View Full Version : Season ticket boycott!

Pages : 1 2 [3]

WHUHibs
01-04-2014, 11:29 AM
If they can renew and decide not to, then they are less of a supporter insofar as you are not actively supporting the club. It's not a moral judgement, it's simple fact. If you decide not go when you physically can go, then you are by definition less of a supporter than someone who does go. For clarity I'm defining supporter as someone who both contributes to the club financially and goes to support the team at Easter Road, which isn't too contentious definition.

For example, the guy I went to games with who was an ST holder ten years ago, who now goes once or twice a season is still a Hibs fan, but he's not as committed a supporter as he was.

It's not a simple fact and you can apply a different view. Let's say you have x allocated from your budget to spend on entertainment for you and your family. You then decide what is best value for money and you spend it wisely and therefore you pick your games and that's quite sensible. No supporter has unlimited money so they can chose what is best for them so it's not a matter of whether you can afford to. So it's not a simple fact as you state.

Twa Cairpets
01-04-2014, 11:39 AM
It's not a simple fact and you can apply a different view. Let's say you have x allocated from your budget to spend on entertainment for you and your family. You then decide what is best value for money and you spend it wisely and therefore you pick your games and that's quite sensible. No supporter has unlimited money so they can chose what is best for them so it's not a matter of whether you can afford to. So it's not a simple fact as you state.

FFS. Read what I've said.

My initial reply to your post:

Actually, it's fairly black and white that if you are able, financially, to renew and don't, then for whatever reason you are demonstrably less committed than someone who does.

01-04-2014, 11:40 AM

my kids would rather go swimming at the WHEC,that's how bad we are the now

01-04-2014, 11:45 AM
I don't know why you're having a pop. The line after your highlight (Tornado) said "this is not a value judgement on your decision...".

I've not the slightest problem in people doing other things with their money - why should I? I don't think they're less of a person if they decide not to go to Hibs games. As I also said, if I had decided not to renew, there is no way I could describe my commitment to Hibs being the same as it was this season or any of the last 20 or so I've had an ST. I also wouldn't have been as committed as my mates who did renew, as I know I wouldn't have gone to as many games. Ergo, less committed. I've any number of mates who don't go to games now because of family, other sport, whatever, and I don't think any less of them because they, as you say, have different likes/dislikes etc, and absolutely don't "expect them to simply do what I do". What an absurd notion. However, there is absolutely no doubt whatsoever that in terms of commitment to being a Hibs supporter, mine is greater than there's. I dont see what is contentious about that. If it gets to the point where my enjoyment at watching Hibs is less than what I term value for money (and equally value for time), then I'll simply not go, and I will accept that I am less committed than I used to be.

As for "my" description of commitment, I was responding to a previous post - it helps to look back at the thread before you get all indignant! :wink:

I did not realise i was having a pop, but apologies if you took it that way. I agree 100% that those renewing are showing more commitment than those who dont, thats really not up for question in my eyes.

Its the snide remarks, the little digs that are thrown out at those who have not renewed that i find funny. As i said i did not renew last season, and i'm big enough and ugly enough to answer questions on why that was the case. And so have most of those who have given their individual reasons for doing so.

What we should be doing is trying our best to encourage every lapsed supporter back, its not as if they have another football team they can go and support, but no. It seems to me some folk are getting angry at those who have turned their back on the club, and i agree that is what they are doing.

Unless we unite as a support, the return to better days will be longer and harder in my opinion.

Twa Cairpets
01-04-2014, 11:52 AM
I did not realise i was having a pop, but apologies if you took it that way. I agree 100% that those renewing are showing more commitment than those who dont, thats really not up for question in my eyes.

Its the snide remarks, the little digs that are thrown out at those who have not renewed that i find funny. As i said i did not renew last season, and i'm big enough and ugly enough to answer questions on why that was the case. And so have most of those who have given their individual reasons for doing so.

What we should be doing is trying our best to encourage every lapsed supporter back, its not as if they have another football team they can go and support, but no. It seems to me some folk are getting angry at those who have turned their back on the club, and i agree that is what they are doing.

Unless we unite as a support, the return to better days will be longer and harder in my opinion.

It was actually more Tornado, but rather than reply separately I lumped my reply to him in with yours - apologies for the misunderstanding.

I agree with the rest of your post totally. The only things that gets me is for some people to claim a moral high ground about not renewing or doing it to teach the club a lesson or some such.

