View Full Version : Protest
13-08-2013, 10:21 PM
What pish. Two league games in. Get a grip ffs. If this run continues for a few more weeks and the board do nothing then maybe that will be the time. Protesting now is pathetic imo. You cant possibly compare it with Hertz fans inaction.
I cant believe believe that this protest idea has taken root, i really cant. I remember last time people on here organised a"protest" against those they held responsible for our dire situation then. Hundreds jumped on the band wagon proposing their support for joining the protest, then on the day there were but half a a dozen standing with banners at the ground?...............
You will all remember the famous jambo protests at Tynie about their ongoing predicaments? Loads of posters on here ended up laughing at their efforts..........
Now after only two league games and granted a humiliating defeat in Europe, you are mustering the troops for another attempt at a protest? I can understand your frustration and anger at the present situation but i dont understand how you are going to protest outside the ground on match day, then go inside and support the team you are protesting about? That to me just doesnt make sense at all!
During the protest you will have been become filled with anger and want to take it out on someone...... by attending the game you are then going to do that against the team you are meant to be supporting? What does that say about your credibility?
Again, in my opinion, you are showing double standards here, you either support the team or you dont! as simple as it may seem that is the bottom line. You can protest by using your feet and not attending games and let the supporters who want to support their team watch the game they have paid too see.
With less supporters in the stadiums the board have less money and have to address the reason for the problems?
As i have said this is the way i see the situation you are making for yourselves, many of you may not agree but please take the time to think about it and not make yourselves the objects of Jambo humor in next days' papers.
13-08-2013, 10:21 PM
That 7-0 hurt more than that game against them?Maybe, maybe no, but it was the final kick in the stanes for many.
13-08-2013, 10:27 PM
This 'protest' with about 40 people is going to have the yams pishing their panties.
Will I go get the pots and spoons to bang together?
Hibby 2005
13-08-2013, 10:30 PM
How many decent one's has he picked, i count one maybe two(feeling generous) , the rest have been gash, results have shown that over the last how many years, maybe when Yogi got us 4th but look where it ended with him, Mr Petrie having a go at him " the last incumbent" was his words, why is it not working with any of the managers he is bringing in to the club, yes every manager has been backed, that's what clubs do for there manager, but does the club go that we bit extra to get the right man in for the manager.
The last bit in bold, has he, we seem to lose out on a lot of players over recent years, the latest being the lad Kyle from Falkirk, Hibs didn't go that extra mile to get him, so the manager doesn't always get who he wants because Petrie won't go that extra bit.
We are dumping a manager nearly every 18 months, it costs money to keep doing that, money that would be better spent on the team, who keeps getting it wrong picking all the dud managers, after CC i thought the only way is up for the club there was no other direction to go i thought, but good old RP has lumbered us with Fenlon who just keeps on embarrassing our club.
Time for Fenlon and Petrie to go.
Perfectly summed up.
The thing is, is it Petrie who holds the purse strings? No, it's Farmer therefore the problem runs deeper. Farmer has escaped a lot of flak because he saved us but the reality is he appointed Petrie to run Hibs as tightly as possible and yet the amount of money we've lost handing out compensation to Managers is quite staggering. If they'd actually paid top dollar for the right appointment, e.g. O'Neil of NI, it would have saved them money. The same goes for players. Quite staggering how all the apparent penny-pinching has so spectacularly come back to bite Petrie and Farmer on the bum.
hibee19
13-08-2013, 10:33 PM
I cant believe believe that this protest idea has taken root, i really cant. I remember last time people on here organised a"protest" against those they held responsible for our dire situation then. Hundreds jumped on the band wagon proposing their support for joining the protest, then on the day there were but half a a dozen standing with banners at the ground?...............
You will all remember the famous jambo protests at Tynie about their ongoing predicaments? Loads of posters on here ended up laughing at their efforts..........
Now after only two league games and granted a humiliating defeat in Europe, you are mustering the troops for another attempt at a protest? I can understand your frustration and anger at the present situation but i dont understand how you are going to protest outside the ground on match day, then go inside and support the team you are protesting about? That to me just doesnt make sense at all!
During the protest you will have been become filled with anger and want to take it out on someone...... by attending the game you are then going to do that against the team you are meant to be supporting? What does that say about your credibility?
Again, in my opinion, you are showing double standards here, you either support the team or you dont! as simple as it may seem that is the bottom line. You can protest by using your feet and not attending games and let the supporters who want to support their team watch the game they have paid too see.
With less supporters in the stadiums the board have less money and have to address the reason for the problems?
As i have said this is the way i see the situation you are making for yourselves, many of you may not agree but please take the time to think about it and not make yourselves the objects of Jambo humor in next days' papers.
Everyone planning to protest loves Hibs and that is why they are doing it so yes you can protest outside the ground about the way the club is being run and then go and support the team. You can only show blind faith for so long before deciding to take action.
That line there I believe shows what the real opposition to this is. No, you're not happy about what you are seeing but lets not give the jambos a reason to slag us off eh? Well their youth team beat us last week as we tried to kick them off the park, they beat us 5-1 in the cup final and lets face it, they'll have more ammunition to slag you off in the future if we don't get change. I couldn't give a **** about what Hearts fans say, I care about Hibs.
13-08-2013, 10:38 PM
Thought you were better than that, if you are happy with what you are watching on the pitch then fair enough, but others are not and plan to protest to the club on Saturday, you have said you won't be attending, to now start with the snidey jibes/jokes about folk who have supported the club for a long time and have had enough of the crap being served up every week and now want to put that over to the people in charge of running the club is uncalled for.:agree: the best post I've seen on this thread so far silver. not been active this week much, but I do remember lots saying, wont be there/ST holder , wont be back until change etc etc. man up Hibbies, don't like what you see? dae somethin'. It's been happening before your very eyes, for bloody years and time to step forward, not just stand back or sit on the fence girnin' about it. I'ts our club and the present custodians have taken it as far as they can. Petrie, dragged us oot the gutter when you consider the malaise we were in financially but he's a money man, driven from above with another money man with nae real fitba' sense or love for it. we are getting to another crisis point and need someone to steer us out of it . a managerial change now, from the football sense, could turn this season round quickly with the right man. the problem could be from the top though, as he's picked a few huddies to do it for a few years.
13-08-2013, 10:38 PM
As i have said this is the way i see the situation you are making for yourselves, many of you may not agree but please take the time to think about it and not make yourselves the objects of Jambo humor in next days' papers.Correct, we should do absolutely nothing. You think this is a result of two bad games this season? What have you been watching? How about as a result of the last 6 years? I will be at the game and fully intend supporting the team as I always do, I have nae beef with them, or can you only do that if you think the sun shines out of Petrie's rear end?
le bill
13-08-2013, 10:41 PM
What pish. Two league games in. Get a grip ffs. If this run continues for a few more weeks and the board do nothing then maybe that will be the time. Protesting now is pathetic imo. You cant possibly compare it with Hertz fans inaction.
Totally agree
13-08-2013, 10:43 PM
I can see it being the tipping point for the manager, absolutely...
But to remove RP and the entire board? I'm not so sure... They have undoubtedly backed him in the summer and he has failed.
A succession of bad managers that they have backed financially is an even bigger mistake. The club is having to pay off these rubbish managers and replace entire squads all because they picked the wrong manager. Not only are we paying for the wrong appointments on the pitch but financially as well because we have to get rid of them, and their players, deal with dropping attendances and poor league platings!
13-08-2013, 10:44 PM
The point - which I think you are missing - is that the results \ performances this season has been the tipping point for many fans.
Everyone knows about the decline we have been on over the years but we hoped it would turn around. It hasn't, and the object failure at Tynecastle has broken the patience of many.
I thought Hibs lost for the first time in six against Hearts?
13-08-2013, 10:50 PM
As i have said this is the way i see the situation you are making for yourselves, many of you may not agree but please take the time to think about it and not make yourselves the objects of Jambo humor in next days' papers.ok Stanton's Angel. tell us, the real fans , exactly what you are all about. you are slagging off people that passionately love Hibernian fc, telling them to get behind the team but I think you have another agenda, and that is that you actually work for Hibernian, supervised by the board or someone on it. do expand.
13-08-2013, 10:50 PM
I won't be there - turned down the chance to go and have other plans. Raith, Malmo and Sunday were too poor for words tbh.
I think the protest sends a clear message to the club - RP in particular as he won't take to it. It might be helpful for STF to hear what people think of RP also.
The empty seats, another defeat and boos/vitriol will be the last nails for PF's coffin IMHO.
Sadly, post Fenlon, the underlying problem of RP's 'leadership' will continue I fear.
Hibby 2005
13-08-2013, 10:51 PM
A succession of bad managers that they have backed financially is an even bigger mistake. The club is having to pay off these rubbish managers and replace entire squads all because they picked the wrong manager. Not only are we paying for the wrong appointments on the pitch but financially as well because we have to get rid of them, and their players, deal with dropping attendances and poor league platings!
Indeed, Fenlon got the job, why? Was no one else available?
13-08-2013, 10:52 PM
ok Stanton's Angel. tell us, the real fans , exactly what you are all about. you are slagging off people that passionately love Hibernian fc, telling them to get behind the team but I think you have another agenda, and that is that you actually work for Hibernian, supervised by the board or someone on it. do expand.could just be one of these uber fans Wullie, that's better than everybody else?
13-08-2013, 10:52 PM
This is all a bit strange.
Protest and boycott if we see a danger to the existence of the club, but an organised demo centred around ***** results on the pitch?
An emphatic No from me and I am old enough to remember mobs behinds the old stand calling for the heads of such celebrated custodians as Eddie Turnbull, Tom Hart and Kenny Waugh.
We collectively support the club on and off the field, but if we stop supporting them on it what becomes the point of referring to yourself as a Hibs Supporter?
Hibs activist nearer the mark?
And if the protest successfully helps oust Fenlon, what next? Keep protesting until we get the man that the mob want in? And how long do we give it before we get mouthy at the back of the West again?
(Contrary to a lot of posts on this forum) we don't pick the executives, backroom staff or the team and we don't decide what their salaries or contracts are.
The running of the club is not in the hands of us. Never has been and most likely never will be.
The only possible influence the average Hibs Joe can have is choosing to support them (or not), by means of the myriad of options open to him / her (Season tickets, Walk-ups, Shares, Hibernians, The Historical Trust, Hibernian TV, Hospitality, Club shop, Happy Hibbie, Pies and Pizza, Programmes etc etc). We all make our choices on this.
Bawling and shouting about the current manager (admittedly not doing at all well), behind the stand will get you and us nowhere.
and if Fenlon can't make us any better and Petrie and co keep appointing pish managers where will that get us? We could sell out Easter road every week, buy 2 programmes each, each strip in 2 sizes (for when we lose that weight) and give the people running the club more money than they know what to do with, but if they keep spending it on the wrong people then we will just be even bigger underachievers.
Some fans what more from the club, for it to realise its potential, to move forward! Some fans aren't happy, and won't stand by why the club continues to under achieve using our money to do so.
Hibby 2005
13-08-2013, 10:56 PM
I won't be there - turned down the chance to go and have other plans. Raith, Malmo and Sunday were too poor for words tbh.
I think the protest sends a clear message to the club - RP in particular as he won't take to it. It might be helpful for STF to hear what people think of RP also.
The empty seats, another defeat and boos/vitriol will be the last nails for PF's coffin IMHO.
Sadly, post Fenlon, the underlying problem of RP's 'leadership' will continue I fear.
Tom Farmer is the "leader", Rod Petrie is the puppet, therein lies the real problem.
13-08-2013, 10:57 PM
Thought you were better than that, if you are happy with what you are watching on the pitch then fair enough, but others are not and plan to protest to the club on Saturday, you have said you won't be attending, to now start with the snidey jibes/jokes about folk who have supported the club for a long time and have had enough of the crap being served up every week and now want to put that over to the people in charge of running the club is uncalled for.
Well said.
13-08-2013, 10:59 PM
If anyone thinks Fenlon is the problem they have not watched us over the last 6 seasons? He's just another numpty to add to the rest of them this board have appointed.
Just how much have this board cost us in pay offs, managers and players?
I'd love to know that figure, then tell me just how good they have been with the money.
The product on the park is down to the manager of the club, once that is pish manager after manager, you have to go further up the line.
The tipping point has come for Petrie, he's appointed too many dummies get him tae ****.
Hibby 2005
13-08-2013, 11:03 PM
If anyone thinks Fenlon is the problem they have not watched us over the last 6 seasons? He's just another numpty to add to the rest of them this board have appointed.
I'd love to know that figure, then tell me just how good they have been with the money.
The product on the park is down to the manager of the club, once that is pish manager after manager, you have to go further up the line.
The tipping point has come for Petrie, he's appointed too many dummies get him tae ****.
Who appointed Petrie?
13-08-2013, 11:04 PM
Who appointed Petrie?
STF, you fancy buying him out?
ok Stanton's Angel. tell us, the real fans , exactly what you are all about. you are slagging off people that passionately love Hibernian fc, telling them to get behind the team but I think you have another agenda, and that is that you actually work for Hibernian, supervised by the board or someone on it. do expand.
I've had the feeling for a while that some people on here either work for the board at Hibs or are being monitored by some people that do. Don't wanna seem paranoid or anything but it seems a bit crazy how the fans can be told that if they keep backing the team, buying ST's etc then it will all turn around.
I am not happy with performances on the pitch. Hence why I want fenlon out.
Other than that I'm quite happy with the way the club is run.
Is that better? I'm guessing it should've been pretty obvious for my reason of not wanting Petrie and the board out but there you go.
I still haven't heard a balanced justification from you though?
Wasn't trying to be condescending so apologies if it came across like that. What i would be protesting is for Fenlon to be removed as a manager to begin with. Then either for Petrie to be sacked or moved the hell away from recruitment and just have him involved in the accountancy/financial side of things. If you are happy at the way the club is run then fair enough but i'll have to disagree.
The tipping point has come for Petrie, he's appointed too many dummies get him tae ****.Correct, he is a symptom, no the cause, that lies further up the food chain. I said it on another post, everybody has changed but nothing has changed, the only thing that remains the same is the person running the show, when does it become his fault?
Hibby 2005
13-08-2013, 11:07 PM
STF, you fancy buying him out?
A fool and his money are soon parted.
13-08-2013, 11:10 PM
A fool and his money are soon parted.
Well get your bid in.
Hibby 2005
13-08-2013, 11:16 PM
Well get your bid in.
It's usually one UK pound these days.
Shields Hibee
13-08-2013, 11:18 PM
This protest may push STF to come out & say he's putting the club up for sale, we can hope he will. Petrie if the cub was to be purchased should be ousted out with the rest of the board and the new guys start afresh. Balancing the books is one thing but constantly given us fans managers that do nothing & get nice pay offs smacks of poor judgement or going for a cheap option each time.
I honestly believe with owners who have good business vision and willingness to attract a proper manager plus back him with a nice package for transfers would get this club back where it belongs, being able to challenge for honours each year. With the club being ran properly, good product on the pitch & showing passion to win games, people would return to ER.
13-08-2013, 11:18 PM
It's usually one UK pound these days.
Ok fire in.
13-08-2013, 11:19 PM
Don't really get the 'get behind the team' posts. Have we not been doing that? We could continue turning up and supporting them and we will still be, however settling for mediocrity (well utter ***** these days) is totally pointless. It's time for change.
One of the best facilities in the league.
One of the biggest supports in the league.
One of the biggest budgets in the league.
One of the worst teams in the league.
Not good enough.
Hibby 2005
13-08-2013, 11:24 PM
This protest may push STF to come out & say he's putting the club up for sale, we can hope he will. Petrie if the cub was to be purchased should be ousted out with the rest of the board and the new guys start afresh. Balancing the books is one thing but constantly given us fans managers that do nothing & get nice pay offs smacks of poor judgement or going for a cheap option each time.
I honestly believe with owners who have good business vision and willingness to attract a proper manager plus back him with a nice package for transfers would get this club back where it belongs, being able to challenge for honours each year. With the club being ran properly, good product on the pitch & showing passion to win games, people would return to ER.
That last part makes so much sense it'll never catch on down Easter Rd.
hibee19
13-08-2013, 11:28 PM
This is where we should be. Whether Farmer sells or leads us there I don't care. Its time for all the negativity to stop and we take positive action until we get results.
