View Full Version : The Leigh Griffiths Mega Thread (latest: new contract signed with Wolves)

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

East Coast Hibe
22-06-2013, 11:12 AM
:tee hee: What a load of crap.

Apart from my opinion on him being finished by 30 (based on his inability to behave himself) It's all factual

Whats "crap" about it ?

22-06-2013, 11:18 AM
Your opinion.

Sparky will get the head down a be a great player for Wolves.

East Coast Hibe
22-06-2013, 11:20 AM
I hope so, and I hope I am wrong. But history and Griffiths empty head point otherwise

22-06-2013, 11:27 AM
I hope so, and I hope I am wrong. But history and Griffiths empty head point otherwise

He makes some rash decisions off the park due to being a bit of a hot head, but in footballing terms I don't think there'll be anything to stop Sparky having a great career. Numerous players and staff have said he's the best trainer at the club, he's not constantly on the lash and he keeps himself fit. I think having his kids at home keeps him away from too much nightlife, which bodes well for his footballing career. Other players have also said he's actually a great guy too, just needs to keep some more self control.

22-06-2013, 11:30 AM
Pulling out all the stops to engineer a move? :greengrin

TBH I think Griffiths will end up in a Riordan-type situation where he can only play well for Hibs. He won't get away with any of this stuff anywhere else.

Or the fact is anywhere outside Edinburgh there isn't any Jambo gimps ready to give him grief when in public.

22-06-2013, 12:59 PM
I hope he gets sorted out. Compulsive gambling is a hard addiction to control.
You can lose a fortune in seconds. If he is losing money that way he should admit its a problem and do all he can to stop, including giving his wages to someone else.

22-06-2013, 01:37 PM
I think your right.

He is obviously a bit short of brains or else he would not be chasing folk down the bridges and grabbing them by the throat.

We know practically none of the facts here aside that its been reported that LG grabbed someone. There are rumours flying around that the 'victim' took a swing at Leigh first after giving him a load of abuse so I don't think it's very fair to say that he's short of brains for chasing a guy down in the street and grabbing him by the throat.

Racist tweets, stealing lucozade at Tesco, now this.

The racist tweet, I'll give you that one, it was an immensely stupid thing to do.

Stealing from Tesco; IIRC he was never convicted...

It's never his fault. Why do no other players get in this trouble??

Remember the time he head-butted Pat Fenlon? That wasn't his fault.

High profile clubs won't put up with this nonsense and pretrty soon he will be on the scrap heap

Rubbish. High profile clubs put up with much worse all the time:

Baloteli
Suarez
Terry
Rooney
Gascoigne
Ronaldo - speeding and crashed his car, potentially injuring himself and costing Man United millions in wasted wages.

To name a small few....

23-06-2013, 11:24 AM
Rumour going round here that Bolton are going to put in a bid this week. If his move to Hibs is dead in the water then I suppose I should be happy with the runner's up prize!

23-06-2013, 11:28 AM
I think your right.

He is obviously a bit short of brains or else he would not be chasing folk down the bridges and grabbing them by the throat. Racist tweets, stealing lucozade at Tesco, now this. It's never his fault. Why do no other players get in this trouble??

High profile clubs won't put up with this nonsense and pretrty soon he will be on the scrap heap. It's a shame, cause the boy has talent. Unfortunately just not enough brains to deal with it. He will, without fail, follow Riordon and O'Connor onto the scrap heap by the age of 30. However Riordon and O'Connor have a bit cash behind them, a house and car. from what I hear Griffiths has given all his money to the bookies and casino and does not have a pot to piss in.

Have a word with yourself. Believing any old tripe and gossip brings the question of ownership of brains around to yourself.

24-06-2013, 11:29 AM
Wolves transfer list 4 players

PUBLISHED

11:40 24th June 2013

As a starting point to a reshaped squad, Wolves have confirmed that Karl Henry, Stephen Ward, Jamie O’Hara and Roger Johnson have officially been made available for transfer.

Following the squad’s return to pre-season training this morning, Head Coach Kenny Jackett spoke individually to the four players to inform them of his decision.

Conversations had already taken place with the players’ agents throughout the close season as Wolves prepare for the League One campaign.

Read more at http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article/four-players-transfer-listed-240613-877235.aspx#o8l8ObDJE7Lu3yad.99

24-06-2013, 11:35 AM
Wolves transfer list 4 players

PUBLISHED

11:40 24th June 2013

As a starting point to a reshaped squad, Wolves have confirmed that Karl Henry, Stephen Ward, Jamie O’Hara and Roger Johnson have officially been made available for transfer.

Following the squad’s return to pre-season training this morning, Head Coach Kenny Jackett spoke individually to the four players to inform them of his decision.

Conversations had already taken place with the players’ agents throughout the close season as Wolves prepare for the League One campaign.

Read more at http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article/four-players-transfer-listed-240613-877235.aspx#o8l8ObDJE7Lu3yad.99

FWIW O'Hara and Johnson will be big earners.

24-06-2013, 11:40 AM
FWIW O'Hara and Johnson will be big earners.

The 4 of them will be.

24-06-2013, 12:00 PM
Am bored of this now, talking about Wolves makes me sad. What a waste of a Hibs supporting talent.

24-06-2013, 12:02 PM
The 4 of them will be.

Relative to Scottish fitba' aye. Relative to each other O'Hara and Johnson will be far above the other two.

24-06-2013, 02:29 PM
http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/wolverhampton-wanderers-manager-kenny-jackett-4702989

26-06-2013, 05:16 PM

Hmmmm.....

26-06-2013, 05:20 PM
Next tweet he says " eventually" when asked the question "now or eventually". He loves us. We love him. Wolves are giving him a chance though, which is all he's wanted down south.

Edit; looks like he's been involved in another altercation. @LeighG28: “@OllieJohnstone: @LeighG28 Is it true you threw a slush puppy at some fud at M&D's?” Correct, what a waste of slush!

Maybe he's wanting to come back now after all...he's certainly doing his best to put Wolves off.

26-06-2013, 05:21 PM
http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/wolverhampton-wanderers-manager-kenny-jackett-4702989

That picture just doesn't look right he only suits green.

http://i3.birminghammail.co.uk/incoming/article1250018.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/leigh%20griffiths-1250018.jpg

Teapot
26-06-2013, 06:00 PM
Next tweet he says " eventually" when asked the question "now or eventually". He loves us. We love him. Wolves are giving him a chance though, which is all he's wanted down south.

Edit; looks like he's been involved in another altercation. @LeighG28: “@OllieJohnstone: @LeighG28 Is it true you threw a slush puppy at some fud at M&D's?” Correct, what a waste of slush!

Maybe he's wanting to come back now after all...he's certainly doing his best to put Wolves off.

Bet that makes the papers tomorrow :rolleyes:

26-06-2013, 06:01 PM

Course it will. As soon as a journalist gets a look at his twitter they'll have the story for tomorrow sorted.

26-06-2013, 06:03 PM
Course it will. As soon as a journalist gets a look at his twitter they'll have the story for tomorrow sorted.

Why is it lazy for a journalist to check a players Twitter account for a story?

26-06-2013, 06:07 PM
Why is it lazy for a journalist to check a players Twitter account for a story?

I didn't say it was? But is Leigh Griffiths throwing a drink at someone really worth writing full stories about? I guess we'll soon find out.

26-06-2013, 06:13 PM
I didn't say it was? But is Leigh Griffiths throwing a drink at someone really worth writing full stories about? I guess we'll soon find out.

Sorry, must have miss read your post.

Tbh he's relatively high profile now so yes, I'd say it probably is newsworthy, I'm not expecting it to make the 10 o clock news but I'd expect it to hit one of the red tops, that's what they do, gossip about famous people.

Griffiths needs to stop blaming the media as he has done recently and get rid of his Twitter account, it does him no favours at all.

26-06-2013, 06:23 PM
Feel sorry for Leigh, he gets absolute dogs abuse everywhere he goes, even when hes just trying to have a quiet day out with his family and kids. The moment he retaliates in the slightest the media quickly jump on the bandwagon and turn a mole hill into a mountain.

Im not saying Leighs actions were right at all, all i'm saying is that the media make him out to be far far worse than he is.

26-06-2013, 06:24 PM
Sorry, must have miss read your post.

Tbh he's relatively high profile now so yes, I'd say it probably is newsworthy, I'm not expecting it to make the 10 o clock news but I'd expect it to hit one of the red tops, that's what they do, gossip about famous people.

Griffiths needs to stop blaming the media as he has done recently and get rid of his Twitter account, it does him no favours at all.

