the fan base. Why wouldn't a manager want the job. There will be managers who are at clubs that would want to manage this club.
John Daly
Apparently there is a queue aw' the way along Gorgie road, o' managers champing at the bit tae get the job... :greengrin
😆
10-08-2017, 06:11 PM
it will be fartley, were him and Levain not lovers at one time
10-08-2017, 06:27 PM
... Sooo pretty much the same as the other 13 times since Rix got booted?
... And they ended up with:-
Ivanauskas
Malofeyev
Riabovas
Ivanauskas (again)
Korobochka
Frail
Laszlo
Jefferies
Sergio
McGlynn
Locke
Neilson
Cathro
All of whom have, of course, gone on to glittering careers since departing 'The Famous'. I must admit, when it comes to bandying names about, no-one can reach for the stars quite like them. It's a shame such visionary dreams end with such crashing bumps back to earth.
:lolyam:
10-08-2017, 06:32 PM
Reading that lot makes me certain that Houston will get the job.
In their current parlous state he can dust down his 'small budget' speech!
TICK TOCK
10-08-2017, 06:36 PM
it will be fartley, were him and Levain not lovers at one time
Think it was Hartley and Skatchel who were in a relationship
Magnifique
10-08-2017, 06:47 PM
[QUOTE=Jack Hackett;5137495]... Sooo pretty much the same as the other 13 times since Rix got booted?
... And they ended up with:-
Ivanauskas
Malofeyev
Riabovas
Ivanauskas (again)
Korobochka
Frail
Laszlo
Jefferies
Sergio
McGlynn
Locke
Neilson
Cathro
Malofeyev
This guy was comedy gold. I'm laughing just remembering him lol.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=jwGWgItWw7s
10-08-2017, 07:46 PM
Think it was Hartley and Skatchel who were in a relationship
10-08-2017, 08:06 PM
Hartley no doubt enticed by the promise of chips. Lots of them.
11-08-2017, 05:19 AM
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/other_football/15464946.Hearts_to_start_interviewing_for_a_new_ma nager_this_week/
'Prior commitments also mean Mrs Budge will be unable to carry out any interviews next week, ensuring interim head coach Jon Daly is likely to remain in the dugout until - at least - the trip to face Rangers next Saturday.'
Queen Anne the budgie really is playing a blinder, we're almost back to to the romonov days of complete shambolic ridicoulessness. What's she doing that's more important? Have her and Harry Potter got a romantic week away planned?
The club is literally dieing on its feet but she has more important commitments than brining in someone to steady the ship.
With all the away games then there home games at Murrayfield basically away too, they'll be lucky to have 2 points time they play us.
11-08-2017, 08:05 AM
Report in today's paper that they've interviewed Pressley.
I really hope Stokesy doesn't find out about that.
11-08-2017, 08:22 AM
Article in the News today stating that Levein will continue to sign players while they are looking for a new 'head coach'. That surely puts to bed the question on whether it was Cathro or Levein signing the players previously. Levein runs that shambles along the road, and long may that continue.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-searching-for-new-players-despite-managerial-vacancy-1-4528592
On another note reality does seem to finally be hitting home at Tiny. One Kickbacker posted this morning after the Evenings news said they'd be signing a keeper and a midfielder:
Striker and 2 wingers needed as well, all with pace. Suspect we'll get a journeyman midfielder with no pace and that will be it.
11-08-2017, 08:46 AM
Cathro was at the gym other night i wonder if budge and potter have the money to pay the remainder of Cathros contract
Ryan69
11-08-2017, 08:56 AM
Its funny the names being banded around....McLaren,Moyes,Davids.
But guaranteed its Houston,Pressley or Levein. Lol
11-08-2017, 09:48 AM
From what I can remember, Vladamir Romanov and Hartley had quite a 'generous' loving relationship. The wee greasy caveman sure knows how to put himself about :agree:
11-08-2017, 10:25 AM
Imagine how gutted the players will be. They've just managed to get rid of one guy who was completely incomprehensible when he spoke, and they're about to get a guy in who's just as incomprehensible, but a million times duller with it.
11-08-2017, 10:57 AM
The yams are in a panic. The budgie is unavailable next week due to some 'prior commitments' which seem to have her priority. Maybe she's away to Miami for a Golden Girls reunion.
Meantime the natives get to keep Daly the Mouth for at least another two games. No progress being made to make new super duper signings (even tho' they've no cash).
And then there's the curtain wall!
Laff? I'm about wettin masel.
Shes going away on holiday if the boy that runs Dickens Bar is to be believed.
11-08-2017, 11:05 AM
Pressley sounds like a sensible appointment.................unfortunately.
McSwanky
11-08-2017, 11:08 AM
Killie away - Killie lost 1st game at home, so will be desperate to get a win
Rangers away - Will be seething from being pumped the week before, so will be desperate to get a win
Motherwell away - erm, probably will need a win,....
in all seriousness 3 tough away games to come, as well as a league cup QTR final match.
11-08-2017, 11:18 AM
A dull, unmotivating manager who's been a failure in every management job hes had and is disliked by a large majority of Hearts fans.. sensible appointment for Hibs fans maybe :greengrin
11-08-2017, 11:22 AM
Really??
I think he's crap myself.
11-08-2017, 11:22 AM
Are you joking? He's got a terrible record as manager
11-08-2017, 11:27 AM
I'd be delighted with Pressley or Hartley as 'head coach'. Levein will still be calling the shots and Budge will still be a clueless old bint.
11-08-2017, 11:32 AM
Pressley would be fantastic. Done nothing other than talk a good game at most clubs he's been to.
Levein, Daly or Pressley would be the best appointments from our perspective.
Inexperience or arrogance - take your pick!
11-08-2017, 11:55 AM
Levein, Daly or Pressley would be the best appointments from our perspective.
Inexperience or arrogance - take your pick!
I'm sure I'll get hammered for this, but I think Daly has come over well since his interim appointment. Suspect they will go with more experience though...
11-08-2017, 12:04 PM
Pressley would be fantastic. Done nothing other than talk a good game at most clubs he's been to.
The trouble with Presley is he's read too many books and regurgitates bits in his boring monologues.
11-08-2017, 12:06 PM
Pressley is like an even worse Levein. Sure someone of the Yam faith will be a good yes man for him though.
11-08-2017, 12:08 PM
Pressley once strolled into Candy Bar with his mate and couple of girls maybe wife no idea. Anyway it was what he was wearing that made folk all piss themselves at him. Remember the Liverpool cup final suit the white one? Well he had pretty much exactly that on. He also refused to speak to anyone not that many were wanting to buy couple of hearts fans went to shake his hand and he didn't even acknowledge them. The mans a roaster and one of footballs most arrogant twats.
He won't last if he gets it and he won't do well either.
11-08-2017, 12:27 PM
The No.1, most important, vital factor they'll be looking for in their new manager will be -
'A manager who can fire up our players to beat Hibs'
And that is Houston simply because he hate us - a cheap option plus he'll appeal to the their Muppet-fans due the 'Hate Hibs' thing !
11-08-2017, 12:28 PM
The No.1, most important, vital factor they'll be looking for in their new manager will be -
'A manager who can fire up our players to beat Hibs'
And that is Houston simply because he hate us - a cheap option plus he'll appeal to the their Muppet-fans due the 'Hate Hibs' thing !
Remind me: how did the Houston-Lennon head to head work out last season?
11-08-2017, 12:36 PM
Anybody got that video of the Yams being interviewed when Neilson was pumped out and they all wanted Cathro, that always makes me laugh
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
11-08-2017, 12:55 PM
https://www.facebook.com/stvsport/videos/10155540965553712/th
This one? 🇳🇬
11-08-2017, 01:40 PM
I think it will be Hartley
11-08-2017, 01:45 PM
Remind me: how did the Houston-Lennon head to head work out last season?
