View Full Version : BBC bias again?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12

02-08-2023, 12:59 PM
I think you get an air pump if you can in the uk and ground is basically if you can't. Ground source works better at extremely low temps below -15. Ground source is slightly more efficient but costs more up front. I'm unsure if it makes up that money

Bear in mind what thread this is 😉

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-66359093

For every unit of energy in you get 3 units out. Sounds like a no brainer. Also backs up the carbon zero claim, I guess.

The short version is that ground source is likely to be more efficient overall, but it's more expensive/disruptive to install, because there's a load of digging to install the pipes that collect heat from the ground. You also need sufficient space – our garden isn't big enough even if we wanted a ground source heat pump (in theory you can use a smaller area and go deeper, but this will increase the cost again).

An air source heat pump is cheaper and simpler to install. Because its efficiency is dependent on the temperature of the air, it will vary more – it will be more efficient in warm weather than ground source, but less efficient in cold weather. The balance depends on the local climate, but as above ground source typically comes out ahead.

Air source is the default and should be fine for most people in the UK, provided they have space for it and good enough insulation as Stairway described above. Broadly speaking it's easy enough for houses but retrofitting flats and tenements (particularly old ones) will be challenging.

See: https://energysavingtrust.org.uk/air-source-heat-pumps-vs-ground-source-heat-pumps/

Thanks all :aok:

02-08-2023, 01:02 PM
The heat pump technology is flawed full stop as they simply won't work in most domestic situations in Scotland. Another example of the Green tail wagging the yellow dog, with that bampot Harvie to the fore.

:faf: About 66% of Norwegian homes are using heat pumps and they have much colder winters than Scotland. Why would Scotland not be capable of using this technology in the same way?

02-08-2023, 01:15 PM
https://twitter.com/dominicmhinde/status/1686661804674416640?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Will the BBC pick this story up? Or is he protected?

02-08-2023, 01:22 PM
Your first paragraph is pretty much the crux of it. Electric boilers rather than impractical heat pumps are the obvious alternative. Harvie bangs on about heat pumps being 'carbon zero' but they actually run on electricity.

Heat pumps create 3 times the energy they consume. There are already models that can be used in flats and the technology is improving all the time. Heat pumps are the obvious alternative to electric boilers.

Stairway 2 7
02-08-2023, 01:31 PM
Nothing to stop air source heat pumps being used in flats.

https://cleantechnica.com/2022/08/08/new-heat-pumps-for-old-apartments/#:~:text=This%20week%2C%20New%20York%20officials%2 0announced%20the%20state,window-sized%20electric%20heat%20pumps%20in%20city%20owne d%20apartments.

There is, price. There are projects in Scotland testing ideas. It can obviously be done but there are barriers. The house needs good insulation to keep heat in. Our tenements are like Swiss cheese. There is a project in Glasgow on an empty block to try and find techniques. The estimated for a tenement is 30k-40k per home.
https://archive.ph/nxCjE

Only a very rich very green person will spend that even with 7.5k loan.

02-08-2023, 02:12 PM
There is, price. There are projects in Scotland testing ideas. It can obviously be done but there are barriers. The house needs good insulation to keep heat in. Our tenements are like Swiss cheese. There is a project in Glasgow on an empty block to try and find techniques. The estimated for a tenement is 30k-40k per home.
https://archive.ph/nxCjE

Only a very rich very green person will spend that even with 7.5k loan.

Not all flats are Victorian tenements. There's an implication on this thread that flat dwellers will necessarily have a problem with heat pumps in the same way that they will with EV chargers. GS heat pumps may be ruled out for flat dwellers but AS heat pumps aren't.

Stairway 2 7
02-08-2023, 02:21 PM
Not all flats are Victorian tenements. There's an implication on this thread that flat dwellers will necessarily have a problem with heat pumps in the same way that they will with EV chargers. GS heat pumps may be ruled out for flat dwellers but AS heat pumps aren't.

They won't have a problem fitting them or using them. They will have a problem paying. The estimate for a flat in Scotland is 30-40k per home. It's not so much the age its the insulation and access. 65% of Edinburgh homes aren't fully insulated and Glasgow 70%, that will need sorted also before they get heat pumps to work.

I don't think charging cars at home is as big a problem if they roll out chargers everywhere. Cars should be the focus as 36% of our co2, not sure why not a 7.5k grant for them

02-08-2023, 02:26 PM
They won't have a problem fitting them or using them. They will have a problem paying. The estimate for a flat in Scotland is 30-40k per home. It's not so much the age its the insulation and access. 65% of Edinburgh homes aren't fully insulated and Glasgow 70%, that will need sorted also before they get heat pumps to work.

I don't think charging cars at home is as big a problem if they roll out chargers everywhere. Cars should be the focus as 36% of our co2, not sure why not a 7.5k grant for them

Because by 2040 all car will be electric. We are struggling to meet that target for home heating. That needs sped up.

Stairway 2 7
02-08-2023, 02:31 PM
Because by 2040 all car will be electric. We are struggling to meet that target for home heating. That needs sped up.

I agree and also this is only about the 40% or so in flats. The other 60% its a no brainer, there is no excuse bar money. Its a no brainer if you need a new system and new builds, different if your not needing one.

He's here!
02-08-2023, 04:24 PM
Electric boilers may be the solution that is used in tenements. They are more expensive to run though.
I know Labour and the BBC have been running a campaign against heat pumps for last few days but it’s an absolute proven technology that will work in the vast majority of Scottish homes. Not every single one, but most of them.
And yes, they run on electricity, the cleanest source of power we have just now and it’s getting cleaner all the time. We need to really ramp up supply which means lots and lots of wind and solar installation.

Are Scotland's heat pump plans threatening to boil over? - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-66372469)

Is outlining the pros and cons of heat pumps the same as running a campaign against them?

02-08-2023, 04:35 PM
Are Scotland's heat pump plans threatening to boil over? - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-66372469)

Is outlining the pros and cons of heat pumps the same as running a campaign against them?

No, as long as the pros are adequately outlined alongside the cons.

Stairway 2 7
02-08-2023, 04:49 PM
No, as long as the pros are adequately outlined alongside the cons.

I think it is. They are a no brainer for most especially new builds, but too expensive for 40% of homes. It shows we also have to insulate massively.

07-08-2023, 07:06 AM
https://pressgazette.co.uk/news-leaders/alex-crawford-sky-news-interview/

The excellent Alex Crawford here wondering why people don’t value journalists more. Journalists have to start valuing themselves more and start working without agenda and then people will take them seriously. If only a quarter of them were half as good as her they would be in a lot better place. Vast majority happy to just take editorial lines.

07-08-2023, 07:41 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-kent-66421389?xtor=AL-72-%5Bpartner%5D-%5Bbbc.news.twitter%5D-%5Bheadline%5D-%5Bnews%5D-%5Bbizdev%5D-%5Bisapi%5D&at_ptr_name=twitter&at_link_id=4194D16A-34EC-11EE-B386-515FAD7C7D13&at_link_type=web_link&at_campaign=Social_Flow&at_campaign_type=owned&at_bbc_team=editorial&at_link_origin=BBCPolitics&at_format=link&at_medium=social
Great example of BBC taking a government line here.

TrumpIsAPeado
07-08-2023, 07:46 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-kent-66421389?xtor=AL-72-%5Bpartner%5D-%5Bbbc.news.twitter%5D-%5Bheadline%5D-%5Bnews%5D-%5Bbizdev%5D-%5Bisapi%5D&at_ptr_name=twitter&at_link_id=4194D16A-34EC-11EE-B386-515FAD7C7D13&at_link_type=web_link&at_campaign=Social_Flow&at_campaign_type=owned&at_bbc_team=editorial&at_link_origin=BBCPolitics&at_format=link&at_medium=social
Great example of BBC taking a government line here.

Nice to see that Alistair Carmichael thinks the reforms aren't tough enough and that Labour's concern is that more migrants are getting into the UK than the figures suggest. :rolleyes:

11-08-2023, 12:06 PM
BBC News choosing not to report on legionella being found on the Bibby Stockholm and everyone having to be evacuated. Main headline on Sky News.

11-08-2023, 12:19 PM
BBC News choosing not to report on legionella being found on the Bibby Stockholm and everyone having to be evacuated. Main headline on Sky News.I think you need to give them a little time after it breaks ...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-dorset-66476538

11-08-2023, 12:28 PM
I think you need to give them a little time after it breaks ...

40 minutes behind! Ah well sorry BBC.

TrumpIsAPeado
11-08-2023, 12:31 PM
I think you need to give them a little time after it breaks ...

40 minutes behind! Ah well sorry BBC.

They needed time to get permission.

11-08-2023, 12:37 PM

Just like the Capitol Building attack.

Their football score updates are also later than everyone else but there must be other reasons for that :greengrin

archie
11-08-2023, 02:20 PM

From whom?

TrumpIsAPeado
11-08-2023, 02:30 PM
From whom?

Whoever replaced tory donor Richard Sharp.

archie
11-08-2023, 02:38 PM
Whoever replaced tory donor Richard Sharp.

So you saying that the BBC news seeks permission from Tory donors before it runs a story?

11-08-2023, 02:43 PM
So you saying that the BBC news seeks permission from Tory donors before it runs a story?Why do you take everything so literally?

archie
11-08-2023, 02:46 PM
Why do you take everything so literally?

I think it's meant literally in this case.

Stairway 2 7
11-08-2023, 03:01 PM
On bias pretty interesting poll on which sources mps believe

https://pressgazette.co.uk/media-audience-and-business-data/media_metrics/ft-and-times-are-most-trusted-news-outlets-by-mps/

Financial Times (+58)
The Times (+52)
ITV News (+50)
Channel 4 News (+21)
BBC News (+23)
The Guardian (-1)
The Independent (+11)
The I (+10)
The Telegraph (+4)
5 News (+19)
GB News (-34)
Express (-30)
The Sun (-30)
Mirror (-33)
Daily Mail (-39)

TrumpIsAPeado
11-08-2023, 03:07 PM
So you saying that the BBC news seeks permission from Tory donors before it runs a story?

I wouldn't know anymore than yourself. It is however interesting that people with such political connections are able to land these jobs.