13-08-2013, 11:29 PM
This 'protest' with about 40 people is going to have the yams pishing their panties.
Will I go get the pots and spoons to bang together?
Yeah joke about the current situation. Let's just continue to do nothing and sit back and take it as usual, have abit of a moan on the internet, part with our money when the weekend's come around, and enjoy the fantastic football that has been on show the past 6 years.
Some Hibs fans are scared of standing up for change and what 'others' will think if people do so, and this post along with a few others by folk, frankly reeks of it!
Care what the Jambos think/will be doing? That'll be the day! They can go do one.
13-08-2013, 11:36 PM
That last part makes so much sense it'll never catch on down Easter Rd.
With this club being ran properly we could be a joy to watch. Everythings in place, the fan-base, stadium, training facilities, the city with it's many tourist's all year round, the diverse nationalities that live in Edinburgh etc.
With proper people running us and getting the key decisions right we'd see out attendances increasing, a better standard of player, regularly playing in European football, all while enjoying some really good results.
Make no mistake about it, we are a big club that's under achieving BIG TIME, and it's so hard to continue to see us like this.
There NEEDS to be a change at board room level for the sake of taking Hibernian FC forward. It's as simple as that. If people are happy with bottom 6 finishes, humiliating results, dropping crowds etc, the fine, by all means, simply continue to do nothing.
However, if people are fed up with what we're being out through and fancy abit of what could be, then it's time to start people serious pressure on the board and not just having keyboard debates like usual.
13-08-2013, 11:50 PM
Those in charge of the club are ruining everything about it. I don't enjoy watching Hibs these days, not one bit. I enjoy going to games (as contradictory as that sounds) because it's good to see mates/family and have a sing song, but the football is absolutely brutal and a waste of money. My dads even more fed up than I am. Sick of seeing the club being run into the ground, and the 1500 people who have been lost in the last 2 years on average at home games is going to double soon unless something is done.
For once i'm actually looking forward to the EPL coming back this weekend. Couldn't give a flying **** who wins the games but will be nice to watch a game of decent football now and again.
Some people saying a protest won't make a difference, but it's worth a shot at the very least. The current trend of **** after ***** after ***** every season is boring me to death.
Polbeth Hibee
13-08-2013, 11:57 PM
I personally think that a post match protest would work out better. If the players see/hear the protest pre-match do you not think it will mess with their heads a little and distract them from the task at hand?
14-08-2013, 12:10 AM
ok Stanton's Angel. tell us, the real fans , exactly what you are all about. you are slagging off people that passionately love Hibernian fc, telling them to get behind the team but I think you have another agenda, and that is that you actually work for Hibernian, supervised by the board or someone on it. do expand.
I think if you read the post it will state that it is MY OPINION.... i dont need to be told what to think or to say on here or in any other walk of life.
I am giving my point of view and contradictory to your perception of my post, i am not "slagging" off fellow supporters, I accept that they are angry and believe me no one is more passionate about Hibs than me!
What am i all about?........ im about supporting my team through good and bad, as i have done over the past 50 years. Having been there through the good times and suffered with the rest of you during many bad periods of our recent history, that is what i am "about" and i hope it expands enough on MY points of view.
Unfortunately your deductions on my employment status are incorrect as I neither work for Hibernian or am supervised by the board or anyone on it. The original post is as i have said MY OPINION. You may not like it but it is mine.
erskine-hibby
14-08-2013, 12:14 AM
I personally think that a post match protest would work out better. If the players see/hear the protest pre-match do you not think it will mess with their heads a little and distract them from the task at hand?
And what might that be??
Go and tell them as they obviously haven't been told by Fenlon.
14-08-2013, 12:19 AM
Everyone planning to protest loves Hibs and that is why they are doing it so yes you can protest outside the ground about the way the club is being run and then go and support the team. You can only show blind faith for so long before deciding to take action.
That line there I believe shows what the real opposition to this is. No, you're not happy about what you are seeing but lets not give the jambos a reason to slag us off eh? Well their youth team beat us last week as we tried to kick them off the park, they beat us 5-1 in the cup final and lets face it, they'll have more ammunition to slag you off in the future if we don't get change. I couldn't give a **** about what Hearts fans say, I care about Hibs.
If you really think that that one line in my op says it all, then i am sorry but you have completely missed the point on including it in the post?
Blind my faith may be thought to be, the reaction to the protest and the sheer volume of people that turn up to take part will then prove me wrong.
14-08-2013, 12:26 AM
Our branch spent 10k on buses for away games last season and nearly all of us have season tickets so we've backed the club home and away and that's people's hard earned cash. Not to mention the cup final etc etc. there comes a point when even the die hards say enough is enough. I've been going for years and I along with many others just can't sit and watch this poor team play defensive containment football like Alex miller did years ago. We as fans should be rewarded on the park for the backing we've given the team by purchasing season tickets, club memberships, merchandise from the shop, east stand stones etc.
We have been rewarded with 5 managers in a row who don't know the game, can't play attacking football and think its acceptable to finish in the bottom six, lose to teams like Dundee and Ross county even Ayr utd. Draw home games we should be winning easily. Lose to hearts without a fight which is just unacceptable. Every season the propaganda makes a dent in your carpet when it drops through the letter box with all season ticket renewal forms shop catalogues with an accompanying letter which says your club needs you the best way to back the team is get a season ticket all the money goes to the manager. My erse it does.
We've got nothing back for years now. Petrie appoints these managers so he has to carry the can. He says who we can and can't sign and more often than not its the cheap option or panic buys. Time for Fenlon and Petrie to go and Mr farmer needs to have a word with himself. I've gave my backing to the club, indeed including family members that's 1600 quid they've got of us this season for season tickets and again no reward on the park. Not even an apology for the malmo game.
Needs must and this club needs a new direction and until we change direction and put a winning team on the park play attractive football which won't happen under Fenlon or petries tenure as long as cheap appointments are made. Until changes are made I'm out. Sorry folks just had enough.
I hope this protest succeeds because I can't face another season of torture.
Best post on the thread. I can understand why the idea of a protest makes some folk feel uneasy. We have a great stadium, a proper training facility and the current board have looked after the financial interests of the club and protected it in very difficult times.
The bottom line is the cycle of successive managers who have all been supported by the board yet have all become a cropper and the lengthy list of players and teams over the last few years who have let the fans down season after season. Why is it that this just keeps happening? I don't know, but what I do know is that this has reached a point where we can't let it just continue. People have just had enough and they have the right to say so in a stronger way.
I feel a bit for Fenlon. I think he's a good guy who has genuinely done his best, but he is just the latest in a long line of Hibs managers who just haven't been able to deliver a team that consistently performs to reasonable expectations. Hibernian F C have loads of great projects and initiatives, which is great, but ultimately, for some reason, it's the team itself which lets us down again and again. Why should fans pour their money into the club and get such a poor return on the park? That is what really matters.
I hope that what comes out of this is a constructive dialogue for a different way forward. I don't pretend to know what that might be, but enough is enough. We've had years of this and the right kind of pressure should now be brought to bear to finally do something about it.
14-08-2013, 12:29 AM
I've had the feeling for a while that some people on here either work for the board at Hibs or are being monitored by some people that do. Don't wanna seem paranoid or anything but it seems a bit crazy how the fans can be told that if they keep backing the team, buying ST's etc then it will all turn around.
Wasn't trying to be condescending so apologies if it came across like that. What i would be protesting is for Fenlon to be removed as a manager to begin with. Then either for Petrie to be sacked or moved the hell away from recruitment and just have him involved in the accountancy/financial side of things. If you are happy at the way the club is run then fair enough but i'll have to disagree.
This fan isnt told anything and doesnt work for hibernian or am i monitored by any one who does? Its called "freedom of speech". Like you all i am entitled to my opinion and because it is going against the grain im supposed to be some puppet that cant think for themselves? I dont think people that know me well will agree with your perception of me Cameron.
In respect to the second part of the post above you may remember most recently that Petrie did step aside from the management of the football side of the club and was replaced with Scott Lindsay. He too was slated and for his part in employing other recent failed managers and he stepped down from the position quite recently.
Im happy with the way my club is run financially but like you all im frustrated at the current crisis but dont think we can afford to sack manager after manager.
AGAIN my opinion!
Agree completely. Their confidence will be low enough without this hanging over them.
...and if anyone uses the phrase "accepting mediocrity" again I think I'll scream! :-)
14-08-2013, 12:41 AM
Correct, we should do absolutely nothing. You think this is a result of two bad games this season? What have you been watching? How about as a result of the last 6 years? I will be at the game and fully intend supporting the team as I always do, I have nae beef with them, or can you only do that if you think the sun shines out of Petrie's rear end?
I understand your reasoning behind your post and i know what the last 6 years have been like. I have watched Hibs for 50 years now and i have been through many seasons of despair too.
I too have suffered just as you have and you have the opinion that protesting will change the board the chairman or the manager fair enough. I accept that but looking at the poll on here there are only 50 names agreeing to protest in all. How many of these will actually turn up?
If these 50 or even more turn up shouting for the manager, chairman or the boards heads how do you think the team morale will be when hearing all this from the dressing room?
All im saying is that i too have persevered with management changes galore and changes in team members too. We need to have stability not just for ourselves but for the sake of the club too. Again this is my opinion and you may not like it but its mine.
14-08-2013, 01:38 AM
Best post on the thread. I can understand why the idea of a protest makes some folk feel uneasy. We have a great stadium, a proper training facility and the current board have looked after the financial interests of the club and protected it in very difficult times.
The bottom line is the cycle of successive managers who have all been supported by the board yet have all become a cropper and the lengthy list of players and teams over the last few years who have let the fans down season after season. Why is it that this just keeps happening? I don't know, but what I do know is that this has reached a point where we can't let it just continue. People have just had enough and they have the right to say so in a stronger way.
I feel a bit for Fenlon. I think he's a good guy who has genuinely done his best, but he is just the latest in a long line of Hibs managers who just haven't been able to deliver a team that consistently performs to reasonable expectations. Hibernian F C have loads of great projects and initiatives, which is great, but ultimately, for some reason, it's the team itself which lets us down again and again. Why should fans pour their money into the club and get such a poor return on the park? That is what really matters.
I hope that what comes out of this is a constructive dialogue for a different way forward. I don't pretend to know what that might be, but enough is enough. We've had years of this and the right kind of pressure should now be brought to bear to finally do something about it.
I'm glad you quoted me as I spent ages typing that on my phone earlier :)
We just can't continue with this what seems like a conveyor belt of poor Rod Petrie appointed managers. Before Fenlon was given the job the board said they would take their time to do their homework and get the right man for the job. They failed immediately by bringing in an unproven manager from part-time Irish football which is a standard well below ours. I think fenlons got the team playing at the low Irish standard but that's not good enough for the spl and he doesn't know how to get the best out of the players.
I'd love to have seen a full list of applicants who Fenlon was up against for the job. I bet there was better options maybe a bit pricier but I bet there was. The board have no balls. If they did they would have emptied Fenlon by now and would be looking to appoint a proven manager.
Fenlon should just admit he's out his depth and walk swiftly followed by Petrie. It's funny because we all laugh at hearts about their money problems but despite all that they are still better on the park than we are with a weaker team. We are in deep doo doo and major changes are need throughout the club to get us out this rut.
VivaHiberña
14-08-2013, 01:55 AM
[...]
All im saying is that i too have persevered with management changes galore and changes in team members too. We need to have stability not just for ourselves but for the sake of the club too. Again this is my opinion and you may not like it but its mine.
You're not alone, SA. I genuinely do not understand the desire to sack Fenlon for him to be replaced with someone of more or less equal ability. I reckon we could bring in a 'world-class' manager and still struggle because he would still not deliver within the desired time frame. What is expected of PF is not unreasonable, when he is expected to deliver it is.
Really, what I'm saying is that the club needs time and stability. Currently we're letting ourselves get trapped in a loop of:
Poor performance -> replace manager -> lack of consistency, stability and long-term direction -> poor performance -> etc...
This can also be seen in the playing staff where (and I can't remember the statistic exactly) in the last three (I think) years we've seen more than 80 (!) players come and go. This is not good practice, but nonetheless the product of a short-termist culture.
The fact is we need to accept an average manager and give him some trust; accept that Rome wasn't built in a day and that there were probably some hiccups.
People will point to ICT and argue that Butcher has done well there, but it's taken him since 2009 to get a top-six finish. I doubt Butcher would have been allowed to last nearly that long at Hibs.
I'm not saying we don't need change: something is evidently wrong. I'm not even saying that PF is the long-term option that I would go for. But demanding the manager be sacked isn't fixing the problem, in my view it's exacerbating it.
Do we really want to write off 2013-14 as another "not the manager's fault; it's still his predecessor's team" sort of season? I don't. We are not going down, so let's take a gamble on Pat.
14-08-2013, 05:34 AM
Do we really want to write off 2013-14 as another "not the manager's fault; it's still his predecessor's team" sort of season? I don't. We are not going down, so let's take a gamble on Pat.
I wouldn't be so sure about not going down with him in charge.
This is a manager that brings in a load of similar style midfielders, yet bypasses them with his hoofball tactics.
He has been in charge for 1-5, 0-7 and losing to a Hearts youth team.
We are still the soft touches in the league. He's had long enough now to have shown some signs of improvements. There has been none.
Results are poor, performances even worse. It's a disgrace that he's been allowed to stay this long, never mind give him more time.
After having simmered down and thought about it, i don't think it's time to protest just yet.
Maybe best to get behind the team while we are struggling for two or three games and play our part to try turn it around?
If they don't then they've no excuse.
14-08-2013, 05:57 AM
We've got behind the players and that hasn't helped turn things round.
What difference will two or three games make? What if we win this weekend, will everything be ok again? No, because it would only paper over the cracks.
After having simmered down and thought about it, i don't think it's time to protest just yet.
Maybe best to get behind the team while we are struggling for two or three games and play our part to try turn it around?
I hope this is how a lot of people will think as the week progresses. The players need our support, not disheartening distractions like this or jeering at their manager.
Let's at least wait for the season to develop before calling for heads.
14-08-2013, 06:10 AM
This "protest" will be a combination of older punters with axes to grind with Rod Petrie and youngsters who wouldn't know hard times if it introduced itself to them and kicked them up the erse.
It will also be embarrassing to have to suffer coverage of it in the media.
Those of us who fought their way through Mercer and endured entire seasons without an away win not to mention two relegations are able to apply a sense of perspective at times like this. look at Coventry City, Portsmouth, Hertz to name but a few- now that's a crisis.
There is little doubt the manager is in the last chance saloon but surely inside the ground at full time would be when we make our feelings known if necessary.
Count me out.
14-08-2013, 06:16 AM
This "protest" will be a combination of older punters with axes to grind with Rod Petrie and youngsters who wouldn't know hard times if it introduced itself to them and kicked them up the erse.
Those of us who fought their way through Mercer and endured entire seasons without an away win not to mention two relegations are able to apply a sense of perspective at times like this. look at Coventry City, Portsmouth, Hertz to name but a few- now that's a crisis.
There is little doubt the manager is in the last chance saloon but surely inside the ground at full time would be when we make our feelings known if necessary.
Count me out.
I don't think the "young ones don't know how good they have it" line works anymore, Even my dad says the last few years have been amongst the worst he's seen as a supporter. We have been rank rotten for about 6 years now and there is no sign of us getting any better. At least the guys protesting are trying to make a difference, sitting back and taking it on the chin has done us no good at all.
14-08-2013, 06:24 AM
If we win it'll be scrappy and probably lucky.
FWIW I doubt there'll be much of a protest just as there won't be much of a crowd.
I couldn't care how we win to be fair, just want the points on the board at the moment
14-08-2013, 06:31 AM
Count me out.
I'm with you on this Flash.
Time for Fenlon to go but protesting before the game isn't the way to go in my opinion.
If I was a board member and I saw this I would be thinking if we dispense with PF now everyone will think it is the protest that brought it on, it would make me want to keep him so the protest would be counter-productive.
It could well turn out to be cringeworthy as well as it will be well publicised and TV and press will be present. Imagine how it will look if hardly anybody turns up and of those who do guaranteed they will interview someone who can't get their point of view across.
