View Full Version : Wimbledon 2013 plus Congrats to Andy Murray (Not football but the boy done good.)
05-07-2013, 02:36 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed this match so far!
05-07-2013, 02:41 PM
yeah, its been excellent to watch. :agree:
05-07-2013, 02:42 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed this match so far!
What a game ! Absolute quality tennis. Come on Del Potro.
05-07-2013, 02:57 PM
Djokovic 2-1 Del Potro after a 3rd set tiebreak.
05-07-2013, 03:34 PM
Great match this. Looks like Del Potro doesn't quite have enough.
There's something really dislikable about Djokovic though.
05-07-2013, 03:53 PM
4th set tie-break, great stuff!
05-07-2013, 04:02 PM
Think Murray is terrific tennis player and indeed a model sportsman who has progressed fantastically over the years, but I feel that he won't be one of the tennis "greats" until he starts winning the major tournaments regularly. I hope he starts picking up some more grand slams, as I think he probably deserves it, but he's not there yet. Looking forward to a good game and hoping he makes the final ...
He's just really unfortunate that he's been born in an era where we have the greatest player of all time in Federer, arguably the second greatest in Nadal and also Djokovic who has been in immense form over the past two years.
In any other era, Murray would have won multiple Grand Slams and would probably already be considered as one of the greats.
05-07-2013, 04:03 PM
This is sensational!!!
05-07-2013, 04:03 PM
What a point there for Del Potro when he was facing a match point!
Amazing.
05-07-2013, 04:05 PM
This deserves a fifth set.
05-07-2013, 04:06 PM
Fifth set!
Fourth set to Del Potro after saving two match points.
Outstanding.
Sport doesn't get any better than this.
2-2 all after the tiebreak and we're into the 5th!
Delighted for Del Potro as he's played some sensational tennis!
05-07-2013, 04:52 PM
Djokovic wins 7-5 4-6 7-6 6-7 6-3.
Fantastic match.
05-07-2013, 04:55 PM
Djokovic is a great player, but he bores the hell out of me
Del Potro deserved more out of that but ruthless efficiency won
05-07-2013, 04:58 PM
Brilliant stuff! I hope the shadow moving across the court doesnae influence Murray's match.
05-07-2013, 05:00 PM
Djokovic is a great player, but he bores the hell out of me
Del Potro deserved more out of that but ruthless efficiency won
What is it about him that bores you?
05-07-2013, 05:05 PM
What is it about him that bores you?
He's like a tennis robot with no real personality on the court, even the way he bounces the ball a certain amount of times before serving seems mechanical, just can't take to the way he plays for some reason
i appreciate the hard work, training etc you put in to be that good and off the court he seems a good bloke but i can't quite put my finger on why he annoys me so much
he's a Klitchko of tennis to me, good at what he does but meh
05-07-2013, 05:12 PM
He's like a tennis robot with no real personality on the court, even the way he bounces the ball a certain amount of times before serving seems mechanical, just can't take to the way he plays for some reason
i appreciate the hard work, training etc you put in to be that good and off the court he seems a good bloke
I'm quite surprised that you think he doesn't have a personality.
I know other people who can't take to him either but lack of personality is not something that many people accuse him of.
05-07-2013, 05:15 PM
I'm quite surprised that you think he doesn't have a personality.
I know other people who can't take to him either but lack of personality is not something that many people accuse him of.
Off the court he seems charismatic and has plenty, to quote Cantona he's a water carrier, does his job well
might just be me but i like wayward geniuses in sportstars
Maradona, O'Sullivan, McEnroe etc
05-07-2013, 05:17 PM
i appreciate the hard work, training etc you put in to be that good and off the court he seems a good bloke but i can't quite put my finger on why he annoys me so much
I think Djokovic is more of a personality on court than a lot of players. I really like watching him.
05-07-2013, 05:23 PM
I think Djokovic is more of a personality on court than a lot of players. I really like watching him.
Its probably just me, i can dislike folk for no reason at all, quite a bad trait of mine haha
05-07-2013, 05:45 PM
Janowicz comes across as a proper dick on the court - hopefully Andy dispatches of him quickly.
05-07-2013, 05:53 PM
Janowicz saves two set points against him.
5-5 first set.
05-07-2013, 06:02 PM
Into the tiebreak.
Janowicz is such a one trick pony - pure power and not much else.
05-07-2013, 06:02 PM
Put a fiver on Janovicz at 9/2.
Hope Murray wins though.
05-07-2013, 06:05 PM
Into the tiebreak.
Janowicz is such a one trick pony - pure power and not much else.
Not sure that's fair. He may not be the best but gets around alright and has been playing a few good shots.
Excellent shot there from Murray.
my moneys on the sausage roll
05-07-2013, 06:06 PM
Not sure that's fair. He may not be the best but gets around alright and has been playing a few good shots.
His power is certainly the difference so far. He's placing his shots well but sheer power is carrying them through to points.
Janowicz with set points.
05-07-2013, 06:07 PM
He's playing well (not Murray..) but if his tennis career doesn't go to plan, I reckon he'd make a good Bond villain, he definitely looks the part.
Janowicz takes the opener on a tiebreak.
HibeeHendo
Janowicz is very one dimensional. Murray will still win.
05-07-2013, 06:08 PM
:agree: For someone who is 6ft 8in, his movement is actually pretty good.
05-07-2013, 06:09 PM
Hope Murray doesn't get too down on himself after losing that set as he's played well so far.
05-07-2013, 06:11 PM
Murray breaks at the start of the second set. :thumbsup:
05-07-2013, 06:12 PM
:agree: For someone who is 6ft 8in, his movement is actually pretty good.
I don't understand it when people say things like this....he's tall, not fat. I'm 6' 4" and I move about just fine. Usain Bolt the quickest man on the planet is my height, he seems to move pretty well too.
