View Full Version : Question Exit Poll
09-06-2017, 03:22 AM
Curtis raises a good point that SNP support is swinging away from the traditional North East areas to the central belt.
09-06-2017, 03:22 AM
SNP 33 seats........ram yer 32 Exit poll guys :na na:
09-06-2017, 03:24 AM
Aw ****, it's Davidshun
Labour gain Plymouth from Tories.
Great speech from Salmond, mocking Tory toffs put in their place.
09-06-2017, 03:25 AM
South Thanet votes in a guy currently facing charges of election fraud. Ffs.
09-06-2017, 03:28 AM
I want my bed. Is Rudd's count going to be on soon? Love to see her punted.
09-06-2017, 03:32 AM
quite comical actually, labour voters were advised to vote SNP to get a Labour win in westminster, Dugdale asked labour voters to vote tory :hilarious
yi couldn't make it up eh :agree: two-faced git
09-06-2017, 03:37 AM
quite comical actually, labour voters were advised to vote SNP to get a Labour win in westminster, Dugdale asked labour voters to vote tory :hilarious
yi couldn't make it up eh :agree: two-faced git
Dugdale didn't ask Labour voters to vote Tory, it's a bit of mischievous spinning of what she actually said. It doesn't matter though, it looks like most Labour voters didn't vote tactically, they voted for Labour.
The SNPs losses to the Tories tonight are entirely due to their own failings.
This BBC interview is gold.
Bird in Broxtowe.
09-06-2017, 03:39 AM
This BBC interview is gold.
Bird in Broxtowe.
Anna Soubry, pro-European. Says May needs to resign.
09-06-2017, 03:39 AM
banff and f*chun tory :rolleyes:
flog the north of scotland to the norwegians
Slavers
09-06-2017, 03:41 AM
No they are very welcome here in the UK lol
High-On-Hibs
09-06-2017, 03:42 AM
No they are very welcome here in the UK lol
and North Britain
09-06-2017, 03:42 AM
That was another traditional Tory seat until Alex Salmond won it. Another one where SNP voters have returned to their former party of choice. Sturgeon has to put up her hands for the results up there.
09-06-2017, 03:43 AM
Dugdale didn't ask Labour voters to vote Tory, it's a bit of mischievous spinning of what she actually said. It doesn't matter though, it looks like most Labour voters didn't vote tactically, they voted for Labour.
The SNPs losses to the Tories tonight are entirely due to their own failings.
SCOTTISH Labour Party leader Kezia Dugdale faced a stinging backlash after encouraging people north of the border to vote Conservative to keep Nicola Sturgeon’s SNP out.Ms Dugdale told voters in the Borders, Highlands and other parts of Scotland that voting Tory was a better way to stop the Scottish National Party than voting for her own party’s candidates.
Anna Soubry, pro-European. Says May needs to resign.
She looked like she was losing it.
Labour take a Brighton seat from the tories. Yas!
She's off!
09-06-2017, 03:44 AM
If this was 2015 results SNP would be happy I'm guessing.
09-06-2017, 03:45 AM
That was another traditional Tory seat until Alex Salmond won it. Another one where SNP voters have returned to their former party of choice. Sturgeon has to put up her hands for the results up there.
agreed
09-06-2017, 03:47 AM
why do tory winners look like they need a right guid slap
09-06-2017, 03:47 AM
SCOTTISH Labour Party leader Kezia Dugdale faced a stinging backlash after encouraging people north of the border to vote Conservative to keep Nicola Sturgeon’s SNP out.Ms Dugdale told voters in the Borders, Highlands and other parts of Scotland that voting Tory was a better way to stop the Scottish National Party than voting for her own party’s candidates.
Read the article. She didn't tell anybody to vote Tory. As it turns out Labour voters didn't do that anyway.
The SNP are to blame for people voting Tory instead of for them, nobody else.
09-06-2017, 03:48 AM
ah well, a sneaky wee £40 in my wallet, only wish i managed to get it on for the brief spell corbyn was in front...damn you bet365
now GTF May, enjoy yer break
09-06-2017, 03:48 AM
I doubt they would be happy at losing their North East seats. But overall, yes.
09-06-2017, 03:50 AM
Read the article. She didn't tell anybody to vote Tory. As it turns out Labour voters didn't do that anyway.
The SNP are to blame for people voting Tory instead of for them, nobody else.
Dugdales to blame :agree: her and her waving her unionist flag........for a NON-Referendum vote
Because they've got that big ****ing glowing face that says I was born with a silver spoon.