Mebbes but you're forgettting their 'Hate Hibs' thing - it's their 'Raison d'être' (the most important reason or purpose for someone or something's existence), it fills their every waking-moment, in other words, it's their obsession ! It worked for them during their 'Money years' but they're too dumb to realise that without 'Other Peoples Money' the tactic just won't have the same success against a Hibs-team that, man-for-man, is infinitely superior !
11-08-2017, 01:57 PM
A dull, unmotivating manager who's been a failure in every management job hes had and is disliked by a large majority of Hearts fans.. sensible appointment for Hibs fans maybe :greengrin
This. He'll fail at Hearts too. I'd love this to happen.
11-08-2017, 01:59 PM
This one? 🇳🇬
Tears 😂😂😂
Kavinho
11-08-2017, 02:16 PM
This one? 🇳🇬
First time id seen that!
Brilliant!
11-08-2017, 02:25 PM
From what I can remember, Vladamir Romanov and Hartley had quite a 'generous' loving relationship. The wee greasy caveman sure knows how to put himself about :agree:
:singing:
"Vlad-im-ir Romanov.
He (censored) Paul Hartley (censored).
....."
:singing:
11-08-2017, 02:31 PM
This one? 🇳🇬
"Onwards and upwards"............... well that worked out well, eh.
What a handsome bunch those Hertz fans are? Not!!
11-08-2017, 02:40 PM
Pressley is just another in a long line of arrogant, stuborn, full of his own importance and has a whiff establishment about him that is being linked to the job.
Good fit for them. He is a very poor manager.
GGTTH.
11-08-2017, 02:59 PM
Pressley is a poor man's Yogi. Don't need to say any more than that.
11-08-2017, 04:39 PM
He's not disliked by a majority of them as far as I can gather. Not in the maroon pub where I sit quietly tapping the mobile and listening.
11-08-2017, 04:55 PM
He's not disliked by a majority of them as far as I can gather. Not in the maroon pub where I sit quietly tapping the mobile and listening.
I've got a few Hearts mates who have all said they'd be raging if he got it and I don't know if you've got twitter/facebook but any report that links Pressley to the job you only need to look at the comments to get the general feelings of yams towards the guy. His chest pumping celebration in front of the Hearts fans when he played/scored against them definitely didn't go down well, amongst other things.
11-08-2017, 04:57 PM
I've got a few Hearts mates who have all said they'd be raging if he got it and I don't know if you've got twitter/facebook but any report that links Pressley to the job you only need to look at the comments to get the general feelings of yams towards the guy. His chest pumping celebration in front of the Hearts fans when he played/scored against them definitely didn't go down well, amongst other things.
Well, maybe I am witnessing the reactions of the older punters. I feel like a spy all of a sudden!
11-08-2017, 05:13 PM
I've got a few Hearts mates who have all said they'd be raging if he got it and I don't know if you've got twitter/facebook but any report that links Pressley to the job you only need to look at the comments to get the general feelings of yams towards the guy. His chest pumping celebration in front of the Hearts fans when he played/scored against them definitely didn't go down well, amongst other things.Family yam wants (in no particular order) Sergio, McClaren, Paul Lambert, Fat Sally or - to give a young guy a chance (yes I know) Alex Neil.
Big team[emoji23] [emoji23] [emoji23]
Article in the News today stating that Levein will continue to sign players while they are looking for a new 'head coach'. That surely puts to bed the question on whether it was Cathro or Levein signing the players previously. Levein runs that shambles along the road, and long may that continue.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-searching-for-new-players-despite-managerial-vacancy-1-4528592
On another note reality does seem to finally be hitting home at Tiny. One Kickbacker posted this morning after the Evenings news said they'd be signing a keeper and a midfielder:
Striker and 2 wingers needed as well, all with pace. Suspect we'll get a journeyman midfielder with no pace and that will be it.
Why would you let Potter recruit for the new manager?? This to me confirms what we all already know.... It won't be McLaren or a bigger name but a take it or leave the players I am bringing in.
More of the same quality as Jan please!
Why would anyone take that job knowing you wouldn't have full control??
11-08-2017, 05:25 PM
Family yam wants (in no particular order) Sergio, McClaren, Paul Lambert, Fat Sally or - to give a young guy a chance (yes I know) Alex Neil.
On the grounds that he once did quite a good job as Hearty Harry? :shocked:
11-08-2017, 05:26 PM
Why would you let Potter recruit for the new manager?? This to me confirms what we all already know.... It won't be McLaren or a bigger name but a take it or leave the players I am bringing in.
More of the same quality as Jan please!
Why would anyone take that job knowing you wouldn't have full control??
Because some people are just plain desperate.
11-08-2017, 05:29 PM
On the grounds that he once did quite a good job as Hearty Harry? :shocked:Indeed.
Too be fair on the family yam he puts up with a lot.
Hibs supporting wife and daughter who is a Hibs kid by choice because hearts are too "boring"[emoji1]
Because some people are just plain desperate.
Suppose so.
I'm actually loving all this tbh.
My half decent yam associates have told me they are fed up with all the crap coming out of their club and find it all very embarrassing. Word on the street is they are struggling to fund it!
Decent guys tbh (some of the first folk to contact me on that glorious day)
All pleasing though
11-08-2017, 05:59 PM
Suppose so.
I'm actually loving all this tbh.
My half decent yam associates have told me they are fed up with all the crap coming out of their club and find it all very embarrassing. Word on the street is they are struggling to fund it!
Decent guys tbh (some of the first folk to contact me on that glorious day)
All pleasing though
Between this thread and the stand thread, I am reminded of the desperation when it went tits up in the early days of admin... and that's without mentioning the car crash on the pitch
Never a dull moment :greengrin
:agree: Between this thread and the stand thread, I am reminded of the desperation when it went tits up in the early days of admin... and that's without mentioning the car crash on the pitch Never a dull moment :greengrin
Some folk think it's an obsession..... Of course it is they are our rivals however having done things the correct way (by this I mean paying our way etc) we now have our OWN yes our OWN training facilities and an amazing stadium.
We have kicked on big time since our SC win and we are now watching our rivals struggle both on and off the pitch.
Good enough for that bunch of grade A roasters (and poppy thieves to boot). That last bit was for those looking in
11-08-2017, 06:09 PM
Family yam wants (in no particular order) Sergio, McClaren, Paul Lambert, Fat Sally or - to give a young guy a chance (yes I know) Alex Neil.
Good Lord!
11-08-2017, 06:20 PM
This one? 🇳🇬
😂😂😂
Happy to be rid of a manager that got them up and third place and had them sitting in second.
Unanimous in wanting cathro.
😂😂😂
This one? 🇳🇬
Ha ha, they're happy to see Neilson go and want Cathro in. Just shows what Hearts fans know about football.
11-08-2017, 08:47 PM
Football Manager Selection - Lesson 1:
Never go for the good option.
Tornadoes70
11-08-2017, 09:17 PM
The most important attribute any candidate must display in order to be seen a prospect for the yam manager is to ensure they run everything past Potter first. Potter is firmly in control at the gorgie dump and no serious manager would cuckold himself for Potter no matter the wages on offer. I think Hartley is the one who may just be Cathy's successor and Potters new boy.
11-08-2017, 09:18 PM
This one? 🇳🇬
Ha-ha-ha - Oh that's priceless !! Out of 4 of em, 3 wanted what they eventually got and 1 was just surprised that Neilson didn't 'go to a bigger club !!'. So 75% have no idea about football and 25% are of the 'Bigger Is Better' mind-set - that about sums-up the Muppet-Loyal !
