View Full Version : Margaret Thatcher has died

08-04-2013, 11:50 AM
Margaret Thatcher has died, following a stroke. Officially confirmed.

08-04-2013, 11:52 AM
Just been announced. Maggie Thatcher has died

08-04-2013, 11:55 AM
Oh well. Can't say I'm too sad.

This thread should be good though :greengrin

08-04-2013, 11:55 AM
This should be a long one ... http://www.smileyvault.com/albums/userpics/10172/smiley-face-popcorn.gif (http://www.smileyvault.com/)

Kenny1875
08-04-2013, 11:57 AM
RIP. Was always a big fan.

08-04-2013, 11:59 AM
Oh well. Can't say I'm too sad.

This thread should be good though :greengrin

Pretty much mirrors my thoughts on the subject. Some entertainment ahead!

08-04-2013, 11:59 AM
Many pages. Numerous bans.

I'll get my popcorn.

08-04-2013, 12:00 PM
No comment.

LeighLoyal
08-04-2013, 12:00 PM
RIP Maggie. Didn't always agree, but thank you for sorting out the trade unions and saving us from Neil Kinnock at least!

08-04-2013, 12:01 PM
Incidentally Thatcherism isn't dead, it's alive and kicking in the form of "Dave n' George"

tartanhibee
08-04-2013, 12:02 PM
Milk all round

08-04-2013, 12:03 PM
Ding dong the witch is dead, the witch is dead, the witch is dead!

she only lived this long to pi55 off the Scots.

This is going to be EPIC! :cb

08-04-2013, 12:05 PM
Milk all round

Jelly & Ice Cream as well possibly!

08-04-2013, 12:06 PM
Do we get a public holiday for the state funeral?

08-04-2013, 12:06 PM
Many pages. Numerous bans.

I'll get my popcorn.

08-04-2013, 12:07 PM
French singer Renaud's tribure to women in general (except you know who)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_v9IrI04h0

Which roughly translates as

Women of the world or street
So very often just the same
I love every one I meet
Have they fame or be they plain
Down to the last stupid crow
I praise with every word I utter
I'm disgusted by men now
With their morals from the gutter
'Cause there's no woman in this land quite so stupid as her brother
Nor so vain or underhand except, maybe, Madame Thatcher

Lady I love you now, I do
'Cause when a sport becomes a war
There's no girls, or very few
Amongst those fans who yell for more
Those with no marbles left to lose
Up to here with hate and beer
Deifying fools in blue
Insulting *******s with a sneer
There is no female hooligan, imbecilic, filled with murder
No, not even in Britain except, for sure, Madame Thatcher

I love woman just because
When she's sitting at the wheel
There's no man-like sense of loss
No urge to kill is yours to feel
For a slightly damaged headlight
Or for two fingers in the air
There are those who wish to fight
To the death if they but dare
An "up yours" their favourite sign there's no woman so vulgar
To use this symbol all the time except, perhaps, Madame Thatcher

How I love you, dear woman
You don't go to war to die
Because the vision of a gun
Does not make you pant and sigh
Amongst those hunters of the night
Who jump on creatures that are frail
And occasionnally an Arabite
I've yet to see a female
There is no woman low enough to spit and polish a revolver
Just to feel so bloody tough except, for sure, Madame Thatcher

The atom bomb was never made
By a human female brain
And no female hand has slayed
Those U.S. peoples of the plain
Palestinians or Armenians
Bear their witness form the grave
That a genocide is masculine
Like a SS or a Green Beret
In this bloody mass of man, each assassin is a brother
There's no woman to rival them except, of course, Madame Thatcher

And lastly Woman, above all
I love hour gentleness so mild
A man draws strength from his own balles
Wich like his gun he shoots from wild
And when the final curtain draws
He'll join the cretins in the harvest
Playing football, playing wars
Or who can piss the farthest
I would join the doggic host and love my days on earth
As my day to day lampost I would use Madame Thatcher

08-04-2013, 12:08 PM
RIP. Was always a big fan.

enjoy yer :fishin:

08-04-2013, 12:09 PM
If this was 20 years ago, I'd probably be out for a pint right now to celebrate. Age mellows you though, and while I have no time for the woman who so clearly could not give a toss about Scotland, I'm neither up nor down about her death.

Happy to take a holiday if it's coming though :greengrin

08-04-2013, 12:10 PM
A couple of days after her protege cut the tax bill of the rich.
How fitting.

Ross4356
Why did she die on a Monday, im gonna be rough at work tomorrow

I hope everyone that was on the Belgrano when she ordered it to be attacked haunts her in the afterlife forever. Evil war criminal witch.

08-04-2013, 12:11 PM
Was waiting for this one to recycle all the Mercer favourites.

Tell all the tories you know...

08-04-2013, 12:11 PM
Do we get a public holiday for the state funeral?

The hypocrites would take it as well - as they did for the Royal Wedding etc..

08-04-2013, 12:13 PM

My work was closed for the royal wedding so what was I meant to do? Stand outside all day :greengrin

Prof. Shaggy
08-04-2013, 12:14 PM
Elvis does it for me,

Well I hope I don't die too soon
I pray the lord my soul to save
Oh I'll be a good boy, Im trying so hard to behave
Because there's one thing I know, I'd like to live
Long enough to savour
That's when they finally put you in the ground
Ill stand on your grave and tramp the dirt down.

08-04-2013, 12:14 PM
My work was closed for the royal wedding so what was I meant to do? Stand outside all day :greengrin

Aye - or 'work' from home :wink:

08-04-2013, 12:15 PM
Sometimes its best to say nothing and just get down to the nearest off licence :agree:

Twa Cairpets
08-04-2013, 12:15 PM
Personally, this is the contribution I am most looking forward to.

08-04-2013, 12:16 PM

Strange, I always thought I would spend this day ,when it came, singing Tramp the Dirt Down and letting off party poppers. All I feel is bloody angry again thinking back to the ruthless way her Government smashed the Miners strike.

08-04-2013, 12:17 PM

08-04-2013, 12:18 PM
Never been one to rejoice at a death, not exactly going into mourning either tjough.

Sure there will be more than a few communities raising a glass or 2 tonight and I don't blame them.

08-04-2013, 12:19 PM
:cheers:

I'll take it as payment in kind, thank you very much.

hibbybob
30 years too late but welcome news all the same!

08-04-2013, 12:20 PM
Haven't ad a drink in over 5 years. Sorely tempted today.

08-04-2013, 12:20 PM
When's the party starting?

08-04-2013, 12:22 PM
Not her biggest fan but I'm not going to gloat at her death, she wasn't as bad and evil as people made out, had to do what a politician had to do.

08-04-2013, 12:22 PM
Minutes silence on saturday and sunday could be interesting.

08-04-2013, 12:24 PM

To say the least. :greengrin

Tell all the Toff's you know - she's deed
Maggie Thatcher is dead and we're no
So let's have a beer
Cause she is no longer here
Maggie Thatcher is dead and we're no

Memories of the SFA being pressured into silences for the Pope come to mind. One wonders if the GFITW will be so vocal this time around? :rolleyes:

08-04-2013, 12:25 PM
Ach well, at least she didn't give people money for nothing.

08-04-2013, 12:25 PM
Never particularly liked her or the vast majority of her policies, but certainly get no joy from celebrating the death of anyone unless they are murderers,rapists, paedos. I certainly do not count her amongst them.

08-04-2013, 12:28 PM
Never particularly liked her or the vast majority of her policies, but certainly get no joy from celebrating the death of anyone unless they are murderers,rapists, paedos. I certainly do not count her amongst them.

Her and her Government certainly shafted me for years !

08-04-2013, 12:28 PM
Minutes silence on saturday and sunday could be interesting.I think i'll stay outside until after kick off.

08-04-2013, 12:29 PM
Will this be the one person Celtc fans don't hold a candlelit vigil for?

allmodcons
30 years too late but welcome news all the same!

:agree: Will be steering well clear of MSM in order to avoid the guaranteed outpouring of sadness and grief at the loss of our once 'great leader'.
State funeral and burial at the nearest coal mine!

Did'nt particularly like her , could'nt stand her voice or accent ,but she had the guts to take on the trade union thugs and halt the ruin of the Country.

08-04-2013, 12:30 PM
If this was 20 years ago, I'd probably be out for a pint right now to celebrate. Age mellows you though, and while I have no time for the woman who so clearly could not give a toss about Scotland, I'm neither up nor down about her death.

Happy to take a holiday if it's coming though :greengrin

Not when it comes to this person now deceased.
If there's a public holiday for her, I'll take it to celebrate.
Whilst the passing away of anybody is not normally something to celebrate, I will happily make an exception here.

08-04-2013, 12:41 PM
I notice they've confirmed there'll be no state funeral though as per her own requests, that better no be her denying me an extra day in my scratcher, even in death she's taking the p**s!!! Me and my old boy will be raising a glass, she caused us and a lot of people our family knew a great deal of hardship :fenlon

hibby rae
08-04-2013, 12:45 PM
What's going to happen to her flying monkees?

08-04-2013, 12:48 PM
Jelly & Ice Cream as well possibly!cake and custard.whisky by the gallon, party time today! that cow ruined many communities. I am absolutely delighted she's gone and will be joining some mates in the pub soon, to celebrate! I'd like to see an excocet missle hitting the barge on the Thames, as they set off on the state funeral.

Prof. Shaggy
08-04-2013, 12:49 PM
What's going to happen to her flying monkees?

Hopefully they lose the next election.

cocteautwin
08-04-2013, 12:50 PM
Everyone else can forget about their musical contributions to this thread for this is the only song appropriate for today:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xbp3k3rYMs4

08-04-2013, 12:53 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xbp3k3rYMs4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xbp3k3rYMs4)

ah well said sir. 3 mins to late

08-04-2013, 12:55 PM
Did'nt particularly like her , could'nt stand her voice or accent ,but she had the guts to take on the trade union thugs and halt the ruin of the Country.you have absolutely no idea about trade unions, about communities, about social welfare, do you? she polarised the whole country . may she rot in hell

08-04-2013, 12:59 PM
The BBC are reporting that she died peacefully.

:boo hoo::boo hoo:

08-04-2013, 01:00 PM

Surely they wouldn't be so stupid? Oh, sorry, it's the SFA we're talking about....