Twitter does him absolutely no good and if its possible then I'd say he's pretty addicted to it. The racist tweet incident highlighted the problem to Hibs who acted and got him off of it. Dosent seem like Wolves are all that bothered. The people that target him both in public and online obviously know they'll get a reaction, suppose Sparky is being stupid enough to act with physical stuff instead of letting it slide/a quick remark back.

OsloHibs
26-06-2013, 07:37 PM
I love Leigh. That's all I wanna say.

26-06-2013, 08:40 PM
Come home Leigh :-D A bad start to the season for Wolves, fans on Sparky's back...home in January........We can but dream

27-06-2013, 06:08 AM

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4985844/Scotland-star-attacks-boy-with-Slush-Puppie.html

Purehibee_MYB
27-06-2013, 06:24 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4985844/Scotland-star-attacks-boy-with-Slush-Puppie.html

Me and my dad have just laughed all the way through that...

Must be a slow news day!

VivaHiberña
27-06-2013, 06:39 AM

Must be a slow news day!

"Jay’s trip to M&D’s theme park in Motherwell was ruined after he was left dripping icy pink juice following yesterday’s attack."

I believe the term they are so fond of is 'pleasing'.

:giruy::giruy:

On a serious note, he really could do with keeping a lid on that temper. I appreciate it must be hard with the constant s**** he gets but since the tweet incident it looked like he'd come to appreciate keeping a low profile. Don't chuck it now, Leigh.

27-06-2013, 06:54 AM
'Attacks boy with Slush Puppie'. That's brilliant. At first I couldn't tell if it was a real article or a mock up!

I call for an amnesty on slush puppies, people should be allowed to take them to thier nearest police station and hand them in, without fear of prosecution.

27-06-2013, 06:57 AM

Holy ******

With all thats bad in the world going on just about every day the Sun has this as it's front page headline:rolleyes:

Rag

27-06-2013, 07:00 AM

Must be a slow news day!

Nah mate not at all that's Front Page News right there

Velma Dinkley
27-06-2013, 07:01 AM
Are there fans of any other teams in Britain who regularly abuse and attack players from an opposition team so frequently? It seems so bizarre that people can't get their heads around the fact that footballers are actually real life human beings rather than pantomime villains that merely exist to be abused at peoples' leisure.

27-06-2013, 07:12 AM
Shocking behaviour

If I was a wolves fan, I'd want him fired and nowhere near my team

:cb

27-06-2013, 07:23 AM
Pathetic from Griffiths like, throwing a slush puppie at a young Hearts fan and hitting his shoulder!

He should be totally embarrassed and ashamed, and I'm definately expecting Wolves to now be getting shot of him!

Imagine missing the wee Jambo fuds heid & only hitting his shoulder, terrible form!

27-06-2013, 07:30 AM
Utter tripe......leigh griffths does not have a short fuse nor would he deliberately throw a slush puppy at someone who was abusing him........i actually saw cctv footage and it looked to me like leigh was waving to someone standing behind the lad and tripped, lost his balance and the motion carried the said slush puppy through the air and over the unfortunate lad

27-06-2013, 08:56 AM
What a waste of a good slush puppy :(

27-06-2013, 09:16 AM

That can't be real.

There is just no way that someone who is paid as a journalist could have penned that story.

27-06-2013, 09:20 AM
That can't be real.

There is just no way that someone who is paid as a journalist could have penned that story.

It's a tabloid newspaper, they write gossip about famous people, its Griffiths that needs to wisen up as the media aren't going to change or go anywhere.

This story probably wouldn't have got out if it wasn't for his own Twitter account.

Teapot
27-06-2013, 09:25 AM

:faf::faf::faf:

I expected it to get mentioned in a foot note, but not an article that size. I've seen murders get less coverage in that paper.

27-06-2013, 09:33 AM
I am all for shouting abuse at the opposition when they are in the Stadium playing football, they have to realise that is part of the job. Outside of that though no one has any business taunting someone and shouting stuff at them. If some random guy came up to me when I was out with my wife and kids and started giving it big licks he would get more than a slush puppy thrown at him. If there is any truth in this at all then Griffiths is still as daft as before, I think it's time we realised that football players are humans and some of them are total idiots.

I remember seeing Mark De Vries in Sportsters no long after we got gubbed by him, ended up talking to him and he was a totally nice guy, I suspect if I had went up shouting in his face things would have turned out differently.

"DAD I WAS SHOUTING AND TAUNTING THAT GUY OVER THERE AND HE DIDN'T LIKE IT WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH"

27-06-2013, 09:44 AM
It's a tabloid newspaper, they write gossip about famous people, its Griffiths that needs to wisen up as the media aren't going to change or go anywhere.

This story probably wouldn't have got out if it wasn't for his own Twitter account.

I understand that tabaloids exist to print sensationlist pish.

I genuinely thought it was a mock up at first because of the ridiculous picture of Leigh with a slush puppy photoshopped randomly over him. Add to that phrases like 'juice rage' and 'dripping icy pink drink' and of course the Sun special obligatory random words in bold and I would say whoever wrote and edited the story is lucky to be making a living as a reporter.

27-06-2013, 09:53 AM
I understand that tabaloids exist to print sensationlist pish.

I genuinely thought it was a mock up at first because of the ridiculous picture of Leigh with a slush puppy photoshopped randomly over him. Add to that phrases like 'juice rage' and 'dripping icy pink drink' and of course the Sun special obligatory random words in bold and I would say whoever wrote and edited the story is lucky to be making a living as a reporter.

Indeed, the superimposed slush puppie cup in front of a picture of Leigh with Scotland trackie on at Glasgow airport is brilliant. :greengrin

27-06-2013, 09:55 AM
Hang your head in shame Griffiths, FFS only hitting his shoulder from that close is embarrassing.

hibeequinn
27-06-2013, 11:23 AM
The wee boy was probably trying to win compensation to give to his helpless litle club.

28-06-2013, 02:51 PM
Just been thinking about the Griffiths situation at Wolves and checking their fans forum there are many of them who although think he might do a job for them think he is more trouble than he is worth and they would be well rid of him. Some thinking that even if he does stay he'll just sign a pre-contract with us in January and not try a leg after that.

Looking at their side Leigh has a bit of competition up front for his place so (especially if he doesn't get off to a good start) there is no guarantee of a regular starting place, will Sparky be happy with that and will it jeopardise his Scotland place.

Jus wondering how much Wolves will put up with if the bad publicity continues and if so could we see him back sooner than we think, maybe just wishful thinking.

Some of the fans comments from the last day or so below: -

It may be true that LG could score a lot of goals for us in the coming season, but it's equally certain that he will likely score plenty of own goals, too. Mismanagement has already made our club a laughing stock; it would be pitiful to see Wolves regarded as a disgrace as well. This guy could easily manage this single handed.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kenny Jackett will give him a chance, will probably send him off with a Sports Psychologist and give him the chance to prove his worth. HOWEVER I equally believe that Jackett will sideline him at the first sign of poor attitude/shenannigans. Jackett is not a pushover and will demand the best from his players
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well, I hope you're right, Darlo, but the first sign of said shenanigans could be too late. We have (hopefully) enough talent in the squad (and we can still supplement this if necessary) to perform at this League's highest level - we don't need trouble.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
He's a colossal bellend, and needs $#@!ing off as soon as possible.

In fact, I'd go further than bellend - he's a danger. Team spirit is going to be vital, and he'll be about as popular in the dressing room as a pile of $#@!.

Not selling him to Hibs now is pointless. We all know he'll be signing a pre-contract up North in 27 weeks time, then he'll do $#@! all down here for the rest of the season. We're risking a lot for 4 months' worth of potential. And if we can't - with our budget - find a player who will score at a similar rate without being the dictionary definition of a $#@!, then Thelwell wants $#@!ing with a big stick.

He's nothing but trouble, always has been, always will be. He's not a child anymore, he's 23 in a few weeks. He's just a spoiled, arrogant prick who thinks he's beyond reproach. A completely unmanageable character.

What's his record like, off the pitch?

Arrest for racism, arrest for assault, arrest for shoplifting, chucking stuff at a kid, walks round blowing his beans up any slag that bends over, and $#@! knows what else. He's just a massive $#@!.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
He's a complete cockwomble who I want nowhere near here.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
KJ may cut him loose now. He's already given Griffiths the big fatherly hug with that pre-WCQ phone call and Leigh still goes off his mind like this.

Get rid, we'll find someone else to do the job.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Is it worth the trouble, as well as losing any potential sale fee on effectively a four month loan? You can't see him performing admirably and whole-heartedly post-January after he inevitably signs a pre-contract with an SPL club, can you?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We've seen how damaging a lack of unity can be though mate. It's the main reason for our double relegation IMO. Lack of unity caused by $#@!ers.

