View Full Version : Season ticket boycott!

Pages : 1 [2] 3

03-03-2014, 04:27 PM
Interesting that some want STF put his cash up but they are not willing to do the same and buy a ST. I do love irony

I think supporters have been doing this for long enough, time for our owner to step up to the mark.

03-03-2014, 04:31 PM
STF put money up front for 10k season tickets?

STF's answer to that would be .... Why should I ?
Fair enuff. STF ,

You are right, why should he? Although it now seems more of the folk who do put the money in for season tickets are asking the same question.

03-03-2014, 04:41 PM
There seems to be a suggestion that STF puts up some money for players. I presume people are meaning in form of a loan to the Club, or is it the football club take on more debt? Either way, it is the Club taking on more debt. No-one (including STF) will simply give us money. Well I say no thank you to that! We can be rightly disturbed at the lack of progress on the field, but to spend more than we have on getting better players is not a recommended way forward. I give you Hearts and Rangers as examples...

Clubs such as Motherwell, St Johnstone, Dundee Utd and Inverness have shown that progress can be made without creating greater debt. I'd rather we trust the current management team to make a better job of spending the budget we can afford on making us better.

Everyone has the individual right to chose to buy an ST or not, but those on here who are saying no way will they buy one, yet advocate STF or the club to spend more on players are clearly having a laugh. If we don't stand up and be counted around ST's , TB's playing budget is reduced - simple as that.....

03-03-2014, 04:57 PM
There seems to be a suggestion that STF puts up some money for players. I presume people are meaning in form of a loan to the Club, or is it the football club take on more debt? Either way, it is the Club taking on more debt. No-one (including STF) will simply give us money. Well I say no thank you to that! We can be rightly disturbed at the lack of progress on the field, but to spend more than we have on getting better players is not a recommended way forward. I give you Hearts and Rangers as examples...

Clubs such as Motherwell, St Johnstone, Dundee Utd and Inverness have shown that progress can be made without creating greater debt. I'd rather we trust the current management team to make a better job of spending the budget we can afford on making us better.

Everyone has the individual right to chose to buy an ST or not, but those on here who are saying no way will they buy one, yet advocate STF or the club to spend more on players are clearly having a laugh. If we don't stand up and be counted around ST's , TB's playing budget is reduced - simple as that.....

Let me get this out there from the start, i'm not advocating a boycott of season tickets. What i am saying is i want the club to show some leadership, i want them to show some ambition by putting the money up front what the total of 10k season tickets would be.

I believe we as a support HAVE put our money where our mouth is for too long, and its apparent that folk like myself have had enough with the way the current owner or board if you will have lead us.

I believe the reason we will have a huge reduction in season tickets is because we have been pish, pish for way too long. And under those in charge, under their leadership they have watched the same pish we have.

Now dont get me wrong, nobody wants debt but we will take a hit in my opinion this season because of reduced season ticket numbers.

Folk can bang on about deserting the club in its hour of need, but that hour has become a day, and that day has become a week. This is why i believe the club need to do more, more than just sack the manager every 18 month (the manager they appointed).

STF seems to prop us up every season when we need a bit of help in our yearly fight to get away from the bottom, i say put it in at the start, get everyone positive and off their arse into the ground.

The current way wont.

03-03-2014, 05:43 PM
Let me get this out there from the start, i'm not advocating a boycott of season tickets. What i am saying is i want the club to show some leadership, i want them to show some ambition by putting the money up front what the total of 10k season tickets would be.

I believe we as a support HAVE put our money where our mouth is for too long, and its apparent that folk like myself have had enough with the way the current owner or board if you will have lead us.

I believe the reason we will have a huge reduction in season tickets is because we have been pish, pish for way too long. And under those in charge, under their leadership they have watched the same pish we have.

Now dont get me wrong, nobody wants debt but we will take a hit in my opinion this season because of reduced season ticket numbers.

Folk can bang on about deserting the club in its hour of need, but that hour has become a day, and that day has become a week. This is why i believe the club need to do more, more than just sack the manager every 18 month (the manager they appointed).

STF seems to prop us up every season when we need a bit of help in our yearly fight to get away from the bottom, i say put it in at the start, get everyone positive and off their arse into the ground.

The current way wont.

STF doesn't prop us up anymore - he did about 10 years ago , when he paid out monthly interest to the bank , but he doesn't do it at all - so not sure where that premise comes from . The funds in January transfer windows simply come from the clubs own P&L ..not from an outside source

Are you therefore advocating we take on more debt ? I'm all for finding away out of these mind numbing days , but taking on more debt is not the way forward

03-03-2014, 09:07 PM
This - bar the ST bits :wink: :greengrin

How do you know that?

A drop in STs might be the catalyst for STF to act .. He may put money in, or remove RP or recruit agents to find a buyer for the club etc..

We don't know what would happen but folks are sick of the same auld same auld as it has been for seasons now..

Folk may be sick of the same auld same auld but they are showing impatience bordering on idiocy if they think boycotting Season Tickets is a good idea.
The Butcher / Malpas / Marsella team did very well up the road but they need the chance to recruit some players to make any real difference here - the more dosh they have the more change they can effect. ERGO the only change that boycotting STs will be a catalyst for is making the team more pish.

03-03-2014, 09:10 PM

So, we change nothing - and nothing changes...

The only thing I'm advocating we change is to stop wasting our time asking STF to stump up money to buy players. Never gonna happen

03-03-2014, 09:14 PM
If we can go on a good from run now until the end of the season, I'm sure more people will renew/but a ST.

03-03-2014, 09:27 PM
The only thing I'm advocating we change is to stop wasting our time asking STF to stump up money to buy players. Never gonna happen

No change there then :wink: :greengrin

03-03-2014, 09:29 PM
No change there then :wink: :greengrin

Really? Plenty folk on here want to keep asking the pointless question :wink:

Gerard
03-03-2014, 09:49 PM
I have renewed my season ticket. I would probably not have done if PF was still here. The club has ambition by hiring TB and his team. That will have had a cost:wink: I like TBs way of doing things.
I suspect that there will be a repair bill for broken doors, walls and other objects at Hibs, perhaps some of a human type, when things go wrong. I want TB to be our head coach and leave it to him to find and pick the team. I look forward to him finding good players and keeping Mr Petrie happy with the cost.

EastCalderHibby
03-03-2014, 10:29 PM
Wish admin would close this thread down

Starve the team you love of what keeps it alive. NEVER :flag::flag:

TIME TO SHUT THIS **** DOWN

03-03-2014, 10:50 PM
Hey OP, a better title for this thread you started would have been 'Hibs are really bad so let's make us even worse' :rolleyes:

04-03-2014, 12:16 AM
Hey OP, a better title for this thread you started would have been 'Hibs are really bad so let's make us even worse' :rolleyes:While I dinnae agree with the OP trying tae discourage people from buying season tickets it's little surprise threads like this appear out of sheer anger or whatever, considering the guff fitba folk have had tae put up with for the last 7 seasons. It's little wonder some folk are fed up throwing their money down the drain when something that's supposed tae be enjoyable has been turned in tae something that's little mair than a chore. I certainly dinnae blame anybody that disnae want tae buy a ST again efter the last 4 seasons in particular. For numerous reasons I might no be bothering this time either, other people can dae what they like.

It's no the fans that taken the club in tae this predicament in the first place though, is it? It's years of mismanagement of the footballing side of the club by those who run it. It always seems tae be our responsibility tae get us out of it though by throwing mair of our money at it! How about for a change those that have made the **** ups and wasted the money take the lead and sort out the mess they have made. 7 seasons of guff fitba, 7 years of empty promises from Petrie and Co. of how it will be better and what the next season will bring if you just give us mair of your money (because the last lot has been wasted), only for next season tae be as bad if no worse than the one before. Instead of it getting better the money has been squandered paying for other peoples **** ups, no anything the fans have done.

04-03-2014, 05:23 AM
Well said DD.

04-03-2014, 06:37 AM
While I dinnae agree with the OP trying tae discourage people from buying season tickets it's little surprise threads like this appear out of sheer anger or whatever, considering the guff fitba folk have had tae put up with for the last 7 seasons. It's little wonder some folk are fed up throwing their money down the drain when something that's supposed tae be enjoyable has been turned in tae something that's little mair than a chore. I certainly dinnae blame anybody that disnae want tae buy a ST again efter the last 4 seasons in particular. For numerous reasons I might no be bothering this time either, other people can dae what they like.

It's no the fans that taken the club in tae this predicament in the first place though, is it? It's years of mismanagement of the footballing side of the club by those who run it. It always seems tae be our responsibility tae get us out of it though by throwing mair of our money at it! How about for a change those that have made the **** ups and wasted the money take the lead and sort out the mess they have made. 7 seasons of guff fitba, 7 years of empty promises from Petrie and Co. of how it will be better and what the next season will bring if you just give us mair of your money (because the last lot has been wasted), only for next season tae be as bad if no worse than the one before. Instead of it getting better the money has been squandered paying for other peoples **** ups, no anything the fans have done.

04-03-2014, 06:49 AM
A) I'm not digging

B) I'm not your mate

C) What precedent is there for our fans, in the last 6 or 7 years, being rewarded for their investment?

Bit late arriving to this ridiculous thread, but to answer point c, what investment are you talking about? I bought a season ticket over those years and my 'reward' was getting what that money entitled me to, which is entry to the stadium and my own seat on every home game over that period.

That was what was sold to me, that's what I got. Same as if I invested in a monthly cinema ticket - it would entitle me to go to the cinema, it wouldn't automatically mean I was entitled to expect every film or even every other film that I watched to be at Oscar winning standard.

If I'd invested in a bus pass over that period I'd have been rewarded with being able to get the bus when I wanted, provided there was a bus running at that time. I wouldn't necessarily get a seat on the bus and it wouldn't guarantee the bus would be on time or that it wouldn't be full of radges.

When you invest in a season ticket you are contributing to the club, that money helps the board and the manager get the players they want to get, and contrary to popular opinion we've had some cracking players over that period. Stokes, Murray, Miller, Riordan, O'Connor, McPake, Bamba, to name a few.

kentao
04-03-2014, 07:10 AM
Bit late arriving to this ridiculous thread, but to answer point c, what investment are you talking about? I bought a season ticket over those years and my 'reward' was getting what that money entitled me to, which is entry to the stadium and my own seat on every home game over that period.

That was what was sold to me, that's what I got. Same as if I invested in a monthly cinema ticket - it would entitle me to go to the cinema, it wouldn't automatically mean I was entitled to expect every film or even every other film that I watched to be at Oscar winning standard.

If I'd invested in a bus pass over that period I'd have been rewarded with being able to get the bus when I wanted, provided there was a bus running at that time. I wouldn't necessarily get a seat on the bus and it wouldn't guarantee the bus would be on time or that it wouldn't be full of radges.

When you invest in a season ticket you are contributing to the club, that money helps the board and the manager get the players they want to get, and contrary to popular opinion we've had some cracking players over that period. Stokes, Murray, Miller, Riordan, O'Connor, McPake, Bamba, to name a few.

But would you renew your cinema pass after say 7 years of ***** films with only acouple of blockbusters to look back on.

04-03-2014, 07:13 AM
I can understand people not wanting to renew or buy ST's, I really can. Everyone has the right to make their own decision. There have been very few bright spots in recent times, little to cheer about on the park. We have had to deal with a real lack of progress for a few years now.....BUT

If you can afford to, and you want to do something to help Hibs, then please buy a season ticket.

It will provide our new manager with more funds in his budget and give him a better chance to do something about our situation this summer. It's really that simple...

04-03-2014, 07:14 AM
While I dinnae agree with the OP trying tae discourage people from buying season tickets it's little surprise threads like this appear out of sheer anger or whatever, considering the guff fitba folk have had tae put up with for the last 7 seasons. It's little wonder some folk are fed up throwing their money down the drain when something that's supposed tae be enjoyable has been turned in tae something that's little mair than a chore. I certainly dinnae blame anybody that disnae want tae buy a ST again efter the last 4 seasons in particular. For numerous reasons I might no be bothering this time either, other people can dae what they like.

Theses are indeed Desperate times Dan ,and a lot of what you say is how folk feel .But at some point we have to find a way out of this cycle ,and the consensus at time of Butchers appointment was this was the right management team .So if we were right about that then we now have that piece of the jigsaw in place .We have the Training facilities even players coming up from England praise it .Our youth and under twenties Team do consistently well all be it we haven't unearthed the same talent as Dundee United ,but they are an exceptional group like Mowbray s generation ,and that doesn't happen at clubs very often.The support hasn't dwindled to under 7 ,000 as it might have done with so many years of famine .
So let's rally to the cause ,and for Butchers Tenure ,as there track record suggests if given time they can do it .
It's a bit like Dragon Den sometimes you have to invest in the person and give them the support to get the success .The only way we can support T B is to buy season tickets or go to games to help fund Transfer Targets .If we don't do this we are simply ensuring 7 years become 8 etc .
Yes it would be great if someone at the club could get another investor on board at this time to pledge that if we sell x number of season tickets an amount would be put in to add to the Transfer Budget .Have always thought that with Farmers Business contacts there must be some way of making this happen , but it's our club ,we love it and cherish it and if ever it needs our support it's now or we are in danger of being a bottom six team for another few years and I agree that would be damaging as you look at the Hibs kids days under Mowbray and there were thousands there ,and now you wouldn't know when it was a Hibs kid day.They are the Future of the Club ,the next generation of supporter.My Father took me I have taken my son ,break that cycle and we would be in trouble .
yes we need exciting product on the park ,and we bought into Butchers Philosophy .Now we need to give him the means to realise that ambition he has for the club ,and those from this forum that meet with the club can ask why more inward investment isn't forthcoming But without Sir Tom there would be no Hibs , and in that sense we are forever indebted to him . each supporter will make there own choice ,and I will buy a season ticket and do my bit .

04-03-2014, 07:45 AM
The support hasn't dwindled to under 7 ,000 as it might have done with so many years of famine.That's the one thing that truly surprises me, that as many people who do still actually bother tae turn up efter the last seven seasons, quite a bloody miracle in fact that the fans have put up with what they have this time. It only took Mr Blooby just over 2 years tae knock the support below that and what was on offer then wisnae as dire as it is now.

The last 2 cup finals (and the less said about them the better) have IMO kept ST numbers artificially high considering the guff that has been churned out, without that this time ST numbers are going tae take a hit regardless of what anybody says unless something is done. Simply just sending out the usual begging letters for money isnae going tae cut it for a lot of folk, we've had those for the last seven seasons and nothing has changed. Unfortunately for TB it isnae him that a lot of people dinnae have faith in or trust, it's those running the club that have cost and lost a large number of supporters along the way.

04-03-2014, 08:13 AM
But would you renew your cinema pass after say 7 years of ***** films with only acouple of blockbusters to look back on.

If I loved the cinema as much as I love Hibs, then yes.

04-03-2014, 09:29 AM
A Season Ticket doesn't make sense for me as I'm hardly ever in Edinburgh. I have my Hibernians and Hibs TV subscription, but is there a scheme I can support the first team financially?