11-08-2023, 03:57 PM
I think it's meant literally in this case.Really? :greengrin

archie
11-08-2023, 04:03 PM
Really? :greengrin

You'd be surprised. Apparently Keir Starmer is taking cash bribes from private healthcare companies.

16-08-2023, 07:54 AM
https://twitter.com/msm_monitor/status/1691693319003521487?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Hard to see a clearer example of the agenda that the BBC has.

16-08-2023, 09:21 AM
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/health/big-tobacco-funding-conservatives-nhs-hancock-raab-davis-a8916561.html

Bet that their representatives are still invited onto all the major BBC news shows and presented as "experts".

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

16-08-2023, 09:50 AM
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/health/big-tobacco-funding-conservatives-nhs-hancock-raab-davis-a8916561.html

Bet that their representatives are still invited onto all the major BBC news shows and presented as "experts".

Soon be time for the Prime Minister to make another statement proclaiming that Britain is definitely not a corrupt country.

17-08-2023, 08:21 AM
https://twitter.com/msm_monitor/status/1691937083877622015?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Thank goodness for STV.

20-08-2023, 09:06 AM
https://twitter.com/msm_monitor/status/1691937083877622015?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Thank goodness for STV.

Absolutely sums up the agenda at play.

21-08-2023, 10:02 AM
https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1693560693994188855?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Not the BBC but this is what happens when you only serve half the population.

21-08-2023, 10:31 AM
https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1693560693994188855?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Not the BBC but this is what happens when you only serve half the population.

Don't think that really tells you anything without comparison to the print sales decline of papers generally – is the DR losing more print readers than average, or is that graph just showing that folk mostly don't buy print anymore?

21-08-2023, 10:58 AM
Don't think that really tells you anything without comparison to the print sales decline of papers generally – is the DR losing more print readers than average, or is that graph just showing that folk mostly don't buy print anymore?

It’s across the board but then all of our newspapers focus on only one half of the population.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-64888510.amp

I won’t miss any of them including the BBC.

02-09-2023, 09:53 AM
https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1697905745788874962?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Apparently it’s bad we haven’t closed schools.

08-09-2023, 06:49 AM
https://x.com/bbcradioscot/status/1699806063732691322?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

BBC Scotland is getting worse every day.

08-09-2023, 07:34 AM
https://x.com/bbcradioscot/status/1699806063732691322?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

BBC Scotland is getting worse every day.

https://twitter.com/tamdeanburn/status/1700047059565305975?t=_P0GgJ1_30Prs0Y43eJy0g&s=19

Agreed

The proof of the stitch up was there to hear @BBCRadioScot Good Morning Scotland .There was plenty time to have me on too - they moved swiftly from the artists letter to @HumzaYousaf on Rosebank to 2 “other issues” - just transition & wind farms - and @FoEScot went along with it

08-09-2023, 08:24 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230908/8eb13c325bdc547d0c062a116f7268ed.jpg

08-09-2023, 04:54 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230908/8eb13c325bdc547d0c062a116f7268ed.jpg

Pathetic by McLaughlan. Just trying to show Scots in a bad light.

11-09-2023, 07:42 PM
Missed this first time round. It's now resurfaced, presumably due to her Sunday show.

https://bylinetimes.com/2022/03/30/laura-kuenssberg-bbc-political-editor-was-a-catastrophic-systemic-failure/

Laura Kuenssberg’s tenure as the BBC’s political editor, beginning in July 2015 and ending in the coming weeks, was a catastrophe.

On her watch, lies were not just permitted, they were amplified and given credibility by Britain’s state broadcaster. At least partly as a result of this, the UK Government now routinely lies with impunity. The country’s international standing has been irreparably harmed, and trust in the political system has been trashed.

11-09-2023, 08:14 PM
Missed this first time round. It's now resurfaced, presumably due to her Sunday show.

https://bylinetimes.com/2022/03/30/laura-kuenssberg-bbc-political-editor-was-a-catastrophic-systemic-failure/

Apart from all that, her obvious personal infatuation with Johnson should have had her removed from her position. She was only slightly better than Dorries in that respect, and only because she managed her hero worship without gin-slurring.

11-09-2023, 08:42 PM
Just caught a couple of minutes of "State of Chaos", seems to all about how stressful it was for Tory MPs to push Brexit through parliament. Wee shame.

14-09-2023, 12:32 PM
BBC News once again taking us all for fools

https://x.com/BBCNews/status/1702293414597784005?s=20

14-09-2023, 02:08 PM
Some many Tories "inadvertently" doing things which favour themselves financially.

If they are that careless they shouldn't be anywhere near the job.

18-09-2023, 12:56 PM
https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1703751609631563837?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

One year ago now since the BBC campaigned for the Scottish govt to match Truss.

19-09-2023, 11:43 AM
Not sure whether this is a very positive move, to be honest ...

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F6XgGhRXYAAaD3f?format=webp&name=small

Stairway 2 7
19-09-2023, 12:37 PM

GB news glad he wasn't in charge when the bbc needed to play an important role giving out covid information. Bad day for actors and presenters of minority groups I'd say

19-09-2023, 01:13 PM

Propaganda wing of The Party gearing up for a general election.

19-09-2023, 03:56 PM

He took that job up in November last year. That's nearly a year ago - 'new' might be stretching it.

More relevantly, John McAndrew left GB News after less than a month. His reason for quitting? Because GB suspended one of their presenters for taking the knee on air, in the aftermath of Sancho, Rashford and Saka missing their penalties in the Euros.

There were also heavy rumours at the time that the station had moved the goalposts in terms of what it was asking him to do, namely they wanted him to take shows into 'culture wars' territory.

Prior to that he had a long news career encompassing the BBC, Channel 4, ITN, NBC and Sky. He was involved in launching the Daily Politics on the BBC and was involved in setting up the Leaders' Debate in 2010, which was a game changer in terms of election broadcasting.

My sense is that a lot of producers move from one brand to another - in that respect they are no different from professional footballers.

But why let the facts and some inconvenient truths get in the way?

19-09-2023, 04:05 PM
But why let the facts and some inconvenient truths get in the way?
Well thanks for clarifying in your usual supercilious way.

19-09-2023, 04:07 PM
Well thanks for clarifying in your usual supercilious way.

Always happy to proofread but I will need to start charging soon 😀

19-09-2023, 07:46 PM
More relevantly, John McAndrew left GB News after less than a month.
His BBC bio says "he spent a year as Editorial Director and Director of News and Programmes at GB News" but I'm sure you know best.

https://www.bbc.com/aboutthebbc/whoweare/john-mcandrew

19-09-2023, 08:30 PM
His BBC bio says "he spent a year as Editorial Director and Director of News and Programmes at GB News" but I'm sure you know best.

https://www.bbc.com/aboutthebbc/whoweare/john-mcandrew

You went back and edited your first post and then because I didn’t respond, you went back and edited it again so you could post this :greengrin

That doesn’t change the fact that you posted stuff a year out of date as if it was new, or others were casting aspersions that seem to be based on making up minds without bothering themselves with the facts.

Anyway I took my information about him from the Press Gazette. The industry’s own paper of record. If they are wrong then maybe you can send them an email. And then recall it and edit it and send it again. And then recall that one and edit it and send it again :greengrin

And according to this thread I shouldn’t trust anything the BBC says. I think you have well over a hundred posts on here to that effect :wink:

19-09-2023, 08:33 PM

You went back and edited your first post and then because I didn’t respond, you went back and edited it again so you could post this :greengrin

Just trying to help you in case you missed my edit. Wouldn't want you to miss out on the opportunity to be disdainful. I know how much it means to you.

19-09-2023, 08:35 PM
Anyway I took my information about him from the Press Gazette. The industry’s own paper of record. If they are wrong then maybe you can send them an email. And then recall it and edit it and send it again. And then recall that one and edit it and send it again
What a bizarre thing to suggest. Are you ok?

Stairway 2 7
19-09-2023, 08:37 PM

That doesn’t change the fact that you posted stuff a year out of date as if it was new, or others were casting aspersions that seem to be based on making up minds without bothering themselves with the facts.

Anyway I took my information about him from the Press Gazette. The industry’s own paper of record. If they are wrong then maybe you can send them an email. And then recall it and edit it and send it again. And then recall that one and edit it and send it again :greengrin

And according to this thread I shouldn’t trust anything the BBC says. I think you have well over a hundred posts on here to that effect :wink:

His own LinkedIn he says he was director of news and programming for 1 year and 1 month. Seems you didn't bother yourself with the facts

https://www.linkedin.com/in/john-mcandrew-42347b22?originalSubdomain=uk

19-09-2023, 08:43 PM
His own LinkedIn he says he was director of news and programming for 1 year and 1 month. Seems you didn't bother yourself with the facts

https://www.linkedin.com/in/john-mcandrew-42347b22?originalSubdomain=uk

I didn’t jump on board the ‘rush to judgement’ train, I know that much.

19-09-2023, 08:59 PM
Guys!... :-/

Stairway 2 7
19-09-2023, 09:02 PM
I didn’t jump on board the ‘rush to judgement’ train, I know that much.

You jumped in saying he was there 3 months it was 13. He hired horrors like Dan Wotton, Neil Alexander, Alex Phillips and Nigel Farage so far that alone he's a c%#£. He helped set up an absolute vile hate filled channel

21-09-2023, 08:35 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2023/sep/20/oliver-dowden-raf-voyager-plane-flight-un-new-york

BBC spends the week questioning Scotland’s FM on his decision to fly to New York.

24-09-2023, 11:12 AM
No rush to judgement here, but has anyone seen any coverage of yesterday's London Rejoin march on the BBC?

24-09-2023, 12:56 PM
No rush to judgement here, but has anyone seen any coverage of yesterday's London Rejoin march on the BBC?

According to the Guardian there were hundreds of people at the March.

Not exactly a huge news story.

24-09-2023, 02:15 PM

Not exactly a huge news story.

The guardian

Hundreds of people dressed in blue clothes and carrying EU flags filled the pavement before the march through the city’s streets, which was expected to culminate with a rally in Parliament Square.

A direct quote from the Independent

Thousands of Remainers flooded central London with a sea of blue flags and yellow stars as they demanded the country overturn the 2016 Referendum result and rejoin the EU.