Let's see what Jackett can do with him. If he carries on being a dickhead, he won't play and TBH I can't see him being a huge miss when we've Siggy, Cassidy and McAlinden as his competition. And who knows - we might bring in another striker.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This saga could make or break KJ in my eyes. When LG returns, he like RJ and JOH should be told to do one.

We absolutely cannot afford another Henri Camara type begging-him-to-stay incident (especially not with Scotland flags).

If KJ tries to get him playing for us then KJ is weak. (i would then have my doubts whether he is a good manager - and this in turn may imply that he has to go)

Just get him down here and tell him to bog off.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well, look at it this way - Leigh being a bit of a prick hasn't stopped him being the top goalscorer in the Scottish Premier League has it? As Langers has said Jackett ought to be able to keep a lid on him but if not then he's gone

http://www.wolvesforum.co.uk/showthread.php?21439-Griffiths-named-SPL-Player-of-the-Year/page8

28-06-2013, 02:56 PM
Nice to be wanted Eh !! Big mistake for Leigh I think ...

Teapot
28-06-2013, 02:58 PM
Just been thinking about the Griffiths situation at Wolves and checking their fans forum there are many of them who although think he might do a job for them think he is more trouble than he is worth and they would be well rid of him. Some thinking that even if he does stay he'll just sign a pre-contract with us in January and not try a leg after that.

Looking at their side Leigh has a bit of competition up front for his place so (especially if he doesn't get off to a good start) there is no guarantee of a regular starting place, will Sparky be happy with that and will it jeopardise his Scotland place.

Jus wondering how much Wolves will put up with if the bad publicity continues and if so could we see him back sooner than we think, maybe just wishful thinking.

It may be true that LG could score a lot of goals for us in the coming season, but it's equally certain that he will likely score plenty of own goals, too. Mismanagement has already made our club a laughing stock; it would be pitiful to see Wolves regarded as a disgrace as well. This guy could easily manage this single handed.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kenny Jackett will give him a chance, will probably send him off with a Sports Psychologist and give him the chance to prove his worth. HOWEVER I equally believe that Jackett will sideline him at the first sign of poor attitude/shenannigans. Jackett is not a pushover and will demand the best from his players
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well, I hope you're right, Darlo, but the first sign of said shenanigans could be too late. We have (hopefully) enough talent in the squad (and we can still supplement this if necessary) to perform at this League's highest level - we don't need trouble.

In fact, I'd go further than bellend - he's a danger. Team spirit is going to be vital, and he'll be about as popular in the dressing room as a pile of $#@!.

Not selling him to Hibs now is pointless. We all know he'll be signing a pre-contract up North in 27 weeks time, then he'll do $#@! all down here for the rest of the season. We're risking a lot for 4 months' worth of potential. And if we can't - with our budget - find a player who will score at a similar rate without being the dictionary definition of a $#@!, then Thelwell wants $#@!ing with a big stick.

He's nothing but trouble, always has been, always will be. He's not a child anymore, he's 23 in a few weeks. He's just a spoiled, arrogant prick who thinks he's beyond reproach. A completely unmanageable character.

Arrest for racism, arrest for assault, arrest for shoplifting, chucking stuff at a kid, walks round blowing his beans up any slag that bends over, and $#@! knows what else. He's just a massive $#@!.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
KJ may cut him loose now. He's already given Griffiths the big fatherly hug with that pre-WCQ phone call and Leigh still goes off his mind like this.

Is it worth the trouble, as well as losing any potential sale fee on effectively a four month loan? You can't see him performing admirably and whole-heartedly post-January after he inevitably signs a pre-contract with an SPL club, can you?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We've seen how damaging a lack of unity can be though mate. It's the main reason for our double relegation IMO. Lack of unity caused by $#@!ers.

Let's see what Jackett can do with him. If he carries on being a dickhead, he won't play and TBH I can't see him being a huge miss when we've Siggy, Cassidy and McAlinden as his competition. And who knows - we might bring in another striker.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This saga could make or break KJ in my eyes. When LG returns, he like RJ and JOH should be told to do one.

We absolutely cannot afford another Henri Camara type begging-him-to-stay incident (especially not with Scotland flags).

If KJ tries to get him playing for us then KJ is weak. (i would then have my doubts whether he is a good manager - and this in turn may imply that he has to go)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well, look at it this way - Leigh being a bit of a prick hasn't stopped him being the top goalscorer in the Scottish Premier League has it? As Langers has said Jackett ought to be able to keep a lid on him but if not then he's gone

http://www.wolvesforum.co.uk/showthread.php?21439-Griffiths-named-SPL-Player-of-the-Year/page8

"cockwomble" ??:wtf:

scott7_0(Prague)
28-06-2013, 02:59 PM

Encouraging - :-) keep it up Sparky.

erskine-hibby
28-06-2013, 03:44 PM
Leigh was just contributing to the Jambos slush fund....ah'll get ma coat.

28-06-2013, 03:45 PM
I ****ing hate Wolves. Small ****ty League 1 pish.

Zondervan
28-06-2013, 03:54 PM
"cockwomble" ??:wtf:

My new favourite word:

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Cockwomble

TheFamous1875
28-06-2013, 04:06 PM
@LeighG28: Listen, wolves fans can say what they like, they won't be picking the squads, il be doing my best to get in the team and score goals !!

He's not exactly endearing himself to them, is he? I really do think it would be best for both parties if he stayed up here with us.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

28-06-2013, 04:07 PM
@LeighG28: Listen, wolves fans can say what they like, they won't be picking the squads, il be doing my best to get in the team and score goals !!

Will someone please take Twitter off that laddy.

28-06-2013, 04:07 PM

Sounds like he's been reading these pages. :greengrin

28-06-2013, 04:11 PM

Think he should have stayed off Twitter, getting in too much bother and hassled.

28-06-2013, 04:11 PM
We don't need Griffiths. Hibs will prevail. We always have done.

28-06-2013, 04:12 PM
My fear for Sparky is that if he misses a couple of chances their 'fans' will get right on top of him.

That kind of abuse and pressure destroyed Nishy IMO.

Teapot
28-06-2013, 04:15 PM
My new favourite word:

:greengrin thanks for clearing it up. The Wolves fans on that board are a bunch of cockwombles.

28-06-2013, 04:16 PM
He's not exactly endearing himself to them, is he? I really do think it would be best for both parties if he stayed up here with us.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Got to be said though it has all sounded recently like its been him wanting to go there, not that he is trying to stay here. He's not really that good at not saying what he thinks!

28-06-2013, 04:18 PM
:greengrin thanks for clearing it up. The Wolves fans on that board are a bunch of cockwombles.

I like that Neil Doncaster is used in one of the definitions!

Teapot
28-06-2013, 04:25 PM
I like that Neil Doncaster is used in one of the definitions!

:tee hee: the word totally defines him as well.

Purehibee_MYB
28-06-2013, 04:44 PM
Got to be said though it has all sounded recently like its been him wanting to go there, not that he is trying to stay here. He's not really that good at not saying what he thinks!

I'm no psychologist but from my point of view he does want to stay at hibs but part of him wants to prove to the wolves fans and others that he is not a flop there and thats what this year left on his contract can do, but equally if i deal could have been done I'm sure he would have signed the dotted line

28-06-2013, 05:00 PM
Will someone please take Twitter off that laddy.
Only once he finally manages to burn all his bridges at Wolves and has no choice but to come back to us!

28-06-2013, 07:34 PM
Was just looking at Sparky's twitter and he definitely needs to get off it if some of todays abuse is an example of the stuff he has to put up with.

Leigh do yourself a favour and just forget twitter it's going to get you in more trouble.

To abusive to copy here.

@LeighG28 (https://twitter.com/LeighG28)

28-06-2013, 09:32 PM
A Hibs Wolves 'friendly' would be pretty tasty now I reckon, winner keeps Griffiths. We'd surely beat a small side from the Midlands. Good to see Wolves back where they belong though

28-06-2013, 10:55 PM
My new favourite word:

Mine too. Congrats on the urban dictionary find too. It's made my day (it's not been that exciting a day!)

29-06-2013, 11:56 PM
My new favourite word:

That is quite possibly the funniest and most random pic I've ever seen on here :greengrin :top marks

30-06-2013, 02:25 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4989192/Leigh-him-alone.html

MagicSwirlingShip
30-06-2013, 04:35 AM
I don't know what's more stupid - Leigh's reaction at a silly yamfud on the wind up, or the fact his family were actually quoted in that article.

