View Full Version : Match Updates Aberdeen v Hibs

Pages : 1 [2] 3

10-01-2014, 07:34 PM
Good first half Hibs, there really is a lot of moaning minnies on this thread.

Going on and on about their penalty shout and conveniently ignoring ours

jimmyboco1875
Best first half up there for a while, nothing fancy but we can't say the effort and fight hasn't been there, glad the players are approaching games exactly the way butcher and malpas demands

doesn't sound as though our midfield are playing very well

10-01-2014, 07:35 PM
BT sport commentators still going on about that handball. Jeezo give it a rest

They have been awful eh! Clearly aint a clue... cairney the forgotten man under fenlon... nah he was injured and coming back you trumpet.

Bob Box Fish
Positive first twenty. Lack quality up front could do with a Griffiths or riordan who can strike a ball cleanly.

Nelson needs to learn he is playing football and not rugby.

We are doing well ....

However while they have loads of skill...Heff & Cairney are like blokes in the Parents race at the school sports day :tee hee:

inglisavhibs
Cairney - worst player on the park by a distance. We must have better than him !

Hardly, like the rest of the team competing really well although not managed to create too much yet. Lewis has hardly touched the ball and looks very lightweight against strong opponents. Keep at it Hibs and we might just get a result. Our lack of pace in midfield is obvious.

10-01-2014, 07:36 PM
Cairney - worst player on the park by a distance. We must have better than him !

That's twice you've said now. Not sure how he's been any worse than Stevenson or indeed Craig. Think they've all struggled to get on the ball in good areas although Lewis has shown some nice touches.

A fully fit Harris is a different prospect for defences to worry about. Hopefully we're still in the game when TB sees fit to introduce him. Personally I'd be bringing him on for McGivern, poor on the ball and his heights no benefit when he loses his man at every set piece

Robson playing well for them.

Thought Forster was playing well but getting no help from Cairney

Aberdeen have good shape. And they have the midfield wrapped up. More experienced players really.

Hibs must keep getting in their faces in the second half. Otherwise there's only one winner.

the bookies think so, they are shortening, hibs moving out (4/1 from 3/1 on bet365)

10-01-2014, 07:37 PM
Worry every time ball comes down left side, sorry but mcgivern a very weak link

Sent from my iphone

I'd be sorry if he was still playing for Hibs next season.

hibbymick
got to be happy with that half.....

Hows the Beer Hibby Mick....:greengrin

One down and my face cheeks (very important to state this :greengrin) are roastin. The girls think yer beers rank, i think its :aok: CHEERS!

:agree: The pre-match lovin' was nauseating.

They talked about Hibs for the first 20 minutes of the programme.

inglisavhibs
Good first half Hibs, there really is a lot of moaning minnies on this thread.

Agree on that one. This is a very difficult fixture.

They have been awful eh! Clearly aint a clue... cairney the forgotten man under fenlon... nah he was injured and coming back you trumpet.

Fenlon showed no sign of playing him. He was fit after the semi last year and didn't get a sniff.

Think BT commentary is decent myself

10-01-2014, 07:38 PM
We are doing well .... However while they have loads of skill...Heff & Cairney are like blokes in the Parents race at the school sports day :tee hee:

Ha ha like that bout The Heff and Cairney. Defo need some pace and a wee bit more composure/skill to link in final 3rd.

My only concern now is the same as Utd game in that we run out of steam in final 10

10-01-2014, 07:38 PM
Mcgivern posted missing

:agree: Doing my head in, Id like to see him at least involved defensively in his general area of the pitch second half - Aberdeen are playing it down his side - come on Ryan you are better than that.

bandylegs_jLeighton
10-01-2014, 07:39 PM
Overall a decent performance so far given that we are away from home, Aberdeen are second in the league and have one of their best teams in recent years.

twiceinathens
10-01-2014, 07:39 PM
Decent first twenty minutes without really threatening much. Heffernan lacks strength to upset Aberdeen central defenders. Cairney far too slow. Gradually falling out of game.

