View Full Version : Good News Stories

20-09-2013, 02:09 PM
I thought it would be nice to have a thread about the positive things that happen in the world for a change.

Post your heartwarming stories in here.

First up - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-24170670 :thumbsup:

20-09-2013, 06:31 PM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-24173494

Not really a story as such but i always enjoy the 'your pictures' section on the BBC.

20-09-2013, 07:00 PM
Aaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, cute. Can I have one, Mum? Please! Please!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-24162850

04-10-2013, 11:08 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-lincolnshire-24388347

04-10-2013, 07:36 PM
Great idea Hibbyradge...sure is hard to find them though.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-north-west-wales-24380627

11-10-2013, 05:14 PM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-surrey-24475445

15-11-2013, 09:23 PM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-24964100

15-11-2013, 09:55 PM

I was hoping someone would put that up. You aren't stalking me on Fbook are you? :greengrin

You'd have to be dead inside to not smile at that story

15-11-2013, 10:01 PM

Wonderful.

brian6-2
16-11-2013, 07:34 AM

Just read that, amazing story. :agree:

05-12-2013, 03:16 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-cambridgeshire-25229341

07-12-2013, 10:13 AM
Not so much a news story per se, but I defy you not to smile at this:

http://www.utrend.tv/v/bball-baby/

07-12-2013, 10:48 AM
Not so much a news story per se, but I defy you not to smile at this:

http://www.utrend.tv/v/bball-baby/

I smiled. :greengrin

It made me a wee bit uncomfortable for some reason though. Probably unjustifiably so.

20-12-2013, 08:17 AM
http://news.sky.com/story/1185133/subway-rescue-man-gets-to-keep-hero-dog

bad_news_boab
31-12-2013, 11:13 AM
Im sorry to hijack this thread guys I know the world likes the good news articles but im afraid ive got some bad news. The hogmanay street party tonight in Edinburgh will no doubt be a slight disaster as im predicting rain for this evening.

31-12-2013, 03:14 PM
Im sorry to hijack this thread guys I know the world likes the good news articles but im afraid ive got some bad news. The hogmanay street party tonight in Edinburgh will no doubt be a slight disaster as im predicting rain for this evening.

Not the slightest bit funny as always.

19-02-2014, 08:58 PM
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2014/02/19/little-girl-unwraps-dad-in-a-box_n_4813898.html

23-03-2014, 09:09 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-stoke-staffordshire-26705194

02-04-2014, 11:44 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2zUf06iy1A&feature=player_embedded

02-04-2014, 12:44 PM
There was a story on the news on Monday night about a wee two year old down south that managed to phone 999 and tell them that his mum had passed out on the floor and they were able to get to her on time.

Cannae post the link on my phone, but, It brought a smile to my cynical face! :-)

15-04-2014, 09:31 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/sport/video/2014/apr/11/duct-tape-paraplegic-surfer

06-06-2014, 09:32 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-sussex-27735086

23-10-2015, 12:37 PM
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=845092225610874

If that doesn't tug at the old heartstrings, you've got a heart of stone.

23-10-2015, 04:08 PM
http://youtu.be/5NsncrD6Q8c

Guaranteed tears.

23-10-2015, 04:11 PM
Not stories but some good quotes here:-

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/books/what-to-read/40-quotes-about-life-for-an-optimist/

I liked Maya Angelou's one. Must try and remember it.

23-10-2015, 05:07 PM
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=845092225610874

If that doesn't tug at the old heartstrings, you've got a heart of stone.

Read that the other day.

Whilst it's sad an elderly man is in such a lonely position it's uplifiting that a phone call had such a positive effect.

We are so often bombarded with bad news stories and tales of aggression, selfishness etc that it's all too easy to forget the majority of people in the world are good.

23-10-2015, 06:27 PM
Here's another

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/10/23/stranger-leaves-heartfelt-note-for-woman-after-she-suffers-fit_n_8366968.html?icid=maing-grid7|uk|dl2|sec1_lnk3%26pLid%3D395302

24-10-2015, 11:31 AM
Good thread. Pity the world wasn't full of people like the ones in the links.

24-10-2015, 11:38 AM

It is. :agree:

24-10-2015, 12:23 PM

The thing is, it absolutely is. 99% of people on the earth are decent human beings, probably doing little things for loved ones or strangers every single day.

It just doesn't make good news (as defined by the media) to say "millions of act of kindness happened today - again" as the front page headline or lead news story on telly.

07-11-2015, 07:31 PM
Brilliant as usual from John Lewis, love it ! :top marks

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wuz2ILq4UeA

07-11-2015, 08:37 PM
Brilliant as usual from John Lewis, love it ! :top marks

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wuz2ILq4UeA

Me too :agree: Nice version of the Oasis song that was used as the theme music for the Royle Family :thumbsup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1SIKouwu9Co

08-11-2015, 05:12 AM
Me too :agree: Nice version of the Oasis song that was used as the theme music for the Royle Family :thumbsup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1SIKouwu9Co

They always come up with a great Christmas ad. :agree:

18-11-2015, 06:44 PM
I know, I know, but still..there's hope.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-34860277

18-11-2015, 08:26 PM
Well done, young man :agree:

http://travel.aol.co.uk/2015/11/18/commuter-defends-muslim-woman-tube-racist-attack/?icid=maing-grid7|uk|dl4|sec1_lnk3%26pLid%3D403541

07-12-2015, 07:38 PM
Nice one Santa! (http://www.itv.com/news/2015-12-07/santa-uses-sign-language-to-find-out-what-girl-aged-three-wants-for-christmas/) :boo hoo:

07-12-2015, 08:50 PM
Nice one Santa! (http://www.itv.com/news/2015-12-07/santa-uses-sign-language-to-find-out-what-girl-aged-three-wants-for-christmas/) :boo hoo:

Wonderful. :boo hoo:

07-12-2015, 08:59 PM

Speck of dust or something in my eye again.

