View Full Version : The Official Save Our Season Transfer Deadline Thread:

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

paul_hfc3
01-09-2014, 11:40 PM
One thing that no one can defend is our striker situation it's absolutely horrific. And We've made no new signings to solve this nightmare that people were *****ing themselves about and rightly so.

Not at you mate at the board, it was meant to be a sarcastic remark because they were reading the boards, I was just saying so what if they are, maybe they'll see the anger.

I hope they do see the anger. I'm beyond fuming now. Better not keep posting or I'll end up banned!

But Petrie does have a cold, dead hand...so...

Is that not Jeremy Beadle?

I can't see Alan Stubbs settling for mediocrity.

The trouble is, what you say is what has been said for years now. Nothing changes.

01-09-2014, 11:41 PM
Can anyone defending our lack of transfer activity please tell us who is going to score goals for us this season?

The board had one remit, even before El Alagui's injury. Sign a proven goalscoring striker. They have failed to deliver.

No goals = no wins. Our transfer activity IS indefensible.

kevo1875
01-09-2014, 11:42 PM
One thing that no one can defend is our striker situation it's absolutely horrific. And We've made no new signings to solve this nightmare that people were *****ing themselves about and rightly so.

Our options are young boys and a guy i could outrun with my legs tied together

01-09-2014, 11:43 PM
I hope they do see the anger. I'm beyond fuming now. Better not keep posting or I'll end up banned!

Leeann was sent lots of nasty tweets, emails and texts after Alloa. I would hate to see the level of abuse aimed at her Tomorrow.....I hope she is thick-skinned, although I don't agree with her being sent nasty stuff, no need for that whatsoever.....

01-09-2014, 11:45 PM
If we had signed Sparky, then it would have appeased many

We still would have been short of a good squad....but we would have had someone to win us games out of nothing

Someone to give us some hope

Look at our strikers and there goals tally....add to that our shortness in depth plus a poor start to the league (coupled with hearts and Rangers good start)

All in all, a total muck up by Hibs

Ive actually almost lost all interested

01-09-2014, 11:45 PM
Don't mean to be rude but that's easy to say when you live in New Zealand and don't have to suffer week in week out going to s***holes like Alloa, Cowdenbeath etc

That's not your best post for a number of reasons :wink:

WellingtonHibby
01-09-2014, 11:47 PM
I would be saying the same thing if I was in Edinburgh and going to ER and various assorted s***holes!

But you are right and maybe being a wee bit away helps add some distance and perspective to all things Hibs.

I too live in Wellington and can confirm that i am ****ing raging at the shambles that is my club:rolleyes:

01-09-2014, 11:52 PM
This is all getting a bit silly. We've signed well this window and there's still free signings to be had. People need to chill out a bit - Celtic were never up for letting him come to us so we signed the quick saints lad instead and are apparently looking to sign a target man to replace Farid on a free.

Writing off the saints lad without him having even kicked a ball yet is stupid. Who's to say he won't be the next sparky?

01-09-2014, 11:55 PM
;4153948']This is all getting a bit silly. We've signed well this window and there's still free signings to be had. People need to chill out a bit - Celtic were never up for letting him come to us so we signed the quick saints lad instead and are apparently looking to sign a target man to replace Farid on a free.

Writing off the saints lad without him having even kicked a ball yet is stupid. Who's to say he won't be the next sparky?

Thats the point tho - hes totally unproven

Why are we asked to pay top dollar, and again get unproven....and again, on loan?

01-09-2014, 11:55 PM
Leeann was sent lots of nasty tweets, emails and texts after Alloa. I would hate to see the level of abuse aimed at her Tomorrow.....I hope she is thick-skinned, although I don't agree with her being sent nasty stuff, no need for that whatsoever.....

No way am I condoning any messages of an abusive nature, either aimed at the club or personal. I do hope however that the club/board take not of what's being said on this forum. If they continue to ignore us then they can wave goodbye to season ticket sales next season.

Glasgow Hibee
01-09-2014, 11:57 PM
Same old same old. After 34 years supporting Hibs, I've had enough. The NFL season is about to start and I going to try to immerse myself in that and try to ignore and forget the debacle that is HFC and scottish football in general. We and it are frankly just an embarrasment now.

As Einstein said, "Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results". That's what following hibs has been like for at least the last 5 years.

01-09-2014, 11:57 PM
;4153948']This is all getting a bit silly. We've signed well this window and there's still free signings to be had. People need to chill out a bit - Celtic were never up for letting him come to us so we signed the quick saints lad instead and are apparently looking to sign a target man to replace Farid on a free.