Kicks for kids or Leigh lynx

Do you mean "Leith Links"? I must say "Leigh Lynx" made me laugh. Is he into Cougars these days.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Thanks guys :aok: I've replied to your email, J. Many thanks. GGTTH.

jakeshibs
04-03-2014, 10:16 AM
Theses are indeed Desperate times Dan ,and a lot of what you say is how folk feel .But at some point we have to find a way out of this cycle ,and the consensus at time of Butchers appointment was this was the right management team .So if we were right about that then we now have that piece of the jigsaw in place .We have the Training facilities even players coming up from England praise it .Our youth and under twenties Team do consistently well all be it we haven't unearthed the same talent as Dundee United ,but they are an exceptional group like Mowbray s generation ,and that doesn't happen at clubs very often.The support hasn't dwindled to under 7 ,000 as it might have done with so many years of famine .
So let's rally to the cause ,and for Butchers Tenure ,as there track record suggests if given time they can do it .
It's a bit like Dragon Den sometimes you have to invest in the person and give them the support to get the success .The only way we can support T B is to buy season tickets or go to games to help fund Transfer Targets .If we don't do this we are simply ensuring 7 years become 8 etc .
Yes it would be great if someone at the club could get another investor on board at this time to pledge that if we sell x number of season tickets an amount would be put in to add to the Transfer Budget .Have always thought that with Farmers Business contacts there must be some way of making this happen , but it's our club ,we love it and cherish it and if ever it needs our support it's now or we are in danger of being a bottom six team for another few years and I agree that would be damaging as you look at the Hibs kids days under Mowbray and there were thousands there ,and now you wouldn't know when it was a Hibs kid day.They are the Future of the Club ,the next generation of supporter.My Father took me I have taken my son ,break that cycle and we would be in trouble .
yes we need exciting product on the park ,and we bought into Butchers Philosophy .Now we need to give him the means to realise that ambition he has for the club ,and those from this forum that meet with the club can ask why more inward investment isn't forthcoming But without Sir Tom there would be no Hibs , and in that sense we are forever indebted to him . each supporter will make there own choice ,and I will buy a season ticket and do my bit .

Good post

04-03-2014, 12:20 PM
Ronniekirk is right. We wanted TB and MM so now is not the time to desert them. It could be that they turn things around this Saturday and that might encourage people to renew unlike the last performance which is the most dissuading performance I have seen at this time of the season. I haven't renewed yet because I am still reeling/down from Friday but a good performance on Saturday could see me logging in Sat night and renewing. I know we need new players and quite a few, for next season if we are to try and compete with Dundee Utd and Aberdeen, we will only get those players by renewing/buying season tickets.

gegs70
04-03-2014, 05:16 PM
To.be honest boycotting season tickets really would not be sensible. Otherwise we will.end with the same players....

04-03-2014, 06:32 PM
I'm actually with BH on this. If Hibs want the fans to spend good money once again on Season Tickets, on the premise that it's to help finance the required changes to the playing squad, then maybe this time it's them that needs to make that leap of faith, as they've asked the fans to do for the last seven years or so without that faith being rewarded.

If they made their budget now based on having, say, 9,000 Season Ticket Holders and an average walkup of 3,000 per game, they could get the players in earlier and might just encourage the fans to actually buy that many STs and PATG tickets.

04-03-2014, 06:49 PM
No sign of the OP for a while. Maybe he's sobered up? :wink:

04-03-2014, 07:09 PM
No sign of the OP for a while. Maybe he's sobered up? :wink:
Or maybe he has now decided to Boycott Hibs .Net :wink:

04-03-2014, 07:14 PM
This is an amazing thread, we've got folk who hardly ever go to Easter Road encouraging folk to go to Easter Road. Highly amusing.

04-03-2014, 07:16 PM
Don't accept that Hibs sent out "begging" letters. Our club has sent out letters offering fans that's us a chance to purchase a league match ST for £20 per game. They have even offered an interest free payment plan. As fans it's up to us whether we purchase STs or not.

Saturdays Hero
04-03-2014, 08:31 PM
Don't accept that Hibs sent out "begging" letters. Our club has sent out letters offering fans that's us a chance to purchase a league match ST for £20 per game. They have even offered an interest free payment plan. As fans it's up to us whether we purchase STs or not.

I'm not renewing,it's become a chore dragging myself along to ER,no just Hibs,Scottish football in general it saps the life out of me.

04-03-2014, 08:40 PM
I'm not renewing,it's become a chore dragging myself along to ER,no just Hibs,Scottish football in general it saps the life out of me.
But if T B brings in the right players to play his system in the summer and we are a more attractive team scoring goals and winning more games than we are losing ,will you be regular walk up ?

Wakeyhibee
04-03-2014, 08:41 PM
I'm actually thinking of buying an ST for the first time in a while. Mainly because I actually agree with TB's appointment and think he will spend the money (he is allowed to) wisely as he has shown elsewhere. This is even though I can barely make it to a handful of games a season due to work. I understand where BH and others are coming from and I don't blame any who abstain, the last 7 years have been soul destroying, I just think we have finally made a decent appointment but will take time to build/get rid of those he doesn't want.

End of the day after 35+ years watching 60-70% pish, I'm willing to take a punt on this one.

04-03-2014, 08:52 PM

you will probably need to change your name ,nae mare saturday heroes, out shopping with the missus then.

04-03-2014, 08:58 PM
Ffs is this still going on? It's a personal choice, buy or don't buy. Personal circumstance always plays a part but I think as Hibs supporters we all want what's best for the club. If we all could we all would buy season tickets. There shouldn't be talk of a boycott or whatever.

If a boycott were to take place, the simple fact is that the club would not go into debt to buy players, it would go into debt to survive.

Barrabus
04-03-2014, 09:10 PM
Ffs is this still going on? It's a personal choice, buy or don't buy. Personal circumstance always plays a part but I think as Hibs supporters we all want what's best for the club. If we all could we all would buy season tickets. There shouldn't be talk of a boycott or whatever.

If a boycott were to take place, the simple fact is that the club would not go into debt to buy players, it would go into debt to survive.
In a nutshell - no more need be said (IMHO)

04-03-2014, 09:18 PM
My seat in the East where I haven't sat since 2010 :tbgwa: will be vacant next season

Son Cammy, a right mid / striker had a trial at Hibs last season, was asked to return in August then broke his arm. He has just been signed for a Perthshire amateur club (at only 15!!) and matches take place at 2pm on a Saturday.

I'll be there to support him. He is one of the top footballers in the county and is a joy to watch. Think Alex Harris with a strong tackle and great in the air. He only took up football at U11 and is still developing fast. He is taking community coaching next year along with his highers.

We will miss the banter, singing and may still pitch up for Sunday and evening games. End of an era though.

04-03-2014, 09:23 PM
My seat in the East where I haven't sat since 2010 :tbgwa: will be vacant next season

Son Cammy, a right mid / striker had a trial at Hibs last season, was asked to return in August then broke his arm. He has just been signed for a Perthshire amateur club (at only 15!!) and matches take place at 2pm on a Saturday.

I'll be there to support him. He is one of the top footballers in the county and is a joy to watch. Think Alex Harris with a strong tackle and great in the air. He only took up football at U11 and is still developing fast. He is taking community coaching next year along with his highers.

We will miss the banter, singing and may still pitch up for Sunday and evening games. End of an era though.

Best of luck to him with his football mate. I really miss playing for a team, might re-join one soon!

stevejordan
04-03-2014, 09:32 PM

Good luck to your boy it really is tough to get over when rejected really tough can i say from experience it does not get any better i am 2 years into the pain and i wont be back despite my love for the club.

04-03-2014, 09:59 PM
you will probably need to change your name ,nae mare saturday heroes, out shopping with the missus then.

Given the amount of fixture rescheduling in a season these days, the very premise of 'Saturday heroes' is already utterly redundant.

04-03-2014, 10:08 PM
I will be heading down to E R to re-new the Season Tickets for my group. Six renewals , one more than last year and no suggestion from anyone about not renewing.

That's the good news, but unfortunately for Hibs moneywise 5 of the group have now hit the concession age.

I'm now the only youngster ! :greengrin

04-03-2014, 10:20 PM
For the last few years its been a chore, I've lost count of the amount of times I've sat there and said that I was actually bored, occasionally before the half hour mark. Theres been some real soul destroying moments, where I've left the stadium saying I wasn't going back, Last Friday being the most recent time. And I've even left before full time twice this season which is not something I ever do.

But its Hibs, They are a huge part of my life, I renewed yesterday.

Every dog has its day, and by **** we are due a few, I'd hate myself having had to sit through so much P**h over the last few years to miss it if TB and co make a real difference next season.

Its a leap of faith again, but I just cant help jumping.

:tbgwa:

04-03-2014, 10:42 PM
By what reasoning has blind loyalty on season ticket sales helped us in any way?

FWIW, the vast majority of the people I've spoken to after the game tonight agree that the fans are long overdue for some reward on their investment. This forum may disagree but I suspect the number of ST sales this season will correlate with my perception.

If it exceeds that, I sincerely hope those who have invested the money up front are rewarded for doing so.

Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere since this post. But it's not an investment is it? It is you buyig your seat for the season, you actually do get something in return for your cash! You either pays your money and support the team or you don't, take your pick :agree:

04-03-2014, 11:06 PM

:confused: :tee hee: Good luck to your son :aok:

shetlandhibee
04-03-2014, 11:34 PM
This is the last thing we should do, it is one of the most silliest ideas ive ever heard.

We've got a new manager and he needs money to spend to bring in any quality players. If people want the likes of shinnie, may etc. Then the last thing we should do is a season ticket boycott:confused:

04-03-2014, 11:54 PM
Surely boycotts are a very last resort at any club, due to their potential to threaten the very existence of the club the fans love. IMHO boycotts are only worth considering when there is a strategy in place e.g. the fans wan a change of ownership, somebody waiting in the wings to buy the club and a boycott is used to starve out the incumbent owner(s). Could I ask the OP what he wants a boycott to facilitate, as denying vital funding to a club when there are no concrete plans regarding what it should achieve is a huge risk, and one that could have disastrous consequences.

I don't take issue with anyone who decides not to renew. A season ticket is a lot of money for little return on the pitch at ER, and there comes a point where people have had enough. Many fans make sacrifices in other areas to attend the football and naturally feel taken for granted when all the see is ever more mediocrity. We must each make our own decision. I'm sick and tired of Hibs right now. I'm sick and tired of perennial underachievement. I'm sick and tired of watching desperate football by teams filled with loanees and inadequates. I'm sick and tired of losing at home and having our arse handed to us by smaller clubs who operate on a smaller budget. I'm sick and tired of having my weekend ruined by the team. But I say all this knowing full well I will renew. Being a football fan doesn't work by logic, and in my abusive relationship with Hibs I'll be back yet again, no doubt for more punishment. Once again I've convinced myself its going to be different this time.

So no boycott at this point for me. Not without a proper plan and a set of aims. The club needs every penny. It might be wasted of course, but that's another issue.

05-03-2014, 06:41 AM

You mean "speculate to accumulate"? ;)

Arguably we we have speculated and put a stack of money into the management team and scout. I just hope it isn't like me - I'd saved up for ages for a stereo - bought the best I could afford with a new CD player (they'd only just come out) but I blew all the dosh on the kit so had to make do with opening and shutting the loading door for a week (I jest you not). But I appreciated it more.

The problem for Terry has been the same for Pat - results but what would we expect with more or less the same group of players? Watmore's injury is a blow and Harris not firing on any cylinder doesn't help either. But as been the case for a period now senior players are not stepping up (although I would say Nelson has errant passes aside).

I do feel encouraged that TB has blooded more youngsters. Blending in with key, experienced pros is the challenge. Let's see what he can come up with but let's not saddle him with 7 years underachievement.

05-03-2014, 06:52 AM

I think you can get cream for that Gogs ;)
You'll be missed I'm sure - except from the bloke that's seat is behind you ;)

Sorry to hear you'll not be stomping at ER as frequently - hopefully this doesn't mean LWT is impacted too? Good luck to you and Cammy - who knows maybe well see him at ER in future years on the other side of the white line?

Ps I take it you beat the crap out the boy that did his arm ;)

05-03-2014, 07:12 AM
This is an amazing thread, we've got folk who hardly ever go to Easter Road encouraging folk to go to Easter Road. Highly amusing.

That's not an uncommon thing on here though.

05-03-2014, 08:03 AM

Im one of them folk who doesn't go brooster. I've stated why on another thread and not going into it again as it would start to look like I'm after sympathy. Believe me I love Hibs, this is a fans forum, I still consider myself a fan so state my feelings.

05-03-2014, 11:40 AM

I wish the very best of luck to your son!

If you don't mind me asking, was he offered another trial when he returned to full fitness?

05-03-2014, 08:48 PM
I wish the very best of luck to your son!

If you don't mind me asking, was he offered another trial when he returned to full fitness?

Thanks mate. To be honest we didn't get back in touch. Training was Monday, Wednesday and Friday a double session. The laddie is with his maw in Crieff during the week and I'm often away on business. The logistics were unachievable.

Must put other parents off with Ormiston so far out the way. When the Golden Generation started out our Academy was in Motherwell

05-03-2014, 09:11 PM
Thanks mate. To be honest we didn't get back in touch. Training was Monday, Wednesday and Friday a double session. The laddie is with his maw in Crieff during the week and I'm often away on business. The logistics were unachievable.

Must put other parents off with Ormiston so far out the way. When the Golden Generation started out our Academy was in Motherwell

Pretty sure back then they had a mini bus that would pick players up on the way out and the lads from the West made there own way there, but pretty sure that came to a halt after they moved from Motherwell and it would have been down to the parents to get the lads to training after that, for some parents it is impossible to do and that is such a shame on young promising talent not making it in football.

Good luck to your son. :aok:

Russ
05-03-2014, 11:35 PM
How anyone can expect STF to pump his money into hibs is beyond me. The guy isn't a football man, never mind a hibs man, he saved us from our darkest hour and I am forever grateful to him for that.

:top marks Best post on this pathetic thread by a country mile. Those of us that were around then and feel any differently have very poor memories . The likes of blackpool and his cronies would have us go into more debt in search of what? a fruitless venture into the Europa League or a League Cup win? Get real ffs

06-03-2014, 08:53 AM
:top marks Best post on this pathetic thread by a country mile. Those of us that were around then and feel any differently have very poor memories . The likes of blackpool and his cronies would have us go into more debt in search of what? a fruitless venture into the Europa League or a League Cup win? Get real ffs

Blackpool and his cronies. :faf: The great man STF has presided over a club thats in decline, his vision is taking us down the ****ter.

By putting the money in up front would show everyone who has any affiliation to the club that it actually has some ambition. And remember we'd still sell 7-8k season tickets if he didn't.

By showing some leadership and ambition from the start, perhaps the club would sign some players that would get us excited, and more folk would buy into that.

Bare in mind whatever season ticket money we did sell would be going back to STF, its not as if i'm asking for him to put the lot in.

Better players, more folk excited = more folk through the door. Its called driving the club from the top, not just having us exist.

