View Full Version : Protest

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

13-08-2013, 12:35 PM
All you will do is get a man sacked. Not really a worthy thing to protest about imo.

Whilst I share everyones disillusionment, sacking Pat Fenlon isn't a 'new beginning' it's just the same old routine of hire and fire. I think we are going to have to swallow this bitter pill at least until the new year window and see if the team can turn it around to any extent.

Sometimes at the lowest ebb that's when the team needs our support the most, not protest.

I get the impression this isn't about getting fenlon out its deeper routed than that.

If fenlon goes before the end of the week this protest will still happen.

13-08-2013, 12:36 PM
Hope it doesn't turn out like this http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=down+with+this+sort+of+thing&docid=4713920998475134&mid=188115734770351B8C2C188115734770351B8C2C&view=detail&FORM=VIRE4

13-08-2013, 12:40 PM
I get the impression this isn't about getting fenlon out its deeper routed than that.

An interview, free to all users on Hibs TV, with Sir Tom Farmer would be a good starting point. No punches pulled, direct and honest.

Rod coming out today or tomorrow with an interview on broadcast media would also be good.

Not one peep from the captain, tumbleweed from East Mains - worst Euro result in history and a defeat to a team on life support sponsored by Mr Kipling cakes........

Rod Petrie = cowardly

NatureBoy
13-08-2013, 12:40 PM
All you will do is get a man sacked. Not really a worthy thing to protest about imo.

Whilst I share everyones disillusionment, sacking Pat Fenlon isn't a 'new beginning' it's just the same old routine of hire and fire. I think we are going to have to swallow this bitter pill at least until the new year window and see if the team can turn it around to any extent.

Sometimes at the lowest ebb that's when the team needs our support the most, not protest.

I disagree I think everyone knows the problem runs deeper than just sacking Pat Fenlon. Petrie won't get away with just offering up Fenlon as a sacrificial lamb to save his own skin this time.

hibee19
13-08-2013, 12:41 PM
I like the theme of reminding Petrie etc that they are not the club, they are employed by our club so how about simply

#wearehibernianfc

Macaroon
13-08-2013, 12:45 PM
I like the theme of reminding Petrie etc that they are not the club, they are employed by our club so how about simply

#wearehibernianfc

I like that, definitely hits the right note.

13-08-2013, 12:46 PM

#wearehibernianfc

Like this.

13-08-2013, 12:46 PM

This is not about just removing Pat Fenlon, it is about removing two people from there positions at Hibernian FC, the two people are, ROD PETRIE AND PAT FENLON.

Our Owner needs to know that we want change at OUR club.

13-08-2013, 12:47 PM
#bieber

Over 43 million of them.

13-08-2013, 12:49 PM

Sometimes at the lowest ebb that's when the team needs our support the most, not protest.You are correct sacking Fenlon winnae solve the whole problem, Fenlon isnae the real problem, he is just one of the symptoms, getting rid of him alone will solve nothing. Collins was replaced by Mixu, Mixu was replaced, by Hughes, Hughes was replaced by driftwood, driftwood was replaced by Fenlon and nothing has changed. I will be supporting the team on Saturday, my protest will be against Mr. teflon who in my opinion is at the root of our problems.

http://i43.tinypic.com/2cdbpdw.jpg

13-08-2013, 12:51 PM
The last protest about Petrie didnt go so well. Hopefully more turn up and make their feelings known this time. He has gotten away with delivering poor product on the park for too many years.

pontius pilate
13-08-2013, 12:52 PM
I sent 2 e-mails to the club Sunday evening explaining my disgust at the way the club is operating and to remind the Board that they are custodians of OUR Club. I also mentioned that there would be demonstrations and I've not heard a peep. Although one man wouldn't make a difference to the amount if e-mails they receive they way the club have acted is shocking. Ill be there on Saturday both for the protest and the game

13-08-2013, 12:53 PM
The last protest about Petrie didnt go so well. Hopefully more turn up and make their feelings known this time. He has gotten away with delivering poor product on the park for too many years.

Well let's be constructive and see if it is at all viable to buy his share of the club ? Let's put the feelers out - who's in ?

13-08-2013, 12:55 PM
I disagree I think everyone knows the problem runs deeper than just sacking Pat Fenlon. Petrie won't get away with just offering up Fenlon as a sacrificial lamb to save his own skin this time.

No matter how well intentioned this protest is it will end up a nasty, drink fuelled, load of personal abuse against the manager and it will affect further the morale of the team.

Everbody knows we are playing very poorly, the board, the management team, the players, the fans, the media everyone. We have a poor team lacking confidence. Nobody needs a protest to tell them how bad it is.

I agree with you about the malaise around ER however I disagree with you about what the result will be. Unless a potential new owner pops up to back any protest the usual pattern will emerge. The fans want blood and all it will take to satisfy most is the managers head to roll.

However you can't say the board haven't backed the manager. We have made plenty signings and actually paid transfer fees. I can only see any protest acheiving one thing, Fenlon being sacked.

13-08-2013, 12:55 PM

#wearehibernianfc

Get that trending on twitter, everyone agree with this.

#wearehibernianfc

AndyM_1875
13-08-2013, 12:56 PM
An interview, free to all users on Hibs TV, with Sir Tom Farmer would be a good starting point. No punches pulled, direct and honest.

Rod coming out today or tomorrow with an interview on broadcast media would also be good.

Not one peep from the captain, tumbleweed from East Mains - worst Euro result in history and a defeat to a team on life support sponsored by Mr Kipling cakes........

Rod Petrie = cowardly

Anyone thinking Rod is walking needs a reality check, he owns 10% of the club. I've backed Rod before but he needs to show real leadership and he needs to make a statement to the fans.
The Hibs way tends to be saying nothing and making no comment. That needs to change.

Appointing a Director of Football would also be a start. One who engages with the fans and runs the football side of the Business. A suitable DoF implementing a structure across the club based around the correct recruitment and player development policies would be a good start.
This would leave Rod to represent the club at League and Association Level and deal with all the tedious SFA committee crap as well as running the Finances of the club.
It could be the start of a way forward along with the appointment of a new manager as Fenlon is a dead man walking.

Gustavo Fring
13-08-2013, 12:56 PM
Everbody knows we are playing very poorly, the board, the management team, the players, the fans, the media everyone. We have a poor team lacking confidence. Nobody needs a protest to tell them how bad it is.

everyone knows it but none of them want to face up to it . not a peep from the board ,, the manager or the captain just .... silence

13-08-2013, 12:59 PM

Thats why we need to get this picked up by the press and media before Saturday.

PETRIE OUT FENLON OUT.

13-08-2013, 01:00 PM
everyone knows it but none of them want to face up to it . not a peep from the board ,, the manager or the captain just .... silence

We don't need more words we need action, on the park. A chairmes comment issued about "it being unacceptable", "we're working hard to get it right" and "we need fans support" would just make me more angry to be honest.

hibee19
13-08-2013, 01:01 PM
Thats why we need to get this picked up by the press and media before Saturday.

PETRIE OUT FENLON OUT.

I emailed the Scotsman.

13-08-2013, 01:03 PM
We don't need more words we need action, on the park. A chairmes comment issued about "it being unacceptable", "we're working hard to get it right" and "we need fans support" would just make me more angry to be honest.

Well as I say Spike, lets get a group of collective minds, be constructive, see if purchasing Rod's share is viable and take things from there - let's see what the interest is and at least show there is a capability financially to take a small grip of the club.

lugz
13-08-2013, 01:04 PM
Just tweeted the unofficial hibs twitter page which has over 2000 followers, will see if they reply.

@purv1875: @Hibs_Offical any plans to support the protest outside the west stand at 2pm on Saturday? With so many followers you could help get numbers!

13-08-2013, 01:05 PM
Well as I say Spike, lets get a group of collective minds, be constructive, see if purchasing Rod's share is viable and take things from there - let's see what the interest is and at least show there is a capability financially to take a small grip of the club.

Are you essentially talking a 'Foundation of Hibs'?

13-08-2013, 01:07 PM

In a sense yes, but lets face it this is for footballing reasons and ensuring there is a vision and goal - towards entertaining football and value for money. Not taking over the club as a whole.

There are so many innovative, intelligent, forward thinking Hibs fans out there who I believe have the desire and ability to take the club forward in a football sense. The infrastructure is in place.

13-08-2013, 01:08 PM
Well let's be constructive and see if it is at all viable to buy his share of the club ? Let's put the feelers out - who's in ?

That's what I've been angling towards in a couple of posts, its all well and good wanting petrie out but there needs to be a better alternative, right now I don't know what that is although I don't doubt they're out there.

I don't think foundation of hearts idea is viable for full ownership of the club but for a big shareholding I think its not a bad idea and something we should be working towards

JOD
Each to their own but not for me, I still want to support the team.

:agree: Same from me I'LL not be joining any protest which will achieve nothing other than possibly undermine our team's confidence still further and maybe cost us another 3 points.

hibee19

I've got to say I like the idea of what Foundation of Hearts are doing, although I wouldn't want us to be 100 percent run by fans.

13-08-2013, 01:09 PM
And if Sir Tom's belief is that Hibernian is a club for the 'community' then sell us 10% so we can accurately represent the Hibs community - only my thoughts and opinion.

13-08-2013, 01:12 PM
Personally I think during the game and after it is best, Petrie and co will be having G&T's in the boardroom then and it really is best during and in particular after the game for me, too many people mingling about at that time and could cause crowd problems at 2.00pm

Just my thoughts.

hibee19
13-08-2013, 01:13 PM
:agree: Same from me I'LL not be joining any protest which will achieve nothing other than possibly undermine our team's confidence still further and maybe cost us another 3 points.

This post just screams of uber fan. In what world would a protest showing dissatisfaction at the way the club is being run cost us 3 points?

Gustavo Fring
13-08-2013, 01:17 PM
fenlons poor tactics will cost us the 3 points if anything

13-08-2013, 01:18 PM
Personally I think during the game and after it is best, Petrie and co will be having G&T's in the boardroom then and it really is best during and in particular after the game for me, too many people mingling about at that time and could cause crowd problems at 2.00pm

Just my thoughts.

Nah, Rod will hate the fact the BBC Sportsound team will be there, broadcasting from around 2pm, direct from Easter Road.

13-08-2013, 01:30 PM
Nah, Rod will hate the fact the BBC Sportsound team will be there, broadcasting from around 2pm, direct from Easter Road.

:agree: :top marks

Chic Young in the car park. :greengrin

1068gary
13-08-2013, 01:31 PM
I think Pat is doing all he can, he will hang on for a two more games I foresee and then he will either go or we be winning. I think he will be by September though based on recent showings.

I agree, the next two results will be the reason he goes, not protests by loyal fans (when has this board ever taken even the slightest notice of the fans that finance the club?)

wearethehibs
13-08-2013, 01:34 PM
Hope this fails miserably. Some people cant drag themselves away from the pub in time to make the 3pm kick off, let alone a 2pm "protest".

What are youse going to do? Just stand together shouting abuse about the club or have youse got wee picket signs made and wee chants made up?

Hope its pishing down on youse!

Dr Jimmy
13-08-2013, 01:36 PM
Hope this fails miserably. Some people cant drag themselves away from the pub in time to make the 3pm kick off, let alone a 2pm "protest".

What are youse going to do? Just stand together shouting abuse about the club or have youse got wee picket signs made and wee chants made up?

Classy.....:rolleyes:

hibee19
13-08-2013, 01:36 PM

Why would you want this to fail? I imagine you are satisfied with how we're being run at the moment?