I refer you back to their Cathroness.
Amber Rudd moment soon? :greengrin
High-On-Hibs
The "moderates" trying to sound delighted that the tories won't have a majority. :faf:
09-06-2017, 03:51 AM
She actually said that there were some Scottish seats in which the Tories were the strongest challengers to the incumbent SNP. It's hardly telling folk to vote for them.
09-06-2017, 03:52 AM
I doubt they would be happy at losing their North East seats. But overall, yes.
These results just confirm what we already know regarding the constitutional debate.
Chukka giving Jeremy Corbyn a glowing endorsement and talking about true Labour values. It's almost as if he's got the golden straw out.
Changed days.
09-06-2017, 03:54 AM
Rudd holds on by just a couple of hundred :rolleyes:
Amber Rudd just clings on.
She sounds angry.
09-06-2017, 03:56 AM
Chukka giving Jeremy Corbyn a glowing endorsement and talking about true Labour values. It's almost as if he's got the golden straw out.
Changed days.
One of the Blairite ***** who has done everything possible to destroy Corbyn. No shame at all. He was hoping for a Labour disaster so he could run for leader.
Rudd holds on by just a couple of hundred :rolleyes:
She'll improve the NHS though. Apparently.
09-06-2017, 03:57 AM
Argyle and Bute
SNP Hold well done the Argylians and Buteans
09-06-2017, 03:57 AM
Argyll & Bute SNP hold
09-06-2017, 04:03 AM
Oh Jezza so proud ! :greengrin :flag:
1 vote swings it in Fife north east.
WTF.
For who??
09-06-2017, 04:11 AM
Oh Jezza so proud ! :greengrin :flag:
He's proved the PLP and the media dead wrong.
09-06-2017, 04:11 AM
Great spinning but the fact is not a great night for the SNP but still won the most seats in Scotland
09-06-2017, 04:13 AM
1 vote swings it in Fife north east.
WTF.
For who??
SNP or LibDem
09-06-2017, 04:14 AM
Great spinning but the fact is not a great night for the SNP but still won the most seats in Scotland
And that was against tactical voting.
09-06-2017, 04:15 AM
3rd recount for north east fife, after the 2nd one just finished had one vote in it...in favour of the fence-sitters the lib dems, another hour of counting
09-06-2017, 04:20 AM
That's a coping mechanism imho.
How did you do your analysis? Wouldn't the lack of Green candidates have helped out?
As a layman, the SNP vote is down 14% whilst both the Tories and Labour are up. Doesn't smell like it was purely down to tactical voting.
09-06-2017, 04:23 AM
orkney and shetlands
that slimey durty lying sleekit piece of ***** carmichael wins, ***t
flog they ***** to the canadians(except for miriam brett and her voters)
"warmer values of liberals" yi haven't got any values ya *****bag
He's proved the PLP and the media dead wrong.
These people are embarrassingly evasive and need to have a think about why this election has gone so unexpectedly well for Labour.
09-06-2017, 04:38 AM
The real exit poll is looking pretty much spot on. Prof Curtice will be pretty pleased with himself today.
09-06-2017, 04:42 AM
The real exit poll is looking pretty much spot on. Prof Curtice will be pretty pleased with himself today.
And rightly so, when the results are all over the place and very unpredictable. Great work.
09-06-2017, 04:44 AM
Dumfries & Galloway Tory gain
09-06-2017, 04:49 AM
Delighted that Corbyn has done so well. Not going to hide a bad night for SNP, or the anger that we've let Tories in through the back door when guys like Kezia Dugdale and Ian Murray and other quarters of Scottish Labour were so quick to put the knife in.
I'll take that as a result though. With some similar policies, Labour success was always going to come with an SNP cost. It's a shame that some good MPs were lost though.
09-06-2017, 04:50 AM
Another election by the end of the year? Either option of government now is going to be chaotic, hamstrung and pretty ineffectual.
09-06-2017, 04:57 AM
Thirteen Scottish Tory MPs. A sorry sight.
09-06-2017, 05:08 AM
Safest seat I've seen is Liverpool Riverside, where Labour won 84.5% of the vote. Now that's a safe seat.
In fact in the four Liverpool seats, Labour won at least 79% of the vote in each!
Thirteen Scottish Tory MPs. A sorry sight.
Or it's more likely a well organised kickback against the 2014/2105 rise in Nationslism.