08-12-2015, 12:19 PM
Next time you see someone railing on Facebook about the lack of respect young people have these days, post this on their timeline (https://youtu.be/PzenE60X0Vo).

08-12-2015, 01:38 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6-0kYhqoRo

:boo hoo:

Sergio sledge
08-12-2015, 03:18 PM

Not quite family, but http://www.bistotogetherproject.com/

08-12-2015, 05:59 PM

Wow - really well done and hits the spot. All these onions I've been chopping really taking effect as well..........

09-12-2015, 06:31 PM
Liked this one

http://travel.aol.co.uk/2015/12/09/bus-driver-5-pound-homeless-man-gets-christmas-surprise/

10-12-2015, 12:29 PM
Liked this one

http://travel.aol.co.uk/2015/12/09/bus-driver-5-pound-homeless-man-gets-christmas-surprise/

Warms the cockles of your heart ! I always have a good bubble at this time of the year !:greengrin

30-08-2016, 07:59 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-37217196

30-08-2016, 10:37 AM

Aw they're gorgeous. :greengrin

30-08-2016, 05:18 PM
Aw they're gorgeous. :greengrin

30-08-2016, 07:19 PM

I heard their mother on the radio earlier. What a great story and a lovely couple of kids.

31-08-2016, 06:48 AM
My wife has gone to London for two weeks. :greengrin

31-08-2016, 08:12 AM
My wife has gone to London for two weeks. :greengrin

Sergio sledge
31-08-2016, 06:03 PM
http://deadspin.com/here-is-a-nice-story-i-hope-you-will-enjoy-it-because-1785991028

01-09-2016, 09:27 PM
http://deadspin.com/here-is-a-nice-story-i-hope-you-will-enjoy-it-because-1785991028

Great stuff :aok:

02-09-2016, 04:04 AM
Great stuff :aok:

A bit like former Montreal Canadiennes NHL player P K Subban donating $10m to the Montreal Children's Hospital.
With all the OTT payments top sportsmen/women get these days, it's nice to see someone giving some of his wealth towards the good of his community. Well done P. K.

08-09-2016, 09:04 PM
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/clarks-shoes-boy-autism_uk_57d11abbe4b0ac5a02dd32a8

09-09-2016, 12:38 PM
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/clarks-shoes-boy-autism_uk_57d11abbe4b0ac5a02dd32a8

Nice story, JB.
Back to the days before the "Me" society

09-09-2016, 07:31 PM
Nice story, JB.
Back to the days before the "Me" society

10-09-2016, 07:40 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nlda_-9aW14

10-09-2016, 08:59 AM

12-09-2016, 10:50 PM

Wee fella's brilliant :greengrin

13-09-2016, 12:16 PM
Wee fella's brilliant :greengrin

"Is that really you" cracked me up . :greengrin

29-09-2016, 09:22 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-leicestershire-37499091

Well done that man - hope he doesn't have to foot the repair bill too!

29-09-2016, 09:27 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-leicestershire-37499091

Well done that man - hope he doesn't have to foot the repair bill too!

Wow. What a hero.

Kevin
03-10-2016, 10:13 AM
I think it is really good news for all people in the world http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/british-man-hiv-aids-medical-trial-breakthrough-cured-a7341801.html

03-10-2016, 07:02 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-37544913

03-10-2016, 07:11 PM
I think it is really good news for all people in the world http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/british-man-hiv-aids-medical-trial-breakthrough-cured-a7341801.html

That would be an amazing breakthrough.

14-10-2016, 06:21 PM
Nice one!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37660279

14-10-2016, 09:18 PM
Nice one!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37660279

That is so good. The look on the lads face is simply brilliant.

14-10-2016, 09:22 PM
That is so good. The look on the lads face is simply brilliant.

17-10-2016, 08:03 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-essex-37677809

21-10-2016, 07:04 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/37712162/an-autistic-boy-who-cant-be-touched-has-connected-with-a-service-dog

21-10-2016, 10:44 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/37712162/an-autistic-boy-who-cant-be-touched-has-connected-with-a-service-dog

I just came to this thread to post the same link.

Amazing.

21-10-2016, 02:27 PM
I just came to this thread to post the same link.

Amazing.

Yeah it's incredible really. Great story!

22-10-2016, 06:45 PM
Not a good news story as such but it made me laugh

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-merseyside-37734883

23-10-2016, 10:22 AM
Not a good news story as such but it made me laugh

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-merseyside-37734883

I think it's a good news story - the fact she wasn't over the limit is surely a sign that the battle against underage drinking is being won. :greengrin

27-10-2016, 10:28 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-37786757

27-10-2016, 10:29 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-merseyside-37782899

02-11-2016, 08:08 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-cornwall-37852224

09-11-2016, 08:01 AM
Good news : Clinton didn't win
Bad news : Trump did

10-11-2016, 07:28 AM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=sr6lr_VRsEo

The John Lewis Christmas advert is out. Not the usual tearjerker but all the better for it imo.