05-07-2013, 06:12 PM
His power is certainly the difference so far. He's placing his shots well but sheer power is carrying them through to points.
Janowicz with set points.
It's absolutely the difference but I think he has a lot more than say Karlovic.
05-07-2013, 06:13 PM
If Rocky has tought us anything its that huge eastern Europeans start like a house on fire but if you keep chipping away you will eventually get them
05-07-2013, 06:14 PM
I don't understand it when people say things like this....he's tall, not fat. I'm 6' 4" and I move about just fine. Usain Bolt the quickest man on the planet is my height, he seems to move pretty well too.
I think it normally refers to agility than pace. You don't see many 6'5" gymnasts.
05-07-2013, 06:14 PM
It's absolutely the difference but I think he has a lot more than say Karlovic.
Aye, that's a very valid point. He gets around court well and has placed his shots well but he's lacking any degree of finess as far as I've seen so far (though he has played some nice drop shots, granted!).
I'll concede I'm a little biased as I really don't like his on court persona and demeanour.
05-07-2013, 06:15 PM
If Rocky has tought us anything its that huge eastern Europeans start like a house on fire but if you keep chipping away you will eventually get them
I suspect this will be the case. If Janovicz is to win then he'll have to do it quickly, Murray definitely won't lose in 5 imo.
05-07-2013, 06:16 PM
Aye, that's a very valid point. He gets around court well and has placed his shots well but he's lacking any degree of finess as far as I've seen so far (though he has played some nice drop shots, granted!).
I'll concede I'm a little biased as I really don't like his on court persona and demeanour.
Aye, his 'celebrations' seem to be more of an GIRUY :greengrin
05-07-2013, 06:17 PM
Bolt is moving in one direction for a consistent distance all the time, i.e. 100m or 200m. In tennis it's different as you are moving in different directions all the time, side to side and then even back and forward over short bursts. I would have thought that the taller you are, the more difficult that becomes.
05-07-2013, 06:20 PM
I think it normally refers to agility than pace. You don't see many 6'5" gymnasts.
That's cos the parallel bars are too low I reckon :greengrin
05-07-2013, 06:20 PM
Bolt is moving in one direction for a consistent distance all the time, i.e. 100m or 200m. In tennis it's different as you are moving in different directions all the time, side to side and then even back and forward over short bursts. I would have thought that the taller you are, the more difficult that becomes.
Found it interesting in Andre Agassi's book that he had a real problem with speed until he got a coach that knew nothing about tennis, agassi explained to him how it worked and from that he concluded that being quick in tennis isn't about running fast, it's the ability to stop and change direction quickly that made you 'quick' in tennis.
(good book BTW)
05-07-2013, 06:25 PM
Found it interesting in Andre Agassi's book that he had a real problem with speed until he got a coach that knew nothing about tennis, agassi explained to him how it worked and from that he concluded that being quick in tennis isn't about running fast, it's the ability to stop and change direction quickly that made you 'quick' in tennis.
(good book BTW)
Great article on moving in tennis.
http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/tennis/2013/06/30/wimbledon-2013-novak-djokovic-andy-murray-bring-the-360-spin/2477367/
05-07-2013, 06:35 PM
I feel like John McEnroe was speaking to me there.
Well, **** you John :greengrin
05-07-2013, 06:53 PM
Second set to Andy.
Been very impressed with him so far.
05-07-2013, 07:03 PM
15-40 and Janowicz never got a racquet on the next three points. Quality serving ,could be crucial.
05-07-2013, 07:12 PM
Break to Janowicz.
3-1 third set.
05-07-2013, 07:16 PM
This Janowicz boy is doing my nut in with his moaning and finger wagging.
Hope Murray pumps him.
Off the bar
05-07-2013, 07:21 PM
Hope Murray pumps him.
with you on the groaning and fist pumping the boy comes across as a right tool
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 07:27 PM
Hope Murray pumps him.
If it takes his mind off of the job in hand then he can keep doing it! But he is a tool.
05-07-2013, 07:28 PM
Reckon the boy will lose the plot now.
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 07:28 PM
What do you find more frustrating and torturous, watching Murray sometimes or watching Hibs retain a lead?!
05-07-2013, 07:30 PM
Murray really annoys me, to be honest.
But Janowicz is a bit more of a bawshankle.
Hope they close the roof when they're walking off.
05-07-2013, 07:37 PM
Bit of a fight about the roof getting closed.
05-07-2013, 07:37 PM
Five games in a row for Murray from 1-4 down!
2-1 in sets now. :thumbsup:
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 07:38 PM
Massive set for Murray. Keep the roof open!!!!
05-07-2013, 07:38 PM
Its bull****, its not at all dark. No wonder Murray is complaining, the ref is only doing it because Igor the Moany Giant is complaining.
05-07-2013, 07:40 PM
The only court in the world where they do all they can to not be seen as partisan.
Janowicz has got his way.
05-07-2013, 07:41 PM
Bit of a fight about the roof getting closed.
Ridiculous decision.
Murray's totally right, Janowicz has been moaning about this for about an hour.
After a day like today with the kind of weather they've had it won't be dark enough for the roof to be necessary for at least another half an hour.
Big decision, especially considering that the momentum's with Murray and they're going to stop now for the next 30-40 minutes.
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 07:42 PM
Its bull****, its not at all dark. No wonder Murray is complaining, the ref is only doing it because Igor the Moany Giant is complaining.
The only court in the world where they do all they can to not be seen as partisan.
Janowicz has got his way.
Ridiculous decision.
Murray's totally right, Janowicz has been moaning about this for about an hour.
After a day like today with the kind of weather they've had it won't be dark enough for the roof to be necessary for at least another half an hour.