08-04-2013, 01:02 PM
Surely they wouldn't be so stupid? Oh, sorry, it's the SFA we're talking about....

Just about as stupid as holding a minute silence for the pope in the Celtic v Hearts semi final a few years back.

08-04-2013, 01:06 PM
Never particularly liked her or the vast majority of her policies, but certainly get no joy from celebrating the death of anyone unless they are murderers,rapists, paedos. I certainly do not count her amongst them. I on the other hand, take immense pleasure after receiving the news of her passing. whore from hell!

08-04-2013, 01:07 PM
Rot in hell you evil Tory bitch!

08-04-2013, 01:13 PM
She got voted out years ago and has had nae power for just as long. What difference does her death make to anyone that didn't like her?

We live in a democracy so 3 consecutive terms means she got the votes ..

Bear in mind she didn't act alone but at least she had balls - and did what she said she'd do. The unions needed tackling IMHO.

08-04-2013, 01:29 PM
I am volunteering to dig the hole for her and dig it so deep that i can personally hand her to satan.

08-04-2013, 01:30 PM
She met the leader of South Africa during Apartheid - Pieter Willem Botha - this sums her up perfectly as no other leader of a western nation entertained the notion of meeting him. It seems like she gave him her endorsement to carry on being a racist and segregating the country.

yeezus.
08-04-2013, 01:39 PM
She got voted out years ago and has had nae power for just as long. What difference does her death make to anyone that didn't like her?

We live in a democracy so 3 consecutive terms means she got the votes ..

Bear in mind she didn't act alone but at least she had balls - and did what she said she'd do. The unions needed tackling IMHO.

Aye she certainly showed those Unions didn't she? How dare they look out for the long term benefit of workers :rolleyes:

wpj
08-04-2013, 01:40 PM
She met the leader of South Africa during Apartheid - Pieter Willem Botha - this sums her up perfectly as no other leader of a western nation entertained the notion of meeting him. It seems like she gave him her endorsement to carry on being a racist and segregating the country.

And great pals with Pinochet too

hibby rae
08-04-2013, 01:41 PM
Everyone else can forget about their musical contributions to this thread for this is the only song appropriate for today:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xbp3k3rYMs4

http://www.youtube.com/#/watch?v=K-BZIWSI5UQ&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DK-BZIWSI5UQ

Tramp the Dirt Down.

08-04-2013, 01:43 PM

I'm all for folk venting their hatred of the boogeyman but let's not start making stuff up now. Aside from the bit in bold being pish, Mandela thanked Thatcher for helping secure his release.

08-04-2013, 01:52 PM
rot in hell ya ****in' auld boot :bye:

08-04-2013, 01:53 PM
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/society/people-with-no-idea-who-thatcher-was-ecstatic-that-shes-dead-2013040865066

08-04-2013, 01:54 PM
I am volunteering to dig the hole for her and dig it so deep that i can personally hand her to satan.

The Frankie Boyle line on the discussion of cost around her funeral "For 3 million you could give everyone in Scotland a shovel, and we could dig a hole so deep we could hand her over to Satan in person"

08-04-2013, 02:00 PM
I'm all for folk venting their hatred of the boogeyman but let's not start making stuff up now. Aside from the bit in bold being pish, Mandela thanked Thatcher for helping secure his release.

Why else would she visit a pariah state? It did help Botha and the ruling incumbent during that period that the leader of a western nation visited. You're entitled to your opinion on it, I had to write a paper for a class at university on Thatcher and her reign and I found academics who have agreed that it gave them better footing in African politics.

08-04-2013, 02:03 PM
#nowthatchersdead has caused a great deal of emotional upset among Cher's fans!

08-04-2013, 02:10 PM
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/society/people-with-no-idea-who-thatcher-was-ecstatic-that-shes-dead-2013040865066

08-04-2013, 02:13 PM
Why else would she visit a pariah state? It did help Botha and the ruling incumbent during that period that the leader of a western nation visited. You're entitled to your opinion on it, I had to write a paper for a class at university on Thatcher and her reign and I found academics who have agreed that it gave them better footing in African politics.

I didn't say that she was right or that it didn't have unintended consequences. I said the suggestion that Thatcher telling South Africa to end apartheid, release Mandela and stop harassing non-whites was giving them her endorsement to carry on is fiction.

08-04-2013, 02:16 PM
I didn't say that she was right or that it didn't have unintended consequences. I said the suggestion that Thatcher telling South Africa to end apartheid, release Mandela and stop harassing non-whites was giving them her endorsement to carry on is fiction.

But you accused me of making up pish?

08-04-2013, 02:16 PM

And if she hadn't visited, and Botha and his cronies were isolated, they would probably still be in charge and at war with every other country in Africa.

Prof. Shaggy
08-04-2013, 02:17 PM

I heard him speak in the Churchill Hotel, London in April 1990, and again at Wembley the following day. He thanked a lot of people who had helped campaign for his release.

She wasn't one of them.

08-04-2013, 02:18 PM
And if she hadn't visited, and Botha and his cronies were isolated, they would probably still be in charge and at war with every other country in Africa.

Did she visit South Africa?

Prof. Shaggy
08-04-2013, 02:20 PM

You've lost me now.

08-04-2013, 02:29 PM

...and here's an earlier one:
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/society/northern-britain-already-hammered-2013040865062

08-04-2013, 02:30 PM
Did she visit South Africa?

No she didn't as far as I'm aware. Botha visited her in the UK and there were rumoured to be a couple of meetings outside Europe. After his visit Botha introduced major changes to the South African constitution. Not as much as many people wanted but still more than many people expected.

08-04-2013, 02:32 PM

...and here's an earlier one:
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/society/northern-britain-already-hammered-2013040865062

''Let's find Tebbit and piss on his face.'' :faf:

IndieHibby
08-04-2013, 02:34 PM
This is from FW De Klerk, the former president of South Africa.

I have learned with great sadness of the death of Baroness Thatcher. She will be remembered not only as one of Britain’s greatest Prime Ministers but also as a leader whose policies and approach had a significant impact on politics throughout the world.
Although she was always a steadfast critic of apartheid, she had a much better grasp of the complexities and geo-strategic realities of South Africa than many of her contemporaries. She consistently, and correctly, believed that much more could be achieved through constructive engagement with the South African government than through draconian sanctions and isolation. She also understood the need to consider the concerns and aspirations of all South Africans in their search for constitutional consensus.
For this reason she was able to play a positive role in supporting our own process of non-racial constitutional transformation in South Africa. From my first meeting with her in London after my election as leader of the National Party in 1989 and throughout the rest of her tenure as Prime Minister, she gave strong and valued to support to me and to all other leaders who were working for a peaceful, prosperous, and constitutional future for South Africa.
We met in the Cape and in London many times after her retirement from office - and before her stroke in 2002. I am honoured to have had Margaret Thatcher as a friend.
From the man who gave ALL South Africans the vote.

Prof. Shaggy
08-04-2013, 02:45 PM
No she didn't as far as I'm aware. Botha visited her in the UK and there were rumoured to be a couple of meetings outside Europe. After his visit Botha introduced major changes to the South African constitution. Not as much as many people wanted but still more than many people expected.

I think your timescale is a bit out here. Botha's Constitutional "Reform" package - the attempt to recruit sections of the "Indian" and "coloured" communities into a "Tricameral" parliament - were proposed in 1983 and rejected by representatives of the majority of South Africans. Botha's visit to the UK the following year was an attempt by Thatcher to dignify what was a hollow, racist sham.

08-04-2013, 02:54 PM
https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/tramp-the-dirt-down/id294809684?i=294809845

79p well spent if it goes to #1.

In 'least surprising development of the day', the Mail has found itself outraged at sickening leftie stunts.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2305760/Margaret-Thatcher-dead-George-Galloway-leads-chorus-celebration-left.html

08-04-2013, 02:56 PM
Just saw the plans for Thatcher's grave. it's beautiful but i think they could have made the dance floor bigger.

yeezus.
08-04-2013, 03:00 PM
Not surprised Frankie Boyle and George Galloway updated their Twitter. I have to say I am loving the Daily Mail's reaction all this!

08-04-2013, 03:00 PM
Really disappointed to hear she died.............................................. ................... a peaceful death. Wish it was slow and painful and she had died lying in her own shiiiiiite For all the youngsters out there who don't understand the significance of this evil, embittered, cow's death- she is the woman who more than anyone in the history of Britain managed to divide a country. She even did a better job than the Roman's who built a friggin wall. Along with her cohorts she managed to break communities, set brother against brother when some blacked. Shut down almost all heavy industry in Scotland and tried to replace it with jobs in shops. Tried to close Rosyth. Created the me,me society in which we live. Put in place the building bricks for the greed which infests our society today. I didn't like her.

Prof. Shaggy
08-04-2013, 03:04 PM
This is from FW De Klerk, the former president of South Africa.
From the man who gave ALL South Africans the vote.

I think you'll find it's the South African Constitution that does that.

08-04-2013, 03:07 PM
Really disappointed to hear she died.............................................. ................... a peaceful death. Wish it was slow and painful and she had died lying in her own shiiiiiite For all the youngsters out there who don't understand the significance of this evil, embittered, cow's death- she is the woman who more than anyone in the history of Britain managed to divide a country. She even did a better job than the Roman's who built a friggin wall. Along with her cohorts she managed to break communities, set brother against brother when some blacked. Shut down almost all heavy industry in Scotland and tried to replace it with jobs in shops. Tried to close Rosyth. Created the me,me society in which we live. Put in place the building bricks for the greed which infests our society today. I didn't like her.

I didn't like her either but I wouldn''t go as far as to wish her a slow and painful death.

Yes, she had some terribly divisive policies and they did a lot to put the country and society in the state it is just now.

What disappointed me even more was how liitle was done to reverse the policies or their effects by subsequent Governments.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/forkauldboot_zps7da5c484.gif

Green Man
I haven't felt this good since Wallace Mercer died.

yeezus.
08-04-2013, 03:09 PM
I didn't like her either but I wouldn''t go as far as to wish her a slow and painful death.

Yes, she had some terribly divisive policies and they did a lot to put the country and society in the state it is just now.

What disappointed me even more was how liitle was done to reverse the policies or their effects by subsequent Governments.

:agree: I don't think the Labour gov. between 1997-2010 got rid of one anti-trade union law.