10-11-2016, 07:02 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/our-region/edinburgh/leith/tenants-win-the-right-to-carry-on-living-in-their-flats-1-4284475

Lorne street tenants win their fight to remain.:aok:

11-11-2016, 07:02 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/our-region/edinburgh/leith/tenants-win-the-right-to-carry-on-living-in-their-flats-1-4284475

Lorne street tenants win their fight to remain.:aok:

Bloody hell. A lad I went to school with is now an MSP whilst I sit here with a hangover!!

11-11-2016, 04:33 PM
Well done Rochdale

http://www.rochdaleafc.co.uk/news/article/2016-17/rochdale-players-visit-joshua-mccormack-3411868.aspx

12-11-2016, 07:01 AM

The John Lewis Christmas advert is out. Not the usual tearjerker but all the better for it imo.

Disappointed not up to their usual standard.

13-11-2016, 07:18 PM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/heartbroken-owner-walnut-whippet-announces-9247643

13-11-2016, 07:27 PM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/heartbroken-owner-walnut-whippet-announces-9247643

Posted this on the PM board.

Had me holding back the tears but it's a lovely story that so many turned out.

14-11-2016, 12:43 PM

Here's the BBC link in case anyone doesn't want to click a Mirror Group website:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-cornwall-37955748

A sad, but touching, story. Also, a great name for a whippet.

25-11-2016, 09:03 AM
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/corona-beer-founder-millionaire-mexico-antonino-fernandez-spaish-village-a7437856.html?cmpid=facebook-post

23-12-2016, 09:10 AM
http://trib.al/vRzAqZP

23-12-2016, 02:07 PM

The comments are depressing.

We're a' Jock Tamson's bairns. My arse.

23-12-2016, 02:24 PM

I'll be making an effort to shop there. Love baklava and that's quite a back story :aok:

23-12-2016, 02:28 PM
The comments are depressing.

We're a' Jock Tamson's bairns. My arse.

Just had a read through them and the ignorance is staggering.

23-12-2016, 07:44 PM
Just had a read through them and the ignorance is staggering.

Sorry for inflicting that upon you. 😥

26-12-2016, 05:24 PM
Sorry for inflicting that upon you. 😥

Never, ever read the comments section of any Scotsman or Evening News story on any topic, ever.

Thank me later.

26-12-2016, 05:27 PM
Never, ever read the comments section of any Scotsman or Evening News story on any topic, ever.

Thank me later.

You're not wrong. It's the land of the trolls and bigots.

29-12-2016, 11:14 PM
Could somebody post a link to "Santa Claus caught on camera!" from Youtube, the wee boys reaction is brilliant.

30-12-2016, 06:53 PM
Wonderful!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-38468558

31-12-2016, 10:21 AM
Wonderful!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-38468558

Great spot, John. :thumbsup:

31-12-2016, 10:47 AM
I'm a grandad for the first time!

It's a mixed "marriage" my daughter is obviously a Hibby but he's of sevcovian persuasion :-(. I know, I know but arranged marriages are frowned upon!

They agreed prior to The cup final the child would be a glory hunter and brought up in the winners colours.

A most wonderful by product of our cup final victory Yvie is a proud and beautiful Hibby. Or should that be a proud Hibby and beautiful baby?

I wonder if I could get a photo of her IN The cup?

01-01-2017, 03:40 PM
I'm a grandad for the first time!

It's a mixed "marriage" my daughter is obviously a Hibby but he's of sevcovian persuasion :-(. I know, I know but arranged marriages are frowned upon!

They agreed prior to The cup final the child would be a glory hunter and brought up in the winners colours.

A most wonderful by product of our cup final victory Yvie is a proud and beautiful Hibby. Or should that be a proud Hibby and beautiful baby?

I wonder if I could get a photo of her IN The cup?
Congratulations that is good news!

01-01-2017, 05:35 PM
This can only be a good thing for expectant mothers. Baby boxes to give yer new bairn a guid start.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-38470905

01-01-2017, 08:12 PM
http://www.cnn.com/2017/01/01/us/hollywood-hollyweed-sign/index.html

02-01-2017, 10:38 AM
This can only be a good thing for expectant mothers. Baby boxes to give yer new bairn a guid start.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-38470905

Just a pity there wasn't a better uptake on boxes of contraceptives to stop some of the arse holes that drag children into this world.

LustForLeith
04-01-2017, 07:56 AM
Not that I'd wish death upon others but apparently Charles Manson is on his way out. Happily make an exception in his case.

After a terrible 2016 when we lost so many legends, 2017 might be looking up!

04-01-2017, 01:28 PM
Just a pity there wasn't a better uptake on boxes of contraceptives to stop some of the arse holes that drag children into this world.

I can't help but think you've misunderstood the mechanics of childbirth.

04-01-2017, 02:26 PM

😂 👍

04-01-2017, 04:03 PM

Well think again! :-)

07-01-2017, 12:06 AM

I'll try and stay on track with the thread, and the good news stories it has. Cheers.:aok:

More on the baby boxes here.

https://t.co/BBkUAaKUx5

07-01-2017, 12:16 PM
I hope this happens as it's a wonderful building and it's restoration would be a good thing for Leith. Good on IW for getting involved.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-38508793

07-03-2017, 05:54 PM
There aren't many positive stories on the bbc northern Ireland news page these days but in amongst the doom gloom and squabbles it was nice to see this one today

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-foyle-west-39190986

07-03-2017, 08:16 PM
Wasn't sure whether to put this link on the Jock Tamsons Bairns thread, but decided for here instead.

https://t.co/wgpjLkCI9N

10-03-2017, 06:19 AM
http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-humber-39215616?

10-03-2017, 10:20 AM
New Baby box design winner. :aok:

https://t.co/79RRJh3d4d

04-04-2017, 06:42 PM
Love this one

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-leicestershire-39493027

beensaidbefore
05-04-2017, 06:19 PM
Read an article about these guys earlier. Great stuff.

http://bacaworld.org

07-04-2017, 07:08 PM
Not sure this strictly qualifies but it's topical and a nice story imo:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-39528083

20-04-2017, 07:21 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/golf/39647592

04-07-2017, 07:07 PM
I thought it would be nice to have a thread about the positive things that happen in the world for a change.

Post your heartwarming stories in here.

First up - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-24170670 :thumbsup:

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/man-proposes-to-financ%C3%A9es-sister-with-downs-syndrome-to-ask-for-a-new-best-friend-for-life_uk_5959f4e4e4b05c37bb7f3e61

Made me smile as it's so touching :agree:

04-07-2017, 10:00 PM
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/man-proposes-to-financ%C3%A9es-sister-with-downs-syndrome-to-ask-for-a-new-best-friend-for-life_uk_5959f4e4e4b05c37bb7f3e61

Made me smile as it's so touching :agree:

Very nice, John. 👍

High-On-Hibs
04-07-2017, 10:04 PM
Progres 2 Nae Progres 0 :smug:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40475647

16-08-2017, 02:56 PM
Mixed emotions on this one:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-40923339

16-08-2017, 07:27 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-40742586

18-08-2017, 07:49 AM
Not exactly good news but certainly some light relief from all the bad news at home and abroad

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-40965914

18-08-2017, 04:36 PM
1.23 million children receiving a meal at school through Mary's Meals, a Scottish based charity.

https://www.marysmeals.org.uk

09-12-2017, 04:58 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42245074

Nice gesture by Real. I'm sure all Hibbies send Duncan Watmore our best wishes for a speedy recovery.

11-12-2017, 11:42 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-42309231

12-12-2017, 12:56 PM

Another 2015 ad. Never saw it then, but worth a wee look ....... Hibs and Blue Rose Code, a marriage made in heaven. https://youtu.be/pxDJkkMCDxA

Thegreenside
12-12-2017, 02:57 PM
good thread. Loved the 5 min piece Russel Howard use to have on his show similar to this. Too much negativity everywhere

12-12-2017, 07:55 PM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/clarke-carlisle-becomes-father-baby-11680238

Clark and his gorgeous daughter Beau. :greengrin

12-12-2017, 08:20 PM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/clarke-carlisle-becomes-father-baby-11680238

Clark and his gorgeous daughter Beau. :greengrin

Excellent to see. Was wondering how he was doing the other day and it’s great to see him looking so happy. Guy is a real fighter.

13-12-2017, 11:40 PM
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-42343604

I hope they don't find him.

But, inevitably, they will.

WestStandWillie
14-12-2017, 11:04 AM
I just won £2 on a scratch card

John_R_Corbett
14-12-2017, 11:34 AM
I just won £2 on a scratch cardAlways nice to hear stories like that at this time of year, Merry Christmas

14-12-2017, 01:46 PM
I just won £2 on a scratch card

Coincidentally, I dreamt that my wife and I had won the Euro millions.

However, when we went to pick up our prize it was actually 130 bottles of water (to be kept in the fridge).

As disappointing as that was, it made sense in the dream! 😂

19-12-2017, 01:13 PM
Not a story as such but, Old Peoples Home for 4 Year Olds on CH4 last night, what a heart warming hours viewing it was.

27-12-2017, 10:33 AM
Everything is awesome (ish)! Ten reasons why 2017 was actually brilliant

https://www.theguardian.com/theguardian/2017/dec/26/everything-is-awesome-ish-ten-reasons-why-2017-was-actually-brilliant?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Copy_to_clipboard

27-12-2017, 11:40 AM
The bitter/sweet news that the East Lothian Food Bank recorded record donations at Christmas. Bitter is the fact that in a civilised society we need food banks and sweet is the fact that there are people out there who care about the welfare of others less fortunate.

02-01-2018, 03:36 PM
http://beta.latimes.com/local/california/la-me-ln-legal-pot-day-one-20180102-story.html

xyz23jc
02-01-2018, 06:08 PM
Coincidentally, I dreamt that my wife and I had won the Euro millions.

However, when we went to pick up our prize it was actually 130 bottles of water (to be kept in the fridge).

As disappointing as that was, it made sense in the dream! 😂

Bedwetter......! :greengrin

12-01-2018, 06:14 PM
Not sure if this counts, but it made me smile.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-42669293

14-01-2018, 09:38 AM
Not sure if this counts, but it made me smile.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-42669293
The first part made me smile but the part about his £73k pension payable at 63 wiped the smile off my face.Of he lives to a fair age he may well receive more pension than an average worker would receive on a lifetime of working. His attendance was terrible and he stole from his employer.

26-01-2018, 06:07 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-england-lancashire-42830580/hero-fianc-tackles-jewellery-shop-thief

I just love the way this guy cooly takes his jaiket off then gets stuck in. :top marks

xyz23jc
26-01-2018, 06:29 PM
This is real good news!

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?328022-Dnipro-Kids-Latest-Update-Odessa-Trip

xyz23jc
26-01-2018, 06:31 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-england-lancashire-42830580/hero-fianc-tackles-jewellery-shop-thief

I just love the way this guy cooly takes his jaiket off then gets stuck in. :top marks

Shud a jist held thi door open.......!!! :duck::wink::greengrin

11-06-2018, 08:07 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-44437868

14-06-2018, 05:54 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-44437868

One class is going sailing, another trip is to the Alps and there are additional childcare fees during the summer break.

No wonder she's skint. Maybe she should think of switching schools.

Bah Humbug.

27-06-2018, 05:33 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/newsbeat-44628549

02-07-2018, 08:12 PM
So pleased that this has turned out this way

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-44688909

beensaidbefore
02-07-2018, 08:54 PM
So pleased that this has turned out this way

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-44688909

Me too. Great news. Must have been terrifying for them.

03-07-2018, 12:45 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-44693593

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
04-07-2018, 04:42 AM
This is very exciting...

https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/jul/03/nhs-routine-dna-tests-precision-cancer-tumour-screening

04-07-2018, 07:21 AM
The sunny weather is the best story of the lot.

08-07-2018, 01:15 PM
Between 3 and 6 of the boys trapped in the cave in Thailand reported to have escaped!!

Only football team that really matters just now!

08-07-2018, 01:33 PM
Between 3 and 6 of the boys trapped in the cave in Thailand reported to have escaped!!

Only football team that really matters just now!

They're coming home :aok:

09-07-2018, 02:28 PM
8 out. Threat of rain receding.

10-07-2018, 11:20 AM
All out now!!! A good news story from one that all looked rather grim 2 weeks ago.

Now, the operation to put Boris Johnson INTO the cave!!

17-07-2018, 10:39 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-44854370

18-07-2018, 05:18 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-44854370That is superb.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Sergio sledge
31-07-2018, 06:36 AM
A wee thread to read: https://twitter.com/murdoness/status/1023850081752178688?s=19

19-08-2018, 07:52 PM
Johnny Russell - good guy :aok:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45239424

20-08-2018, 10:18 AM
Johnny Russell - good guy :aok:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45239424

14-09-2018, 01:28 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-45519752

16-09-2018, 08:55 PM
Katie Hopkins ‘On Brink Of Bankruptcy’ Following Libel Loss

https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/katie-hopkins-on-brink-of-bankruptcy-following-last-years-libel-loss_uk_5b9e33dde4b046313fbbeee2

24-09-2018, 06:05 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45632583

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
25-09-2018, 05:34 AM
Katie Hopkins ‘On Brink Of Bankruptcy’ Following Libel Loss

https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/katie-hopkins-on-brink-of-bankruptcy-following-last-years-libel-loss_uk_5b9e33dde4b046313fbbeee2

I know you're not supposed to enjoy others misfortune, but I do enjoy this.

Classic case of bring given enough rope and her hanging herself

25-09-2018, 10:04 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-45639136

27-09-2018, 03:16 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-45660724

16-11-2018, 06:49 PM
Another triumph for John Lewis. Loving their Christmas advert.

17-11-2018, 12:10 AM
Another triumph for John Lewis. Loving their Christmas advert.

I was a bit disappointed with it! Thought there had certainly been better.

28-11-2018, 07:45 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/little-boy-receives-heartwarming-letter-15478296

28-11-2018, 07:52 PM
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/little-boy-receives-heartwarming-letter-15478296

:boo hoo: but in a good way.

30-11-2018, 09:53 PM
https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/boy-who-posted-dads-card-to-heaven-receives-heartwarming-letter-back-from-royal-mail_uk_5bffd22ce4b027f1097afefb

09-12-2018, 07:34 PM
Normally travellers are in the news for the wrong reasons
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-wales-46490809/flintshire-food-bank-inundated-with-traveller-donations

09-12-2018, 07:49 PM
https://www.goodnewsnetwork.org/homeless-man-turns-in-17k-to-food-bank/

21-12-2018, 11:02 PM
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/radio-host-hailed-a-hero-for-helping-suicidal-caller/ar-BBRfRFW?ocid=AMZN

22-12-2018, 11:32 AM
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/radio-host-hailed-a-hero-for-helping-suicidal-caller/ar-BBRfRFW?ocid=AMZN

👍

22-12-2018, 11:38 AM
https://youtu.be/KiynAdEuyWQ

28-12-2018, 01:34 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-nottinghamshire-46700787

28-12-2018, 03:17 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Nubc09jTW-M

I particularly like the 3rd one.

23-01-2019, 05:13 PM
kinda
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-46976834

23-01-2019, 05:20 PM
kinda
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-46976834

Anything that puts that rags nose out of joint is definitely good news... Lovin' it! :greengrin

... Wonder what kind of message you'd get for the zombie forums.

31-01-2019, 11:01 AM
Elsa lifted! (https://m.facebook.com/930505990434093/photos/a.930541640430528/1248338165317539/?type=3&refsrc=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fnews%2Fworld-us-canada-47055952)

22-02-2019, 12:49 PM
Important to remember these types of stories exist - especially as they don't always get the publicity they deserve.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-lancashire-47088865

22-02-2019, 06:38 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-south-yorkshire-47323045

08-03-2019, 04:32 PM
First conviction for FGM in the UK today.

19-03-2019, 09:32 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-tees-47611453

19-03-2019, 09:37 PM

19-03-2019, 10:19 PM

👍

StevesFamau5
21-03-2019, 12:55 PM
https://www.seattletimes.com/nation-world/nation/officers-k9-partners-visit-girl-with-inoperable-brain-tumor/

always love seeing gestures like this :aok:

01-04-2019, 06:14 AM
https://www.itv.com/news/2019-04-01/toilet-charges-scrapped-at-busiest-train-stations/

Hallelujah :thumbsup:

Every time I go for the last train I nearly pish myself scrambling for change!

01-04-2019, 11:08 AM
https://www.itv.com/news/2019-04-01/toilet-charges-scrapped-at-busiest-train-stations/

Hallelujah :thumbsup:

Every time I go for the last train I nearly pish myself scrambling for change!

I'm classing that story as an April Fool until I see it with my own eyes! :-)

22-05-2019, 08:19 PM
Loved this one.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/48296119

22-05-2019, 09:47 PM
Here’s mine.

Fell ill in Section 43 at the home game with Livingston on Saturday 22 December. Had been suffering intermittent tummy pain for a few months but on this occasion the Hibs doctor summoned the Ambulance and I was shipped to ERI. Long story short - after 24 hours of tests and analysis by senior consultants, I received the grave news that they had found a large tumour on my pancreas that had enveloped my central artery.

Rather than share the full diagnosis with family, friends and work colleagues I decided that if 2018 was to be my last Christmas, that it was going to be as normal as possible. I was being referred to NHS Tayside and I suspected that they would likely carry out their own tests and advise what would happen next.

Well here I am five months later, I find myself in the best health of my life. I get a free weekly Yoga class at the McMillan Cancer Centre in Perth, twice-weekly personal training sessions at the Council gyms, I’ve resumed Martial Arts training after two decades and been volunteering my labour at a Walled Garden.

After a ream of tests the doctors discovered that rather than an aggressive Pancreatic Cancer with a ‘months’ outlook, I’m one of the 3% who have a rare hormonal secreting tumour. Of that 3%, I also have no secondary cancers (such as liver, lymph nodes) and my tumour is barely growing. I get an all-body chemical injected into my bahookie every 4 weeks and a checkup every 3 months. After 3 treatments I am cleared to go back to work.

This miraculous outlook would not have been possible without the many hundreds of thousand people who have been donating to cancer charities over the past 20-30 years. The research paid for by these generous donations has led to huge advances in diagnostic methods and to treatments which suppress tumour growth and maintain a reasonable quality of life.

I’m doubly blessed in that seven years ago, my wife Lesley took an 18st 4lb tubbie with a developing Type 2 diabetes diagnosis and introduced a new dietary regime. I joined the SPL FFIT programme at St Johnstone, bought collie dogs and took up walking. By May 2019, I had lost 70lbs, shed the diabetes and according to my personal trainer, have the blood pressure, pulse and cardiovascular recovery of a guy half my age.

What this five month journey has taught me is to live every day as if it’s your last, be grateful for our wonderful health professionals and treasure your loved ones. I’ve also met and befriended around a dozen amazing cancer survivors from a nine-year old ballerina called Lucy whose blond hair has gone but is still winning trophies to Morris, a 75 year old cyclist who’s had operations all over Europe since 2009 and is still hitting the gym a decade later.

Here’s to the next ten years
Gogs

22-05-2019, 09:58 PM
Here’s mine.

Fell ill in Section 43 at the home game with Livingston on Saturday 22 December. Had been suffering intermittent tummy pain for a few months but on this occasion the Hibs doctor summoned the Ambulance and I was shipped to ERI. Long story short - after 24 hours of tests and analysis by senior consultants, I received the grave news that they had found a large tumour on my pancreas that had enveloped my central artery.

Rather than share the full diagnosis with family, friends and work colleagues I decided that if 2018 was to be my last Christmas, that it was going to be as normal as possible. I was being referred to NHS Tayside and I suspected that they would likely carry out their own tests and advise what would happen next.

Well here I am five months later, I find myself in the best health of my life. I get a free weekly Yoga class at the McMillan Cancer Centre in Perth, twice-weekly personal training sessions at the Council gyms, I’ve resumed Martial Arts training after two decades and been volunteering my labour at a Walled Garden.

After a ream of tests the doctors discovered that rather than an aggressive Pancreatic Cancer with a ‘months’ outlook, I’m one of the 3% who have a rare hormonal secreting tumour. Of that 3%, I also have no secondary cancers (such as liver, lymph nodes) and my tumour is barely growing. I get an all-body chemical injected into my bahookie every 4 weeks and a checkup every 3 months. After 3 treatments I am cleared to go back to work.

This miraculous outlook would not have been possible without the many hundreds of thousand people who have been donating to cancer charities over the past 20-30 years. The research paid for by these generous donations has led to huge advances in diagnostic methods and to treatments which suppress tumour growth and maintain a reasonable quality of life.

I’m doubly blessed in that seven years ago, my wife Lesley took an 18st 4lb tubbie with a developing Type 2 diabetes diagnosis and introduced a new dietary regime. I joined the SPL FFIT programme at St Johnstone, bought collie dogs and took up walking. By May 2019, I had lost 70lbs, shed the diabetes and according to my personal trainer, have the blood pressure, pulse and cardiovascular recovery of a guy half my age.

What this five month journey has taught me is to live every day as if it’s your last, be grateful for our wonderful health professionals and treasure your loved ones. I’ve also met and befriended around a dozen amazing cancer survivors from a nine-year old ballerina called Lucy whose blond hair has gone but is still winning trophies to Morris, a 75 year old cyclist who’s had operations all over Europe since 2009 and is still hitting the gym a decade later.

Gogs

That's some story and I have to confess half way through I wasn't sure how it was going to fit in a good news stories thread.

Here's to many more happy, healthy years.

22-05-2019, 10:23 PM
Here’s mine.

Gogs

Id be changing your username :-D

Some journey you have had. What a read!

23-05-2019, 09:12 AM
Loved this one.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/48296119

That's a great story, John.

23-05-2019, 09:16 AM
Here’s mine.

Gogs

Fantastic! That's an inspiring story.

I agree with Dave, though. You should change your username. 😁

23-05-2019, 12:45 PM
Here’s mine.

Gogs

It was believable up until the bit where you said you had low blood pressure. You support Hibs, the two things aren't compatible!! :faf:

So pleased for you, Gogs - must have been a terrible scare when you found out. My uncle was taken by pancreatic cancer so when you started telling me your story in Perth at the St Johnstone game, I feared the worst.

Long may your good health continue mate!

24-05-2019, 02:49 PM
Great news Gogs

Jay
25-05-2019, 12:05 PM
Here’s mine.

Gogs

Can I ask if the two PT sessions is an NHS initiative or a council one? I know the nhs used to offer something like three month gym membership is certain cases but two free PT sessions is fantastic.

07-06-2019, 11:39 AM
Jobs moving from England to Scotland, good news for the Scottish financial sector

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-business-48546056

15-06-2019, 10:58 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2019/jun/11/arizona-activist-migrant-water-scott-daniel-warren-verdict?CMP=fb_gu&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1560356587

Helps regain faith in the human race.

19-06-2019, 11:17 PM
https://www.forces.net/stories/royal-navy-recruits-pay-their-shipmates-mother-attend-passing-out-parade

27-06-2019, 11:27 AM
Well done that young lad

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/video_and_audio/headlines/48781526/hero-17-year-old-catches-falling-toddler

27-06-2019, 08:37 PM
Well done that young lad

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/video_and_audio/headlines/48781526/hero-17-year-old-catches-falling-toddler

Phenomenal! A true life saver.

27-06-2019, 09:28 PM
Well done that young lad

True heroics. What was the mother playing at though? :bitchy: They'd have had the child taken away if they lived here.

03-08-2019, 11:19 PM
Can I ask if the two PT sessions is an NHS initiative or a council one? I know the nhs used to offer something like three month gym membership is certain cases but two free PT sessions is fantastic.

Just spotted this Mrs S.

It's a programme called Move More. In Perth they also offer the PT sessions.

https://www.macmillan.org.uk/about-us/health-professionals/programmes-and-services/move-more-scotland.html

GORDONSMITH7
04-08-2019, 10:21 PM
Here’s mine.

Gogs

Splendid to hear this Gordon. Catch up with you again soon my friend.

BIG G

10-09-2019, 09:41 PM
https://www.itv.com/news/2019-09-10/the-three-schoolboys-who-refused-to-let-go-of-a-man-determined-to-take-his-life/

Jay
10-09-2019, 09:56 PM
Just spotted this Mrs S.

It's a programme called Move More. In Perth they also offer the PT sessions.

https://www.macmillan.org.uk/about-us/health-professionals/programmes-and-services/move-more-scotland.html

West lothian aren't.doing it. Shame. Its a great initiative. Ill need to enquire why its not in WL.yet.

17-09-2019, 03:59 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-49729211

17-09-2019, 08:23 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-49729211

That was quite a moving read. What a man! 👏

09-10-2019, 08:07 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-south-yorkshire-49971866

She's one lucky young lady!

12-10-2019, 07:00 AM
Brilliant. Imagine going to these lengths. What a generous boy!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/stories-49884207

12-10-2019, 09:33 AM

Just came to this thread to post the same link!

Great story on so many levels.

12-10-2019, 10:07 AM

There's something in my eye 😉

12-10-2019, 06:32 PM
Looks like Cuadrilla is packing up its fracking operation in Lancashire after causing a series of earthquakes considerably larger than anything it said would be possible....

Rocky
13-10-2019, 10:39 PM

I was thinking that was a lovely story but was disappointed in West Ham for letting the wall be demolished and discarded in the first place. Then I got to last paragraph and saw they'd transferred the messages to new stadium. Well played all concerned.

14-10-2019, 12:03 PM
Richard Huckle won't even be thinking about abusing children ever again.

wpj
15-10-2019, 09:27 AM
I was thinking that was a lovely story but was disappointed in West Ham for letting the wall be demolished and discarded in the first place. Then I got to last paragraph and saw they'd transferred the messages to new stadium. Well played all concerned.

And the Arsenal fans who didn't want to pull the wall down. Respect!

18-10-2019, 06:03 PM
Not really good news but a touching story nonetheless:

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/morgan-schneiderlins-heart-warming-gesture-17106658

20-10-2019, 06:45 AM
Will Bayley on Strictly last night. The word "inspirational" is overused these days but totally appropriate here.

24-10-2019, 02:50 PM
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-50167812

Not so much a good news story but made me laugh as a clear example of what happens when US universities have a mental research budget :greengrin

Cataplana
24-10-2019, 03:21 PM
Good news for insomniacs.

Only three more sleeps to Christmas!

31-10-2019, 02:57 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-derbyshire-50233441

06-11-2019, 09:21 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-derbyshire-50233441

A debate for another thread, but it pisses me right off that great stories like this aren't front and centre on every news website and newspaper in the land.

06-11-2019, 09:29 AM
Just remembered I forgot to post this a couple of weeks ago:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-50128860

Take that, DUP. :na na:

Sergio sledge
25-11-2019, 09:41 AM
https://www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/heartwarming-moment-cardiff-met-fc-17308808

27-11-2019, 06:53 PM
Not sure if this has already been posted:

https://www.facebook.com/ABCNews/videos/color-blind-boy-sees-color-for-the-first-time-and-has-a-priceless-reaction/1384129268426559/

06-12-2019, 12:00 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-50683948

12-12-2019, 01:44 PM
Stop crying.