Is having a fruitless European trip and winning a league cup now seen as something we should only dream of, and we should just be happy with whats served up now?

My days of praising STF for saving the club have long gone, thanks for that Tom, but give me a team that's worth watching.

06-03-2014, 09:59 AM

Do you think he could've made it? Sounds like a right wee prospect!

06-03-2014, 10:04 AM
Another point I'd like to make here, is that STF saved out club over 20 years ago. That's a long time in anybody's book, but in football it is an especially long time.

You can't ride a wave for 20 years. I think it's time to get a football man involved. Thanks Sir Tom, for saving our club, there's no question that if it weren't for you Hibs would not be the club we are today. However we have a team in terminal decline and if something doesn't click soon it will only get worse.

06-03-2014, 10:29 AM
Blackpool and his cronies. :faf: The great man STF has presided over a club thats in decline, his vision is taking us down the ****ter.

By putting the money in up front would show everyone who has any affiliation to the club that it actually has some ambition. And remember we'd still sell 7-8k season tickets if he didn't.

By showing some leadership and ambition from the start, perhaps the club would sign some players that would get us excited, and more folk would buy into that.

Bare in mind whatever season ticket money we did sell would be going back to STF, its not as if i'm asking for him to put the lot in.

Better players, more folk excited = more folk through the door. Its called driving the club from the top, not just having us exist.

Is having a fruitless European trip and winning a league cup now seen as something we should only dream of, and we should just be happy with whats served up now?

My days of praising STF for saving the club have long gone, thanks for that Tom, but give me a team that's worth watching.

Wake up and smell the coffee FFS BH, don't you no there is only one way to go if you ask for investment, just ask any Leeds Portsmouth or hun how that goes :wink: we will only end up like them and fall down the leagues, just settle for bottom six finishes and be grateful for that.

06-03-2014, 10:41 AM

Couldnt agree more !

Bronson
06-03-2014, 12:14 PM

Why should he throw his money at a club he merely saved for the benefit of the community? He has no interest in football and as much as I'm sure he'd like to see hibs be successful, he's not going to invest heavily in us for it.

Investment from owners isn't a necessity for success in this league, just look at ICT at the start of the season under Butcher. A team built on a shoestring budget keeping pace with Celtic. We have that management team now, only difference is we have about 5 times the budget to play with already.

An investment from STF is not particularly needed in my eyes, and I certainly do not expect one.

06-03-2014, 12:21 PM
Why should he throw his money at a club he merely saved for the benefit of the community? He has no interest in football and as much as I'm sure he'd like to see hibs be successful, he's not going to invest heavily in us for it.

Investment from owners isn't a necessity for success in this league, just look at ICT at the start of the season under Butcher. A team built on a shoestring budget keeping pace with Celtic. We have that management team now, only difference is we have about 5 times the budget to play with already.

An investment from STF is not particularly needed in my eyes, and I certainly do not expect one.

He could actively market the club for sale then - because it's been said a few times at the AGM means heehaw... An awfy lot gets said by the club and then very little happens/changes.

:top marks to Blackpool for his posts IMHO.

Bronson
06-03-2014, 12:28 PM
He could actively market the club for sale then - because it's been said a few times at the AGM means heehaw... An awfy lot gets said by the club and then very little happens/changes.

:top marks to Blackpool for his posts IMHO.

He could, but who wants to invest money in a Scottish football club right now that isn't Celtic? There isn't a market of buyers he can advertise to.

06-03-2014, 12:37 PM
Im one of them folk who doesn't go brooster. I've stated why on another thread and not going into it again as it would start to look like I'm after sympathy. Believe me I love Hibs, this is a fans forum, I still consider myself a fan so state my feelings.

so you love hibs but dont go, whats the point mate with posting on here, if we were all like you then there would be no hibs. maybe you use to go all the time but gave up cause its crap, but surely if you love hibs you would go to some games.

06-03-2014, 12:42 PM
I agree 100% with everything Blackpool has posted on this thread.

06-03-2014, 12:47 PM
I agree 100% with everything Blackpool has posted on this thread.

So do I, but I won't be withholding my season ticket money. That won't help.

06-03-2014, 01:01 PM
So blackpoolhibs is suggesting a loan secured against season ticket money. Let's say 10,000 season tickets at an average of £200. So £2m from STF when we don't even have 10,000 season ticket holders. I can't comprehend the reasoning that thinks this would be wise for STF to do given what happened to Rangers and Hearts with this speculate to accumulate policy.

Incredible....just incredible. I'll be buying my season ticket as always. I don't support Hibs and feel entitled to success. Enjoy your saturdays - I'll be at the Hibs games.

06-03-2014, 01:07 PM
So do I, but I won't be withholding my season ticket money. That won't help.

yes, I agree.

At the moment, we are looking at another couple of thousand off the season ticket roll of honour for next season. If STF does what BH suggests, I reckon that 2k odd of diehards would renew with bells on, and with the right signings, EARLY, we could easily see an upturn on this seasons numbers.

06-03-2014, 01:10 PM
So blackpoolhibs is suggesting a loan secured against season ticket money. Let's say 10,000 season tickets at an average of £200. So £2m from STF when we don't even have 10,000 season ticket holders. I can't comprehend the reasoning that thinks this would be wise for STF to do given what happened to Rangers and Hearts with this speculate to accumulate policy.

Incredible....just incredible. I'll be buying my season ticket as always. I don't support Hibs and feel entitled to success. Enjoy your saturdays - I'll be at the Hibs games.

fantastic!

could you point me to any post on this thread where anybody is asking STF to go the route of rangers and hearts?

06-03-2014, 01:10 PM

Selective reading, he'd get whatever amount our season ticket money amounted to right back before he'd had time to fart.

Probably 7-8 thousand season tickets worth, yet with him doing what i said i'm 100% sure we'd get folk like me who are fed up, bored rigid with whats been on show back buying a season ticket.

Yet once again its down to the supporters, a support that pissed off we have crowds dropping, crowds not turning up even though they have a season ticket.

I believe something different needs to happen from them in charge, something like this. But i suppose STF doing this would make us the next rangers or hearts. :rolleyes:

06-03-2014, 01:11 PM
yes, I agree.

At the moment, we are looking at another couple of thousand off the season ticket roll of honour for next season. If STF does what BH suggests, I reckon that 2k odd of diehards would renew with bells on, and with the right signings, EARLY, we could easily see an upturn on this seasons numbers.

Are we? I'm not convinced.

One person posting 10 times to say that they are refusing to renew is one season ticket lost, not ten. They're making a lot of noise compared to the people who post once to say they've renewed, or will be getting a ST for the first time, or the first time in a while.

That's how it works on here :greengrin

One thing's for sure though...... we'll never know the final figure so it'll just be speculation.

06-03-2014, 01:21 PM

One person posting 10 times to say that they are refusing to renew is one season ticket lost, not ten. They're making a lot of noise compared to the people who post once to say they've renewed, or will be getting a ST for the first time, or the first time in a while.

One thing's for sure though...... we'll never know the final figure so it'll just be speculation.

I think we will lose around that figure from last year give or take. Based on nothing (:greengrin) but me going to the holy ground on and off since 1982.

We are a long suffering mob. I believe (:jamboclow) BH is right that Hibernian needs a shot in the arm. a boost.

Where better to seek that hot injection than from our multi-multi millionaire....owner :greengrin

06-03-2014, 01:25 PM
I think we will lose around that figure from last year give or take. Based on nothing (:greengrin) but me going to the holy ground on and off since 1982.

We are a long suffering mob. I believe (:jamboclow) BH is right that Hibernian needs a shot in the arm. a boost.

Where better to seek that hot injection than from our multi-multi millionaire....owner :greengrin

Would be nice but can't see it happening nowadays. Although he is still there to fall back on if ever needed and that's worth a lot.

Anyway, I said several pages ago that I was out of this one as it will go round and round in circles so I'm offski :greengrin

06-03-2014, 01:29 PM
Would be nice but can't see it happening nowadays. Although he is still there to fall back on if ever needed and that's worth a lot.

Anyway, I said several pages ago that I was out of this one as it will go round and round in circles so I'm offski :greengrin

How about now, before we actually need him for a relegation battle or another bottom 6 fun filled escapade?

I keep hearing he won't do it, but what is he actually doing now other than bale us out when we are struggling?

06-03-2014, 01:37 PM

Everything points to a big drop in STs :

1. No artificial Cup Final uplift.
2. No Hearts (or Huns).
3. No signs of an upward spiral from the team and many players due to get ditched in the summer.
4. Not one player at Hibs is worth paying money to watch - not one.
5. We must have one of the worst home records in Scotland or even the UK over the last 2 or 3 years. Those worse than us were probably relegated and started to win a few home games. Maybe one of the statos could confirm.
6. Yet another season of transition.

Against this, you have the hope that TB can do something with less money than his predecessor.

Really hope the ST numbers stay up, but feel that Hibs are in for one hell of a shock.

06-03-2014, 01:43 PM

2. No Hearts (or Huns).
3. No signs of an upward spiral from the team and many players due to get ditched in the summer.
5. We must have one of the worst home records in Scotland or even the UK over the last 2 or 3 years. Those worse than us were probably relegated and started to win a few home games. Maybe one of the statos could confirm.

Against this, you have the hope that TB can do something with less money than his predecessor.

Really hope the ST numbers stay up, but feel that Hibs are in for one hell of a shock.

REALLY ? Stanton, Harris [when he regains his form], certainly worth watching.

06-03-2014, 01:47 PM

Any idea how significant that actually was?
2. No Hearts (or Huns).
Unless Hibs fabs were being hypocritical about 'sporting integrity' that shouldn't be a factor
Terry Butcher has us playing better than Fenlon did. The results will come when he gets his own men in.
Stanton is for starters.
I can't argue with that.

It's not ALL doom and gloom. There is hope. :greengrin

06-03-2014, 03:52 PM
That's my season ticket renewed :thumbsup::tbgwa:

06-03-2014, 03:59 PM
As stated in an earlier post, STF will not invest and there is little point in asking him to. This kind of talk has been going on for years and he hasn't bitten yet.

What I would say however is that as a gesture of good will, given his ownership, and bearing in mind that all season ticket money goes to the managers playing fund, he could donate a sum equal to that raised in season ticket sales at an agreed date. It's not a fortune but it would make a significant difference to the manager. STF could then gauge whether this one off intervention actually encourages more people to renew/buy a season ticket

hibee mackay
06-03-2014, 04:19 PM
I just bought my first ST, a tough decision given that I work Saturdays and would only make around 50% of home games. I'll probably just lend it to a mate when I can't make it.

06-03-2014, 04:26 PM
I just bought my first ST, a tough decision given that I work Saturdays and would only make around 50% of home games. I'll probably just lend it to a mate when I can't make it.

Good on you and very generous too ,although according to some of the negative posters on this thread you won't be able to give it away

06-03-2014, 04:28 PM
As stated in an earlier post, STF will not invest and there is little point in asking him to. This kind of talk has been going on for years and he hasn't bitten yet.

What I would say however is that as a gesture of good will, given his ownership, and bearing in mind that all season ticket money goes to the managers playing fund, he could donate a sum equal to that raised in season ticket sales at an agreed date. It's not a fortune but it would make a significant difference to the manager. STF could then gauge whether this one off intervention actually encourages more people to renew/buy a season ticket

Leeds Portsmouth The Rangers and gimps. :wink:

06-03-2014, 04:54 PM
Leeds Portsmouth The Rangers and gimps. :wink:

Nope, you've lost me there G

06-03-2014, 05:07 PM
I'm renewing on Saturday. Give TB as much money as possible to make massively needed changes.

06-03-2014, 05:42 PM
Nope, you've lost me there G

Any spending apart from season ticket sales results in that scenario apparently. :wink:

06-03-2014, 05:47 PM
Any spending apart from season ticket sales results in that scenario apparently. :wink:

Not if it's a matched donation though. Owners of the clubs you highlighted put millions into the coffers and paid the price. Not what I'm suggesting at all :wink:

06-03-2014, 05:50 PM

We did that at the end of the nineties/early noughties and almost went bump.

06-03-2014, 06:00 PM
We did that at the end of the nineties/early noughties and almost went bump.

Spending money we don't have is not what is being suggested. STF puts up say 2m as an interest free loan.This allows us to sign players early and hopefully encourage fans to renew and more importantly get new fans to take out season tickets. The target would be to reach 10k,from those sales we then repay STF.It's a win/win as far as I can see and the potential loss is likely to be small if any at all.

06-03-2014, 06:02 PM
Good on you and very generous too ,although according to some of the negative posters on this thread you won't be able to give it away

Negative post or not, sadly that has also been the case for me, this season my laddies ticket has gone unused several times and probably will again on Saturday.

06-03-2014, 06:12 PM
Spending money we don't have is not what is being suggested. STF puts up say 2m as an interest free loan.This allows us to sign players early and hopefully encourage fans to renew and more importantly get new fans to take out season tickets. The target would be to reach 10k,from those sales we then repay STF.It's a win/win as far as I can see and the potential loss is likely to be small if any at all.

Hows that not spending money we don't have?

We speculated on wages (I'm sure I read somewhere that our wage bill 1999-2000 was higher than last season) but ticket sales did not cover the outlay. I don't see what you are suggesting is any different to be honest.

06-03-2014, 06:28 PM
Hows that not spending money we don't have?

We speculated on wages (I'm sure I read somewhere that our wage bill 1999-2000 was higher than last season) but ticket sales did not cover the outlay. I don't see what you are suggesting is any different to be honest.

So if Hibs go out and sign players on a pre contract now without knowing what our ST sales will be are we spending money we don't have ?

Wighty76
06-03-2014, 06:38 PM

:aok: Good drills mate. Where about in the stadium did you go for? I will prob get one in the east stand.

06-03-2014, 06:38 PM
So if Hibs go out and sign players on a pre contract now without knowing what our ST sales will be are we spending money we don't have ?

I would guess that know roughly what our budget will be, unless there's a boycott of course.

06-03-2014, 07:01 PM
But what happens if the season ticket sales are insufficient to repay the loan? Can Farmer get repaid from the season ticket sales for the following season 2015/16 or does he get told "tough"?

hibee mackay
06-03-2014, 07:21 PM
:aok: Good drills mate. Where about in the stadium did you go for? I will prob get one in the east stand.
I went for east stand, I'm over in 43, quite enjoy the atmosphere up there :greengrin.

06-03-2014, 08:10 PM
But what happens if the season ticket sales are insufficient to repay the loan? Can Farmer get repaid from the season ticket sales for the following season 2015/16 or does he get told "tough"?

As he owns the club surely we would owe it to ourselves:wink: I would suggest that any shortfall would come from pay at the gate punters

06-03-2014, 08:18 PM
I'll be renewing on pay day, but I swear to God, if things don't improve next season it will be my last*

*NB This was also said last year, the year before, the year before that, and the year before that :-D

06-03-2014, 08:52 PM
If any of the folk who are not renewing as a point of principle wanted to, they could do a lot worse than help children attend who cannot afford to go :whistle: :wink:

06-03-2014, 08:56 PM
If any of the folk who are not renewing as a point of principle wanted to, they could do a lot worse than help children attend who cannot afford to go :whistle: :wink:

I shall renew, and I expect the club to do the same.

khib70
07-03-2014, 09:48 AM
I'll be renewing on pay day, but I swear to God, if things don't improve next season it will be my last*

*NB This was also said last year, the year before, the year before that, and the year before that :-D
Yeah, me too.