12-08-2017, 03:52 AM
Fat Sally or McLaren please 😁
Fat Sally or McLaren please dde01
Can you see either of them working under Potter??
12-08-2017, 08:56 AM
Can you see either of them working under Potter??
No chance McCLaren would take orders from him.
Correct. It will be the likes of Daly or Hartley or someone like that!
12-08-2017, 09:25 AM
Elvis will be entering the (pink) building!
12-08-2017, 11:40 AM
Elvis will be entering the (pink) building!
Fat Sally in one dugoot with our Manager in the other would be just fine.
Green Fish
12-08-2017, 11:57 AM
Not sure if already posted but just heard from someone with connections to that club CL is to take charge with Daly as no. 2
15-08-2017, 01:01 PM
It won't be Steve McLaren...taken a role at Maccabi Tel Aviv.
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/football/4247518/steve-mcclaren-maccabi-tel-aviv/amp/
That Israeli bad news for Yams! Sorry, could't help myself, just watched Sportscene & I saw Yams fans seriously thinking The Wally with the Brolly was on his way to them. Planet Yam, where even Donald Trump fears to tread!
15-08-2017, 01:24 PM
Interesting to see he will be working with Jordi Cruyff there (according to the article, Jordi is the new boss at Maccabi Tel Aviv)
In true Hibs.net retro fashion, I now fully expect to hear he agreed the deal on the top deck of the no.26 bus; their first signing will be Jose Antonio Reyes; and thereafter all the tedious banter of £150k signings taking place at 5pm, or, failing that, tomorrow; once the fishman has taken his Greggs steakbake to the bushes at Tel Aviv's training ground.
Has Nevio Scalla applied yet [emoji41]
15-08-2017, 02:32 PM
I think think Levein is sleeping with Anne Budge. There I said it!!
Me too. Heard this rumour a while back.
Joking apart. I did hear Budge was very very close to him. She may be in her late 70's and lost her original teath but Craig Levein is no spring chicken anymore and he has a senior well paid role (without any accountability) to protect.
15-08-2017, 02:38 PM
That's a hideous image. Dear God.
15-08-2017, 02:45 PM
Joking apart. I did hear Budge was very very close to him. She may be in her late 70's and lost her original teath but Craig Levein is no spring chicken anymore and he has a senior well paid role (without any accountability) to protect.
I hesitate to post this, but Wikipedia says Budge is a sprightly 69...
15-08-2017, 02:47 PM
Craig Levien doesn't know what 69 means. His knowledge ends at 4-6-0.....
15-08-2017, 02:50 PM
Just what were you searching for ??
15-08-2017, 03:03 PM
Either Dougie Freedman or a relative/representative of his seems to be running a pretty successful PR campaign for him on Kickback. A new poster has signed up in the last couple of days called Lilly1997 with every post a long glowing reference of DF or playing down the achievements of SM. Reminds of something similar happening on here when Jim Gannon (I think) was linked with us.
15-08-2017, 03:17 PM
Either Dougie Freedman or a relative/representative of his seems to be running a pretty successful PR campaign for him on Kickback. A new poster has signed up in the last couple of days called Lilly1997 with every post a long glowing reference of DF or playing down the achievements of SM. Reminds of something similar happening on here when Jim Gannon (I think) was linked with us.
Certainly wouldn't rule out an agent making use of promoters to spam forums. It's common practice for companies launching new products.
15-08-2017, 03:18 PM
And Calderwood iirc
15-08-2017, 03:21 PM
Come on now, Grannie Annie was born in 1948. No spring chicken but no late seventies either.
Fuzzywuzzy
15-08-2017, 03:33 PM
Forth one making out that McLaren got dingied and was 'no longer contention now interviews were taking place'......
Firestarter
15-08-2017, 03:34 PM
It will be Budge and Levein on their spare time on holiday trying to get everyone to pile on Freedman at the bookies before unveiling Pressley next week and picking up another tidy some for themselves at the expense of Hearts.
ACLeith
15-08-2017, 04:08 PM
Nothing wrong with being late 60s IMO! Means state pension not delayed and saw Gordon Smith, Joe Baker, Pat Stanton and Joe Tortelano play. And I knew AB way back in the day when she ran her IT company - but defo not in the biblical sense of the word 😱
15-08-2017, 04:59 PM
They will end up with a Pressley/Hartley type. Their fans are pulling ridiculous names out the hat because we've raised the bar by getting Lennon and they're only going to disappoint themselves. They are in for a tough slog whoever they get. Lennon who is an extremely good manager, inherited a squad on the crest of a wave from Stubbs and we've gone from strength to strength. Hearts don't have that. They shot that bolt when they appointed Sir Ian.
Blackfordhibby
15-08-2017, 05:21 PM
Aw naw Budge and 69 in the same sentence. Am hivin ma tea hae some pity.
15-08-2017, 05:36 PM
Nothing wrong with being late 60s IMO! Means state pension not delayed and saw Gordon Smith, Joe Baker, Pat Stanton and Joe Tortelano play. And I knew AB way back in the day when she ran her IT company - but defo not in the biblical sense of the word 😱
That was a bit of bad luck you should have hung in there.
Once McLaren reads that he's been rejected by Hearts it would be nice if he was to say that he had no intention of being there,his agent had done it without his knowledge and so he sacked him.
15-08-2017, 05:39 PM
That'll save Potter getting an umbrella rammed up his fundament.
16-08-2017, 05:52 AM
On the morning news there that McLaren was out of contention. I assumed he had withdrawn or hadn't applied in the first place. Did they knock him back?
16-08-2017, 05:58 AM
On the morning news there that McLaren was out of contention. I assumed he had withdrawn or hadn't applied in the first place. Did they knock him back?
That will probably depend on who's telling the story.
16-08-2017, 06:09 AM
Mclaren was never ever ever ever ever ever going to get that job. All the nonsense about him being on the shortlist is just that, nonsense. I have a short list of who I am going to sleep with tonight that includes some top supermodels and stunning actresses but really I know it's most likely to be my wife! Just the same as they will end up with Pressley or Hartley.
16-08-2017, 06:13 AM
Mclaren was never ever ever ever ever ever going to get that job. All the nonsense about him being on the shortlist is just that, nonsense. I have a short list of who I am going to sleep with tonight that includes some top supermodels and stunning actresses but really I know it's most likely to be my wife! Just the same as they will end up with Pressley or Hartley.
Correct.
His name was used to appeal to the masses and confirm to them that they're still a big big massive huge famous big really big club and being linked with a former England manager just goes to show how very very very very big and famous they are.
Ultimately someone far cheaper and less famous will turn out to be the better option.
16-08-2017, 06:20 AM
Budgies cannae live to be 69, parrots on the other hand...
16-08-2017, 06:24 AM
Apparently told Levein he has no interest at all in becoming the new manager/coach from the very start.
Gordy M
16-08-2017, 11:28 AM
Billy Davies getting interviewed on Thurs or Friday.
16-08-2017, 12:09 PM
I have a list too so I hope for your sake none of the models are on both of our lists or you will be disappointed........
16-08-2017, 12:20 PM
I suspect it will be someone of that ilk. A lot of Hearts fans seem to think it's Elvis, which would suit me fine as a quick scan of his managerial record reveals him to be a distinctly underwhelming candidate.
Presumably they have to wait on Budge to get back from her yacht cruise to rubber stamp any appointment though?
16-08-2017, 12:22 PM
If so I wonder how they are taking so long to appoint either of them considering none of them are working.
16-08-2017, 01:11 PM
Billy Davies getting interviewed on Thurs or Friday.
That'd be a sight. He'd be knocking the ***** out of Levein early doors.
He can't get a job in England because of his temper.
16-08-2017, 01:16 PM
If Budgie's on her yacht cruise this week I take it she won the raffle.
16-08-2017, 01:19 PM
If so I wonder how they are taking so long to appoint either of them considering none of them are working.
Saves them a few weeks wages?
16-08-2017, 01:28 PM
If Budgie's on her yacht cruise this week I take it she won the raffle.
Seems she was supposed to go on holiday the week of the Cathro sacking, which was quickly followed by the debacle over the forgotten order for the new stand seats. Bit bizarre that she would take off while they're still looking for a new manager (can you imagine Dempster or Petrie doing likewise?!), but I do wonder whether she sometimes wonders whether she's ended up getting in over her head with the whole Hearts thing and just needs a breather from the ongoing mess.
16-08-2017, 01:32 PM
If it is indeed the original and best Caveman - Pressley, would this be the first time the Mini Me got the job before the original Dr Evil?
16-08-2017, 02:38 PM
Leslie Deans now weighing in. In his opinion the new man must have experience and Budge must form a close relationship with them.
Worrying times for Levein then...
17-08-2017, 09:59 AM
McClaren apparently not taking up the job in Israel and still 'open to offers'. Still can't see Hearts affording him, but my instinct is he'd be a flop so would be happy enough to see them do so.
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-candidate-steve-mcclaren-open-minded-to-any-offer-after-u-turn-1-4534252
Well into the third week since Cathro's sacking now. I know Budge is still on her summer holidays but it would give her something to think about if Daly managed to pick up a point at Ibrox. I've suspected from the start that Hearts are privately hoping he makes an adequate fist of the games he's in charge for so that they can claim to be so impressed by him that they feel he deserves the job. It would save them a lot on wages.
17-08-2017, 10:06 AM
"This is what we need" :
What I'd suggest we're looking for is a guy who can work with a limited budget, promote youth players, install a style of play throughout the club which will yield results in the Scottish league, have a network of contacts to bring in bargains who can be standouts in this league, a motivator and have a basic knowledge of the Scottish game...beyond the old firm, be able to work with and improve or current squad and work with the coaches we have and ready them for management.
........... they're not getting Lennon. :greengrin
Velma Dinkley
17-08-2017, 10:10 AM
Unfortunately for Hearts, any manager with knowledge of the game in Scotland will be aware that the club is an absolute laughing stock and has been for a decade or so.
Tornadoes70
17-08-2017, 10:12 AM
Leslie Deans now weighing in. In his opinion the new man must have experience and Budge must form a close relationship with them.
Worrying times for Levein then...
Isn't he under a cloud for dubious behaviour?
17-08-2017, 10:13 AM
Isn't he under a cloud for dubious behaviour?
The case was dropped. Insufficient evidence.
McSwanky
17-08-2017, 10:15 AM
I'd love to see McClaren come up here, just to see what his Scottish accent is like. Can't be any worse than his Dutch one!
Tornadoes70
17-08-2017, 10:19 AM
The case was dropped. Insufficient evidence.
Thanks for that. Heard about it a few years ago in the papers then all went quiet. Can't condemn a person who's not been found guilty of anything. Except for being a yam of course.
17-08-2017, 10:45 AM
Unfortunately for Hearts, any manager with knowledge of the game in Scotland will be aware that the club is an absolute laughing stock and has been for a decade or so.
Add in any manager with a knowledge of their squad and the approximate amount of money it would take to make that squad even semi-decent ............................... they should go on bended-knee to Ian Cathro !
17-08-2017, 10:50 AM
McClaren apparently not taking up the job in Israel and still 'open to offers'. Still can't see Hearts affording him, but my instinct is he'd be a flop so would be happy enough to see them do so.
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-candidate-steve-mcclaren-open-minded-to-any-offer-after-u-turn-1-4534252
Well into the third week since Cathro's sacking now. I know Budge is still on her summer holidays but it would give her something to think about if Daly managed to pick up a point at Ibrox. I've suspected from the start that Hearts are privately hoping he makes an adequate fist of the games he's in charge for so that they can claim to be so impressed by him that they feel he deserves the job. It would save them a lot on wages.
Delaying to ensure there is no time for any new incumbent to spend any cash they don't have in the transfer window. Current Hearts squad will be lucky to make top 6.
17-08-2017, 11:04 AM
I'd love to see McClaren come up here, just to see what his Scottish accent is like. Can't be any worse than his Dutch one!
"I am sho pleasht to be here at Tynecashil, to manage the Famoush Heartsh"
17-08-2017, 11:07 AM
My thought is that Mclaren would be just like his old mate Colin "Sweetie-shop" Calderwood - he'd come up to pass the time and earn some cash, but always looking over his shoulder for a better-paying job in England. He's never impressed me, and I don't think he impresses too many folks down South either.
17-08-2017, 11:12 AM
Will billy davies have talks in tommy sheridans tarzan club with Budgie and Potter 🤣
17-08-2017, 11:47 AM
Best man for them out all the names mentioned would be Dougie Freedman. Good young manager.
17-08-2017, 11:52 AM
Best man for them out all the names mentioned would be Dougie Freedman. Good young manager.
Was considered as the new young hope once.Not any more after all he hasn't got a job.
17-08-2017, 11:55 AM
"I am sho pleasht to be here at Tynecashil, to manage the Famoush Heartsh"But Whersh the shtangd and sheetsh gone?
17-08-2017, 11:55 AM
Delaying to ensure there is no time for any new incumbent to spend any cash they don't have in the transfer window. Current Hearts squad will be lucky to make top 6.
I think this is spot on. There is no money for the new manager to spend so best hold off appointing one until it's too late to spend.
Velma Dinkley
17-08-2017, 12:02 PM
Levein will be spending the money anyway. They've just extended Cowie's contract.
17-08-2017, 12:09 PM
IMO the biggest stumbling block to Hearts appointing a decent manager is Craig Levin. The guy has a huge conceit of himself, did he ever have the humility admit to his monumental cock up playing without a forward against a team Scotland could well have beaten?
I cant see a situation where he wouldn't want to impart his massive football knowledge to any new manager, whether they like it or not, and that's going to put a lot of candidates off, especially guys like McLaren, who no matter your opinion of him has managed at the very top level.
I cant help thinking the Yams are going to end up disappointed with the winning candidate .... or at least see him as a pretty uninspiring choice.
17-08-2017, 12:23 PM
Levein will be spending the money anyway. They've just extended Cowie's contract.
Curious move to add a year for a guy who will be 35 next birthday. Hard to imagine they would run the risk of clubs circling in next January's transfer window.
And as you say, Levein clearly calls the shots on signings since this has been sanctioned prior to the new managerial appointment (unless Daly already knows he has the job and agreed to this).
Might be wrong but I was under the impression most Hearts fans thought Cowie was pretty p**h.
17-08-2017, 12:23 PM
IMO the biggest stumbling block to Hearts appointing a decent manager is Craig Levin. The guy has a huge conceit of himself, did he ever have the humility admit to his monumental cock up playing without a forward against a team Scotland could well have beaten?
I cant see a situation where he wouldn't want to impart his massive football knowledge to any new manager, whether they like it or not, and that's going to put a lot of candidates off, especially guys like McLaren, who no matter your opinion of him has managed at the very top level.
I cant help thinking the Yams are going to end up disappointed with the winning candidate .... or at least see him as a pretty uninspiring choice.