Pains me to say it, but considering he's probably the most exciting goalscorer Scotland had produced in the last 5 years, our media seem intent on doing everything they can to see him fail.

Non story that puts him & his family in a bad light.

The Scottish media can do one.

He's a hibs fan @ the end of the day. To have his personal business dragged through the red tops must be heartbreaking for the boy.

30-06-2013, 06:59 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4989192/Leigh-him-alone.html

That is nothing but a hatchet job full of the journalists own sense of superiority , prejudice and good old fashioned snobbery.

30-06-2013, 08:10 AM
As much as I like LG as a player and want him at Hibs, its probably best for him as a person to play his football away from Scotland. That the abuse he gets might stop and the media might leave him alone

30-06-2013, 08:22 AM
He won't be back. Pat admitted as much yesterday. As much as its a shame for Hibs the lad will go down south, get away from all the trouble up here, and prove to everyone that he's got what it takes. Good luck to him.

30-06-2013, 10:08 AM
I thought it was very public spirited of Leigh to contribute to the yams 'slush' fund in this way...the young lad can now auction off his t shirt on brokeback and raise some more cash for Ian Murray so he can buy a new blazer.

30-06-2013, 10:49 AM
He won't be back. Pat admitted as much yesterday. As much as its a shame for Hibs the lad will go down south, get away from all the trouble up here, and prove to everyone that he's got what it takes. Good luck to him.

I'm not convinced. Pat will have accepted that its unlikely we will get him but you just know Rod will go back with another bid near the end of August.

30-06-2013, 11:11 AM
Leigh's biggest "crime" is that he's easily wound up.

That will change as he gets older.

It's not as if he sends pictures of his cock to 11 and 12 year old children.

30-06-2013, 03:40 PM
I'm not convinced. Pat will have accepted that its unlikely we will get him but you just know Rod will go back with another bid near the end of August.

lets forget about lee it aint going to happen, maybe next year if he has a mince season down there, but forget about paying money for him its over. lets move on.

30-06-2013, 03:45 PM
lets forget about lee it aint going to happen, maybe next year if he has a mince season down there, but forget about paying money for him its over. lets move on.

I still have a feeling that IF he get's off to a not so good start with Wolves, maybe doesn't start very often, or get's into bother again that they might think it's better to get rid before end of August, it's certainly a possibility.

Maybe wishful thinking on my part, however, if he starts well with them plays regularly & scores a few we've no chance, time will tell.

30-06-2013, 03:47 PM
I think he will be back...

Though it will either be January 2014 he signs a pre-contract or summer 2014 he will be wearing a Hibs top again :agree:

30-06-2013, 04:14 PM
I think he will be back...

Though it will either be January 2014 he signs a pre-contract or summer 2014 he will be wearing a Hibs top again :agree:

That seems to be a possibility .
My son met and spoke with him for a couple of minutes last week and was pulling his leg about comeing back to ER

"It might be a happy NEW YEAR" for us all !!" was his reply
Take what you like from that !!

30-06-2013, 05:31 PM
That seems to be a possibility .
My son met and spoke with him for a couple of minutes last week and was pulling his leg about comeing back to ER

"It might be a happy NEW YEAR" for us all !!" was his reply
Take what you like from that !!

Highlighted part speaks volumes.

:singing: "A guid new year tae yin an' a' ......"

Go Sparkyboy! :not worth

30-06-2013, 07:21 PM

Lol!

LeighLoyal
30-06-2013, 07:29 PM

But if he did I'm sure their would be 'sufficient mitigating circumstances' to borrow a Vlad mouthpiece phrase. :shocked:

30-06-2013, 07:37 PM

"I am wound up presently but Ill be sorted in the morning but you pleb are a Jambo and you are stuffed for life" What Churchill ACTUALLY said....

09-07-2013, 04:14 PM
Sparky has confirmed that he will be back with us for the next Derby against Hearts. :thumbsup:

Unfortunately just as a spectator. :boo hoo:

leigh griffiths ‏@LeighG28 Protected account 9m (https://twitter.com/LeighG28/status/354632406382288897) Looks like my first Game back in Scotland to watch the hibees will be against hearts! Can't wait for this!! #Allezallezallezoh (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Allezallezallezoh&src=hash) #PFGAWA (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23PFGAWA&src=hash)

leigh griffiths ‏@LeighG28 Protected account 7m (https://twitter.com/LeighG28/status/354633110920495105) “@RyanGallagher70 (https://twitter.com/RyanGallagher70): @LeighG28 (https://twitter.com/LeighG28) does that mean you'll be sitting with the fans? #ggtth (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23ggtth&src=hash)” yes

Bobo
10-07-2013, 08:23 PM
He scored for Wolves tonight @ East Fife

Leishy1995
10-07-2013, 08:42 PM
Nade scores vs wolves

CA Hibby
10-07-2013, 08:47 PM
Nade scores vs wolves

Yeah Kevin , not the other one...

Leishy1995
10-07-2013, 09:00 PM
Yeah Kevin , not the other one...

I don't recall stating a difference between the brothers

10-07-2013, 09:02 PM

Whats he doing, he needs to get with the programme......goals are a no no :grr:

11-07-2013, 04:38 AM
If Spanky really wanted to join Hibs, he'd get Rod to give him the greenbacks to buy himself out of the last year of his contract and tell Wolves he's just not playing for them.

11-07-2013, 08:07 AM
"Shamed ex-Scotland star Garry O'Connor larks around with fellow football bad boy Leigh Griffiths instead of doing his community service"

Last few paragraphs go: "Griffiths played with O'Connor for Hibs in last years Scottish cup final when they were thrashed 5-1 by rivals Hearts."

Then also mentions throwing a slush puppy and flying to Magaluf.

2 page spread in page 4/5 of today's sun!
No wonder he gets annoyed :bitchy:

duffers
11-07-2013, 08:25 AM
"Shamed ex-Scotland star Garry O'Connor larks around with fellow football bad boy Leigh Griffiths instead of doing his community service"

Last few paragraphs go: "Griffiths played with O'Connor for Hibs in last years Scottish cup final when they were thrashed 5-1 by rivals Hearts."

They just love having a go at him. He could score the World Cup winning goal and the suns Headline would be 'Shameful Hibs Thug scores winner'

11-07-2013, 08:34 AM
They just love having a go at him. He could score the World Cup winning goal and the suns Headline would be 'Shameful Hibs Thug scores winner'

The thing that gets me is the apparent fact that this story took priority over stories of Rape and such.

11-07-2013, 08:37 AM
The thing that gets me is the apparent fact that this story took priority over stories of Rape and such.It's a comic, what dae you expect? Sensationalist nonsense will always take priority of real news. Why people read it is beyond me.

11-07-2013, 08:42 AM
It's a comic, what dae you expect? Sensationalist nonsense will always take priority of real news. Why people read it is beyond me.

I don't know why I read it. I think I have a problem :panic:

11-07-2013, 08:47 AM

First touch of the ball. Set up their 3rd from a corner

Hibbywolf
11-07-2013, 12:11 PM
First touch of the ball. Set up their 3rd from a corner

He played well some nice touches.Kevin Nade came on for East Fife 2nd half and somehow scored,i have never seen a bigger bloater on a fitba pitch!Ran to the manager when he scored, jumped on him and nearly flattened him!

Other "highlights" one of Leighs brood shouting Hibees at the start,and the wee Fife wummin announcer trying to pronounce the Wolves team,priceless!

11-07-2013, 12:23 PM
He played well some nice touches.Kevin Nade came on for East Fife 2nd half and somehow scored,i have never seen a bigger bloater on a fitba pitch!Ran to the manager when he scored, jumped on him and nearly flattened him!

Other "highlights" one of Leighs brood shouting Hibees at the start,and the wee Fife wummin announcer trying to pronounce the Wolves team,priceless!

She's brilliant, always adds humour to match day announcements. She came on at half time when we played them under Calderclown, telling the crowd of a four team tourney taking place the following week.......read out the first day round robin fixtures and then said 'and on the Sunday, Dundee and Torquay (I think) will be fighting it out to see who plays East Fife in the final :greengrin'..........can't beat a bit of confidence in yer team :greengrin

11-07-2013, 12:32 PM

Douglas (the yam) Walker is a prick.

What a load of pish Doug, away and do some reporting on your vile dad, now that's a story folk would want to read about rather than a couple of guys meeting up, if they even met up, you tell porkies Doug and make things up ya prick.

**** you and your team and your pishy paper.

MontrealHibs
14-07-2013, 10:06 PM
Will it finally happen this week?? Word is that things moved on this weekend between Rod and Jez :flag:

AngusHibby
14-07-2013, 10:25 PM
Will it finally happen this week?? Word is that things moved on this weekend between Rod and Jez :flag:

really?

14-07-2013, 10:30 PM
Legend

14-07-2013, 10:31 PM

Did you get this from the thread in the pm forum or have you heard it from elsewhere?

hibsmad
14-07-2013, 10:36 PM
It's a comic, what dae you expect? Sensationalist nonsense will always take priority of real news. Why people read it is beyond me.

Spot on. Doesn't reflect we'll on British/Scottish society that utter rags like that get bought and read by millions. The last time I bought either a Record or Sun must have been when I was in my late teens. Then i grew up. Seriously don't understand why people think they are worth reading.

14-07-2013, 10:42 PM

I would give Rod a huge kiss in public at the next home game, if he announced Griffiths was coming back.

Absolutely over the moon if this happened. :pray:

Still not expecting it though.

14-07-2013, 10:43 PM
So we blame you if the deal is off?

15-07-2013, 08:00 AM
I would give Rod a huge kiss in public at the next home game, if he announced Griffiths was coming back.

Absolutely over the moon if this happened. :pray:

Still not expecting it though.

I think this started as a wind-up.

15-07-2013, 08:57 AM

probably the difference in valuation :wink:

GlenrothesHibee
15-07-2013, 10:22 AM
Do people really think we are going to sign Griffiths? He is at Wolves and going nowhere. Move on.

15-07-2013, 10:49 AM
Do people really think we are going to sign Griffiths? He is at Wolves and going nowhere. Move on.

Source??

GlenrothesHibee
15-07-2013, 12:15 PM
Source??

Saw him in a Wolves shirt in the Sun?

15-07-2013, 12:17 PM

Correct, people need to get over it and move on imo

15-07-2013, 12:42 PM
Sorry but as much as I hate to say this, he's not coming back, not now anyway.

Lets just move on and move forward, I think most of this talk about him returning this summer is just wishful thinking.

15-07-2013, 09:40 PM
I think this started as a wind-up.

I would imagine that would be the case.

I don't expect to see Leigh Griffiths back in a Hibs shirt any time soon, given what was announced by both Hibs and Wolves a few weeks back.

Doesn't hurt to dream though.

15-07-2013, 10:25 PM
I would imagine that would be the case.

I don't expect to see Leigh Griffiths back in a Hibs shirt any time soon, given what was announced by both Hibs and Wolves a few weeks back.

Doesn't hurt to dream though.

It does if you are driving ;)

15-07-2013, 11:22 PM
I don't see why people think it's a wind up? We might get him/ we might not.

But we're definitely still trying, I'm >90% certain of that.

15-07-2013, 11:30 PM
I don't see why people think it's a wind up? We might get him/ we might not.

But we're definitely still trying, I'm >90% certain of that.your quite right. I have personally emailed Rod, and offered him a gobble, if he can make it happen. still waiting on a reply though.

16-07-2013, 02:07 PM
your quite right. I have personally emailed Rod, and offered him a gobble, if he can make it happen. still waiting on a reply though.

Has Sidney wrote a letter?

16-07-2013, 02:12 PM
Has Sidney wrote a letter?

Shhhh... don't bother him. He's busy with his letter to BDO.

16-07-2013, 02:45 PM
We are all sidneyhibbie.....

16-07-2013, 02:57 PM
I believe there is some mileage in his signing a "Pre Contract" in January especially if Wolves do not look as though they will be promoted
It appears there is a fair bit of pressure on him to come back to Edinburgh - no prizes for guessing why on more than one count :wink:
Lets HOPE !!!!!!!!!!!!

16-07-2013, 08:14 PM
Griffiths running Wrexham riot in tonight's friendly as per official wolves twitter

Set up first and Scored second with run down wing and shot ... Sounds familiar !!

Cannae see wolves letting him go ... He will score a barraload in league 1 and get a move to EPL within 2 seasons ... Good luck wee man and thanks for your contribution .... Absolutely top class player in the making

PS .... A wee winner a wembley please Leigh !!

16-07-2013, 08:17 PM
If Wolves are letting him go I reckon he will go to Celtic.

16-07-2013, 08:28 PM
Wolves won't have an option, at the end of next season he will leave them, he would be mad to sign for them again when he can do so much better.

21-07-2013, 10:59 AM
That must be the end of this saga if Collins signs.

East Coast Hibe
23-07-2013, 08:45 PM
Griffiths scores winner in Wolves friendly tonight

23-07-2013, 08:50 PM
Griffiths scores winner in Wolves friendly tonight

Looks like he is enjoying himself at Wolves.

No way will Wolves will let him go, more like offer him a new contract.

23-07-2013, 08:52 PM
i want super leigh back a lot

23-07-2013, 08:53 PM

I don't doubt Hibs have tried and may even try again but Wolves would be mad to let him go. Proven goalscorer on relatively low wages, even the jokers running Wolves at the moment aren't that stupid.

If only Rod had spent that 150k.........

23-07-2013, 09:37 PM

Although he'd be daft to sign it, he'll go on to much better teams than wolves if he keeps this up. Sure he'll come back to us one day but not in the foreseeable future. All the best sparky.

j'adore hibs
23-07-2013, 09:45 PM
Did Doyle score chesterfields goal? ......thought not

23-07-2013, 09:48 PM

wtf?

23-07-2013, 09:50 PM

23-07-2013, 09:59 PM

Should we be blaming Petrie? :confused:

24-07-2013, 04:52 AM

You think what you want son. You're your own man.

24-07-2013, 06:16 AM

I don't doubt Hibs have tried and may even try again but Wolves would be mad to let him go. Proven goalscorer on relatively low wages, even the jokers running Wolves at the moment aren't that stupid.

If only Rod had spent that 150k.........

The 150k price tag was not true - just a Sun newspaper story.

24-07-2013, 06:21 AM
The 150k price tag was not true - just a Sun newspaper story.

Think I forgot the smilie.

24-07-2013, 07:39 AM

Says in today's Sun that Wolves have given him the number 9 shirt for this season. Well earned with his exploits for us. Best of luck to him.

24-07-2013, 12:55 PM
Leigh Griffiths charged over alleged Tesco incident

http://www.scotsman.com/news/scotland/top-stories/leigh-griffiths-charged-over-alleged-tesco-incident-1-3012596

FORMER Hibs striker Leigh Griffiths has been charged following an alleged incident at an Edinburgh supermarket.

Griffiths, 22, was charged with theft, breach of the peace and assault.

It is alleged that on January 26 this year at the Tesco Store in Meadow Place Road, Edinburgh, he stole a quantity of water and juice; shouted, swore and threw items of liquid to the floor; and assaulted an employee in the store, by struggling with him and attempting to punch him on the body.

Griffiths, now back with Wolverhampton Wanderers, was not present when his case was called at Edinburgh Justice of the Peace Court today but his solicitor, Kathleen More, intimated a plea of not guilty.

The case was continued until later this month for Griffiths’ personal appearance.

Up The Bracket
24-07-2013, 01:39 PM
Phase 3 of Rod Petries plan is now complete.

24-07-2013, 02:44 PM
Says in today's Sun that Wolves have given him the number 9 shirt for this season. Well earned with his exploits for us. Best of luck to him.

He will be able to get the head down and play his football down there without the hassle from the press up here.

24-07-2013, 02:47 PM
Leigh Griffiths charged over alleged Tesco incident

http://www.scotsman.com/news/scotland/top-stories/leigh-griffiths-charged-over-alleged-tesco-incident-1-3012596

FORMER Hibs striker Leigh Griffiths has been charged following an alleged incident at an Edinburgh supermarket.

Griffiths, 22, was charged with theft, breach of the peace and assault.

It is alleged that on January 26 this year at the Tesco Store in Meadow Place Road, Edinburgh, he stole a quantity of water and juice; shouted, swore and threw items of liquid to the floor; and assaulted an employee in the store, by struggling with him and attempting to punch him on the body.

Griffiths, now back with Wolverhampton Wanderers, was not present when his case was called at Edinburgh Justice of the Peace Court today but his solicitor, Kathleen More, intimated a plea of not guilty.

The case was continued until later this month for Griffiths’ personal appearance.

See he has got himself a good lawyer, good shout Leigh.

24-07-2013, 02:53 PM
He can sign a pre-contract in January. Not saying he'll sign for us but will have loads of options and would be crazy to re-sign for Wolves.
Maybe we should just keep hold of the £200k and give it to Leigh as a signing on fee in 6 months :dunno:.

24-07-2013, 03:00 PM
See he has got himself a good lawyer, good shout Leigh.

She makes a living from Hibs players, or ex Hibs players! :greengrin

24-07-2013, 03:15 PM
She makes a living from Hibs players, or ex Hibs players! :greengrin

Don't blame them, her and Dad are best in the town at there job.

24-07-2013, 03:29 PM
Don't blame them, her and Dad are best in the town at there job.

And she's quite a looker from what I remember ;)

24-07-2013, 04:37 PM
He can sign a pre-contract in January. Not saying he'll sign for us but will have loads of options and would be crazy to re-sign for Wolves.
Maybe we should just keep hold of the £200k and give it to Leigh as a signing on fee in 6 months :dunno:.

:aok::giruy:

j'adore hibs
24-07-2013, 04:46 PM
wtf?

Just saying dont think we'll miss Doyle as we will griffiths tis all

24-07-2013, 05:21 PM
and she's quite a looker from what i remember ;)

was.

25-07-2013, 04:12 PM

pontius pilate
25-07-2013, 04:25 PM
was.

Not a big fan of Kathleen Moore or indeed the other female lawyer for the life of me escapes me at this time I prefer BCKM but that's just through experience and for lookers it would have to be miss Victoria good

27-07-2013, 03:17 PM
Scored in a friendly against Real Betis. Not too shabby. Onwards and upwards for Leigh.

27-07-2013, 03:18 PM
Scored and set up a goal today.

Teapot
27-07-2013, 04:06 PM
Scored and set up a goal today.

Hes 8-1 to be top scorer in league 1. Could be a good wee earner that one.

27-07-2013, 04:19 PM

I've had a little look at other strikers at League One teams and I really don't see anyone scoring more goals than Griffiths in that league this season.

27-07-2013, 04:20 PM

Teapot
27-07-2013, 04:20 PM
I've had a little look at other strikers at League One teams and I really don't see anyone scoring more goals than Griffiths in that league this season.

Same. I'm tempted to put a twenty on it but if he has a great start to the season and keeps his head down I can see a bigger team pick him up in January.

27-07-2013, 05:31 PM
Griffiths Watch:

East Fife 2 - Wolves 3: LG comes on at half time and scores with first touch, then setting up the third goal

Livi 1 - Wolves 2: LG plays well, but fails to score, though his good play leads up to the winner

Wreham 1 - Wolves 2: LG scores the winner and sets up the equaliser. Wolves website calls him the "rampant Griffiths"

Barnsley 2 - Wolves 2: LG comes on as a 64th minutte sub

Chesterfield 1 - Wolves 2: LG scores the winner

Wolves 2 - Real betis 3: LG scores one and has one disallowed.

Looks like he is doing well for Wolves and seems to be their main man up-front

27-07-2013, 07:09 PM

Well du'h

27-07-2013, 07:11 PM
Griffiths Watch:

East Fife 2 - Wolves 3: LG comes on at half time and scores with first touch, then setting up the third goal

Livi 1 - Wolves 2: LG plays well, but fails to score, though his good play leads up to the winner

Wreham 1 - Wolves 2: LG scores the winner and sets up the equaliser. Wolves website calls him the "rampant Griffiths"

Barnsley 2 - Wolves 2: LG comes on as a 64th minutte sub

Chesterfield 1 - Wolves 2: LG scores the winner

Wolves 2 - Real betis 3: LG scores one and has one disallowed.

Looks like he is doing well for Wolves and seems to be their main man up-front

That's what all the mother's have said I believe :wink:

27-07-2013, 08:42 PM
That's what all the mother's have said I believe :wink:

As I typed out the "rampant Griffiths" text, I knew I was setting it up for someone to come in with such a comment. I did wonder who!

He scores when he wants..............

j'adore hibs
27-07-2013, 08:46 PM
Well du'h

aren't you the clever one

29-07-2013, 07:44 PM
Having a look on the Wolves forum, seems they have a few songs for Sparky :agree:

1. He texts with his head, He texts with his head,That boy Leigh Griffiths, He texts with his head.

2. He threw a slush over a kid, Griffiths Griffiths
He told the police he never did, Griffiths Griffiths
He loves to sh*g, he loves a ruck
With him up front we're going up Leigh Griffiths is Wanderers number 9

3. Leigh Griffiths wooah, Leigh Griffiths wooah, He is a jock He's got a big c*ck Leigh Griffiths wooah

DroitwichHibs
29-07-2013, 09:32 PM
Living only 30 miles from Wolverhampton, Droitwich Hibs junior and I decided to go and watch Sparky in his new surroundings on his home debut v Real Betis. I am sorry to report:-

He looked very happy
He fitted in with team, and took his goal very well
The fans love him already, and they gave him a standing ovasion as he left the pitch
He did everything to try and be loved, signing autographs, clapping the fans, pictures with kids, and waving to all!!
A baby 'Leigh' was there in Wolves kit

He ain't coming back in the near future, let's face it!!!

PS- He did play well, and it was good to see!!!!

29-07-2013, 09:39 PM
Living only 30 miles from Wolverhampton, Droitwich Hibs junior and I decided to go and watch Sparky in his new surroundings on his home debut v Real Betis. I am sorry to report:-

He looked very happy
The fans love him already, and they gave him a standing ovasion as he left the pitch
He did everything to try and be loved, signing autographs, clapping the fans, pictures with kids, and waving to all!!

***' Boooooooo :greengrin

29-07-2013, 09:43 PM

He looked very happy

Now I know how Glenn Close's character felt when Michael Douglas's character dumped her.:boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo: [but without the psychotic, rabbit-bothering response, I hasten to add!]

29-07-2013, 09:55 PM
Will be interesting to see how they all change their mind about him once he starts scoring in the league. Rekon the whole "he's a dick, don't want him near our team" attitude will quilckly disappear.

29-07-2013, 10:11 PM
He done that well for us he deserves his chance down south. Frustrating he's in league 1 though as IMO he could b much higher. When you see some of the bottom epl teams strikers, griffiths is head and shoulders above, obv hes never played that level but all imo

Leishy1995
29-07-2013, 11:08 PM
Newcastle fan I follow on twitter

"Why haven't we looked at leigh Griffiths as back up to Cisse?"

Me - he wouldn't be back up though.

29-07-2013, 11:21 PM
He done that well for us he deserves his chance down south. Frustrating he's in league 1 though as IMO he could b much higher. When you see some of the bottom epl teams strikers, griffiths is head and shoulders above, obv hes never played that level but all imo

Spot on. January transfer window will see him move on to a much bigger club.

Hibbywolf
30-07-2013, 12:12 PM

on the willie hill site he`s listed as "leith Griffiths"!!!!:thumbsup:

31-07-2013, 09:13 PM
Former Hibs player Leigh Griffiths has appeared in court charged with stealing juice from Tesco.

The 22-year-old had been ordered to appear in person at Edinburgh’s Justice of the Peace Court on Wednesday.

He spoke only to confirm his name during the hearing. His lawyer, Kathleen More, said Griffiths was maintaining his pleas of not guilty to charges of theft, breach of the peace and assault.

He is accused of stealing a quantity of water and juice from Tesco in Meadow Place Road, Edinburgh, repeatedly shouting, swearing and throwing items of liquid to the floor on January 26.

It is also said he assaulted employee Fahid Ali by struggling with him and attempting to punch him on the body.

A further hearing will be held on August 14 before the trial starts later this month. Griffiths has been excused from that hearing.

The footballer has returned to Wolves after being on loan to Hibs

​Found the above on another site...

02-08-2013, 04:53 PM
Pete O'Rourke‏@SkySportsPeteO18m (http://www.hibs.net/SkySportsPeteO/status/363336927170146304)Wolves have offered new deals to Leigh Griffiths + Danny Batth. #wwfc (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23wwfc&src=hash)

Suppose if he signs it we can put an end to all the chat about him! Please turn it down Leigh...:giruy:

02-08-2013, 04:57 PM
Pete O'Rourke‏@SkySportsPeteO18m (http://www.hibs.net/SkySportsPeteO/status/363336927170146304)Wolves have offered new deals to Leigh Griffiths + Danny Batth. #wwfc (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23wwfc&src=hash)

Suppose if he signs it we can put an end to all the chat about him! Please turn it down Leigh...:giruy:

If he turns it down I think he'll be at Hibs before long.

02-08-2013, 04:58 PM

Urgh, really hope he doesn't sign with them. By the time January comes around and he's getting offers from bigger clubs he'll regret it IMO.

02-08-2013, 05:00 PM
Urgh, really hope he doesn't sign with them. By the time January comes around and he's getting offers from bigger clubs he'll regret it IMO.

