View Full Version : Question Exit Poll

Pages : [1] 2 3

08-06-2017, 11:52 AM
Well, let's be having you!

Edit: Just to confirm, this is anonymised.

08-06-2017, 11:55 AM
Good start :greengrin

08-06-2017, 02:19 PM
I have a pretty sinking feeling today at the stomach churning prospect of all those celebrating Tories, in the UK in general and here in North Britain in particular. :sick:

08-06-2017, 02:57 PM
I have a pretty sinking feeling today at the stomach churning prospect of all those celebrating Tories, in the UK in general and here in North Britain in particular. :sick:

Me too. Hoping against hope we don't get a Tory landslide, but I fear the worst.

I'm lucky to have a Green candidate, so that's me voted.

High-On-Hibs
08-06-2017, 03:13 PM

My only hope is that they suffer to the same degree as the rest of us.

08-06-2017, 03:16 PM
I was going to go Labour but not if they had a chance of forming a government. Polls were a bit close towards the end so I went LibDem.

derekHFC
08-06-2017, 03:27 PM
I was swaying between SNP and spoiling my vote as I wasn't overly convinced by anyone.

I went for the latter for the first time in my life and voted none of the above.

08-06-2017, 03:33 PM
I was swaying between SNP and spoiling my vote as I wasn't overly convinced by anyone.

I went for the latter for the first time in my life and voted none of the above.

I've done that before. Quite often in Council elections.

08-06-2017, 03:38 PM

Interesting how we dont have a culture of abstention in this country. In the recent French election, 3 million people (8%) voted none of the above, and 1 million (3%) spoiled their paper. Its much better than not turning out IMO,as an active protest:agree:

08-06-2017, 03:42 PM
Spoiled my paper, for the first time in a long time.

(maybe that should be a category in the poll. We're doing pretty well so far :greengrin)

08-06-2017, 03:53 PM
In a constituency where the result seemed a certainty I'd probably have spoiled my ballot, but recent opinion polls and the local election results indicate it's now an SNP/Tory marginal.

08-06-2017, 03:59 PM
Voter Labour.

I was vocally critical of Corbyn and I'm still sceptical of his leadership qualities. However on his watch Labour have produced a manifesto that could be described as a genuine alternative and much of it speaks to me in a way Labour haven't for some years.

I don't believe Labour will win but for all my criticism of Corbyn I did always argue his legacy could be to put left wing politics back on the agenda. If he runs the Tories close today then he might just do that.

08-06-2017, 04:07 PM
Voter Labour.

I was vocally critical of Corbyn and I'm still sceptical of his leadership qualities. However on his watch Labour have produced a manifesto that could be described as a genuine alternative and much of it speaks to me in a way Labour haven't for some years.

I don't believe Labour will win but for all my criticism of Corbyn I did always argue his legacy could be to put left wing politics back on the agenda. If he runs the Tories close today then he might just do that.

I agree. For the first time in forty years there has been a challenge to the neoliberal orthodoxy. Corbyn was ridiculed when he stood for the Labour leadership, but it's been a grassroots demand for change. Whatever the result, Labour should heed the lesson; a return to the Blairite agenda would see all that enthusiasm dissipate. The Blair party of Tory lite destroyed Labour in Scotland, and it risks going the same way in the rest of the UK if it reverts to those policies. It has to offer hope against neoliberalism.

08-06-2017, 04:16 PM
South Manchester is red for me.

Hoping against hope we can somehow bounce the Tories out.

08-06-2017, 04:18 PM
Voter Labour.

A month ago I still thought I would never vote Labour again. A couple of weeks ago I was still certain to vote SNP as I have done in the last few elections.
I agree with everything you have said above. Today I voted Labour.

08-06-2017, 04:56 PM
Turnout is very high in Larkhall

https://ichef-1.bbci.co.uk/news/660/cpsprodpb/15779/production/_96392978_hi039935320.jpg

08-06-2017, 05:35 PM
SNP for me, I genuinely believe they stand up for scotlands interests more than the rest, I really like Corbyn and would have liked to have voted for him but I can't stand the Scottish labour contingent and don't want them thinking my vote was to stop another independence referendum, besides one general election and local election is not nearly enough penitence for taking us for granted for so long, they haven't learnt anything yet in my opinion

08-06-2017, 05:44 PM
SNP for me, I genuinely believe they stand up for scotlands interests more than the rest, I really like Corbyn and would have liked to have voted for him but I can't stand the Scottish labour contingent and don't want them thinking my vote was to stop another independence referendum, besides one general election and local election is not nearly enough penitence for taking us for granted for so long, they haven't learnt anything yet in my opinion

I'm fairly similar to you, I voted SNP, but considered labour, and I hope they pull off a miracle and win the GE. However, I couldn't bear the fact that if I'd voted for Labour it'd be used in Holyrood as a vote against an Independance ref.

I think they'll have lost quite a few potential votes for that reason..

08-06-2017, 05:54 PM
I'm fairly similar to you, I voted SNP, but considered labour, and I hope they pull off a miracle and win the GE. However, I couldn't bear the fact that if I'd voted for Labour it'd be used in Holyrood as a vote against an Independance ref.

I figured that the mandate is there for Indyref2 anyway, this election doesn't change that. It was a concern though.

08-06-2017, 05:57 PM

Same here

08-06-2017, 06:01 PM
I'm firmly in the SNP camp, but like you I would have considered voting Labour this time as I've liked what Corbyn has said and I agree with most of his parties manifesto. I couldn't vote Labour though as it would be taken as an anti SNP vote, which it clearly wouldn't have been. Scottish Labour would've been better saying very little in this campaign.

08-06-2017, 06:02 PM

I shared your reservations but the mandate for Indy Ref 2 already exists imo. Whatever the result today that doesn't change.

