View Full Version : Butcher watch

Pages : 1 2 [3]

AndyM_1875
08-10-2015, 08:16 AM
I'm sorry that's not quite true. There was no Butcher out chanting that I recall but this place was a wash with it from March onwards. The infighting on here was JKBesque

I remember sitting with you at games those months and the general consensus was "he doesn't know what the hell he's doing", "the man is clueless".

08-10-2015, 09:15 AM
There had been a downward spiral for years due to the incompetence of RP, many on here warned others about it and were shouted down as RP was the man who got the club loads of money when selling the team! The fact that he is even allowed through the door at ER is a mystery to me, from his management choices and the fact that he and Doncaster were shouting for a ten team league prove that he is an incompetent erse !, aye Rod knows best eh ?.

08-10-2015, 09:30 AM
It's easy for everyone to blame Petrie when in fact if the support hadn't hounded out Fenlon we would never have appointed Butcher, got relegated and then been stuck in this division for however many years in the first place.

Just because Butcher was a disaster, let's not pretend Fenlon was any good. He was clueless as well. Apart from relegation, he was responsible for two of the worst games of my life supporting Hibs (Malmo and i think you can guess the other).

08-10-2015, 02:28 PM
Just because Butcher was a disaster, let's not pretend Fenlon was any good. He was clueless as well. Apart from relegation, he was responsible for two of the worst games of my life supporting Hibs (Malmo and i think you can guess the other).

Fenlon was Carlo Ancelotti compared to Butcher, who was Butcher.

JJP
08-10-2015, 03:40 PM

I'm well aware of those results. But I think the bigger picture was that he got us from an 11th finish in his first half season to 7th the next, then when he left we were in a better position than that despite losing Griffiths. Okay so we lost a couple of Scottish Cup finals which were gutting to say the least, but we got there 2 years in a row and before that we hadn't been in a Scottish Cup final in over a decade. His win ratio also means he doesn't deserve to be in the same category as the likes of Calderwoood and Butcher.

08-10-2015, 05:44 PM
Fenlon was Carlo Ancelotti compared to Butcher, who was Butcher.

I'm with you on this one ! :)

08-10-2015, 06:05 PM
My feeling is that if Fenlon had seen his contract out to the end of the season hibs would not have been relegated and would have made a much better appointment as his successor.

09-10-2015, 06:10 PM
Don't turn on sky sports news now he is on nearly brought up my tea

09-10-2015, 06:12 PM
If anyone wants expert analysis on the England game, Terry the Tit is on Sky Sports News.

Unbelievable.

09-10-2015, 06:13 PM
Why do they have him on? Worst example of jobs for the boys.

09-10-2015, 06:14 PM
Talking about RnB and heavy metal the man is a knob

09-10-2015, 06:15 PM
If anyone wants expert analysis on the England game, Terry the Tit is on Sky Sports News.

Unbelievable.

I changed channels as soon as he appeared. He has nothing interesting to say. They would get a cheaper and better input from Mr Bean.

hibbymark
09-10-2015, 06:16 PM
How does this guy keeping getting gigs on the tele? They'd be better getting the football genius Colin Caulderwood on .

His is own managerial record is horrendous and nobody ever mentions it. How can he pass comment on big Sam Allardyce? Total imposter

09-10-2015, 06:42 PM
How does this guy keeping getting gigs on the tele? They'd be better getting the football genius Colin Caulderwood on .

His is own managerial record is horrendous and nobody ever mentions it. How can he pass comment on big Sam Allardyce? Total imposter

Ex England Captain who cut his heid and heroically played on, got the gift of the gab and is never put on the spot or asked anything too difficult in deference to his former glories.

10-10-2015, 03:48 PM
Backed Mansfield HT-FT, bloody annoying!

11-10-2015, 06:53 PM
Why do they have him on? Worst example of jobs for the boys.

He is an ex-England (and Huns) captain. He can "talk the talk".

It's like he has become one of the ranks of no-mark talentless "celebrities" who seem to dominate our culture these days, raking in the cash as they go. Sad.

11-10-2015, 07:13 PM

It's like he has become one of the ranks of no-mark talentless "celebrities" who seem to dominate our culture these days, raking in the cash as they go. Sad.

:agree: Its how Lineker became the face of crisps.

11-10-2015, 07:42 PM
I know I'm just adding to the problem but I cannae wait for this thread to slide into oblivion, so that I can stop seeing that imposters name every time I log on :wink:

11-10-2015, 08:43 PM
I know I'm just adding to the problem but I cannae wait for this thread to slide into oblivion, so that I can stop seeing that imposters name every time I log on :wink:

Bump! :o)

11-10-2015, 11:04 PM

But can he 'talk the talk'? When he signed for us, I remember looking at a video of him addressing some group of managers or leaders or something like that, and squirming at his amateur psychology and rubbish presentation skills. Given his total demise, I feel justified in having had strong reservations about his value to us?

12-10-2015, 05:24 PM
But can he 'talk the talk'? When he signed for us, I remember looking at a video of him addressing some group of managers or leaders or something like that, and squirming at his amateur psychology and rubbish presentation skills. Given his total demise, I feel justified in having had strong reservations about his value to us?

Just to clarify he can "talk the talk", BUT as you point out in your post, the talk is a load of s****. :greengrin

12-10-2015, 06:07 PM
Some good insight from TTT on Sky Sports News again tonight.

12-12-2015, 07:05 PM
So when Butcher left Newport they were marooned at the bottom of the table.

They're now six points clear of the bottom three in League Two.

The reverse Butcher effect there for you :thumbsup:

12-12-2015, 07:58 PM
The man is poisonous...fingers crossed he gets the Huns job one day.