The way I see it, it's naive to suggest that a material improvement in the quality and entertainment value of the football on offer at ER can be achieved without at least some level of financial committment. That is not to say that injecting money will automatically achieve that result. It is also silly to keep repeating the "Portsmouth, Leeds, Grunts" scenario as if any use of money to improve the team will automatically end as badly as these situations. It depends who is spending it, and on what. I agree with those who look in the direction of STF. Like anyone who lived through the dark days of 1990-91 I have huge gratitude to him for saving our club. But he wasn't saving a community centre, or a public park. He saved a football club, and the function of a football club is to win matches. It's not likely he will open the cash sluices much more ,though.

In the absence of white knights, the only other option is to maximise income from within the club and supporter base, and appoint the best possible people to manage the team, and make the best use of what is realistically available. In that situation boycotting ST's only reduces the sum available, and for that reason, I think a boycott is counterproductive. I will be renewing. I find no merit in the argument that withdrawing ST money will teach the board "a lesson" and provoke them into positive action. Financial self-harm, is not a solution to football problems, and is probably exactly the opposite.

Buying or renewing an ST is not an endorsement of Rod Petrie and the board. It's the recognition that we have to give whoever is in charge the maximum possible financial leeway.

We're Hibbies. We're not going anywhere else...

07-03-2014, 10:07 AM
Yeah, me too.

The way I see it, it's naive to suggest that a material improvement in the quality and entertainment value of the football on offer at ER can be achieved without at least some level of financial committment. That is not to say that injecting money will automatically achieve that result. It is also silly to keep repeating the "Portsmouth, Leeds, Grunts" scenario as if any use of money to improve the team will automatically end as badly as these situations. It depends who is spending it, and on what. I agree with those who look in the direction of STF. Like anyone who lived through the dark days of 1990-91 I have huge gratitude to him for saving our club. But he wasn't saving a community centre, or a public park. He saved a football club, and the function of a football club is to win matches. It's not likely he will open the cash sluices much more ,though.

In the absence of white knights, the only other option is to maximise income from within the club and supporter base, and appoint the best possible people to manage the team, and make the best use of what is realistically available. In that situation boycotting ST's only reduces the sum available, and for that reason, I think a boycott is counterproductive. I will be renewing. I find no merit in the argument that withdrawing ST money will teach the board "a lesson" and provoke them into positive action. Financial self-harm, is not a solution to football problems, and is probably exactly the opposite.

Buying or renewing an ST is not an endorsement of Rod Petrie and the board. It's the recognition that we have to give whoever is in charge the maximum possible financial leeway.

Agree with second last paragraph and if thought new management team were the right one to bring in we are then asking them to do the job with one arm tied behind there back if we immediately deprive him of the cash from season ticket sales to Bolster the squad.

I know what you mean about hi bees not going anywhere else ie not supporting another club ,but the fact is we have seen a number of posters on here making it clear that it gets harder and harder to motivate yourself to go after the years of poor management choices ,and then poor quality players being brought in and the Law of Diminishing Returns was bound to kick in at some point So we are losing supporters that would come if we had an exciting product on the park .if they break the habit long enough they won't just come back based on things might get better. Also Scouse Hibby was saying he has a season ticket for his laddie but he doesn't want to go as often to watch what is on display and if the younger generation are losing interest that's a worry as there is plenty more entertainment choices out there now for younger folk than there used to be ,and let's face it we haven't been entertained at Easter Road for a long time The 3. 0 home defeat of Killie being an exception.

Wighty76
07-03-2014, 11:31 AM
I went for east stand, I'm over in 43, quite enjoy the atmosphere up there :greengrin.

Me me and my lad are looking for atmosphere too. We enjoy a sing song and can't sit still during games. Like the view from the half way line rather than watching from behind the goals so the East is looking good.

Back to the main point. If people decide to boycott I am not sure it would be seen for what it is. Maybe if 5000 ST holders do it but not a few hindered. That would be par for the course considering what's been on display this season.

10-03-2014, 10:20 PM

How do we go about putting this to him ,as I do think something is needed as a lot of people are saying cup top up not worth it ,and with so many fixture changes they would rather just now be a walk up .The biggest threat to us not progressing next season the way we want ,could ironically be ourselves if Season Ticket Sales are down substantially .

10-03-2014, 10:24 PM
Yeah, me too.

How do we go about putting this to him ,as I do think something is needed as a lot of people are saying cup top up not worth it ,and with so many fixture changes they would rather just now be a walk up .The biggest threat to us now progressing next season the way we want ,could ironically be ourselves if Season Ticket Sales are down substantially .

Email the Board? Getting through to STF is never easy in any sense of those words I'm afraid

18-03-2014, 06:53 PM
I can't really explain why, the thought of it doesn't even give me any pleasure, I listed the positives and negatives and the negatives by far outweighed the positives. I had even thought of an alternative use of my time, I laughed at suggestions on here as to why I should and responded negatively to many of them. I told family and friends that I wasn't going to do it, there is no rational explanation that I can think of to justify it but................................I've done it anyway........................... RENEWED :brickwall

18-03-2014, 06:55 PM
I can't really explain why, the thought of it doesn't even give me any pleasure, I listed the positives and negatives and the negatives by far outweighed the positives. I had even thought of an alternative use of my time, I laughed at suggestions on here as to why I should and responded negatively to many of them. I told family and friends that I wasn't going to do it, there is no rational explanation that I can think of to justify it but................................I've done it anyway........................... RENEWED :brickwall

Good man. You know it makes (no) sense :greengrin

19-03-2014, 08:49 PM

Email the Board? Getting through to STF is never easy in any sense of those words I'm afraid

He's in Costa Coffee at Blackhall Retail Park before 8.30am for a espresso dopio and a read at The Scotsman now and then I hear! :wink: :agree::agree:

Capt Mainwaring
19-03-2014, 08:57 PM
Tough times but happy to make a contribution to the cause . Me and the daughter renewed online (simples by the way!).

It's who we are - it's what we do :wink:

jakeshibs
19-03-2014, 09:26 PM
also renewed, born a Hibby and I will die a Hibby!

The only way things will improve is if we continue to support our team, being a supporter enduring the bad times, buying into TB vision as he needs our backing,. I have supported Hibs all my life and have witnessed darker times than this , however I believe we have a good proven team at the helm, who can spend wisely, attract good talent and win games, improve our home form and get us higher up the table.

All those saying STF should stump up money to show commitment, ambition etc yet your not even willing to buy ST, together we are stronger and we all want the same things, a successful Hibs, lets back them.

otherwise look at raising funds to assist, act by contributing your money instead of just asking others to take risks, I would gladly pay into a managers fund that was mentioned months back, all I want is Hibs to win (no offence meant its only my opinion, my passion)

God bless the HIBS!

19-03-2014, 09:52 PM
Tough times but happy to make a contribution to the cause . Me and the daughter renewed online (simples by the way!).

It's who we are - it's what we do :wink:

I'm with Capt M :flag:

Okay the footballs not exactly been the best but I'm a Hibbie and I want to get behind Butcher for next season.
No point at bleeting and threatening boycotts. What good would it actually do? I don't want to lessen the chances of my team being better by staying away.
With no Hearts and with Rangers not back for at least another year this will see another dip in income. I've talked a mate round to joining me and the old man next next season so thats our 2 now a 3.

Through thick and thin - its what being a football fan is all about.

19-03-2014, 10:01 PM

The only way things will improve is if we continue to support our team, being a supporter enduring the bad times, buying into TB vision as he needs our backing,. I have supported Hibs all my life and have witnessed darker times than this , however I believe we have a good proven team at the helm, who can spend wisely, attract good talent and win games, improve our home form and get us higher up the table.

All those saying STF should stump up money to show commitment, ambition etc yet your not even willing to buy ST, together we are stronger and we all want the same things, a successful Hibs, lets back them.

otherwise look at raising funds to assist, act by contributing your money instead of just asking others to take risks, I would gladly pay into a managers fund that was mentioned months back, all I want is Hibs to win (no offence meant its only my opinion, my passion)

God bless the HIBS!

Good man :agree:

If you want to pay a few quid a month over and above your season ticket, you can contribute here http://leithlinks4kids.com/ with all monies going to buy season tickets for under privileged kids and thereby into the manager's fund :aok:

19-03-2014, 10:19 PM

If you want to pay a few quid a month over and above your season ticket, you can contribute here http://leithlinks4kids.com/ with all monies going to buy season tickets for under privileged kids and thereby into the manager's fund :aok:
I can endorse that and the good work done You are then contributing to the transfer Budget but allowing someone else who wouldn't ordinarily get the chance to go and see Hibs that very opportunity It's a win win situation :agree:

19-03-2014, 10:21 PM

:agree: All contributions are welcome, big or small. It's a great feeling knowing you're helping children who wouldn't normally be able to go to games. GGTTH.

jakeshibs
19-03-2014, 10:28 PM

Great idea many thanks!

20-03-2014, 12:56 AM
Great idea many thanks!

I sadly won't be renewing but thats not due to the underperformance of the team i just can't at the minute justify spending money on a ticket in my current situation. I will however be attending every game I am able to both Home and Away just like i've been doing all my life.

Supporting the team is the only way to get out of this spiral.

20-03-2014, 09:20 AM

God bless the HIBS!

Risk assessment and responses vary according to whether the risk can be mitigated or removed and both of those responses usually depend upon those dealing with the risk(s) having some ability to control the risk(s) in a meaningful and practical way IMO. :hmmm: :dunno:

I am a ST holder by the way.

However, I'm not sure whether investing in a new ST offers the kind of ability to control, mitigate or remove the risk of the quality of football at ER over the past few years being transformed into something much better. :confused:

Time will tell, but I'm not sure if the post match interviews and the random team selections, better players at the club not even featuring in squads when opportunities exist(ed) to remove these apparently unwanted players from the staff actually helps the ST campaign in a positive way!! :confused:

jakeshibs
20-03-2014, 09:22 AM
I sadly won't be renewing but thats not due to the underperformance of the team i just can't at the minute justify spending money on a ticket in my current situation. I will however be attending every game I am able to both Home and Away just like i've been doing all my life.

Supporting the team is the only way to get out of this spiral.

good answer

20-03-2014, 09:37 AM
I've tried to avoid this thread but finally succumbed & read 1st & last pages. I have to say the final page is a lot better than the first & in particular the OP. What a solution that was, Nurse, this patient has malnutrition, let's stop feeding him immediately! I was astonished at lack of LTYF's on P1. I live in London, & last night agreed to renew my season. As a huge fan of TB the man I'm more than disappointed at progress, or lack of, but he has to be given the proper opportunity to turn this club around. I'm afraid I also suffer from Hibsitis & just can't imagine life without the highs & lows we experience supporting our club. GGTTH!

20-03-2014, 09:41 AM
Renewed.

**** the boycott.

20-03-2014, 10:05 AM
Renewed with maturehibby. Withholding money strangles the club.

Hib17
20-03-2014, 04:22 PM
Renewed.

**** the boycott.
Ditto for my laddie and me

big gogs
20-03-2014, 04:54 PM
Mr.and mrs big gogs renewed two weeks ago,also took out cup top ups,the top ups might be a bit rash,but what the hell,collected my ticket for Tynecastle.
boycott not for us,

20-03-2014, 08:04 PM
Must be mad but that's me renewed for me and the laddie, including cup top up.
#TBGWA

Hibernianinc
20-03-2014, 09:13 PM
All renewed, me and the boy.

If you can, you should.

I don't see any argument that holds water against financially supporting the new management team.

Now, wouldn't it be just lovely to see a rush of orders on 31/3 after an emphatic victory the previous day :greengrin

inglisavhibs
20-03-2014, 10:02 PM
Don't post many replies, but the knee-jerk reactions to defeats these days is getting right on my t*ts. United are a young and by all accounts very talented young side. They have a lot of young players that we could only wish for and are getting a similar effect that we were when Mowbray's golden generation were coming through. Losing some games through naivety, but more than capable of dishing out a pasting to anyone when things click on the park. If they keep their squad they will be a formidable side next season.

Butcher taking over did not give us a new squad. It's the same players and, disregarding those coming through the ranks, the majority of our squad are not good enough.

What we need is for fans to back the club with season tickets funds, then look to do the following for season 14/15:

a) buy well in the transfer market, which we've not done for a good few seasons
b) turn 2 or 3 of our youngsters into regular first pick standard and good level SPL players
C) keep the players that are good enough to improve us as a team/squad

Buying a season ticket is pretty important for A and C, and while there is always an element of luck in A I'm convinced that the new set up will see things improving in this department. The scouting arrangement in recent seasons has been farcical. B concerns me though as we sure as hell don't have any Mackey-Stevens/robertsons coming through at the moment and youth will play a significant part of any SPL teams success going forward.

Protesting by denying the club money through non renewal of season tickets doesn't solve anything, unless you think sir rod is pockling half the cash hibs receive into an account in the caymans.
:bsod:
Mackay Steven and Robertson are good examples of players playing at a lower level in Scotland that our previous managers have missed through lack of good contacts or just not being able to judge what players can make the step up. We have to hope that our current management team do much better in this department as well as somehow transforming some of our young talent in to first team players. If we get these two areas sorted we might just have a brighter future.

21-03-2014, 12:38 PM
Couldn't bring myself to renew after the Dundee Utd game although that was my original plan. However, I enjoyed our come back against Motherwell and so used that as a spring board to renew. So both me and my mate renewed then. I'm not ready to give up on them yet, if ever. I understand how the op feels, I have felt the same way in the past, but I'll always support a new manager to give him a chance. We've had loads of new managers in recent years and maybe that's why I'm still hanging in there, punch drunk, but hanging on.:aok:

MurrayfieldHibs
22-03-2014, 07:55 AM
Just renewed for my son and I - including CTU. We need to back the manager and his team so they can bring in new players over the summer to supplement the very promising youngsters that are coming through from East Mains.

:tbgwa::hibees:tbgwa:

22-03-2014, 07:58 AM
Renewed for me, my 2 daughter's and my dad. We've also got a new season ticket holder in our group. A young lad from a Jambo family, who has been to a few games this season with us, and has got his 1st Hibs season ticket.