Big decision, especially considering that the momentum's with Murray and they're going to stop now for the next 30-40 minutes.
It's like watching the Old Firm.
05-07-2013, 07:43 PM
Has the ref closed the roof just because the Pole is getting on his wick or is it really too dark - Murray seems to think it's bright enough? - The TV doesn't give a true appraisal of brightness levels I guess. Gamesmanship on Janowicz's part, I feel. Strong performance from Murray all round - his serving has been something else!
05-07-2013, 07:44 PM
McEnroe one of the top three analysts in ANY sport. Always worth a listen. Andrew Castle can do one though.
05-07-2013, 07:47 PM
Would they delay it if it was Timmy ? Would they ****, Murray will do it despite the English Set
05-07-2013, 07:50 PM
Is the decision not being made in case it goes to a 5th set?
That could potentially start 40 minutes from now and end God knows when. It would definitely be too dark in that scenario.
No matter when they make the decision it will upset somebody.
Off the bar
05-07-2013, 07:51 PM
easy light enough to still be playing, or at least it is here in norf lahndan, Murray had a great point about it being an outdoor tournament.
on another point anyone else watching online and only getting the pictures and crowd noise rather than commentary whilst the roof is being closed?
05-07-2013, 07:52 PM
The roof should be shut when it needs to be shut not at the behest of a player.
Off the bar
05-07-2013, 07:53 PM
Is the decision not being made in case it goes to a 5th set?
That could potentially start 40 minutes from now and end God knows when. It would definitely be too dark in that scenario.
No matter when they make the decision it will upset somebody.
can't make the decision on ifs and buts, they should wait until its not light enough to play, the way Murray played the last 5 games it might only have lasted another 25 minutes.
05-07-2013, 07:54 PM
easy light enough to still be playing, or at least it is here in norf lahndan, Murray had a great point about it being an outdoor tournament.
on another point anyone else watching online and only getting the pictures and crowd noise rather than commentary whilst the roof is being closed?
If you click through the BBC sport website it only broadcasts the tennis. If you watch through the BBC 1 feed online it gives everyting that is on BBC 1
05-07-2013, 07:54 PM
can't make the decision on ifs and buts, they should wait until its not light enough to play, the way Murray played the last 5 games it might only have lasted another 25 minutes.
I agree, just playing Devils Advocate.
05-07-2013, 07:57 PM
If Janowicz comes back...oh jeezo.
C'mon Andy.
Off the bar
05-07-2013, 07:59 PM
If you click through the BBC sport website it only broadcasts the tennis. If you watch through the BBC 1 feed online it gives everyting that is on BBC 1
cheers, actually quite nice to just soak up the atmosphere and not have to listen to the commentators pratling on!
05-07-2013, 08:01 PM
I wouldn't say it to his face but Amir Khans missus is a bit of a state.
05-07-2013, 08:01 PM
Has the ref closed the roof just because the Pole is getting on his wick or is it really too dark - Murray seems to think it's bright enough? - The TV doesn't give a true appraisal of brightness levels I guess. Gamesmanship on Janowicz's part, I feel. Strong performance from Murray all round - his serving has been something else!
The TV definitely doesn't show you how dark it actually is.
I was on court one last Friday and it was getting dark about 8:15pm, although it was a horrible day from a weather point of view.
On a day like today, they would have had approximately another hour before a roof would have been required.
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 08:03 PM
Yeah, it's a bit annoying. Still it gave me time to do the dishes!
05-07-2013, 08:05 PM
Tag his chin mate, its like a milk float toppling over. Yer right though nothing on the tennis WAGS. James Cordens looks better as well.
05-07-2013, 08:12 PM
Murray breaks to go 2-1 up in the fourth. :thumbsup:
Off the bar
05-07-2013, 08:12 PM
Yeah, it's a bit annoying. Still it gave me time to do the dishes!
what's more annoying with watching online is that its about 30seconds behind the telly, and someone opposite my flat is watching very excitedly and cheering the winners, I've had to shut the window otherwise it spoils it and I'm roasting in here now!
05-07-2013, 08:13 PM
I was on court one last Friday and it was getting dark about 8:15pm, although it was a horrible day from a weather point of view.
Who were you playing ? Did you win ?
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 08:14 PM
what's more annoying with watching online is that its about 30seconds behind the telly, and someone opposite my flat is watching very excitedly and cheering the winners, I've had to shut the window otherwise it spoils it and I'm roasting in here now!
Sit in the string vest. Noone on here will mind! :greengrin
05-07-2013, 08:17 PM
will the pole want the roof opened again now :confused:
05-07-2013, 08:20 PM
Think all Janowicz's antics have worked against him
Lost the crowd, fired up Murray and lost his own concentration.
Off the bar
05-07-2013, 08:22 PM
Sit in the string vest. Noone on here will mind! :greengrin
05-07-2013, 08:26 PM
Haha, great minds
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 08:29 PM
I see Jude Law's on a date with Nicola Sturgeon.
05-07-2013, 08:34 PM
Murray wins in four sets. :thumbsup:
05-07-2013, 08:35 PM
Good lad.
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 08:36 PM
:flag::not worth:thumbsup:
I hope the weather on Sunday's like today. Might get myself along to Festival Sq. C'mon Andy!
05-07-2013, 08:38 PM
Who were you playing ? Did you win ?
Played David Ferrer but sadly lost. :boo hoo:
05-07-2013, 08:40 PM
I hope the weather on Sunday's like today. Might get myself along to Festival Sq. C'mon Andy!
It's to be mega hot on Sunday, about 85 degrees.
all scottish final, Andy Murray v Jocky Vitch :thumbsup:
Twiglet
05-07-2013, 08:42 PM
That's my plan too. Get a wee picnic and pretend I'm on Murray Mount (it's not Henman Hill!)