At the risk of repeating myself, if the wee fat Tory kick-boxer had been involved with the Scottish Labour Party I'm sure we'd be looking at a slightly different picture.
Political movements need momentum and personality...Labour in Scotland has had none of that and we're paying the price.
09-06-2017, 05:16 AM
From his starting point of being stabbed in the back by his backbench and the front by the media, Corbyn has done extremely well to deny the conservatives a majority. Although the DUP might take the shine off that a little.
As for Scotland, the result looks a lot more proportional this time round, which is fair. 56/59 seats for a party supported by c.49% wasn't representative. Although I'm disappointed for that comment to hold true given that the tories have so little positive to offer.
09-06-2017, 05:30 AM
North East Fife SNP hold by TWO votes from Lib Dems!
09-06-2017, 05:33 AM
Final tally in Scotland
SNP 35 (-21)
Conservative 13 (+12)
Labour 7 (+6)
Lib Dem 4 (+3)
09-06-2017, 05:33 AM
Is it really so hard to accept that the SNP themselves opened the door to the Tories? Look at the North East. Sturgeon blundered by writing off those members of her own party who actually supported Brexit and/or were sympathetic to Tory values.
09-06-2017, 05:39 AM
Tories looking good in Perth and Perthshire North
Tartan Tories reverting to type:wink:
09-06-2017, 06:08 AM
The analysis over the coming days is likely to be very interesting.
I'm not surprised at all to see the borders and parts of the NE and east coast vote Tory. I don't even think it's a stretch to suggest there was a straight switch from SNP to Tory. If you look at election results from 79, 83 and 87 a lot of these constituencies (or their historical equivalent) would have been blue. The SNP have been given a harsh lesson in just how hard it is going to be to keep the varied groups who make up their vote happy. For every voter they gain on the back of Brexit and the 2014 referendum it looks like their may be one of the 'anyone but Labour' ex Tories who made up a chunk of thr SNP vote for years ready to reconsider their position.
Scottish Labour have a decision to make. The SNP have again outperformed them on home ground in big chunks of the central belt. Corbyn has undoubtedly struck a chord with many but thr weakness of the leadership of the SLP has, imo, negated some of that. Another election is probably not too far off and a rethink on campaigning strategy would be a wise idea imo.
The Scotiish Tories would have been delighted this morning had it not been for the disaster in England. They may feel the toxicity of the brand has been removed in areas they performed well traditionally and may argue they have regained historically traditional voters.
I just hope there is some resttaint shown in the coming days. The UK is literally days away from the beginning of some of the most crucial negotiations in any of our lifetimes and it's important the Tories are challenged every step of the way in a united way for the common good. They can't be allowed to force a hard Brexit for ideological reasons. The SNP, Labour and Lib Dems have a very strong voice if they focus on what they have in common rather than what divides them.
09-06-2017, 06:14 AM
Absolutely delighted with the Scottish results.
In what way?
If you're a nasty bugger with a large portfolio then I'm sure you're already congratulating wee tubby Ruth personally :-)
09-06-2017, 06:24 AM
Great to see May humiliated but hard to see how anything but a dup backed Tory gov will emerge from this.
Disaster in Scotland, no other word for it. We are well and truly ****ed in Brexit Britain now.
09-06-2017, 06:39 AM
Great to see May humiliated but hard to see how anything but a dup backed Tory gov will emerge from this.
Disaster in Scotland, no other word for it. We are well and truly ****ed in Brexit Britain now.
I wonder if last nights results could be interpreted as the Tories 'SNP moment' from the last election? A defeated sizeable minority (Scottish leave voters to 2014 Yes voters) block voting as a way of having their voices heard?
09-06-2017, 06:43 AM
Bad day for the UK in general - the politicians on the one hand and the electorate on the other just seem to stumble from one ill-considered decision to another ... apparently, someone from May's team has "twitted" that she will not resign :crazy:
09-06-2017, 06:46 AM
Looking at the stats it certainly seems that about 70% of the lost SNP vote went to the tories and 30% to Labour
I'd hope in another election soon that people would see that the win is definitely on for Labour having started from having no chance, it's an amazing turnaround, I'd certainly lend them my vote for this one
09-06-2017, 06:47 AM
Just digested what's happened last night, gutted. Thirteen Tories wtf.
guthrie01
09-06-2017, 06:51 AM
Theresa May apparently staying on as PM after last nights results...
Clueless, selfish cow. Going to drag our country down with her, have to hope that it will only increase Corbyn's growing popularity.