08-06-2017, 06:06 PM
I would like to think that Scottish Labour are taking note of the last few replies on this thread. There's a few Labour activists on here.

Slavers
08-06-2017, 06:07 PM
Im hoping the SNP get the bloody nose they deserve and loose more than 10 seats in Scotland.

yonder1875
08-06-2017, 06:11 PM
SNP are the only party worthy of my vote, however I would like to see Corbyn as PM.

08-06-2017, 06:12 PM
I shared your reservations but the mandate for Indy Ref 2 already exists imo. Whatever the result today that doesn't change.

I agree, but politically my vote would be used by Scottish Labour as a vote against it. Whether it makes a difference or not, I'm not happy for my vote to be taken that way.

Other than that, the only reservations I had with my vote, was that Toni Giugliano was a bit of a prat on Come Dine With Me! 😂

08-06-2017, 06:28 PM
I think Scottish labour will have picked up a few votes (mine) so the use of them as being anti-independence is a possibility as I think their vote share will increase.

However, I'd say that will be quickly disputed by the yes side as being for Labour/Corbyn as opposed to being against independence and won't hold much weight in an argument.

08-06-2017, 06:28 PM
Labour. I couldn't bring myself to vote for some of the parties and I like some of what Labour are saying.

In reality, I'd like an amalgamation of certain policies from just about every party.

08-06-2017, 06:32 PM
Im hoping the SNP get the bloody nose they deserve and loose more than 10 seats in Scotland.

Only one party that deserves a bloody nose and that is the Tories but unlikely. Many people IMO duped into thinking this is about a second referendum when it is anything but.

08-06-2017, 06:33 PM
If it wasn't for Scottish Labour and their awful rheteric it would have been a cross for Corbyn, as it is I went SNP.

It's going to be a Tory landslide which is a harrowing prospect for those of us in the classes that would patronisingly be described as "doing well" by the upper echelons of society.

08-06-2017, 06:44 PM
SDLP though it's pretty pointless in North Down as the current independent unionist mp tends to wipe the floor with everyone else and win with a huge majority. I expect the same will happen this time round. She has a good rep for representing her constituents which is a plus and she keeps the DUP candidate from winning which is even better IMO.

08-06-2017, 07:02 PM
I voted SNP.

I can't imagine I'll ever forgive Labour for standing alongside the Tories.

08-06-2017, 07:02 PM

The spite is beautiful

08-06-2017, 07:05 PM

I doubt it but I do live in hope.

08-06-2017, 07:05 PM
The spite is beautiful
It is and wonderfully predictable :greengrin

08-06-2017, 07:32 PM
People being turned away in a marginal seat.

http://www.independent.co.uk/News/uk/politics/election-2017-marginal-seats-voters-unable-vote-admin-errors-a7779981.html

08-06-2017, 07:40 PM
... for the first time in my life and voted none of the above.

Spoiled my paper, for the first time in a long time.
Sorry but I just don't understand the point of that. I never have. People say that it's making a point, by turning up and actively not voting, but it just seems a waste to me. Not getting at anyone, just don't get it.

08-06-2017, 07:43 PM
80 mins to the exit poll. This is going to determine whether I stay up late or hit the sack early. I've got a good feeling though that this is going to be close. The world is changing and Corbyn is more in tune to that change than May.

08-06-2017, 07:50 PM
80 mins to the exit poll. This is going to determine whether I stay up late or hit the sack early. I've got a good feeling though that this is going to be close. The world is changing and Corbyn is more in tune to that change than May.Hope you're right but fear you're wrong. I think we live in a bit of a political bubble up here. In England, Home Counties, across the Midlands, down to the West Coast, there are hordes of Tory voters who will not even have thought about Corbyn. Their focus is fixed on May, and on Brexit, and on stopping immigration.

We're doomed.

08-06-2017, 07:54 PM
Hope you're right but fear you're wrong. I think we live in a bit of a political bubble up here. In England, Home Counties, across the Midlands, down to the West Coast, there are hordes of Tory voters who will not even have thought about Corbyn. Their focus is fixed on May, and on Brexit, and on stopping immigration.

We're doomed.

God help us all if that happens. How could any self respecting Labour voter look at a scenario like that and not want out. I know plenty of them do, but I sincerely hope I'm not asking the question tomorrow morning.

08-06-2017, 08:18 PM
SNP every time. Please let it be that the Tories get a kicking, unlikely but there's hope.

08-06-2017, 08:19 PM
80 mins to the exit poll. This is going to determine whether I stay up late or hit the sack early. I've got a good feeling though that this is going to be close. The world is changing and Corbyn is more in tune to that change than May.

My plan is see what the exit poll headline is at 10 then take it from there. If it suggests hung parliament or a cut in the Tory majority then I'll stay up.

Anything that suggests the status quo or worse and it's a hot chocolate and bed.

08-06-2017, 08:24 PM
SNP for me every time at every election. But I do hope that Labour gain enough seats that in some way the Tories do not get to govern.

08-06-2017, 08:24 PM
My plan is see what the exit poll headline is at 10 then take it from there. If it suggests hung parliament or a cut in the Tory majority then I'll stay up.

Anything that suggests the status quo or worse and it's a hot chocolate and bed.

It's a bit like the build up to a big game. I just hope we don't go a goal down early doors.

08-06-2017, 08:25 PM

No way I'm staying up for it. Done it in the past (most depressingly in 1992) and you really don't get anything meaningful until 2am.

08-06-2017, 08:27 PM
I also don't understand the spoiling of papers. It's not really a protest it's just a waste of your own time to go to the polling station to do that. I believe that it should be mandatory to vote in every election as people have died for the right to have their voices heard in democratic elections.

blaikie
08-06-2017, 08:28 PM
not quite old enough to remember many GE's but are exit polls ever wrong?

