View Full Version : Match Updates Hearts 1 - 1 Hibernian (Cummings) [FT]
03-01-2015, 01:03 PM
Game very stop start with lots of fouls at the moment. hibs struggling to gain possesion.
03-01-2015, 01:03 PM
Momentum seems to be with Hearts now... No real pattern to the game though, just fouls galore.
03-01-2015, 01:04 PM
Handling & Cummings off please
walker likes a wee dive eh
Does he ever, throws himself about like a rag doll
Forever_Green93
The ref is ****ing hopeless
Take Craig off for McGeouch before he gets sent off.
Malonga wants to stop ****ting himself in every 50/50....
Getting dragged down to their level.
Need to get on the ball and play again.
That's been a Hearts ploy for years.... and, unfortunately, it works.
Yams Diving everywhere.
03-01-2015, 01:05 PM
Not putting any moves together any more.
03-01-2015, 01:05 PM
They like this scrappy physical stuff. We need to use movement and space and passing.
Both sets of players need to stop complaining at every decision.
1875M
03-01-2015, 01:06 PM
Hearts starting to get more of the ball
03-01-2015, 01:06 PM
Handling & Cummings off please
Handling seems to be getting into the game just now.
Momentum seems to be with Hearts now... .
Are you joking?
03-01-2015, 01:07 PM
Hearts seem to have got their way by kicking, diving and complaining. This is a deliberate ploy to get hibs out of their rhythm, and it's worked.
Sorry to say but I can see only one outcome now.
Blocks Biloxi
We need someone to put their foot on the ball and get us into a rhythm again. Unfortunately, a couple of times Allan's gone for the Hollywood/Gerrard option.
Playing into their hands right now.
Does he ever, throws himself about like a rag doll
and another one
03-01-2015, 01:08 PM
Are you joking?
Nope, how come?
walker down in the box again, no penalty, he just ran into stevenson. mcgeough called to the bench.
Dan Sarf
Where's the BT clock?
That ref has just cheated then, if that's not a foul, it's a DIVE, right in front of the ref who bottled it...
Another coward of an official
03-01-2015, 01:09 PM
Need to make a sub, nothing working for us at the moment.
Off the bar
Gotta make a change we're second best at the moment
End to end stuff at the moment. Bit scrappy buy there's a winner here.
That ref has just cheated then, if that's not a foul, it's a DIVE, right in front of the ref who bottled it...
Another coward of an official
He bottled sending off Cummings so not always working against us
McGeouch coming on. Nice to see him back
Afraid this is looking all too familiar.
Dan Sarf
Where's the BT clock?
Ruining the game for me.
McGeouch on Handling off.
03-01-2015, 01:10 PM
Cummings and Malonga contributing nothing this half, Handling the same.
corner deep to the back post, patterson looping header covered by Oxley, but over the bar.
Handling off McGeough on.
Dylan on for Handling.
It's an upgrade with all respect to Danny.
Hamdling did fine. Tidy nice touches but drifts in and out.
another poor FK from allan
03-01-2015, 01:11 PM
Too many wasted free kicks by Allan
Yet another wasted Free Kick.
freekick hibs, midway in the hearts half, at the touch line.
taken by allan, again straight into the hands of alexander. poor freekick
Allan needs to stop taking free kicks and corners
Free kicks have been shocking today.
03-01-2015, 01:12 PM
Hibs sitting off the hearts players in possesion in midfield. hearts cross from the left, nicholson heads over.
whiskas
03-01-2015, 01:12 PM
Catching practice could have been a decent ball if we actually had someone in the box
03-01-2015, 01:13 PM
cummings takes the pressure off
Allan so near to picking out Malonga.
Malonga ready to head home 6yds out, taken off his head from a stretching patterson challenge
Hes now down holding his groin
03-01-2015, 01:14 PM
Hearts sub; king coming on for walker
Nope, how come?
Hibs are the better team.
03-01-2015, 01:15 PM
Some clearance by Rolf Jr..
Malango about to burst the net too!
Dan Sarf
Clock back. About time.
20 minutes to get on top and get a winner.
C'mon boys get into them.
Number69
Everyone is so bloody negative in here! Mon the hibees!!!
Allan's been poor today, apart from the cross for the goal his set pieces have been shocking.
03-01-2015, 01:16 PM
Booth looks out of his depth im afraid.
03-01-2015, 01:16 PM
diver boy off....billy bing on
03-01-2015, 01:17 PM
better delivery, keep the pressure on and corner to the cabbage.
03-01-2015, 01:18 PM
Hibs are the better team.
