View Full Version : Simon Murray

Pages : 1 2 [3]

29-05-2017, 03:33 PM
Maybe because it was in the Championship and the Premier League is a step up?

So were Jason's?

The Leith Dutch
29-05-2017, 03:34 PM
Cannae beat a good old fashioned Hibs.net "welcome to Hibs" thread.

Seems a more than decent lad and prospect. Can we not just give the boy our full support.

I agree on the posts when you have posts like "He's utter gash" but it's surely reasonable to question his abilities and whether we think he's a good signing no?

I think a lot of the questions stem from the fact that there were 5 players scored more goals than him in the Championship (including one from his own team) and he didn't have either a particularly high number of shots or conversion rate - most of the players above him either hit more shots with the same conversion rate or had a higher conversion rate. That said he also managed 7 from 22 in the league above which is decent.

But the main reason I think the reaction is so underwhelmed is that people are - rightly or wrongly - expecting a marquee signing at striker.
Had we signed Stokes already for example I think the reaction to SM may have been a lot more positive.

My general feeling is that we need to have someone in up front who we think is a very solid bet for 15+ goals if we want to hit our targets.
I'd be (pleasantly) surprised if SM hits that and he will have my wholehearted support everytime he pulls on a Hibs top.

JDHibs
I'd have preferred Boyce or Moult but a good addition and a player who will improve with better players alongside him and Lennon as his manager.

We wouldnt have paid the fees involved. Big risk in buying (as in cash buys) players i.e Collins hence why not alot of clubs do it up here.

Murray is a low risk option, Lennon thinks he can mould him into a better all round player. Hes got the pace/strength/stamina, just needs to work on a few things. Plus, Murray is coming in as a squad player, not a starter. We will sign another striker to partner Cummings and have Graham, Murray & shaw on the bench.

im not that old to have seen Duncan mate :greengrin

Pity, you missed someone rather special to watch.:agree:

29-05-2017, 03:40 PM
We wouldnt have paid the fees involved. Big risk in buying (as in cash buys) players i.e Collins hence why not alot of clubs do it up here.

Murray is a low risk option, Lennon thinks he can mould him into a better all round player. Hes got the pace/strength/stamina, just needs to work on a few things. Plus, Murray is coming in as a squad player, not a starter. We will sign another striker to partner Cummings and have Graham, Murray & shaw on the bench.

I'll be shocked if Graham is still here. St Johnstone bound is he not? We still need another striker imo.

29-05-2017, 03:41 PM
Is Graham still at Easter Road?

Even if not, 2 strikers out so far and only one back in. Surely there's at least another one lined up.

JDHibs
29-05-2017, 03:42 PM
I'll be shocked if Graham is still here. St Johnstone bound is he not? We still need another striker imo.

heard that rumour a few weeks back but nothing has came of it as far as im aware, so kind of ignoring it at the moment.

We will get someone else is as i said to partner Cummings up top. No idea who. Would still expect 2 or 3 to come in on top of Swanson and Murray.

29-05-2017, 03:45 PM
As I've mentioned previously I've not been impressed by what I've seen of Murray so far.
But he's starting with a clean slate in my book and hopefully he goes on to score a barrowload of goals in a Hibs jersey.

29-05-2017, 03:46 PM
What about Oli Shaw?

29-05-2017, 03:50 PM
Didn't realise he is Gary Murray's son.

JDHibs
29-05-2017, 03:52 PM
What about Oli Shaw?

Lennon said a few months back that he wont be going back out on loan. Will be doing the same as Crane/Martin this season and waiting on his chance in the first team. Same with Porteous.

29-05-2017, 03:54 PM
Aberdeen
2015/16 turnover £13m average gate 13k (£1000 per fan)
Hibs
2015/16 turnover £7m on 9200 (£760 per fan)
Hearts
2015/16 £9.9m on gates of £16k (£618 per fan)

We were in the championship so less tv money etc but we had maximum cup runs that year which explains the high spend per fan.
Aberdeen though manage to get a lot of money out of each fan.

Aberdeen would have banked around £2m for finishing second in the league. Also made it through the first few qualifying rounds in Europe which would've earned more prize money.

It does still appear high given their average gates though.

I don't see either Hearts or Aberdeen having a big financial advantage over us in the years to come though. With Dempster in charge I've every faith that we will punch our weight and get value, something we struggled with for Petrie's last 4-5 years

29-05-2017, 03:54 PM
I don't want to question the guys proffesionalism but another theory might be he knew he was signing for Hibs before the playoff final. May explain why he wasn't entirely at the races. Looked very dangerous against Falkirk and scored a good goal.