13-08-2013, 01:37 PM
I emailed the Scotsman.

13-08-2013, 01:38 PM
Just tweeted the unofficial hibs twitter page which has over 2000 followers, will see if they reply.

@purv1875: @Hibs_Offical any plans to support the protest outside the west stand at 2pm on Saturday? With so many followers you could help get numbers!

13-08-2013, 01:38 PM

Yeah, let's continue to do nothing and accept the rubbish we have to watch.

13-08-2013, 01:39 PM
Aye, but we need numbers. 14 guys shouting "Hibees want change" is going to look stupid. I will go as i love this club and we are, at the moment, a laughing stock and this, as all love does, hurts.

13-08-2013, 01:40 PM

#allisbarry

khib70
13-08-2013, 01:43 PM
Each to their own but not for me, I still want to support the team.
Amazing that after countless posts and threads, you still fail to see that there is no contradiction at all between supporting the team and protesting the indeptitude of Petrie and Fenlon. Most, if not all of those protesting at 2pm will be cheering the team on at 3pm.

Confronting those whose incompetence and indifference is actively hurting our club is in itself an act of loyalty and support for the club

13-08-2013, 01:45 PM

If you are happy with the way the club is going then that is up to you, others are not and plan to protest about it on Saturday.

Cheers for the heads up about the rain, I will take my umbrella just in case. :aok:

hibee19
13-08-2013, 01:47 PM
Amazing that after countless posts and threads, you still fail to see that there is no contradiction at all between supporting the team and protesting the indeptitude of Petrie and Fenlon. Most, if not all of those protesting at 2pm will be cheering the team on at 3pm.

Confronting those whose incompetence and indifference is actively hurting our club is in itself an act of loyalty and support for the club

If Pat Fenlon is in charge I wont be entering the stadium. I want us to win every match we play but we can't accept this kind of failure on a grand scale so I'll be making that point by leaving one more seat empty.

13-08-2013, 01:48 PM

Hope its pishing down on youse!:blah:

Dr Jimmy
13-08-2013, 01:49 PM
I wonder how many of the people that are critisising this planned protest laughed at the yams lack of fan protests during the Romanov years????

13-08-2013, 01:50 PM
So we turn up 2pm on saturday, then what happens?

hibee19
13-08-2013, 01:52 PM

We let our feelings be heard loud and clear.

NatureBoy
Numbers is the key to making a BIG statement! If you love the club and are sick of the way it's being run, make sure you are there at 2.00 on Saturday! We need to unite and show it's not just a few fans who can be casually ignored!

JustSimplyHibs
Aye, but we need numbers. 14 guys shouting "Hibees want change" is going to look stupid. I will go as i love this club and we are, at the moment, a laughing stock and this, as all love does, hurts.

Someone should do a poll, this week alone our polls have had over 600 respondents and even used in the media circle!!!

I'll go to a protest; my aim is for change in the way we operate the footballing side. I want to see a club philosophy on how football should be played, from youth to 1st team, hiring managers and coaches based on this philosophy. The likes of Swansea and many other European teams have a similar way to this and it works with the right people in the right jobs.

Former players and die-hard's always preach the 'Hibs way' - Let's see it implemented into the club and not left to any run of the mill manager we have at the time.

It's many things I suppose, but above all, there should be a clear aim and vision - mine is to see where Hibs feel they are going in a footballing sense, as it has undeniably failed the last 5 years. The brand of football has been poor, and there has been a lack of spark, creativity and drive on the pitch.

Off the pitch, Rod is detached - perhaps due to his combined roles, perhaps down to devolving 'decision making' - but it's his name that goes on the requests for fans to buy season tickets or to come and support the club during the bad times - he rarely steps in front of the camera to explain the vision, the lack of success, what he thinks is going wrong at the club.

I want to be quite clear, I love Hibernian FC and don't want protests to be meek or counter productive - but I think after recent results, form and superb support from the fans, we need to be told about where the club sees itself this season and for years to come.

We are not being entertained, simple as that.

You protest :wink:

khib70
13-08-2013, 01:54 PM
If Pat Fenlon is in charge I wont be entering the stadium. I want us to win every match we play but we can't accept this kind of failure on a grand scale so I'll be making that point by leaving one more seat empty.
Fair enough. Don't blame you for that at all, and would never imply that it makes you any less of a Hibee.

SneakersO'Toole
13-08-2013, 02:05 PM
Well done to those who are actually trying to instigate change by action rather than bump their gums on here and do nothing.

It is clear than enough is enough for many Hibs fans and I think Petrie and Co will get a shock on Saturday when they see the strength of feeling amongst the support.

I would encourage everyone who is disillusioned with the club at present to turn up at 2pm on Saturday and demonstrate a united front to the board. Many who do this will still support the team when that whistle blows at 3pm. Its the manager/board/owner that we have a problem with, not the players (well, not some of them at least :wink:).

13-08-2013, 02:09 PM
Well done to those who are actually trying to instigate change by action rather than bump their gums on here and do nothing.

It is clear than enough is enough for many Hibs fans and I think Petrie and Co will get a shock on Saturday when they see the strength of feeling amongst the support.

I would encourage everyone who is disillusioned with the club at present to turn up at 2pm on Saturday and demonstrate a united front to the board. Many who do this will still support the team when that whistle blows at 3pm. Its the manager/board/owner that we have a problem with, not the players (well, not some of them at least :wink:).

And more importantly go to the game as well mate - you can move for change and still support the lads on the pitch - a real strength of feeling needs to be shown, constructively, peacefully, but passionately - but at 3pm I'd hope the support is transferred to the team for 90 minutes.

JustSimplyHibs
13-08-2013, 02:18 PM
And more importantly go to the game as well mate - you can move for change and still support the lads on the pitch - a real strength of feeling needs to be shown, constructively, peacefully, but passionately - but at 3pm I'd hope the support is transferred to the team for 90 minutes.

13-08-2013, 02:23 PM
Fenlon will be in charge on Saturday, of that I have no doubt.

Will be interesting to see how many turn up for this protest, what it entails, media coverage etc..... The team still needs support come 3pm though....

13-08-2013, 02:24 PM

My post was an answer to a question would I protest outside instead off attending the game, not against the actual protest before the game.

13-08-2013, 02:26 PM

I used to think like that, but i feel its gone beyond doing normal things, they just don't listen.

I'd not be against not backing the team during the game on Saturday, and a constant barrage of abuse hurled towards the board would certainly get them and the media's attention.

Sometimes you have to make sacrifices, and do things you really don't want to do or feel comfortable with for the greater good.

13-08-2013, 02:27 PM

Read the post I was answering and you will see that it is you that fails to see that I am not against the protest before the game only against standing outside and protesting during it. :na na:

hibee19
13-08-2013, 02:35 PM
To anyone who thinks this will have a negative impact on the team why should it, this is off-the-field issues and most of the protesters will then enter the stadium and support the team and if they can't handle that sort of thing, they shouldn't be playing football.

lugz
13-08-2013, 02:36 PM
Can we not get a poll going to see how many are actually planning on turning up? As stated before it would be embarrassing if it was 10/20 people.

13-08-2013, 02:38 PM
To anyone who thinks this will have a negative impact on the team why should it, this is off-the-field issues and most of the protesters will then enter the stadium and support the team and if they can't handle that sort of thing, they shouldn't be playing football.
I'd consider calling for the manager's head to be an on-field issue, personally.

Personally I don't see any reason why Petrie shouldn't remain in a business/financial capacity as his track record is undeniable in that regard. The main press for change should be a new manager and some sort of footballing 'specialist' at boardroom level.

hibee19
13-08-2013, 02:38 PM
Can we not get a poll going to see how many are actually planning on turning up? As stated before it would be embarrassing if it was 10/20 people.

I'll do it.

13-08-2013, 02:39 PM

Or a true reflection of feelings.

13-08-2013, 02:40 PM

I'm in

hibee19
13-08-2013, 02:41 PM
Whos going to take part in the protest on Saturday?

13-08-2013, 02:44 PM
I'm normally there around 2pm anyway but I don't think I will be joining in with the protest.

13-08-2013, 02:44 PM
Not for me, guys. Don't entirely disagree with the premise, but I'm not sure this is the way to go about it. Hope there's a good turnout and then there's a shorter queue at the bar in the Four in Hand. :wink:

13-08-2013, 02:45 PM
I shall be there. I think it's better to do something positive rather than just moan. I also think it's important that the case is stated in a temperate manner, and that it doesn't just become a forum for boorish nutters to vent their spleen on the board the same way they do on certain players.

If there isn't a huge crowd there I'm not too fussed, there won't be a huge crowd in the stadium either, on this or any subsequent weeks until the board shake off their inertia.

13-08-2013, 02:46 PM
Why is this scheduled before the game? Hardly going to help the players is it..

Set it for about half 3.. That way when Utd are 2-0 up we can all leave and then gather for the protest :greengrin

13-08-2013, 02:47 PM
For the people who don't agree with any sort of protest, what would you suggest?

13-08-2013, 02:48 PM
I'm in.

It's easy to be a keyboard warrior but hats of to guys for actuallu organising something.

13-08-2013, 02:49 PM
Haven't had a good protest since Blackley must go in 86. Would have preferred efter the game though

13-08-2013, 02:50 PM
For the people who don't agree with any sort of protest, what would you suggest?

I have never said I disagree with any sort of protest, If I decide to protest it will be by withdrawing my support and not attending ER.

13-08-2013, 02:51 PM

A protest against the protest !

13-08-2013, 02:52 PM
Won't protest as I believe that we need to show unity at a match and just before it. Find another way, send in a petition or something.

13-08-2013, 02:54 PM
Won't protest as I believe that we need to show unity at a match and just before it. Find another way, send in a petition or something.

What about a strongly worded email, that should put the ****ters up them?

13-08-2013, 02:55 PM
What about a strongly worded email, that should put the ****ters up them?

An open letter?

Hearts style circa 2005

13-08-2013, 02:55 PM
Organise a petition, bombard the club and board with letters demanding change, maybe even at least wait until after a game before something of this nature. Doing it before the game puts a negative slant on things already and will hardly be a boost for the players pre-match.

13-08-2013, 02:57 PM
I'm in.

It's easy to be a keyboard warrior but hats of to guys for actuallu organising something.

Never mind the keyboard warriors, just hope the empty headed knuckle draggers stay away.

13-08-2013, 03:07 PM
A protest is a good idea, especially before the game. It might have an effect on the players in that they might just ignore Mr hoof ball. If we as fans do nothing then we are as bad as the board who are doing nothing.

hibee19
13-08-2013, 03:07 PM
Organise a petition, bombard the club and board with letters demanding change, maybe even at least wait until after a game before something of this nature. Doing it before the game puts a negative slant on things already and will hardly be a boost for the players pre-match.

I disagree. There is an overwhelmingly negative vibe around this club at the moment, fans taking action looking for change is the only positive we have.

13-08-2013, 03:10 PM
As a player how would you react to hearing a screaming mob calling for blood before the game?

13-08-2013, 03:11 PM
I disagree. There is an overwhelmingly negative vibe around this club at the moment, fans taking action looking for change is the only positive we have.
My concern is that it will lead to the "hope Hibs lose so that he goes" type of atmosphere that was evident during the latter days of Calderwood. Hope I'm wrong and there is total support for the team at the very least.