Can't say I agree with that.
03-01-2015, 01:18 PM
another freekick to hibs, this time against Buaben.
30yrds out, right of centre, taken this time by craig.
goes through the box to malonga, he drives into the box low cross cleared for a corner.
corner comes to nothing after a few deflections, goal kick hearts.
Also the ref's bottled it a few times today, another establishment official.
03-01-2015, 01:19 PM
75mins played, hearts cross into the box low. well held by oxley.
ANOTHER free kick against Gomis
You take negativity to new heights. Overall, we've been the better team.
Are you seriously saying Hearts deserve to win this game?
Another foul by gomis.
Whats the definition of persistent? 3/400?
Gomis 6th fouls this half?
Stevenson hasn't got within 5 feet of Nicholson all day.. Poor
ref tells gomis for the 8th time...don't make me have to book yi
It's going to be a late winner for one team.
03-01-2015, 01:20 PM
Everyone is so bloody negative in here! Mon the hibees!!!
Cause we have been here so many times before and reality is we tend to get beat.
Are you seriously saying Hearts deserve to win this game?
Nope? Just saying they seem to be the better team 2nd half.
When is persistent fouling not persistent fouling?!
03-01-2015, 01:21 PM
yellow card for the boy that scored that flukey hertz goal at ER
Nope? Just saying they seem to be the better team 2nd half.
Are you watching the game?
Yellow card Ozturk, wins the ball to be fair but follow through was high on scott allan.
Ozturk booked.
Hopefully a good ball into the box.
When it's Hearts
Are you watching the game?
I am, yes.
03-01-2015, 01:22 PM
Unbelievable eh
craig swings it in, booth challenges at the back post but not enough on it, and easily picked up by alexander.
Ref has lost the plot
Imo that was a fair, hard tackle..
Why has Bawbag and Gomer been allowed away with murder so much?
Gomis has to go for the next one.
Is Gomis not Subject to the usual rules of football, namely persistent fouling = a booking!!
03-01-2015, 01:23 PM
Hibs pressure, mcgeough twisting and turning in the box, cross blocked, out for a throw in to hearts.
10 mins....mon the cabbage
ffs lewis man
03-01-2015, 01:24 PM
Needs to be better from Stevenson..
e.g in the park and not the stand when unchallenged and crossing
Loosing Gray has been such a blow!
Stevenson sclaffs a cross out.
Dom's having to drop too deep. Needs to be further up the pitch.
Stevensobs final ball has let him down a few times today. He's done well to get into positions and then just not quite caught it.
Attendance 17,279
03-01-2015, 01:25 PM
Some woman called Dominique just flashed up on the tv.
ITS A SIGN!
What's up with Stevenson today
Stevenson's final ball in the 2nd half has been Borderline criminal. Shame, as he gets into great positions.
Hertz corner
I fear a sucker punch, only one team needs to win this game.
03-01-2015, 01:26 PM
great interception by fontaine, ball out for a hearts corner.
Fantastic clearance by Fontaine. Probably saved a goal.
Loosing Gray has been such a blow!
Agree :agree:
I am, yes.
I am shocked you think Hearts have been the better side.
Boyle for Cummings.
03-01-2015, 01:27 PM
Corner comes to nowt, hearts attack.. offside.
Hibs sub, Boyle on for Cummings
03-01-2015, 01:27 PM
Derby winner please Mr Boyle.
03-01-2015, 01:28 PM
Stevenson Jesus man
Goal saving clearance from patterson.
yellow card for allan
Lewis needs to learn to shoot at times
Two excellent chances for us there
So close 2 or 3 times for us..
Allan booked
Jeezo how bad is our luck in derbies?
Forever_Green93
Lucky barstewards
Booth effort off the line.
Boyle then has a good effort blocked.
How in the **** did that not go in?
Come on Hibs lets get a winner!!! :flag:
patch1875
Come on!!!!!!
03-01-2015, 01:29 PM
that hertz defence lives a charmed life
Lewis needs to learn to shoot at times
This!
Why doesn't he?
Boyle for Cummings.
Last minute winner on the cards I romantically foresee. Great tackle to save a goal from Ozturk
Ozturk challenge perfect.
cant believe we didnt score there, another cross in, shot again blocked at the front post, just misses malonga on the way out. hearts freekick in the middle of the park after a challenge by allan. allan booked.
They almost score from a sliced cross
03-01-2015, 01:31 PM
They almost score from a sliced cross
They normally go in!
game very stretched.
How the **** did they get away with that?!
03-01-2015, 01:32 PM
Almost pointless playing with LS as a fullback like this as his delivery and use of the ball is so so poor at times...
They normally go in!
True! Things may have turned.
89mins Robinson on Buaben off
Hibs have been far and away the better team but have lacked composure to kill them off.
03-01-2015, 01:33 PM
Just like that, ffs straight into GK's hands unchallenged, what a waste
03-01-2015, 01:33 PM
cross from stevenson straight into alexanders arms.
final ball today been poor.
3mins added time.
03-01-2015, 01:34 PM
gomis gets a yelow for his 23rd foul
Gomis booked at last
McGeoegh brings so much more to the game than Handling
Gomis fouls again. FFS. Finally booked.
That should be his second
Freekick hibs, GOMIS booked after the ref counts fingers on both his hands.
**** off ref & Gomer.. Should've been booked 40 mins ago
crossed in, headed behind for a corner hibs.
03-01-2015, 01:35 PM
Hearts wasting time for the draw. Things have sure changed for them
03-01-2015, 01:35 PM
Allan crosses, deep to nobody, ball out for a hibs throw main stand side.
Hearts sub, time wasting.
03-01-2015, 01:36 PM
FT bet hertz are glad the jammy gits
Should have won that.
Let it get away from us in a derby again. Disappointing.
Full time. Disappointed to draw.
Hearts freekick, taken short. FULL TIME.
1-1
They'll be delighted with that.
03-01-2015, 01:37 PM
Hibs should have won that comfortably.
Still can't beat them..
Plsh
MartinfaePorty
Didn't play our best, but better chances. Apparently ok to give away as many fouls as you want without a booking!
Dan Sarf
Were still missing a vital ingredient. Luck
03-01-2015, 01:38 PM
Utter ***** second half. We sat in and didn't press them AGAIN! I'm gutted to be honest because we should how bad they are that first half.
Hibs best of the first half, fairly even second half as game got stretched and a bit scrapy
Another hard luck story.
I suppose we at least didn't get hit by a sucket punch this time and lose the match.
03-01-2015, 01:39 PM
Falkirk v Alloa
Q.oS v Livi
coming up
I'm sure the yams will be claiming that as a victory!
Utter ***** second half. We sat in and didn't press them AGAIN! I'm gutted to be honest because we should how bad they are that first half.
Hearts were set up for a draw from the word go.
Happy with that.
Lucky yam *******s as usual, how ***** are they?
For the third time this season we've missed opportunities to put them away.......gutted.
Dunedin Hibs
Not our day. But we played some good football.
Decent result , played ok..
03-01-2015, 01:40 PM
Were still missing a vital ingredient. Luck
Hertz have absolutely dominated in that department for the last few decades...FACT
03-01-2015, 01:40 PM
Hearts were set up for a draw from the word go.
I agree and we pumped them until their goal. If we kept the pressure on them we'd have won by 2 or 3. As I say I'm not happy with a point we needed 3 and they are *****.
MartinfaePorty
03-01-2015, 01:41 PM
Great to see Dylan back. Hearts delighted with a draw, killing time at end.
They had enough half chances second half, on another day they woulda won it, Hibs not good enough second half, let the game.get scrapy!
Did we really really want that? Particularly second half. Unhappy with just a point. Standards of recent times nowhere near reached.
Disappointed not to win because our midfields performance was so good. Gutting that we need a player the calibre of Griffiths in order to win these games.
hibbytam
I'm sure the yams will be claiming that as a victory!
It's what big teams do. Apparently.
03-01-2015, 01:42 PM
Good performances easily the better team.
Played quite well, shame about the result.
They are playing at their best and will only get worse. They went up in the elevator of survival but they will be coming back down out the window - after giving it a good licking, of course.
Hearts will be delighted with a draw. Set up for it and got it.
Pathetic in a local derby when you're top of the league.
03-01-2015, 01:43 PM
2 points dropped but we did control that game for most of it. Should have had it won before half time, and more composure by a few of them especially with the final ball and we'd have won it in the 2nd.
In fact Boyle nearly scored twice in the little time he was on the park, the gimps will be more happy than us with their point.
i take it that will be david grays last game for several weeks now, haste ye back
Seconded
haagsehibby
03-01-2015, 01:44 PM
Freekick hibs, GOMIS booked after the ref counts fingers on both his hands.
Thought he was going to take his boots off and use his toes as well !
Should have won that game, Hearts barely threatened us and were more than happy to settle for a point. I think we can safely say that they have 1st secured now so we need to focus on getting past the Rangers into 2nd to make things easier for ourselves in the playoffs.
We looked much better with McGeough on the field, without him Allan was the only one trying to make anything happen in the middle of the park. Still lacked that spark going forward and Handling is still a player I'm not convinced on.
It's clear to see the changes and improvements Stubbs has brought to the team (how great to see us consistently play the ball on the deck at Tynecastle) but once again we cant seem to get the beating of them. Still some work to be done but if we are promoted this year games like this will be forgotten.
Hearts will be delighted with a draw. Set up for it and got it.
Pathetic in a local derby when you're top of the league.
Sums them up under that clown Levein. Not exactly disastrous for us but was hoping to win.
They recognised they had to break the game up and their continual play acting was just embarrassing
I thought Malonga spent too much time helping the midfield. Fair enough to do that on 60 mins but he was still doing it when we were in possession with 5 minutes to go.
03-01-2015, 01:45 PM
Trying to look at it unemotionally, clearly we were the better side in the first half, but the first part of the second saw Hearts in the ascendancy.
We came into it later and some desperate defending by the home side kept us out.
I was never comfortable though that they wouldn't break away, and I guess we had a few players who were below par.
Handling contributed little, Craig was not as good as against Rangers and Malongo only seemed to come into it late on.
Scott Allan's free kicks were pass backs, although to be honest I don't expect us to score from dead ball situations.
On the positive side, we never hid, and finished the stronger side.
A little bit if luck and we would have won.
The Pointer
03-01-2015, 01:46 PM
Ach well, a point's a point, but pretty disappointing not to press as much in the second half, but we were never going to be as good as last week due to the opposition being much better and it being a derby.
Well done the fans who made so much noise throughout the game! You bossed them!
03-01-2015, 01:48 PM
And Lewis man of the match
Thought we slightly edged it, turned in to a scrappy affair in to be second half which suited hearts more than us. As we guessed they just blootered Allen for 90 mins. Not disappointed in how we played, disappointed in the result as I thought we were the better team. Still, well done Hibs let's keep this run going and make 2nd ours.
cwilliamson85
I am glad we got a point today.
As long as we are in the playoffs at the end of the season (fingers crossed for 2nd spot) we will be making good progress.
You can say they are Lucky but statistically they they can't get all the luck they just dig in when they need to ,we don't take our chance to go two up that's down to poor finishing nothing else . they were content with draw and it was up yo us second half to take game more to them .
With gray going off again he should go in for op before Falkirk game .We now need to concentrate on staying in top three and hope Sevco start dropping points .
Thought in brief appearance Boyle showed enough to suggest against poorer teams thAn Hearts he could be a threat .
Velma Dinkley
Ref had a shocker. Waiting until it no longer mattered to book gomis says it all really.
03-01-2015, 01:49 PM
Had a look at the BBC updates and even some Hearts Fans were saying they were embarassed by their players' diving antics.
Strange how not one of them was booked.
03-01-2015, 01:50 PM
Another game at that *****hole and still not seen this intimidating atmosphere.
hibs by far the better team 1st half and dragged down to there level the 2nd
best of luck to Dumbarton at bigotbrox as well
Trying to look at it unemotionally, clearly we were the better side in the first half, but the first part of the second saw Hearts in the ascendancy.
We came into it later and some desperate defending by the home side kept us out.
I was never comfortable though that they wouldn't break away, and I guess we had a few players who were below par.
Handling contributed little, Craig was not as good as against Rangers and Malongo only seemed to come into it late on.
Scott Allan's free kicks were pass backs, although to be honest I don't expect us to score from dead ball situations.
On the positive side, we never hid, and finished the stronger side.
A little bit if luck and we would have won.
Pretty fair assessment.
A little dissapointed if I'm honest, but onward and upwards.
We have nothing to fear from anyone in this league, and if that's the standard that gets you top then I think we will be fine come the end of the season.
I look forward to a little activity in this transfer window, roll on the next game.
03-01-2015, 01:51 PM
As usual we were the better side and as usual they battled to a draw. We dominated the first half but second was even. Disappointed as I belive we are the better side. Not sure how Lewis got MOTM
03-01-2015, 01:52 PM
AS hopes we can get more players in during the transfer window
03-01-2015, 01:53 PM
We played well for long stretches, but we still haven't addressed the old problems: we cannot score goals from the few chances we create and we give away silly ones. A draw is a fair result today I guess - no doubt we'll be more disappointed than they will be, they're top of the league and still unbeaten, so they won't be too worried. We won't be competing for the league title then: that's effectively over as far as we are concerned. We only have ourselves to blame. There was more to be taken from this game ...
03-01-2015, 01:54 PM
@Sinclair1875: Hope the Main Stand collapses, I honestly do
Some people take it too far.
cross from steve straight into alexanders arms.
final ball today been poor.
3mins added time.
He has had a reasonable game, but the one criticism I would make is he almost always checks his run, stops looks up and crosses, poor at crossing when on the run.
kenny.ff
03-01-2015, 01:54 PM
Not to bad a performance from us, hearts dug deep to keep us out at the end. Should have been a win but a draw aint a bad result
Off the bar
03-01-2015, 01:55 PM
Big moment for me was Cummings missing the header to make it 2 nil.
Big big miss we would have been in a great position at 2. Wasn't to be, they equalise with a good goal.
I was disappointed we didn't come out and go at them more in the second half. McGeough looked strong will be good to have him back.
As disappointed as I am not too have won the match, I'm happy we went there and turned up, played our usual game and had the confidence to have a go at them.
The Yams didn't look interested in winning the game. I know it's been said often enough but one day the balls will go our way and we'll give them another chasing.
God knows how they are 19 points ahead of us, IMHO we are a better side than them and they've got out of jail twice against us.
I just wound back the video and Hanlon's clearance was cringeworthy and right at the edge of the box and it fell to the man who scored. However, I agree it was Allan who let him get that shot off so he is more to blame. it was nearer the touch line and it wasn't the scorer. Apart from that you're spot on.
Disappointed we didn't win,how things can change 😊
03-01-2015, 01:57 PM
Ref had a shocker. Waiting until it no longer mattered to book gomis says it all really.
Tough game to ref, but he created a rod for his back by booking too quickly and easily. Ref had nowhere to go once all the niggly fouls started creeping into match. Thought the Yams were resilient and showed why they will win the league. Hibs were the better, more creative team and definitely on the up.
03-01-2015, 02:00 PM
As usual we were the better side and as usual they battled to a draw. We dominated the first half but second was even. Disappointed as I belive we are the better side. Not sure how Lewis got MOTM
Watching the second half in particular they succeeded in dragging us down to their level a bit by committing deliberate fouls on Allan in particular to break our play up, when that happened and a foul wasn't given they pushed on from winning the ball.
The obvious plan was to kick Allan and Craig, the running order for doing it was Bauben, then Gomis then Ozturk latterly. When Bauben eventually got booked Gomis filled the gap - he only got booked with about 5minutes to go with the ref counting on his fingers for him to show how many fouls he'd made. Ozturk chipped away at them throughout.
Good performance from Hibs, should have been out of sight before they equalised, well played Hibs.
Jdawg
03-01-2015, 02:01 PM
Mcgeough was excellent, strong, direct and composed.
03-01-2015, 02:02 PM
This game was at their hovel and we bossed them mostly - even outplayed them for periods. Stubbs is going to take this team much further - no doubt about that.
THE Rangers are the worst team out of the three of us. Hearts play all in with a backs to the wall attitude and have some good players. Hibs play at a higher level in periods and have several of the best players in the league. We look like the team with the most upside yet to come.
The Tubs
03-01-2015, 02:03 PM
Almost pointless playing with LS as a fullback like this as his delivery and use of the ball is so so poor at times...
Steady on pal.
I still have the cross etched on my memory as it was his first bad yin in weeks.
No doubt Stevenson will get stick for his one poor cross in the game that went straight into the stand but then what about the cross he put right on Cummings head and if he had hit the target we would have been two up
gaz1875
03-01-2015, 02:11 PM
Hibs were the only team trying to win, Hearts set out for a draw and scrapped one in the end, did Oxley make any saves other than cutting out crosses? Some good football at times but no real drives into the box until the last 5 minutes. Ref gave some incredibly soft fouls mostly in favour of these ****. Still plenty to play for and we are looking miles better than last season.
03-01-2015, 02:13 PM
Tough game to ref, but he created a rod for his back by booking too quickly and easily. Ref had nowhere to go once all the niggly fouls started creeping into match. Thought the Yams were resilient and showed why they will win the league. His were the better, more creative team and definitely on the up.
Agree it was a game I'd hate to referee, but let's not forget that Jason Cummings was very, very lucky not to have received a second yellow card for what can only be described as an unprofessional, juvenile petulant act, when he back heeled the ball away after being penalised.
He was already on a yellow card when he did this.
That act could have saw us with a man down and really put us under the pump.
He needs to grow up, and fast.
Another ref, on another day.........
03-01-2015, 02:13 PM
No doubt Stevenson will get stick for his one poor cross in the game that went straight into the stand but then what about the cross he put right on Cummings head and if he had hit the target we would have been two up
:agree: Nowt wrong with a couple of crosses going wrong FFS the guy was there to make them as well as defending - Lewis is massively improved and confident under AS and rightly MOTM today - it did look easier for Cummings to knock the header back across the keeper to score but hey, it happens - great cross though.
Thought we edged it as 2nd half they were far more in it.
Real positives for me were:-
1. We looked the more lively and willing team to win it
2. McGeoch returning showed some fantastic touches and quick feet. Huge boost.
3. Thought defensively we were very strong, except Hanlon misskick
4. Fans were immense and Hearts fans as quiet as I have heard them.
5. Boyle got into a few positions to score in the 15 mins he had.
We will miss Malonga and Gray but with Boyle in, McGeoch back and Booth playing well we will hopefully be ok this month. Foster and of course Farid due back soon and Stubbs expects some additions in window.
03-01-2015, 02:14 PM
Decent performance. Should have turned posession into goals in the first half. Stevenson's final ball was poor far too often. Centre halves played well along with Allan (bar set pieces), Gray and Booth and McGeouch when they came on. We need a striker pronto if Farud isn't fit though.
03-01-2015, 02:14 PM
it was nearer the touch line and it wasn't the scorer. Apart from that you're spot on.
Yes, you are right, Hanlon's sliced clearance fell to Eckersley who passed it back to Walker.
03-01-2015, 02:17 PM
Yes, you are right, Hanlon's sliced clearance fell to Eckersley who passed it back to Walker.
I honestly think that Hanlon was momentarily blinded by the sun which lead to the sliced clearance. Another case of nae luck Hibs.
03-01-2015, 02:17 PM
Dumbarton score at bigotbrox :greengrin
nish heads straight at the keeper could have been 2 :(
03-01-2015, 02:20 PM
Dumbarton score at bigotbrox :thumbsup:
Sending off, penalty and last minute winner all for the new boys - winner bundled over by McCulloch from 1 yard following an obvious foul in the 97th minute.
All before a capacity crowd
I honestly think that Hanlon was momentarily blinded by the sun which lead to the sliced clearance. Another case of nae luck Hibs.
He might have been but I think it's more down to the fact he's left footed and with him playing at the right hand side of the two centre halfs when the balls coming across him it's not onto his stronger side
hibbytam
03-01-2015, 02:20 PM
Decent performance. Should have turned posession into goals in the first half. Stevenson's final ball was poor far too often. Centre halves played well along with Allan (bar set pieces), Gray and Booth and McGeouch when they came on. We need a striker pronto if Farud isn't fit though.
Really? One terrible ball, but apart from that they were mostly ok.
Allans poor balls from freekicks were far more apparent. Someone with his abilities should be doing far better.
03-01-2015, 02:24 PM
Anyone else think we should've had a pen?
03-01-2015, 02:26 PM
Stubbs, but I think it's just you and him. It would have been extremely soft imho.
itslegaltender
03-01-2015, 02:28 PM
Gray should not have played. He pulled up in the pre natch warm up. Thought we played well today. Craig went quiet after his booking.
itslegaltender
03-01-2015, 02:28 PM
Handling definitely got taken out.
03-01-2015, 02:33 PM
All fairly predictable today. Could have written the script before the match.
Allan targeted for "the treatment". What was the point of the referee booking Gomis so late in the game after watching him commit foul after foul? Hearts, as a team, seem to be developing a bad reputation for diving all over the pitch too. Is this under instruction from Neilson or Potter I wonder?
If Cummings had scored to make it 2-0 Hibs may well have gone on to win, but he didn't.
I suppose we are still, realistically, playing for second place at the end of the season.
At least Hibs didn't lose the match. I'm always relieved at that.
I think it's just looking very familiar at the moment - we dominate, get a goal then dont know what to do with ourselves and let them back in. I certainly hope we can turn things around but if I'm honesty history is against us on this one.
He might have been but I think it's more down to the fact he's left footed and with him playing at the right hand side of the two centre halfs when the balls coming across him it's not onto his stronger side
Good point! We ended the game with 4 left sided defenders on the park with both Booth & Hanlon really playing out of position. Hanlon has performed extremely well on the right hand side but we need Forster back soon to restore a more balanced defence.
03-01-2015, 02:42 PM
Stubbs, but I think it's just you and him. It would have been extremely soft imho.
I would have given us it :greengrin
03-01-2015, 02:43 PM
No. I would have been livid if it had happened to one of them and they got awarded a penalty. Mind you wouldn't have been unhappy if we had got it.
03-01-2015, 02:44 PM
Missed opportunity IMO.
Played well enough. Just needed a bit more quality in the final third.
03-01-2015, 02:45 PM
Interesting to see them play for the draw at the end.
They're so desperate to go unbeaten that they could play out a few draws in the 2nd half of the season.
03-01-2015, 02:51 PM
Interesting to see them play for the draw at the end.
They're so desperate to go unbeaten that they could play out a few draws in the 2nd half of the season.
It's possible, but tbh they've got such a commanding lead that a series of draws will suit them just fine.
Shame we didn't get the win today, but seems like we are in good form. Onwards Hibs!
03-01-2015, 02:54 PM
Happy with what I seen . We were the better team. Hearts were terrible.
Mcgeoch played great when he came on and encouraging to have him back .
As usual hearts get rub of the green and skief a draw
03-01-2015, 02:57 PM
Thought we played well. Hearts clearly playing for a draw towards the end. When the momentum was with hibs they decided to make a sub to try stop the pressure.
03-01-2015, 03:02 PM
Hey, I'd have taken it.
03-01-2015, 03:06 PM
Hey, I'd have taken it.
Knowing Hibs luck in derby matches they would have missed it. :rolleyes:
03-01-2015, 03:08 PM
Knowing Hibs luck in derby matches they would have missed it. :rolleyes:
Then i would have given a retake. :wink::wink:
03-01-2015, 03:10 PM
Then i would have given a retake. :wink::wink:
:greengrin :aok:
03-01-2015, 03:11 PM
We can take our eye off the Jambos now, not that there was any real chance of catching them, and concentrate on guaranteeing at least 3rd or 4th, with a slight chance of catching sevco. Promotion via the playoffs would be great but even if we failed in the playoffs, a strong challenging team could see us as the Championship team to beat next season.
03-01-2015, 03:25 PM
I thought we were a bit soft today in 50 50s not coming out with the ball in those situations enough, less than they did. That for me plus the luck they enjoy comparatively is the difference between the teams. I'm therefore a wee bit disappointed that we bring in a slight built player in Boyle when what I think we need is someone who can put their weight about and boss the area of the pitch they play in. He will be easily shouldered off the ball so speed isn't going to come in to it so much an apparently that's what he has been brought in for, his speed. He won't get a chance to use it against Hearts the way that they play. Again Hibs drop their game in the second half, maybe this time we can say it was because of Gray going off but it isn't the first time we have been poorer in the second half compared with the first. Stubbs said pre match (nervously I thought) that he hopes we are stronger coming out of the window than going in to it. I hope the club backs him and we get some players in who can boss their area.
03-01-2015, 03:51 PM
I thought we were a bit soft today in 50 50s not coming out with the ball in those situations enough, less than they did. That for me plus the luck they enjoy comparatively is the difference between the teams. I'm therefore a wee bit disappointed that we bring in a slight built player in Boyle when what I think we need is someone who can put their weight about and boss the area of the pitch they play in. He will be easily shouldered off the ball so speed isn't going to come in to it so much an apparently that's what he has been brought in for, his speed. He won't get a chance to use it against Hearts the way that they play. Again Hibs drop their game in the second half, maybe this time we can say it was because of Gray going off but it isn't the first time we have been poorer in the second half compared with the first. Stubbs said pre match (nervously I thought) that he hopes we are stronger coming out of the window than going in to it. I hope the club backs him and we get some players in who can boss their area.
I'm sure Boyle was brought in to play in other games too.
03-01-2015, 03:56 PM
Whilst we were the better side we still dropped 2 points on Rangers, Falkirk and QOS. So whilst we never got beat other results were not good for us.
03-01-2015, 03:59 PM
No movement2
Rangers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers)
No movement3
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)
No movement4
Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)
No movement5
Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)
we really have to beat Falkirk next week, then try get a winning streak going, forget draws we need wins
03-01-2015, 03:59 PM
I don't think we were soft, we won plenty 50-50's, especially in the 1st half. I think where we struggled today was the end product. Too many sloppy crosses and from dead ball situations. Allan's free kicks in particular were poor. We also need to take chances in these big games. Cummings should have scored with the header and Stevenson could have shot a couple of times coming in from the left. Overall we played well, much better than them we just lacked a bit composure and cutting edge like we had against rangers.
The major concern in games like today is when we are on top for so long it can effect the players and nerves creep in, I think that happened today a bit.
We look like the team we should have been at the start of the season, play off spots look a given and we won't fear any team we are up against. Hearts have won the league, we will concentrate on 2nd now and I think we will go on a pretty good run now.
03-01-2015, 04:01 PM
I'm sure Boyle was brought in to play in other games too.
Boyle got in good positions today seconds after coming on. He is quick and will add a bit more to our team IMO, hibs like to pass and a fast player making runs stretches defences, exactly what we need.
03-01-2015, 04:10 PM
Considering we were playing with 10 men until McGeogh came on, we did ok.
If we took a few more long range shots, maybe we'd get a few more goals like Hearts keep on getting against us.
03-01-2015, 04:11 PM
Just seen cummings on twitter thanking hearts for releasing him as a boy, said he has been waiting for that goal for years :greengrin
03-01-2015, 04:21 PM
No movement2
Rangers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers)
No movement3
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)
No movement4
Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)
No movement5
Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)
we really have to beat Falkirk next week, then try get a winning streak going, forget draws we need wins
:agree: Yip, we need a couple of players who are more ruthless to turn these draws into wins. Handling, in particular, takes no responsibility, hides, and makes backwards passes all the time when he should be going forward and attacking the oppostion. Look at the four goals against Rangers - he stood still while just about everyone else was prepared to break forward (yet he is meant to be an attacking midfielder). And if he receives the ball, he gets rid of it as quickly as he can, often straight back to the player who passed to him.
If we could get someone in his position who wants to run at defences and shoot on site, that would certainly help.
Turkish Green
03-01-2015, 04:23 PM
The trouble with the 3 pts for a win scenario is that 3 draws is the same as 1 win and 2 defeats. Draws are no good in the long run if they are followed by defeats. The Huns, QOTS, Falkirk and Raith all won today so good display as it was today it still was 2 pts lost against our nearest rivals.
03-01-2015, 04:23 PM
If we took a few more long range shots, maybe we'd get a few more goals like Hearts keep on getting against us.
Were we? Must have missed that. I think you'd still have a dig even if we'd won 7-0.
Who was the 11th man?
03-01-2015, 04:26 PM
Were we? Must have missed that. I think you'd still have a dig even if we'd won 7-0.
To single out Handling, who I thought was very decent, is strange although not entirely unexpected. He's an easy target.
03-01-2015, 04:28 PM
To single out Handling, who I thought was very decent, is strange although not entirely unexpected. He's an easy target.
Yeah, thought Danny did well today. Great that McGeouch is back though.
The Sundance Kid
03-01-2015, 04:31 PM
:agree: Not always his biggest fan but thought he was one of our best players before going off, definitely does not deserve criticism after today's performance
03-01-2015, 04:32 PM
Yeah, thought Danny did well today. Great that McGeouch is back though.
Absolutely.
A fit McGeough for Handling is an easy decision for Stubbs but DH will continue to develop and is turning into a decent player imo.
03-01-2015, 04:34 PM
Absolutely.
A fit McGeough for Handling is an easy decision for Stubbs but DH will continue to develop and is turning into a decent player imo.
Agree, McGeough is the first choice, but DH played well again today
03-01-2015, 04:44 PM
The trouble with the 3 pts for a win scenario is that 3 draws is the same as 1 win and 2 defeats. Draws are no good in the long run if they are followed by defeats. The Huns, QOTS, Falkirk and Raith all won today so good display as it was today it still was 2 pts lost against our nearest rivals.
No real point looking week to week. The others had easier games at home this week. I'm confident we will be at least 3rd. After the start we had we have to accept that we aren't where we probably should be with this team.
03-01-2015, 04:45 PM
classic pish.
Nomeancity
03-01-2015, 04:46 PM
Agree with some of this. At one point during the second half I was cursing their jammy luck again, every 50/50 would fall to them, every 2nd ball would fall to them, every ping pong ball (cant spell rick o'shay) would fall to them. But then watched some of it again when I got home and I think it was just that they were that bit hungrier in the 2nd half. If you go into a challenge thinking you are going to win it, them maybe chances are you will win it more often then you lose it.
In the first half we didn't need to be hungrier because we were just so much better than them - better players were shining. Luck does even itself out - maybe we just need to be a bit more streetwise in these games
Allan45
03-01-2015, 04:47 PM
We can take our eye off the Jambos now, not that there was any real chance of catching them, and concentrate on guaranteeing at least 3rd or 4th, with a slight chance of catching sevco. Promotion via the playoffs would be great but even if we failed in the playoffs, a strong challenging team could see us as the Championship team to beat next season.
Agree, but would love to finish 2nd now....:flag: