View Full Version : Stokes Loan
BlackSheep
19-07-2017, 11:26 AM
The length of time this is taking makes me think he isn't coming or rather that if he does it's because he didn't get a better offer during this "waiting period"
Hope I'm wrong on both counts clearly
There has been no official word on Stokes' contract being cancelled by Blackburn and there news stories saying so only surfaced last week.
While there has most likely been negotiations ongoing for a while with Hibs, he may have only seen interest from other parties in the past week... if there has been any interest at all.
Totally bemused at the comments questioning Stokes work rate. I must have been watching a different player last year- he worked his socks off from what I saw. Maybe tried too hard sometimes.
Shh... he's a lazy bassa and no club in their right mind would offer him a contract.
Fuzzywuzzy
Hibs hoping to know by the end of the week, according to the Evening News.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-hope-anthony-stokes-future-will-be-clear-by-end-of-week-1-4507428
Quietly confident about this.
Find it hilarious that some bam has waged some kind of comment section crusade in the een!!😂
Whoever it is is reporting comments on any story😂
19-07-2017, 11:27 AM
Interest in Stokes from anyone other than us is purely speculation right now... the article that did in fact speculate interest from others did not even name names.
Of course it's speculation but I don't think it's a stretch to suggest Hibs aren't the only club interested in an international footballer at the peak (age wise) of his career.
In theory Hibs interest is speculation as the club haven't stated he is a player we are pursuing!
19-07-2017, 11:37 AM
The length of time this is taking makes me think he isn't coming or rather that if he does it's because he didn't get a better offer during this "waiting period"
Hope I'm wrong on both counts clearly
Think length of time tell us we are close. As others have said with his recent record and baggage no more than £5k a week inn England. We go in at £3k and then the compromise on boith sides. He comes for less here because of Lennon, Hibs, Girllfriend snd the Harp. Mayve 3750 versus 4500.
Find it hilarious that some bam has waged some kind of comment section crusade in the een!!😂
Abject weirdos..
19-07-2017, 11:38 AM
Of course it's speculation but I don't think it's a stretch to suggest Hibs aren't the only club interested in an international footballer at the peak (age wise) of his career.
In theory Hibs interest is speculation as the club haven't stated he is a player we are pursuing!
I think several of Lennon's statements would contradict that.
My theory is that we are offering him a substantial signing on fee to compensate for lower wages. I reckon if we were not offering this then he would already be away somewhere else - just my thoughts and nowt to back it up (just like most comments on here).
19-07-2017, 11:39 AM
Step one has to be negotiating with Blackburn to end his contract. If he can get a decent pay off from them it could reduce his demands for the signing on fee from Hibs. I am not surprised that it is taking time.
BlackSheep
19-07-2017, 11:40 AM
Lennon has mentioned Stokes in his post match interviews recently.
19-07-2017, 11:49 AM
Lennon has mentioned Stokes in his post match interviews recently.
Apologies, must have missed that, not doubting our interest but I thought we never commented on transfers and couldn't see anything online.
BarneyHibby
19-07-2017, 12:14 PM
Totally bemused at the comments questioning Stokes work rate. I must have been watching a different player last year- he worked his socks off from what I saw. Maybe tried too hard sometimes.Totally agree with you.:agree:
19-07-2017, 12:26 PM
See yon Barry Anderson on twitter reckons Stokes would do well to find a better offer anywhere else than the one Hibs have put to him. Sounds a top offer.
Says he reckons Stokes will be a Hibby
19-07-2017, 12:31 PM
Don't know why but think stokes me be offered accommodation too as part of the package. Reading about Berry getting one of our flats as part of the deal makes me think that Stokes will be offered that too.
Not sure how many flats houses we own/ rent for players etc, but if anyone knows would be interested to find out.
19-07-2017, 12:34 PM
See yon Barry Anderson on twitter reckons Stokes would do well to find a better offer anywhere else than the one Hibs have put to him. Sounds a top offer.
Says he reckons Stokes will be a Hibby
How would he know the offer we've made is top notch? Pinch of salt with this one. He should just stick to reporting how a full strength Hearts side hammered Elgin City 0-1. :trumpet:
Tha Cabbage Kid
19-07-2017, 12:34 PM
Totally bemused at the comments questioning Stokes work rate. I must have been watching a different player last year- he worked his socks off from what I saw. Maybe tried too hard sometimes.