This is thread is not about our failure to sign Griffiths. It's about the board not following through with their promises!

02-09-2014, 12:00 AM

Why are we asked to pay top dollar, and again get unproven....and again, on loan?

He is. But so was sparky at our level when we signed him. And who's to say we won't sign a couple of "proven" players on free signings?

wazoo1875
02-09-2014, 12:03 AM

That's poor stuff likes, as much as she is now holding the can I wouldn't go that far myself. The board have to take responsibility tho. This window has been a disaster in so much as the "quality over quantity" pish was served up. Once again we've been taken for fannies

02-09-2014, 12:04 AM
;4153956']He is. But so was sparky at our level when we signed him. And who's to say we won't sign a couple of "proven" players on free signings?

You think we have a squad to challenge for the league?

That should have been our aim

We have no ambition.

Fair play to those who bought season tickets but the fact remains that we are down on season ticket sales by 2200 from this time last season. That's a financial black hole of 440,000 if you estimate 200 pounds per season ticket.

You say we are paying top dollar.

I'm interested - how much is that?

wazoo1875
02-09-2014, 12:07 AM

22quid a week whilst not quite extortionate is not too far off it to watch Cowdenbeath, alloa and dare I say Hibs!!

02-09-2014, 12:11 AM

Our STs are right up at the top end of cost in the Championship and considerably higher than several Premiership teams. A visit to a few teams websites confirms that.

Most were happy to pay thay additional cost as we were promised a team to compete for the title.

That promise has not been delivered.

02-09-2014, 12:11 AM

HIBS

Season Ticket Membership Prices are as follows:

East/ West/ Famous Five Upper

Adult: £405

Famous Five Lower

Adult: £355

Id say thats top dollar for the Scottish Championship

02-09-2014, 12:12 AM
You think we have a squad to challenge for the league?

That should have been our aim

We have no ambition.

I think our squad certainly has the ability to be up there challenging. I'm not 100% convinced they think they can do it though. And we definitely do need someone to replace Farid but everyone's acting like we've missed our chance to do that but we can still sign free agents - the same market we got Farid in.

Until the free transfer window is shut I won't be jumping the gun.

02-09-2014, 12:13 AM
http://s1376.photobucket.com/user/mondieuhibees/media/WhateversAffordableMonDieu_zpsa13b7953.gif.html

02-09-2014, 12:18 AM
http://s1376.photobucket.com/user/mondieuhibees/media/WhateversAffordableMonDieu_zpsa13b7953.gif.html

Hahaha!! Brilliant!! Has slightly brightened my mood. Well done sir.

02-09-2014, 12:19 AM
:top marks :aok:

02-09-2014, 12:20 AM
;4153971']I think our squad certainly has the ability to be up there challenging. I'm not 100% convinced they think they can do it though. And we definitely do need someone to replace Farid but everyone's acting like we've missed our chance to do that but we can still sign free agents - the same market we got Farid in.

Until the free transfer window is shut I won't be jumping the gun.oh dear. so, the actual transfer window is closed, we've signed a couple on loan but don't be despondent as we can always rely on an as yet undefined gem, who happens to be a free agent ,that somehow slipped under the radar of predator football agents/managers/well financed clubs blah blah. oh well, there's always that.

02-09-2014, 12:20 AM
:hyper:

I wish I could be :hyper:

02-09-2014, 12:22 AM
Our STs are right up at the top end of cost in the Championship and considerably higher than several Premiership teams. A visit to a few teams websites confirms that.

Most were happy to pay thay additional cost as we were promised a team to compete for the title.

That promise has not been delivered.

HIBS

Famous Five Lower

Rangers - you can get an adult season ticket for £250
Hearts - from £260
Hibs - from £355 (FF), so most of the ground covered by the £405 bracket
Falkirk - from £225 (though you can get a 'family' adult + kid ticket for £200)
Livingston - from £180
Alloa - from £180
Raith Rovers - from £230
Cowdenbeath - £210
Queen of the South - £272
Dumbarton - £235

02-09-2014, 12:22 AM
http://s1376.photobucket.com/user/mondieuhibees/media/WhateversAffordableMonDieu_zpsa13b7953.gif.htmlunb elievably guid sur! :greengrin

02-09-2014, 12:25 AM
I love Hibs but how you guys go every game...

02-09-2014, 12:26 AM
The arrivals of loan signings Dylan McGeouch from Celtic and Jake Sinclair from Southampton have now been completed before the closure of the summer transfer window.
Both players will be available for selection for Hibernian’s next match against Cowdenbeath at Easter Road on Saturday 13 September, kick off 3pm (click here to buy tickets (https://www.eticketing.co.uk/hibernianfc/default.aspx)).
The club can also confirm that midfielder Owain Tudur Jones has been released from his contract by mutual consent.
The Wales internationalist, 29, joined Hibernian at the end of May 2013 and recorded 19 appearances during his stay at Easter Road.
Everybody at the club would like to wish Owain all the best as he embarks on the next chapter of his career.
Jones’ departure concludes Hibernian’s activity within the summer transfer window.
Arrivals
Mark Oxley – loan from Hull City
David Gray
Liam Fontaine
Scott Allan
Matthew Kennedy – loan from Everton
Dylan McGeouch – loan from Celtic
Jake Sinclair – loan from Southampton
Farid El Alagui
Departures
Michael Nelson – Cambridge United
James Collins – Shrewsbury Town
Ryan McGivern – Port Vale
Owain Tudur Jones – contract terminated by mutual consent

02-09-2014, 12:29 AM
Young whatsispus frae Southampton whose name I've forgotten already ......... what did it say "he was a REGULAR for Southampton under 21s last season and scored 5 ......... FIVE ........... goals"

Ooooooooohhhhhhhhhhh .......... ah canny wait.

No ambition

No decent signings

No fkng idea

That wind of change must have been a massive fart from Petrie's ******** ..... lets hope it wisnae a smelly yin.

02-09-2014, 12:30 AM
The arrivals of loan signings Dylan McGeouch from Celtic and Jake Sinclair from Southampton have now been completed before the closure of the summer transfer window.
Both players will be available for selection for Hibernian’s next match against Cowdenbeath at Easter Road on Saturday 13 September, kick off 3pm (click here to buy tickets (https://www.eticketing.co.uk/hibernianfc/default.aspx)).
The club can also confirm that midfielder Owain Tudur Jones has been released from his contract by mutual consent.
The Wales internationalist, 29, joined Hibernian at the end of May 2013 and recorded 19 appearances during his stay at Easter Road.
Everybody at the club would like to wish Owain all the best as he embarks on the next chapter of his career.
Jones’ departure concludes Hibernian’s activity within the summer transfer window.
Arrivals
David Gray
Liam Fontaine
Scott Allan
Farid El Alagui
Departures

Quality over quantity :wink: The winds of change ?

GTF Hibs you've mugged us all off again. :bye:

02-09-2014, 12:33 AM
Rangers - you can get an adult season ticket for £250
Hearts - from £260
Hibs - from £355 (FF), so most of the ground covered by the £405 bracket
Falkirk - from £225 (though you can get a 'family' adult + kid ticket for £200)
Livingston - from £180
Alloa - from £180
Raith Rovers - from £230
Cowdenbeath - £210
Queen of the South - £272
Dumbarton - £235

It's worth pointing out though that the cheaper seats at other stadiums won't be "as good" as the cheaper seats at Easter Road.

I still think we should've lowered prices though and gone for quantity over quality supporters :greengrin

02-09-2014, 12:37 AM
Arrivals
David Gray
Liam Fontaine
Scott Allan
Farid El Alagui
Departures

Yes, that's right Leanne. We are moving away from loan deals because they are not value for money. Your words not ours. Laughable. In one day you've just lost even more fans that will be unlikely to return!

kevo1875
02-09-2014, 12:47 AM
Well done hibs ..when we needed a lift u delivered a kick to the balls instead ..nothing new tho ..enjoy my money as it won't be happening again ..

Gus
02-09-2014, 06:48 AM
Maybe Hibs have tried to buy players but the players don't want to sign a perm deal.

02-09-2014, 06:48 AM
Yes, that's right Leanne. We are moving away from loan deals because they are not value for money. Your words not ours. Laughable. In one day you've just lost even more fans that will be unlikely to return!
Yes promised quality over quantity and we get neither.

02-09-2014, 06:54 AM
Maybe Hibs have tried to buy players but the players don't want to sign a perm deal.

If this was the case then why not put something on their page/twitter or even on here as they have an account, telling the fans they are trying to sign this or that player, give us the names of these players of quality we've beeen trying to sign.

02-09-2014, 07:01 AM
Cheapest ST at Old Trafford is £525 but Hibs think charging £405 and signing loaners and kids from reserve teams is quality signing. Hibernian you have let me down once to often. I've renewed my ST this year but sadly I'm out. If the STF and the board don't care why should I bother! you've actually made it easier to give up on Hibs than to keep going. LD promised change but it's the same crap said differently. Hibernian board you are a disgrace

Time For Heroes
02-09-2014, 09:55 AM
http://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/2013/jan/17/football-ticket-prices-premier-league-europe

Just adding to the Season ticket dwbate, makes for interesting reading.

02-09-2014, 10:32 AM

FFS, why are you making excuses for these incompetent buffoons that are running our club into the ground?

I watched Hearts get all their targets in EARLY, and even the ones who are 2nd choice like Keatings has scored goals at this level, which was proved when he came in for the suspended Sow and scored a hattrick.

We on the other hand can't find anyone who wants to sign for us, aye right. :rolleyes:

02-09-2014, 10:38 AM
FFS, why are you making excuses for these incompetent buffoons that are running our club into the ground?

I watched Hearts get all their targets in EARLY, and even the ones who are 2nd choice like Keatings has scored goals at this level, which was proved when he came in for the suspended Sow and scored a hattrick.

We on the other hand can't find anyone who wants to sign for us, aye right. :rolleyes:

Hearts have already proved that it is possible to get in a decent number of 'quality' players (argue with 'quality' if you like, but they're top of the league with 4 wins from 4).

Hibs gave us the mantra of 'quality over quantity'. To me, that is another typical Hibs bullsh*t phrase to excuse their penny pinching. Our policy has now backfired as the only goalscorer we had is now out for months.

To me, our season is now all about developing our young players so they'll be ready for a promotion push in a year or two. I think that was the plan all along.

02-09-2014, 12:09 PM

Hearts have already proved that it is possible to get in a decent number of 'quality' players (argue with 'quality' if you like, but they're top of the league with 4 wins from 4).

Hibs gave us the mantra of 'quality over quantity'. To me, that is another typical Hibs bullsh*t phrase to excuse their penny pinching. Our policy has now backfired as the only goalscorer we had is now out for months.

To me, our season is now all about developing our young players so they'll be ready for a promotion push in a year or two. I think that was the plan all along.

That was the plan all along, but what they don't realise is we will be even more raging when we finish 5th or 6th at the end of the season,and they'll still be picking up the players nobody else wants on the last day,January is to late to save our season as we will be too far behind to catch up,we have missed the boat to the SPL this season

02-09-2014, 12:16 PM
Hibs boss Alan Stubbs hopes the season-long loan deals of Dylan McGeouch and Jake Sinclair will give his side a greater goal threat. (Scottish Daily Express)

Really Stubbs?

02-09-2014, 12:16 PM

Don't worry, either the board or a Petrie apologist will soon invent the myth that Hearts still pay higher wages than us, even though they don't. That'll be Hibs excuse #231326.

02-09-2014, 12:19 PM
Hibs boss Alan Stubbs hopes the season-long loan deals of Dylan McGeouch and Jake Sinclair will give his side a greater goal threat. (Scottish Daily Express)

Really Stubbs?

It's true that we need to get some goals from somewhere else other than Farid. We had to do that anyway, we can't rely on one person.

Hopefully these guys give us a different avenue to make goals and we can replace Farid as well.

02-09-2014, 12:21 PM

What quality have hearts brought in that we haven't?

02-09-2014, 12:22 PM

Really Stubbs?

What else can he say?

He's probably as frustrated as anyone.

02-09-2014, 12:38 PM
;4154824']What quality have hearts brought in that we haven't?

Quality that has them winning games.

02-09-2014, 12:41 PM
;4154824']What quality have hearts brought in that we haven't?

Alexander, Buaben and Gomis to name three.

02-09-2014, 06:19 PM
Alexander, Buaben and Gomis to name three.

Did any of Buaben or Gomis get a big move to a premiership team?

Is Alexander really that good? He struggled with rangers.

02-09-2014, 06:21 PM
And who knows what Mcgeouch is like but he could well be better than both of them like Allan is.

02-09-2014, 06:23 PM
;4155435']Did any of Buaben or Gomis get a big move to a premiership team?

4 wins out of 4, beaten us and beaten 2 of the teams that beat us.

That kind of quality i'd guess?

02-09-2014, 06:28 PM
Quality that has them winning games.

What has them winning games is their togetherness and confidence from the end of last season. The new signings haven't taken long to bed in because it's easy to fit into a team on a high.

We're missing a bit of arrogance and confidence that comes from a good run of results.
Our guys are playing within themselves.

02-09-2014, 06:32 PM
4 wins out of 4, beaten us and beaten 2 of the teams that beat us.

That kind of quality i'd guess?

Come on mate. They've started well but they'll take a tumble some point. They've hardly signed messi and Ronaldo. We've signed players as good if not better than theirs, they're working better as a team at the moment.

02-09-2014, 06:35 PM
;4155435']Did any of Buaben or Gomis get a big move to a premiership team?

They've added quality to their squad, it's a fact get over it and stop using a big move to the premiership as some sort of dampener on who they have signed..

02-09-2014, 06:37 PM
They've added quality to their squad, it's a fact get over it and stop using a big move to the premiership as some sort of dampener on who they have signed..

They have, but so have we. That's my point.

02-09-2014, 06:41 PM
;4155487']They have, but so have we. That's my point.

Okay fair enough mate I missed your point, hopefully our signings will have the same impact eventually.

02-09-2014, 06:51 PM
HIBS

Famous Five Lower

Thanks for that.

'Top dollar' usually refers to the most expensive or the highest price and I think there are more expensive tickets at two other clubs in this division, that's why I asked.

I don't disagree it's a lot of money - but then I suppose it's scary to contemplate what a more reduced player budget would like too.

02-09-2014, 09:52 PM
;4155473']Come on mate. They've started well but they'll take a tumble some point. They've hardly signed messi and Ronaldo. We've signed players as good if not better than theirs, they're working better as a team at the moment.

Its only you who's mentioned messi and ronaldo, i'm never expecting quality like that. :greengrin I see a hearts team thats gritty with a little skill thrown in for good measure. We are as soft as we always are, and when the silky football is failing we have nothing left.

Add in we now have no goalscorer worth mentioning, our tumble could last for a lot longer yet?

gegs70
02-09-2014, 11:32 PM
;4153971']I think our squad certainly has the ability to be up there challenging. I'm not 100% convinced they think they can do it though. And we definitely do need someone to replace Farid but everyone's acting like we've missed our chance to do that but we can still sign free agents - the same market we got Farid in.

Until the free transfer window is shut I won't be jumping the gun.

I think like hearts we should have had all of our players in place at the start of the season? Unfortunately we always seem to be playing catch up ? We seem to be sufferinbg a similar problem as last season a distinct lack of goals...that worries me a lot!!

02-09-2014, 11:35 PM
Thanks for that.

'Top dollar' usually refers to the most expensive or the highest price and I think there are more expensive tickets at two other clubs in this division, that's why I asked.

I don't disagree it's a lot of money - but then I suppose it's scary to contemplate what a more reduced player budget would like too.

Your right - 495GBP is the highest price standard adult ST I can see at Ibrox

I cant see Hearts prices on their website, as they have 'sold out'

Considering the players Rangers have in comparision to us, id suggest we must have the worst value for money ST in our league

We have sold 7200, which I think is incredible giving the cost

How much were Hearts charging?

02-09-2014, 11:37 PM
I think like hearts we should have had all of our players in place at the start of the season? Unfortunately we always seem to be playing catch up ? We seem to be sufferinbg a similar problem as last season a distinct lack of goals...that worries me a lot!!

Why are we still looking for essential players in September?

Our recruitment policy is a joke

02-09-2014, 11:41 PM

I absolutely agree with this. We should've been. We took far too long to sack butcher. If they were going to sack him it should've been right after relegation. Then we'd have had more time to prepare.

Instead we had a new guy still making judgements on current players at the seasons start. Players who perhaps should've been moved on.

JimboHibs
06-01-2023, 09:40 AM
Still going over the same in 2023.

06-01-2023, 10:43 AM
Still going over the same in 2023.

A fair bit of water passed under the bridge between this post and the one before it though, no?

Chorley Hibee
06-01-2023, 10:59 AM
Jake Sinclair, now there's a blast from the past.

Another loan signing from England that really lit up the place. 🙄

Currently playing with Mangotsfield United in the 9th tier of English football.

Still only 28 too.

Tommy75
06-01-2023, 11:36 AM
A fair bit of water passed under the bridge between this post and the one before it though, no?

Just a bit - Scottish Cup win, 3rd place finish, highest top flight points tally, few decent results in Europe...

Lets pretend it has been doom and gloom since 2014, more fun that way for some.

06-01-2023, 11:53 AM
A good read that. And a timely reminder to have a little patience when things are not going well.
Moaning about a transfer window which gave us Scotty Allan, SDG and Dylan. 😄