09-06-2017, 06:54 AM
Theresa May apparently staying on as PM after last nights results...
Clueless, selfish cow. Going to drag our country down with her, have to hope that it will only increase Corbyn's growing popularity.
It's ridiculous. Calls an election to give her added authority, ends up with significantly less authority but won't do the decent thing.
We'll be back at the polls within a year.
TheReg!
09-06-2017, 07:14 AM
Me too mate 😊
09-06-2017, 07:37 AM
She leads the UK to disarray during its greatest ever peacetime crisis but Theresa May says she'll stay on. There surely can't be a single person in the country, let alone her party, that agrees with her?
09-06-2017, 07:38 AM
She leads the UK to disarray during its greatest ever peacetime crisis but Theresa May says she'll stay on. There surely can't be a single person in the country, let alone her party, that agrees with her?
I doubt she'll be there long.
09-06-2017, 07:51 AM
There must be a vote of no confidence fairly early on in the new parliament, surely?!
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
09-06-2017, 08:04 AM
It's ridiculous. Calls an election to give her added authority, ends up with significantly less authority but won't do the decent thing.
We'll be back at the polls within a year.
By the SNPs rationale, theresa may won the election 😁
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
09-06-2017, 08:07 AM
Me too mate 😊
I think having a spread of parties is a good thing- also, it shpuld scotch the myth that certain parties cannot win certain seats, and hopefully stop all parties from taking their seats for granted and being full of themselves.
Personally i like coalitions and minority govt, makes for more sensible govt imo so in that sense its a good result, regardless of which of the big two forms a govt (although i dont think lab can, numbers dont really add up)
09-06-2017, 08:15 AM
He'll be striding about that campus like a god...... with a bad haircut.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
09-06-2017, 09:00 AM
He'll be striding about that campus like a god...... with a bad haircut.
I think he goes into the barbers and asks for a 'mad professor'
09-06-2017, 09:04 AM
The tories and the DUP, what a thought:bitchy:
09-06-2017, 09:05 AM
All the politics students at Strathclyde will be adopting "the look".
09-06-2017, 09:11 AM
The tories and the DUP, what a thought:bitchy:
Looks like an informal coalition, probably a deal by deal basis and no hard brexit, probably the best result that could have been hoped for.
May hasn't got long as PM. No going back to polls now for quite a few years
09-06-2017, 09:17 AM
Looks like an informal coalition, probably a deal by deal basis and no hard brexit, probably the best result that could have been hoped for.
May hasn't got long as PM. No going back to polls now for quite a few years
The irony of it after the nonsense they levelled at Corbyn
09-06-2017, 09:25 AM
Going to be interesting to see who the next Tory leader once May goes. Bookies have Boris Johnson as 2/1 favourite. Not sure who I dislike more, May or Boris
09-06-2017, 09:25 AM
Instantly recognisable though!!
Especially from behind and slightly above (I was sat behind him at a Celtic Connections gig earlier this year)
09-06-2017, 09:38 AM
Nuttall resigns, every cloud and all that, Farage return on the cards I think
09-06-2017, 09:44 AM
Nuttall resigns, every cloud and all that, Farage return on the cards I think
UKIP a total basket case, but the vote proves they are no longer relevant
Slavers
09-06-2017, 09:51 AM
Going to be interesting to see who the next Tory leader once May goes. Bookies have Boris Johnson as 2/1 favourite. Not sure who I dislike more, May or Boris
I'd quite like to the fella Jacob Rees Mogg become leader. He seems intelligent and trust worthy.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
09-06-2017, 09:58 AM
I'd quite like to the fella Jacob Rees Mogg become leader. He seems intelligent and trust worthy.
😁
09-06-2017, 10:03 AM
He's like the victorian parents from the Viz
Slavers
09-06-2017, 10:09 AM
He's like the victorian parents from the Viz
So what? The guy ken's his stuff!
09-06-2017, 10:20 AM
So what? The guy ken's his stuff!
like being all for zero hours contracts, not hampering climate change policies as they get in the way of technology and being against same sex marriage
Apart from that he's alright
Slavers
09-06-2017, 10:25 AM
like being all for zero hours contracts, not hampering climate change policies as they get in the way of technology and being against same sex marriage
Apart from that he's alright
Well you can't please everyone. I have never heard him support zero hour contracts but i liked his views on brexit. Climate change is not a subject i know much about, there are lots of contradicting opinions and i thought same sex marriage was allowed in this country?
09-06-2017, 10:34 AM
Well you can't please everyone. I have never heard him support zero hour contracts but i liked his views on brexit. Climate change is not a subject i know much about, there are lots of contradicting opinions and i thought same sex marriage was allowed in this country?
Like Donald Trump vs the World? :greengrin
09-06-2017, 10:46 AM
This was the social media vote. I'd love to think that all the disgusting right wing papers are finished deciding elections and that policies will decide. Also it's the older generation who are propping up the tories and as the years go by the young vote will be hugely influential if they come out and vote. May will stay on as another leadership election would be a disaster for brexit. In many ways it's the perfect result where we have a lame duck pm and party who will be a shambles through tory back bench pressure. Jeremy corbyn must be thinking all his Xmass have arrived at once.
09-06-2017, 10:51 AM
I'd quite like to the fella Jacob Rees Mogg become leader. He seems intelligent and trust worthy.I was planning to stay away from here today. But you have got to be flipping joking! He's a nightmare.
Slavers
09-06-2017, 10:57 AM
I was planning to stay away from here today. But you have got to be flipping joking! He's a nightmare.
If he is good enough for Mhairi Black then he should be good enough for you? lol
09-06-2017, 11:09 AM
If there is a Tory/DUP coalition of sorts how is that going to square with calling Corbyn a 'terrorist sympathiser' given the DUP were actual terrorist sympathisers?
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
09-06-2017, 11:10 AM
If there is a Tory/DUP coalition of sorts how is that going to square with Corbyn calling a 'terrorist sympathiser' given the DUP were actual terrorist sympathisers?
The 'right' kind of terrorists...
09-06-2017, 11:17 AM
The 'right' kind of terrorists...
Terrorist sympathiser.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
09-06-2017, 11:24 AM
Terrorist sympathiser.
😁
09-06-2017, 11:32 AM
😁
It's ok though their British terrorists.
09-06-2017, 12:02 PM
If he is good enough for Mhairi Black then he should be good enough for you? lolHad to look that up. It's amusing, and worth quoting her:
I could sit and listen to him all day, I disagree with him 99.9 per cent of the time, and that wee percent is just because he’s got good manners. But I love listening to him, his knowledge is incredible, and he’s so polite
09-06-2017, 12:29 PM
If there is a Tory/DUP coalition of sorts how is that going to square with calling Corbyn a 'terrorist sympathiser' given the DUP were actual terrorist sympathisers?
Here's a picture taken last year of Arlene Foster and David "Dee" Stitt. Mr Stitt is the self proclaimed head of the UDA in North Down and is the chief executive of Charter NI, a community group which has been awarded significant amounts of public funds. Dodgy as ****
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
09-06-2017, 12:58 PM
It's ok though their British terrorists.
Ok, i thought you were joking.
09-06-2017, 01:12 PM
Will be interesting to see the daily mails take on that given their stance on jeremys so called Ira views. The situation gets more ludicrous by the hour. Alanis Morrisette will need to put another line in her song ironic,calling an election you didn't need to call then losing.
09-06-2017, 02:27 PM
SNP are having their 2nd most successful General Election result ever. Only 2nd time they've ever got above 11 seats
09-06-2017, 08:06 PM
Labour take Kensington confirmed. :greengrin
09-06-2017, 09:03 PM
Is it just me who thinks Arlene Foster looks like she's a cheap fag and a can of Tennents Super away from a lie detector episode of Jeremy Kyle?
09-06-2017, 09:05 PM
Is it just me who thinks Arlene Foster looks like she's a cheap fag and a can of Tennents Super away from a lie detector episode of Jeremy Kyle?
Big Arlene fae Belfast. Rangers tracksuit and UDA tattoo. She does have the sign of the Hun, certainly.
09-06-2017, 09:23 PM
Big Arlene fae Belfast. Rangers tracksuit and UDA tattoo. She does have the sign of the Hun, certainly.
I might be late to the party but I've just seen it described as a Hun parliament instead of a hung :faf::faf:
09-06-2017, 09:26 PM
I might be late to the party but I've just seen it described as a Hun parliament instead of a hung :faf::faf:
The Conservative Unionist Negotiation Team.
We use acronyms for everything nowadays of course.
09-06-2017, 09:26 PM
Freudian slip!
10-06-2017, 07:00 AM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2017/06/09/tories-to-make-deal-with-dup-after-satan-pulls-out/
10-06-2017, 10:27 AM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2017/06/09/tories-to-make-deal-with-dup-after-satan-pulls-out/
Stealing that.