It is election season. The world is busy and rubbish.

But it is also Christmas.

So take a breather and let me tell you a story about London, trains, love and loss, and how small acts of kindness matter.

I'm going to tell you about the voice at Embankment Tube station.

Just before Christmas 2012, staff at Embankment Tube station were approached by a woman who was very upset.

She kept asking them where the voice had gone. They weren't sure what she meant.

The Voice?

The voice, she said. The man who says 'Mind the Gap'

Don't worry, the staff at Embankment said. The announcement still happens, but they've all been updated. New digital system. New voices. More variety.

The staff asked her if she was okay.

"That voice," she explained, "was my husband."

The woman, a GP called Dr Margaret McCollum, explained that her husband was an actor called Oswald Laurence. Oswald had never become famous, but he HAD been the chap who had recorded all the Northern Line announcements back in the seventies.

And Oswald had died in 2007.

Oswald's death had left a hole in Margaret's heart. But one thing had helped. Every day, on her way to work, she got to hear his voice.

Sometimes, when it hurt too much, she explained, she'd just sit on the platform at Embankment and listen to the announcements for a bit longer.

For five years, this had become her routine. She knew he wasn't really there but his voice - the memory of him - was.

To everyone else, it had just been another announcement. To HER it had been the ghost of the man she still loved.

And now even that had gone.

The staff at Embankment were apologetic, but the whole Underground had this new digital system, it just had to be done. They promised, though, that if the old recordings existed, they'd try and find a copy for her.

Margaret knew this was unlikely, but thanked them anyway.

In the New Year, Margaret McCollum sat on Embankment Station, on her way to work.

And over the speakers she heard a familiar voice. The voice of a man she had loved so much, and never thought she'd hear again.

"Mind the Gap" Said Oswald Laurence.

Because it turned out a LOT of people at Embankment, within London Underground, within @TfL and beyond had lost loved ones and wished they could hear them again.

And they'd all realised that with luck, just this once, for one person, they might be able to make that happen.

Archives were searched, old tapes found and restored. More people had worked to digitize them. Others had waded through the code of the announcement system to alter it while still more had sorted out the paperwork and got exemptions.

And together they made Oswald talk again.

And that is why today, even in 2019, if you go down to Embankment station in London, and sit on the northbound platform on Northern Line, you will here a COMPLETELY different voice say Mind the Gap to ANYWHERE else on the Underground.

It's Oswald.

Merry Christmas everyone.

12-12-2019, 05:52 PM
Thanks for sharing that, Merry Christmas! .... And the 1st 2 words of your post should also be at the end.

14-12-2019, 02:12 PM
'Sake Moulin Yarns - I'm supposed to be going out tonight and it looks like I've been bubbling all day.

This should make you smile (and not cry, too much)
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-50762563

14-12-2019, 02:18 PM
Definitely brought a lump to my throat !

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-50762563

22-12-2019, 05:54 PM
https://www.glasgowlive.co.uk/news/glasgow-news/glasgow-boys-incredible-christmas-gesture-17456809

22-12-2019, 06:37 PM
https://www.glasgowlive.co.uk/news/glasgow-news/glasgow-boys-incredible-christmas-gesture-17456809

Well done that young man.

22-12-2019, 06:43 PM

That's a great story.

The wee man's humanity puts a lot of adults to shame.

24-12-2019, 10:00 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/ayrshire/kilmarnock-schoolboy-gets-dream-christmas-21153288

24-12-2019, 10:22 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/ayrshire/kilmarnock-schoolboy-gets-dream-christmas-21153288

That's so sweet

25-12-2019, 12:53 PM

That's so sweet

Its the Daily Record - are they folding?

26-12-2019, 09:39 PM
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/christmas-appeal-2019/twitter-hails-mystery-hero-who-sent-lonely-nan-heartwarming-christmas-surprise/ar-BBYhKZ8?ocid=spartanntp

27-12-2019, 02:09 PM
https://www.britishairways.com/en-gb/destinations/where-in-the-world/bamagic

It's a bit schmaltzy and corporate, but some of the stories on here would bring a tear to a glass eye.

10-01-2020, 09:04 AM
https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/entertainment-arts-51038695?__twitter_impression=true

One that the doom and gloom era need to read. Some pretty good links in the story as well.

04-02-2020, 08:55 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/newsbeat-51368668

21-02-2020, 05:01 AM
https://megaphone.upworthy.com/p/brad-williams-quaden-bullied

Social media is an absolute nest of vipers sometimes, but here's when it can do some real good.

21-02-2020, 07:05 AM
https://megaphone.upworthy.com/p/brad-williams-quaden-bullied

Social media is an absolute nest of vipers sometimes, but here's when it can do some real good.

Sometimes I think I'm emotionally broken and nothing much gets to me but that story broke my heart, lots of WWE superstars are wanting to take him to wrestlemania too, hope he has a ball

27-09-2020, 12:50 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-54300268

Good guy.

27-09-2020, 03:30 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-54300268

Good guy.

This is a brilliant story. The likes of Bill Gates and Warren Buffet talk a good game but this guy is an absolutely incredible role model.

18-11-2020, 07:26 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-54990978

18-12-2020, 05:37 PM
Having just moved into a new house last month I’m now moving jobs. All at the ripe old age of .....well fairly Auld. Instead of commuting along the bypass each day the new job is less that 5 miles up the road. Less hours although constant nights. Monday to Friday and the best bit a considerable raise in salary to go with the small fortune I’ll save in transport costs. There’s life in the old dog yet.😎

22-12-2020, 10:17 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-55409137