View Full Version : Wimbledon 2013 plus Congrats to Andy Murray (Not football but the boy done good.)
07-07-2013, 05:32 PM
Wonderful performance. British sporting history rewritten. Unbelievable.
Shame about Alex Salmond trying to bring his politics into it. Pathetic. Fat tosser.
07-07-2013, 05:32 PM
Amazing!! Just had a ridiculous whistle stop tour of Sharm in Egypt trying to find somewhere showing it. Eventually found a bar half way thru the first set, full of Scots. Cracking atmosphere! Didnt expect a straight sets win-well deserved tho!!
07-07-2013, 05:35 PM
Salmond (or any politician) shouldn't be allowed to hijack Murray's achievement. Only a politician as classless as Salmond would try.
The sort of cheap stunt that you would expect from Salmond. What an embarrassment to Scotland.
Salmond would clearly have an ulterior motive for bringing out the flag, but at the same time if a Scot wants to celebrate another Scot winning at Wimbledon then he has every right to raise the saltire in my opinion.
07-07-2013, 05:38 PM
Salmond would clearly have an ulterior motive for bringing out the flag, but at the same time if a Scot wants to celebrate another Scot winning at Wimbledon then he has every right to raise the saltire in my opinion.
I've no problem with folk going along to Wimbledon with a saltire whether Murray's playing or not. I just object to the First Minister of Scotland jumping about like a twat trying to use Murray's win for political purposes.
semaj64
07-07-2013, 05:38 PM
Super result for Andy, will he bring the trophy to Easter Road?
07-07-2013, 05:39 PM
Amazing victory, how he managed to win that last game I have no idea............Well Done Andy :-))
BH Hibs
07-07-2013, 05:40 PM
He's one of our own
Seanair
07-07-2013, 05:40 PM
Shame about Alex Salmond trying to bring his politics into it. Pathetic. Fat tosser.
And what was David Cameron doing? Apart from closing Remploy factories in Scotland that is.
07-07-2013, 05:42 PM
awww diddums, eck's a big bad manny :boo hoo:
07-07-2013, 05:42 PM
I've no problem with folk going along to Wimbledon with a saltire whether Murray's playing or not. I just object to the First Minister of Scotland jumping about like a twat trying to use Murray's win for political purposes.
That's where you're not getting it then Beefy, he's not jumping about like a twat, he is a twat.
He's a politician and he'd be naïve not to use this opportunity though, and you can't have been surprised?
He was absolutely brilliant today, well done Andy! :not worth
Wasn't he just :thumbsup: :not worth
telfordhibby
07-07-2013, 05:47 PM
Donated a big chunk of his prize money so Griffiths is back next season....:agree:
07-07-2013, 05:48 PM
He wasn't going to gain any political capital from that, he just looked rather silly. It's a pity he hadn't gone the whole hog and worn a Jimmy hat as well.
Why has he replaced his eyebrows with caterpillars though?:confused:
07-07-2013, 05:51 PM
Someone had better tell Angela Merkel not to wear a Germany scarf at their games again!
Maybe he was just actually really pleased? If you only do it at the same time as expressing a political opinion I hope you don't actually get excited by the likes of the 6-2 game, or the likes - you must be a barry laugh! :greengrin
Anyway, back on topic, the mixed-doubles finalists must currently be feeling the biggest ever "after the lord mayor's show" sensation!
07-07-2013, 05:57 PM
Na just classless.
07-07-2013, 06:09 PM
Now he's won virtually every media report has been emphasising the fact he is a Scot. Aye, he was British all week, now he's actually won it he's Scottish . Bloody English media.:fuming:
Now he's won virtually every media report has been emphasising the fact he is a Scot. Aye, he was British all week, now he's actually won it he's Scottish . Bloody English media.:fuming:And Henman hill is still ...Henman hill ..why ? ....he was gash ..!!!:confused:
07-07-2013, 06:26 PM
Fantastic win from Andy. So happy for him and his family.
That last game was torture! But he showed nerves of steel to come through and he was simply sublime in the penultimate game. What an effort.
Think he'll add a few more Slams to his name now. He should sit the French Open out every year!
Surely in with a shout for the greatest sporting moment in Scottish history since 1902...
07-07-2013, 06:27 PM
Well done Andy Murray, there was never a doubt in my mind that you would win it this year :wink: Makes me extremely proud to be Engl..............Err Briti.............Err living in Scotland :greengrin
07-07-2013, 06:30 PM
And Henman hill is still ...Henman hill ..why ? ....he was gash ..!!!:confused:
Henman hill out, Murray mound in.
07-07-2013, 06:41 PM
Well done Andy - those Monty Python scamps didn't get it quite right ;) ...
http://youtu.be/UMCNltgrs1U
07-07-2013, 07:03 PM
At least one Hibby has got the monkey of their back with winning the holly grail :wink:. Seriously tho, brilliant effort and truly deserved, well done that man :top marks
07-07-2013, 07:03 PM
Ha ha ha ha. Get it right up ye, ya Jambo bawbag...
https://twitter.com/spencersenior/status/353831324068495360
Aldoo
07-07-2013, 07:08 PM
Fenlon out, Lendl in!!
07-07-2013, 07:10 PM
I am a bit disappointed that David Cameron didn't start waving a Union Jack. Typical politician, it's as if he didn't care.
07-07-2013, 07:11 PM
Ha ha ha ha. Get it right up ye, ya Jambo bawbag...
https://twitter.com/spencersenior/status/353831324068495360
Bestiality?
That's a new one for the Gorgie deviants. Exprct a decent crowd of them to watch the fun. They'll enjoy it.
07-07-2013, 07:15 PM
He wasn't going to gain any political capital from that, he just looked rather silly. It's a pity he hadn't gone the whole hog and worn a Jimmy hat as well.