08-06-2017, 08:28 PM
No way I'm staying up for it. Done it in the past (most depressingly in 1992) and you really don't get anything meaningful until 2am.

I know, but the tension builds and it's really exciting if it's close. From memory it's always Sunderland that declares first.

Green Man
08-06-2017, 08:34 PM
I'm hoping against hope that the bookies have got it wrong like they did with Brexit and Trump, but it would take them being massively wrong and I just can't see it.

08-06-2017, 08:45 PM
I like Corbyn and I hope he does well but I will never vote for Labour as long as they oppose independence. SNP every time until we have our independence.

08-06-2017, 08:49 PM
I'm reading things in the BBC news presenters that probably aren't there regarding this exit poll. I'm probably placing too much emphasis on it. :greengrin

08-06-2017, 08:53 PM
not quite old enough to remember many GE's but are exit polls ever wrong?

92 - I think most opinion polls had Labour a wee bit ahead. Exit poll said hung parliament with Tories a bit ahead. Actual result was a narrow Tory majority. They're usually v accurate though.

08-06-2017, 08:56 PM
A month ago I still thought I would never vote Labour again. A couple of weeks ago I was still certain to vote SNP as I have done in the last few elections.
I agree with everything you have said above. Today I voted Labour.

This bodes really badly ... (on straight policy choice of UK manifestos I'd have done the same).

08-06-2017, 08:56 PM
Well here we go 54321......

08-06-2017, 08:57 PM
I'm genuinely nervous

08-06-2017, 08:58 PM
Drum roll.....

Pulse up.

08-06-2017, 09:00 PM
Conservatives win by 48 seats.

08-06-2017, 09:00 PM
Game on

08-06-2017, 09:01 PM
Exit polls saying Tories will be the largest party but no overall majority

08-06-2017, 09:01 PM
Conservatives win by 48 seats.

That's not enough though

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
08-06-2017, 09:02 PM
That's not enough though

Oooh, this is interesting now!!

SNP projected as having 34 seats. Ouch!

Could be interesting.

'Progressive' alliance anyone?

08-06-2017, 09:03 PM
Exit poll says hung parliament. Yet another **** up election. If that's right we'll be doing this again shortly.

Saddle up everyone we've got a race on.

Exciting !

At this rate we'll be seeing a Bring Back Salmond campaign.

08-06-2017, 09:04 PM

That won't happen

I'm struggling to believe that poll is accurate. I can't see the SNP dropping below 45 seats.

If that's correct we will have another election in about six months. Total arrogance from the Tories to call this election in the first place.

08-06-2017, 09:05 PM
34 SNP argghhh, hope tae **** they haven't went to tories for the luv o god

I'm struggling to believe that poll is accurate. I can't see the SNP dropping below 45 seats.

Does seem the exit poll might not be as accurate for Scotland as the rest of the UK, seems to be many 50 50s in that projection.

Bad night for them if that is the case. I daresay it will be interpreted as otherwise though.

Red Tories jibe in 5 4 3...

08-06-2017, 09:06 PM
DUP and LibDems to prop up a minority government????

08-06-2017, 09:07 PM
The predicted SNP hammering looks interesting!

I wonder who will benefit from that.

08-06-2017, 09:07 PM
I'm going to predict that the SNP projection will increase by 10 at least, bringing that Tory number down. Who is going to go into coalition with the Tories?
Hope springs eternal

guthrie01
08-06-2017, 09:08 PM
I have a feeling the SNP will be higher and Tories lower, which could be very, very hopeful

08-06-2017, 09:08 PM
If the Tories have picked up big numbers in Scotland I'm glad I'm in France and can tune out, 24 hours a day of Ruth Davidson's gob across the TV as the media gets the batons out for a 6 month non stop thomas tank.

08-06-2017, 09:09 PM
If that's correct we will have another election in about six months. Total arrogance from the Tories to call this election in the first place.

May is dead in the water!

At The Edge
If the polls are right, May will be having meltdown.....happy days, shut those smug Tory so and so's up for a bit, although I'm sure they'll still put a spin on it saying it's their right to lead etc etc

I'm going to predict that the SNP projection will increase by 10 at least, bringing that Tory number down. Who is going to go into coalition with the Tories?
Hope springs eternal

Labour

08-06-2017, 09:10 PM

They won't. The poll is based on lots of 50/50 results. They won't all go against the snp. Hopefully they swing from the Tories to the snp. We could be seeing the last of the Tories tonight.

Daily Mail website is hilarious, 1 minute to 10 they had May "on course for victory" with a majority of 96, now her election gamble has backfired:greengrin

I think a number of natural Labour voters might have returned to the mothership. Could also mean that Ruth's referendum evasion tactic has paid off. Most likely a bit of both.

08-06-2017, 09:11 PM
I have a feeling the SNP will be higher and Tories lower, which could be very, very hopeful

Fingers crossed. SNP were always going to be on a hiding to nothing through. The historic number of last year was going to be very very tough to get close to

Labour

Ha ha you never know mate.

Although.......maybe going into Brexit it would be betternto have a parliament with proper balance rather than one party imposing their will.

Co-alition government of national crisis!

Hope springs eternal

Ulster unionists. On these numbers that would be just enough I think.

Hope springs eternal

I agree. The SNP will win over 40. What a dIsaster for May though, this could be one of the funniest election nights ever.

Although.......maybe going into Brexit it would be betternto have a parliament with proper balance rather than one party imposing their will.

Co-alition government of national crisis!