05-07-2013, 08:45 PM
Janowijz is an utter bellend.
LeighLoyal
05-07-2013, 08:59 PM
If Murray can find his top gear again on Sunday I think he'll take it. Destiny awaits.
05-07-2013, 09:05 PM
i hope he does better in his 2nd successive wimbers final than we did at hampders :(
05-07-2013, 09:07 PM
Janowijz is an utter bellend.
Couldnt agree more, Good to see Andy put him in his place.
05-07-2013, 09:11 PM
Any idea if you are allowed to take bevvy along? Do they have seats outside All Bar One?
05-07-2013, 09:19 PM
What a prick the Pole was being standing staring at Murray after each point he won, you got tucked away ya roaster!
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 09:21 PM
Any idea if you are allowed to take bevvy along? Do they have seats outside All Bar One?
I think it's fine to have drink (within reason I expect, no jakey antics anyone!). In the past I've seen portoloos there as well. Anyone know if they're there this year?
05-07-2013, 09:53 PM
If Murray can find his top gear again on Sunday I think he'll take it. Destiny awaits.
Hope so.
It might help him that he's already beaten Djokovic in a Grand Slam final. They're both incredibly fit athletes though who are more than capable of going 5+ hours so the match is going to be decided on the finest of margins.
05-07-2013, 09:56 PM
Would they delay it if it was Timmy ? Would they ****, Murray will do it despite the English Set
Jeezo.
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 10:14 PM
Hope so.
It might help him that he's already beaten Djokovic in a Grand Slam final. They're both incredibly fit athletes though who are more than capable of going 5+ hours so the match is going to be decided on the finest of margins.
I think Murray said after the game that he's only played him on grass once? And that was the Olympics.
05-07-2013, 10:18 PM
I think Murray said after the game that he's only played him on grass once? And that was the Olympics.
Yep, that's correct.
Not too sure how much of a bearing that will have on things though to be honest, considering what is at stake for Murray on Sunday.
LeighLoyal
05-07-2013, 10:19 PM
Hope so.
Yeah, could be a classic.
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 10:22 PM
Yep, that's correct.
Not too sure how much of a bearing that will have on things though to be honest, considering what is at stake for Murray on Sunday.
True, and was the Olympic semi not just over 3 sets? It promises to be quite a contest and I think it'll be so close I really can't make any predictions! It certainly won't be the last time these two face each other in a Grand Slam final. Anyone else notice McEnroe say how we were moving from the era of Nadal and Federer to the era of Djokovic and Murray? Exciting times lie ahead.
05-07-2013, 10:28 PM
True, and was the Olympic semi not just over 3 sets? It promises to be quite a contest and I think it'll be so close I really can't make any predictions! It certainly won't be the last time these two face each other in a Grand Slam final. Anyone else notice McEnroe say how we were moving from the era of Nadal and Federer to the era of Djokovic and Murray? Exciting times lie ahead.
Yeah it was only the final that was best of five sets.
I did hear McEnroe say that and although I would certainly say that Federer is heading towards the final stages of his career, I wouldn't rule out Nadal just yet.
He had another disappointing time at Wimbledon but prior to that, he had been winning just about every tournament he had entered since his comeback at the start of the year.
He's only 27 years old so I don't think we've seen the last of Rafael Nadal just yet.
hibby rae
05-07-2013, 10:32 PM
I did hear McEnroe say that and although I would certainly say that Federer is heading towards the final stages of his career, I wouldn't rule out Nadal just yet.
He had another disappointing time at Wimbledon but prior to that, he had been winning just about every tournament he had entered since his comeback at the start of the year.
He's only 27 years old so I don't think we've seen the last of Rafael Nadal just yet.
Yeah, he does seem really unlucky with injury as well. Felt sorry for him last week. Not taking anything away from Darcis. However, if it aids Andy as well then I won't complain!
05-07-2013, 10:36 PM
Confident of a 5 setter in Sunday's Final, nae idea who will have 3 at the end of the match though.
05-07-2013, 10:43 PM
Jeezo.
Jeezo, why ? Because you feel you had to because you have an English wife ? My post was not anti English, more pro Scottish.
GhostofBolivar
05-07-2013, 10:47 PM
Federer's going to be 5th in the world on Monday. His last 4 slams - Loss to Berdych in 4; loss to Murray in 5; loss to Tsonga in 3; loss to someone no-one's ever heard of in 4.
Yeah, he's fading. I find it difficult to believe he can beat either Djokovic or Murray over 5 sets and I certainly don't believe he could beat them both to win a slam.
06-07-2013, 06:45 AM
Federer's going to be 5th in the world on Monday. His last 4 slams - Loss to Berdych in 4; loss to Murray in 5; loss to Tsonga in 3; loss to someone no-one's ever heard of in 4.
Yeah, he's fading. I find it difficult to believe he can beat either Djokovic or Murray over 5 sets and I certainly don't believe he could beat them both to win a slam.
When you break it down he was very poor against Stahkovsky at Wimbledon. A man who was dismantled easily in the next round.
hibby rae
06-07-2013, 07:45 AM
When you break it down he was very poor against Stahkovsky at Wimbledon. A man who was dismantled easily in the next round.
It's remarkable when you consider the performance he had to produce to beat Murray at last year's final.
06-07-2013, 12:22 PM
Jeezo, why ? Because you feel you had to because you have an English wife ? My post was not anti English, more pro Scottish.
Nah it was neither, it was just pathetic!
06-07-2013, 12:22 PM
Seen this on Twitter, either Andy's got some sense of humour or somebody's hacked his account.
Must be a hoax. :greengrin
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOfBaH-CAAA8OtX.jpg:large
06-07-2013, 12:40 PM
Women's final - who is the favourite?
Love Becker's commentary. He's quality.
06-07-2013, 12:58 PM
Bartoli is the higher ranked player but Lisicki is the favourite.
06-07-2013, 01:09 PM
McEnroe is the man though.
Probably the best pundit in any sport. :thumbsup:
06-07-2013, 01:38 PM
Very one sided so far.
Bartoli takes the first set 6-1 after winning six games in a row.
Think the occasion's got to Lisicki so far.
06-07-2013, 01:58 PM
Bartoli breaks in the second set after Lisicki had several chances to break in the previous game.
Really poor performance so far.
06-07-2013, 02:11 PM
Bartoli wins 10 games out of the last 11.
4-1 second set with two breaks of serve.
Lisicki is almost in tears.
06-07-2013, 02:15 PM
Poor Sabine, looks like she just wants off asap.
06-07-2013, 02:23 PM
Lisicki gets one of the breaks back.
Serving at 3-5.
06-07-2013, 02:26 PM
She's suddenly like a different player.
Big pressure on Bartoli now.
06-07-2013, 02:26 PM
Lisicki holds serve again but Bartoli will serve for it again in a minute.
5-4 Bartoli.
06-07-2013, 02:29 PM
Bartoli wins 6-1 6-4.
Lisicki came into the match far too late. Can't argue with the result, completely deserved.
06-07-2013, 02:30 PM
Boom.
Ruthless.
06-07-2013, 02:33 PM
Pretty poor spectacle overall despite the late revival.
Unbelievable that Bartoli is going to receive the same prize money as either Murray or Djokovic tomorrow.
06-07-2013, 03:32 PM
Pretty poor spectacle overall despite the late revival.
Unbelievable that Bartoli is going to receive the same prize money as either Murray or Djokovic tomorrow.
What an incredibly sexist remark, why is it unbelievable?
hibby rae
06-07-2013, 03:57 PM
I think he means because the men have to play best of 5 but the women play best of 3.
06-07-2013, 04:44 PM
How on earth is it “incredibly sexist”? :confused:
I'm all for equal pay in the workplace but only when the men and women are doing exactly the same work.
You cannot seriously say that playing best of three set matches is the same as playing best of five set matches.
When they make the women play best of five set matches at the Grand Slams, I'll be more than happy to see them paid the same as the men.
Until then, you may want to withdraw the allegations of sexism.
06-07-2013, 04:53 PM
I'm all for equal pay in the workplace but only when the men and women are doing exactly the same work.
You cannot seriously say that playing best of three set matches is the same as playing best of five set matches.
When they make the women play best of five set matches at the Grand Slams, I'll be more than happy to see them paid the same as the men.
Personally not a fan of women's tennis, but surely length of match isn't what you're rewarding. In the same way that the cinema / theatre / just about any other sporting spectacle don't charge or pay per minute; they charge for the event or spectacle, and that's what the participants are paid for. While I would rather watch paint dry, my mum dreams of the day that she gets to sit in Centre Court for the women's final - the length of the game is immaterial to her preference for women's tennis, and mine for men's.
And if you did reward length of play, rather than the event, and it so happened that the women's final was an almighty 3 set tussle between two giants of the sport, at their finest, and the men's final was an easy and quick 3 setter between a formidable player and a weak one, do you pay the women more?
06-07-2013, 05:15 PM
Personally not a fan of women's tennis, but surely length of match isn't what you're rewarding. In the same way that the cinema / theatre / just about any other sporting spectacle don't charge or pay per minute; they charge for the event or spectacle, and that's what the participants are paid for. While I would rather watch paint dry, my mum dreams of the day that she gets to sit in Centre Court for the women's final - the length of the game is immaterial to her preference for women's tennis, and mine for men's.
And if you did reward length of play, rather than the event, and it so happened that the women's final was an almighty 3 set tussle between two giants of the sport, at their finest, and the men's final was an easy and quick 3 setter between a formidable player and a weak one, do you pay the women more?
You're not paying them the prize money for the result of the final though, your prize money covers your performance over the course of the whole tournament.
I am a huge supporter of equal rights between men and women and to be quite honest I am quite insulted by the calls of sexism being put in my direction.
But until the women play the same number of sets as the men, I will never accept equal prize money at the Grand Slams.
They play the same amount of tennis at masters events and they get equal prize money there too which is fine.
But not at Majors.
06-07-2013, 05:28 PM
You're not paying them the prize money for the result of the final though, your prize money covers your performance over the course of the whole tournament.
I am a huge supporter of equal rights between men and women and to be quite honest I am quite insulted by the calls of sexism being put in my direction.
But until the women play the same number of sets as the men, I will never accept equal prize money at the Grand Slams.
They play the same amount of tennis at masters events and they get equal prize money there too which is fine.
But not at Majors.
I think womens tennis would lose something if it went to five sets. It is just not deep enough, people dont want to see the top players hammer another set in for 25 mins just to satisfy those that cant accept equality. Womens tennis is the premier sport for women worldwide. I for one love the finesse and remember when i preferred it to watching the mens game during the 90s where entertainment wise it was dire.
People should watch it as a sport in its own right and forget the whataboutery comparing it to the mens game, its irrelevant.
06-07-2013, 06:57 PM
They're being rewarded for doing exactly the same thing...............winning their respective Wimbledon titles. No reason to pay one less than the other. If you're offended by being branded sexist then I suggest you withdraw your post!
06-07-2013, 07:32 PM
Last year they had seats in the sq and portaloos. Sky sports news were filming. My partner was on ssn and then was photographed by press when she had a greet when Murray lost. She was all over the following days papers.
Gonna finish early tomorrow and head along. Canny wait
And you can take drink along :)
06-07-2013, 09:00 PM
I'm all for equal opportunities - why not merge the tournaments into one and add both prize money pots together?