Sshh - the more comments like that, the more chance Budge might hear of them and see the light - after Cathro, Levein's been brilliant for us !
17-08-2017, 12:29 PM
Hearing it will be Pressley...possibly announced tomorrow. Been in for 3 interviews already.
Though my source is the same guy telling me they are signing Ben Williams as a GK !
Velma Dinkley
17-08-2017, 12:30 PM
Curious move to add a year for a guy who will be 35 next birthday. Hard to imagine they would run the risk of clubs circling in next January's transfer window.
And as you say, Levein clearly calls the shots on signings since this has been sanctioned prior to the new managerial appointment (unless Daly already knows he has the job and agreed to this).
Might be wrong but I was under the impression most Hearts fans thought Cowie was pretty p**h.
Hearts fans think all big clubs sign players without a manager because Celtic signed Dembele when they didn't have a manager (even though Brendan Rogers was appointed as manager a month before Celtic signed Dembele).
17-08-2017, 01:36 PM
Budgies cannae live to be 69, parrots on the other hand...
Seemingly Budgie cannae even look at herself in the mirror.
17-08-2017, 03:44 PM
I hear McLaren has thrown his name back into the mix after the Israel thing fell through ?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
17-08-2017, 03:46 PM
That wumin's got grit though.
17-08-2017, 03:49 PM
That wumin's got grit though.
Sewing the seeds for future generations......
17-08-2017, 03:55 PM
That must be hawkward for her in the mornings.
17-08-2017, 04:00 PM
Hearing it will be Pressley...possibly announced tomorrow. Been in for 3 interviews already.
Though my source is the same guy telling me they are signing Ben Williams as a GK !
This would be a pleasing appointment. I don't recall Elvis having any success as a manager, apologies for the lack of puns
17-08-2017, 04:03 PM
Since the new manager will have to be able to work with Harry Potter, the obvious candidate is Graeme Hogg!
17-08-2017, 04:12 PM
That must be hawkward for her in the mornings.
Imaging waking up to it in the morning
Firestarter
17-08-2017, 04:30 PM
Pressley will be the next manager.
17-08-2017, 04:31 PM
Imaging waking up to it in the morning
He's apparently been telling folk in the media and his pals since Monday he's getting it.
17-08-2017, 04:39 PM
He's apparently been telling folk in the media and his pals since Monday he's getting it.
What about the pals he's had for years ? Is he not telling them too ? :greengrin
chewbaccy
17-08-2017, 04:56 PM
Some yam at work is hoping Alan Archibald becomes the next unfortunate pleb.
The plane hirers won't like that. The minute it starts going wrong it'll be "boo Phressley"
17-08-2017, 05:17 PM
Judging by the views on kickback there will be fury among the Hearts support if it's Pressley.
17-08-2017, 07:03 PM
Since the new manager will have to be able to work with Harry Potter, the obvious candidate is Graeme Hogg!
I like a joke with a good punchline :thumbsup:
17-08-2017, 07:53 PM
Some yam at work is hoping Alan Archibald becomes the next unfortunate pleb.
No way they will pay compo. Has to be someone unemployed.
17-08-2017, 07:56 PM
Someone over there saying Stubbs is in the running. Please Sir Alan don't do it!
#2 Double Tap
17-08-2017, 07:57 PM
Someone over there saying Stubbs is in the running. Please Sir Alan don't do it!
dont be ridic.
I really hope it's Pressley. Another complete and utter self centred narrow minded idiot and very much a mini version of Levein. Lots of long winded patronising media interviews and plenty of opportunity for us to ridicule.
And he is a ***** manager as well.
17-08-2017, 08:01 PM
dont be ridic.Can see how it would appeal to someone out of work. Hearts like ourselves are a big club and would be tempting to Alan I'm sure. Would be gutted if it did happen.
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
17-08-2017, 08:03 PM
Can see how it would appeal to someone out of work. Hearts like ourselves are a big club and would be tempting to Alan I'm sure. Would be gutted if it did happen.
2 Words
Craig
Levein
#2 Double Tap
17-08-2017, 08:26 PM
Can see how it would appeal to someone out of work. Hearts like ourselves are a big club and would be tempting to Alan I'm sure. Would be gutted if it did happen.
have you been smoking that crack pipe with some gorgie pals????
>>>>:gwa:
17-08-2017, 08:32 PM
The latest from kickback is Pressley and Hartley in😄
God knows who's doing what, with that duo
17-08-2017, 08:32 PM
Is Butcher not an obvious candidate ?
17-08-2017, 08:34 PM
I think he would rather sign on to be honest.
Thought i would have a peek on keekback and Seems that they are not amused..
Geoff Kilpatrick
Intensely relaxed
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/profile/photo-thumb-1151.jpg?_r=1397736582
Paid Member
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/public/style_extra/team_icons/premium.gif
50,981 posts
LocationMelbourne
DONATOR (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/donate/view-donations/?member_id=1151)
Posted Today, 19:58
A guy who is 34 suddenly needs a contract extension before a new manager is appointed?
Really? Why now?
Who is this - one with sense ?? cant be right !!! and CL picking the new managers players already.. more flames for the fire..
Thought i would have a peek on keekback and Seems that they are not amused..
Geoff Kilpatrick
Intensely relaxed
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/uploads/profile/photo-thumb-1151.jpg?_r=1397736582
Paid Member
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/public/style_extra/team_icons/premium.gif
50,981 posts
LocationMelbourne
DONATOR (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/donate/view-donations/?member_id=1151)
Posted Today, 19:58
A guy who is 34 suddenly needs a contract extension before a new manager is appointed?
Really? Why now?
Who is this - one with sense ?? cant be right !!! and CL picking the new managers players already.. more flames for the fire..
When it says "Paid member" does it mean paid upfront or "erm, cheque's in the post"?
17-08-2017, 09:49 PM
When it says "Paid member" does it mean paid upfront or "erm, cheque's in the post"?The money's just resting in their account is a more accurate term than actual payment.
They're definitely members though
17-08-2017, 09:49 PM
When it says "Paid member" does it mean paid upfront or "erm, cheque's in the post"?
Press his " donator " button and get his payments.
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/donate/view-donations/?member_id=1151
ArmadaleHibs
17-08-2017, 10:22 PM
Been informed (decent source but won't reveal) that Alan Archibald will be taking over shortly.
It's irrelevant who takes over. It's a butcher signing
17-08-2017, 11:33 PM
Been informed (decent source but won't reveal) that Alan Archibald will be taking over shortly.
A settlement payment to Thistle would be required.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/36203763
More calls on the cash cow !
18-08-2017, 05:34 AM
Neil Lennon has a 100% win rate against hearts new manager then
I like those numbers
18-08-2017, 09:17 AM
It's certainly looking that way the longer this drags on without any serious indication as to who the new manager might be.
Once Budge gets back from holiday next week it's a matter of days until the end of the transfer window and as others have said, the only business to be done by that stage would be Butcher-style last day cast-offs. Truth is, they will have blown their transfer budget on the players Cathro/Levein signed and are making a big play of adding a year to a 34-year-old's contract plus bringing a keeper in for a week's trial to give the illusion they're investing in the squad.
Very much doubt it but you can get at least 10/1 if you fancy it. Mind you,believe it or not the odds for SJM's next club to be Yams is only 16/1!
18-08-2017, 12:10 PM
Very much doubt it but you can get at least 10/1 if you fancy it. Mind you,believe it or not the odds for SJM's next club to be Yams is only 16/1!
Shirley there are a couple of zeros missing there
18-08-2017, 12:42 PM
Pressley/Hartley dream team is my guess. Club legends. Jambos will be winning the Champions league again.