10-01-2014, 07:40 PM
One down and my face cheeks (very important to state this :greengrin) are roastin. The girls think yer beers rank, i think its :aok: CHEERS!

Its lovely stuff...good the girls don't like it (glad its not your butt cheeks :greengrin)

Craigen is a ****ing trumpet. That is a ****ing stonewall penalty. The ref never gave it cos it's us.

Dons is an even more of a penalty than ours. Ours was a penalty every day if the week.

Craigan is a baw bag! Hibs should of had a pen! At the other end there talking about a pen and a Red card!

GJP on BT says defo Hibs penalty. Eric Black too.

Willie Miller, please man, just give it a rest. Alright, you think it was a penalty, I get that......

And you're talking over some good music on the PA.

10-01-2014, 07:41 PM
BBC commentator(after watching replay) says it was a definate penalty at the heffernan incident, did langfield catch heff ?

Craigen was after a red as well. ****ing ********

graigen is a dick

BBC commentator(after watching replay) says it was a definate penalty at the heffernan incident, did langfield catch heff ?

Yes he did

Craigan is a baw bag! Hibs should of had a pen! At the other end there talking about a pen and a Red card!

Eric Black and Alex McLeish agree both are pens! Craigan is a baw bag!

10-01-2014, 07:42 PM
Willie Miller, please man, just give it a rest. Alright, you think it was a penalty, I get that......

And you're talking over some good music on the PA.

Bob can wait...willie has also said good things about us :)

graigen is a dick

He is a cock!!!

Craigan showing his colours. "Nelson should have been sent off"

10-01-2014, 07:43 PM
That craigan is an absolute bitter welt. Can't say anything decent about hibs!

Sent from my iphone

graigen is a dick

I can confirm your proposition

Yes he did

Mmmm maybe thomson knew it and simply HAD to deny them as well :greengrin

Fenlon showed no sign of playing him. He was fit after the semi last year and didn't get a sniff.

If that's the case... my apologies, always was of the opinion cairney was on his way back.

Bob can wait...willie has also said good things about us :)

I've only caught the last ten minutes or so, so I've missed any praise he's given, which is good otherwise I'd have less to moan about!:greengrin

I don't think he does carpentry.

lol=D

10-01-2014, 07:45 PM
Craigen was after a red as well. ****ing ********

He has always been anti Hibs, you just need to have watched his comments over the past few years a grade A roaster

:tbgwa::tbgwa::tbgwa::tbgwa::tbgwa:

What planet are these numbskulls on - "Thomson up the tunnel said definitely 'Hand to ball'" - then he would have given a penalty. I hope we do a backs to wall and get a jammy goal to burst these pundits/commentators bubble.

Craigen is a ****ing trumpet. That is a ****ing stonewall penalty. The ref never gave it cos it's us.

Dons is an even more of a penalty than ours. Ours was a penalty every day if the week.

Craigen doesn't like Hibs at all...

10-01-2014, 07:46 PM
Glad I've not git volume in the pub by the sounds of it. Half time analysis On Scottish football has long been terrible. Need To :/get tighter in midfield or they will eventually break through. Heffernan won't last much longer IMO. Looks puggled

Sent from my C1905 using Tapatalk

hibbymick
Craigan- hopeless as a player and a damn site worse as a commentator.

think i'l try some biased reporting and swap over to Hibs TV for this half :greengrin although willie miller and craig paterson have been pretty well balanced to be fair

We could nick this game. I think Harris would cause them a few problems if he came on.

start the same way....60 gone get Cummings on for Heff....75 gone get Harris on .......

Easy this management stuff :greengrin

Seriously the best evidence of how well we played and particularly pressed was how quiet Sheep fans were during most of that half

Bobo
10-01-2014, 07:47 PM
Reasonable opening 20 minutes where we looked busy and put Aberdeen on the back foot but we've had a really poor 25 minutes up to HT.

I still think we're far too soft in the middle of the park and lack creation, a bit suspect at both full back positions too where we've allowed their wide men too much time and space to put in crosses.

Heffernan looks off the pace and Cairney's been ineffective, wouldn't be surprised to see either being subbed. We need to get the ball down and wide and stop humping the ball up the park 'cos our distribution from the back is woeful.

Hope big Tel gives them a boot up the farter at the break and we see a bit more football in the 2nd half.

What planet are these numbskulls on - "Thomson up the tunnel said definitely 'Hand to ball'" - then he would have given a penalty. I hope we do a backs to wall and get a jammy goal to burst these pundits/commentators bubble.

Heard that as well. They're all tossers.

If that's the case... my apologies, always was of the opinion cairney was on his way back.

He was injured at start of the season but wasn't making the bench after regaining fitness before Butcher arrived.

Hopefully he can produce something 2nd half!

Craigen like many of the exPlayers plaguing our game being controversial just for the sake of it.

I don't mind craigan, disagree with him tonight though. Ours was a definite pen, so was there's though.

10-01-2014, 07:48 PM
Heffer looks like he could score. A few heffers in the crowd too by looks

:aok: Mmmm maybe thomson knew it and simply HAD to deny them as well :greengrin

See that's wrong. The dons penalty was so straight forward it was unbelievable and we would of had no complaints. Two wrongs don't make a right and it's basics. He got both so wrong

Hibs penalty claim: Black says penalty, mcleish says penalty, craigan says no penalty.

IMO..Think its a penalty, but at the time I couldn't be 100% sure, having watched the replay Langfield's hand hits heff, i think the lack of protest from heffernan might just have gone against him with the decision.

Dons penalty claim: Black says penalty, Lovell says penalty, mcleish says penalty, craigan says.... penalty, nelson knows what hes doing (being cute), red card.. stonewaller.

Craigan is a total welt!

IMO its a penalty, but there is no way its a red card, would love to see anyone getting their arm out the way when its kicked at you from 4yards away.

10-01-2014, 07:49 PM
Thought we had an excellent first 20 minutes, we pressed well and high up the park - stopped them from playing, we failed to take the few chances we had however, and now Aberdeen have sussed us out. The further back we are pushed, the more likely they are to score - think our defence is in for a really tough 2nd half unless Butcher changes things ... Foster having a poor game, Aberdeen coming on to their game, we'll be lucky to take a point on that last 25 minute showing.

start the same way....60 gone get Cummings on for Heff....75 gone get Harris on ....... Easy this management stuff :greengrin Seriously the best evidence of how well we played and particularly pressed was how quiet Sheep fans were during most of that half

No probs Terry. ;-)

Mmmm maybe thomson knew it and simply HAD to deny them as well :greengrin

What I was thinking, Thomson missed 2 penalties that he could have given easily, who knows whats next? He did say in the tunnel that it was ball to hand unintentional, that's why he never gave Aberdeen one.

Worrying that Pawlett is going to rip McGivern a new one this half, hope not.

10-01-2014, 07:50 PM
Cairney is doing my dinger - definitely going to cost us a goal.

It was right to drop him last year. He came back fit this year and was playing and got injured. He's only been available again recently.

Craigen like many of the exPlayers plaguing our game being controversial just for the sake of it.Yeah, Robbie Savage and Craig Burley are always at it as well, its embarrassing to listen to.

10-01-2014, 07:51 PM
:agree: I didn't blame Fenlon for that though. He was at fault for all three goals, wasn't he? I don't mind Cairney, he's got a bit of creativity and skill that we don't really have in other players, but he was poor for quite a lot of the latter half of last season even without his injury. I'm glad he seems to be getting back to his early 2012/13 season form though.

It was typical Fenlon management to me - he hadn't played in weeks, sticks him in a semi final where agreed, he was terrible. Then just writes the guy off.

See Mullen also. Probably not fit to play SPFL but Fenlon signs him, plays ok first game of season. Poor first half in next 2 games and he's subbed never to be seen again! No wonder players lose confidence

10-01-2014, 07:55 PM
Unlucky Collins. Good chasing

Btw Is Heff wearing big lead weighted diving boots the nite?

10-01-2014, 07:55 PM
Another decent chance for Heff. We've started the half okay.

10-01-2014, 07:57 PM
This is good. Keep it up this half.

10-01-2014, 07:57 PM
Collins fully 3 yards offside, still allowed to set up a chance for Heff. Good stuff. Half chance for Stevenson as well

10-01-2014, 07:58 PM
shocker of a challenge on stevenson...yellow card

Good spell for Hibs.

good pressure from Hibs, need to test Langfield though.

10-01-2014, 07:59 PM
Well played Paul Hanlon

10-01-2014, 07:59 PM
Cummings on for Heff please

10-01-2014, 08:00 PM
Cummings on for Heff please This o and has Cairney touched the ball in 2nd half??

HibeeMG
10-01-2014, 08:00 PM
As well as Aberdeen are playing these days, they've turned Hayes into a poor left back from a decent winger. Need to get at him more.

10-01-2014, 08:01 PM

60mins as per my coaching mannual......

10-01-2014, 08:01 PM

And Harris for Cairney

10-01-2014, 08:02 PM
possession

51% 49%

shots

5 6
on target

1 2

corners

9 0 ouch

fouls

9 5

10-01-2014, 08:02 PM
It was right to drop him last year. He came back fit this year and was playing and got injured. He's only been available again recently.

He was on the bench against Aberdeen back in October. Neither Fenlon or Nicholl played him in the next 4 games.

Butcher deserves credit for getting him back to form

10-01-2014, 08:03 PM
I want Collins to score just to shut up the know-it-all Swede sitting next to me!

10-01-2014, 08:03 PM
Poor free kick to give away from Collins. Quite good at set pieces are the sheep

10-01-2014, 08:06 PM
Good strike but too straight

Sent from my brain via Tapatalk

10-01-2014, 08:06 PM
stanton on for robertson

10-01-2014, 08:07 PM
Opening up a bit now, hoping we don't get caught on the break.

First touch of half for McGinn we've did very well to keep him quite so far

Stanton on for Robbo

Barry Robson still looks a top player at times.

hibbymick
"super dancing feet from Robson" .........:greengrin

10-01-2014, 08:08 PM
Barry Robson still looks a top player at times.

He is though. I've always liked Robson as a player.

10-01-2014, 08:09 PM
Robson's delivery superb. Flood's shooting less so.

10-01-2014, 08:09 PM
Is OTJ in and invade missed it or had Sam Stanton enjoyed a huge growth spurt?

10-01-2014, 08:10 PM
Langfield clears the stand...and also the city of Aberdeen

Is OTJ in and invade missed it or had Sam Stanton enjoyed a huge growth spurt?

Bloody phone. I meant ' On' and I've

Agreed - he's one of the best players in the league...

Mon the Hibs, stick it in the onion bag...

10-01-2014, 08:11 PM
Bit huff and puff up front at the mo. Think we need a wee change up there soon

Best player on the park at the moment. He's put on a bit of weight over the years!

Whatever happens now, whether we nick one or not, we are probably going to have to withstand a lot of pressure between now and full time.

10-01-2014, 08:12 PM
Agreed - he's one of the best players in the league... Mon the Hibs, stick it in the onion bag...

Always looking for the ball and is composed. A player I always wished we had signed

10-01-2014, 08:13 PM
Collins must do better there! Giving ball away cheaply

10-01-2014, 08:14 PM
20 mins

hibbymick
I like willo flood, never stands still after a pass, always moving and making angles for another pass.

He's been pretty clumsy looking whenever he's had the ball.

Dons fans very quiet....we are the away team so that is great.....

forster picks up a needless yellow

That was a dive by Pawlett

E10 Rifle
10-01-2014, 08:15 PM

I'd take him off for Cummings and leave Heff on...suppose he provides a target though if nothing else.