06-07-2013, 10:24 PM
They're being rewarded for doing exactly the same thing...............winning their respective Wimbledon titles. No reason to pay one less than the other. If you're offended by being branded sexist then I suggest you withdraw your post!
:rolleyes: Deary me
06-07-2013, 10:30 PM
:rolleyes: Deary me
06-07-2013, 10:54 PM
But not at Majors.
I'm not suggesting you're sexist, just that you're wrong.:greengrin. I think the length of the match is largely immaterial; that's not why people do or don't watch, and I don't think that it's how a player's contribution to the event should be measured. The majors are the pinnacle, and the show tournaments, of the women's game.
I think womens tennis would lose something if it went to five sets. It is just not deep enough, people dont want to see the top players hammer another set in for 25 mins just to satisfy those that cant accept equality. Womens tennis is the premier sport for women worldwide. I for one love the finesse and remember when i preferred it to watching the mens game during the 90s where entertainment wise it was dire.
People should watch it as a sport in its own right and forget the whataboutery comparing it to the mens game, its irrelevant.
06-07-2013, 11:26 PM
Sorry but that's just absolute nonsense.
Of course there's every reason to pay the women less, for the simple fact that they're doing less work.
Could you maybe care to explain how your sexism allegation stands up when I've said that I support the women being paid the same as the men at masters events, when they're doing the same amount of work as the men? :confused:
I stand by my original post and if that makes me a sexist in your eyes then so be it.
Won't be losing too much sleep.
06-07-2013, 11:41 PM
I'm not suggesting you're sexist, just that you're wrong.:greengrin. I think the length of the match is largely immaterial; that's not why people do or don't watch, and I don't think that it's how a player's contribution to the event should be measured. The majors are the pinnacle, and the show tournaments, of the women's game.
It's not about viewing figures, it's about the fact that a man needs to play a minimum of 21 sets to win a Grand Slam and a woman can win a Grand Slam by playing 14 sets (which is exactly the amount of sets that Marion Bartoli played this year en route to her victory).
I honestly don't understand why anyone would have a problem with suggesting that women should not be paid as much as the men, based on those simple facts.
Make the women play best of five set matches at the Grand Slams and there will be no-one happier than me to see the women paid the same as the men, despite being an apparent sexist.
07-07-2013, 06:39 AM
Of course there's every reason to pay the women less, for the simple fact that they're doing less work.
Could you maybe care to explain how your sexism allegation stands up when I've said that I support the women being paid the same as the men at masters events, when they're doing the same amount of work as the men? :confused:
I stand by my original post and if that makes me a sexist in your eyes then so be it.
That's up there with folk that make racist remarks and then try to defend it by saying some of my best mates are black! Sleep tight.
07-07-2013, 06:50 AM
I know what you're saying, but we'll have to agree to disagree :greengrin.
They're not being paid an hourly rate; they are elite athletes being paid for going all the way in one of the key events in their sport. There are any number of criteria you could use to judge the worth of athletes in a sporting tournament, and length of time in action seems to me to be a bit random. Footballers at the top end on their profession are paid more than rugby players are at the top of theirs because there is more commercial interest in the sport, not because they play 10 minutes longer. And we don't use that criteria to judge their respective worth. The women's and men's competitions at Wimbledon are parallel tournaments, adjusted for the different physiques of the two sexes. Their attraction, or otherwise, to viewers won't for the most part be based on length of game time.
Personally, I was tidying cupboards when the women's final was on yesterday, because it doesn't interest me, but for lots of people it was the key moment of the year in their favourite sport.
07-07-2013, 06:59 AM
It's not about viewing figures, it's about the fact that a man needs to play a minimum of 21 sets to win a Grand Slam and a woman can win a Grand Slam by playing 14 sets (which is exactly the amount of sets that Marion Bartoli played this year en route to her victory).
I honestly don't understand why anyone would have a problem with suggesting that women should not be paid as much as the men, based on those simple facts.
Make the women play best of five set matches at the Grand Slams and there will be no-one happier than me to see the women paid the same as the men, despite being an apparent sexist.
And another thing........:greengrin
If you choose to pay the women's finalists less because they theoretically could play less games, but they don't (if both male and female tournaments were won in 21 sets), do you adjust the prize money? If winnings were justified by duration of matches then presumably - given that duration is variable - you would have to adjust the prize accordingly. Because I doubt you could get away with paying less or more because of theoretical (rather than actual) time on court.:dunno:
07-07-2013, 08:35 AM
C'mon Andrew. Lets do this son.
07-07-2013, 08:46 AM
:agree: I would love to see him finally win it.
hibby rae
07-07-2013, 09:19 AM
C'mon Andy!!!! We're all proud of you!!
07-07-2013, 09:42 AM
That's up there with folk that make racist remarks and then try to defend it by saying some of my best mates are black! Sleep tight.
No it isn't. Whether you agree with FalkirkHibee or not his argument is perfectly logical.
Personally, I don't really care either way.
07-07-2013, 11:34 AM
I hear St Andrews square has screens up for the game, can anyone confirm?
07-07-2013, 11:52 AM
Fest sq mobbed but no chairs or loos this year. Gonna grab quick Chinese meal then set up camp in the sq. mon Andy
Manxhibs
07-07-2013, 11:52 AM
Only an hour away, what a day this could be!
07-07-2013, 11:54 AM
No it isn't. Whether you agree with FalkirkHibee or not his argument is perfectly logical.
The 'logical' aspect is because he compares it with mens tennis. Which by defintion is sexist.
Twiglet
07-07-2013, 12:19 PM
Fest sq mobbed but no chairs or loos this year. Gonna grab quick Chinese meal then set up camp in the sq. mon Andy
Here with my sis, friends, rug and far too much food. Really busy. Praying for a win for Murray.
07-07-2013, 12:41 PM
Murray in 5 today.
07-07-2013, 12:48 PM
Murray in 5 today.
I think (hope) you may be right.:aok:
However, we're having family round for dinner and, for various reasons, we won't be able to eat until a couple of hours after the end of the match. I'm starving already, and I could do with him sorting it out in 3.:wink:
Anyway, good luck Andy, and if he wins an almighty 5 set marathon, and I have to wait until midnight for my tea, I'll grin and bear it.
07-07-2013, 12:50 PM
By all means disagree with me but to accuse me of sexism on the basis that I've made a perfectly reasonable and rational point is just ridiculous.
I'm hoping that SH realises this once he's had time to digest what he's actually said.
If not then that's fine.
Either way, I've made my point on this issue now and all my focus is now on the tennis.
COME ON ANDY!!! :thumbsup:
07-07-2013, 12:50 PM
That seems perfectly reasonable to me.
Certainly makes more sense than comparing the wages of competitors in different sports just cos the matches have different timespans.
mon the Jocky Veitch!! need some beer coupons :greengrin
07-07-2013, 12:56 PM
Here with my sis, friends, rug and far too much food. Really busy. Praying for a win for Murray.
Gies a wave twiglet :). I'm stuck oot on the pavement with my Stella. Happy days
07-07-2013, 01:01 PM
That seems perfectly reasonable to me.
I think so too.
I sometimes think that folk on here are at the wind up with some of these discussions.
I hope so anyway.
Anyway, I'm sitting outside in the sunshine with a couple of beers and watching the tennis!
Bliss!
Come on Andy!
07-07-2013, 01:09 PM
Good luck to Andy Murray - it would be a fine thing for him to win today...here's hoping for a great match with an historic outcome :greengrin
07-07-2013, 01:27 PM
Djokovic is playing like Hearts.
He's been 15 down to start in every game :D
07-07-2013, 01:33 PM
Djokovic isny looking himself yet, if Murray keeps him running about i can see him tiring after that mammoth semi final
07-07-2013, 01:52 PM
This already has the feeling it's going to be a marathon.
2 double faults in a row from Murray!!
Twiglet
07-07-2013, 01:57 PM
Gies a wave twiglet :). I'm stuck oot on the pavement with my Stella. Happy days
There's a little gap in front of me. Room for 1 or poss 2. In front of silver thing. In line with tv van
Space gone.
07-07-2013, 02:13 PM
1st set to Murray - one down, only four more to go ?
Jocky needs to get his act together
Nevi_SOL
07-07-2013, 02:16 PM
Andy currently 1-0 set up
Playing well.
07-07-2013, 02:38 PM
come on the Dunblane Hibernian
07-07-2013, 02:42 PM
radio reports its 40 degrees on centre court, that's over 100 deg f
07-07-2013, 02:43 PM
andy gone into his depressed mode now....all my 20000 Vbuttons on the jocky guy noo
then again, might just make that 10,000Vbuttons
07-07-2013, 02:56 PM
Apparently this match has already lasted longer than the ladies final yesterday.
07-07-2013, 02:57 PM
He's playing excellent! Keep it up Andy!
AngusHibby
07-07-2013, 03:08 PM
For those who have twitter, follow Irvine Welsh. His commentary is exquisite
07-07-2013, 03:12 PM
07-07-2013, 03:17 PM
mon the murraymeister
07-07-2013, 03:18 PM
'a ringpiece malfunction from the Serb and the court turns from green to brown' was a personal favourite.
07-07-2013, 03:18 PM
Djokovic looks well rattled.
Moaning at the umpire and himself.
07-07-2013, 03:22 PM
BOOOOOOSHHHHH HIBS CLASS
Come on you beautiful little hibernian cunnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
07-07-2013, 03:22 PM
Squeaky bum time now, finish it Andy, good luck.
07-07-2013, 03:23 PM
Great tennis from Murray, both players fitness is incredible. Just wish Hibs players were this fit.
Nevi_SOL
07-07-2013, 03:25 PM
Different class how Murray turned that set round. Infact it was hibs class
07-07-2013, 03:32 PM
That was an absolutely brutal call by the line judge, Griffithsesque.
Just as well challenges exist in tennis.
hibby rae
07-07-2013, 03:38 PM
Don't want to get carried away but he's playing so well! Djokovic just doesn't seem up for it so far.
07-07-2013, 03:48 PM
Such a high standard of tennis. Incredible match.
07-07-2013, 04:08 PM
Big test of bottle now.
John_the_angus_hibby
07-07-2013, 04:09 PM
He can do it now!
wonder if there will be tears of joy this year :greengrin
07-07-2013, 04:14 PM
This is worse than watching Hibs
07-07-2013, 04:20 PM
This is worse than watching Hibs
difference being he'll get the big job done.
HiBremian
07-07-2013, 04:21 PM
Hibby History :greengrin :not worth
murray doing it the hibs way
07-07-2013, 04:21 PM
Yes!
What a performance and what support for him.
hibby rae
07-07-2013, 04:23 PM
You beautiful *******!
07-07-2013, 04:25 PM
Get in there ya beauty!
07-07-2013, 04:26 PM
BRILLIANT !! Fantastic, well deserved.
07-07-2013, 04:26 PM
utterly blows away Hoy's achievements.
unbelievable!
good on ya muzza!
07-07-2013, 04:27 PM
Amazing! Well done Andy!
07-07-2013, 04:35 PM
SPOTY. Bound to win it.
howdenthehibby
Well done Hibby Andy Murray, utterly brilliant.:flag::flag::flag:
HibeeHendo
The camera couldn't get off Alex Salmond holding the Scotland flag quicker.
07-07-2013, 04:42 PM
Why is it that at every major sporting final the TV director suddenly thinks he's Hitchcock, Copolla or Speilberg?
mrdependable
07-07-2013, 04:43 PM
fantastic. Well done Andy :flag:
Did you know its 77 years since an Englishman has won Wimbledon. :wink:
Galahibby
Awesome! :flag:
07-07-2013, 04:44 PM
Fantastic. Couldn't be more chuffed for him.
Captain Emerald
07-07-2013, 04:44 PM
Fabulous! Well done Andy :flag:
07-07-2013, 04:45 PM
Nice to see a great win with a wee Hibs family connection there.
Not the same as listening to one of Ronnie Corbetts jokes or Gregg Wallace commenting on the quality of a creme brulee but we take our pleasures where we can.
07-07-2013, 04:47 PM
http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/9223/gg7f.jpg
DAVE1875
07-07-2013, 04:49 PM
http://cdn.fourfourtwo.com/contentimages/interviews/SWYW.Murray.286.jpg
:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth
07-07-2013, 04:50 PM
Well done Andy! :thumbsup:
KdyHby
07-07-2013, 04:51 PM
07/07, 77 years
JollyGreenGiant
07-07-2013, 04:52 PM
Stephen Hendry & Chris Hoy GIRFUY greatest scot ever is Andy Murray!
well done Andy, he's one of our own.:greengrin
07-07-2013, 04:53 PM
77 years ended on 07/07 destiny - realised!
mrdependable
07-07-2013, 04:53 PM
Fantastic performance. He's worked incredibly hard for that :flag:
07-07-2013, 04:55 PM
It's an omen. We'll win the league next year and lift the Scottish Cup. :aok:
Well done Andy! :thumbsup:
manx hibee
07-07-2013, 04:55 PM
Absolute CLASS GGTTH
Purehibee_MYB
07-07-2013, 04:56 PM
he's one of our own! :flag:
HibeeMG
07-07-2013, 04:58 PM
I believe we offered him the chance to parade the US Open trophy at Easter Road but his schedule was tight.
We need to make this happen and advertise it properly. It would guarantee a full house.
Was just interviewed on ssn in Fest sq with my Andy Murray mask by Charles Paterson. Mon the muzza. Champagne in town now
He was absolutely brilliant today, well done Andy! :not worth
Take a bow son, very well deserved !!
MKHIBEE
07-07-2013, 04:59 PM
Well done to the lad,he could win a few more slams.
DAVE1875
07-07-2013, 05:00 PM
Still 77 years since an English champion :tee hee:
Was just interviewed on ssn in Fest sq with my Andy Murray mask by Charles Paterson. Mon the muzza. Champagne in town now
I take it Festival Square was a great place to be this afternoon?
Couldn't watch it. Have never watched him in a final. Went out at two. Mis-judged how long I'd been out and got back with the game still going - saw the last two points. Was sure I would jinx the whole thing. Apparently it's not actually anything to do with me!!
Andy Murray, you are a legend. And you are one of our own. Pride oozing out my pores. Thank you.
:flag::saltireflag:flag:
SON OF PADDY
07-07-2013, 05:02 PM
Well done Andy !
Rod bring him to Easter Rd to take a Bow.
07-07-2013, 05:04 PM
Wimbledon Champion on 07 - 07.
What a performance, what a champion, what a Hibby !
07-07-2013, 05:06 PM
Simply incredible. From a small town in Scotland, and one that will always have a heavy heart from that horrible day, will deservedly have some joy tonight. Well done Andy, against all the odds you showed what we can all achieve if we want it that bad. You sir are now a legend!!!
hibby rae
07-07-2013, 05:08 PM
Hibs class. Well done Andy!
07-07-2013, 05:09 PM
Murray wins after 77 years on the 7th day of the 7th month in the 17th hour !!!
Briliant !!!!
07-07-2013, 05:10 PM
I thought Djokovic's class as a person shone through in his post-match interview. Very gracious in defeat.
Well done Andy, one of our own!!
Lang Toun Hibs
Simply stunning. Glory glory...well done Andy!
HibsMax
07-07-2013, 05:11 PM
Amazing!
But 77 years is nothing. ;-)
Brilliant Andy Murray.Very well done.
Outstanding result....his mental strength is awesome....well done that man.
Superb Andy !!!
greengnome
07-07-2013, 05:13 PM
Well done Andy.... you dug deep, and never gave up... Well deserved. :thumbsup:
Dunderhall
07-07-2013, 05:13 PM
Most of their rallies had more strokes than the sum of all patients in Vlad's ward.
Well done that man.
07-07-2013, 05:18 PM
I dont know if Sir Alex was there today but I'm sure he would be vewwy vewwy pwoud if he was...I know I was....Arise, Sir Andy!...you have made a nation proud.:not worth
Twiglet
07-07-2013, 05:19 PM
I believe we offered him the chance to parade the US Open trophy at Easter Road but his schedule was tight.
We need to make this happen and advertise it properly. It would guarantee a full house.
Should have more time now. Only the Davis Cup between now and the us hard court season.
07-07-2013, 05:21 PM
This would be incredible to get Murray at ER. How about for the home European game. Would be tremendous.
07-07-2013, 05:24 PM
What a champion! a fantastic feat to beat ND in straight sets, well done young man!
:applause:
07-07-2013, 05:27 PM
Salmond (or any politician) shouldn't be allowed to hijack Murray's achievement. Only a politician as classless as Salmond would try.
As for Murray, absolute legend. If he's not SPOTY and a Knight of the Realm by this time next year, there's something wrong.
07-07-2013, 05:28 PM
I thought Djokovic's class as a person shone through in his post-match interview. Very gracious in defeat.
It did but to be honest its the only way to go anything else looks like sour grapes.
07-07-2013, 05:30 PM
The sort of cheap stunt that you would expect from Salmond. What an embarrassment to Scotland.