A government of national unity

08-06-2017, 09:12 PM
I have my doubts that the SNP will drop to 34 seats. I hope that does not mean Tories have taken seats of them

08-06-2017, 09:13 PM
oh May what have you done, strong and stable lol, silly auld bat

08-06-2017, 09:13 PM
I agree. The SNP will win over 40. What a dIsaster for May though, this could be one of the funniest election nights ever.

It could be. I've got the Stella out.

08-06-2017, 09:14 PM

Wouldn't be so sure. I'm simultaneously cheering and despondent! Just possibly Tories out but quite possibly no indyref2.

I have my doubts that the SNP will drop to 34 seats. I hope that does not mean Tories have taken seats of them

I hope not either. I hope you've read this thread mate.

40-42 seats for the SNP is my prediction.

08-06-2017, 09:15 PM
Sorry but I just don't understand the point of that. I never have. People say that it's making a point, by turning up and actively not voting, but it just seems a waste to me. Not getting at anyone, just don't get it.
If no-one impresses me sufficiently to allow them to represent me in Parliament, I reckon it would be hypocritical of me to vote for anyone. Staying at home and not doing that, though, would IMO disqualify me from complaining about anything political.

It's not a decision I took lightly. I very nearly crapped out this morning. But the particular circumstances of my constituency ultimately peed me off this time.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

A government of national unity

May will have to do deals to get things through. well, good!!

That exit poll, if correct, is very, very, very PLEASING :greengrin

Would be hilarious if Labour - SNP - Lib Dems have the numbers to make up a majority.

08-06-2017, 09:16 PM
If no-one impresses me sufficiently to allow them to represent me in Parliament, I reckon it would be hypocritical of me to vote for anyone. Staying at home and not doing that, though, would IMO disqualify me from complaining about anything political.

It's not a decision I took lightly. I very nearly crapped out this morning. But the particular circumstances of my constituency ultimately peed me off this time.

How did you spoil it? Score through it or write something witty? :)

Looks like you will be staying up!

May will have to do deals to get things through. well, good!!

I doubt she'll be involved

08-06-2017, 09:17 PM
Voted Labour as Ive done all my political life.

Would be conflicted if i lived in Scotland though.

I can't see SNP losing 22 sears, absolutely no chance.

hibs#1
Would be hilarious if Labour - SNP - Lib Dems have the numbers to make up a majority.

Would they work together though?

08-06-2017, 09:18 PM
Wouldn't be so sure. I'm simultaneously cheering and despondent! Just possibly Tories out but quite possibly no indyref2.

This is how I feel too.

Tories will do well in the borders and Perthshire imo. Rumoir they are going to take 1 in Aberdeen too.

Can see Labour maybe taking 3 or 4 in the central belt.

Aberdeen South looking tight between SNP and THEM

Slavers
08-06-2017, 09:20 PM

The fear is beautiful!

08-06-2017, 09:20 PM

I think it was the 2015 result which was exceptional. 34 seats out of 59 is still a comfortable majority, and one any prior SNP party would have been jubilant about.

08-06-2017, 09:21 PM
The fear is beautiful!

I don't agree with you politically, but I had a chuckle at that.

08-06-2017, 09:22 PM
BBC viewing for me i think, Jackie Bird :love ya!:

08-06-2017, 09:23 PM
It was unthinkable the Tories could actually lose their majority when the election was called. Fingers crossed the poll is right this time.

BBC viewing for me i think, Jackie Bird :love ya!:

I've decided to go with BBC news to get the national picture, but I'm switching back and forth.

The mandate for Indyref2 is there, this result shouldn't change things. I'll always celebrate Tories out though.

Looks like an all nighter for me. Glad I took tomorrow off :greengrin

Those damn pensioners stiffed you again :greengrin

08-06-2017, 09:24 PM

Oh I hope so.

High-On-Hibs
08-06-2017, 09:24 PM
Tory votes in Scotland could effectively stop a Labour/SNP coalition...... all to "save the union" and all that.

08-06-2017, 09:25 PM
How did you spoil it? Score through it or write something witty? :)
The former, with a terse message.

My son said I should have written "Hibs 2016" and hope that a Jambo was doing the counting. That would have been so childish though 😈

08-06-2017, 09:25 PM

08-06-2017, 09:26 PM
Stewart Hosie seemed quite downbeat there

08-06-2017, 09:26 PM
The former, with a terse message.

My son said I should have written "Hibs 2016" and hope that a Jambo was doing the counting. That would have been so childish though 😈

We should have got on this sooner, Leeann Dempster could have done well :faf:

08-06-2017, 09:27 PM

How on earth would they manage to work together in a functional government?

08-06-2017, 09:27 PM
Is 8/1 on a labour minority any value? 🤔

08-06-2017, 09:28 PM
Is 8/1 on a labour minority any value? 🤔

I would say no. The value bets are in a coalition involving labour

High-On-Hibs
08-06-2017, 09:28 PM
How on earth would they manage to work together in a functional government?

By holding one another to account. Better than a tory majority with the freedom to do whatever they like.

08-06-2017, 09:29 PM
Tories will do well in the borders and Perthshire imo. Rumoir they are going to take 1 in Aberdeen too.

Can see Labour maybe taking 3 or 4 in the central belt.

East Lothian, East Renfrewshire & Coatbridge could be good for Labour. But surely the SNP won't lose 22 seats but then again no one believed the exit poll in 2015 and it was spot on in Scotland

08-06-2017, 09:29 PM

Will you eat your kilt if it does (like Alistair Campbell last time).

08-06-2017, 09:30 PM
The smirking about the SNP looking to STILL have the most MPs and STILL the biggest share of the vote is a bit like clutching at straws. There was never going to be an improvement on2015 and it would have been absolutely astonishing to even have come close. 34 or higher is still way in excess of Tories, Labour or Lib dems.