01-04-2014, 11:54 AM

Cmoan back then:greengrin

01-04-2014, 11:58 AM
Cmoan back then:greengrin

After watching that pish. :greengrin

01-04-2014, 12:14 PM
Just renewed this morning x3 in the famous 5.

01-04-2014, 12:24 PM
Quite clearly you don't know me as I would have no intention of shouting at you. A shouter on the tread perhaps you need to have a word with yourself. Expressing how I feel is not shouting and I won't criticise anyone who wants to express an opinion or statement.I don't think I am any less committed than anyone else if I choose after 35 years not to renew. A message board is for posting feelings and nowhere in my posts have a suggested others not to buy.
As I expected you are happy to bring people down and make assumptions but won't have the nerve to discuss by calling me as you now have my number.
So to make it clear- I am not suggesting to anyone not to buy and it's my own personal decision.. Hope that's clear enough for you to understand and please stop personal attacks against me by making untrue assumptions and claims.

Change the record. There was no personal attack, other than by you on me re me supposedly getting my kicks out of questioning your commitment. Like it or not, doing that, in capitals, on a forum is shouting. Challenging someone to discuss via a phone call verges on something potentially worse than a forum personal attack.

You choose not to renew? Absolutely your decision, nothing to do with me or anyone else.

Someone else chooses to renew? Unquestionably, they are now more committed to Hibs than you (unless you fund Hibs in other ways) regardless of your own conflicting priorities.

But to start a thread looking for shared stories on why not to renew? Like it or not, that's a clarion call for people to join you in your decision not to renew. AKA a boycott, whether you like it or not.

01-04-2014, 12:25 PM
I'm in doubt about renewing the season ticket. I've never been in a position financially to have the choice in the past. I've bought a season for three of the past four years and it's been ****ing torture to watch. The best thing about games has been seeing my pal (s) and having a blether.

I think I'll retain the right to wait and see what happens and then consider buying a half season. Each to their own on this issue. No one has the right to judge others commitment to Hibs based on purchasing a season ticket. That's a rather narrow parameter in my view.

01-04-2014, 12:30 PM
I wont be renewing till find out what the singings butcher makes

Does anyone know if he has a decent voice?

Will he be singing before the match or during half-time?

I won't be buying a Season Ticket until I know the full details.

:rules:

p.s. Apologies if english isn't your first language (which seems likely) but it would be grammatically correcter (:wink:) to have used the word 'songs'. The rest of the sentence I'll let you off with.

01-04-2014, 12:34 PM
Does anyone know if he has a decent voice?

Will he be singing before the match or during half-time?

I won't be buying a Season Ticket until I know the full details.

:rules:

p.s. Apologies if english isn't your first language (which seems likely) but it would be grammatically correcter (:wink:) to have used the word 'songs'. The rest of the sentence I'll let you off with.

01-04-2014, 03:00 PM
If they can renew and decide not to, then they are less of a supporter insofar as you are not actively supporting the club. It's not a moral judgement, it's simple fact. If you decide not go when you physically can go, then you are by definition less of a supporter than someone who does go. For clarity I'm defining supporter as someone who both contributes to the club financially and goes to support the team at Easter Road, which isn't too contentious definition.

For example, the guy I went to games with who was an ST holder ten years ago, who now goes once or twice a season is still a Hibs fan, but he's not as committed a supporter as he was.

It's actually not a fact at all, it's simply your opinion on something that you don't (necessarily) possess all of the relevant facts about! :confused:

If you can't see and accept that then so be it but then at least we all then know that the quality of your opinion in terms of preparatory assessment of relevant and important knowledge about the issue could be better! :rolleyes:

erskine-hibby
01-04-2014, 03:17 PM
I've not bought a season ticket for my 52 years, so I suppose that doesn't make me a supporter, regardless of all the games I've been to or all the merchandise I have bought?

Twa Cairpets
01-04-2014, 03:26 PM
I've not bought a season ticket for my 52 years, so I suppose that doesn't make me a supporter, regardless of all the games I've been to or all the merchandise I have bought?

No. Nobody is suggesting anything of the sort as far as I can make out?
If you stop going (assuming you are financially and physically capable of doing so) then you will not be as strong/dedicated/interested a supporter as you have been previously.

WHUHibs
01-04-2014, 04:40 PM
FFS. Read what I've said.

My initial reply to your post:

Actually, it's fairly black and white that if you are able, financially, to renew and don't, then for whatever reason you are demonstrably less committed than someone who does.

Again that's not right,,,so what happens if I have been buying season tickets for 35 years at an average of x ,,I then take a break for a season and choose my games how does that make me less committed...actually if you add a strip, plus Xmas merchandise, occasional hospitality, Perhaps my £20 per month on lottery doesn't count,,am I not contributing enough to make me as committed as other fans. You argument doesn't stack up and that's black and white!
I perhaps choose how I spend my money, I work hard as we all do to earn a crust and certainly I don't feel uncommitted!

Twa Cairpets
01-04-2014, 05:27 PM
Again that's not right,,,so what happens if I have been buying season tickets for 35 years at an average of x ,,I then take a break for a season and choose my games how does that make me less committed...actually if you add a strip, plus Xmas merchandise, occasional hospitality, Perhaps my £20 per month on lottery doesn't count,,am I not contributing enough to make me as committed as other fans. You argument doesn't stack up and that's black and white!
I perhaps choose how I spend my money, I work hard as we all do to earn a crust and certainly I don't feel uncommitted!

Good grief.
Take your first sentence.
If you go for 35 years, then don't go for a season, then for that season you are less committed. Tell me why that is wrong. You don't get to store up commitment points.
If your break then extends to 2 or 3 or 10 years, at what point do you declare that that person has used up their stock?

For the umpteenth time, its not a reflection on what you've done as a supporter in the past. If you stop paying to go to the games (supporting them financially) and stop physically being there (supporting them as a member of the crowd), then you are supporting them less (again with the caveat that you physically and financially could go). It doesn't mean you are a lesser person, you've just decided that their are other things you want to do more with your dosh, which is absolutely fine. But you can't claim you are still as committed, because the the two things you can do actually do as a fan to demonstrate that commitment - give your time and money - have stopped.

01-04-2014, 06:02 PM
I did not renew last season, as my health was suffering watching that dross. Cliches are all well and good, but reality does have to come into consideration when adding up whether you do things you cannot afford or indeed can afford.

Each and every person is an individual, and their personal reasons are valid to them whether they buy or not. I applaud each and every person who continues to support the club and contribute by buying a season ticket, what i won't do though is knock anyone ( not saying you are ) who has not.

Especially if they have put more years in than they care to mention.

Our club need as many people through the door as humanly possible, and dividing the fans is not going to help.

Agree with this. :agree: Buy or renew, if you can. I have renewed, despite all the pain and disappointments, but I'm not looking for any medals for doing so. It's clear many supporters have reached the end of their tether after Sunday, and I don't blame them if they don't buy/renew. I just feel that Hibs supporters need to stick together and keep supporting the club at this crucial time. I see the early bird deadline has been extended until 7 April.

01-04-2014, 06:19 PM
Good grief.
If you go for 35 years, then don't go for a season, then for that season you are less committed. Tell me why that is wrong. You don't get to store up commitment points.
If your break then extends to 2 or 3 or 10 years, at what point do you declare that that person has used up their stock?

For the umpteenth time, its not a reflection on what you've done as a supporter in the past. If you stop paying to go to the games (supporting them financially) and stop physically being there (supporting them as a member of the crowd), then you are supporting them less (again with the caveat that you physically and financially could go). It doesn't mean you are a lesser person, you've just decided that their are other things you want to do more with your dosh, which is absolutely fine. But you can't claim you are still as committed, because the the two things you can do actually do as a fan to demonstrate that commitment - give your time and money - have stopped.

Wasting your time RH! :agree:

He can't see anything but his own opinion which is the same as the facts only by statistical chance! :rolleyes:

01-04-2014, 06:37 PM
Good grief.

You're 100% correct, if someone decides to do something less this year than they did last year it means they are less committed to that particular interest. That doesn't make them less of a person, it just makes them less committed.
I used to follow hibs home and away, I now have a family and a mortgage so now I only go to home games, I'm less committed to watching hibs as I used to, it's a fact.

01-04-2014, 06:50 PM
The deed is done. P 109 for another year.:boo hoo:

Twa Cairpets
01-04-2014, 09:10 PM

He can't see anything but his own opinion which is the same as the facts only by statistical chance! :rolleyes:

Care to show me where I'm wrong?

01-04-2014, 09:18 PM
You're 100% correct, if someone decides to do something less this year than they did last year it means they are less committed to that particular interest. That doesn't make them less of a person, it just makes them less committed.
I used to follow hibs home and away, I now have a family and a mortgage so now I only go to home games, I'm less committed to watching hibs as I used to, it's a fact.