29-05-2017, 03:57 PM
Still reckon we will sign another striker even if Jase is here or not.

29-05-2017, 03:59 PM
Still reckon we will sign another striker even if Jase is here or not.

Lennon has basically said as much. Keatings and Holt have gone out. Graham is likely to be away, so another 1 or 2 strike options still to come in. Hence why I have no issue with Murray. To me he's a better option than Keatings or Graham

29-05-2017, 04:02 PM
Aberdeen would have banked around £2m for finishing second in the league. Also made it through the first few qualifying rounds in Europe which would've earned more prize money.

It does still appear high given their average gates though.

I don't see either Hearts or Aberdeen having a big financial advantage over us in the years to come though. With Dempster in charge I've every faith that we will punch our weight and get value, something we struggled with for Petrie's last 4-5 years

It's odd, Mcinnes interview post cup final states that their salary spend (entire squad) is £42000 per week.

That's just north of £2.1million a year.

I appreciate salaries are not turnover, but always thought player salaries were a huge (50%+) of most teams turnover.

Seems very odd??

29-05-2017, 04:02 PM
I don't want to question the guys proffesionalism but another theory might be he knew he was signing for Hibs before the playoff final. May explain why he wasn't entirely at the races. Looked very dangerous against Falkirk and scored a good goal.

The whole team weren't at the races. The play-offs are just a tough schedule. Nothing to do with professionalism.

29-05-2017, 04:03 PM
The whole team weren't at the races. The play-offs are just a tough schedule. Nothing to do with professionalism.
True

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

29-05-2017, 04:09 PM
What about Oli Shaw?

Lennon has said he wanted him last season but he was on loan, he also said he would be part of the main squad this season.

29-05-2017, 04:15 PM
It's odd, Mcinnes interview post cup final states that their salary spend (entire squad) is £42000 per week.

I appreciate salaries are not turnover, but always thought player salaries were a huge (50%+) of most teams turnover.

Seems very odd??

Yeah I can't imagine that is accurate. I would expect player costs to be at least 50% of turnover and probably closer to 65%+ when full playing and coaching staff factored in

GreenOnions
29-05-2017, 04:18 PM

Seems very odd??

Indeed. I think McInnes was maybe talking about the basic wage/salary bill. The figure usually mentioned in relation to turnover is all staff costs which will include staff other than players plus all bonuses and pension contributions. It may also include employer NICs.

29-05-2017, 04:27 PM
We need another striker whom walks into this team. We need 2 players capable of goals this season. SM IMO would start on bench. Stokes would be good but in any case we need strikers.

29-05-2017, 04:32 PM
I went along to the United's 3 home play-off games and paid particular attention to how this lad played. Here is my opinion of what I saw -

He is fast....very fast. Someone who could get on to the end of something if Boyle hit the bye-line (would be interesting to see who is faster).
He is strong and isn't easily pushed off the ball.
He works his socks off and has a fantastic work ethic and will run and chase all day.
He makes things happen and gets to balls that he has no right to get to, in the same way as Boyle does.
He can win balls in the air.

On the down side, he can be selfish in front of goal, but then again so can most strikers.

He has done well to score the number of goals he has this season as he has been part of a very poor United team.

Assuming he has / does signed he will be a good addition to our squad. The fans will love his work rate in the same we they do with Boyle. They will probably dislike his selfishness in front of goal however that can be coached out of you (remember that at United he hasn't had a great deal of support).

Good post

29-05-2017, 04:32 PM
Murray in Graham out, absolutely. Need to replace Keatings and Holt though.

Sioux
29-05-2017, 04:33 PM
Yeah I can't imagine that is accurate. I would expect player costs to be at least 50% of turnover and probably closer to 65%+ when full playing and coaching staff factored in

Included in the 2016 accounts was income from Commercial activity of 4.6m, of which 2m or so was from club shop, broadcasting rights were 2.3m, gate receipts 4m. Staff costs were 6.8m, so just over 50% of TO.

I know it wasn't you, but I have no idea what the earlier reference to 'spend per fan' was all about. If they had four cats about the place the average spend per cat would be 3.35m :greengrin

29-05-2017, 04:35 PM
Good luck and i'm glad we've got him. I think its still a bit of a mistake showing a photo with our top on a day after his former team lost that playoff.No ones perfect i guess.

29-05-2017, 04:36 PM
Good luck and i'm glad we've got him. I think its still a bit of a mistake showing a photo with our top on a day after his former team lost that playoff.No ones perfect i guess.

Yeah I shared it with my Utd supporting mate and he wasn't very pleased with that aspect.

29-05-2017, 04:37 PM
I went along to the United's 3 home play-off games and paid particular attention to how this lad played. Here is my opinion of what I saw -

He is fast....very fast. Someone who could get on to the end of something if Boyle hit the bye-line (would be interesting to see who is faster).
He works his socks off and has a fantastic work ethic and will run and chase all day.
He makes things happen and gets to balls that he has no right to get to, in the same way as Boyle does.

On the down side, he can be selfish in front of goal, but then again so can most strikers.

He has done well to score the number of goals he has this season as he has been part of a very poor United team.

Assuming he has / does signed he will be a good addition to our squad. The fans will love his work rate in the same we they do with Boyle. They will probably dislike his selfishness in front of goal however that can be coached out of you (remember that at United he hasn't had a great deal of support).

If thats what you have seen of the player then it is better than what I have but I was not paying him as much attention. Your assement though does sound good and hopefully it works out.

29-05-2017, 04:44 PM

Good positive well structured & informative post, plus you have taken the time to watch him in the flesh & I would guess the majority of the, he is gash crowd, have only watch him on TV.:top marks

29-05-2017, 04:53 PM
Happy with this signing, any time I've seen him playing for united I've liked the look of him. Probably not the most technically gifted but he is strong and fast, qualities we sorely need in the team to compete in the premiership.

29-05-2017, 04:59 PM
im not that old to have seen Duncan mate :greengrin

A lot of defenders that he was up against didn't see him either. He was that fast.

29-05-2017, 05:18 PM

Aberdeens wage bill for 2015-2016 was £6.817m out of a turnover of £13.414m, so just short of 51%.

Aberdeen have always done much better than us (and Hearts) commercially whether thats down to a single city team or whatever, but it's consistently been thus. Aberdeens gate money represents just under 30% of their turnover.

SON OF PADDY
29-05-2017, 05:26 PM
Welcome to the Hibernian Family Simon !
Looking forward to you proving a lot of people wrong.

29-05-2017, 05:30 PM
Aberdeens wage bill for 2015-2016 was £6.817m out of a turnover of £13.414m, so just short of 51%.

Aberdeen have always done much better than us (and Hearts) commercially whether thats down to a single city team or whatever, but it's consistently been thus. Aberdeens gate money represents just under 30% of their turnover.

That's the challenge for our board - to find more money for the club that doesn't come from fans.

Aberdeen clearly do that very well, Hearts not so much :wink:

29-05-2017, 05:33 PM

Good post. Thank you. You've watched him and paid attention to him and the way he plays and this is much more positive than I've heard previously. I assume that this is what NL has seen in him.

I notice he's been compared to Arthur D when he came to ER to replace Eric Stevenson. He was a completely different type of player and a lot of us wondered if he was really the sort of player we needed at ER. Well, he was, and how.

Welcome to ER Simon. Gonnae make us proud! :flag:

29-05-2017, 05:34 PM

i have no issues with a striker being selfish if he can finish enough of his chances :greengrin

29-05-2017, 05:43 PM
Included in the 2016 accounts was income from Commercial activity of 4.6m, of which 2m or so was from club shop, broadcasting rights were 2.3m, gate receipts 4m. Staff costs were 6.8m, so just over 50% of TO.

I know it wasn't you, but I have no idea what the earlier reference to 'spend per fan' was all about. If they had four cats about the place the average spend per cat would be 3.35m :greengrin

That is an amazing amount of income from "commercial" particularly £2m from club shop.

29-05-2017, 05:46 PM

Hibs turnover for the same season was £7m.

That puts how we have run the club into perspective. The sheep have invested heavilly and seen finishing second and two losing finals as a reward. We have reinstated ourselves in the top flight after a historic all time low in terms of our failure to escape the second tier, win one final and lose another.

I would say we have the nucleus of a very good squad, and a strong 1st eleven. This summers additions should make this period a very good one in our history. It would seem Hibs have managed all of this fairly cheaply. If we build on our momentum, invest wisely in the team then we should be going from strength to strength.

I

29-05-2017, 05:53 PM
Aberdeen
2015/16 turnover £13m average gate 13k (£1000 per fan)
Hibs
2015/16 turnover £7m on 9200 (£760 per fan)
Hearts
2015/16 £9.9m on gates of £16k (£618 per fan)

We were in the championship so less tv money etc but we had maximum cup runs that year which explains the high spend per fan.
Aberdeen though manage to get a lot of money out of each fan.

Don't forget that Aberdeen have to factor in building a new stadium. This will not generate any more income. It may even cut income as it will be out of town.

It should reduce maintenance costs though. Not that there is any evidence of much maintenance going on at Pittordrie.

Hearts are in a similar position with the new stand to construct. This will certainly cut their maintenance costs (if they any?). It MAY increase revenue but may not.

All that should give Hibs a big advantage over their immediate competitors in the next few seasons.

29-05-2017, 06:00 PM
Don't forget that Aberdeen have to factor in building a new stadium. This will not generate any more income. It may even cut income as it will be out of town.

It should reduce maintenance costs though. Not that there is any evidence of much maintenance going on at Pittordrie.

Hearts are in a similar position with the new stand to construct. This will certainly cut their maintenance costs (if they any?). It MAY increase revenue but may not.

All that should give Hibs a big advantage over their immediate competitors in the next few seasons.

Stuart Milne was quoted saying Pittodrie costs in excess of 500k per season to maintain.

29-05-2017, 06:03 PM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/15058552.Stewart_Milne___quot_If_Aberdeen_are_stil l_sitting_at_Pittodrie_in_five_years__39__time_we_ _39_ll_have_serious_problems_quot_/?commentSort=newest

jingler1954
29-05-2017, 06:04 PM
Replacement for Holt

Lenny waxing lyrical about him on BT
If he has signed why no official word from Easter Road I think the EN has taken the picture off social media and made a story.

29-05-2017, 06:21 PM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/15058552.Stewart_Milne___quot_If_Aberdeen_are_stil l_sitting_at_Pittodrie_in_five_years__39__time_we_ _39_ll_have_serious_problems_quot_/?commentSort=newest

Makes sense and good on them for taking the risk in an attempt to get a stadium up to scratch for Europe. I hope they succeed but also hope they hamper themselves regarding playing staff for a good spell.

29-05-2017, 06:24 PM
If he has signed why no official word from Easter Road I think the EN has taken the picture off social media and made a story.

It's on Sky that there's been an agreement between the two clubs to sign him. Maybe we can't sign him until the 1st of June.

29-05-2017, 06:28 PM
It's on Sky that there's been an agreement between the two clubs to sign him. Maybe we can't sign him until the 1st of June.

It'd just be done as a pre-contract like Swanson then.

If it's done but not announced it's probably because someone is on holiday, there's not really any great need to rush.

29-05-2017, 06:29 PM
I would expect Swanson and Murray to be paraded once the window opens. Two good signings in my opinion. I remember Murray being the catalyst in a Utd win against us earlier in the season. He will do us a turn. Welcome aboard Simon.

29-05-2017, 06:33 PM
It'd just be done as a pre-contract like Swanson then.

If it's done but not announced it's probably because someone is on holiday, there's not really any great need to rush.

29-05-2017, 07:04 PM
Has other talents as well it seems

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyJtBD1OPMI

29-05-2017, 07:13 PM

Good grief.

This may well be our Calum Elliot moment.

29-05-2017, 07:24 PM
I wasn't that impressed by his performances against us but those were in the past and I'm only interested in what he does for us in the future.

I'd be concerned if I though he'd been brought in as the regular starter alongside Cummings though.

29-05-2017, 07:38 PM
Hibs turnover for the same season was £7m.

That puts how we have run the club into perspective. The sheep have invested heavilly and seen finishing second and two losing finals as a reward. We have reinstated ourselves in the top flight after a historic all time low in terms of our failure to escape the second tier, win one final and lose another.

I would say we have the nucleus of a very good squad, and a strong 1st eleven. This summers additions should make this period a very good one in our history. It would seem Hibs have managed all of this fairly cheaply. If we build on our momentum, invest wisely in the team then we should be going from strength to strength.

I

Aberdeen have had a boost in the past few years but that's down to Mcinnes IMO, prior to that they have not been as good as their budget would suggest they should. I dont see how they have "invested heavily" as they have done pretty much the same thing with many different managers narrowly avoiding a bit of bother due to the generosity of Willie and Elaine Donald who cleared their £15m debt pretty much single handedly in 2014.
Mcinnes appears to have bought better, or "wisley", although (similar to us) all previous managers have been supported to more or less the same level.

Keeping it going, as it is with others, appears to be the clever part.

29-05-2017, 07:54 PM
I wasn't that impressed by his performances against us but those were in the past and I'm only interested in what he does for us in the future.

I'd be concerned if I though he'd been brought in as the regular starter alongside Cummings though.

Unlikely he'd be alongside cummings , neither of them are great at holding the ball up . theyre both better feeding off a big man like holt or mikkelson in murrays case . Brian Grahams still on the books :greengrin

29-05-2017, 08:01 PM
I remember his dad Gary playing for us in the Bertie Auld era. Not the most exciting of Hibs teams to put it mildly, with goals in short supply (we didn't concede many either mind you).

In this article he describes Simon as "much more skilful" than he was:

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/ex-hibs-player-back-to-watch-son-at-easter-road-1-3683112

29-05-2017, 08:27 PM
Gary scored at the ground that old gers used to play at

29-05-2017, 08:53 PM
Gary scored at the ground that old gers used to play at

Scoring here v Celtic (at approx 16:20 minutes in). Nice bit of skill by whoever our number 10 was to win the corner.

29-05-2017, 10:31 PM
Christ this boy is on a hiding to nothing. Scapegoat in the making.

30-05-2017, 12:54 AM
Christ this boy is on a hiding to nothing. Scapegoat in the making.

I already feel like laying into him for the chances he's yet to miss.

30-05-2017, 12:59 AM

Dear Lord ... :eek:

30-05-2017, 01:37 AM

What.The.Hell....?! So cringeworthy

30-05-2017, 05:50 AM

Link doesn't work?

30-05-2017, 06:38 AM
I'm actually quite excited to see what he can do in our team, but I fear for the boy already with our boo-boys before he has even pulled on his Hibs top :rolleyes:

30-05-2017, 06:47 AM
Looks like some have found a scapegoat ready for the new season.We got to give hime a chance.

30-05-2017, 06:52 AM
Looks like some have found a scapegoat ready for the new season.We got to give hime a chance.

Not mine. I was just waiting for Swanson's first misplaced pass and I was going to tell him he is a heart's bassa and that he should gtf.

Seriously though, I think Murray will do just fine.

30-05-2017, 07:01 AM
Not mine. I was just waiting for Swanson's first misplaced pass and I was going to tell him he is a heart's bassa and that he should gtf.

Seriously though, I think Murray will do just fine.

I already blame Stevenson for not making the run

30-05-2017, 07:06 AM
Link doesn't work?

Looks like whatever it was has been pulled!!!

Greenworld
30-05-2017, 07:17 AM
Worked for me lol will fit in well with Jason c

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

30-05-2017, 08:47 AM
I don't think he's a great player but there might be something to work with.

The two new players we've signed scored 33 goals between them this season. Given our problems in the final third, I'm quite happy that addressing this seems to be a priority.

30-05-2017, 09:07 AM
official

https://t.co/77ttDU4SML

30-05-2017, 09:52 AM

Works fine for me

Honestly you're doing yourself a favour by not watching it though lol

30-05-2017, 09:58 AM
Link doesn't work?

You are lucky!

Footballers, alcohol and mobile phones.......when will they learn?

30-05-2017, 10:11 AM
You are lucky!

Footballers, alcohol and mobile phones.......when will they learn?

NEVER! :devil:

Boys will be boys.

As long as he disnae dae it on the field of play and gie a the delicate souls in the Famous Five conniptions. :dizzy: :dizzy: :dizzy:

The Leith Dutch
30-05-2017, 11:30 AM
I'm actually quite excited to see what he can do in our team, but I fear for the boy already with our boo-boys before he has even pulled on his Hibs top :rolleyes:

I agree that it's worrying but I think it's unrealted to what's said on here.

As a forum I think it's completely fair game to discuss the relative merits of a player and even to offer quite harsh criticism (with the understanding that, imo at least, there should be an attempt to relate it to actual on field events and statistics rather than spouting guff like "Wage Thief" and "Get rid"). It concerns me that some of the legitimate observations are shut down under the banner of "you need to back the team" - on here we can and should offer criticism where it's deserved and without the daft comeback that accuses folk who say McGinn had a bad game of not thinking he's a crap player.

The difference for me is at a match where every single player in a Hibs top should be getting the support of everyone in our support.
It's a massive problem that our home support isn't great at singing (especially now given the crowds we have) and is ridiculously quick to get on the team's back and start slaughtering particular players.

I haven't seen much on here that I think is too over the score on SM but I do unfortunately think he's either gonna need a great start to his Hibs career or a very thick skin :(

30-05-2017, 08:07 PM
https://youtu.be/ViMkNRXom2s

30-05-2017, 08:25 PM

I love SM's wee side step that has the opposition player slide past and take out the other defender. (See 1.20min into video). Brilliant!

30-05-2017, 09:59 PM
I agree that it's worrying but I think it's unrealted to what's said on here.

As a forum I think it's completely fair game to discuss the relative merits of a player and even to offer quite harsh criticism (with the understanding that, imo at least, there should be an attempt to relate it to actual on field events and statistics rather than spouting guff like "Wage Thief" and "Get rid"). It concerns me that some of the legitimate observations are shut down under the banner of "you need to back the team" - on here we can and should offer criticism where it's deserved and without the daft comeback that accuses folk who say McGinn had a bad game of not thinking he's a crap player.

The difference for me is at a match where every single player in a Hibs top should be getting the support of everyone in our support.
It's a massive problem that our home support isn't great at singing (especially now given the crowds we have) and is ridiculously quick to get on the team's back and start slaughtering particular players.

I haven't seen much on here that I think is too over the score on SM but I do unfortunately think he's either gonna need a great start to his Hibs career or a very thick skin :(

What a sad endictment. But are we talking real Hibs fans here or folk stirring up a social media storm as the exams and school holidays approach?

So you don't feel that there's a potential connection between continual slating by genuine fans online transmitting to the stands?

This forum has (quite stunningly imo) seen folks over the years defend the "abuse" of players. It's gotta start somewhere.

The Leith Dutch
30-05-2017, 11:15 PM
What a sad endictment. But are we talking real Hibs fans here or folk stirring up a social media storm as the exams and school holidays approach?

So you don't feel that there's a potential connection between continual slating by genuine fans online transmitting to the stands?

This forum has (quite stunningly imo) seen folks over the years defend the "abuse" of players. It's gotta start somewhere.

I hope it was pretty obvious I wasn't defending the abuse of players.

Point is that this is a football forum specifically about Hibs and people will discuss all aspects of that subject including what they perceive to be weaknesses with certain players either current or signed. As long as those criticisms are backed with something and not just abusive then they're fine on a forum. I don't think those opinions should ever be vented at a match in the direction of our players.

The stuff on here where it's "****ing huddy" or "Excuse for a footballer" winds me up and that's not what I'm sticking up for at all.
What I don't like is folk being told that they're some kind of non fan if they raise worries about players.

If I've said anything negative about SM I'd like to think it's at least had some kind of back up and I say it with the assumption that I'd be delighted to be proved wrong when he sticks in 20 goals next season.

31-05-2017, 05:18 AM
A number slated Efe before he joined, and he hasn't put a foot wrong, winning most round in the process.

Fickleness of fans, once SM starts banging them in, he will become a favourite no doubt:flag:

31-05-2017, 05:55 AM
I hope it was pretty obvious I wasn't defending the abuse of players.

Point is that this is a football forum specifically about Hibs and people will discuss all aspects of that subject including what they perceive to be weaknesses with certain players either current or signed. As long as those criticisms are backed with something and not just abusive then they're fine on a forum. I don't think those opinions should ever be vented at a match in the direction of our players.

The stuff on here where it's "****ing huddy" or "Excuse for a footballer" winds me up and that's not what I'm sticking up for at all.
What I don't like is folk being told that they're some kind of non fan if they raise worries about players.

If I've said anything negative about SM I'd like to think it's at least had some kind of back up and I say it with the assumption that I'd be delighted to be proved wrong when he sticks in 20 goals next season.

I don't get the online "delighted to be proved wrong" people generally hate being wrong. But I take your point - if you raise concerns justify them which is fair enough don't just blast "wage thief".

My question to those doubting signings before they've had a preseason and games under the belt what does our manager and his team see that you don't cos surely that's the difference - they see potential. Do folks not rate those at the helm?

Keyser Sauzee
31-05-2017, 06:13 AM
I don't get the online "delighted to be proved wrong" people generally hate being wrong. But I take your point - if you raise concerns justify them which is fair enough don't just blast "wage thief".