08-04-2013, 03:11 PM
Why did she die on a Monday, im gonna be rough at work tomorrow

:agree: Kept a really good malt unopened for this very occasion, typically she has put 2 fingers up to the likes of me again by doing it on a Monday when I don't normally have one. Still just like Maggie and her pechant for trying out her experiments on Scotland first I am always prepared to make and exception :wink:

Off the bar
08-04-2013, 03:13 PM
Irvine Welsh has been good value on twitter this afternoon

Irvine Welsh ‏@WelshIrvine (https://twitter.com/WelshIrvine) 5m (https://twitter.com/WelshIrvine/status/321277328015626240)
All this talk about a state funeral for ol' ****ychops is surely disrespectful to her memory. Let the private sector pay to mark her passing

Irvine Welsh ‏@WelshIrvine (https://twitter.com/WelshIrvine) 50m (https://twitter.com/WelshIrvine/status/321266753537708033)

As heinous as she was, Thatcher, just by the simple virtue of being dead, is nowhere near as offensive as the ***** currently in power.

Irvine Welsh ‏@WelshIrvine (https://twitter.com/WelshIrvine) 1h (https://twitter.com/WelshIrvine/status/321261560809005057)
A hot and twisted threesome with Satan and Saville is taking place as we tweet.

Irvine Welsh ‏@WelshIrvine (https://twitter.com/WelshIrvine) 1h (https://twitter.com/WelshIrvine/status/321257244069072896)
US TV nauseating on ol' ****ychops. Fox ****ing on about how her and Reagan saved the world, Colin Powell on CBS all but saying he rode her.

08-04-2013, 03:17 PM
:agree: Kept a really good malt unopened for this very occasion, typically she has put 2 fingers up to the likes of me again by doing it on a Monday when I don't normally have one. Still just like Maggie and her pechant for trying out her experiments on Scotland first I am always prepared to make and exception :wink:This is my weekend. Bottle of Champagne already done and I might manage a Johnnie Blue or 2. Cheers.

08-04-2013, 03:21 PM

And was friendly with and offered sanctuary to General Augusto Pinochet of Chile - great guy.

08-04-2013, 03:26 PM
about time, old boot.

08-04-2013, 03:31 PM
Good article here

http://m.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/apr/08/margaret-thatcher-death-etiquette

08-04-2013, 03:37 PM
Good article here

http://m.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/apr/08/margaret-thatcher-death-etiquette

Classic quote "Former Tory MP Louise Mensch, with no apparent sense of irony, invoked precepts of propriety to announce (https://twitter.com/LouiseMensch/status/321237302313623552): "Pygmies of the left so predictably embarrassing yourselves, know this: not a one of your leaders will ever be globally mourned like her.""

08-04-2013, 03:39 PM
I heard him speak in the Churchill Hotel, London in April 1990, and again at Wembley the following day. He thanked a lot of people who had helped campaign for his release.

She wasn't one of them.

I'm led to believe that things can still happen if you don't see them first-hand.

But you accused me of making up pish?

So don't do it.

I haven't felt this good since Wallace Mercer died.

You hate a politician that was out of power before you hit puberty?

08-04-2013, 03:39 PM
Classic quote "Former Tory MP Louise Mensch, with no apparent sense of irony, invoked precepts of propriety to announce (https://twitter.com/LouiseMensch/status/321237302313623552): "Pygmies of the left so predictably embarrassing yourselves, know this: not a one of your leaders will ever be globally mourned like her.""

She must be the most loathed or loved leader of our time .. some real extreme views on Thatcher to be had.

08-04-2013, 03:44 PM

Pretty much my take on it.

This one is good as well:

08-04-2013, 03:44 PM

She's actually a Tory i admire, is Mensch, but shes let herself down there. She cant be that genuine in her pain if shes so busy casting around to make sure everyone is equally as upset as she is.

08-04-2013, 03:49 PM
no danger there will be a minutes silence at hampden, absolute stupidity if they try and go ahead with it, green brigade will no doubt have some unique flag for the occasion.

Green Man
08-04-2013, 03:51 PM

I may have been young but I remember her being in power and the closures she effected, as well as her encouragement of the greed culture which continues to plague this country. I've also seen and read enough to hate the way she treated working class people in Scotland.

08-04-2013, 03:52 PM
Her death is shame for her family but I don't share her views or the vision she had for the UK. She sold off the countries assets to her big donors and waged a class war against workers, the poor, and unemployed. She was against sanctions against the apartheid regime in SA. Waged war in Falklands and gave Pinochet refuge. To name a few of her antics. Whilst I disliked her but it was her policies which I despised more. She most definitely does not deserve a state funeral.

Bye bye Milk Snatcher bye bye

08-04-2013, 03:57 PM
I'm led to believe that things can still happen if you don't see them first-hand.

So don't do it.

I didn't?

08-04-2013, 03:58 PM
What really is surprising me (and saddening me a little) in light of this news is the amount of people from my generation who are celebrating this woman's death. I'm not old enough to have experienced the Iron rule of Thatcher and I won't join in with the somewhat abhorrent reaction from some.

I understand she destroyed communities, I understand the devastation she brought to industry and particularly mining in Scotland and the North of England but the way some folk are going on you'd think this woman is equatable to the likes of Hitler, Mladic, Stalin, Blokhin or Bin Laden (to name but a few).

I appreciate the polar views and it's hard to say people are crossing lines when you've not experience their grievances but there isn't half a lot of bravado, overstated revisionism and downright idiocy emerging in the wake of this.

Prof. Shaggy
08-04-2013, 04:09 PM

I'm sure if she was particularly high up his thank-you list he wouldn't have have blanked her twice in two days on his first visit to London after his release.
I suspect he shared his Party's view that she was one of Apartheid's most loyal supporters on the international scene at the time.

08-04-2013, 04:17 PM
i was saddened to hear this news today....particularly the bit about her dying peacefully in her sleep...i always wanted her to die a horrible, agonising, slow, painful death...still, beggars cant be choosers, at least the old bitch has croaked at last...hopefully her evil son isn't too far behind.

i'll raise my glass for the families of those bereaved by the sinking of the belgrano tonight.

"Council response to social media comments about Baroness Thatcher and George Square

In response to comments on social media sites suggesting people are planning to hold a party in George Square following the death of Baroness Thatcher, Glasgow City Council has issued the following statement.

Regardless of whether or not it's appropriate to have a party to celebrate someone dying, this event was organised without involvement or consent from the council and we have safety concerns for anyone attending.
Organisers of legitimate events must get permission to use the square. They must also satisfy the council that they will take safety precautions such as providing first aiders, sufficient public toilets and stewards, as well as obtaining public liability insurance.
We urge people to stay away."

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/tramp-the-dirt-down/id294809684?i=294809845

79p well spent if it goes to #1.

In 'least surprising development of the day', the Mail has found itself outraged at sickening leftie stunts.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2305760/Margaret-Thatcher-dead-George-Galloway-leads-chorus-celebration-left.html

This could be the biggest chart battle since Blur and Oasis. Elton John
has re-released
"slippers in the bin"

08-04-2013, 04:19 PM
What really is surprising me (and saddening me a little) in light of this news is the amount of people from my generation who are celebrating this woman's death. I'm not old enough to have experienced the Iron rule of Thatcher and I won't join in with the somewhat abhorrent reaction from some.

I understand she destroyed communities, I understand the devastation she brought to industry and particularly mining in Scotland and the North of England but the way some folk are going on you'd think this woman is equatable to the likes of Hitler, Mladic, Stalin, Blokhin or Bin Laden (to name but a few).

I appreciate the polar views and it's hard to say people are crossing lines when you've not experience their grievances but there isn't half a lot of bravado, overstated revisionism and downright idiocy emerging in the wake of this.
To many of us her name sits easy on that list. Falklands and shoot kill policy in NI not mention her use of the police and army against her own people

IndieHibby
08-04-2013, 04:19 PM
I think you'll find it's the South African Constitution that does that.
And what will you find if you go looking for one the politicians who allowed it's creation? FW De Clerk. Also, are you always so patronising, or is it just to me?

08-04-2013, 04:22 PM
I may have been young but I remember her being in power and the closures she effected, as well as her encouragement of the greed culture which continues to plague this country. I've also seen and read enough to hate the way she treated working class people in Scotland.

You were a serious seven year old, huh? I'm older than you but I was too busy playing outside and, later on, trying to kiss girls to care much about Thatcher. The only time I had an opinion is when I had to pay the poll tax for a wee while.

My parents are working class and I was raised in a council house for most of my childhood. How did she treat them?

I didn't?

You said that she gave SA her endorsement to bash on with apartheid, didn't you?

I'm sure if she was particularly high up his thank-you list he wouldn't have have blanked her twice in two days on his first visit to London after his release.
I suspect he shared his Party's view that she was one of Apartheid's most loyal supporters on the international scene at the time.

You're arguing against a point that I didn't make. Bash on though.

Prof. Shaggy
08-04-2013, 04:29 PM
And what will you find if you go looking for one the politicians who allowed it's creation? FW De Clerk. Also, are you always so patronising, or is it just to me?

Apologies if you feel patronised, my intention was simply to disagree with you.

My point is that the universal right to vote in SA is part of the Constitution which was WON from the white minority after decades of struggle and sacrifice by people of all races. FW took some courageous decisions, certainly, but the reality was that the alternative was one which more and more whites couldn't contemplate. To claim he gave the vote to all South Africans is simply nonsense.

08-04-2013, 04:30 PM
To many of us her name sits easy on that list.

Thatcher is comparable with Stalin, Hitler and presumably Mao?

08-04-2013, 04:33 PM
Where do I join the queue to tramp the dirt down?

08-04-2013, 04:47 PM

She couldn't even get the trains running on time.

08-04-2013, 04:58 PM
Thatcher died when she joined the army. Is this right?

08-04-2013, 05:02 PM
She couldn't even get the trains running on time.

Green Man
08-04-2013, 05:04 PM
You were a serious seven year old, huh? I'm older than you but I was too busy playing outside and, later on, trying to kiss girls to care much about Thatcher. The only time I had an opinion is when I had to pay the poll tax for a wee while.

My parents are working class and I was raised in a council house for most of my childhood. How did she treat them?

Of course I spent time playing. But my parents and teachers encouraged us to pay attention and talk about stuff in the news so I had some awareness of current affairs. I can't comment on your parents as everyone had their own experiences.