22-03-2014, 07:59 AM
Couldn't bring myself to renew after the Dundee Utd game although that was my original plan. However, I enjoyed our come back against Motherwell and so used that as a spring board to renew. So both me and my mate renewed then. I'm not ready to give up on them yet, if ever. I understand how the op feels, I have felt the same way in the past, but I'll always support a new manager to give him a chance. We've had loads of new managers in recent years and maybe that's why I'm still hanging in there, punch drunk, but hanging on.:aok:

It's all about next season. Once we relegate Hearts and in the process securing we don't get sucked into the dogfight for 11th ,it could be a very good week for us and renewals alike Onwards and Upwards

22-03-2014, 08:03 AM
Renewed for me, my 2 daughter's and my dad. We've also got a new season ticket holder in our group. A young lad from a Jambo family, who has been to a few games this season with us, and has got his 1st Hibs season ticket.
He obviously doesn't fancy the lower leagues next season He has come on board at the right time .Keep those under 20s Reports coming in ,think I will go and watch a couple of games before end of season

22-03-2014, 08:07 AM
He obviously doesn't fancy the lower leagues next season He has come on board at the right time .Keep those under 20s Reports coming in ,think I will go and watch a couple of games before end of season

Will do. He's now a fully paid up member of TBGAWA, and he's going to the game today. How come a man from Paisley follows Hibs? That makes 2 of us

22-03-2014, 08:21 AM
Will do. He's now a fully paid up member of TBGAWA, and he's going to the game today. How come a man from Paisley follows Hibs? That makes 2 of us

Originally from fife .Had an uncle who stayed in in lower ground flat in Easter road and used to visit him He was a hibbie as was my father but my grandmother ,mother and sister were all Hearts Fans . I used to watch all the fans going to the games in late sixties and sneaked away to be lifted over theTurnstiles and that was me hooked .
Been in Paisley since I went to college there in 1979 Makes supporting the Team that bit more Expensive . My son comes with me to most games and my daughter occasionally tags along But still meet up with old mates from school days in fife who are also Hibs supporters Although the numbers are dwindling apart from the big games when everyone comes out the woodwork

22-03-2014, 08:32 AM
4 Tickets renewed yesterday...**** the Boycott

22-03-2014, 10:20 AM
The worst thing any true Hibs supporter can do is not renew or buy their season ticket (assuming they can afford to do so). There have been lots of times I've been so disappointed, angry, or frustrated with Hibs that I've seriously considered not renewing. To date, I've always renewed. Sadly, there are large numbers who still call themselves Hibs supporters, but seldom attend matches. Some might say who can blame them given some of the dross we have had to suffer for years now? However, not renewing/buying will ultimately achieve nothing and only make matters worse.

MurrayfieldHibs
22-03-2014, 11:14 AM
The worst thing any true Hibs supporter can do is not renew or buy their season ticket (assuming they can afford to do so). There have been lots of times I've been so disappointed, angry, or frustrated with Hibs that I've seriously considered not renewing. To date, I've always renewed. Sadly, there are large numbers who still call themselves Hibs supporters, but seldom attend matches. Some might say who can blame them given some of the dross we have had to suffer for years now? However, not renewing/buying will ultimately achieve nothing and only make matters worse.

Part of the problem is that Petrie will not pay any attention unless the finances get hit. With cup performance this year (and no cup final to encourage season tickets) the accounts are not going to look good. We have to balance the desire to get a point across to Petrie with the desire to back TB and his team. I have renewed for my son and I including CTU to give TB a chance to show us what he can do - IF Petire signs the players he wants.

Whatever happens we need Petrie to move on and bring in someone with more business development/growth focus to lead the club during a period of great opportunity with the demise of the PBS dwellers and sevcohuns.:I'm waiti

22-03-2014, 11:23 AM

My GP and cat would disagree.

I've decided not to renew but instead will attend every game, paying the full price for my ticket. Buying a season ticket is just denying the club much needed revenue :cb

22-03-2014, 01:23 PM
Part of the problem is that Petrie will not pay any attention unless the finances get hit. With cup performance this year (and no cup final to encourage season tickets) the accounts are not going to look good. We have to balance the desire to get a point across to Petrie with the desire to back TB and his team. I have renewed for my son and I including CTU to give TB a chance to show us what he can do - IF Petire signs the players he wants.

Whatever happens we need Petrie to move on and bring in someone with more business development/growth focus to lead the club during a period of great opportunity with the demise of the PBS dwellers and sevcohuns.:I'm waiti

Fair comment. :agree:

Scònaldò
22-03-2014, 02:06 PM
Renewed.

**** the boycott.

Indeed, 3 renewed here.

22-03-2014, 02:47 PM
So we're all boycotting the boycott then :greengrin

22-03-2014, 03:01 PM
A decent amount renewed already by the sound of things. I will be renewing soonish. TBGAWA

22-03-2014, 05:53 PM
Defo not renewing ST for next season. Due to location it's not worth the money as I only get to 5/6 home games a year. I will PATG for the games I can attend. In past years I seen the ST as a donation of cash to the club.
The season once again has been a failure, it could get worse with 11th place finish a possibility GGTTH

23-03-2014, 04:09 PM
So we're all boycotting the boycott then :greengrin

Maybe I should now think of boycotting the boycott that is boycotting the boycott and asking for a refund on my renewal :greengrin

23-03-2014, 04:12 PM
Does this mean well get another chance to see grown men waving season ticket books at the cameras? It was so classy the last time, and went a long way towards getting us where we are now, er.........

23-03-2014, 04:16 PM
Does this mean well get another chance to see grown men waving season ticket books at the cameras? It was so classy the last time, and went a long way towards getting us where we are now, er.........

Season ticket books????? :greengrin Now we can just throw our cards away like a frisbee.

23-03-2014, 04:17 PM
Season ticket books????? :greengrin

Yes,it's been a while since have had a season ticket. Are you telling me we've switched to some sort of chipping device on the people that go every week? Petrie gets more devious by the year.

Not only does he know where you live, he knows if you are actually there. Is that why all the people at the last protest had Joe 90 style glasses?

23-03-2014, 04:24 PM
A decent amount renewed already by the sound of things. I will be renewing soonish. TBGAWA

Is that Official News or is that your own assessment based on those on this thread who say they have renewed? :hmmm: :dunno: :confused:

23-03-2014, 04:26 PM
Yes,it's been a while since have had a season ticket. Are you telling me we've switched to some sort of chipping device on the people that go every week? Petrie gets more devious by the year.

Not only does he know where you live, he knows if you are actually there. Is that why all the people at the last protest had Joe 90 style glasses?

Worse than that, Rod has convinced us to pay up front for a product that doesn't exist at Easter Road..........................Football!

23-03-2014, 04:30 PM
Worse than that, Rod has convinced us to pay up front for a product that doesn't exist at Easter Road..........................Football!

You can add pies, and entertainment to that list.

23-03-2014, 05:00 PM
Renewed mine on Friday. Now waiting for the men in white coats to whisk me off to the Funny Farm.

23-03-2014, 05:16 PM
Renewed mine on Friday. Now waiting for the men in white coats to whisk me off to the Funny Farm.

They will be along shortly, the delay was caused by transportation problems, they normally don't require a 49 seater every day to collect their patients, I've been waiting since last week :greengrin

23-03-2014, 09:35 PM
Not heard from the OP in a while. In re-hab maybe?

30-03-2014, 10:17 AM
An old thread , I know, but after great deliberation, and the early bird deadline tomorrow, that's 2 ST's renewed today

Onwards and upwards

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 05:17 PM
After more years than I care to remember I wont be renewing my season ticket for my son and I !

The last two seasons I have bought them even though we could not attend as many as we would like as he pays saturday football but I felt it was my duty. If his game was cancelled or he had a free week, or it was a sunday/midweek game we would go home and away. Often I would fly back for a game especially including one at Ross county when Ivan scored the winner against us!

I dont think anyone can question my committment but I feel I cannot continue providing my hard earned money for entertainment that is few and far between. On sunday I flew back at great expense to get to the game and I have never felt more gutted to watch the team I love capitualte again when the chips were down.

I will pick my games next season and wonder how many others think like me?

31-03-2014, 05:22 PM
Well done, you are not renewing and even managed to mention (twice) how you are such a great fan that you flew back for games.

Are you needing some re-assurance from others just because you are not renewing?

If it does not suit you or you are not happy then fine, don't buy. It's a choice.

In case its escaped you over the years Hibs have been pretty crap for most of it. Yet we still do it because we are supporters. And we always hope it'll get better.

31-03-2014, 05:26 PM
I understand that you're frustrated but I don't really see the point of your post.

31-03-2014, 05:28 PM
After more years than I care to remember I wont be renewing my season ticket for my son and I !

The last two seasons I have bought them even though we could not attend as many as we would like as he pays saturday football but I felt it was my duty. If his game was cancelled or he had a free week, or it was a sunday/midweek game we would go home and away. Often I would fly back for a game especially including one at Ross county when Ivan scored the winner against us!

I dont think anyone can question my committment but I feel I cannot continue providing my hard earned money for entertainment that is few and far between. On sunday I flew back at great expense to get to the game and I have never felt more gutted to watch the team I love capitualte again when the chips were down.

I will pick my games next season and wonder how many others think like me?

You won't be going as much.

You're not as committed, no question, right enough.

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 05:30 PM
Well done, you are not renewing and even managed to mention (twice) how you are such a great fan that you flew back for games.

Are you needing some re-assurance from others just because you are not renewing?

If it does not suit you or you are not happy then fine, don't buy. It's a choice.

In case its escaped you over the years Hibs have been pretty crap for most of it. Yet we still do it because we are supporters. And we always hope it'll get better.

Not looking for reaasurance Dave..I am entitled to express an opinion as you are and your right Hibs have been crap a long time. Im just fed up and not any better than any other fan dont know why you are suggesting otherwise.

It is my choice and wondered if others felt the same you obvioulsy are happy to contuinue thats also good but it doesnt make you any more of a fan than me.

Just wish we both could buy season tickets and get value for money?

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 05:31 PM
You won't be going as much.

You're not as committed, no question, right enough.

Your point is?

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 05:32 PM
I understand that you're frustrated but I don't really see the point of your post.

Just wondered if people were not renewing and why?

31-03-2014, 05:33 PM
Your point is?

You said your commitment couldn't be questioned. You're not going, as much, anymore. I'm agreeing with you that it's beyond question that you're less committed.

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 05:34 PM
You said your commitment couldn't be questioned. You're not going, as much, anymore. I'm agreeing with you that it's beyond question that you're less committed.

Thanks for clearing it up!

Have you renewed?

31-03-2014, 05:36 PM

Have you renewed?

Yes, I have, despite the laughable "boycott" thread and various "I'm not buying because of blah blah blah" posts.

31-03-2014, 05:36 PM
Not looking for reaasurance Dave..I am entitled to express an opinion as you are and your right Hibs have been crap a long time. Im just fed up and not any better than any other fan dont know why you are suggesting otherwise.

It is my choice and wondered if others felt the same you obvioulsy are happy to contuinue thats also good but it doesnt make you any more of a fan than me.

Just wish we both could buy season tickets and get value for money?

I'm not claiming to be any better than you at all. I'm not claiming to be happy - far from it. I am not though, giving up on the club.

As far as value for money goes - tell me the last time football was actually value for money? The 80's maybe?

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 05:39 PM
I'm not claiming to be any better than you at all. I'm not claiming to be happy - far from it. I am not though, not giving up on the club.

As far as value for money goes - tell me the last time football was actually value for money? The 80's maybe?

Your right Dave,,,actually what was value for money was jumping in the car at 4.30 one midweek game when Calderwood was in charge to Ibrox,,won 3-0 and it only cost £28.00 that was value for money!

I just struggle to justify why I buy the tickets but when the summer comes round, the sun is out I will probably do it again :wink:

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 05:40 PM
Yes, I have, despite the laughable "boycott" thread and various "I'm not buying because of blah blah blah" posts.

I wouldnt not buy and boycott as that is fruitless and wont effect change...just wont buy as im fed up:greengrin but maybe your changing my opinion and I will :greengrin

31-03-2014, 05:42 PM
I wouldnt not buy and boycott as that is fruitless and wont effect change...just wont buy as im fed up:greengrin but maybe your changing my opinion and I will :greengrin

Don't buy. It's your choice. Shout it dfrom the rooftops if you like. Oh - you are. Wonder why?

31-03-2014, 05:42 PM
I haven't had a season ticket for three years now but I'm getting tickets for my 7 year old and I for next season.
Some high quality signings over the summer will help me feel better about that decision.

31-03-2014, 05:44 PM

I think that people like you should do what you think is good for you and leave others to do what is good for them without casting doubt as to the integrity of those that decide to do something "different" because it suits them! :rolleyes:

Maybe he's got something more entertaining for him and his kids to do rather than watching Hibs as they have been virtually since 2007 if we are absolutely all honest with ourselves?! :agree:

jakeshibs
31-03-2014, 05:45 PM

agreed boycott achieves nothing, we are Hibs and we need to stand together and support our club, renewed already as I live in hope,

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 05:45 PM
Don't buy. It's your choice. Shout it dfrom the rooftops if you like. Oh - you are. Wonder why?

Maybe you can tell me why? oh wait a minute you think that your right is to make fun of other posters? So dont make it personal OR IS THAT HOW YOU GET YOUR KICKS?

31-03-2014, 05:46 PM
Your right Dave,,,actually what was value for money was jumping in the car at 4.30 one midweek game when Calderwood was in charge to Ibrox,,won 3-0 and it only cost £28.00 that was value for money!

I just struggle to justify why I buy the tickets but when the summer comes round, the sun is out I will probably do it again :wink:

How does it work if the unthinkable happens. Is everyone who has purchased a season ticket already be entitled to some sort of refund, as the current cost is based on the SPFL for next season.

31-03-2014, 05:48 PM
Maybe you can tell me why? oh wait a minute you think that your right is to make fun of other posters? So dont make it personal OR IS THAT HOW YOU GET YOUR KICKS?

As I said, it's your choice. I don't see the need to broadcast it. OR DO YOU GET YOUR KICKS FROM TRYING TO DRUM UP SUPPORT FOR NON-PURCHASE?

31-03-2014, 05:49 PM
I think that people like you should do what you think is good for you and leave others to do what is good for them without casting doubt as to the integrity of those that decide to do something "different" because it suits them! :rolleyes:

Maybe he's got something more entertaining for him and his kids to do rather than watching Hibs as they have been virtually since 2007 if we are absolutely all honest with ourselves?! :agree:

We've all got better things to do on a saturday than watch Hibs :greengrin

Not quite sure what your problem is though, to be honest. I have as much right to question RH's public declaration of having something better to do on a weekend as he has to post it.

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 05:52 PM
As I said, it's your choice. I don't see the need to broadcast it. OR DO YOU GET YOUR KICKS FROM TRYING TO DRUM UP SUPPORT FOR NON-PURCHASE?

Whatever your agenda is then carry on. I feel dissapointed at the moment and would never suggest a boycott,,can you find it in my post? I actually said in one of them it does not effect change.

You simply have an agenda to make it personal BUT CARRY ON IF IT MAKES YOU HAPPY AND YOU HAVE NOTHING ELSE TO DO.

31-03-2014, 05:53 PM

Not quite sure what your problem is though, to be honest. I have as much right to question RH's public declaration of having something better to do on a weekend as he has to post it.

Dunno, until this relegation playoff nonsense happened, I was quite content to bring a pillow, and let some other rages do the screaming and shouting. :green grin

31-03-2014, 05:55 PM

Have you renewed?

I feel sorry for you and the countless others that have found themselves making this choice, irrespective of the mega fans reaction. When Petrie started replacing good players [through his negotiations], with cardboard cut outs, this was always going to happen.

Folk got the usual Hearts/Leeds comparison's thrown at them if you dared to question the [vertical down] direction the clubs was taking [all hail the five year plan] & frankly, season ticket sales would have been considerably worse over the last couple of years if it wasn't for the cup final ticket sweetener.

You will always get the smart arse replies, but it is far from clever that the club loses supporters like yourself and even the negative comments from the hibs very own kickback brigade wont disguise that fact.

31-03-2014, 05:56 PM
Whatever your agenda is then carry on. I feel dissapointed at the moment and would never suggest a boycott,,can you find it in my post? I actually said in one of them it does not effect change.

You simply have an agenda to make it personal BUT CARRY ON IF IT MAKES YOU HAPPY AND YOU HAVE NOTHING ELSE TO DO.

Unsurprisingly, admin seem to think a new post of "I'm not buying because of BLAH BLAH BLAH" is best merged with the boycott thread. Shout all you want; say a boycott is weong all you want, but your underlying message is clear.

31-03-2014, 05:59 PM
I feel sorry for you and the countless others that have found themselves making this choice, irrespective of the mega fans reaction. When Petrie started replacing good players [through his negotiations], with cardboard cut outs, this was always going to happen.

Folk got the usual Hearts/Leeds comparison's thrown at them if you dared to question the [vertical down] direction the clubs was taking [all hail the five year plan] & frankly, season ticket sales would have been considerably worse over the last couple of years if it wasn't for the cup final ticket sweeter.

You will always get the smart arse replies, but it is far from clever that the club loses supporters like yourself and even the negative comments from the hibs very own kickback brigade wont disguise that fact.

Couple of cheap digs in that post.

I've no issue with RH or anyone not renewing. It's a choice and if people have lost faith then fine, don't buy. I felt RH was trying too hard to justify his decision with his post, questioned it and he replied. I'm no mega fan, just somoeone who is as unhappy as RH with the way things are going but who is not turning his back on the club.

hibeerealist
31-03-2014, 06:06 PM

Can't understand why RussianHibs gets a bit of stick over what he wrote!! jumping on a plane (and paying for the flight, transport to and from BOTH airports etc) It is a fair old commitment to the cause! A bit more difficult than jumping on a bus from somewhere in Edinburgh and a lot more expensive. Give the guy a beak.

For the record I will not continue "giving" to a "cause" that has let me down so many times in the last 5years or so I have lost count!!!

jakeshibs
31-03-2014, 06:12 PM
Each to their own, its your choice. I have renewed as no matter what I want Hibs to be successful, and boycotting, not renewing etc only makes matters worse. you are only harming the club we all love! The only way we will improve is together. It is a business and needs our backing and support. I have endured the last 40 years, I live in hope of some success

31-03-2014, 06:15 PM
Can't understand why RussianHibs gets a bit of stick over what he wrote!! jumping on a plane (and paying for the flight, transport to and from BOTH airports etc) It is a fair old commitment to the cause! A bit more difficult than jumping on a bus from somewhere in Edinburgh and a lot more expensive. Give the guy a beak.

For the record I will not continue "giving" to a "cause" that has let me down so many times in the last 5years or so I have lost count!!!

Don't buy. It's your choice. For the record - why the need to tell everyone? Simply smacks of "come and join the boycott wagon"

31-03-2014, 06:24 PM
I've been a ST holder for around 10 years,im not renewing,instead im getting my 2 kids STs in the FF and I'll pay as I go as I did when I never had a ST and hardly missed a game,I've missed around 5 or 6 games a season in the past few seasons due to work/holidays/kids sick,money is tight for lots of people right now and that saves me a fortune,but does that make me a bad fan

31-03-2014, 06:27 PM
I've been a ST holder for around 10 years,im not renewing,instead im getting my 2 kids STs in the FF and I'll pay as I go as I did when I never had a ST and hardly missed a game,I've missed around 5 or 6 games a season in the past few seasons due to work/holidays/kids sick,money is tight for lots of people right now and that saves me a fortune,but does that make me a bad fan

Nope, absolutely not.

31-03-2014, 06:29 PM

Ach, you just don't have the stomach for it I guess. I've been let down for most of the last 25 years. Plenty others a lot longer than that!

31-03-2014, 06:31 PM
Yes it is all about choice and everyone is entitled to their own choice. My choice is to back my Club regardless.

"Born a Hibbie, will die a Hibbie" - I quote one of the greatest Hibbies.

Regardless of win, loss or draw nothing will lessen the feeling I have for my Club.
The Club that 4 generations of my family have followed and I hope another 4 generations after me will have the same privilage. A few of my Hearts mate are doubting they will have their Club next month!

Ok so we're feeling bad today because we didn't win yesterday but I'm not ditching my Season Ticket (and I don't get to all the games either because of work - its the financial commitment I choose to make to my Club). I make the decision to back my team through the good and the bad because this Club is part of my family.

During the 80's we were so bad we went on an unbelievable run of not winning a game away from home. Did I stop going.....No! I went to every away game until we finally broke the duck. Did I feel my Club owed me something? Not really. Do supporters of Stirling Albion, Forfar, Airdie or St Johnstone think their Club owes them something? If they did we'd probably have no-one at football in Scotland. All my Club asks is I support it in what ever way I can. I buy season tickets, the wee man gets home and away kit every year, I buy my 50/50 tickets (never won that either!!) and there's a brick in the East Stand wall. I do what I can.

I've been to every cup final since 1972 and seen us win 3 League Cups and 2 Drybrough Cups and been at all the cup final defeats along the way - the good and the bad. I hope in the years to come there will be many more. Some we may lose but hopefully before my time comes there will be a few more trophies I'll see brought back to Edinburgh with green/white ribbons on them.

If I wanted to be a glory hunter I would have supportered Celtic or Rangers, where money buys success because they spend 10x more than the other clubs so 2nd is a failure. Instead I'm a Hibs Supporter, from a family of Hibs Supporters.

PS - before anyone says I'm a happy clapper, I do moan at the games andespecially at the wife when the Hibs get beat....... but I still love her too!!

31-03-2014, 06:32 PM

It's easy to "find fault" with something (and people's personal choices)! :agree:

That's why there are so many critics deemed (by themselves) qualified to do so! :confused:

Frankly, my view is it's a cheap shot bordering on "bullying" but no doubt that will get me considerable flak from the "boo boys" who don't like people speaking their mind or gving a different point of view unless they are toeing the "party line" of those who want everyone to! :rolleyes:

Oh aye, you actually have no right to question anyone choosing, for their own personal reasons, to do something that does not personally affect you negatively IMO! :confused:

You could ask him why he has chosen but he doesn't have to tell you and, if he does, it's not for you to tell him if his personal decision taken by him for him should be a different decision IMO!

I don't think whether he renews or does not affects you personally in a negative way unless you can tell me how it does? :confused:

31-03-2014, 06:38 PM
It's easy to "find fault" with something (and people's personal choices)! :agree:

That's why there are so many critics deemed (by themselves) qualified to do so! :confused:

Frankly, my view is it's a cheap shot bordering on "bullying" but no doubt that will get me considerable flak from the "boo boys" who don't like people speaking their mind or gving a different point of view unless they are toeing the "party line" of those who want everyone to! :rolleyes:

Oh aye, you actually have no right to question anyone choosing, for their own personal reasons, to do something that does not personally affect you negatively IMO! :confused:

You could ask him why he has chosen but he doesn't have to tell you and, if he does, it's not for you to tell him if his personal decision taken by him for him should be a different decision IMO!

I don't think whether he renews or does not affects you personally in a negative way unless you can tell me how it does? :confused:

Bullying, party line.....Really?

As for the bit in bold - you're right - it does not affect me personally and I have no idea how you draw that conclusion? He posted on a public forum and I replied.

You seem to read far too much into posts IMO.

31-03-2014, 06:50 PM
Each to their own, its your choice. I have renewed as no matter what I want Hibs to be successful, and boycotting, not renewing etc only makes matters worse. you are only harming the club we all love! The only way we will improve is together. It is a business and needs our backing and support. I have endured the last 40 years, I live in hope of some success

I don't think they are harming the club they love, that is being done nicely by those who run Hibs !.

gaz1875
31-03-2014, 06:52 PM
I renewed today, it really was a tough choice, had we won yesterday I would have been running down the Albion Road, but this morning it was more of a stroll. The simple choice was support the club financially, or join the growing band of disillusioned support. I went with my heart and just hope we can turn things around.

Dobosz83
31-03-2014, 06:54 PM
I've got total respect for those renewing, fair play to you all. However, after many many years, I've decided not to along with the 2 lads i go with.

I've missed 50% of the home games this season in part due to circumstance but also due to the pre-match pints whichever establishment I'm sitting in having more appeal than going to Easter Road. I've actually remained in the pub and not bothered.

I feel disconnected from Hibs at the moment. It's been this way since the old east was knocked down. Something feels missing. The fact that the team have given us approximately 2 wins of note in that time also doesn't help (1-0 and 2-1 vs Hearts spring to mind).

I need a break. When the club sign some decent players capable of actually competing and playing some decent stuff, I'll return. I'm a walk up from next season, if Butcher gets it right I'll ask Santa for half season. If not, it will be walk ups on my terms.

Sad times at the club...

hibeerealist
31-03-2014, 06:56 PM
Ach, you just don't have the stomach for it I guess. I've been let down for most of the last 25 years. Plenty others a lot longer than that!

In my case over 50 years you so I know the pain, you and clerriehibs are not Rodders in disguise by any chance???!!

31-03-2014, 07:01 PM
Yes it is all about choice and everyone is entitled to their own choice. My choice is to back my Club regardless.

Regardless of win, loss or draw nothing will lessen the feeling I have for my Club.
The Club that 4 generations of my family have followed and I hope another 4 generations after me will have the same privilage. A few of my Hearts mate are doubting they will have their Club next month!

Ok so we're feeling bad today because we didn't win yesterday but I'm not ditching my Season Ticket (and I don't get to all the games either because of work - its the financial commitment I choose to make to my Club). I make the decision to back my team through the good and the bad because this Club is part of my family.

During the 80's we were so bad we went on an unbelievable run of not winning a game away from home. Did I stop going.....No! I went to every away game until we finally broke the duck. Did I feel my Club owed me something? Not really. Do supporters of Stirling Albion, Forfar, Airdie or St Johnstone think their Club owes them something? If they did we'd probably have no-one at football in Scotland. All my Club asks is I support it in what ever way I can. I buy season tickets, the wee man gets home and away kit every year, I buy my 50/50 tickets (never won that either!!) and there's a brick in the East Stand wall. I do what I can.

I've been to every cup final since 1972 and seen us win 3 League Cups and 2 Drybrough Cups and been at all the cup final defeats along the way - the good and the bad. I hope in the years to come there will be many more. Some we may lose but hopefully before my time comes there will be a few more trophies I'll see brought back to Edinburgh with green/white ribbons on them.

If I wanted to be a glory hunter I would have supportered Celtic or Rangers, where money buys success because they spend 10x more than the other clubs so 2nd is a failure. Instead I'm a Hibs Supporter, from a family of Hibs Supporters.

PS - before anyone says I'm a happy clapper, I do moan at the games andespecially at the wife when the Hibs get beat....... but I still love her too!!

Well said, sir. I've lost count of the number of times I've said I wouldn't go back, only to go back next game. Masochism, I think.

Dr Jimmy
31-03-2014, 07:06 PM
I feel disconnected from Hibs at the moment. It's been this way since the old east was knocked down. Something feels missing. The fact that the team have given us approximately 2 wins of note in that time also doesn't help (1-0 and 2-1 vs Hearts spring to mind).

This sums up my feelings as well. Totally disconnected with the club.
i don't care if i get pelters for bringing him up again, but its Petrie that has done it to me. The results of his management of the club i love have left me feeling like i want a divorce.
I cant believe people still defend him, but they do, both from the fans and the owner. Petrie is the reason, petrie and petrie alone.
i have come to the decision that i will not renew for the first time in my adult life, i just cant support that man.

31-03-2014, 07:16 PM

Its posts like these that make me laugh, you mock someone who has had enough and is not renewing because he's had enough, rather than listen to his reason and understand them.

Some people will not blindly follow the club through thin and thin, as admirable as it is. People today ARE prioritising more, and as much as those who cant stop following the club dont like to admit, a lot of folk are not as die hard as them, but perhaps were in years gone bye?

Folk who are not renewing have that choice, and in not renewing are weakening the team you support, is mocking them as you do supposed to get them back?

While i dont support any boycott, there are people who have put the years in and supported the club well, and for some of them they have had enough, we should be trying to encourage them back, not drive them further away.

31-03-2014, 07:18 PM
I've got total respect for those renewing, fair play to you all. However, after many many years, I've decided not to along with the 2 lads i go with.

I've missed 50% of the home games this season in part due to circumstance but also due to the pre-match pints whichever establishment I'm sitting in having more appeal than going to Easter Road. I've actually remained in the pub and not bothered.

I need a break. When the club sign some decent players capable of actually competing and playing some decent stuff, I'll return. I'm a walk up from next season, if Butcher gets it right I'll ask Santa for half season. If not, it will be walk ups on my terms.

Sad times at the club...

This is the biggest problem those in charge of the club have. There will be plenty who feel just like you do - to be honest, I'm not far off it myself - but for some reason I think it'll be much better next season. Hopefully it is and you'll be back at ER sharpish.

31-03-2014, 07:19 PM
In my case over 50 years you so I know the pain, you and clerriehibs are not Rodders in disguise by any chance???!!

Eh Naw :greengrin

I'd be very happy to see the back of him ASAP.

(Petrie that is, not clerriehibs :greengrin)

jakeshibs
31-03-2014, 07:23 PM

fantastic post and exactly how I feel!!

31-03-2014, 07:29 PM
Couple of cheap digs in that post.

I've no issue with RH or anyone not renewing. It's a choice and if people have lost faith then fine, don't buy. I felt RH was trying too hard to justify his decision with his post, questioned it and he replied. I'm no mega fan, just somoeone who is as unhappy as RH with the way things are going but who is not turning his back on the club.

Well deserved IMHO, but not so the cheap shots that came earlier.

31-03-2014, 07:33 PM
Well deserved IMHO, but not so the cheap shots that came earlier.

Cool. I'll let you get on with having digs at folk who still support the club.

(:cheap shot smiley:)

31-03-2014, 07:34 PM
Its posts like these that make me laugh, you mock someone who has had enough and is not renewing because he's had enough, rather than listen to his reason and understand them.

Some people will not blindly follow the club through thin and thin, as admirable as it is. People today ARE prioritising more, and as much as those who cant stop following the club dont like to admit, a lot of folk are not as die hard as them, but perhaps were in years gone bye?

Folk who are not renewing have that choice, and in not renewing are weakening the team you support, is mocking them as you do supposed to get them back?

