View Full Version : **Match Updates** The Rangers 1 v Hibernian 0 FT

Pages : 1 2 [3]

23-08-2015, 01:24 PM
I think I detest this version of the Rangers more than the originals. That Warburton is a right fud

Look at it without emotion. We've played the whole second half without a right back, our stand in has conceded an unlucky freekick and the boy's scored an absolute worldie.

The two games at Easter Road are much bigger than the two at Ibrox this season.

Honestly, people go so negative when we get beat - for me, not much wrong with that performance - very little in it...a bit more composure we could be coming away with three points.

I think we will go on a run of victories now....decent side

Doom and gloomers are loving this...nothing between teams other than a dodgy free kick. we need Keatings and Alagui back pronto tho..

23-08-2015, 01:25 PM
Depressing that with a couple of minutes to play, we appear to have largely accepted that the games done.

Why is that I wonder?

6 points is huge so early in the season. We have to win pretty much every game and not drop points with draws to have a chance. Not saying it's all over but we face a huge struggle now!

Terrible decision for the free kick, we had plenty chances to win the game. As usual we didn't take them.

We do look improved vastly from last week, shame we can't score the goals from the chances we create.

Another slow start to the league for Hibs and same as last year by the time they get going 1st place is gone!

*tada*

I thought we held our own pretty well, everyone thought we were in or a hammering but we showed we can match them.

23-08-2015, 01:26 PM
Nothing in that game at all. They took their chance we didn't take ours.

Too many young laddies with no one to guide them, McGinn, Henderson, JC, Boyle, where is the team leader on the park, think we missed Bartley today.

Not really sure we've created as many chances as we did today for a long time, even when we pumped them 3-0 at ibrox?

A leader on the park will always be good, but he wont be able to take their chances for them.

Ladies and gentlemen, please remember that we never actually lost that game. We conceded zero legitimate goals, and hence I say well done to Hibs for keeping a clean sheet. Not so much to the forward line as the finishing was woeful.

I thought we held our own pretty well, everyone thought we were in or a hammering but we showed we can match them.

No we didn't, we got beat and dropped three points.

Well I'm off to get blootered and contemplate another year in the wilderness! Ooh to be!

thebausburst
Doom and gloomers are loving this...nothing between teams other than a dodgy free kick. we need Keatings and Alagui back pronto tho..

Not doom and gloom just realistic, I mean come on 6 behind after 3 games!

buktapurple79
We were unlucky. Cannot stand sevco

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk

Not much in the game although would say rangers were slightly better, no danger was it a free kick but should we be shocked that they get dodgy free kicks etc at ibrox. We really need to start taking our chances

23-08-2015, 01:27 PM
We'll do them at ER.

H18S NX
if we had taken our chances we would have won.How many goals from dead ball kicks have lost this season even though it was never a foul in the the first place.Gutted.

*tada*

23-08-2015, 01:28 PM
Same old same old. Not taking our bloody chances cost us today.

Kavinho
Why is that I wonder?

I know I know,
but I cant help but think that it becomes a self fulfilling prophecy.. fight fight fight til that very last kick, because you do never know - even if 999 times out of 1000 we end up beat...

Thought we played no bad today, and we've a decent team, but christ do we always make it hard for ourselves

Hibs had easily the better openings...I thought we managed them very well and really should have scored 2 or 3. How Henderson didn't score I have no idea.

We didn't though and now we are up against it, still lots to like and hopefully we can push on now.

If only this scenario was a one- off.

But it isn't.

Not really sure we've created as many chances as we did today for a long time, even when we pumped them 3-0 at ibrox?

A leader on the park will always be good, but he wont be able to take their chances for them.

We need someone out there who can motivate, control, lead By example, someone like Scotty Brown, Thomson etc, we have no one like that in the squad.

Well done Mark Oxley - pretty much showed a player where to put it again !

Please drop him Alan !

Game won by a spectacular unstoppable goal.

Hibs performed well in this game and with better finishing it could have been a win.

Warburton should creep away feeling fortunate and Stubbs will rightly feel hard done by.

Henderson deserves more time. Looked great a few times and will be brilliant if he puts his shooting boots on.

Cheshire Hibby
Result aside, some progress there today. Henderson looked he'll add to the team. He/we didn't take our chances and still not sure still about Malonga, nevertheless we looked more like a team. Not everybody will agree but my opinion anyway.

Bolt wins gold, drug cheat fails. As far as hibs are concerned they werent far away , but they are just short of a bit of quality and lack a centre forward that worrys defences, need Farid asap.

23-08-2015, 01:29 PM
Hibs played well. Nothing between the teams. Hibs had the better chances but Rangers more of the ball. We just need to have a bit more confidence. McGinn and Henderson will be big players for us this season

23-08-2015, 01:29 PM
Anyone who thinks we are winning the league is kidding themselves IMO. Can't take our chances when it matters, play offs again for us.

23-08-2015, 01:30 PM

We've done okay but there was more than nothing between the teams. If both teams had taken their chances we would have still lost.

We still haven't really got a settled formation or team and we look like we have picked up another couple of injuries too!

We will improve but I think some of those Rangers players have taken them on a level. Prepare for the play off gamble again I think!

23-08-2015, 01:30 PM
Thought we matched up to them today, they had a lot of the ball but defence held firm and tactics were solid and players worked theirsocks off. We looked very good on the counter attack at pace but were let down by final ball and finishing too often.