18-08-2017, 12:46 PM
Don't know if it's been covered. Don Cowie given a one year extension to his contract. Hertz about to sign a keeper. Yet no manager? And they wonder why people question who's signing the players?!
18-08-2017, 02:55 PM
Don't know if it's been covered. Don Cowie given a one year extension to his contract. Hertz about to sign a keeper. Yet no manager? And they wonder why people question who's signing the players?!
There's no question. Is, was and will be Potter... other than an occasional bone thrown to whoever the current puppet is.
SuperAllyMcleod
19-08-2017, 10:24 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/don-cowie-jon-daly-is-ready-to-be-hearts-manager-1-4536009
And so it begins - Don Cowie saying that Jon Daly would be a good man to get the Hearts job. Suggests to me that it is now almost certain to be Daly - the cheap option and already comes with puppet strings attached.
I do hope so [emoji4][emoji122]
19-08-2017, 10:36 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/don-cowie-jon-daly-is-ready-to-be-hearts-manager-1-4536009
And so it begins - Don Cowie saying that Jon Daly would be a good man to get the Hearts job. Suggests to me that it is now almost certain to be Daly - the cheap option and already comes with puppet strings attached.
There's a poll in that thread that we all have to vote on!
Daly for me :aok:
Tug Wilson
19-08-2017, 11:12 AM
Thought exactly the same thing.
Articles like this pave the way for claims that Daly already knows the players and has the respect of the dressing room.
Only problem could be a pumping from Sevco that destroys any chance he has. Half decent result today and he might well get the job.
19-08-2017, 11:48 AM
Let's hope.
19-08-2017, 11:50 AM
Is Cathro an option?
19-08-2017, 12:09 PM
Can I vote for Butcher?
Daly gets my vote.
Preserves continuity with the real boss.
20-08-2017, 11:08 AM
It's been reported that Billy Davies has been interviewed by Budge for the job at the PBS.
A word of caution though. This was reported in the Scottish Sun...
21-08-2017, 12:58 PM
Freedman allegedly 'drops out the race'...
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/dougie-freedman-drops-out-of-race-to-become-hearts-manager-1-4537981
You have to ask whether guys like he and McClaren were ever even 'in the race'. More likely their names were thrown in the hat by media speculation and once they ended up taking up other roles they were deemed to have 'dropped out the race' to be Hearts boss. Hard to imagine de Boer just decided yesterday that Palace needed a sporting director.
It's looking ever more like Daly. Which was actually the plan all along.
They are going mental on kickback. One of the ITK crew has been spouting for past few days it will be Freedman and most of them are saying they are excited and glad it's not Daly (inexperienced puppet) or Pressley (chest thumping Celtic minded).
The view is that Budge has taken so long to make appointment that McLaren and Freedman have taken other offers.
It is looking odds in it will be Daly.
21-08-2017, 01:10 PM
Alex McLeish?
:cb:greengrin
21-08-2017, 01:11 PM
Alex McLeish?
:cb:greengrin
He said yesterday on Sportsound, no thanks
21-08-2017, 01:11 PM
He said yesterday on Sportsound, no thanks
Haha he has some sense after all then :thumbsup:
21-08-2017, 01:24 PM
We shouldn't expect a decision any time soon. After all it's only been 3 weeks since Dougall was emptied and there are still 10 days of the transfer window to avoid...
They are going mental on kickback. One of the ITK crew has been spouting for past few days it will be Freedman and most of them are saying they are excited and glad it's not Daly (inexperienced puppet) or Pressley (chest thumping Celtic minded).
The view is that Budge has taken so long to make appointment that McLaren and Freedman have taken other offers.
It is looking odds in it will be Daly.
Not quite accurate. It was an administration error, which will not happen when they appoint their next manager in January. The new manager will be announced in time for the seats arriving for the new stand.
21-08-2017, 02:17 PM
I'm surprised Yogi hasn't been linked with job, think he'd do a far better job than Pressley
21-08-2017, 02:22 PM
Still think it will be Elvis.
21-08-2017, 02:44 PM
Still think it will be Gary Locke nearer the end of the window. He's already on the payroll and more experienced than Daly. it,ll be a Locke , Daly and Macphee dream team.
21-08-2017, 03:14 PM
We shouldn't expect a decision any time soon. After all it's only been 3 weeks since Dougall was emptied and there are still 10 days of the transfer window to avoid...
Indeed. They're really spinning this out which makes the likelihood of anyone other than Daly taking the job ever more remote. I'd be surprised if Pressley took it without being able to make any signings.
I notice that Barry Anderson's earlier 'exclusive' today that Freedman is on the final shortlist has been quickly replaced online...
21-08-2017, 03:18 PM
Barry will not be pleased at the number of times they've blindsided him recently.
21-08-2017, 03:32 PM
I can confirm the next Hearts manager is being selected by a prolonged game of musical chairs*
* Although McLaren appears to have rejoined the game after complaining to his mum "it's just not fair"
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/dougie-freedman-drops-out-of-race-to-become-hearts-manager-1-4537981
21-08-2017, 03:35 PM
Surely Pass the Hot Potato -an energetic form of pass the parcel.
21-08-2017, 03:44 PM
I would just like to take this opportunity to officially rule myself out for the position.
I was asked by a mate in the pub yesterday if I had sent my application off for the Hearts job. I'd like to publically quash any rumours before they get back to KB, the Scotsman and the Edinburgh Evening News.
21-08-2017, 03:48 PM
Seem to remember Irvine Welsh once applying for the Hearts job in the hope he could manage them out of existence!
21-08-2017, 04:17 PM
McLaren stomps off thinking they were playing the Hokey-Cokey
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-candidate-steve-mcclaren-takes-role-with-maccabi-tel-aviv-1-4537875/amp
21-08-2017, 04:22 PM
Seem to remember Irvine Welsh once applying for the Hearts job in the hope he could manage them out of existence!
Irvine Welsh and a scooby-doo style mask might explain the Ian Cathro era.
Or even the Robbie Neilson one.
"An ah'd huv goat away wi it if it wisnae fur youse c***s wi the plane".
21-08-2017, 04:28 PM
McLaren stomps off thinking they were playing the Hokey-Cokey
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/hearts-candidate-steve-mcclaren-takes-role-with-maccabi-tel-aviv-1-4537875/amp
Only ever in for it for the free publicity
Firestarter
21-08-2017, 04:30 PM
As said on Friday or something Pressley has been offered the job apparently and will be in place this week, probably tomorrow.
21-08-2017, 04:36 PM
As said on Friday or something Pressley has been offered the job apparently and will be in place this week, probably tomorrow.
Was Pressley caretaker manager at Hearts way back when for a short time or did I dream that.
Managed Fleetwood recently, wasnt the most popular manager, more to do with the style of football the Cods played. Functional lets say.
21-08-2017, 04:41 PM
Was Pressley caretaker manager at Hearts way back when for a short time or did I dream that.
Managed Fleetwood recently, wasnt the most popular manager, more to do with the style of football the Cods played. Functional lets say.
I think winning just 11 out of 40 games also contributed to that...
Sounds like a great appointment from our point of view :aok:
21-08-2017, 04:44 PM
Co-caretaker with McGlynn for 2 games at the end of the season, just before Burley and the 'glory years'
... Lost both :greengrin
Firestarter
21-08-2017, 04:56 PM
Him and that weird looking McGlinn I think.
21-08-2017, 05:40 PM
Hearts take stock on hunt for new head coach
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/41006308
Freedman's pulled out, at least 2 players have praised Daly......I think its clear who will be appointed
21-08-2017, 06:16 PM
Yup. The cheap option.
21-08-2017, 07:19 PM
Whoever gets the Gorgie gig will never ever come close to being the legend that is the one and only agent Ian Cathro.
RedHibby
21-08-2017, 07:24 PM
A bit funny how everyone linked to the job have all got new appointments. OK who is going to be cheap as chips so we can dump him as soon as it all goes pear shaped again.
21-08-2017, 07:39 PM
I would've put my mortgage on it being the cheap ex-yam option or Daly, no one with respect is going to work under Levein and they don't have the budget for anyone other than Daly / Pressley and co.
Whoever gets the Gorgie gig will never ever come close to being the legend that is the one and only agent Ian Cathro.
He was a genius.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-will-be-getting-a-genius-if-they-appoint-ian-cathro-1-4307458
21-08-2017, 09:40 PM
He was a genius.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-will-be-getting-a-genius-if-they-appoint-ian-cathro-1-4307458
Fixes laptops in a downstairs cupboard at Heriot Watt these days. What a waste of talent.
21-08-2017, 09:55 PM
Daly now in charge until after the Motherwell game. That effectively takes them to the end of the transfer window and ensures no player budget required for the new boss.
And just check out the alleged three options the BBC claims are at Hearts' disposal. The first two, especially the one about 'second interviews' is surely just a fudge to pave the way for option three to be the 'unanimous choice of the board' when Daly is finally appointed full time.
Daly now in charge until after the Motherwell game. That effectively takes them to the end of the transfer window and ensures no player budget required for the new boss.
And just check out the alleged three options the BBC claims are at Hearts' disposal. The first two, especially the one about 'second interviews' is surely just a fudge to pave the way for option three to be the 'unanimous choice of the board' when Daly is finally appointed full time.
Only Hearts could take so long and turn this into yet another saga. 3 weeks since sacking Cathro before season started and they are moving to a stage of consideration of appointments. Meanwhile Freedman walks into another role and Daly is getting talked up in the press. And another week before an appointment according to the BBC article.
It's like the stand. Hearts have tuneed a reasonably sized construction project into the saga of all sagas. They have designed possibly the ugliest main stand possible at a spiralling cost of £15m-£18m and 3 months plus late. And to increase the capacity by c2500 (<15%)
Now they are sacking the COO. But remember yams keep up the payments to help fund Queen Ann club. Not a share certificate in sight.
22-08-2017, 12:45 AM
Wait so they were touting O'Neil, McLaren and Freedman for the job who have all apparently turned them down and they're now left with Pressley and Billy Davies as the only likely candidates? Surely not? Sacking Cathro is beginning to look like the wrong call for them.
They're doing a good job of narrowing down the shortlist, by taking so long all the candidates Jambos were drooling over have ruled themselves out. No matter which of those left on the sh*telist gets it now, the fans will be divided and arguing amongst themselves before the new guy's first match.
22-08-2017, 09:06 AM
Wait so they were touting O'Neil, McLaren and Freedman for the job who have all apparently turned them down and they're now left with Pressley and Billy Davies as the only likely candidates? Surely not? Sacking Cathro is beginning to look like the wrong call for them.
Hertz owned the future of Scottish football and they threw it away...
22-08-2017, 09:47 AM
He was a genius.
I've just had a quick read through the above article, and I can honestly say it's one of the biggest piles of football related horse manure I've read in quite a while. Where do you start with some of it?
Couple of quotes:
"He'll (Cathro) be different and he'll shake a few people up." He "shook up" some of the Gorgie fans all right! :greengrin
"Stevie Campbell reckons Cathro will win over the Hearts players after just one training session." Well Stevie, how do you reckon that turned out? What a load of kack. :faf:
I've just had a quick read through the above article, and I can honestly say it's one of the biggest piles of football related horse manure I've read in quite a while. Where do you start with some of it?
Couple of quotes:
"He'll (Cathro) be different and he'll shake a few people up." He "shook up" some of the Gorgie fans all right! :greengrin
"Stevie Campbell reckons Cathro will win over the Hearts players after just one training session." Well Stevie, how do you reckon that turned out? What a load of kack. :faf:
It is a load of cack. Cathro remains a genius in my eyes though --- Harpo Marx, Max Wall, Ian Cathro - in that order.
22-08-2017, 10:59 AM
Surely Pass the Hot Potato -an energetic form of pass the parcel.
More likely pin the tail on the donkey
22-08-2017, 11:05 AM
Stuck a tenner on Daly @ 20/1 a few weeks back, praying he gets the gig :partyhibb
22-08-2017, 12:05 PM
Hertz owned the future of Scottish football and they threw it away...
A short sighted decision pandering to deluded fans. They'll rue the day they sacked the Dalry Lama soon enough.
Tom Hart RIP
22-08-2017, 12:36 PM
Billy Davies backs out saying he didn't like structure and Hearts unwilling to change. Issued a statement. It's in the Sun
22-08-2017, 12:43 PM
Billy Davies backs out saying he didn't like structure and Hearts unwilling to change. Issued a statement. It's in the Sun
Also reported in The Mail.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-4812696/Billy-Davies-pulls-race-Hearts-boss.html
22-08-2017, 12:45 PM
Also reported in The Mail.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-4812696/Billy-Davies-pulls-race-Hearts-boss.html
Surprised he wasn't asked to sign a confidentiality agreement before the interview
22-08-2017, 12:45 PM
Billy Davies backs out saying he didn't like structure and Hearts unwilling to change. Issued a statement. It's in the SunHe never struck me as the sort of guy who would be happy to be accountable for crap results based on the players that Potter dumps on the manager, then sends post it notes to telling him what to do with them.
You've got to be really desperate or just hopeless to accept that. Step forward the only real short list they've ever had. Daly or pressley with Hartley as third choice as he might cost a bit more.
22-08-2017, 12:47 PM
what's the chances of Cathro reapplying, and getting the job :jamboclows
22-08-2017, 12:54 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/billy-davies-withdraws-from-race-for-hearts-job-amid-structure-concerns-1-4538952
As Archie Macpherson would say.. wooooafffft
Davies sticks the corkscrew into Craig Levein and Anne Budge here.
Bullseye
22-08-2017, 12:56 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/billy-davies-withdraws-from-race-for-hearts-job-amid-structure-concerns-1-4538952
As Archie Macpherson would say.. wooooafffft
Davies sticks the corkscrew into Craig Levein and Anne Budge here.
BullseyeAnd it confirms Mrs Budge is listening to us. We really like their structure.
The management one and the seatless mecanno one as well.
Dan Sarf
22-08-2017, 12:59 PM
"It appears they are not ready to make the internal changes required to achieve greater success. It seems to me they just want to change the figurehead. It’s my belief just changing the manager will not achieve what’s required for success and perhaps the alterations are outwith their financial boundaries at present. I wish them well in their future endeavours."
22-08-2017, 01:04 PM
"It appears they are not ready to make the internal changes required to achieve greater success. It seems to me they just want to change the figurehead. It’s my belief just changing the manager will not achieve what’s required for success and perhaps the alterations are outwith their financial boundaries at present. I wish them well in their future endeavours."
:faf:Decent rejection letter that. Sounds like the big team applied to join Billy Davies but they weren't quite up to scratch[emoji23] [emoji23]
Decent rejection letter that. Sounds like the big team applied to join Billy Davies but they weren't quite up to scratch[emoji23] [emoji23]
Jambos are full "he wasn't getting the job anyway", which will be why they gave him an interview.
https://twitter.com/DonaldsonESPN/status/899974474602352640
22-08-2017, 03:34 PM
Jambos are full "he wasn't getting the job anyway", which will be why they gave him an interview.
https://twitter.com/DonaldsonESPN/status/899974474602352640
Indeed. And the delusion among many on kickback lingers on. For example...
"I'm happy to tolerate the fact that the appointment process has taken four weeks, because it should take a bit of time to get the right man in place - there's a procedure involved in recruiting key personnel to big companies that many folk on here don't seem to grasp"
In four weeks this 'big company' has gone being linked with Michael O'Neill ('done deal' according to some within hours of Cathro's sacking) and several other managers with reasonable pedigree to today's situation where their only options seem to be Pressley, Hartley or Daly.
22-08-2017, 03:35 PM
"I'm happy to tolerate the fact that the appointment process has taken four weeks, because it should take a bit of time to get the right man in place - there's a procedure involved in recruiting key personnel to big companies that many folk on here don't seem to grasp"
In four weeks this 'big company' has gone being linked with Michael O'Neill ('done deal' according to some within hours of Cathro's sacking) and several other managers with reasonable pedigree to today's situation where their only options seem to be Pressley, Hartley or Daly.Big companies [emoji23] [emoji23] [emoji23] [emoji23] [emoji23]
22-08-2017, 03:51 PM
All these managers that have turned them down must have taken a look at what they were building at thought to themselves bugger looking at that monstrosity every day.
Crazyhorse
22-08-2017, 03:51 PM
In four weeks this 'big company' has gone being linked with Michael O'Neill ('done deal' according to some within hours of Cathro's sacking) and several other managers with reasonable pedigree to today's situation where their only options seem to be Pressley, Hartley or Daly.
I don't go on it because I don't want to click on any site which tolerates Nazi language but I would have thought anyone nowadays using the word "big" about the Jambos is most likely a hibs fan taking the piss.
ManBearPig
22-08-2017, 04:13 PM
Meanwhile, the interview saga at Tiny continues...
The four-person panel (consisting of Ann "Queen Heffer" Budge, Craig "Worm-tongue" Levein, the Greasy Gimp from Norn Iron and Craig Le-Vains Ego) await the candidates in the Polis Box that obscures the view of the pitch from the new stand.
Enter Candidate A.
Levein: "Come in, take a seat and tell us your name?"
Candidate A: "Uh, Hullo. My name is Stephen Press..."
Levein: "OK. Thank-you, Stephen. We'll let you know".
Candidate A rises, turns and shuffles out of the Polis Box with a puzzelled expression on his ugly mug.
Enter Candidate B.
Candidate B: "Eh, Hi. My name's Paul Hart..."
Levein: "OK. Thank-you, Paul. We'll let you know".
Candidate B rises turns and minces out of the Polis Box with a confused expression slapped across his stupid face.
Enter Candidate C.
Candidate C: "Er... Um... Mmm..."
Then addressing Worm-tongue he stutters: "...I dunno boss? How should I answer that? What would you like to call me?".
And with that Queen Heffer lowed and clapped her hooves, Le-Vain's Ego swelled with joy, the Greasy Gimp mumbled something into his zipped mask and Levein stood to address Candidate C.
Levein: "Congratulations Jon. That's exactly the answer I... er, I mean "we"... wanted to hear. The Head Puppet job is yours."
Simple Jon gasped with glee as he inched closer to his dream of being a real manager one day.
This was stolen from elsewhere but apparently true story
22-08-2017, 04:17 PM
To be fair though, Billy Davies has a CV perfectly written for getting clubs out of the Championship and into the EPL. I don't think that he is altogether well regarded though. Bit of an inflated ego.
22-08-2017, 04:29 PM
Meanwhile, the interview saga at Tiny continues...
The four-person panel (consisting of Ann "Queen Heffer" Budge, Craig "Worm-tongue" Levein, the Greasy Gimp from Norn Iron and Craig Le-Vains Ego) await the candidates in the Polis Box that obscures the view of the pitch from the new stand.
Enter Candidate A.
Candidate A: "Uh, Hullo. My name is Stephen Press..."
Levein: "OK. Thank-you, Stephen. We'll let you know".
Candidate A rises, turns and shuffles out of the Polis Box with a puzzelled expression on his ugly mug.
Enter Candidate B.
Candidate B: "Eh, Hi. My name's Paul Hart..."
Levein: "OK. Thank-you, Paul. We'll let you know".
Candidate B rises turns and minces out of the Polis Box with a confused expression slapped across his stupid face.
Enter Candidate C.
Candidate C: "Er... Um... Mmm..."
Then addressing Worm-tongue he stutters: "...I dunno boss? How should I answer that? What would you like to call me?".
And with that Queen Heffer lowed and clapped her hooves, Le-Vain's Ego swelled with joy, the Greasy Gimp mumbled something into his zipped mask and Levein stood to address Candidate C.
Levein: "Congratulations Jon. That's exactly the answer I... er, I mean "we"... wanted to hear. The Head Puppet job is yours."
Simple Jon gasped with glee as he inched closer to his dream of being a real manager one day.
This was stolen from elsewhere but apparently true story
One candidate asked is there any chance you can turn the heating up, its freezing in here.
Sorry Pal its always that cold here, its the shadow of Easter Road.
22-08-2017, 04:39 PM
what's the chances of Cathro reapplying, and getting the job :jamboclows
Like a Gorgie groundhog day :faf:
22-08-2017, 04:44 PM
I'm trying to think of a football club that has been more shambolic than current Hearts and nope, I can't do it. They are making Vlad's decade look well run at the moment. Utter shambles.
22-08-2017, 05:13 PM
Another one out the door.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/chief-operating-officer-scot-gardiner-to-leave-hearts-1-4538305
22-08-2017, 05:23 PM
Budgie has tweeted this, Daly gets a result on Saturday and it's his 😂
While this has been going on, Jon Daly, supported by the other members of the coaching staff, has stepped up to the mark brilliantly and filled the role of interim head coach admirably. Jon will continue to do so for the Motherwell game. An announcement will be made regarding a permanent appointment next week
Hearts take stock on hunt for new head coach
They've probably burned their bridges re option 3, the candidates who are currently in a job but have expressed an interest. To approach any of them now is effectively saying to them you were about 7th or 8th on the list but the first 6 or 7 either knocked Hearts back or got an interview ahead of you but we don't fancy them any more. It would be a bit of a kick in the teeth to now approach them as a fall back option.
With Budge's statement today, things seem to have moved on a little bit. Calibre of interviewees was very high and the decision to be announced next week so suggests it won't be the fall back option and will be either Daly, Hartley or Pressley.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/jon-daly-to-stay-in-charge-for-hearts-trip-to-motherwell-1-4539126
22-08-2017, 05:29 PM
They've probably burned their bridges re option 3, the candidates who are currently in a job but have expressed an interest. To approach any of them now is effectively saying to them you were about 7th or 8th on the list but the first 6 or 7 either knocked Hearts back or got an interview ahead of you but we don't fancy them any more. It would be a bit of a kick in the teeth to now approach them as a fall back option.
With Budge's statement today, things seem to have moved on a little bit. Calibre of interviewees was very high and the decision to be announced next week so suggests it won't be the fall back option and will be either Daly, Hartley or Pressley.
Or perhaps ... cost of acquiring a manager was an issue in the first pass but we've now decided to push the boat out to get the best man we can, and prepared to pay £££ ? Could spin it a few ways.
22-08-2017, 05:31 PM
Budgie has tweeted this, Daly gets a result on Saturday and it's his 😂
While this has been going on, Jon Daly, supported by the other members of the coaching staff, has stepped up to the mark brilliantly and filled the role of interim head coach admirably. Jon will continue to do so for the Motherwell game. An announcement will be made regarding a permanent appointment next week
I'm actually praying they win on Saturday😁