While i dont support any boycott, there are people who have put the years in and supported the club well, and for some of them they have had enough, we should be trying to encourage them back, not drive them further away.
I think your missing the point, it's not that he's not renewing or anything to do with his reasons for not renewing. His post and others like it seem to want to encourage others to also not renew. Theres plenty of threads on here talking about st renewal, why start another one.

31-03-2014, 07:41 PM
Cool. I'll let you get on with having digs at folk who still support the club.

(:cheap shot smiley:)

I wasn't having a dig at people supporting the club, I still do, of sorts, I was having digs at the snide, patronising and downright rude comments made to a fellow supporter who is obviously hurting.

31-03-2014, 07:41 PM
I think your missing the point, it's not that he's not renewing or anything to do with his reasons for not renewing. His post and others like it seem to want to encourage others to also not renew. Theres plenty of threads on here talking about st renewal, why start another one.

Not missing the point at all, i clearly said in the post you replied to i was against any boycott? I replied to someone who was having a pop at someone who has been a loyal supporter for many years, and has had enough. You may not like it but there are more and more of these people making this decision.

Boycotts are wrong, but taking it out on those who have simply had enough is also wrong, when it could be you next season or the season after. Most people have a point of no return, and just because you don't appear to have reached yours, doesn't mean you wont.

31-03-2014, 07:45 PM

Well a person would have to be very easily led if they gave up buying a season ticket on the basis of what the op said. :rolleyes:

31-03-2014, 07:48 PM
I wasn't having a dig at people supporting the club, I still do, of sorts, I was having a go at the snide, patronising and downright rude comments made to a fellow supporter who is obviously hurting.

Clearly you are not thinking straight if you reckon I or any other fan (renewed or not) isn't hurting. Or do the ones who renewed not count?

31-03-2014, 07:49 PM
I wasn't having a dig at people supporting the club, I still do, of sorts, I was having a go at the snide, patronising and downright rude comments made to a fellow supporter who is obviously hurting.

we're all hurting ray,everyone will be back in a couple of years,if your hibs your hibs,nobody will change their team,on a Saturday its what we do,what else is there to do,I'll keep going even when we're sh@ite,daft I know but ok to be

31-03-2014, 07:53 PM
Clearly you are not thinking straight if you reckon I or any other fan (renewed or not) isn't hurting. Or do the ones who renewed not count?

:confused: Why would I not be thinking straight? It was about the snide, patronising and rude comments I was having a dig at, not the mind-set of the individuals culpable.

stevie-bee
31-03-2014, 07:55 PM
For the 1st time in 10 years I won't be renewing mine and my sons S T just had enough , I can't be bothered just going to pick and choose what games I go to ,it is not a boycott

31-03-2014, 07:59 PM
For the 1st time in 10 years I won't be renewing mine and my sons S T just had enough , I can't be bothered just going to pick and choose what games I go to ,it is not a boycott

but its when your sons goin dad dad dad cana go cana go

31-03-2014, 08:03 PM
we're all hurting ray,everyone will be back in a couple of years,if your hibs your hibs,nobody will change their team,on a Saturday its what we do,what else is there to do,I'll keep going even when we're sh@ite,daft I know but ok to be

There is absolutely nothing wrong with going when its thick or thin, or even thin and thin as is the case now. I would disagree to a degree that all will be back, as there is always some collateral damage when fans drift away. No doubt some will drift back, as we get better, however, some will lose the habit and go on to something else, that's why it is always harder to build a support than lose one.

None of this particularly bothers me, I've been going since the mid-sixties and witnessed this sort of thing many times, what bugs me is the lack of respect shown to other fans, particularly when they are hurting.

stevie-bee
31-03-2014, 08:03 PM
but its when your sons goin dad dad dad cana go cana go
i have got to drag him there. my 2 sons have st 1 has only been to 3 games and the other has missed the last 3 homes they don't wont to go now.
My mate was asking about getting a ticket next to him but i have totally lost interest.

31-03-2014, 08:08 PM
Not missing the point at all, i clearly said in the post you replied to i was against any boycott? I replied to someone who was having a pop at someone who has been a loyal supporter for many years, and has had enough. You may not like it but there are more and more of these people making this decision.

Boycotts are wrong, but taking it out on those who have simply had enough is also wrong, when it could be you next season or the season after. Most people have a point of no return, and just because you don't appear to have reached yours, doesn't mean you wont.

It's not the fact that people are reaching a point of no return, that's a personal choice, it's the attention seeking way some people are doing it that bothers me.

31-03-2014, 08:09 PM
i have got to drag him there. my 2 sons have st 1 has only been to 3 games and the other has missed the last 3 homes they don't wont to go now.
My mate was asking about getting a ticket next to him but i have totally lost interest.

my sons the same,he's 10 and sometimes can't even drag him,its my 5 told who wants to go now

31-03-2014, 08:11 PM
Well a person would have to be very easily led if they gave up buying a season ticket on the basis of what the op said. :rolleyes:

Of course they wouldn't, its the general feeling of doom and gloom that these posts create.
We all know the team isn't good enough, wallowing in our own misery won't make things better.

31-03-2014, 08:12 PM
There is absolutely nothing wrong with going when its thick or thin, or even thin and thin as is the case now. I would disagree to a degree that all will be back, as there is always some collateral damage when fans drift away. No doubt some will drift back, as we get better, however, some will lose the habit and go on to something else, that's why it is always harder to build a support than lose one.

None of this particularly bothers me, I've been going since the mid-sixties and witnessed this sort of thing many times, what bugs me is the lack of respect shown to other fans, particularly when they are hurting.

I agree were all hibbys at the end of the day,infighting on forums isn't the way but sometimes posts look worse than they are meant out to be

31-03-2014, 08:14 PM
It's not the fact that people are reaching a point of no return, that's a personal choice, it's the attention seeking way some people are doing it that bothers me.

Are you saying the guy i replied to was attention seeking? I thought this was a message board where folk could give their opinions either way, good or bad?

Maybe i was wrong?

31-03-2014, 08:18 PM
Are you saying the guy i replied to was attention seeking? I thought this was a message board where folk could give their opinions either way, good or bad?

Maybe i was wrong?

There's already a season ticket renewal thread why did he feel the need to start another one. The thread has been merged now so if you didn't see the one started earlier you might not know what I'm on about.

31-03-2014, 08:23 PM
There's already a season ticket renewal thread why did he feel the need to start another one. The thread has been merged now so if you didn't see the one started earlier you might not know what I'm on about.

It makes no difference whether i saw the original post or not, i was replying to a post in the merged thread. Threads go off in tangents all the time, and don't always stay with the original theme.

I did not miss any point, i pointed out myself that every fan is different, and we all have a breaking point.

And no amount of having a pop at them does any good, and some of them have probably been going longer than they care to remember.

31-03-2014, 08:37 PM
It makes no difference whether i saw the original post or not, i was replying to a post in the merged thread. Threads go off in tangents all the time, and don't always stay with the original theme.

I did not miss any point, i pointed out myself that every fan is different, and we all have a breaking point.

And no amount of having a pop at them does any good, and some of them have probably been going longer than they care to remember.

You keep saying your not missing the point but you then go on and make a completely different point. Hibs fans giving up their season tickets or reaching a tipping point has got nothing to do with it, it's the underlying message that these post contain that's the problem.

31-03-2014, 08:57 PM
You keep saying your not missing the point but you then go on and make a completely different point. Hibs fans giving up their season tickets or reaching a tipping point has got nothing to do with it, it's the underlying message that these post contain that's the problem.

I keep saying that because you quoted my original post, which was a reply to someone having a pop at those who'd stopped going?

31-03-2014, 09:12 PM
I've tried to get my two younger brothers into Hibs.

Lost the battle with one and I'm losing the other. He actually prefers going to watch Partick Thistle because of the decent football they play. He's only 11.

Sad times

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 09:18 PM
Unsurprisingly, admin seem to think a new post of "I'm not buying because of BLAH BLAH BLAH" is best merged with the boycott thread. Shout all you want; say a boycott is weong all you want, but your underlying message is clear.

I am sending you my number by pm and maybe you can explain to me why this is personal. I have no underlying agenda but feel free to make things up if you want. You have my number and are free to call if you have an issue. I am free to express my opinion and you are free to express yours but please dont assume anything as quite clearly you dont know me...but then again you can make things up if you like..its really sad why things have to be personal when posters feel they want to say something that bothers them...I wont be bullied and you have my number!

AL-Qaholik
31-03-2014, 09:20 PM

Boycotts are far from ideal. And it was with no sense of glee that I started this thread - admittedly rather inebriatedly. (if that's actually word...)

However, money is the only thing that Petrie and Farmer have any interest in. By denying them our money, we force them to finally stand up and be counted (yes, I know Farmer saved the club, but that was a long tome ago now).

The ridiculously transparent extension of the early bird discount today is yet another slap in the face to the fans.
Rather than saying "We know how angry you are. We know how abysmally we have run the club in the last 7 years. Here's what we're going to do about it IF you can bring yourself to renew" we get what is essentially a suggestion that everyone had just carelessly forgotten when the deadline was and not renewed today so, to give us a chance to correct our obvious oversight, we'll give you another week. And then another week when that doesn't work. And so on.

I have absolutely no desire to "damage the club" and (although I feel no need to justify myself to anyone on this board) I have continued to attend as a PATG customer at all but one of Hibs' games (home and away) since I began this thread. This is something I will continue to do as, as my mates take great pleasure in reminding me every week, no matter how bad things get I just can't stay away.

What I can do though is choose not to blindly throw my money at the club upfront in the vague hope that this will finally be the year they get something, anything, right. This sends a clear message to the incumbent hierarchy that their reliance on pure, blind loyalty to generate revenue just simply will not cut it any longer. That is the only way we will ever truly affect change.

I'm going to bow out of this debate now as, despite my drunken ramblings at the on-set of this thread, the choice to renew or not to renew lies completely with the individual and it isn't my or anyone else's place to try to influence that.

All I can do, as I hope i have done a tad more eloquently in this post, is put forward my reasons for believing that it's time we tried a different approach and let everyone else make up their own minds.

I apologise to anybody I insulted way back at the beginning of this thread and I genuinely hope above hope that Butcher turns to be the right appointment and makes future season ticket purchase decisions far easier.

And on that note, I'm finally going to shut the **** up!

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 09:25 PM

Folk got the usual Hearts/Leeds comparison's thrown at them if you dared to question the [vertical down] direction the clubs was taking [all hail the five year plan] & frankly, season ticket sales would have been considerably worse over the last couple of years if it wasn't for the cup final ticket sweetener.

Thanks Ray,,,when you post how you feel and your hit with a tirade of what I term as being vindictive and suggesting things are untrue it makes me sick. I am a Hibs fan who is using the board to express a feeling but as maybe I am not in a group I am ridiculed. I did not merge with season ticket boycott as I was not suggesting this simply thought others would give views both pro and con and open a debate on who would renew and why. This type of response by people who sit behind computers and tell us what we should think or what we are thinking are beyond me. Clerrie hibs has my number and perhaps he will be brave enough to call me to explain why rather than sitting behind a computer! Cheers

31-03-2014, 09:26 PM
Any chance we can all just calm down a bit? Maybe take a step back from the keyboard for a while if things are getting to you?

The polarisation within the fanbase is doing no-one any good.

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 09:48 PM
Any chance we can all just calm down a bit? Maybe take a step back from the keyboard for a while if things are getting to you?

The polarisation within the fanbase is doing no-one any good.

Admin has to look at the obvious attack on posters who express an opinion that is perhaps not agreed by others. Personal attacks are unacceptable and that's why message boards can be considered negative. We are all hibbies who care about the club but differing views should be welcome..cyber bashing is not!
I see this happening more and more and perhaps those attacks of a personal nature could be given a warning?

stevejordan
31-03-2014, 09:55 PM
thats the last mate i know has given up he was a total die hard as well home and away games sadly he has had enough i will continue we renewed our season tickets today hopefully next season without yams and huns will be better

31-03-2014, 10:01 PM

Admin has to look at the obvious attack on posters who express an opinion that is perhaps not agreed by others. Personal attacks are unacceptable and that's why message boards can be considered negative. We are all hibbies who care about the club but differing views should be welcome..cyber bashing is not!
I see this happening more and more and perhaps those attacks of a personal nature could be given a warning?

I have just not long replied to someone on the thread ,will you miss the Derby but I won't be getting into a protracted ding dong about it .It's fine to debate points but once it gets personal Mikey has a point stand back and take a break it's been noted ,so if the other person persists in personal abuse am sure there is a protocol to deal with it

WHUHibs
31-03-2014, 10:06 PM
I have just not long replied to someone on the thread ,will you miss the Derby but I won't be getting into a protracted ding dong about it .It's fine to debate points but once it gets personal Mikey has a point stand back and take a break it's been noted ,so if the other person persists in personal abuse am sure there is a protocol to deal with it

Noted :agree:

31-03-2014, 10:37 PM
I am sending you my number by pm and maybe you can explain to me why this is personal. I have no underlying agenda but feel free to make things up if you want. You have my number and are free to call if you have an issue. I am free to express my opinion and you are free to express yours but please dont assume anything as quite clearly you dont know me...but then again you can make things up if you like..its really sad why things have to be personal when posters feel they want to say something that bothers them...I wont be bullied and you have my number!

Have a word with yourself.

I have no agenda. I was quite clear; anyone who doesn't want to renew is obviously quite free not to do so.

Those who don't are quite clearly less committed to Hibs than those who do buy.

It's just a shame some feel the need to broadcast their decision not to buy; intentional or not, it's like a rallying call for others to do the same.

You're a shouter on the thread. I'm hardly going to call you and listen to you shouting on the phone.

31-03-2014, 10:50 PM

If there's a post you feel goes over the top or is a particularly strong personal attack then the 'report post' button is there and the offending post(s) will be dealt with.

I think Mikey has a point about everyone taking a few deep breaths before posting though. In fighting and supporters at each others throats is the last thing we need right now (and that's coming from someone who has had plenty to say on what is wrong at ER at the moment).

hibs supporter
31-03-2014, 11:40 PM
I wont be renewing till find out what the singings butcher makes

01-04-2014, 06:39 AM
I wont be renewing till find out what the singings butcher makes

Can't blame any reasonable supporter for taking that point of view IMO especially after the team performances since TB & MM arrived AFTER the first eight games where there did seem to be some improvement taking place. However, since then, things have been worse than ever IMO! :agree:

Having watched the BT Sport match (which I had recorded from earlier on) later on Sunday evening I was personally shocked at how "ill at ease" TB was in his pre match interview which must have been a worry for the players and team confidence and morale at that time! :confused::confused:

WHUHibs
01-04-2014, 06:40 AM
Have a word with yourself.

I have no agenda. I was quite clear; anyone who doesn't want to renew is obviously quite free not to do so.

Those who don't are quite clearly less committed to Hibs than those who do buy.

It's just a shame some feel the need to broadcast their decision not to buy; intentional or not, it's like a rallying call for others to do the same.

You're a shouter on the thread. I'm hardly going to call you and listen to you shouting on the phone.