A large crowd of pro-EU protestors gathered in Parliament Square for the National Rejoin March (NRM) on Saturday. Former Belgian PM Guy Verhofstadt and Remainer Queen Gina Miller united to lead the march before addressing the large gathering.

I suppose hundreds is also a description of thousands 😂

27-09-2023, 10:00 AM
That's them telt.

https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1706969995970781661?s=20 (https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1706969995970781661?s=20)

27-09-2023, 10:33 AM
The guardian

Hundreds of people dressed in blue clothes and carrying EU flags filled the pavement before the march through the city’s streets, which was expected to culminate with a rally in Parliament Square.

A direct quote from the Independent

Thousands of Remainers flooded central London with a sea of blue flags and yellow stars as they demanded the country overturn the 2016 Referendum result and rejoin the EU.

A large crowd of pro-EU protestors gathered in Parliament Square for the National Rejoin March (NRM) on Saturday. Former Belgian PM Guy Verhofstadt and Remainer Queen Gina Miller united to lead the march before addressing the large gathering.

I suppose hundreds is also a description of thousands 😂

Yep, but looking at the picture , hundreds looked a reasonable estimate.

You wouldn’t expect the Guardian to underplay that one.

27-09-2023, 11:18 AM

Yep, but looking at the picture , hundreds looked a reasonable estimate.:greengrin

27-09-2023, 12:56 PM
Yep, but looking at the picture , hundreds looked a reasonable estimate.

You wouldn’t expect the Guardian to underplay that one.

They didn't, the headline in the observer was thousands.

27-09-2023, 01:22 PM

Who is talking about the Observer ? I quoted the Guardian not that Observer rag.

27-09-2023, 01:23 PM
Who is talking about the Observer ? I quoted the Guardian not that Observer rag.

The observer is the Sunday guardian, so relevant, IMHO. The rest of the observer article is the same as the guardians.

27-09-2023, 01:28 PM

27-09-2023, 02:23 PM

Go read my full post. I realise it must be hard being a right wing tory, but get a grip!!!

27-09-2023, 02:25 PM

People who repeat themselves have problems. 😂😂😂😂

27-09-2023, 02:30 PM
People who repeat themselves have problems. 😂😂😂😂

I think you’re the only one with a problem.

Sorry cannae do a smiley with this phone.

27-09-2023, 02:34 PM
Go read my full post. I realise it must be hard being a right wing tory, but get a grip!!!

Right wing Tory. Who the f… is a right wing Tory.

Get a grip

27-09-2023, 10:02 PM
hour long Panorama special next monday

ooohhhhhhhh

tick tock

14-10-2023, 10:18 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/media/2023/oct/14/looming-newsnight-cuts-add-to-fears-over-future-of-bbc-licence-fee?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1697275526

I enjoy Newsnight but so long as BBC Scotland keeps up its campaign, I’ll just shrug my shoulders.
If we lose the BBC then so be it.

16-10-2023, 11:02 AM
https://news.sky.com/story/former-telegraph-owners-table-blockbuster-1bn-bid-to-retake-control-12985492

Not the BBC but it shows the value of media influence. No matter how much sales drop, the influence they have is valuable for the right people.

16-10-2023, 01:53 PM
https://www.thenational.scot/news/23858234.bbc-admit-error-snp-embroiled-ongoing-court-case-claim/

Honest mistake.[emoji849]

16-10-2023, 02:06 PM
https://news.sky.com/story/former-telegraph-owners-table-blockbuster-1bn-bid-to-retake-control-12985492

Not the BBC but it shows the value of media influence. No matter how much sales drop, the influence they have is valuable for the right people.

Not the BBC but this is in the right thread, as headlines from the newspapers involved are read out on BBC's 'flagship' current affairs program on R4 as if they are the news.

16-10-2023, 02:07 PM
https://www.thenational.scot/news/23858234.bbc-admit-error-snp-embroiled-ongoing-court-case-claim/

Honest mistake.[emoji849]

Loses 5 points :greengrin

17-10-2023, 03:43 PM
Here's an edited version of BBC Politics Live today, allowing all the unionist MPs (and that toad Tominey) to have free shots at SNP Keith Brown

https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1714294121429696563?s=20

18-10-2023, 05:17 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-67149297

BBC claims re ferry contract found to be untrue.

18-10-2023, 05:37 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-67149297

BBC claims re ferry contract found to be untrue.BBC refusing to accept the findings, claiming the remit was too narrow. Doubling down.

19-10-2023, 11:58 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2023/oct/19/newspaper-very-rich-men-buy-telegraph?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other

The clamour to lose money.

19-10-2023, 12:25 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2023/oct/19/newspaper-very-rich-men-buy-telegraph?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other

The clamour to lose money.

Jimmy Reid discusses freedom including freedom of the press.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDS_LUOPBQU

Stairway 2 7
19-10-2023, 04:27 PM
Bbc probably knows how to pronounce Brechin

https://twitter.com/SkyNews/status/1714965975445987532

19-10-2023, 04:34 PM

https://twitter.com/SkyNews/status/1714965975445987532It's where the Beacons are, silly.

Stairway 2 7
19-10-2023, 04:45 PM
It's where the Beacons are, silly.

Surely too high up for flooding.

19-10-2023, 05:06 PM

https://twitter.com/SkyNews/status/1714965975445987532

Gordon Ramsay pronounced it like that when he went back to visit his ancestral home. :greengrin

19-10-2023, 05:15 PM
Surely too high up for flooding.So, they get that wrong too. Two for one.

23-10-2023, 06:10 AM
"2 people have died in Shropshire and 2 people have died in Scotland". We should be used to this by now as it's happened since time began but it still does my head in.

Last week I heard a BBC reporter comparing the by-election in Tamworth with the recent by-election in Scotland which is even worse.

24-10-2023, 04:24 PM
Good news SNP/Scottish Govt story gets rewritten into SNP/Scottish Govt bad news story by BBC:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F9N55XZWMAAtZ8n?format=jpg&name=medium

25-10-2023, 12:11 PM
https://x.com/alanrmacleod/status/1716917139008094379?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Stairway 2 7
25-10-2023, 12:18 PM
https://x.com/alanrmacleod/status/1716917139008094379?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Spoke about it on the other thread but I agree with the bbc. She was taken by gunpoint chucked over a motorbike that she said was painful and gave her bruises, she said she was beaten with sticks, she says it was very very difficult and unpleasant, I went through hell. Her husband is also held captive by the people who she is talking about. She's 85!

25-10-2023, 12:45 PM
Spoke about it on the other thread but I agree with the bbc. She was taken by gunpoint chucked over a motorbike that she said was painful and gave her bruises, she said she was beaten with sticks, she says it was very very difficult and unpleasant, I went through hell. Her husband is also held captive by the people who she is talking about. She's 85!

That’s as spurious a bias claim as you can get. The BBC have done a pretty good job overall reporting on this conflict.

26-10-2023, 07:43 AM
https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1717445994919481847?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

26-10-2023, 07:53 AM
https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1717445994919481847?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

No surprise it wasn't broadcasted but MSM Monitor wrongly quoted him as saying "I've got no time for them" when he actually said "I've got no time for it".

08-11-2023, 03:07 PM
Not the BBC but the EEN.

https://twitter.com/PWMartin_Leith/status/1722241936852128149?t=OM_E7-IzfbY3qrVS1pc0_A&s=19

I suppose some readers do button up the back but jeez, man. Scraping the barrel.

08-11-2023, 04:18 PM
Not the BBC but the EEN.

https://twitter.com/PWMartin_Leith/status/1722241936852128149?t=OM_E7-IzfbY3qrVS1pc0_A&s=19

I suppose some readers do button up the back but jeez, man. Scraping the barrel.

Haven't seen it. What was the issue?

08-11-2023, 04:38 PM
Haven't seen it. What was the issue?Discussed here, with screenshots: https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?301449-Pet-Peeves-IV&p=7504853&viewfull=1#post7504853

08-11-2023, 04:51 PM
Discussed here, with screenshots: https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?301449-Pet-Peeves-IV&p=7504853&viewfull=1#post7504853Didn't see that discussion, Ta g.

08-11-2023, 04:58 PM
Didn't see that discussion, Ta g.
No problem. I wasn't sure where to post it, but there had been comments about the riots in that thread so its seemed appropriate to put it there.

08-11-2023, 05:28 PM
"Riots". Don't fall for that one. There was no riot. Guy Fawkes night in Niddrie has been polis goading exercise for decades.

https://youtu.be/g-K0bRlJEsE?si=-TJifMeeF1dUyTTL

08-11-2023, 05:29 PM
"Riots". Don't fall for that one. There was no riot. Guy Fawkes night in Niddrie has been polis goading exercise for decades.
Mea culpa.

09-11-2023, 12:47 PM
Discussed here, with screenshots: https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?301449-Pet-Peeves-IV&p=7504853&viewfull=1#post7504853

Wow that is atrocious deception

24-11-2023, 01:54 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231124/67b5c7bf63508a115d87329fa4b506ae.jpg

24-11-2023, 04:09 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231124/67b5c7bf63508a115d87329fa4b506ae.jpg

29-11-2023, 04:49 PM
https://x.com/katierazz/status/1729871038912315833?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Newsnight turning into question time. Newsnight one of the few BBC news programmes I watch although it’s has been declining. This will finish it.

29-11-2023, 05:43 PM
https://x.com/katierazz/status/1729871038912315833?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Newsnight turning into question time. Newsnight one of the few BBC news programmes I watch although it’s has been declining. This will finish it.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIt's already brutal, they've added nothing to the national debate for years other than "both sidesing" important issues rendering that discussion useless. Hopefully K Wark is given her jotters although she does play the editorial line a bit too well, so maybe not.

29-11-2023, 05:50 PM
It's already brutal, they've added nothing to the national debate for years other than "both sidesing" important issues rendering that discussion useless. Hopefully K Wark is given her jotters although she does play the editorial line a bit too well, so maybe not.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk"Both sidesing" ... Good description, it feels when they started going that direction their quality of output plummeted.

Eg a flat earther gets equivalence with a scientist who says the world is a globe etc, with no evidence shared to say either way.

29-11-2023, 05:55 PM

Certainly been declining. Now Tory placemen wrecking as much as they can while they can so that it doesn't revive.

Stairway 2 7
05-12-2023, 02:36 PM
In second thoughts defund it jeezo

@Nick_Metcalfe
BBC One on Christmas Day:

3.00pm: The King
3.10pm: Toy Story 4
4.40pm: Strictly Come Dancing
5.55pm: Doctor Who
6.50pm: Michael McIntyre's Christmas Wheel
7.45pm: Ghosts
8.15pm: Call the Midwife
9.45pm: EastEnders
10.45pm: Mrs Brown‘s Boys

05-12-2023, 02:47 PM

@Nick_Metcalfe

It's not compulsory :greengrin

Stairway 2 7
05-12-2023, 03:01 PM
It's not compulsory :greengrin
Licence fee is. Although I like lots of bbc radio and documentaries.

Thank christ its not compulsory watching as human rights watchdog would have a field day with bbc putting on Michael Mcintyre and Mrs browns boys on the same day.

05-12-2023, 03:08 PM
Licence fee is. Although I like lots of bbc radio and documentaries.

Thank christ its not compulsory watching as human rights watchdog would have a field day with bbc putting on Michael Mcintyre and Mrs browns boys on the same day.

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

05-12-2023, 03:23 PM

@Nick_Metcalfe

BBC has been playing trailers saying that the licence fee pays for 400 Live Channels!!!???

A wee search comes up with this

https://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/check-if-you-need-one

MKHIBEE
05-12-2023, 05:37 PM

@Nick_Metcalfe

A good excuse to stay on later at work. I certainly won’t be rushing to finish early

14-12-2023, 08:20 AM
Just coincidence, surely.

https://twitter.com/MrJohnNicolson/status/1735090711274430954

16-12-2023, 05:15 PM
Why on earth would the BBC fly out Kuenssberg, of all people, to interview alleged criminal Mone? What a waste of money. Maybe find out how hard it is for her ladyship to get good hairdressing appointments in exile, something like that.

16-12-2023, 06:18 PM
Why on earth would the BBC fly out Kuenssberg, of all people, to interview alleged criminal Mone? What a waste of money. Maybe find out how hard it is for her ladyship to get good hairdressing appointments in exile, something like that.

Mone is in the UK all the time. She has zero chance of being arrested.

17-12-2023, 11:39 PM

The Beeb did a good job. Again.

18-12-2023, 06:56 AM

Yep.

I suppose it depends what you wanted from the interview but I just don't think a Paxman style shouting match was ever going to be effective against a pair of narcissists like Mone and her husband who are in complete denial.

LK coaxed a very public admission of guilt from the pair even if they didn't frame it that way. She did a particular number on the husband who was unable to resist boasting about the profits made and the 'reasonable return' as he relaxed. It was as if he forgot he was supposed to be playing the whole thing down. I'd argue that was pretty impressive skills on the part of the interviewer.

If it was supposed to be a face saving PR exercise then it's up there with Prince Andrew in being a total disaster.

18-12-2023, 07:11 AM

@Nick_Metcalfe

I feel a bit like the BBCs spin doctor this morning but I have seen absolute fury about this online and don't really get why:

3pm - Of no interest to me but it attracted nearly 11M viewers last year so it's clearly of interest to many.
3.10pm - BBC always show a hit kids film on Christmas Day, Toy Story is one of the biggest franchises out there albeit probably less demand for it with the rise of Disney+ etc.
4.40pm - One of the BBCs most popular shows worldwide. Regularly the most watched show on a Saturday night and always in the annual top 10 for iplayer views. A no brainer.
5.55pm - As above. Usually the number 1 most watched show on iplayer.
6.50pm - I'll give people this one. Not for me and drop in viewing figures reflect that, however it did impressive numbers last Christmas.
7.45pm - A really good show. Critically acclaimed and will do good figures as this is it's finale.
8.15pm - Never watched it so no idea but it was the 4th most watched show last Christmas.
9.45pm - Regularly one of the most watched shows on Christmas Day, will be the same again.
10.45pm - :rolleyes:

The BBC is catering for it's audience. The people who hate the BBC won't watch whatever they put on so they are always going to go with their biggest hitters as they will draw their core viewers in.

18-12-2023, 08:24 AM

Yep.

I suppose it depends what you wanted from the interview but I just don't think a Paxman style shouting match was ever going to be effective against a pair of narcissists like Mone and her husband who are in complete denial.

If the BBC's intention from the outset was to nail the Mones, then they played it well. I'm sceptical, in the same way that I'd be sceptical if anyone said that the BBC's intention all along was to nail Prince Andrew. All these people nailed themselves by their halfwittedness.

18-12-2023, 08:49 AM
I feel a bit like the BBCs spin doctor this morning but I have seen absolute fury about this online and don't really get why:

3pm - Of no interest to me but it attracted nearly 11M viewers last year so it's clearly of interest to many.
3.10pm - BBC always show a hit kids film on Christmas Day, Toy Story is one of the biggest franchises out there albeit probably less demand for it with the rise of Disney+ etc.
4.40pm - One of the BBCs most popular shows worldwide. Regularly the most watched show on a Saturday night and always in the annual top 10 for iplayer views. A no brainer.
5.55pm - As above. Usually the number 1 most watched show on iplayer.
6.50pm - I'll give people this one. Not for me and drop in viewing figures reflect that, however it did impressive numbers last Christmas.
7.45pm - A really good show. Critically acclaimed and will do good figures as this is it's finale.
8.15pm - Never watched it so no idea but it was the 4th most watched show last Christmas.
9.45pm - Regularly one of the most watched shows on Christmas Day, will be the same again.
10.45pm - :rolleyes:

The BBC is catering for it's audience. The people who hate the BBC won't watch whatever they put on so they are always going to go with their biggest hitters as they will draw their core viewers in.

Replace Eastenders and Mrs Brown’s boys with a John Wayne movie and it’s the same Xmas day viewing formula they’ve followed since I was a kid. Which wasn’t yesterday. :greengrin

18-12-2023, 11:59 AM

Replace Eastenders and Mrs Brown’s boys with a John Wayne movie and it’s the same Xmas day viewing formula they’ve followed since I was a kid. Which wasn’t yesterday. :greengrin

Should just show repeats of Morecambe and Wise :greengrin

18-12-2023, 12:11 PM

Would do me. :greengrin

Pete70
18-12-2023, 04:24 PM

Your wish has been granted, BBC2 at 6pm.

19-12-2023, 12:53 PM
Your wish has been granted, BBC2 at 6pm.

:thumbsup: That's Christmas sorted :greengrin

20-12-2023, 02:37 PM
how wonderfully progressive and Democratic :agree: Polish state TVP Info channel off air as Tusk reforms kick in - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-67772070)

Polish state TV channel TVP Info has been taken off air after Prime Minister Donald Tusk's new government moved to depoliticise public media.

Parliament in Warsaw backed a resolution on Tuesday night calling for independence, objectivity and pluralism in public TV and radio.

The new culture minister has dismissed the heads of TVP and Polish Radio.

i mean, it's just not right having a Government loading a TV station with it's own party members, is it

20-12-2023, 02:47 PM
how wonderfully progressive and Democratic :agree: Polish state TVP Info channel off air as Tusk reforms kick in - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-67772070)

Polish state TV channel TVP Info has been taken off air after Prime Minister Donald Tusk's new government moved to depoliticise public media.

Parliament in Warsaw backed a resolution on Tuesday night calling for independence, objectivity and pluralism in public TV and radio.

The new culture minister has dismissed the heads of TVP and Polish Radio.

i mean, it's just not right having a Government loading a TV station with it's own party members, is it

Well done Tusk.

20-12-2023, 02:55 PM
Well done Tusk.

A reminder of ye good olde days when sane people had some say in running the UK.

21-12-2023, 05:49 PM
https://twitter.com/WritesBright/status/1737884369727963564?t=ZvOu5GSZunGUtGrtEaLkjA&s=19

Always welcome on "Auntie Beeb".

A well oiled machine this propaganda tool. Funding seems to be no problem at all. Starmer and Labour still have a fight on their hands given the lengths they'll go to, and the open arms with which the msm welcomes their reps. Even if Labour win the undermining and subterfuge will begin from day one.

22-12-2023, 11:47 AM
A wee bit more.

Reps from the far-right IEA appeared on UK media 14 times a day.

https://twitter.com/PeterKGeoghegan/status/1737859632327176366?t=WwTDCMMgBueVDAbGVUlX1g&s=19

The Atlas Network, which was part founded by the IEA, is the main advisor to the new Argentinian regime.

https://twitter.com/GeorgeMonbiot/status/1738107586656841850?t=LkcFgItXGzrq5vJy7AWr8Q&s=19

22-12-2023, 12:11 PM
After FMQ yesterday, the BBC went outside for a political analysis from "neutral" journalists from the Times and Spectator. :greengrin

Andy Bee
22-12-2023, 02:05 PM
Apologies if posted before but here's a documentary themed around the 2014 referendum and the BBC bias involved. It's a long watch at over an hour but interesting none the less.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXQYuLUAbyw&t=31s

22-12-2023, 04:44 PM
Apologies if posted before but here's a documentary themed around the 2014 referendum and the BBC bias involved. It's a long watch at over an hour but interesting none the less.

The media bias at that time was incredible.

Constant ridiculous reports included the likelihood of a Russian invasion of Scotland.... presumably as he's done in similar sized Western European countries like Norway, Sweden, Denmark, etc.

23-12-2023, 04:56 PM
The media bias at that time was incredible.

Constant ridiculous reports included the likelihood of a Russian invasion of Scotland.... presumably as he's done in similar sized Western European countries like Norway, Sweden, Denmark, etc.

No no they are always fair and impartial. 2014 they were utterly ridiculous. Suppose the clue is in the name.

23-12-2023, 06:03 PM

Interesting is just another way of saying they put a spin on things that I agree with isn’t it? :greengrin

23-12-2023, 08:24 PM
Interesting is just another way of saying they put a spin on things that I agree with isn’t it? :greengrin

But it is true. Any fair commentator would recognise the agenda at play

Andy Bee
23-12-2023, 10:48 PM

I couldn't possibly comment, as always I'll remain completely impartial. :greengrin

24-12-2023, 07:27 AM
I couldn't possibly comment, as always I'll remain completely impartial. :greengrin

12-01-2024, 12:08 PM
https://x.com/kirkkorner/status/1745543711637766394?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Nice organisation.

12-01-2024, 01:52 PM
https://x.com/alanferrier/status/1745819200151560620?s=20

Yesterday, South Africa presented devastating evidence to the International Court of Justice that Israel is committing genocide - from intent to conduct.

Radio silence from @BBCNews.

Today, the BBC is broadcasting Israel's defence against accusations of genocide.

Stairway 2 7
12-01-2024, 01:58 PM
https://x.com/alanferrier/status/1745819200151560620?s=20

Yesterday, South Africa presented devastating evidence to the International Court of Justice that Israel is committing genocide - from intent to conduct.

Radio silence from @BBCNews.

Today, the BBC is broadcasting Israel's defence against accusations of genocide.

www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-67942983.amp

12-01-2024, 02:04 PM
www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-67942983.amp (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-67942983.amp)It's not on the telly, is it? The Israeli response was.

Stairway 2 7
12-01-2024, 02:09 PM
It's not on the telly, is it? The Israeli response was.

It was
https://youtu.be/lSj3E_ufWW0?si=EVPww0Nk-BmZKcb8

12-01-2024, 02:15 PM
It was
https://youtu.be/lSj3E_ufWW0?si=EVPww0Nk-BmZKcb8I don't get BBC Africa on my council TV.

If you're trying to imply that the BBC has given the same level of exposure to the South African speech as it has given to the Israeli response, please show evidence. Otherwise you're just being annoying by dredging up random BBC clips from distant and remote parts of the BBC network. You know full well that the post I quoted was referring to mainstream coverage here in the UK. And I believe that point is undeniable.

Stairway 2 7
12-01-2024, 02:55 PM
I don't get BBC Africa on my council TV.

If you're trying to imply that the BBC has given the same level of exposure to the South African speech as it has given to the Israeli response, please show evidence. Otherwise you're just being annoying by dredging up random BBC clips from distant and remote parts of the BBC network. You know full well that the post I quoted was referring to mainstream coverage here in the UK. And I believe that point is undeniable.

You didn't say anything you just put up a post from a random saying radio silence but both have been reported, asking for proof of equal airtime is mad unless you've got the data to say Israel has had more time. The link was lazy as Google had about 5 videos of BBC news reporting on the South African viewpoint, only 1 of Israels rebuttal. Its just paranoia if anything BBC have been very even on the subject

15-01-2024, 02:26 PM
https://x.com/scotnational/status/1746909352282480646?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

BBC Scotland continues to nose dive. Almost like only serving half the population isn’t the best idea.

Stairway 2 7
15-01-2024, 03:25 PM
https://x.com/scotnational/status/1746909352282480646?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

BBC Scotland continues to nose dive. Almost like only serving half the population isn’t the best idea.

All newspaper and TV media is going the same way, I don't know anyone my age that regularly watches live TV, will be less for the youngsters.

The national newspaper is down to 6k sales and the record is down to 55k down 20% in a year. It doesn't seem sustainable much longer

As bad as old media is, more worrying is soon the majority of people will get there news from randoms on social media.

15-01-2024, 03:27 PM
All newspaper and TV media is going the same way, I don't know anyone my age that regularly watches live TV, will be less for the youngsters.

The national newspaper is down to 6k sales and the record is down to 55k down 20% in a year. It doesn't seem sustainable much longer

As bad as old media is, more worrying is soon the majority of people will get there news from randoms on social media.

The article also states that STV has been getting a lot more viewers than the BBC.

Stairway 2 7
15-01-2024, 03:45 PM
The article also states that STV has been getting a lot more viewers than the BBC.

Stv news 33% compared viewing share to 25% for bbc Scotland pretty even and steady over 5 years it says. I'd bet the mean average age is plus 60. Actually it's a good demographic for votes actually, but it's dying year on year

15-01-2024, 04:02 PM
You didn't say anything you just put up a post from a random saying radio silence but both have been reported, asking for proof of equal airtime is mad unless you've got the data to say Israel has had more time. The link was lazy as Google had about 5 videos of BBC news reporting on the South African viewpoint, only 1 of Israels rebuttal. Its just paranoia if anything BBC have been very even on the subject

They've reported on this very well. Excellent journalism. I mainly flip between Sky, Al Jazeera and the BBC and I'd say the latter is getting the balance spot on.

15-01-2024, 04:03 PM
Stv news 33% compared viewing share to 25% for bbc Scotland pretty even and steady over 5 years it says. I'd bet the mean average age is plus 60. Actually it's a good demographic for votes actually, but it's dying year on year

Yeah, but other people become 60 plus every year .

Stairway 2 7
15-01-2024, 04:11 PM
Yeah, but other people become 60 plus every year .

Yeah but no one is going to go from getting there entertainment at 40 exclusively from streaming and social media at 40, then turn to live TV and newspapers 20 years later. Its dying out and pretty quickly

15-01-2024, 05:09 PM
Yeah but no one is going to go from getting there entertainment at 40 exclusively from streaming and social media at 40, then turn to live TV and newspapers 20 years later. Its dying out and pretty quickly

I thought you were talking about the demographic for votes .

15-01-2024, 07:53 PM
They've reported on this very well. Excellent journalism.Got any evidence for this? Or do I just have to believe you?

Stairway 2 7
15-01-2024, 08:01 PM
Got any evidence for this? Or do I just have to believe you?

What evidence is he meant to have on his opinion, a graph? You don't have to believe him but in the wrong place if not wanting to see randoms opinions

15-01-2024, 08:12 PM
What evidence is he meant to have on his opinion, a graph? You don't have to believe him but in the wrong place if not wanting to see randoms opinions
I'm sorry, are you his spokesman? Should I run all my questions for him past you first?

I've already said that I saw no BBC coverage of the South Africa case put before the ICJ. However M59 says he thinks their coverage has been "excellent". I'm simply asking what makes him come to that conclusion. I hope you don't mind me asking.

Stairway 2 7
15-01-2024, 08:22 PM
I'm sorry, are you his spokesman? Should I run all my questions for him past you first?

I've already said that I saw no BBC coverage of the South Africa case put before the ICJ. However M59 says he thinks their coverage has been "excellent". I'm simply asking what makes him come to that conclusion. I hope you don't mind me asking.

You said the same passive aggressive shtick to me where's the proof, where's your proof they haven't been balanced. They have reported on both sides of the trial and both sides of the war. Anyone that disagrees you say show me the proof but your proof is you didn't see it.

Chill out its a message board with different opinions. I've seen people from both sides say the bbc is biased to the other usually a good sign. Remember the main 9 o'clock news b headline on bbc was Israel targeted a hospital when most now agree it was an accident by Hamas. Israel tv said bbc was biased for Hamas.
https://www.timesofisrael.com/israeli-satirical-show-ridicules-alleged-bbc-bias/amp/

I don't believe they are biased I feel they have been very fair but people on each side see what they want

15-02-2024, 01:48 PM
Here's the BBC down-playing the news that the UK is in recession:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GGYLUTqWYAAdNV7?format=jpg&name=medium

15-02-2024, 02:09 PM
It's only technically a recession and a mild one at that. Good job, Rishi.

The broad shoulders of Great Britain (Strong Nation.)

15-02-2024, 02:21 PM
This thread should really be entitled MSM bias. It's relentless.

MKHIBEE
15-02-2024, 04:52 PM

And Rishi is only technically a twat

15-02-2024, 05:09 PM

I listened to an economist on Sky the other day explaining why we were technically heading in to a recession My knowledge of economic theory is basic at best so basically it was geek speak to me.:greengrin He mentioned Germany as possibly being in a shallow recession as well which sounded similar. He wasn’t downplaying the seriousness of the situation though I would have described his explanation as non-alarmist rather than biased.

Back to the Beeb though and those BBC journalists are going to find themselves looking pretty stupid though when they are unable to suppress the stories about traders throwing themselves from skyscrapers whilst the rest of us cause a run in the banks by demanding our tuppence back and they find themselves wandering across the dustbowls of Sussex picking peaches. :greengrin

15-02-2024, 05:13 PM
Back to the Beeb though and those BBC journalists are going to find themselves looking pretty stupid though when they are unable to suppress the stories about traders throwing themselves from skyscrapers whilst the rest of us cause a run in the banks by demanding our tuppence back and they find themselves wandering across the dustbowls of Sussex picking peaches. :greengrin
You find the fact that we're in a recession and suffering a cost of living crisis amusing?

Stairway 2 7
15-02-2024, 05:22 PM
I listened to an economist on Sky the other day explaining why we were technically heading in to a recession My knowledge of economic theory is basic at best so basically it was geek speak to me.:greengrin He mentioned Germany as possibly being in a shallow recession as well which sounded similar. He wasn’t downplaying the seriousness of the situation though I would have described his explanation as non-alarmist rather than biased.

It'll be a shallow recession, that will probably get revised as not being one. There will also be growth the next 3 years. All of that is noise though. The recession may be small but so is the growth forecast, were basically flat with tiny growth in the years ahead.

I don't think Labour has any serious plans to solve this either, the rest of Europe is similar. Poor growth and population shrinking, well only manage population growth due to immigration.

The bank of England should lower rates, we need to encourage immigration (which both parties wont) and we desperately need planning deregulation, housing and infrastructure projects are victorian and world beatingly pish.

Rishi will do well to repackage this stagnation its another nail in their slim chances

15-02-2024, 07:06 PM
It'll be a shallow recession, that will probably get revised as not being one. There will also be growth the next 3 years. All of that is noise though. The recession may be small but so is the growth forecast, were basically flat with tiny growth in the years ahead.

I don't think Labour has any serious plans to solve this either, the rest of Europe is similar. Poor growth and population shrinking, well only manage population growth due to immigration.

The bank of England should lower rates, we need to encourage immigration (which both parties wont) and we desperately need planning deregulation, housing and infrastructure projects are victorian and world beatingly pish.

Rishi will do well to repackage this stagnation its another nail in their slim chances

:agree: None of the major opposition parties are proposing doing anything radically different. It’s thoroughly depressing.

19-02-2024, 08:35 AM
https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1759492876201767260?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

This guy won’t be getting invited back on BBC Scotland.

19-02-2024, 12:27 PM
https://x.com/msm_monitor/status/1759492876201767260?s=46&t=3pb_w_qndxJXScFNwz8V4A

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk"Interesting"

19-02-2024, 02:47 PM
"Interesting"

Interesting :greengrin now moving onto Sport and marvel at how wonderful Rangers really are

19-02-2024, 04:18 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkLaura Maxwell will be absolutely seething that someone managed to paint Scotland in a positive light on her watch.

19-02-2024, 04:25 PM

Interesting, FFS is that it, as you say he is on the black list now.

She just obviously never expected that answer. :greengrin

19-02-2024, 04:47 PM

Do the Scottish government have any say on immigration?

19-02-2024, 05:35 PM
Do the Scottish government have any say on immigration?

No but we can refuse permission for any large scale detention facility or barge etc.
And local councils have responsibility for housing people so the UK govt are taking liberties letting so many in while refusing to build houses for them.
We need immigration but we also need homes.
If we don’t build the homes then the price will be a right wing fascist govt at some point.

Stairway 2 7
19-02-2024, 05:49 PM
No but we can refuse permission for any large scale detention facility or barge etc.
And local councils have responsibility for housing people so the UK govt are taking liberties letting so many in while refusing to build houses for them.
If we don’t build the homes then the price will be a right wing fascist govt at some point.

I don't think it will. Tories are killing themselves in the future due to the ridiculously low housebuilding in the UK. The current under 40s are the first generation ever to generally not move right according to polling. They have no homes and nothing to conserve to vote Conservative.

Labour have had mumblings of planning reform without any evidence SNP pretty quiet too. If they don't build a sort the crisis of plummeting house owning young people then the youth will realise that labour/SNP aren't interested either. I think Labour will have one chance at it in the next 5 years and I'm dubious they will take it

MKHIBEE
20-02-2024, 05:18 PM

How will we tell the difference?

20-02-2024, 05:53 PM
I see that the BBC have had to drop the ‘The Nine’ news programme. Plummeting audiences over the last 5 years for BBC Scotland news content is starting to have an effect.
STV miles in front of them now. The anti-SNP bias is killing a once trusted news outlet.

25-02-2024, 07:13 AM
BBC News website reporting the Lee Anderson Islamophobia scandal and Sunak's refusal to condemn it as "PM warns of hatred in politics" https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-68395642

Stark comparison to Labour "anti-Semitism" in Rochdale which was lurid headline news.

25-02-2024, 09:34 AM
Laura Maxwell will be absolutely seething that someone managed to paint Scotland in a positive light on her watch.

Probably no performance bonus this year

29-02-2024, 09:58 PM
David Lammy on Question Time talk about Lee Anderson.."...People in Public Office spreading conspiracy...."

Fiona Bruce: "Are you including the Corbyn Government here?"

04-03-2024, 01:22 AM
i can't believe this until the BBC reports it...

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/429814532_737608781809682_1804659277053852442_n.jp g?_nc_cat=101&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=dd5e9f&_nc_ohc=o5Z3QzRHT2EAX_Bqcf6&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfBhRELxmIjYpgGiyJMCgFsdRFJc2oLVY6L_njhHvxJT Zg&oe=65E93580

04-03-2024, 04:36 AM

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/429814532_737608781809682_1804659277053852442_n.jp g?_nc_cat=101&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=dd5e9f&_nc_ohc=o5Z3QzRHT2EAX_Bqcf6&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfBhRELxmIjYpgGiyJMCgFsdRFJc2oLVY6L_njhHvxJT Zg&oe=65E93580

Before devolution, the NHS was miles ahead in England than it was in Scotland. I can't speak for the other regions but I remember that it was normal for Scots to have to travel to England for treatment because we didn't have the infrastructure up here. People need to remember that when comparing the 2 systems, we didn't start from the same place. Same goes for public transport. Devolution has been good for Scotland, imagine what we could do with control of all the purse strings?

04-03-2024, 06:51 AM
Before devolution, the NHS was miles ahead in England than it was in Scotland. I can't speak for the other regions but I remember that it was normal for Scots to have to travel to England for treatment because we didn't have the infrastructure up here. People need to remember that when comparing the 2 systems, we didn't start from the same place. Same goes for public transport. Devolution has been good for Scotland, imagine what we could do with control of all the purse strings?

And it’s the same for London and now Manchester. Local control usually results in better decision making.
Unfortunately I can’t see any more powers being devolved anytime soon.

04-03-2024, 08:13 PM

You will be waiting a while :greengrin

18-03-2024, 08:47 AM
Phone in on radio Scotland this morning

On Saturday Humza Yousaf called on SNP members to "make history" by making Scotland "Tory free".

The SNP's longest-serving MP has distanced himself from the party's election message, branding it "unhelpful" adding that he would not use any "Tory-free rhetoric"

What about you?

18-03-2024, 09:14 AM

On Saturday Humza Yousaf called on SNP members to "make history" by making Scotland "Tory free".

The SNP's longest-serving MP has distanced himself from the party's election message, branding it "unhelpful" adding that he would not use any "Tory-free rhetoric"

What about you?

It’s a crap slogan.

18-03-2024, 10:45 AM

What about you?
Kaye Adams suggesting this is Humza Yousaf's "final solution". The woman is mad.

18-03-2024, 11:25 AM

What about you?

Wishart is right. If this is all Yousaf has got he will be gone straight after the election.

18-03-2024, 12:42 PM
Wishart is right. If this is all Yousaf has got he will be gone straight after the election.

He is treating Scottish voters like ******* idiots. I think he's been doing OK all things considered but this is a massive own goal.

Think this is the wrong thread actually, what BBC Scotland say about it will be predictable but irrelevant.

18-03-2024, 01:06 PM
He is treating Scottish voters like ******* idiots. I think he's been doing OK all things considered but this is a massive own goal.

Think this is the wrong thread actually, what BBC Scotland say about it will be predictable but irrelevant.

All the parties are treating the Scottish voter with contempt, the partisan nature of their campaigning is perhaps expected but no less sad.

I had 2 canvassers at my door over the weekend. The first was from Labour and she handed me a leaflet that was covered in 'SNP, SNP and more SNP'. Barely a mention of Labour policy. She asked me who I intended to vote for and I said I didn't. She asked why and I said because I'm a socialist and no one standing refelct my views. She then asked 'what do you think of the SNP?' I answered I had the same disdain for them as pretty much all the major parties but it was irrelevant as to why I wouldn't vote Labour. She didn't ask why I wouldn't be voting Labour, it was clearly a script because she then asked 'but what do you think of the SNP and independence?' I politely said I didn't have time for any more.

The second was from the SNP. He was young and very enthusiastic but his leaflet was all 'Tories out', 'Starmer offers nothing', 'send a(nother) meesage to Westminster' etc etc. No policy detail at all. I answered his 'who will you be voting for' question in the same manner and he went on a bit of a rant about colonies, civil rights and a whole host of other things that had nothing to do with what I had said and I think he even let couple of 'red Tories' sneak in. I also politely told him I had nothing else to say.

It was pitiful from both and if that is what we have to look forward to in the coming months then I'll be delighted to completely disengage from the whole thing.

18-03-2024, 01:16 PM
... I'll be delighted to completely disengage from the whole thing.
I have to admit I don't understand this approach. Disengaging means other people get to decide governance over you.

Andy Bee
18-03-2024, 03:31 PM
Apologies for also going off topic but I watched the SNP campaign council the other day and everything was based around "get the Tories out" and the man of the moment Stephen Flynn holding Tories and Labour to account. It really gets my goat how they think people are that daft that they believe a few funny quips is classed as holding anyone to account. The outcome of this crap is there's going to be a new record low in turnout in the upcoming election.

There seems to be some signs of a rise in Independents for Independence candidates so I think my only chance of voting is if a decent candidate appears in my area. Either way it's looking like another 10 years wasted coming up for a lot of voters in Scotland.

18-03-2024, 06:12 PM
I have to admit I don't understand this approach. Disengaging means other people get to decide governance over you.To be fair, when it comes to general elections, haven't we already decided that's what we wanted anyway :stirrer:

21-03-2024, 05:14 PM

So it’s okay for Labour and the Tories to say the same thing about the SNP, it’s all out attack on him just now.

21-03-2024, 06:27 PM
So it’s okay for Labour and the Tories to say the same thing about the SNP, it’s all out attack on him just now.

As an SNP voter, all I am saying is that he's adopting the wrong strategy.

21-03-2024, 06:40 PM
As an SNP voter, all I am saying is that he's adopting the wrong strategy.

Seems a reasonable policy to say goal is to be Tory free not sure I see a huge issue with that. What would you want him to say?

21-03-2024, 07:16 PM
Seems a reasonable policy to say goal is to be Tory free not sure I see a huge issue with that. What would you want him to say?

I'd rather they came up with a few decent policies instead of cheap slogans. Of course anyone with a grain of sense wants a Tory-free Scotland. His problem is Labour obviously and there's no point in him ducking the issue. He's doing better than I thought he would and is far more appealing than Sarwar but folk like me are ready to jump on the Labour bandwagon and I'd like to see him trying to persuade me otherwise.

As I said before wrong thread!

21-03-2024, 07:28 PM
The Tories are polling at record low levels, their seats are consequently highly winnable. In every Tory seat in Scotland, I understand the SNP are the second party. If the SNP can damage the Tory support, that's six seats potentially available to the SNP. Seems like good strategy to me.

Andy Bee
21-03-2024, 09:08 PM
The Tories are polling at record low levels, their seats are consequently highly winnable. In every Tory seat in Scotland, I understand the SNP are the second party. If the SNP can damage the Tory support, that's six seats potentially available to the SNP. Seems like good strategy to me.

That's my thinking on it and maybe explains the lack of pushing the Independence message in the hope they can snare the Labour tactical voters.