High-On-Hibs
08-06-2017, 09:32 PM
The smirking about the SNP looking to STILL have the most MPs and STILL the biggest share of the vote is a bit like clutching at straws. There was never going to be an improvement on2015 and it would have been absolutely astonishing to even have come close. 34 or higher is still way in excess of Tories, Labour or Lib dems.

Indeed, but try telling that to the establishment who will push an outcome of 30-40 seats as an absolute defeat to independence.

Slavers
I don't agree with you politically, but I had a chuckle at that.

Hehe i couldn't resist that wee comeback!

That **** Fallon in the BBC studio, tripping over his coupon.

08-06-2017, 09:34 PM

Haha as I said I'm willing to be patient. if most of these seats are lost to labour then full credit to corbyn his positive campaign deserves plaudits even though Scottish Labour have bugger all in common, he even had me swithering for a bit.If it's the opposite and they are lost to tories I am lost for words, as said before though I can't see us losing 22 seats.

08-06-2017, 09:34 PM
Ironically it looks like England has let down the Tories this time with Scotland and Wales doing all they could for them.

08-06-2017, 09:39 PM
ladbrokes odds on May being replaced this year 4/5

08-06-2017, 09:41 PM
Pete Wishart looks to be out on his arse.

08-06-2017, 09:42 PM
Douglas Alexander is still a smug **** even after getting destroyed by a teenager last time out

High-On-Hibs
Pete Wishart looks to be out on his arse.

Looking at the statistics from the BBC, it's suggesting that most of that swing to tory is coming from SNP voters from 2015. I don't believe it for one moment.

By holding one another to account. Better than a tory majority with the freedom to do whatever they like.

Coalitions require a bit more than that. LDs won't join a coalition. We will be back here again within the year, I feel.

High-On-Hibs
08-06-2017, 09:44 PM
Coalitions require a bit more than that. LDs won't join a coalition. We will be back here again within the year, I feel.

Yes they will. The Liberal Democrats want a share of power. Although I wouldn't be surprised if they chose to jump into bed with the Conservatives again, despite all their lies on stopping Brexit.

08-06-2017, 09:46 PM
only 10 polling stations in scotland are part of the exit poll thingys, bet at least 8 were near orange order lodges :greengrin

08-06-2017, 09:47 PM
Looking at the statistics from the BBC, it's suggesting that most of that swing to tory is coming from SNP voters from 2015. I don't believe it for one moment.

I can believe it.

Post poll tax the SNP drew a decent amount of their support from the ex Tory heartlands in Scotland. Despite being against independence the SNP were cited by such people as a better option than the Labour of Foot, Kinnock et al. Maybe now independence has got a bit too close for comfort they have reverted to type.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
08-06-2017, 09:48 PM
Indeed, but try telling that to the establishment who will push an outcome of 30-40 seats as an absolute defeat to independence.

Behave.

If any party loses 30% - 40% of its seats, thats a bad result. To try and spin it otherwise is just nonsense.

I dount it will be that bad, by the way.

08-06-2017, 09:49 PM
Looking like Labour have made a bit ground back up on previous losses. I'm sick and tired of the Snp and the Tories. Voting should be once every four years or so not whenever the toys go out the pram.

08-06-2017, 09:49 PM
Unionist parties ganging up on the SNP in the BBC studio. "You only got 57% of the seats". In any other election that would me a slam dunk. Politicians. Self serving gits.

08-06-2017, 09:50 PM
Yes they will. The Liberal Democrats want a share of power. Although I wouldn't be surprised if they chose to jump into bed with the Conservatives again, despite all their lies on stopping Brexit.

Very clear message on BBC now they will not go into coalition with anyone, from the Lib Dem president.

08-06-2017, 09:50 PM
I can see it now. Sinn Fein make a grand return to Westminster and tip the votes in favour of a "Progressive Coalition"!

08-06-2017, 09:54 PM
For a party allegedly happy with the result a lot of bitterness on social media from the SNP supporters. I've just being called a 'unionist ****'. Lovely.

08-06-2017, 09:55 PM
I can see it now. Sinn Fein make a grand return to Westminster and tip the votes in favour of a "Progressive Coalition"!

Not a chance Sinn Fein would sit in Westminster. It will be the nutters of the DUP propping up a Tory government.

08-06-2017, 09:57 PM

If the SNP still have numbers in the mid-forties or more it will have been a good night. I can't see it being any less but if it is that is not good. Thr SNPs share of the vote wil possibly be the more significant figure though.

08-06-2017, 09:57 PM
Very clear message on BBC now they will not go into coalition with anyone, from the Lib Dem president.

Yeah and they won't go back on their manifesto edge on tuition fees either. Sad wee bunch who will do anything to have a bit of power. If they can get into power with some sort of a deal with the Tories on an other Brexit vote when the deal is done they will bite their hands off.

08-06-2017, 09:59 PM
For a party allegedly happy with the result a lot of bitterness on social media from the SNP supporters. I've just being called a 'unionist ****'. Lovely.

Other than on here I never discuss politics on social media, it's not worth the hassle

08-06-2017, 09:59 PM
Not a chance Sinn Fein would sit in Westminster. It will be the nutters of the DUP propping up a Tory government.

The DUP could be dealt a very good hand here, sends a shiver down my spine.

08-06-2017, 10:00 PM
Yeah and they won't go back on their manifesto edge on tuition fees either. Sad wee bunch who will do anything to have a bit of power. If they can get into power with some sort of a deal with the Tories on an other Brexit vote when the deal is done they will bite their hands off.

A Brexit vote I agree would be a game changer, be surprised if that happens though and the Tories give that away.