08-04-2013, 05:25 PM
She couldn't even get the trains running on time.:greengrin

08-04-2013, 05:28 PM
I like this reaction .. https://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=610887372259303

yeezus.
08-04-2013, 05:32 PM
I'm disgusted with some of the comments I have come across today. It seems to me that too many people are just jumping on the bandwagon and cheering about the death of a frail old lady. Unbelievable.

Prof. Shaggy
08-04-2013, 05:47 PM
You're arguing against a point that I didn't make. Bash on though.

Which point would that be?

MoscowHibs
08-04-2013, 05:49 PM
She's actually a Tory i would like tae pump, is Mensch, but shes let herself down there. She cant be that genuine in her pain if shes so busy casting around to make sure everyone is equally as upset as she is.

Sorted that for ye Bollah. On another note, a mate of mine was saying that the tories although sad, are rejoicing in the fact they are gonna make a mint in taxes of Alcohol sales in Scotland. Is that true...I dunno, I will hae a think aboot it on my way tae the off licence. :cheers:

08-04-2013, 05:54 PM
Which point would that be?

I've no idea. It's one that I didn't make though.

08-04-2013, 06:00 PM
I'm disgusted with some of the comments I have come across today. It seems to me that too many people are just jumping on the bandwagon and cheering about the death of a frail old lady. Unbelievable.

Good post and I agree.

Prof. Shaggy
08-04-2013, 06:02 PM
I've no idea. It's one that I didn't make though.

That's not much help.

EuanH78
08-04-2013, 06:05 PM

Really? Maybe she died a frail old lady but that wasn't always the case.

Pinochet, apartheid (yes they say she was against it but, despite that she still broke ranks with every other country and continued relations with SA) sinking of the Belgrano outside the exclusion zone and moving away (an exclusion zone that she set down btw) using the police as her stormtroopers against her own people, NI, poll tax, soon to come out that she was at the top of the Hillsborough cover up. Need anymore? You reap what you sow.

**** her.

08-04-2013, 06:07 PM

GoldenEagle
08-04-2013, 06:09 PM

Spoken as a 21 year old who has no conception of the contempt and utter revulsion that this Tyrant had for millions of the people that she was supposed to govern in a manner befitting that of a Prime Minister and not one for the established elite.

I am not cheering on the death of a frail old lady nor am I on any bandwagon, I am reviewing the life of Margaret Hilda Thatcher the same as millions of others are at this point. If I choose to despise her for her actions during her time in Government then I'll do exactly that and as death comes to us all then it would be churlish to take any pleasure in that regard but am I sad that she has gone....unfortunately not.

08-04-2013, 06:10 PM
I have been a Labour man all my days.

I grew up in a mining village and my three uncles and cousin (who was in my year at school) were on strike for the duration of the miners strike in the early 80s.

I played bowls for Macmerry MW for 33 years and served on the committee of the bowling club and the actual MW club for years

BUT

I will state this and it may well offend many ex miners on here.

They called her for everything but as soon as they received their redundancy money the first thing they did was buy their council houses.

Did they refuse to buy their council houses on the basis that it was a Tory initiative to buy council houses?

Did they f***.

So although I didn't have a lot of time for her there are plenty hypocritical miners out there who made a pretty penny out of her, I bet they don't shout about that tonight however.

08-04-2013, 06:10 PM
I'm disgusted with some of the comments I have come across today. It seems to me that too many people are just jumping on the bandwagon and cheering about the death of a frail old lady. Unbelievable. The fact she is a "frail old lady" now does not excuse the fact she was a evil, greedy bitch who caused untold misery to thousands throughout (and beyond) her period in office. She was summed up early on in her career by being callous enough to stop Primary children getting free milk. She got more intolerant as time went on. I have never rejoiced at anyone's death before but am delighted to see the back of that old cow. She was also a 2 faced git as you will see if you watch interviews of her in early office when she had a "normal" accent before changing it as she went further up the ladder. She clearly forgot her roots.

08-04-2013, 06:12 PM
Good post and I agree.

I don't so there.:na na:

08-04-2013, 06:42 PM

Strange post that after telling her to rest in hell in the first page of this thread.

08-04-2013, 06:55 PM

I'd have been happier if shed died at Brighton. So the bandwagon has been running a while for some of us. Thatcher made the rules - no quarter given, or expected. It would be hypocritical for any other reaction.

Did the Catalans show any compassion for that frail old man Franco? It's the natural reaction of the oppressed to the death of their oppressor.

As for those that bought their council house. Take a look at the streets around you. Now. Are they better for Private ownership? And if you think you are middle class now, then ask people in the Grange and Colinton. You'll find you're not.

08-04-2013, 07:00 PM
You said that she gave SA her endorsement to bash on with apartheid, didn't you?

This was my post: It seems like she gave him her endorsement to carry on being a racist and segregating the country.

I believe this is fair and valid as she continued relations with South Africa when not many other countries were and also was against the sanctions on the country by the Commonwealth and the European Economic Committee and called herself a 'candid friend' of Botha. She also invited him over to the UK when she knew there would be protests and the meeting sent out the totally wrong message. She also called the African National Congress 'a typical terrorist organisation' which is another point to raise. I don't think I'm making up pish based on these points. Do you have any counter arguments rather than making up a snide comment as you usually do on here?

08-04-2013, 07:05 PM
I'd have been happier if shed died at Brighton. So the bandwagon has been running a while for some of us. Thatcher made the rules - no quarter given, or expected. It would be hypocritical for any other reaction.

Did the Catalans show any compassion for that frail old man Franco? It's the natural reaction of the oppressed to the death of their oppressor.

As for those that bought their council house. Take a look at the streets around you. Now. Are they better for Private ownership? And if you think you are middle class now, then ask people in the Grange and Colinton. You'll find you're not.

I find that quite an evil view. Were the five deaths at Brighton that night, and the maiming of others, a price worth paying for the noble if unsuccessful attempt to take out Thatcher? Anything other than unqualified condemnation of that atrocity reflects very poorly on you.

08-04-2013, 07:14 PM

Nah. Not even as bad as what Katie did. :greengrin

08-04-2013, 07:19 PM
This was my post: It seems like she gave him her endorsement to carry on being a racist and segregating the country.

I believe this is fair and valid as she continued relations with South Africa when not many other countries were and also was against the sanctions on the country by the Commonwealth and the European Economic Committee and called herself a 'candid friend' of Botha. She also invited him over to the UK when she knew there would be protests and the meeting sent out the totally wrong message. She also called the African National Congress 'a typical terrorist organisation' which is another point to raise. I don't think I'm making up pish based on these points. Do you have any counter arguments rather than making up a snide comment as you usually do on here?

I don't think you read many of my posts tbh.

I've told you why I think it was a rubbish comment. You've countered. That's that as far as I'm concerned.

08-04-2013, 07:23 PM
Like she apologised for the belgrano atrocity?

I find that quite an evil view. Were the five deaths at Brighton that night, and the maiming of others, a price worth paying for the noble if unsuccessful attempt to take out Thatcher? Anything other than unqualified condemnation of that atrocity reflects very poorly on you.

08-04-2013, 07:33 PM

death comes to us all because we are old is no reason to forget what we did in good health

08-04-2013, 07:38 PM
Like she apologised for the belgrano atrocity?

Whether we like it or not we were fighting a war. The operational limits of that war changed the day before the sinking and the Argentinian Admiral in charge of deploying the Belgrano later conceded she was a legitimate target. Her apology should have been for ignoring the threat posed by Argentina until it was far too late and war was inevitable, not doing what had to be done to win it.
I have a deep contempt for the woman but despite the myth the Falklands war came about due to her own Governments incompetence, not by any desire on her part to warmonger in order to get re-elected.

08-04-2013, 07:48 PM
Not long back from the pub and it's jumping.

Cheerio Cheerio Cheerio.

08-04-2013, 07:51 PM
Strange post that after telling her to rest in hell in the first page of this thread.

Beat me to it HH, strange turn.

Please change your avatar back, was much better.

08-04-2013, 08:06 PM
[QUOTE=Hibs Class;3559038]I find that quite an evil view. Were the five deaths at Brighton that night, and the maiming of others, a price worth paying for the noble if unsuccessful attempt to take out Thatcher? Anything other than unqualified condemnation of that atrocity reflects very poorly on you.[/

You're entitled to your opinion. Mine is that I wish she hadn't lived to do the damage she did. I think my view is no more evil than that of people who wanted Galtieri taken out.

08-04-2013, 08:07 PM
While Thatcher has a lot to answer for about the way she did things I think people conveniently forget the state the country was in due to the power and influence of the unions. Rubbish piling up on streets, the dead not being buried and power cuts were regular occurrences due to various strikes in the 1970's. Britain was not a place that people wanted to invest in due to its unreliability and the constant strikes. She was pretty brutal and ruthless and could have gone about it another way I am sure but the unions had too much power and held the country to ransom. Look at British Leyland, they had Red Robbo (Derek Robinson) who was the Union leader, over a 2 year period there was 562 walkouts from the workforce and an estimated £200M in lost production. Some will no doubt disagree and say the Unions 'protected' the workforce but the unions did get too powerful and held the country to ransom at will.

08-04-2013, 08:15 PM

was just going to post similar, no doubt you put it a million times better :greengrin

08-04-2013, 08:17 PM
Please change your avatar back, was much better.

I thought Ana needed a wee rest!

08-04-2013, 08:23 PM
I'm disgusted with some of the comments I have come across today. It seems to me that too many people are just jumping on the bandwagon and cheering about the death of a frail old lady. Unbelievable.away 'n' bile yer heid

Good riddance tae the ****in' auld boot. :bye:

08-04-2013, 08:27 PM
away 'n' bile yer heid

08-04-2013, 08:32 PM
away 'n' bile yer heid

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/forkauldboot_zps7da5c484.gif:tee hee:

08-04-2013, 08:35 PM
I'm neither up nor down about her death.

You should have saved that for when the The Grand Old Duke of York pops his clogs

08-04-2013, 08:36 PM
http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2013/4/8/1365449050670/Thatcher-death-party-010.jpg

08-04-2013, 08:41 PM
- and did what she said she'd do

Aye, barry.

“Where there is discord, may we bring harmony.
Where there is error, may we bring truth.
Where there is doubt, may we bring faith.
And where there is despair, may we bring hope.”