A lot of fans are furious and rightly so but come Saturday and matchday people's attitudes can soften or decide they are going to stick with their normal routine whether it be staying in the boozer until quarter to three or leaving the house at 2.30pm.
14-08-2013, 06:44 AM
Yeah joke about the current situation. Let's just continue to do nothing and sit back and take it as usual, have abit of a moan on the internet, part with our money when the weekend's come around, and enjoy the fantastic football that has been on show the past 6 years.
Some Hibs fans are scared of standing up for change and what 'others' will think if people do so, and this post along with a few others by folk, frankly reeks of it!
Care what the Jambos think/will be doing? That'll be the day! They can go do one.
Sorry I don't think footballs serious business.
14-08-2013, 06:52 AM
I won't be protesting, I'll be sitting in the pub and not taking my seat at ER until Fenlon departs or the football improves. I just can't stand to watch any more of that *****.
However I don't agree that a protest will negatively affect the players, and if it does then they should be kicked out of the club. If they had any backbone they would see the demonstration and turn round and fight for what they have, stick it right up the protesting fans and dundee utd and produce a big result.
They won't though, because it's too easy just to leave paddy to take the blame the same way the previous managers have.
We have supported our players to the hilt since the 5-1 final, and got **** all back for it. Personally I'm about to ready to see a rocket put up there *****, because the love in aint worked.
NatureBoy
14-08-2013, 06:54 AM
I will be at the protest. The alternative for me would be to stay away from Easter Road, which was my initial reaction, but with time to think about it I'd rather try to bring about a change if at all possible!
The club could have possibly placated me if they had the decency to come out with a non generic statement of some kind. Frankly I find the silence after this latest disaster insulting to the fans!
14-08-2013, 06:58 AM
:agree: Agree with this, but sadly there's no way Fenlon can turn this around. The main protest will be inside the ground when we go one or two down to DUFC and Fenlon replaces Collins with a central mid :cb
The Board will take no notice of 50-100 people protesting before the match. They'll just see them as nutters and might even harden their belligerent attitude.
Serious question... where is the fans group that is recognised by the Hibs Board, what is their view on the manager's position, who is the spokesman and why are they not in the press just now with views ?
Johnny Clash
14-08-2013, 07:23 AM
As much as I think we've had a bad start to the season (and been pretty poor for years) - I still think we need to give it time to see exactly what this set of players can do.
I understand folk wanting yet another manager replaced but the successor to Pat isn't obvious. The last thing we need is change for the sake of it, with just the hope that someone like Kenny Shields might make a difference. The next manager has to be the most important signing we make.
Qualifying for Europe as Cup Final losers after a poor season always had the potential to back fire on us. We got off lightly over there but Malmo at ER was a complete disaster!
Then followed by two league games we could have won but narrowly lost. In neither game were we pumped. I just wish Tom Taiwo was an inch taller and connected properly with that cut back on Sunday coz there was no way we'd have lost had he found the net.
Yes we still need to strengthen our squad and get them playing the passing game and that is taking time. Two league games isn't enough for me.
I'm working in London this weekend otherwise I'd be at the game and if I was gonna demonstrate on Saturday it would be in town against these SDL muppets - fascist bigots are a bit more of a concern than Pat Fenlon and his team right now!
14-08-2013, 07:30 AM
Someone earlier came o and said Fenlon need time. I'd give him time....two years in Saughton. What he is doing to my club is criminal. Not quite a hanging offence but not far off it.
14-08-2013, 07:41 AM
Someone earlier came o and said Fenlon need time. I'd give him time....two years in Saughton. What he is doing to my club is criminal. Not quite a hanging offence but not far off it.
Gustavo Fring
14-08-2013, 07:45 AM
fenlon is now oficially more popular than zibby with the hearts supporters - that really says it all
Alan62
14-08-2013, 07:49 AM
Sorry chaps. Maybe it's because the Festival's in town but there's a lot of you sounding like big Drama Queens on this thread. So we haven't had a great start to the season and the manager clearly isn't the master tactician that all of us are but really, a protest outside the stand before the game. Well that's going to encourage the players, isn't it?
Think we should all calm down a bit and let them get on with the job of winning some games and getting our season under way.
Gustavo Fring
14-08-2013, 07:52 AM
Think we should all calm down a bit and let them get on with the job of winning some games and getting our season under way.
how do they go about winning games when the manager sends them out to play for a draw ?
14-08-2013, 08:07 AM
No communication from the Club since Malmo debacle. A planned protest is in place, and suddenly RP wants a Q&A at short notice, presumably to quell the flames.....Cynical me:cb
14-08-2013, 08:07 AM
how do they go about winning games when the manager sends them out to play for a draw ?
Exactly. He sets up to draw at best when playing at home. Unacceptable.
Grubbing around the message boards.
khib70
14-08-2013, 08:09 AM
I hope this is how a lot of people will think as the week progresses. The players need our support, not disheartening distractions like this or jeering at their manager.
Let's at least wait for the season to develop before calling for heads.
Why, FFS? Just do nothing and things will be OK? In Rod we trust? Pat will finally get it right after nearly two years of abject failure? I can't believe there's enough sand around ER for all the heads that have been stuck in it in the last few days on this board.
Scream all you like, Peter, but if you take this attitude you are settling for mediocrity - or worse.
Makaveli
14-08-2013, 08:16 AM
Symptom of the culture that some people are more bothered about how it will look on TV than what it might achieve.
And saying only 50 people have "signed up"?... That's like saying only 500 people want Fenlon out. This is all over facebook, twitter etc. I actually can't be there at two but fair play to all who are.
14-08-2013, 08:35 AM
The poll should have the following option;
Are you going to the protest, but not the game as I will not give Petrie another penny of my cash to watch that steaming pile of horse****?
One vote so far.......,
14-08-2013, 08:58 AM
No communication from the Club since Malmo debacle. A planned protest is in place, and suddenly RP wants a Q&A at short notice, presumably to quell the flames.....Cynical me:cb
I hope the fans ignore him, its the Hibs way. :rolleyes:
14-08-2013, 08:58 AM
Thought you were better than that, if you are happy with what you are watching on the pitch then fair enough, but others are not and plan to protest to the club on Saturday, you have said you won't be attending, to now start with the snidey jibes/jokes about folk who have supported the club for a long time and have had enough of the crap being served up every week and now want to put that over to the people in charge of running the club is uncalled for.
SH I think you have misread the intention of my comments, I literally described the people I was talking about and do not consider those type of people to be the same as you and many others on here who have contributed.
Anyway I will not comment any further on the planned protest as dividing the supporters is the last thing we need to be doing.
14-08-2013, 08:59 AM
The poll should have the following option;
Are you going to the protest, but not the game as I will not give Petrie another penny of my cash to watch that steaming pile of horse****?
One vote so far.......,
The protest is OUTSIDE the West Stand at 2pm. Be there or be square.
14-08-2013, 09:02 AM
Exactly, those who will be there will be there, and those who don't want to protest won't.
14-08-2013, 09:12 AM
It's very convenient isn't it.
Questions as follows.
To RP
Q. Will you be considering your position as hibernian chairman and if not why not?
Q. Why has pat Fenlon not been relieved of his duties.
Q. 5 poor managerial appointments in a row. Why is it always cheap options who can't work to the standards we expect at hibernian.
Q. Do you think you can take this club forward and how are you going to do it?
Q. Why does the board not show any ambition for the club.
Q. Why are the pies sheeiitte?
14-08-2013, 09:17 AM
It's very convenient isn't it.
Questions as follows.
To RP
Q. Will you be considering your position as hibernian chairman and if not why not?
Q. Why has pat Fenlon not been relieved of his duties.
Q. 5 poor managerial appointments in a row. Why is it always cheap options who can't work to the standards we expect at hibernian.
Q. Do you think you can take this club forward and how are you going to do it?
Q. Why does the board not show any ambition for the club.
Q. Why are the pies sheeiitte?
I wouldn't reply to him, let him have a taste of his own medicine. He will only feed us the same old sheite anyway.
14-08-2013, 09:20 AM
I haven't read through the entire thread guys, but has the protest been organised in conjunction with, or at least disseminated to, the support beyond hibs.net .e.g the bounce forum, supporters branches etc, so as to ensure it is as effective as possible?
14-08-2013, 09:21 AM
I wouldn't reply to him, let him have a taste of his own medicine. He will only feed us the same old sheite anyway.
You talking about Petrie or baldy foghorn?? :D
"Grubbing around the message boards"
14-08-2013, 09:22 AM
You talking about Petrie or baldy foghorn?? :D
:greengrin Brockie. :wink:
14-08-2013, 09:24 AM
:greengrin Brockie. :wink:
He'll be on the phone to me the now giving my ears a hard time. :(
JustSimplyHibs
14-08-2013, 09:28 AM
And if we get beat i wonder if the numbers will grow.
All we want is clear direction on the footballing side, from youth to 1st team. This is how we play, on the deck, going for goals, older players showing the ropes to the younger ones - now board get a manager that preaches the same philosophy, a man that has a reputation of our philosophy i.e. Laudrup, Martienz and other former managers for Swansea when they came under fan ownership - they had a philosophy, stuck to it and got managers that preached the same, just like many European teams.
Mowbray and Collins had it, the others didn't even raise the bar (Hughes, Mixu Calderwood, Fenlon etc.) they are in fact what you call scrapping the barrel material!
There needs to be someone on the board with footballing mentality looking out for the footballing interests and not the financial, preferably someone in the know who has achieved goods things at other clubs/association bodies and not interested in managing the team or teams - god we have a scouting network, i would hope that this network goes further than just players - if not it just shows you how far behind we are!
I want change in this direction: a Football orientated person on the board, fighting for the clubs philosophy on football. Involved in the recruiting of coaching staff inc. our manager, making sure they fit OUR philosophy and not theirs.
People are moaning about there being a protest - fair dews, however, if we don't do something and allow the club to rot the way it has done over the last 3 - 4 decades, we'll be ******. People are saying to THEM 'your grand bairns will be Hibby's, well guess what - THERE WONT BE A HIBS WITHIN THE NEXT DECADE if we don't stop the rot and start getting it right on the pitch, preferably challenging for honours.... I'm already being faced with i don't want to go from the kids and they are 5, 10, and 13, because it is boring and has been for years - 'i don't want to go' (they're our future supporters FFS).
A great deal of soul searching needs to be done at the top - we as fans are starting to lose it, they need to rethink, possibly restructure, before the club dies!
Rant over and breathe
14-08-2013, 09:32 AM
So that's 47 people protesting now, should be interesting.
i think it's a pointless waste of time myself and don't agree with it in the slightest but each to their own.
will their be chants of sack the board, Fenlon get tae ****, Fenlon Fenlon get tae **** etc or is it a silent protest with banners Fenlon and Petrie out? What's the running order?
14-08-2013, 09:34 AM
i think it's a pointless waste of time myself and don't agree with it in the slightest but each to their own.
will their be chants of sack the board, Fenlon get tae ****, Fenlon Fenlon get tae **** etc or is it a silent protest with banners Fenlon and Petrie out? What's the running order?
Why are you bothered, you won't be there? :confused:
14-08-2013, 09:37 AM
Yes, I'm aware of that.
Many thanks.
14-08-2013, 09:37 AM
And if we get beat i wonder if the numbers will grow.
All we want is clear direction on the footballing side, from youth to 1st team. This is how we play, on the deck, going for goals, older players showing the ropes to the younger ones - now board get a manager that preaches the same philosophy, a man that has a reputation of our philosophy i.e. Laudrup, Martienz and other former managers for Swansea when they came under fan ownership - they had a philosophy, stuck to it and got managers that preached the same, just like many European teams.
Mowbray and Collins had it, the others didn't even raise the bar (Hughes, Mixu Calderwood, Fenlon etc.) they are in fact what you call scrapping the barrel material!
There needs to be someone on the board with footballing mentality looking out for the footballing interests and not the financial, preferably someone in the know who has achieved goods things at other clubs/association bodies and not interested in managing the team or teams - god we have a scouting network, i would hope that this network goes further than just players - if not it just shows you how far behind we are!
I want change in this direction: a Football orientated person on the board, fighting for the clubs philosophy on football. Involved in the recruiting of coaching staff inc. our manager, making sure they fit OUR philosophy and not theirs.
People are moaning about there being a protest - fair dews, however, if we don't do something and allow the club to rot the way it has done over the last 3 - 4 decades, we'll be ******. People are saying to THEM 'your grand bairns will be Hibby's, well guess what - THERE WONT BE A HIBS WITHIN THE NEXT DECADE if we don't stop the rot and start getting it right on the pitch, preferably challenging for honours.... I'm already being faced with i don't want to go from the kids and they are 5, 10, and 13 - 'i don't want to go' (they're our future supporters FFS).
A great deal of soul searching needs to be done at the top - we as fans are starting to lose it, they need to rethink, possibly restructure, before the club dies!
Rant over and breathe
Great post.
My kids aint interested in going to ER 'cos it's boring..'
14-08-2013, 09:39 AM
I didn't realise that the protest only involved people that post on this forum! :wink:
14-08-2013, 09:57 AM
Great post.
My kids aint interested in going to ER 'cos it's boring..'
That's sad because that's the future of our support.
hibsmad
14-08-2013, 10:01 AM
Why are you bothered, you won't be there? :confused:
I'm not going but I'm still "bothered".
I think every Hibs fan, whether they are in favour of the protest or not, will be interested to see how it goes.
As the # of the protesters points out, 'we are hibernian fc'. That goes for all of us and not just those ready to chant while holding up PETRIE OUT banners.
hibby67
14-08-2013, 10:21 AM
The fact only 233 people have voted and only 47 says yes they will protest shows there is no real support for this sort of action.... Things are bad just now but I have been supporting Hibs for over 40 years and with a few exceptions most years have been poor and under achieving so what's different now ( nothing) .....now I am not sticking up for Pat Fenlon but I keep hearing he has been in charge of our most embarrassing results in our history especially the 5-1 defeat to Hearts in the cup final but I recall getting beat of Celtic 6-1 in the 72 cup final surely that worse... Now I know they guys who have voted to protest will say we have to do something and I realise this but my fear for you is that only a few of you turn up and you look like a joke and not taken serious also we run the risk of the press getting tore into us when the should be given the Hearts a hard time.... Better to get behind the team and maybe just before kick display banners or as some have suggested turning your back on the board especially the guys in the east stand so the board will see....but I fell ultimately it will be results that get Pat sacked but that won't come until Christmas
14-08-2013, 10:32 AM
First post so hopefully don't get shot down but I'm gonna give my opinion anyway.
I'm all for the protest., but only if its done right. And I think it should be after the game. Even if we get a win it doesn't make everything that has gone before all fi right so we are still entitled to protest.
I just think it would be better if we made sure everybody is on the same page for it. People turning up might be protesting against Fenlon, some against Petrie, some against Farmer and some against all of them. We need to make sure there is a common goal or its not going to be affective. 50 folk turning up and just shouting abuse isn't going to gain anything.
As I say I'm all for it but I just want it to be done From a lot of the posts I've read here and on the bounce I also think the numbers would increase if it was moved to after the game.
14-08-2013, 10:35 AM
Far too late for me. I'm usually in the ground by then.
14-08-2013, 10:43 AM
I didn't realise that the protest only involved people that post on this forum! :wink:
I want facts, hard data give me more mi if this isn't accurate :greengrin
14-08-2013, 10:51 AM
The fact only 233 people have voted and only 47 says yes they will protest shows there is no real support for this sort of action.... Things are bad just now but I have been supporting Hibs for over 40 years and with a few exceptions most years have been poor and under achieving so what's different now ( nothing) .....now I am not sticking up for Pat Fenlon but I keep hearing he has been in charge of our most embarrassing results in our history especially the 5-1 defeat to Hearts in the cup final but I recall getting beat of Celtic 6-1 in the 72 cup final surely that worse... Now I know they guys who have voted to protest will say we have to do something and I realise this but my fear for you is that only a few of you turn up and you look like a joke and not taken serious also we run the risk of the press getting tore into us when the should be given the Hearts a hard time.... Better to get behind the team and maybe just before kick display banners or as some have suggested turning your back on the board especially the guys in the east stand so the board will see....but I fell ultimately it will be results that get Pat sacked but that won't come until Christmas
This is futile unless you really get the numbers up. The Hibs Board will see the 47 (out of 233) as representing just 20% of the Hibs support and just a noisy minority. They will (wrongly) assume the other 80% are happy to give Fenlon/Petrie more time. IMHO organising a protest before a match is just daft and will be dismissed by the Board and made fun of in the press.