Anyways back on topic....... I watched an old video of "A Time to Choose" the other night with Salmond, Dewar, Ian Lang and Malcolm Bruce hosted by Kirsty Wark and I couldn't believe the difference, no interruptions and certainly no calls of Salmonds views being likened to "The Final Solution". Interestingly there were numerous calls of "get the Tories out" from all parties except obviously Ian Lang who had an uncanny likeness in character to todays Alistair Jack. I also watched Salmond v Robertson hosted by Lesley Riddoch in "The Great Debate" and it was also very civilised. It's a real shame the MSM has declined into what it has today and I have to say, the politicians also.

For anyone interested...Time to Choose (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3h-9fAdJ5M) .................. The Great Debate (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=if-2A47U5PQ)

21-03-2024, 10:00 PM
That's my thinking on it and maybe explains the lack of pushing the Independence message in the hope they can snare the Labour tactical voters.

Anyways back on topic....... I watched an old video of "A Time to Choose" the other night with Salmond, Dewar, Ian Lang and Malcolm Bruce hosted by Kirsty Wark and I couldn't believe the difference, no interruptions and certainly no calls of Salmonds views being likened to "The Final Solution". Interestingly there were numerous calls of "get the Tories out" from all parties except obviously Ian Lang who had an uncanny likeness in character to todays Alistair Jack. I also watched Salmond v Robertson hosted by Lesley Riddoch in "The Great Debate" and it was also very civilised. It's a real shame the MSM has declined into what it has today and I have to say, the politicians also.

For anyone interested...Time to Choose (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3h-9fAdJ5M) .................. The Great Debate (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=if-2A47U5PQ)Since the Tories got in the rhetoric in politics has been coarsened down the level of the Bullingdon Club. The toffs' disdain for everyone other themselves has enlivened the gruntier side of the poorer classes and normalised bigotry. The media just go along with whatever generates clicks.

22-03-2024, 08:06 AM
Since the Tories got in the rhetoric in politics has been coarsened down the level of the Bullingdon Club. The toffs' disdain for everyone other themselves has enlivened the gruntier side of the poorer classes and normalised bigotry.

22-03-2024, 09:26 AM

Perhaps Scotland being Tory free is more realistic than having every MP in Scotland being a supporter of Independence?

22-03-2024, 10:09 AM
:confused:[emoji6]

Paul1642
22-03-2024, 11:57 AM

However Tory votes are for the most part not going to change to SNP. Much more likely for them to switch to Labour.

22-03-2024, 12:50 PM

Have either of them said they want to make Scotland snp free?

I’m not being obtuse btw, genuine question. If they have it’s awful politics and not very sensible of them

22-03-2024, 01:05 PM
However Tory votes are for the most part not going to change to SNP. Much more likely for them to switch to Labour.
Don't need them to switch. Just need them to not bother voting.

22-03-2024, 05:09 PM
Wall to wall Kate Middleton again tonight.

22-03-2024, 05:55 PM

No matter what views folk have on the Royal Family, the latest news is of public interest and concern. Of more interest, however, is the attack on the Moscow Concert Hall.

22-03-2024, 06:09 PM
No matter what views folk have on the Royal Family, the latest news is of public interest and concern. Of more interest, however, is the attack on the Moscow Concert Hall.

I’m more concerned that she’ll jump the queue ahead of the ordinary cancer sufferer. And we’ll be paying for it.

22-03-2024, 06:10 PM

22-03-2024, 06:59 PM

As you would expect. The wife of the heir to the throne, after weeks of pretty cruel speculation, has just revealed she is seriously ill.

22-03-2024, 07:01 PM
I’m more concerned that she’ll jump the queue ahead of the ordinary cancer sufferer. And we’ll be paying for it.

I’m more concerned that the Mother of a young family is facing a life threatening illness. It’s heartbreaking no matter who the human being is.

22-03-2024, 07:08 PM
I’m more concerned that the Mother of a young family is facing a life threatening illness. It’s heartbreaking no matter who the human being is.

22-03-2024, 07:36 PM
I’m more concerned that the Mother of a young family is facing a life threatening illness. It’s heartbreaking no matter who the human being is.I've deleted my post from above as I hadn't seen the news specials tonight.

It is brutal. Hard for any young person and her children will be feeling it too.

Hope the media back the hell off her and just leave her name out for the time being.

Jay
22-03-2024, 08:07 PM

She won't be jumping an NHS queue.

It's an incredibly sad situation and I hope the media back off now.

Stairway 2 7
23-03-2024, 08:25 AM

Why wouldn't it be, it would be the same in any nation with a monarchy. In Thailand some on here would be arrested for their posts about the monarchy, they are crazy for them. Anyway absolutely awful disease as most on here will know, wish her all the best

23-03-2024, 09:46 AM
Why wouldn't it be, it would be the same in any nation with a monarchy. In Thailand some on here would be arrested for their posts about the monarchy, they are crazy for them. Anyway absolutely awful disease as most on here will know, wish her all the best

Perhaps telling that you're going to Thailand for a comparison. Is that because the countries with whom the UK would normally be compared (for example, in Europe) have mostly grown out of monarchy by now? :dunno:

MKHIBEE
23-03-2024, 09:58 AM
I’m more concerned that she’ll jump the queue ahead of the ordinary cancer sufferer. And we’ll be paying for it..

She won’t be so need to concern yourself.

Stairway 2 7
23-03-2024, 04:11 PM
Perhaps telling that you're going to Thailand for a comparison. Is that because the countries with whom the UK would normally be compared (for example, in Europe) have mostly grown out of monarchy by now? :dunno:

Thailand is for the extreme i couldn't believe how mad they were for them when I was there last year the king is ******g everywhere posters, billboards songs. It would be also big news if it was in Spain, Belgium, Norway, Denmark, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Monaco, Sweden. Its also all the US news reports are talking about I'm sure it's being talked about in the Australian and Canadian press too. Why would it not be huge news in the Uk

23-03-2024, 08:43 PM
Sorry to have started this. But, did I hear that 1 in 3 will have cancer, so, while it's a good bit of publicity about cancer, why not use Agnes from Tillicoultry to tell the story?

Oh, hang on, because nobody cares about Agnes!!

24-03-2024, 08:11 AM
Sorry to have started this. But, did I hear that 1 in 3 will have cancer, so, while it's a good bit of publicity about cancer, why not use Agnes from Tillicoultry to tell the story?

The Royal Family has been raising awareness about cancer. They have been doing this by not releasing any details about actual cancers. This is courageous.

Jay
24-03-2024, 09:13 AM

They do. Real peoples stories are the mainstay of campaigns .

24-03-2024, 09:36 AM
I think the royals are in a bit of a no win situation with these 2 cancer stories and the PR around it.

Some people like the royals and are genuinely interested and upset and want to be kept in the loop. Some people claim not to care but actually really, really care hence the weeks of pretty vile speculation online by curtain twitchers. People angry they weren't being given a blow by blow account of Kate's recovery and inventing their own reality to fill the void.

Everyone deals with cancer differently and everyone is entitled to medical privacy. I've known people who want to share every detail and I've known someone who wanted to keep their diagnosis a complete secret and was extremely angry and upset when someone she trusted betrayed her confidence and let the news out.

Both royals have revealed they have cancer, one seemingly somewhat reluctantly, and that should really be it. No one is entitled to know the type, the treatment they are receiving, the prognosis etc etc. unless they choose to share it. If the news is being treated differently to Joe Bloggs having cancer then so is the reaction. I'm sure none of us would bombard a neighbour with personal questions about their diagnosis if they weren't open about it themselves and I'm even more sure none of us would run off and make a meme about them potentially dying. In that regard I don't see why the 2 people in question should be treated any differently.

babahibs
24-03-2024, 11:04 AM

The vast majority of Thais are not crazy for the royal family, they are forced to be by law.
The Thais I know couldn't care less.

24-03-2024, 11:21 AM
The vast majority of Thais are not crazy for the royal family, they are forced to be by law.

Is it the Thai Royal family that live in Germany?

babahibs
24-03-2024, 11:27 AM
Is it the Thai Royal family that live in Germany?

As far as I know, the king does

Stairway 2 7
24-03-2024, 01:18 PM

Some couldn't care but some have an almost religious outlook to them. But yes it's the Junta that force it on people. I was more talking about how the authorities being crazy in how they treat people talking about the king. The junta are aggressive in jailing critics of the king. Crazily 1% of the budget about £600 million goes to upkeep of the monarchy

When the king died a few years ago there was a year of mourning where people were expected to wear black. All cinemas football ect was closed for a month.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2016/10/19/monarchist-mobs-in-thailand-are-attacking-people-who-supposedly-insult-the-late-king/
As Thailand grieves late king, mobs wage street justice for perceived insults to beloved monarch

The death of Thailand’s much-beloved King Bhumibol Adulyadej last week after a protracted illness has left the nation of nearly 70 million people in a state of mourning that plays out in public — with millions dressing in black and joining in memorial rites for a ruler who spent seven decades on the throne

But in recent days, the collective grief has spawned something else: violent monarchist mobs that pursue those they feel have insulted the late king or who aren’t appropriately dressed.

Several violent incidents have erupted across the country, including one broadcast live Tuesday on Facebook that purported to show a mob kicking and beating a man, then forcing him to bow and apologize for insulting the monarchy

"I didn't mean to do it. I love the king! It's my fault," the man cried, according to Al Jazeera. In another, a woman was forced to kneel and bow in front of portrait of the king after she allegedly criticized the royal family on social media

babahibs
24-03-2024, 03:12 PM
Some couldn't care but some have an almost religious outlook to them. But yes it's the Junta that force it on people. I was more talking about how the authorities being crazy in how they treat people talking about the king. The junta are aggressive in jailing critics of the king. Crazily 1% of the budget about £600 million goes to upkeep of the monarchy

When the king died a few years ago there was a year of mourning where people were expected to wear black. All cinemas football ect was closed for a month.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2016/10/19/monarchist-mobs-in-thailand-are-attacking-people-who-supposedly-insult-the-late-king/
As Thailand grieves late king, mobs wage street justice for perceived insults to beloved monarch

The death of Thailand’s much-beloved King Bhumibol Adulyadej last week after a protracted illness has left the nation of nearly 70 million people in a state of mourning that plays out in public — with millions dressing in black and joining in memorial rites for a ruler who spent seven decades on the throne

But in recent days, the collective grief has spawned something else: violent monarchist mobs that pursue those they feel have insulted the late king or who aren’t appropriately dressed.

Several violent incidents have erupted across the country, including one broadcast live Tuesday on Facebook that purported to show a mob kicking and beating a man, then forcing him to bow and apologize for insulting the monarchy

"I didn't mean to do it. I love the king! It's my fault," the man cried, according to Al Jazeera. In another, a woman was forced to kneel and bow in front of portrait of the king after she allegedly criticized the royal family on social media

Yeah, I'm aware of all this but the reality is slightly different. It tends to be older, conservative, traditionalist Thais support the monarchy and the younger, more progressive ones oppose it. There's a growing movement towards removing the strict lese-majeste laws.

I was in Thailand during the mourning period for the old King, a minority were wearing black armbands, most were too busy trying to earn enough to pay their bills to care.

The old King was almost universally respected, to the point of being worshipped by some, for his tireless work helping to develop the economy of the poorest parts of the country. His son who became King after his death is less respected, to the point of being hated, he's viewed as being a bit of a brat, a playboy who doesn't even live in Thailand or care about the Thai people.

When the old King was alive, the advice was to never talk about him if you were a foreigner, in case you caused offence, which could get you into serious trouble. In all the time I spent there, I never once heard him mentioned, even by Thais in the privacy of their own home. Now, with the new guy, I've heard Thais be openly disparaging about him, even in public.

In the near 20 years I've been going to Thailand regularly, it's obvious that attitudes are changing.

Stairway 2 7
24-03-2024, 03:42 PM
Yeah, I'm aware of all this but the reality is slightly different. It tends to be older, conservative, traditionalist Thais support the monarchy and the younger, more progressive ones oppose it. There's a growing movement towards removing the strict lese-majeste laws.

I was in Thailand during the mourning period for the old King, a minority were wearing black armbands, most were too busy trying to earn enough to pay their bills to care.

The old King was almost universally respected, to the point of being worshipped by some, for his tireless work helping to develop the economy of the poorest parts of the country. His son who became King after his death is less respected, to the point of being hated, he's viewed as being a bit of a brat, a playboy who doesn't even live in Thailand or care about the Thai people.

When the old King was alive, the advice was to never talk about him if you were a foreigner, in case you caused offence, which could get you into serious trouble. In all the time I spent there, I never once heard him mentioned, even by Thais in the privacy of their own home. Now, with the new guy, I've heard Thais be openly disparaging about him, even in public.

In the near 20 years I've been going to Thailand regularly, it's obvious that attitudes are changing.

Yeah again I was talking about the authorities not the public. The youth wanted and voted for move forward but got done by the old guard forming a coalition. Things are changing but the junta still have a control. I've only been a half dozen times but I saw more pictures in public of the Thai King than I have seen posters of lizzy here. Less so in the tourist areas like ****et but his pictures is everywhere in Bangkok, Chiang mai, Kanchanburi, huge billboards over most motorways.

Move forward are gaining in the polls so hopefully change is coming especially as its such a young population. Also the new King being a playboy and a drunk won't help his cause.

24-03-2024, 03:57 PM
I think the royals are in a bit of a no win situation with these 2 cancer stories and the PR around it.

Some people like the royals and are genuinely interested and upset and want to be kept in the loop. Some people claim not to care but actually really, really care hence the weeks of pretty vile speculation online by curtain twitchers. People angry they weren't being given a blow by blow account of Kate's recovery and inventing their own reality to fill the void.

Everyone deals with cancer differently and everyone is entitled to medical privacy. I've known people who want to share every detail and I've known someone who wanted to keep their diagnosis a complete secret and was extremely angry and upset when someone she trusted betrayed her confidence and let the news out.

Both royals have revealed they have cancer, one seemingly somewhat reluctantly, and that should really be it. No one is entitled to know the type, the treatment they are receiving, the prognosis etc etc. unless they choose to share it. If the news is being treated differently to Joe Bloggs having cancer then so is the reaction. I'm sure none of us would bombard a neighbour with personal questions about their diagnosis if they weren't open about it themselves and I'm even more sure none of us would run off and make a meme about them potentially dying. In that regard I don't see why the 2 people in question should be treated any differently.

If King Charles III were being treated for prostate cancer, which he isn't, that would surely raise awareness of prostate cancer and what signs and symptoms to look out for. Without knowing what cancer he is being treated for, it's not clear what sort of awareness is being raised. Awareness of cancer in general? How many people are not aware of what cancer is in general? :dunno: He is of course under no obligation whatsoever to publicly announce any more than he has.

babahibs
24-03-2024, 04:14 PM
Yeah again I was talking about the authorities not the public. The youth wanted and voted for move forward but got done by the old guard forming a coalition. Things are changing but the junta still have a control. I've only been a half dozen times but I saw more pictures in public of the Thai King than I have seen posters of lizzy here. Less so in the tourist areas like ****et but his pictures is everywhere in Bangkok, Chiang mai, Kanchanburi, huge billboards over most motorways.

Move forward are gaining in the polls so hopefully change is coming especially as its such a young population. Also the new King being a playboy and a drunk won't help his cause.

It's certainly one of the strangest things about Thailand, images of the king everywhere you look, also the national anthem getting played in cinemas and public transport etc and everyone has to stand up.

Imagine if that was here? There would be a lot of defaced pictures and non compliance.

24-03-2024, 04:21 PM
If King Charles III were being treated for prostate cancer, which he isn't, that would surely raise awareness of prostate cancer and what signs and symptoms to look out for. Without knowing what cancer he is being treated for, it's not clear what sort of awareness is being raised. Awareness of cancer in general? How many people are not aware of what cancer is in general? :dunno: He is of course under no obligation whatsoever to publicly announce any more than he has.

I don't really think many famous people truly 'raise awareness' of cancer when they announce they have it. I think it's just a go to thing that people say as a compliment/sympathy line. One that is now being trotted out by journos in the absence of any actual information to go on.

Maybe some of the rarer cancers, pancreatic cancer for example, but for the most common I think most people are well aware of what they are looking for now, largely thanks to campaigning by the NHS and cancer charities rather than the king or someone who has been on Love Island.

Certainly when I first went to my GP with a symptom that subsequently turned out the be skin cancer it was years of NHS literature and a high profile poster campaign that prompted me to treat it seriously rather than because Vinnie Jones had the same type (he did, that's not just a totally random example).

Stairway 2 7
24-03-2024, 04:31 PM
It's certainly one of the strangest things about Thailand, images of the king everywhere you look, also the national anthem getting played in cinemas and public transport etc and everyone has to stand up.

Imagine if that was here? There would be a lot of defaced pictures and non compliance.

Weren't the tories wanting pictures of Charles in public buildings, ******g ridiculous.

Edit, £8 million ffs
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/uk-news/2024/jan/15/government-unveils-free-portrait-of-king-charles-for-public-buildings

babahibs
24-03-2024, 04:35 PM
Weren't the tories wanting pictures of Charles in public buildings, ******g ridiculous.

Edit, £8 million ffs
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/uk-news/2024/jan/15/government-unveils-free-portrait-of-king-charles-for-public-buildings

Jeezo, shameful.

24-03-2024, 04:43 PM
I don't really think many famous people truly 'raise awareness' of cancer when they announce they have it. I think it's just a go to thing that people say as a compliment/sympathy line. One that is now being trotted out by journos in the absence of any actual information to go on.

Bringing us back to the BBC and their wall to wall coverage. In the absence of any actual information perhaps, instead of filling airtime with royal correspondents talking twaddle, they could just show that picture of the wee lassie doing noughts and crosses? It's been like living in Thailand recently.

Stairway 2 7
24-03-2024, 05:08 PM
Bringing us back to the BBC and their wall to wall coverage. In the absence of any actual information perhaps, instead of filling airtime with royal correspondents talking twaddle, they could just show that picture of the wee lassie doing noughts and crosses? It's been like living in Thailand recently.

I've not seen much of it as I never watch live TV bar football. If I wanted to be annoyed I'd watch bbc news this weekend as the future queen having cancer is obviously going to be huge news. I went to porto deliberately during the coronation to miss it. It was on ******g everywhere over there to my Mrs amusement, they are the most famous family in the world. I just spent the time it was on sunbathing in the best supporters club (for a defunct club) I've been to, if anyone is in Porto, unreal views and cheap

https://maps.app.goo.gl/AKntpW5SuYsz6Jip9

31-03-2024, 09:34 AM
https://news.stv.tv/scotland/almost-27500-scotrail-trains-cancelled-since-nationalisation-figures-show
Great example of the media running a negative headline on what is really a good news story. Nationalising Scotrail has been a huge success.
I’m sure the BBC will pick this up as well.

Berwickhibby
31-03-2024, 09:51 AM
https://news.stv.tv/scotland/almost-27500-scotrail-trains-cancelled-since-nationalisation-figures-show
Great example of the media running a negative headline on what is really a good news story. Nationalising Scotrail has been a huge success.
I’m sure the BBC will pick this up as well.

27500 train cancellations is a good news story…. You live and learn

31-03-2024, 10:05 AM

How many trains ran? Just for context. And against the privatised companies numbers as well. Again just for context

31-03-2024, 10:08 AM

200 extra services ran every single day. Passenger numbers up from 47m to 82m. A 75% increase.
And cancellations still at the levels before nationalisation. Clearly you did not read the article.

31-03-2024, 06:26 PM
200 extra services ran every single day. Passenger numbers up from 47m to 82m. A 75% increase.
And cancellations still at the levels before nationalisation. Clearly you did not read the article.

The passenger numbers are incredible definitely a good news story imo

Stairway 2 7
31-03-2024, 07:04 PM
The passenger numbers are incredible definitely a good news story imo

Covid

Nationalisation has been great but that stat is daft

01-04-2024, 10:38 AM

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GKEd5vNWgAAPBnY?format=jpg&name=large

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GKEd5v0WoAA6v9d?format=jpg&name=large

01-04-2024, 11:20 AM

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GKEd5v0WoAA6v9d?format=jpg&name=largeIt's unfair to compare - especially when comparisons show Scotland in a good light

I thought you would've understood that by now

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

01-04-2024, 11:23 AM

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GKEd5v0WoAA6v9d?format=jpg&name=large

It’s almost like the SNP do a good job within a UK that is being run into the ground.