13-08-2013, 03:13 PM
We've sold out 2 cup finals and the players have rolled over.
Sang our hearts out in Malmo and got nothing.
Massive crowd for home game and gave the players all our backing only to be rewarded with a humiliation. Then we sell out our allocation at the derby and roar the team on only to get humiliated again.

Sorry but i think we've given the players more than enough backing so I don't give a toss what they would think about a protest to be honest.

vercol36
13-08-2013, 03:13 PM
That's a shocking post.

Grow up you bigot.

Dont call me a bigot when I didn't say anything bigoted. It is my personal belief that a staunch sense of religion can misguide the decision-making skills of a person in authority. I wouldn't want an orthodox religious advocate to be prime minister, and I certainly don't want one as the owner of my football club.

But you go believing to yourself that anything negative said about religion is bigoted.

hibee19
13-08-2013, 03:15 PM
My concern is that it will lead to the "hope Hibs lose so that he goes" type of atmosphere that was evident during the latter days of Calderwood. Hope I'm wrong and there is total support for the team at the very least.

We want him to go because hes failing, if we were winning games he wouldn't be failing and we would have no need for managerial change. From my point of view I will be praying for Hibs to win every time we play. The reason we want to protest is for change for the benefit of the club. Surely we all have the same ultimate goal?

13-08-2013, 03:19 PM
Never mind the keyboard warriors, just hope the empty headed knuckle draggers stay away.

I thought you weren't going!

13-08-2013, 03:24 PM
I thought you weren't going!

:doh:

JOD
13-08-2013, 03:40 PM
This post just screams of uber fan. In what world would a protest showing dissatisfaction at the way the club is being run cost us 3 points?

Sorry in my book a team performance is about ability and confidence and if you think staging a protest is gonna help our team play better on Sat then you are in cloud-cukoo land my friend. It would filter through to the dressing room whose morale must be at a low ebb at the moment anyway. All it needs is another distraction which will do it a lot of good methink. For gods sake folks WE ARE TWO GAMES INTO THE SEASON WITH SIX NEW PLAYERS WHO STARTED ON SUNDAY-------------GIVE THE TEAM A CHANCE WITHOUT ALL THIS PROTEST NONSENSE. :tin hat:

13-08-2013, 03:40 PM
As a player how would you react to hearing a screaming mob calling for blood before the game?

I would just be happy its not me or the team that are being picked on.

I really think the players won't be fazed by any of this, if they are then they are in the wrong game.

13-08-2013, 03:46 PM
I would just be happy its not me or the team that are being picked on.

I really think the players won't be fazed by any of this, if they are then they are in the wrong game.

I wasn't suggesting they would be fazed, more hoping it would work the other way. But then if they couldn't get themselves up for Malmo and the derby than what chance is there? Or should I say if PF can't get them to perform what chance is there!

13-08-2013, 03:47 PM
Sorry in my book a team performance is about ability and confidence and if you think staging a protest is gonna help our team play better on Sat then you are in cloud-cukoo land my friend. It would filter through to the dressing room whose morale must be at a low ebb at the moment anyway. All it needs is another distraction which will do it a lot of good methink. For gods sake folks WE ARE TWO GAMES INTO THE SEASON WITH SIX NEW PLAYERS WHO STARTED ON SUNDAY-------------GIVE THE TEAM A CHANCE WITHOUT ALL THIS PROTEST NONSENSE. :tin hat:

The Malmo games didn't happen then? It's not just about the start to this season. Fenlon has shown since he arrived that he isn't up to the job.

Also, how many new players have Aberdeen and ICT got? They don't seem to be losing and playing football that makes your eyes bleed. So the 'six new players' excuse is just another cop out, like the 'we were unlucky' nonsense.

13-08-2013, 03:53 PM
WE ARE TWO GAMES INTO THE SEASON

Nope, we're FOUR games into the season.

Played

Won

Drew

Lost

Goals For

Goals Against

We haven't scored in five games, now have Scotland's worst ever Euro result and just lost to Hearts U21s.

We are also playing eye-bleedingly poor football.

Gustavo Fring
13-08-2013, 03:59 PM
malmo is the real killer , i dont think that can ever be forgiven

13-08-2013, 04:03 PM
Good luck with the protest, not what I would advocate, but I hope you get whatever it is you actually want.

Careful Now!

VivaHiberņa
13-08-2013, 04:17 PM
Can I just ask what exactly are the aims of the protest/ what is it about? Eg. is it about Petrie/ Farmer/ Fenlon/ all of the above?

I've not read the whole thread and being a lazy bar steward doubt I will.

I'm not comfortable with going to this until I know what exactly it is I'm signing up for, and a clear concise answer makes it easy for the club and press to not misinterpret a protest. Just two or three bullet points to help folk in my position, the club and the press know what exactly it is we want.

Cheers.

13-08-2013, 04:27 PM
Can I just ask what exactly are the aims of the protest/ what is it about? Eg. is it about Petrie/ Farmer/ Fenlon/ all of the above?

I'm not comfortable with going to this until I know what exactly it is I'm signing up for, and a clear concise answer makes it easy for the club and press to not misinterpret a protest. Just two or three bullet points to help folk in my position, the club and the press know what exactly it is we want.

Cheers.

That's where I'm at just now as well (although I won't actually attend protest, regardless, I'd rather be in the pub, its the only enjoyment I get out of watching hibs just now)

I think change is needed but I don't know what specifically needs to change if that makes sense, if I thought there was a viable alternative I think I'd be right behind it, I don't know if there is though?

13-08-2013, 04:47 PM
See back in the day a protest might have worked to let the club know the fans feelings.

Not sure but I reckon someone at Hibs will have access to the net so could we not just email them this link and save a lot of hassle!

Last Minute
13-08-2013, 05:00 PM
I'll be there, count me in

13-08-2013, 05:00 PM
If you want to get really serious i suggest camping outside the west stand till RP resigns, that'll show him whose boss. On the plus side should make getting served in BTG quicker. :aok:

13-08-2013, 05:03 PM
I'm up for this. Petrie and Fenlon are in for a ****ing hounding on Saturday.

13-08-2013, 05:05 PM

Cheers.

That's where I'm at just now as well (although I won't actually attend protest, regardless, I'd rather be in the pub, its the only enjoyment I get out of watching hibs just now)

I think change is needed but I don't know what specifically needs to change if that makes sense, if I thought there was a viable alternative I think I'd be right behind it, I don't know if there is though?

The thread was originally called "How do we get Fenlon out". Then it was merged into another thread by one of the Admins, to which I protested so it was (kind off) re-instated but under the wrong title.

However, other people have expanded the aims a bit since then, to include RP.

13-08-2013, 05:05 PM
We've sold out 2 cup finals and the players have rolled over.
Sang our hearts out in Malmo and got nothing.
Massive crowd for home game and gave the players all our backing only to be rewarded with a humiliation. Then we sell out our allocation at the derby and roar the team on only to get humiliated again.

Sorry but i think we've given the players more than enough backing so I don't give a toss what they would think about a protest to be honest.

10/10

13-08-2013, 05:06 PM
The board will be happy to see lots of protesters.
the more protesters the more people probably going to the match.
can i come protest then go home for sky sports saturday?

CorrieHibs
13-08-2013, 05:08 PM
The Malmo games didn't happen then? It's not just about the start to this season. Fenlon has shown since he arrived that he isn't up to the job.

Also, how many new players have Aberdeen and ICT got? They don't seem to be losing and playing football that makes your eyes bleed. So the 'six new players' excuse is just another cop out, like the 'we were unlucky' nonsense.

Good point. Fenlon has endless amounts of excuses! It's time for him to admit he's out his depth and walk.

13-08-2013, 05:11 PM
The board will be happy to see lots of protesters.
the more protesters the more people probably going to the match.
can i come protest then go home for sky sports saturday?

Yes, because you won't be the only one.

A number of posters have already intimated they will be doing similar, as their protest extends to also boycotting the game.

That's a personal decision and everybody is entitled to do what they feel is best.

hibee19
13-08-2013, 05:12 PM

I think everyone would suggest a different viable alternative. I think the fans must have a very big say on how we go forward from here but firstly we need to make clear that the status quo is far from acceptable.

13-08-2013, 05:13 PM
Good luck with the protest, not what I would advocate, but I hope you get whatever it is you actually want.

Careful Now!

13-08-2013, 05:14 PM

I'm taking those banners

13-08-2013, 05:15 PM
Will there be a picket line, so that game attendees can be labelled scab etc:fishin:

13-08-2013, 05:16 PM
I think everyone would suggest a different viable alternative. I think the fans must have a very big say on how we go forward from here but firstly we need to make clear that the status quo is far from acceptable.

Anybody bothered to think through what happens if the protest's wishes are granted?

13-08-2013, 05:16 PM
Will there be a picket line, so that game attendees can be labelled scab etc:fishin:

I hope so, eggs and paint will be provided. :greengrin

13-08-2013, 05:18 PM
I hope so, eggs and paint will be provided. :greengrin

Magic, you bring eggs, I will bring flour and milk, and we could whip up a quick souffle.....Save us buying a pie:greengrin

13-08-2013, 05:18 PM
If I was the board, I'd announce McCourt's signing on Thursday.

13-08-2013, 05:21 PM

Wonder if any of these guys will attend the protest on Saturday?

Were they not shot down in flames as well?

13-08-2013, 05:26 PM

Wonder if any of these guys will attend the protest on Saturday?

Were they not shot down in flames as well?

Now that's what you call a shi-ite uprising.

Is the official spokesman for all Hibernian supporters worldwide still knocking around?

13-08-2013, 05:27 PM
Anybody bothered to think through what happens if the protest's wishes are granted?

Well i'd imagine the first thing that will happen is the board get a wee bit upset, and then Fenlons erse is out the door. Depending on how vociferous the protest is, they will try and ride the storm out by appointing a new patsy.

The club will ask that we rally round and support the new patsy, and will have bought another few weeks/months grace, but in reality nothing will have changed.

What we can also do though is nowt, and watch this club flush down the ****ter, as that's whats happening anyway.

This protest has been a VERY LONG TIME COMING, its not as if this is a recent feeling.

Doing nothing is what they have accepted as a Hibs supporters protest, all wind and piss. Well i hope this is different.

13-08-2013, 05:28 PM
Should the protest not be something like everyone standing up and leaving the stadium just before kick off in a showing of we don't want this any more and this is all the fans we are going to lose if this carries on?

13-08-2013, 05:28 PM
Magic, you bring eggs, I will bring flour and milk, and we could whip up a quick souffle.....Save us buying a pie:greengrin

Sell it. Raise funds for the movement.

13-08-2013, 05:29 PM

You'd make a good jambo with all these skills. :offski:

13-08-2013, 05:29 PM

In what sense Speedway ?

Rod, nor any Board member, apologised for the Malmo shambles - apparently they thought the media would spin it. That is both childish and utterly cowardly. Not one fan would have sat and thought 'oh we better not say anything because Richard Gordon and team will rip the ****' - there are 20,000 reasons that an apology should have been compulsory, no excuses, no hiding behind what 'might happen'. Contrition, apologies, humility and thereafter a clear statement of how the football will improve - that is exactly what was required. The Board treated the fans with contempt - pure and simple.

Was there worry the manager would be 'undermined' - Pat has already said he is big enough and resilient enough to take the flak. So why not come out now and tell the fanbase where the club see the football team going - does Pat want an exciting, fast, aggressive football team on the pitch. Why is there a lack of pace and width. Why are players, young and experienced, being played out of position despite it not having any positive effect on results. Why the constant lack of consistent team selection (albeit with the caveat of injuries). On the subject of injuries, why are the injuries of certain players taking a long time to 'heal'.

That is what I want to know. I want to know if we are looking for creative players, fast players, and I also want an acknowledgment that the football is slow, easy to read, one paced, one dimensional and lacks real cutting edge and drive.

Lastly, I'm not on any committee or fans group, but why has Rod not at the very least shown up at one of their recent meetings and at least been humble enough to meet, greet (literally maybe) and discuss Hibs with them ?

I really don't think it is too much to ask - take Leigh's goals and showing out the team last season, we would be playing Dumbarton, Morton or Raith this weekend, not Dundee United.

13-08-2013, 05:31 PM
What I meant was, if we were miraculously without Petrie or Fenlon next Monday morning, then what? Scott Lindsay for Chairman?

hibee19
13-08-2013, 05:32 PM

I have personally but obviously others will have different ideas. If we can get together and come up with a viable alternative we agree on I think we could gain more credibility. We need to take our club back.

13-08-2013, 05:32 PM
You'd make a good jambo with all these skills. :offski:

Aye but I'm too clever and only have one head on my shoulders, and five fingers on each hand.....:cb

NatureBoy
13-08-2013, 05:36 PM
We have tried every route possible with this board: patience, support,diplomacy. And yet, they don't listen or care about the fans. I certainly don't want to protest, I love the club but I for one feel a protest is the only way to make a stand!

13-08-2013, 05:42 PM
I feel this is going to turn horrible on Saturday with some folk protesting against the wrong thing. Lets make sure this protest is against the board and not an anti fenlon protest. I want fenlon out as much as the next man but I wont make a fool of him infront of all the media on Saturday. I personally think thats a bit brutal. As for the board they can all run and do one and will happily mock them. They get paid alot of money. There is no point in having a nice stadium or training ground if you cant get a half decent team on the park.

13-08-2013, 05:44 PM

Cheers.

The removal of Rod Petrie and Pat Fenlon.

There time is up at our club, Petrie keeps on signing duds as managers and that is costing the club a lot of money by having to pay them of every 18 months, Fenlon will be included in that episode sooner than later.

Fenlon, has lost the support, he has also lost the plot, he has no clue how to put out a winning team out, time for him to go.

After that, we await and see what STF has to say to The Hibs Family.

#wearehibernianfc

hibee19
13-08-2013, 05:45 PM
I feel this is going to turn horrible on Saturday with some folk protesting against the wrong thing. Lets make sure this protest is against the board and not an anti fenlon protest. I want fenlon out as much as the next man but I wont make a fool of him infront of all the media on Saturday. I personally think thats a bit brutal. As for the board they can all run and do one and will happily mock them. They get paid alot of money. There is no point in having a nice stadium or training ground if you cant get a half decent team on the park.

agree with this. Fenlon being pressured into going probably won't change much anyway.

13-08-2013, 05:46 PM

:agree: I agree, this should be against the way the whole club has been run and Petrie and STF are the ones who should be carrying the can for that.

Saying that, once we are a goal or two down, then Fenlon can have both barrels too. His style of football should be booed out of the stadium, it has no place at Hibernian Football club.

13-08-2013, 05:48 PM
If I was the board, I'd announce McCourt's signing on Thursday.

That won't save them. It's time up in afraid.

13-08-2013, 05:50 PM
What is the protest about ?? 5 defeats in a row ? If we had won on Sunday - which could easily have happened - would there still be a protest ?

Is it to remove Fenlon ? If so, I'm assuming you'll still all be supporting the team on Saturday ?

Is is against the board ? For what? Picking the wrong manager ? Because you can't suggest they have want backed him ?

Is it against the team ? Well, they'll be starting their warm up so won't even notice it?

I actually like a lot of what is happening at our club jut now .

The Historical Trust is a brilliant initiative an keeps the spirit of Hibernian fully connected with our past .

The community initiatives are superb - from adult learning , through charity and work with the homeless and other great causes . The football learning for kids, and the adult health and football initiatives are excellent - again truly in the spirit of the community ethos our club was founded for.

The academy work has been strong of late too - it was only at the end of last season we were lauding it over our neighbours and laughing at their "best young players" claims...has the tide turned on that too?

Now our First team is clearly struggling . And there are questions over performance , lack of progress , the manager ...and rightly so...people may well feel aggrieved enough to protest ...but this nonsense of "our club is going down the xxxxx" is not based on facts . We are on a very poor run of results - it needs addressed , probably a new manager - but at least be clear on what the focus of the protest is .

I won't be protesting - I'm not sure there is any clear single agenda . What is success ? Fenlon out ?

Anyway , I'll be supporting the team - they need it ..

13-08-2013, 05:54 PM

Will that not be down to STF.

It is his club, he may decide to bring in new people to run the club who are motivated to getting a manager in that knows what they are doing and get a winning team on the park, someone good with the press, a bit of a personality about them.

Or he may decide to pack up and sell the club, then we will just end up like Leeds or Portsmouth. :greengrin

hibee19
13-08-2013, 05:54 PM
What is the protest about ?? 5 defeats in a row ? If we had won on Sunday - which could easily have happened - would there still be a protest ?

Is it to remove Fenlon ? If so, I'm assuming you'll still all be supporting the team on Saturday ?

Is is against the board ? For what? Picking the wrong manager ? Because you can't suggest they have want backed him ?

Is it against the team ? Well, they'll be starting their warm up so won't even notice it?

The Historical Trust is a brilliant initiative an keeps the spirit of Hibernian fully connected with our past .

The community initiatives are superb - from adult learning , through charity and work with the homeless and other great causes . The football learning for kids, and the adult health and football initiatives are excellent - again truly in the spirit of the community ethos our club was founded for.

The academy work has been strong of late too - it was only at the end of last season we were lauding it over our neighbours and laughing at their "best young players" claims...has the tide turned on that too?

Now our First team is clearly struggling . And there are questions over performance , lack of progress , the manager ...and rightly so...people may well feel aggrieved enough to protest ...but this nonsense of "our club is going down the xxxxx" is not based on facts . We are on a very poor run of results - it needs addressed , probably a new manager - but at least be clear on what the focus of the protest is .

I won't be protesting - I'm not sure there is any clear single agenda . What is success ? Fenlon out ?

A poor run of results doesn't last 6 years and 4 managers. You might be happy with the way the club is going but those that aren't have the right to make their feelings heard.

Gustavo Fring
13-08-2013, 05:59 PM
first and foremost for me has to be fenlons removal < the longer we keep him the further he will drag us down

13-08-2013, 06:04 PM
Good luck all hope something good comes out of this, I have a feeling that when im up at Xmas we will be in the bottom six, out the league cup and still have the same gaffer in charge. There's always next season I hear 14/15 will be our year hail hail

13-08-2013, 06:07 PM

If we had scored 10 against Malmo would there still be a protest? If The board hadnt had a succession of mince managers would we be protesting? If the team were playing like Barca on a good day would we be protesting? All ifs and buts but the facts are we are honking on the pitch and we are making records for all the wrong reasons!

Success at a football club is results, league positions and silverware. You get no prizes for good stadiums, good training facilities and a better balance sheet than the rest. Its the opposite im afraid, look at our neighbours across the city. Obviously theirs came with consequences but there is a balance to be struck between infrastructure, balance sheets and results. We are miles off the results im afraid, and as for the balance sheet. It would be looking a whole lot healthier if there wasnt a succession of rubbish managers getting paid off and a new team to be bought every season and a half. This is why the protest is about the manager and the board. We are unhappy with the manager and want him out, we also want a good manager put in place and we dont trust the current board to deliver that, and thats why there will be a protest against the board as well.

All those other things that the club are doing for the community is great, but they will be able to do less and less if the football side of things dont improve as the fans wont turn up and the money will dry up.

hibs6270uk
13-08-2013, 06:10 PM

I understand your point about a clear single agenda however when this sort of thing happens at other Clubs or indeed in the business world with shareholders it rarely comes down to a single issue but a multitude of issues that add up before tipping the scales.

For what its worth I think the last five results have been the tipping point for a number of supporters and if we are all honest many of the issues have been festering away under the surface at Easter Road for some time. A bland flavour of football which has resulted in a general feeling of apathy towards the Club and team. There are a number of embarrassing results which have no doubt been partly due to the manager but this is not entirely Fenlons fault which is why i can understand the level of feeling regarding a protest. There has to be some acceptance of responsibility from the Board who are after all only custodians of the Club. It's clear to me that we as supporters have, rightly, been asked to support the Club through tickets, merchandise and other initiatives however from my point of view have seen little of tangible value on the park. This coupled with the lack of response or statement of intent from the Board seems to have made matters a lot worse.

I have to be honest, I believe personally that if we had won either of the two cup finals we would not be in this position and the feel good factor would have flooded back to the Club. I share the view of many that it may well get a bit nasty on Saturday however I would like to think that as a support we can agree that things need to improve. As you rightly say the Club has a lot going for it however football is a results based business and at the end of the day we have not achieved what we should have done in the eyes of many supporters. Protest? I am not decided whether I will take part but I certainly understand the strength of feeling that many have towards this. It is difficult though because as others have said we as a support have tried everything else to change things at Easter Road so whats left to try.

TrinityHibs
13-08-2013, 06:10 PM
I'm not protesting because I'm not going. Until things change the ST is in the back pocket. I buy my son a student ST and he normally goes to 2 or 3 games before going down south to uni. This year he is going to The Fringe.

Oranje39
13-08-2013, 06:11 PM
Personally, I think we should stick by Pat and give him more time. He has lost one the best players we have had in long time in Griffiths and he was never going to be able to replace him. There was always going to be a transitional period at the start of this season, yes that has involved an embarrassing home defeat in europe and another defeat to our biggest rivals but I still think given more time we will improve, if that means finishing one position higher in the league then so be it! I think that is better than hiring a new manager who turns fortunes round in the short term then falling away again which has happened in the past with each new manager.

Pat has given all of us the chance to dream about winning a Scottish Cup final, twice! Yes, both ended in heartache that will never go away but I would take that over never having the chance. The steady hiring and firing of managers in our recent history is an embarrassment! I've got to say I never liked or wanted Calderwood and was relieved when Hughes went but this is the time I believe to stick by our manager not heckle or protest against him.

I am not a happy clapper by any means and I am slightly confused with his obsession of bringing in defensive midfielders but let's get behind the manager and the team and hopefully he will prove his worth!

13-08-2013, 06:12 PM
100%. I really hope Fenlon doesn't get extreme abuse as IMO he doesn't deserve that. I agree that his time is up but I don't feel any hatred at all towards him as I did Calderwood. He is a decent guy who has tried to change things at ER and has had some form of impact but in the end it just hasn't worked out

NatureBoy
13-08-2013, 06:15 PM
Good luck all hope something good comes out of this, I have a feeling that when im up at Xmas we will be in the bottom six, out the league cup and still have the same gaffer in charge. There's always next season I hear 14/15 will be our year hail hail

Hail, hail Igor!

NatureBoy
13-08-2013, 06:19 PM
I will be at the protest and will be aiming the majority of my complaints in a civilised manner at our current board. I think we all know Fenlon isn't up to the job but he's a decent bloke who tried his best and fell short.

13-08-2013, 06:21 PM

Our branch spent 10k on buses for away games last season and nearly all of us have season tickets so we've backed the club home and away and that's people's hard earned cash. Not to mention the cup final etc etc. there comes a point when even the die hards say enough is enough. I've been going for years and I along with many others just can't sit and watch this poor team play defensive containment football like Alex miller did years ago. We as fans should be rewarded on the park for the backing we've given the team by purchasing season tickets, club memberships, merchandise from the shop, east stand stones etc.

We have been rewarded with 5 managers in a row who don't know the game, can't play attacking football and think its acceptable to finish in the bottom six, lose to teams like Dundee and Ross county even Ayr utd. Draw home games we should be winning easily. Lose to hearts without a fight which is just unacceptable. Every season the propaganda makes a dent in your carpet when it drops through the letter box with all season ticket renewal forms shop catalogues with an accompanying letter which says your club needs you the best way to back the team is get a season ticket all the money goes to the manager. My erse it does.

We've got nothing back for years now. Petrie appoints these managers so he has to carry the can. He says who we can and can't sign and more often than not its the cheap option or panic buys. Time for Fenlon and Petrie to go and Mr farmer needs to have a word with himself. I've gave my backing to the club, indeed including family members that's 1600 quid they've got of us this season for season tickets and again no reward on the park. Not even an apology for the malmo game.

Needs must and this club needs a new direction and until we change direction and put a winning team on the park play attractive football which won't happen under Fenlon or petries tenure as long as cheap appointments are made. Until changes are made I'm out. Sorry folks just had enough.

I hope this protest succeeds because I can't face another season of torture.

13-08-2013, 06:29 PM
100%. I really hope Fenlon doesn't get extreme abuse as IMO he doesn't deserve that. I agree that his time is up but I don't feel any hatred at all towards him as I did Calderwood. He is a decent guy who has tried to change things at ER and has had some form of impact but in the end it just hasn't worked out

Pat has many good qualities and attributes, and give him his due, he picked up a club at the lowest ebb after Calderwood and through his spirit unified the fans and team to an extent. He is a really nice guy. The cup runs papered over the cracks however on the football front - the actual style and brand of football I mean. Like you, with any protest, I would hope that it's peaceful and not counter productive or nasty. That serves no purpose at all.

I'd say that the build up of bad feeling/depression is one which Rod has to carry the can for - it's no secret we have lost out on targets yet there is an errie silence. We've lost a humiliating Euro tie to an average Swedish side - still silence. Then beaten by a team we should be beating comfortably by 2 or 3 goals given their predicament. Nothing.

But it has been a few seasons of really poor product on the pitch, and bungling attempts to get players in - players sometimes I feel we don't need, players who are workmanlike but not entertaining (other than the obvious Leigh). That appears to me that this is Pat's football strategy - a workmanlike side that grinds out results - I don't want to spend Ģ25 or a season ticket to watch that mate - sorry, I just don't. And I don't just blame Pat - I blame Colin Calderwood, John Hughes, Mixu and Yogi. The calibre of player brought to the club and earning good money is very very poor and not offering value for money - does that mean the wage structure needs looked at and examined and that the playing squad, youths included, have to be really evaluated properly.

The aim of everyone with a passion for Hibs is to get a team on the pitch which is consistently good - not always winning, but more often than not, consistently good. And a team that when the whistle blows at 4.50pm, they get a round of applause, win,loss or draw - because they offered up some really good entertainment. A hard task, but achievable.

13-08-2013, 06:31 PM
Personally, I think we should stick by Pat and give him more time. He has lost one the best players we have had in long time in Griffiths and he was never going to be able to replace him. There was always going to be a transitional period at the start of this season, yes that has involved an embarrassing home defeat in europe and another defeat to our biggest rivals but I still think given more time we will improve, if that means finishing one position higher in the league then so be it! I think that is better than hiring a new manager who turns fortunes round in the short term then falling away again which has happened in the past with each new manager.

Pat has given all of us the chance to dream about winning a Scottish Cup final, twice! Yes, both ended in heartache that will never go away but I would take that over never having the chance. The steady hiring and firing of managers in our recent history is an embarrassment! I've got to say I never liked or wanted Calderwood and was relieved when Hughes went but this is the time I believe to stick by our manager not heckle or protest against him.

I am not a happy clapper by any means and I am slightly confused with his obsession of bringing in defensive midfielders but let's get behind the manager and the team and hopefully he will prove his worth!

Building a side for an entire season which relied on one player and that one player being a loan and having nothing else in the playbook is mental. The way fenlons team plays requires the man up top to keep producing moments of brilliance. I said it last season that many of griffiths goals were finishes that 99% of other strikers couldnt achieve. With that in mind, why are we playing the same tactics minus the man up top that can produce moments of magic? Yes the steady hiring and firing is an embarrasment but lets not stick with a clearly flawed manager just because of it. Has Fenlon made much improvement in his time? Have we moved on that much from calderwood? Both managers have and had us playing eye bleedingly bad football. both managers have an inability to change things during a match. Both managers neglected certain positions whilst buying players. Results will see fenlon better than calderwood but the league is easier, no rangers for a start and Hearts are not as good as a few seasons ago.

why should their be a transitional period because we lost 1 player? Hibs will lose players every season, especially if they are good, we have to replace them in time for the start of the season. thats what managers are employed to do

13-08-2013, 06:36 PM
I will be at the protest and will be aiming the majority of my complaints in a civilised manner at our current board. I think we all know Fenlon isn't up to the job but he's a decent bloke who tried his best and fell short.

I'm a little confused as to why people on here weren't planning protests in June/July against the board? Why, in the space of just 4 games, are people now reacting like this against the board?

Knee jerk reaction...?

Manager out - yes
Board out - not convinced

13-08-2013, 06:38 PM

Venting anger towards Pat Fenlon is a bad idea.I agree with most folk that his time his up but carrying on outside the ground chanting and wanting him out is not the answer.

All that will do is hit the morale of the players,at a time when they need a lot of support

hibee19
13-08-2013, 06:42 PM
Venting anger towards Pat Fenlon is a bad idea.I agree with most folk that his time his up but carrying on outside the ground chanting and wanting him out is not the answer.

All that will do is hit the morale of the players,at a time when they need a lot of support

If our players are that soft we're going to need an awful lot of signings before the window shuts.

13-08-2013, 06:44 PM
I'm a little confused as to why people on here weren't planning protests in June/July against the board? Why, in the space of just 4 games, are people now reacting like this against the board?

Knee jerk reaction...?

Manager out - yes

Totally agree. Fenlon has been well backed since he got the job and this pre season in particular. The protests should be against the manager!

In my humble opinion obviously!

13-08-2013, 06:44 PM
Hail, hail Igor!

Alright mate, that was a good gig on Sat,. I'm off to Wembley tomorrow mate, not planning another trip up to see the Hibs until Xmas. Malmo and Sundays done me, got a feeling after tomorrow night I'll be board of football season 13/14 already haha

13-08-2013, 06:49 PM
Totally agree. Fenlon has been well backed since he got the job and this pre season in particular. The protests should be against the manager!

In my humble opinion obviously!

Agreed 100%

connerg
13-08-2013, 06:59 PM
Our branch spent 10k on buses for away games last season and nearly all of us have season tickets so we've backed the club home and away and that's people's hard earned cash. Not to mention the cup final etc etc. there comes a point when even the die hards say enough is enough. I've been going for years and I along with many others just can't sit and watch this poor team play defensive containment football like Alex miller did years ago. We as fans should be rewarded on the park for the backing we've given the team by purchasing season tickets, club memberships, merchandise from the shop, east stand stones etc.

We have been rewarded with 5 managers in a row who don't know the game, can't play attacking football and think its acceptable to finish in the bottom six, lose to teams like Dundee and Ross county even Ayr utd. Draw home games we should be winning easily. Lose to hearts without a fight which is just unacceptable. Every season the propaganda makes a dent in your carpet when it drops through the letter box with all season ticket renewal forms shop catalogues with an accompanying letter which says your club needs you the best way to back the team is get a season ticket all the money goes to the manager. My erse it does.

We've got nothing back for years now. Petrie appoints these managers so he has to carry the can. He says who we can and can't sign and more often than not its the cheap option or panic buys. Time for Fenlon and Petrie to go and Mr farmer needs to have a word with himself. I've gave my backing to the club, indeed including family members that's 1600 quid they've got of us this season for season tickets and again no reward on the park. Not even an apology for the malmo game.

Needs must and this club needs a new direction and until we change direction and put a winning team on the park play attractive football which won't happen under Fenlon or petries tenure as long as cheap appointments are made. Until changes are made I'm out. Sorry folks just had enough.

I hope this protest succeeds because I can't face another season of torture.
:top marksI feel your pain. One family spending Ģ1600 on season tickets is a family Petrie will not want to lose!!!

13-08-2013, 06:59 PM
If we had scored 10 against Malmo would there still be a protest? If The board hadnt had a succession of mince managers would we be protesting? If the team were playing like Barca on a good day would we be protesting? All ifs and buts but the facts are we are honking on the pitch and we are making records for all the wrong reasons!

Success at a football club is results, league positions and silverware. You get no prizes for good stadiums, good training facilities and a better balance sheet than the rest. Its the opposite im afraid, look at our neighbours across the city. Obviously theirs came with consequences but there is a balance to be struck between infrastructure, balance sheets and results. We are miles off the results im afraid, and as for the balance sheet. It would be looking a whole lot healthier if there wasnt a succession of rubbish managers getting paid off and a new team to be bought every season and a half. This is why the protest is about the manager and the board. We are unhappy with the manager and want him out, we also want a good manager put in place and we dont trust the current board to deliver that, and thats why there will be a protest against the board as well.

All those other things that the club are doing for the community is great, but they will be able to do less and less if the football side of things dont improve as the fans wont turn up and the money will dry up.

Great post

13-08-2013, 07:05 PM
So some people are protesting against the board, but don't think we should be aiming any anger at Fenlon. On the other hand, we've got people saying this is purely a protest about Fenlon, not the board.

This can only end well.

13-08-2013, 07:08 PM

well if Fenlon is doing what he said he would do, and bring in a certain type of player that would have a strong mentality do deal with pressure then this sort of thing should galvanise them and get them to put in a good performance.

Keeping a manager in place that plays players out of position and has them playing a honking style of football, record defeats for the club and scottish football, losing against your rivals worst team for years, that will hit morale!

Morale and confidence will already be long gone, the Malmo result and then the hearts game made sure of that. The only thing that can restore Morale and confidence is winning consistently. Fenlon seems unable to do that so unless we get him out then I dont see any other option.

13-08-2013, 07:10 PM
So some people are protesting against the board, but don't think we should be aiming any anger at Fenlon. On the other hand, we've got people saying this is purely a protest about Fenlon, not the board.

This can only end well.

I'm with the Judean People's Front.

13-08-2013, 07:15 PM
I'm with the Judean People's Front.

Pah, you should join the peoples front of Judea ;-)

13-08-2013, 07:16 PM
well if Fenlon is doing what he said he would do, and bring in a certain type of player that would have a strong mentality do deal with pressure then this sort of thing should galvanise them and get them to put in a good performance.

Keeping a manager in place that plays players out of position and has them playing a honking style of football, record defeats for the club and scottish football, losing against your rivals worst team for years, that will hit morale!

Morale and confidence will already be long gone, the Malmo result and then the hearts game made sure of that. The only thing that can restore Morale and confidence is winning consistently. Fenlon seems unable to do that so unless we get him out then I dont see any other option.

Dont disagree for one moment about the rubbish on display,but shouting outside the ground before kick off is not a good idea,in my opinion of course

Gustavo Fring
13-08-2013, 07:17 PM
the protest should be aimed at the board to remove fenlon..who should have done the decent thing and resigned after giving hibs the tag of scotlands record losers in europe

most hibbys seem to want fenlon gone and he's made it clear he isnt going anywhere .

13-08-2013, 07:18 PM

Knee jerk reaction...?

Manager out - yes

A knee jerk reaction to getting the board out (Rod Petrie really) no chance, he cannot be trusted to pick another manger, if he does, we will be back here in 18 months talking about the same crap, sorry but Petrie's time is up at our club, this is turning in to another CC fiasco, the fans can see the car crash is just round the corner, Petrie hopes it won't happen, it will ****ing happen, leave it a couple of corners and we are looking at a pile up.

Are you happy for our board (Rod Petrie) to pick another manager, i am not.

Petrie And Fenlon Out.

#wearehibernianfc

13-08-2013, 07:18 PM

This can only end well.

I'd say the protest covers both - Pat has assembled a team that for 2 seasons has been really poor to watch, saved by one particularly good striker who we couldn't buy (or wouldn't invest properly in). The football shows no sign of progression or creativity and pace - despite 4 windows.

The Board have backed him, and other managers, however it appears that this has been done with no real due diligence as to the calibre of player we are targeting or bringing in. Entertainment and style = bums on seats. The Board don't need to undermine the manager - but they do need to scrutinise his or the coaching teams targets and decide if it is consistent with a footballing vision - a good, entertaining, value for money team.

Joe Keenan, Valdas Trakys, having 4 keepers in a 'keeper school', Alan O'Brien, Darryl Duffy, Ed De Graaf, Zurabi, Matt Done et al..........other than Leigh and Alex (in his brief spell in side), there have been literally no players at Easter Road these last 3 seasons that I have regularly got out my seat for when he gets possession of the ball, in anticipation of some great, driving, dazzling skill. Not one.

Scouting needs explained, football direction and philosophy needs explained, players out injured so often needs explained, and apologies need dished out without question. This may the season, despite Hearts points deduction, that finally does sink us to Division 1 (or it's new name).

13-08-2013, 07:19 PM
I don't understand why folk would protest against the board when the pressing need is to get rid of the manager.

13-08-2013, 07:24 PM

The manager has lost the support, he will come under pressure on Saturday, the team will get the support from the fans that turn up for this game.

13-08-2013, 07:35 PM
A knee jerk reaction to getting the board out (Rod Petrie really) no chance, he cannot be trusted to pick another manger, if he does, we will be back here in 18 months talking about the same crap, sorry but Petrie's time is up at our club, this is turning in to another CC fiasco, the fans can see the car crash is just round the corner, Petrie hopes it won't happen, it will ****ing happen, leave it a couple of corners and we are looking at a pile up.

Are you happy for our board (Rod Petrie) to pick another manager, i am not.

Petrie And Fenlon Out.

#wearehibernianfc

Knee jerk because I never heard you, or many others mention a protest against the board 3 weeks ago...

I'll balance my views on the entire picture of the club thanks.

13-08-2013, 07:36 PM
Dont disagree for one moment about the rubbish on display,but shouting outside the ground before kick off is not a good idea,in my opinion of course

Shouting outside before the game and then getting behind the players at kickoff is what I will be doing and hope others do as well. Sends a clear message that we are unhappy with Fenlon and the board but shows the players we are still behind them. If there is no protest there is more of a likelihood that the atmosphere at the game will be negative and the players could be effected. All IMO of course, not really a seasoned protestor!

13-08-2013, 07:37 PM
Knee jerk because I never heard you, or many others mention a protest against the board 3 weeks ago...

I'll balance my views on the entire picture of the club thanks.

surely there must be a tipping point, otherwise every decision made would be knee jerk!

13-08-2013, 07:38 PM
I don't understand why folk would protest against the board when the pressing need is to get rid of the manager.

Precisely. Sure, let the board know we are not happy but it's the manager who is selecting the team, coaching the team, managing the team...

Outwith the club's infrastructure, the board have also backed PF with a more than decent squad...

13-08-2013, 07:40 PM
The manager has lost the support, he will come under pressure on Saturday, the team will get the support from the fans that turn up for this game.

Lets hope so

13-08-2013, 07:40 PM

Whats the point of emptying a manager that will likely be replaced by someone of the same calibre?

Gustavo Fring
13-08-2013, 07:41 PM
Whats the point of emptying a manager that will likely be replaced by the calibre?

im not sure its possible to find another manager of fenlons calibre , he's in a league of his own

13-08-2013, 07:43 PM
Precisely. Sure, let the board know we are not happy but it's the manager who is selecting the team, coaching the team, managing the team...

Outwith the club's infrastructure, the board have also backed PF with a more than decent squad...

Its not more than decent though. If you had a squad made up of 30 of the best central defenders in the world we would have 30 good footballers but we wouldn't be able to score much. Squads need to be balanced, ours isn't.

13-08-2013, 07:43 PM
Shouting outside before the game and then getting behind the players at kickoff is what I will be doing and hope others do as well. Sends a clear message that we are unhappy with Fenlon and the board but shows the players we are still behind them. If there is no protest there is more of a likelihood that the atmosphere at the game will be negative and the players could be effected. All IMO of course, not really a seasoned protestor!

Buy a big drum and shave your head would be a start !!!

13-08-2013, 07:51 PM

Buy a big drum and shave your head would be a start !!!

13-08-2013, 07:52 PM
What about that last mob who were kicking about just before Fenlon was appointed. Hibs for change or something.

Maybe they can give you all a few pointers.

13-08-2013, 07:54 PM
surely there must be a tipping point, otherwise every decision made would be knee jerk!

I can see it being the tipping point for the manager, absolutely...

But to remove RP and the entire board? I'm not so sure... They have undoubtedly backed him in the summer and he has failed.

13-08-2013, 07:56 PM
Methinks many folk have no idea who or why they will be protesting against and how they can improve the situation! The board, the manager, both or let's just join the protest because I said I would on an internet forum. ****** comical really :faf:

13-08-2013, 08:02 PM
Methinks many folk have no idea who or why they will be protesting against and how they can improve the situation! The board, the manager, both or let's just join the protest because I said I would on an internet forum. ****** comical really :faf:

Glad I'm not the only one who thinks this.

13-08-2013, 08:03 PM

It's not really.

People know somethings not right at the club but a lot of us don't know what, I don't believe fenlon, calderwood, mixu, and to a lesser extent yogi and jc are bad managers but despite the fact they've been backed financially they still couldn't get a good team out, something stinks at the club and I think its about time questions were asked.

hibee19
13-08-2013, 08:04 PM
I can see it being the tipping point for the manager, absolutely...

But to remove RP and the entire board? I'm not so sure... They have undoubtedly backed him in the summer and he has failed.

How many managers need to fail before we realize the problems lie much deeper.

13-08-2013, 08:04 PM
This is all a bit strange.
Protest and boycott if we see a danger to the existence of the club, but an organised demo centred around ***** results on the pitch?

An emphatic No from me and I am old enough to remember mobs behinds the old stand calling for the heads of such celebrated custodians as Eddie Turnbull, Tom Hart and Kenny Waugh.

We collectively support the club on and off the field, but if we stop supporting them on it what becomes the point of referring to yourself as a Hibs Supporter?
Hibs activist nearer the mark?

And if the protest successfully helps oust Fenlon, what next? Keep protesting until we get the man that the mob want in? And how long do we give it before we get mouthy at the back of the West again?

(Contrary to a lot of posts on this forum) we don't pick the executives, backroom staff or the team and we don't decide what their salaries or contracts are.

The running of the club is not in the hands of us. Never has been and most likely never will be.

The only possible influence the average Hibs Joe can have is choosing to support them (or not), by means of the myriad of options open to him / her (Season tickets, Walk-ups, Shares, Hibernians, The Historical Trust, Hibernian TV, Hospitality, Club shop, Happy Hibbie, Pies and Pizza, Programmes etc etc). We all make our choices on this.

Bawling and shouting about the current manager (admittedly not doing at all well), behind the stand will get you and us nowhere.

13-08-2013, 08:06 PM

Na, what is ****ing comical is getting pumped of hertz yoof on Sunday.

But lets just forget that and pop along to support the team on Saturday and think everything is dandy.

Fenlon has to go along with the man who picked him for the job, Rod Petrie, so i will be there protesting against both of them, then after that i will take my seat in the stand and support the team, a defeat and it will be round to the main stand again for another protest.

13-08-2013, 08:07 PM
Glad I'm not the only one who thinks this.

Thirded.

13-08-2013, 08:08 PM
i've got a vision of protesters walking up st.clair st/albion rd kicking giant moustaches all over the place

http://leparadigmedelelegance.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/moustache.jpg

nah from me

hibee19

I think the vast majority would tell you the board is the problem, it was them who hired PF.

I would have hoped your kind of comments could be saved for kickback, not very constructive and insulting towards a number of our fans.

How many managers need to fail before we realize the problems lie much deeper.

Do the problems lie deeper? How do you know this? I'm all ears if anyone can explain this to me...

hibee19
13-08-2013, 08:12 PM
Do the problems lie deeper? How do you know this? I'm all ears if anyone can explain this to me...

Yet another manager has failed. Thats 4 completely failed managerial appointments. Is that just bad luck?

hibs4thecup1988
13-08-2013, 08:13 PM

Writing that says it all for me...of course it lies deeper.

Until Petrie goes then there is always going to be the feeling for a manager that he is not full backed. Ask John Collins. In that moment when they went to Petrie all those years ago that effectively cost Hibs ANY progress we had made with the training centre. If Petrie goes then it would be a new start at the club for everyone.

Who knows what Fenlon is saying to the players at training, maybe they are not taking it on board due to previous situations with managers?

We need a clear out at board level, manager can stay or go to be honest, but the board are the ones who need to change.

13-08-2013, 08:13 PM
Protest and boycott if we see a danger to the existence of the club, but an organised demo centred around ***** results on the pitch?

An emphatic No from me and I am old enough to remember mobs behinds the old stand calling for the heads of such celebrated custodians as Eddie Turnbull, Tom Hart and Kenny Waugh.

We collectively support the club on and off the field, but if we stop supporting them on it what becomes the point of referring to yourself as a Hibs Supporter?

And if the protest successfully helps oust Fenlon, what next? Keep protesting until we get the man that the mob want in? And how long do we give it before we get mouthy at the back of the West again?

(Contrary to a lot of posts on this forum) we don't pick the executives, backroom staff or the team and we don't decide what their salaries or contracts are.

The running of the club is not in the hands of us. Never has been and most likely never will be.

The only possible influence the average Hibs Joe can have is choosing to support them (or not), by means of the myriad of options open to him / her (Season tickets, Walk-ups, Shares, Hibernians, The Historical Trust, Hibernian TV, Hospitality, Club shop, Happy Hibbie, Pies and Pizza, Programmes etc etc). We all make our choices on this.

Bawling and shouting about the current manager (admittedly not doing at all well), behind the stand will get you and us nowhere.

HH, of course people can decide whether they want to or not = but of those that do I think a support also at times need to hear the direction the club wants to go in - and the Cup Final result, the results pre-season and now the competitive games results I think deserve some kind of explanation with accompanying apology. The club have been way way too silent. They are quick to ask for money, support (financial) and 'togetherness' - no Board of Directors or owner is above and beyond scrutiny and constructive criticism.

All I want if I am honest is to hear what the footballing vision is - if it is a team that is 'hard to beat' (in a defensively minded sense), then sorry, I'm out. For good. If it's a team that is based around skill, pace, creativity and entertainment, players played in their preferred position - I'm all in.

Too much money has been spent, too much emotion wasted - and I now have a boy who would rather go into town with his mates than watch Hibs - which is a far cry from 3 or 4 years ago. I go through love and blind loyalty, but even now as I type it's being tested to the limit.

13-08-2013, 08:15 PM
98 % agree Fenlon has to go.

RP / STF ans the so called boards support is the lowest it's ever been.

Now the problem right now is that supporters are frustrated / angry / wanting action AND SPLIT over who they are protesting against.

The best protests happen when you have STRENGTH IN NUMBERS. A Protest need to have substance and a clear objective / goal about what it's against.

I am as angry as anyone and want action now but could be tempted to see how the next few games go and then you could see even more people join in and force change.

The last thing you want is a poor turnout and the media to make a mockery of it / the club.

I do think acting is better than waiting - however if we win 5v0 (very unlikey) on Saturday do people still want change or will they be happy again and that gives Fenlon / RP and co more breathing space. Results do impact mood but if Fenlon had won the derby would people be as outraged as they have been since? Doubt it...

I'm not saying people have knee jerk reactions and I do believe that performance could be a real turning point to getting the fans reunited again and getting the club moving forward again but fans must be together and clear on what they are wanting - and whether we win on Saturday or not the pressure must remain - otherwise the club will continue to go in circles and the fans split.

The worst thing about all this is the YAMS are in a massive hole - there is no Rangers in the league and we are shooting ourselves in the foot and imploding.

We need to sort ourselves out and quickly but together as one :agree:

13-08-2013, 08:15 PM
Na, what is ****ing comical is getting pumped of hertz yoof on Sunday.

But lets just forget that and pop along to support the team on Saturday and think everything is dandy.

Fenlon has to go along with the man who picked him for the job, Rod Petrie, so i will be there protesting against both of them, then after that i will take my seat in the stand and support the team, a defeat and it will be round to the main stand again for another protest.

So explain what or who do you want? Fenlon out, fair enough managers lose their jobs based on results generally.

So let's look at the board or Petrie as you have done and ask what exactly do you want from him................resign? He's picked decent manager's before, he's backed them within the financial constraints that keeps the club where it is, he's got the signings they have asked for and with signings that we have lauded as being good for the club and generally impressed with before they have kicked a ball. What can another chairman do better than that?

13-08-2013, 08:18 PM
Yet another manager has failed. Thats 4 completely failed managerial appointments. Is that just bad luck?

Possibly. Why couldn't it be?

Please explain the 'deeper problems'? If I'm to be persuaded to join a protest against Petrie, I need to be convinced.

13-08-2013, 08:19 PM
So explain what or who do you want? Fenlon out, fair enough managers lose their jobs based on results generally.

So let's look at the board or Petrie as you have done and ask what exactly do you want from him................resign? He's picked decent manager's before, he's backed them within the financial constraints that keeps the club where it is, he's got the signings they have asked for and with signings that we have lauded as being good for the club and generally impressed with before they have kicked a ball. What can another chairman do better than that?

And what happens if the next chairman picks a manager who fails??

13-08-2013, 08:20 PM
I think the vast majority would tell you the board is the problem, it was them who hired PF. w

I would have hoped your kind of comments could be saved for kickback, not very constructive and insulting towards a number of our fans.

Away to **** with your kickback comments, blind protestation is just as insulting to our club.

I`m sure the directors are pretty much fully aware of the fans unhappiness at the way things are right now. There was a protest as such at Tynecastle after the final whistle, with what felt like the majority of the Hibs support hanging back at full time to vent their displeasure towards both Pat Fenlon and Rod Petrie. If we lose and perform in a similar fashion this Saturday there will be similar scenes at full time, and will likely see fans congregating behind West Stand post match to carry on voicing their concerns.
I just don`t see what will be achieved by organising a protest before the Dundee United game. The board know we found Sundays defeat unacceptable, they saw and heard us at full time. They will read this forum. Even if they don`t actually read them, they will be aware of the volumes of e-mail/correspondence sent to them from disgruntled fans.

The most important thing this Saturday surely has to be supporting the team 100% and to try and break our duck both points and goal wise. If we see a performance that was as uninspiring as what we have been subjected to to date, then protests will happen naturally.

Let me just grasp this. So there is going to be a demo outside the West Stand against PF/RP/The Board/STF (delete where applicable) and then go in and support the team? The team on the park, the players? The same players we have thread after thread abusing and calling all sorts of strange horrible names? The same players that I have heard torrents of abuse raining down on in the last four games I have seen? But Saturday we will be supporting them? OK, gonna be interesting.

13-08-2013, 08:21 PM
And what happens if the next chairman picks a manager who fails??

Exactly, so short sighted it's unbelievable.

hibs4thecup1988
13-08-2013, 08:22 PM
Let me just grasp this. So there is going to be a demo outside the West Stand against PF/RP/The Board/STF (delete where applicable) and then go in and support the team? The team on the park, the players? The same players we have thread after thread abusing and calling all sorts of strange horrible names? The same players that I have heard torrents of abuse raining down on in the last four games I have seen? But Saturday we will be supporting them? OK, gonna be interesting.

:not worth:not worth:top marks:top marks:top marks :faf:

hibee19
13-08-2013, 08:25 PM
Away to **** with your kickback comments, blind protestation is just as insulting to our club.

Thats exactly the kind of comment I would expect to see on there. Our club is slowly being destroyed, sitting back and doing nothing would be 100 times worse.

13-08-2013, 08:28 PM
Thats exactly the kind of comment I would expect to see on there. Our club is slowly being destroyed, sitting back and doing nothing would be 100 times worse.

You spend a lot of time on there do you?

Sitting back and doing nothing! Tell me what/who you think the answer is................I'm intrigued.

may 21/05/2016
13-08-2013, 08:28 PM
Count me out

Sent from my HTC One X+ using Tapatalk 4

13-08-2013, 08:31 PM

Yeah probably.None have had a decent track record at spl level before they were appointed.

Get in a seasoned manager and i believe we will see the difference

13-08-2013, 08:35 PM
HH, of course people can decide whether they want to or not = but of those that do I think a support also at times need to hear the direction the club wants to go in - and the Cup Final result, the results pre-season and now the competitive games results I think deserve some kind of explanation with accompanying apology. The club have been way way too silent. They are quick to ask for money, support (financial) and 'togetherness' - no Board of Directors or owner is above and beyond scrutiny and constructive criticism.

All I want if I am honest is to hear what the footballing vision is - if it is a team that is 'hard to beat' (in a defensively minded sense), then sorry, I'm out. For good. If it's a team that is based around skill, pace, creativity and entertainment, players played in their preferred position - I'm all in.

Too much money has been spent, too much emotion wasted - and I now have a boy who would rather go into town with his mates than watch Hibs - which is a far cry from 3 or 4 years ago. I go through love and blind loyalty, but even now as I type it's being tested to the limit.

I am sure you have been at it as long as me and if you have, then you have witnessed more bad than good and you made your choice a long time ago regardless. I've had about 25 years out of 40-odd (if I'm being kind) that lacked the qualities you refer to.

I don't attend these LWT meetings, but I do attend AGMs, which is where such pertinent questions as performance and selectivity can be asked. Maybe we need to force some change in the LWT format? I don't know but someone might.

One question - what do you think the protest at the back of the West will achieve? I think it will make a few on here feel better about themselves and not much more.

hibee19
You spend a lot of time on there do you?

Sitting back and doing nothing! Tell me what/who you think the answer is................I'm intrigued.

I don't have all the answers and would never claim to. What certainly isn't the answer is sacking another manager and the same people who have failed with managerial appointments time and time again appointing yet another new manager.

I'd rather people protested in whatever form than just started drifting away.

I really think this is the final straw for a lot of fans, If we lose them now they could be gone forever. Fenlon is way out if his depth that's for sure - there is also a deeper issue at Easter road but I'm not sure anyone knows exactly what it is or how to fix it.

Do we need a DoF? Possibly, Petrie certainly can't continue appointing failure after failure but whose to say he could get the DoF appointment right.

Ryan69
13-08-2013, 08:37 PM

So do we just carry on as it is then?

Were served with the same ***** everyweek...nothing changes.
Not even a squeek from the board after 2 of our most embarrasing results in history...Currently we are looked upon as a joke by everybody!
Now we can either go and accept it and watch crowds dwindle....or take action!

Something within Hibernian is rotten..on the pitch,merchandising,customer service,and as paying customers were entitled to show how we feel.

13-08-2013, 08:38 PM
I can see a lot of confusion if no one sorts this mess out so here goes.

We need 3 organisers to nominate themselves for each of the following groups.

Group 1 - Fenlon out - please assemble infront of west stand, north side

Group 2 - Petrie out - please assemble infront of west stand, south side

Group 3 (Uber Protestors) - Fenlon and Petrie out - please assemble between the 2 above groups.

Your co-operation will be greatly appreciated. :flag:

13-08-2013, 08:40 PM

The new East Stand is three seasons old maybe? The Training Centre is in it's sixth or seventh season I think. We are rank on the pitch again, but please explain this seemingly systematic destruction of the club that is taking place.

13-08-2013, 08:41 PM
I don't have all the answers and would never claim to. What certainly isn't the answer is sacking another manager and the same people who have failed with managerial appointments time and time again appointing yet another new manager.

So are you saying the answer is to sack the manager and the board or chairman?

hibee19
13-08-2013, 08:43 PM
The new East Stand is three seasons old maybe? The Training Centre is in it's sixth or seventh season I think. We are rank on the pitch again, but please explain this seemingly systematic destruction of the club that is taking place.

Football is about what happens on the pitch. Thats what determines how much prize money we earn and how many fans show up each week.

The only part i'm unhappy with the board is the "picking managers" part.
I'm more than happy with all the rest, keeping the ship stable,growing the club etc.
We should be protesting about how they pick the managers.
we need a proper footballing head on board imo.

Perhaps we can't afford to sack Pat Fenlon.
People have said we have backed him with alot of cash this year.
Petrie is not going to come out and say "look,we'd really like to try someone new as Pat doesn't seem to be doing it"
Even if thats what the board currently think it'd make things worse coming out and stating it if we cannot afford to sack him.
This is what the silence from ER tells me.

Imo i reckon we will get better and start picking up points.
Maybe end up between 6th/9th then next year we will get the change.
Hopefully a Director of football first.
Then a new manager.

A manager chosen properly for the first time in a long time.This has been the problem.

Green_one
T
And if the protest successfully helps oust Fenlon, what next?

Not sure about a protest myself. Its too late basically. The manager should be bringing players in but now we are trapped in a 'will he go' / 'will he stay and not be backed' position. Who would be the next manager and when would he take over? Please not the assistant manager!!!!

The club is at risk whatever we do now. Its exasperating and frankly all too familiar.

If the senior management needs us to protest to show them the situation then it is even worse than I thought.

We cannot even make progress in a league without Rangers and a disabled Hearts. It is shameful.

Fenlon does need to go but no-one should believe we will have anything other than another very poor season.

13-08-2013, 08:44 PM

Not wishing to speak for the other poster but for me, it's been a slow and steady destruction \ erosion \ removal of soul and interest in the club for me. Off field, everything looks great. And credit has rightly been dished out in that regard.

But the playing side has been terrible. Where is the pride in playing for this once great club? I'm bored watching terrible football. I said as much (again) after the 'well match.

I enjoyed the U20's tonight. Been ages since I've enjoyed a 1st team game.

13-08-2013, 08:44 PM
I can see a lot of confusion if no one sorts this mess out so here goes.

We need 3 organisers to nominate themselves for each of the following groups.

Group 1 - Fenlon out - please assemble infront of west stand, north side

Group 2 - Petrie out - please assemble infront of west stand, south side

Group 3 (Uber Protestors) - Fenlon and Petrie out - please assemble between the 2 above groups.

Your co-operation will be greatly appreciated. :flag:

You forgot:

Group 4 - (Rent a crowd) those who don't really have a clue what they want to protest about but will join in anyway because they like to stand in a crowd and shout - please stay away.

13-08-2013, 08:46 PM
Can we not just protest from the boozer??

khib70
13-08-2013, 08:53 PM
You forgot:

Group 4 - (Rent a crowd) those who don't really have a clue what they want to protest about but will join in anyway because they like to stand in a crowd and shout - please stay away.
So belittling Hibs fans who are genuinely concerned about the road our club is going down presumably stokes the fires of uberfandom in you.

Since you clearly think the answer is doing absolutely nothing, and continuing to cough up the cash, why don't you just do that and let others who haven't taken the blind faith tablets do things their way without your continual sneering

13-08-2013, 08:56 PM
Genuine question, why protest before a game and not after it? Surely this could be disruptive to the team ahead of the game? Or is it because if we win things may not look as bad and a protest would be less relevant?

13-08-2013, 08:58 PM
So belittling Hibs fans who are genuinely concerned about the road our club is going down presumably stokes the fires of uberfandom in you.

Since you clearly think the answer is doing absolutely nothing, and continuing to cough up the cash, why don't you just do that and let others who haven't taken the blind faith tablets do things their way without your continual sneering

No, I clearly stated the type of person I was referring to and they were not the ones who are genuinely concerned about our club so open your eyes and try reading the post.

Uberfandom???? Haven't got a scooby what you're on about.

As for the rest, I can't even be bothered to explain!

13-08-2013, 08:59 PM
Genuine question, why protest before a game and not after it? Surely this could be disruptive to the team ahead of the game? Or is it because if we win things may not look as bad and a protest would be less relevant?

Why would it effect the team? They'll be in the changing room or doing there warm up surely?

I think before the game is a good idea as if we were to lose it'd look like the protest was based on one result but its not, its about years of miss management.

13-08-2013, 09:04 PM
What happens if we win on Saturday. Will all be forgiven?

13-08-2013, 09:04 PM
For the next game, we should make sure that all the fans that want the current manager to stay, all sit in the East. Personally, I couldn't bring myself to boycott a home game but have no issues whatsoever with anyone that feels this is a valid way to protest. I think a completely empty ne,w stand would be a powerful visual.

Gustavo Fring
13-08-2013, 09:07 PM
What happens if we win on Saturday. Will all be forgiven?

no chance

13-08-2013, 09:07 PM
For the next game, we should make sure that all the fans that want the current manager to stay, all sit in the East. Personally, I couldn't bring myself to boycott a home game but have no issues whatsoever with anyone that feels this is a valid way to protest. I think a completely empty ne,w stand would be a powerful visual.

It's bad enough attending ER without forcing me to sit in the East.:greengrin

13-08-2013, 09:09 PM
no chance

What, that we'll win or that it'll give Pat a break for a couple of weeks?

Gustavo Fring
13-08-2013, 09:13 PM
What, that we'll win or that it'll give Pat a break for a couple of weeks?

either scenario looks unlikely .

Hibby 2005
13-08-2013, 09:13 PM

If we win it'll be scrappy and probably lucky.

FWIW I doubt there'll be much of a protest just as there won't be much of a crowd.

13-08-2013, 09:25 PM
Why would it effect the team? They'll be in the changing room or doing there warm up surely?

I think before the game is a good idea as if we were to lose it'd look like the protest was based on one result but its not, its about years of miss management.

Years of mismanagement? I'm lost on that one...

Why no protests throughout these 'years'?

Bearders
13-08-2013, 09:27 PM
[QUOTE=hibee19;3718835]I think the vast majority would tell you the board is the problem, it was them who hired PF.

Is it the collective efforts of all members of the Board that is the problem or those of the main and quite possibly only key decision maker?

hibee19
13-08-2013, 09:28 PM

Patience is beginning to wear thin. It would have been strange to have a protest not long after we won the League Cup would it not?

13-08-2013, 09:28 PM

The point - which I think you are missing - is that the results \ performances this season has been the tipping point for many fans.

Everyone knows about the decline we have been on over the years but we hoped it would turn around. It hasn't, and the object failure at Tynecastle has broken the patience of many.

Gustavo Fring
13-08-2013, 09:29 PM

i think the recent humiliations on the big stage has been a wake up call to alot of people

Ryan69
13-08-2013, 09:31 PM
i think the recent humiliations on the big stage has been a wake up call to alot of people

Weve had quite a few huge games in the last couple of years...and im pretty sure weve lost them all!

13-08-2013, 09:32 PM
Patience is beginning to wear thin. It would have been strange to have a protest not long after we won the League Cup would it not?

We won the league cup over 6 years ago

13-08-2013, 09:34 PM
People that are against the protest don't seem to be coming up with any valid reasons as to why?

Surely yous can't be happy with how its going and its shown in the last year how giving our full backing to the team in the big matches doesn't make any difference to this lot.

13-08-2013, 09:40 PM
Guys, please don't turn this into an attempt at comedy. This is really serious.

As I mentioned earlier, if we do nothing, we're no better than the Hearts fans who presided over the demise of their club.

Did you laugh at them and their in-action? Guess what, they're now laughing at you.
What pish. Two league games in. Get a grip ffs. If this run continues for a few more weeks and the board do nothing then maybe that will be the time. Protesting now is pathetic imo. You cant possibly compare it with Hertz fans inaction.

13-08-2013, 09:42 PM

How many decent one's has he picked, i count one maybe two(feeling generous) , the rest have been gash, results have shown that over the last how many years, maybe when Yogi got us 4th but look where it ended with him, Mr Petrie having a go at him " the last incumbent" was his words, why is it not working with any of the managers he is bringing in to the club, yes every manager has been backed, that's what clubs do for there manager, but does the club go that we bit extra to get the right man in for the manager.

The last bit in bold, has he, we seem to lose out on a lot of players over recent years, the latest being the lad Kyle from Falkirk, Hibs didn't go that extra mile to get him, so the manager doesn't always get who he wants because Petrie won't go that extra bit.

We are dumping a manager nearly every 18 months, it costs money to keep doing that, money that would be better spent on the team, who keeps getting it wrong picking all the dud managers, after CC i thought the only way is up for the club there was no other direction to go i thought, but good old RP has lumbered us with Fenlon who just keeps on embarrassing our club.

Time for Fenlon and Petrie to go.

13-08-2013, 09:43 PM
The point - which I think you are missing - is that the results \ performances this season has been the tipping point for many fans.

Everyone knows about the decline we have been on over the years but we hoped it would turn around. It hasn't, and the object failure at Tynecastle has broken the patience of many.

I do understand the timing regarding wanting the manager out. Even after a couple of games it's clear PF isn't the man for us.

Wanting the board out however, is quite a big statement. I guess I havent heard one point that makes me agree with that course of action.

13-08-2013, 09:48 PM
So far 37 people have said they will protest. Can't see the Board shaking in their boots about that.

May I respectfully suggest that the 37 read the post by Oregon Hibby on the Resurrection of HoH thread.

13-08-2013, 09:51 PM
How many decent one's has he picked, i count one maybe two(feeling generous) , the rest have been gash, results have shown that over the last how many years, maybe when Yogi got us 4th but look where it ended with him, Mr Petrie having a go at him " the last incumbent" was his words, why is it not working with any of the managers he is bringing in to the club, yes every manager has been backed, that's what clubs do for there manager, but does the club go that we bit extra to get the right man in for the manager.

The last bit in bold, has he, we seem to lose out on a lot of players over recent years, the latest being the lad Kyle from Falkirk, Hibs didn't go that extra mile to get him, so the manager doesn't always get who he wants because Petrie won't go that extra bit.

We are dumping a manager nearly every 18 months, it costs money to keep doing that, money that would be better spent on the team, who keeps getting it wrong picking all the dud managers, after CC i thought the only way is up for the club there was no other direction to go i thought, but good old RP has lumbered us with Fenlon who just keeps on embarrassing our club.

Time for Fenlon and Petrie to go.

Can't argue with any of that. I've posted before that one of Fenlon's big frustrations is that he's lost out on players to other Scottish clubs, clubs we should be able to offer more for.

13-08-2013, 09:53 PM
People that are against the protest don't seem to be coming up with any valid reasons as to why?

Surely yous can't be happy with how its going and its shown in the last year how giving our full backing to the team in the big matches doesn't make any difference to this lot.

I am not happy with performances on the pitch. Hence why I want fenlon out.

Other than that I'm quite happy with the way the club is run.

Is that better? I'm guessing it should've been pretty obvious for my reason of not wanting Petrie and the board out but there you go.

I still haven't heard a balanced justification from you though?

HibeeHendo
13-08-2013, 09:54 PM
The timing of this protest against the board would have been more appropriate after we got ****ed off Hearts in the final or in last may's against Celtic. Why now? Imagine you're a player and you inevitably hear about the protest just before kick off, what a great boost that will be to the already shattered confidence. Not any uberness intended, it's just my opinion.

13-08-2013, 09:55 PM
im not sure its possible to find another manager of fenlons calibre , he's in a league of his own

Calderwood? Hughes? Paatelainen?

The issues at Hibs go well beyond the current manager. Lets not pretend the current malaise started with Fenlon FFS.

13-08-2013, 10:01 PM
You forgot:

Thought you were better than that, if you are happy with what you are watching on the pitch then fair enough, but others are not and plan to protest to the club on Saturday, you have said you won't be attending, to now start with the snidey jibes/jokes about folk who have supported the club for a long time and have had enough of the crap being served up every week and now want to put that over to the people in charge of running the club is uncalled for.

Hibby 2005
13-08-2013, 10:07 PM
The timing of this protest against the board would have been more appropriate after we got ****ed off Hearts in the final or in last may's against Celtic. Why now? Imagine you're a player and you inevitably hear about the protest just before kick off, what a great boost that will be to the already shattered confidence. Not any uberness intended, it's just my opinion.

7-0 defeat at home v Malmo probably kicked things off, just a wild guess.

13-08-2013, 10:11 PM
Now that's what you call a shi-ite uprising.

Is the official spokesman for all Hibernian supporters worldwide still knocking around? well, it certainly seems quite easy from your point of view, to slag these people off.I am not associated with,or know about this small demo, but it looks like a genuine group of concerned Hibbies to me. suppose it could be a group o' numpties fae the ither side o' toon, just having a laugh but I don't think so and they should be applauded, not derided by all and sundry! the main banner says it all.

13-08-2013, 10:13 PM

Really? So Fenlon is the 1st failure then? Are your eyes painted, WTF have you been watching?

13-08-2013, 10:15 PM
If not now, when? If not you,who?

HibeeHendo
13-08-2013, 10:18 PM
7-0 defeat at home v Malmo probably kicked things off, just a wild guess.

That 7-0 hurt more than that game against them?