The way to get action is in the ground itself by either boycotting matches (highly effective) or make it clear at the game what we think of Fenlon/Petrie (quite effective). Yes, this might harm the team's performance on the day but this is where it hurts the Hibs Board most. Walking away or getting on the manager's back is what will get us action.
Hibby 2005
14-08-2013, 11:02 AM
This is futile unless you really get the numbers up. The Hibs Board will see the 47 (out of 233) as representing just 20% of the Hibs support and just a noisy minority. They will (wrongly) assume the other 80% are happy to give Fenlon/Petrie more time. IMHO organising a protest before a match is just daft and will be dismissed by the Board and made fun of in the press.
The way to get action is in the ground itself by either boycotting matches (highly effective) or make it clear at the game what we think of Fenlon/Petrie (quite effective). Yes, this might harm the team's performance on the day but this is where it hurts the Hibs Board most. Walking away or getting on the manager's back is what will get us action.
The protest started after the Malmo game when we had an 8,000 to 9,000 crowd for the opening game of the season. The continued falling away of the support will register more with the Board than any other action.
NatureBoy
14-08-2013, 11:13 AM
I think the protest is planned for 2pm because if Fenlon somehow manages to mastermind a win, nobody will feel like a protest! Petrie will buy himself more breathing space and the viscous cycle continues.
On the other side of the coin I think before the game will be more peaceful and controlled compared to what may happen if we lose and hold it after the game when emotions are high.
14-08-2013, 11:21 AM
Can those of you that intend to protest please wear or carry something that displays your .net username. In the event that I participate ( I am slowly coming around to the idea) I would love to put a face to many of you that regularly post. I will wear my curly wig, false tache and shell suit so to be recognised.
14-08-2013, 11:25 AM
I support the protest 100%. I had intended on going to match with Wife however I don't want divorced so I would urge if not attending protest send an email at 2pm. I will be and it is best to keep short it will be the following:
Not interested in dire football, boring tactics, bad manager and above all Rod Petrie who is to blame for it all yet again. £50 getting spent elsewhere and will continue to be.
14-08-2013, 11:25 AM
So explain what or who do you want? Fenlon out, fair enough managers lose their jobs based on results generally.
So let's look at the board or Petrie as you have done and ask what exactly do you want from him................resign? He's picked decent manager's before, he's backed them within the financial constraints that keeps the club where it is, he's got the signings they have asked for and with signings that we have lauded as being good for the club and generally impressed with before they have kicked a ball. What can another chairman do better than that?
Not being funny but what exactly do you think the fans should do? Sit back and say nothing? Stop coming to games whether season ticket holders or not? I know lots of massive hibs supporters who have given up because of the way the club is playing, not just this season, but over a few years. Do we want to go back to crowds of 5/6 thousand? Genuine question, what do you think the fans should do?
14-08-2013, 11:26 AM
Can those of you that intend to protest please wear or carry something that displays your .net username. In the event that I participate ( I am slowly coming around to the idea) I would love to put a face to many of you that regularly post. I will wear my curly wig, false tache and shell suit so to be recognised.
So you are coming dressed and looking as you normally do? :)
Awrite awrite calm down calm down
14-08-2013, 11:30 AM
The timing of this protest against the board would have been more appropriate after we got ****ed off Hearts in the final or in last may's against Celtic. Why now? Imagine you're a player and you inevitably hear about the protest just before kick off, what a great boost that will be to the already shattered confidence. Not any uberness intended, it's just my opinion.
Mibbe because after THAT final we were told by our captain we would never be rolled over like that again? Mibbe because we had another gash season last year, knocked out league cup by a lower division team and again beaten easily in Scottish cup final? Mibbe because the start of this season has been a total disaster?
14-08-2013, 11:36 AM
Not being funny but what exactly do you think the fans should do? Sit back and say nothing? Stop coming to games whether season ticket holders or not? I know lots of massive hibs supporters who have given up because of the way the club is playing, not just this season, but over a few years. Do we want to go back to crowds of 5/6 thousand? Genuine question, what do you think the fans should do?
I guess I was asking the same question as to what exactly do the protesters want to achieve?
I get the Fenlon and board out feeling I really do and I am actually coming round myself to joining the protest as posted earlier.
I don't have the answer or know who does to be honest as to how to move forward and with whom at the helm. My main worry is we get them out and then struggle to move forward and lose direction completely (both on and off the pitch). Don't get me wrong I realise a vocal protest will draw attention to our utter dismay, but I believe we then need to follow that up with some structured proposals as to what we actaully believe needs to be done.
14-08-2013, 11:38 AM
Not quite, I'm leaving the wrist sweatbands off for this one!
I won't be, Im too soft and will be in the stands with my head burried in the sand, But those who do protest have every right to....:flag:
14-08-2013, 11:45 AM
I guess I was asking the same question as to what exactly do the protesters want to achieve?
I get the Fenlon and board out feeling I really do and I am actually coming round myself to joining the protest as posted earlier.
I don't have the answer or know who does to be honest as to how to move forward and with whom at the helm. My main worry is we get them out and then struggle to move forward and lose direction completely (both on and off the pitch). Don't get me wrong I realise a vocal protest will draw attention to our utter dismay, but I believe we then need to follow that up with some structured proposals as to what we actaully believe needs to be done.
That's fair enough for me, thanks for answering. Cheers.
14-08-2013, 11:46 AM
May well be 47, but maybe theres more who have not registered or have access to Hibsnet that may turn up, there mates etc...if I were guessing I would say a good couple of hundred will turn up, combined with the boycott of the game by some and also the folk with banners and singing for Fenlon/Petrie OUT,in the stadium, combined with the 95% poll of folk wanting fenlon out should be enough for the board/media to sit up and take notice,dont you think.
NatureBoy
14-08-2013, 11:56 AM
49 now and if everyone brings along a couple of like minded mates that's a pretty good start. Folk without .Net accounts will hopefully also be getting involved. With it being at 2.00pm that could have a snowball effect with extra fans around ER getting involved.
djs69
14-08-2013, 12:02 PM
Protests, protests , sack the board, change the manager, bla bla bla. Lets not forget we have been in the last 2 Scottish cup finals, the club was rotten and hitting rock bottom before fenlon. Yes, we have had a couple of skelpings, malmo in particular as that was his team, but he is trying to change mentality from top to bottom. 2 defeats, yes, but 2 close defeats to 2nd best team last year and a team who are fighting for their existence....and with a team who are trying to gel.....fck your protest, I'll save my voice for backing my team
Well he's done that alright: we are now an anti-football club.
14-08-2013, 12:13 PM
How many of those cup finals did we win?
How has he changed the mentality? Are we harder to beat?
Again I'll ask, how come ICT and Aberdeen with all their new players have managed to gel and we haven't?
14-08-2013, 12:20 PM
Are those taking part then going in to support the team?
14-08-2013, 12:23 PM
Are those taking part then going in to support the team?
14-08-2013, 12:25 PM
Protests are just stupid really.
paul_hfc3
14-08-2013, 12:28 PM
Calm Doon! We lost to Malmo fair enough heavily. I can understand it's a nip to most. Malmo were a good side, the way they passed the ball around us past our own players was noticeable. Remember they were 1st in Swedish League after 15/16 games in. I think numerous times people me included have underestimated the Scandinavians.
Lets get this, we lost 1-0 to Motherwell when a draw would have been a fair result. And we lost to our rivals 1-0 at Tynecastle. And we are calling for Fenlon to get the sack after 2 games that could have been a win, lose or draw
14-08-2013, 12:31 PM
And we are calling for Fenlon to get the sack after 2 games that could have been a win, lose or draw
Calling for him to get sacked because the time he's been here, he has shown he is not upto the job, not just the last 2 games.
14-08-2013, 12:33 PM
Protests are just stupid really.
Protests work as an agent for change imho. The changes that result, do not always seem to make life any better, for the protestors.
Is this one justified? - well maybe, but when Lexo was ousted we went from bad to worse.
14-08-2013, 12:35 PM
I hope things don't turn so nasty that someone ends up booting a hat or so...
14-08-2013, 12:37 PM
Calling for him to get sacked because of the time he's been here, not just the last 2 games.
So is it for Fenlon to be sacked ? Or is it for the Board to stand down ? Or lack of football the Hibernian way ?? Or. ...all of the above ...
People are fed up and hurting , I get that , and showing some passion by protesting is understandable ...it feels that other than being angry there isn't really a clear intent of this protest ...one thing it isn't about is supporting the team when they are at such a low point ...now that's something I'd care about ...
Lester B
14-08-2013, 12:41 PM
I think the fact that a large majority of this poll are people who have actively said 'no' is instructive here. Rather than ignoring the poll they have taken the time to put a vote in on the grounds that it's not a good idea.
What will this protest actually achieve?
14-08-2013, 12:42 PM
Calm Doon! We lost to Malmo fair enough heavily. I can understand it's a nip to most. Malmo were a good side, the way they passed the ball around us past our own players was noticeable. Remember they were 1st in Swedish League after 15/16 games in. I think numerous times people me included have underestimated the Scandinavians.
Lets get this, we lost 1-0 to Motherwell when a draw would have been a fair result. And we lost to our rivals 1-0 at Tynecastle. And we are calling for Fenlon to get the sack after 2 games that could have been a win, lose or draw
Could've, should've, would've - key word though is didn't !
It's not about the last two games, although we should be beating a 'Well team that's weakened (where most say we've 'strengthened) and a Hearts team that is full of inexperience and no strikers.
For me people are wanting to voice their concerns due to the brand and style of football Pat is intent on playing, the lack of creativity, the poor player recruitment, and Hibs' woeful showings on the pitch for the last few seasons, which includes other managers.
The Calderwood saga, the Mixu 'mutual consent', the dressing room unrest/player unrest under Hughes, lack of fan/Rod Petrie interaction, slow media releases, targets not achieved due to lack of proper investment.....for me that is what fans need answered.
If fans protest then my choice would be to coordinate a 'petition' of questions with accompanying fan signatures - then these are handed to Rod on the day - every question should be answered in full, with Rod and Pat (or manager) clearly outlining the vision of the football club - not rhetoric or what they think we want to hear.
For example, I want Hibs to invest in a creative, live wire midfielder and two very pacy wide players - does Pat agree the team lacks this, if not why not. If yes, what attempts are being made, how wide are we casting the net.
That sort of thing.
14-08-2013, 12:44 PM
So is it for Fenlon to be sacked ? Or is it for the Board to stand down ? Or lack of football the Hibernian way ?? Or. ...all of the above ...
People are fed up and hurting , I get that , and showing some passion by protesting is understandable ...it feels that other than being angry there isn't really a clear intent of this protest ...one thing it isn't about is supporting the team when they are at such a low point ...now that's something I'd care about ...
Until I hear a better suggestion as in ways we could make the board know that we want change, then I'm in agreement with a protest. Because right now, it seems like they expect us to put up with any garbage.
As for Fenlon, he should have been removed from his position a while ago.
14-08-2013, 12:47 PM
So far then:
49 people to go and chant Petrie and Fenlon out.
At the end of this season, barring a miracle, Fenlon is out anyway at the end of his contract.
If Petrie were to be removed, the owner would place his first choice for the job to replace him...which is Rod Petrie.
In LWT we have a group who has constructive communication with the board of directors.
Protesting always endears the protesters to the hierarchy and at current numbers it will represent 0.5% of the average home support.
The protest has no future plans or sustainability proposals to make for what the club does once Petrie and Fenlon are 'out'.
So the message is 'STF, get rid of your choice of person to run the club and get someone else. Hey Petrie, before you leave, pay money to empty the manager who is getting emptied in 9 months time.'
Meanwhile, since you're going into the game afterwards, the club will still get the money it would've got.
The board read this site and the bounce and know exactly how peed off the support is anyway. It also reads the press telling them how under pressure the manager is.
Petrie, who needs to look good at the SFA, will obviously be happy with running a massively underperforming club in front of his peers. He won't see a need for change on that basis.
Is that where we're at?
Lester B
14-08-2013, 12:49 PM
So far then:
49 people to go and chant Petrie and Fenlon out.
At the end of this season, barring a miracle, Fenlon is out anyway at the end of his contract.
If Petrie were to be removed, the owner would place his first choice for the job to replace him...which is Rod Petrie.
In LWT we have a group who has constructive communication with the board of directors.
Protesting always endears the protesters to the hierarchy and at current numbers it will represent 0.5% of the average home support.
The protest has no future plans or sustainability proposals to make for what the club does once Petrie and Fenlon are 'out'.
So the message is 'STF, get rid of your choice of person to run the club and get someone else. Hey Petrie, before you leave, pay money to empty the manager who is getting emptied in 9 months time.'
Meanwhile, since you're going into the game afterwards, the club will still get the money it would've got.
The board read this site and the bounce and know exactly how peed off the support is anyway. It also reads the press telling them how under pressure the manager is.
Petrie, who needs to look good at the SFA, will obviously be happy with running a massively underperforming club in front of his peers. He won't see a need for change on that basis.
Is that where we're at?
Seems to be exactly where some people are at!
14-08-2013, 12:52 PM
I know mate. I probably phrased my reply incorrectly.
The thing is I think you're probably right. If we're not looking like getting relegated it's cheaper for the board to let him see out his contract than sack him now and employ someone else.
Pay offs are a joke. If i ***** at my job I'd be sacked without any cash!
And therein lies the problem of the model our board are running. Who gives a **** about the fans witnessing a season of cup exits to League One teams, humiliating defeats home and away and another couple of trashings by Hearts U21s if it saves money?
Complete bull****.
14-08-2013, 12:56 PM
This is all a bit strange.
Protest and boycott if we see a danger to the existence of the club, but an organised demo centred around ***** results on the pitch?
An emphatic No from me and I am old enough to remember mobs behinds the old stand calling for the heads of such celebrated custodians as Eddie Turnbull, Tom Hart and Kenny Waugh.
We collectively support the club on and off the field, but if we stop supporting them on it what becomes the point of referring to yourself as a Hibs Supporter?
Hibs activist nearer the mark?
And if the protest successfully helps oust Fenlon, what next? Keep protesting until we get the man that the mob want in? And how long do we give it before we get mouthy at the back of the West again?
(Contrary to a lot of posts on this forum) we don't pick the executives, backroom staff or the team and we don't decide what their salaries or contracts are.
The running of the club is not in the hands of us. Never has been and most likely never will be.
The only possible influence the average Hibs Joe can have is choosing to support them (or not), by means of the myriad of options open to him / her (Season tickets, Walk-ups, Shares, Hibernians, The Historical Trust, Hibernian TV, Hospitality, Club shop, Happy Hibbie, Pies and Pizza, Programmes etc etc). We all make our choices on this.
Bawling and shouting about the current manager (admittedly not doing at all well), behind the stand will get you and us nowhere.
:top marks I don't see what difference a protest will make. OK lots of posters on here are calling for Fenlon's head and when you look at his win percentage I can understand why. For me though the problem lies with who comes next. No one has suggested a suitable replacement that is likely to come to the club at this time so it will be left to the present incumbents to select someone and they do not have a terribly great record of that recently (I wonder how bad the rest of the candidates were when Fenlon applied?)
One plus point for Fenlon is he appears to have rid the club of the alleged "drinking culture" which can only be seen as a good thing. The team are struggling on the park just now and shouting the odds before kick off is unlikely to boost their morale it's more likely to give United a much needed boost.
My preferred option would be to get behind the manager and the team so we can get back to winning ways on the park. As for the protesters, instead of venting your spleens on Saturday pre-match why not meet up together (away from the stadium) and clearly lay down your ideas for taking the club forward on the park, elect a small committee then seek an audience with Petrie and Fenlon and report back. Protesting isn't getting the Egyptians anywhere at the moment so I don't see it being any different here but a full and frank conversation with those involved running our club should see the start of progress or our club custodians are thicker than I think they are.
By the way, I'm not Rod or Pat before anyone asks :greengrin
14-08-2013, 12:57 PM
I'd like to start a Protest against the Protest on Saturday - call it the Anti Anti League...
But I quite like my pre match ritual , meeting some friends , pessimistic review of last week and optimistic views of the game ahead . I'd have to miss that !