Cummings getting ready..

Collins just doesn't have the pace or the ball control to play successfully up front

cummings on for Heff

10-01-2014, 08:16 PM
Hanlon has been our best player this evening(so far anyway) Cummings coming on and tbh I would take off Cairney for Harris as well

Different proposition up front now... Wee bit of pace and youthful exuberance.

That was a five by Pawlett

Maybe unfairly because I haven't seen much of him but in my mind, he's a bit of a diver. One of these frustrating players that if they stayed on their feet, they'd be some threat...

Why does Robson raise his arms before every corner he takes - some kind of signal?

Heff looks a bit slow tonight.

10-01-2014, 08:17 PM
Defending well and working hard here, Dons pressing hard this 2nd half.

Hibs sitting far to deep.

Cummings on hopefully breaks his duck tonight hail hail

10-01-2014, 08:18 PM
Hanlon has been our best player this evening(so far anyway)

Cummings coming on and tbh I would take off Cairney for Harris as well

cairney doing some good defensive stuff, don't want to be cut up down that wing

Poor by Cummings to be offside there

Why does Robson raise his arms before every corner he takes - some kind of signal?

Seagull impersonation. It's an Aberdeen thing...

Hanlon has been our best player this evening(so far anyway) Cummings coming on and tbh I would take off Cairney for Harris as well

Different proposition up front now... Wee bit of pace and youthful exuberance.

I think Hanlon is our best player period.

10-01-2014, 08:19 PM

Couldn't agree more.

Keep working hard hibs the chance will come

Can we see Harris now!

Poor by Cummings to be offside there

:agree: young laddie but he should know to look across the line when he's away out on the touchline before the ball comes to him

10-01-2014, 08:20 PM

BO...needs to let the air in

Harris for Cairney please

Call me pessimistic but I'd be very happy with a draw

Hanlon is having a great game. Frustrating stuff, nothing seems to be coming off for us.

E10 Rifle
I'd take him off for Cummings and leave Heff on...suppose he provides a target though if nothing else.

Shows what I know :rolleyes:

10-01-2014, 08:21 PM
Harris!!!

:Surprised that Heffernan lasted that long. Last 15 wont be pretty

Can we see Harris now!

Harris has been out for months and will need time to get up to speed again, don't think it'd be prudent to throw him into a finely balanced game.

Come on Alex...

Here comes Harris!

att: 12,734

not a bad crowd at all....mon the friday night fitbaw

10-01-2014, 08:22 PM
No way previously we'd have withstood that number of corners - good shift from the boys so far.

Harris coming on. Hopefully he can get at a tired full back.

Boozy!

Need to keep it tight now for last 10 or so minutes.

10-01-2014, 08:23 PM
12 minutes. Mon Harris

A confidence player if ever there was one. He's been up for a while...

What is the average age of the Hibs team on the park now??

Someone call Health and Safety...

10-01-2014, 08:24 PM
12 minutes. Mon Harris Sent from my C1905 using Tapatalknot gonnae expect too much.

Welcome back Boozy

10-01-2014, 08:24 PM
8 mins

10-01-2014, 08:25 PM

Must be knackering for them as they've been at school all day anaw...

10-01-2014, 08:25 PM
Zola on for vernon tall guy

10-01-2014, 08:26 PM

(Aside) its funny how they don't give a stuff about the fans in the asbestos stand...

10-01-2014, 08:27 PM
(Aside) its funny how they don't give a stuff about the fans in the asbestos stand...

Very good point!

10-01-2014, 08:27 PM
Lenny Henry on for the Dons

10-01-2014, 08:28 PM
corner hibs

cue the loss of Hibs TV :rolleyes: cheers guys

84 mins and we have not had a corner.....

Corner yaaaasss

10-01-2014, 08:29 PM
Baws

84 mins and we have not had a corner.....

:greengrin maybe I should have said that after 5mins

Aberdeen score :grr:

Strike jammy *******s

No answer to that.

ffs get it sorted TV guys :grr:

Super strike, didn't see it coming.

Pish

against the run of play

Some goal... ****

10-01-2014, 08:30 PM
Sorry but we don't deserve that tbh

That was quality though.

Matty_Jack04
A confidence player if ever there was one. He's been up for a while...

Always better with a solid partner feel he gets let down beside the likes of mcpake charging around throwing himself into tackles, good player when he can count on the man beside him bit like Hogg with jones but not so bamba

Harris to blame there doesn't even try a leg to get out and close them down FFS hibs

Bob Box Fish
Same old Hibs nothing changes soft as pish

Ffs

wtf

Bit extreme

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2

And after 87 mins the sheep fans start to sing

ah well ta muchly HibsTV....seeing as i've missed what's happening can we make it 0-0 again

10-01-2014, 08:31 PM
wtf

Was just about to say the same thing

Cracking strike. Think we deserve something from the game but we were playing with fire for far too long.

First shot on goal all game! We have been terrible going forward

I ****ing hate Aberdeen, over the years they are the luckiest team ever against us, always pick up draws or wins they don't deserve

Ridiculous comment.

Nelson is a decent SPL defender but his utter inability to pass or clear the ball to a Hibs player needs addressing.

Just a brilliant shot. Nowt to do with being soft

Sent from my iphone

Was going to be decided by a bit of magic, unfortunately came from the sheep.

HibbySpurs
Nothing away from the goal but finding it hard to listen to this now.... Miller is a total Welt, you'd think Aberdeen are the only team on the park.....

10-01-2014, 08:32 PM

Seriously?

Sent from my iphone

Same old Hibs though mate typically soft ;)

i'l still be disappointed to lose all 3 points here they ***** did the same at ER

That is total and utter bollox.

Please pray tell how we are soft as Pish.

Nowt we could do there. Either a screamer or row Z.

OTT

Willie miller's glee and smugness on radio Scotland is giving me the boak.

Gus Fring

Gie yerself peace

10-01-2014, 08:33 PM

**** off dafty

SmashinGlass

Sent from my iphone

Wasn't a great shot at all. Was going wide until it took a deflection. Spawny as ****

We need some quick attacking players in the team ASAP! Slow as **** up front

against the run of play

Corners and shots on goal don't really reflect that. And I am watching. We've been alright but we can't complain at being behind.

2 mins added

hibbymick
10-01-2014, 08:34 PM

Im no sure that comment will be beaten in 2014 and its only January.

10-01-2014, 08:34 PM
Sheep fans have sat on their hands aw game.

Glad I'm no listening to the bbc cos it will be a ***** fest on there

McKenzie
10-01-2014, 08:35 PM
To be fair Flood has been the best player on the park. Controlled the game when the Sheep have had their best spells, cracking goal to top it off.

Sent from my iphone

So was Stevensons at ER but it was still a defeat.

Islington Hibs
Reasonable performance. Unlucky. Performed well, perhaps lacking in last third........

Created nothing

First shot on goal all game! We have been terrible going forward

Needs addressed in this window. We're crying out for someone who can keep it simple in front of goal. Sometimes thing Collins/Cummings are always looking for the Hollywood goal.

Cricklewood will do for now...

nae wonder Wallace sacked York , hole and arse spring to mind .

jammy ****s

Butcher's not happy

10-01-2014, 08:36 PM
Draw would have been a fairer result, but given how little we created we never looked like winning.

Poor performance

We defo need a bit of quality added to team.

Spawny *****

Absolute garbage.

90 seconds left of stoppage time, 10 seconds later the game is over. Bbc is chronic. Unlucky, still onwards and upwards. St mirren next?