Absolutely correct :thumbsup:
I am 82 and for many many years my son and I " did" as many away games as we could manage while attending ( as walk ups , due to work commitments) about 75/80% of home games
I have been pissed off many times by " uber fans" setting themselves up as some elite organisation crticising those who for whatever reason cannot mange on a regular basis .
I now go when my pocket/health allows .
Where does that leave me with the " Uber Fans "?

SmallvilleHibee
01-04-2014, 09:22 PM
Cause not buying season tickets is going to help the club...

erskine-hibby
01-04-2014, 09:27 PM
No. Nobody is suggesting anything of the sort as far as I can make out?
If you stop going (assuming you are financially and physically capable of doing so) then you will not be as strong/dedicated/interested a supporter as you have been previously.

Or maybe some feel cheated by the club they have supported for years, season ticket holder or not. That doesn't mean that they are any less interested, just not interested in putting as much money in with dwindling returns. People can read into that what they like and if they think that makes me, or anyone else, less of a hibby I won't lose any sleep over that.

01-04-2014, 09:34 PM
I've said before but say it again, going to the game with my mates is more than football. It's a social occasion, I laugh, grump and groan with my mates watching Hibs teams try their best. A ST allows the 10 of us to get seats together. For me £380 is not bad value, £20 per game. With the additional choice of the payment plan for £36 per month. It's seems a no brainier for me. I understand others may not be fortunate enough to afford a ST but that does make them or any other Hibbie less of a supporter. We are all in this together ST, walk ups and occasional fans. We all support our club.

Twa Cairpets
01-04-2014, 09:42 PM
Or maybe some feel cheated by the club they have supported for years, season ticket holder or not. That doesn't mean that they are any less interested, just not interested in putting as much money in with dwindling returns. People can read into that what they like and if they think that makes me, or anyone else, less of a hibby I won't lose any sleep over that.

So, less interested then...

erskine-hibby
01-04-2014, 09:47 PM

Less interested in wasting money, yes.
Still a hibby through and through.

01-04-2014, 09:58 PM

Prove it.

01-04-2014, 10:00 PM

You do realise you're completely wasting your time, don't you :greengrin

You're not going to persuade any of them to buy :wink:

01-04-2014, 10:13 PM
You do realise you're completely wasting your time, don't you :greengrin

You're not going to persuade any of them to buy :wink:

Slagging fans off who have had enough of being metaphorically kicked in the teeth by the clowns at the helm is no way to make fans buy a ST. Plenty fans feel like they have been taken for mugs for many many years and perhaps a wee bit of leadership from the powers that be would induce fans to part with their cash instead of the deafening silence we have had recently.

01-04-2014, 10:28 PM
Slagging fans off who have had enough of being metaphorically kicked in the teeth by the clowns at the helm is no way to make fans buy a ST. Plenty fans feel like they have been taken for mugs for many many years and perhaps a wee bit of leadership from the powers that be would induce fans to part with their cash instead of the deafening silence we have had recently.
We all know Petrie tends to keep in the background unless the unrest is spilling over into threats of protest etc and then he sacrifices the Manager to save his skin I believe he believes he now has the right man in place and he will be praying he can ride out the storm and we don't end up in play off and all will turn positive after the summer .But if Season Tickets Sales are not going well and poor form continues he will be concerned I think he needs to come out at some point and state publicly to us fans how they intend to back the manager and the original plans for the summer won't be affected if for eg S T sales are down on last season Think if he says nothing he runs risk of further alienating supporters who patience has already been tested to the limit

Twa Cairpets
02-04-2014, 07:22 AM

Where have I slagged fans off for not buying, for the reason you give or indeed any other?

02-04-2014, 07:45 AM

You're saying rh is wasting his time because twacairpets is right, but you're disagreeing because you think it's just luck that the facts back up twacairpet's view? And this is the post where you don't use the confused smilie?! :confused: :confused::confused: etc.

02-04-2014, 07:47 AM

I don't think anyone is slagging you off, however anyone putting the boot into the club on a Hibs website is likely to meet with a bit of resistance.

02-04-2014, 07:50 AM
I am 82 and for many many years my son and I " did" as many away games as we could manage while attending ( as walk ups , due to work commitments) about 75/80% of home games
I have been pissed off many times by " uber fans" setting themselves up as some elite organisation crticising those who for whatever reason cannot mange on a regular basis .

I think you still come into the uberfan bracket because you go when circumstances allow. Non-attendance for you is not a choice but a necessity when health/finance prevents you from going.

I doubt you'd find anyone on here who would question your commitment in those circumstances.

02-04-2014, 08:16 AM
You're saying rh is wasting his time because twacairpets is right, but you're disagreeing because you think it's just luck that the facts back up twacairpet's view? And this is the post where you don't use the confused smilie?! :confused: :confused::confused: etc.

Where would I be without you to add your two pence worth of useless text?! :greengrin

Bill Milne
02-04-2014, 08:21 AM
It's entirely up to the individual whether to buy or not. I renewed with a certain amount of reluctance but I came to the conclusion that not renewing was simply depriving Butcher of the chance to replace the current wasters with guys who might, actually, put in a decent shift.

02-04-2014, 08:21 AM
I don't think anyone is slagging you off, however anyone putting the boot into the club on a Hibs website is likely to meet with a bit of resistance.

Fair enough but i was not trying to put the boot into the club just trying to get some positive change for the future, i think we are all a bit frustrated at the way the season has ended up.

02-04-2014, 08:22 AM
Where would I be without you to add your two pence worth of useless text?! :greengrin

At least I restrict myself to two pence worth...

02-04-2014, 08:24 AM
i think we are all a bit frustrated at the way the season has ended up again.finished that sentence for you.

jakeshibs
02-04-2014, 08:39 AM
It's entirely up to the individual whether to buy or not. I renewed with a certain amount of reluctance but I came to the conclusion that not renewing was simply depriving Butcher of the chance to replace the current wasters with guys who might, actually, put in a decent shift.

that's exactly how I feel, we need the finance to improve, I have renewed, as feel TB needs our backing and support

02-04-2014, 08:46 AM
finished that sentence for you.

:top marksi should have known better.

02-04-2014, 08:50 AM

Anyone been following Hibs for as long as you and still got the stomach to keep watching us is a legend imo :flag:.

"Uber fan" thing is a load of nonsense i think. Fans who can afford to go to Ross County on boxing day for instance, deserve praise but it doesn't mean that they love Hibs more than someone who can't go.

02-04-2014, 09:22 AM

Well, it's quite complicated really. There are actually two sub-groups:

The lower of the two that call themselves Uber Fans...

...and the upper group being the ones that spell it correctly, as Über Fans :wink:

02-04-2014, 10:02 AM
Well, it's quite complicated really. There are actually two sub-groups:

The lower of the two that call themselves Uber Fans...

...and the upper group being the ones that spell it correctly, as Über Fans :wink:

Ah great to have an "Academic" in our ranks - thankyou !!! :greengrin

I perhaps put this badly but I understand where those who have replied to my earlier post are coming from
I as I say go when ever money/health allow but did not mention I have only been to one match at ER in 2014 and none away from home purely and simply because I was not enjoying what I was seeing !!
As it stands have gone back to watching rugby on a Saturday.
Next season ?
Asa always " I will return " - - God knows why but that's what being a Hibby is all about !!

I admire those who choose to take in every game " come hell or high water" and would never question their reasons for doing so
What I do dislike is being accused of not being a "real" fan because I choose not to go ( for whatever reason ) to games
Football is part of the entertainment business and therefore has to be seen to produce a product which the public will pay to watch/see
Exactly as films/ pop concerts / theatre plays etc etc .
Failure to do so leads to shows being cancelled . whatever - could this happen in football :greengrin:wink:

I've enjoyed a roller coaster ride since December 1940 with all the highs and lows that have gone with it .
Was lucky enough to play on the hallowed turf against what was on the day the " Famous Four" ( Bobby Johnston was injured ) and have had four relatives play for the club
Fortunately I have never felt suicidal or contemplated divorce and still dream of a Scottish Cup win :not worth

The Gorf
02-04-2014, 10:15 AM

I perhaps put this badly but I understand where those who have replied to my earlier post are coming from
I as I say go when ever money/health allow but did not mention I have only been to one match at ER in 2014 and none away from home purely and simply because I was not enjoying what I was seeing !!
As it stands have gone back to watching rugby on a Saturday.
Next season ?
Asa always " I will return " - - God knows why but that's what being a Hibby is all about !!