And I'd like a more orderly protest ...you know , all signing the same songs , maybe organised in season ticket number order - bring some rules into it to control the fun ...and hand over a petition at Number 10 - I've seen it on the telly !
Also getting there early ...what if it's raining ? That would be a hassle ...gosh this is difficult ...can I just email you all at 2pm and say I don't agree ...
That's it's - I'm going wild at 2pm on Saturday - going to really rebel - I'm setting up a poll against your protest !! Take That !!
Power to the People. 😃✌
14-08-2013, 01:00 PM
Having read the Bounce forum think it's safe to say not many over there will be joining in.
14-08-2013, 01:15 PM
Cauld Bovril
14-08-2013, 01:20 PM
Journalists are already reporting that we`re not happy from what they read on sites like this. I`m sure Rod might have even splashed out on a decent internet connection to read our thoughts on .net.
A protest is only going to result in the same headline - Hibs fans not happy.
Protesters outside football grounds that the press talk to are usually the ones with the loudest voices and the least to say.
As someone mentioned on another thread, there will be a natural protest from the fans that will stop attending games. The kick in the wallet will make Rod take notice of the situation much more than a small percentage of our fans hanging around the west stand.
All of us are frustrated at the dull football we`re being subjected to and i suppose we all deal with it differently. Protests like this are not for me but good luck to you, we`re all looking for the same end result - a team we can be proud of. GGTTH.
14-08-2013, 01:32 PM
Journalists are already reporting that we`re not happy from what they read on sites like this. I`m sure Rod might have even splashed out on a decent internet connection to read our thoughts on .net.
A protest is only going to result in the same headline - Hibs fans not happy.
Protesters outside football grounds that the press talk to are usually the ones with the loudest voices and the least to say.
As someone mentioned on another thread, there will be a natural protest from the fans that will stop attending games. The kick in the wallet will make Rod take notice of the situation much more than a small percentage of our fans hanging around the west stand.
All of us are frustrated at the dull football we`re being subjected to and i suppose we all deal with it differently. Protests like this are not for me but good luck to you, we`re all looking for the same end result - a team we can be proud of. GGTTH.
I'm sure someone posted that they have emailed the press to inform them that a protest will be taking place on Saturday. I'd be expecting media attention on Saturday.
14-08-2013, 01:34 PM
I'm sure someone posted that they have emailed the press to inform them that a protest will be taking place on Saturday. I'd be expecting media attention on Saturday.
Scotsman or evening news won't mention it as hibs will take the huff with them if they do.
14-08-2013, 01:36 PM
49 attendees ... hope the TV cameras don't turn up.
Lester B
14-08-2013, 01:37 PM
Is anyone else thinking increasingly about an episode of Father Ted here?
14-08-2013, 01:40 PM
Is anyone else thinking increasingly about an episode of Father Ted here?
If someone commits to doing a full scale reconstruction of that then I'm going from a no to a yes.
Lester B
14-08-2013, 01:48 PM
If someone commits to doing a full scale reconstruction of that then I'm going from a no to a yes.
:top marksWe could do a Sheep of the Year when Aberdeen play at ER. A lovely girls contest? Over 80 priests five a side? The possibilities are endless.
And less pointless.
WHUHibs
14-08-2013, 02:08 PM
I don't believe in the protest but everyone is entitled o voice their concerns in anyway they want. A lot of posters are upset people are having the audacity to say what they feel by questioning next steps, only 49 etc....
Well I for one welcome anyone who has an opinion to do what they feel is right and show their discontent. Mine is quite simple I won't be going on Saturday, first game I have missed in a long time but I'm completely fed up of watching dross and will watch my son play for his team instead.
Football fans go to see matches, support their club as its in their blood but we are not all fools and I'm sure a sea of change will happen with pressure exerted from all sides,,things need to change and hopefully for the better.
Gustavo Fring
14-08-2013, 02:10 PM
im amazed that less than 50 people have signed up for this
i was at easter road last time we were relegated , it wasnt nice but at least we were confident of bouncing straight back up in those days . when we are relegated this year and have the sevco's and the yams to deal with in division 1, the majority of you who s****** and shoot down the idea of this protest can think of us 49 idiots as you cry into your pints wishing you had joined in
14-08-2013, 02:24 PM
i was at easter road last time we were relegated , it wasnt nice but at least we were confident of bouncing straight back up in those days . when we are relegated this year and have the sevco's and the yams to deal with in division 1, the majority of you who s****** and shoot down the idea of this protest can think of us 49 idiots as you cry into your pints wishing you had joined in
Nah yer alright.
Lester B
14-08-2013, 02:31 PM
So you 49 are the only ones that can save us from this certain fate by taking this particular course of action and we will realise come May that you were right all along and be full of regret? Right. Thanks for that.
Why, FFS? Just do nothing and things will be OK? In Rod we trust? Pat will finally get it right after nearly two years of abject failure? I can't believe there's enough sand around ER for all the heads that have been stuck in it in the last few days on this board.
Scream all you like, Peter, but if you take this attitude you are settling for mediocrity - or worse.
Why don't you have it after the match?
The 2pm timing is the main issue I have.
14-08-2013, 02:33 PM
Nah yer alright.
Cant say I am surprised with alot of Hibs fans on here, they are quick enough to shoot hertz fans down when they dont protest about the way their club was run. Its a typical Hibs fans reaction, jump up and doon, complain on the Hibsnet its not good enough, stick yir heids in the sand and hope it will all get better.
Good luck tae the lads and lassies who are prepared to protest at the game.
Apathy at its best on here.
14-08-2013, 02:40 PM
Cant say I am surprised with alot of Hibs fans on here, they are quick enough to shoot hertz fans down when they dont protest about the way their club was run. Its a typical Hibs fans reaction, jump up and doon, complain on the Hibsnet its not good enough, stick yir heids in the sand and hope it will all get better.
Are you protesting at the game?
Gustavo Fring
14-08-2013, 02:41 PM
So you 49 are the only ones that can save us from this certain fate by taking this particular course of action and we will realise come May that you were right all along and be full of regret? Right. Thanks for that.
im not really sure how to take this . if fenlon is left in charge for the season hibs will be going down - everyone can see that even this early in the season
2 games in we should be full of optimism of the season ahead not ****ting it because our admin neighbours have alreay started to eat into our 15 point start on them , wondering if a goal will ever come
so you have a good laugh about it . if you want a real laugh you could watch fenlons last 2 or 3 post match interviews - now that is funny
E10 Rifle
14-08-2013, 02:47 PM
I think it's wrong to call it apathy - it's just an appreciation that we are in a completely different situation to the one at Hearts. We have to all intents and purposes a solid foundation, put in place by the Board, it's just that we have a poor manager at the minute and that is a completely different debate. Eventually results will take care of the manager for better or worse and the Board have reacted in the past by kicking out the duds. It may not be to the absolute timescale some supporters demand, but they have acted. I think most people - whatever their current frustrations want to get behind the side (as the poll shows) and see a protest such as this as being unnecessary and negative.
Cauld Bovril
14-08-2013, 02:51 PM
If/when Fenlon gets his jotters, it won`t be in any way associated with a protest, it`ll be because he`s a *****e manager.
It is Fenlon the protest is about aye? Or is Rod and STF? I`m getting confused now.
14-08-2013, 02:53 PM
If/when Fenlon gets his jotters, it won`t be in any way associated with a protest, it`ll be because he`s a *****e manager.
He's been a crap manager since he arrived. Yet the board still haven't giving him his jotters and it doesn't seem like they will.
14-08-2013, 02:54 PM
Thats me Telt.
14-08-2013, 02:57 PM
:top marksWe could do a Sheep of the Year when Aberdeen play at ER. A lovely girls contest? Over 80 priests five a side? The possibilities are endless.And less pointless.Do you think we could set up a friendly? we might be able to hold them to a draw!
Lester B
14-08-2013, 02:59 PM
im not really sure how to take this . if fenlon is left in charge for the season hibs will be going down - everyone can see that even this early in the season
2 games in we should be full of optimism of the season ahead not ****ting it because our admin neighbours have alreay started to eat into our 15 point start on them , wondering if a goal will ever come
so you have a good laugh about it . if you want a real laugh you could watch fenlons last 2 or 3 post match interviews - now that is funny
I don't find the protest funny. I find it laughable. There is a difference.
Everyone here cares about the team. No one is happy with the start to the season. Not everyone thinks the protest at this stage, in this way is a good idea and I frankly resent the pomposity that suggests that we should all join in because it is somehow the only way and to dissent from this viewpoint is a statement that we don't care enough.
Gustavo Fring
14-08-2013, 03:04 PM
I don't find the protest funny. I find it laughable. There is a difference.
Everyone here cares about the team. No one is happy with the start to the season. Not everyone thinks the protest at this stage, in this way is a good idea and I frankly resent the pomposity that suggests that we should all join in because it is somehow the only way and to dissent from this viewpoint is a statement that we don't care enough.
im not suggesting you or anyone doesnt care about hibs , its probably the 1 thing everyone on here has in common - we all care about hibs
14-08-2013, 03:04 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/colin-calderwood-right-man-for-hibs-job-1-1310592
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-chairman-rod-petrie-apologises-1086361
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/20676036
http://www.theawayend.net/opinion/club-columnists/hibernian/1813-where-malmo-mauling-leaves-hibs-and-pat-fenlon
Hi Scouse, i have posted these links, the first one is when Petrie brought in CC, he describes the signing as a coup and talks of CC taking the club going forward and hopes to be in contention for a european spot.
12 months later Rod is saying sorry for bringing CC to the club, Rod says CCs demeanour and the way he spoke did alienate people, that is ****ing rich coming from dour Rod Petrie, he says they acted decisively, did they, the fans wanted him out months before the board acted.
As i said in a previous post, he had a go at Yogi, "the last incumbent", he keeps having a go at managers, all signed up by himself, when is Rod going to put his hands up and say, i got it wrong and i will hand it over to footballing people to bring in a new manager and really mean it, but can we trust him to not get involved, saying sorry is easy and the fans keep on buying it, Fenlon and Sunday was the tipping point for a lot of Hibs fans, fans handing back STs, ST holders deciding they won't be back until Fenlon has gone, others have decided to protest and then go in to the game and support the team, how the game goes is anyone's guess, and we are only 2 games in to our league campaign, now that is scary as we both know it isn't just the last 2 games that are the problem, just when it seems you are getting over the last kick in the balls from Hibs, BANG, another kick in the balls, you can only take so many of them before you start wondering, what is the point, my balls can't take anymore. :greengrin
First thing is needed is that Pat Fenlon is removed from his position at Hibernian FC, we should not be even talking about this it should have happened on Sunday afternoon.
Rod Petrie, he keeps getting the managers wrong, he needs to be removed from running the club or if he can't be removed he should never get anywhere near picking the next Hibs manager or the roundabout will never stop at Hibs.
Malmo over two games, 9-0, a crowd of 16000 at the home game for Hibs, our first home game in the league and it is down to 9000 and we get beat of Well and most fans think the managers tactics are a tad negative for the loss of the game, then of to our rivals along the city, huge game they always are, but this was a game of men against yoof and the yams yoof won the game, not acceptable and Fenlon should have been shown the door later that day, can you still hear it from our Board Manager or Captain, a big nothing since Sunday, batten the hatches and they will have calmed down by Saturday they will be thinking, seems not this time, we have had enough, there will be no hiding for them this time.
We need to know what the boards aims are for the club, surely two seasons possibly a third in the bottom six is not acceptable from the manager.
Hope to see you on Saturday. :aok:
14-08-2013, 03:11 PM
We could do a Sheep of the Year when Aberdeen play at ER. A lovely girls contest? Over 80 priests five a side? The possibilities are endless.And less pointless.
Do you think we could set up a friendly? we might be able to hold them to a draw!
Theyre certainly better at crosses than we are :greengrin
Lester B
14-08-2013, 03:12 PM
We could do a Sheep of the Year when Aberdeen play at ER. A lovely girls contest? Over 80 priests five a side? The possibilities are endless.And less pointless.
Theyre certainly better at crosses than we are :greengrin
Apparently they have a Father Stevenson who gets the blame for everything!
Lester B
14-08-2013, 03:14 PM
im not suggesting you or anyone doesnt care about hibs , its probably the 1 thing everyone on here has in common - we all care about hibs
Then why the dogmatic belief in the protest and suggesting that we think it's funny?
E10 Rifle
14-08-2013, 03:18 PM
[QUOTE=silverhibee;3719690]http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/colin-calderwood-right-man-for-hibs-job-1-1310592
Rod Petrie, he keeps getting the managers wrong, he needs to be removed from running the club or if he can't be removed he should never get anywhere near picking the next Hibs manager or the roundabout will never stop at Hibs.
[QUOTE]
Petrie didn't recruit this manager though. He realised his chequered past in that department and handed it to some other fud this time...who then stuffed up.
:duck:
14-08-2013, 03:31 PM
Just get behind the team. I don't see who's going to do any better than Fenlon at the moment anyway. We've had countless managers in recent years with no improvement. Time to get the heads down and work harder.
Aubenas
14-08-2013, 03:35 PM
Just get behind the team. I don't see who's going to do any better than Fenlon at the moment anyway. We've had countless managers in recent years with no improvement. Time to get the heads down and work harder.
14-08-2013, 03:36 PM
Deary me, are you suggesting that this is as good as it gets, and there's NOBODY who can do better Fenlon?
14-08-2013, 03:39 PM
[QUOTE=silverhibee;3719690]http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/colin-calderwood-right-man-for-hibs-job-1-1310592
[QUOTE]
Petrie didn't recruit this manager though. He realised his chequered past in that department and handed it to some other fud this time...who then stuffed up.
:duck:
Did he, really, from what i hear he let the other fud find candidates for the job, then Rod decided on who was the best appointment and he picked Pat Fenlon. :aok:
14-08-2013, 03:44 PM
I don't see who's going to do any better than Fenlon at the moment anyway.
You seriously don't think we could get a better manager than Fenlon? He is the worst manager in the league, imo.
14-08-2013, 03:45 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/colin-calderwood-right-man-for-hibs-job-1-1310592
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-chairman-rod-petrie-apologises-1086361
http://www.theawayend.net/opinion/club-columnists/hibernian/1813-where-malmo-mauling-leaves-hibs-and-pat-fenlon
Hi Scouse, i have posted these links, the first one is when Petrie brought in CC, he describes the signing as a coup and talks of CC taking the club going forward and hopes to be in contention for a european spot.
12 months later Rod is saying sorry for bringing CC to the club, Rod says CCs demeanour and the way he spoke did alienate people, that is ****ing rich coming from dour Rod Petrie, he says they acted decisively, did they, the fans wanted him out months before the board acted.
As i said in a previous post, he had a go at Yogi, "the last incumbent", he keeps having a go at managers, all signed up by himself, when is Rod going to put his hands up and say, i got it wrong and i will hand it over to footballing people to bring in a new manager and really mean it, but can we trust him to not get involved, saying sorry is easy and the fans keep on buying it, Fenlon and Sunday was the tipping point for a lot of Hibs fans, fans handing back STs, ST holders deciding they won't be back until Fenlon has gone, others have decided to protest and then go in to the game and support the team, how the game goes is anyone's guess, and we are only 2 games in to our league campaign, now that is scary as we both know it isn't just the last 2 games that are the problem, just when it seems you are getting over the last kick in the balls from Hibs, BANG, another kick in the balls, you can only take so many of them before you start wondering, what is the point, my balls can't take anymore. :greengrin
First thing is needed is that Pat Fenlon is removed from his position at Hibernian FC, we should not be even talking about this it should have happened on Sunday afternoon.
Malmo over two games, 9-0, a crowd of 16000 at the home game for Hibs, our first home game in the league and it is down to 9000 and we get beat of Well and most fans think the managers tactics are a tad negative for the loss of the game, then of to our rivals along the city, huge game they always are, but this was a game of men against yoof and the yams yoof won the game, not acceptable and Fenlon should have been shown the door later that day, can you still hear it from our Board Manager or Captain, a big nothing since Sunday, batten the hatches and they will have calmed down by Saturday they will be thinking, seems not this time, we have had enough, there will be no hiding for them this time.
We need to know what the boards aims are for the club, surely two seasons possibly a third in the bottom six is not acceptable from the manager.
Agree smiley
If RP was in charge of farmers auto care he would of been out on his arse long ago for failing to provide an expected service. It's only because of our blind loyalty that RP is still in a job, time to tell them enough is enough!!
E10 Rifle
14-08-2013, 03:45 PM
[QUOTE=Charlton;3719709][QUOTE=silverhibee;3719690]http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/colin-calderwood-right-man-for-hibs-job-1-1310592
Did he, really, from what i hear he let the other fud find candidates for the job, then Rod decided on who was the best appointment and he picked Pat Fenlon. :aok:
FFS .... PETRIE OUT !:wink:
Deary me, are you suggesting that this is as good as it gets, and there's NOBODY who can do better Fenlon?
Nobody is saying that. This squad (and the management team) will improve.
14-08-2013, 03:51 PM
The current management team?
yes
14-08-2013, 03:54 PM
What do you base that on?
14-08-2013, 03:54 PM
yes
I wont hold my breath, and will replace my eyes with pickled onions while i wait.
14-08-2013, 03:56 PM
I wont hold my breath, and will replace my eyes with pickled onions while i wait.
Your new username can be Silverskin Hibs
Emerald
14-08-2013, 03:58 PM
At least in would stop them bleeding when you're watching Fenlon's hoofball! :greengrin
14-08-2013, 04:00 PM
So this is it, the best we will get, lets just stick with Pat negative boring Fenlon.
And they need to spend more time at EM to put in the hard work, not getting away from training at 12 o'clock.
What do you base that on?
We have a new group of players, who will need time to get to know each other. We also have a new management team, who will need time to gel.
I wouldn't accuse anyone of bed wetting, because the season has been horrible for the first few weeks, but I'm not going to join in with sackcloth and ashes and teeth gnashing just yet.
14-08-2013, 04:07 PM
We have a new group of players, who will need time to get to know each other. We also have a new management team, who will need time to gel.
I wouldn't accuse anyone of bed wetting, because the season has been horrible for the first few weeks, but I'm not going to join in with sackcloth and ashes and teeth gnashing just yet.
So he plays to draw games with some of the worst football I've ever seen because the players don't know each other yet?
What was his excuse for being a crap manager last season then?
14-08-2013, 04:22 PM
Aberdeen also have a new set of players and a new manager, who are doing great already.
Anyway, I don't agree with the protest taking place before the game, don't think it will help the team.
14-08-2013, 04:25 PM
I wouldn't accuse anyone of bed wetting, because the season has been horrible for the first few weeks, but I'm not going to join in with sackcloth and ashes and teeth gnashing just yet.Sorry Mike, that's just another excuse IMO. Why is it only Hibs that seem tae need this gelling time while other teams move on almost seamlessly?
JustSimplyHibs
14-08-2013, 04:39 PM
I can see loads and i'll name one - Michael O'Neil the current N.Irish boss, and i'll name one that is unemployed - McLeish (folk may hate him, but you cannae get away from the fact he would do a good job!), both would fit the bill, they can change the way the team plays during a game, have managed bigger football structures than Hibs and know who and what the club is all about.
There are many who would do better!
paul_hfc3
14-08-2013, 05:18 PM
Calling for him to get sacked because the time he's been here, he has shown he is not upto the job, not just the last 2 games.
Ok fair enough thats your opinion and it makes sense. But is a protest this early into the new season, really necessary already?
14-08-2013, 05:27 PM
The only type of protest Petrie will worry about is if fans stop going. I had abit of hope after the 5-1 game and even the 7-0 but the last two performances have drained me of that last bit and cant see and progress ,so doubt ill be back till he's away.
P.s I hope the protest is a success and gets the the message across because fans turning up like sheep and supporting the team certainly isnt making a difference on how the team perform
14-08-2013, 05:28 PM
Ok fair enough thats your opinion and it makes sense. But is a protest this early into the new season, really necessary already?
Because the seasons where we haven't protested have gone swimmingly?
2010-11 - 10th
2011-12 - 11th
2012-13 - 7th
14-08-2013, 05:49 PM
https://twitter.com/owaintjones17/status/367697246760230912 Part of our problem?
Petrie had his show-down meeting with Fenlon this afternoon. Here's how it went:
RP: Not looking too good, eh Pat? 4 games into the season, lost them all, haven't even scored a single try…er goal.
PF: Oi, but it's a better start than last season, loike: then, we weren't even in Europe and we got gubbed 3-0 in our first game. And we were robbed at Toiynecastle on Sonday - it was a forward pass from the boy McGowan but the ref didn't spot it - should have been a scrum. And he disallowed Taiwo's drop-kick. It was that Craig Thomson, remember - he's always cheating us, he's a well-known Jambo.
RP: Hmm, suppose that's right…but we should have hammered them regardless, we were up against a bunch of wee laddies but we were outmuscled in the rucks. You know I'm not really a football man but I've backed you heavily in this transfer window and people are telling me you've signed a bunch of huddies. You told me that Tudor-Jones chap would be a great fly-half, steady the ship, but apparently Terry Butcher couldn't wait to get shot of him. And that Vine fellow looks like one of those beatniks.
FP: No, no, no. They're a great bunch of lads, superb potential, they just need a bit of time to gel.
RP: But the fans aren't happy, Pat. 95% of them want you out. Football's not really my game, as you know, but I read that Hibs.net and they all seem to think you're clueless. Can't get your tactics or your substitutions right, can't set the team up to play properly, change a game. There was even a thread the other day about how we always concede possession at the line-outs, for God's sake! And some of them are blaming it all on me.
FP: Oh, I wouldn't pay any attention to what's on there - it's all dorty Jambos on the woind-op.
RP: But they're calling for both our heads, Pat. And the crowds are plummeting. We've got to do better - anywhere else you'd have been sacked already.
FP: Don't worry, we'll win on Saturday!
RP: And if not….?
FP: Well, Oi've still got the negatives, haven't Oi...
14-08-2013, 06:15 PM
https://twitter.com/owaintjones17/status/367697246760230912 Part of our problem?
What a pair of pricks making the comments underneath.
14-08-2013, 06:25 PM
What a pair of pricks making the comments underneath.
I agree flash - but folk are angry and very emotional at present. Not condoning stupid replies to footballers mate but maybe it's just me, I'd be keeping a low profile on social media this week of all weeks, after a derby defeat, and not saying anything that you just know might encourage daft comments and replies.
Twitter is 'orrible anyway - all the clubs are being visited at present and players/staff given advice on how to use it better and avoid 'twitter wars' and saying the wrong things. About time if you ask me.
14-08-2013, 06:30 PM
Mibbe they are angry and disappointed with the way things are going at Easter Road just now rather than being pricks? I know for a fact one of them isn't Flash, cos its me! Cheers tho
14-08-2013, 06:30 PM
I agree flash - but folk are angry and very emotional at present. Not condoning stupid replies to footballers mate but maybe it's just me, I'd be keeping a low profile on social media this week of all weeks, after a derby defeat, and not saying anything that you just know might encourage daft comments and replies.
Twitter is 'orrible anyway - all the clubs are being visited at present and players/staff given advice on how to use it better and avoid 'twitter wars' and saying the wrong things. About time if you ask me.They could avoid that by no using it at all and doing something mair productive instead. Perhaps even something that might help them do better, what they are paid for.
14-08-2013, 06:31 PM
Petrie had his show-down meeting with Fenlon this afternoon. Here's how it went:
RP: Not looking too good, eh Pat? 4 games into the season, lost them all, haven't even scored a single try…er goal.
PF: Oi, but it's a better start than last season, loike: then, we weren't even in Europe and we got gubbed 3-0 in our first game. And we were robbed at Toiynecastle on Sonday - it was a forward pass from the boy McGowan but the ref didn't spot it - should have been a scrum. And he disallowed Taiwo's drop-kick. It was that Craig Thomson, remember - he's always cheating us, he's a well-known Jambo.
RP: Hmm, suppose that's right…but we should have hammered them regardless, we were up against a bunch of wee laddies but we were outmuscled in the rucks. You know I'm not really a football man but I've backed you heavily in this transfer window and people are telling me you've signed a bunch of huddies. You told me that Tudor-Jones chap would be a great fly-half, steady the ship, but apparently Terry Butcher couldn't wait to get shot of him. And that Vine fellow looks like one of those beatniks.
FP: No, no, no. They're a great bunch of lads, superb potential, they just need a bit of time to gel.
RP: But the fans aren't happy, Pat. 95% of them want you out. Football's not really my game, as you know, but I read that Hibs.net and they all seem to think you're clueless. Can't get your tactics or your substitutions right, can't set the team up to play properly, change a game. There was even a thread the other day about how we always concede possession at the line-outs, for God's sake! And some of them are blaming it all on me.
FP: Oh, I wouldn't pay any attention to what's on there - it's all dorty Jambos on the woind-op.
RP: But they're calling for both our heads, Pat. And the crowds are plummeting. We've got to do better - anywhere else you'd have been sacked already.
Well that was a right rib tickler. :confused:
14-08-2013, 06:33 PM
Mibbe they are angry and disappointed with the way things are going at Easter Road just now rather than being pricks? I know for a fact one of them isn't Flash, cos its me! Cheers tho
So am I but there are ways and means.
14-08-2013, 06:35 PM
They could avoid that by no using it at all and doing something mair productive instead. Perhaps even something that might help them do better, what they are paid for.
You'll get no argument from me DD - some of the Hibs players that use it would be fined/disciplined in any other profession for some of the comments they make to individuals and other celebrities (in the name of 'humour'). They clearly forget they are 'professional' footballers and in the public eye some of them. However, like I say, all clubs in all leagues are being given advice from the boys in blue :agree:
14-08-2013, 06:37 PM
So am I but there are ways and means.
And what are they? Genuine question. Stop going to games? Plenty have. Email the club? Think plenty have. Not renew season ticket? Too late for me? Answer a tweet in non abusive way? Guilty. Prick? No
14-08-2013, 06:38 PM
So am I but there are ways and means.Care tae share? I've no made up my mind about the protest yet but if you can save me the bother I'd be greatful.:aok: Cannae really be bothered with all that standing about TBH.
Some folk have found a way, that's no going back because they're totally scunnered with it and mair and mair are joining them.
14-08-2013, 06:41 PM
Without the pish take on Fenlon's accent that's an awful post.........................with the pish take on Fenlon's accent it's a bloody awful post!
14-08-2013, 06:44 PM
And what are they? Genuine question. Stop going to games? Plenty have. Email the club? Think plenty have. Not renew season ticket? Too late for me? Answer a tweet in non abusive way? Guilty. Prick? No
I take the insult back. I still think having a pop at a guy who has played twice for us is out of order.
14-08-2013, 06:45 PM
Care tae share? I've no made up my mind about the protest yet but if you can save me the bother I'd be greatful.:aok: Cannae really be bothered with all that standing about TBH.
Some folk have found a way, that's no going back because they're totally scunnered with it and mair and mair are joining them.
It's a free country. Personally I prefer to make my feelings known at full time if I ain't happy.
14-08-2013, 06:48 PM
It's a free country. Personally I prefer to make my feelings known at full time if I ain't happy.Right we'll all boo at the end then, sorted :aok: Call the protest of guys :agree:
14-08-2013, 06:49 PM
I take the insult back. I still think having a pop at a guy who has played twice for us is out of order.
Thanks for taking it back. As for the rest, fair play, not my usual style but still Beelin about state of our club
14-08-2013, 06:50 PM
Without the pish take on Fenlon's accent that's an awful post.........................with the pish take on Fenlon's accent it's a bloody awful post!
Given one character has been given an 'accent', and the other hasn't, I assume Petrie just doesn't have an accent.
14-08-2013, 06:52 PM
Cheers for taking the time to post all of that Silver, might have to wait for the Liverpool game to finish on Saturday though before I walk around to the protest. :greengrin
14-08-2013, 07:00 PM
Petrie wont give a monkeys about a fans protest behind the west stand. What will concern him is the stands inside the ground being empty and the loss of revenue.
14-08-2013, 07:57 PM
Petrie wont give a monkeys about a fans protest behind the west stand. What will concern him is the stands inside the ground being empty and the loss of revenue.
I disagree, of course he will notice the empty stands but to have folk protesting too is a cumulative statement the fans are making.
Those who have gone are gone, but some of those who have not gone are making their views heard.
How long before they leave too?
Petrie should be worried, and rightly so.
14-08-2013, 08:30 PM
Right we'll all boo at the end then, sorted :aok: Call the protest of guys :agree:
How have we never thought of booing at the end of the game before, :agree: surely this will solve everything and show folk we mean business, they will be keeking it now.
14-08-2013, 08:54 PM
I disagree, of course he will notice the empty stands but to have folk protesting too is a cumulative statement the fans are making.
Those who have gone are gone, but some of those who have not gone are making their views heard.
How long before they leave too?
Petrie should be worried, and rightly so.
The missus is delighted that i have decided to protest rather than stay away :greengrin, but you are correct BH some folk are willing to protest and let our voices be heard, if it doesn't work what next, stay away and not watch the team i was brought up to watch by my dad, i have done it with my son, it is our time together on match day, it would be sad if that was to come to a end.
Would that be in case STF happens to turn on the TV and see fans protesting outside his club.
Silence is deafening from Hibernian FC since Sunday, take it Rod will be down in London watching Scotland tonight.
14-08-2013, 08:55 PM
It's forecast heavy rain on Saturday. Move the protest inside the ground I've got a stinking cold.
15-08-2013, 05:54 AM
As I posted earlier I will not be part of the protest on Saturday however I do respect those that feel that they want to.
What I feel the further this thread goes on is that those who have elected to protest are getting a bit nippy with those who have opted not to.
I don't think that is right, the protesters should respect those who don't want to.
Although I have opted to not take part I hope that the protest is well organised and doesn't make the club look even worse than it currently is.
Make no mistake this will be covered in the press and on tv and I only hope the organisers have prepared for it. I have lost count of the number of these at other clubs where these protests have ended up being an embarrassment either through a poor number involved or people being interviewed not having a clue.
I am not involved so I really have no right to an input, but if I was involved my wish would be for a person to be identified to carry out any interviews and everybody directs the media to this person.
15-08-2013, 06:31 AM
As I posted earlier I will not be part of the protest on Saturday however I do respect those that feel that they want to.
What I feel the further this thread goes on is that those who have elected to protest are getting a bit nippy with those who have opted not to.
I don't think that is right, the protesters should respect those who don't want to.
Although I have opted to not take part I hope that the protest is well organised and doesn't make the club look even worse than it currently is.
Make no mistake this will be covered in the press and on tv and I only hope the organisers have prepared for it. I have lost count of the number of these at other clubs where these protests have ended up being an embarrassment either through a poor number involved or people being interviewed not having a clue.
I am not involved so I really have no right to an input, but if I was involved my wish would be for a person to be identified to carry out any interviews and everybody directs the media to this person.
I vote for sidneyhibee ;)
WestStandMoaner
15-08-2013, 07:49 AM
I vote for sidneyhibee ;)
Jodjam, are you not going to join in the protest:wink:
15-08-2013, 08:03 AM
At the time of the appointments of Hughes, calderwood and fenlon what were everyone's main arguments against them coming in? I don't remember there being much said against any of them.
15-08-2013, 08:07 AM
At the time of the appointments of Hughes, calderwood and fenlon what were everyone's main arguments against them coming in? I don't remember there being much said against any of them.
It's not really relevant what everyone thought, they've been failures and Petrie should be accountable for that. There seem to be no performance management standards applied to Rod, he lumbers from one disaster to the next without a shred of shame.
I will be attending the protest and hopefully bring another 3/4. I've not replied to poll yet, sure there will be plenty of others like me who will swell the numbers.
It's disappointing that so many feel the need to criticise fans choosing to register their discontent.
15-08-2013, 08:12 AM
I remember when fenlon was brought in, fans from Ireland said his team isn't pretty to watch but he gets results.
15-08-2013, 08:13 AM
How many of the fans were paid to appoint them, and who was accountable for their appointments?
I also want the club to spend £20m a year on players, should they do this?
JustSimplyHibs
15-08-2013, 08:23 AM
The same goes the other way, folk no protesting getting nippy with those who have opted too protest!
Regardless of this, as mentioned above (think by BH) that with empty stands (7000 attendance on Sat) and a protest outside the West in front of the media, sponsors etc will provide a media talking point, with Petrie's name getting dragged up could force the board to review the very underachieving footballing side of the club. (Let's no forget, we get beat on Sat and these numbers of discruntled fans will increase if future protests are planned, with even more fans not attending games. God, who knows, we get beat on Sat and there could be an even bigger protest after the game).
The way i see it is, Fenlon is gone - he would have to win the championship and Scottish Cup (for me anyway) to make amends. The main aim of my protest and possibly others is for the board to sort out, as mentioned above, decades worth of underachieving.
The way forward i can see is having some form of Director in charge of the football side. He/She would oversee the club's aledged philosophy on football from youth to 1st team both in the men's and women's game and oversee everything from kitbag arrangement to scouting networks, from coaches hiring to peeling the oranges at half time. He/She would be the link between the board and the football.
I want a vision of our future club to match our lovely lego box stadium and state of the art training facilities, for the last 20+ years the footballing side of the club has failed under the current board dynamics - it needs change and it needs change now before its too late.
Ideally i would like to have Gordon Strachan as the Director a man that will not take crap from anyone at any level (while still maintaining his Scotland duties, Petrie does it without a whimper from any fans) and Michael O'Neill as the manager of the 1st team. This would bring Hibs into this century and on par with many top European clubs, structural wise and with a vision.
15-08-2013, 09:08 AM
I am not involved so I really have no right to an input, but if I was involved my wish would be for a person to be identified to carry out any interviews and everybody directs the media to this person.The auld it isnae us it's them argument, have you read post 285? Both lots are just as bad as each other so lets no go there.
I have not yet voted in the poll, I have another arrangement for Saturday pre match but if it is concluded in time I may go round. Protest aside I will be making my feelings know tae Petrie in person this week.
15-08-2013, 09:50 AM
Jodjam, are you not going to join in the protest:wink:
Will give it a miss I think mark. :)
15-08-2013, 10:08 AM
If people want to protest that is up to them however an hour before an important game IMO isnt it. After the game outside the main stand would IMO be a much better time as there are likely to be more people involved. Just my opinion but too early into the season also notwithstanding the Malmo game and the derby were both absolutely awful.
JustSimplyHibs
15-08-2013, 10:27 AM
If people want to protest that is up to them however an hour before an important game IMO isnt it. After the game outside the main stand would IMO be a much better time as there are likely to be more people involved. Just my opinion but too early into the season also notwithstanding the Malmo game and the derby were both absolutely awful.
And you're entitled to your opinion, that's my opinion.
Although to leave it until after the game makes it look as if the protest is about the result and the manager, this is a protest about us not getting it right and voicing our opinion to the board of looking into ways of getting it right, as we are sick and tired of a run of failed managers that have been appointed by the current regime and decades of under-achieving.
I personally believe that getting it right means getting someone on the board to oversee the footballing side of things... As you are very aware like many other Hibby's, we have a very proud history and were once known all over the world for our football, half a century later people are laughing at us as we have done sweet FA since then (a club of our size, proud history and league/country we play in, Hibs should be challenging on all fronts, EVERY SEASON).
OK, maybe we didn't win trophies with great and legendary teams, but i could argue things were more even with players remaining loyal to clubs - but we sure as hell challenged (i'm too young but going on history litature, clubs were of equal stature, unlike today). With some forward vision and determination to succeed, it can be achieved in today's football, especially in our country and league.
That drive and determination comes from the top, like many previous chairmen of yesteryear. They had vision, they had pride in the club, they had determination to be the best and they had drive to match their determination... We currently don't have that at the top, and has flowed right into our fan base, willing to accept to be relegation candidates and have a two round cup run!
In my opinion of course.
15-08-2013, 10:42 AM
The auld it isnae us it's them argument, have you read post 285? Both lots are just as bad as each other so lets no go there.
I have not yet voted in the poll, I have another arrangement for Saturday pre match but if it is concluded in time I may go round. Protest aside I will be making my feelings know tae Petrie in person this week.
Just went back and read it, cannae defend that even if I wanted to.
My post was a generalisation that as the thread has developed the guys who were in favour of protesting were getting a bit of a hard time but as time went bye it was a 180 degrees turn.
15-08-2013, 10:46 AM
The same goes the other way, folk no protesting getting nippy with those who have opted too protest!
Regardless of this, as mentioned above (think by BH) that with empty stands (7000 attendance on Sat) and a protest outside the West in front of the media, sponsors etc will provide a media talking point, with Petrie's name getting dragged up could force the board to review the very underachieving footballing side of the club. (Let's no forget, we get beat on Sat and these numbers of discruntled fans will increase if future protests are planned, with even more fans not attending games. God, who knows, we get beat on Sat and there could be an even bigger protest after the game).
The way i see it is, Fenlon is gone - he would have to win the championship and Scottish Cup (for me anyway) to make amends. The main aim of my protest and possibly others is for the board to sort out, as mentioned above, decades worth of underachieving.
The way forward i can see is having some form of Director in charge of the football side. He/She would oversee the club's aledged philosophy on football from youth to 1st team both in the men's and women's game and oversee everything from kitbag arrangement to scouting networks, from coaches hiring to peeling the oranges at half time. He/She would be the link between the board and the football.
I want a vision of our future club to match our lovely lego box stadium and state of the art training facilities, for the last 20+ years the footballing side of the club has failed under the current board dynamics - it needs change and it needs change now before its too late.
Ideally i would like to have Gordon Strachan as the Director a man that will not take crap from anyone at any level (while still maintaining his Scotland duties, Petrie does it without a whimper from any fans) and Michael O'Neill as the manager of the 1st team. This would bring Hibs into this century and on par with many top European clubs, structural wise and with a vision.
Aye and if hardly anybody turns up or those that do make a fool of themselves in interviews, Petrie and the rest of the board will be laughing their c**** off.
Has anybody actually organised anything or is it just turn up at 2pm and everything is hunky dory?
15-08-2013, 11:03 AM
I always think that a planned "walk out" with say 15 mins to go has a big visual impact and is an effective form of protest.
Ok if it's still a tight game then it will not help the players on the park but at the same time fan pressure for removal of the Manager may benefit their careers. Short term pain for long term gain as it were.
15-08-2013, 11:12 AM
I always think that a planned "walk out" with say 15 mins to go has a big visual impact and is an effective form of protest.
Ok if it's still a tight game then it will not help the players on the park but at the same time fan pressure for removal of the Manager may benefit their careers. Short term pain for long term gain as it were.
It seems the walkouts don't have to be planned these days !, this has been happening for a while now and you'd think think that in itself would have had an effect but the powers that be think it will all blow over-not this time it won't as the support have crossed some sort of threshold in their tolerance of the utter shambles.
JustSimplyHibs
15-08-2013, 11:13 AM
Aye and if hardly anybody turns up or those that do make a fool of themselves in interviews, Petrie and the rest of the board will be laughing their c**** off.
Has anybody actually organised anything or is it just turn up at 2pm and everything is hunky dory?
Spot on with the first one, but i reckon there will be over a couple of hundred there to protest, I remember the first day when Mercer was trying to buy us there was only a couple of hundred to start of with (like me aged 12 they just turned up, even a wee black and white dog turned up), by the end of the first week there was thousands and organisation. I know circumstances are different, but every time we don't win these numbers will grow, until visual change is made, at the top.
I couldn't tell you if things are organised, me + 2 others are just turning up, i don't do social media, other than this forum - i would like to hope that some form of petition or something like that is there for folk to sign, this in turn can be handed over to the board to say 'this is a sample of folk not happy with how things on the footballing side are run, you the board, need to sort it before these signatures increase and will probably have a knock on effect with your balance sheets come next year'.
Although this Q&A thing with Petrie is designed to end the protest - I just hope folk don't fall for it or it will just be me + 2 others haha.
15-08-2013, 11:14 AM
It seems the walkouts don't have to be planned these days !, this has been happening for a while now and you'd think think that in itself would have had an effect but the powers that be think it will all blow over-not this time it won't as the support have crossed some sort of threshold in their tolerance of the utter shambles.
My sentiments exactly.
Enough is enough.
15-08-2013, 11:35 AM
And vice versa Scoops.
I did say somewhere in this thread that if people didn't want to protest then that is fair-do's, but there was no need to mock/jibes against the folk that are, i would get the impression that there will be a lot more folk who have decided to vote with there feet and stay away from the game on Saturday, that's there form of protest, some have bomb barded the club with emails, everyone to there own. :agree: but the last thing we want is the fans bickering amongst each other, we all want the best for our club.
And yes you are right this will be covered by the press so hopefully whoever is approached by them comes over well and gets there point over in a sensible way, no foaming from the mouth or screaming abuse, that just won't help. :agree:
And then the big one bud, THE GAME, nobody knows what kind of atmosphere it will be like inside the ground from before kick off time, hopefully the fans that turn up get behind the team but i am sure there will be banners dotted around the ground as a form of protest as well, my fear is that a few stray passes or even how the manager sets the team up or god forbid we go a goal down on Saturday could piss of a number of our crowd and the atmosphere in the ground will turn nasty and the only way fans get there point over will to be vocal towards the man in the dug-out and Mr Petrie sitting above in the main stand and the press will be all over that as well, it probably won't help things if they get a result on Friday night either.
15-08-2013, 11:36 AM
Fenlon should have been away by now, That performance against Hearts was disgusting in my book. I hope the protest goes well and good luck to them for having the guts to try and put their point accross. If people don't think it's time for such action then fair enough but if we lose this weekend more and more people will start to be unsettled regarding our clubs under acheivement.
15-08-2013, 11:42 AM
And vice versa Scoops.
I did say somewhere in this thread that if people didn't want to protest then that is fair-do's, but there was no need to mock/jibes against the folk that are, i would get the impression that there will be a lot more folk who have decided to vote with there feet and stay away from the game on Saturday, that's there form of protest, some have bomb barded the club with emails, everyone to there own. :agree: but the last thing we want is the fans bickering amongst each other, we all want the best for our club.
And yes you are right this will be covered by the press so hopefully whoever is approached by them comes over well and gets there point over in a sensible way, no foaming from the mouth or screaming abuse, that just won't help. :agree:
And then the big one bud, THE GAME, nobody knows what kind of atmosphere it will be like inside the ground from before kick off time, hopefully the fans that turn up get behind the team but i am sure there will be banners dotted around the ground as a form of protest as well, my fear is that a few stray passes or even how the manager sets the team up or god forbid we go a goal down on Saturday could piss of a number of our crowd and the atmosphere in the ground will turn nasty and the only way fans get there point over will to be vocal towards the man in the dug-out and Mr Petrie sitting above in the main stand and the press will be all over that as well, it probably won't help things if they get a result on Friday night either.
No argument with anything you say there Silv.
15-08-2013, 11:51 AM
Might be better to convene somewhere close to the ground (a pub), do a head count, get everyone on message, and then, if there are enough, march en-mass to the stadium with a clear idea of what the protest is trying to achieve. You might need a police escort though :confused:
15-08-2013, 12:04 PM
I'm also unhappy at our continual failings. I've suffered like many over the years but I'm more concerned about how my son will be impacted. Over the last few years he has bought into being a Hibby while many if his friends follow 'more successful teams'. If we continue to fail the club may lose a future supporter as his interest and enthusiasm fades.
So why take the piss out of folk who are also unhappy?
My point was a response to the post which referred to Petrie not having anything acceptable to say, in the midst of an outcry from people complaining that he says nothing.
So you were not confused, just taking a cheap shot at those who want to protest?
I'd suggest we listen to what he has to say before jumping to conclusions.
You can listen all you like, i'm done listening.
What if he announced he was stepping down? Bringing someone new in? Shaving off the mouser? Would that be acceptable?
Fantastic, bring it on.
I don't know myself but feel a more pragmatic approach would be more appropriate at this time...
Thats fine, you will do what you feel is right.
I'm also concerned that a shambolic and disorganised protest will just look silly and prove futile.
Again, thats fine but you are just guessing.
JustSimplyHibs
15-08-2013, 12:05 PM
So let me get this straight.
People are up in arms because he says nothing, yet won't listen to what he has to say.
This is getting increasingly more confusing with every post on this thread.
I may turn up earlier than planned to watch the "protest". I anticipate a handful of people wandering about not really sure what their protest is about. Or a handful of people protesting about different things...
Either way I hope the media/press don't bother to attend as it's going to be rather embarrassing.
I think folk are just confusing themselves.
The club is split into two! Business and Football
Business level seems to be operating perfectly well, the football side of things is not and has not for decades.
Fans who pay thousands of pounds every year following their team are rightly so, disappointed in the way the footballing side of things is slowly but surely getting worse - probably because more emphasis is put on business at boardroom level rather than football.
The fans are rightly so, angered by this underachievement on the pitch... enough is enough for some and have decided to voice their opinion on this matter - and IMO it has nothing to do with Fenlon (he wont be here for much longer and is only filling the gap until change is made), it's the board and all their decisions that surrounds the game itself - not the business.
What was once a great club, with once a proud history of playing headline making football and having Scottish international stars is now nothing and some folk are sick of it and want a change of direction at board room level with the focus on football and a drive and determination to be challengers on all fronts (don't say you need money to challenge, cause we don't as we play in a small league with no money and we are arguably the third biggest in the country and if we were to beef up our youngsters like they do down South and in Europe with some experienced pros we could challenge).
Managers come and go, but our standards should remain the same... playing football our way, challenging and nurturing our youngsters, IMO this emphasis should come from boardroom level, but it aint and is being left to every tom dick and harry that becomes our 1st team manager.
Hibernian of yesteryear was like this, Hibernian of today is a soft touch on the pitch, probably because the balance sheets break even. We want this balance sheet focus changed, to footballing matters i.e. getting it right on the pitch.
How do we change it - all we need to do is look at the European teams (even the ones we pumped 40 years ago by 6 goals and they are now pumping us by the same scoreline) for some general guidance of getting it right on the football front. For me it starts at the top.
15-08-2013, 12:06 PM
It's not really relevant what everyone thought, they've been failures and Petrie should be accountable for that. There seem to be no performance management standards applied to Rod, he lumbers from one disaster to the next without a shred of shame.
I will be attending the protest and hopefully bring another 3/4. I've not replied to poll yet, sure there will be plenty of others like me who will swell the numbers.
It's disappointing that so many feel the need to criticise fans choosing to register their discontent.
I think to say Petrie has no shame is harsh TBH. He is accountable for their appointments yes, but if it's a tactical failing on the park then the Chairman of a club cannot be held responsible IMO.
Where did I say I was criticising those who were attending the protest?
I don't know what the main aim of it is. Fenlon out? Petrie out? Both?
I remember when fenlon was brought in, fans from Ireland said his team isn't pretty to watch but he gets results.
Fair do's, but I can't recall there being massive protestations against Calderwood, an experienced coach who had done well in England.
How many of the fans were paid to appoint them, and who was accountable for their appointments?
Petrie is obviously accountable for their appointments, but how can tactical failings be blamed on the Chairman? If it's an on the pitch problem then the manager is directly responsible. We have seen the rewards that playing attacking football has brought, IE against Falkirk when we had to go for it and score, so why has Fenlon resorted to negative football? The Chairmans instruction?
Not sure what you meant by the last part?
15-08-2013, 12:30 PM
Might be better to convene somewhere close to the ground (a pub), do a head count, get everyone on message, and then, if there are enough, march en-mass to the stadium with a clear idea of what the protest is trying to achieve. You might need a police escort though :confused:
As posted earlier I will not be paticipating in the protest.
I was merely pointing out to those concerned it would be an idea to have a plan rather than simply turn up at 2pm.
15-08-2013, 01:14 PM
Just had the episode of father ted where ted and Dougal stand outside the cinema protesting come into my head .... :D
'Down with this sort of thing' :D
15-08-2013, 01:18 PM
I think to say Petrie has no shame is harsh TBH. He is accountable for their appointments yes, but if it's a tactical failing on the park then the Chairman of a club cannot be held responsible IMO.
Where did I say I was criticising those who were attending the protest?
I don't know what the main aim of it is. Fenlon out? Petrie out? Both?
Fair do's, but I can't recall there being massive protestations against Calderwood, an experienced coach who had done well in England.
Petrie is obviously accountable for their appointments, but how can tactical failings be blamed on the Chairman? If it's an on the pitch problem then the manager is directly responsible. We have seen the rewards that playing attacking football has brought, IE against Falkirk when we had to go for it and score, so why has Fenlon resorted to negative football? The Chairmans instruction?
Not sure what you meant by the last part?
Tactical failings are the fault of the manager. If Petrie continually hires managers then he carries the can, regardless of the specific reasons for their failure.
My comment regarding critics of the protest was not aimed at you, should have made that clear.
15-08-2013, 03:30 PM
Tactical failings are the fault of the manager. If Petrie continually hires managers then he carries the can, regardless of the specific reasons for their failure.
My comment regarding critics of the protest was not aimed at you, should have made that clear.Correct, he is the one appointing managers, if they continually fail, the he is failing because he is responsible for their being there. Unfortunately he never carries the can though, it's always the fault of something or somebody else. He made a monumental blunder with colin driftwood and it should have been his last but he has nae shame, his ego is the most important thing tae him.
15-08-2013, 03:50 PM
Business level seems to be operating perfectly well, the football side of things is not and has not for decades.
Fans who pay thousands of pounds every year following their team are rightly so, disappointed in the way the footballing side of things is slowly but surely getting worse - probably because more emphasis is put on business at boardroom level rather than football.
The fans are rightly so, angered by this underachievement on the pitch... enough is enough for some and have decided to voice their opinion on this matter - and IMO it has nothing to do with Fenlon (he wont be here for much longer and is only filling the gap until change is made), it's the board and all their decisions that surrounds the game itself - not the business.
What was once a great club, with once a proud history of playing headline making football and having Scottish international stars is now nothing and some folk are sick of it and want a change of direction at board room level with the focus on football and a drive and determination to be challengers on all fronts (don't say you need money to challenge, cause we don't as we play in a small league with no money and we are arguably the third biggest in the country and if we were to beef up our youngsters like they do down South and in Europe with some experienced pros we could challenge).
Managers come and go, but our standards should remain the same... playing football our way, challenging and nurturing our youngsters, IMO this emphasis should come from boardroom level, but it aint and is being left to every tom dick and harry that becomes our 1st team manager.
Hibernian of yesteryear was like this, Hibernian of today is a soft touch on the pitch, probably because the balance sheets break even. We want this balance sheet focus changed, to footballing matters i.e. getting it right on the pitch.
How do we change it - all we need to do is look at the European teams (even the ones we pumped 40 years ago by 6 goals and they are now pumping us by the same scoreline) for some general guidance of getting it right on the football front. For me it starts at the top.
Good post...
djs69
15-08-2013, 04:38 PM
When , if at all, will farmer be accountable and why is no-one even considering the man at the top ? Having an owner with no interest in the football side isn't ideal, and he seems to be content in letting Petrie just get on with things without being interested in his performance
15-08-2013, 04:45 PM
The two are linked, you can't claim the bit in bold is correct when we made losses the past few seasons, from what I remember £1M each one.
15-08-2013, 05:31 PM
The two are linked, you can't claim the bit in bold is correct when we made losses the past few seasons, from what I remember £1M each one.
Exactly, and every clown that Petrie has brought to the club has brought in player after player thats either been crap, seen their contract out or been paid off handsomely.
Thats contributed to pish league placings = less money, and money lost out the door with the pay offs. Petrie is not as great a financial wizard as some would have us think in my opinion.
15-08-2013, 07:12 PM
I wonder if there will be a banner or two at ER on Saturday ?, it might be that they will get taken off the fans so as not to embarrass the board. Does anyone remember the game at ER a few years ago when we were playing Aberdeen and the dons fans had their "no ten team league" banner which was ripped from them?, it was when Milne and our chief were big advocates for the change and the banner obviously hurt their feelings big time.
JustSimplyHibs
15-08-2013, 08:24 PM
Yes i see where you are coming from by saying that they are linked... However, that claim just doesn't wash with me!!!!!
We made loses due to poor performances on the pitch. These poor performances on the pitch meant lesser gates and lower income from league placings over the last few years... imagine the loses and lower attendances if we never reached any cup finals!
Also the loses made can be contributed to the poor choice in management and players i.e. if you are talking about last season the pay-off's we made to Calderwood all the coaching staff such as Evans etc. and to the journey men that came in under his tenure. Not only that the lack of constancy in the management department has probably had a knock on affect with youth player development and even more money, these journey men taking the place of decent enough youngsters, off the top of my head, like Sean Welsh, who is now Partick Thistle capt.
All these loses have effectivley came from board room level as IMO they are very poor at getting the right structure in place when it come to football... the business model in place, works and makes a profit when a product is on the park (can you see the difference? Poor product = loses, product on the park = profit for Hibernian FC.
IMO they need to pull their finger out their back-sides, show a bit of vision by having a structure in place when it comes to football. I said it earlier, managers come and go just like players, our club remains as it is and at the moment it is allowing any Tom Dick and Harry (hired by our board) to make a mess of our product on the park, where-as if we have a vision, philosophy and structure in place where by we recruit managers that fit our bill and are willing to go with our structure.... well in my eyes, it's win win.
For me, it's the boards lack of ability to see this problem that concerns me most.
For what it is worth, we have a decent enough squad in place (i think most would agree, even our new manager when he comes, would agree) so now is the perfect time to develop a system making us the new force in Scotland, like i said, don't leave to any Tom Dick and Harry in charge of 1st team matters - who by the way, have made a total cluster f+++ of our club. We need to grab the bull by the horns, get someone in who fits our vision and this can only come from the top.
IMO with our squad we should be sitting with 6 out of 6 points, and rubbing it into the YAMs following a nice wee 3 or 4 nil victory at the Wongadome. WE AINT.
15-08-2013, 08:33 PM
Don't know how many will attend the organised protest. But if the result goes the wrong way I'd imagine there will be substantially more after the game for a more spontaneous protest.
Green Knight
15-08-2013, 08:51 PM
Guys, please don't turn this into an attempt at comedy. This is really serious.
As I mentioned earlier, if we do nothing, we're no better than the Hearts fans who presided over the demise of their club.
Did you laugh at them and their in-action? Guess what, they're now laughing at you.
They'll certainly be laughing at us if we let their flukey victory under their tame referee stampede us into sacking our manager. Let's put our efforts into supporting the club, not destabilizing it.
15-08-2013, 08:56 PM
Yes i see where you are coming from by saying that they are linked... However, that claim just doesn't wash with me!!!!!
We made loses due to poor performances on the pitch. These poor performances on the pitch meant lesser gates and lower income from league placings over the last few years... imagine the loses and lower attendances if we never reached any cup finals!
Also the loses made can be contributed to the poor choice in management and players i.e. if you are talking about last season the pay-off's we made to Calderwood all the coaching staff such as Evans etc. and to the journey men that came in under his tenure. Not only that the lack of constancy in the management department has probably had a knock on affect with youth player development and even more money, these journey men taking the place of decent enough youngsters, off the top of my head, like Sean Welsh, who is now Partick Thistle capt.
All these loses have effectivley came from board room level as IMO they are very poor at getting the right structure in place when it come to football... the business model in place, works and makes a profit when a product is on the park (can you see the difference? Poor product = loses, product on the park = profit for Hibernian FC.
IMO they need to pull their finger out their back-sides, show a bit of vision by having a structure in place when it comes to football. I said it earlier, managers come and go just like players, our club remains as it is and at the moment it is allowing any Tom Dick and Harry (hired by our board) to make a mess of our product on the park, where-as if we have a vision, philosophy and structure in place where by we recruit managers that fit our bill and are willing to go with our structure.... well in my eyes, it's win win.
For me, it's the boards lack of ability to see this problem that concerns me most.
For what it is worth, we have a decent enough squad in place (i think most would agree, even our new manager when he comes, would agree) so now is the perfect time to develop a system making us the new force in Scotland, like i said, don't leave to any Tom Dick and Harry in charge of 1st team matters - who by the way, have made a total cluster f+++ of our club. We need to grab the bull by the horns, get someone in who fits our vision and this can only come from the top.
IMO with our squad we should be sitting with 6 out of 6 points, and rubbing it into the YAMs following a nice wee 3 or 4 nil victory at the Wongadome. WE AINT.
100% spot on, most folk only look at off the field finance when looking at how we are doing financially, and separate that from the football side, but its the football side that drives the income.
15-08-2013, 09:15 PM
I'm not going to disagree with a word of what you have written about why we have made losses or the board's failing in this, you are spot on. But when the primary objective of your business is to provide a product on the park and you are not doing that, while making a loss in the process then it clearly isn't operating well.
15-08-2013, 09:31 PM
Why make sarcastic comments and take the piss out of people who form different opinions from you?
JustSimplyHibs
16-08-2013, 07:47 AM
I'm not going to disagree with a word of what you have written about why we have made losses or the board's failing in this, you are spot on. But when the primary objective of your business is to provide a product on the park and you are not doing that, while making a loss in the process then it clearly isn't operating well.
Spot on. It hasn't work at all, in decades, and more so in the last 6 years (it has got worse and worse in that time... in fact it is probably the worst it has ever been).
And Jeffers me old san, that is what i mean by the football side of things... by the looks of things, since Collins, our board have a list of managerial candidates that they are going through and hiring and firing until the list is finish... Fenlon was behind Calderwood when Calderwood got the job, at that time they could have got Michael O'Neill.
Look at Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, he is another ideal candidate that would fit well into my vision of how the football side of things should operate. He would probably be a hard one to get due to family, however, as a club we should be scouting these type of characters and keeping an eye on their careers and trying to persuade them to manage. If you don't try you won't get.
16-08-2013, 09:31 AM
Why make sarcastic comments and take the piss out of people who form different opinions from you?
Whats sarcastic or taking the piss about that quote?:confused:
Ross4356
16-08-2013, 12:28 PM
When , if at all, will farmer be accountable and why is no-one even considering the man at the top ? Having an owner with no interest in the football side isn't ideal, and he seems to be content in letting Petrie just get on with things without being interested in his performance
What has Sir Tom done exactly? He saved out club and we should be greatful. He obv is not putting money into Hibs and seems to let the board get on with it.
Whats he done wrong?
16-08-2013, 12:31 PM
Aye, let's ditch farmer and get our very own version of wallet/pieman/romanov.
What a ****ing nonsense post.
16-08-2013, 12:36 PM
What has Sir Tom done exactly? He saved out club and we should be greatful. He obv is not putting money into Hibs and seems to let the board get on with it.
Whats he done wrong?
He has Petrie in charge and seems to think he's doing a good job. There is no transparency as to what STF views as an acceptable performance for Petrie and consequently Hibs. Therefore we are in the dark.
However for 4 years now we see shocking onfield performance which leads to losses for the business. Petrie is clearly culpable, particularly with the Calderwood fiasco. Petrie continues to cost the club money by recruiting managers who fail.
Why is Farmer happy to let the situation continue? What performance targets is Petrie measured by as to any objective outsider, he's no longer performing and should be replaced. In any other corporate entity that would be the natural chain of events.
16-08-2013, 12:55 PM
Ah yes, the only 3 examples there are. Lets hope Farner is immortal as once he passes on it'll be "our version of wallet/pieman/Romanov" to come.
I once read an excellent analogy on here. When you adopt a child that isn't your obligation to the child's well being over. Farmer IS currently failing us. He isn't obligated to put any more money in, but he needs to take more of an interest. If that means delegating that interest to someone else then fair enough, but (so it appears) blindly backing Petrie, which in effect makes him unaccountable, is not acceptable. All my opinion of course.
16-08-2013, 01:13 PM
Harsh to say the least. The OP didn't call for a Romanov alternative, merely questioning the role of the current owner in the football club's poor performance which is perfectly valid. How much better would Hibs have been on the pitch over the last 20+ years had STF actually had an interest in football ? Who knows, but at the very least he would have a better understanding of what makes Hibs tick. IMHO he would have made some very different decisions in that time, and again at the very least have asked some searching questions of the Hibs Board.
IMHO it is unhealthy for any football club to have an owner that has no interest in it other than the balance sheet - just as it is to have a Lithuanian fugitive in charge.
16-08-2013, 01:16 PM
He has Petrie in charge and seems to think he's doing a good job. There is no transparency as to what STF views as an acceptable performance for Petrie and consequently Hibs. Therefore we are in the dark.
However for 4 years now we see shocking onfield performance which leads to losses for the business. Petrie is clearly culpable, particularly with the Calderwood fiasco. Petrie continues to cost the club money by recruiting managers who fail.
Why is Farmer happy to let the situation continue? What performance targets is Petrie measured by as to any objective outsider, he's no longer performing and should be replaced. In any other corporate entity that would be the natural chain of events.
Hallelujah :top marks And STILL some people don't see that.
16-08-2013, 01:17 PM
Ah yes, the only 3 examples there are. Lets hope Farner is immortal as once he passes on it'll be "our version of wallet/pieman/Romanov" to come.
I once read an excellent analogy on here. When you adopt a child that isn't your obligation to the child's well being over. Farmer IS currently failing us. He isn't obligated to put any more money in, but he needs to take more of an interest. If that means delegating that interest to someone else then fair enough, but (so it appears) blindly backing Petrie, which in effect makes him unaccountable, is not acceptable. All my opinion of course.
Its always thrown up the same answers when Petrie and Farmers roles are questioned, apparently if Petrie went we'd be the next Portsmouth or Leeds United within days, there is no other option. :rolleyes:
yekimevol
16-08-2013, 01:48 PM
With over 63% of fans saying that we are not going to the protest, can we assume that the majority are against the protest ?
:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa
16-08-2013, 01:49 PM
Its always thrown up the same answers when Petrie and Farmers roles are questioned, apparently if Petrie went we'd be the next Portsmouth or Leeds United within days, there is no other option. :rolleyes:
Indeed the middle ground in vast and wide yet its either STF and Petrie or big spenders racking up the debts with overspending and the club goes the Hearts way.
sparkiedelpaco7
16-08-2013, 02:11 PM
Can I ask everyone, from a transfer point of view, what they believe Fenlon could have done better with the funds he has.
I agree that Fenlon has been slightly negitive tactics wise but I dont see majorly what else he could be doing from a buying point of view
We needed a CH so he bought one
He tried to buy Leigh
He bought 2 strikers as replacements for Leigh and Doyle
He brought in Craig, Robertson and OTD to replace Claros, Deegan and Wotherspoon
He has moved up some of our youngsters and is giving them a chance
He bought a new RB to give cover until Clancy returns
He signed McGivern for LB
There is nothing to say he has finished signing players
He knew we needed a Striker at the Malmo game
Vine was suspended for the Motherwell game and McGivern was injured
Harris was injured for Hearts game
This means that Fenlon has not yet been able to play the attack he wants to play
I am not saying that Fenlon has not made mistakes but we are never going to move forward as a club if we continually change our manager
All that means is that we have to wait another year or 2 for the new man to create his team
16-08-2013, 02:22 PM
Can I ask everyone, from a transfer point of view, what they believe Fenlon could have done better with the funds he has.
I agree that Fenlon has been slightly negitive tactics wise but I dont see majorly what else he could be doing from a buying point of view
We needed a CH so he bought one
He tried to buy Leigh
He bought 2 strikers as replacements for Leigh and Doyle
He brought in Craig, Robertson and OTD to replace Claros, Deegan and Wotherspoon
He has moved up some of our youngsters and is giving them a chance
He bought a new RB to give cover until Clancy returns
He signed McGivern for LB
There is nothing to say he has finished signing players
He knew we needed a Striker at the Malmo game
Vine was suspended for the Motherwell game and McGivern was injured
Harris was injured for Hearts game
This means that Fenlon has not yet been able to play the attack he wants to play
I am not saying that Fenlon has not made mistakes but we are never going to move forward as a club if we continually change our manager
All that means is that we have to wait another year or 2 for the new man to create his team
We cannot judge the replacements on some of those signings as yet, PF from what you list there did what I would have thought any manager would have done and that is bring in various players. The part in bold is almost said in passing compared to your list of other things when in fact his tactics and style of play are major issues.
Good for PF we needed strikers and he noticed. CC also noticed that when he was here and got in some but like PF couldnt use them all correctly.
2nd part in bold so all of last season he couldnt play the attack he wanted then either? Was he just waiting from day 1 until 2 years in almost to have Vine and Collins.