My question to those doubting signings before they've had a preseason and games under the belt what does our manager and his team see that you don't cos surely that's the difference - they see potential. Do folks not rate those at the helm?

So u think there is Hibs fans that actually don't want to see certain players do well just do they can be right? Come on. I'm one who has stated that I don't rate SM but believe me when I say I would love for him to bang the goals in next season. I'm not on twitter so I haven't seen the abuse he's taken there and I'm assuming it's out of order but I haven't seen any abuse of the player on here and yet there is some claiming the boo boys have a new target, whoever they actually are? Not every1 is going to rate every player that is signed and a lot of posters need to lighten up abit when an opinion is expressed that is not in favour with them or said player, it's a fans forum after all. He will have the support of all the fans at the games like every other Hibs player but I highly doubt he will come on here and read any of the comments so people need get real on here imo.

31-05-2017, 06:16 AM
So u think there is Hibs fans that actually don't want to see certain players do well just do they can be right? Come on. I'm one who has stated that I don't rate SM but believe me when I say I would love for him to bang the goals in next season. I'm not on twitter so I haven't seen the abuse he's taken there and I'm assuming it's out of order but I haven't seen any abuse of the player on here and yet there is some claiming the boo boys have a new target, whoever they actually are? Not every1 is going to rate every player that is signed and a lot of posters need to lighten up abit when an opinion is expressed that is not in favour with them or said player, it's a fans forum after all. He will have the support of all the fans at the games like every other Hibs player but I highly doubt he will come on here and read any of the comments so people need get real on here imo.

There's a wee bit of snobbery going on i think, it's ok to come on here and not rate a player and give your reasons, but if its done on facebook or twitter you are apparently not a Hibs fan or supporter? :confused:

31-05-2017, 06:34 AM

03:10 the penalty rebound. 3 Dundee Utd players scramble to get to the ball first - not only does Murray win the race but he also has the presence of mind to direct his header away from the goal-keeper. That's a good sign - determined and composed !

Greenworld
31-05-2017, 06:45 AM
03:10 the penalty rebound. 3 Dundee Utd players scramble to get to the ball first - not only does Murray win the race but he also has the presence of mind to direct his header away from the goal-keeper. That's a good sign - determined and composed !
Good to watch this i think he will be great in hibs team

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

31-05-2017, 07:02 AM

Nice post. A world of a difference between;

A) not rating a player

and

B) hoping they do badly

and

C) giving them abuse.

I generally don't do either of them but will do a) quite sparingly b) never and c) sometimes but usually in the heat of the moment.

The 'proven wrong' thing is usually just, at best, banter with some other fans or at worst, narcissistic self regard. In reality nobody really gives much a toss as to whether we are 'proven right' or 'wrong' about a player.

The Leith Dutch
31-05-2017, 07:41 AM
The 'proven wrong' thing is usually just, at best, banter with some other fans or at worst, narcissistic self regard. In reality nobody really gives much a toss as to whether we are 'proven right' or 'wrong' about a player.

I'm of the opinion that the "proven wrong" thing is often added as it seems to be one of the better ways to avoid those who disagree with what you post playing the man and not the ball.

I'm genuinely interested if someone disagrees with my opinion on a player but frankly, if what I get back is lots of ***** like I'm "not a real fan" or "you've never played football so you know **** all" I'd be less inclined to post.

It should be bloody obvious that anyone on here wants any player in a Hibs shirt to do well.
Unfortunately it doesn't seem to be the case that they do.

31-05-2017, 08:11 AM
Had a good look at his goals Youtube videos, very impressive, all the bed wetting about the lad needs to stop, he will do just fine.

31-05-2017, 09:39 AM

I spotted that too, Deansy. There's a couple of instances in that video that show he has composure and is not one of those just-kick-it-and-hope-for-the-best players. Good heid on him.

31-05-2017, 09:43 AM
There's a wee bit of snobbery going on i think, it's ok to come on here and not rate a player and give your reasons, but if its done on facebook or twitter you are apparently not a Hibs fan or supporter? :confused:

To be fair BH, some of the twitter posts I have seen have been Hibs fans abusing Simon Murray, as opposed to simply not rating him.

31-05-2017, 10:49 AM
Sad that Neil Lennon finds it necessary to defend this signing because of the way it has apparently split the Hibs fans.

Keyser Sauzee
31-05-2017, 11:04 AM
Sad that Neil Lennon finds it necessary to defend this signing because of the way it has apparently split the Hibs fans.

Where is this?

31-05-2017, 11:07 AM

What's Lenny said?

31-05-2017, 11:24 AM
To be fair BH, some of the twitter posts I have seen have been Hibs fans abusing Simon Murray, as opposed to simply not rating him.

I don't read twitter much, and have not seen anything on hibs. How do we know it's hibs fans slaughtering him? I don't agree with it, and personally think he will be a decent signing, but folk who are writing him off this early are only setting themselves up for some ridicule, you only need to look at the efe ambrose thread to see some real crackers there 😂

31-05-2017, 11:30 AM
Where is this?
Daily Express, I know, I know. However in the small piece he says " Simon is a great player, one who enjoyed a personally solid season with Dundee Utd, and it is pleasing to bring someone of his calibre to the club. He is strong, he is quick with a good turn of pace, plus he knows how to find the back of the net.
He has fantastic attributes and a real hunger to continue to improve as well. I'm delighted to have secured his services for next season."

Ringing endorsement I would say:agree:

31-05-2017, 11:51 AM
Daily Express, I know, I know. However in the small piece he says " Simon is a great player, one who enjoyed a personally solid season with Dundee Utd, and it is pleasing to bring someone of his calibre to the club. He is strong, he is quick with a good turn of pace, plus he knows how to find the back of the net.
He has fantastic attributes and a real hunger to continue to improve as well. I'm delighted to have secured his services for next season."

Hardly "defending" the signing of him though. He'd be saying something similar if we signed Ronaldo.

31-05-2017, 12:25 PM
Hardly "defending" the signing of him though. He'd be saying something similar if we signed Ronaldo.
Whatever

Keyser Sauzee
31-05-2017, 12:36 PM

He speaks very highly of the player but I wouldn't say NL is defending the Murray here. Not looking for an arguement but I don't think u can class this as defending the player against some aspects of our fans.

01-06-2017, 07:26 PM
I see he has won the appeal against the 2nd yellow card so will be available to play in the 1st game of the season. Dundee Utd will rightly be aggrieved about the original decision. Another example where using video replays would make a massive difference and make the referees job easier.

01-06-2017, 08:31 PM
If he hadn't dived in the first half there's a fair chance United would have got their penalty in the second.

01-06-2017, 08:45 PM
If he hadn't dived in the first half there's a fair chance United would have got their penalty in the second.

Should have nothing to do with it, contact was made the ref and assistant missed it.

02-06-2017, 07:20 AM
Should have nothing to do with it, contact was made the ref and assistant missed it.
If you're a diver they're always looking for it.That's why you shouldn't do it because it bites you on the bum.It's a difficult enough job to make your mind up in a split second so the ref takes the easy way out.

02-06-2017, 08:25 AM
If you're a diver they're always looking for it.That's why you shouldn't do it because it bites you on the bum.It's a difficult enough job to make your mind up in a split second so the ref takes the easy way out.

I get what you're saying but this was an obvious penalty to see, when you look at where the officials were standing, it beggars belief how they chose not to see it, this wasnt a split decision it was a stone wall penalty.

RossScott1991
02-06-2017, 10:53 AM
https://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/fp/simon-murray-says-sorry-dundee-united-fans-leaked-picture-hibs-top/

interview with murray today for those interested

02-06-2017, 11:07 AM
https://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/fp/simon-murray-says-sorry-dundee-united-fans-leaked-picture-hibs-top/

interview with murray today for those interested

Comes across as a level headed lad who respects the opportunities he has been giving in football by both teams.

After a period of reflection my opinion, of not being that fussed about this guy signing, has changed completely to really looking forward to seeing what he offers the team.

02-06-2017, 12:05 PM
Comes across as a level headed lad who respects the opportunities he has been giving in football by both teams.

After a period of reflection my opinion, of not being that fussed about this guy signing, has changed completely to really looking forward to seeing what he offers the team.
And the Lord rejoices when one sinner repents:aok:

02-06-2017, 03:33 PM
Won his appeal for sending off, therefore, he is available to play in opening game for us:aok:

02-06-2017, 04:28 PM
Won his appeal for sending off, therefore, he is available to play in opening game for us:aok:
Good I am really looking forward to seeing him play at ER.

02-06-2017, 04:33 PM
Good I am really looking forward to seeing him play at ER.

Likewise, very intrigued to see how he gets on !