Quite clearly you don't know me as I would have no intention of shouting at you. A shouter on the tread perhaps you need to have a word with yourself. Expressing how I feel is not shouting and I won't criticise anyone who wants to express an opinion or statement.I don't think I am any less committed than anyone else if I choose after 35 years not to renew. A message board is for posting feelings and nowhere in my posts have a suggested others not to buy.
As I expected you are happy to bring people down and make assumptions but won't have the nerve to discuss by calling me as you now have my number.
So to make it clear- I am not suggesting to anyone not to buy and it's my own personal decision.. Hope that's clear enough for you to understand and please stop personal attacks against me by making untrue assumptions and claims.

01-04-2014, 06:51 AM
A boycott will happen naturally given the dross on show yet again. I have no idea when I'll be back - my brother says 'not another penny until RP's out'. I know two local lads with STs that have yet to renew. Another walk up says he'll be going less also.

01-04-2014, 06:53 AM
If there's a post you feel goes over the top or is a particularly strong personal attack then the 'report post' button is there and the offending post(s) will be dealt with.

I've used that. Heehaw happens tbh.

Jay
01-04-2014, 07:08 AM
I've used that. Heehaw happens tbh.

Give us an example TQM.
Sometimes someone reports a post and,after discussion, the admin team decide not to act on it, however if we feel it's actionable it's dealt with without a song and dance.

01-04-2014, 07:24 AM
Give us an example TQM.
Sometimes someone reports a post and,after discussion, the admin team decide not to act on it, however if we feel it's actionable it's dealt with without a song and dance.

Why do you want an example when you've just confirmed you do decide to not act on some of them?

EH54
01-04-2014, 07:26 AM
I have renewed and now in a way i regret it, I didn't just renew because off Hibs i renewed because i enjoy my Saturday afternoon or when ever the game is played having a few pints with my dad and brother before going to watch the team we have all supported all our life, Those who haven't renewed i don't blame you and why should we paying around £405 for that pish is not acceptable and it doesn't even look like its getting better, massive crowds for Malmo and Hearts at home 2 cup finals etc etc Hibs had there chance to bring the supporters back to ER and they failed US not the fans. Its Hibs that have a lot to answer for not the fans.

Twa Cairpets
01-04-2014, 08:06 AM
Quite clearly you don't know me as I would have no intention of shouting at you. A shouter on the tread perhaps you need to have a word with yourself. Expressing how I feel is not shouting and I won't criticise anyone who wants to express an opinion or statement.I don't think I am any less committed than anyone else if I choose after 35 years not to renew. A message board is for posting feelings and nowhere in my posts have a suggested others not to buy.
As I expected you are happy to bring people down and make assumptions but won't have the nerve to discuss by calling me as you now have my number.
So to make it clear- I am not suggesting to anyone not to buy and it's my own personal decision.. Hope that's clear enough for you to understand and please stop personal attacks against me by making untrue assumptions and claims.

Actually, it's fairly black and white that if you are able, financially, to renew and don't, then for whatever reason you are demonstrably less committed than someone who does. That's not a value judgement on your decision not to buy one, but a fairly logical conclusion to reach as a result of your (in)action.

Personally, for the first time in years I considers not buying one as I miss around six games due to other commitments when games are rescheduled, but opted to renew as denying the patient medication is not a good way to improve his health..

01-04-2014, 08:07 AM
Give us an example TQM.

If I'd had a reply I'd be aware of this..

01-04-2014, 08:10 AM
I have renewed and now in a way i regret it, I didn't just renew because off Hibs i renewed because i enjoy my Saturday afternoon or when ever the game is played having a few pints with my dad and brother before going to watch the team we have all supported all our life, Those who haven't renewed i don't blame you and why should we paying around £405 for that pish is not acceptable and it doesn't even look like its getting better, massive crowds for Malmo and Hearts at home 2 cup finals etc etc Hibs had there chance to bring the supporters back to ER and they failed US not the fans. Its Hibs that have a lot to answer for not the fans.
Individuals have choices to make and the last seven years Barr small periods of improved league positions have clearly tested people patience to breaking point.i I come on here rant about certain things but know in my heart of hearts that I will always go back ,maybe not as often as I used to but I would never go a whole season without going to watch My Team.
Getting beat three times by our rivals when they are bottom of league and haven't beaten anyone else this often simply rubs salt into the open wound.With no Sevco we have singularly failed at Boardroom level to get things right in terms of Managerial appointments and are paying the price .When Aberdeen get it right for first time in just as Manu yearsit polarises our position further .Why not us we ask ,and rightly so
I have taken a leap of faith and bought a season ticket and ironically as a new member was partly influenced by posters on here saying this was the right management Team.
I like others on here can only speculate why things have gone so wrong after a promising start when playoffs were not in our mind top six was.T B will know what mistakes he had made The next window is crucial though as if he doesn't have resources to bring in his own players then it's clear things won't change .
Is butcher out his Depth ? can he recreate what he did at ICT ? I have no idea ,but the next Transfer window will go some way to answering that .I know it's chicken and Egg and know we have been here before ,but to not back him in summer is only going to increase risk of poorer quality of player coming in and the cycle continues .
It's up to individuals but Collectively if we don't pull together we could be denying the right management Team the tools they need to restore us back to top four .
I haven't been to an AGM for years but I will be going to the next one if Things are still as bad in October ,as by then even someone like me will be concerned in the Direction the club has been taken and as Fans and the Lifeblood and Custodians of our Proud Club we simply deserve better .

01-04-2014, 09:17 AM
Actually, it's fairly black and white that if you are able, financially, to renew and don't, then for whatever reason you are demonstrably less committed than someone who does. That's not a value judgement on your decision not to buy one, but a fairly logical conclusion to reach as a result of your (in)action.

Personally, for the first time in years I considers not buying one as I miss around six games due to other commitments when games are rescheduled, but opted to renew as denying the patient medication is not a good way to improve his health..

I did not renew last season, as my health was suffering watching that dross. Cliches are all well and good, but reality does have to come into consideration when adding up whether you do things you cannot afford or indeed can afford.

Each and every person is an individual, and their personal reasons are valid to them whether they buy or not. I applaud each and every person who continues to support the club and contribute by buying a season ticket, what i won't do though is knock anyone ( not saying you are ) who has not.

Especially if they have put more years in than they care to mention.

Our club need as many people through the door as humanly possible, and dividing the fans is not going to help.

01-04-2014, 09:28 AM

Actually it's not as black & white as you suggest IMO!

If a ST holder has had enough of turning up and not being entertained to a satisfactory degree by the product on offer on the pitch and he has another activity he can do instead which does give him the required level of entertainment then, after a long period of dissatisfaction with the product on the pitch (back to the JC days ecven perhaps) then he may want to enjoy the product of his expenditure than consistently not enjoy it! He has only come to that view because the "value for money" aspect of his ST has been reduced to a level that he has decided to spend the cash somehwere else. That is what people do with scarce or precious resources. :agree:

Any "lack of commitment " as you have decided to describe this process has not been something that he feels that he has been responsible for. :agree:

SOme people have other things in their lives that they like to do alongside watching their favourite football team and maybe those things are now higher up the priority list than they used to be. :agree:

Others may not and so renewing is something they do without thinking about as they don't have those other "options" in place in their lives! :agree:

You should try and think about other people's wishes and likes and dislikes perhaps before expecting everyone else to simply do what you do IMO! :confused:

Twa Cairpets
01-04-2014, 10:08 AM
I did not renew last season, as my health was suffering watching that dross. Cliches are all well and good, but reality does have to come into consideration when adding up whether you do things you cannot afford or indeed can afford.

Each and every person is an individual, and their personal reasons are valid to them whether they buy or not. I applaud each and every person who continues to support the club and contribute by buying a season ticket, what i won't do though is knock anyone ( not saying you are ) who has not.

Especially if they have put more years in than they care to mention.

Our club need as many people through the door as humanly possible, and dividing the fans is not going to help.

Actually it's not as black & white as you suggest IMO!

If a ST holder has had enough of turning up and not being entertained to a satisfactory degree by the product on offer on the pitch and he has another activity he can do instead which does give him the required level of entertainment then, after a long period of dissatisfaction with the product on the pitch (back to the JC days ecven perhaps) then he may want to enjoy the product of his expenditure than consistently not enjoy it! He has only come to that view because the "value for money" aspect of his ST has been reduced to a level that he has decided to spend the cash somehwere else. That is what people do with scarce or precious resources. :agree:

Any "lack of commitment " as you have decided to describe this process has not been something that he feels that he has been responsible for. :agree:

SOme people have other things in their lives that they like to do alongside watching their favourite football team and maybe those things are now higher up the priority list than they used to be. :agree:

Others may not and so renewing is something they do without thinking about as they don't have those other "options" in place in their lives! :agree:

You should try and think about other people's wishes and likes and dislikes perhaps before expecting everyone else to simply do what you do IMO! :confused:

I don't know why you're having a pop. The line after your highlight (Tornado) said "this is not a value judgement on your decision...".

I've not the slightest problem in people doing other things with their money - why should I? I don't think they're less of a person if they decide not to go to Hibs games. As I also said, if I had decided not to renew, there is no way I could describe my commitment to Hibs being the same as it was this season or any of the last 20 or so I've had an ST. I also wouldn't have been as committed as my mates who did renew, as I know I wouldn't have gone to as many games. Ergo, less committed. I've any number of mates who don't go to games now because of family, other sport, whatever, and I don't think any less of them because they, as you say, have different likes/dislikes etc, and absolutely don't "expect them to simply do what I do". What an absurd notion. However, there is absolutely no doubt whatsoever that in terms of commitment to being a Hibs supporter, mine is greater than there's. I dont see what is contentious about that. If it gets to the point where my enjoyment at watching Hibs is less than what I term value for money (and equally value for time), then I'll simply not go, and I will accept that I am less committed than I used to be.

As for "my" description of commitment, I was responding to a previous post - it helps to look back at the thread before you get all indignant! :wink:

01-04-2014, 10:21 AM
If I'd had a reply I'd be aware of this..

These things are dealt with and often generate a fair bit of discussion between the Admin team. Do you feel that something you reported wasn't dealt with? PM me the details and we will investigate why not if that is the case.

01-04-2014, 11:06 AM
I don't know why you're having a pop. The line after your highlight (Tornado) said "this is not a value judgement on your decision...".

I've not the slightest problem in people doing other things with their money - why should I? I don't think they're less of a person if they decide not to go to Hibs games. As I also said, if I had decided not to renew, there is no way I could describe my commitment to Hibs being the same as it was this season or any of the last 20 or so I've had an ST. I also wouldn't have been as committed as my mates who did renew, as I know I wouldn't have gone to as many games. Ergo, less committed. I've any number of mates who don't go to games now because of family, other sport, whatever, and I don't think any less of them because they, as you say, have different likes/dislikes etc, and absolutely don't "expect them to simply do what I do". What an absurd notion. However, there is absolutely no doubt whatsoever that in terms of commitment to being a Hibs supporter, mine is greater than there's. I dont see what is contentious about that. If it gets to the point where my enjoyment at watching Hibs is less than what I term value for money (and equally value for time), then I'll simply not go, and I will accept that I am less committed than I used to be.

As for "my" description of commitment, I was responding to a previous post - it helps to look back at the thread before you get all indignant! :wink:

Maybe I should just stay off here as I don't have time to trawl through threads to get the theme of views and thoughts before posting myself. :rolleyes:

For what its worth though, there is an underlying tone IMO from a good number of those who think that not simply renewing a ST and publishing this fact on here is somehow a sense of not being a "real" Hibs supporter whatever that means and frankly it is just rubbish and a view not properly thought through. :confused:

Individuals have their own reasons for doing things and act accordingly. That is perfectly normal! :agree:

What they don't then need or deserve is "pressure" or "implied suggestion" that they are somehow less of a supporter of the club than anyone else IMO! :confused:

People should be left alone with their own thought out decisions that suit them! :confused:

Also, final thought on this, commitment is a two way thing between club/team and supporters and as there has been little positive effect of any commitment on the club/team side in terms of footballing entertainment for the supporters it is little wonder that some may have changed the Hibs position in their personal lists of priorities for spending their cash resources. That doesn't mean that they are less committed to Hibs necessarily, it means that they have reduced the position of Hibs in their personal list of priorities! Everyone's priority lists will see similar things sitting in different position but there are a number of right answers and few wrong ones as these lists are all very personal to individuals! :confused:

WHUHibs
01-04-2014, 11:10 AM
Maybe I should just stay off here as I don't have time to trawl through threads to get the theme of views and thoughts before posting myself. :rolleyes:

For what its worth though, there is an underlying tone IMO from a good number of those who think that not simply renewing a ST and publishing this fact on here is somehow a sense of not being a "real" Hibs supporter whatever that means and frankly it is just rubbish and a view not properly thought through. :confused:

Individuals have their own reasons for doing things and act accordingly. That is perfectly normal! :agree:

What they don't then need or deserve is "pressure" or "implied suggestion" that they are somehow less of a supporter of the club than anyone else IMO! :confused:

People should be left alone with their own thought out decisions that suit them! :confused:

01-04-2014, 11:14 AM
I handed my season ticket back I'n to Easter Road after our defeat by them earlier I'n this season at Easter Road. I love Hibs I breath Hibs I am Hibs ( as is every other fan). I asked for a new manager I got one. However the new manager was left with the dross that was already here. He did have a transfer window to bring I'n players and brought I'n loans. I for one do not know if he had money to spend or thought I will keep it till the summer and see what else I get and go from there.

I have opted to get a season ticket again next season, WHY? Because as I have said I am HIBS. I will not and could not ask anyone not to renew or boycott as this is an individual's choice. However I really am starting to become nervous about next year already.

Do we just meander on and except things as they are because we are expected too, and up to an extent this makes us responsible for what is happening to our club, do we say no more enough is enough and not renew which makes less money to bring I'n new players / pay off existing contracts.

I don't have the answers but I do believe next season is the pivotal point I'n our transformation. Grounds compleat, training facilities I'n place managerial and scouting team I'n place. Now we need the final piece of the puzzle I'n place. If and i do mean this I do not see a drastic improvement I'n players fitness attitude basic ball skills, next season then I will hand my season ticket back I'n and let the Board choose their own demise because it's their jobs at stake now.

Twa Cairpets
01-04-2014, 11:17 AM

If they can renew and decide not to, then they are less of a supporter insofar as you are not actively supporting the club. It's not a moral judgement, it's simple fact. If you decide not go when you physically can go, then you are by definition less of a supporter than someone who does go. For clarity I'm defining supporter as someone who both contributes to the club financially and goes to support the team at Easter Road, which isn't too contentious definition.

For example, the guy I went to games with who was an ST holder ten years ago, who now goes once or twice a season is still a Hibs fan, but he's not as committed a supporter as he was.

01-04-2014, 11:24 AM
These things are dealt with and often generate a fair bit of discussion between the Admin team. Do you feel that something you reported wasn't dealt with? PM me the details and we will investigate why not if that is the case.

Was some time ago #59; and happened on 2 or 3 occasions. Such I have not done so again. Thanks for the comms and offer though. :aok: