View Full Version : Match Updates Morton v Hibernian
18Hibee75
08-04-2017, 04:16 PM
Skint so couldn't make it today, how did we play? Was the penalty definitely a penalty? And were we (un) lucky?
Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk
08-04-2017, 04:17 PM
To the boy who said Bartley isn't good enough:
sit doon
08-04-2017, 04:19 PM
Bartley has been immense in 3 derbies, not his fault we have no attacking threat what so ever!
But brutal in just about every league game. Not up to it in my opinion.
08-04-2017, 04:19 PM
Skint so couldn't make it today, how did we play? Was the penalty definitely a penalty? And were we (un) lucky?
Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk
Played well first half, had a stonewaller not given for hand ball. Rubbish 2nd, was defo a pen for them.
Draw fair but different game if pen is given for us.
08-04-2017, 04:20 PM
Just not true at all. Had many good games in the league.
Fenlon esque football in an even worse league, brutal viewing
:agree: I would say we were more creative under Fenlon, and that's saying something.
People keep mistaking having serious misgivings about performances as not being happy we will be promoted.
I don't think a single person is unhappy we are going to win the league but does that mean the glaringly obvious issues we have shouldn't be discussed?
Exactly, i will be as happy as a pig in sheite when we do eventually stumble over the line, but it's as clear as the nose on your face this team needs scattered across the country anywhere else bar Easter Road.
At least 5 new first team picks are needed, 2 full backs 2 wide players and and a centre forward who knows what that rectangular thing with the net is.
And after saying all that, we have a loanee keeper, centre half and midfielder at the club who at times have been our best players.
Big changes needed.
08-04-2017, 04:22 PM
Even if Morton beat St Mirren we will be 8 points ahead of them and 9 ahead of Falkirk with 4 games to go ......... it would take the king & queen of all meltdowns for us to chuck away the league from that position, we are going to win it 'thank f'k !!!'
From that POV a draw today was a good result ..... But if what I witnessed on periscope is any reflection of our performance it was absolutely woeful ..... we barely strung two passes together, none of our midfielders had any impact on the game and our delivery into the box from dead balls and corners was abysmal. We barely tested the Morton keeper with nobody showing any skill or intelligence in the final 3rd .... Cummings finish for the goal aside.
As someone else pointed out, there was a moment in the second half where we had the opportunity for a 2 on 1 breakaway where the Morton right flank was wide open, but we showed no urgency to get the ball up the park whatsoever, because of that we lost a chance to put Morton under pressure, it showed quite frankly a shocking lack of effort or urgency that I found hard to believe I was seeing from professional players.
Performances like that might be just enough to get us out of the championship ..... Put in a performance like that against Aberdeen in the semi final and we will get crushed ..... and we will deserve to.
08-04-2017, 04:23 PM
People keep mistaking having serious misgivings about performances as not being happy we will be promoted.
I don't think a single person is unhappy we are going to win the league but does that mean the glaringly obvious issues we have shouldn't be discussed?
Well said.
Delighted we will go up, but about ready to claw my eyes out watching us struggle to even create chances (never mind beat) teams like Morton and Dunfermline etc.
Mathematically we can't. Falkirk can still get to 64 points which is what we would be on with a win next week.
The 10 goals of a difference certainly means it would be all but done
If goal difference were to come into it, three Falkirk wins and three Hibs defeats automatically means ten goals comes under a bit of threat. Can't rely on six 1-0s in all those games.
TheMentalHibees
Another eye-bleeding 90 minutes closer to the title. Dearie me that was a struggle.
08-04-2017, 04:25 PM
Well said.
Delighted we will go up, but about ready to claw my eyes out watching us struggle to even create chances (never mind beat) teams like Morton and Dunfermline etc.
08-04-2017, 04:25 PM
That was pish.
08-04-2017, 04:26 PM
I sincerely hope Lennon leaves in the summer.
I hope you leave first
08-04-2017, 04:28 PM
I thought we played well in the first half then for whatever reason dropped too deep in the second.
I don't think we looked much like we wanted to win the game or the league in that second half.
I think Lennon's stopped just short of "Butchering" the squad. I reckon that he thinks he's got just about enough to get out of this league but nothing like as good a squad as I think he thinks we should have given our budget.
I think he'll stay, I think he'll wield the axe over the summer and I'm with him all the way.
08-04-2017, 04:33 PM
Genuinely think we will be better next season under Lennon, contrary to popular opinion on this board Hope so, why do you think this though. Is it blind faith, something all Hibees need a wee bit off, or can you see something that suggests it.
08-04-2017, 04:34 PM
But if Falkirk also win next week then we will be 9 points Clear with 9 to play for. Goal difference is better but we wouldn't mathematically win next week. I think that's right ?
Mathematically we can't. Falkirk can still get to 64 points which is what we would be on with a win next week.
The 10 goals of a difference certainly means it would be all but done
Yes I could also claim I knew that St Mirren would take points off Falkirk....but I gave them 9 points not 12:tee hee:
08-04-2017, 04:35 PM
Even if Morton beat St Mirren we will be 8 points ahead of them and 9 ahead of Falkirk with 4 games to go ......... it would take the king & queen of all meltdowns for us to chuck away the league from that position, we are going to win it 'thank f'k !!!'
From that POV a draw today was a good result ..... But if what I witnessed on periscope is any reflection of our performance it was absolutely woeful ..... we barely strung two passes together, none of our midfielders had any impact on the game and our delivery into the box from dead balls and corners was abysmal. We barely tested the Morton keeper with nobody showing any skill or intelligence in the final 3rd .... Cummings finish for the goal aside.
As someone else pointed out, there was a moment in the second half where we had the opportunity for a 2 on 1 breakaway where the Morton right flank was wide open, but we showed no urgency to get the ball up the park whatsoever, because of that we lost a chance to put Morton under pressure, it showed quite frankly a shocking lack of effort or urgency that I found hard to believe I was seeing from professional players.
Performances like that might be just enough to get us out of the championship ..... Put in a performance like that against Aberdeen in the semi final and we will get crushed ..... and we will deserve to.
we will beat aberdeen
08-04-2017, 04:36 PM
Difficult to comment as I only watched it on periscope and only the second half, but that 45 minutes was brutal
Other than Darren's rush of blood the defence never looked troubled but my goodness we are utter crap in midfield and upfront.
I was prepared to give Brian Graham the benefit of the doubt but that 35 minutes was a bad as anything I have seen.
Lewis's final ball today was abysmal, the amount of floated crosses he put in from deep that went straight into the goalies arms was incredible.
We look to have completely run out of ideas.
I know we are down to the bare bones but that formation was awful.
Its been said before, we will get the job done, but the amount of players whose performances this season are a shadow of seasons past is scary.
That alone gives me huge cause for concern over whether Lennon is the man to take us forward.
Talk of multiple quality signings are fanciful in the extreme and always will be, a Hibs manager will need to get the best out of what he has at his disposal.
IMO other than our central defenders, Lewis and possibly Jason Cummings, that is something Lennon has completely failed to do.
He deserves the opportunity to manage us in the SPL, but I wouldn't be that unhappy if he decided it wasn't an opportunity he wanted to take up.
08-04-2017, 04:36 PM
Alan Stubbs job was to get us up, he had Hearts and Rangers to deal with. NL job for me was to win this league and with a bit of swagger and style tbh I think any manager could have got us up.
08-04-2017, 04:39 PM
I don't for a second believe that the squad of players we have are crap. IMO Gray, Stevenson, Hanlon, McGregor, Fontaine, Marciano, Fyvie, McGeouch, McGinn, Bartley, Shinnie, Keatings, Cummings for just a few are top flight level players for Scotland. The current tactics of hoof it to Graham or Holt then sub one for the other 65 minutes in are just too easy to read and play against.
There are good footballers in this team, let them play football.
Paloschi
08-04-2017, 04:43 PM
It's a competitive league because we are allowing it to be competitive.
We should be blowing ***** like Dumbarton, Raith, Dunfermilne and Ayr away not drawing with them.
Whilst I agree with the sentiment and take into account the difference in player budget we have no right to beat these teams. Are the teams mentioned much worse than Hamilton, Motherwell and ICT at the moment? We have a weaker squad than last season (some of that is Lennon's fault) but we are much harder to beat. The league table shows anyone can beat anyone and there is no massive gulf in class.
We are 9 points ahead and whilst we aren't blowing anything away we aren't throwing anything away either. Changes are needed next year but we have a solid platform to build on. Key players have not performed for us this year and others are not taking their chance to shine yet we still look to have enough to go up.
I agree with all that. Since Lennon questioned the players professionalism we seem to have went down a gear with a couple of notable games excepted. It isn't quite down tools but I get the feeling it is a wee bit like when Butcher did it. Quite a few must think they are on the way out so aren't putting the effort in for the team that is likely to show them the door. It may be just a loss of form but there have been quite a few games recently when I don't think the effort was there. Not blaming Lennon wholly for this but the last few months have been pretty dismal and the ones before that not much better.
Great goal from Cummings.
The only bit of class in a guff game.
Well done Jason.
East Coast Hibe
08-04-2017, 04:44 PM
That was awful today...... and not for the first time this season. We really are stumbling over the line!!
Sorry but if any of the other 3 teams had played slightly better we would not be top of the league, we are pathetic in this league and should be romping away with it but we cannot score enough goals to do that !!
If and when we get promoted there will have to be major player changes.
But they didnt, and there will be. A few weeks ago I was reading on here that IF Morton beat us at ER & Capilow then win their game in hand they would win the league, they didnt, they are done. A few weeks ago I read that IF Falkirk could put on a wee winning run they could catch us, they haven't, they are done. Sometime ago when Dun Utd led Hibs in the league I read that IF they won at Tannadice they would go onto win the league, they didn't, they are done.
IF anyone really believes that the Hibs team that kicks off next season will look anything like today's lineup they are seriously demented.
Green-Hibee-7
08-04-2017, 04:49 PM
I don't for a second believe that the squad of players we have are crap. IMO Gray, Stevenson, Hanlon, McGregor, Fontaine, Marciano, Fyvie, McGeouch, McGinn, Bartley, Shinnie, Keatings, Cummings for just a few are top flight level players for Scotland. The current tactics of hoof it to Graham or Holt then sub one for the other 65 minutes in are just too easy to read and play against.
rotherhamrob
08-04-2017, 04:52 PM
I think it's entirely within reason to be critical of recent performances and results whilst remaining content with winning the title. Telling fans they can't be unhappy with 2 wins in the last 10 games is absolutely ludicrous, it's a pathetic showing from a team that can and should do better. One game closer though.
These are my exact thoughts.
2 wins in 10 no matter how you dress it up is woeful, I've heard people say the league is competitive,it really isn't,we've made it look more competitive with our poor displays.
I'm happy that it's more or less done but let's be honest this league should have been wrapped up a month ago.
We really are stumbling over the line!!
You know when Usain Bolt has the sprint won with a few meters to go and he slows right down as he crosses the line?
