View Full Version : Come on Scotland!

Pages : 1 2 [3]

11-10-2016, 08:33 PM
Scotland are absolutely terrible. Defensively a shambles. All the familiar failings on show yet again.

That pink strip is embarrassing. Who is it that thinks it looks good?:grr:

Benny Brazil
11-10-2016, 08:33 PM
I have lived in Scotland and followed a Scottish team for 24 years, stands to reason I will banter with Scots folk on a Scottish club forum surely?

Crack on Scouse - a lot of us Scottish fans are ripping the pish out of our own team so you doing it doesn't bother me in the slightest

11-10-2016, 08:34 PM
This surely warrants an SFA think tank?

The powers that be are completely unfit for purpose.

Change has been needed for decades, during or after every qualifying campaign it's always spoken about by the likes of Henry Mcleish etc etc. Nothing ever happens, don't expect it change any time soon. Too much to lose for the corrupt SFA.

11-10-2016, 08:34 PM
I feel pretty sure it will.

No way he'll be able to stay on after this.

The SFA have memberships and season tickets to sell. Only the most doolally of the TA will be buying that stuff up if there's no change. The real change is needed in the office, of course.

rotherhamrob
11-10-2016, 08:35 PM
Get Strachan to **** and let him take both fletchers, Martin, Hanley ,green and bannan with him.
This campaign is gone already so get some youngsters and newbies in to give them experience, god knows they can't do any worse.
I'm totally jacked of with managers who say go with experience when those same players have done sod all.

11-10-2016, 08:35 PM
Maybe a Team GB is the way forward

Put the the crack pipe down, chief, or you might break your fishing rod!

magpie1892
11-10-2016, 08:36 PM
I think we're at cross purposes here! Forget it, please!

No bother.

11-10-2016, 08:36 PM
when the tartan army boo....it's time to GTF wee man

11-10-2016, 08:37 PM
heaviest defeat in 7 years....progress eh

****ing BOOOO!

Ach, who wants to go to Russia anyway?

ClewsHibs
Strachan out. Embarrassing

11-10-2016, 08:38 PM
Be interesting to see what he has to say

Replacing Strachan won't change a thing.

Another manager who can't get a job anywhere else won't change a failing youth system and suddenly unearth a load of hidden talent. Yes they may well actually pick strikers who score goals or play a multi million pound player in his actual position but the fundemental problems remain. We're a footballing backwater due to decades of mismanagement and neglect and there's no real will to change that where it matters.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

There's clearly a bigger job long term required.

Short term there's still an immediate job that needs done and it's not an impossible job, just a very very difficult one.

magpie1892
I'd be highly surprised if Strachan is still at the helm by the time the team and the gurning Daryl Broadfoot get back to Glasgow.

11-10-2016, 08:39 PM

Another manager who can't get a job anywhere else won't change a failing youth system and suddenly unearth a load of hidden talent. Yes they may well actually pick strikers who score goals or play a multi million pound player in his actual position but the fundemental problems remain. We're a footballing backwater due to decades of mismanagement and neglect and there's no real will to change that where it matters.

I agree with that but a manager who cannot get a Scotland team motivated to achieve a better set of results than 4 points from Malta, Lithuania and Slovakia deserves to lose their job.

We are woeful and although there's bigger problems than Gordon Strachan within Scottish football, he should go after tonight.

Off the bar
Well that was ****in ****

I think he will survive until the England game, get pumped by them, and be away after that.

11-10-2016, 08:40 PM
****ing BOOOO!

Ach, who wants to go to Russia anyway?

The state of the Scottish game is that bad we might not qualify for the 2022 World Cup, wherever that might be held.

Off the bar
Strachan out. Embarrassing

Very hard to defend Strachan now, I've watched some crap Scotland performances but that was awful

I think he will survive until the England game, get pumped by them, and be away after that.

Just... why?

11-10-2016, 08:41 PM
The state of the Scottish game is that bad we might not qualify for the 2022 World Cup, wherever that might be held.

Even if we were the hosts we'd find a way to not be there!

euro Hibby
whose next up to be boss ?

Our teams are utter merde regardless of the age group.

11-10-2016, 08:42 PM

Crossed my mind he'll want to stay for that game as he'll want to be 'part of the occasion'

Knowing the sfa he'll have us over a barrel and we won't have any choice but to wait

K-Zazu
11-10-2016, 08:42 PM

So why isn't he picking strikers who score goals? Why is Darren Fletcher our 'captain' still playing international football he is completely honking he got taken off and he's meant to be the captain of Scotland .. brutal

11-10-2016, 08:43 PM
is there any rule changes due to increase the WC qualifying groups to a pot 7

skyehibee
11-10-2016, 08:43 PM
I actually think we have a decent pool of players to pick from but mismanagement and poor tactics are the main downfall here. In other words Strachan needs to go

11-10-2016, 08:44 PM
Same old, same old. Fact is that no matter who the manager is we just don't have the quality of player.

11-10-2016, 08:44 PM
Utterly brutal but nothing will change until the corrupt SFA are disbanded and the game is built up again from square one.

11-10-2016, 08:45 PM

Phew. For a minute there thought you were talking about us.

Truly awful stuff. No case for the defence and zero goal threat. Strachan need to go.

is there any rule changes due to increase the WC qualifying groups to a pot 7

Yep, they're going to start including planets in it soon so I am pretty sure Scotland will be able to nick at least a draw at home against Jupiter.

11-10-2016, 08:47 PM
Same old, same old. Fact is that no matter who the manager is we just don't have the quality of player.

We're not by any stretch world beaters but when we're not picking premiership players and leaving our most gifted goalscorer out the team then we'll get nowhere.

11-10-2016, 08:47 PM
Yep, they're going to start including planets in it soon so I am pretty sure Scotland will be able to nick at least a draw at home against Jupiter.

i:hilarious i wouldn't bet on that

11-10-2016, 08:49 PM

Saturn would run rings around us

11-10-2016, 08:50 PM
Really bad result tonight and possibly we deserved more out game, defence a wee bit suspect though.