I think he will sign it unfortunately. He's been made to feel wanted by the manager and the fans, he's also got his number nine shirt.

02-08-2013, 05:04 PM
I'll wish him all the very best no matter what.

02-08-2013, 05:06 PM
It's going to be big money for Leigh ..whether he signs or not it will take him out of our league....good luck to him , his performances deserve it

02-08-2013, 05:14 PM
If it's good money (and I suspect it will be) then he'd be a fool to turn it down. He has a real chance to make a big impression in League 1 with a club capable of moving upwards. Should he do well then he'll certainly have interest in him from others before long so why wouldn't he sign it?

02-08-2013, 05:40 PM
I very much fear we're going to be short of goals this season. Leigh, you're one of us and Wolverhampton is a dump. Come home, lad. :greengrin

02-08-2013, 05:42 PM
He could wait, smash a load of goals in before xmas and see who comes calling. If Wolves look good to go up and only championship sides offering the same cash are interested he can still sign. Sign now and he might bang in a load but ultimately wolves might not go up and he'll be stuck.

02-08-2013, 05:43 PM
That would put an end to pre contract in January too..

Aw well.

02-08-2013, 05:51 PM
That would put an end to pre contract in January too..

Aw well.

Was expecting a much worse reaction than that from you :greengrin

02-08-2013, 05:54 PM
Leigh will show his intent here. Come on Super Leigh Griffiths. Be the hibby hero you dreamt of.

02-08-2013, 05:55 PM
Was expecting a much worse reaction than that from you :greengrin

He's not accepted the contract..

I will be in meltdown when he inevitably accepts it :greengrin

02-08-2013, 06:02 PM

I expect carnage :greengrin

02-08-2013, 06:07 PM
Not a big fan of Kathleen Moore or indeed the other female lawyer for the life of me escapes me at this time I prefer BCKM but that's just through experience and for lookers it would have to be miss Victoria good

Got to agree about Ms V. Good !!!

Dunderhall
02-08-2013, 06:07 PM

There, there.
Sleep well tonight think the contract offer is the equivalent of Massone's bid.
Not sure what that makes Rod though. :greengrin

02-08-2013, 06:44 PM
There, there.
Sleep well tonight think the contract offer is the equivalent of Massone's bid.
Not sure what that makes Rod though. :greengrin

McKie and the Sheltered Housing Association?

02-08-2013, 07:03 PM
Leigh has the world at his feet
He scored loads of goals for us
He can score loads for Wolves
Surely he can play in a higher league
Gazza done it at Brum, Fletch is now doing it in the Premiership
If Leigh wants to better himself then why not ???
He could earn loads of dosh darn sarf then come back to us later
Its just a pity that we will not get a fee,,but hey thats life !!!!!
We could always put out DVDs of all his goals
Bt

02-08-2013, 07:22 PM
Leigh has the world at his feet
He scored loads of goals for us
He can score loads for Wolves
Surely he can play in a higher league
Gazza done it at Brum, Fletch is now doing it in the Premiership
If Leigh wants to better himself then why not ???
He could earn loads of dosh darn sarf then come back to us later
Its just a pity that we will not get a fee,,but hey thats life !!!!!
We could always put out DVDs of all his goals
Bt
Is there a tune to that?

02-08-2013, 07:33 PM
Is there a tune to that?

He's got the whole world in his hands? :dunno:

02-08-2013, 07:37 PM
He's got the whole world in his hands? :dunno:
As sung by Garland Green.

davhibby
02-08-2013, 07:38 PM
He should wait for Jan to come around and if he's doing well he'll get better offers from much better clubs. He'd be silly to accept right now

02-08-2013, 07:38 PM
Hopefully one day he'll come back.
Once he's made his money because we all know he has the talent to make it big time.
Always a Hibees legend in my eyes.

02-08-2013, 07:51 PM
Is there a tune to that?

So your in his position,,, he could come back to us,,ok thats
great
However who can blame him if he has any ambition???
Btw the tune is what ever you want
Anything by lennon and Maccartney would be better
Bt

jimmythefish
02-08-2013, 08:14 PM
yes should wait til January, just keep banging the goals in & the big boys from the epl will come calling, they will pay him more than what wolves will offer him, this crowd wanted shot o him slagging him off aw over the forums, give them 6-12 months then move onwards & upwards

Purehibee_MYB
02-08-2013, 08:20 PM
yes should wait til January, just keep banging the goals in & the big boys from the epl will come calling, they will pay him more than what wolves will offer him, this crowd wanted shot o him slagging him off aw over the forums, give them 6-12 months then move onwards & upwards

In their defence, Leigh had his fair share of critics on here at the end of the 2011-12 season calling for us not to bother getting him back on loan

02-08-2013, 08:20 PM

Whit? :shocked: A fitbaw forum slaggin' off thur ain players - widny happen here, I tell ye.

:stirrer:

Wee Kev
03-08-2013, 02:54 PM
Not even on the bench for wolves today.

03-08-2013, 02:57 PM

14:06 Corner taken by Leigh Griffiths from the left by-line. :wink:

03-08-2013, 02:57 PM

Is this de-ja-vu or one of those crazy Star Trek time loop thingys that used to do my nut in?

03-08-2013, 02:58 PM
He is playing for Wolves, there has just been an error in the team given to the press by the looks of it.

Twiglet
03-08-2013, 02:58 PM

He started.

soda70
03-08-2013, 03:07 PM
No Leigh in Wolves line up not even a sub, is he injured???????

03-08-2013, 03:09 PM

Oh dear, not again!

He's playing, it's a booboo in the line-ups.

03-08-2013, 03:19 PM

He's not even on the bench, FFS Petrie put him out his misery and bring him home.

soda70
03-08-2013, 03:20 PM
Cheers keek :thumbsup:

03-08-2013, 03:22 PM
Oh dear, not again!

He's playing, it's a booboo in the line-ups.

Boo boo's playing?

***ake is Yogi the manager?

03-08-2013, 03:23 PM
Boo boo's playing?

***ake is Yogi the manager?

Yup, and Officer Dibble's running the line.

Garry's snorting the other one, but that's a different matter :wink:

03-08-2013, 03:25 PM
Yup, and Officer Dibble's running the line.

Garry's snorting the other one, but that's a different matter :wink:

Is Griffiths playing though?

03-08-2013, 03:25 PM
Meant to place this here not the match update thread. :rolleyes:

I'm just hoping Leigh has a nightmare August for them, doesn't score a goal, plays crap, get's sent off and does :giruy: to the fans.

After a month like that they'll then offload him sharpish back to Edinburgh. :greengrin

03-08-2013, 03:26 PM

He's definitely not on the bench. :confused:

03-08-2013, 03:27 PM

Yip, him and the Japanese striker you mentioned earlier (***ake), are playing as twin strikers.

03-08-2013, 03:28 PM
Yip, him and the Japanese striker you mentioned earlier (***ake), are playing as twin strikers.

And Boo Boo.

And Bugs Bunny in the hole?

03-08-2013, 03:29 PM
And Boo Boo.

And Bugs Bunny in the hole?

I dunno what kind of Porn you watch but I couldn't possibly comment on such matters.

portycabbage
03-08-2013, 03:38 PM
I dunno what kind of Porn you watch but I couldn't possibly comment on such matters.

Better not mention Elmer Fudd then.

03-08-2013, 03:39 PM
Better not mention Elmer Fudd then.

Two posts?

Launch the Elmer Fudd.

03-08-2013, 03:42 PM
Update on Bugs Bunny, he's been moved up front.

Yogi has now moved the players about because he heard Griffiths was a natural for Playing in the Hole.

03-08-2013, 03:45 PM

Yogi has now moved the players about because he heard Griffiths was a natural for Playing in the Hole.

Leigh's on Twitter again.

He's getting excited by some burd's Tweety Pie.

portycabbage
03-08-2013, 03:48 PM

He could play the Matty Jack role or central defence given his fondness for a firm sliding tackle from behind.:greengrin

03-08-2013, 04:11 PM
Sorry if already posted but what a great video. Ahhhhhhh if only.........

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_FaVUK-Vuk&feature=youtube_gdata_player

03-08-2013, 04:29 PM
Griffiths will sign for Hibs in January on a pre-contract.

03-08-2013, 04:35 PM

Now or never IMO, and it's looking like never..

05-08-2013, 05:18 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23580496

Offered a new deal at Wolves.

05-08-2013, 05:19 PM

No he won't. New deal on the table.

06-08-2013, 09:10 AM
No he won't. New deal on the table.

Doesn`t mean he has to sign it tho. The ball is in Sparky`s court now - if he starts banging in the goals, he may well draw the attention of a bigger club than Wolves (and I don`t mean us). Why sign a new contract now when you could have ur pick of teams (nearly) in a few months time

06-08-2013, 09:13 AM
This contract offer from Wolves will tell us everything about what Leigh is thinking about his future, if he turns them down then there is every chance he will be back at Hibs next year.

If not he might be back to us in 5 or 6 years time.

06-08-2013, 09:23 AM
This contract offer from Wolves will tell us everything about what Leigh is thinking about his future, if he turns them down then there is every chance he will be back at Hibs next year.

If not he might be back to us in 5 or 6 years time.

It wont tell us much. That he doesn't feel his best move is commiting to Wolves for the foreseeable is about all it would tell us. That or the contract offer isn't good enough. It tells us jack about whether he would come back to hibs in the summer. Hypothesising on where he might be in 5 or 6 years time is also pointless.

There was a window where we could have signed him and that has passed. It went with his heroics for us and the accolades that went with them. Our best hope is that he flounders down there and heads back to Scotland with his tail between his legs. As good as that would be for Hibs I hope it doesn't happen - I can't see it happening.

I believe he will sign an extension to his Wolves contract.

06-08-2013, 09:23 AM

Unfortunately I don't see this happening.

06-08-2013, 09:30 AM
It wont tell us much. That he doesn't feel his best move is commiting to Wolves for the foreseeable is about all it would tell us. That or the contract offer isn't good enough. It tells us jack about whether he would come back to hibs in the summer. Hypothesising on where he might be in 5 or 6 years time is also pointless.

There was a window where we could have signed him and that has passed. It went with his heroics for us and the accolades that went with them. Our best hope is that he flounders down there and heads back to Scotland with his tail between his legs. As good as that would be for Hibs I hope it doesn't happen - I can't see it happening.

I believe he will sign an extension to his Wolves contract.

Yeah you might be right but I still feel if he rejects the new Wolves offer there is every chance he will be back with us next year.

Mind you if he has a blinder of a season for them, then there will be little chance as he'll get a big offer elsewhere, time will tell.

06-08-2013, 10:17 AM
Sorry if already posted but what a great video. Ahhhhhhh if only.........

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_FaVUK-Vuk&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Good video. The creator also managed to sneak in a cameo appearance!

the stig
06-08-2013, 10:58 AM
Wolves have just announced he has signed a new contract.

06-08-2013, 11:01 AM
Signed for 2 years with 1 year extension.

06-08-2013, 11:02 AM
Wolves ‏@OfficialWolves 6m (https://twitter.com/OfficialWolves/status/364701454591729664) Wolves delighted to announce that striker Leigh Griffiths has signed a new, improved two year contract.

http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article/griffiths-signs-deal-060813-971881.aspx

06-08-2013, 11:03 AM
Ah well :boo hoo:

06-08-2013, 11:04 AM
At least we can forget about him coming back to Hibs for some time.

Wolves ‏@OfficialWolves 5m (https://twitter.com/OfficialWolves/status/364701795899019264) Kenny Jackett: “I am very pleased that Leigh has signed a new contract...we hope that he can now continue his good goalscoring form......"

Wolves ‏@OfficialWolves 5m (https://twitter.com/OfficialWolves/status/364701923229704193) Leigh: “The fans have been great with me in the games I have played in pre-season and hopefully I can now repay that by scoring goals."

Wolves ‏@OfficialWolves 5m (https://twitter.com/OfficialWolves/status/364702048073162752) Jez: "Leigh has shown Kenny what he is capable of doing on the field and, importantly, he has also shown a real desire to stay at Molineux"

Edinburgh Green
06-08-2013, 11:06 AM
Striker commits to Wolves

The fans have been great with me in the games I have played in pre-season and hopefully I can now repay that by scoring goals"
Leigh Griffiths

Leigh Griffiths has handed Wolves an early-season boost by signing a new contract to commit his future to the Club.

The Scotland international striker has put pen to paper on an improved two-year deal, with a third year Club option which could tie him to Molineux until 2016.

It was confirmed yesterday that contract offers had been made to both Griffiths and Danny Batth, who had a year remaining on their deals.

“Following on from a very successful loan spell in the Scottish Premier League with Hibernian, Leigh has come back and had an impressive pre-season,” said Jackett.

“I am very pleased that he has signed a new contract committing his future to the Club.

“We hope that he can now continue his good goalscoring form heading into the season.”

Griffiths added: “I am delighted to have signed the new deal.

“The gaffer has been great with me from day one, he has seen what I can do and in return I have been rewarded with a new contract.

“As a player it always helps you settle when you know where you’re going to be playing for the foreseeable future.

“That’s me now, I’m settled. I’m moving into a new house in Wolverhampton tomorrow and from now on I can concentrate on my football and try to help Wolves have a successful season.

“I was really pleased to hear that the Club wanted to talk to me – the fans have been great with me in the games I have played in pre-season and hopefully I can now repay that by scoring goals.

“I’ve been pleased to be able to come back to Wolves, hit the ground running and get on the scoresheet.

“Now I need to continue that in the League and Cup, and it would be a good place to mark the new contract by scoring against Morecambe tonight.”

CEO Jez Moxey confirmed that it was always planned to assess Griffiths’ performances during his loan spells with a view to offering him a new deal at Molineux.

“We are pleased Leigh has agreed to extend his stay with us,” said Jez.

“This situation is what we envisaged a year ago when we placed him on loan at Hibernian. We hoped he would play regularly, score goals, gain confidence and return ready to play in our first team. He did that, and more, by becoming a Scotland international who, hopefully, could play some part in the Scotland against England match at Wembley later this month.

“He is a young player who had a year remaining on his contract. He has shown Kenny what he is capable of doing on the field and, importantly, he has also shown a real desire to stay at Molineux – these are the ingredients necessary to be rewarded with a new contract.

“With that now secured, it is up to Leigh to pick up from where he left off with Hibernian, and make a key contribution at Wolves this season.”

Read more at http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article/griffiths-signs-deal-060813-971881.aspx#jLd6wKWHlBWai4mP.99

06-08-2013, 11:07 AM
He'll be back one day, green and white through and through. :agree:

06-08-2013, 11:08 AM
At least we can forget about him coming back to Hibs for some time.

Wolves ‏@OfficialWolves 5m (https://twitter.com/OfficialWolves/status/364701795899019264) Kenny Jackett: “I am very pleased that Leigh has signed a new contract...we hope that he can now continue his good goalscoring form......"

Wolves ‏@OfficialWolves 5m (https://twitter.com/OfficialWolves/status/364701923229704193) Leigh: “The fans have been great with me in the games I have played in pre-season and hopefully I can now repay that by scoring goals."

Wolves ‏@OfficialWolves 5m (https://twitter.com/OfficialWolves/status/364702048073162752) Jez: "Leigh has shown Kenny what he is capable of doing on the field and, importantly, he has also shown a real desire to stay at Molineux"

Oh well, good luck to him. Was a privilege to watch him last season, and it will forever stick in the throat that he wasn't fit for the Celtic cup final.

06-08-2013, 11:11 AM
Thanks Leigh, time for Hibs to move on now

Leishy1995
06-08-2013, 11:12 AM
Hibs.net in the know guys were accurate.

06-08-2013, 11:15 AM
Finally we can move on

hibsmad
06-08-2013, 11:19 AM
Really surprised.

His career stalled big time at Wolves and only picked up again after going out on loan. I also think the line Wolves have taken to claim that this was their plan all along is complete bull. They allowed him to stay out on loan when they badly needed a striker because they wanted rid of him.

I hope he now doesn't regret this when he rips League 1 to shreds and has Premiership clubs looking to sign him next year. Have to say that I think this is short sighted from Leigh.

06-08-2013, 11:19 AM
Hibs.net in the know guys were accurate.

Hibs were still trying to get him, wolves have just offered him much more.

Leishy1995
06-08-2013, 11:37 AM
Hibs were still trying to get him, wolves have just offered him much more.

Hibs could still be trying to get him. This just means he won't be clubless if he flops.

06-08-2013, 11:40 AM
We were never going to be able to offer as much as Wolves. I'm not going to get started on the 'We could've had him for £150k' because nobody knew if it was true but if it was then we have missed out big time! He will be back in a green and white strip one day but not for the foreseeable future... Thank you Leigh!

Leishy1995
06-08-2013, 11:42 AM
We were never going to be able to offer as much as Wolves. I'm not going to get started on the 'We could've had him for £150k' because nobody knew if it was true but if it was then we have missed out big time! He will be back in a green and white strip one day but not for the foreseeable future... Thank you Leigh!

He was also not scoring goals when that figure cropped up.