08-04-2013, 08:41 PM

I was too young to understand what was going on at the time although I remember the general hatred for her that all the 'grown-ups' felt.

However if people genuinely feel she has done wrong by them then IMO its fair enough that they say what they want. It's probably similar to the way I feel about Wallace Mercer.

08-04-2013, 08:43 PM
I was too young to understand what was going on at the time although I remember the general hatred for her that all the 'grown-ups' felt.

However if people genuinely feel she has done wrong by them then IMO its fair enough that they say what they want. It's probably similar to the way I feel about Wallace Mercer.He's deid http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/javaImages/a1/27/0,,10289~5384097,00.jpg She's deid http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/3/3a/Margaret_Thatcher_cropped2.png/75px-Margaret_Thatcher_cropped2.png :agree:

08-04-2013, 09:02 PM
Aye, barry.

“Where there is discord, may we bring harmony.
Where there is error, may we bring truth.
Where there is doubt, may we bring faith.
And where there is despair, may we bring hope.”

She did what she set out to do, not what she said. For quoting a saints prayer for her own political gain should ensure that she burns in hell. :aok:

In fact the same saint as the new pope's used, coincidence? :greengrin

08-04-2013, 09:05 PM
can we have John Major chucked in too?

08-04-2013, 09:17 PM
As a kid growing up in Scotland to a single mum with psychiatric problems, she ensured that the one guaranteed meal that I had everyday was stopped. I survived despite Margaret Thatcher and not because of her. I almost want to become religious so that I can believe that she is burning in hell for all eternity, unfortunately I'm not and neither is she. Slainte!

08-04-2013, 09:20 PM

I was disgusted at having to go round my workmates with a collection to make up meat parcels for the Miners during their struggle. She killed whole villages during her time. The Durham miners leader put it nicely today imo.

"General secretary of the Durham Miners Association called Baroness Thatcher’s death a “great day” for coal miners.

The ex-miner, who turned 70 today, spent all of his working life at Wearmouth Colliery.

He said: “It looks like one of the best birthdays I have ever had.

“There’s no sympathy from me for what she did to our community. She destroyed our community, our villages and our people.

“For the union this could not come soon enough and I’m pleased that I have outlived her.

“It’s a great day for all the miners, I imagine we will have a counter demonstration when they have her funeral.

“Our children have got no jobs and the community is full of problems. There’s no work and no money and it’s very sad the legacy she has left behind.

“She absolutely hated working people and I have got very bitter memories of what she did. She turned all the nation against us and the violence that was meted out on us was terrible.

“I would say to those people who want to mourn her that they’re lucky she did not treat them like she treated us.”

HiBremian
08-04-2013, 09:26 PM

However if people genuinely feel she has done wrong by them then IMO its fair enough that they say what they want. It's probably similar to the way I feel about Wallace Mercer.

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/owen-jones-thatcherism-was-a-national-catastrophe-that-still-poisons-us-8564858.html

Don't think the young of today need a history lesson to understand what she's done - we're living the consequences now. As her fans keep saying, she saved Britain from the kind of country that has strong trades unions and welfare systems, hells like Sweden or Denmark, and gave us the privatised energy companies and set the financial sector and bankers free to build a new jerusalem.

08-04-2013, 09:31 PM
Really disappointed to hear she died.............................................. ................... a peaceful death. Wish it was slow and painful and she had died lying in her own shiiiiiite
For all the youngsters out there who don't understand the significance of this evil, embittered, cow's death- she is the woman who more than anyone in the history of Britain managed to divide a country. She even did a better job than the Roman's who built a friggin wall. Along with her cohorts she managed to break communities, set brother against brother when some blacked. Shut down almost all heavy industry in Scotland and tried to replace it with jobs in shops. Tried to close Rosyth. Created the me,me society in which we live. Put in place the building bricks for the greed which infests our society today. I didn't like her.

Ditto from me.

08-04-2013, 09:34 PM
On the plus side, Ian Duncan's Smith benefits procedure has seen her passed as 'fit to work'.

08-04-2013, 09:41 PM
On the plus side, Ian Duncan's Smith benefits procedure has seen her passed as 'fit to work'.

:not worth

08-04-2013, 09:43 PM
“Our children have got no jobs and the community is full of problems. There’s no work and no money and it’s very sad the legacy she has left behind.”

This is what a lot of younger people do not realise. We live in Thatcher's Britain now. During her tenure she laid down the seeds and the has weed spread year by year, Prime Minister by Prime Minister, Government by Government.

Victorian values, no such thing as Society etc, etc....This is not the same country as I was born in and the worst changes wrought are her doing.

08-04-2013, 09:46 PM

Superb shot NH! :top marks

08-04-2013, 09:57 PM

08-04-2013, 10:15 PM
Not long in from the boozer. Didn't get there 'til 8.45 as working this evening so missed the champers :grr: :greengrin

Her most lasting legacy in my opinion is one she shares with Reagan of allowing the unfettered greed of the 'free' market to run rampant until it all went belly up to be bailed out by the taxpayer. My children and their children will be the ones paying for it for a long time.

Good riddance.

08-04-2013, 10:21 PM
That slimy character Michael Forsyth has just appeared on Newsnight Scotland making the case that Thatcher hastened the collapse of communism in Eastern Europe :hilarious

08-04-2013, 10:36 PM
That slimy character Michael Forsyth has just appeared on Newsnight Scotland making the case that Thatcher hastened the collapse of communism in Eastern Europe :hilarious

She certainly hastened the collapse of Toryisim in Scotland!

08-04-2013, 10:55 PM
As a kid growing up in Scotland to a single mum with psychiatric problems, she ensured that the one guaranteed meal that I had everyday was stopped. I survived despite Margaret Thatcher and not because of her. I almost want to become religious so that I can believe that she is burning in hell for all eternity, unfortunately I'm not and neither is she. Slainte!

As someone who hails from a family of working class Scots on one side and working class Catholics from Belfast on the other I think it's fair to say my views of Thatcher were formed early. As you say my family survived and grew in spite of Thatcher certainly not because of her.

It also greatly insults me that people say i'm too young to understand why people hate the woman. It's me and my children that will pick up the tab for her mistakes.

08-04-2013, 11:49 PM
F***** good riddance to the cow, and I hope there is a minutes silence planned for Saturday- so our voices can be heard, all you are likely to get on the media is arse licking drivel-tributes. Even on here voices are being silenced, the thread on the main board shut down I see, pathetic.

TrickyNicky
08-04-2013, 11:58 PM
David Cameron sent his official letter to the Thatcher residence today, it starts with " I regret to inform you but due to recent events you now have too many bedrooms......"

TrickyNicky
09-04-2013, 12:00 AM

The only way they will get it is if they ask for a minute's applause!

09-04-2013, 01:13 AM
F***** good riddance to the cow, and I hope there is a minutes silence planned for Saturday- so our voices can be heard, all you are likely to get on the media is arse licking drivel-tributes. Even on here voices are being silenced, the thread on the main board shut down I see, pathetic.I'm with you on that, comrade!pathetic refusal by the admins, to let the people be heard. that whore caused so much pain and anguish, and we acxtually have people on here supporting her. beleivable

Billy McKirdy
09-04-2013, 01:25 AM
I hated/still do/and always will...that bitch with a passion, today is a glorious day for those of us who remember the damage she inflicted on this country, may she never find peace in whatever spiritual realm she now inhabits. Rot in Hell Thatcher...Forever :thumbsup:

09-04-2013, 01:26 AM
While Thatcher has a lot to answer for about the way she did things I think people conveniently forget the state the country was in due to the power and influence of the unions. Rubbish piling up on streets, the dead not being buried and power cuts were regular occurrences due to various strikes in the 1970's. Britain was not a place that people wanted to invest in due to its unreliability and the constant strikes. She was pretty brutal and ruthless and could have gone about it another way I am sure but the unions had too much power and held the country to ransom. Look at British Leyland, they had Red Robbo (Derek Robinson) who was the Union leader, over a 2 year period there was 562 walkouts from the workforce and an estimated £200M in lost production. Some will no doubt disagree and say the Unions 'protected' the workforce but the unions did get too powerful and held the country to ransom at will.you are talking sheite. forget the c70's . they had nowt to do with her! rubbish piling up in the streets was it? what age were you when all this happened. get agrip! you are talking on here as if you knew all that was involved with her reign and I am telling you that it's keek.Britain, or is it great Britain that you seem allude to, is in such a polarised state because of her doings. ding dong the witch is deid.havannah in the highest

Billy McKirdy
09-04-2013, 01:32 AM
you are talking sheite. forget the c70's . they had nowt to do with her! rubbish piling up in the streets was it? what age were you when all this happened. get a grip! you are talking on here as if you knew all that was involved with her reign and I am telling you that it's keek.Britain, or is it great Britain that you seem allude to, is in such a polarised state because of her doings. ding dong the witch is deid.havannah in the highest

:thumbsup: The current mob in charge are a carbon copy of her policies, may they go the same way :greengrin

NaeTechnoHibby
09-04-2013, 01:44 AM
She was the most vindictive person I have ever known in my real time life, glad she's gone :thumbsup:

Sadly, her legacy lives in the current English Parliament, which will do great harm too :rolleyes:

09-04-2013, 05:26 AM
I'm with you on that, comrade!pathetic refusal by the admins, to let the people be heard. that whore caused so much pain and anguish, and we acxtually have people on here supporting her. un-f/ckin beleivable

Apart from this seven page thread which has had no Admin interference no matter what view has been expressed?
The main board is a football forum. The thread there wasn't deleted, it is still there for all to see. Once it became a general discussion about Thatcher it could have been moved here..... Pointless when this thread already exists don't you think?

09-04-2013, 05:33 AM
F***** good riddance to the cow, and I hope there is a minutes silence planned for Saturday- so our voices can be heard, all you are likely to get on the media is arse licking drivel-tributes. Even on here voices are being silenced, the thread on the main board shut down I see, pathetic.

I'm with you on that, comrade!pathetic refusal by the admins, to let the people be heard. that whore caused so much pain and anguish, and we acxtually have people on here supporting her. beleivable

Don't really want to be seen standing up for Admins but I believe the Main Board is for football related matters. It would take a pretty big reality swing to connect her death with football. And before I get the old minute silence thing, nobody has yet said there is to be one and I fail to see why anybody would even want one.

09-04-2013, 05:52 AM
I quite like this response.

From Billy Bragg, Calgary, AB, Canada, on the death of Margaret Thatcher:

This is not a time for celebration. The death of Margaret Thatcher is nothing more than a salient reminder of how Britain got into the mess that we are in today. Of why ordinary working people are no longer able to earn enough from one job to support a family; of why there is a shortage of decent affordable housing; of why domestic growth is driven by credit, not by real incomes; of why tax-payers are forced to top up wages; of why a spiteful government seeks to penalise the poor for having an extra bedroom; of why Rupert Murdoch became so powerful; of why cynicism and greed became the hallmarks of our society.

Raising a glass to the death of an infirm old lady changes none of this. The only real antidote to cynicism is activism. Don't celebrate - organise!

09-04-2013, 06:38 AM
Don't really want to be seen standing up for Admins but I believe the Main Board is for football related matters. It would take a pretty big reality swing to connect her death with football.

Are you saying she wasn't using Arthur Scargill as a political football? :dunno:

yeezus.
09-04-2013, 07:27 AM
Spoken as a 21 year old who has no conception of the contempt and utter revulsion that this Tyrant had for millions of the people that she was supposed to govern in a manner befitting that of a Prime Minister and not one for the established elite.

I am not cheering on the death of a frail old lady nor am I on any bandwagon, I am reviewing the life of Margaret Hilda Thatcher the same as millions of others are at this point. If I choose to despise her for her actions during her time in Government then I'll do exactly that and as death comes to us all then it would be churlish to take any pleasure in that regard but am I sad that she has gone....unfortunately not.

I knew you would bring age into it - as if only those who "suffered" her. What an incredibly cheap point to make. I notice your age is hidden.

I come from a family who bitterly opposed her and the Tory party so don't start assuming I'm a Tory.

yeezus.
09-04-2013, 07:28 AM
Really? Maybe she died a frail old lady but that wasn't always the case.

Pinochet, apartheid (yes they say she was against it but, despite that she still broke ranks with every other country and continued relations with SA) sinking of the Belgrano outside the exclusion zone and moving away (an exclusion zone that she set down btw) using the police as her stormtroopers against her own people, NI, poll tax, soon to come out that she was at the top of the Hillsborough cover up. Need anymore? You reap what you sow.

**** her.

"NI". I have to pull you up on that... It was Labour who sent troops to Northern Ireland in 1969.

yeezus.
09-04-2013, 07:29 AM

It's amazing what drink can do.

yeezus.
09-04-2013, 07:30 AM

I wouldn't start comparing Thatcher to Franco.

And please don't try to convince me of how bad she was. I'm not a Tory.

09-04-2013, 07:30 AM
I knew you would bring age into it - as if only those who "suffered" her. What an incredibly cheap point to make. I notice your age is hidden.

I come from a family who bitterly opposed her and the Tory party so don't start assuming I'm a Tory.

You always keep a copy of the Labour manifesto handy for political door callers so you're a Tory of sorts :greengrin

yeezus.
09-04-2013, 07:31 AM
You always keep a copy of the Labour manifesto handy for political door callers so you're a Tory of sorts :greengrin

Debatable :cb

yeezus.
09-04-2013, 07:33 AM
you are talking sheite. forget the c70's . they had nowt to do with her! rubbish piling up in the streets was it? what age were you when all this happened. get agrip! you are talking on here as if you knew all that was involved with her reign and I am telling you that it's keek.Britain, or is it great Britain that you seem allude to, is in such a polarised state because of her doings. ding dong the witch is deid.havannah in the highest

Is there any chance you can enter a debate without pretending that old age is some sort of qualification to comment on Thatcher's reign?

yeezus.
09-04-2013, 07:34 AM
She was the most vindictive person I have ever known in my real time life, glad she's gone :thumbsup:

Sadly, her legacy lives in the current English Parliament, which will do great harm too :rolleyes:

There is no such Parliament.

09-04-2013, 08:43 AM
Her and jimmy saville would make a good pair, both liked to screw miners.

09-04-2013, 08:56 AM
The Lady's not returning.

allmodcons
09-04-2013, 09:42 AM

Thatchers greatest legacy - New Labour.

09-04-2013, 09:43 AM

The cow was more than happy to unleash the forces of the state on joe public. She was an evil bitch.

09-04-2013, 10:08 AM

I've heard plenty of that right enough from the very many Lords who have been wheeled out to sing her praises.

You have already stated "I understand she destroyed communities, I understand the devastation she brought to industry and particularly mining in Scotland and the North of England" so can you expand on who and in what way has this been overstated?

I was only 20 but clearly remember the downright hatred of Thatcher and all things Tory when the Poll Tax hit. She never knew when she was wrong, and ultimately it was her downfall. A justified figure of hatred in Scotland IMO.

09-04-2013, 10:21 AM
Her part to play in the disgusting cover up of the hillsborough tragedy is as vile as it gets. She knew of police failings that day yet stuck by the lies and cover up which so wrongly pointed the finger towards the real heroes that day, the liverpool fans. Unforgivable.

JUSTICE FOR THE 96

09-04-2013, 10:25 AM
Even the SFA surely can't as stupid as to hold a minute silence for her on saturday can they?

Mind you, then again, they unbelievably decided to hold a minute silence for the pope in the celtic v hearts semi final so tbh I wouldn't actually put it past them!

The SFA = clowns!

09-04-2013, 10:36 AM
Her part to play in the disgusting cover up of the hillsborough tragedy is as vile as it gets. She knew of police failings that day yet stuck by the lies and cover up which so wrongly pointed the finger towards the real heroes that day, the liverpool fans. Unforgivable.

JUSTICE FOR THE 96

Wouldn't at all surprise me if the truth of what happened at Orgreave comes out in the next few months as well.

Thatcher used the Police as her own personal force and not only allowed but actively encouraged corruption and thuggery from within.

09-04-2013, 10:39 AM
I've heard plenty of that right enough from the very many Lords who have been wheeled out to sing her praises.

You have already stated "I understand she destroyed communities, I understand the devastation she brought to industry and particularly mining in Scotland and the North of England" so can you expand on who and in what way has this been overstated?

I was only 20 but clearly remember the downright hatred of Thatcher and all things Tory when the Poll Tax hit. She never knew when she was wrong, and ultimately it was her downfall. A justified figure of hatred in Scotland IMO.

My "overstated revisionism" was (much like the rest of my post, so apologies if it reverts to sounding vague in the last paragraph) leveled at the people of my generation who didn't experience the tyranny of her rule but are happy to unfurl their fangs and register some discontent at her leadership. There's a line to be drawn between being critical of her policies (which, I am for the most part) and venting their spleens as if she somehow effected them on a personal level.

I'm aware her legacy impacted on the subsequent generations, however, growing up in a post-Thatcher era certainly didn't greatly impact me or most of my friends and we all lived in towns or villages which were particularly hard hit by the destruction of the mining and industry. Yet in the wake of all of this, I see this revisionist approach from many people I did grow up with harping on about how hard it was and how little opportunities there were, which is complete tosh. We had spaces to play, schools to be educated in, access to healthcare and our parents were, for the most part, employed and making a living. Yet the very same kids I played with, went to school with and who then went on to further education or indeed some modicum of employment make out as if they grow up during the worst depths of national ruin.

Don't get me wrong, I understand the polarisation of opinion and devastation this woman caused to many communities, families and industry. I'm acutely aware of the problems of privatisation and the loss of national services and I certainly understand large parts of the country not being particularly bothered by her passing. Having said that, the celebratory manner (which I've expected would arise in the immanency of her death) makes me quite uncomfortable though I'm aware this is perhaps just because I didn't experience the extent of her impact. However, ruing the failure of the IRA to have taken more victims (I'm aware this wasn't you Dave) in the Brighton Hotel bombing is absolutely disgusting as far as I'm concerned. Anyone who wishes a heinous, evil and indiscriminate terrorist organisation had succeeded in claiming more lives (on top of the many innocent (and not so innocent)) than they have on British soil is beyond the pale for me.

09-04-2013, 10:59 AM
I'm with you on that, comrade!pathetic refusal by the admins, to let the people be heard. t

Oh for goodness sake, it's a football forum that just happens to have discussions about other topics as well. This thread has no more right to be on the main football forum than the threads about North Korea, Syria and Islam.

If you think we're denying users free speech then shouldn't you be using a forum where you are allowed the freedom to say what you want?

09-04-2013, 11:01 AM
Wouldn't at all surprise me if the truth of what happened at Orgreave comes out in the next few months as well.

Thatcher used the Police as her own personal force and not only allowed but actively encouraged corruption and thuggery from within.

It would be nice to think so. I suspect that there are still too many guilty people in positions of power to let it all come out soon. The pressure may now be increased though, the truth will come out eventually.

09-04-2013, 11:01 AM
Premier League and Football League in Engand have no plans for minutes silence \ applause so that's done and dusted.

09-04-2013, 11:05 AM
Anyone hear Teddy Taylor on Radio Scotland earlier?

Said that Thatcher told him to destroy nationalism in Scotland in the 79 election. He said he told her such a move would result in him losing his seat and a massive swing to Labour in the coming years whilst failing to truly destroy the nationalist 'threat'.

She told him he was wrong. A true woman of vision when it came to Scotland clearly.

09-04-2013, 11:13 AM
Anyone who wishes a heinous, evil and indiscriminate terrorist organisation had succeeded in claiming more lives (on top of the many innocent (and not so innocent)) than they have on British soil is beyond the pale for me.

Unfortunate use of that term.

It's been a ******* having a cold for the last couple of days. Makes me look I'm in mourning.

09-04-2013, 12:00 PM
One thing I never got, which I don't think has been mentioned so far on this thread, was her supposed attractiveness as a woman. Foreign presidents, cabinet ministers, etc, drooling.

Personally, though I didn't think she was wrong absolutely all of the time, and don't think of her as an evil bitch, I found her revolting as a person. Everything about her, the way she spoke, her uniquely patronising manner, made me cringe.

Was that just me? Would I have needed to go to a boarding school with matrons and that to understand the so-called "appeal"? :dunno:

yeezus.
09-04-2013, 12:02 PM
One thing I never got, which I don't think has been mentioned so far on this thread, was her supposed attractiveness as a woman. Foreign presidents, cabinet ministers, etc, drooling.

Personally, though I didn't think she was wrong absolutely all of the time, and don't think of her as an evil bitch, I found her revolting as a person. Everything about her, the way she spoke, her uniquely patronising manner, made me cringe.

Was that just me? Would I have needed to go to a boarding school with matrons and that to understand the so-called "appeal"? :dunno:

Apparently Christopher Hitchens found her quite attractive and even flirted with her on one occasion :agree:

09-04-2013, 12:02 PM

Personally, though I didn't think she was wrong absolutely all of the time, and don't think of her as an evil bitch, I found her revolting as a person. Everything about the way she spoke, her uniquely patronising manner, made me cringe.

It's the power thing.

Just as powerful men have an edge when it comes to attracting women and gay men, so she would have it with men she worked with.

09-04-2013, 12:25 PM
My "overstated revisionism" was (much like the rest of my post, so apologies if it reverts to sounding vague in the last paragraph) leveled at the people of my generation who didn't experience the tyranny of her rule but are happy to unfurl their fangs and register some discontent at her leadership. There's a line to be drawn between being critical of her policies (which, I am for the most part) and venting their spleens as if she somehow effected them on a personal level.

I'm aware her legacy impacted on the subsequent generations, however, growing up in a post-Thatcher era certainly didn't greatly impact me or most of my friends and we all lived in towns or villages which were particularly hard hit by the destruction of the mining and industry. Yet in the wake of all of this, I see this revisionist approach from many people I did grow up with harping on about how hard it was and how little opportunities there were, which is complete tosh. We had spaces to play, schools to be educated in, access to healthcare and our parents were, for the most part, employed and making a living. Yet the very same kids I played with, went to school with and who then went on to further education or indeed some modicum of employment make out as if they grow up during the worst depths of national ruin.

Don't get me wrong, I understand the polarisation of opinion and devastation this woman caused to many communities, families and industry. I'm acutely aware of the problems of privatisation and the loss of national services and I certainly understand large parts of the country not being particularly bothered by her passing. Having said that, the celebratory manner (which I've expected would arise in the immanency of her death) makes me quite uncomfortable though I'm aware this is perhaps just because I didn't experience the extent of her impact. However, ruing the failure of the IRA to have taken more victims (I'm aware this wasn't you Dave) in the Brighton Hotel bombing is absolutely disgusting as far as I'm concerned. Anyone who wishes a heinous, evil and indiscriminate terrorist organisation had succeeded in claiming more lives (on top of the many innocent (and not so innocent)) than they have on British soil is beyond the pale for me.

I didn't like many of her policies, and I didn't particularly like her, but when I consider what else was going on in the world during her time as PM I have to say that I consider much of what's been posted on this thread as nasty hysterical vicious crap.

09-04-2013, 12:47 PM
I was disgusted at having to go round my workmates with a collection to make up meat parcels for the Miners during their struggle. She killed whole villages during her time. The Durham miners leader put it nicely today imo.

"General secretary of the Durham Miners Association called Baroness Thatcher’s death a “great day” for coal miners.

The ex-miner, who turned 70 today, spent all of his working life at Wearmouth Colliery.

He said: “It looks like one of the best birthdays I have ever had.

“There’s no sympathy from me for what she did to our community. She destroyed our community, our villages and our people.

“For the union this could not come soon enough and I’m pleased that I have outlived her.

“It’s a great day for all the miners, I imagine we will have a counter demonstration when they have her funeral.

“Our children have got no jobs and the community is full of problems. There’s no work and no money and it’s very sad the legacy she has left behind.

“She absolutely hated working people and I have got very bitter memories of what she did. She turned all the nation against us and the violence that was meted out on us was terrible.

“I would say to those people who want to mourn her that they’re lucky she did not treat them like she treated us.”

I was surprised to hear that Harold Wilson closed almost three times as many pits as Thatcher.

09-04-2013, 12:52 PM
I lived, at the time, in a ****y, cold one-bedroom flat near ER but i was expected to pay the same Poll Tax as the likes of George Younger or Malcolm Riftkind, who lived in such isolated luxury he even stopped cars going past his house on a Sunday. Oh, and that voice....and her 'pal' Mercer. I am glad both are dead. We beat Mercer and the Poll Tax because we just decided we not going to take it no more. Hope the youngsters have the balls for the next fight when Cammeron tries to abolish our NHS. It's coming be ready.

09-04-2013, 01:14 PM
I lived, at the time, in a ****y, cold one-bedroom flat near ER but i was expected to pay the same Poll Tax as the likes of George Younger or Malcolm Riftkind, who lived in such isolated luxury he even stopped cars going past his house on a Sunday. Oh, and that voice....and her 'pal' Mercer. I am glad both are dead. We beat Mercer and the Poll Tax because we just decided we not going to take it no more. Hope the youngsters have the balls for the next fight when Cammeron tries to abolish our NHS. It's coming be ready.

Have you got a date for Cameron abolishing the NHS? My old man needs an operation so it would be good to get it done before then.

Incidentally, you think you were hard done by with the poll tax. I lived with my folks and shared a room with my brother yet still had to pay the same as you and Malcolm Rifkind.

09-04-2013, 01:15 PM
Have you got a date for Cameron abolishing the NHS? My old man needs an operation so it would be good to get it done before then.

Incidentally, you think you were hard done by with the poll tax. I lived with my folks and shared a room with my brother yet still had to pay the same as you and Malcolm Rifkind.

I used to live in cardboard box in t'corridor....

09-04-2013, 01:27 PM
I used to live in cardboard box in t'corridor.... In t'corridor, ya lucky bugger. I was in it garden shed and still had to pay.

09-04-2013, 01:34 PM

Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow but soon and will a a little privatisation here, a little there, drip, drip drip. Good luck to your dad. Incidently, you most likely paid a lot more Poll Tax than a lot of people i knew at the time. Refusniks were us !

09-04-2013, 01:55 PM
Woke up this morning and everything was still the same.

Let's make sure that the media aren't able to manipulate that's death to hide that this government are very nearly as evil as hers was. The severly disabled are being passed as fit to work, those in poverty aren't able to afford to live in their own homes and are being punished for having a spare room, we're working ridiculous hours due to cuts in staff in a huge amount of companies so the fat cats at the top can get fatter and as a result our young adults can't get a job.

Despite the fact there are no jobs out there the government punishes those who can't find work. I've seen first hand how some people passed as 'fit to work' are so far away from being able to sustain a job it's unreal.

What we need now more than ever is the trade unions.If you look over at Sweden a working week is around 30 hours and they receive a working wage. A manager doesn't speak from a position of superiority, merely experience and having performed well in the past. You have a right to take three consecutive paid weeks off in a row in the summer. Okay, everything's a little more expensive but when people have money to spend and time to spend it, it makes the economy tick over.

This government are just as evil as Thatcher's. The media will spin tales of nostalgia about the nasty trade unionists or about her 'legacy' but nothing has changed, the rich are still getting richer whilst the working classes are working harder for less money and living in worse conditions. Worst of all, without the trade unions or the apparent will to back trade unions we're allowing them to do so.

allmodcons
09-04-2013, 02:20 PM

Let's make sure that the media aren't able to manipulate that's death to hide that this government are very nearly as evil as hers was. The severly disabled are being passed as fit to work, those in poverty aren't able to afford to live in their own homes and are being punished for having a spare room, we're working ridiculous hours due to cuts in staff in a huge amount of companies so the fat cats at the top can get fatter and as a result our young adults can't get a job.

Despite the fact there are no jobs out there the government punishes those who can't find work. I've seen first hand how some people passed as 'fit to work' are so far away from being able to sustain a job it's unreal.

What we need now more than ever is the trade unions.If you look over at Sweden a working week is around 30 hours and they receive a working wage. A manager doesn't speak from a position of superiority, merely experience and having performed well in the past. You have a right to take three consecutive paid weeks off in a row in the summer. Okay, everything's a little more expensive but when people have money to spend and time to spend it, it makes the economy tick over.

This government are just as evil as Thatcher's. The media will spin tales of nostalgia about the nasty trade unionists or about her 'legacy' but nothing has changed, the rich are still getting richer whilst the working classes are working harder for less money and living in worse conditions. Worst of all, without the trade unions or the apparent will to back trade unions we're allowing them to do so.

I think there is some merit in a strong Trade Union movement, but the fact that they donate large chunks of their cash to the 'Labour' Party really pisses me off. I have no need to be a member of a Trade Union nowadays but, in my younger days, refused to sign up to a Trade Union that sent part of my dues straight to the Labour Party. I am and always have been a left wing Scottish Nationalist. Why should I, or for that matter any other Nationalist, fund a party that despises everything I stand for?

09-04-2013, 02:23 PM
we're working ridiculous hours due to cuts in staff in a huge amount of companies

I thought the number of people in employment was at an all-time high?

09-04-2013, 02:43 PM
I thought the number of people in employment was at an all-time high?

They include any variation of part-time as in employment. They count unpaid work experience as being employed (although any reasonable person would use the words exploitation, slavery, abuse of power, etc). So all time high - maybe. Certainly not full employment.

Oh and that cupid stunt osbourne ants to scrap the minimum wage.

09-04-2013, 02:45 PM
It may be but the jobs are cp*p. No manufacturing base, people still living in damp and expensive homes to heat whilst thousands of builing workers work in bars or in call centres. Very little new apprenticeships as the is very little work out there. Answer is massive public spending policy to get people working, paying tax and having a reason to get up in the monning.

09-04-2013, 02:58 PM

No, it's just incompetent.

yeezus.
09-04-2013, 03:08 PM
I was surprised to hear that Harold Wilson closed almost three times as many pits as Thatcher.

Just read that. Unbelievable.

09-04-2013, 03:18 PM
No, it's just incompetent.

That they are. Utterly useless.

The hyperbole on this thread (and on the Holy Ground forum in general) is incredible though. Governments around the world are torturing, killing, treating women as second class citizens and worse. It's our government that is truly evil though - they've cut the top rate of tax, restricted housing benefit to £26,000 and upped the tax threshold for everyone to £9000 odds. How could they?

Like Scoops' post about the hypocrisy of some miners in the 80s has been completely ignored so far, I suspect the fact that a Labour PM killed off more of the coal industry than Thatcher will also be ignored.

09-04-2013, 03:40 PM

Why did Wilson close pits?

09-04-2013, 03:42 PM
Why did Wilson close pits?

They were uneconomic, which is the same reason espoused by the Tories, and the mood of the day was the move to nuclear energy.

09-04-2013, 03:46 PM
They were uneconomic, which is the same reason espoused by the Tories.

The coal industry was in decline long before Thatcher got her hands on it. Cheaper and cleaner methods of fuel, heating etc had been discovered.

09-04-2013, 04:08 PM
The coal industry was in decline long before Thatcher got her hands on it. Cheaper and cleaner methods of fuel, heating etc had been discovered.

Indeed. Her Government merely continued the process. The fact that she was able to smash the NUM at the same time was a mere distraction. :greengrin

09-04-2013, 04:11 PM
the mood of the day was the move to nuclear energy.

:agree: The 'white heat of technology'.

09-04-2013, 05:04 PM

The hyperbole on this thread (and on the Holy Ground forum in general) is incredible though. Governments around the world are torturing, killing, treating women as second class citizens and worse. It's our government that is truly evil though - they've cut the top rate of tax, restricted housing benefit to £26,000 and upped the tax threshold for everyone to £9000 odds. How could they?

Like Scoops' post about the hypocrisy of some miners in the 80s has been completely ignored so far, I suspect the fact that a Labour PM killed off more of the coal industry than Thatcher will also be ignored.

The Pit closures comparison between Wilson in the 60s and Thatcher in the 80s only provides context in terms of the different economic structural conditions of the time. The 60s saw more pit closures because there was a lot more to cut! They called it King Coal for a reason, world war production called for a massive output for a demand that disappeared when Germany was defeated. We were still modernising from post Industrial Revolution production techniques in some parts of the country. Although Wilson was unpopular with the miners, The charge of trying to'Killing off ' the coal industry can't be levelled at Harold Wilson or used to mitigate what happened in the 80s.

I don't see anything unusual or surprising in working people (whether miners or otherwise) taking advantage of right to buy once it was in place. It doesn't mean it wasn't a terrible social political and economic decision though, and i don't understand any accusation of 'hypocrisy'. It was a bloody good deal, not far off blackmail.

Moving on...

Theres some good numbers relating to the Thatcher legacy in the link below

http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/datablog/2013/apr/08/britain-changed-margaret-thatcher-charts

the Thatcher 'boom years' only really happened in 1986 and 87,In terms of GDP growth certainly, and were sandwiched between two recessions.

Thatcher hammering Manufacturing is a myth, it was part of a long term trend. In fact the Labour and John Major administrartions saw the biggest falls in manufacturing output and the fall actually slowed under her Govt.

Two other myth busters; more people were employed in the public sector at the end of the Thatcher era than at the end of the Blair/brown administrations (when supposedly Labour created a massive deficit by creating a bloated state full of unnecessary jobs), and in her first administration 79-84 public spending actually increased.

Less surprising are the figures for home repossessions, households living in poverty and inequality measured by Gigi coefficient (skyrockets) and trade union membership and days lost to strikes (through the floor).

hibeesdude
09-04-2013, 05:07 PM
may have been posted before but i avent checked... a cert numbr 1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcXi-VYy_Yw

IndieHibby
09-04-2013, 05:10 PM

It's depressing (but unsurprisingly typical) that those who hate Thatcher so much are unable to articulate a response which may convince others of the merit of their argument.

If someone comes to my house, cuts off the electricity, dumps rubbish bags in my garden and refuses me the right to bury my dead father and grandmother, I'd have done more than baton charge them, that's for damn sure.

If someone refuses to negotiate, they don't leave you much option.

EDIT: Congrat's to Hibsbollah, who provides the example to prove the rule :wink:

09-04-2013, 05:19 PM

I couldn't believe I didn't get pelters for my post (although to agitate wasn't my intention as I explained my background and family history). At least I know you read it.

IndieHibby
09-04-2013, 05:20 PM
Although Wilson was unpopular with the miners, The charge of trying to'Killing off ' the coal industry can't be levelled at Harold Wilson or used to mitigate what happened in the 80s.

I'm not sure I follow - Wilson shuts lots of pits, but it's a structural economic issue. How is this different to Thatcher?

I don't see anything unusual or surprising in working people (whether miners or otherwise) taking advantage of right to buy once it was in place. It doesn't mean it wasn't a terrible social political and economic decision though, and i don't understand any accusation of 'hypocrisy'. It was a bloody good deal, not far off blackmail.

Again, I don't follow - how is it a terrible social/political/economic decision to allow people to buy the homes they live in? I can't see a downside, sorry!

the Thatcher 'boom years' only really happened in 1986 and 87,In terms of GDP growth certainly, and were sandwiched between two recessions.

Thatcher hammering Manufacturing is a myth, it was part of a long term trend. In fact the Labour and John Major administrartions saw the biggest falls in manufacturing output and the fall actually slowed under her Govt.

Two other myth busters; more people were employed in the public sector at the end of the Thatcher era than at the end of the Blair/brown administrations (when supposedly Labour created a massive deficit by creating a bloated state full of unnecessary jobs), and in her first administration 79-84 public spending actually increased.

Less surprising are the figures for home repossessions, households living in poverty and inequality measured by Gigi coefficient (skyrockets) and trade union membership and days lost to strikes (through the floor).

Thanks for the info, unsurprising as some of it is. But what I don't often hear is what was the alternative? If this path was so terrible, what would have been better?

09-04-2013, 05:28 PM
If someone comes to my house, cuts off the electricity, dumps rubbish bags in my garden and refuses me the right to bury my dead father and grandmother, I'd have done more than baton charge them, that's for damn sure.

Who did that happen to? Where I lived the power just went off all by itself.

I'm not even sure that any of these things you mentioned were the case. As I understand the gravediggers strike, it was in two specific areas of the country and lasted a fortnight. Not quite "refusing you the right to bury" people.

Bad time though, undoubtedly. :agree:

IndieHibby
09-04-2013, 05:32 PM
Who did that happen to? Where I lived the power just went off all by itself.

I'm not even sure that any of these things you mentioned were the case. As I understand the gravediggers strike, it was in two specific areas of the country and lasted a fortnight. Not quite "refusing you the right to bury" people.

Bad time though, undoubtedly. :agree:

Well, given I wasn't alive, I have to take the word of the thousands of articles, news reports, books, programmes and word-of-mouth anecdotes I have heard. But since you seem not to think these things happened, I'll take your word for it. :wink:

(sarcasm not intended to offend)

P.S. - How, exactly, does the mains supply go off 'all by itself'? I have a science degree, so don't hold back on the details...:greengrin

yeezus.
09-04-2013, 05:51 PM
The Pit closures comparison between Wilson in the 60s and Thatcher in the 80s only provides context in terms of the different economic structural conditions of the time. The 60s saw more pit closures because there was a lot more to cut! They called it King Coal for a reason, world war production called for a massive output for a demand that disappeared when Germany was defeated. We were still modernising from post Industrial Revolution production techniques in some parts of the country. Although Wilson was unpopular with the miners, The charge of trying to'Killing off ' the coal industry can't be levelled at Harold Wilson or used to mitigate what happened in the 80s.

Moving on...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/datablog/2013/apr/08/britain-changed-margaret-thatcher-charts

:aok: Thanks for posting that link - I hadn't come across it, really need to stop buying the Telegraph!

09-04-2013, 05:53 PM
I'm not sure I follow - Wilson shuts lots of pits, but it's a structural economic issue. How is this different to Thatcher?

Again, I don't follow - how is it a terrible social/political/economic decision to allow people to buy the homes they live in? I can't see a downside, sorry!

Thanks for the info, unsurprising as some of it is. But what I don't often hear is what was the alternative? If this path was so terrible, what would have been better?

The point i was trying to make about Wilson and pit closures is if you have a really massive cake and eat a load of it but leave a decent sized piece left for everyone afterwards...nah, this metaphor isnt going to work :greengrin There was an excellent doc on bbc4 not so long ago, i'll try to find a link. Basically theres a difference between trimming something selfevidently bloated, and killing it off completely.

Right to buy basically meant councils were forced to sell houses at 60% discounts, which proved massively popular, inevitably. The new owners were then encouraged to borrow using their homes as collateral, driving an unsustainable debt bubble and a crisis in housing, homelessness which we're still living with. The working man swapped the security of being a tenant for short term financial gain which he mostly spent at B&Q trying to be middle class. This might have been OK if a few thousand homes were involved, it was the scale of the selloff that has decimated the stock. Im a bit of a housing policy geek admittedly but its the policy that still makes me most angry.

09-04-2013, 06:12 PM
12 May 1985 Bradford City Football Stadium fire (40)
22 Aug 1985 Manchester Airport fire (55)
6 Mar 1987 Herald of Free Enterprise sank (187)
18 Nov 1987 King's Cross underground station fire (31)
6 Jul 1988 Piper Alpha North Sea oil rig fire (167)
12 Dec 1988 Clapham rail crash (35)
8 Jan 1989 East Midlands Kegworth air crash (47)
15 Apr 1989 Hillsborough Football Stadium disaster (95)
20 Aug 1989 Marchioness pleasure boat sank (51)

She didn't give a toss what happened on her watch, just as long as the money kept pouring in.

09-04-2013, 06:14 PM
Pocket posting in error!

09-04-2013, 06:32 PM

Moving on...

Good post. You're right - 'killed off' was a poor choice of words.

There are definitely a lot of myths, from both sides, about Thatcher.

09-04-2013, 06:32 PM
Well, given I wasn't alive, I have to take the word of the thousands of articles, news reports, books, programmes and word-of-mouth anecdotes I have heard. But since you seem not to think these things happened, I'll take your word for it. :wink:

P.S. - How, exactly, does the mains supply go off 'all by itself'? I have a science degree, so don't hold back on the details...:greengrin

I wouldn't have thought a science degree was compatible with hyperbole. Unless it was political science.

09-04-2013, 06:34 PM

Nobody came round and switched the lecky off. Nobody came round and dumped rubbish in people's gardens. Nobody denied anybody the right to bury someone. In a couple of localities it was made very inconvenient for a short time.

If you've seen the contrary in "thousands" of articles, etc, you must have been reading made-up pish like The Sun or The Daily Mail.

For a trained scientist you have a worrying disregard for accurate detail.

The mains supply goes off all by itself when the stoker at the coal-fired power station just doesn't turn up one morning with his shovel. The fire goes out all by itself and the lecky shuts down.