Why has he replaced his eyebrows with caterpillars though?:confused:
He is as far from a statesman as you can possibly get. Fat yam mess.
07-07-2013, 07:35 PM
Well done Andy - those Monty Python scamps didn't get it quite right ;) ...
http://youtu.be/UMCNltgrs1U
:greengrin You beat me to it. If we all get turned into cakes, the Jambos can still win the SPL next season.
Well done Andy and let's hope we can cheer him at ER soon.
07-07-2013, 07:39 PM
Aye but he was English gash K :greengrin
BTW, I listen to 5 Live a lot during the week and their Wimbledon coverage has been, IMO, spoiled by the witterings of John Inverdale who spent most of week two talking down the women's game and arguing with others that 35 year old guys shouldn't wear a baseball cap back to front.
He excelled himself after the woman's final though
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/07/07/john-inverdale-marion-bartoli_n_3557314.html
Is it just me or does anyone else find him to be a self important dick of the highest order? :greengrin
PPS Gawn yersel the Murray man :thumbsup:
07-07-2013, 07:39 PM
I thought Djokovic's class as a person shone through in his post-match interview. Very gracious in defeat.
Spot on. Inside he must have been devastated as well as knacked.
For some reason I never took to the guy. Eh, duh me!
Class act that man.
07-07-2013, 07:43 PM
Spot on. Inside he must have been devastated as well as knacked.
For some reason I never took to the guy. Eh, duh me!
Class act that man.
He's a class act alright, and a great sportsman. You can't over estimate how well Murray played today. To beat the World number 1 to win Wimbledon, with all the expectation is fantastic.
The person I'm most happy for tonight, is funnily enough...
Andy Murray
07-07-2013, 07:56 PM
BTW, I listen to 5 Live a lot during the week and their Wimbledon coverage has been, IMO, spoiled by the witterings of John Inverdale who spent most of week two talking down the women's game and arguing with others that 35 year old guys shouldn't wear a baseball cap back to front.
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/07/07/john-inverdale-marion-bartoli_n_3557314.html
Is it just me or does anyone else find him to be a self important dick of the highest order? :greengrin
Before Wimbledon 2008, Inverdale wrote a column saying how Murray 'had to do something' there that year after missing the previous years event and being indifferent in the slams that year. He dressed it up though saying that he had heard two old ladies in a tea room saying this (I kid you not) because he didn't have the balls to say it himself.
Prick of a man.
07-07-2013, 07:57 PM
Its no just you, I canny stand that man. I heard about his comments regarding Bartoli, he is not wrong but still a dick all the same.
07-07-2013, 08:04 PM
Inverdale is just Jeremy Clarkson without the occasional, genuinely-funny comment.
07-07-2013, 08:11 PM
Fenlon out, Lendl in!!
:faf::faf:
Well done Andy Murray. Absolutely fantastic. A moment of sporting history! Now for that bloody cup:greengrin
Islington Hibs
07-07-2013, 08:12 PM
I see no mention on this site of his brilliant victory today. Superb athlete and sportsman. Well done and it shows a Hibs man can at least win one cup after 70 off years!!
Islington Hibs
07-07-2013, 08:13 PM
sorry I can't even spell- Its Murray!!
07-07-2013, 08:13 PM
You're obviously not looking hard enough pal!
07-07-2013, 08:15 PM
Some bookies have already paid out on Murray for Sports Personality of the Year with six months to go.
07-07-2013, 08:54 PM
He has donated his £1.6m winnings to Cancer Research, Hibs Class :flag:
07-07-2013, 08:56 PM
Are you sure this isn't just a rapidly spreading Internet myth?
Kiddo
07-07-2013, 09:01 PM
Seen that, touch of real class from him
07-07-2013, 09:07 PM
Not sure if this is true TBH as there are many conflicting reports, he did donate his Queens Club winnings to the Royal Marsden Hospital, not so sure he would do it again. Outstanding gesture if he has though.:thumbsup:
07-07-2013, 09:10 PM
Poor show from Murray, I thought he was donating it to Hearts?
LeighLoyal
07-07-2013, 09:35 PM
Lendl has made him into a winner, got to credit that ice cool dude as he's added steel.
07-07-2013, 09:49 PM
Are you sure this isn't just a rapidly spreading Internet myth?
Seems genuine
07-07-2013, 09:55 PM
Superstar!
:not worth:not worth
:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:
07-07-2013, 10:06 PM
I don't think he has.
Newhaven
07-07-2013, 10:39 PM
No concrete links to this prize money being donated to charity story. Urban myth in the making?
Miguel
07-07-2013, 10:55 PM
Let's not dignify any of the political stuff by commenting on it. The story is about a guy who probably dreamed off this moment for as long as he can remember. He worked his arse off to turn that dream into a reality. A truly world class sportsman.
07-07-2013, 11:07 PM
It was named Henman Hill after Tim Henman.
like Arthur's Seat was named after Arthur.
That's its name. Live with it.
Murray is the current Wimbledon champion. Fantastic.
Enjoy it, but nae need to rename bits of London.
07-07-2013, 11:41 PM
Marathon - Snickers
Opal Fruits - Starbursts
Jif - Cif
Datsun - Nissan
Bombay - Mumbai
Königsberg - Kaliningrad
St. Petersberg - Leningrad - St. Petersberg
Henman Hill - Murray Mound
I agree this Henman hill pish has to end now.
Henman hill will always be Henman hill.
Attempts to re-name it are almost as embarrassing as the people who insist that Murrays victory belongs to Scotland and nobody else.
08-07-2013, 06:31 AM
Na it won't. Loser that he is.
08-07-2013, 06:32 AM
Twitter myth that's been put to bed by Murray himself.
Given he donated his Queens winnings and has played charity matches, I think he's doing enough.
08-07-2013, 06:36 AM
Attempts to re-name it are almost as embarrassing as the people who insist that Murrays victory belongs to Scotland and nobody else.
Leave Henman hill as it is, he never managed to reach the summit at Wimbledon anyway so it's a nice reminder of how he failed, Andy Murrays has his name on the trophy and on the roll of honour board at the club much nicer :greengrin
Na it won't. Loser that he is.
I've never been ranked the fourth best in the world at what I do for a living. I don't think I'll ever make anywhere near £12 million from it by the time I'm 38 either. I'll refrain from calling him a loser. :-D
Tim was limited but was he a loser? Not in my eyes. He had a lot more guts about him than people gave him credit for.
08-07-2013, 07:43 AM
Cant say I have seen this anywhere masel?
Bill Milne
08-07-2013, 07:51 AM
Great win from Murray and how appropriate that it was done on 07/07!!
08-07-2013, 07:54 AM
I was taken in by this story, sorry folks. Would have been a lovely ending to an unforgettable day.
Hibsdeb
08-07-2013, 08:14 AM
Well done andy hibs net is very proud greatest achievment by a scottish sportsman of all time
08-07-2013, 08:15 AM
Managed to avoid the score all day as I was driving back from Dundee to Guildford and elected to watch it when I got into the house.
I had a good feeling it was going to be his year but my mother-in-law asked me on Saturday night if I thought the game would be 4 or 5 sets - never in my wildest dreams did I think he'd beat him in straight sets!
Absolutely thrilled for him - the Olympics certainly seems to have been the making of the new Andy Murray and credit to his team and Ivan Lendl for adding a steely resolve to his game!
Continues the great feeling around British sport which started at the Olympics last year and keeps going with Murray winning Wimbledon and the British and Irish Lions winning the series down under for the first time in 16 years!
Hibby cal
08-07-2013, 08:20 AM
Great achievement by murray.
when was the last time a jambo won Wimbledon ???
he also won It with the magic numbers too 07/07
now that is definitely HIBS CLASS.
08-07-2013, 08:45 AM
Cant say I have seen this anywhere masel?
All over my Facebook.
e.g. "We gave you the telephone. We gave you the television. We gave you penicillin. We are keeping Andy Murray and our Wimbledon title Scottish not British"
And; "Dear BBC
Andy Murray is Scottish - he always has been and always will be.
England can have Laura Robson to get behind. We don't claim she's an 'honorary' Scot.
Your every mention is Laura Robson is English, yet Scotland's Andy Murray is British. I dinnae think so chum!!
Yours All In God's Country,
Bonnie Scotland".
Spiteful crap.
08-07-2013, 08:53 AM
Today's Metro (http://metro.co.uk/2013/07/08/wimbledon-2013-lucky-sevens-on-day-of-destiny-for-andy-murray-3872776/)appears to confirm Andy Murray's supreme Hibiness (if there is such a word)...
If Wimbledon champion Andy Murray does have a lucky number, then it’s a sure bet it is the number seven.
08-07-2013, 09:03 AM
All over my Facebook.
e.g. "We gave you the telephone. We gave you the television. We gave you penicillin. We are keeping Andy Murray and our Wimbledon title Scottish not British"
And; "Dear BBC
England can have Laura Robson to get behind. We don't claim she's an 'honorary' Scot.
Your every mention is Laura Robson is English, yet Scotland's Andy Murray is British. I dinnae think so chum!!
Bonnie Scotland".
Spiteful crap.
You're not really going to give TQM the time of day with that nonsense, are you? :greengrin
08-07-2013, 09:10 AM
You're not really going to give TQM the time of day with that nonsense, are you? :greengrin
I didn't name him. :tsk tsk::rules:
08-07-2013, 09:26 AM
The endless repetition of 'Henman Hill' yesterday by, in particular, John Inverdale, was absolutely pathetic, a conscious or unconscious attempt to try and stake some English claim on what was happening. As clear as day.
Personally I think this Scots v English thing with Murray is silly - he is happy to be described as a British winner, and he's also Scottish. The fuss over Salmond waving a Saltire was silly too - if the rest of the crowd can way UJs then where is the problem?
But the BBC - British Broadcasting Corp - should do better. I remember when Inverdale was hosting coverage of an England v Scotland rugby match... Scotland won and Inverdale was absolutely crestfallen. He just kept on asking Guscott "What went wrong Jeremy?" instead of asking "What went right for Scotland?". Not good enough.
08-07-2013, 09:45 AM
I would rename it Robson's Mound, im sure it would be a nice place to spend an afternoon! ;)
08-07-2013, 10:05 AM
The endless repetition of 'Henman Hill' yesterday by, in particular, John Inverdale, was absolutely pathetic, a conscious or unconscious attempt to try and stake some English claim on what was happening. As clear as day.
Personally I think this Scots v English thing with Murray is silly - he is happy to be described as a British winner, and he's also Scottish. The fuss over Salmond waving a Saltire was silly too - if the rest of the crowd can way UJs then where is the problem?
But the BBC - British Broadcasting Corp - should do better. I remember when Inverdale was hosting coverage of an England v Scotland rugby match... Scotland won and Inverdale was absolutely crestfallen. He just kept on asking Guscott "What went wrong Jeremy?" instead of asking "What went right for Scotland?". Not good enough.
It's called Henman Hill so he's entitled to refer to it as that, but Inverdale is a pratt.
When Laura Robson came off court after a brilliant win this year, his first questions were about how many of One Direction had texted her and which ones. She couldn't quite remember, but he kept pushing her. When she finally answered, he then asked why the other 2 hadn't and asked, "don't they like you?". Then he spoke briefly about tennis. Patronising sexist erse.
Then there were his disgusting "not a looker" comments. He shouldn't be employed.
08-07-2013, 10:05 AM
I would rename it Robson's Mound, im sure it would be a nice place to spend an afternoon! ;)
Sergio sledge
08-07-2013, 10:06 AM
No. 4 in the world, 6 grand slam semi finals, 15 career ATP tour titles, (including a masters series title) an olympic silver medal and nearly $12m career prize money.
Gash? :bitchy:
Jealousy :agree:
Well done Andy Murray, an absolutely immense achievement for him and a fitting reward for the ridiculous amount of hard work he and his team have put in over the years to get him to where he is.
Sergio sledge
08-07-2013, 10:07 AM
It's called Henman Hill so he's entitled to refer to it as that, but Inverdale is a pratt.
When Laura Robson came off court after a brilliant win this year, his first questions were about how many of One Direction had texted her and which ones. She couldn't quite remember, but he kept pushing her. When she finally answered, he then asked why the other 2 hadn't and asked, "don't they like you?". Then he spoke briefly about tennis. Patronising sexist erse.
Then there were his disgusting "not a looker" comments. He shouldn't be employed.
:agree: He needs to be let go by the BBC. He offers nothing to any sports coverage.
08-07-2013, 10:37 AM
:faf: Get a grip, you're sounding more of a prat than Inverdale with that comment. Murray won it, enjoy it, celebrate it and stop bring up ridiculous "English Things"..........Murray is Scottish we all get it!
GIRUY Monty Python :greengrin
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=UMCNltgrs1U#t=18s
08-07-2013, 10:45 AM
Kind of gob smacked that there's no thread on here already marking the incredible achievement of lifelong Hibby Andy Murray.
Well done Andy - you've put a spring in the step of all your supporters and also delivered a massive GIRFUY to the many naysayers and doubters who have seemed to take great pleasure over the years in marking you down as a no-hoper.
Next stop World Number 1!
:not worth:aok::flag::thumbsup::top marks:not worth:partyhibb:cup:
08-07-2013, 10:46 AM
Salmond (or any politician) shouldn't be allowed to hijack Murray's achievement. Only a politician as classless as Salmond would try.
As for Murray, absolute legend. If he's not SPOTY and a Knight of the Realm by this time next year, there's something wrong.
SPOTY's about as futile and meaningless an award as anything I can think of these days - except for the Great British honours system, of course. MBE for a lifetime devoted to charity work, the Big K for a lifetime spent brown-nosing politicians or running a crooked bank.
Neither of these things would add anything to Murray's achievements, any more than Chris Hoy's elevation to "Sir-ness" adds to his. They're both supremely gifted athletes who have succeeded at the very top levels of their respective sports, and that truly should be enough. Calling Donald Bradman "Sir Donald" means nothing - his career test average says it all.
As for Salmond and Cameron, Cameron for all his general sleekit-ness at least behaved as a head of state should, with a bit of dignity. The sight of Salmond's puddock face smirking as he waved our national flag turned me off. Maybe if he had behaved himself like a grown-up the camera wouldn't have cut from him as quickly as it did.
I honestly think he's entirely lost the place these days. Like so many Scottish leaders in the past, he's about to snatch a crashinbg defeat right out of the jaws of a reasonable and formerly quite attainable victory.
But to get back to the real matter in hand, while watching the match was torturous in the extreme (I was hiding behind the couch halfway through the second set) the achievement of winning (in straight sets) a second Grand slam tournament against the world #1 can't be underestimated, and he deserves all the praise and congratulations that are coming his way.
(((Fergus)))
08-07-2013, 10:50 AM
It's been one of the longest hoodoos in sport - 117 years. Shows it can be done.
No. 4 in the world, 6 grand slam semi finals, 15 career ATP tour titles, (including a masters series title) an olympic silver medal and nearly $12m career prize money.
Gash? :bitchy:
Jealousy :agree:
Well done Andy Murray, an absolutely immense achievement for him and a fitting reward for the ridiculous amount of hard work he and his team have put in over the years to get him to where he is.It was tongue in cheek man ..dinnae get aw serious wi me now ..:wink:
08-07-2013, 11:17 AM
GIRUY Monty Python :greengrin
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=UMCNltgrs1U#t=18s
That thought had occurred to me to. What I could never work out was how turning ENGLISHMEN into Scots was going to help a Scotsman to win Wimbledon. It wasn't as if there was a whole long line of English heroes queuing up, tennis bats in hand, to take turns at winning the thing.
Come to think of it, there aren't any queuing up right now either .... It's either John Lloyd trying to explain what it must feel like to win a major championship (how would you know, John?) or Inverdale insulting Marion Bartoli and otherwise acting like the plook he is. :devil:
08-07-2013, 11:18 AM
I think it's a bit weird - in fact wholly inapropriate - of the admins to dump a congratulatory thread to Murray away from the main board. I know its tennis - which IS obviously another sport. But it also involves a known Hibby pulling off a quite stunning achievement in world sport - dumping a hoodoo of 77 years in the process, while assuring himself of income of circa £50M pa for some time to come according to some commentators!
I can understand the general Wimbledon update thread being moved away, but hiding a congratulatory thread towards one of our most famous sons is weird behaviour - taking "hiding your light under a bushel" to Olympic standards.
Is this just an example of thoughtless editing? Or is the duty admin one of those determined doom-mongers who always insisted Murray could never crack it and who is now feeling a bit churlish about giving credit where it's due? :confused:
08-07-2013, 11:22 AM
SPOTY's about as futile and meaningless an award as anything I can think of these days - except for the Great British honours system, of course. MBE for a lifetime devoted to charity work, the Big K for a lifetime spent brown-nosing politicians or running a crooked bank.
Neither of these things would add anything to Murray's achievements, any more than Chris Hoy's elevation to "Sir-ness" adds to his. They're both supremely gifted athletes who have succeeded at the very top levels of their respective sports, and that truly should be enough. Calling Donald Bradman "Sir Donald" means nothing - his career test average says it all.
As for Salmond and Cameron, Cameron for all his general sleekit-ness at least behaved as a head of state should, with a bit of dignity. The sight of Salmond's puddock face smirking as he waved our national flag turned me off. Maybe if he had behaved himself like a grown-up the camera wouldn't have cut from him as quickly as it did.
I honestly think he's entirely lost the place these days. Like so many Scottish leaders in the past, he's about to snatch a crashinbg defeat right out of the jaws of a reasonable and formerly quite attainable victory.
But to get back to the real matter in hand, while watching the match was torturous in the extreme (I was hiding behind the couch halfway through the second set) the achievement of winning (in straight sets) a second Grand slam tournament against the world #1 can't be underestimated, and he deserves all the praise and congratulations that are coming his way.
Hibbyradge agrees with all of this.
Re Salmond, it's not the showing of the Saltire that annoyed me, it was the opportunistic way he tired to grab it and wave it while he saw the cameras were on Cameron (and him incidentally).
He looked like a fat bairn trying to show off. Just like the childish yams who show the 5 - 1 whenever they're near someone famous.
08-07-2013, 11:39 AM
Re Salmond, it's not the showing of the Saltire that annoyed me, it was the opportunistic way he tired to grab it and wave it while he saw the cameras were on Cameron (and him incidentally).
He looked like a fat bairn trying to show off. Just like the childish yams who show the 5 - 1 whenever they're near someone famous.
Is SPOTY not voted for by the people? I would t call it meaningless. If anyone other than the Big Hibby Athlete wins this year then its an X in the yes box for me.
08-07-2013, 11:44 AM
All over my Facebook.
And; "Dear BBC
Bonnie Scotland".
Spiteful crap.
The folk banging on about how no-one claims that Robson is an honorary Scot are spectacularly missing the point. No-one claims that Murray is an honorary anything. He's Scottish and British, simple as that.
08-07-2013, 11:52 AM
Is SPOTY not voted for by the people? I would t call it meaningless. If anyone other than the Big Hibby Athlete wins this year then its an X in the yes box for me.
lol. Not necessarily the best way to decide your country's future, but everyone to their own. :greengrin
However, I think it would take something incredible to beat Murray.
Sir Andy Murray will win SPOTY. :agree:
08-07-2013, 11:55 AM
A wee treat for those of you who care about the name of SW19 vantage points:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-23219595
08-07-2013, 11:59 AM
I think it's a bit weird - in fact wholly inapropriate - of the admins to dump a congratulatory thread to Murray away from the main board. I know its tennis - which IS obviously another sport. But it also involves a known Hibby pulling off a quite stunning achievement in world sport - dumping a hoodoo of 77 years in the process, while assuring himself of income of circa £50M pa for some time to come according to some commentators!
I can understand the general Wimbledon update thread being moved away, but hiding a congratulatory thread towards one of our most famous sons is weird behaviour - taking "hiding your light under a bushel" to Olympic standards.
Is this just an example of thoughtless editing? Or is the duty admin one of those determined doom-mongers who always insisted Murray could never crack it and who is now feeling a bit churlish about giving credit where it's due? :confused:
Typical admin pricks!
Seriously though, I don't see problem with merging the threads. It's fairly obvious where it's been for the last 2 weeks.
08-07-2013, 12:00 PM
Pedantry time, its called Aorangi Terrace. ;)
08-07-2013, 12:00 PM
Which people? The ones who vote or the ones who count the votes? Perhaps a better word than 'meaningless' would be 'superfluous' - I seriously doubt that many of the overseas recipients would really have been upset if they hadn't been recognised.
it's also heavily Anglo-centric - check out the lists on Wiki - but then if the Beeb's audience is doing the voting, that's what you can expect. It's really about who made the biggest splash on BBC TV over the year - if the Beeb doesn't cover your sport, tough.
Though I cannot imagine anyone losing sleep over missing out on the thing.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BBC_Sports_Personality_of_the_Year_Award
08-07-2013, 12:18 PM
Andy's grandad was on talksport this morning. Good forward who played for us but bad injury ruined his chances. Alan Brazil saying that Andy was a huge Hibs fan. Good stuff. Well done Andy, we are all really proud of you. ggtth
08-07-2013, 12:19 PM
Basically the admin team are a bunch of pricks who only help out here in order to ruin everybody else's fun. This place would be much better without them and the sooner those losers get the message the better.
There was nothing sinister about why the Andy Murray thread was dumped in here but I am sure the Admin responsible will explain his actions if you ask. Or you could just accuse the 'duty admin' of bring churlish. It's more a case of housekeeping, there were more than a few people wishing to start another Wimbledon thread. The main forum has always been kept for football matters. Perhaps we should changed that to Football only but other sports can be allowed if somebody judges that the magnitude of the achievement over rides that. I wouldn't trust any of the Admin team to make that call though. They are all far too obsessed with Fitba.
08-07-2013, 01:49 PM
Basically the admin team are a bunch of pricks who only help out here in order to ruin everybody else's fun. This place would be much better without them and the sooner those losers get the message the better.
There was nothing sinister about why the Andy Murray thread was dumped in here but I am sure the Admin responsible will explain his actions if you ask. Or you could just accuse the 'duty admin' of bring churlish. It's more a case of housekeeping, there were more than a few people wishing to start another Wimbledon thread. The main forum has always been kept for football matters. Perhaps we should changed that to Football only but other sports can be allowed if somebody judges that the magnitude of the achievement over rides that. I wouldn't trust any of the Admin team to make that call though. They are all far too obsessed with Fitba.
Tell us something new, Mr Marinello, sir. :devil:
Don't think we don't know what you lot get up to in your spare time ...
http://www.urantiansojourn.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/blackshirts.jpg
08-07-2013, 02:30 PM
Nice one from Hibernian FC :thumbsup:
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130708/andy-murray_2262950_3231797
Andy Murray
Hibernian today congratulated lifelong supporter Andy Murray who won the Men's Singles Wimbledon Championship.
Murray was crowned Wimbledon champion in Sunday's enthralling Final against world number one Novak Djokovic.
Winning the Final in straight sets, the former Hibs Kid has become the first British player to lift the coveted trophy in 77 years.
Everybody connected with Hibernian Football Club is immensely proud of Andy Murray's achievements culminating in yesterday's historical triumph, his second Grand Slam win.
We look forward to inviting the whole Murray family back to Easter Road in the near future and for the entire Hibernian family to celebrate Andy's inspirational win together.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOqI_vyCIAALVs2.jpg
Hibs07p
08-07-2013, 02:42 PM
I thought it was embarssing the way the FM tried to score political points in this way, but what do you expect from a Jambo? When I first saw it, I thought why not go the whole hog, and pull out a hearts flag with FOH in the centre, 1902, 5-1, always in our shadow, and lest we forget, in each of the corners.
Frank Boyle cartoon below.
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/opinion/frank-boyle-cartoon-1-2993088
sansiro86
08-07-2013, 03:02 PM
http://www.ebay.co.uk/ctg/Sporting-Gaffes-AudioGO-Limited-CD-Audio-2008-/86385564
I'm looking forward to an updated edition
08-07-2013, 03:14 PM
Aye OK - they didn't move it just to piss me off ok!
But they still moved it wrongly IMO - the main board is for all things HIBS.
Andy Murray is a Hibby who's granddad was a player and has just won Wimbledon - ERGO a congratulatory thread is very much Hibs related.
Any casual observer looking in would be under the distinct impression that we (the forum as a community so to speak) didn't give a ****! Certainly I had no idea that this particular sub-forum existed and would never have noticed it had my original post above not been unceremoniously dumped here.
So - there you have it - I've had my say - not that it'll make any difference (harumph!)
08-07-2013, 03:35 PM
I think the admins do a stand up job on here with very little praise and a constant barrage of criticism, however, not everyone frequents this forum and when even Hibs themselves are coming out with a congratulatory statement, perhaps the decision to move the thread wasn't entirely correct in this instance.
However, damned if you do, damned if you don't, as no doubt folk would have complained about yet another non-football thread on the main board.
08-07-2013, 03:53 PM
What's this thread about a former Hun doing on the main board?
08-07-2013, 03:54 PM
Well done admins... tennis on the main board is totally justified today.
See if PF could get Andy Murray down to a training session one day to show the players what a proper athlete looks like. Most footballers are probably too dumb and self-obsessed to pay attention, but if just one young player was prompted to follow Murray's example, it could change someone's career.
08-07-2013, 04:08 PM
Admins - thanks for listening - you all do a tremendous job of course you do :wink: :thumbsup:
08-07-2013, 06:03 PM
First chance I've had to come on here since the match ended.
Massive well done to Andy for yesterday, thoroughly deserved his victory and it's a huge moment, not just for British tennis but British sport in general.
I don't think Murray fully realises what he's achieved just yet but I'm sure he will whenever he comes up to Dunblane to see his friends and family.
Only 26 years old and he's already achieved legendary status.
I'm sure there's several Majors left for him to win and it's only a matter of time before he gets to world number one.
Well done Andy and hope to see you at Easter Road in the near future to show off your 2 Grand Slams and your Olympic medals. :thumbsup:
semaj64
08-07-2013, 06:05 PM
well done Andy tremendous effort and mental focus. How is his football skills maybe could sign him. Tennis players, interesting to see the training methods they use for short sharp sprints and upper body strength maybe tennis court at east mains
08-07-2013, 06:11 PM
well done Andy tremendous effort and mental focus. How is his football skills maybe could sign him. Tennis players, interesting to see the training methods they use for short sharp sprints and upper body strength maybe tennis court at east mains
yes maybe give a few of those mamby footballers a few tips on fitness, these guys run about the court for up to 4 hours a week and we get footballers complaining about playing twice a week ,they dont know how easy they have it.:cb
08-07-2013, 06:13 PM
meant to say they run about 4 hours a game about the court and footballers moan about playing twice a week
08-07-2013, 06:20 PM
meant to say they run about 4 hours a game about the court and footballers moan about playing twice a week
Yeah, but how many breaks during a game do tennis players get?
TomTheHibbyBev
08-07-2013, 06:33 PM
Congratulations Andy Murray! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
08-07-2013, 06:51 PM
To my mind it was the greatest ever achievement by a Scots sportsman, and made even better by the fact he is a Hibee.
Hope to see you parading this trophy round ER in the near future Andy. :not worth
https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/970583_10151522776911966_1333857063_n.jpg
semaj64
08-07-2013, 07:37 PM
[QUOTE=Billy Whizz;3667962]Yeah, but how many breaks during a game do tennis players get?
It is about endurance, footballers have a few breaks, are not always sprinting but encompass a variety of sprints, jogs etc. I noticed the Woman tennis player working with the oval ball as it could bounce either way and therefore for meant she had to adjust quickly. Same with Andy playing footie over a net with a tennis ball. these guys used different methods for training, I am sure footballers do as well. Maybe instead of playing golf, tennis may hone the skills better??
Glesgahibby
08-07-2013, 08:25 PM
:thumbsup:Sank a few bottles of champagne after the best tennis match I have ever saw:thumbsup:
Andy Murray,
well done to you sir,myself and my family wept with emotional joy and enjoyed
every minute of 07,07 Andy Murray day !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth
08-07-2013, 09:03 PM
All over my Facebook.
And; "Dear BBC
Bonnie Scotland".
Spiteful crap.
Laura Robson was born in Australia anyway!
08-07-2013, 09:30 PM
So pleased for Andy and his family :agree:
Quite simply, Andy is a hero - an absolute legend. :top marks
Good to see a photo of him as a young lad on the documentary tonight wearing an old Hibs goalie top (sweetie wrapper badge!)
Unbelievable achievement.
Quality stuff
kdhibees1
08-07-2013, 10:00 PM
Ran up to the house to watch the final set yesterday. A truly surreal thing to see. Amazing victory and I always said it was a matter of time for him to win it. Fantastic. Well chuffed!!:thumbsup:
Dunderhall
08-07-2013, 10:03 PM
Good to see a photo of him as a young lad on the documentary tonight wearing an old Hibs goalie top (sweetie wrapper badge!)
Unbelievable achievement.
Quality stuff
Noticed that as well, AM age 5. :thumbsup:
08-07-2013, 10:03 PM
Great documentary tonight fair enjoyed it, think he could do a strikers job for us?
Dunderhall
08-07-2013, 10:09 PM
Great documentary tonight fair enjoyed it, think he could do a strikers job for us?
Naw, think we might fail on the wages front, but he could fund one.:greengrin
Sidney get yer quill sharpened.
08-07-2013, 10:24 PM
Surely in recognition of Andy's historic win they will change the electronic challenge systems name to Hawkeye the noo!
Dunderhall
08-07-2013, 10:39 PM
Laura Robson was born in Australia anyway!
If she wins it, Murray mound will become Robson Green.
08-07-2013, 11:05 PM
If you didn't see the programme 'Andy Murray; The man behind the racquet', make a point of watching it on BBC iPlayer.
There are loads of Hibs references. Andy in a Hibs goalie shirt , I think it was the goalie, a tracksuit and the fact that his Grandad played for Hibernian.
Aside from that, it showed a gentle, caring and sensitive man with no airs and graces.
Hibbness aside, he's a true hero. A sportsman that I can genuinely admire and look up to.
08-07-2013, 11:12 PM
To my mind it was the greatest ever achievement by a Scots sportsman, and made even better by the fact he is a Hibee.
Hope to see you parading this trophy round ER in the near future Andy. :not worth
https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/970583_10151522776911966_1333857063_n.jpg
Don't think so - he's not allowed to take it out of the All-England Club. I think he gets a smaller-sized replica.
08-07-2013, 11:42 PM
As I said on the other thread, our players could learn a lot from him. Murray knows what it takes to be a winner.
09-07-2013, 12:03 AM
As I said on the other thread, our players could learn a lot from him. Murray knows what it takes to be a winner.
If Murray was performing in front of our crowd he'd have never made it as a tennis player. One mistimed smash into the net and some pie munching, beery-breathed porker would shout: 'you're f****** s**** Napoleon Dynamite!' a few of his pals would laugh, and he'd be at it on every point played.
09-07-2013, 12:12 AM
Noticed that as well, AM age 5. :thumbsup:
10479that's a great photie. a legend being help up wi' a legend.! non the less, I was delighted for all tennis fans, seeing Andy winning it. thousands of English fans ,a good sprinkling of Scots, Welsh and Irish fans all there both inside and outside the arena to witness the historic event. I am in no way "british" but just enjoyed all of the people there supporting him and witnessing it. great day.
09-07-2013, 12:52 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tF5puPtykZU
09-07-2013, 01:23 AM
I am sure Rod is already planning the Hibs edition Andy Murray DVD.:greengrin
The Baldmans Comb
09-07-2013, 03:09 AM
Well done Andy Murray.A tremendous achievement and one of Scotland's greatest ever sporting triumphs.
Great to see such overwhelming support from the people of England as well who really do seem to have come to terms with his so called dour personality.
The real hero of course is Dr Lendl a true to life "evil and sinister" inspiration.
09-07-2013, 08:43 AM
Schedule after win. How many times can you ask "How does it feel Andy ?"
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOl1oK0CUAAqpSv.jpg
09-07-2013, 08:49 AM
If she wins it will we see Robson's Mound....?
BarneyK
09-07-2013, 08:51 AM
If she wins it will we see Robson's Mound....?
09-07-2013, 08:55 AM
that's a great photie. a legend being help up wi' a legend.! non the less, I was delighted for all tennis fans, seeing Andy winning it. thousands of English fans ,a good sprinkling of Scots, Welsh and Irish fans all there both inside and outside the arena to witness the historic event. I am in no way "british" but just enjoyed all of the people there supporting him and witnessing it. great day.
It was an epic day, like last year's Olympic summer all over again.
I am in every way both Scottish and British and I thought Andy Murray - and the support in the crowd - epitomised that just as Chris Hoy did last year.
Where's the Andy Murray all around the world thread though? Seven fingers for 07, 07 surely in honour of this magical Hibs supporter.
LeighLoyal
09-07-2013, 09:17 AM
When's he coming up with the trophy and showing it to his own people? Plus Salmo will want a photo op... Why does he live in Surrey anyway? What's the reason?
Just a Fanny
HibeeMG
09-07-2013, 09:47 AM
When's he coming up with the trophy and showing it to his own people? Plus Salmo will want a photo op... Why does he live in Surrey anyway? What's the reason?
Probably because he wants to.
I would imagine there are training facilities there and it'll be easier for travel. Also, he stays in his own pad during Wimbledon I believe.
09-07-2013, 02:19 PM
I remember a few seasons ago Alex Arthur paraded his title belt at Easter Road at half time. Do you think hibs could try organise Andy Murray to come down to ER and bring his Wimbeldon trophy onto the pitch at half time. Would certainly bring a few more punters along.
He's one of our own :aok:
The jambos gave arthur some abuse but I doubt even they would boo murray
09-07-2013, 02:24 PM
I remember a few seasons ago Alex Arthur paraded his title belt at Easter Road at half time. Do you think hibs could try organise Andy Murray to come down to ER and bring his Wimbeldon trophy onto the pitch at half time. Would certainly bring a few more punters along.
Trouble is Tennis players only really get December off and he spends it training in Florida.
Nice idea but Murray is a huge international star with massive demands on his time and the chances of us being able to get him to come along hinge on him having the will to do it and the the time to do it when we have a home game.
Don't think he is up in Scotland much never mind ER and if he came to Scotland for a few days, aside from many other things, suspect he would want to go to Dunblane and do some stuff there, as well as just have some private time.
I reckon the club will ask him though and try to make it happen.
Was he ever that big a Hibby. Doubt he is these days.
09-07-2013, 02:29 PM
Trouble is Tennis players only really get December off and he spends it training in Florida.
Nice idea but Murray is a huge international star with massive demands on his time and the chances of us being able to get him to come along hinge on him having the will to do it and the the time to do it when we have a home game.
Don't think he is up in Scotland much never mind ER and if he came to Scotland for a few days, aside from many other things, suspect he would want to go to Dunblane and do some stuff there, as well as just have some private time.
Your probably right however I do remember him doing keepy uppies with a tennis ball before a Wimbledon tournament about two years ago wearing a hibs shirt.
seven nowt
09-07-2013, 02:35 PM
He is and was. His whole family are Hibees and he's also a big Hibs supporter.
09-07-2013, 02:46 PM
been invited before and failed to appear so would not hold your breath - would be good however if he could and was announced beforehand as it would add to gate i'm sure
DrewDogg1875
09-07-2013, 02:50 PM
Think he may still be a fan... Certainly his Maw was posting pics of he & his bro on twitter last Xmas wearing new Hibs scarves they'd got as gifts. FWIW, I would love to see clan Murray at ER but given his schedule/recent success, I'd be surprised if it happened anytime soon! Def worth an ask though
HiBremian
09-07-2013, 02:55 PM
Didn't someone say they saw him at the 1-3 Dundee game that killed off our great run last season?
Kiss of death? :duck:
09-07-2013, 02:56 PM
Scotsman article May 2012 December confirms Andy & his brother Jamie both still Hibs fans.
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/hibs/jamie-murray-to-cheer-hibs-on-in-scottish-cup-final-1-2303790
09-07-2013, 03:07 PM
Scotsman article May 2012 December confirms Andy & his brother Jamie both still Hibs fans.
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/hibs/jamie-murray-to-cheer-hibs-on-in-scottish-cup-final-1-2303790
I think Jamie was the Scottish cup tie v Hearts at ER in December
09-07-2013, 03:23 PM
Found these 2 from a while back
http://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=6413&d=1277837712
http://www.flickr.com/photos/51604819@N03/4746760842/ (http://www.flickr.com/photos/51604819@N03/4746760842/)
09-07-2013, 03:30 PM
He's as much of a fan as any international elite sportsman can realistically be. Considering he's just become one of the biggest British sportsmen of all time, he's not going to have much time to nip into the Iona for a pint every other Saturday.
09-07-2013, 03:37 PM
His grandad played right back for Hibs back in the day.
Watch the documentary from BBC that was on last night about him. His whole family have a sporting background and the stuff about Dunblane was hard to watch without greetin
Living legend.
DarrenSQH
09-07-2013, 03:50 PM
I think Jamie was the Scottish cup tie v Hearts at ER in December
He was, he made a speech at the hospitality.
WestEndHibee
09-07-2013, 04:03 PM
He is definitely still a hibee, AFAIK he plans to come home after the US masters for around 3-4 weeks. Could be an opportunity for Hibs there!
A Hibby wins Wimbledon.Who'd have thunk it.
You couldn't make it up.
09-07-2013, 04:36 PM
A Hibby wins Wimbledon.Who'd have thunk it.
You couldn't make it up.
Must be the only hibby at Wimbledon since we all boycotted it
09-07-2013, 04:46 PM
Must be the only hibby at Wimbledon since we all boycotted it
We never boycotted Wimbledon? :confused:
09-07-2013, 04:54 PM
09-07-2013, 05:01 PM
we never boycotted wimbledon? :confused:
afc ;)
09-07-2013, 05:06 PM
afc ;)
I was boycotting Milton Keynes, did i get it wrong Suzy? :wink:
09-07-2013, 05:50 PM
I'm sure Hibs would love to organise this and I'm sure Murray would be willing to do it as well, if his schedule allows it.
The problem is that he plays his first tournament of the year in Australia in January and the last tournament is at the ATP world championships in London in November. In between those dates, he probably plays something in the region of about 20 tournaments.
After he plays at the O2, he goes off to his base in Miami for winter training and before too long he's back in Australia again.
I don't know what Alex Arthur's schedule was like but I'm guessing it wasn't quite as busy as Murray's.
Would be fantastic to see him though!
10-07-2013, 09:21 PM
Message for Inverdale ...............
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/07/08/marion-bartoli-john-inverdale-sexist-wimbledon_n_3560230.html?utm_hp_ref=mostpopular
10-07-2013, 10:49 PM
He's as much of a fan as any international elite sportsman can realistically be. Considering he's just become one of the biggest British sportsmen of all time, he's not going to have much time to nip into the Iona for a pint every other Saturday.
Spot on. He's spent pretty much his whole life since he was 14 or 15 dedicated to becoming what he is today. This has required an unbelievable amount of work, and living in climates more conducive to training and playing outdoors.
Not surprisingly, he doesn't get to Scotland much. He's a Hibby.
11-07-2013, 08:51 AM
from what I remember, one of the first things he did when he came off court during one of his matches this year was to ask a reporter if he knew what the Hibs score was....
wheteher its true or not someone else may be able to verify, but, the guy is a Hibby.
24-07-2013, 09:29 AM
Bollocks was he using it anymore than Cameron was.
24-07-2013, 09:30 AM
Bollocks was he using it anymore than Cameron was.
Salmond just looked like a total fanny.
24-07-2013, 09:33 AM
mon wee eck