I agree. But I think cummings wasn't a great partner for stokesy, he would play better with a striker willing to work hard and make runs just like si Murray. Cummings was class purely coz he had an eagle eye for the goal. But not sure he would work as hard as Murray will.
Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk
19-07-2017, 12:35 PM
Don't know why but think stokes me be offered accommodation too as part of the package. Reading about Berry getting one of our flats as part of the deal makes me think that Stokes will be offered that too.
Not sure how many flats houses we own/ rent for players etc, but if anyone knows would be interested to find out.
Think they own a whole block down near Brunstane station.
19-07-2017, 12:42 PM
I'm desperate for him to sign but there is only so long things can go on for with the season having already started.
We have our first real test coming up on Friday at a ground we've struggled at historically. The league is of course important to us but to me the cups are huge for this club. Finishing second or third would be wonderful but I'd happily give that up for silverware.
Point being that seasons started imo and we are at least 2 players short up front.
We have won 3 of our last 4 trips there. The only defeat in that period being our last league game. Nothing to fear.
19-07-2017, 12:44 PM
Gotcha, know exactly where it is too as Stubbsy lived in one as I was informed by a neighbour I was taking home one night.
19-07-2017, 12:45 PM
I agree. But I think cummings wasn't a great partner for stokesy, he would play better with a striker willing to work hard and make runs just like si Murray. Cummings was class purely coz he had an eagle eye for the goal. But not sure he would work as hard as Murray will.
And why Stokes looked better with Keatings alongside him.
Stokes and Cummings offer very different things and for one reason or another it didn't work as a pairing but it certainly wasn't because Stokes didn't work hard enough or couldn't be bothered.
19-07-2017, 12:47 PM
Gotcha, know exactly where it is too as Stubbsy lived in one as I was informed by a neighbour I was taking home one night.
Yeah thats right. Loan players and trialists are put up there etc.
Tha Cabbage Kid
19-07-2017, 12:48 PM
Stokes and Cummings offer very different things and for one reason or another it didn't work as a pairing but it certainly wasn't because Stokes didn't work hard enough or couldn't be bothered.
If he is provided with the right opportunities, then stokesy will run riot! That I'm sure!
19-07-2017, 12:58 PM
If he is provided with the right opportunities, then stokesy will run riot! That I'm sure!
I felt Cummings tried too hard to be a good partner to stokes and wound up trying to be like him instead of concentrating on what he was good at.
portyhibernian
19-07-2017, 01:00 PM
Not sure if it's sill the case but they used to own a few of the flats in Hawkhill Close behind the East stand aswell.
Tha Cabbage Kid
19-07-2017, 01:01 PM
Not a bad player to learn from too. Hopefully stokes signs and gives young oli Shaw some guidance!!!
Salt N Sauzee
19-07-2017, 01:11 PM
Heard today the deal's been verbally agreed just a matter of putting pen to paper.
HibeeMackenzie
19-07-2017, 01:11 PM
Blackburn just announced the signing of a striker from Reading
19-07-2017, 01:14 PM
Heard today the deal's been verbally agreed just a matter of putting pen to paper.
Yaaas, only 4 weeks to go until it's confirmed!
19-07-2017, 01:23 PM
Anybody got a pen? Surely there's one in the club shop...
BegbieHSC
19-07-2017, 01:25 PM
I will run personally from Leith to East Mains if that's the case with a pen!!
19-07-2017, 01:26 PM
I think Murray and Stokes will be a very good partnership, if he signs of course.
Tha Cabbage Kid
19-07-2017, 01:45 PM
Wow really????? Can't wait. Confirmed tomorrow??? 5pm?
There was a chap in the West Stand car park just shouting into the reception area 'When's he signing...STOKES When's he signing?' And then something about getting his season ticket.
It was in jest but I sensed Leeann's blinds being peeped through :greengrin
19-07-2017, 03:22 PM
Stokes and Cummings offer very different things and for one reason or another it didn't work as a pairing but it certainly wasn't because Stokes didn't work hard enough or couldn't be bothered.Absolutely was bewildered at the time why Sir Alan Stubbs couldn't see this...they never hit it off at all as a partnership
19-07-2017, 03:32 PM
There was a chap in the West Stand car park just shouting into the reception area 'When's he signing...STOKES When's he signing?' And then something about getting his season ticket.
It was in jest but I sensed Leeann's blinds being peeped through :greengrin
I suspect the screaming radge in the car park is Rod Petrie and Leeann has locked him outside to ensure that she can get the Stokes signing over the line.
