View Full Version : Letter to those on the pitch

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

26-07-2016, 04:31 PM
In the words of ****gy, "it wasn't me". Deny everything. Have the meeting but say it wasn't me.

See where Hibs want to take it from there. If they are trawling Facebook then that is sad.
Let the cops do their work and put it down to good natured fun, which it was for the bulk of the fans.

Will they come after me if I went on the pitch in 2005. Or any family members who may have for on the pitch at Firhill in 1999?

Who said the club are trawling Facebook? I wish everybody would stop and think about it for a while. The only logical explanation for these letters is that the club has been told to act on information supplied by somebody else. Maybe this is the cops doing their job.
I'll wager that nobody will receive a ban simply for being on the pitch.

26-07-2016, 04:31 PM
I wasn't on the pitch, so doesn't affect me - however there are tens of thousands of pictures out there on social media of people on the pitch.

I cant for the life of me understand how the club would have the manpower to trawl these photos - and then make the leap that the person in the photo is a hibs season ticket holder, hit the database and write to them.

Unless they are picking up people who did a bit more than "ran on the pitch and got my photo taken" ????

26-07-2016, 04:33 PM
Who said the club are trawling Facebook? I wish everybody would stop and think about it for a while. The only logical explanation for these letters is that the club has been told to act on information supplied by somebody else. Maybe this is the cops doing their job.
I'll wager that nobody will receive a ban simply for being on the pitch.
What is really depressing is people on here having guesses about how this came about and then castigating the club for it as if it was FACT.

26-07-2016, 04:35 PM
Chickens coming home to roost now and what seemed a jolly jape is not so jolly now. Goal posts ripped down, turf ripped up and advertising hoardings damaged, embarrassing.

You left out people celebrating on the pitch, I'm not embarrassed.

Gordy M
I wasn't on the pitch, so doesn't affect me - however there are tens of thousands of pictures out there on social media of people on the pitch.

I cant for the life of me understand how the club would have the manpower to trawl these photos - and then make the leap that the person in the photo is a hibs season ticket holder, hit the database and write to them.

Unless they are picking up people who did a bit more than "ran on the pitch and got my photo taken" ????

They wont be, i wpuld imagine that after the controversy this incident caused....folk with other agendas will have been phoning the police and the club saying 'i know that xxxx was on the pitch after the final' having seen FB pics or twitter or whatever. Id imagine that the club and police have decided that if said person was on the pitch not causing any bother or damage, should be dealt with by way of a letter/meeting?

Chickens coming home to roost now and what seemed a jolly jape is not so jolly now. Goal posts ripped down, turf ripped up and advertising hoardings damaged, embarrassing.
Still, would do it all again tomorrow if I could.

So if it's illegal activity the police should have the word.

Going to Hibs and admitting illegal activity is a thing I wouldn't encourage. That's why I would respond only to the fact you have seen and will act on the guidance on conduct. Keep it only about future behaviour.

Its an interesting point

I rather suspect that there is no intention on the police's part to prosecute pitch invaders ( who stopped at that) as it would open up past & future floodgates

The police being the police need to be seen to be doing something and have therefore passed the problem onto the club

The club are caught between a rock and a hard place and need to be seen to do something.

My guess is if you were getting banned they would just do it as they did to those convicted.

But only time will tell.

26-07-2016, 04:38 PM
They wont be, i wpuld imagine that after the controversy this incident caused....folk with other agendas will have been phoning the police and the club saying 'i know that xxxx was on the pitch after the final' having seen FB pics or twitter or whatever. Id imagine that the club and police have decided that if said person was on the pitch not causing any bother or damage, should be dealt with by way of a letter/meeting?

Maybe - anyway I will reserve judgement on all of this until people who got a letter speak to the club and tell us what happened.

I don't believe much of what is stated as fact on the internet :greengrin

26-07-2016, 04:40 PM
Still interesting that 8 pages in, only 2 folk claim to have a letter dated from over a week ago??

26-07-2016, 04:41 PM
Its an interesting point

I rather suspect that there is no intention on the police's part to prosecute pitch invaders ( who stopped at that) as it would open up past & future floodgates

The police being the police need to be seen to be doing something and have therefore passed the problem onto the club

The club are caught between a rock and a hard place and need to be seen to do something.

My guess is if you were getting banned they would just do it as they did to those convicted.

But only time will tell.

Yep so it's pointless.

Police should take action where merited and Hibs have given a wider warning on future conduct to the rest.

Inviting people in for this in between thing is odd and a waste of time. Going to do more harm than good for fan relations.

grammyb111
26-07-2016, 04:44 PM
The club, whether some folks like it or not, have to be seen doing something to placate the powers that be. The letter is pretty badly written, maybe should have been passed through admin before being sent, but the content is in no way controversial. If the club have evidence someone went on the park on 21st May, they are perfectly within their rights to censure the culprits, be that a 16yo or a 65 yo. The overreaction to this letter is amazing. If you were on the pitch on that day, you were in direct contravention of the terms and conditions stated on the back of the ticket, no matter why you were there, you weren't meant to be there. If the club chose to ignore any evidence that shows you were on the pitch, they would be neglecting their duty. If you receive a letter like this, take it on the chin, like a responsible adult, go speak to them, they'll tell you'll not to do it again, your membership will be reinstated (maybe with a suspended suspension on it) and we go onto the winning the league this year. Hibs will be seen to have done everything within their power to prevent any further occurrences of this type of incident, the supporter who did go on the pitch will know not to do it again and the punishment handed out will hopefully take into account all the actions taken by Hibs to prevent future occurrences. Nae need to get your knickers in a knot about it, just deal with it and move on. The only people who will get banned from ER for the events of 21st May will be those who were violent or those who caused criminal damage.

This exactly. Don't know why folks are getting so worked up 'speak to lawyers' don't be daft.

26-07-2016, 04:45 PM
Not read all the comments on this but I have seen a picture of the letter sent.

Ive had dealings with the Robbie McGregor guy in the past & he came across as a power hungry type.

It was only after my dealings with him, I found out he is an ex police officer.

He'll probably be a patronising twat at any meeting. Just bite your tongue.

Funny, my mate has had dealings with him today about this very issue and said he was a really nice guy. Very helpful.

26-07-2016, 04:45 PM
And I bet it's Lee Wallace that's been grassing every **** in anaw

djs69
26-07-2016, 04:49 PM
Some folk really don't have a scooby doo, and expect the club not to act. They have a duty to act FFS. Fans shouldn't have been on the pitch, end off, as much as it "looked" amazing that's what caused everything else which followed. Blame Hibs, blame the daily Rangers, but at the end of the day, if one fan ran on the pitch during the game and didn't punch anyone or vandalise anything, they would still get a ban, so does it make it ok that it was 4000???

26-07-2016, 04:51 PM
How many pitch invasions end with fighting among fans, police horses on the pitch, a barrier of police officers, a cancelled lap of honour and an official inquiry?

If Hibs speak directly to fans, and The Rangers don't, then it will stand us in good stead when the punishments are handed out.

And if the fans who were on the pitch can't understand the reason for this, and fail to turn up for their "word to the wise" meeting, then they've only got themselves to blame if their accounts are closed.
Only 2 in this country both caused by rangers inability to take getting beat and seeing the winners celebrating.

26-07-2016, 04:52 PM

Ach well.

Hibs won the cup.

26-07-2016, 04:52 PM
Yep so it's pointless. Not if it mitigates the club's punishment

Police should take action where merited and Hibs have given a wider warning on future conduct to the rest.

If I am correct in how this played out, Hibs weren't left with any choice other than to take individual action

Inviting people in for this in between thing is odd and a waste of time. Least worst thing the club could do?

Going to do more harm than good for fan relations. Of that there is no doubt, hopefully people will step away from the keyboard and see it for what it is and that Hibs had no option

Replies as above

Billy McKirdy
26-07-2016, 04:54 PM
I agreed with Rod Petrie when he called it exuberance and I still do because that's exactly what it was.
It was only when the hun sympathising media with it's mock outrage and comparing it to that vile day in May 1980 that he moderated his comments to the extent that it legitimised the witch hunt we're seeing today.
And those on here who agree with it and display similar mock outrage, get a grip, 114 years of pain and hurt for a harmless display of joy, I bet you lot are a barrel of laughs on a night out.
Let the police do their jobs and identify the thugs and vandals but as for the vast majority, let them be, no real harm was done bar the imagined to the image of Scottish football.

26-07-2016, 04:58 PM
Pretty sure the only people handing the club names they would act on Silver would be the Police

After all nobody likes a grass:greengrin

Just seen it on Facebook, it was Lee Wallace who grassed the lad up. :greengrin

Correct. :thumbsup:

26-07-2016, 05:00 PM
If I had that letter, it would getting made into a paper airplane and thrown out the window.

Then when you tried to gain access with your season ticket it would be denied.

26-07-2016, 05:02 PM
Exactly. Hibs are going through a process here. I think if the 16 year old does go for a talk he should take a parent or at least an adult. He will be scared and may not represent himself properly. Send his mum. After a few salvoes from protective mothers, Hibs will give it up.

Placing stuff like this on soclal media - not a good idea. Does not even have the - 'thats not me' defence.

Banning someone for only being on the pitch would be a PR nightmare. Hibs are not daft.

Has to be a spoof, like being dragged before a headmaster for a ticking off. What are they going to say ?

Would they do this with a 45 yr old man - no chance. If Hibs have anything to say, you'd expect it all in writing after their legal team have checked it over. Anything beyond that, solicitors could easily get involved. Selective action against individuals for no more than invading the pitch could easily be contested on numerous grounds. This has all become silly.

26-07-2016, 05:03 PM
I'd be telling the police, SFA or whoever else is putting the pressure on Hibs (if the letter is genuine) that enough is enough; the club have publically apologised and dealt with the most serious offenders, they will not be pushed around any further by the powers that be as a result of blatant sporting bias in this country. Hibs won the Scottish cup, a pitch invasion happened and the club have done over and above what was reasonably expected of them in order to set things right, we need to move on.

26-07-2016, 05:05 PM
Can't wait to see a thread in a months time with someone complaining they've been banned because they didn't respond to the letter.

If you respond you won't get banned

26-07-2016, 05:06 PM
Thats ridiculous, infact the whole aftermath to the final somehow seems to constantly get more unbelievable even after two months. About time the club stopped pandering to hun bitterness and told them, the sfa and police scotland to give it a rest.

26-07-2016, 05:07 PM
Can't wait to see a thread in a months time with someone complaining they've been banned because they didn't respond to the letter.

If you respond you won't get banned

That's coming from a lawyer.

26-07-2016, 05:07 PM
If people were only on the park and not involved in any bother then turn up at the meeting, tell the truth, take the slap on the wrist and learn from it.

Not attending the meeting as a 'point of principle' is only going to cause more grief in the long term. I doubt Hibs have any interest in banning all of those on the pitch. Those who caused bother will be dealt with and those identified as just on the pitch will get a talking to and a warning about future conduct.

I get why people went on the pitch, especially those who went on long after the initial few just to be part of it but it has caused Hibs all sorts of bother and 'exuberance', '114 years' or whatever else are all essentially irrelevant when it comes down to it.

26-07-2016, 05:09 PM
I'd be telling the police, SFA or whoever else is putting the pressure on Hibs (if the letter is genuine) that enough is enough; the club have publically apologised and dealt with the most serious offenders, they will not be pushed around any further by the powers that be as a result of blatant sporting bias in this country. Hibs won the Scottish cup, a pitch invasion happened and the club have done over and above what was reasonably expected of them in order to set things right, we need to move on.

Agree. I've been disappointed in Hibs since the final on this. Limit the impact, yes, but stand up for our club and fans too. We've actually gone the other way and continued to be heavy handed in fan correspondence.

I'm still to be convinced this is real though. Surely fans should not be expected to discuss criminal behaviour with anyone except the police.

If it's not at that level then don't go suspending accounts.

That's coming from a lawyer.

Hibs could have prevented the above by communicating that some fans may be receiving letters in the post. The lack of communication from them on this has lead to 3 hours of fans debating whether it was a wind-up and others worrying about being banned.

Spot on. I would be surprised if the club did not have a clear plan as to how they are dealing with this. Despite this, and two fans on the board, and regular meetings with fans and a strong social media presence and a recent in depth interview with LD, these letters are allowed to land unannounced. A proper spirit of openness is required. Tell us what you are doing and when. Without that the club look like they are being driven by others agenda.

Re the letters, I have no real issue with them, it would just be nice to know where they fit into the clubs overall plan

MickeyEdwards
26-07-2016, 05:15 PM
I don't think Hibs would be fined for folk being inebriated, but a pitch invasion is an entirely different ball game

People who are inebriated on entering the stadium for any match more often than not get in the way of the match and environment enjoyment of those who do not do so!

I have been seriously p**sed off at drunk Hibs "fans" sitting (sorry standing mainly swaying around singing largely inappropriate songs) near me at matches in regular competitions and have on occasion reported them to the stewards after it became clear that their judgement was not in their thoughtful control!

Many were in that kind of condition IMO at Hampden on SC Final day!

They shoud not be admitted to the stadium in such a condition again IMO.

26-07-2016, 05:15 PM
If people were only on the park and not involved in any bother then turn up at the meeting, tell the truth, take the slap on the wrist and learn from it.

Not attending the meeting as a 'point of principle' is only going to cause more grief in the long term. I doubt Hibs have any interest in banning all of those on the pitch. Those who caused bother will be dealt with and those identified as just on the pitch will get a talking to and a warning about future conduct.

I get why people went on the pitch, especially those who went on long after the initial few just to be part of it but it has caused Hibs all sorts of bother and 'exuberance', '114 years' or whatever else are all essentially irrelevant when it comes down to it.

It's not just principle though is it. People are being asked to discuss their involvement in what we are being told is criminal activity.

Why would you discuss that with anyone other than the police or a lawyer!?

Make contact if you get this but under no circumstances should people discuss whatever small part they played. This is about being allowed to attend in future so stick to acknowledging that you've seen and will act according to the guidance on acceptable conduct.

26-07-2016, 05:19 PM
Hibs will be doing what they can to minimise the fine and need to act, end of the day, fans shouldn't have been on the pitch. But to threaten sending season tickets back etc, why???

Exactly. I didn't go on the pitch but if it helps Hibs financially they can send me a letter and I will go up for a lecture.

Hibs are playing the game, probably on legal advice.

McIntosh
26-07-2016, 05:20 PM
It is a spoof!!!!

26-07-2016, 05:22 PM
The letter may look official. Is it real? It just seems quite unbelievable.

26-07-2016, 05:24 PM
It is a spoof!!!!

I would fully expect it to be. Doesn't really add up to me as sensible course of action either on the part of the police or Hibs.

Also think about this mitigation of fines etc point. We've written to fans on conduct and we have banned fans found guilty of offences.

I don't think anyone would be asking more than that.

The inquiries are just that. The main one is independent. They couldn't be actually asking Hibs to do anything other than cooperate.

26-07-2016, 05:25 PM

Wasn't on the pitch, but under no circumstances would I be attending any counselling, therapy or "meeting" with the club simply to be chastised. Fact remains it was a 1 in 114 year event which is being conveniently ignored by all the hand wringers.

Hibs have issued a blanket warning to all fans about the implication of entering the field of play. They've written to those who they've identified and banned those involved in criminal activity. That should be the end of it.

26-07-2016, 05:29 PM
People who are inebriated on entering the stadium for any match more often than not get in the way of the match and environment enjoyment of those who do not do so!

I have been seriously p**sed off at drunk Hibs "fans" sitting (sorry standing mainly swaying around singing largely inappropriate songs) near me at matches in regular competitions and have on occasion reported them to the stewards after it became clear that their judgement was not in their thoughtful control!

Many were in that kind of condition IMO at Hampden on SC Final day!

They shoud not be admitted to the stadium in such a condition again IMO.
Self-righteous grass.

Where you born a middle aged, pretentious bore?

26-07-2016, 05:29 PM
The letter may look official. Is it real? It just seems quite unbelievable.
The letter is 100% real. I can see why people think it's not (I was one of them initially) but they are wrong. The ones saying it's not real will be the ones holing their hands up in the coming days saying 'fair enough'.

26-07-2016, 05:30 PM
Exactly. I didn't go on the pitch but if it helps Hibs financially they can send me a letter and I will go up for a lecture.

Aye. Hibs are doing what they have to do. It's a bit of a pain for all concerned, fans and club staff alike but if it helps to protect us from a large fine then it's a small price to pay.

26-07-2016, 05:35 PM
As an attention-seeking narcissist who wasn't on the pitch, I'm disgusted that only those who breached the perimeter are in receipt of letters.

Had I known all this drama was going to come of it, I would have most certainly been on and waving to the cameras.

Is it too late to claim you were on the pitch? I was given a lump of turf by a friend which now grows in my back garden. Receiving stollen goods, surely?

Anyway, I feel that Hibs have missed a trick here.

Message to those planning to attend meetings. "If you go, won't you bring back, a letter for poor Bobby..."

MickeyEdwards
26-07-2016, 05:38 PM
Self-righteous grass.

I go to watch Hibs to enjoy the football with my family and friends in aa safe and friendly environment.

Excess alcohol taken pre match only renders those that do so often capable of behaving like idiots and, in my experience, many do and Hibs are no better or any worse tha any other Scottish football team in that regard.

I guess that you don't subscribe to that way of watching football and feel personally attacked by those of us amongst the loyal and regular Hibs support who don't need excess alcohol to enjoy the emotional experience that a football match involving our own team offers to us all.

No need for the insults though!

PS we all pay the same ticket price and that offers us ALL the same rights and priviledges - no-one has the right to spoil the enjoyment of any other paying customer due to being "under the influence of alcohol"!

26-07-2016, 05:40 PM
I don't believe this is genuine.

John Smith posts a picture on Facebook, John Smith also has a ST at Easter Road.......with no photo.

How would they leap from A to B?

Doesn't make sense.

26-07-2016, 05:40 PM
What does the blocked account look like?

26-07-2016, 05:42 PM
Aye. Hibs are doing what they have to do. It's a bit of a pain for all concerned, fans and club staff alike but if it helps to protect us from a large fine then it's a small price to pay.

Okay so let's take this.

What do they have to do?

Who is asking them to do this and on what authority?

Who is making the decision on the extent of what we are prepared to do and the impact it has on relationship with fans?

Easy to say we have to do it. It doesn't add up though. Inquiries would not be directing action yet and level of fine is hardly likely to be impacted by how Hibs deal with some folk who did little other than wander on a pitch.

Petrie's post match response was still the best and most accurate.

26-07-2016, 05:43 PM
I don't believe this is genuine.

John Smith posts a picture on Facebook, John Smith also has a ST at Easter Road.......with no photo.

How would they leap from A to B?

Doesn't make sense.

John Smith, as far as Hibs know is a name, client ref number and a seat number..

There's also more than one John Smith that has a season ticket at ER so how do they pinpoint the correct person?

26-07-2016, 05:44 PM
Self-righteous grass.

Unfair I think.

If I was at a game with my kids and felt behaviour was inappropriate then I think it's right to be pointed out and hopefully that person stops.

Would you be happy for you and your kids to sit next to a drunken tool singing inappropriate songs and being so drunk they are a danger to themselves and others?

MickeyEdwards
26-07-2016, 05:47 PM
Unfair I think.

If I was at a game with my kids and felt behaviour was inappropriate then I think it's right to be pointed out and hopefully that person stops.

Would you be happy for you and your kids to sit next to a drunken tool singing inappropriate songs and being so drunk they are a danger to themselves and others?

My point exactly! :agree:

26-07-2016, 05:47 PM
It sounds like the huns have been trawling social media for people who have posted photos of themselves or have been tagged in photos of them on the pitch.

This information has then been passed to the police and/or SFA but as they were not the ones involved in violence or disorder this info has been passed to Hibs who have been told to deal with it.

The letters and meetings will be purely to show they have taken action on this when the SFA asked.

hibsdaft
26-07-2016, 05:59 PM
if the Club took minutes of a meeting at which a supporter admitted being on the pitch, could the weegie Police demand sight of those minutes and take action at a later date?

26-07-2016, 06:02 PM
It's reached stupid and expensive proportions now, what's next? Fans having to take a lawyer along with them incase they incriminate themselves.

glenn6270
26-07-2016, 06:02 PM
Neither affects me, so I am OK.......

Goody two shoes 😂😂😂😂

Ergye
26-07-2016, 06:07 PM
It's gonna be like high school detention. Bunch of grown men sitting guiltily staring at their feet outside Dempsters office wondering how much of a ripping their mates in the bar are gonna give them, and wondering how the hell they ended up there when they were only tryna have a bit of fun and trying to stifle giggles.

Jesus wept. It's getting out of hand. Conrad Logan has just tweeted that he is going on hunger strike unless the innocent men and women are offered clemency.

Free the Hampden 6.

26-07-2016, 06:08 PM
How do Hibs know that he was on the pitch?

There could be thousands of season tickets getting handed back if we're going to go in this direction.

Unless he/ she did something when he/ she was on the pitch?

Why would there be thousands of tickets handed back?

if the Club took minutes of a meeting at which a supporter admitted being on the pitch, could the weegie Police demand sight of those minutes and take action at a later date?

In theory yes.

This is getting silly.
Anybody who was simply on the pitch will not be facing a ban or criminal action. IMHO of course. It will be nothing more than a wee chat followed by the club ticking a box to say they have taken action against the small number of individuals identified. The vast majority of fans who went on the pitch will have no action whatsoever taken against them.

26-07-2016, 06:09 PM
Any truth in the rumour that Macar has asked for the belt.

26-07-2016, 06:12 PM
This is getting silly.
Anybody who was simply on the pitch will not be facing a ban or criminal action. IMHO of course. It will be nothing more than a wee chat followed by the club ticking a box to say they have taken action against the small number of individuals identified. The vast majority of fans who went on the pitch will have no action whatsoever taken against them.

The silly thing is being asked. People are pointing out legitimate implications which is why they shouldn't discuss this with Hibs.

Ergye
26-07-2016, 06:14 PM
Any truth in the rumour that Macar has asked for the belt.

:hyper

Yes, but the real punishment is he doesn't get told whether it's Leeann or Rod doling out the thrashing.

26-07-2016, 06:21 PM
All this talk of implication and not discussing things with Hibs is stretching it a bit. If they have called you forward because they think your actions have brought the club into disrepute and as a ST holder (member) they wish to have a wee chat before deciding on whether they should revoke your membership then fair enough. Speaking to Hibs is not going to result in your arrest FFS.

simple
26-07-2016, 06:22 PM
No letter for me (as of yet). Did receive a voicemail while I was in Copenhagen from Robert Mcgregor, it cut out as he said his name mind you.

I wan't anywhere near the pitch though

He was maybe phoning to thank you for not going on the pitch, I'm looking forward to my phone call...😀

26-07-2016, 06:33 PM
All this talk of implication and not discussing things with Hibs is stretching it a bit. If they have called you forward because they think your actions have brought the club into disrepute and as a ST holder (member) they wish to have a wee chat before deciding on whether they should revoke your membership then fair enough. Speaking to Hibs is not going to result in your arrest FFS.

It's not fair enough.

You've either done something the police would be interested in, in which case they should talk to you, or not.

If Hibs have decided they want to waste everyone's time and money on having a chat about just walking on the pitch then that is ridiculous decision making.

Are they expecting anyone to say they have every intention of doing it again at games next year?

We've had the emails. Leave it at that unless someone merits actual action.

26-07-2016, 06:35 PM
It's reached stupid and expensive proportions now, what's next? Fans having to take a lawyer along with them incase they incriminate themselves.

Whats next you ask Their will be teams of police investigators descending on supporters gardens removing bits of suspect Turf to take it back to the Lab and determine if its a piece of Hampden Turf

This is why we have no big ticket items of Scottish Cup Memorabilia in the Club shop as all our staff now having to interview thousands of Pitch Invaders

Like most folk i have no idea whats going on just now as the Club are not communicating so what you get is speculation

Might be helpful if the Fans reps could clarify if the Club ate doing this and post something on here or get Club to make a Statement given the amount of responses to the opening post which are in the main speculative

GreenOnions
26-07-2016, 06:36 PM
At a meeting with CEO, she mentioned how frustrating it was to see so many enter field of play, as it is illegal, and has caused no end of hassle and grief that the Club could have done without.

It also spoiled things for those who stayed off the pitch and who wanted to see the players collect the cup and do a lap of honour with it. I'm still annoyed that this part of the day was completely spoiled for me amd my son and thousands of others.

26-07-2016, 06:37 PM
:hyper

Yes, but the real punishment is he doesn't get told whether it's Leeann or Rod doling out the thrashing.

Thats the bit he loves. :slipper::slipper::slipper::slipper:

QMU-1875
26-07-2016, 06:38 PM
I'm sure I read somewhere that police Scotland are not pursuing those that invaded the pitch

26-07-2016, 06:39 PM
It's not fair enough.

You've either done something the police would be interested in, in which case they should talk to you, or not.

If Hibs have decided they want to waste everyone's time and money on having a chat about just walking on the pitch then that is ridiculous decision making.

Are they expecting anyone to say they have every intention of doing it again at games next year?

The Police don't have to be interested in pursuing it at all,Hibs are taking action (or being seen to) with their own members. Seems fair enough to me.

26-07-2016, 06:39 PM

I agree with this.

I wonder if the Hibs fans took legal advice - re the sectarian singing - and raised a (class) claim against the SFA, The Rangers etc what might happen?

The Leith Dutch
26-07-2016, 06:40 PM
Much as I can sympathise with worrying 16 year old laddies and much as the pitch invasion was blown out of proportion by the media the fact remains that everyone on the pitch knew they shouldn't have been on the pitch and if it comes out there's not much you can do but hold up your hand and apologise.

Not suggesting for a second that it should turn into a witch hunt but if it's raised with the club (whatever the source) they just cannot turn a blind eye.

I think we need to see how it pans out - chances are, like most on here have said, it's a smack on the wrist and don't be so daft again.
Doubt the club are going to do anything daft and folk talking about handing their season tickets back are just plain mental.

Put it another way, if the yams or the hun had done the same to us most people on here would be demanding lifetime bans from their clubs and SFA action if they weren't forthcoming.

Bright side - they didn't and we won 3-2 :)

26-07-2016, 06:40 PM
Maybe hibs want to sign him?

26-07-2016, 06:44 PM
The Police don't have to be interested in pursuing it at all,Hibs are taking action (or being seen to) with their own members. Seems fair enough to me.

Which is why I would suggest it is a total waste of time and a poor decision. Even if it is to be seen doing it. They've already made clear on conduct and banned those that were involved in the worst stuff.

Still, after the decision on Hibs TV last week I'd not be too surprised if we've over reacted again.

Hibs could of course clear up their thinking on this.

26-07-2016, 06:44 PM
It also spoiled things for those who stayed off the pitch and who wanted to see the players collect the cup and do a lap of honour with it. I'm still annoyed that this part of the day was completely spoiled for me amd my son and thousands of others.

I doubt very much that thousands of others had their day "completely spoiled".

I can't speak for you or your son though.

26-07-2016, 06:45 PM
It's not fair enough.

This isn't specifically aimed at you Andy, so don't take it personally.

Don't you think it reasonable to assume that the club with access to all the facts and having taken appropriate advice have decided that this way best protects their position?

If that is indeed the case, quite why uninformed people are queueing up to take a pot shot at the club, totally escapes me.

Does anyone really think for one minute that the club wanted to commit the resources or money they clearly are to this?

Honest to Christ, sometimes all you really need to do is look behind what's immediately in front of your face.

As for the suggestion that the club could have tipped folk the wink that this was going down. Seriously?

It would completely undermine the whole point of the exercise, which is to show a bit of contrition and a bit of action.

Whether any of us believe that either of these are required is another point entirely.

Its a great shame that having put our trust in the new stewardship of the club and having it rewarded that we are now condemning the club for protecting their position.

If you are called up just roll over and have your tummy tickled and get on with life.

Regardless we will still have the cup.

26-07-2016, 06:49 PM

Didn't spoil it for me so you don't speak for everyone that stayed off.

26-07-2016, 06:50 PM
Which is why I would suggest it is a total waste of time and a poor decision. Even if it is to be seen doing it. They've already made clear on conduct and banned those that were involved in the worst stuff.

Still, after the decision on Hibs TV last week I'd not be too surprised if we've over reacted again.

Not sure what you mean about Hibs TV?

Also surprised that you consider something the club have obviously been advised on to be an over reaction. Hibs putting their house in order looks good to me.

26-07-2016, 06:51 PM
People might need to take a breath and think about this for a second - as I said on an earlier post, "John Smith on the pitch on Facebook" isnt automatically John Smith in Row ZZ seat 124 in the West Upper.

Hibs dont have our photos on their database FFS, how the hell do people think they have been "ID'd" ?????????

So either

(A) Hibs have very good reasons to talk to a (very small) number of people who they have identified and are 100% sure are the same people they have on their database - why, I have no idea

or

(B) Its a spoof

I mean, honest to god, if I had done it and got a letter I would send a mate down and if they had a picture would say "see it isnae me".

So I reckon its a wind up.

26-07-2016, 06:51 PM
Didn't spoil it for me so you don't speak for everyone that stayed off.

Me neither, it actually added to the occasion for me.

26-07-2016, 06:52 PM
Has anyone on here got a letter and can confirm it's genuine?

26-07-2016, 06:57 PM
Not sure what you mean about Hibs TV?

Also surprised that you consider something the club have obviously been advised on to be an over reaction. Hibs putting their house in order looks good to me.

It's an over reaction because thousands had a celebratory wander on the pitch. Those people shouldn't have been there by the book but to choose to have meaningless conversations about it is crazy.

We've allowed the club and fans to be demonised. We are now adding to it.

We've done the stuff you would expect to minimise the finger pointing.

This part of it is too far.

The Hibs TV thing was cancelling the coverage last minute due to suspected piracy hitting attendance. Total overkill that ruined things for genuine overseas fans and may cost Club in the long run.

26-07-2016, 06:58 PM

What do you want them to make clear? We are doing this to be seen to be doing something to get a more lenient Punishment? That would play out well in the media if we came out and said that. The only folk discussing this and getting all excited about it are us. Hibs are actually acting correctly. If you weren't on the park you'll not need to go in for a chat and a rap on the knuckles.
If this 16 year old laddie is a decent sort and crapping himself I can guarantee he won't do it again and in the meantime Hibs are seen to be pro active in gettin their house in order. Job done.

26-07-2016, 06:59 PM
Surely hibs should release a ****ing statement saying those we have identified will be getting letters?

26-07-2016, 07:00 PM
Surely hibs should release a ****ing statement saying those we have identified will be getting letters?
Why?

26-07-2016, 07:03 PM
What do you want them to make clear? We are doing this to be seen to be doing something to get a more lenient Punishment? That would play out well in the media. Hibs are actually acting correctly. If you weren't on the park you'll not need to go in for a chat and a rap on the knuckles.
If this 16 year old laddie is a decent sort and crapping himself I can guarantee he won't do it again and in the meantime Hibs are seen to be pro active in gettin their house in order. Job done.

I don't believe this is a necessary part of being seen to do stuff. That's just being repeated now as reason for anything.

Yes they could easily follow up and explain as part of their process what stage this is and why.

If they can't justify it to fans they shouldn't be doing it.

26-07-2016, 07:05 PM
It's an over reaction because thousands had a celebratory wander on the pitch. Those people shouldn't have been there by the book but to choose to have meaningless conversations about it is crazy.

We've allowed the club and fans to be demonised. We are now adding to it.

We've done the stuff you would expect to minimise the finger pointing.

This part of it is too far.

The Hibs TV thing was cancelling the coverage last minute due to suspected piracy hitting attendance. Total overkill that ruined things for genuine overseas fans and may cost Club in the long run.

You seem to be very blinkered and unwilling to recognise the positives for the club that can come from this action. Fair enough if you can't see the sense in it, differing opinions is about it.

26-07-2016, 07:07 PM

Why? We dont even know its true yet.

If you got a fake letter pretending to be your bank would you expect them to then write to you and say "it wisnae me"?

26-07-2016, 07:09 PM

I didn't go on but I thought the pitch invasion was a brilliant spontaneous outpouring of joy on finally getting our hands on the Scottish Cup. Far better than a lap of honour. The tiny minority who went on to goad Rangers players or goad and/or fight Rangers fans deserve to feel the full force of the law.

According to a post on HibsPaige on Facebook details of fans were passed to Hibs by an "external agency" and Hibs are possibly "obliged by law to act". What the action will be is anyone's guess.

26-07-2016, 07:09 PM
Can I just point out for people still saying it's fake, my mate called Robert McGregor today to ask a few questions about it and was advised that the letters are real.

26-07-2016, 07:11 PM
I didn't go on but I thought the pitch invasion was a brilliant spontaneous outpouring of joy on finally getting our hands on the Scottish Cup. Far better than a lap of honour. The tiny minority who went on to goad Rangers players or goad and/or fight Rangers fans deserve to feel the full force of the law.

According to a post on HibsPaige on Facebook details of fans were passed to Hibs by an "external agency" and Hibs are possibly "obliged by law to act". What the action will be is anyone's guess.

If you went on, took a pic and came off, nothing will happen. You'll get a slap on the wrist, Hibs can tell the authorities they've addressed the names given and we can all move on

26-07-2016, 07:15 PM
You seem to be very blinkered and unwilling to recognise the positives for the club that can come from this action. Fair enough if you can't see the sense in it, differing opinions is about it.

Can you run through the positives from this type of sham discussion with fans?

Can I just point out for people still saying it's fake, my mate called Robert McGregor today to ask a few questions about it and was advised that the letters are real.

Not doubting your mate, but on about page 2 of this thread someone (maybe the OP?) said they called and he is on holiday.

So something is fishy.

Have the "external agency" trawled cctv at Hampden for those singing the "Cheer up Alan Stubbs" song or "The Billy Boys"? Rhetorical questions to which I think we all know the answer,

26-07-2016, 07:18 PM
If you went on, took a pic and came off, nothing will happen. You'll get a slap on the wrist, Hibs can tell the authorities they've addressed the names given and we can all move on

Hibs should have told authorities we've all had the slap on the wrists already. What's this adding? If nothing will happen what's the point.

If it's as you say we haven't been strong enough on this.

MassHibsteria
It's a very authoritarian approach, totally in keeping with the general disdain the beaks and polis have for Scottish football fans.

Wish I could say I'm surprised...

Any sign of the fans reps on here? Surely Amit for example could just tell us if the club is, or isn't behind this.

inglisavhibs
26-07-2016, 07:19 PM
Sadly not mate.

Hibs want to meet with him. I think it'll be a slap on the wrist but it's still a farce.

Hibs have to be seen co-operating with the police in this matter so speaking to fans who were known to be on the pitch is probably part of that. I doubt any serious action will be taken but it will be explained that pitch invasions are not tolerated any more. I do have sympathy though as many decent Hibs fans were also on the pitch.

26-07-2016, 07:20 PM
It seems to me that the club is bending over and taking it up the arse yet again. Our fans and manager are subjected to disgusting abuse at ibrox and we do nothing. It's time this board started standing up for us like other clubs do.

26-07-2016, 07:20 PM
Can you run through the positives from this type of sham discussion with fans?

1.Hibs take (and are seen to take) positive action with those fans identified.
2. Those fans are aware of the personal repercussions should they reoffend.
3. People many think twice if they know this course of action is taken.
4. Hibs can put the whole thing to bed and list actions they have taken.

26-07-2016, 07:23 PM
Feel pretty bad for the young lad. 16 year old he is probably bricking it.

Hibs need to have a word and put this in perspective. Sounds like they are dancing to the beat of James Jabba Traynor and the west coast media's drumbeat on this.

I hardly think he will be bricking it. Don't know the young lad, but a lot a kids that age have no respect for anyone/anything.

26-07-2016, 07:24 PM

This is exactly what Hibs are doing and why

Do you really think the club have nothing better to do.

This will also be costing the club an absolute fortune, money they could and would have liked to have spent elsewhere.

I know why it happened, but maybe now those that did it can now see that their actions have and continue to harm the club, albeit for most involved unwittingly.

Suck it up boys. Take the slap on the wrist, say sorry for running on the pitch and don't do it again.

26-07-2016, 07:24 PM
You're wasting your time.

hhibs
26-07-2016, 07:25 PM
Its true I have the same letter

12 posts in 2 years,Aye right.,I smell sh1 te

Gordy M
26-07-2016, 07:26 PM
Hibs should have told authorities we've all had the slap on the wrists already. What's this adding? If nothing will happen what's the point.

If it's as you say we haven't been strong enough on this.

And what if the complaints that have been made didnt come from the police...but from fellow hibs fans? Would you expect the club to follow this up? If you made a complaint about another supporter would you expect hibs to act?

26-07-2016, 07:27 PM

If you got a fake letter pretending to be your bank would you expect them to then write to you and say "it wisnae me"?
It's not fake. It's part of a process that doesn't need a statement.
Not sure what point your making re banks. It's nothing remotely like that.

26-07-2016, 07:27 PM

Don't you think it reasonable to assume that the club with access to all the facts and having taken appropriate advice have decided that this way best protects their position?

If that is indeed the case, quite why uninformed people are queueing up to take a pot shot at the club, totally escapes me.

Does anyone really think for one minute that the club wanted to commit the resources or money they clearly are to this?

Honest to Christ, sometimes all you really need to do is look behind what's immediately in front of your face.

As for the suggestion that the club could have tipped folk the wink that this was going down. Seriously?

It would completely undermine the whole point of the exercise, which is to show a bit of contrition and a bit of action.

Whether any of us believe that either of these are required is another point entirely.

Its a great shame that having put our trust in the new stewardship of the club and having it rewarded that we are now condemning the club for protecting their position.

If you are called up just roll over and have your tummy tickled and get on with life.

My favourite post on the subject.

26-07-2016, 07:31 PM

After the initial response from this game everyone said if you just walked on the pitch it would be laughable if anyone came looking for you.

If we are at that point then Hibs have to say enough.

Just because others may have asked for it or expected it you balance the implications.

Hibs get this stuff wrong sometimes so it's fine to question.

MassHibsteria
26-07-2016, 07:32 PM

Assuming you're correct:

1. What's positive about treating people like school children?
2. If fans have committed an offence, they should be charged. Last time I checked, getting sent to the Hiedie's office wasn't in the statute book.
3. I doubt it. The events of 21 May were unprecedented and unlikely to be repeated regardless of this.
4. If that's what this is all about, I refer you to answers 1, 2 and 3 above.

26-07-2016, 07:34 PM
7 hours and not a peep from the fan representatives we elected to the board. Is it not for these very situations which they were brought in.

Hibs are pushing for fan ownership and increased input through HSL but once again leave the fans sitting guessing what the hell is going on. A simple statement would probably stop people questioning their actions and put a lot of minds at ease. (I'm a fully paid up member of HSL before anyone accuses me of having a dig at that)

26-07-2016, 07:36 PM
Why?

To clarify what's going on perhaps?

26-07-2016, 07:38 PM
You're wasting your time.

What is the point of a post like this? I'm obviously wasting my time too. Do you only want people to post you agree with or should we stop posting earlier than those you agree with?

A few people have had letter through already? So as far as we know it's genuine.

Hibs aren't a bank or an insurance company, they're a football club. There's a massive difference.

The above post says it all. Minority ruined it for the MAJORITY

26-07-2016, 07:46 PM
Assuming you're correct:

2. If fans have committed an offence, they should be charged. Last time I checked, getting sent to the Hiedie's office wasn't in the statute book.
3. I doubt it. The events of 21 May were unprecedented and unlikely to be repeated regardless of this.

So would it be better if the police charged them,or is it better all round if the people who have been identified as taking part in low level offences are simply notified that a) it's not on, and b) dinnae do it again - you've been telt. I would say the latter, if that ticks the boxes of the various authorities, and avoids tying up individuals and lots of money in unnecessary court action.

26-07-2016, 07:46 PM
7 hours and not a peep from the fan representatives we elected to the board. Is it not for these very situations which they were brought in.

Hibs are pushing for fan ownership and increased input through HSL but once again leave the fans sitting guessing what the hell is going on. A simple statement would probably stop people questioning their actions and put a lot of minds at ease. (I'm a fully paid up member of HSL before anyone accuses me of having a dig at that)
This is what I was thinking.

26-07-2016, 07:47 PM
The Gray goal, pitch invasion and subsequent Rangers meltdown made it the greatest end to a Scottish Cup final of all time.

That match will be talked about till the day Scottish fitba stops.

Anyone moaning about their day being ruined needs to get a grip of themselves. We won the cup for god sake! :greengrin

26-07-2016, 07:47 PM

Why on earth would a director of the club (that's what they are) come onto a public forum and say that they're just playing the SFA's game to hopefully reduce any punishment?

26-07-2016, 07:49 PM
It's not fair enough.

You could of course see it differently. How many opportunities do young lads have to get inside the holy ground, invited in to the offices and sit down to talk to club officials? This is all rather grown up for the club. Instead of making press releases, emails etc., etc., why not talk like adults with the people involved, in most cases in a minor way, about what has caused a problem for the club. I think its a great initiative and should be seen as such by anyone lucky enough to receive an invitation. Wish I'd been on the pitch myself now. In fact I so wish I had been at the game.:boo hoo:

26-07-2016, 07:49 PM
Assuming you're correct:

Whatever you think mate,you stick with it,I really don't care.You lost all credability with me when you started comparing the scenario to some fictional school episode.

26-07-2016, 07:50 PM
I hardly think he will be bricking it. Don't know the young lad, but a lot a kids that age have no respect for anyone/anything.

Given that his own cousin has posted on here that the lad is "absolutely bricking it" would tell me the lad is absolutely bricking it. Or maybe you know better , but having never met the lad by your own admission , I doubt that.

Perhaps have a read of a thread before you post to avoid looking foolish would be my suggestion.

26-07-2016, 07:50 PM
To clarify what's going on perhaps?

If your involved you'll know what's going on.

GreenOnions
26-07-2016, 07:53 PM

I don't want to argue with a fellow Hibee about this and I do understand the emotions of the day - obviously I felt them myself. I just think that when indulging one's own emotions has a detrimental impact on the ability of others to indulge theirs there are questions to be asked about fairness.

Like many Hibs fans I have been to a number of losing finals and I really wanted to enjoy the players doing a lap of honour with the Scottish Cup as happened with the League Cup in 2007. None of us was able to do this because a minority of fans invaded the pitch and then refused to leave for an extended period.

I haven't heard any of those who did invade the pitch apologise to other Hibs fans who were denied the opportunity to enjoy a players' lap of honour. Hey-ho - that's life and we've got to move on. Doesn't make it right though IMO.

Regarding the letters the club has written to fans: I'm sure the club is only making sure it is seen to be dealing with the situation seriously. If they've written letters to fans then I believe they will be doing what they need to do to protect the club. They have been put in a difficult position by that minority of fans.

26-07-2016, 07:53 PM

Maybe on holiday, still at work, no internet. A bit unfair. They are now on a timer to reply.

26-07-2016, 07:54 PM
My mates had one too.

26-07-2016, 07:55 PM
If your involved you'll know what's going on.

It seems that people who went on the pitch are being targeted by the club regardless of whether they went to fight, damage posts or parts of the pitch or went on to celebrate.

26-07-2016, 07:55 PM
Why on earth would a director of the club (that's what they are) come onto a public forum and say that they're just playing the SFA's game to hopefully reduce any punishment?

Are you really asking why a Director who was elected with the responsibility of liaising with the fans would liaise with the fans? Really?

Nobody knows if they are just playing the SFA's game though that's the thing. We don't know what 'agency' was responsible for supplying the names and whether this 'agency' will take further actions. These sort of things could be clarified in a communication from the club.

26-07-2016, 07:58 PM
I don't want to argue with a fellow Hibee about this and I do understand the emotions of the day - obviously I felt them myself. I just think that when indulging one's own emotions has a detrimental impact on the ability of others to indulge theirs there are questions to be asked about fairness.

Like many Hibs fans I have been to a number of losing finals and I really wanted to enjoy the players doing a lap of honour with the Scottish Cup as happened with the League Cup in 2007. None of us was able to do this because a minority of fans invaded the pitch and then refused to leave for an extended period.

I haven't heard any of those who did invade the pitch apologise to other Hibs fans who were denied the opportunity to enjoy a players' lap of honour. Hey-ho - that's life and we've got to move on. Doesn't make it right though IMO.

Regarding the letters the club has written to fans: I'm sure the club is only making sure it is seen to be dealing with the situation seriously. If they've written letters to fans then I believe they will be doing what they need to do to protect the club. They have been put in a difficult position by that minority of fans.

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif:aok:http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif:agree:http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif

hhibs
26-07-2016, 07:59 PM
Are you really asking why a Director who was elected with the responsibility of liaising with the fans would liaise with the fans? Really?

Nobody knows if they are just playing the SFA's game though that's the thing. We don't know what 'agency' was responsible for supplying the names and whether this 'agency' will take further actions. These sort of things could be clarified in a communication from the club.

Indeed all that is needed is a comment from OUR representatives is that letters have been sent or more likely NOT.

No more comment is required for the moment.

Still think this smells of sh1 te.

26-07-2016, 08:00 PM
With the amount of people who ran on the pitch, how do they know who they are and which seat they came from.

If I want because so many people have said its true, I'd struggle to believe that Hibs do this. Are we trying to chase away support???

26-07-2016, 08:01 PM
It seems that people who went on the pitch are being targeted by the club regardless of whether they went to fight, damage posts or parts of the pitch or went on to celebrate.

They shouldn't have been on the pitch regardless. If they have been identified as seems the case then the club are correct in acting and more importantly be seen to be come the inquiry conclusions.
I fail to see how fans can't see or accept that.
There won't be thousands identified but those that are being spoken to face to face in a private fashion. I really can't see a problem with that.

26-07-2016, 08:04 PM
Its things like this that only go to confirm just how we have to jump when told to, and sevco just ignore the authorities whenever they like.

They dont even pay the fines that are awarded against them, they wage a media war against Hibs with lie after lie, but we are the ones who are having our backside smacked for running on the park.

Hibs and sevco were not responsible for looking after the crowd that day, of course get the fighters and the idiots who broke things, but FFS go after those who failed to do their jobs rather than those who wandered on the park for a photo opportunity.

26-07-2016, 08:06 PM

The people that get letters will get information to any questions they have Im sure. What it has to do with any other Hibs fan at this time I don't really know. No need for official statements from anyone at Hibs.

26-07-2016, 08:09 PM

I think the point is that they can't come on here and say they're only doing this to keep the SFA sweet. The SFA would get to hear about, making the whole exercise pointless.

26-07-2016, 08:10 PM
I go to watch Hibs to enjoy the football with my family and friends in aa safe and friendly environment.

Excess alcohol taken pre match only renders those that do so often capable of behaving like idiots and, in my experience, many do and Hibs are no better or any worse tha any other Scottish football team in that regard.

I guess that you don't subscribe to that way of watching football and feel personally attacked by those of us amongst the loyal and regular Hibs support who don't need excess alcohol to enjoy the emotional experience that a football match involving our own team offers to us all.

No need for the insults though!

PS we all pay the same ticket price and that offers us ALL the same rights and priviledges - no-one has the right to spoil the enjoyment of any other paying customer due to being "under the influence of alcohol"!It was meant in jest... No offence intended :aok:

26-07-2016, 08:14 PM
The people that get letters will get information to any questions they have Im sure. What it has to do with any other Hibs fan at this time I don't really know. No need for official statements from anyone at Hibs.

Tell a little information, to a few people, on a need to know basis. Excellent communication strategy.

hibeejeebies
26-07-2016, 08:14 PM
Hibs let Matt Doherty wander around the Hampden pitch in 2012 while the SC Final was in full flow and he wasn't pulled up.

This deserved more 😂😂

wills
26-07-2016, 08:15 PM
Sorry if I've missed something here, but wasn't it the duty of the SFA, security and police Scotland to prevent the fans from encroaching onto the pitch. Their incompetence can not be ignored. Hibs have responded in suspending and banning supporters caught up in violence and vandalism. The club should simply post a message to all fans on their database that entering the field of play in the future will result in a banning orders.
This is clearly overkill and more pandering to those fools in the west

26-07-2016, 08:17 PM
Tell a little information, to a few people, on a need to know basis. Excellent communication strategy.

Nothing needs communicated right now other than to those involved. I don't get the rage from Hibs fans that have no letter. Folk getting upset about nothing IMO. If you were on the pitch and have been identified then man up and deal with it. It will be a slap on the wrist. We are not in the business of chasing fans away.

26-07-2016, 08:19 PM
Nothing needs communicated right now other than to those involved. I don't get the rage from Hibs fans that have no letter. Folk getting upset about nothing IMO. If you were on the pitch and have been identified then man up and deal with it. It will be a slap on the wrist. We are not in the business of chasing fans away.

The world is full of people willing to be enraged on behalf of somebody else.

26-07-2016, 08:23 PM

It does. We were clear initially on taking action against those involved in violence and damage. We then debt out an email to everyone on general conduct.

If we are now suspending people who walked on the pitch that involves thousands of people and it would be useful to hear what has prompted this activity which 2 months ago people would have thought outwith the realms of any sort of sensible probability.

Communicate for this very reason. We now have wider debate about it based on very little with the impression that we might be acting on folk, possibly including Hibs, maybe opposition fans,trawling Facebook and the like and wasting time and resource on stuff that shouldn't be acted upon.

26-07-2016, 08:25 PM
Sorry if I've missed something here, but wasn't it the duty of the SFA, security and police Scotland to prevent the fans from encroaching onto the pitch. Their incompetence can not be ignored. Hibs have responded in suspending and banning supporters caught up in violence and vandalism. The club should simply post a message to all fans on their database that entering the field of play in the future will result in a banning orders.

Exactly.

I wonder how many condemning were actually at the game and saw the crushes at the front the police and stewards letting people run on and past them without stopping them.

The police didn't want a Hillsborough and let people go onto the pitch.

The security for a cup final was a joke and police Scotland, the SFA and the stewarding company have a lot to answer for.

For those saying it ruined the occasion - I am delighted the fans ran on and celebrated - I am not happy though about the broken goals / taking the grass or those who fought with the Huns (who shouldn't have been anywhere near the pitch). Why come on except to fight ?!

I didn't go on - it didn't cross my mind but have no issue with those who vandalised or fought getting banned but for innocent people who went on due to possible crushing and poor security it's nonsense and I would love to see them try ban a fan for doing so - it won't hold up.

Still no statement from Sevco about any fans being banned or information about the smoke bomb or anything on thier website - it's been a massive Hibs witchhunt and the media is full of mug shots of folk from the West and Sevco fans !!

MassHibsteria
26-07-2016, 08:28 PM
So would it be better if the police charged them,or is it better all round if the people who have been identified as taking part in low level offences are simply notified that a) it's not on, and b) dinnae do it again - you've been telt. I would say the latter, if that ticks the boxes of the various authorities, and avoids tying up individuals and lots of money in unnecessary court action.

This is a half-baked, futile attempt to deflect from the real failure, which is that the stewards and police failed to control the crowd, albeit in extraordinary circumstances that will likely never be repeated (the circumstances, not pitch invasions). The focus should be on why that happened, and learn lessons so there are no repeats.

Those who are suspected of committing an offence of any nature should be charged and subject to the judicial process.

26-07-2016, 08:29 PM
It does. We were clear initially on taking action against those involved in violence and damage. We then debt out an email to everyone on general conduct.

If we are now suspending people who walked on the pitch that involves thousands of people and it would be useful to hear what has prompted this activity which 2 months ago people would have thought outwith the realms of any sort of sensible probability.

Communicate for this very reason. We now have wider debate about it based on very little with the impression that we might be acting on folk, possibly including Hibs, maybe opposition fans,trawling Facebook and the like and wasting time and resource on stuff that shouldn't be acted upon.

Have the club confirmed they will ban those on the pitch who didn't cause damage or get involved in the fighting?

Can we not wait to see what the intent of these letters are before speculating further?

26-07-2016, 08:31 PM

Disagree fundementally. Initially we were fire fighting so comunication initially although to Hibs fans was obviously also targeted at more than them. To give public statements at this time just fuels the whole thing needlessly. If this post hadn't been started we wouldn't be discussing anything. If this action reduces any fine or saves a ban from this years competition or any other disproportionate penalty in the club it's not a waste at all. It could/might put Rangers and their fans on the back foot and looking as ridiculous as the initially were.
It is also entirely feasible that the police in their investigations into the violence that did happen have done the identifying and although will not prosecute individuals who were merely on the pitch have passed the information on to Hubs and told them to sort/deal with it.
It appears fans identified as being on the pitch have been communicated with and right now that's all that matters. Not sure why you are personally getting so worked up about it to be honest.

26-07-2016, 08:32 PM
The only people this will affect is the folk who get a letter for a misdemeanour as considered by the club. This will I doubt be for just wandering onto the pitch and off again. It doesn't affect me so it doesn't need to be communicated to me nor anyone else that isn't effected in my opinion. Let the club do what they see fit and move on.

26-07-2016, 08:33 PM
They shouldn't have been on the pitch regardless. If they have been identified as seems the case then the club are correct in acting and more importantly be seen to be come the inquiry conclusions.
I fail to see how fans can't see or accept that.
There won't be thousands identified but those that are being spoken to face to face in a private fashion. I really can't see a problem with that.

Hanging potential punishment over the heads of fans who were on the pitch is my problem.

26-07-2016, 08:35 PM

Agree with this

26-07-2016, 08:37 PM
Hanging potential punishment over the heads of fans who were on the pitch is my problem.

That's been there for weeks to be honest.
All actions have consequences. They have differening outcomes depending on circumstances.

26-07-2016, 08:38 PM
Have the club confirmed they will ban those on the pitch who didn't cause damage or get involved in the fighting?

Can we not wait to see what the intent of these letters are before speculating further?

Communication stops speculation

26-07-2016, 08:38 PM
The only people this will affect is the folk who get a letter for a misdemeanour as considered by the club. This will I doubt be for just wandering onto the pitch and off again. It doesn't affect me so it doesn't need to be communicated to me nor anyone else that isn't effected in my opinion. Let the club do what they see fit and move on.

This. I'm out.

26-07-2016, 08:40 PM

That is the fault of those who went on the pitch, and was therefore there when they did it.

26-07-2016, 08:41 PM

The club won't be banning anybody who simply went on the pitch, took a selfie and left.

wills
26-07-2016, 08:41 PM
Exactly.

I wonder how many condemning were actually at the game and saw the crushes at the front the police and stewards letting people run on and past them without stopping them.

The security for a cup final was a joke and police Scotland, the SFA and the stewarding company have a lot to answer for.

For those saying it ruined the occasion - I am delighted the fans ran on and celebrated - I am not happy though about the broken goals / taking the grass or those who fought with the Huns (who shouldn't have been anywhere near the pitch). Why come on except to fight ?!

I didn't go on - it didn't cross my mind but have no issue with those who vandalised or fought getting banned but for innocent people who went on due to possible crushing and poor security it's nonsense and I would love to see them try ban a fan for doing so - it won't hold up.

Still no statement from Sevco about any fans being banned or information about the smoke bomb or anything on thier website - it's been a massive Hibs witchhunt and the media is full of mug shots of folk from the West and Sevco fans !!

The occasion could never be ruined, as Stubbs and Petrie stated after the game it was fans over exuberance, 114 years of torment, ridicule and pain followed by an out pouring of joy and celebration. Let's wait for the report and see what lessons can be learnt

26-07-2016, 08:43 PM

What punishment do you realistically expect the club will take against someone who walked on the pitch, took a few pictures and left peacefully? I doubt these guys will be shot at dawn.

26-07-2016, 08:46 PM
Disagree fundementally. Initially we were fire fighting so comunication initially although to Hibs fans was obviously also targeted at more than them. To give public statements at this time just fuels the whole thing needlessly. If this post hadn't been started we wouldn't be discussing anything. If this action reduces any fine or saves a ban from this years competition or any other disproportionate penalty in the club it's not a waste at all. It could/might put Rangers and their fans on the back foot and looking as ridiculous as the initially were.
It is also entirely feasible that the police in their investigations into the violence that did happen have done the identifying and although will not prosecute individuals who were merely on the pitch have passed the information on to Hubs and told them to sort/deal with it.
It appears fans identified as being on the pitch have been communicated with and right now that's all that matters. Not sure why you are personally getting so worked up about it to be honest.

I might be impacted, I don't know at this stage. Thousands of others might too. Or has it just been targeted somehow?

Anyway, I'm not fussed about that. As a fan and part owner of the club I'm concerned at this turn of events and why we made this decision.

Decision making, communication and so on are things that we should be looking at and questioning when needed.

Hibs have been shafted all over the place since the final. I don't think
Hibs have responded brilliantly. Certainly not from a fan point of view and a number of things around this concern me. Added to other off field issues I'm having some doubts about how we are doing.

So, it's a decision making, communication and reputational issue for me. We are also clearly wasting time on stuff like this and neglecting other stuff.

sadtom
26-07-2016, 08:47 PM
Jesus wept.
There are some amount of weenie, pee-the-bed, prefect types on here. 'But but but...its the law, contravening the terms and conditions, breaching the terms and conditions'. Gimmie strength.

As it stands, if fans have 'broke the law' by entering the field of play then its a legal matter and should be dealt with by the appropriate body...the polis. The old bill have already said they are not interested in people who went an the pitch to celebrate. So unless the people being identified were involved in acts of vandalism or violence in which case the information should be passed to the cops to deal with. Either way the club should not be getting involved and should certainly not be sending letters to fans 'summoning' them to a meeting.

If the information has been passed to the club by the cops it should be handed straight back to them with a covering letter to do their own bloody job. Given they have said they are not interested in peaceful celebrating fans this would seem to be a total waste of time.

If the information has been sent to the club by unknown (most likely trouble making jambo/hun types) parties it should be filed under bucket and a statement made announcing that if members of the public have information on the pitch invasion it should be sent to police Scotland. Its their job to decide if it warrants further investigation to see if it fits their already stated criteria of identifying those who were involved in the serious incidents. Otherwise i'm sure they will chuck the petty nonsense straight in the bin.

If it transpires that employees of the club are trawling social media sites to try and identify fans on the pitch, then they should hang their heads in shame and apologise immediately! (otherwise they will have received the last penny they will ever get from me). If the cops aint interested...neither should they be. If the cops are interested then they should retract their previous statement, or concentrate on identifying the ones they said they were after and get on with their own job.

Whichever way round it is, it is NOT the job of Hibernian, whether that be the CEO or any of her staff, to be behaving like some half arsed Miss Marples or Inspector Clouseau's. (instead they should be spending their time investigating where the missing cup final merchandise has gone!).
The general letter issued and official statements were way more than enough to show they are reminding fans of their obligations at matches and complying/co=operating with the official bodies involved.

I dont for a minute think that those who were doing nothing but celebrating would be in any danger of having their season tickets removed. However.
If i receive one of these letters i asking me to attend a meeting? They will be politely tod to F*** right off! I am not going to be 'summoned like some naughty schoolboy to be chastised.
I dont give a damn if i never see another game in my life and they can stick my (all 4) season tickets where the sun dont shine. Equally they can pass my details to the cops. Happy to see if they want to charge me for being delirious and smiling in a provocative manner.

This appears to be a massive O.G. by the club just as the bond between the club, fans and players has been turned around and is in a really good place.

26-07-2016, 08:48 PM

"Hi guys, Please attend a meeting regarding your misdemeanour during the Hampdump pitch invasion, but don't worry if you didnae get intae a pagger or bugger the pitch yous'll be ok"

that do?

26-07-2016, 08:49 PM

We are the ones speculating. Is there any need?

26-07-2016, 08:50 PM
Jesus wept.
There are some amount of weenie, pee-the-bed, prefect types on here. 'But but but...its the law, contravening the terms and conditions, breaching the terms and conditions'. Gimmie strength.

As it stands, if fans have 'broke the law' by entering the field of play then its a legal matter and should be dealt with by the appropriate body...the polis. The old bill have already said they are not interested in people who went an the pitch to celebrate. So unless the people being identified were involved in acts of vandalism or violence in which case the information should be passed to the cops to deal with. Either way the club should not be getting involved and should certainly not be sending letters to fans 'summoning' them to a meeting.

If the information has been passed to the club by the cops it should be handed straight back to them with a covering letter to do their own bloody job. Given they have said they are not interested in peaceful celebrating fans this would seem to be a total waste of time.

If the information has been sent to the club by unknown (most likely trouble making jambo/hun types) parties it should be filed under bucket and a statement made announcing that if members of the public have information on the pitch invasion it should be sent to police Scotland. Its their job to decide if it warrants further investigation to see if it fits their already stated criteria of identifying those who were involved in the serious incidents. Otherwise i'm sure they will chuck the petty nonsense straight in the bin.

If it transpires that employees of the club are trawling social media sites to try and identify fans on the pitch, then they should hang their heads in shame and apologise immediately! (otherwise they will have received the last penny they will ever get from me). If the cops aint interested...neither should they be. If the cops are interested then they should retract their previous statement, or concentrate on identifying the ones they said they were after and get on with their own job.

Whichever way round it is, it is NOT the job of Hibernian, whether that be the CEO or any of her staff, to be behaving like some half arsed Miss Marples or Inspector Clouseau's. (instead they should be spending their time investigating where the missing cup final merchandise has gone!).
The general letter issued and official statements were way more than enough to show they are reminding fans of their obligations at matches and complying/co=operating with the official bodies involved.

I dont for a minute think that those who were doing nothing but celebrating would be in any danger of having their season tickets removed. However.
If i receive one of these letters i asking me to attend a meeting? They will be politely tod to F*** right off! I am not going to be 'summoned like some naughty schoolboy to be chastised.
I dont give a damn if i never see another game in my life and they can stick my (all 4) season tickets where the sun dont shine. Equally they can pass my details to the cops. Happy to see if they want to charge me for being delirious and smiling in a provocative manner.

This appears to be a massive O.G. by the club just as the bond between the club, fans and players has been turned around and is in a really good place.

Well said, i agree with EVERY word. :top marks

26-07-2016, 08:52 PM
Jesus wept.

Nothing to add to that, describes my thoughts on this well and why we should be concerned with what prompted this and who was involved.

fife hfc
26-07-2016, 08:57 PM
The above post says it all. Minority ruined it for the MAJORITY

I wasn't on the pitch and it did not spoil it for me! It added to the occasion and I loved it and was gutted afterwards that I did not go on. So don't talk for everybody who stayed in the stand. I fully understand the emotions that all Hibs fans felt that day and the circumstances that led to the invasion. I don't care if they went on it did not spoil my day and never will looking back.

fife hfc
26-07-2016, 08:59 PM
The Gray goal, pitch invasion and subsequent Rangers meltdown made it the greatest end to a Scottish Cup final of all time.

That match will be talked about till the day Scottish fitba stops.

Anyone moaning about their day being ruined needs to get a grip of themselves. We won the cup for god sake! :greengrin

Spot on:top marks I wish I had read your post before my previous post, as it sums up my view

26-07-2016, 09:00 PM
Jesus wept.

Wow:rolleyes:

26-07-2016, 09:04 PM
Jesus wept.

Pretty much agree with all you say here. But football authorities, and the SFA in particular, are capable of all kinds of stupidity. This is especially so when they've had their erse felt (at the SFA AGM) by the SNP government to be seen to do something about what happened (or else!!). So I suspect our club knows something REALLY stupid is being planned and these letters are a clumsy attempt to head it off at the pass.

26-07-2016, 09:08 PM
Has anyone on here had dealings with Robbie before? Been told he is the authoritarian type.

26-07-2016, 09:10 PM
Has anyone on here had dealings with Robbie before? Been told he is the authoritarian type.

I thought he was a dick when telling Cummings to get in you've had your five minutes of fame when coming off the pitch at Hampden. :rolleyes:

26-07-2016, 09:17 PM
I thought he was a dick when telling Cummings to get in you've had your five minutes of fame when coming off the pitch at Hampden. :rolleyes:

Can admins confirm if people are able to find out my e-mail Address and name through hibs.net? After the match I started a thread called "yes I ran on the pitch" extremely naive looking back now.

Are Hibs just copying the Hun who, as has been well publicised, have left no stone un-turned whatsoever in their efforts to root out all of their fans who went onto the pitch/committed violent acts/attempted child-abduction/let flares off/sang sectarian songs etc, etc ................................. ?? :tumble:

Is he a hibs man?

Dr Jimmy
26-07-2016, 09:18 PM
My wee cousin got a letter through today saying that his account had been put "on hold" until he had a meeting with Hibs.

Anyone else had this or know someone who has?

Has this really happened? Can we see the letter?

cmcd
26-07-2016, 09:19 PM
Wow:rolleyes:

So many clowns on here . Does anyone seriously think Hibs are going to ban fans for wandering on to the pitch . Tha club have to be seen doing something about it to minimise the fine that will come To blame the club for this is nonsense . I would have loved to see the team parade the cup round Hampden after all I had waited 67 years to do so but it didn't happen because of the pitch invasion

26-07-2016, 09:19 PM
Has this really happened? Can we see the letter?

It's already been posted in the thread mate.http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160726/45f87df6d74c8e6f0ff3b5665ca8360c.jpg

26-07-2016, 09:21 PM
Jesus wept.
Great start, it's always best to start with childish insults directed towards unidentified posters
If complaints have been made to the police than they probably have to be seen to take some sort of action. As you say, they won't be interested in those who merely went on to the pitch to celebrate. Couldn't this be seen as a sensible compromise?
See above
What's the point in that? Are you actively seeking more police investigation?
I doubt that the club have the time or the resources to trawl social media for this and the signals are that this info came from outside parties.
The club will know how these things work when it comes to reducing punishment. This is a minor proportionate action
Seriously. You must really go to town when something serious happens in the life. This doesn't come anywhere near a major incident prompting season ticket returns etc for me.

It's only a massive own goal if you are prone to exaggeration. Nobody will be banned or face criminal prosecution for merely being on the pitch and the club may well avoid a larger fine for being seen to play the game here. It's really not that big a deal.

26-07-2016, 09:22 PM
So many clowns on here . Does anyone seriously think Hibs are going to ban fans for wandering on to the pitch . Tha club have to be seen doing something about it to minimise the fine that will come To blame the club for this is nonsense . I would have loved to see the team parade the cup round Hampden after all I had waited 67 years to do so but it didn't happen because of the pitch invasion

Some throwing toys out of pram, without even had a letter. If they get a ticking off, they wouldn't go back, really? I seriously wonder at times

Dr Jimmy
It's already been posted in the thread mate.http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160726/45f87df6d74c8e6f0ff3b5665ca8360c.jpg

Apologies. Been out tonight and didn't check the thread.
Can't ****ing believe we are doing this to our own fans!!

Ants
In this world of injury/compensation lawyers looking for easy business...
As it stands:-
1. You have not been arrested by the police, pending prosecution and/or been found guilty by the legal system of the land.
2. You should ask Hibs if legal representation is required for yourself at this meeting as if they intend to impose any warning/restriction/ban/punishment, you should be adequately legally represented.
3. You should not admit to anything without legal representation, it does not matter how trivial this may seem, as it could be used against you.

Hibs should state what the clubs intentions are regarding the evidence against you plus also ensuring that they are not in any manner discriminating against you as 1 of 3000 on the pitch.

The club will have to tread very very carefully on this matter, so that they do not breach any discrimination laws and they will also have to prove each case has received the same attention/investigation... :worms:

For further assistance could you please call:-
Root Cause Of Disturbance
Hamdump Branch
90+2 32 32 32 32

26-07-2016, 09:25 PM
Can admins confirm if people are able to find out my e-mail Address and name through hibs.net? After the match I started a thread called "yes I ran on the pitch" extremely naive looking back now.

Your details are protected by the data protection act. And unless you have used your name as your user name nobody will know it unless they know you personally.

wills
26-07-2016, 09:26 PM
Are these letters from the club or from Robert McGregor?

26-07-2016, 09:27 PM
Are these letters from the club or from Robert McGregor?

Robbie is employed by the Club

26-07-2016, 09:29 PM
Some throwing toys out of pram, without even had a letter. If they get a ticking off, they wouldn't go back, really? I seriously wonder at times

"Wouldn't go back" til the next cup final....... 😀

barcahibs
26-07-2016, 09:32 PM

Can we not just move this post to the front page? I wish I hadn't bothered reading the rest of the thread, this says it all. Anyone who is asked to attend (presuming this is real) should man/woman up and take a daft wee slap on the wrist from Hibs in the hope it saves the club a larger punishment later. It'll be a nice wee tour behind the scenes at Easter Road, a free cup of coffee* and "don't do it again".

This is a half-baked, futile attempt to deflect from the real failure, which is that the stewards and police failed to control the crowd, albeit in extraordinary circumstances that will likely never be repeated (the circumstances, not pitch invasions). The focus should be on why that happened, and learn lessons so there are no repeats.

Those who are suspected of committing an offence of any nature should be charged and subject to the judicial process.

The stewards and police failed to control the crowd because loads of people chose of their own free will to invade the pitch and should take a bit of personal responsibility for their own actions.

This investigation lark is dead easy, how much do you get paid to be on the commission?

* Unless Rod is involved, in which case you'll be paying for your coffee, and probably his as well.

West lower
26-07-2016, 09:33 PM
It's only a massive own goal if you are prone to exaggeration. Nobody will be banned or face criminal prosecution for merely being on the pitch and the club may well avoid a larger fine for being seen to play the game here. It's really not that big a deal.

I agree. I would also hazard a guess that anyone receiving a letter would much rather get a slap on the wrist from Hibs, than Hibs telling the Police to ram it and do it themselves. That would backfire on both Hibs and the individuals concerned.

Matty_Jack04
26-07-2016, 09:34 PM
How's the investigation into the failed attempt at child
Abduction on the Hampden pitch going? Anyone heard.....

26-07-2016, 09:34 PM
Your details are protected by the data protection act. And unless you have used your name as your user name nobody will know it unless they know you personally.

I should probably let Leeann know that my username isn't my real name then before we take any disciplinary action against one of our best players. :greengrin

wills
26-07-2016, 09:39 PM
Robbie is employed by the Club

think I read on here that he's ex-police, just wondering if he's pursuing this on behalf of the club or PS

26-07-2016, 09:40 PM
think I read on here that he's ex-police, just wondering if he's pursuing this on behalf of the club or PS

He is. :agree:

He'll be working on behalf of the club, not the police.

26-07-2016, 09:41 PM
Jesus wept.

Agree with every word of this.

I think the club are doing this tactically, as a bit of PR and covert Hun shaming, but Rangers/Record/Sunday Mail etc have already hung themselves on their own rope of lies and hysteria, so playing sooky goody-two-shoes to the authorities with nanny state measures that only patronise your own supporters isn't a good idea.

26-07-2016, 09:43 PM
I was on the pitch and don't regret one minute of it. If Hibs had any business sense i would have paid more in the club shop by now to more than cover my part of any fine they get. I will not be taking a day off work and 160 mile round trip to try and explain how it was impossible for me to resist the urge to get on the pitch to celebrate. I will not throw the toys out the pram though and will carry on with my payments to HSL and attend as many games i can as a non st holder. If Hibs don't want my custom without a grovelling apology so be it i will bow out on a high.

26-07-2016, 09:46 PM
Exactly.

So to stop themselves from being crushed the had to travel 100 yards:confused:

26-07-2016, 09:54 PM

There were plenty of fans who had no choice other than to go on to the pitch to avoid the crush.

26-07-2016, 09:55 PM
If this is legit then the Hibs board need to seriously wind their f***in' necks in. A disgrace. Who the f*** do they think they are!? If its illegal its a matter for the cops...unless of course they think clubs should have strict liability placed on them?...yeah, thought not.
The idea that they are snooping about facebook posts is extremely alarming. Again, WHO THE F*** DO THEY THINK THEY ARE?!
Much like the lad involved, myself and my kids wandered on to the park at the tail end of the 'invasion'. The steward actually held the gate open for us.
Did a bit of hugging/backslapping with big smiles on our faces, went and stood at the spot where David Gray did the biz and stood staring at the goals (or what was left of them) for a min or two, kissed my hand, and patted the spot on the ground from where the curse was broken then wandered off. We were half way home on the bus before we knew there had been any soapy bubble.
If i receive a letter from Hibs asking me to attend a meeting they will be told to F*** RIGHT OFF! And 4 season tickets will be returned shredded in the post.
I renewed all 4 tickets despite knowing that we will miss probably 90% of games this season as my boys move to playing Saturday afternoon football. I did it 3 months ago cause i wanted to show my support to the chief exec and to the then manager. If Hibs feel they can do without supporters like me then so-be-it.
The club are moving down a very slippy road if they continue with this little hitler $h1te. Look forward to letter about littering, swearing, spitting in the stadium next.

I agree. The club would be better writing to the BBC, The the rangers and The Daily Rangers asking them to attend and explain the lies they told about player assaults and defending the hun hordes by claiming they were defending thier players. And ps, i wasnt on the park but dont blame those who were merely celebrating. Have seen folk asking if others know the law, glass houses and ibrox car park spring to mind

26-07-2016, 09:59 PM
And for the record i am ronnie kirk , but the real ronnie kirk isn't me

26-07-2016, 10:02 PM

Admins are obliged to pass on all information should there be a criminal investigation. Yours is a cut and dried admission which is unfortunately the low hanging fruit they are after.

You could be looking at a fine at best or even some bird if you are unlucky.

26-07-2016, 10:05 PM
I was on the pitch and don't regret one minute of it. If Hibs had any business sense i would have paid more in the club shop by now to more than cover my part of any fine they get. I will not be taking a day off work and 160 mile round trip to try and explain how it was impossible for me to resist the urge to get on the pitch to celebrate. I will not throw the toys out the pram though and will carry on with my payments to HSL and attend as many games i can as a non st holder. If Hibs don't want my custom without a grovelling apology so be it i will bow out on a high.

I have yet to read anything in the letter that suggests Hibs are looking for an apology. Perhaps there will be a group of players appealing to you not to invade the pitch again. You can take selfies with them and get your letter signed.

This is all just fantasy until someone attends one of these proposed meetings and reports on what unfolds.

When is the first appointment? Is it at halftime during the next home game?

ionahibby
26-07-2016, 10:06 PM

I'm sorry but as far as I'm concerned you are being pretty ignorant there. Basically you are saying because it doesn't affect you then you don't care! How about standing up for fellow hibbies who really haven't done too much wrong other than get carried away with emotions. If they had been involved with violence fair enough but we shouldn't let these guys be punished so easily. It's a farce and hibs should really be approaching in an other way than "temporarily banning memberships" which is bull**** it's basically a ban until further notice.

26-07-2016, 10:07 PM
I agree. The club would be better writing to the BBC, The the rangers and The Daily Rangers asking them to attend and explain the lies they told about player assaults and defending the hun hordes by claiming they were defending thier players. And ps, i wasnt on the park but dont blame those who were merely celebrating. Have seen folk asking if others know the law, glass houses and ibrox car park spring to mind

Be big enough to say it directly, no crime was committed that day.....Still you bash on with your drivel:rolleyes:

26-07-2016, 10:08 PM
And for the record i am ronnie kirk , but the teal ronnie kirk isn't me

What colour are you then?

26-07-2016, 10:09 PM
What colour are you then?

Oops

26-07-2016, 10:13 PM
I think it is appalling the number of so called fans on here who are always ready to down the club while knowing nothing about the circumstances.
Appalling? So called fans? Really? By so called fans do you mean life long season ticket holders, shareholders, hsl members and away regulars? You must be a special.supporter ifvthats what you call "so called"

26-07-2016, 10:19 PM
Are Hibs The First Ever Scottish Club.. To Have a Pitch invasion !!!??.. Not Read the thread = But it Really Sounds Like it !!!

FFS..

26-07-2016, 10:20 PM
.......and as if by magic if your opinion is different to another fan on any given thread in any given day that thread decends into an über fan debate on that day.😂😂😂

26-07-2016, 10:24 PM
I hope sevco are taking similar action, not been much news about what they are doing with their fans that came on and attacked the hibs fans

26-07-2016, 10:25 PM
.......and as if by magic if your opinion is different to another fan on any given thread in any given day that thread decends into an über fan debate on that day.

Great eh:rolleyes:

HTID
26-07-2016, 10:29 PM
I hope the club and police are punishing and sending them letters:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAOZZZqmXQA

26-07-2016, 10:29 PM

Not everyone went 100 yards ! But those at the front and other rows were pushed forward and openly encouraged to come into the track / pitch by police and stewards - I saw it at the time and it's on the live coverage too.

Forthview
26-07-2016, 10:36 PM
Sounds like one of those old 'report to the headmaster's office at 9.0am' letters Sent to the naughty kids parents. Just bin it.

26-07-2016, 10:48 PM
I'm sorry but as far as I'm concerned you are being pretty ignorant there. Basically you are saying because it doesn't affect you then you don't care! How about standing up for fellow hibbies who really haven't done too much wrong other than get carried away with emotions. If they had been involved with violence fair enough but we shouldn't let these guys be punished so easily. It's a farce and hibs should really be approaching in an other way than "temporarily banning memberships" which is bull**** it's basically a ban until further notice.

Pretty ignorant? What are you on about. My point about I don't need to be notified because it doesn't concern me is in relation to the suggestion that it hadn't been communicated properly. I couldn't care less about folk going on the pitch,I have stated several times since the cup final that I enjoyed the scenes and it added to the occasion for me. All this speculation about punishment is just that.

26-07-2016, 11:15 PM
Jesus wept.

Well said. :top marks

27-07-2016, 12:49 AM
What a superb wind up 👏👏😂 aye my mates had 5 of them

27-07-2016, 05:48 AM
I hope the club and police are punishing and sending them letters:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAOZZZqmXQA

Animals the lot of them.

Its illegal to run on a pitch.

Its an outrage.

Weststandwanab
27-07-2016, 05:55 AM

Indeed very stupid - it is not known a Face Choob for nothing.

What a superb wind up  aye my mates had 5 of them

The longer there s silence the more likely this is the case !

Has any recipient phoned Mr. McGregor ?

27-07-2016, 06:13 AM
Admins are obliged to pass on all information should there be a criminal investigation. Yours is a cut and dried admission which is unfortunately the low hanging fruit they are after.

Nice to see a fellow Hibs fans deliberately trolling and trying to panick the lad.

The chances of any Hibs supporter who simply went on the park facing criminal charges , apart from those arrested at the time , is very slim to none. In the very unlikely event they did it would be a small fine at the worst.

Despite none of the fans who were arrested and consequently charged with violence on the park received a custodial sentence you are suggesting he could get jail for a far far lesser "crime"? Aye you bash on mate.

27-07-2016, 06:22 AM

How do you know this? The letter says memberships are on hold until contact is made with the club. If you don't make contact, is your season ticket going to work?

The entire pitch invasion / 'riot' has been entirely blown out of proportion, even now by Hibs.

27-07-2016, 06:23 AM
Sounds like one of those old 'report to the headmaster's office at 9.0am' letters Sent to the naughty kids parents. Just bin it.

Exactly why the letter has got to be a hoax. Realistically, what do they hope to achieve by speaking to someone? Who will attend the meeting? What representation should the recipient bring with them, especially juveniles ? What are the implications of not attending? What specific rule in the club's ST membership is the Safety Officer relying on to put a "membership on hold" and demand a personal meeting ? What will be done with the information gathered/shared at the meeting, and the potential implications ? None of these things were covered in the letter, when they most certainly should have been.

It would take 10 mins to work up a Hibs FC letter head complete with logos, and another 10 to write the letter. Has anyone checked the signature ?

Really hope it is a Sevco or Hibs fan just having a bit of fun. If the club has drafted this letter and requesting a "meeting" with a supporter in this way, then they are at best being naive and amateur. If this was sent to my 16 year old son, it would already be in the hands of our solicitor.

27-07-2016, 06:32 AM
Until someone actually goes into Hibs with the letter in hand and finds out what they want to talk about, you really have no idea what the story is. So all the people on here that claim to have a letter....can you quickly call the guy and go in. I don't know anyone who actually has a letter. If you are a member on here and have a letter can you show it please?

27-07-2016, 06:33 AM

No denial here, giving the circumstance I would do it again. If I am to receive a letter I will plead my guilt to the headmaster with a generous dose of sarcasm and would look forward to raising a few questions of my own.

27-07-2016, 06:44 AM
Pretty sure folk at the club will be aware of this thread.

Amit / Frank, it would be good to hear your take on this. Seems like exactly the sort of issue you were elected to deal with no?

If the letter is a hoax then a quick Tweet or msg on the Club website will kill this stone dead and we can get back to being one big happy family again.

Keyser Sauzee
27-07-2016, 06:45 AM
I can't believe we are at 16 pages of this thread! Far too many people making assumptions based on no information whatsoever, it's crazy! Let's just wait and see what is actually said at these meetings when/if they take place before any overboard reactions.

Unbelievable, it really is.

Benny Brazil
27-07-2016, 06:54 AM
And for the record i am ronnie kirk , but the real ronnie kirk isn't me

Cmon admit it - you are really Ronnie Pickering!!!

27-07-2016, 06:54 AM
Animals the lot of them.

Its illegal to run on a pitch.

Its an outrage.
Heroes, every one of them. By getting on swiftly they proactively defended their own players from a merciless attack by opposing fans.

This should be the defence of every hibs fan here- not because it's logical but because in the grimy world of Scottish football adopting whatever defence the the rangers do for their behaviour seems to be the easiest way out.

Getting in early saved many of our players given how violent the the rangers fans were when they got onto the pitch. They are as bad as the fans of the now defunct Glasgow rangers.

27-07-2016, 06:56 AM
We all know that you can be punished if you run into the pitch, this occasion got out of hand and ended up with damage to the goalposts, turf and electronic signing. If this helps reduce the punishment to the club and it's just a meeting for a slap on the wrist then be a man about it and take it on the chin.

27-07-2016, 07:06 AM
I see the redacted letter is from Robert not Robbie McGregor. Not too sure why if your listed on the club website (and presumably your "professional name") why you'd change it in a letter? Does Rod write as Wodewick when he's giving someone a telling off?

27-07-2016, 07:12 AM
Probably already dealt with in an earlier post, but can it be a hoax on the basis that the author uses commas instead of full stops on about five different occasions? Grammatically it is terrible. Not comfortable with Hibs laying down the law with such lousy punctuation.

27-07-2016, 07:13 AM
I can't believe we are at 16 pages of this thread! Far too many people making assumptions based on no information whatsoever, it's crazy! Let's just wait and see what is actually said at these meetings when/if they take place before any overboard reactions.

Unbelievable, it really is.

People are basing opinions based on this letter, not "no information whatsoever". Hibs seem to be diverting a lot of resources to this and it doesn't sit well with me.

As you say, we don't know what will come of the meetings, but I think it's the fact they are happening at all which irks some.

JDHibs
27-07-2016, 07:18 AM
I took it upon myself to email Robbie yesterday, to find out more information. To which he immediately replied with a request for me to phone him for a chat. I then spent 15 minutes on the phone to him discussing the situation. I put this up on Hibspaige last night.

"Regarding the letters some fans have received from the club today -
I have been in communication this afternoon with R McGregor at Hibs to try and clear everything up. I am hoping to have a statement to release early on tomorrow, as for legal reasons it needs to be cleared by the club.
But until then, from what ive gathered from the discussions, Hibs were passed these peoples details by an external party. They are obliged by law to investigate.
In my opinion as long as you didnt do anything stupid on the pitch, you will get a slap on the wrist. But again, hopefully i will have more details tomorrow.
So lets all chill out."

My opinion on the situation has been built after the discussion with Robbie, who also admitted he understood why people went on the pitch to celebrate. He has no desire to spend months meeting with fans to ban people. A select few have been identified and letters have been sent to them. The club want all this sorted before the season starts and THAT is why the memberships have been put on hold, to force peoples hand to contact the club.

The last thing the club want to do it get the fans backs up this close to the season. By not contacting the club you are just causing yourself more grief.

27-07-2016, 07:19 AM
People are basing opinions based on this letter, not "no information whatsoever". Hibs seem to be diverting a lot of resources to this and it doesn't sit well with me.

As you say, we don't know what will come of the meetings, but I think it's the fact they are happening at all which irks some.
If you've done something you shouldn't have, no matter how emotional the occasion was and this helps reduce the punishment then why should we expect the club to take the rap for it? It's disappointing that the SFA deem things seriously enough to take it this far but why shouldn't those who were on the pitch to take their share of responsibility?

The club's arm has been forced right behind its back here but that's out of their control.

gazathehibby
27-07-2016, 07:20 AM
Ok your not supposed to be on the pitch but come on, the mass majority were celebrating, we the Hibs fans have taking a pounding from other supporters & the press over the last 114 years, deal with the people fighting along with the people that damaged the pitch, but it's now getting blown out of proportion, drop it and move on, or do we charge the security company or the police for sending there men to Ibrox on a false alarm.

TamHibs
27-07-2016, 07:20 AM
I took it upon myself to email Robbie yesterday, to find out more information. To which he immediately replied with a request for me to phone him for a chat. I then spent 15 minutes on the phone to him discussing the situation. I put this up on Hibspaige last night.

I have been in communication this afternoon with R McGregor at Hibs to try and clear everything up. I am hoping to have a statement to release early on tomorrow, as for legal reasons it needs to be cleared by the club.
But until then, from what ive gathered from the discussions, Hibs were passed these peoples details by an external party. They are obliged by law to investigate.
In my opinion as long as you didnt do anything stupid on the pitch, you will get a slap on the wrist. But again, hopefully i will have more details tomorrow.
So lets all chill out."

My opinion on the situation has been built after the discussion with Robbie, who also admitted he understood why people went on the pitch to celebrate. He has no desire to spend months meeting with fans to ban people. A select few have been identified and letters have been sent to them. The club want all this sorted before the season starts and THAT is why the memberships have been put on hold, to force peoples hand to contact the club.

The last thing the club want to do it get the fans backs up this close to the season. By not contacting the club you are just causing yourself more grief.

Is that you Jamie? :greengrin

27-07-2016, 07:21 AM

So lets all chill out."

Good. SO if you get a letter...go and see the man!

Lee Marvin
27-07-2016, 07:24 AM

So lets all chill out."

Answers a lot of questions. Hibs clearly have a legal responsibility to do this, DUE to the fans, not in spite of the fans.

I have absolutely no problem with the 99% who entered the pitch to celebrate, however let's not hang the club for something the fans created.

Matty_Jack04
27-07-2016, 07:26 AM

So lets all chill out."

sounds like someone's a grass......

27-07-2016, 07:30 AM
sounds like someone's a grass......

Lee Wallace is

Matty_Jack04
27-07-2016, 07:30 AM
Answers a lot of questions. Hibs clearly have a legal responsibility to do this, DUE to the fans, not in spite of the fans.

I have absolutely no problem with the 99% who entered the pitch to celebrate, however let's not hang the club for something the fans created.

Arrests have been made, there is a police Scotland investigation and an sfa investigation any info related to these investigations that come to the attention of hibs/Rangers should be handed over and dealt with by them, I'm pretty sure there's more to worry about than a young laddie going on the park having a photo and heading back to his seat and the police would launch this 'external parties' info in the pile marked 'seething Hun s***e'

27-07-2016, 07:35 AM
Ok your not supposed to be on the pitch but come on, the mass majority were celebrating, we the Hibs fans have taking a pounding from other supporters & the press over the last 114 years, deal with the people fighting along with the people that damaged the pitch, but it's now getting blown out of proportion, drop it and move on, or do we charge the security company or the police for sending there men to Ibrox on a false alarm.

If you do something you shouldn't enough you should have the strength of character to take responsibility if you're called on it. IMO the SFA have massively blown this out of proportion but that's the hand we've been dealt, we're not in a position to negotiate about it.

27-07-2016, 07:40 AM
I'm not buying this "Hibs have a legal obligation to investigate". Hibs have no statutory power in this matter but may feel they have an obligation to meet with fans who have been identified being on the pitch. It also has to be noted that Poice and stewards allowed fans enter the pitch. The whole thing seems an over reaction. The police should deal with those who committed acts of violence or deliberate acts of vandalism and stop thee switch hunt against "exuberant" fans.

For the record I never went on the pitch.

Keyser Sauzee
27-07-2016, 07:44 AM

Ok then, hardly any information at all, still no where near enough to have people saying they will send back season tickets. You say hibs are diverting a lot of resource to this, how do u know that? A couple of letters is not a lot of resource. As someone else posted, the club may have been given the information from someone else, who knows, which is why I'm suggesting to calm down until further info is there. The club might be pushed into this by SFA do again why not wait till we know more.

27-07-2016, 07:45 AM
If anyone is sending back season tickets can we ensure they go to the local kids charities. :wink:

27-07-2016, 07:47 AM
I'm not buying this "Hibs have a legal obligation to investigate". Hibs have no statutory power in this matter but may feel they have an obligation to meet with fans who have been identified being on the pitch. It also has to be noted that Poice and stewards allowed fans enter the pitch. The whole thing seems an over reaction. The police should deal with those who committed acts of violence or deliberate acts of vandalism and stop thee switch hunt against "exuberant" fans.

27-07-2016, 07:48 AM

The club did this some time ago, via an email to everyone on the database. :aok:

27-07-2016, 07:50 AM
How do you explain to board memebers who have only been at Hibs a few years, how you felt that day? Lets face it, half the board will possibly not be there in a few years. We the fans have and will always be there. They are paid people to do a job, we pay for their jobs.

If I did get a letter, which I very much doubt I will, they can come to my house to chat or meet me at 14:50 at the next home. I won't be taking a days annual leave to explain to a suit about why I ran on to the pitch, as they wont grasp the concept or the reason. If the police asked for a chat, that is a different ball game.

P.S. I take it these meetings will be getting recorded? What if you turned round and said I wanted a scrap with Rangers fans, where would the clubs evidence be?

Lee Marvin
27-07-2016, 07:55 AM
Arrests have been made, there is a police Scotland investigation and an sfa investigation any info related to these investigations that come to the attention of hibs/Rangers should be handed over and dealt with by them, I'm pretty sure there's more to worry about than a young laddie going on the park having a photo and heading back to his seat and the police would launch this 'external parties' info in the pile marked 'seething Hun s***e'

I agree, it does seem ridiculous. However, I'm sure hibs hsve a very valid reason (possibly obligation) in doing this. There is literally no way hibs would go down this path if it wasn't required, as if it isn't, what is the benefit to the club?! Zero.

Let's not hang the club before we know the facts. A divided fan base is not going to help.

27-07-2016, 08:10 AM
I may be wrong, but it looks to me that it's the folk who were on the pitch then posted photos and bragged about it on Facebook that are receiving the letters.

I wonder if someone's suggested that posting photos on social media indirectly encourages others to do the same.

"Aw man, that looks barry. How come they Hibbies get all the fun. Mon we'll dae it when we beat that Birkirkara mob at Tynie". :wink:

27-07-2016, 08:11 AM
Its things like this that only go to confirm just how we have to jump when told to, and sevco just ignore the authorities whenever they like.

They dont even pay the fines that are awarded against them, they wage a media war against Hibs with lie after lie, but we are the ones who are having our backside smacked for running on the park.

Hibs and sevco were not responsible for looking after the crowd that day, of course get the fighters and the idiots who broke things, but FFS go after those who failed to do their jobs rather than those who wandered on the park for a photo opportunity.

:agree: Scandalous. Their fans have disgraced themselves on a weekly basis for years with their constant sectarian chanting and singing, violence and disorder, plus the spitting and missile throwing at away fans at Ibrox, then there's Manchester and so on, but you wouldn't know it, would you? Time and time again, the media and authorities insist on remaining selectively blind to it, out of fear in some cases, sheer sycophancy in others, and instead, shake their heads in outrage at the slightest infringement by anyone else.

In case anyone has forgotten, here is a photo of huns on the pitch at ER after they won the league. I look forward to all of these fans being identified retrospectively and sent letters.

27-07-2016, 08:13 AM
If TRFC had won the cup and their fans invaded the pitch to celebrate none of this keech would be an issue. It would have been reported as 'high spirits' and long forgotten.
Hibs have done more than enough in responding to the invasion IMO.
The flogged horse is long dead.

27-07-2016, 08:14 AM

So lets all chill out."

So the club did not even have the foresight to have an 'if asked' statement available - or had no intention of making a statement and are now forced to do something on the hoof.

27-07-2016, 08:26 AM

Agreed, would love someone to show me the law that states a football club has a legal responsibility to investigate. If they don't then who is breaking the law, who would be charged and with what? It's a load of nonsense.

27-07-2016, 08:29 AM
Agreed, would love someone to show me the law that states a football club has a legal responsibility to investigate. If they don't then who is breaking the law, who would be charged and with what? It's a load of nonsense.

Agreed. No legal obligation whatsoever to do anything with info passed on by anyone. As I said yesterday, this is pretty weak from Hibs.

27-07-2016, 08:34 AM

Excellent post. Spot on for me. Stewardship of the club, and protecting it, also means "playing the game" and occasionally making politically astute decisions. A slightly bitter pill to swallow, given what actually happened and what our opponents' fans have been getting away with for years (see my post above) but there's a bigger picture here and Dempster, who has already transformed our club beyond recognition from what it was before she arrived, is a very highly impressive individual with her head screwed on, must have her reasons.

27-07-2016, 08:48 AM
Excellent post. Spot on for me. Stewardship of the club, and protecting it, also means "playing the game" and occasionally making politically astute decisions. A slightly bitter pill to swallow, given what actually happened and what our opponents' fans have been getting away with for years (see my post above) but there's a bigger picture here and Dempster, who has already transformed our club beyond recognition from what it was before she arrived, is a very highly impressive individual with her head screwed on, must have her reasons.

These reasons will be linked to SFA membership which comes with rules including some responsibility for fan behaviour. While it is obviously fine for some member clubs fans to persistently break the law of the land within and around football stadia throughout Scotland and the rest of Europe, there will be a rule that other clubs must investigate each and every occasion of field of play infringement, loud singing not involving the blood of rival team supporters, littering and offensive release of bodily gases.

27-07-2016, 08:52 AM
These reasons will be linked to SFA membership which comes with rules including some responsibility for fan behaviour. While it is obviously fine for some member clubs fans to persistently break the law of the land within and around football stadia throughout Scotland and the rest of Europe, there will be a rule that other clubs must investigate each and every occasion of field of play infringement, loud singing not involving the blood of rival team supporters, littering and offensive release of bodily gases.

If that is the case why did Motherwell, Kilmarnock and Ayr United not have to go down this road for their pitch invasions?

ionahibby
27-07-2016, 08:58 AM
Pretty ignorant? What are you on about. My point about I don't need to be notified because it doesn't concern me is in relation to the suggestion that it hadn't been communicated properly. I couldn't care less about folk going on the pitch,I have stated several times since the cup final that I enjoyed the scenes and it added to the occasion for me. All this speculation about punishment is just that.

Fair enough I may have misread your post. Still think this is all a farce though. Surely an open letter to all fans would have been enough rather than picking a random few especially a 16 year old?

27-07-2016, 09:01 AM
How do you explain to board memebers who have only been at Hibs a few years, how you felt that day? Lets face it, half the board will possibly not be there in a few years. We the fans have and will always be there. They are paid people to do a job, we pay for their jobs.

If I did get a letter, which I very much doubt I will, they can come to my house to chat or meet me at 14:50 at the next home. I won't be taking a days annual leave to explain to a suit about why I ran on to the pitch, as they wont grasp the concept or the reason. If the police asked for a chat, that is a different ball game.

P.S. I take it these meetings will be getting recorded? What if you turned round and said I wanted a scrap with Rangers fans, where would the clubs evidence be?

If you get a letter and ignore it and you are a season ticket member they will suspend your account so you would be unable to use your season ticket. As for the "I only went onto the pitch to avoid being crushed" excuse, the only people at risk of being crushed were the ones on the stairways who were only there to get on the pitch. If you stayed in your seat there was no danger of you being crushed.

Dunedin Hibs
27-07-2016, 09:04 AM
For me...storm in a tea cup, whipped up by hun's demanding a different result from our famous victory.

I was there, with my 80 year old dad, he told me later ...he would have been on the field "if he was a younger man". Day was brilliant from start to finish, including the pitch invasion. Just added to the occasion. The huns are great at doing it, when it is our turn....different story.

I am sure anyone summoned by the Club will just get a slap on the wrist. What is important is we won the Cup!

Stand strong..Hibs are probably just trying to reduce the fine we get.