However I 've just had a wee look at the league table and we are by no means out of this. Everone cutting each others throat.

An England game could be our perfect next fixture be it with Strachan or not.

We might have a chance against the ladies team from Venus though.

Kieran Tierney looks like the best player we've produced in a generation but he's very much the exception to the rule.

Wouldn't be much atmosphere though ....

Benny Brazil

Neither do Northern Ireland or Iceland or Bosnia or even Republic of Ireland - yet they still manage to qualify for tournaments.

11-10-2016, 08:51 PM

Don't worry there is no atmosphere there !

K-Zazu
11-10-2016, 08:52 PM
Neil McCann thinks we can win at Wembley

euro Hibby
11-10-2016, 08:53 PM
in the end it is a poorer quality player and dreadful management of the running of the game. you have teams like Iceland out performing Scotland. On the other hand, these games need experienced playrs which is a load of bull.
These guys are professional footballers and they should be ready for anything. Mcgin did well in his 10 minutes. Griffiths did well despite being over looked and why was Anya not on before ? 53 % possession ......but minus a real cutting edge.......usual fair from Scotland

11-10-2016, 08:54 PM
We might have a chance against the ladies team from Venus though.

and it would still be us wearing the pink strips

11-10-2016, 08:55 PM

He also thinks Strachan is a very good coach.

11-10-2016, 08:57 PM
Derek McInnes is the bookies favourite to take over apparently. That would do me nicely.

11-10-2016, 08:58 PM
Thats a shocking result.

11-10-2016, 08:58 PM
Burke just posted this on twitter

😶

magpie1892
11-10-2016, 08:59 PM
Neither do Northern Ireland or Iceland or Bosnia or even Republic of Ireland - yet they still manage to qualify for tournaments.

Iceland have better players than Scotland all over the park, and 80% of them playing in decent European leagues.

Interestingly, Scotland have a P6, W6 record v. Iceland but if you played them tomorrow...

11-10-2016, 08:59 PM
We're not by any stretch world beaters but when we're not picking premiership players and leaving our most gifted goalscorer out the team then we'll get nowhere.

:agree: Fair comment, D

11-10-2016, 09:00 PM

I think Neil is a knob.

11-10-2016, 09:02 PM
If we lose this Strapon hasn't a leg to stand on. Bye, bye you little ****ing twat of a man.

Playing Fletcher and Bannan is actually borderline hilarious.

Venting at the wrong guy, Cat. Every Scottish manager from now on will look like a twat as did the previous few. Hung out to dry by a national association who are too busy waiting on what The Rangers want them to do next. They'll jump through hoops (sic) for them but shrug their shoulders at the state of the game here. Absolute charlatans.

11-10-2016, 09:03 PM

He got his team all wrong again. You don't need quality to compete you need 100% focus and play the best 11. He's a clown who's not doing either.

11-10-2016, 09:04 PM
Venting at the wrong guy, Cat. Every Scottish manager from now on will look like a twat as did the previous few. Hung out to dry by a national association who are too busy waiting on what The Rangers want them to do next. They'll jump through hoops (sic) for them but shrug their shoulders at the state of the game here. Absolute charlatans.

Sadly the clowns who run our game are more interested in making sure the Huns are ok rather than the national side. Spot on!

11-10-2016, 09:06 PM

Neil McCann in sticking up for his mate shocker.

I've slowly warmed to Chris Sutton as a pundit as he says what he thinks and actually takes Scottish Football seriously, even if I don't already agree with him. People like Neil McCann who have constantly got an angle to look after his mates are one of the reasons Scottish football has been allowed to get as bad as this.

Bobo
11-10-2016, 09:07 PM
For decades the Scottish Football Association has proven to be one of the most inept governing bodies in the sport! Our domestic, European and national reputation was sadly dying on its @rse a long time ago but they chose to ignore it and drag us all into oblivion.

Our game seriously need reform, fresh ideas and experienced football men at the top if we are to ever start turning things around. I'm struggling to believe that we could even be classified as a 3rd rate football nation after tonight :rolleyes:

highland hibbee
11-10-2016, 09:07 PM
Kieran Tierney looks like the best player we've produced in a generation but he's very much the exception to the rule.

Totally agree, the player of the starting 11 to get pass marks, and that after a dodgy opening few minutes.

11-10-2016, 09:14 PM
Paul Barnes just tweeted this..

Just interviewed Gordon Strachan in tunnel and asked if he should continue as Scotland manager. "It's not about me, it's about the players."

CorrieHibs
11-10-2016, 09:14 PM
Another disastrous performance.

Paterson and Bannan are nowhere near intenational level.

Hanley and Martin are embarrassing. That second goal was comical.

Unfortunately you need a solid defence in international football and we don't have it. No idea who we even play at centre back.

Strachan is clueless, his team selection was baffling.

But there was no urgency, too many passes going astray. Slovakia are bang average and they scored 3 goals. They'll not score 3 easier goals either.

Bye, bye Gordon. It's all went horribly wrong since Georgia.

11-10-2016, 09:15 PM
I thought Strachan's comments the other night were outrageous and I cannot understand why he won't start Griffiths....but I said at the beginning of the campaign that our central defence would cost us dear and I can't understand why he took the job on again. Martin, Hanley, Berra and Greer are as poor as we've had for years.

TheGreenMan
11-10-2016, 09:15 PM
Ross Mccormack and Jordan Rhodes not being in the squad if not in the starting 11 is criminal.

Griffiths should be 1st name on the team sheet and build your team and system around the guy (s) that score you goals.

11-10-2016, 09:16 PM
Imagine if Kerby was a major sport. Surely to god we would be world champs at that!!

11-10-2016, 09:18 PM
So who would you like to replace Strachan. For me it has to be a strong manager as far removed from the SFA as possible. A young man in an assistant role with a decent side now....

TheGreenMan
11-10-2016, 09:19 PM
John Mcginn should be in front of Barry Bannan too. At least you get a bit of drive from Mcginn, someone that can travel with the ball. Bannan is a safe option pass type of midfielder which we already have with Darren Fletcher as is Mccarthur and ultimately you pass it to death going nowhere. Mcginn played 2 or 3 incisive passes in 10 minutes of being on the pitch.

11-10-2016, 09:23 PM
Euro 2020 will be fun though.

CorrieHibs
I think me miss Scott brown

Hope your right

So who would you like to replace Strachan. For me it has to be a strong manager as far removed from the SFA as possible. A young man in an assistant role with a decent side now....

Giggs?

Assuming Strachan leaves soon I hope we don't just go for a lazy run of the mill appointment because they're Scottish and unemployed. I think we need someone experienced and 'a thinker'. Someone that can work with the sfa to change the game from top to bottom and will implement change.

A few possibilities:-

Ralf Rangnick
Last Lagerback
Dick Advocaat
Martin O'Neill (unlikely I know)

Anyone else of a similar mould?

11-10-2016, 09:25 PM
I agree with that but a manager who cannot get a Scotland team motivated to achieve a better set of results than 4 points from Malta, Lithuania and Slovakia deserves to lose their job.

We are woeful and although there's bigger problems than Gordon Strachan within Scottish football, he should go after tonight.

This!

11-10-2016, 09:26 PM
John Mcginn should be in front of Barry Bannan too. At least you get a bit of drive from Mcginn, someone that can travel with the ball. Bannan is a safe option pass type of midfielder which we already have with Darren Fletcher as is Mccarthur and ultimately you pass it to death going nowhere. Mcginn played 2 or 3 incisive passes in 10 minutes of being on the pitch.

Tbh, before tonight McGinn is lucky to be in the Hibs first 11 based on this season's performances, let alone start for Scotland....Bannan was poor tonight though, amongst many others...McGinn did well when he came on.

11-10-2016, 09:29 PM
Saturn is largely nothing but atmosphere, I thought I would mention.

11-10-2016, 09:29 PM

It's not down to just who replaces Strachan. The enormity of the task of turning around and vastly improving the standard of the game in this country is too much for one man. The game in this country needs root and branch change at all levels. A new different approach. That will probably/possibly take years.

If things stay the way they are, whoever takes on the poison chalice is doomed to failure.

11-10-2016, 09:30 PM
I'm actually a well mannered man I'll have you know. I'd even invite you both in for coffee first, but I hope you won't be trying to intimidate me as that's 2 on 1 and not showing good manners now is it?

Relax petal, i'll get Gordon to hold my coat.

Gonny explain how not playing Fletcher and Bannan against Slovakia would stop us shipping 3 goals? Tell us who should have played in their place and how they would have secured the 4 goals required for victory.

Explain that and we might take you more seriously.

Personally, I think Strachan feels that the offensive strategy he can use against a particular opponent, measured against the offensive capabilities of that opponent, is limited by the frailties that are apparent at the back. What do you think?

11-10-2016, 09:31 PM
I'm lucky to have followed Scotland to two World Cup finals, 90 and 98 and Euro finals in 96, I just can't for the life of me see how we will qualify in the next 10 years. Our U21s finished second bottom of their group and the full team look hopeless. We need a complete overhaul of our game. Bigger top league, no more pandering to the needs of just two clubs. SFA/SPFL need to look at the bigger picture and how small nations can compete with the bigger ones.
We need to stop looking to England and wanting to be like them as that is a **** model that underperforms at every major championship from club and international levels. We have learned nothing since the 80s and at best have stagnated while others have grown and developed. Our league structure is a burden as is the continual need by the governing bodies to suck up to the OF.

11-10-2016, 09:32 PM
Assuming Strachan leaves soon I hope we don't just go for a lazy run of the mill appointment because they're Scottish and unemployed. I think we need someone experienced and 'a thinker'. Someone that can work with the sfa to change the game from top to bottom and will implement change.

Ralf Rangnick
Last Lagerback
Dick Advocaat

I totally agree with what you've said and would be very happy to appoint one of those names you mentioned. However would these guys even be interested in the job? I personally don't think they would. TBH, I really don't know which good experienced manager would want this job.

11-10-2016, 09:33 PM
For decades the Scottish Football Association has proven to be one of the most inept governing bodies in the sport! Our domestic, European and national reputation was sadly dying on its @rse a long time ago but they chose to ignore it and drag us all into oblivion.

Our game seriously need reform, fresh ideas and experienced football men at the top if we are to ever start turning things around. I'm struggling to believe that we could even be classified as a 3rd rate football nation after tonight :rolleyes:

You mean experienced football men like the ones running our clubs who have failed to bring through any international class players?

11-10-2016, 09:34 PM

Ralf Rangnick
Last Lagerback
Dick Advocaat

Herve Renard perhaps.

11-10-2016, 09:35 PM

Gonny explain how not playing Fletcher and Bannan against Slovakia would stop us shipping 3 goals? Tell us who should have played in their place and how they would have secured the 4 goals required for victory.

Personally, I think Strachan feels that the offensive strategy he can use against a particular opponent, measured against the offensive capabilities of that opponent, is limited by the frailties that are apparent at the back. What do you think?

If he is concerned about the abilities at the back and has a 40 goal striker up front that needs a partner as well as 2 wing backs who's main assets are their engines I'd have thought 3-5-2 would have been a more obvious shout. Give the centre halfs an extra man to help out, still get to pack the midfield and get to play 2 up front.

To be fair, picking formations with the benefit of hindsight is easy, I do think he made an arse of pretty much every aspect of his job tonight though.

11-10-2016, 09:36 PM
I'd go with marcelo bielsa....brilliant tactical manager...

11-10-2016, 09:36 PM
You mean experienced football men like the ones running our clubs who have failed to bring through any international class players?

Your spot on but nothing will be done as the blazers don't want to lose there positions in the SFA the games rotten to the core and pamper to the old firm

11-10-2016, 09:38 PM
Strachan seems to have chucked it. But we have bigger problems, the entire sfa mafia needs gutted and to be held accountable for the state of Scottish football.

As as for team selection I would rather we were starting players that feature week in week out regardless of the league they play in, Hanley should not be getting his games for the season wearing a Scotland shirt in a qualifying campaign.

11-10-2016, 09:39 PM
Herve Renard perhaps.

Had to google him there, the fact we're not African would appear to count us out.

11-10-2016, 09:39 PM
It's not down to just who replaces Strachan. The enormity of the task of turning around and vastly improving the standard of the game in this country is too much for one man. The game in this country needs root and branch change at all levels. A new different approach. That will probably/possibly take years.

If things stay the way they are, whoever takes on the poison chalice is doomed to failure.

as i mentioned earlier there is "paper" that has been due to be delivered for years now...they keep putting it off. There is plenty stuff meant to be in it that the clubs in scotland will try and stop. Especially the top clubs. (Our club included) If it was forced through somehow we would move to regional youth teams and move away from clubs having Pro Youth until 15+ and only the elite would make it to Professional Clubs. These players would then be part of a draft system into the clubs and the clubs would be forces to play these player X amount of times a season. The draft continues year after year. You would also see a limit of the amount of non-scottish players in squads, and X number of under 21s in the match day squads. But members of the SPL will try and stop it.

magpie1892
11-10-2016, 09:40 PM

Ralf Rangnick
Last Lagerback
Dick Advocaat

Lars has retired. He told me he was going to retire after the 2014 WCQ but the KSÍ persuaded him to stay on with Heimir coming in as co-manager to, ultimately, take Iceland to their first ever major finals.
Advocaat? Behave yourself.

The other two are decent shouts but about as likely as me getting a date with Doetzen Kroes.

11-10-2016, 09:41 PM
I totally agree with what you've said and would be very happy to appoint one of those names you mentioned. However would these guys even be interested in the job? I personally don't think they would. TBH, I really don't know which good experienced manager would want this job.

That's the concern but ultimately I think the sfa will need to do what we should have done years ago. Spend proper money and not just go for the cheap unemployed option.

I don't know where the money comes from for this but they'll need to find it, even if it means racking up a debt, if whoever comes in has a positive long term impact on our game it'd be worth it.

HibernianJK
11-10-2016, 09:41 PM
Utterly shambolic display and Strachan has questions to answer.

Drops Burke because of experience then play's Tierney with arguably less experience and he has a good game.

Leaves best goal scorer on bench.

Benches MOTM (IMO) from Saturday.

Guy is clueless and seems to be cutting his nose of to spite his face. Thinks that he can out smart the rest of us and show off if it comes off.

Strachan out.

11-10-2016, 09:43 PM
Had to google him there, the fact we're not African would appear to count us out.

yeh was looking for guys who have done decent things with limited squads. He's at Lille i think now. edit - yep he got sacked at Lille after 13 puts from 13 games... ;-)

11-10-2016, 09:45 PM
Lars has retired. He told me he was going to retire after the 2014 WCQ but the KSÍ persuaded him to stay on with Heimir coming in as co-manager to, ultimately, take Iceland to their first ever major finals.

The other two are decent shouts but about as likely as me getting a date with Doetzen Kroes.

I'll take your word for advocaat being a bad shout, was just a name that spring to mind.

Who do you think would be a realistic option?

archiebald
11-10-2016, 09:48 PM
Utterly shambolic display and Strachan has questions to answer.

Drops Burke because of experience then play's Tierney with arguably less experience and he has a good game.

Leaves best goal scorer on bench.

Benches MOTM (IMO) from Saturday.

Guy is clueless and seems to be cutting his nose of to spite his face. Thinks that he can out smart the rest of us and show off if it comes off.

Strachan out.

Correct

11-10-2016, 09:51 PM

Glad I googled Doetzen Kroes :greengrin

Bobo
11-10-2016, 09:55 PM

If I'd meant that I'd have said it.

It's the structure and running of our game that needs addressed first, league reconstruction, reintroduction of youth leagues / grass roots youth development etc. We need knowledgeable people with ambition at the top instead of the unadventurous auld farts we have at present in order to be able to make any sort of attempt to turn things around ... they don't have to be Scottish.

magpie1892
11-10-2016, 09:57 PM
I'll take your word for advocaat being a bad shout, was just a name that spring to mind.

Who do you think would be a realistic option?

Kudos for putting some names out there.

If Lars was 58 and not 68 then even as an Englishman I would pay to see him get the Scotland gig. He basically redefined Icelandic football single handedly, taking them from 112 in the FIFA rankings to 21 and the last eight in their first ever major finals.

The quick answer to your question, in my opinion - and starting tomorrow - would be McInnes.

But - and, again, I think the FA need the same - the SFA needs to be completely cleaned out of everyone other than those in adminstrative roles.

You need a complete root and branch overhaul. Why can't the SFA bring themselves to adopt the Icelandic model? A similar approach seems to be working OK for the Scotland women's team...

magpie1892
11-10-2016, 10:00 PM
Glad I googled Doetzen Kroes :greengrin

I met her in the Netherlands in 2012. She's even better looking in the flesh than in images. She's so beautiful I got my name wrong when I was introduced to her.

11-10-2016, 10:03 PM

Even he would have a job getting a tune out of that lot.

11-10-2016, 10:04 PM

That's who would be my shout as well. Terrific manager.

But then again, no doubt the SFA will go for the cheap option like Ally McCoist.

11-10-2016, 10:06 PM
I met her in the Netherlands in 2012. She's even better looking in the flesh than in images. She's so beautiful I got my name wrong when I was introduced to her.

:greengrin Boy at work came back from lunch like a gibbering wreck when he saw Myleene Klass in George St during the festival a few years ago.

magpie1892
11-10-2016, 10:08 PM
That's who would be my shout as well. Terrific manager.

But then again, no doubt the SFA will go for the cheap option like Ally McCoist.

You've not a prayer of getting Bielsa. I doubt he'd even take the England job if offered.

I think you can safely rule McCoist out though!

majorhibs
11-10-2016, 10:09 PM

Stop it! Bannan naewhere near the level required. Fletcher imo needs performers around him otherwise he's past his sell by date. Just cannae get my head round this big surge for Bannan who while busy has basically delivered nowt in last 2 mega important fixtures & I didnae like him in Malta either. But bottom line Strachan is now untenable. Done. Kaput. What is it wi Scotland job since roxburghe we've had boring defensive scaredy 1 up front (or potter 0) defensive scared tae get beat negative clowns? Effin attack teams sometimes ya blouses!

magpie1892
11-10-2016, 10:14 PM
:greengrin Boy at work came back from lunch like a gibbering wreck when he saw Myleene Klass in George St during the festival a few years ago.

I can sympathise.

11-10-2016, 10:21 PM

Griffiths and McGinn.

I'll hold your coat if you want as I very much doubt you'd be doing much. 😎

The fact you are defending him and saying your not taking me serious makes this quite funny!!

11-10-2016, 10:24 PM
Stop it! Bannan naewhere near the level required. Fletcher imo needs performers around him otherwise he's past his sell by date. Just cannae get my head round this big surge for Bannan who while busy has basically delivered nowt in last 2 mega important fixtures & I didnae like him in Malta either. But bottom line Strachan is now untenable. Done. Kaput. What is it wi Scotland job since roxburghe we've had boring defensive scaredy 1 up front (or potter 0) defensive scared tae get beat negative clowns? Effin attack teams sometimes ya blouses!

Reasoned argument. However, I'm not comfortable with your blitzkrieg mentality when we are so soft as in defence. Still waiting for the formula that allows us to play, with the players currently at our disposal, like Brasil in '82 without shipping more goals than we score.

Maybe we should help Warburton find that ****ing wand?

11-10-2016, 10:29 PM
Griffiths and McGinn.

I'll hold your coat if you want as I very much doubt you'd be doing much. 😎

The fact you are defending him and saying your not taking me serious makes this quite funny!!

Jog on fud.

I'm not defending Strachan, just calling you out for the mouth you are.

11-10-2016, 10:29 PM
Jog on fud.

Great response! 😂😂

11-10-2016, 10:32 PM
Jog on fud.

One thing I will say is the defence is rotten. Sometimes best form of defence is to attack. Having Fletcher and Bannan on was like being down two men.

Griffiths and McGinn done more in the short time they got.

magpie1892
11-10-2016, 10:37 PM
Jog on fud.

Great response! ����

Easy guys. I made a twat of myself on here a while back with a very well-respected poster and when I had sobered up felt like the complete idiot I had been.

Fine to argue but leave the personal stuff to the imploding huns.

11-10-2016, 10:39 PM
Easy guys.

It's all good, he's only teaching me about manners 😉

11-10-2016, 10:44 PM
Easy guys. I made a twat of myself on here a while back with a very well-respected poster and when I had sobered up felt like the complete idiot I had been.

Fine to argue but leave the personal stuff to the imploding huns.

Sage advice. Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience...

11-10-2016, 10:46 PM
Sage advice. Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience...

Correct, that's why I've not argued with you. See your getting there!

11-10-2016, 10:48 PM

You're. LoL

11-10-2016, 10:52 PM
You're. LoL

Oh no, why didn't you tell me you are in the grammar police? Take me in right away!!

magpie1892
11-10-2016, 10:53 PM

You're. LoL

Right, that's the naughty step for the two of yous.

11-10-2016, 10:56 PM
Oh no, why didn't you tell me you are in the grammar police? Take me in right away!!

Bang to rights on football knowledge and basic grammar. Internet access suspended for 12 months.

A submitted written apology would be considered in mitigation...

11-10-2016, 10:56 PM
Right, that's the naughty step for the two of yous.

Booooo.

Can I take these handcuffs off then?

Right I'm off to bed, peace and love folks ✌🏼

11-10-2016, 10:57 PM
Bang to rights on football knowledge and basic grammar. Internet access suspended for 12 months.

A submitted written apology would be considered in mitigation...

Only if I'm allowed a pencil notepad and a dictionary?

11-10-2016, 10:59 PM
Only if I'm allowed a pencil notepad and a dictionary?

Accepted. Carry on brother.

12-10-2016, 06:31 AM
We'd still have lost last night had we put McGinn on and Griffiths, we can argue all day long about our best team or best 11, but we really are pish and just not good enough.

Players and manager are nowhere near the standard needed to qualify for either championship, in fact they could even struggle in our championship.

And to all the experts who want this man or that man in to manage this lot of players, how the hell would he make them defend better, retain the ball better and score more goals than the opposition?

Our players do not have the basic skills teams from other countries have, i said a long time ago that Hibs should have brought in a foreign manager, the best we could afford. I also said he should NOT bring in ANY players from Scotland and fill the team with the best players from abroad we can afford, players with the right attitude to training application but more importantly technique and ability.

Still keep the youth set up, but only promote those who reach the same levels as these foreign players have. It may take a while, but that is the way i'd go with Hibs.

Scotland obviously can't do this, but really the only way forward is the turkeys voting for xmas, and that wont happen in my lifetime.

12-10-2016, 07:00 AM
We'd still have lost last night had we put McGinn on and Griffiths, we can argue all day long about our best team or best 11, but we really are pish and just not good enough.

Players and manager are nowhere near the standard needed to qualify for either championship, in fact they could even struggle in our championship.

And to all the experts who want this man or that man in to manage this lot of players, how the hell would he make them defend better, retain the ball better and score more goals than the opposition?

Our players do not have the basic skills teams from other countries have, i said a long time ago that Hibs should have brought in a foreign manager, the best we could afford. I also said he should NOT bring in ANY players from Scotland and fill the team with the best players from abroad we can afford, players with the right attitude to training application but more importantly technique and ability.

Still keep the youth set up, but only promote those who reach the same levels as these foreign players have. It may take a while, but that is the way i'd go with Hibs.

Scotland obviously can't do this, but really the only way forward is the turkeys voting for xmas, and that wont happen in my lifetime.

Is it surely not time to give other defenders a shot BH? The current group have been found out game after game. Strachan used to not play guys if they hadn't had enough game time. Hanley has played one full game for Newcastle since Jan?? He reads the game like a 5yo.

Next game....Back 3 Davidson, Hanlon, Reynolds. Get Teirney and Burke out wide. Actually try and have a go at teams. We don't have the players that can sit off and try and dictate a game. Its needs to be pressure and pace.

12-10-2016, 07:05 AM
People aren't seriously suggesting McGinn is a better player than Bannan?

12-10-2016, 07:09 AM

he's better than zidane

12-10-2016, 07:10 AM

He was very confident of Rangers beating Hibs on 21st May.

12-10-2016, 07:19 AM
Couldn't care less anymore as they are back to being mince. Always want my country to win but it's firmly about HFC when it comes to where's, whys and how's.

All I'll say is: get it sorted SFA, Strachan or whoever.

12-10-2016, 07:26 AM
1998 - the last time a men's Scotland team qualified for a torunament. Since then there have been some complete muppets in charge - working with average players and supported by the incompetent (jobs for the boys / couldn't run a bath) SFA.

A change of matter would make a difference but the players being developed are simply not good enough.

Copied from out of all places kickback..

When did we last have one - never mind two, genuinely good central defenders?

In the last Euros, Albania had a couple of players from Napoli and one from Lazio. Others playing in the top flight in Italy, France, Germany, Switzerland.

Switzerland have a mob of players who play for good Bundesliga teams.

Wales can pick players from Real Madrid, Arsenal and Liverpool as well as a bundle of other Premier League players.

Slovakia have players who play for Milan, Sampdoria, Napoli, Roma and Hertha Berlin.

Poland have six players playing in Serie A, others at Bayern, Sevilla, Dortmund and Ajax.

The Czechs have 2 Arsenal players and 3 playing in the Bundesliga. Others at Fenerbahce and Bordeaux.

Iceland have players playing in the top flight in England, Italy, Russia, Germany, France and Switzerland.

Austria have about 15 players in the Bundesliga or Premier League.

Croatia can pick players from Barcelona, Real Madrid, Juventus, Inter and a bundle of other Serie A players.

Then look at Scotland. Currently two of our entire staff of goalkeepers and defenders play in the Premier League in England. And none at a big club. Everybody else plays in Scotland or the lower league in England.

We have six midfielders from the Premier League or Bundesliga. But one of them is 19 and none of them are at a big club.

Our striking options are woeful. We have nobody who has ever performed at a high level anywhere. Nobody.

What manager is going to make us competitive against the kind of quality other countries have?

England have a slightly similar problem - all play in their own league and have the comfort blanket of the premier league. When they play champions league or tournament football they often get found out.

Here is an article which makes quite a bit of sense too..

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/14796438.Neil_Cameron__Gordon_Strachan_has_to_go_b ecause_nobody_cares_about_Scotland_anymore/

12-10-2016, 07:30 AM
Poor defending again but in reality do we have better? See people saying hanlon and reynolds, hanlon is no where near good enough to play international football, reynolds ive not seen much if due to not watching spl football so cant comment. Is there really better CH's out there than hqmley and martin just now? Doubt there is and thats a problem, also wouldnt pick C martin, S fletcher, bannan, again. Just not good enough

12-10-2016, 07:34 AM

Your not seriously suggesting they are both better than Zidane?

12-10-2016, 08:24 AM
Poor defending again but in reality do we have better? See people saying hanlon and reynolds, hanlon is no where near good enough to play international football, reynolds ive not seen much if due to not watching spl football so cant comment. Is there really better CH's out there than hqmley and martin just now? Doubt there is and thats a problem, also wouldnt pick C martin, S fletcher, bannan, again. Just not good enough

Hanlon is a better defender and player than Hanley. People just assume Hanley must be great as he is in the Newcastle squad.

12-10-2016, 08:31 AM
Is it surely not time to give other defenders a shot BH? The current group have been found out game after game. Strachan used to not play guys if they hadn't had enough game time. Hanley has played one full game for Newcastle since Jan?? He reads the game like a 5yo.

Next game....Back 3 Davidson, Hanlon, Reynolds. Get Teirney and Burke out wide. Actually try and have a go at teams. We don't have the players that can sit off and try and dictate a game. Its needs to be pressure and pace.

Unfortunately the standard of Scottish league football is so poor that the likes of Reynolds and Hanlon would be found out big time. I thought Paul Hanlon would be in with a shout but his form even before he was pushed out to LB hasn't been great this season, after an excellent start as well. Sorry, who is Davidson?

12-10-2016, 08:51 AM
Strachan is stubborn Rhodes is a goal machine as is Griffiths maybe fletch should play wide left maloney wide right with those two up top bannan and fletcher in middle lol

12-10-2016, 09:14 AM
Hmmmm Lennon and strachan, the only team they have both had success with was Celtc.....easy to win **** when you've loads more money than anyone else.
I don't think either are good managers, both prone to weird team selections, and have an attitude.....but obviously hope Lennon proves me wrong.
Strachan has to walk now.

This in bucket loads

12-10-2016, 09:22 AM
Almost every European national side has at least one or two genuinely good players who play for a top team. Look at Slovakia last night - players from Milan and Napoli. Their country is the same population as ours and they regularly qualify for major tournaments.

Scotland's best players play for bottom third EPL teams or the English second tier. Our "rising star" plays for Leipzig.

Strachan isn't up to much but punting him will change nothing. The problem goes much deeper than that.

12-10-2016, 09:23 AM
It might not be pleasing on the eye, in fact it's usually utterly dire, but most of the smaller nations enjoying success and making it to tournaments do it on the back of a mean defence and being well organised. A special talent or two does help as well.

There's no obvious solution to the problems in central defence but Scotland could definitely be better organised. As for special talents, we're looking to Robert Snodgrass, which speaks volumes for our plight.

12-10-2016, 09:55 AM

A back 3 of Mark Reynolds , Paul Hanlon and Davidson (not sure who this is? ) at Wembley would be an utter massacre.

It would be embarrassing.

12-10-2016, 09:55 AM
If, as seems likely according to some in the media, Strachan does the honourable thing and stands down today what difference will it really make? Personally I've never rated him but I'm not sure anyone else can do much more with the utterly inadequate standard of player at Scotland's disposal. Looking at the group Scotland are in they got lucky with what should have been a lot of easy fixtures but these latest dismal results show just why they were in the fourth pot of seeds.

12-10-2016, 10:16 AM
A back 3 of Mark Reynolds , Paul Hanlon and Davidson (not sure who this is? ) at Wembley would be an utter massacre.

It would be embarrassing.

Really? What are the current CBs showing to say it wouldn't be an improvement? My point is we continue to stick with the same players time after time....they aren't suddenly going to become better footballers. oh and i meant Anderson... the lad at St Johnston.

12-10-2016, 10:34 AM
Really? What are the current CBs showing to say it wouldn't be an improvement? My point is we continue to stick with the same players time after time....they aren't suddenly going to become better footballers. oh and i meant Anderson... the lad at St Johnston.

Stephen Anderson? Is that a windup?

12-10-2016, 10:44 AM

I bet you there will be nae atmosphere in the away end.

12-10-2016, 10:46 AM
We have a winner[emoji1]

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

12-10-2016, 11:04 AM
We have a winner[emoji1]

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

Having finished reading the thread a couple of others beat me to it. :-)

12-10-2016, 11:08 AM

Hibs should adopt a policy of excluding any manager or player from the squad, if they happen to be Scottish :confused: Seriously?!

12-10-2016, 11:31 AM
I like Paul Hanlon, but seriously is he good enough to play for Scotland. A defender who for the last three seasons has being playing in the Scottish Championship and for a team that is well known to give away soft goals, not always PH fault though. And before that was playing for a team struggling to avoid relegation. If he was viewed as being a good defender, he would have been off down to England long before now.

And people want him playing for Scotland. Bizarre!

I'm not saying he's not a good player, nor any better or worse than the current pairing. But he's not 'international' class and I would rather not see PH subjected to it.

12-10-2016, 11:42 AM
I like Paul Hanlon, but seriously is he good enough to play for Scotland. A defender who for the last three seasons has being playing in the Scottish Championship and for a team that is well known to give away soft goals, not always PH fault though. And before that was playing for a team struggling to avoid relegation. If he was viewed as being a good defender, he would have been off down to England long before now.

I'm not saying he's not a good player, nor any better or worse than the current pairing. But he's not 'international' class and I would rather not see PH subjected to it.

A player who turned down a three year contract at Aberdeen. So basically unless a player leaves Hibs they must be ****?

pontius pilate
12-10-2016, 11:56 AM
I don't see why McGregor shouldn't be considered for a call up either. Further on it what on earth has happened to George Boyd Liam bridcutt ryan gauld Paul caddis jonny Russell Steven caulker. That's just some down south or in Europe.There are CH and players in our own league who giving a chance to represent the country in confident would do a better job than some of those already doing so

12-10-2016, 12:15 PM
I don't see why McGregor shouldn't be considered for a call up either. Further on it what on earth has happened to George Boyd Liam bridcutt ryan gauld Paul caddis jonny Russell Steven caulker. That's just some down south or in Europe.There are CH and players in our own league who giving a chance to represent the country in confident would do a better job than some of those already doing so

We're talking international football. McGregor has done great for Hibs but he can't use the ball. Gauld has been poor for the u21s. Caddis? Seriously? Bridcutt is no more than average although still has a chance, Jonny Russell would be behind the likes of Snodgrass, Burke and Anya in the pecking order and I didn't think Caulker wanted to play for us...plus is he better then Hanley or Martin?

12-10-2016, 12:35 PM
We're talking international football. McGregor has done great for Hibs but he can't use the ball. Gauld has been poor for the u21s. Caddis? Seriously? Bridcutt is no more than average although still has a chance, Jonny Russell would be behind the likes of Snodgrass, Burke and Anya in the pecking order and I didn't think Caulker wanted to play for us...plus is he better then Hanley or Martin?

McGregor can defend though, a quality often overlooked in the modern defender.

And I'm not convinced Hanley or Martin can defend better than McGregor.

pontius pilate
12-10-2016, 12:42 PM
The point i was making is that there is options out there im sure i read caulker would consider a call up why not try what's the worst that can happen he says no. Caddis I've not seen it has to be said for Birmingham. As others have said it really needs a complete overhaul and some one coming in with a great outlook and attempt to blend a team together using younger hungrier players

12-10-2016, 01:00 PM

On the left of a back three, I think he could be good enough yes. Some very limited players on show at Euro 16, but well drilled and effective. He would need to be paired with some muscle though as PH is not the biggest.

But I would certainly not drop him in at the deep end. Strachan's approach to the squad is worryingly scatter gun.

12-10-2016, 01:14 PM
Hanlon is a better defender and player than Hanley. People just assume Hanley must be great as he is in the Newcastle squad.

Well we will agree to disagree as i dont think hanlon is as good as you make out

12-10-2016, 01:45 PM
Just as well England are cr*p too or we would get hammered. The two centre-backs are as slow as a week in jail, as for Bannan & Ritchie we would be better off with Eamon and Andy even with a combined age of 150. J McG had a couple of good runs, looked sharp and played a delightful ball through to Leigh who also looked sharp. These two must start at Wembley.

12-10-2016, 02:04 PM
The point i was making is that there is options out there im sure i read caulker would consider a call up why not try what's the worst that can happen he says no. Caddis I've not seen it has to be said for Birmingham. As others have said it really needs a complete overhaul and some one coming in with a great outlook and attempt to blend a team together using younger hungrier players

What makes you think Caulker would be better than what we currently have?

12-10-2016, 02:08 PM

Hahahaha

Super_JMcGinn
12-10-2016, 02:09 PM

Hanlon for Scotland :faf: He has more chance of getting a full cap for Wales.

pontius pilate
12-10-2016, 02:10 PM
What makes you think Caulker would be better than what we currently have?

Better ball player much stronger in the air over Hanley and Greer and IMO is better at readin the game then Martin and Hanley

12-10-2016, 02:11 PM
And as for these pink strips !!!!! Jeezo, all round nightmare (if wearing them for breast cancer awareness then fine).

12-10-2016, 02:12 PM
You know we'll win 1-0 at Wembley with Chris Martin scoring the only goal.

12-10-2016, 02:18 PM

Give it a ****ing rest. We get it, you don't like Hanlon but your getting awfy boring now.

12-10-2016, 02:19 PM
Hibs should adopt a policy of excluding any manager or player from the squad, if they happen to be Scottish :confused: Seriously?!

Yes seriously, we as a country are not producing the right kind of player or manager in my opinion to take our game on.

We dont have the skill level of countries like Slovenia FFS, who are paying their players much less than us.

The attitude and attention to detail seem to me a lot better than our lot, and their players seem bigger and much more technically superior and much fitter too.

until such time as we brought players through as good, i'd have a policy of only bringing in foreign players, and if that meant we fielded a team full of them then so be it.

Of course the national team would suffer in the short term, but in the long term bringing players through with the mental toughness technique and attitude would in the long term benefit us.

In the meantime, we have folk advocating Hanlon and Anderson and Reynolds, replacing players not as good as those pish players who played last night.

12-10-2016, 02:34 PM
This goes beyond Scotland. Apart from the top handful in the EPL most English premier and championship clubs are gash - albeit very rich gash. No English manager has ever won the EPL. When did a Scottish manager last win the SPL? Apart from Bale there are no world class players from the UK, and if there were they'd be playing in Spain or Germany not the UK. Engerland at least have some players with the top EPL clubs so benefit from playing alongside decent foreign players. We are mining the depths of the lower end of the EPL and the championship and expecting a has been manager who's last club job was a disaster, to work miracles without even the benefit of a magic hat. Until the SKY and BT Sport's obsession with throwing obscene amounts of cash at mediocrity comes to an end we are condemned to more of the same.

12-10-2016, 02:38 PM

That'll be Wales who got to the European championships semi final and are 11th in the world rankings, didn't quite think that one through did you Gail :faf:

pontius pilate
12-10-2016, 02:44 PM
The same Hanlon who is on a list of the 12 best CH to look out for this season

12-10-2016, 02:49 PM
That'll be Wales who got to the European championships semi final and are 11th in the world rankings, didn't quite think that one through did you Gail :faf:

Think you may have missed the point of her post.

12-10-2016, 03:02 PM
Think you may have missed the point of her post.

How? She's implying he's not good enough for Scotland who are pants but is good enough for Wales who are a top notch team right now.

12-10-2016, 03:05 PM
How? She's implying he's not good enough for Scotland who are pants but is good enough for Wales who are a top notch team right now.

Or as Hanlon is not Welsh he is unable to play for them and therefore has no chance of a cap?

Super_JMcGinn
12-10-2016, 03:14 PM
Or as Hanlon is not Welsh he is unable to play for them and therefore has no chance of a cap?

:top marks I thought it was obvious enough what I meant.:aok:

12-10-2016, 03:16 PM

TBH I didn't even look at that and didn't think she was clever enough to insinuate that, all I know is she hates Hanlon with a passion and takes every opportunity to have a dig at him.

Super_JMcGinn
12-10-2016, 03:19 PM
Give it a ****ing rest. We get it, you don't like Hanlon but your getting awfy boring now.

It's not a case of not liking him flower, he's just nowhere near international class, and anyone who has watched him consistently this past few years will say the same, unless they have their green tinted specs on or are his mother.

12-10-2016, 03:19 PM
TBH I didn't even look at that and didn't think she was clever enough to insinuate that, all I know is she hates Hanlon with a passion and takes every opportunity to have a did at him.

To be fair she does have a point though, yes we i think we all agree that hanley, martin, berra etc aren't good enough to help us progress but if anyone seriously thinks hanlon is the answer they must have very strong green tinted specs

12-10-2016, 03:25 PM
It's not a case of not liking him flower, he's just nowhere near international class, and anyone who has watched him consistently this past few years will say the same, unless they have their green tinted specs on or are his mother.

I don't think he's international class either but there was no reason to have a swipe at him at the same time. I don't think his career has been helped by playing through all the turmoil over the past 4-5 years at ER but last season he had shown signs of becoming the clever commanding CH we all thought he might become. Possibly Paul's biggest fault is showing loyalty to his boyhood club and not moving when he had a chance recently, with proper coaching and playing in a winning dressing room, I feel he could become a real top CH.

Super_JMcGinn
12-10-2016, 03:26 PM
TBH I didn't even look at that and didn't think she was clever enough to insinuate that, all I know is she hates Hanlon with a passion and takes every opportunity to have a dig at him.

No I don't, and no I don't. I gave up on having a dig at him even when he has been at fault ( Ayr Utd game ) for 1. The abuse you get on here is not worth the hassle, but to say he is international class ? c'mon that is just plain wrong.

There has been some outrageous garbage been written about McGinn ,Stevenson Bartley and just about every other Hibs player this past few weeks by the same posters who post this MYTH about Hanlon being a great CH, THINK ABOUT IT.

12-10-2016, 04:03 PM
No I don't, and no I don't. I gave up on having a dig at him even when he has been at fault ( Ayr Utd game ) for 1. The abuse you get on here is not worth the hassle, but to say he is international class ? c'mon that is just plain wrong.

There has been some outrageous garbage been written about McGinn ,Stevenson Bartley and just about every other Hibs player this past few weeks by the same posters who post this MYTH about Hanlon being a great CH, THINK ABOUT IT.

The obsession goes on. Quite sad really.

12-10-2016, 05:45 PM
If Hanlon was in his early twenties perhaps he would have been drafted in for experience like mcginn however he is in his mid/lait twenties and has done relatively nout to warrant a cap .I was sceptical about Patterson before hand however he was one of the slight promising Aspects of watching Scotland over the past week as well as Robertson and kierney.

13-10-2016, 11:25 AM
Paul Hanlon got married this year.

.. so anyone who comes on here solely to have a dig at him because he never called them might as well get over it and give us all a rest :aok: