View Full Version : Good News Stories

Pages : 1 [2]

24-12-2020, 08:42 PM
Having just moved into a new house last month I’m now moving jobs. All at the ripe old age of .....well fairly Auld. Instead of commuting along the bypass each day the new job is less that 5 miles up the road. Less hours although constant nights. Monday to Friday and the best bit a considerable raise in salary to go with the small fortune I’ll save in transport costs. There’s life in the old dog yet.😎

Congrats, A :thumbsup:

24-12-2020, 10:46 PM
Good piece in The Times about Lou Macari who is doing good work with the homeless in Stoke. He seems like a genuine person.

stu in nottingham
25-12-2020, 01:01 PM
Hark! A Christmas Angel

I have a huge admiration for the kind and selfless lady who spends her Christmas each year making sure those less fortunate are fed.

God bless you Mo, you are a beautiful human being.

https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/nottingham-news/mum-running-drive-thru-christmas-4752919?fbclid=IwAR2tHeqFvtUzGfIqAKD56a34l2QAOaibL-YhmP4HV6JO1eGJ5OGpDVczvX4

25-12-2020, 04:35 PM
Congrats, A :thumbsup:

Cheers JC

15-01-2021, 09:22 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-stoke-staffordshire-55670566

Little things mean a lot. ☺

10-03-2021, 05:34 PM
https://news.stv.tv/entertainment/supergroup-forms-to-back-rugby-heros-mission-against-mnd

And here it is

https://youtu.be/DCNP2oaTh6U

10-03-2021, 06:01 PM
https://news.stv.tv/entertainment/supergroup-forms-to-back-rugby-heros-mission-against-mnd

And here it is

Smashing tune there!

I don't understand the advert at the end. What's available from 12 March?

10-03-2021, 06:06 PM
Smashing tune there!

I don't understand the advert at the end. What's available from 12 March?It'll be available to download with the proceeds going to Doddie Weir's charity. I'll post the link when I get it.

10-03-2021, 06:10 PM

And here it is

Decent tune, hope it's a great success.

I've always wondered how these online collaborations work, every video software I've ever used has always had a slight delay which must make the rhythm timing difficult. I've recorded 3 albums on multitrack recording equipment in the studio and some tunes are immensely difficult to get the timing right on the different tracks, it must be a nightmare online.

10-03-2021, 06:26 PM
Decent tune, hope it's a great success.

I've always wondered how these online collaborations work, every video software I've ever used has always had a slight delay which must make the rhythm timing difficult. I've recorded 3 albums on multitrack recording equipment in the studio and some tunes are immensely difficult to get the timing right on the different tracks, it must be a nightmare online.They're all recorded individually, to a click track and probably in this case to a recording of Bruce & Anna (fiddle & guitar) playing the tune. Then it's all lumped together and mixed at the end.

My mate's son has made quite a name for himself doing stuff like this during lockdown.

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/scotland/2123302/father-and-son-helping-scottish-musicians-collaborate-across-the-world-during-lockdown/?utm_source=email&utm_medium=sharelink&fbclid=IwAR2v14e2eAG6GJyzXqmZ2ikS1_XOnjNLBsnuzte5E bJVrYdgKnLKEo76KxM

10-03-2021, 06:36 PM
They're all recorded individually, to a click track and probably in this case to a recording of Bruce & Anna (fiddle & guitar) playing the tune. Then it's all lumped together and mixed at the end.

My mate's son has made quite a name for himself doing stuff like this during lockdown.

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/scotland/2123302/father-and-son-helping-scottish-musicians-collaborate-across-the-world-during-lockdown/?utm_source=email&utm_medium=sharelink&fbclid=IwAR2v14e2eAG6GJyzXqmZ2ikS1_XOnjNLBsnuzte5E bJVrYdgKnLKEo76KxM

That makes sense, thanks. Tunes in the hoose is a great idea, just gave it a wee watch on YouTube, I'll have a closer look later.

10-03-2021, 06:40 PM
That makes sense, thanks. Tunes in the hoose is a great idea, just gave it a wee watch on YouTube, I'll have a closer look later.Even though it's well played I can only take the music in small doses, however the idea and the spirit behind it are excellent.

10-03-2021, 07:05 PM
Even though it's well played I can only take the music in small doses, however the idea and the spirit behind it are excellent.

Didn't want to say that but same here. :greengrin

We usually get invited to a Folks Festival near Wolfsburg and we get accommodated in a farmyard, 40 folks musicians playing various versions of diddly diddly dee for hours on end is enough to drive you insane.

10-03-2021, 09:22 PM
They're all recorded individually, to a click track and probably in this case to a recording of Bruce & Anna (fiddle & guitar) playing the tune. Then it's all lumped together and mixed at the end.

Check out Anna Massies Black isle correspondent on YouTube

https://youtu.be/7_K41Ayw5cA

10-03-2021, 09:48 PM
Check out Anna Massies Black isle correspondent on YouTube

https://youtu.be/7_K41Ayw5cAGreat humour.

17-03-2021, 11:37 AM
Some might suggest that this is simply cynical marketing, but the idea is excellent.

https://www.scotsman.com/read-this/happy-to-chat-badges-have-become-permanent-for-asda-delivery-drivers-this-is-what-they-mean-3168901

'Happy to Chat' badges have become permanent for Asda delivery drivers - this is what they mean

Asda has announced that its Happy to Chat initiative has been extended into a permanent feature for delivery drivers.

Delivery drivers have the option to wear a badge on their uniform, and it allows customers to know that they’re happy to have a chat with them whilst their shopping is being delivered.

‘Positive response from customers’
Vice President of Online Grocery at Asda, Simon Gregg, said: “As Covid restrictions begin to lift but many still feel the impact of the last year without regular contact with friends and family, it felt right to make our Happy to Chat badgers a permanent fixture to our drivers’ uniforms.

“We’re incredibly proud of all the work they do - and this badge is a symbol of their continued friendly and approachable service which can make such a difference to those who don’t have much contact with others.”

Delivery driver, Geoff Norris, said: “We’ve had such a positive response from customers since we introduced the badges, you can tell that even a five minute chat with someone whilst you’re delivering their shopping can have such a positive impact on their day.”

‘Challenging time for those experiencing loneliness’
The badges were originally launched at the end of November 2020 and, at the time, Anna-Maree Shaw, CCO of Asda, said: “It’s a challenging time for everyone, especially those experiencing loneliness.

“While Asda colleagues have always made an effort to have a quick chat and raise a smile, we want to make sure that whether it’s in our stores, at the doorstep or in the community - we’re here for customers.”

Vice President of Online Grocery at Asda, Simon Gregg, added: “We’ve always been proud to have some of the friendliest drivers here at Asda, and never more so than this year.

“The Happy to Chat badges are a symbol of the great work they do - delivering a little kindness along with their groceries to someone who may be lonely or isolated.”

The initiative had been developed following a study which showed that almost a quarter of people (23 per cent) were only interacting with someone else once a week - many of whom were delivery drivers.

One in four people also said that they looked forward to seeing the drivers just so that they could have someone to talk to.

According to research done by the Royal Voluntary Service last year, 13 per cent of people said they were experiencing loneliness, with over a third (39 per cent) unable to see friends and family, and a quarter (25 per cent) left without support nearby.

The badges were designed for the 42 per cent of people who said that they shy away from starting a conversation because they don’t want to be a burden, and the 25 per cent of people who would be happy to start a conversation if they knew the other person was happy to talk as well.

17-03-2021, 09:32 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-56429104

17-03-2021, 09:36 PM

Nice 👍

Santa Cruz
17-03-2021, 09:44 PM

You can just imagine how chuffed the bairn was. What a nice touch from an amazing man.

22-03-2021, 08:17 PM
https://www.aol.co.uk/paperboy-15-saves-elderly-woman-182131273.html

22-03-2021, 08:25 PM
https://www.aol.co.uk/paperboy-15-saves-elderly-woman-182131273.html

😱 He's a big lad for 15.....
And I can't be the only one thinking that's his little sister in the photo NOT his Mum (can I?)

22-03-2021, 08:29 PM
😱 He's a big lad for 15.....
And I can't be the only one thinking that's his little sister in the photo NOT his Mum (can I?)

I thought it was his twin :greengrin

27-03-2021, 06:25 PM
https://metro.co.uk/2021/03/27/boy-11-raises-440000-for-hospice-sleeping-in-his-garden-for-a-year-14315753/

Santa Cruz
27-03-2021, 06:36 PM
https://metro.co.uk/2021/03/27/boy-11-raises-440000-for-hospice-sleeping-in-his-garden-for-a-year-14315753/

What an achievement and such a worthy cause. His family must be so proud of him.

27-03-2021, 06:46 PM
What an achievement and such a worthy cause. His family must be so proud of him.

Very much so.

27-03-2021, 07:00 PM
Very much so.

Absolutely brilliant, thanks for sharing this

03-06-2021, 01:20 PM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9647789/amp/Three-year-old-boy-beams-joy-tries-glasses-sees-parents-faces.html?utm_medium=referral&utm_source=upday

Forgive the source of the link. 😃

Stairway 2 7
01-08-2021, 09:10 PM
Not a news story but warmed me, the beauty of music

https://mobile.twitter.com/Wat_the_deuce/status/1421561695198236678

01-08-2021, 09:23 PM
Not a news story but warmed me, the beauty of music

https://mobile.twitter.com/Wat_the_deuce/status/1421561695198236678

Wee tear in my eye.

AltheHibby
02-08-2021, 06:19 PM
This is a powerful one and says so much about Jason Momoa.

https://twitter.com/GeorgeTakei/status/1422257122679590918?s=19

ACLeith
02-08-2021, 08:33 PM
For those who live in Leith, Links Gardens is reopening on Monday 9th August. Only a year late but better than never.

24-08-2021, 05:48 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-58266180

24-08-2021, 08:04 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-58266180

Very impressive gentleman.

Santa Cruz
28-08-2021, 11:52 AM
Brilliant story underlining the importance of organ donation.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-cambridgeshire-58361917

15-09-2021, 01:25 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2021/sep/13/firm-bring-back-woolly-mammoth-from-extinction

I really want this to happen.

15-09-2021, 02:03 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2021/sep/13/firm-bring-back-woolly-mammoth-from-extinction

I really want this to happen.

Can we bring back Gordon Smith afterwards ??

06-10-2021, 09:22 PM
BBC News - Historic go-ahead for malaria vaccine to protect African children
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-58810551

17-10-2021, 03:36 AM
Not a news story but, worth a look.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bG6omxJJrw4

17-10-2021, 10:10 AM
Not a news story but, worth a look.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bG6omxJJrw4

Quite a coincidence that a soldier would walk in right then!

I wonder what they would have filmed if he hadn't :hmmm:

Stairway 2 7
17-10-2021, 10:43 AM
Quite a coincidence that a soldier would walk in right then!

I wonder what they would have filmed if he hadn't :hmmm:
Your too cynical. It's a series that's been running for years there's hundreds of them, it's never usually a soldier.

Top bloke though 👏

17-10-2021, 10:53 AM
Your too cynical. It's a series that's been running for years there's hundreds of them, it's never usually a soldier.

Top bloke though 👏

Obviously I didn't know that.

Good guy.

09-12-2021, 07:52 PM
https://twitter.com/LFC/status/1468883124209786884?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1468883124209786884%7Ctwgr% 5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_c10&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sportbible.com%2Ffootbal l%2Fnews-alisson-gives-emotional-surprise-to-lifelong-liverpool-fan-20211209

09-12-2021, 08:24 PM
https://twitter.com/LFC/status/1468883124209786884?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1468883124209786884%7Ctwgr% 5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_c10&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sportbible.com%2Ffootbal l%2Fnews-alisson-gives-emotional-surprise-to-lifelong-liverpool-fan-20211209

Bloody smoke in here getting in my eyes.

13-12-2021, 07:05 PM
https://t.co/zU6DGvdZIy

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

13-12-2021, 10:25 PM
https://twitter.com/forthone/status/1470472606872711170?t=2Cj-It2hKMwkuXBd703JKg&s=19

Hopefully linked correctly. But today's cash register call is absolutely amazing - delighted for Mary receiving 102k

Santa Cruz
13-12-2021, 11:19 PM
https://twitter.com/forthone/status/1470472606872711170?t=2Cj-It2hKMwkuXBd703JKg&s=19

Hopefully linked correctly. But today's cash register call is absolutely amazing - delighted for Mary receiving 102k

I got a wee bit teary listening to that. The DJ was brilliant with the winner.

18-12-2021, 07:17 PM
The listening chair (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-59609662)

What a great, simple idea. I like to go and have a wee seat on the benches at St Bernards Well, it's amazing how many people stop to have a wee blether, particularly good during lockdown, almost therapeutic.

Crunchie
23-12-2021, 08:42 AM
What better news than another Hibs victory :wink:. Travelling on the train yesterday was a chore, today will be that bit better knowing the jambos I run into won't have that gloat on their face :greengrin

23-12-2021, 12:55 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-59766719

Good news but still a while to go unfortunately!!

23-12-2021, 06:04 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/campbellwpaul/status/1473970352300646400?s=12&fbclid=IwAR10fiRfR3g-b1_u5GXG8R8s14XKCpWlPGO-FM1p15yCexgi1H7Rj7h-rKg

23-12-2021, 09:38 PM
I've just met my third baby granddaughter.. third in 4 years!

Have ordered a grandson for the next one

27-12-2021, 08:31 PM
https://www.givemesport.com/1808924-beautiful-football-moments-young-qpr-fan-celebrates-beating-leukaemia-at-ht-v-bournemouth?amp=&utm_medium=rss-feed&utm_campaign=organic&utm_source=upday&autoplay=on

10-01-2022, 11:26 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/video/2022/jan/10/train-smashes-into-crashed-plane-moments-after-pilot-is-rescued-video

speedy_gonzales
10-01-2022, 07:01 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/video/2022/jan/10/train-smashes-into-crashed-plane-moments-after-pilot-is-rescued-video

That's more good fortune rather than good news.
If I was the pilot, I'm not sure I'd bother putting my lottery on that night as although it was fortunate he was pulled out, it can't be that lucky to crash land a plane and park right in front of an express train!

10-01-2022, 07:27 PM
That's more good fortune rather than good news.
If I was the pilot, I'm not sure I'd bother putting my lottery on that night as although it was fortunate he was pulled out, it can't be that lucky to crash land a plane and park right in front of an express train!

Good news is that US polis don't spend all their time gunning down black people. Here a couple of them risked life and limb to pull a member of the public to safety.:wink:

31-01-2022, 05:01 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-60199415

17-02-2022, 10:43 PM
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/forest-green-chairman-makes-pledge-to-swindon-fan-6-after-heartwarming-note-goes-viral/ar-AATW6rR?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=U531

Sergio sledge
18-02-2022, 04:10 PM
https://youtu.be/o6pwWVvJ8cc

And the result from the game:

https://twitter.com/LHSD_WOLVES/status/1493795420660772867?t=ZdcFFL0nAxGbiD7cOKNQAg&s=19

16-03-2022, 09:27 AM
Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe on way home to UK - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-60756870)

Long overdue.

Stairway 2 7
16-03-2022, 11:31 AM
Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe on way home to UK - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-60756870)

Long overdue.

Guy Elster
@guyelster
·

#BREAKING #Iran freed another UK citizen, Anousheh Ashouri, who was sentenced for "spying for the Mossad

Can see the nuclear deal moving very close now

18-03-2022, 08:41 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-60785619

Aberfeldy!:thumbsup:

10-05-2022, 08:27 AM
Anything but a feel good story but in a wider context, these remarkable women who shared their stories and put cancer front and centre, have my respect.

It's very sad to read about her now but she is, even now, still a really impressive and inspirational human being.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-61388961

Jay
10-05-2022, 08:34 AM
Anything but a feel good story but in a wider context, these remarkable women who shared their stories and put cancer front and centre, have my respect.

It's very sad to read about her now but she is, even now, still a really impressive and inspirational human being.

She is amazing. A young mum living every second she can.

Please please please post your poo people. It honestly saves lives

13-06-2022, 10:03 AM
Arron Banks loses libel action against mad cat woman Carole Cadwalladr.

Stairway 2 7
13-06-2022, 10:19 AM
Arron Banks loses libel action against mad cat woman Carole Cadwalladr.

The court said what she said was false and might be damaging but she didn't know that before releasing tweets. Delighted as he's a prick who helped f our economy

@shoabmkhan

Banks demonstrated TED Talk caused serious harm to reputation, but failed to prove Tweet did too. Public interest defence is to be assessed having regard to
@carolecadwalla
's intended meaning. Key factor was the reasonable grounds for her to believe her intended meaning was true

28-06-2022, 11:53 PM

I see that she died yesterday. So sad 😢

05-07-2022, 11:14 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-61996520

Didn't know where to post this but it has the potential to be very good news for us all, and it feels like we could do with a bit of good news.

06-08-2022, 06:44 AM
Right wing nut job fined $50m for lying.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-62444302

05-09-2022, 06:52 PM
Man takes extreme measures to deal with driver going at 30mph on motorway. (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/sep/05/driver-saves-motorist-having-seizure-motorway-m62)

06-09-2022, 07:49 AM
Man takes extreme measures to deal with driver going at 30mph on motorway. (https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/sep/05/driver-saves-motorist-having-seizure-motorway-m62)

Someone will be along shortly to say the driver was breaking the law by driving so slowly 🙄

19-11-2022, 08:07 PM
You have to smile at this

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/world-us-canada-63685009

Santa Cruz
19-11-2022, 08:16 PM
You have to smile at this

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/world-us-canada-63685009

smiled and welled up at the same time.

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 12:42 AM
Great idea this thread 👍. My good news story is from over here ,about a uncle and his Nephew Oisin and miss Hollie
https://www.donegaldaily.com/2022/08/03/donegal-lads-meeting-with-tvs-miss-hoolie-goes-viral-thanks-to-uncle/

Donegal Hibby
21-11-2022, 07:04 PM
Love a happy ending 😁
https://www.rte.ie/news/newslens/2021/0208/1195722-dog-rescued-mountain/

Santa Cruz
03-12-2022, 12:30 PM
Got a bit emotional reading about Peter Kay getting emotional at his first show last night in Manchester. Glad his privacy was respected while he took time away.

https://www.theguardian.com/culture/2022/dec/03/peter-kay-brought-to-tears-on-opening-night-of-comeback-tour

24-12-2022, 01:36 PM
One for the bairns - Santa Tracker

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/travel/news/santa-norad-tracker-how-to-follow-father-christmas-around-the-world-and-see-if-he-has-delivered-presents-yet-as-he-reaches-australia/ar-AA15Ckgo?ocid=AMZN

12-01-2023, 07:29 AM
Wow! But so many questions!

For a start, how did it get there and how did he survive it doing so?

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2023/jan/12/surgeons-remove-unexploded-grenade-lodged-in-ukrainian-soldiers-chest?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Other

14-01-2023, 06:52 AM
82-year-old Walmart employee retires after viral TikTok video raises over $100,000 on GoFundMe | Fox News (https://www.foxnews.com/us/82-year-old-walmart-employee-retires-viral-tiktok-video-raises-100000-gofundme)

Dystopian society cautionary tale or Good news story? You decide.

Donegal Hibby
16-01-2023, 06:50 PM
Paddy is 81 year old and has raised a lot of money for charity with his " Ducking and Diving .
https://www.donegaldaily.com/2023/01/14/man-of-the-year-nomination-for-local-hero-paddy-conaghan/

24-01-2023, 09:20 AM
https://scoop.upworthy.com/centenarian-helps-schoolchildren-read-after-losing-wife

Santa Cruz
24-01-2023, 09:50 AM
https://scoop.upworthy.com/centenarian-helps-schoolchildren-read-after-losing-wife

He doesn't look 100 years old. When he said "I belong" ..... anyway, a really heartwarming story.

09-03-2023, 03:39 PM
Ukraine war: Latvia sends cars seized from drunk drivers to help Kyiv - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-64903201)

22-05-2023, 10:25 AM
Souness is a dick on a number of levels on a football front, but he gets my full admiration for this.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-65664357

07-07-2023, 08:06 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-nottinghamshire-66099395?at_link_id=E4500FF6-1B2D-11EE-A2A6-5A003AE5AB7B&at_link_origin=BBC_News&at_bbc_team=editorial&at_campaign=Social_Flow&at_link_type=web_link&at_campaign_type=owned&at_ptr_name=facebook_page&at_medium=social&at_format=link&fbclid=IwAR2sTKal36BaF5PJNUUExcTzw41NEXP-0-sOA8XSiBZ0Rejg6x6Ql9jTMBo

This is just a nice story and if it becomes a regular thing then all the better.

07-07-2023, 09:47 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-nottinghamshire-66099395?at_link_id=E4500FF6-1B2D-11EE-A2A6-5A003AE5AB7B&at_link_origin=BBC_News&at_bbc_team=editorial&at_campaign=Social_Flow&at_link_type=web_link&at_campaign_type=owned&at_ptr_name=facebook_page&at_medium=social&at_format=link&fbclid=IwAR2sTKal36BaF5PJNUUExcTzw41NEXP-0-sOA8XSiBZ0Rejg6x6Ql9jTMBo

This is just a nice story and if it becomes a regular thing then all the better.

Potential to bring a lot of joy to a lot of people, hopefully other venues are paying attention.

17-07-2023, 07:58 PM
https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-66222535

Love stuff like this.

We should build a Hibs.net toy boat and see if we could get it over to Kirkcaldy!

18-07-2023, 11:28 AM
Deserved, I think.

https://youtu.be/PPPPPfWNamE

24-08-2023, 07:51 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-66536184

Normal bus service ceased so the village started their own. #powertothepeople

30-09-2023, 01:42 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-66950410

Need more of this to alleviate flooding caused by climate change.

Stairway 2 7
11-10-2023, 08:22 PM
Not really good news unless your into human history. Not worth it's own thread though ha but I thought it was fascinating, especially after just finishing the book sapiens. The figures here are just mind blowing to me

https://twitter.com/TheUfoJoe/status/1711896205612191783

Joe Murgia
@TheUfoJoe
‘Oldest wooden structure’ discovered on border of Zambia and Tanzania

“When I first saw it, I thought this can’t be real. The wood and the stone suggest a high level of ingenuity, technological skill and planning.”

“Scientists…dated the structure to at least 476,000 years old, from long before Homo sapiens are thought to have emerged about 300,000 years ago. The structure may be the work of Homo heidelbergensis, a predecessor of modern humans that lived in the region.”

H/T:
@SnakePo9

#archeology #ancient #human

https://theguardian.com/science/2023/sep/20/oldest-wooden-structure-discovered-on-border-of-zambia-and-tanzania

Stairway 2 7
26-10-2023, 05:45 PM
Malaria kills an estimated 468,000 kids a year. Its early days and just the first generation of the vaccine but RTS,S a cheap drug that's being widely rolled out is showing it reduces severe disease in kids by 22% and has dropped deaths by 13%

It'll mean tens of thousands of more survivors each year. Its exciting as we have never had a serious vaccine and this technology can be advanced

https://www.science.org/content/article/first-malaria-vaccine-slashes-early-childhood-deaths

11-02-2024, 11:31 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-68206698

14-02-2024, 01:22 PM
A tale of a child's left behind toy and a multinational hotel chain ...

https://x.com/EODHappyCaptain/status/1757385355983032538?s=20

30-07-2024, 12:10 PM
Not a lot of it around but good to see this guy behind bars

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c3geqp8vx08o

Now, if we can find where Yaxley-Lenmon has run off to and stick him in jail too, that would be a good double.

30-07-2024, 04:20 PM
Not a lot of it around but good to see this guy behind bars

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c3geqp8vx08o

Now, if we can find where Yaxley-Lenmon has run off to and stick him in jail too, that would be a good double.

They should stick them in a cell together and livestream it.

30-07-2024, 04:48 PM
They should stick them in a cell together and livestream it.Put weefellys in the water. They'll be all luvved up in a week.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

speedy_gonzales
20-12-2024, 11:53 PM
Maybe it's the Christmas gin making me emotional, but this news story brought a tear to me eye tonight. Sometimes everyday life can be traumatic to young kids who struggle to square off why bad people do bad things. I'm hoping this bad guy pantomime gives the children the confidence to move on after what could have been quite an upsetting event.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/czxdkg4g0n7o