08-06-2017, 10:00 PM

It's why the only social media that I get involved in is on here. Total fannies on both sides who think that as they are anonymous they can say what the want to whoever they want ya Hibby ****!! :-)

08-06-2017, 10:01 PM
Other than on here I never discuss politics on social media, it's not worth the hassle
I just put a jokey thing of Facebook which was very much aimed at the Tories. They guy who said it is allegedly an old friend.

I'll give him the benefit of the doubt and say he might be bevvied.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

08-06-2017, 10:01 PM
sunderland has declared first in every GE since 1992 and are battling it out with newcastle

newcastle upon tyne has declared first this time

LibDem 1,812
Con 9,134
UKIP 1,482
Lab 24, +++

Lab hold

08-06-2017, 10:03 PM
I just put a jokey thing of Facebook which was very much aimed at the Tories. They guy who said it is allegedly an old friend.

I'll give him the benefit of the doubt and say he might be bevvied.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Just use situations like this to have a Facebook cull, be relentless, I've even deleted my mum before :faf:

08-06-2017, 10:04 PM
sunderland has declared first in every GE since 1992 and are battling it out with newcastle

newcastle upon tyne has declared first this time

LibDem 1,812
Con 9,134
UKIP 1,482
Lab 24, +++

Lab hold

10% vote increase for Labour. UKIP down 11%, shame.

08-06-2017, 10:06 PM
Good start to the night in England. Labour win and the fascists of ukip down 11%

08-06-2017, 10:08 PM
First results show swing to lab but not as big as exit poll. Gloom redescends on my sofa.

08-06-2017, 10:08 PM
10% vote increase for Labour. UKIP down 11%, shame.

worth pointing out newcastle upon tyne central is a university town, scrapping of tuition fees would appeal :greengrin

08-06-2017, 10:09 PM
Behave.

If any party loses 30% - 40% of its seats, thats a bad result. To try and spin it otherwise is just nonsense.

I dount it will be that bad, by the way.

Behave yourself! No party could maintain winning 95% of the seats for two elections running. It's clear that 2015 was an exceptional result. 34 seats would still be a great result. A clear majority.

I too doubt it will be that bad, by the way.

08-06-2017, 10:10 PM
Houghton & Sunderland south

Lab Hold

08-06-2017, 10:11 PM
Behave yourself! No party could maintain winning 95% of the seats for two elections running. It's clear that 2015 was an exceptional result. 34 seats would still be a great result. A clear majority.

Absolutely spot on :agree:

Its a rangers season ticket next mate :wink:

First results show swing to lab but not as big as exit poll. Gloom redescends on my sofa.

Aye, bit of a worry. Need to wait and see before we get a clearer picture.

Just use situations like this to have a Facebook cull, be relentless, I've even deleted my mum before :faf:

Ha! Made me laugh.

Mr Grieves
Angus Robertson is in big trouble, tight for Salmond and Mhairi Black according to that exit poll.

08-06-2017, 10:13 PM
Its a rangers season ticket next mate :wink:

Time to get the sash out and a seat on a Labour council.

If only it wasn't for that pesky Baptism.....:greengrin

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
08-06-2017, 10:14 PM
Aye, bit of a worry. Need to wait and see before we get a clearer picture.

I predict there will be lots of ups and downs in emotions as individual results either confound, agree or expand on the exit poll - its defo not boring!!

08-06-2017, 10:15 PM
Angus Robertson is in big trouble, tight for Salmond and Mhairi Black according to that exit poll.

I hope Mhairi Black retains her seat; she's been very good at Westminster.

08-06-2017, 10:20 PM

Why not, if people felt the same and were impressed with their parliamentary performance and the work they do in their constituency then why would they not vote the same as only a few years ago? So what's changed in your opinion, why does it look like the SNP will lose seats?

08-06-2017, 10:23 PM
I hope Mhairi Black retains her seat; she's been very good at Westminster.

Obviously her constituents feel otherwise, if she loses of course.

08-06-2017, 10:24 PM
bet365

Aberdeen south

con 8/15
SNP 11/8
Lab 40/1

Renfrewshire south

con 1/2
SNP 6/4
Lab 40/1

08-06-2017, 10:24 PM
Why not, if people felt the same and were impressed with their parliamentary performance and the work they do in their constituency then why would they not vote the same as only a few years ago? So what's changed in your opinion, why does it look like the SNP will lose seat?

I think and hope that the lost votes go to Labour rather than Tories. For me this has been due to Corbyn himself and the Labour manifesto. Unfortunately this still does not benefit Scotland as much as it will England.

08-06-2017, 10:25 PM
Why not, if people felt the same and were impressed with their parliamentary performance and the work they do in their constituency then why would they not vote the same as only a few years ago? So what's changed in your opinion, why does it look like the SNP will lose seats?

They will lose seats to a number of factors, being in control for 10 years, people wanting the tories out and voting labour and people who don't want another referendum voting Tory, between Scottish elections, general and local elections the Scottish electorate have proved themselves pretty canny in voting differently in different elections imo

08-06-2017, 10:25 PM
I think and hope that the lost votes go to Labour rather than Tories. For me this has been due to Corbyn himself and the Labour manifesto. Unfortunately this still does not benefit Scotland as much as it will England.

Why won't it benefit the average Scot as much as anybody else in the U.K.? :confused:

08-06-2017, 10:29 PM

Fair challenge. However I think we will see that people change their votes from election to election, for a wide variety of reasons. Even on this thread there's a host of people changing their votes, for different reasons. So I think it's unfair to ascribe a change in the number of seats won to a single reason, as you have done.

Further, as pointed out by others, let's see the share of the vote.

08-06-2017, 10:30 PM
Why won't it benefit the average Scot as much as anybody else in the U.K.? :confused:

Because as a branch of the UK party the default position for both Labour and Tory is to look after England where the mass of votes are rather than Scotland. Admittedly it is usually better for everyone IMO to have Labour rather than Tory in power

08-06-2017, 10:30 PM
Chap on SKY saying the SNP could have anywhere between 21 and (almost) 50 seats.

08-06-2017, 10:31 PM
Chap on SKY saying the SNP could have anywhere between 21 and (almost) 50 seats.

Well he's earned his corn with that prediction. :greengrin

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
08-06-2017, 10:33 PM

😁

08-06-2017, 10:34 PM

Ha Ha!

08-06-2017, 10:37 PM
bet365

Aberdeen south

con 8/15
SNP 11/8
Lab 40/1

Renfrewshire south

con 1/2
SNP 6/4
Lab 40/1

Bills still showing 1/2 for Conv majority...that was 1/6 earlier in the day tho...

08-06-2017, 10:37 PM

Salmond will hold comfortably as well as black. Robertson I think sadly is certain to lose his seat.

08-06-2017, 10:38 PM
Portillo moment. - rumours that Amber Rudd is out!

Pity for her as she was miles better than her boss!

Could be another enemy in the wings for May along with Osborne.

08-06-2017, 10:39 PM
Because as a branch of the UK party the default position for both Labour and Tory is to look after England where the mass of votes are rather than Scotland. Admittedly it is usually better for everyone IMO to have Labour rather than Tory in power

I take it you didn't bother reading the Labour manifesto then. :wink:

08-06-2017, 10:40 PM
Portillo moment. - rumours that Amber Rudd is out!

Pity for her as she was miles better than her boss!

Could be another enemy in the wings for May along with Osborne.

Amber Fudd. That would be superb.

08-06-2017, 10:41 PM
Salmond will hold comfortably as well as black. Robertson I think sadly is certain to lose his seat.

BBC saying Salmond on a shoogly peg...

08-06-2017, 10:42 PM

I can't see that one happening.

08-06-2017, 10:44 PM
Rudd losing her seat would be pleasing.

She's always struck me as a Tory from the Alan ******* school.

08-06-2017, 10:46 PM
Labour hold Sunderland Central.

5% increase, Tories up 10%, UKIP down 14%. Can see what's going on there.

08-06-2017, 10:48 PM
I take it you didn't bother reading the Labour manifesto then. :wink:

Nope, but if you tell me that there is something in there that means that Scotland will never again suffer to placate voters in England that would be a start. I doubt it though. Labours leader in Wales was saying that they would scrap the Barnet formula just last week. Barnet isn't perfect but scrapping it would be terrible for Scotland

08-06-2017, 10:48 PM

that's ok, we have a very good NHS in scotland, his leg will get fixed

08-06-2017, 10:49 PM
Postal votes were sent out weeks ago.

Labour only upped their game since then.

08-06-2017, 10:54 PM
Mundell confident all scottish south constituencies(3) will be tory for first time in 52 years

08-06-2017, 11:00 PM
The SNP don't believe they have lost 22 seats which unless their own canvassing has suffered a catastrophic failure suggests to me they will have lost nowhere near that amount.

08-06-2017, 11:01 PM
Labour hold Newcastle hold. Up 18%, Tories up 4%.

Tories hold Swindon North. Up 3%, Labour up 11%.

UKIP flop in both.

08-06-2017, 11:03 PM
Mhairi Black looks to be in a bit of trouble.

Salmond likely to just about be ok.

08-06-2017, 11:04 PM
Well one thing is clear (if it wasn't before) is that UKIP are finished...good riddance and may it be a long time until we see yer likes again [emoji12]

08-06-2017, 11:04 PM
Rudd losing her seat would be pleasing.

She's always struck me as a Tory from the Alan ******* school.

She's very haughty.

08-06-2017, 11:05 PM
Well one thing is clear (if it wasn't before) is that UKIP are finished...good riddance and may it be a long time until we see yer likes again [emoji12]

Aye, but at a huge cost. Their job is done with Brexit.

The only problem with that is it seems to be strengthening the Tory vote in constituencies declared so far.

Anyone watching channel 4 coverage?

08-06-2017, 11:10 PM

Aye according to one of Laura kuenssburgs "sources" libdems came 2nd in Gordon in 2015

08-06-2017, 11:10 PM
Emily Thornberry is reeking :faf:

08-06-2017, 11:13 PM
Emily Thornberry is reeking :faf:

She's on her second bottle of wine. The exit poll must have led to a celebration; she's ruined :greengrin

08-06-2017, 11:17 PM
Anyone know where I can get odds on Amber Rudd to win Strictly Come Dancing this year?

08-06-2017, 11:21 PM
Tories looking good in Perth and Perthshire North and Moray.

Tartan Tories reverting to type:wink:

Mr Grieves
08-06-2017, 11:21 PM
Labour thinking they may have won up to 6 seats in Scotland. Lib dems confident too

08-06-2017, 11:26 PM
Tories looking good in Perth and Perthshire North and Moray.

Tartan Tories reverting to type:wink:

08-06-2017, 11:29 PM
http://i.imgur.com/P0WSwfM.png :faf:

08-06-2017, 11:29 PM
This is pretty grim up here, but the main event is down south.

08-06-2017, 11:31 PM
I know Iain Gray is a Hibs man and he may well be a nice guy but he really is bloody boring to listen to when he gets going.

Labour increasingly confident of taking seats in Scotland.

08-06-2017, 11:33 PM
I know Iain Gray is a Hibs man and he may well be a nice guy but he really is bloody boring to listen to when he gets going.