Willo flood ignoring all the Hibs players. Gollum looking ****

Beaten by a spawny goal against the form team in the league in their ain back yard. And I'm spewing :(

Nice try Hibs

Liam craig very disappointing tonight...poor delivery from every set piece

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

10-01-2014, 08:37 PM
Pish going forward! That's what's cost us the game! Loosing one goal away from home is not bad. We are too slow up front and Collins is not a finisher he is a work horse. Battled hard but that was poor tonight. A fight on our hands for 6th. We need some pace up front in time for our next game

Berwickhibby
FFS once again we sat far to deep in the last 15 minutes, that said it took a wonder goal.... hopefully Terry gets the boys back up and ready for next week

The Dons were the better team IMHO but we almost got a draw.

Moment of brilliance won it.

10-01-2014, 08:38 PM
No lack of spirit in the team but we need better players.

2 full-backs, 2 decent experienced midfielders and at least one sharp striker.

Nothing wrong in central defence on tonight's showing.

So was Stevensons at ER but it was still a defeat.

Nae **** Sherlock. In what way were we soft? Away from home, defended 11 corners without losing. Didn't do much up front but soft?

Sent from my iphone

They have some good players. Thought we deserved a draw. Front players not able to hold the ball up through either being static or not having good control.

never deserved to lose that one, they got a goal from nothing, we matched them all over the park so don't feel to down after this.

M11BMO
Practically the same 11/12 players for the past few games... I think tiredness is now becoming an issue. Hopefully after the transfer window TB will have managed to bring in some additional quality in order to rotate the players a bit more. Nothing to be too disheartened about, Aberdeen are playing well and never an easy place to go. Onwards and upwards.

Absolute garbage.

From what I've seen (bits and pieces whilst 'workimg') I disagree. Unlucky to lose to a very good team who produced one moment of magic.

Liam craig very disappointing tonight...poor delivery from every set piece

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Just hoofed the ball up the park all game didn't play football once. In games like that you need a player like Kevin T to hold onto the ball

10-01-2014, 08:39 PM
I thought we gave a decent account of ourselves in stages. Good goal for Aberdeen but given that Dundee utd and Aberdeen seem to be the best Teams outside Celtic and we matched them I'm quite happy. Onto next week!

Dan Sarf
Our team's the greatest, we never give up. :flag:

Quality and pace in final 3rd is a must before the transfer window closes.

We need a Barry Robson type player to get hold of the ball and pass it about

Cairney & Robertson were passengers tonight - like playing with 9 men. Thought our back 4 were all excellent, but we just didn't create anything. Dons will not have a luckier 3 points this season.

Very poor game with a wonder goal to separate the teams.

Oh well, lets move onto the next game, 4 on the bounce at home?

Honeymoons over. Get better players in.

10-01-2014, 08:40 PM
Thought we deserved a draw but never really looked like scoring

hibbeedavid
Got nothing, deserved nothing, don't deserve anything from a game when you creat NOTHING over the 90 mins

Aberdeen not at their best tonight and yes it's a flukey goal but at least they seemed to have some some sense of idea of what to do in the final third

TB has his work cut out with trying to get this time to be creative, new additions needed ASAP

Pish going forward! That's what's cost us the game! Loosing one goal away from home is not bad. We are too slow up front and Collins is not a finisher he is a work horse. Battled hard but that was poor tonight. A fight on our hands for 6th. We need some pace up front in time for our next game

I agree but the midfield was anonymous today and created nothing going forward - even with a couple of decent strikers we wouldn't have been doing anything else except launch the ball forward to them at every opportunity.

All 4 across the midfield created nothing and I'm pretty disappointed that the last 2 games could have gained us 4 points but instead we've ended up with 1. Need a bit of pace and guile in the team urgently.

I tell you what, Flood got far too much time to line that shot up and Harris should have closed him far quicker.

However what I take from that game away at Aberdeen is that given what Butcher and Malpas have managed so far with Fenlon's players I am very excited about what is to come once they get their own guys in.

Never been so positive about Hibs for a while.

Gave a good account of ourselves against two teams I thought we'd struggle against.

AndySOL1875
Didnt think we looked too out of place against the so called 2nd best team in the league, just struggled going forward but great to see Harris back!

GGTTH :flag:

ShadesLongThrow
Desperately need some pace up front. I really like Collins but he is slow. I don't think Heff looks that fit either. A fast forward to run at defences in the window would make a huge difference.

Nae **** Sherlock. In what way were we soft? Away from home, defended 11 corners without losing. Didn't do much up front but soft?

Sent from my iphone

It wasn't me who said we were soft.

Cairney & Robertson were passengers tonight - like playing with 9 men. Thought our back 4 were all excellent, but we just didn't create anything. Dons will not have a luckier 3 points this season.

Not a fan of Cairney then?
He was probably our most creative player

The Gorf
10-01-2014, 08:41 PM
That would be Kenny Miller then.

hopefully with a few players out on loan(and one released) that's the plan

Some right bed wetters on here tonight :greengrin

Disappointing to not get a point, If Aberdeen are the benchmark then we'll be alright.

Really need to add some quality up front, and genuine pace to the team though.

no knee jerk reactions needed, the supposed 2nd best team in the league and radio love in boys just needed a 86th min wonder strike to win.

Thought Paul Hanlon strolled through the game, I almost forgot Vernon was playing.

Unlucky tonight. It did show we lack a bit of quality in the final third.

Thought Hanlon and Forster were excellent. Craig was far too keen to pitch balls into channels for me though. Stanton seemed more keen to put his foot on the ball which is what we needed.

Still, with Harris back and a few players moved on hopefully we can sign some creativity and there's a lot to look forward to.

Willo flood ignoring all the Hibs players. Gollum looking ****

Put them out two cups better than one poxy goal. Disappointed with that loss. But they're not 2nd without reason. At least we're no longer the spring-board to kick-start folks season. Defence still pretty stingy given then number of corners. Let's hear TBs thoughts...

hibbymick
We need strikers who can score goals, its not really that difficult. I like collins workrate but IMO hes Eoin doyle wi less goals.

That's what happens when you give the ball away too cheaply. Most of the game is played in your own final 3rd and all it takes is a piece of individual brilliance and it's game over.

We have to retain possession better.

Onwards and upwards.

10-01-2014, 08:42 PM
It wasn't me who said we were soft.

Ok, apologies

Sent from my iphone

Aye Hanlon was our MOM

Practically the same 11/12 players for the past few games... I think tiredness is now becoming an issue. Hopefully after the transfer window TB will have managed to bring in some additional quality in order to rotate the players a bit more. Nothing to be too disheartened about, Aberdeen are playing well and never an easy place to go. Onwards and upwards.

:agree: We didn't have much on the bench either imho. Stanton hasn't really shown anything in the first team yet and Harris is just back and Cummings is still finding his feet in the first team too.

Aberdeen have a better squad than us but even still it took a cracking strike to beat us. Not too worrying, and the defeat told us nothing that we didn't already know about the team.

A loss away to the team in second and in form and 'honeymoons over'?

It's not the team who are soft by any means.

I agree,it was a good strike tbh,defence did ok but Collins needs to hold the ball up more and win his share of headers to take some pressure off them,was hoping for the draw at the start

Makaveli
10-01-2014, 08:43 PM
Still can't believe he put Stanton on.

I like the boy but he has zero presence in midfield, nowhere near strong enough against a team like that. Easy to say now but IMO it seemed obvious that it had to be OTJ.

No lack of spirit in the team but we need better players.

2 full-backs, 2 decent experienced midfielders and at least one sharp striker.

Nothing wrong in central defence on tonight's showing.

how do we need a right back forster was up and down the pitch whole game, also took all the throw ins he must be knackered and here is you saying we need 2 full backs, great effort from him but you must have thought he was mince to make a comment like that

FFS once again we sat far to deep in the last 15 minutes, that said it took a wonder goal.... hopefully Terry gets the boys back up and ready for next week

Our defence did a great job all night, but we seemed to lack fitness in the final 15. Ball breaks to Golum 25 yards out from our goal and not a Hibs player within 15 yards.