I admire those who choose to take in every game " come hell or high water" and would never question their reasons for doing so
What I do dislike is being accused of not being a "real" fan because I choose not to go ( for whatever reason ) to games
Football is part of the entertainment business and therefore has to be seen to produce a product which the public will pay to watch/see
Exactly as films/ pop concerts / theatre plays etc etc .
Failure to do so leads to shows being cancelled . whatever - could this happen in football :greengrin:wink:

I've enjoyed a roller coaster ride since December 1940 with all the highs and lows that have gone with it .
Was lucky enough to play on the hallowed turf against what was on the day the " Famous Four" ( Bobby Johnston was injured ) and have had four relatives play for the club
Fortunately I have never felt suicidal or contemplated divorce and still dream of a Scottish Cup win :not worth

loved reading this post. And here was me thinking at 58 I was an auld yin. GGTTH

02-04-2014, 10:56 AM
loved reading this post. And here was me thinking at 58 I was an auld yin. GGTTH

Thank you for your kind thoughts !
I know it's an " age thing" but when I sit down with a couple of my old mates and look back at our " Hibby Life" there have been some truly memorable moments which we genuinely feel outweigh the bad times : that is until the last five/six years which we all agree have to be sorted out ASAP if not sooner !!
FWIW you have just 24 years to go to catch up :greengrin:wink:

booshsutton
02-04-2014, 11:09 AM
Not a boycot, but I won't be renewing my season ticket as it just doesn't work out for me financially due to not being able to attend many games, I think I have been to around 8 games at ER this season, those include Malmo, Hearts in the CIS and Raith in the cup. Ironically it is the preferred Saturday kick offs that are the games I find it hardest to attend due to other commitments. Given the "quality" of what is on show + my inability to attend as much as I would like + the finaincial outlay, I shant be renewing this season, but will try to get up to as many games as possible PATG.

02-04-2014, 12:27 PM

You're welcome.

FWIW, after reading your posts on the subject, to me you're an Über-Über-Fan, which is one better than they young whipper snappers.

02-04-2014, 12:51 PM
Was lucky enough to play on the hallowed turf against what was on the day the " Famous Four" ( Bobby Johnston was injured )
was the score 4-2 to hibs?

Wighty76
02-04-2014, 01:36 PM
I went ahead and bought a pair of season tickets for the wee man and moi in the east stand. Been wanting one for years and I did promise my son.

I can can understand the reluctance of many. It's quite a bit of dough.

oh well, nothing ventured nothing gained.
here's hoping it's a good one.

:tbgwa:

02-04-2014, 02:03 PM
was the score 4-2 to hibs?

Sorry Pass ! :greengrin

02-04-2014, 02:06 PM
Sorry Pass ! :greengrin

02-04-2014, 02:16 PM

At my advanced years don't want " Autograph Hunters " kicking my door down just because I played six ( yes that was all) games in the old First Division
As I have said many times I was one of the " talented 17 year old's" who became a " promising 19 year old" who just didn't have it to go any further
Just like hundreds of lads before me and is still happening , as we know only too well :rolleyes:

02-04-2014, 02:22 PM
Sharing a pitch with those 4 guys (and bobby combe I assume) equates to legendary status to me jds :thumbsup:

02-04-2014, 02:40 PM
Sharing a pitch with those 4 guys (and bobby combe I assume) equates to legendary status to me jds :thumbsup:

The final part of the story was a number of years later I visited the " Bowlers Rest " in Mitchell Street and met Sir L. Reilly behind the bar .
I mentioned that I had played against the "F 4" and how my family had been/were playing at ER.
He said ".......leave your phone number as I would like to meet you away from the pub "
A week later was invited to ER where he gave me a Hibs shirt from the season I played against him ( no name/number ) . Signed and a covering letter to confirm it wa authentic .
That was the nature of the man - a true gent in every way

I would like to close this little thread with thanks to all of you who gave an old man a happy few hours today !

02-04-2014, 02:42 PM
The final part of the story was a number of years later I visited the " Bowlers Rest " in Mitchell Street and met Sir L. Reilly behind the bar .
I mentioned that I had played against the "F 4" and how my family had been/were playing at ER.
He said ".......leave your phone number as I would like to meet you away from the pub "
A week later was invited to ER where he gave me a Hibs shirt from the season I played against him ( no name/number ) . Signed and a covering letter to confirm it wa authentic .

I would like to close this little thread with thanks to all of you who gave an old man a happy few hours today !

Twa Cairpets
02-04-2014, 03:58 PM

Cheers jdships. Your post's are what being a Hibby is about - good memories, wee moments of true inspiration and an as yet unrequited lust for the Scottish Cup, regarldess of how often you can get to a game.