Enough positive signs today that we will get our steam up and push them at the top of the league for me. McGinn, Henderson and McGeough will give us a very good midfield.

Biggest worry is Gray being injured again.

23-08-2015, 01:31 PM

Please drop him Alan !

Oh sure, Tavernier just passed it into the gaping top corner off the underside of the bar. :aok:

Please drop him Alan !

Nonsense.

We need someone out there who can motivate, control, lead By example, someone like Scotty Brown, Thomson etc, we have no one like that in the squad.

I don't think there was any lack of fight in the team today. I think Gray going off let them back into the game.

I felt we showed them more respect than thy deserved. Next time a wee bit more closing down please. Surprisingly I am not too disappointed, felt we created better chances and on today's showing we will be there or thereabouts come next May.GGTTH

Kavinho
23-08-2015, 01:32 PM
6 points is huge so early in the season. We have to win pretty much every game and not drop points with draws to have a chance. Not saying it's all over but we face a huge struggle now!

Don't agree with this - yet!

We're 2 games behind. We have plenty more.

23-08-2015, 01:32 PM
Game won by a spectacular unstoppable goal.

Hibs performed well in this game and with better finishing it could have been a win.

Warburton should creep away feeling fortunate and Stubbs will rightly feel hard done by.

Henderson deserves more time. Looked great a few times and will be brilliant if he puts his shooting boots on.
Henderson was excellent. Players miss chances all the time. His all round play was top class.

high bee
23-08-2015, 01:33 PM
Copy - Paste 'if only we'd taken out chances' 'they're nothing special' 'there's still 33 games left' 'imagine writing off our chances after 3 games' blah blah blah

I'm willing to be called a doom merchant today because I'm sick of watching the same crap. I don't care how good we were or how unlucky we were because as usual we are the 'almost theres' and our main rivals are picking up points while we drop them through wasted chances.

It was same last season with the manky mob. I'm sure plenty of people will console themselves that it's early season and that we created plenty and that they didn't look great.

23-08-2015, 01:33 PM
Very unlucky today. Shocking decision for the free kick, worldie goal and so many guilt edge chances missed [emoji35] So frustrating

23-08-2015, 01:34 PM
Hibs played well. Nothing between the teams. Hibs had the better chances but Rangers more of the ball. We just need to have a bit more confidence. McGinn and Henderson will be big players for us this season

Agree totally.

Mr Grieves
23-08-2015, 01:34 PM
We have learnt nothing from last season. We're making the exact same mistakes.

We're unable to punish the opposition and we're absolutely pish at defending set pieces.

Greenblood70
23-08-2015, 01:35 PM
We were so wasteful today, lacked any composure with the excellent chances we created. 6 points behind a pretty average looking huns side already, not scoring goals and injuries ravaging our defence. We desperately needed defensive reinforcement before the season started to bed them in. Unprepared again..just not good enough.

Mango Man
23-08-2015, 01:35 PM
We absolutely deserved something from that game, dodgy decision, wonder goal then game over, we should take confidence from that game though, we had the more clinical chances.

That is the most mature performance I have seen from Cummings as well, well done son.

23-08-2015, 01:36 PM
Wasn't a free kick, but decisions will go in our favour like that...but don' think we have anyone who would score like that from the resultant free kick.

Thought we played much better than expected, but again, as the saying goes....look at the scoreboard.

While some will blame Oxley.....we still would not have won the game as we cannot put the ball in the net when it matters.

Not many teams will come away from Ibrox with anything but hard luck stories.

Promotion was the aim prior to the start of the season, and it still is.

Today's result just made it a wee bit more difficult to achieve...still plenty to play for.

23-08-2015, 01:37 PM
Seem to say it almost every week. We are to slow at penetrating in the final third. Also lost count the times where our final ball was misplaced or not picked out. We have started the season yet again slowly and with players who are unfit or injured. To not have another right back signed and up to speed is shocking management. stubbs has known all along what we required and we still dont have it. Starting the season slowly was never an option for us this time around, we had to get out the blocks early but wer are fannying about signing players who are injured or have not done a pre season meaning they take 6-8 weeks to get match fit.. Stubbs signing of oxley is a complete joke, and if we dont go up this season then stubbs should walk.. Rangers were in the same position now that we were last season and look at them . They havent spent big but they have signed decent players and moulded them into an effective and fit team.. To go 6 points behind after 3 games is a total joke in my opinion

23-08-2015, 01:37 PM
Lee Wallace. Graceless fud.

23-08-2015, 01:38 PM
Seem to say it almost every week. We are to slow at penetrating in the final third. Also lost count the times where our final ball was misplaced or not picked out. We have started the season yet again slowly and with players who are unfit or injured. To not have another right back signed and up to speed is shocking management. stubbs has known all along what we required and we still dont have it. Starting the season slowly was never an option for us this time around, we had to get out the blocks early but wer are fannying about signing players who are injured or have not done a pre season meaning they take 6-8 weeks to get match fit.. Stubbs signing of oxley is a complete joke, and if we dont go up this season then stubbs should walk.. Rangers were in the same position now that we were last season and look at them . They havent spent big but they have signed decent players and moulded them into an effective and fit team.. To go 6 points behind after 3 games is a total joke in my opinion

That pretty much sums it up.

buktapurple79
What a disrespectful fud Lee Wallace is - Hibs supporter my arse

AL-Qaholik
Not taking chances & not defending well enough. Exactly the same story as last season and why we'll end up with exactly the same outcome to this season.

Hibby 2005

This unfortunately.

Mr Grieves
Lee Wallace is a fud

23-08-2015, 01:40 PM

What did he say?

23-08-2015, 01:41 PM
Decent performance from Hibs & unlucky to leave empty handed. They will drop points they ain't all that.
If we can get cover at the back & Farid & Keatings fit we'll give them a good run.
Some of the comments re Henderson are shocking.
Anyone can miss those chances & he looked a quality player in the middle where he will be supplying our front men once they're fit.

Not taking chances & not defending well enough. Exactly the same story as last season and why we'll end up with exactly the same outcome to this season.

We will lose out on automatic promotion to a team who will strive, kick, bite and grab for points.

Our powderpuff, unenthusiastic hair styling lot can look forward to a third season down here.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

high bee
Shocking decision for their free kick, we can argue all day about the keeper but he saved us on many occasions today.

That's not why we lost though, we lost the game cause we couldn't score and we could have scored 4 today, in saying that it could have been 4-4

Decent performance from Hibs & unlucky to leave empty handed. They will drop points they ain't all that.
If we can get cover at the back & Farid & Keatings fit we'll give them a good run.
Some of the comments re Henderson are shocking.
Anyone can miss those chances & he looked a quality player in the middle where he will be supplying our front men once they're fit.

Too little too late. We are 6 behind and rangers won't drop points.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

23-08-2015, 01:42 PM
The overeactions from some on here as way OTT but not surprising tbh. Some in fact most predicted we would be slaughtered today yet only a dodgy free kick between the teams. Plenty hope for season ahead...yes its not great being 6 pts behind but come on 33 games to go and plenty twists n turns along the way

buktapurple79
What did he say?
Going on about Hibs dragging sevco down to their level - let's ram them at Easter Road

Mixu just asked if Oxley should have done better at the goal. Answer 'of course he should have' he then went on to say Oxely didnt expect a shot at goal and his body shape was all wrong. Thats good enough for me.

Disrespectful but true in my opinion

23-08-2015, 01:43 PM
The overeactions from some on here as way OTT but not surprising tbh. Some in fact most predicted we would be slaughtered today yet only a dodgy free kick between the teams. Plenty hope for season ahead...yes its not great being 6 pts behind but come on 33 games to go and plenty twists n turns along the way

I've seen this movie before. It doesn't end well.

We will lose out on automatic promotion to a team who will strive, kick, bite and grab for points.

Our powderpuff, unenthusiastic hair styling lot can look forward to a third season down here.

Yawn.

We absolutely deserved something from that game, dodgy decision, wonder goal then game over, we should take confidence from that game though, we had the more clinical chances.

That is the most mature performance I have seen from Cummings as well, well done son.

Chances aren't clinical.

Proper finishing is clinical - something we seem incapable of.

are you even a Hibs fan?? agrreeing with that fud is shocking tbh

23-08-2015, 01:44 PM

Explain how you get that?

I think we're fighting for second spot, not because of today's result, but the awful opening game defeat at Dumbarton.

The Huns are poor but will grind out results in a very limited league. We have no cutting edge or width, and are poor at defending set pieces. It looks like it could be sophomore slump for Stubbs. Unfortunately, it's easier to see medicore teams getting joy against us rather than them. I think the six point gap will probably grow between now and the end of the season.

Stubbs is good manager, but they wants to play probably isn't the best way to get a club out of that league.

GlasgowHibee
People are also failing to mention the fact that we're 6 points behind QOTS as well, and they're definitely no mugs either.

23-08-2015, 01:45 PM
I think we're fighting for second spot, not because of today's result, but the awful opening game defeat at Dumbarton.

The Huns are poor but will grind out results in a very limited league. We have no cutting edge or width, and are poor at defending set pieces. It looks like it could be sophomore slump for Stubbs. Unfortunately, it's easier to see medicore teams getting joy against us rather than them. I think the six point gap will probably grow between now and the end of the season.

Stubbs is good manager, but they wants to play probably isn't the best way to get a club out of that league.

Disturbingly, these are exactly our problems from last season.

23-08-2015, 01:45 PM
People are also failing to mention the fact that we're 6 points behind QOTS as well, and they're definitely no mugs either.

Agreed mate

23-08-2015, 01:46 PM
Mixu just asked if Oxley should have done better at the goal. Answer 'of course he should have' he then went on to say Oxely didnt expect a shot at goal and his body shape was all wrong. Thats good enough for me.

He then goes on to say it's difficult with the way it dipped and it was a wonder strike.

Today was always going to be huge. Although we played some nice stuff, Hibs just reconfirmed that we're short in too many key areas to compete with Sevco for the title. I can now see them going on to romp this league in the same way the yams did last season. Bitterly disappointing.

If we miss those chances we will lose more than we win. To get all those and take not one of them, has nothing to do with the Ref, the SFA , the Daily Record or our goalkeeper.

If you always do what you've always done you'll always get what you've always got.

You need to be ready to win games from day one of the season and not give yourselves too much work to do. We are way too complacent as a club and the reason that The Rangers and Hearts do as well as they do is because they prepare meticulously and lead from the front.

We didn't get totally outclassed but they were just a bit better than us today imo.

We will continue to struggle to take our chances in the biggest games and that will cost us dear, our defence is almost good enough (they've done very well today for 90 minutes against an impressive attacking unit and have been undone by a set-piece that never was) but will be put under pressure by the fact that we don't take enough chances or score enough goals.

We'll beat Rangers in the odd match over the course of the season but we'll fail - too often - to break other teams down and end up in the playoffs.

We'll fall just short in the playoffs as - again - we fail to offer quite enough in the final third when it matters most.

A set-piece delivery did for us again today - we'll lose many more goals like that than we score over the course of the season. Other teams have that bit of quality that we don't.

We'll continue to consider ourselves to be unlucky, but the fact is whilst we're not a million miles away we're just not quite good enough.

23-08-2015, 01:47 PM
Excuse me but would anyone elaborate on what gun toting, Sighthill lad, confused Hibee Wallace actually said?

So too are the under reactions of others. Im pig sick of watching the same things happening over and over again. The problems we had last season are the same ones we are seeing again now. We are poorly organised and look likely at hoping for the play offs at best again after 3 games. To be this unorganised and having the same deficiencies as last season is inexcusable, and only Stubbs can be blamed.

As I posted earlier, we face Raith at home next and then Falkirk away. If we don't take six points from these it is over for top spot. Play-offs are not a certainty here, either getting to them or getting through them - we already proved that.

23-08-2015, 01:48 PM
Today was always going to be huge. Although we played some nice stuff, Hibs just reconfirmed that we're short in too many key areas to compete with Sevco for the title. I can now see them going on to romp this league in the same way the yams did last season. Bitterly disappointing.

Yep!

23-08-2015, 01:49 PM
He then goes on to say it's difficult with the way it dipped and it was a wonder strike.
Yes he did but his main point oxley should have done better.

23-08-2015, 01:50 PM
If you always do what you've always done you'll always get what you've always got.

You need to be ready to win games from day one of the season and not give yourselves too much work to do. We are way too complacent as a club and the reason that The Rangers and Hearts do as well as they do is because they prepare meticulously and lead from the front.

We didn't get totally outclassed but they were just a bit better than us today imo.

We will continue to struggle to take our chances in the biggest games and that will cost us dear, our defence is almost good enough (they've done very well today for 90 minutes against an impressive attacking unit and have been undone by a set-piece that never was) but will be put under pressure by the fact that we don't take enough chances or score enough goals.

We'll beat Rangers in the odd match over the course of the season but we'll fail - too often - to break other teams down and end up in the playoffs.

We'll fall just short in the playoffs as - again - we fail to offer quite enough in the final third when it matters most.

A set-piece delivery did for us again today - we'll lose many more goals like that than we score over the course of the season. Other teams have that bit of quality that we don't.

We'll continue to consider ourselves to be unlucky, but the fact is whilst we're not a million miles away we're just not quite good enough.

This is a reasoned post, and while I think it's a bit early to suggest how we may fare in the play offs, the points you make are not, as say, unreasonable. We are the 'nearly' men who just lack that X factor.

23-08-2015, 01:51 PM
So too are the under reactions of others. Im pig sick of watching the same things happening over and over again. The problems we had last season are the same ones we are seeing again now. We are poorly organised and look likely at hoping for the play offs at best again after 3 games. To be this unorganised and having the same deficiencies as last season is inexcusable, and only Stubbs can be blamed.

Can £ also be blamed? We would all like to be Barcelona.

What grinds my gears is shide diddy teams in the SPL. And those cheating go bust and wipe your debts tramps are top of it.

Hibs need some hard honest pros who can put some steel in the team.

23-08-2015, 01:51 PM
are you even a Hibs fan?? agrreeing with that fud is shocking tbh

Are you kidding? I have had a season ticket for 25 years , so dont question my loyalties because my opinion is different from yours. He is right because 1st half we slowed the game down which in turn brought them to play at that speed and level.

23-08-2015, 01:52 PM
I am convinced that we will pretty soon blend into a very good team and will compete in every game. However, I don't think we will compete with Sevco over the whole season. I think we are more than capable of closing the big gap against the other playoff contenders and I think we will be successful in the playoffs. Not doom and gloom or a knee jerk reaction but an honest realistic opinion.

23-08-2015, 01:53 PM
Let's all take a settler still a long way to go

Keep the faith

23-08-2015, 01:54 PM
Copy - Paste 'if only we'd taken out chances' 'they're nothing special' 'there's still 33 games left' 'imagine writing off our chances after 3 games' blah blah blah

I'm willing to be called a doom merchant today because I'm sick of watching the same crap. I don't care how good we were or how unlucky we were because as usual we are the 'almost theres' and our main rivals are picking up points while we drop them through wasted chances.

It was same last season with the manky mob. I'm sure plenty of people will console themselves that it's early season and that we created plenty and that they didn't look great.

You're 100% right, but can't blame folk for trying to console themselves. The Yams and Huns are showing what's needed to win a league, and Hibs do not even look close to having what's needed. Leaders, killer instinct, team spirit and belief all appear to be in short supply at ER - despite what Stubbs and co may say. We'll see some nice footie at ER this season and there are players worth watching, but this is not a team that will win the league.

high bee
23-08-2015, 01:55 PM
Let's console ourselves that Killie are awful

Can £ also be blamed? We would all like to be Barcelona.

How much money have Rangers spent exactly? Stubbs has had a full season and subsequent pre season to sort us out, he hasnt.. Warburton has went into a club in turmoil and has them as a unit after 2 months. This is not about money but good management imo. We signed players who were injured and have not rectified last season deficiencies... Its same old same old here

bill the hibby
People failing to mention that QOS also have won three out of three, if we aren't able to match rangers we may also have a fight for 2nd place. I think as the players play together more we will get better, we need our strikers who are out, fit

23-08-2015, 01:56 PM
How much money have Rangers spent exactly? Stubbs has had a full season and subsequent pre season to sort us out, he hasnt.. Warburton has went into a club in turmoil and has them as a unit after 2 months. This is not about money but good management imo. We signed players who were injured and have not rectified last season deficiencies... Its same old same old here

We can say all we like but £ helps. Do we blame injuries?

23-08-2015, 01:58 PM
Are you kidding? I have had a season ticket for 25 years , so dont question my loyalties because my opinion is different from yours. He is right because 1st half we slowed the game down which in turn brought them to play at that speed and level.

What he said was disrespectful to our club...even Neil McCann and Mixu commented on this.

23-08-2015, 01:59 PM
As I posted earlier, we face Raith at home next and then Falkirk away. If we don't take six points from these it is over for top spot. Play-offs are not a certainty here, either getting to them or getting through them - we already proved that.

Falkirk game has been moved back to mid October. Obviously with no game that weekend we'll likely fall behind other teams albeit with a game in hand.

23-08-2015, 01:59 PM
Let's console ourselves that Killie are awful

Won't matter to us unless they are second bottom.

23-08-2015, 02:04 PM
Warburton looks perfectly cast in his role as the The Rangers manager or an inmate in the west wing.

23-08-2015, 02:06 PM
So what did Wallace actually say? Turned it off

23-08-2015, 02:07 PM
What he said was disrespectful to our club...even Neil McCann and Mixu commented on this.

And if you read my post i also agreed that he was disrespectful, but what he was saying was quite right in my opinion. Your opinion can be correct but disrespectful at the same time surely?

23-08-2015, 02:07 PM

Sevco have much more money which makes Warburton's job easier, but he's also done an amazing job to build a team that looks hungry, unified and winning matches from the off. Credit to him. Hibs look like a Championship side.

23-08-2015, 02:08 PM
This is a reasoned post, and while I think it's a bit early to suggest how we may fare in the play offs, the points you make are not, as say, unreasonable. We are the 'nearly' men who just lack that X factor.

I think that that "x-factor" is what you need to drag you over the line in the biggest games though.

Balls of steel, the ability to create something out of nothing, to have your defence see it out when you're under the cosh.

I don't think we're totally p!sh, far from it. I think we're miles better than we were in our last season in the premier league.

Maybe Keatings will provide it, maybe Farid will finally get fit enough to make a significant contribution over the course of a season? I think they're both the type to make a major impact.

But having played 5 competitive games, I'd rather be enthusing about what I'd already seen with my own eyes (see Rangers and Tavernier - the type of player who can be the difference between sides in a tight game) rather than speculating about ones that I'm yet to see.

It all seems a bit familiar to me.

Already.

23-08-2015, 02:14 PM
The same posters that only come up after a loss. The revellers. In a second one of them will blame the Ponzi scheme. We were more than decent today versus a team rated best in the league. We missed a few chances to win it. But that's football.

23-08-2015, 02:15 PM
And if you read my post i also agreed that he was disrespectful, but what he was saying was quite right in my opinion. Your opinion can be correct but disrespectful at the same time surely?

So you agree with him that we brought Rangers down to our level?? Really?

may 21/05/2016
23-08-2015, 02:18 PM
Well dad sir

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk

may 21/05/2016
23-08-2015, 02:18 PM
Said

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk

23-08-2015, 02:20 PM
The same posters that only come up after a loss. The revellers. In a second one of them will blame the Ponzi scheme. We were more than decent today versus a team rated best in the league. We missed a few chances to win it. But that's football.

I thought we were decent today, in fact i'd say we deserved something out the game. Yet i is another game where we have failed to win the 3 points that were available at the start of the game, and we've dropped further behind the team most folk think will be our main challengers.

It does look as if its more of the same from here, and as i said last week, i hope the 2nd bottom team in the league above are very poor.

23-08-2015, 02:21 PM
Still waiting to get out their away fans' car park. ****my polis

23-08-2015, 02:24 PM
Still waiting to get out their away fans' car park. ****my polis

Utter disgrace

23-08-2015, 02:24 PM
We are, in general, the same as we have been since Mowbray left. Some nice footballers playing some nice football but having no or limited penetration. We desperately need a leader(s) someone to drive us on when games are not going our way.

23-08-2015, 02:30 PM
Yawn.

I thought the same watching hibs try and score today.

Same old stuff from us. Glad you are chuffed though.

high bee
23-08-2015, 02:33 PM
Won't matter to us unless they are second bottom.

Neither it will. I think we will accumulate more points than last season but sevco look like they have a new belief and everyone pulling in the same direction so can't see them giving up many points.

23-08-2015, 02:33 PM

When are we going to stop being decent though or 'glorious in defeat' and actually take something we want aggressively.

I'm frustrated as we 'could' have won that and early signs are that if another team wants it more, we are happy to accept second place.

23-08-2015, 02:35 PM
When are we going to stop being decent though or 'glorious in defeat' and actually take something we want aggressively.

I'm frustrated as we 'could' have won that and early signs are that if another team wants it more, we are happy to accept second place.

At what point did our team accept that. We didn't. Rangers were very lucky to get 3 points today.

23-08-2015, 02:35 PM
If we miss those chances we will lose more than we win. To get all those and take not one of them, has nothing to do with the Ref, the SFA , the Daily Record or our goalkeeper.

Nothing to do with the ref?!

So the ref didn't give a free kick for a ball that hit a player on the leg?

Oh yeah, nothing to do with the ref....

23-08-2015, 02:37 PM
I thought the same watching hibs try and score today.

Same old stuff from us. Glad you are chuffed though.

How was the view in the boozer?

23-08-2015, 02:39 PM
Nothing to do with the ref?!

So the ref didn't give a free kick for a ball that hit a player on the leg?

Oh yeah, nothing to do with the ref....

I'll tell you what the ref didn't do and that was miss chance after chance after chance.

23-08-2015, 02:41 PM
At what point did our team accept that. We didn't. Rangers were very lucky to get 3 points today.

Bet they will be gutted. 3 wins from 3 while we have 1 from 3.

We play nice football but it's the same issues we had last year and we've started in the same crap fashion.

23-08-2015, 02:44 PM
How was the view in the boozer?

Don't drink pal. Just don't like giving into bully's like Rangers.

23-08-2015, 02:49 PM

In reality it doesn't matter. We lost. They got three points.

How they did it is irrelevant, they found a way of getting a goal and did it.

It's exactly the same as last year with us making excuses and another team demonstrating how it should be done. Just sub hearts for rangers.

Obviously if they slipped up id be delighted but I just can't see a change. We have some decent players but we can't seem to get the best out of them.

23-08-2015, 02:50 PM
Unless we give up being nice and get some nasty sh**s into the team I'm afraid it will continue to be the same old same old.

coldingham hibs
23-08-2015, 02:52 PM
Haven't read all this thread but I thought McGinn was excellent today.

Been viewing the 'Bears Den match update' and what a deluded bunch. This game could have been 4-0 Hibs so if they think they are walking away with the league then I suggest they think again. Once we are up to speed and they drop a few points and get a couple of injuries it will be game on.

23-08-2015, 02:53 PM
Should have taken the chances we got, Henderson twice with two sitters.

Otherwise they are an extremely average team.

They are just desperate to get it wide at all costs. Many many misplaced passes and over hit balls on their part.

We can keep up with them this season for sure.

They'll drop points. Of that there is no doubt

23-08-2015, 02:54 PM
Thought McGinn was excellent today, seems a really good buy - never afraid to drive with the ball and snappy in the tackle.

Henderson looks a very silky footballer too - at one point I thought he wasn't quick enough but he seems to have a long stride which gets him away from players - he'll be kicking himself with the two chances but overall for a young lad at Ibrox he did well too.

Training next week should include creative corners and certain players only allowed to use their 'wrong foot' :greengrin Boyle not using his left, Cummings dodgy right........looking back I cannot believe the clear cut chances we made.

This boy Insall better be our 'Ian Wright' :greengrin

23-08-2015, 02:54 PM
I thought on chances created we deserved a draw. The biggest plus was McGinn who I thought was excellent throughout.

We miss a more physical forward like Farid or Keatings to play the lone striker role.

23-08-2015, 02:55 PM
So you agree with him that we brought Rangers down to our level?? Really?

Yeah but i took it as meaning our level of play, as he was talking about how we slowed things down 1st half. Im not gonna piss my pants over wot any rangers player says, im more worried by our own deficiencies... What exactly is our level btw, seeing as thats so important.. We are playing like a mid table championship side imo

23-08-2015, 02:56 PM
Haven't read all this thread but I thought McGinn was excellent today.

Been viewing the 'Bears Den match update' and what a deluded bunch. This game could have been 4-0 Hibs so if they think they are walking away with the league then I suggest they think again. Once we are up to speed and they drop a few points and get a couple of injuries it will be game on.

I really hope you are right, but how many times am i going to read posts like this telling me everything will be alright sometime in the future, while we slip further behind whoever is above us?

23-08-2015, 02:59 PM
Don't drink pal. Just don't like giving into bully's like Rangers.

I don't like bullies but I went. A hun tried to steal my lunch money but I resisted.

23-08-2015, 03:00 PM
I thought on chances created we deserved a draw. The biggest plus was McGinn who I thought was excellent throughout.

We miss a more physical forward like Farid or Keatings to play the lone striker role.

Here are today's football results

Hibs 4 chances created Rangers 4 chances created [SCORE DRAW]

No, I don't think so.

23-08-2015, 03:02 PM
Reading through the comments of a variety of posters and its very clear the problems. Poor goalkeeper, lack of penetration with our build up play at times, no width, clear lack of pace in the side, not converting our chances, and not prepared for the start of the season.. We have not done enough to change all of these things that were clear last season. And posters who want to put the boot into fellow Hibs fans for there concern should maybe question the team rather than fellow fans who expect better

23-08-2015, 03:05 PM
As nice and tidy the midfield was we still needed someone in there to mix it up and be the bully, like Broony used to do for us and now for Celtic. That was a very young midfield and at times looked very good but Bartley would've gave us a better balance and allowed McGinn and Henderson to get forward more.

You coukd argue about the goal, not a free kick, Oxley's positioning and it being a very good strike but the facts are we once again didn't take our chances, something Stubbs has yet to sort in his tenure, our goal to shot ratio is absolutely shocking.

23-08-2015, 03:08 PM
As nice and tidy the midfield was we still needed someone in there to mix it up and be the bully, like Broony used to do for us and now for Celtic. That was a very young midfield and at times looked very good but Bartley would've gave us a better balance and allowed McGinn and Henderson to get forward more.

You coukd argue about the goal, not a free kick, Oxley's positioning and it being a very good strike but the facts are we once again didn't take our chances, something Stubbs has yet to sort in his tenure, our goal to shot ratio is absolutely shocking.

Does make you question playing Bartley at home vs morton but not at the hunnery?

hibbymick
23-08-2015, 03:11 PM

I thought both teams were poor. I thought the passing was dire, our finishing dire,,,i thought we wasted lots of balls when we got anywhere near the goals. But theres always next week to improve and kick on.

23-08-2015, 03:12 PM
Does make you question playing Bartley at home vs morton but not at the hunnery?

Does it ?? All this post match analysis is somewhat interesting , but the fact is we did pretty well , could have won if we had finished our chances ...Nothing in the display that suggests Stubbs got to set up wrong ...it was the first time they have been pushed back this season . We simply need to now go and put a 10+ game run on and get ourselves back in the hunt - long way to go

Newhaven
23-08-2015, 03:12 PM
I really hope you are right, but how many times am i going to read posts like this telling me everything will be alright sometime in the future, while we slip further behind whoever is above us?

Spot on Blackpool.

Always 'ifs buts and maybes' with hibs. Why can we not get things right NOW rather than the future?

Never mind rangers but we are already in a fight with Falkirk and qots for play off spots.

SneakersO'Toole
23-08-2015, 03:15 PM
We needed to come away with minimum a draw today and we haven't. Once again we are masters of our own downfall.

This season is already looking all so predictable as last year was. Newhaven and Blackpool Hibs posts above are spot on. Sick of hearing how the future is rosy.

23-08-2015, 03:16 PM
We haven't learned from last season IMO. We gave the Jambos a start which we couldn't cut back, the same is happening again. Why Hibs don't just have a full squad for the season at pre-season is beyond me (barring injuries), we are never ready for the start of a season. If we ever are then maybe just maybe we'll get more season tickets sold.

23-08-2015, 03:18 PM

If we are still reading posts like that in a couple of months time then we are stuffed.
No excuses any more Hibs, just start winning football matches.

23-08-2015, 03:18 PM
Does it ?? All this post match analysis is somewhat interesting , but the fact is we did pretty well , could have won if we had finished our chances ...Nothing in the display that suggests Stubbs got to set up wrong ...it was the first time they have been pushed back this season . We simply need to now go and put a 10+ game run on and get ourselves back in the hunt - long way to go

Im sorry but im far from happy at the way we have started the season. We have 1 win from 3 in the league, and a skelping from a Rangers team that were just put together. For me stubbs sets is up wrong by not having addresed the lack of width and pace. We had our chances today but i didnt think we played well, but thats irrelevant because the fact is we have lost yet again..

23-08-2015, 03:20 PM
Im sorry but im far from happy at the way we have started the season. We have 1 win from 3 in the league, and a skelping from a Rangers team that were just put together. For me stubbs sets is up wrong by not having addresed the lack of width and pace. We had our chances today but i didnt think we played well, but thats irrelevant because we have lost yet again..

No one in the club or the fans will be happy with the start....but today was a decent performance against a good team in my view...unlucky not to take anything from the game...let's see where we are after the first round of games..I'm sure we will be well in the race..

23-08-2015, 03:24 PM
Even with 20/20 hindsight we can argue all day long about personnel, tactics, formation etc.

It doesn't matter who we had in our team or how we set them up - that game would still have been decided by us not taking our chances, the referee making a shocking call for the free-kick and a world class finish from the free-kick.

23-08-2015, 03:25 PM
No one in the club or the fans will be happy with the start....but today was a decent performance against a good team in my view...unlucky not to take anything from the game...let's see where we are after the first round of games..I'm sure we will be well in the race..

I hope you are correct but i honestly can see us finishing 2nd or 3rd and a good 15 or 20 points behind yet again. That will be quite simply not good enough for me. I just dont understand how any manager can watch us all last season and not rectify what is glaringly obvious

23-08-2015, 03:27 PM
Was at the game and happy enough with effort we put in but we need to make more of our chances ,the final pass of an attack is often not passed with enough pace or accuracy But thought we deserved the draw as their free kick wasn't a free kick that they scored from
Not going to be too critical but we need to now go on a long unbeaten run ,nothing else is good enough all those midfielders and not one that will get 8 plus goals
Three league games 2. Goals that's where the problem lies althogh with Gray not surprisingly injured we do need cover at the back before the next leaugue game

It's not the start we were promised but a cup game gives us a chance to bang in some goals and try different things .Henderson I thought showed some great touches and looks like he will be valuable player for us .

23-08-2015, 03:33 PM
Spot on Blackpool.

Always 'ifs buts and maybes' with hibs. Why can we not get things right NOW rather than the future?

Never mind rangers but we are already in a fight with Falkirk and qots for play off spots.
We are 3 games in. Get a grip man.

Newhaven
23-08-2015, 03:37 PM

No worries. Everything will work out fine in the future won't it?

23-08-2015, 03:41 PM

But we have the evidence of last season to prove how important the start of the season is to not fall behind early on.. Yet here we are again. When is it acceptable to be unhappy then ??

23-08-2015, 03:42 PM
The Dumbarton result was poor. The other two haven't been.

23-08-2015, 03:43 PM
The Dumbarton result was poor. The other two haven't been.

We lost today. That's a poor result.

23-08-2015, 03:44 PM
No worries. Everything will work out fine in the future won't it?

No it won't. We're all going to die. Hey the ladies team beat Ragers 4-1 to remain joint top of the league.

23-08-2015, 03:45 PM
We lost today. That's a poor result.

But I thought a very decent performance.

Newhaven
23-08-2015, 03:47 PM
But I thought a very decent performance.

Perhaps so but decent performances get you no points.

23-08-2015, 03:50 PM
Perhaps so but decent performances get you no points.

They usually do though. Played ok thought we ran out of steam second half. Thought McGinn looked very good.

23-08-2015, 03:50 PM
Once again silly missed chances cost us. Against huns at ibrox, these chances NEED to be taken as you normally don't get many of them.

Fyvie does not turn and go, he'll get the ball but takes to long hesitating. He needs to make the turn quick and try get the attack going faster without gibing teams a few more seconds to get guys back.

Malonga - loosing patience I must admit

Carmicheal - not seen anything really impressive about him so far

Think Henderson looks to be a decent young talent. Should have taken his chances to score but definatly think we've got a good wee player on our hands.

Frustrating today but didn't think we played too badly.

23-08-2015, 03:54 PM
Depressing that with a couple of minutes to play, we appear to have largely accepted that the games done.

Yeah, 1-0 down but no urgency, didn't even hurry to take a throw-in ?. Should be going all-out until the whistle goes !

23-08-2015, 03:58 PM
Here are today's football results

Hibs 4 chances created Rangers 4 chances created [SCORE DRAW]

No, I don't think so.

Think what you want. What you deserve and what you get are often different in football. Doesn't change my opinion. On that performance we are play-off certainties. I also believe we would be a better team if Keatings and Farid ever get fit.

23-08-2015, 03:59 PM
They usually do though. Played ok thought we ran out of steam second half. Thought McGinn looked very good.

McGinn was my stand out MoM , closely
Followed by Hanlon ...Henderson is clearly a player , and will win us games. but McGinns game
Experience showed more today ...

23-08-2015, 04:12 PM

If that's the case, then it's ridiculous. Had Oxley forgotten that the same player scored against him directly from a free kick just outside the box only a few weeks ago?

23-08-2015, 04:16 PM
Reading through the comments of a variety of posters and its very clear the problems. Poor goalkeeper, lack of penetration with our build up play at times, no width, clear lack of pace in the side, not converting our chances, and not prepared for the start of the season.. We have not done enough to change all of these things that were clear last season. And posters who want to put the boot into fellow Hibs fans for there concern should maybe question the team rather than fellow fans who expect better

Not often I agree with your posts Leith Green but in this instance I do. (well apart from the keeper bit :greengrin)

23-08-2015, 04:39 PM

Not often I agree with your posts Leith Green but in this instance I do. (well apart from the keeper bit :greengrin)

Likewise mate , but at least we do here..

23-08-2015, 06:04 PM
As far as I can see we lost not because they did anything great, but because we got a lot of the basics wrong.

We got a free kick in a good position early on and let Cummings take it ..... when has he ever managed to get one less than 10 feet over the bar? The guy couldn't hit a decent free kick last season, why let him take them this season.

Our passing in possession was woeful at times and our final pass into the box likewise.

Most of our free kicks, especially in the 2nd half, were over hit giving our players in the box no chance of challenging for the ball.

Our finishing was terrible ... I know Henderson is a young lad, but he has obvious talent and I for one expect better from a professional player in that position.

Having said all that there was enough there for me at least to think we can get considerably better .... we cant afford to fall much further behind though and we simply have to start winning.

23-08-2015, 06:18 PM
My big worry is the age and experience of the whole midfield except Bartley, even McGeouch who has been around for wee bit has relatively few games at the top level, we need someone like Kevin Thomson ( I'm not saying him ) but someone like him with bags of experience to organise give the team some steel. This could also be said for the defence but a RB is now a must.

1987kev
23-08-2015, 06:36 PM
Points from today.

1: great chances created like last season didn't stick them away.

2: slow start in the second half after being on top the a whole first half.
3: need defenders asap I like gray but too injury prone.
4; never a free kick for the goal.
5: ox why are so suspect for long shots Fontaine reaction said it all for me.
6: Stubbs to slow to gettin big Dom on.

23-08-2015, 06:51 PM
Right I have had my shot at the match day thread and we lost. Just a jinx so I promise not to do it again.

GlasgowHibee
23-08-2015, 06:57 PM
To put things into perspective again, the yams lost 3 games last season, we've lost 2 out of our first three games.

23-08-2015, 09:22 PM
To put things into perspective again, the yams lost 3 games last season, we've lost 2 out of our first three games.

They could have lost another 6 and still won the league tho . Plenty games to go . It's a marathon , not a sprint .

23-08-2015, 09:53 PM
Anyone else think we should have had a pen in the first half when JC was pushed 2 handed in the back?