His problem is that he never gets going. He's still droning on as I type zzzzzzzzzzz

08-06-2017, 11:33 PM

It's the kind of voice that now matter how interesting whatever they are saying is you just switch off

08-06-2017, 11:35 PM
Bills now 6/4 for Tory majority...

Anyway time for bed for me! Sure the fall out no matter how it falls will be a hoot.

08-06-2017, 11:38 PM
All the likely reduced majorities in Scotland should set things up nicely for when we are voting again sometime in the next 6-18 months.

08-06-2017, 11:45 PM
c'mon tae gies at least some good SNP news :grr: going to end up with 2 seats or sommit the way this is going :confused: if ANY :eek:

Mr Grieves
08-06-2017, 11:48 PM
c'mon tae gies at least some good SNP news :grr: going to end up with 2 seats or sommit the way this is going :confused: if ANY :eek:

Looking good in Edinburgh North and Leith,and Edinburgh East, according to STV reporter on twitter.

08-06-2017, 11:49 PM
Labour looking like they're taking Kensington and Chelsea...this is unreal.

08-06-2017, 11:50 PM
Labour looking like they're taking Kensington and Chelsea...this is unreal.

Never! That would be bonkers.

08-06-2017, 11:51 PM
prime minister afterwards

May 4/5 (from 8/13)
corbyn 7/2

Boris johnson 9/2 :confused: just imagine :rolleyes:

08-06-2017, 11:53 PM
Latest forecasts for Scotland

Edinburgh North & Leith - 81% chance of Labour victory
Edinburgh West - 99% chance of Lib Dem Victory
Caithness etc - 99% chance of Lib Dem Victory
Aberdeenshire West & Kincardine - 99% Tory victory
Alan & Deeside - 97% Tory victory
Angus -90% of Tory victory
Berwick, Roxburgh & Selkirk - 90% of Tory victory

08-06-2017, 11:54 PM
Labour hold major tory target of Darlington.

08-06-2017, 11:54 PM
Bookies saying another general election this year. Just what we need!

08-06-2017, 11:55 PM
UKIP down in every result so far, looks like they are all going back to the tories

08-06-2017, 11:56 PM

It's almost a certainty imo.

Mays position is untenable unless she somehow scrapes a majority, even then she is 1 or 2 unpopular decisions away from a rebellion.

Hibs not losing to Hearts and general elections every 5 minutes. It's like I'm finally getting to experience the 70s.

09-06-2017, 12:00 AM
I was so close to voting Labour. Alas no, their intransigent stance on even considering a referendum smacked of Unionist arrogance.

The Scots will be back in their box tomorrow ... maybe.

09-06-2017, 12:00 AM

Can't as we have a fixed term parliament law which would need to be overturned which is unlikely

09-06-2017, 12:01 AM
Douglas Alexander is a rat. I've no time for opportunists like him.

09-06-2017, 12:02 AM
Can't as we have a fixed term parliament law which would need to be overturned which is unlikely

Means nothing, by that reckoning we could never have had tonight as election before tonight was only in 2015.

09-06-2017, 12:02 AM
I was so close to voting Labour. Alas no, their intransigent stance on even considering a referendum smacked of Unionist arrogance.

The Scots will be back in their box tomorrow ... maybe.

I would say that the majority of labours likely success up here is more down to Corbyn than anything that the Labour Party up here have done, they will never admit that and that it's a clear message about another referendum blah blah blah

09-06-2017, 12:03 AM

If it's a hung parliament I don't think getting the 2/3rd of the house vote to trigger an election will be too difficult. It's not a position that really suits anyone.

09-06-2017, 12:03 AM
Never! That would be bonkers.

And potentially Canterbury!!

09-06-2017, 12:04 AM
Douglas Alexander is a rat. I've no time for opportunists like him.
Still couldn't bring himself to endorse Corby . Slimy little ****er

09-06-2017, 12:04 AM
Pretty amazing so far. Hope it hangs on this way. I've got a tenner on hung parliament at 15-1.

09-06-2017, 12:05 AM
Latest forecasts for Scotland

Edinburgh North & Leith - 81% chance of Labour victory
Edinburgh West - 99% chance of Lib Dem Victory
Caithness etc - 99% chance of Lib Dem Victory
Aberdeenshire West & Kincardine - 99% Tory victory
Alan & Deeside - 97% Tory victory
Angus -90% of Tory victory
Berwick, Roxburgh & Selkirk - 90% of Tory victory

Not a bad thing at all.

09-06-2017, 12:08 AM
I like Henry McLeish it's a shame that he's no longer in the game(I know there was a financial scandal), he always seems pretty fair and tells it like it is

09-06-2017, 12:11 AM
BBC saying Labour has taken Rutherglen and East Lothian.

09-06-2017, 12:13 AM
Labour gain Rutherglen.

Big result there.

09-06-2017, 12:14 AM
Great to see the Tory candidate so happy to see Labour winning. Makes me sick to my stomach, reminds me about the old pals act of the referendum

09-06-2017, 12:15 AM
Looking good in Edinburgh North and Leith,and Edinburgh East, according to STV reporter on twitter.

that'll be two...and possibly the only two :(

09-06-2017, 12:17 AM
This is quite genuinely the most interesting election I can remember in my lifetime. Booked a holiday day for tomorrow, bottle of wine and a few beers down, can't see going to bed before 5-6am at this rate :greengrin

09-06-2017, 12:19 AM
Mundell has to be a Jambo, everything he gives off is just them all over

09-06-2017, 12:20 AM
Great to see the Tory candidate so happy to see Labour winning. Makes me sick to my stomach, reminds me about the old pals act of the referendum

The Tory candidate was delighted because their own vote was so strong. A bad result for the SNP.

09-06-2017, 12:20 AM
up in Moray, the tory ross pile looks quite a bit larger than Angus Robertsons pile :(