That's us. The Usain Bolt of the Scottish championship.
08-04-2017, 04:54 PM
The attacking unit of the team will need totally revamped in the summer.
Holt, Graham and Keatings will hopefully be replaced. Boyle and Shinnie are not the quality we need either.
SonOfDavidFrancey
08-04-2017, 04:55 PM
I don't think it's been easy on the eye but the main objective has been achieved - to see off the various challenges, which we did, particularly when United leapfrogged us before the 3-0 game. It's true we've been fortunate that some of the other challenges have proved a bit powderpuff but suspect (as the cup games have shown) we have a bit in the tank we can rely on if needed. Disappointing not to win the league by miles but it will be ago forgave margin and with luck put to bed by next week.
You know when Usain Bolt has the sprint won with a few meters to go and he slows right down as he crosses the line?
That's us. The Usain Bolt of the Scottish championship.
08-04-2017, 04:57 PM
Don't care how we get out of this league. Happy with the point
Totally agree it isn't always easy to grind it out. Bottom line is we lost no ground today.
08-04-2017, 04:59 PM
Could end up with less points than last season and go from 3rd to 1st. We really have went backwards under Lennon im afraid.
50% win rate in the Championship without The Rangers or Hearts is shocking stuff :bitchy:
Completely agree.
08-04-2017, 05:00 PM
Alan Stubbs job was to get us up, he had Hearts and Rangers to deal with. NL job for me was to win this league and with a bit of swagger and style tbh I think any manager could have got us up.
sorry but stubbs tried twice to get us out of this league, with almost all of this exact team, lennon will bring in better players in the summer, have faith!
08-04-2017, 05:01 PM
The bit in bold - if that's the case, what's stopping them? I just don't get it. :confused:
The overall team performances have been really quite poor and insipid for weeks now, with the odd exception. We can't seem to buy a win in this league right now, even from a goal of a start. Much of that being down to woeful finishing.
08-04-2017, 05:01 PM
The players you mention above, not disputing the majority are good players individually but the sum of their parts is a woefully imbalanced team that creates nothing and relies on Cummings to carry the scoring burden on his own.
As others have said 5 or 6 first team players are needed to transform us from a difficult team to beat but utterly unambitious and turgid to watch IMO.
08-04-2017, 05:03 PM
We are the Draw Kings.
08-04-2017, 05:04 PM
The players you mention above, not disputing the majority are good players individually but the sum of their parts is a woefully imbalanced team that creates nothing and relies on Cummings to carry the scoring burden on his own.
As others have said 5 or 6 first team players are needed to transform us from a difficult team to beat but utterly unambitious and turgid to watch IMO.
They'll be uncreative if their plan of attack is to hoof it up to the big tall player. Shinnie can be creative, so can McGinn or McGeouch. We're too busy bypassing the midfield all to often with the long ball to Graham/Holt.
08-04-2017, 05:05 PM
Hibs are currently as boring to watch as under Fenton. Abysmal.
08-04-2017, 05:06 PM
sorry but stubbs tried twice to get us out of this league, with almost all of this exact team, lennon will bring in better players in the summer, have faith!
Stubbs had 2 issues Hearts and Rangers IMo Stubbs, Lennon and AN other would have won the league "this" season. I am happy with promotion unhappy with perhaps being arrogant but IMO we should have won this for fun with a lot more 3,4 nils.
The bit in bold - if that's the case, what's stopping them? I just don't get it. :confused:
The overall team performances have been really quite poor and insipid for weeks now, with the odd exception. We can't seem to buy a win in this league right now, even from a goal of a start. Much of that being down to woeful finishing.
I won't repeat it as it's obviously getting on peoples nerves, but I've made my point quite clear in recent weeks.
I just want us to play football again as we certainly weren't worse off in an attacking sense by doing so. The long ball is way over-utilised and having Graham/Holt up front is only encouraging it. Neither are natural goal scorers at this stage in their careers.
We really are taking an age to get this title wrapped up! It's like we don't want to win it.
Stubbs had hearts and the Huns to contend with. We have, as you say, virtually same team and we are stuttering at best.
08-04-2017, 05:07 PM
Ps, why the **** are we giving away so many penalties?
08-04-2017, 05:07 PM
Stubbs had 2 issues Hearts and Rangers IMo Stubbs, Lennon and AN other would have won the league "this" season. I am happy with promotion unhappy with perhaps being arrogant but IMO we should have won this for fun with a lot more 3,4 nils.
we got in to the play offs last year and stubbs team wasnt good enough, aye i agree though we should have won this league a lot easier so something clearly isnt right
08-04-2017, 05:08 PM
Stubbs had hearts and the Huns to contend with. We have, as you say, virtually same team and we are stuttering at best.
rangers werent a good team last year and we failed in the play offs, hopefully it will be a lot better next season
08-04-2017, 05:09 PM
Sorry but if any of the other 3 teams had played slightly better we would not be top of the league, we are pathetic in this league and should be romping away with it but we cannot score enough goals to do that !!
And if my anytime had baws she'd be my uncle.
08-04-2017, 05:10 PM
None of us are stopping them play football.
Every team they face tries to stop them playing football and they don't have enough answers. The direct approach is as much a result of the football failing as anything else. There were a few decent moves in the first half today when we were allowed to play. There was some grim hoofball in the second when we weren't.
As has been pointed out, the squad is imbalanced and we're short of creativity. We have a core of players who are more than good enough to succeed at a higher level, but they will have to have better players playing alongside them if they are to do so.
Not if his signings of Holt & Graham and his attempted signing of Hesket are indicative of his eye for a striker.
We're winning the championship in first gear. At a canter. Anytime anyone got close we forged away.
08-04-2017, 05:11 PM
Wasn't quite a Carlsberg afternoon, but almost! Other teams are making this easy for us 😊
08-04-2017, 05:12 PM
And if my auntie had baws she'd be my uncle. Where does it say we should we romping this league??
08-04-2017, 05:12 PM
The talk of 3 or 4 nils was always fanciful, but we should have had many more 1 nils.
08-04-2017, 05:13 PM
Hibs are currently as boring to watch as under Fenton. Abysmal.
Punting him got us into this mess.
08-04-2017, 05:13 PM
Not if his signings of Holt & Graham and his attempted signing of Hesket are indicative of his eye for a striker.
holt has been a good player, not a good goal scorer but decent enough player, graham hasnt been great, can only hope he signs some good strikers
08-04-2017, 05:15 PM
holt has been a good player, not a good goal scorer but decent enough player, graham hasnt been great, can only hope he signs some good strikers
other than Cummings, none of the strikers have been good enough. We have gone backwards in that department this year. It's one of the reasons we are not winning enough games.
guthrie01
08-04-2017, 05:15 PM
He choose to leave and it was hiring Butcher got us into this mess
08-04-2017, 05:16 PM
I don't want to be drawn into another Fenlon debate, but I'd like to point out that he wasn't punted and that it was more the appalling appointment of his successor rather than Fenlon's departure that led us to where we are now.
WestCoastHibby
08-04-2017, 05:17 PM
And if my anytime had baws she'd be my uncle.
Or yer auntie
Hooper wasnt too bad
We're winning the championship in first gear. At a canter. Anytime anyone got close we forged away.
That would suggest we're not giving our all and that we're happy to grind draws out to get over the line; I'd be absolutely dismayed if that was the attitude at the club and I'm certain it's not.
08-04-2017, 05:18 PM
Hooper wasnt too bad
When did he sign for us again?
Def not the same team. Holt nowhere near as good as Stokes and Shinnie not a patch on Henderson.
Rangers weren't our issue last season, our results against them overall were fine our problem was the "lesser" teams. We ended up finishing third behind Falkirk, I think some people forget that last season had some truly brutal defeats from dire teams.
This season we haven't run away with it but no one is really close and we have only lost 3 times all season. The job is promotion, doing t with swagger is irrelevant we go straight up and avoid the playoffs that's a great season.
And if my auntie had baws she'd be my uncle. Where does it say we should we romping this league??
Cmon with the manager and finances we have we should have !!
ionahibby
08-04-2017, 05:19 PM
I've largely stayed out the debate but this drawing every game is getting ridiculous. If it wasn't for every other team being rubbish we would be in soapy!!
WestCoastHibby
08-04-2017, 05:20 PM
We've really been pants for weeks, have zero chance of beating Aberdeen and are stumbling along but we are almost over the line and with promotion the start of a new era will begin.
People saying Stubbs could have won this league. Well he jumped ship and look where Rotherham are now. Relegated.
Let's just be happy to be back in the big( Ish ) league soon...
08-04-2017, 05:21 PM
Hearts got 91 pts, Rangers 81 I think I had every right to think bringing in a manager with a CV like NL and a squad of players who knew this league by now we were more than capable of flexing the muscles showing some swagger coming off a cup win and without a team in the league who arguably had a better squad than us we could have performed a hell of a lot better.
I disappointed with the attack this term we should have won this league going forward not by shutting the back door. Lots of changes needed at ER IMO.
08-04-2017, 05:22 PM
Def not the same team. Holt nowhere near as good as Stokes and Shinnie not a patch on Henderson.
this is almost the exact same team as last season, a new keeper, a new midfielder and a couple of strikers, the rest were all here last season
08-04-2017, 05:24 PM
Cmon with the manager and finances we have we should have !!
Doesn't guarantee anything though pal.
guthrie01
08-04-2017, 05:24 PM
Hearts got 91 pts, Rangers 81 I think I had every right to think bringing in a manager with a CV like NL and a squad of players who knew this league by now we were more than capable of flexing the muscles showing some swagger coming off a cup win and without a team in the league who arguably had a better squad than us we could have performed a hell of a lot better.
I disappointed with the attack this term we should have won this league going forward not by shutting the back door. Lots of changes needed at ER IMO.
:agree: Agree 100%
08-04-2017, 05:25 PM
Rangers weren't our issue last season, our results against them overall were fine our problem was the "lesser" teams. We ended up finishing third behind Falkirk, I think some people forget that last season had some truly brutal defeats from dire teams.
This season we haven't run away with it but no one is really close and we have only lost 3 times all season. The job is promotion, doing t with swagger is irrelevant we go straight up and avoid the playoffs that's a great season.
Rangers didnt have those issues nor did Hearts, sorry we should have romped this league probably arrogant but IMO we should have had this won mathematically by now. People can look at this well league won I am not I am unhappy with the performances of the team regardless of winning league. I want us to go up totally confident after romping this league not going up with strikers who scored 4/5 goals and not winning a lot of games but drawing them. I didn twant us to have to do a lot to team but IMO we need to do lots.
100% arrogant. yup you better believe it.
08-04-2017, 05:26 PM
............. well, on this forum for a start. The 'skooshers' were in full voice a few months ago but reality has crept in and we are limping slowly over the line.
Thankfully we're not as crap as the other teams in the league, that's why we're in the lead. We need big changes for next season.
Doesn't guarantee anything though pal.
No it doesn't but you would expect it to though .. so something is not right, either the players or the manager .. I would go for the players .. they are the ones on the park for 90 mins !!
this is almost the exact same team as last season, a new keeper, a new midfielder and a couple of strikers, the rest were all here last season
It's lack of goals that's the problem and Shinnie and Holt were the two signings brought in to fix that. They have turned out to be worse than what Stubbs had.
Not for the first time this season I have to express sympathy for our defence ....... it must be utterly galling for them to be aware that even with a record of giving away on average less than one goal per game we still have so many draws on our card ..... if the midfield and strikers had managed more than one goal in just 3 of these games where we let in a goal the league would be done and dusted.
On the day we do finally clinch the title the players should all go back into the dressing rooms and the defence and JC should come back onto the pitch a minute before them .... they deserve most of the plaudits for anything good this season, including winning the league ..... if Darren McGregor isn't awarded player of the year I'll eat my retro Hibs top.
08-04-2017, 05:27 PM
But they didnt, and there will be. A few weeks ago I was reading on here that IF Morton beat us at ER & Capilow then win their game in hand they would win the league, they didnt, they are done. A few weeks ago I read that IF Falkirk could put on a wee winning run they could catch us, they haven't, they are done. Sometime ago when Dun Utd led Hibs in the league I read that IF they won at Tannadice they would go onto win the league, they didn't, they are done.
IF anyone really believes that the Hibs team that kicks off next season will look anything like today's lineup they are seriously demented.
The reason the other teams have poor results is that they are constantly trying to compete with us and can't cope with the pressure.While "anyone can beat anyone else"in this league according to some not many can beat us.
Higgy115
Stupid comment.
Lennon has done 3 great things this season to assure us promotion
1. Persuaded Cummings to stay
2. Secured Emergency loan of Commons exactly when we needed him
3. Secured Emergency loan of Ambrose exactly when we needed him
Without any of the above we could have been derailed.
Do I rate him as a manager?
Not really. Too much of a hot head.
08-04-2017, 05:29 PM
I can't see us as any more than a middle division outfit next season unless we hire some real dynamic characters in the summer. That's just the way it is.:rolleyes:
08-04-2017, 05:29 PM
I think we would have, if we had scored goals to the ratio we've dominated so many games
08-04-2017, 05:31 PM
That was poison. Neither goalie had a save to make.
gaz1875
08-04-2017, 05:34 PM
I think we would have, if we had scored goals to the ratio we've dominated so many games
The trouble is we aren't dominating games, we are creating half the chances per game compared to the last two seasons, but scoring around the same amount of goals. Under Stubbs you were leaving the game in disbelief that we hadn't scored a barrow load, now we are leaving the game struggling to think of any chances we created.
08-04-2017, 05:38 PM
It's lack of goals that's the problem and Shinnie and Holt were the two signings brought in to fix that. They have turned out to be worse than what Stubbs had.
aww i agree, our strikers have been terrible, the rest of the team is pretty much the same so we should be playing better
08-04-2017, 05:39 PM
I've come to the conclusion that the teams in the Championship are all very much of a muchness, with not a lot to choose between them.
It's a fairly competitive league, with little in the way of quality attacking football, and lots in the way of gamesmanship, "park the bus" and cloggers. Hibs are the best of a very mediocre bunch.
If Hibs had midfielders (maybe McGinn excepted) and forwards (Cummings excepted) who knew how to score goals, we wouldn't be here with four games left, still wondering if/when our team was going to finally get the job done.
Think McDonald would have been a very good signing for us.
08-04-2017, 05:44 PM
............. well, on this forum for a start. The 'skooshers' were in full voice a few months ago but reality has crept in and we are limping slowly over the line.
Totally agree.
I have not liked the last few games and would be tempted to depart the skoosher camp if the data were different. Skooshers are limping over the line too.
08-04-2017, 05:45 PM
Think McDonald would have been a very good signing for us.
In hindsight, he probably would have been what we needed!!
Can only wonder what would have happened had Commons stayed!
edwards
08-04-2017, 05:46 PM
Surely the object was to get promoted Lennon has nearly done this a win against Falkirk and not losing to Morton who haved done decent this season has been crucial to our task we are just about there three points in our next home game will just about clinch it for us. Changes will have to be made I am sure Lennon knows that.
08-04-2017, 05:50 PM
There was no point in wasting money on players just to get promoted.We'll have a reasonable amount of dosh to bring in players for the step up.Most important is someone to take the pressure off Cummings.
Greenwich_Hibby
08-04-2017, 05:51 PM
Surely the object was to get promoted Lennon has nearly done this a win against Falkirk and not losing to Morton who haved done decent this season has been crucial to our task we are just about there three points in our next home game will just about clinch it for us. Changes will have to be made I am sure Lennon knows that.
Let's hope he's not the one making the changes or we will have even more of this dirge next year....
08-04-2017, 05:52 PM
Spot on. I think Neil Lennon knows he'll need 4-5 quality signings at least but can't come out and say that just now. Look what happened when butcher tried that!! We should be glad to just get out this league and worry about the squad for next season after we retain the cup 😄
08-04-2017, 05:52 PM
Hoofball today. Dreadful to watch.
08-04-2017, 05:53 PM
I can't see us as any more than a middle division outfit next season unless we hire some real dynamic characters in the summer. That's just the way it is.:rolleyes:
Considering the difficulty in getting over the finishing line in a mediocre league, I will settle for a middle division position next season. Lennon knows he has to clear out a lot of dross if we are to survive in the Premiership. With a big clear out, we should be able to attract some decent players and hold our own against the ICT's and Hamiltons of this world.
08-04-2017, 05:59 PM
Here's the cup half full version ................ 3 years ago we were wondering how the hell we were going to assemble a team capable of challenging for the championship .... now we are wondering how we are going to assemble a team capable of challenging for the top 4 in the premiership. We were wondering where the fans were going to come from, now we are fighting them off with a stick and season ticket sales are as good as they have ever been, with every chance we will break our record next season ... how we won the championship will be forgotten in the excitement of once again being up with the 'big boys'
In sharp contrast with that relegation season we also have the nucleus of a good team, provided we can hold on to the players we need to and we have a CEO who unlike the previous folk in charge is not going to let the club stand still thinking its job done .... she will know more than anybody that its job just beginning.
Its not all bad ....... the second the league is wrapped up its a whole new start .... lets try to be optimistic about where we can go from here :aok:
CorrieHibs
08-04-2017, 06:09 PM
100% agree
I think we've been awful most of the league campaign.
A lot of changes needed in the summer.
I won't repeat it as it's obviously getting on peoples nerves, but I've made my point quite clear in recent weeks.
I just want us to play football again as we certainly weren't worse off in an attacking sense by doing so. The long ball is way over-utilised and having Graham/Holt up front is only encouraging it. Neither are natural goal scorers at this stage in their careers.
When was it exactly that we were playing football that was to your standards?
08-04-2017, 06:13 PM
It's been hoofball for most of the season. It's nearly got us promoted but won't be anywhere near good enough next season.
I said it last week, but I'll repeat myself, to my mind there is a distinct possibility, that Neil Lennon will do what he was brought to the club to do, get Hibs promoted. Once that & the cup game (s) are finished he will resign.
08-04-2017, 06:20 PM
Here's the cup half full version ................ 3 years ago we were wondering how the hell we were going to assemble a team capable of challenging for the championship .... now we are wondering how we are going to assemble a team capable of challenging for the top 4 in the premiership. We were wondering where the fans were going to come from, now we are fighting them off with a stick and season ticket sales are as good as they have ever been, with every chance we will break our record next season ... how we won the championship will be forgotten in the excitement of once again being up with the 'big boys'
In sharp contrast with that relegation season we also have the nucleus of a good team, provided we can hold on to the players we need to and we have a CEO who unlike the previous folk in charge is not going to let the club stand still thinking its job done .... she will know more than anybody that its job just beginning.
Its not all bad ....... the second the league is wrapped up its a whole new start .... lets try to be optimistic about where we can go from here :aok:
That's a great summary....it's dragged on but we have finally got there.
We will be getting promoted in fine financial health, having won the Scottish cup (at least once!) with at least a couple of players worth millions, a paid for (as good as) competed stadium and full training facilities and record number (probably) of season tickets.
We really are set to push on from here and we shouldn't let a poor run of draws and form at the end of it all to make us all feel a bit negative
Hibs will be able to match almost any team in the league outside of Celtic and the Huns (if they are still around [emoji12]) in terms of attracting players and paying wages so we should all relax a bit.
The fitba is awful tho and if it wasn't for the fine weather today I would have been rather pissed off having travelled all that way to watch a side so incapable of passing and moving.
08-04-2017, 06:20 PM
Our main problem is up front someone to play with Cummings biggish and bit of pace and another decent forward ..our other front players are nowhere near good enough at this level never mind premier !!
08-04-2017, 06:23 PM
When was it exactly that we were playing football that was to your standards?
How far do we have to regress before it falls below your standards? Because the Butcher-esque hoofball today certainly wasn't to mine or any self respecting Hibee.
08-04-2017, 06:27 PM
not long home and not had a chance to read everything but the bile on this thread is doing my head in.
WE ARE GOING UP. WE ARE TOP OF THE LEAGUE.
If some of the roasters posting on here think they can do any better get your job applications in.
I'll be roaring with the best of them when we clinch it and I just hope some of the carpers on here find it in themselves to cheer as well. Doubt it though. Some rally sad cases.
Next season will take care of itself.
Rant over.
08-04-2017, 06:30 PM
Yes there are a lot of stubbs tinted glasses on here mate due to cup win..twice I watched us lose at alloa under stubbs...and it was brutal...and twice we lost at Dumbarton last season under stubbs...equally brutal.
How far do we have to regress before it falls below your standards? Because the Butcher-esque hoofball today certainly wasn't to mine or any self respecting Hibee.
You haven't answered the question, like a politician you answer a question with a question.
Yes there are a lot of stubbs tinted glasses on here mate due to cup win..twice I watched us lose at alloa under stubbs...and it was brutal...and twice we lost at Dumbarton last season under stubbs...equally brutal.
The voice of reason.
08-04-2017, 06:33 PM
You haven't answered the question, like a politician you answer a question with a question.
In that case, the 4-0 wins against QOTS/Morton earlier this season. We showed real potential back then as did we in the 3-0 game against Dundee United. Fallen off a cliff in terms of quality of football since to way below acceptable standards.
not long home and not had a chance to read everything but the bile on this thread is doing my head in.
WE ARE GOING UP. WE ARE TOP OF THE LEAGUE.
If some of the roasters posting on here think they can do any better get your job applications in.
I'll be roaring with the best of them when we clinch it and I just hope some of the carpers on here find it in themselves to cheer as well. Doubt it though. Some rally sad cases.
Next season will take care of itself.
Rant over.
Another voice of reason, feel free to rant.
08-04-2017, 06:34 PM
But generally the football was better to watch. If what we are witnessing this season is a means to an end then I can accept it. I'm not convinced things will change next season though.
08-04-2017, 06:42 PM
Apart from a handful of games, it's been hoofball all season. Absolute murder to watch from afar let me tell you!
08-04-2017, 06:53 PM
"Lennon insists the matter (winning the league) should already be settled.
"We're not ruthless enough," he said. "We have Jason Cummings, who is a superstar, and the rest aren't ruthless enough in front of goal." Apologies if this has already been posted.
08-04-2017, 06:54 PM
I said it last week, but I'll repeat myself, to my mind there is a distinct possibility, that Neil Lennon will do what he was brought to the club to do, get Hibs promoted. Once that & the cup game (s) are finished he will resign.
Utter nonsense...no chance
08-04-2017, 06:55 PM
I just listened to Lennon being interviewed on Clyde 2 (I think). He said that you can't play "tippy tappy" football on pitches like today (and most of the other pitches in the league). He also said that he's looking forward to playing on better pitches to play better football. He admitted that he's disappointed with the return from our strikers and said that maybe he didn't bring in the right people.
08-04-2017, 06:57 PM
There was no point in wasting money on players just to get promoted.We'll have a reasonable amount of dosh to bring in players for the step up.Most important is someone to take the pressure off Cummings.
I'd like to agree but if this was the way it was approached (i.e. keeping some money back for next year) then it is very risky.
The stakes are very high this season, promotion is an absolute must.
If United had built on a decent start to the year, or Falkirk had added a bit of consistency then we'd have been in a world of trouble.
One of my main bugbears with Hibs at the moment is that I suspect there is an air of complacency at times. We haven't scored enough goals this season and we should have done a lot more in January about a problem that has existed for years.
I'd love to think we'll have a bigger budget next year as a result though.
08-04-2017, 06:58 PM
I just listened to Lennon being interviewed on Clyde 2 (I think). He said that you can't play "tippy tappy" football on pitches like today (and most of the other pitches in the league). He also said that he's looking forward to playing on better pitches to play better football. He admitted that he's disappointed with the return from our strikers and said that maybe he didn't bring in the right people.
I'm glad to hear that; I've often felt that he hasn't taken enough responsibility for poor signings and poor football so I'm happy to hear that. Fair play to him and I hope he can learn and improve from it. :aok:
08-04-2017, 06:59 PM
Interesting admission and fair play to him for that.
The pitch thing though doesn't really stand up to scrutiny though. We don't play good football or score goals at home either and the pitch is fine there. I also don't think the pitches were any better when hearts and rangers were scoring almost double the amount we have this season.
08-04-2017, 06:59 PM
I thought the pitch looked superb today.
If you can't play football on that, I don't know what you can play on.
It put our home pitch to shame, that's for sure.
Whilst I agree with his comment about the strikers, we're still looking for these guys to get us the goals that will secure promotion and possibly even win us a cup. It's quite a thing to say publicly. Again.
08-04-2017, 07:00 PM
But generally the football was better to watch. If what we are witnessing this season is a means to an end then I can accept it. I'm not convinced things will change next season though.
It was better to watch mate ...at times not always let's be honest here...read the examples I use above. And most importantly it was of no use whatsoever in this league
08-04-2017, 07:02 PM
Whilst I agree with his comment about the strikers, we're still looking for these guys to get us the goals that will secure promotion and possibly even win us a cup. It's quite a thing to say publicly. Again.
Both him and Duffy remarked on the pitch bring too hard/firey (sp?).
08-04-2017, 07:04 PM
He has every right to criticise the likes of Graham Holt and Keatings...there contribution in terms of goals this season is frankly pathetic and I'd be disappointed if he didn't pass comment on this. All 3 need emptied at end of season...not good enough. If they are upset then they need to be taking a long hard look in the mirror as his criticism of them is spot on
Johnny Clash
08-04-2017, 07:06 PM
Lennon will get the job done that Stubbsy sadly was unable to do.
I also believe we could not get a better manager than Lennon for next season.
08-04-2017, 07:09 PM
Here's the interview
https://planetradio.co.uk/clyde/sport/football-news/listen-neil-lennon-maybe-agenda-us/
08-04-2017, 07:10 PM
Lennon has completely chucked it in terms of commenting on refereeing performances...
"I am lost for words. I hate going on about officials but I'm unhappy with Bobby's performance today, I thought he was very much pro-Morton in a lot of decisions and certainly that's a big moment in the game as we could have been going in 2-0."
You surely can't get away with saying a referee has been biased towards one team. He knows he's getting a ban and is just saying what he wants.
08-04-2017, 07:14 PM
Lennon has completely chucked it in terms of commenting on refereeing performances...
"I am lost for words. I hate going on about officials but I'm unhappy with Bobby's performance today, I thought he was very much pro-Morton in a lot of decisions and certainly that's a big moment in the game as we could have been going in 2-0."
You surely can't get away with saying a referee has been biased towards one team. He knows he's getting a ban and is just saying what he wants.
That's a joke by Lennon. I recall 2 dodgy decisions but to say he was pro-Morton....well he's losing the plot I'm afraid. And there was nothing wrong with the pitch.
08-04-2017, 07:16 PM
He's right though. How Dunfermline get a penalty last week and we don't today is incomprehensible. I'm at the point where I've stopped counting the number of penalties we get denied.
08-04-2017, 07:17 PM
Yep, sorry - I take back what I said earlier, he really isn't taking responsibility for our form at all. Other teams have to put up with our god awful refs as well. Courting media controversy again.
08-04-2017, 07:19 PM
That makes great reading. It's been obvious since last August we had not bought well so it's nice to hear the manager finally agree on that and that our strikers apart from Jason are not good enough.
08-04-2017, 07:21 PM
Yep, sorry - I take back what I said earlier, he really isn't taking responsibility for our form at all. Other teams have to put up with our god awful refs as well. Courting media controversy again.What others teams have had 3 red cards rescinded this season?
08-04-2017, 07:27 PM
Well said MW!!!
08-04-2017, 07:29 PM
Tippy tippy football as in passing the ball. We did it pretty well last season. Cop out comment.
08-04-2017, 07:39 PM
He's right though. How Dunfermline get a penalty last week and we don't today is incomprehensible. I'm at the point where I've stopped counting the number of penalties we get denied.
I think the one last one was wrong and can see why Madden didn't give it this week. Doesn't make maddens performance pro Morton or indeed poor. The inconsistency of it all then fair game and that's what he should be commenting on. I'd prefer if he would concentrate on our own undoubted shortcomings and address them.
BlackSheep
08-04-2017, 07:56 PM
I'm curious, so I'll bite.... who?
Fergos
08-04-2017, 07:58 PM
They'll be uncreative if their plan of attack is to hoof it up to the big tall player. Shinnie can be creative, so can McGinn or McGeouch. We're too busy bypassing the midfield all to often with the long ball to Graham/Holt.
I can't remember the last time I watched McGeouch set up / assist a goal. I like Dylan but he IMHO is massively overrated in some quarters.
08-04-2017, 08:00 PM
I'm curious, so I'll bite.... who?
I'll take a stab at nobody just like he said. 😂😂😂
08-04-2017, 08:12 PM
Tippy tippy football as in passing the ball. We did it pretty well last season. Cop out comment.
Did it get us up?
No **** Neil, Holt has been a huddie all season and Graham is a poor man's Nish.
It was obvious from day one that Holt was past it, he arrived 2 stones overweight and after a season he's still the same size,what is he doing on the training pitch? Graham wasn't even a regular starter for Ross C yet he was deemed good enough for us to give him a 2 year deal :confused:
Robinho08
08-04-2017, 08:25 PM
Arguably Lenny had an easier job than Stubbs, no Yams or Sevco. Stubbs might have brought in better players. We'll never know though.
08-04-2017, 08:29 PM
Still top ✅
Favs to go up ✅
same fans who said they'd be happy with ugly football long as they went up still moaning now ✅
08-04-2017, 08:35 PM
No **** Neil, Holt has been a huddie all season and Graham is a poor man's Nish.
It was obvious from day one that Holt was past it, he arrived 2 stones overweight and after a season he's still the same size,what is he doing on the training pitch? Graham wasn't even a regular starter for Ross C yet he was deemed good enough for us to give him a 2 year deal :confused:Not quite true though is it. Holt has played an important part in many games this season. Not scored enough for sure but to suggest he has been useless all season is just nonsense. His performance against Hearts was brilliant.
08-04-2017, 08:40 PM
Still top ✅
Favs to go up ✅
same fans who said they'd be happy with ugly football long as they went up still moaning now ✅
Indeed. Yes we have had a good few turgid games this season but I can assure you you get plenty of them in the spl. Just ask the Hertz fans. The main issue I can see is attitude and consistency.in the big games we turn up,are fully focussed and complete the job. In run of the mill league games many players go through the motions. Against bonnyrigg we could have easily stopped playing when 3 up by were ruthless and kept going but in so many league games we got one up then just pass the ball around. I'll be glad when we are over the line but am looking forward to next season as I expect there will be 3 or 4 decent signings and the budget will be a good deal bigger. We are 9 clear with 4 to go when we were behind utd after 18 games. Nearly there but it being hibs it's never straightforward.
08-04-2017, 08:49 PM
It was obvious from day one that Holt was past it, he arrived 2 stones overweight and after a season he's still the same size,what is he doing on the training pitch? Graham wasn't even a regular starter for Ross C yet he was deemed good enough for us to give him a 2 year deal :confused:
To be fair to Lennon, if he's one of these clever folk who understands football it would not have been immediately obvious to him that Holt was a huddy. [emoji6]
08-04-2017, 08:51 PM
That's a joke by Lennon. I recall 2 dodgy decisions but to say he was pro-Morton....well he's losing the plot I'm afraid. And there was nothing wrong with the pitch.
I don't agree mate...every 50 59 went morton s way today...it almost felt like madden was reacting to the morton crowd...every time they screamed he gave them a decision. Countless soft fouls and free kicks went their way...then the inexplicable double had in the box...he is right to call the refs out
08-04-2017, 08:51 PM
Did it get us up?
No they are not mutually exclusive though.
08-04-2017, 08:53 PM
I think the one last one was wrong and can see why Madden didn't give it this week. Doesn't make maddens performance pro Morton or indeed poor. The inconsistency of it all then fair game and that's what he should be commenting on. I'd prefer if he would concentrate on our own undoubted shortcomings and address them.
Like calling out our strikers for their lack of goals (minus Cummings) and saying he is sick of draws and we r not ruthless enough. Coz if u listened to his full interview that's exactly what he says...
08-04-2017, 08:54 PM
Still top ✅
Favs to go up ✅
👍👍
08-04-2017, 08:54 PM
It was bewildering watching Harris come on today.
We are completely out of ideas. Get this season over with.
08-04-2017, 08:55 PM
Like calling out our strikers for their lack of goals (minus Cummings) and saying he is sick of draws and we r not ruthless enough. Coz if u listened to his full interview that's exactly what he says...
Exactly. Concentrate on that.
08-04-2017, 08:55 PM
Indeed. Yes we have had a good few turgid games this season but I can assure you you get plenty of them in the spl. Just ask the Hertz fans. The main issue I can see is attitude and consistency.in the big games we turn up,are fully focussed and complete the job. In run of the mill league games many players go through the motions. Against bonnyrigg we could have easily stopped playing when 3 up by were ruthless and kept going but in so many league games we got one up then just pass the ball around. I'll be glad when we are over the line but am looking forward to next season as I expect there will be 3 or 4 decent signings and the budget will be a good deal bigger. We are 9 clear with 4 to go when we were behind utd after 18 games. Nearly there but it being hibs it's never straightforward.
It will be nice to not limp over the line in the next week or so(although I'd take that). Hopefully a strong win against QotS will see us clinch it!!
Not quite true though is it. Holt has played an important part in many games this season. Not scored enough for sure but to suggest he has been useless all season is just nonsense. His performance against Hearts was brilliant.
Maybe it's just me then but I want a striker to play football and not become involved in an all in wrestling match with the opposition CH every week. Granted he's had a couple of decent games but for the majority his only focus was to be a WWE wrestler for 70 minutes. Last week when he got sarcastic cheering from the crowd, it was because he realised that he was indeed a footballer and winning headers etc was his job and not pushing and shoving with his opponent.
08-04-2017, 08:58 PM
It was bewildering watching Harris come on today.
We are completely out of ideas. Get this season over with.
Boyle wasn't up to much today.
Harris is our only other option who has any pace and is currently fit.
I've been as disappointed as anyone that Harris hasn't really kicked on, but surely 20 minutes at the end of a game when we're 8 points or so clear at the top of the league isn't that much of a risk to take?
08-04-2017, 09:00 PM
Maybe it's just me then but I want a striker to play football and not become involved in an all in wrestling match with the opposition CH every week. Granted he's had a couple of decent games but for the majority his only focus was to be a WWE wrestler for 70 minutes. Last week when he got sarcastic cheering from the crowd, it was because he realised that he was indeed a footballer and winning headers etc was his job and not pushing and shoving with his opponent.He has had more than a few decent games. At least give him the credit he is due when criticising him.
He has had more than a few decent games. At least give him the credit he is due when criticising him.
I think I'll decline if that's ok with you, 4 goals in 35 is a stinking return from any striker, particularly one with Holt's pedigree, McGinn has 5 from midfield, that tells it's own story. Oh and Graham's 5 goals is just as bad a return. Listened to Lennon's interview and he pretty much admits he made a mistake signing them.
08-04-2017, 09:10 PM
Dearie me
Some of the posts on here are bordering on lunacy
We ARE getting promoted, something we have not been able to do in the last three years
But some people just frickin moan moan moan and moan again about every little thing that they don't like
Blah blah blah,same posters yakking on about the same sh**
Let's wait until we see what next season brings and just be thankful we're out of this ****ty league and back where we belong
Oh, and we still have another potential cup final coming up
Aye, what a crap season 🙄
08-04-2017, 09:14 PM
How many points do we need to win the league?
08-04-2017, 09:22 PM
How many points do we need to win the league?
4 at the moment, 3 if Morton fail to win on Wednesday.
08-04-2017, 09:22 PM
To be fair, I don't think the ref was pro-Morton but I get the frustration with the penalty not being given. They're always given against us though.
Ilovehibs
08-04-2017, 09:25 PM
I've largely stayed out the debate but this drawing every game is getting ridiculous. If it wasn't for every other team being rubbish we would be in soapy!!
Spot on. Other results have worked in our favour many times. If Falkirk had won today it would have put a bit pressure on us.
08-04-2017, 09:27 PM
I think I'll decline if that's ok with you, 4 goals in 35 is a stinking return from any striker, particularly one with Holt's pedigree, McGinn has 5 from midfield, that tells it's own story. Oh and Graham's 5 goals is just as bad a return. Listened to Lennon's interview and he pretty much admits he made a mistake signing them.Does anything you've just said mean he hasn't had good games and played an important part in important wins?
snedzuk
08-04-2017, 09:31 PM
That would suggest we're not giving our all and that we're happy to grind draws out to get over the line; I'd be absolutely dismayed if that was the attitude at the club and I'm certain it's not.
Bringing on david gray as a last minute sub at 1-1 v Dunfermline last weekend suggested that we did not want to go out and try to win that game
08-04-2017, 09:32 PM
You won't get your wish and neither should you. Madness to sack him. He deserves a chance to get rid of players and bring better ones in.
You mentioned the sack, I didn't.
Does anything you've just said mean he hasn't had good games and played an important part in important wins?
Look enough FFS, I don't agree with you, it's my prerogative to have my own ideas and this being a football forum I'll post what I feel, whether you agree or not. You will NOT change my mind on Holt no matter how many times you keep trying to tell how important a player he is for us because the stats, the way we play and our wonderful ( not ) goals for, tells me he hasn't done enough this season. You can add Graham and Keatings to that list also.
Thank **** we have Cummings or we'd be right up **** creek without a paddle.
08-04-2017, 09:41 PM
Look enough FFS, I don't agree with you, it's my prerogative to have my own ideas and this being a football forum I'll post what I feel, whether you agree or not. You will NOT change my mind on Holt no matter how many times you keep trying to tell how important a player he is for us because the stats, the way we play and our wonderful ( not ) goals for, tells me he hasn't done enough this season. You can add Graham and Keatings to that list also.
Thank **** we have Cummings or we'd be right up **** creek without a paddle.No one suggested you didn't have a right to your opinion but if it is based purely on stats it is pretty rubbish. Holt hasn't been great but he has had at least 10 very good games and those performances have helped get us some important points.
Dearie me
Some of the posts on here are bordering on lunacy
We ARE getting promoted, something we have not been able to do in the last three years
But some people just frickin moan moan moan and moan again about every little thing that they don't like
Blah blah blah,same posters yakking on about the same sh**
Let's wait until we see what next season brings and just be thankful we're out of this ****ty league and back where we belong
Oh, and we still have another potential cup final coming up
Aye, what a crap season 🙄
You get the impression that it would almost please some if Hibs were to fail to get promotion.
No one suggested you didn't have a right to your opinion but if it is based purely on stats it is pretty rubbish. Holt hasn't been great but he has had at least 10 very good games and those performances have helped get us some important points.
It's not just stats though, I sit and watch him from the east every home game, he got sarcastic cheering the other week when he started to win a couple of headers because his main aim most games is to look like a WWE wrestler jostling with his opposite number instead of trying to play football. When he concentrates on doing the basics of being a target man he's half decent still but no, he'll spend half the game trying to rough up their centre half. He does all this because he's now past it and can't use his guile to turn a defender like he used to, his phisicallity is his only weapon nowadays, he's lost all knack of being able to score goals because he 's not trying to.
It's a pity the other 25 games he's had have been stinking, if he'd been half great in those maybe the league would've been won.
08-04-2017, 09:57 PM
You get the impression that it would almost please some if Hibs were to fail to get promotion.
Do you? I get the impression that it isnt as black and white as winning league for some. If you are happy with everything then no worries for you then.
Who said I was happy with everything? But one thing is for sure I'm not ready to slash my wrist over the performances.
08-04-2017, 10:03 PM
The football might not be the prettiest but to apply context, last season we lost 8 games.....this season only 3 (thus far). The fact we have not lost as many games has given us the 'buffer'. We are hard to beat, which in any league, is a very good thing to build on going into next season. As to people questioning NL's management, he came in at a time when it would have been incredibly difficult to 'rebuild' the way he maybe wanted to, given we were just off the back of the best result in a century ! The additions of Commons and Ambrose have worked really well, arguably (minus the SC) better than Stokes.
The primary objective was/is to get promoted and it's looking like we will. Beyond that, let's wait and see what he has planned. There are players who should be worried - ones who are regularly injured won't stand a chance with Lennon (in my opinion). Lads who have been on the fringes for seasons (Harris, Handling, Stanton, Keatings, Graham) - will be gone.
Hoping for a huge turnout v Queens and fingers crossed that game (win) will put the league to bed. Then, and only then, will we see what NL really has planned for the squad.
It's not just stats though, I sit and watch him from the east every home game, he got sarcastic cheering the other week when he started to win a couple of headers because his main aim most games is to look like a WWE wrestler jostling with his opposite number instead of trying to play football. When he concentrates on doing the basics of being a target man he's half decent still but no, he'll spend half the game trying to rough up their centre half. He does all this because he's now past it and can't use his guile to turn a defender like he used to, his phisicallity is his only weapon nowadays, he's lost all knack of being able to score goals because he 's not trying to.
It's a pity the other 25 games he's had have been stinking, if he'd been half great in those maybe the league would've been won.
Holt's fault we haven't won the league yet everyone. Good to know the reason. Cheers!
08-04-2017, 10:08 PM
Who said I was happy with everything? But one thing is for sure I'm not ready to slash my wrist over the performances.
Nor is anyone else, folk are IMO right to be unhappy or concerned about the manner we won this league. Winning it does not mean it wasn't without fault.
No Hearts no Rangers I expected us to win it, I also expected us to manage to get a hell of a lot more wins in doing so. Hearts and The Rangers managed it with us as competition.
Momentum is not there for me, I don't want lots of players to come and go but unfortunately several have not been good enough.
Nor is anyone else, folk are IMO right to be unhappy or concerned about the manner we won this league. Winning it does not mean it wasn't without fault.
No Hearts no Rangers I expected us to win it, I also expected us to manage to get a hell of a lot more wins in doing so. Hearts and The Rangers managed it with us as competition.
Momentum is not there for me, I don't want lots of players to come and go but unfortunately several have not been good enough.
Considering that we finished 3rd behind Falkirk & failed miserably in the play offs I woula argue that we didn't provide great opposition. Totally agree on your point on players not being good enough I would say quite a few more than several.
08-04-2017, 10:15 PM
We will be promoted, but my god it's been a lot harder than it should have been. 48 goals in 32 games is a very poor return for this league. 3 defeats is good, but 13 wins very poor, far too many draws, the league should have been won weeks ago. Hertz won with 91 points, the Huns with 81 points, will be lucky it win it with 70 points this season.
Major changes needed season to compete at SPL.
08-04-2017, 10:15 PM
One thing I will say that has improved is our defending long throws and corners. Last season we always panicked late on with these
08-04-2017, 10:19 PM
Considering that we finished 3rd behind Falkirk & failed miserably in the play offs I woula argue that we didn't provide great opposition. Totally agree on your point on players not being good enough I would say quite a few more than several.
Both us and Falkirk finished 2nd 3rd with 70pts meaning us and Falkirk provided more competition than we have had.
Hibs have only had competition due to our own failure to put teams away and this for me is a concern. At start of season seeing our attacking options was confident of winning this comfortably from front to back.
Defence and keepers are the heroes this season.
Holt's fault we haven't won the league yet everyone. Good to know the reason. Cheers!
Maybe you should look at the sarcasm in my post before being sarcastic yourself.
MWHIBBIES kept telling me Holt has had 10 very good games that were vital wins for us, I pointed out that it was a pity the other 25 have been honking and maybe some better performances from him might've brought more wins, hence winning the league already.
CL0762
08-04-2017, 10:35 PM
Amongst all the negativity, can I just say it's refreshing to hear Lennon speak so highly of Jason after all that patter earlier on in the season that they weren't seeing eye to eye or Lennon didn't like him.
Cummings again today showed why he is our most vital player IMO, he showed outstanding composure to score that goal and I dread to think where we'd be without him.
Slightly negative point for me is McGregor diving in yet again when the player was going nowhere, he seems to have these brain fart moments from time to time which has cost us today. Can't say too much against him though because, well, he's Darren McGregor.
08-04-2017, 10:38 PM
Amongst all the negativity, can I just say it's refreshing to hear Lennon speak so highly of Jason after all that patter earlier on in the season that they weren't seeing eye to eye or Lennon didn't like him.
Cummings again today showed why he is our most vital player IMO, he showed outstanding composure to score that goal and I dread to think where we'd be without him.
Slightly negative point for me is McGregor diving in yet again when the player was going nowhere, he seems to have these brain fart moments from time to time which has cost us today. Can't say too much against him though because, well, he's Darren McGregor.
Daz has been poor for around a month .
08-04-2017, 10:39 PM
It's a pity the other 25 games he's had have been stinking, if he'd been half great in those maybe the league would've been won.His physicality is his only weapon yet you complain about him using it? I just don't understand.
Him being rubbish in 25 games in just laughable.
08-04-2017, 10:40 PM
Daz has been poor for around a month .Daz strolled the game today aside from that mistake. A mistake which originated from Ambrose getting turned on the half way line.
Daz was fine last week as well.
As have most of the team.
CL0762
08-04-2017, 10:41 PM
Think he misses Hanlon in beside him. It's no coincidence IMO that whenever we go on a shan run, it's when Paul is injured.
Soldiersteve
08-04-2017, 10:43 PM
No one suggested you didn't have a right to your opinion but if it is based purely on stats it is pretty rubbish. Holt hasn't been great but he has had at least 10 very good games and those performances have helped get us some important points.
Surely the league will be won on stats.:aok: :flag:
08-04-2017, 10:44 PM
Daz strolled the game today aside from that mistake. A mistake which originated from Ambrose getting turned on the half way line.
Daz was fine last week as well.
Disagree, even when the team is not playing that well you usually get a decent performance from McGregor, not so in recent weeks.
08-04-2017, 10:45 PM
Surely the league will be won on stats.:aok: :flag:Yes. With points Holt has played a part in earning.
08-04-2017, 10:45 PM
His physicality is his only weapon yet you complain about him using it? I just don't understand.
There is nothing laughable about Holt, Graham and Keatings. Utterly dreadful goal tallys from them all. They play up front so I expect them to score and yeah they might even score an important goal or two. Bottom line is they all should have scored a lot more in this league and I do not want to see any of them next season.
We will win this in spite of our forward play not because of it. Some if our defenders should be getting the plaudits we would give to a striker who scored 25 goals this term as that is how important they have needed to be due to our lack of creativity and finishing.
08-04-2017, 10:46 PM
Think he misses Hanlon in beside him. It's no coincidence IMO that whenever we go on a shan run, it's when Paul is injured.
I'd agree Craig.
His physicality is his only weapon yet you complain about him using it? I just don't understand.
He came here with a rep for being a very good goal scorer and his stats in better leagues showed that, yet all he's shown is that he can jostle and wrestle with defenders, great if it's rugby but it's football we play, ( why did he get sarcastic cheering when he won headers a few games ago )
You came out with the statement he's been very good in 10 games which helped us win them, that means he's been either rubbish/poor/average in the other 25 games he's played
The fact that Lennon in his latest interview is questioning his signings and what they've brought to the table says it all.
08-04-2017, 10:55 PM
He came here with a rep for being a very good goal scorer and his stats in better leagues showed that, yet all he's shown is that he can jostle and wrestle with defenders, great if it's rugby but it's football we play, ( why did he get sarcastic cheering when he won headers a few games ago )
You came out with the statement he's been very good in 10 games which helped us win them, that means he's been either rubbish/poor/average in the other 25 games he's played
The fact that Lennon in his latest interview is questioning his signings and what they've brought to the table says it all.It doesn't say it all.
10 good games could be 30 points he has helped us earn. That is half our total.
The ones sarcastically cheering him are idiots and I'd rather they didn't come to Easter Road. Sarcastically cheering any Hibs player is utterly embarrassing and much worse for our prospects of winning the game than any abuse from opposition fans.
Lennon is right to question the lack of goals, I didn't say otherwise, but you saying Holt has been a huddie all season is just utter *****.
It doesn't say it all.
The ones sarcastically cheering him are idiots and I'd rather they didn't come to Easter Road. Sarcastically cheering any Hibs player is utterly embarrassing and much worse for our prospects of winning the game than any abuse from opposition fans.
Lennon is right to question the lack of goals, I didn't say otherwise, but you saying Holt has been a huddie all season is just utter *****.
And you constantly bigging him up is also utter crap, stop questioning me on why I don't like Holt or Graham, I have told you my reasons, if you constantly keep replying to my posts in this way I am going to report you for trolling as that's all it is, posting to get a reaction.
08-04-2017, 11:00 PM
Yes. With points Holt has played a part in earning.
Yes he earned us points as did Keatings, they play upfront so they will earn points.
Lee Power earned us 3pts v Celtic this is the nature of playing upfront the point being they needed to earn us a lot more points just like other players in our history. James Collins scored a winner v St Johnstone and scored a whopping 5 other goals that maybe earned us points but he was still pish. Unfortunatley I feel badly let down by our final 3rd this term
We have had plenty of players earn us points but whom are not good.
08-04-2017, 11:04 PM
I've been a big Holt fan until the last 2 or 3 games.
What I've seen the last 3 games have been the way people have been describing him all season, but I previously saw it differently.
He was only on for a short while today but was brutal. Why does he just plant himself instead of challenging for a header? Why was he consistently miles away from Jason Cummings?
He was superb against Hearts and in spite of his lack of goals I always thought we looked better with him in the team.
He needs to give himself a shake. There aren't going to be many appearances ahead of him in his career - I suggest he makes sure he makes his mark in the ones that remain.
08-04-2017, 11:04 PM
You have to be joking ??
He's been absolutely solid the whole season, player of the year material. It's Daz or JC for that accolade.
08-04-2017, 11:05 PM
And you constantly bigging him up is also utter crap, stop questioning me on why I don't like Holt or Graham, I have told you my reasons, if you constantly keep replying to my posts in this way I am going to report you for trolling as that's all it is, posting to get a reaction.
Report me if you wish, I am clearly not trolling. I am posting my opinion and replying to your points. You are welcome to your opinion, I am welcome to mine. I have no idea why you are getting personally offended.
08-04-2017, 11:09 PM
It doesn't say it all.
I sarcastically cheered him.
Like you, I like Holt and think he's brought a lot to our season.
The night he got the sarcastic cheer he was playing utter Tom Kite and wasn't interested in making a meaningful contribution, focussing instead on his petty battle.
Immediately after the cheer he got his act together and won a number of headers, playing the way most of us think he can.
I thought it had a positive impact on that occasion and I'm pretty unapologetic about doing it.
We could do with Holt getting a grip, getting in the team and focussing on playing football, tying together our attacking efforts better than anyone else we have can do.
08-04-2017, 11:12 PM
You have to be joking ??
He's been absolutely solid the whole season, player of the year material. It's Daz or JC for that accolade.
No not joking, Darren bleeds green and I love the fact that a fan is playing for us. I really do think that he's been off the boil for a few weeks, late/mis-timed tackles and headers. Just my opinion and I wasn't there today.
08-04-2017, 11:17 PM
I sarcastically cheered him.
Like you, I like Holt and think he's brought a lot to our season.
The night he got the sarcastic cheer he was playing utter Tom Kite and wasn't interested in making a meaningful contribution, focussing instead on his petty battle.
Immediately after the cheer he got his act together and won a number of headers, playing the way most of us think he can.
I thought it had a positive impact on that occasion and I'm pretty unapologetic about doing it.
We could do with Holt getting a grip, getting in the team and focussing on playing football, tying together our attacking efforts better than anyone else we have can do.You say you like Holt and think he has brought a lot to our season but when he hits poor form you sarcastically cheer him? Very unfair. Personally I'd never sarcastically cheer anyone trying their best for Hibs.
Report me if you wish, I am clearly not trolling. I am posting my opinion and replying to your points. You are welcome to your opinion, I am welcome to mine. I have no idea why you are getting personally offended.
I say trolling because you've constantly questioned my viewpoint even though I have stated it's a forum and I'm entitled to it but instead of saying fair enough and moving on, you keep replying questioning my posts, enough! I've said I think Holt is past it and a huddie. I also think Graham is a huddie but funny how you've decided not to comment on him.
08-04-2017, 11:24 PM
I say trolling because you've constantly questioned my viewpoint even though I have stated it's a forum and I'm entitled to it but instead of saying fair enough and moving on, you keep replying questioning my posts, enough! I've said I think Holt is past it and a huddie. I also think Graham is a huddie but funny how you've decided not to comment on him.
I would have to agree with you, I would cut them a bit more slack if this was SPL but its the Championship and plenty of players have had similar records in higher league and been deemed not good enough.
08-04-2017, 11:24 PM
No not joking, Darren bleeds green and I love the fact that a fan is playing for us. I really do think that he's been off the boil for a few weeks, late/mis-timed tackles and headers. Just my opinion and I wasn't there today.
Absolutely entitled to your opinion mate........I think Daz has been utterly immense this season.
The late time tackle v Hearts (which may be on your mind) was because Bartley was muscled out by a 8 stone weakling in Currie.......hence he was given no choice that game.......I can't recall many other times Daz has been mistimed other than today (obviously).
On Bartley, I noticed brooster got it tight for rightly calling him out for form.......Marvin is really really poor unless the games matter......doesn't do it at the 'business end' for me too........so he needs to speed up his play and be a midfielder who produces every game.
supermcginn
08-04-2017, 11:25 PM
You have to be joking ??
Exactly, if he's been poor then what have the rest of them been!
So you post your opinion and I'm to reply saying fair enough and move on? That would be very boring wouldn't it. I am quite entitled to question your opinion and give mine. In return you are quite entitled to question my opinion, address my points and give your response. That is what has been happening. No trolling.
It isn't funny that I've not commented on Graham. I just haven't commented on him. Would you like me to comment on him?
You say you like Holt and think he has brought a lot to our season but when he hits poor form you sarcastically cheer him? Very unfair. Personally I'd never sarcastically cheer anyone trying their best for Hibs.
I didn't think he was trying his best.
A player may be a manager's best player but he'll still get a bollocking when he drops his standards.
Holt was frustrating the life out of me that night, and he has done the last 2 or 3 times I've seen him play.
It wasn't just poor form, I thought he was getting distracted, choosing to get involved with defenders rather than play the game.
Nobody should ever be immune from criticism, although sometimes criticism can be over the top and unfair. If that's the way you saw that treatment for Holt, then fair enough, that's your opinion.
08-04-2017, 11:40 PM
So you post your opinion and I'm to reply saying fair enough and move on? That would be very boring wouldn't it. I am quite entitled to question your opinion and give mine. In return you are quite entitled to question my opinion, address my points and give your response. That is what has been happening. No trolling.
It isn't funny that I've not commented on Graham. I just haven't commented on him. Would you like me to comment on him?
I've followed this thread and I wouldn't say you're trolling - seems a reasonable discussion on the merits of Holt, to be honest.
09-04-2017, 12:24 AM
I give up
F%*% knows what you base that on 😡
09-04-2017, 12:52 AM
Holt looked like a poor signing the day he signed and I said so on that thread, much to the annoyance of others. He arrived here having only scored 8 goals in the previous 3 seasons since leaving Norwich. He has basically carried on that same form for us. It's not like we have been unlucky that his legs have gone when he arrived here. They had been gone for about 3 years before he got here.
It looks like we have got away with it but hopefully the club learn from it.
09-04-2017, 01:20 AM
Holt looked like a poor signing the day he signed and I said so on that thread, much to the annoyance of others. He arrived here having only scored 8 goals in the previous 3 seasons since leaving Norwich. He has basically carried on that same form for us. It's not like we have been unlucky that his legs have gone when he arrived here. They had been gone for about 3 years before he got here.
At least you haven't kept going on and on about it.
09-04-2017, 02:38 AM
At least you haven't kept going on and on about it.
[emoji23] Might let it go now that the chance of him re-signing has gone. Was worried people at the club would buy into the whole 'he makes space for others' stuff.
09-04-2017, 04:19 AM
Wonder if the folks that didn't rate him still feel the same. They must be an endangered species now surely - or Yams..
09-04-2017, 04:36 AM
Craig Brewster 5 goals in 28 games. Hardly prolific and yet the thing was he was there to also bring on O'Connor.
Jonatan johansson astoundingly 0 from 9 games despite being proven at SPL level.
My view Holt is there to do a specific job and if he's keeping a regular game he's doing what he's been asked.
At Hibs it seems with the exception of Sparky our strikers are more dependent on those around them - he was just a phenomenon who made things out of nothing - and carried Fenlons team in the process...
09-04-2017, 06:10 AM
Whats stopping them a few things our midfield with Bartley in it is chaotic, it lacks shape and sorry but he is not a good all round footballer . The ball goes up front from defence or midfield and rarely gets held up to link the game up ..none of our forwards do it very well but on the occassion they do we are a bit more creative but it hardly happens. We have two fullbacks that when they get into the final third have normally poor deliveries into the area, one quality ball Gray put in nearly led to a goal the rest of the time its poor., so forwards not getting enough chances and when they do they don't take them I can think of at least 7-8 times in the last 3,games that we haven't even made there keeper work from in the 6 yard box. Our forwards very rarely make themselves a half chance with a quick turn ...Cummings whilst ever thankful for his goals, hasn't got the best work ethic a lot of ethic a lot of the time, but in saying that what he plays with up front is pretty poor indeed.
We lack genuine pace Boyle alone gives us that but his end product is too often mis hit, too Stein, doesn't pass first defender or he makes the wrong decision .! !
Fortunately we have good centre halves and a decent no.1 keeper .
I think in our midfield Bartley apart we have 4 good footballers but NL seems to have been unable to find the best set up and for whatever reason keeps sticking Bartley in e en in the games where there is no need for his breaking up play abilities, Fyvie, McGinn and mcgeoch are more than capable of winning tackles a d battles in there for 90% of the games, and are natural with the ball at their feet and subsubsquently more creative and provide more going forward.
Added to this some players are showing that they are at their level and for whatever reason just don't perform well enough week in and week out ..sorry but for .e the prime example is David Gray he has been poor most of the season,given almost nothing of note in games compared to last year. Others are the same ..with very sporadic decent performances and its little wonder that we rarely see a game that you can say we have played well throughout in !
All of these factors for me are reflected in the fact we have struggled to win games and to have seen this league out when it should have been about 3-4,games ago !!
So as has been said I think there is,a lot of clearing out to be done, intrigued to see how much takes place ..
Ilovehibs
09-04-2017, 06:13 AM
I've been a big Holt fan until the last 2 or 3 games.
What I've seen the last 3 games have been the way people have been describing him all season, but I previously saw it differently.
He was only on for a short while today but was brutal. Why does he just plant himself instead of challenging for a header? Why was he consistently miles away from Jason Cummings?
He was superb against Hearts and in spite of his lack of goals I always thought we looked better with him in the team.
He needs to give himself a shake. There aren't going to be many appearances ahead of him in his career - I suggest he makes sure he makes his mark in the ones that remain.
I think you've summed it up.
09-04-2017, 06:38 AM
I really hope that Lennon is asking the team to play this brand of football as a means to an end, or perhaps he just doesn't think we have the quality of player who can play better football. Strip out the Hearts game and the United game and it's been eye bleeding stuff pretty much all season. Areas to improve upon for next season - right/left back, pacey winger, creative midfielder and a supporting forward who can also score goals!!
09-04-2017, 08:06 AM
[emoji23] Might let it go now that the chance of him re-signing has gone. Was worried people at the club would buy into the whole 'he makes space for others' stuff.
The chance of him re-siging has gone? Whats that based on....have i missed a news item?
09-04-2017, 08:25 AM
First half yesterday we were very good. If McGinn and Graham had taken their chances we would have won the game before McGregor dived in and gave away the penalty. The main frustration for me is that this team only plays in spells. The league has been won but really fear the hammering Aberdeen could give us. Big changes needed for next season. 2 FBs, 2 wide midfielders and 2 strikers
09-04-2017, 09:22 AM
First half yesterday we were very good. If McGinn and Graham had taken their chances we would have won the game before McGregor dived in and gave away the penalty. The main frustration for me is that this team only plays in spells. The league has been won but really fear the hammering Aberdeen could give us. Big changes needed for next season. 2 FBs, 2 wide midfielders and 2 strikers
We definitely weren't "very good" from where I was sitting. We were in control of the game as much as Morton didn't create anything but some of our play such as passing, crossing and going past a man was pretty poor. Better than the second half? Yes. But still not great IMO
09-04-2017, 09:59 AM
People on here just wont admit they are wrong, but we have a forward line as poor as anything we've had in the past.
Cummings does score some great goals, yesterdays was up there with the best, but apart from the odd game he's not played that well as a footballer goals apart. He's not progressed as much as i'd hoped in the other parts of his game that he clearly can do as we all saw against Hearts where he was fantastic for the whole game.
Holt is a waste of a jersey 90% of the time, Graham has to be up there with some of the worst players we've seen in a hibs strip, and Keatings while having good technique is just not good enough to be a player where we all want Hibs to be.
As an attacking force, we do not have the right blend. Wide we have Boyle, he's very direct but has no final ball. He has pace and thats about it, no tricks no real skill to beat a man, just pace and little quality when delivering the ball. I really think he's a better player up front than those mentioned above bar Cummings.
Our midfield players rarely get beyond the front men, and the play is way too pedestrian which allows every team the time to get behind the ball in numbers far too easily.
We need at least 5 new first choice picks in my opinion, and thats allowing for us keeping John McGinn and Cummings.
09-04-2017, 10:14 AM
Boyle wasn't up to much today.
Harris is our only other option who has any pace and is currently fit.
I've been as disappointed as anyone that Harris hasn't really kicked on, but surely 20 minutes at the end of a game when we're 8 points or so clear at the top of the league isn't that much of a risk to take?
He showed more invention in his cameo than Boyle has for weeks...Boyle was awful today continually wasted the ball when in good positions in 1st half...and 2nd half totally anonymous
09-04-2017, 10:16 AM
I can answer that question, as i'm in the same camp as him. We've played as well as i'd like us to play a number of times over the last few seasons, but nowhere near enough for my liking.
The last time we played well and picked up enough points to get where i believe we should be was under Hughes, where we finished in a European place through our league position.
Now we have folk telling me how good things are when we are skooshing the Championship. :faf: Now forgive me for not joining in with this merriment, but i will be happy with the team, with the management and with the club when they are challenging for Europe through our league position.
Obviously winning the cup was another time where we played as well as i'd like us to play. :greengrin
09-04-2017, 10:17 AM
You sure do...I think some posters are almost happy on here when we don't win as they get a chance to come.on here and moan. The green tinted specs of the Stubbs era in the LEAGUE is also frightening - some have very short memories
09-04-2017, 10:20 AM
This 100% mate we always struggle when PH is out the side...thought ambrose sold the jerseys at the pen incident today...turned far too easily on half way line
09-04-2017, 10:25 AM
Not in my opinion, i'd say he's hardly played VERY good at all, perhaps against Hearts in the replay, Morton in the 4-0 game but those games apart i'd say he's been very very average to poor in most of the others.
He has been part of the team getting important points, as he's also been part of the team who've dropped way too many points for my liking.
09-04-2017, 10:27 AM
We definitely weren't "very good" from where I was sitting. We were in control of the game as much as Morton didn't create anything but some of our play such as passing, crossing and going past a man was pretty poor. Better than the second half? Yes. But still not great IMO
That's harsh mate we were very decent 1st half and in total control.of the game. As lucky says if.mcginn and Graham take their chances we coulda be 3 up not to mention the stonewall pen we never got...AGAIN. however 2nd half we were murder
09-04-2017, 10:42 AM
That's harsh mate we were very decent 1st half and in total control.of the game. As lucky says if.mcginn and Graham take their chances we coulda be 3 up not to mention the stonewall pen we never got...AGAIN. however 2nd half we were murder
We were strolling in the first half, very comfortable, and Morton hadn't threatened us at all.
We were away to one of our closest challengers so it wasn't an easy game, not a part-time team at home.
I suppose Morton forced us back a bit in the second half, but we didn't look as interested in going forward and it all fell apart in an attacking sense.
Their goal still seemed like it came out of nothing as I thought we were comfortable defensively.
It might not have been beautiful, flowing attacking football but I agree with you that the first half yesterday was very decent. It was as good as the second half was bad.
StevieCowan
09-04-2017, 11:21 AM
Doesn't look like a penalty to me. Hands/arms in natural position in relation to the shot/cross and closeness.
09-04-2017, 11:51 AM
As I said, we were in control but don't think we were anywhere close to "very decent". Too much slack play, passes going astray, poor deliveries in to the box (especially from Boyle) to be classed as a very decent or very good performance. With how much we were in control we could have and should have been a lot better in possession of the ball IMO
09-04-2017, 12:10 PM
The chance of him re-siging has gone? Whats that based on....have i missed a news item?
https://planetradio.co.uk/clyde/sport/football-news/listen-neil-lennon-maybe-agenda-us/
At the end of this interview when talking about our lack of goals Lennon admits he didn't bring the right players. I don't think he would repeat the mistake now that he has identified it.
You sure do...I think some posters are almost happy on here when we don't win as they get a chance to come.on here and moan. The green tinted specs of the Stubbs era in the LEAGUE is also frightening - some have very short memories
Yip the league result after the turn of the year last season are now well forgotten.
09-04-2017, 12:38 PM
Yip the league result after the turn of the year last season are now well forgotten.
I'm as frustrated as anyone at the number of draws but we hardly ever lose...we lost 4 on the bounce around this time last year...conveniently forgotten by all this "pretty football" nonsense. I don't recall it being pretty losing at both Dumbarton and Alloa twice that's for sure
09-04-2017, 12:59 PM
I'm as frustrated as anyone at the number of draws but we hardly ever lose...we lost 4 on the bounce around this time last year...conveniently forgotten by all this "pretty football" nonsense. I don't recall it being pretty losing at both Dumbarton and Alloa twice that's for sure
100%
Fergos
09-04-2017, 01:03 PM
Grant Holt.....he has played very well in a handful of games this year.
Fact of the matter is he shouldn't be playing every week or as much as he has been but has had too as Lennon didn't add another badly needed striker in the 2 transfers Windows he's been here. He should have been an option not a regular starter.
An issue just as big is the goals and creativity from the middle of the park. I mentioned earlier in this thread about Dylan and his very obvious lack of creativity. He's a decent player but doesn't score or create anything in fact he's just as comfortable giving a simple pass ball to the centre halfs for them to launch forward instead of creating something himself.
I agree with Blackpool Hibs, we badly need two decent full backs and at least 2 wide players who can take men on and create goals and score.
09-04-2017, 01:24 PM
We need to watch the Dobmeister next week, he's scored a mad amount of goals and might actually be worth a contract next season in the premier league!
Edit: actually just checked and he's 34, so maybe not.
09-04-2017, 01:39 PM
Grant Holt.....he has played very well in a handful of games this year.
Fact of the matter is he shouldn't be playing every week or as much as he has been but has had too as Lennon didn't add another badly needed striker in the 2 transfers Windows he's been here. He should have been an option not a regular starter.
An issue just as big is the goals and creativity from the middle of the park. I mentioned earlier in this thread about Dylan and his very obvious lack of creativity. He's a decent player but doesn't score or create anything in fact he's just as comfortable giving a simple pass ball to the centre halfs for them to launch forward instead of creating something himself.
I agree with Blackpool Hibs, we badly need two decent full backs and at least 2 wide players who can take men on and create goals and score.
I think the problem is that we have too many players in the final third who are a "decent option off the bench" but not enough nailed down starters.
Holt, Graham, Keatings, Boyle - let's face it, none of them are hopeless, a disgrace and not fit to wear the shirt, but they all fall into the "useful option" category.
Cummings is the only one who has proven himself to be a first pick, and even then his game isn't complete, he was dropped from the team for a fairly long spell and when he's not scoring he isn't offering us a great deal.
I totally disagree that we need fullbacks - ours are excellent fullbacks, but they need to have better players playing in front of them to carry our attacking threat.
Fergos
09-04-2017, 01:49 PM
I think the problem is that we have too many players in the final third who are a "decent option off the bench" but not enough nailed down starters.
Holt, Graham, Keatings, Boyle - let's face it, none of them are hopeless, a disgrace and not fit to wear the shirt, but they all fall into the "useful option" category.
Cummings is the only one who has proven himself to be a first pick, and even then his game isn't complete, he was dropped from the team for a fairly long spell and when he's not scoring he isn't offering us a great deal.
I totally disagree that we need fullbacks - ours are excellent fullbacks, but they need to have better players playing in front of them to carry our attacking threat.
Aye agree Smartie on the forwards we have being good options but not first picks - none of them are useless and have all contributed in some way this year. Are they good enough for the step up to the PL, not so sure?
On the full back point made, I have no issue at all with Lewis or Sir David but some competition would be a positive IMHO.
Width from the middle is essential alongside a first pick striker(s) who is ruthless when provided with even half a chance.
Bring in the wide players then we can settle the middle of midfield down by playing from a combination McGinn, Dylan, Bartley, Fyvie etc and build from there. The spine of the team isn't that far off but we badly need an injection of creativity and goal scoring.
09-04-2017, 02:07 PM
Sent from my SM-G920F using TapatalkWe didn't lose at Alloa twice, won 1-0 through there in the first game.
09-04-2017, 02:27 PM
There is surely a middle ground.
Some games under Stubbs we were rotten and he had some poor mini runs but in general the football was better and when we played we could really play...as our cup runs showed.
Basically Stubbs simply wouldn't send his teams out to hoof or grind, that on occasion cost him but overall it was much much easier on the eye watching a football team actually playing or attempting to play football.
Lennon has been rather more pragmatic maybe and the football has suffered. We are also clearly short of the quality of midfield that allows you to play passing football so maybe to some degree he's had no option.
But none the less in terms of football Stubbs' teams were miles better to watch on most occasions compared to this season that is surely not up for debate.
OxoHibby
09-04-2017, 02:52 PM
I've heard this a few times that Cummings game isn't complete but what does he need to complete his game?
Genuine question BTW. Whenever I have seem him I think his work rate is decent runs the channels but often doesn't get service. Over the last few seasons it isn't often he hasn't been scoring. Is it the same reason Strachan wouldn't pick Griffiths cos he's not great at defending corners? Cummings job is striker and he is pretty good at it
09-04-2017, 02:57 PM
I've heard this a few times that Cummings game isn't complete but what does he need to complete his game?
Genuine question BTW. Whenever I have seem him I think his work rate is decent runs the channels but often doesn't get service. Over the last few seasons it isn't often he hasn't been scoring. Is it the same reason Strachan wouldn't pick Griffiths cos he's not great at defending corners? Cummings job is striker and he is pretty good at it
I think he is much, much better now than he was at the start of the season.
He's worked hard and improved his game hugely.
I would say that he's still a bit predictable about wanting to get it onto his left foot before shooting. Every now and then he could do with surprising teams by taking it on his right.
He's much, much better at running the channels than he used to be and is a big threat in behind teams.
Come to think of it, I'm being a bit harsh and you're probably right. I agreed with Lennon at the start of the season that when he's not scoring he's not adding much but that's not really the case any more.
09-04-2017, 03:01 PM
We need to watch the Dobmeister next week, he's scored a mad amount of goals and might actually be worth a contract next season in the premier league!
Edit: actually just checked and he's 34, so maybe not.
Can't believe he's that age, where have the years gone?!!!
OxoHibby
09-04-2017, 03:10 PM
I think he is much, much better now than he was at the start of the season.
He's worked hard and improved his game hugely.
I would say that he's still a bit predictable about wanting to get it onto his left foot before shooting. Every now and then he could do with surprising teams by taking it on his right.
He's much, much better at running the channels than he used to be and is a big threat in behind teams.
Come to think of it, I'm being a bit harsh and you're probably right. I agreed with Lennon at the start of the season that when he's not scoring he's not adding much but that's not really the case any more.
Fair point about his left foot. Other than that I can't see what else HD is lacking if we ignore the penalty in last year's semi:)
Spot on, over my many years supporting Hibs I can't remember a sustained period of the type of football that some hanker for. The 70s some great indivdual results but no real achievements, same with the McClesh & Mowbury teams. I watched & supported Hibs when Auld & Miller were managers, pity some posting on here just now hadn't then they would know real pain.
09-04-2017, 05:24 PM
Spot on, over my many years supporting Hibs I can't remember a sustained period of the type of football that some hanker for. The 70s some great indivdual results but no real achievements, same with the McClesh & Mowbury teams. I watched & supported Hibs when Auld & Miller were managers, pity some posting on here just now hadn't then they would know real pain.
I was around for the Miller era....now that was turgid stuff mate for the majority of the 10 or so years
09-04-2017, 05:25 PM
We didn't lose at Alloa twice, won 1-0 through there in the first game.
We lost twice at alloa under Stubbs...2 1 in 1st season and 1 0 a few weeks before the end of last season.
I was around for the Miller era....now that was turgid stuff mate for the majority of the 10 or so years
Boy oh boy wasn't it just, seem to remember getting pumped out of Scottish/League cup by Airdrie at ER, people forget these things, conveniently.
09-04-2017, 05:54 PM
Boy oh boy wasn't it just, seem to remember getting pumped out of Scottish/League cup by Airdrie at ER, people forget these things, conveniently.
I remember getting pumped.off Dunfermline at ER in the League Cup was it 3 1 maybe...awful stuff. Clydebank away in Scottish too we lost 1 nil
09-04-2017, 07:21 PM
2k away fans at cappielow yesterday helping them to their biggest attendance of the season
09-04-2017, 07:23 PM
2k away fans at cappielow yesterday helping them to their biggest attendance of the seasonWas more than that, home ends were singing about Lennon and Ambrose the whole game, must've been full of Hibs fans.
09-04-2017, 07:28 PM
Was more than that, home ends were singing about Lennon and Ambrose the whole game, must've been full of Hibs fans.
right enough, they appeared to like efe when they were at ER 2 weeks ago...oddly, i was hoping he would score against them so we could sing about him as well :)
09-04-2017, 07:37 PM
People on here just wont admit they are wrong, but we have a forward line as poor as anything we've had in the past.
Cummings does score some great goals, yesterdays was up there with the best, but apart from the odd game he's not played that well as a footballer goals apart. He's not progressed as much as i'd hoped in the other parts of his game that he clearly can do as we all saw against Hearts where he was fantastic for the whole game.
Holt is a waste of a jersey 90% of the time, Graham has to be up there with some of the worst players we've seen in a hibs strip, and Keatings while having good technique is just not good enough to be a player where we all want Hibs to be.
As an attacking force, we do not have the right blend. Wide we have Boyle, he's very direct but has no final ball. He has pace and thats about it, no tricks no real skill to beat a man, just pace and little quality when delivering the ball. I really think he's a better player up front than those mentioned above bar Cummings.
Our midfield players rarely get beyond the front men, and the play is way too pedestrian which allows every team the time to get behind the ball in numbers far too easily.
We need at least 5 new first choice picks in my opinion, and thats allowing for us keeping John McGinn and Cummings.
Yep totally agree.
Some serious changes required over the summer months.
We just need to get the job done and get over the line in terms of promotion, see what happens in the semi final (and possible final) and then look forward to next season. It looks like we'll have our highest ever number of season ticket holders next season and we'll be looking at sell outs for the games against Sevco, Celtic, Hearts and possibly Aberdeen so we really ought to have the finances in place to build a squad that's capable of challenging for the top four in the Premiership.
09-04-2017, 11:25 PM
stupid challenge.
Just watched the goals on Freeview.
Re. the pen. Does Daz no' play the ball first? :dunno:
Nobody seems to be screaming about it so I assume I'm wrong.