Salt N Sauzee
19-07-2017, 03:32 PM
Wow really????? Can't wait. Confirmed tomorrow??? 5pm?
That patter's a bit old now. Never was funny.
Just passing on what I was told or are we not allowed to do that on here anymore?
Yaaas, only 4 weeks to go until it's confirmed!
Ha but tomorrow 5pm [emoji41] it is then
19-07-2017, 03:58 PM
Just passing on what I was told or are we not allowed to do that on here anymore?
Thanks for the info, exciting stuff. I don't understand why so many Hibs fans seem to be raging at hearing rumours this window, it'd be ****ing boring without them.
19-07-2017, 04:04 PM
Totally agree. I actually thought Stubbs was going to go with Keatings and Stokes instead of Cummings for the cup final, especially since Keatings had also bagged a couple the week before at Falkirk.
Never quite clicked for some reason the Cummings and Stokes partnership, certainly not up to what was expected anyway.
19-07-2017, 04:12 PM
Totally agree. I actually thought Stubbs was going to go with Keatings and Stokes instead of Cummings for the cup final, especially since Keatings had also bagged a couple the week before at Falkirk. Never quite clicked for some reason the Cummings and Stokes partnership, certainly not up to what was expected anyway.
Equaliser and winner once Keatsy came on for Cummings 😁😁😁
Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner
BlackSheep
19-07-2017, 04:16 PM
I do wonder if Keatings regrets leaving now that Cummings has gone.... I think he would be a potential starter if he had stayed.
19-07-2017, 04:23 PM
No you didn't...ur guessing to make yourself look cool
19-07-2017, 04:34 PM
Equaliser and winner once Keatsy came on for Cummings [emoji16][emoji16][emoji16]
Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner
Cummings laid the opener on a plate for Stokes. Alright, Kiernan and Foderingham helped but still. [emoji23]
19-07-2017, 04:45 PM
Cummings laid the opener on a plate for Stokes. Alright, Kiernan and Foderingham helped but still. [emoji23]
"Laid the opener on a plate" haha alright then pal. It was a decent pass but stokes still had so much to do
19-07-2017, 05:08 PM
He gets free LA Lakers and LA Kings tickets too.
19-07-2017, 05:25 PM
"Laid the opener on a plate" haha alright then pal. It was a decent pass but stokes still had so much to do
Whooooooosh
beensaidbefore
19-07-2017, 05:28 PM
some ultimatum this. The longer it goes the less confident i am. Surely if he wanted to come he would have signed by now.
mcfly
19-07-2017, 05:50 PM
some ultimatum this. The longer it goes the less confident i am. Surely if he wanted to come he would have signed by now.
correct if he doesn't sign by Friday hibs move to other targets.
he isn't the only available striker.
Stokes is a great player and I really want him to sign but he can't hold us to ransom
19-07-2017, 06:08 PM
Folk started to doubt Whittaker. was signing and he did
Oneway or another we will know by the weekend Hibs must've reasonably confident given how public they have been about this one
But if he doesn't we move on
Folk started to doubt Whittaker. was signing and he did
Oneway or another we will know by the weekend Hibs must've reasonably confident given how public they have been about this one
Stokes is another level for me Ronnie and on his game is unplayable.
Good to see another signing though and another international.
As you've mentioned hopefully the best signing kept for last!!
Sent from my iPhone half jaked on Super Bock in Portugal! [emoji41]
Tha Cabbage Kid
19-07-2017, 06:40 PM
Dude I wasn't being sarcastic. I genuinely am delighted!! :) Was jus used the deadline thing as a bit of fun as I do in fact find it funny. Sorry if I upset you. Time of the month?
Salt N Sauzee
19-07-2017, 06:50 PM
Dude I wasn't being sarcastic. I genuinely am delighted!! :) Was jus used the deadline thing as a bit of fun as I do in fact find it funny. Sorry if I upset you. Time of the month?
Nae bother "dude". Takes a lot more than poor patter on Hibs.net to upset me mate :aok:
beensaidbefore
19-07-2017, 07:15 PM
correct if he doesn't sign by Friday hibs move to other targets.
he isn't the only available striker.
Stokes is a great player and I really want him to sign but he can't hold us to ransom
Exactly mate.
19-07-2017, 07:17 PM
As a great man once said " a verbal agreement isn't worth the paper it's written on":not worth:cb
beensaidbefore
19-07-2017, 07:18 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;5107201]Folk started to doubt Whittaker. was signing and he did
Hopefully sooner rather than later. Checking this thread every 2 mins is doing my nut in!😂
19-07-2017, 07:22 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;5107201]Folk started to doubt Whittaker. was signing and he did
Hopefully sooner rather than later. Checking this thread every 2 mins is doing my nut in![emoji23]Me too [emoji85][emoji85][emoji85]
BlackSheep
19-07-2017, 07:35 PM
[QUOTE=beensaidbefore;5107367]Me too [emoji85][emoji85][emoji85]
Me three 😂
alihibs1
19-07-2017, 08:25 PM
Really hope bug Davy isn't instead of Stokes.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
19-07-2017, 08:33 PM
He looks like an entirely different kind of striker to Stokes. We'll be after another one as well as Davy.
19-07-2017, 09:17 PM
I think I can say with almost 100% certainty that we haven't signed him instead of Stokes and I don't have any sources or contacts within the club.
That doesn't mean to say that Stokes will definitely sign right enough. I just think these two players are so different and Lennon won't have been eying them up for the same position.
Tug Wilson
19-07-2017, 09:30 PM
Last season we had Cummings, Holt, Keatings, Boyle and Graham as our forward options.
This season we are now potentially looking at Stokes, Big Matu, Simon Murray, Boyle and Graham plus bringing Olli Shaw through.
OK we are unlikely to replace Cummings' 20+ goals. Think Stokes the most likely to reach that sort of stat with Murray close behind.
Say they each give us 12-15 goals and Lithuanian Dave chip in with 5-10 then 30 to 40 goals from 3 players is pretty good.
I would hope that Boyle, Shaw, Swanson could provide 15 to 20 between them.
Throw in a few from the defenders like Hanlon, McGregor and SDG (maybe even SJM will get a few this season!) and we start to look at 55 to 70 goals in the season.
That is top 4 at the low end of that range and challenging for 2nd place if we can get near the 70 mark.
If our defence can be anywhere as good as it should be then we could be in for a decent year.
Personally I would like to see Stokes sign as I really think he is the sort of player who will frightening the opposition before they even get on the pitch. Remember that his last game in Scotland was ripping Sevco to bits. Everyone saw what he can do. That fear alone could be worth points.
19-07-2017, 10:35 PM
:hyper
19-07-2017, 10:41 PM
:hyper
Reported :greengrin
19-07-2017, 11:44 PM
Reported :greengrin
Nae need
19-07-2017, 11:49 PM
As a great man once said " a verbal agreement isn't worth the paper it's written on":not worth:cb
Sam Goldwyn :nerd:
20-07-2017, 01:22 AM
Nae need
20-07-2017, 04:13 AM
Chinese team interested
Greenworld
20-07-2017, 04:14 AM
I think I can say with almost 100% certainty that we haven't signed him instead of Stokes and I don't have any sources or contacts within the club.
That doesn't mean to say that Stokes will definitely sign right enough. I just think these two players are so different and Lennon won't have been eying them up for the same position.
So your really 50% certain
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
yonder1875
20-07-2017, 10:11 AM
Chinese team interested
Isn't their window closed?
BlackSheep
20-07-2017, 10:18 AM
Isn't their window closed?
Yup closed on 14th July
20-07-2017, 11:03 AM
Yup closed on 14th July
Even for free agents?
Big L
20-07-2017, 11:12 AM
The voices are tellin me its a done deal
He was out and about last nite in Edinburgh, told people he would b at EM today!
BlackSheep
20-07-2017, 11:20 AM
He was out and about last nite in Edinburgh, told people he would b at EM today!
The first part is accurate the second part about him being at East Mains is speculative, the OP who posted it has confirmed this.
The voices are tellin me its a done deal
That's Doris Stokes, mate!
20-07-2017, 02:51 PM
only 69 mins till 5pm :hyper
20-07-2017, 03:02 PM
Thats a different medium altogether Nae one has a crystal ball
Hibs said sorted by weekend So nae announcement today
1875er
20-07-2017, 03:06 PM
Take a bow sir!!:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth
20-07-2017, 03:51 PM
Press confurryance at 5pm...... majur anooncement tae be made eever tha day or tha morin
20-07-2017, 03:57 PM
Brilliant !:greengrin
20-07-2017, 04:06 PM
Had to google it before I chuckled but well played sir.:agree: