View Full Version : Hibs v Livingston match updates

Pages : 1 [2] 3

05-04-2016, 08:03 PM
It's getting ridiculous Aldo. There is a thread on Ox already then we get this ****ing crap. Place is crawling has been for weeks.

Yip trolling and fishing at same time!!

05-04-2016, 08:03 PM
It's completely relevant to our current situation as it is yet another game with one shot, one goal. With a competent keeper we would concede fewer goals.

With a world class keeper we'd still be 1 down tonight.

05-04-2016, 08:04 PM
Cummings with an embarassing dive.

05-04-2016, 08:04 PM
It's completely relevant to our current situation as it is yet another game with one shot, one goal. With a competent keeper we would concede fewer goals.

Nah it's not sorry. The defence was to blame and the keeper had no chance. Have a go at Ox all you want on the Ox thread.

05-04-2016, 08:05 PM
Do we even look like scoring??

With a world class keeper we'd still be 1 down tonight.

Exactly.

You'd love it if Oxley made a big mistake tonight. It's pathetic.

Nah it's not sorry. The defence was to blame and the keeper had no chance. Have a go at Ox all you want on the Ox thread.

However on this occasion Oxley was not at fault. The defence was! Simple as that!

We Came out the traps flying had one off the line.

This is brutal Hibs. No urgency at all. Sad times.

05-04-2016, 08:06 PM
So it's not Oxley's fault but you find time to post that he's just ***** anyway? I ****ing give up! This place is honking.

You were the one that brought the subject of Oxley up in the first instance.

For some reason Oxley has still got people backing him and i'm struggling to see why. I'm not saying he was at fault for the game tonight, but it can't help a defence that knowing if they do make a mistake their keeper wont bail them out.

For those who like stats rather than opinion; from the start of out bad run (Morton) onwards up until half time today we have had 25 shots on target against us. 16 of those have been goals. I also can't think of many 'worldies' in that time either.

The livi Keeper has literally made more saves so far tonight than Oxley has in his last 4 games..

You're on the wrong thread, there's plenty others where the theme is the same as yours.

The Livi keeper literally had to make more saves tonight because it sounds like he literally had to face more shots on target than Oxley has so far, literally.

We had a good 1st few minutes to this half. Dire now.

We Came out the traps flying had one off the line.

25 to go. Time for Stubbs to earn his crust and change it about!

05-04-2016, 08:07 PM

Was I ripping him? Didn't take long for someone to blame him though eh??

Ronnie ! Watching paint dry might be the preferred option tonight. Good call :aok:

Was so pissed off gave utility room a third coat The wife is delighted

Give Fyvie and handling a bash at turning the game.

Keatings free kick from 35 yards well over.

05-04-2016, 08:08 PM

He can't hide away from this that's for sure. No excuses Hibs need to win!

AL-Qaholik
05-04-2016, 08:08 PM
I cannot believe how far we've fallen as a club. F***ing heartbreaking.

05-04-2016, 08:09 PM
Gray cross, Stevenson outmuscled at the back post.

hfcok

Ever since Stokes came in, we have lost the team ethic, all playing as individuals out there, reminds me when Joe Harper came??

Based on current form we will be a Championship team next season and struggling to avoid relegation to the 1st division. It's all Petrie's fault!

Stubbs out.

Minging.

Boyle, I think, stripped.

05-04-2016, 08:10 PM
It's getting ridiculous Aldo. There is a thread on Ox already then we get this ****ing crap. Place is crawling has been for weeks.

Might be some sort of undiagnosed mental disorder. Reverse Oxmosis.

Boyle on for Thomson.

boyle on for thomson

K-Zazu
Stubbs out

05-04-2016, 08:11 PM
If Hibs lose yet again then surely Stubbs should do the decent thing?

Fritz
Well the reason i asked , As in all my life time ( bar 1 season) we have been in the top flight so to lose 4 games in a row in the 2nd tier of scottish football i thought i'd ask as there can't be many more depressing times ? Yep the 2nd tier off scottish football.

I know what you're saying Andy, I suppose I was being a bit smart, but the bottom line is there's still plenty to play for this season and surely the squad now is better than the Butcher or Calderwood days?! It's not that long ago we were celebrating a cup semi win at Tynie and pumping THEM out of the Scottish cup. There's plenty out there more than happy to stick the boot in to us (Preston, Gordon etc). We need to stick together and get behind the team.

Niffy
Stubbs and Stokes out.

What the heck has happened to our club ? My Dad will be turning in his grave.

05-04-2016, 08:12 PM
McGreggor and Oxley almost get in a muddle, Oxley does well to clear it in the end.

Stubbs out

Might be some sort of undiagnosed mental disorder. Reverse Oxmosis.

That made me chuckle 😁

I cannot believe how far we've fallen as a club. F***ing heartbreaking.

Apparently we just need to be patient, or more lucky, or McGeouch or a new keeper, or width or pace or a full moon or an eclipse or a maybe we are pish?

We had a good 1st few minutes to this half. Dire now.

That's poor PB. Very poor!

Don't see how we can recover!

05-04-2016, 08:13 PM
Keatings heads a couple of yards over.

GlasgowHibee
Oxley hasn't had anything to do tonight, as others have mentioned, we could have had 2 world-class goalkeepers in net and we'd still be 1-0 down

Not looking likely that we'll score.

For some reason Oxley has still got people backing him and i'm struggling to see why. I'm not saying he was at fault for the game tonight, but it can't help a defence that knowing if they do make a mistake their keeper wont bail them out.

For those who like stats rather than opinion; from the start of out bad run (Morton) onwards up until half time today we have had 25 shots on target against us. 16 of those have been goals. I also can't think of many 'worldies' in that time either.

The livi Keeper has literally made more saves so far tonight than Oxley has in his last 4 games..

Good grief, reading this pish makes me wish I was at the game, that's how bad your post is mate!

Why the team put so many crosses in when nearly all of them come to nothing, you would think they try something else.

05-04-2016, 08:14 PM
Apparently we just need to be patient, or more lucky, or McGeouch or a new keeper, or width or pace or a full moon or an eclipse or a maybe we are pish?

When's the next eclipse? 😉

This isn't good enough and Stubbs carries the can here. I've backed him and will continue too while he's here but **** me how can we not beat this *****.

McGreggor gives it away cheaply, Livi striker offside when he really shouldn't have been.

Gray crosses, Stokes connects from a yard out, it somehow goes wide.

stokes puts it past from 3 yards ?

If we don't win tonight then Stubbs has to have a good hard look at himself and decide where he is actually taking us!

Stokes shot unbearably wide.

05-04-2016, 08:15 PM
Dundee Utd will be looking forward to playing us on this form.

This is ****ing pathetic hibs!

Goal !! Right Hibs finish them off

There's no denying that mcgeouch is absolutely vital for us and we've struggled for form whenever he's not in the team.

But he is injury prone so we cant rely on him

McGreggor gives it away cheaply, Livi striker offside when he really shouldn't have been.

Gray crosses, Stokes connects from a yard out, it somehow goes wide.

This is mad, we can't keep missing these chances surely?

Don't blame them. We are hardly a team to fear right now!

SJM
05-04-2016, 08:16 PM
Please Hibs please just ****ing do this in the last 15. Mon the cabbage!!!

another fantastic chance for hibs

Stevenson cut back, Keatings shot, defender comes from nowhere to block. Proper body on the line moment.

Stokes is finished.

I have got to say I never thought I would see the day when we were struggling to win a game in the second tier of the Scottish League. Its a desperate time for the club.

Bit obvious that things are just not going for us just now. Like the McLeish nosedive.

McGinn shoots from 10 yards, hits off the luckiest Livi player in the ****ing world.

They sure will.

They are on the up and have a good chance of actually staying up.

TBH Coco any team looks forward to playing us as we are so predicable!

05-04-2016, 08:17 PM
Stokes is finished.

what a lot of nonsense...he did everything right...was very unlucky there...

McGinn looks done here. It's like he's running through treacle.

We've had 11 shots (4 on target) and they've had 2 shots (1 on target) and have scored from it. Pretty much sums hibs up right now.

Come on Hibs, a draw isn't even good enough. We must win this!

Goooooalll

Finished Stokes scores it.

woohoooooooooooooo stokes :greengrin

GlasgowHibee
05-04-2016, 08:18 PM
Stokes!!!!!

Now let's go on and get a ducking winner.

I know what you're saying Andy, I suppose I was being a bit smart, but the bottom line is there's still plenty to play for this season and surely the squad now is better than the Butcher or Calderwood days?! It's not that long ago we were celebrating a cup semi win at Tynie and pumping THEM out of the Scottish cup. There's plenty out there more than happy to stick the boot in to us (Preston, Gordon etc). We need to stick together and get behind the team.

But is the squad better than the butcher or calderwood days ? I would say so yes...But how on gods earth is this team not picking up results week after week ? A mean look at the starting 11 how are we not steam rolling teams ?? I'm just scunnered now and have hit a brick wall.. I'l be there every week as always but cmon 2nd tier and getting beat of pish every other week? IMO This is the lowest, the LOWEST ive ever felt being a hibs fan.

Yaaassss

Mango Man
Stokes!!

Goal Stokes

Come on a winner now.

Well done Stokes!

13 or so minutes to go TC!!

Think we have had our chances and have failed to take them!

Honestly I don't know what to make of us as a team right now!!

Stokes is finished.

We're world beaters. Stokes for player of the season.

Stokesy ...... you were saying ? Hehe 😋

13 or so minutes to go TC!!

Think we have had our chances and have failed to take them!

Honestly I don't know what to make of us as a team right now!!

It's on now!!!

what a lot of nonsense...he did everything right...was very unlucky there...

Opinions eh...

He's average 👍

oldbiker
05-04-2016, 08:19 PM
Goal Stokes, cmon HIbs get this done :flag::flag:

Get another !

13 or so minutes to go TC!! Think we have had our chances and have failed to take them! Honestly I don't know what to make of us as a team right now!!

Ooopppss!!!

Stokes is finished.

Daftie

Great timing as just saw the goal on periscope, looked like a good finish.

Gerard
Goalllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll llllllllllllllll
now get one more.

Agree. the day we accept a draw to livingston as a decent result is the day we have officially hit rock bottom as a club.

BarneyHibby
Stoksey!:agree::thumbsup:

Ooopppss!!!

Winner please.

It's on now!!!

Oops

05-04-2016, 08:20 PM
Daftie

Reverse psychology 😂

What a goal from Stokes. :top marks

Some goal, sounds like the Livi keeper literally only had to stop that one shot and they'd still literally be in front.

Stokes is finished.

Lovely finish

Yes!

Now come hibs we need a winner here!

boyley :thumbsup::thumbsup:

05-04-2016, 08:21 PM
Thank **** for that

Reverse psychology 😂

Can you post Keatings and Cummings are finished too 😁👍🏼

What. A. Goal

Boyle volleys into the top corner from at least 30 yards

2-1

Marrrrrrrrrrtin booooooyyyyyyyyleeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!

rotherhamrob
Ya chuffin beauty

2-1 :greengrin:thumbsup::flag:

Boyle!! He'll never score a better goal in his life!! :greengrin

That is one of the best Hibs goals I have ever seen.

Callum7
goal. And what a goal

Great timing as just saw the goal on periscope, looked like a good finish.

And just saw the other goal!

Gerard
Goalllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll lllllllllllll
one more please.

Wow !! Just watched that

oldbiker
YEEESSSSSSS Martin Boyle :flag::flag::flag:

Yas Boyle 2-1!!!!!

Never in doubt :-)

GlasgowHibee
Goal of the season!!!!!!

Hopefully that kickstarts our season again.

Had a small double on Barca and Hibs when both a goal down... should I cash out or are the Hibees going to leave me smiling for the first time this month :confused:

COME ON Hibs!!

We're gonna win the play offs and the cup.

05-04-2016, 08:22 PM
Squirrel :giruy2: Yahoo

Goal! Hibernian 2, Livingston 1. Martin Boyle (Hibernian) right footed shot from outside the box to the top left corner.

Double oops from me! Get in!

Well done keep it up.

YAAAAAASSSSS

Believe!!!!

Didn't know Boyle could do that 👍👍

Stubbs might get manager of the month.The comeback king.

05-04-2016, 08:23 PM
Boyle!!!!!!! Stunner!!!

BarneyHibby
Boyle!!!:hibees:agree:

Had a small double on Barca and Hibs when both a goal down... should I cash out or are the Hibees going to leave me smiling for the first time this month :confused:

COME ON Hibs!!

price did you get? I looked at it earlier too, price was crap so I didnt bother.

I think we have now become the patient and there is no cure

A chink of light amongst the darkness. And what a reaction from Tam McManus on Open All Mouths.

05-04-2016, 08:24 PM
We'll still win this. Playing some good football guys.

😆

I'd say I'm happy if we win ugly tonight but that goal is worthy of winning any game. Straight into the top 5 best Hibs goals I've ever seen.

here we go, database errors, too many guests

Benny Brazil
05-04-2016, 08:25 PM
Boot the guests!!

WOW :top marks

SJM
****in mon the cabbage

05-04-2016, 08:26 PM
Boot the guests!!

COME ON Hibs!!
Me too, 20 on for 110 back, very quick turnaround!

Stokes free header wide from 5 yards.

Should really have scored, thought it was in.

Never in doubt :-)

:agree: Literally.

Stubbs for President. :thumbsup:

Get in!!

Boot the guests!!

This 👆🏼

05-04-2016, 08:27 PM
Confidence is coming back now.

Let's just be careful here now lads.

price did you get? I looked at it earlier too, price was crap so I didnt bother.

15/4 Hibs

15/8 Barca

Placed at 9.05pm. As soon as I posted that, the Boyle goal came up on Sky Sports News. I should really cash out now :agree:

Come on Hibs. They are responsible for my gray hairs.

Stokes free header wide from 5 yards.

Should really have scored, thought it was in.

He's finished 😂

05-04-2016, 08:28 PM
here we go, database errors, too many guests

Boot the guests!!

This 

Wind it in a bit guys. I'd normally be at the game but pissed off because I had to work on a major issue.

It's done, but other things come first at times.

05-04-2016, 08:28 PM
come back Stubbsie...they were only joking...honest!:wink:

05-04-2016, 08:29 PM
Right hibs nothing silly now. keep it tight and see this out

We're finished. As a club.

not a big fan, but have to say Boyle has been outstanding since he has come on..almost single handedly turned the game...in others news McGinn has had a stinker...

Wind it in a bit guys. I'd normally be at the game but pissed off because I had to work on a major issue.

No worries Dave, appreciate the effort by the way. 👍🏼👍🏼

05-04-2016, 08:30 PM
Didn't know Boyle could do that [emoji106][emoji106]

Neither did he but exactly what the Doctor prescribed

not a big fan, but have to say Boyle has been outstanding since he has come on..almost single handedly turned the game...in others news McGinn has had a stinker...

Been class since he came on.

Benny Brazil

Wasn't having a dig at anyone of the admins Dave. Appreciate you guys and girls have lives / other things to do.

No worries Dave, appreciate the effort by the way. ddc4dcdffcddc4dcdffc

Bum licker!! What time you dropping the apple off?? ;-)

I've been saying it for months Boyle should be playing. Massively underrated player.

Wonder if Stubbs will be credited for changing his game plan and bringing on a sub at the right time? Only fair surely!

05-04-2016, 08:31 PM

He's finished

McGinn looks shattered.

He's barely ran more than 20 yards either side of the half way line this half.

Boyle MOTM.

Probably deserved as well for the goal alone.

Me too, 20 on for 110 back, very quick turnaround!

You'll surely be due more than that if you done both when down a goal? Mine was paying £68 odd for the fiver.. though I cashed out for £62 a few minutes ago... I won't tell you which team I don't trust to hold on :greengrin

As for the guests... I'm sure they've seen themselves out now we're in front :aok:

*edit - just realised you probably done the bet A LOT earlier than me... hence the smaller odds (Bit excited haha) Well played in any case!

Bum licker!! What time you dropping the apple off?? ;-)

😂😂

Laughed out loud at this.

05-04-2016, 08:32 PM
Wonder if Stubbs will be credited for changing his game plan and bringing on a sub at the right time? Only fair surely!

Indeed but he has been culpable of late for some poor decisions re subs!

05-04-2016, 08:33 PM
Cummings replaced by the forgotten man Gunnarson

05-04-2016, 08:33 PM
Indeed but he has been culpable of late for some poor decisions re subs!

He has and even I've said it. He's done well though to change it round! Or maybe he should have started Boyle 😜

05-04-2016, 08:34 PM
Stubbs must stay/go

Cummings replaced by the forgotten man Gunnarson

Feel for Gunnarrson TBH as when he has played he has looked accomplished and not let us down.

maybe give super john a wee rest @ Alloa on saturday, then let him loose for the Falkirk game next tuesday

05-04-2016, 08:35 PM
Corner Livi.

Gulp!!

And?

SJM
What a massive massive three points this is for us a club. Thank you Hibernian we need to kick on now!!

Comes to nowt. Should be all.

05-04-2016, 08:36 PM
And?

Stubbs must stay/go

I've been well and truly swaying towards his removal, fair play, they've got the result. Tonight's win probably means he gets to the end of the season now (in the sense that there would have been major pressure on him to bol if we lost).

Are we finished yet?

shots

15 v 2

on target

7 v 1

Well played. In Stubbs we trust.

Are we finished yet?

Exactly. Are we?

Full time.

Pretty crap until Boyle came on but huge 3 points and credit to Stubbs for the sub, made the difference.

robinp
Are we finished yet?

Yes ft 2-1 hibs

Phew.

That it??

05-04-2016, 08:37 PM
YES> FT :flag:

FT pheeeeeeeeeeeew

That'll do

Stubbs must stay/go
Go

His get out of jail card has just expired.

Get in there Hibs. Well done to the boys and Stubbsy who was under real pressure there.

Sounded though like we totally deserved it.

Yes ft 2-1 hibs
Pheew forgot what a league win felt like

OtleyHibs
Well done Hibs, kept going and turned it round. Hopefully a turning point for us tonight, especially the way we turned it round late

Mr Grieves
Yaaaas! Thank **** for that

2 games undefeated :wink:

05-04-2016, 08:38 PM
Many we won in a row ?

oldbiker
Lets hope this is back on track, well done Hibs, sounds like a bit of battling spirit :flag:

sevco 8-1 for the SPL next season

MileHighBees
05-04-2016, 08:39 PM
FT 2-1
Boyle definitely changed the game
Goal of the season by a mile :not worth

BarneyHibby
05-04-2016, 08:40 PM
Massive win for us:agree::hibees

05-04-2016, 08:41 PM
Back from a meal with the wife ( I'm away on holiday for couple of day ) quick look on the phone to see us 0-1 down and felt a wee bit low, get back to the hotel to find out Stubbs makes a sub at the right time and we win 2-1, only Hibs. :greengrin

05-04-2016, 08:41 PM
Only downside is far farid injured again...let's hope it's not too serious this time

05-04-2016, 08:42 PM
Never doubted them tonight.....

edwards
05-04-2016, 08:42 PM
This was never gonna be easy Livi fighting against relegation di ye really think they were going to let us win. Well done Hibs we needed this win badly onwards and upwards.

05-04-2016, 08:43 PM
That just saved Stubbs' job IMO

05-04-2016, 08:43 PM
That could be a huge, huge win that galvanises us and demoralises Falkirk, just as they thought the chase was in their own hands.

05-04-2016, 08:47 PM
Please let this be a turning point!

05-04-2016, 08:48 PM
Stokes has done nothing out wide left, he isn't a winger, and he knows that. Looks like he can't be ****ed.

MileHighBees
05-04-2016, 08:48 PM
Not complaining, but how come I am now watching this on Hibs TV insteading of just being able to listen to it?

Was discussed a wee bit on the Team v Livingston thread before KO.
No idea what has changed that HTV were able to show the game today but I'm glad they did :greengrin
Maybe we should just enjoy it and not ask too many questions :wink:

SJM
05-04-2016, 08:49 PM

Let's hope that's the turning point then!

We always have a manager who just does enough, a manager who gets that one result to keep him in his job that little bit longer before the real disappointment happens.

Lets see is this one is any different.

Davy Mac
As ever, be prepared for the unexpected with Hibs.

There is still a few twists and turns left for this season, our form will turn again and we might just be in for a surprise contrary what our jumbo fans might say.

C'mon Hibs you know it makes sense!

05-04-2016, 08:52 PM
For a but of objective comment - what do you reckon kevinref?

edit: scrub that presumably someone "pinked" you for a laugh?

05-04-2016, 08:53 PM
3 points behind falkirk with 2 games in hand and them still to come to easter road. We're coming for you Houston.

norhfc
05-04-2016, 08:54 PM
Life of a Hibs fan summed up in that game, watched it on HibsTv, first 70 minutes where eye bleeding. Boyle comes on and his pace changes it, great goal by Stokes and goal of the season from the subby. A lot of work still to do, lacking pace and creativity all over the park....vital 3 points tonight :agree:

05-04-2016, 08:54 PM
Exactly. Are we?

I demand my money back. I have lost my right to moan.

05-04-2016, 08:55 PM
3 points behind falkirk with 2 games in hand and them still to come to easter road. We're coming for you Houston.

This positivity will not stand man ;)

05-04-2016, 08:56 PM

I know. Don't worry it'll pass :greengrin

007 Mickey Weir
05-04-2016, 08:57 PM
Fyvie to come back in and change the midfield for the good. Also Dylan in the next couple weeks

Attendance:7,289

:agree: I blame Oxley, or is it Petrie? Literally.

05-04-2016, 08:58 PM
Stokes is finished.

05-04-2016, 08:58 PM
Pace wide in this league. Who'd have thought that might work eh?!

05-04-2016, 09:00 PM
Pace wide in this league. Who'd have thought that might work eh?!

Stubbs did, that's why Boyle was put on! 👍🏼

05-04-2016, 09:00 PM
I stopped following the thread at half time. Knowing the score and going back to where I left off and reading on, has been an absolute hoot.

:faf::faf::faf:

05-04-2016, 09:01 PM
We always have a manager who just does enough, a manager who gets that one result to keep him in his job that little bit longer before the real disappointment happens.

Lets see is this one is any different.

Stubbs picked up the pieces when we were rock bottom and played a big part in turning things around.

Bad, bad run we've been on but to suggest he's another who does 'just enough' to stay in a job is just nonsense.

Any talk of replacing him while there are still things to play for this season really is garbage.

cmcd
05-04-2016, 09:03 PM
It would make you cry, but that will be about the norm next season if we stay in this league.
Crowd was 7200

05-04-2016, 09:07 PM
Great result in the end...lets be clear Livi only had one shot on target. Oxley could not be blamed for that goal...but he was dodgy at pass back and his distribution was awful. McGregor the worst game I've ever seen from him played like his head was a box of frogs. The three in Midfield didn't work for us. Thomson does not do enough in that role. We were much better when we moved to 442. With Boyle and Keating added in....this allowed Henderson to pick the ball up from the defence. Two very well taken goals and we could have had 8 or 9 tbh. Cummings and Stokes worked really hard upfront..best I've seen from Stokes.

cmcd
05-04-2016, 09:09 PM
We have been poor for weeks and what team changes do we see El Alagui and KT ! Too many players for me under Stubbs are guaranteed starts.

KT was our best player in the first half

05-04-2016, 09:10 PM
Stubbs picked up the pieces when we were rock bottom and played a big part in turning things around.

Bad, bad run we've been on but to suggest he's another who does 'just enough' to stay in a job is just nonsense.

Any talk of replacing him while there are still things to play for this season really is garbage.

This 100% :agree:

05-04-2016, 09:12 PM
Stubbs did, that's why Boyle was put on! 

tbf that goal was nothing to do with pace wingers! just a magic shot!

05-04-2016, 09:13 PM
KT was our best player in the first half

i must have missed that... he made a couple of decent passes. Every time he go the ball he was in a 50/50 and played it back again.

05-04-2016, 09:15 PM
i must have missed that... he made a couple of decent passes. Every time he go the ball he was in a 50/50 and played it back again.

thought KT did well tonight...was a strong link when we struggled at 0-1...McGinn was poorest midfielder for me, by some distance.

05-04-2016, 09:19 PM
thought KT did well tonight...was a strong link when we struggled at 0-1...McGinn was poorest midfielder for me, by some distance.

Time for Stubbs to give the lad a rest. Maybe Hibs can do without him for the Alloa game?

Having said that, Hibs had better not under estimate Alloa. They're down and have nothing to lose. That said, a club with Hibs comparative resources should beat them most times.

05-04-2016, 09:21 PM
Great result in the end...lets be clear Livi only had one shot on target. Oxley could not be blamed for that goal...but he was dodgy at pass back and his distribution was awful. McGregor the worst game I've ever seen from him played like his head was a box of frogs. The three in Midfield didn't work for us. Thomson does not do enough in that role. We were much better when we moved to 442. With Boyle and Keating added in....this allowed Henderson to pick the ball up from the defence. Two very well taken goals and we could have had 8 or 9 tbh. Cummings and Stokes worked really hard upfront..best I've seen from Stokes.

I think that's a fair summary. The shape of the team first half resulted in Mcgregor and Hanlon having possession but no options all the time. Henderson seemed to have a free role but couldn't get on the ball in the right areas

Simply moving to a flat 4-4-2 with Keatings and Boyle on their natural sides looked so much better.

David Gray was very poor again though - he needs dropped

cmcd
05-04-2016, 09:22 PM
As I said KT was our best player while on the Park .won his tackles and had only one bad pass .I don't see what more he could have done

3 much needed points. Please god let this be a turning point

I think that's a fair summary. The shape of the team first half resulted in Mcgregor and Hanlon having possession but no options all the time. Henderson seemed to have a free role but couldn't get on the ball in the right areas

Simply moving to a flat 4-4-2 with Keatings and Boyle on their natural sides looked so much better.

David Gray was very poor again though - he needs dropped

Yeh we keep saying it...but 352 with Gunnarson in there should be our default shape.

05-04-2016, 09:23 PM
I'd say I'm happy if we win ugly tonight but that goal is worthy of winning any game. Straight into the top 5 best Hibs goals I've ever seen.
You have to wonder why hibs can't play a system to allow Boyle to play from the start.

05-04-2016, 09:24 PM
was boyles goal better than gary Deegans v Aberdeen in the SC 3 years ago :eek:

Thegreenside
05-04-2016, 09:25 PM
You have to wonder why hibs can't play a system to allow Boyle to play from the start.

They can but just don't - 3-5-2 our best formation imo

05-04-2016, 09:25 PM

He was outstanding tonight when he came on, but he has largely been pretty ineffective when he has started games...mind you if he plays like that, he can start every week ! :agree:

05-04-2016, 09:27 PM

The decision to play him to the right of the midfield second half seemed strange to me. If Stubbs does ever play 4-4-2 I'd stick McGinn wide left, his best work is getting forward, not the more disciplined role he had tonight.

05-04-2016, 09:27 PM

By quite some considerable distance!

Weststandwanab
05-04-2016, 09:29 PM

By a country mile in my opinion.

The best goal from open play with a single strike I have seen in a decade at Easter Road.

05-04-2016, 09:30 PM
As I said KT was our best player while on the Park .won his tackles and had only one bad pass .I don't see what more he could have done

In that role he needed to be the out ball for our CBs.... but he comes deep...gets the ball then plays it back. You have to receive and looks for the forward pass. Henderson was much better doing that in the 2nd half.

05-04-2016, 09:32 PM

I think possibly the best strike I have ever seen live.

05-04-2016, 09:34 PM
By quite some considerable distance!

By a country mile in my opinion.

The best goal from open play with a single strike I have seen in a decade at Easter Road.

looking forward to seeing this goal :clapper:

05-04-2016, 09:35 PM

His energy and movement changed the game imo. Harder to do that from the start but defo won the game for Hibs tonight.

Was right behind the goals when that one went in so am really looking forward to seeing Boyle 's

did you see gary deegans goal :greengrin

05-04-2016, 09:37 PM
What a difference Boyle made. Good goal from Stokes, unbelievable strike from Boyle.

Only sour note was some idiot a few rows back from me in the east calling the Livi number 2 a 'Black B*******' at one point. Hopefully Hibs can identify and weed out racist morons like this.

007 Mickey Weir
05-04-2016, 09:38 PM
My team to play Alloa. I would be tempted to rest Cummings, Gray and McGinn

Ox

Gunnarson MacGregor Hanlon

Boyle Henderson Fyvie Stevenson
Stokes
Dagnall. Keatings

05-04-2016, 09:40 PM
My team to play Alloa. I would be tempted to rest Cummings, Gray and McGinn

Ox

Gunnarson MacGregor Hanlon

Boyle Henderson Fyvie Stevenson
Stokes
Dagnall. Keatings

We need to win every single league game from now. Cummings and McGinn should be in that team. I agree about Gray.

05-04-2016, 09:41 PM
His energy and movement changed the game imo. Harder to do that from the start but defo won the game for Hibs tonight.
I'm pleased for him, really feel he can bring something extra when he plays.

05-04-2016, 09:42 PM
did you see gary deegans goal :greengrin

I did. And It was better than that. Unstoppable.