View Full Version : Efe Ambrose

Pages : 1 [2] 3

27-02-2017, 08:02 PM
Indeed you are. We agree to differ. My opinion hitherto is that he's pish; but, If he comes here for a few weeks and helps us get promoted, good on him and well done.

Who would you choose at centre half, if you were forced to do so, Ryan McGivern, Michael Nelson or Efe Ambrose? :cb

If we were buiding our defence around him on a long term basis I would understand the concern. As it is, it's short term response to a fairly dire situation. On that basis we need to consider what is acailable and Thomas Kite or not, it seems like a positive response from the club.

Just hope the ferrucker signs now after this blether:greengrin

We meed a CB urgently.

Ambrose is a CB who has played at the highest level who is in a position to come to us.

He's made the odd high profile blunder but he became a bit of a target for the press, those mistakes were at a higher level than we are currently playing.

He's being signed as cover, if he's good enough to dislodge a current incumbent he'll have done well.

I'm happy with this signing

Going by the criticism here, it looks like Lewis Stevenson is going to have a bit of competition for whipping boy.

Haha, wee Lewis can only DREAM of reaching the levels of abuse Ambrose has reached!!

*My in laws are of the Celtc persuasion so I've heard plenty about Efe.

27-02-2017, 08:03 PM
Looks like a bloody good signing to me!

27-02-2017, 08:05 PM
Haha, wee Lewis can only DREAM of reaching the levels of abuse Ambrose has reached!!

*My in laws are of the Celtc persuasion so I've heard plenty about Efe.

Serious question: what do those who watched him every week say about him?

27-02-2017, 08:08 PM
If he comes along side Darren on Wed and Paul on Sat, it will give us good cover at a time we are desperate. Thought Crane looked decent mind, but to play a SC game with two development squad CBs is a huge risk, especially given the trouble we have had with Ayr Utd already.

27-02-2017, 08:12 PM
Serious question: what do those who watched him every week say about him?

He's effing brutal. One of the worst centre halves they've ever had. A bombscare, liability and embarrassment....

Then there's the other Celtc fans that REALLY don't rate him!!
If there was a popularity contest between Ambrose and Mo Johnson at Celtc Park it would be a close run thing!?

*These opinions are from the hooped lot, not my own.

27-02-2017, 08:16 PM
He's effing brutal. One of the worst centre halves they've ever had. A bombscare, liability and embarrassment....

Then there's the other Celtc fans that REALLY don't rate him!!
If there was a popularity contest between Ambrose and Mo Johnson at Celtc Park it would be a close run thing!?

*These opinions are from the hooped lot, not my own.

As I suspected. However, if he can help us out, all will be forgiven. We're desperate now and shouldn't have found ourselves in this position in the first place. He will only need to produce a handful of steady performances and it's job done. Fingers crossed he doesn't still think he's Bobby Moore but does the basics effectively.

Tom Hart RIP
27-02-2017, 08:17 PM
I was sceptical when I heard the news, but after thinking about it it's not a bad move. Sure, he's had a few howlers but he should be good enough for the championship and he has Champions League experience, has beaten Barcelona and international experience. That's exactly what we want at Hibs and what most teams would like in a player

My thoughts exactly. To be honest I'd have settled on a journeyman centre half from anywhere for the next couple of games. It never occurred to me we'd get someone with Efe Ambroses experience and pedigree.
Well done NL

Canon Hannan
27-02-2017, 08:19 PM
Efe Ambrose has played as a regular in teams that have:

* Got to the last 16 of the Champions League
* Won the SPFL
* Won various domestic cups
* Won the African Cup of Nations
* Set a Scottish record for most consecutive clean sheets

Unfortunately he just made too many errors and both his confidence in himself and others confidence in him was shot and his time was up at Celtic.

I genuinely believe that outwith Celtic Park he's the best centre back in the country.

Welcome to Hibernian Efe. Well done Neil and the Hibs Board for acquiring an experienced player in our time of need. The green and white connections across Edinburgh and Glasgow will really wind up the bitterness from Gorgie which is another plus 😂👍

banchoryhibs
27-02-2017, 08:25 PM
Quite frankly his "bomb scares" are way out-weighed by consistently competent, if not good, performances at a much better standard that we are currently at so - WELCOME Efe :flag::thumbsup:

And thank you to Leeann for continuing to provide NL with the backing he needs to get us out of this league, ...... and maybe another wee cup win? Well SC wins are like busses are they not? :cup:

27-02-2017, 08:27 PM
The older guys among us remember Turnbull's Tornado's with a sizeable portion of fondness, but this thread is proof (if it were needed) that we would have had plenty telling us we were s***e had the internet been around back then.......

27-02-2017, 08:29 PM
Can see Ambrose having an absolute stormer in the cup final against Celtic as we secure twoinarow

27-02-2017, 08:30 PM
One Celtc supporter I know refers to him as Effing Ambrose, which doesn't strike me as a good thing.

However we only need him to play in a lower division and we have Marciano to clean up if/when there is a problem.

Big L
27-02-2017, 08:30 PM
Their was a hell of a lot of people that didn't want Commons, to old, hadn't played for a year, to costly and I was one of them. We just need to trust Lennons judgement, plus we can only bring emergency loans in from Scotland, who else could we have got?

27-02-2017, 08:31 PM
Quite frankly his "bomb scares" are way out-weighed by consistently competent, if not good, performances at a much better standard that we are currently at so - WELCOME Efe :flag::thumbsup:

And thank you to Leeann for continuing to provide NL with the backing he needs to get us out of this league, ...... and maybe another wee cup win? Well SC wins are like busses are they not? :cup:

Is Ambrose cup-tied? He certainly won't be available if we meet Celtic at any stage.

27-02-2017, 08:33 PM
We are rehab specialists. We'll get this boy playing again.

27-02-2017, 08:33 PM
Their was a hell of a lot of people that didn't want Commons, to old, hadn't played for a year, to costly and I was one of them. We just need to trust Lennons judgement, plus we can only bring emergency loans in from Scotland, who else could we have got?

I was very happy with the Commons move from the outset, because it's clear he's a player. But I take your point, it could work out for the best. Time will tell.

ehf
27-02-2017, 08:35 PM
The older guys among us remember Turnbull's Tornado's with a sizeable portion of fondness, but this thread is proof (if it were needed) that we would have had plenty telling us we were s***e had the internet been around back then.......

:agree: suspect Jim Black would have been prominent in the virtual vitriol.

27-02-2017, 08:40 PM
I've had a few texts from Celtic fans they range from lol to he's a great defender with pace but can make a howler.

27-02-2017, 08:41 PM
I'd reckon that most players who've played in several different countries, won cups and championships, international caps and played regularly in the champions league MUST be good enough to beat St Mirren, Ayr United etc?

*I did say earlier that I didn't rate him. I meant at Champions League level, not at Scottish Championship standard.

27-02-2017, 08:41 PM
Great signing. We are in a bad situation

27-02-2017, 08:42 PM
Is Ambrose cup-tied? He certainly won't be available if we meet Celtic at any stage.

Can see Ambrose having an absolute stormer in the cup final against Celtic as we secure twoinarow

Still don't know if he is Cup-tied but apparently he is allowed to play against his parent club in the Cup. He may be allowed in theory but I wonder if the parent club can include a clause saying 'no'.

27-02-2017, 08:46 PM
Still don't know if he is Cup-tied but apparently he is allowed to play against his parent club in the Cup. He may be allowed in theory but I wonder if the parent club can include a clause saying 'no'.

I would imagine so. Not fair on the player either.

ShadesLongThrow
27-02-2017, 08:46 PM
We've all seen the Ambrose howlers but I'm not sure any were worse than Sir David's on Saturday. Defenders, like all players, make mistakes. It's how they react afterwards and Ambrose has always stood up and been counted. He'll get my full support.

Big L
27-02-2017, 08:48 PM
:agree: suspect Jim Black would have been prominent in the virtual vitriol.

Yer right, he was the only one that took any stick in that team.

27-02-2017, 08:49 PM
Not my idea of a player but needed. Good luck to him..

27-02-2017, 08:50 PM
Still waiting:I'm waiti Is it too late for an announcement now? Or are we trying to tie up Commons as well and then announce?

27-02-2017, 08:51 PM
As I thought we'd be playing Gray and Crane at centre half against Ayr I'm pleased. We needed cover and he's better than I thought we'd get. A plus of having Lennon as manager is he has a good reputation and contacts.

27-02-2017, 08:52 PM
Rocky will be familiar with him as a defender anyway.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
27-02-2017, 08:53 PM
If people are seriously saying that this guy, as erratic as he can sometimes be, isn't good enough to be our third or fourth choice centre back in am emergency, then they are off their rockers.

27-02-2017, 08:55 PM
Yer right, he was the only one that took any stick in that team.
John Brownlie would have been injury prone.....

Moody Blues
27-02-2017, 08:58 PM
If you do sign for us Efe, welcome to Hibs.

27-02-2017, 09:02 PM

How??

27-02-2017, 09:02 PM
If you do sign for us Efe, welcome to Hibs.

Deal done - announced in the morning :wink:

27-02-2017, 09:03 PM
Deal done - announced in the morning :wink:

Definitely?

27-02-2017, 09:03 PM
Potential for cult hero status.

majorhibs
27-02-2017, 09:07 PM
If people are seriously saying that this guy, as erratic as he can sometimes be, isn't good enough to be our third or fourth choice centre back in am emergency, then they are off their rockers.

Plenty off their rockers around the nite. Bombscare Caldwell anyone? PC Murdoch? Benny Brazil was a hero cult figure cos he was SUCH a bombscare. The penalty in SC away to D utd anyome? Even that unforgivable idiot who DID become a PC who shouldae chopped doon sparryheid in the cup many years ago? We have had many, many bombscare central defenders. Yet the experts the nite think that Efe Ambrose in this team when we have no CBs wouldnt be a good thing? Absolute zoomers!

27-02-2017, 09:07 PM
Happy with this, we're getting too light at the back with crucial games ahead.

27-02-2017, 09:08 PM
Very mixed feelings about him as a player and can imagine what some on here would be saying if he signed for Hearts.

But in our current situation there is no chance of us finding another player with his experience.

I'm putting my faith in Lennon for this one.

HillaryBriss
27-02-2017, 09:09 PM
Celtic, one of the best teams in the U.K. ?? I doubt that. They have by far the biggest budget in a poor Scottish League with no real challenge from anyone, so I'd very much doubt they would cut it down south.
On Ambrose, I think he'll be a great signing. He will walk the Championship. He has huge experience 👍 Welcome big Effie !!!

QUOTE=Billy Whizz;4960247]Maybe not good enough for one of the best teams in the UK!
Should be good enough for 93 days loan at Hibs, unless you have an alternative[/QUOTE]

27-02-2017, 09:11 PM
Definitely?

BTW - this isn't moi singing from the upper pew that I'm happy with this (the guy is Tom Kite - but needs must) - HFC have agreed terms.

Scarf above head in the morning :agree:

portyhibernian
27-02-2017, 09:14 PM
Not sure about him but under the circumstances will trust Lennon's judgment on this one. Hopefully has a stormer til the end of the season!

27-02-2017, 09:16 PM
BTW - this isn't moi singing from the upper pew that I'm happy with this (the guy is Tom Kite - but needs must) - HFC have agreed terms.

I've always rated him; very good signing :greengrin

27-02-2017, 09:19 PM
This year's Conrad Logan, he'll do a good job and score the winner in the cup semi :wink:

majorhibs
27-02-2017, 09:21 PM

Ok aw the Sherlocks, who in the Scottish Championship is he actually mair tom kite than? Nothing confirmed, but if we get him in, at this stage, when we pretty much NEED CHs cos ours are all unavailable- I suspect personally there is a few agendas around. Bombscare? NEVER EVER seen that fi one of our own, eh? Some folks just gotta moan! (No directed at you Sergey, mair the plenty before)

27-02-2017, 09:30 PM
I would imagine so. Not fair on the player either.
Patrick Roberts who is on loan to Celtic from Manchester City played in both Champions League group matches against City and scored at the Etihad. I think the rules are different for international loans.

Certainly last season the suggestion was that Stokes and Henderson would not have been able to play in the cup final had Celtic been the opponents.

MikeyS
27-02-2017, 09:43 PM
I'll raise you a £12 million Tor Andre Flo at Rangers :greengrin

Tor Andre Flo was excellent at Rangers, got dogs abuse from the morons who only think it counts against Celtic. He also didn't choose his price tag.

majorhibs
27-02-2017, 09:47 PM
Tor Andre Flo was excellent at Rangers, got dogs abuse from the morons who only think it counts against Celtic. He also didn't choose his price tag.

Excellent? Excellent?? Debut tap in on line. Then- where's my passes fi Zola? Mince! You think he was excellent, your either him or on the payroll. 12 mill?!? Oh ma sides.

MikeyS
27-02-2017, 09:49 PM
BTW, can Lennon no sign anyone apart fae Celtc players?

Nope, he's obsessed it would seem. Holt, Humphrey, Marciano and Shinnie were sh*te for Celtic too, don't understand it myself!! :rolleyes:

27-02-2017, 09:52 PM
I don't really care who we bring in as an emergency CH as long as they're no' injured.

Gordy M
27-02-2017, 09:52 PM
Excellent? Excellent?? Debut tap in on line. Then- where's my passes fi Zola? Mince! You think he was excellent, your either him or on the payroll. 12 mill?!? Oh ma sides.

Scored 29 goals in 53 games .....thats not a bad return?

27-02-2017, 09:55 PM

C'mon Gordy, you're just goin' wi' the Flo :big grin:

Gordy M
27-02-2017, 09:56 PM
C'mon Gordy, you're just goin' wi' the Flo :big grin:

:greengrin was surprised at that scoring record myself....the way folk went on about him i thought hed maybe scored about 10 goals.

27-02-2017, 10:00 PM

Flo flopped in the big games.

You don't pay £12m for that, not when you're robbing Peter to pay Paul at any rate.

MikeyS
27-02-2017, 10:00 PM

Excellent is obviously an exaggeration but I'm sure he had 30 odd goals in 60 games, now that's a good return for any striker. Again, he didn't pick his price but I'm delighted that David Murray did!

21sMay
27-02-2017, 10:05 PM
Ambrose will stroll this league.

Hibeewilly
27-02-2017, 10:06 PM
Welcome to the Hibees Efe - you will cruise this league and we desperately need you mate!! Top man!!

27-02-2017, 10:10 PM
Great signing in the grand scheme of things. We have 3 defenders out and we have signed a player who has had over 50 caps for Nigeria. Ok, he has had a few dodgy games but he is dropping down a level.

Absolutely - we have only one fit senior central defender right now, barring the kids, and Lennon should be applauded for acting smartly within the rules and using his existing contacts to fill the gap with an experienced pro whose capabilities and limitations he is well acquainted with.

Good signing - yes a bit blunder prone at times with Celtic but still good enough to win 50+ caps, win titles and play in the Champions League. At very least he'll provide welcome know how and experience in a vital position at a vital time of the season.

27-02-2017, 10:11 PM
Ambrose will stroll this league.

Maybe even skoosh it 😎

jamesjamieson
27-02-2017, 10:13 PM
I think Ambrose will be a good signing. A big, strong, experienced presence on the park and still only 28.

If the deal lasts for 93 days, he will be eligible to play in the cup final (89 days away). Thinking ahead!

27-02-2017, 10:17 PM
I think Ambrose will be a good signing. A big, strong, experienced presence on the park and still only 28.

If the deal lasts for 93 days, he will be eligible to play in the cup final (89 days away). Thinking ahead!
You are John Peel. I claim my $10........

27-02-2017, 10:18 PM

As long as it's not against Celtic.

27-02-2017, 11:14 PM
Just had a peek at kickback (I know, I know) and one of them has the cheek to describe us as "A ****** joke of a team" and "cheating barstewards" because of this signing

Do they do irony over at the PBS?

27-02-2017, 11:29 PM
Just had a peek at kickback (I know, I know) and one of them has the cheek to describe us as "A ****** joke of a team" and "cheating barstewards" because of this signing

This is the same Hearts team who signed a Central Defender for one match after having four players (Pasquale Bruno, Davie Weir, Neil Pointon and Paul Ritchie) sent off at Ibrox in 1996 and suspended for the next match.

27-02-2017, 11:37 PM
Ambrose will be good for Hibs and
Hibs will be good for Ambrose.
Could well become a cult hero.
Strong and fast.
Hopefully scoring a few goals from corners.
Some exciting runs out of defence.
Hopefully not many gaffs.
Lennon knows him better than most.
Sounds a good and fun signing.
Looking forward to it.
I believe his Celtic contract is up in the summer so if he signs and does well there is a chance he could become a permanent signing although I suspect he would be looking for English Championship money.

marleyhib
27-02-2017, 11:37 PM
Lennon knows Ambrose well, in our current situation I'm delighted

Experienced, played at the highest level - keep it simple and he'll hopefully be just what we need.

27-02-2017, 11:46 PM
This is the same Hearts team who signed a Central Defender for one match after having four players (Pasquale Bruno, Davie Weir, Neil Pointon and Paul Ritchie) sent off at Ibrox in 1996 and suspended for the next match.

Don't know if it was the same guy but I remember a player coming up for a midweek game(?) against Rangers(?).
He played a blinder in defence, Hearts won and he shot the craw hame the very next day.

27-02-2017, 11:49 PM

Presumably not if we get to the final and meet Celtic. The length of the loan suggests there must be doubts over foster and Hanlon coming back any time soon.

27-02-2017, 11:56 PM

Kickback is a strange place just now with some venting their frustrations,some keeping the party line and some in the middle. The cup defeat has really shaken them though having watched the highlights of the partick game they were even worse on Saturday. I think it's dawning on them that maybe Robbie wasn't that bad after all though they had to watch eye bleeding football as loads quoted. The worst thing re Cathy's team is they seem to have no clear set up and when that happens your goosed. Glad I'm not a jambo right now as it isn't looking great. Shame eh.

28-02-2017, 12:17 AM
Ambrose will be good for Hibs and
Hibs will be good for Ambrose.
Could well become a cult hero.
Strong and fast.
Hopefully scoring a few goals from corners.
Some exciting runs out of defence.
Hopefully not many gaffs.
Lennon knows him better than most.
Sounds a good and fun signing.
Looking forward to it.
I believe his Celtic contract is up in the summer so if he signs and does well there is a chance he could become a permanent signing although I suspect he would be looking for English Championship money.
What tune is that to?

28-02-2017, 12:20 AM
Does that mean Hibs now have an AFCON winner in the ranks? Jambos must be spewing. Djoum was being labeled as the new messiah. Scott Wilson quickly running out of material.

28-02-2017, 12:29 AM
This is terrible .... yet another loan deal from Celtic, as if it wasn't embarrassing enough having two who made a massive contribution to us winning the cup ( it was bad enough seeing 150,000 people with the nerve to celebrate that ) we then sign bloody Commons who makes a significant contribution to us currently having a 7 point lead in the league and we shamefully follow that up by signing another one who might just possibly dig us out of a defensive hole :grr:

I hope the Yams haven't noticed this :confused: .......... they will be right to point out that our failure to employ a scatter gun approach and bring in a pile of dross is classless .... they will rightly point out that loan signings from by a mile the country's best club cant be justified just coz it helped us make a few cup finals and points us in the right direction in the league .... I know they wouldn't want that for their club they are proud of being utter ***** and wouldn't want to change that by utilising a perfectly legitimate loan system just because it might one day get them past the 5th round of the Scottish cup.

As for Efe Ambrose himself .......... It would be daft to write him off just because of some poor performances in the past, you simply don't get to play over 150 games for Celtic and be trusted to play in the Champions league if you are consistently rubbish. He will be aware that periods at Hibs have helped to revive Anthony Stokes career and pushed Liam Henderson's into the limelight. On that note, I'm sure Liam wont have been slow to tell Efe what a joy it is to play for the mighty Hibees :greengrin

More than willing to give the guy a chance with a clean slate .... If this is a done deal then welcome to Easter Road Efe :aok:

28-02-2017, 12:58 AM
Don't know if it was the same guy but I remember a player coming up for a midweek game(?) against Rangers(?).
He played a blinder in defence, Hearts won and he shot the craw hame the very next day.
It was a midweek match. I thought it was against Celtic at Tynecastle. He was an ex-Wimbledon player if I recall correctly.

It was to cover for defenders suspended after four players were suspended following the Ibrox fiasco.

JackLadd
28-02-2017, 01:21 AM
Smart move by NL, even if Ambrose just plays a few games it could be crucial to put away this league when we're short and the Ayr cup game is a must win.

joebakerforever
28-02-2017, 01:51 AM
It was a midweek match. I thought it was against Celtic at Tynecastle. He was an ex-Wimbledon player if I recall correctly.

It was to cover for defenders suspended after four players were suspended following the Ibrox fiasco.

It was Andy Thorn - Hearts 1-0 Celtic (League Cup quarter final, 1996)

Tom Hart RIP
28-02-2017, 06:06 AM
Tony Mowbray was desperate to take him to Blackburn. I think most will agree that Tony could spot a good player.
Looking forward to seeing Efe in. hibs shirt.

28-02-2017, 06:17 AM

unless we were to get sellik in the final, and he cant play against them??

28-02-2017, 06:27 AM

How so?

28-02-2017, 06:31 AM

He hasnt played in celtics scottish cup games this season so he would be available for Ayr. Different thing if we were to be drawn against Celtic however hopefully we would have some centre backs returning by then.

28-02-2017, 06:32 AM
Tony Mowbray was desperate to take him to Blackburn. I think most will agree that Tony could spot a good player.
Looking forward to seeing Efe in. hibs shirt.

Was it not Owen Coyle prior to his sacking?

Salt N Sauzee
28-02-2017, 06:33 AM
Has this happened yet or is all this based off media speculation?

28-02-2017, 06:33 AM
I think Celtic would insert a clause insisting that he HAS to play against them.

Clean slate from me, jokes aside.

28-02-2017, 06:40 AM
This is terrible .... yet another loan deal from Celtic, as if it wasn't embarrassing enough having two who made a massive contribution to us winning the cup ( it was bad enough seeing 150,000 people with the nerve to celebrate that ) we then sign bloody Commons who makes a significant contribution to us currently having a 7 point lead in the league and we shamefully follow that up by signing another one who might just possibly dig us out of a defensive hole :grr:

I hope the Yams haven't noticed this :confused: .......... they will be right to point out that our failure to employ a scatter gun approach and bring in a pile of dross is classless .... they will rightly point out that loan signings from by a mile the country's best club cant be justified just coz it helped us make a few cup finals and points us in the right direction in the league .... I know they wouldn't want that for their club they are proud of being utter ***** and wouldn't want to change that by utilising a perfectly legitimate loan system just because it might one day get them past the 5th round of the Scottish cup.

As for Efe Ambrose himself .......... It would be daft to write him off just because of some poor performances in the past, you simply don't get to play over 150 games for Celtic and be trusted to play in the Champions league if you are consistently rubbish. He will be aware that periods at Hibs have helped to revive Anthony Stokes career and pushed Liam Henderson's into the limelight. On that note, I'm sure Liam wont have been slow to tell Efe what a joy it is to play for the mighty Hibees :greengrin

More than willing to give the guy a chance with a clean slate .... If this is a done deal then welcome to Easter Road Efe :aok:

Absolute nail on the head.

28-02-2017, 06:42 AM

Joking apart* it will be interesting to see if this "relationship" continues on our return.

* appreciate rules slightly different in championship.

28-02-2017, 06:42 AM
I've already got a Falkirk Bairn greeting about it on my Facebook page. Love it.

28-02-2017, 06:58 AM
Does that mean Hibs now have an AFCON winner in the ranks? Jambos must be spewing. Djoum was being labeled as the new messiah. Scott Wilson quickly running out of material.
Actually the best part about this signing...another song oot the songbook 😂😂😂

28-02-2017, 07:13 AM
Has this happened yet or is all this based off media speculation?

In the papers this morning as a done deal. Expect an official announcement of two new defenders today.

28-02-2017, 07:17 AM
It was Andy Thorn - Hearts 1-0 Celtic (League Cup quarter final, 1996)

I assume they went on to win the trophy that year?

28-02-2017, 07:19 AM
In the papers this morning as a done deal. Expect an official announcement of two new defenders today.

Two defenders?

28-02-2017, 07:19 AM

Can he play tomorrow at St Mirren?

28-02-2017, 07:21 AM
Two defenders?

Brian Maclean being also reported.

28-02-2017, 07:24 AM
Brian Maclean being also reported.

Ok then, more excited by Efe tbh. McLean has been one hell of a journeyman.

28-02-2017, 07:26 AM
Can he play tomorrow at St Mirren?

Both should be okay to play tomorrow night I think. Happy to be corrected if wrong.

28-02-2017, 07:27 AM
Pish signing,

28-02-2017, 07:28 AM
I assume they went on to win the trophy that year?

28-02-2017, 07:30 AM
Ok then, more excited by Efe tbh. McLean has been one hell of a journeyman.

I didn't realise that he's Steven MacLean's (referee) brother.

28-02-2017, 07:36 AM
I can't believe some people are turning their nose up at Efe Ambrose.

La-La land or what!

Coults1875
28-02-2017, 07:46 AM
Pish signing,

Hardly, very good signing regarding our position and he is clearly a very experienced player who is more than capable of playing at this level. Regardless of his previous clubs its a clean slate for me. I ate my own words a few years ago when i said Scott Allan was a waste of a signing after seeing him have a few howlers in a Portsmouth shirt.

28-02-2017, 07:48 AM
How so?
him and marciano played with each other at ashdod in Israel and have the same agent. Neil lennon and Dudu Dahan seem to have a good relationship when it comes to transfers.

Made some high profile errors, but i reckon he is about as a good a signing we can get on emergency loan

Better that than trying to get through on 1 fit centre half

Happy with this

La-La land or what!

Mental eh.

I'm personally delighted with him , Its the 2nd tier of Scottish football not La Liga !

green with envy
28-02-2017, 07:57 AM
Pish signing,

Pish post.

28-02-2017, 08:09 AM
Mental eh.

I'm personally delighted with him , Its the 2nd tier of Scottish football not La Liga !

I suppose we won't be playing 'Real Madrid' again this season...

28-02-2017, 08:13 AM
Why oh why are so many "Hibs Supporters" so critical of the Club ? Some folk seem to take great delight at verbally hammering the Club, the Manager and the players at every opportunity.

Or is it a deliberate ploy to wind people up?

killie-hibby
28-02-2017, 08:18 AM
Pish signing,

Is Pish a defender. Source?

28-02-2017, 08:21 AM
Why oh why are so many "Hibs Supporters" so critical of the Club ? Some folk seem to take great delight at verbally hammering the Club, the Manager and the players at every opportunity.

Correct, two good signings in my book

28-02-2017, 08:22 AM

La-La land or what!

Did you mean to say they live on the moon(light)?

28-02-2017, 08:26 AM
Did you mean to say they live on the moon(light)?

Very good.

28-02-2017, 08:28 AM

Nobody is doing that, though. Some of us simply think he's a poor player. It's no big deal.

28-02-2017, 08:34 AM
Hardly, very good signing regarding our position and he is clearly a very experienced player who is more than capable of playing at this level. Regardless of his previous clubs its a clean slate for me. I ate my own words a few years ago when i said Scott Allan was a waste of a signing after seeing him have a few howlers in a Portsmouth shirt.

Not hardly at all. The guy is mistake prone. Only a matter of time.

28-02-2017, 08:36 AM
Delighted with Lenny and the club shoring up the defence at time of need. Shows how willing the club is to ensure we get promoted that they back Lenny when needs be. It shows a huge level of commitment by the board and we should trust Lenny knows big Efe will do a good job for us.

glory glory

28-02-2017, 08:38 AM
Let's have this right - have we now reached a point where, on a football forum, we can't have an opinion on which players we rate and which we don't? Then what's the point of a football forum? Some people seem to take everything personally and need to get arsey. Those who think Ambrose is a good player, fine, I respect your opinion but simply disagree.

28-02-2017, 08:39 AM
Mental eh.

Linoln red imps don't play in la liga.

28-02-2017, 08:40 AM

Assumption based on that is that possibly both Paul and Liam may be out for a while.

Good that the club have reacted so quickly to this.

28-02-2017, 08:40 AM

They played in the champions league though. :greengrin

28-02-2017, 08:41 AM
Let's have this right - have we now reached a point where, on a football forum, we can't have an opinion on which players we rate and which we don't? Then what's the point of a football forum? Some people seem to take everything personally and need to get arsey. Those who think Ambrose is a good player, fine, I respect your opinion but simply disagree.

We get it you dont rate him.

confused
28-02-2017, 08:43 AM
I hope and pray that when my time comes to depart these shores I don't have to sit awaiting judgement from the NET , Guilty until proven otherwise , Give the guy a chance , All these other managers are wrong ,they know ZERO , Go on big man show us you deserve better,

28-02-2017, 08:45 AM
We get it you dont rate him.

Aye, so why the need for this patter about enjoying put the boot into the club and trying to wind people up? It's unworthy of a sensible debate.

28-02-2017, 08:45 AM
I hope and pray that when my time comes to depart these shores I don't have to sit awaiting judgement from the NET , Guilty until proven otherwise , Give the guy a chance , All these other managers are wrong ,they know ZERO , Go on big man show us you deserve better,

Is that a poem?

Cannae tell if I like it or not to be honest.

28-02-2017, 08:46 AM

LG & Dembele also played in that game & failed to score. Can't imagine anyone wanting to buy Dembele after that!

28-02-2017, 08:47 AM
him and marciano played with each other at ashdod in Israel and have the same agent. Neil lennon and Dudu Dahan seem to have a good relationship when it comes to transfers.

Ok cheers

28-02-2017, 08:50 AM

All our players make mistakes, it's human

confused
28-02-2017, 08:51 AM
Is that a poem?

Cannae tell if I like it or not to be honest.
I personally could,nt care less , I love the Hibs have watched them for over 60 years , and think that I know less than any manager , But I like to give each player the benefit of the doubt , until they prove otherwise ,

green with envy
28-02-2017, 08:56 AM

Dry yer eyes pal. you've been heard enough on your thoughts RE: Ambrose.

28-02-2017, 08:57 AM
All our players make mistakes, it's human

Not every other game though. I've seen him before, can have a great game for 89 minutes then does something ridiculous that chucks the game.

28-02-2017, 09:00 AM
I personally could,nt care less , I love the Hibs have watched them for over 60 years , and think that I know less than any manager , But I like to give each player the benefit of the doubt , until they prove otherwise ,

Dinnae sell yourself short. I'll bet you know more than a few of the imposters we've had as manager over the last few years.

28-02-2017, 09:00 AM
Only a matter of time.

And you'll be waiting . . .

That's what's called not giving the player a chance.

28-02-2017, 09:01 AM
The title of another thread was "can we throw it away?" The answer with these two signings is a resounding no! Hibs showing real ambition here to get us out of the championship, the negativity is misplaced and we would be best served to carry our unity through to the end.

mon the hibees :flag:

28-02-2017, 09:01 AM
Not every other game though. I've seen him before, can have a great game for 89 minutes then does something ridiculous that chucks the game.

I think that signing a proven CL player on emergency loan, is great for us. Only on here can some see it as a negative.

28-02-2017, 09:09 AM
Still hasn't even been confirmed.....

28-02-2017, 09:11 AM
Would take efe even at 47 he would stroll this league

28-02-2017, 09:13 AM
Still hasn't even been confirmed.....

Should be announced at some point today apparently.

28-02-2017, 09:20 AM
Assumption based on that is that possibly both Paul and Liam may be out for a while.

Good that the club have reacted so quickly to this.

I am hoping that isn't the case but I fear it may be. We needed to add one defender to the squad in January that didn't work out, the circumstances seem to have led us to a really decent signing (Efe) and a good solid defender (MacLean), both add to the current squad and I would imagine that it will be difficult to shift Efe from the CB position when others are fit.

28-02-2017, 09:22 AM
the poor lad hasn't even kicked a ball for us yet and some folk are writing him off already, if he does sign then i think he will provide the required cover that we need and do a decent job :thumbsup:

28-02-2017, 09:24 AM
the poor lad hasn't even kicked a ball for us yet and some folk are writing him off already, if he does sign then i think he will provide the required cover that we need and do a decent job :thumbsup:

28-02-2017, 09:25 AM
Seems to me that Lennon had four choices. 1. Forge a team from the existing squad even playing players out of position. 2. Draft in players from the development squad. 3. Go for loans of players from other Scottish clubs who are unknown quantities and probably aren't near getting a game for their first team. 4. Go for loans of two experienced players, one of whom has played at the highest level but has a reputation for the occasional and costly faux-pas.

If the speculation is true, I think, on balance, he has made the right choice.

28-02-2017, 09:28 AM
Seems to me that Lennon had four choices. 1. Forge a team from the existing squad even playing players out of position. 2. Draft in players from the development squad. 3. Go for loans of players from other Scottish clubs who are unknown quantities and probably aren't near getting a game for their first team. 4. Go for loans of two experienced players, one of whom has played at the highest level but has a reputation for the occasional and costly faux-pas.

Correct:aok:

28-02-2017, 09:29 AM

Absolutely has made the right choice and in Efe's case someone he knows well and played well for him previously.

28-02-2017, 09:30 AM

If he comes here on loan, everyone will want him to do well. Nobody wishes him ill.

Coults1875
28-02-2017, 09:30 AM

28-02-2017, 09:36 AM
This is great signing, he's easily good enough. Given our circumstances with zero centre halves available for Saturday, I'm not sure what people were hoping the club would do.
Well done Lennon and Hibs for acting decisively when it was clear we had a problem.

28-02-2017, 09:38 AM
Efe Ambrose or a 5' 7" left back filling in at centre half, alongside either a Central midfielder or a Right back... I know what I'd rather have.

28-02-2017, 09:41 AM
Yes but there is no need to repost that opinion on every page mate...ur getting boring now. We get it...you don't rate Ambrose ...get over it please

Sioux
28-02-2017, 10:04 AM
If he comes here on loan, everyone will want him to do well. Nobody wishes him ill.

And there are some who will be delighted to come on here and say "I told you so." "Look at me I know things. I want attention," ...........etc etc

The goalie
28-02-2017, 10:04 AM
Yes but there is no need to repost that opinion on every page mate...ur getting boring now. We get it...you don't rate Ambrose ...get over it please

Radio Forth saying he has signed.

28-02-2017, 10:17 AM
And there are some who will be delighted to come on here and say "I told you so." "Look at me I know things. I want attention," ...........etc etc

Perhaps, but I doubt that. If a signing flops, the manager is accountable. He's paid to make the decisions.

28-02-2017, 10:20 AM
Have reservations about Ambrose, but no one can criticise Lennon for being in-decisive and not trying to fix a serious injury issue. Could understand folk being critical if Lennon was sitting on his hands doing nothing (as other managers have in the past) or scraping around lower leagues for gap-fillers.

28-02-2017, 10:21 AM
More than good enough for this division. Glad we're bringing in two experienced pros at the back.

28-02-2017, 10:23 AM
More than good enough for this division. Glad we're bringing in two experienced pros at the back.

GreenPJ
28-02-2017, 10:33 AM
When all are fit I don't see Efe being first team pick so we might concede a few extra goals in the interim but flip side we will carry a lot more threat at set pieces in the opposition box.

HAZ2000
28-02-2017, 10:35 AM
Very good attacking header of the ball. More than what I can say for Fontaine

Coults1875
28-02-2017, 10:44 AM

Fonts always gets in the right position, he just can never get his headers on target. We could be guaranteed about 5 extra goals a season if the big man could get on top of these and direct them goal wards.

ShadesLongThrow
28-02-2017, 10:46 AM

Excellent point. Something we've not had since Rob Jones.

28-02-2017, 10:50 AM
Excellent point. Something we've not had since Rob Jones.

Darren McGregor does just fine in that department imo.

28-02-2017, 10:50 AM

Fontaine's inability to get headers on target - despite making contact most of the time - is legendary. It's become an in-joke among me and my Dad.

28-02-2017, 10:53 AM
Fontaine's inability to get headers on target - despite making contact most of the time - is legendary. It's become an in-joke among me and my Dad.[/COLOR]

The old fifty pence piece heid quip :greengrin

JDHibs
28-02-2017, 10:54 AM
SO our choice is moving players out of position to try and cover injuries or sign someone whos played at the AFCON finals, champions league, got 113 appearances for the best team in this country by and long stretch and has over 50 caps for his national side...

Tough decision. No matter what you think of Efe, hes played against Barca and got a clean sheet, hes won titles, hes played at a high level. Are people seriously worried about him playing against John Sutton/Gary Harkins/Lee Miller? Seriously?

Wish people could sit and think about something logically before opening their mouths or typing on their keyboards.

28-02-2017, 11:00 AM
Has this or McLean's signing actually been confirmed?

ST options about to go live so maybe they'll wait till later.

Perhaps, but I doubt that. If a signing flops, the manager is accountable. He's paid to make the decisions.

And if he was signed at the start of a season or in a January window I would agree with you.

However, we are in late February and a manager doesn't have a lot of choice at this time.

I think he has done well (along with a bit of good fortune) to get Ambrose.

Darren McGregor does just fine in that department imo.

Has he scored more than one header for us?

InchHibby
28-02-2017, 11:05 AM
Of course we'd rather have all our own guys playing but unfortunately, due to injuries, that's not possible. Efe Ambrose will do me nicely for the remainder of the season and I'm confident he'll comfortably do a good job for us.
And yes everyone is entitled to their opinion but let's not get carried away here in thinking he's not good enough for us, probably most teams in the Premier would sign him if they could.

28-02-2017, 11:10 AM
I remember lots of people upset when David gray signed and said he was rubbish....... maybe let's not judge a player before he has even kicked a ball

28-02-2017, 11:12 AM
Has this or McLean's signing actually been confirmed?

ST options about to go live so maybe they'll wait till later.

Radio forth just said Ambrose has signed.

28-02-2017, 11:30 AM
So let me see if I understand some people's opinion, a international defender from Nigeria, played CL football for Cetic, poised to sign for Blackburn Rovers, a club in the EPL, is unable to do so because of work permit problems, signs a short term loan deal with Hibs, who are very short of CH's, through injury, is considered not to be good enought to play for Hibs in the 2nd tier of Scottish football. I am going to have to think about that kind of reasoning for a little while.

28-02-2017, 11:37 AM
So let me see if I understand some people's opinion, a international defender from Nigeria, played CL football for Cetic, poised to sign for Blackburn Rovers, a club in the EPL, is unable to do so because of work permit problems, signs a short term loan deal with Hibs, who are very short of CH's, through injury, is considered not to be good enought to play for Hibs in the 2nd tier of Scottish football. I am going to have to think about that kind of reasoning for a little while.

You're wrong. Blackburn are the championship not EPL.

Everything else is correct though, confusing to me too. It's a good short term signing considering where we find ourselves.

28-02-2017, 11:43 AM
We are short now at the back, has this guy made mistakes yeah but most seem to have been in CL where they will be punished.

Totally different environment and I am confident he will fit in well and be a far better option than moving players around.

Good luck Efe

28-02-2017, 11:44 AM
Has he scored more than one header for us?

yep scored in each of the play off games last season at home.

28-02-2017, 11:50 AM
You're wrong. Blackburn are the championship not EPL.

Everything else is correct though, confusing to me too. It's a good short term signing considering where we find ourselves.
Your right my apologies, Mixing my Blackburns & Burnleys.

28-02-2017, 12:06 PM

Something that would enrage both sets of fans.[emoji23]

28-02-2017, 12:11 PM

No there wasnt, there were some who were worried about his fitness after such a long lay off, but most were happy if we could get the Commons of a year or two ago?

28-02-2017, 12:12 PM
The guys a bomb scare should never be in a Hibs jersey and I blame Petrie for this outrage as well as the Brexit debacle

28-02-2017, 12:14 PM

Never mix the two there is genuine hatred between the two east Lancs towns. The Blackburnians carry their extra digit on their hands where as the folk of Burnley have it on their feet.

28-02-2017, 12:24 PM
Lennon has made a decision we need an experienced Centreback in given the importance of the next three games in terms of staying out in front in the League and reaching the Semi Final of the Scottish Cup
If he can help us do that Job done
Lennon has talked highley about hin so it could well be he gets the best out him
The issue is if he hasnt been playing how fit is he and clearly he will be rusty and he is going to playing alongside Mcgregor in one game and goodness knows who v Ayr
Only time will tell but who else was thete put there that was an option

Greenworld
28-02-2017, 12:25 PM
Fantastic signing remember it's cover for our injured players...not a replacement

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

28-02-2017, 12:36 PM
Thought he was superb here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRqhh8b3Ro8

28-02-2017, 12:39 PM
Relieved that we have one maybe two recognised CBs coming in. I always thought EA was a bomb scare but I'd rather have him than the alternative which I think would be having players play out of position. Like wise with BM. I'm not saying it's enough to win the next few matches, all of which are important but must put us in a slightly better position/give us a better chance. I feel a bit of relief to be honest.

28-02-2017, 12:46 PM
If he turns out to be ***** then it gives us a new scapegoat

28-02-2017, 01:04 PM
This is great signing, he's easily good enough. Given our circumstances with zero centre halves available for Saturday, I'm not sure what people were hoping the club would do.
Well done Lennon and Hibs for acting decisively when it was clear we had a problem.

Well said Ozy, and it gives Ambrose a chance to put himself in the shop window for next season as Rodgers made it quite clear that he didn't have a future at Celtc after the summer, pretty sure he will come in and do a job for us and the fans need to get behind him when he plays.

28-02-2017, 01:14 PM
Well said Ozy, and it gives Ambrose a chance to put himself in the shop window for next season as Rodgers made it quite clear that he didn't have a future at Celtc after the summer, pretty sure he will come in and do a job for us and the fans need to get behind him when he plays.

I certainly wouldn't want to be in front of him if he launches a tackle ....

Sensible move to sign him. :aok:

28-02-2017, 01:19 PM
I Cannae see anywhere this is official ?

28-02-2017, 01:23 PM
I Cannae see anywhere this is official ?

Well the media are saying it so it must be .................... oh wait a minute!: :greengrin

28-02-2017, 01:26 PM
Never mix the two there is genuine hatred between the two east Lancs towns. The Blackburnians carry their extra digit on their hands where as the folk of Burnley have it on their feet.

28-02-2017, 01:27 PM
Well the media are saying it so it must be .................... oh wait a minute!: :greengrin

Hardie in the Scotsman 10.36 am today, and apparently Radio Firth have a[reported that Ambrose has indeed signed. Maclean 'subject to international clearance'.

Better if the club confirms it, though.

28-02-2017, 01:42 PM
Priceless:greengrin

28-02-2017, 01:43 PM
Hardie in the Scotsman 10.36 am today, and apparently Radio Firth have a[reported that Ambrose has indeed signed. Maclean 'subject to international clearance'.

Better if the club confirms it, though.
On the BBC web site for what that is worth.

28-02-2017, 01:46 PM
The guys a bomb scare should never be in a Hibs jersey and I blame Petrie for this outrage as well as the Brexit debacle

..are you not getting Brexit mixed up with breakfast? Petrie was well culpable with the breakfast debacle.

28-02-2017, 02:24 PM
https://t.co/jdCvY0Z7iH

Confirmed

28-02-2017, 02:31 PM
IMO this is a brilliant signing.
Hopefully he is up to speed.
If so he will quickly become a big fans favourite.
A great athlete who will boss all the farty Championship attackers

28-02-2017, 02:33 PM

Confirmed

Doesn't say how long we have signed him for, have we got him until the end of the season.

28-02-2017, 02:34 PM
Doesn't say how long we have signed him for, have we got him until the end of the season.

Ambrose joins Hibs from Celtic on an emergency loan deal for 93 days

28-02-2017, 02:34 PM

Confirmed

That'll do for me.

28-02-2017, 02:37 PM

Ambrose joins Hibs from Celtic on an emergency loan deal for 93 days after the Nigerian's proposed move to Blackburn Rovers collapsed over work permit issues.

28-02-2017, 03:03 PM
Ambrose joins Hibs from Celtic on an emergency loan deal for 93 days after the Nigerian's proposed move to Blackburn Rovers collapsed over work permit issues.

I thought the Blackburn deal was in the window but failed to happen surely they wouldnt have been able to sign him outside the window

Coults1875
28-02-2017, 03:44 PM

Thought the club would want to announce signings first before the likes of STV?

28-02-2017, 03:45 PM
How on earth did he have work permit issues if he already works in Scotland?

Not to mention the fact that he has >50 caps and an ACoN winners medal

ElginHibbie
28-02-2017, 03:48 PM

Always the way, the club never announce anything until everything is complete so my guess is just waiting on clearance.

But as that will just be a formality STV and the like will report it as a done deal

28-02-2017, 03:49 PM

They've put up an interview with Lennon who says "For me, he's a very consistent player and I think we've done good business"

https://stv.tv/sport/football/1381897-neil-lennon-defends-efe-ambrose-as-hibs-complete-signing/

So should be all but confirmed now :aok:

Coults1875
28-02-2017, 03:51 PM
Always the way, the club never announce anything until everything is complete so my guess is just waiting on clearance.

But as that will just be a formality STV and the like will report it as a done deal

Got you :aok:

ElginHibbie
28-02-2017, 03:54 PM
Got you :aok:

That and Hibs are always the last people to announce news about Hibs :greengrin

CathroMustStay
28-02-2017, 03:57 PM
Hibernian manager Neil Lennon has defended Efe Ambrose and insisted he has signed a top quality player after finalising a loan deal for the player. Ambrose joins Hibs from Celtic on an emergency loan deal for 93 days after the Nigerian's proposed move to Blackburn Rovers collapsed over work permit issues. The 28-year old is reunited with the manager who signed him for Celtic in 2012 and Lennon immediately defended his player against critics who have made him a figure of fun over the past few years.

The Hibs boss pointed to Ambrose's achievements and said some high-profile mistakes overshadowed his contribution at the Scottish champions.

"It's almost as if the previous four years has been erased from his football career," Lennon told STV.
"This is a guy who's played Champions League against the likes of Barcelona and AC Milan.
"He's won doubles, he's won league championships, he's won the Africa Cup of Nations. The list goes on."

He added: "Yes, he's had some mistakes but I played with players, Bobo Balde for example, who made a couple of high-profile errors as well.
"Sometimes there's nothing you can do about that. They're human beings at the end of the day.
"For me, he's a very consistent player and I think we've done good business."

Lennon added it was a "coup" for Hibs to be able to sign a player of his quality and thanked Celtic for agreeing the deal and Ambrose for agreeing to the switch. He said: "He's a very good player. He's very fit and has a great robustness about him. In my four years at Celtic I don't think I ever came across him injured. He was really consistent for me.

"I know he's had a bit of a low period at Celtic over the last couple of years but you never lose the quality. I think he'll make us better.
"He's got great pace, reads the game well, can head it and he's a threat at set plays. To get him is a bit of a coup, really."

28-02-2017, 04:03 PM
I don't think there has been any mention of financial arrangements. Will this loan be the usual contribution by us towards his wages from Celtic. I've no doubt that someone on here will be able to come up with facts and figures. :greengrin

28-02-2017, 04:03 PM
They've put up an interview with Lennon who says "For me, he's a very consistent player and I think we've done good business"

https://stv.tv/sport/football/1381897-neil-lennon-defends-efe-ambrose-as-hibs-complete-signing/

So should be all but confirmed now :aok:

There's a link on that article explaining how the emergency loan system works which must be incorrect or we couldn't sign Ambrose, or indeed Commons.

"Have you had two over-21s on loan this season?.... YES.... Emergency loan not permitted" So that would imply we couldn't get an emergency loan as we already have Marciano and Shinnie on loan.

28-02-2017, 04:08 PM
There's a link on that article explaining how the emergency loan system works which must be incorrect or we couldn't sign Ambrose, or indeed Commons.

"Have you had two over-21s on loan this season?.... YES.... Emergency loan not permitted" So that would imply we couldn't get an emergency loan as we already have Marciano and Shinnie on loan.

...... or maybe somebody at the SFA doesn't understand flow charts. :greengrin Anyway, keep it to yourself.

28-02-2017, 04:08 PM

Strange. Maybe it's supposed to refer to loans from Scottish clubs?:confused:

28-02-2017, 04:09 PM

I'm sure that refers to emergency loans and we have only had one - Commons

28-02-2017, 04:19 PM
I'm sure that refers to emergency loans and we have only had one - Commons

No it relates to all loans. However, I've since read the full article and it explains that you can technically only loan players from Clubs in the same country. Loans from elsewhere are not loans, they are "international transfers with a return date" (sounds like a "loan" to me), so you can have as many of those as you like.

Commons has been our only "loan" player this season.

28-02-2017, 05:05 PM
Quality player signed to replace injured centre backs. Jambos upset.

Job done.

Looks like a coup as NL has said. I'm sure Morton, Dundee United and Falkirk wouldn't be turning their noses up at this guy.

28-02-2017, 05:15 PM
Strange. Maybe it's supposed to refer to loans from Scottish clubs?:confused:

Only includes Scottish clubs.

The Leith Dutch
28-02-2017, 05:42 PM
Quality player signed to replace injured centre backs. Jambos upset.

Job done.

Looks like a coup as NL has said. I'm sure Morton, Dundee United and Falkirk wouldn't be turning their noses up at this guy.

An English Championship team - albeit in the relegation zone - weren't turning their noses up at him either and only the intervention of a work permit stopped that.
At this stage that's a remarkable piece of business.

It's what surprises me when I hear folk have a pop at the board for not backing the manager or take a swipe at recruitment.
Since Dempster arrived it feels like the club is firm and decisive and gets stuff done on the whole.

Doubtless a few criticisms can be levelled but I get the distinct impression that not that long ago we'd have been scratching our heads wondering what to do till we'd been dumped out the cup and were sitting a point behind Dundee Utd.

28-02-2017, 06:19 PM
Why is there nothing announced on the official site yet??

edwards
28-02-2017, 07:47 PM
A definate must signing do we want to win this league or not. Henderson, Stokes and Commons didn't let us down come on down efe more than welcome

clarkstonbhoy
28-02-2017, 08:19 PM
Tic fan in peace,

Efe will be outstanding for the Hibees, he was made the scapegoat for a really average Celtic back line, he is known for some howlers in high profile games ie juve at home, cup final, imps away but he was left exposed by other players who were above criticism. He infact formed one of the best shutout partnerships for Lennon with Lustig which people kinda forget about, that's why Neil taken him he is probably going to be the best CB outwith the current Celtic team playing regular in Scotland this season. I actually thought he could still do a job for us as a squad player. Watch him dominate the ball in the air not many get the better of him, he will head the ball out all day. You lot will like him, he will now give 100% to your team and he always has time for the supporters.

Whys a tic season ticket holder on this forum well my stepfather is from Portobello and is Hibs daft, so i always keep one eye on your results. Infact David Gray gave me one of my favourite moments in recent years last season. cheers

007 Mickey Weir
28-02-2017, 08:21 PM
Tic fan in peace,

Efe will be outstanding for the Hibees, he was made the scapegoat for a really average Celtic back line, he is known for some howlers in high profile games ie juve at home, cup final, imps away but he was left exposed by other players who were above criticism. He infact formed one of the best shutout partnerships for Lennon with Lustig which people kinda forget about, that's why Neil taken him he is probably going to be the best CB outwith the current Celtic team playing regular in Scotland this season. I actually thought he could still do a job for us as a squad player. Watch him dominate the ball in the air not many get the better of him, he will head the ball out all day. You lot will like him, he will now give 100% to your team and he always has time for the supporters.

Whys a tic season ticket holder on this forum well my stepfather is from Portobello and is Hibs daft, so i always keep one eye on your results. Infact David Gray gave me one of my favourite moments in recent years last season. cheers

Thanks for comments. Looking forward to seeing him play for the cabbage.

28-02-2017, 08:23 PM
Tic fan in peace,

:top marksGood 1st post and many thanks for the :aok:

28-02-2017, 08:25 PM
Tic fan in peace,

Exactly how I remember him. Yes, he's had a few howlers, but I remember him generally being an absolute powerhouse, bit of pace and generally looking like a nightmare for a forward to play against.

28-02-2017, 08:27 PM

Bit strange. Lennon seems to have confirmed it. Maybe keeping today for the season ticket launch. Hopefully announced tomorrow morning and straight into the team.

CorrieHibs
28-02-2017, 10:07 PM

They must be waiting on Brian McLean receiving international clearance to confirm both at the same time.

28-02-2017, 10:51 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170228/509d13c522d61bd223fdfb404601a9fc.jpg

Is Reilly Ambrose's agent?

28-02-2017, 11:37 PM

I would guess there's been no official announcement yet, so as not to clash with the 17-18 Season Ticket launch today.

Now that's out there, leaves a clear path to make an announcement on Wednesday. It's also 1st March, which would rake a 3 month loan to end if May. Seems logical to me but I could be wrong.

Johnny Clash
01-03-2017, 06:56 AM
Tony Mowbray and Owen Coyle before him wanted big Efe at Blackburn on a permanent basis. They knew this lad had qualities but more importantly Neil Lennon rates him. That'll do for me.

You'll struggle to find a nicer bloke off the pitch apparently so if he lives up to expectations and helps us win promotion then we're looking at potential cult status here!

01-03-2017, 07:29 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170228/509d13c522d61bd223fdfb404601a9fc.jpg

Is Reilly Ambrose's agent?

No, Ambrose has the same agent as Marciano, Dudu Dahan.

01-03-2017, 07:31 AM
No, Ambrose has the same agent as Marciano, Dudu Dahan.

I'm sure this will cause some controversy with our pink chums, signing two players with the same agent in one calendar year!

01-03-2017, 08:27 AM
Tic fan in peace,

It is always good to have some posts from supporters of other clubs, make sure you post again.

01-03-2017, 08:41 AM
It is always good to have some posts from supporters of other clubs, make sure you post again.

Do you think?

I don't particularly have a problem with fans of clubs from other countries, but other Scottish teams supporters can bolt in my opinion. I've nae interest in your teams forums, get off mines.

01-03-2017, 08:57 AM
Clearly Ambrose is here, he's been training with the lads yesterday! Lennon said in the Record (I know)

"What I do know is I've got a very good professional who will be a great example to the rest. His impact has been immediate, there was a zip about training."

01-03-2017, 09:11 AM
Do you think?

I don't particularly have a problem with fans of clubs from other countries, but other Scottish teams supporters can bolt in my opinion. I've nae interest in your teams forums, get off mines.

be fair, mate. He might be deluded :greengrin but there's nothing objectionable in his post, lets give him a chance? I'm sure the Admins will be following him with interest.....

01-03-2017, 10:00 AM
Clearly Ambrose is here, he's been training with the lads yesterday! Lennon said in the Record (I know)

"What I do know is I've got a very good professional who will be a great example to the rest. His impact has been immediate, there was a zip about training."

Don't understand why Hibs official site is this slow.
will he actually make 1st team appearance without being announced. Would that be a 1st?

01-03-2017, 10:05 AM
Don't understand why Hibs official site is this slow.
will he actually make 1st team appearance without being announced. Would that be a 1st?

Could the delay in a formal announcement be in order to use the 93 days loan as fully as possible?:dunno:

ElginHibbie
01-03-2017, 10:09 AM
Could the delay in a formal announcement be in order to use the 93 days loan as fully as possible?:dunno:

93 days from now Thu 1st Jun and got the below dates from SPFL website (all May).

25 Premiership play-off final, 1st leg
27 Scottish Cup final
28 Premiership play-off final, 2nd leg

IF we got to the cup final and somehow ended up in the play off, the second leg would be moved to the Tuesday/Wednesday and the 93rd day would be the Wednesday... so you may be on to something!

Drumlanrig
01-03-2017, 10:13 AM
Do you think?

Oh dear....!

01-03-2017, 10:27 AM

I think you're right, Jim. We need them both right up to the end of the season - after the play-off final second leg.

Just to be on the safe side.

:not worth

01-03-2017, 10:31 AM
If this is correct, then the flowchart below on STV website confirms we are playing within the rules. Marciano and Shinnie are classed as "international transfers" under the loan scheme so don't get counted in the count on how many loan players we have. The rules for emergency loan only apply to deals between Scottish clubs. So everything is hunky dory.

K-Zazu
01-03-2017, 10:41 AM
Has this been made official from hibs?

01-03-2017, 10:41 AM

Good thinking Jim.

01-03-2017, 10:42 AM
I think you're right, Jim. We need them both right up to the end of the season - after the play-off final second leg.

Just to be on the safe side.

:not worth

We can sign McLean on any kind of deal since he's a free agent.

For emergency loan, 93 days would take us to 2 June - after play-off final second leg at end of May, so maybe something else holding it up.

We need one of these guys to play tonight!

01-03-2017, 11:10 AM
Do you think?

You're not obliged to go sign up to Kerrydale St or whatever it's called, you know. Live and let live.

Hibs.net is one of the liveliest and best-informed football forums in Scotland. Not surprised fans of other teams sometimes want to get involved.

This Celtc fan's post was polite and of direct relevance to us. What's the harm? The bluenose who was starting threads just to get a reaction however - bolt!

01-03-2017, 11:40 AM
You're not obliged to go sign up to Kerrydale St or whatever it's called, you know. Live and let live.

Hibs.net is one of the liveliest and best-informed football forums in Scotland. Not surprised fans of other teams sometimes want to get involved.

This Celtc fan's post was polite and of direct relevance to us. What's the harm? The bluenose who was starting threads just to get a reaction however - bolt!

I'm a member of KS, FF and KB. I visit them for interest, amusement and occasionally relevant information. I rarely post and on the rare occasion when I do, I never troll, criticise or patronise. I have no problems with fans of other clubs coming on here as long as their standards and motives are acceptable.

01-03-2017, 11:45 AM
I'm a member of KS, FF and KB. I visit them for interest, amusement and occasionally relevant information. I rarely post and on the rare occasion when I do, I never troll, criticise or patronise. I have no problems with fans of other clubs coming on here as long as their standards and motives are acceptable.

Agree it actually makes some of the discussion more interesting to get other teams fans viewpoints. Dont see why there should be an issue with it.

Salt N Sauzee
01-03-2017, 12:30 PM
Confirmed

green with envy
01-03-2017, 12:32 PM
Has this been made official from hibs?

11-03-2017, 09:16 AM
Would be interested to hear the views who come across as negative on this thread. What's your thoughts about the Ambrose signing now?

The Leith Dutch
11-03-2017, 10:17 AM
Would be interested to hear the views who come across as negative on this thread. What's your thoughts about the Ambrose signing now?

Going to be interested in who we play at Centre Back once everyone is fit.
We now have 5 Centre Backs all of whom I rate.

At the moment I'd have Forster and Fontaine down the pecking order although Forster I still believe has massive potential.
If he can soak up experience I think he could develop into an excellent player.

McGregor, Hanlon and Ambrose will presumably be the top choices but as it stands Ambrose is tricky to drop on form but won't be with us next season.

While I don't think Gray or Stevenson should be dropped it'd be interesting to see us play an attacking 3-5-2 with Boyle and Humphrey wide and McGinn and Bartley sitting with Shinnie behind the front two.

Nice problems to have I guess :)

04-01-2019, 10:59 AM
:cb

I'm sure there will be many who had negative views of Efe. However, he has impressed many by his skill and attitude.

Is he a 'bombscare'? Well, yes, he's had his moments. However, he's been a joy to watch.

04-01-2019, 11:03 AM
Wow, 8 pages already.

There's better out there but for cover he's more than fine. Happy with this.

Eh, I'm happy enough with my contribution.

04-01-2019, 11:05 AM
Been quite funny reading posts from the start of this, one poster saying it was shocking as he is awful

04-01-2019, 11:20 AM
I've watched the guy play and think he's a very poor player. That's how one usually forms an opinion. Nothing to back it up? I can only back it up with the evidence of my own eyes.

Maybe try opening them in future. :greengrin

04-01-2019, 11:21 AM
Been quite funny reading posts from the start of this, one poster saying it was shocking as he is awful

Interesting in 86 starts only 3 assists. Looks to be all superfluous with a lots of errors. Reduce wage bill and solidify defence. Not a bad trade.

jax67
04-01-2019, 11:25 AM
Thanks for your service Efe, to me you’ve been a joy to watch. Total baller.

04-01-2019, 11:26 AM
He would be a cracking signing in normal circumstances, never mind the situation we find ourselves in now. Remember what other teams fans thought of Bamba? And he was outstanding for us.

I’d like to point out that I had the utmost faith in you from the off Efe, love you x