View Full Version : Should Hibs give Riordan another chance? (merged)
Spot on. I loved Deek, he would be in my all time Hibs team but that interview told us absolutely nothing. He has never given a proper explanation as to why he failed at the likes of Bristol Rovers and St Johnstone and it would be nice for him to actually admit it's all down to fitness.Naw ..its all to do with Deek actually giving a **** ..he was a professional footballer, a player with undoubted ability & a player, who to this day should have been up there possibly with the best, or at the very least should have been lining up the morn for his beloved hibees in a national cup final..
He chose the road to go down ..football didnt consign Deeks to the scrapheap ..Deeks did ..
I would prefer to remember him for the things he did do ..not what he could do, maybe do or should do ..
25-05-2013, 07:05 PM
Any poster on here bumping their gums about riordan's unprofessionalism care to elucidate?
Any poster on here bumping their gums about riordan's unprofessionalism care to elucidate?On the flip side ..thread after thread after thread after thread after thread after thread after thread about why we should sign him again ....why ?
25-05-2013, 07:14 PM
On the flip side ..thread after thread after thread after thread after thread after thread after thread about why we should sign him again ....why ?
No idea; but the constant accusations of lack of professionalim are all based on hearsay, and that's tedious.
rainman
25-05-2013, 07:23 PM
Great read. Reporter has done a great job in putting a player who can't find a club in a good light.
This thread demonstrates what part nostalgia plays in people's opinions.
Thanks for the memories deek. Take Nid's offer and start playing football again.
Both him and O'Connor have shown their mind set by sitting out a season in favour if preserving their egos.
No idea; but the constant accusations of lack of professionalim are all based on hearsay, and that's tedious.Almost as tedious as he should be back playing for hibs ..thread after thread after thread after thread ..:wink:
25-05-2013, 07:30 PM
Almost as tedious as he should be back playing for hibs ..thread after thread after thread after thread ..:wink:
That's essentially people reminiscing, so at least based on something relevant.
The "lack of professionalism" accusations II can only imagine come from the EEN toilet paper, the daily rankger, or what some yam has told them. All irrelevant.
25-05-2013, 07:42 PM
No idea; but the constant accusations of lack of professionalim are all based on hearsay, and that's tedious.
Hearsay we're very underrated, don't bring then into this
25-05-2013, 07:43 PM
Hearsay we're very underrated, don't bring then into this
8-)
25-05-2013, 07:49 PM
Even though I am ages with Derek & knew him reasonably well in his 1st spell with Hibs, he's still my most favourite Hibs player ever..
Would love it if he signed next seseason
A TRUE Hibs legend :hibees:agree:
Sandy
25-05-2013, 08:03 PM
I want what's best for Hibs, if that includes Deek, brilliant, if not so be it.
GlenrothesHibee
25-05-2013, 08:10 PM
Riordan would never play in a Fenlon team. He wants workrate from everyone. Unbelievable talent though.
West hamBERNIAN
25-05-2013, 11:24 PM
On the flip side ..thread after thread after thread after thread after thread after thread after thread about why we should sign him again ....why ?
not in the mood to sum it up for you, maybe just READ the thread instead moaning about it. if not, don't post:confused:
25-05-2013, 11:31 PM
Couldn't lace Griffiths boots on his best day.
Not as good as Doyle now.
Not worth getting in the way of Caldwell, Harris and the rest of the youngsters development.
GGTTH07
25-05-2013, 11:34 PM
I still love Riordan :boo hoo:
25-05-2013, 11:47 PM
Kuqi has been pretty awful on the pitch but before he came to us he was still cutting it at league one.
Riordan couldn't even get into a league two team.
erskine-hibby
25-05-2013, 11:49 PM
We can ill afford to turn down proven goal scorers. Apart from Leigh this season where have the goals come from?
Would have deeks back in a heartbeat.
25-05-2013, 11:51 PM
Im sorry I forgot how much better the championship was than the spl especially 5 years ago when he played most of his games. Don't think deeks will teach them an attitude problem. I'm fairly sure Deek could teach kuqi a thing or two about striking the ball never mind the kids. The main point was I'm sure he'd offer a lot more coming off the bench than an overpaid immobile waste. Surely you can grasp that??:confused:
Obviously he'd be a much better option than kuqi coming off the bench but I'd rather have someone better than both.
You can't say that Riordan would be better with the youngsters at training than kuqi though.
West hamBERNIAN
25-05-2013, 11:52 PM
kuqi has been pretty awful on the pitch but before he came to us he was still cutting it at league one.
Riordan couldn't even get into a league two team.
behave, how much do you actually know about this. What position was he being played? All i know is he had 12 games, did he start 12 games? Did he play badly? Like he said it was basically rugby down there, i'll take his word over yours this time thanks
26-05-2013, 12:01 AM
behave, how much do you actually know about this. What position was he being played? All i know is he had 12 games, did he start 12 games? Did he play badly? Like he said it was basically rugby down there, i'll take his word over yours this time thanks
You'll take his word on what exactly :confused:?
"basically rugby?" if the standard was so low you'd think he'd have been able to at least score once then?
But your right, I don't know much about his time there. He did fail to make it at st Johnstone though. A team in our league, who we should always be aiming to finish ahead of.
26-05-2013, 12:11 AM
And in answer to some of your questions, he started 8 times but was brought off early on in half of those occasions and he came on as a sub 4 times.
He played up front on all of those occasions, apart from once when he started left mid.
26-05-2013, 04:26 AM
Did he.
1st season top goal scorer as a striker.
2nd season 17 goals from left midfield.
3rd season top goal scorer as a striker.
And pretty sure there was plenty of assists in there too.
I wouldn't even give half these posters the time of day mate, you're arguing with a brick wall with them. Nonsense views.
I struggle to see how anybody can bitch and moan like a bairn about a guy who has scored over 100 goals for Hibs?
Derek Riordan - Legend.
26-05-2013, 06:31 AM
Obviously he'd be a much better option than kuqi coming off the bench but I'd rather have someone better than both.
You can't say that Riordan would be better with the youngsters at training than kuqi though.
What is Deeks problem at training like. ?
26-05-2013, 06:35 AM
And in answer to some of your questions, he started 8 times but was brought off early on in half of those occasions and he came on as a sub 4 times.
He played up front on all of those occasions, apart from once when he started left mid.
Did he, you sure about that.
Not how i remember it and i was at most of the games.
26-05-2013, 06:42 AM
Re the OP, I loved the interview with Deek.
Comes across as a genuine, humble guy who lived the dream. One of us :agree:
Sure, he made some mistakes in life but we all do. However most of us don't live our life with the media on our case.
I hope he has a great day today :thumbsup:
26-05-2013, 08:20 AM
What is Deeks problem at training like. ?
Direct me to where I implied he had a problem at training?
All I was saying there was that I highly doubt he'd have had as much as an influence at training on our young strikers that kuqi has has.
26-05-2013, 08:24 AM
Not the day for people who are supposed to hibs fan to argue is it channel your energy into going mental at 3pm
26-05-2013, 10:00 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/derek-riordan-plots-return-via-golf-and-five-a-side-1-2944412
Speaks well of Sparky.
A good read, thanks for posting.
Hope he finds a club but if its not us then I hope it's an English team, it doesn't seem right that he comes back the ER playing for someone else.
28-06-2013, 10:17 PM
I've just been watching a couple of compilations of this guy's goals and it's incredible.
How old is he? 30?
Why not get him on the payroll?
Come on!!!
28-06-2013, 10:18 PM
I've just been watching a couple of compilations of this guy's goals and it's incredible.
How old is he? 30?
Come on!!!
Been done to death.
Purehibee_MYB
28-06-2013, 10:19 PM
:fishin: :tin hat:
28-06-2013, 10:19 PM
Been done to death.
Agreed :agree:
28-06-2013, 10:21 PM
How old is he? 30?
Come on!!!
I honestly can't understand why he and Garry O'Connor are not the established partnership up front for Hibs and Scotland, even after watching them in both spells over ten years at the club, reading various lurid news headlines and about a million threads on this board.
28-06-2013, 10:26 PM
I honestly can't understand why he and Garry O'Connor are not the established partnership up front for Hibs and Scotland, even after watching them in both spells over ten years at the club, reading various lurid news headlines and about a million threads on this board.
28-06-2013, 10:31 PM
Guaranteed you'll get the usual arseholwe along to stick the boot in.
Derek Riordan - Hibs legend
28-06-2013, 10:36 PM
Garry O is well past being a viable option i'd say .But try as I might I can't help but feel Deek could still do a turn (based on ability) but how in the name of duck can anyone coax that genius out if he's not prepared to put the effort in??
Sad! Would love for him to prove me wrong but I think that horse has bolted :-(
LeighLoyal
28-06-2013, 10:41 PM
I'd have Garry back if he was completely free of coke but obviously that's a big if. Derek I think is a bit more mature and would just want to play football. It should definitely be looked at because they are proven goal scorers in Hibs colours and still young enough. Just because they haven't played for a season doesn't mean anything to me. It might mean they are fresher and injury free. Somebody should sign them anyway, Dundee U have Hibs links just now with Jackson and Jackie Mac Jnr, I'd definitely look at GOC as a replacement for Daly and Deek for Russell. It's a real shame if nothing spl wise happens for them.
28-06-2013, 10:42 PM
Phew! I though we weren't going to get a Deek thread this month, glad someone stepping up to the plate :wink:
28-06-2013, 10:47 PM
Frightening to think these guys are still young enough to play...
Really sad...
I'd have them back (in a last chance, you'd better be fit, hungry and appreciative kind of way)
I remember vividly when they both first started to play together in the first team...
Excitement doesn't come near to describing it
28-06-2013, 10:49 PM
The fact that both are currently sat on their backsides despite the talents both were born with shows what a pair of wasters they are.
In their day, brilliant for us. But doesn't excuse the idiocy that has made both their careers pitifully short.
28-06-2013, 10:50 PM
How old is he? 30?
Come on!!!
If this doesn't get done pronto its Petrie GTF I say.
28-06-2013, 10:53 PM
I'd have Garry back if he was completely free of coke but obviously that's a big if. Derek I think is a bit more mature and would just want to play football. It should definitely be looked at because they are proven goal scorers in Hibs colours and still young enough. Just because they haven't played for a season doesn't mean anything to me. It might mean they are fresher and injury free. Somebody should sign them anyway, Dundee U have Hibs links just now with Jackson and Jackie Mac Jnr, I'd definitely look at GOC as a replacement for Daly and Deek for Russell. It's a real shame if nothing spl wise happens for them.
I wouldn't take either back unless big Gaz had stoked up the habit and Deeks was back in bother with Edinburgh's doormen on a weekly basis. It's what made them great!
28-06-2013, 10:54 PM
Not again
28-06-2013, 10:54 PM
Phew! I though we weren't going to get a Deek thread this month, glad someone stepping up to the plate :wink:
gegs70
28-06-2013, 10:56 PM
No reason why not get him playing again as we are a little limitted up front at present.
28-06-2013, 11:00 PM
The fact that both are currently sat on their backsides despite the talents both were born with shows what a pair of wasters they are.
In their day, brilliant for us. But doesn't excuse the idiocy that has made both their careers pitifully short.
Compassion and forgiveness...
Maybe my old age creeping in..
28-06-2013, 11:01 PM
Derek said in an interview a month or so ago that he actually approached Hibs last season and offered to play till the end of the season for free, but it turned out Pat wasn't interested.
Absolutely mind blowing that he was rejected, I mean what were we losing out on if it didn't work out, it was going to cost us NOTHING! Then we could of sat down with him around now and worked out a contract for next season, if it had worked out and he had been successful, which I suspect it would have.
People have it in their heads that Riordan 2nd time round was a 'failure', and frankly it's the biggest load of tosh ever! He scored 36 out of 102 games in his 2nd spell!
Riordan = One of Hibs best players of all time.
28-06-2013, 11:03 PM
Really not sure about the hilarity here...
I guess you'll feel the same about Griffiths in a few years time as they are cut from the same cloth...
28-06-2013, 11:05 PM
Derek said in an interview a month or so ago that he actually approached Hibs last season and offered to play till the end of the season for free, but it turned out Pat wasn't interested.
Absolutely mind blowing that he was rejected, I mean what were we losing out on if it didn't work out, it was going to cost us NOTHING! Then we could of sat down with him around now and worked out a contract for next season, if it had worked out and he had been successful, which I suspect it would have.
People have it in their heads that Riordan 2nd time round was a 'failure', and frankly it's the biggest load of tosh ever! He scored 36 out of 102 games in his 2nd spell!
And then there was a sensible post....
The boy deserves far more respect
28-06-2013, 11:08 PM
Hibs ought to offer Riordan something. He's a great player for god's sake. And he's only 30.
I would personally volunteer to take him on a hill run each week to get him fit.
28-06-2013, 11:13 PM
The one thing Riordan had (ability) is no longer there.
Bars and nightclubs took care of that.
He wasn't one of the best Hibs players of all time. He was a player with great ability who had the potential to be one of the greats, but sadly, let himself down.
28-06-2013, 11:16 PM
Agree completely. 90 goals for Hibs, won us games single-handedly at time's, wore his heart on his sleeve, lived the dream and NEVER has had a bad word to say about the team he loves.
.....yet some people will choose to talk garbage about the lad. Sad sad state of affairs.
28-06-2013, 11:17 PM
Absolutely love the guy. Watching his goals on youtube show just how good he was. Used to love games when he would pop up late on and win the game for us. THE player of my time as a Hibee so far.
28-06-2013, 11:19 PM
The one thing Riordan had (ability) is no longer there.
Bars and nightclubs took care of that.
He wasn't one of the best Hibs players of all time. He was a player with great ability who had the potential to be one of the greats, but sadly, let himself down.
Take the time to look over Hibs players who have hit over 90 goals for the club. Then couple that with goals that gained us points. Come back to me and then try and explain why Derek wasn't one of Hibs best players of all time, because I tell you what right now, if you were to actually look up those stats you'd find he's right up there in the top 5, in players that have contributed greatly to Hibs success.
28-06-2013, 11:34 PM
Compassion and forgiveness...
Maybe my old age creeping in..
Both have had numerous chances to turn things around, both at Hibs and elsewhere.
People can make mistakes, we all do. When they keep making them it's best to just let them get on with it. Last season was the first I can remember in years where we had a real team spirit, and it was also the first without any damaged goods / rehab cases in the squad. Coincidence?
28-06-2013, 11:36 PM
Come on the Deeks! You can do it baby.
There's goals in you yet. Never mind the knockers.
You were the best and you can be again.
28-06-2013, 11:44 PM
Agree completely. 90 goals for Hibs, won us games single-handedly at time's, wore his heart on his sleeve, lived the dream and NEVER has had a bad word to say about the team he loves.
.....yet some people will choose to talk garbage about the lad. Sad sad state of affairs.
Sure it is 104 goals he scored for Hibs. :greengrin
28-06-2013, 11:52 PM
Sure it is 104 goals he scored for Hibs. :greengrin
Emphasizes my point even more then! :greengrin I was actually just going off of the Wiki stats on the right hand side..
29-06-2013, 12:03 AM
Both have had numerous chances to turn things around, both at Hibs and elsewhere.
People can make mistakes, we all do. When they keep making them it's best to just let them get on with it. Last season was the first I can remember in years where we had a real team spirit, and it was also the first without any damaged goods / rehab cases in the squad. Coincidence?
And yet the bad publicity still continued last season for the club, can't ever remember Deek and Gaz racking up so many charges in a year with there time at the club.
Just because Deek isn't seen running round Arthur Seat doesn't mean he is sitting on his backside, he keeps himself fit and is hoping to get back to playing football again, a pre-season behind him and he would be up to full speed, and before you ask yes his heart is still in it.
29-06-2013, 12:19 AM
Get the Deeks guy on the payroll and see what happens.
Get him fit
See him score goals against Hearts.
It's not rocket science.
29-06-2013, 12:22 AM
Would have loved to of seen an attacking front 3 for next season of Griffiths, Riordan and then a big target man. In the mould of Mixu/Brewster.
Griffiths - To do all the hard work, closing down, creating space etc and of course scoring goals.
Riordan - Scoring goals. Specials one and tap in's.
Target man - bringing midfield into play, setting up Deeks and Griffiths, and scoring a few himself.
The entertainment would have been outstanding!!
29-06-2013, 12:27 AM
Riordan was fabulous. A true and natural talent. Would love to see him fit and back at Hibs.
Archie70
29-06-2013, 12:28 AM
One of my best nights as a Hibs supporter was when we weren't even playing. It was when it was announced during the transfer window that Riordan had re-signed. A JFK, I remember where I was moment. Great feeling, just special. Yes he never fulfilled his potential, yes he had his off field problems but you know what, when he scored that penalty at the PBS I loved it, magic. Why because like Leigh, his goals hurt them. That's why they hate them, that's why they give them nicknames, that's why they are so bitter, that's why they abuse them in the pubs and streets. They're jealous. Jealous that somebody from a council housing scheme can throw on a Hibs jersey and shatter their delusions of grandeur. I often wonder how I would feel if I ever scored the winner at the tip they call home. I tell you how I'd feel, I'd feel like Riordan did just before he was attacked by the pitch invader and how Leigh felt as he showed them the thumbs up. A fit Derek Riordan I'd take in a heartbeat. However I don't think it will happen as I think Fenlon wants to move on. Either way I think Riordan deserves the utmost respect. Hibby through and through, scored goals, love by us, hated by them.
29-06-2013, 12:32 AM
Derek Riordan was fantastic for Hibs and history will be kinder to him than many fans have been, although I accept some criticisms are valid.
It's time to move on though, remember the good times and hope others can use Dereks goalscoring as inspiration.
29-06-2013, 12:46 AM
Derek Riordan was fantastic for Hibs and history will be kinder to him than many fans have been, although I accept some criticisms are valid.
It's time to move on though, remember the good times and hope others can use Dereks goalscoring as inspiration.
There's no doubt that he's a club legend, but there's no chance he'll be signing this summer
29-06-2013, 12:58 AM
What would happen on hibs.net if Pat took him in and he scored 25 goals next season?
29-06-2013, 12:59 AM
Come on! He canny be that bad!
And he's a Hibby!
I'd give Deeks a chance. For a season.
It's not too late.
29-06-2013, 01:04 AM
And yet the bad publicity still continued last season for the club, can't ever remember Deek and Gaz racking up so many charges in a year with there time at the club.
Just because Deek isn't seen running round Arthur Seat doesn't mean he is sitting on his backside, he keeps himself fit and is hoping to get back to playing football again, a pre-season behind him and he would be up to full speed, and before you ask yes his heart is still in it.
I meant in terms of neither of them having a club.
I'm sure Deek could find a way back at some level, assuming his body is still up to the task, however I think it would work out better for all concerned if it wasn't with us, too much baggage and expectation.
Garry seems to be a lost cause however.
hibeequinn
29-06-2013, 01:09 AM
Deek and killen front 2 for us this season would do me likes.
29-06-2013, 01:26 AM
I guess you'll feel the same about Griffiths in a few years time as they are cut from the same cloth...
It was hilarity at the tone in the post, nothing more. I lived and breathed every glorious moment Derek Riordan gave me as a fan and loved him for it. In his prime, he was worth going along to games alone for. I'm shaking my head etc at the fact that every few weeks, this exact same post appears on here and the exact same debate follows. The post I responded to was simply making that point in a way I found amusing. There was no dig or joke at Riordan's expense involved. Respectfully, I think you maybe misunderstood that. I wish Riordan all the best with his life. It's his life and he can live it as he wants to. We should also move on and we can also honour him as a smashing former player. Absolutely no offence intended to the memory of Derek Riordan in a Hibs jersey and also none intended to fellow posters, yourself included.
29-06-2013, 02:39 AM
What harm would it do to offer him a trial? I'd bet my last pound on him still being able to score regularly for Hibs in this league.
mikewynne
29-06-2013, 04:34 AM
One of my best nights as a Hibs supporter was when we weren't even playing. It was when it was announced during the transfer window that Riordan had re-signed. A JFK, I remember where I was moment. Great feeling, just special. Yes he never fulfilled his potential, yes he had his off field problems but you know what, when he scored that penalty at the PBS I loved it, magic. Why because like Leigh, his goals hurt them. That's why they hate them, that's why they give them nicknames, that's why they are so bitter, that's why they abuse them in the pubs and streets. They're jealous. Jealous that somebody from a council housing scheme can throw on a Hibs jersey and shatter their delusions of grandeur. I often wonder how I would feel if I ever scored the winner at the tip they call home. I tell you how I'd feel, I'd feel like Riordan did just before he was attacked by the pitch invader and how Leigh felt as he showed them the thumbs up. A fit Derek Riordan I'd take in a heartbeat. However I don't think it will happen as I think Fenlon wants to move on. Either way I think Riordan deserves the utmost respect. Hibby through and through, scored goals, love by us, hated by them.
Couldn't agree more. :) I was walking down the road in coastal California (Sausalito, long way from Leith), when I looked at my phone and thought s--t... wow... fabulous. Great moment, happy memories!!
29-06-2013, 05:37 AM
Come on! He canny be that bad!
And he's a Hibby!
I'd give Deeks a chance. For a season.
It's not too late.
Might work if we get Arthur Duncan keeping pace with him on the wing and John Collins feeding him passes through the middle.
29-06-2013, 07:29 AM
that's good to hear, all the best to him, I hope he gets a club and gets back to scoring goals.
29-06-2013, 07:30 AM
that's good to hear, all the best to him, I hope he gets a club and gets back to scoring goals.
Heard he's training with Alloa
29-06-2013, 07:34 AM
Heard he's training with Alloa
That's good I could see him scoring a few in div 1, could get bigger clubs interested after that.
SH, would he pitch up for a trial if he was asked?
29-06-2013, 07:57 AM
What harm would it do to offer him a trial? I'd bet my last pound on him still being able to score regularly for Hibs in this league.
He's got a reputation as a bad trainer, I've no idea if that's true or not but I think that's the perception of him, if that is the case having people like that in the changing room can be a bad influence and drag other people down.
As I said, I don't know if that is the case but It's a possible reason why fenlon wouldn't want him around the place, especially at a time he's trying to improve the culture at the club.
29-06-2013, 08:00 AM
If he was fighting fit of course he would. Could he get there though and does he have what Fenlon wants in terms of character and desire? Don't know but with our current options a fit again Derek would fill a wee gap of being able to do things with the ball that others can't. Has to be a huge question of whether he's too far gone though. He has had chances to get fit and play over the last coupe of years.
29-06-2013, 08:09 AM
Thankfully Pat knows and can see what so many refuse to believe, he is finished guys, let it go.
29-06-2013, 08:10 AM
Deek = Hibs legend, former player best remembered for his glorious contribution to the team in the past.
29-06-2013, 08:21 AM
I didn't mean to sound flippant and I wasn't trying to detract from Deeks achievements in the past, my comment was purely based around the constant number of threads that are started/turn in to a discussion about the same topic.
Riordan is a club legend and I don't see how anyone could disagree with that. In both his spells with us he brought a lot if good football to Easter road, everything else, whether true or not, I'm non pluses about.
Is he good enough to come back now? I'm leaving that decision up to our management team, there's no other option. All I will add is that I find it hard to believe if Derek could still turn it on week in week out and was as fit as is required to play at SPL level I can't imagine why the people in charge of our team wouldn't want him back. They must have their own reasons and I will respect that. I will always remember all the great moments he's brought us in the past.
29-06-2013, 08:28 AM
24 games, 1 goal, over 3 clubs all since 2011. Hasn't had a club in over 6 months. His next club will be his 7th career move.
If we were to sign someone with those stats that wasn't called Derek Riordan this place would go into melt down.
Sadly, the best thing Riordan can offer now is an example to the young players that in today's game natural talent isn't enough when not combined with professionalism, fitness and attitude.
29-06-2013, 08:35 AM
24 games, 1 goal, over 3 clubs all since 2011. Hasn't had a club in over 6 months. His next club will be his 7th career move.
If we were to sign someone with those stats that wasn't called Derek Riordan this place would go into melt down.
Sadly, the best thing Riordan can offer now is an example to the young players that in today's game natural talent isn't enough when not combined with professionalism, fitness and attitude.
:agree: The romantic notion of ex players returning knows no bounds on this board.
29-06-2013, 08:42 AM
:agree: The romantic notion of ex players returning knows no bounds on this board.
Which would be fine if they were actually any good these days :agree:
29-06-2013, 09:24 AM
Deek and killen front 2 for us this season would do me likes.
Pace is an essential requirement for at lease one of the two strikers - ideally both.
None in the two above last time around and I very much doubt that they've got faster in the interim.
29-06-2013, 09:29 AM
There's a reason st Johnstone and Ross County didn't offer him a deal guys. Let it go.
LeighLoyal
29-06-2013, 09:32 AM
Bring back Garry too. And eff all these yams and zombies.
GraniteCityHibs
29-06-2013, 09:37 AM
Respect, yes. A contract? No.
29-06-2013, 09:40 AM
:agree: Flawed genius, the best ones usually are, as times gone by I have moved into the bring him back again camp, if he kept his head down we have nothing to lose and its worth it to find out what he still has in the tank. Class tends to be permanent.
The Leith Dutch
29-06-2013, 09:43 AM
He's got a reputation as a bad trainer, I've no idea if that's true or not but I think that's the perception of him, if that is the case having people like that in the changing room can be a bad influence and drag other people down.
As I said, I don't know if that is the case but It's a possible reason why fenlon wouldn't want him around the place, especially at a time he's trying to improve the culture at the club.
Spot on this (and for the record I loved Riordan as a player)
The culture at the club in my opinion is one of the main reasons we've consistently underachieved in the last 5 years or so and Riordan could, I'm sad to say, single handedly wreck the work Fenlon has done in the last 18 months.
hibsmad
29-06-2013, 10:00 AM
I would give Riordan a year contract for one simple reason.
If Hearts make it to next season then they are likely to be utter mince. For me there is almost no better feeling when watching Hibs than seeing Deek score against them!
So get him in, wait until we are 3 nil up against them (preferably at the soon to be bulldozed Tynie) and then bring him on. If he didn't score he would still wind them up, and if he did score :nanasplit:
Imagine if it was the last ever derby goal at Tynie!!
Ok this probably wont happen if we sign him, but if we don't sign him then it definitely won't happen! Let's at least give it a a chance.
29-06-2013, 10:02 AM
Has he.?
You aren't even to sure yourself Bingo, never heard of him being a slacker at training and i am pretty sure this was mentioned before and a ITK poster on here for scoops did say that there was never any problems with Deek at training.
Infact Deek was one of a few players who would stay behind after training and work on other things.
yekimevol
29-06-2013, 10:41 AM
Does anyone remember his lat 8 months at hibs ? He was shocking ! Then getting told your to unfit for a chance at mk dons and then never scored a single goal at Bristol.
He is finished, gazza did well in his second spell scoring 15 goals but both come with the wrong attitude and baggage.
green.and.white
29-06-2013, 10:58 AM
Imagine going to tynecastle with a forward line of Riordan and Griffiths!!
LeighLoyal
29-06-2013, 11:01 AM
Does anyone remember his lat 8 months at hibs ? He was shocking ! Then getting told your to unfit for a chance at mk dons and then never scored a single goal at Bristol.
He is finished, gazza did well in his second spell scoring 15 goals but both come with the wrong attitude and baggage.
What *****. I remember his last game and a peach of a finish, vintage Deek. And the following season, after he'd left, we would have been 100% relegated without Garry O's 12 goals. Get them back. Fenlon should be tied naked to an ass and lashed out of East Mains for signing up that stick Kuqi when Deek would have played for free.
GlenrothesHibee
29-06-2013, 11:01 AM
Riordan is the wrong character for Hibs under Fenlon. He did incredibly well to control Sparky but he is a young lad and looks to be learning from mistakes. Riordan never did. I thank Riordan for his great goals in a Hibs jersey but SPL football looks beyond him now. He was anonymous at St Johnstone and the other clubs mentioned. Id be pretty furious if he came back. He doesn't deserve to play for Hibernian now and thats the bottom line.
29-06-2013, 11:04 AM
What *****. I remember his last game and a peach of a finish, vintage Deek. And the following season, after he'd left, we would have been 100% relegated without Garry O's 12 goals. Get them back. Fenlon should be tied naked to an ass and lashed out of East Mains for signing up that stick Kuqi when Deek would have played for free.
If you could remember more than his last game you would realise that the poster is correct and sadly Deek was very very poor. Thank **** Fenlon has more sense than some of the romantic jokers on here. Face facts, Deeks is no longer the force he was and is not the standard of player we should be aspiring to sign.
West hamBERNIAN
29-06-2013, 11:04 AM
im all for it, he'd probably take a wage similar to handling and caldwell and i'd feel a lot more confident with riordan scoring goals than another irish striker. minimum risk that could possibly turn out to be great signing:confused:
29-06-2013, 11:08 AM
im all for it, he'd probably take a wage similar to handling and caldwell and i'd feel a lot more confident with riordan scoring goals than another irish striker. minimum risk that could possibly turn out to be great signing:confused:
You're happy with Carroll that says it all about your opinions :wink:
West hamBERNIAN
29-06-2013, 11:32 AM
You're happy with Carroll that says it all about your opinions :wink:
:greengrin wish he'd take the same wage riordan would. to be fair though, if he made half the impact carroll did he'd be amazing. out of interest would you take say luis garcia as a squad player for £5000 a week?
29-06-2013, 11:34 AM
What *****. I remember his last game and a peach of a finish, vintage Deek. And the following season, after he'd left, we would have been 100% relegated without Garry O's 12 goals. Get them back. Fenlon should be tied naked to an ass and lashed out of East Mains for signing up that stick Kuqi when Deek would have played for free.If he was even remotely interested, fit and motivated for the whole season we would have been no where near 11th, dont want him anywhere near ER and I'm glad he isn't. Loved him then, complete waster now.
29-06-2013, 11:39 AM
I say the same thing every time a Deek thread comes up. He WAS a brilliant goal scorer for Hibs. He will always be a Hibernian legend for scoring over 100 times for the club and sadly this seems to cloud some judgement. He wouldn't be the same player and wouldn't score as easily as some think. He's done. I've moved on. As for bringing O'Connor back, must be a wind up.
29-06-2013, 12:04 PM
If you could remember more than his last game you would realise that the poster is correct and sadly Deek was very very poor. Thank **** Fenlon has more sense than some of the romantic jokers on here. Face facts, Deeks is no longer the force he was and is not the standard of player we should be aspiring to sign.
said pretty much the same thing on the last thread and got pelters.
I love deek, but sadly he's past it.
hibbydog
29-06-2013, 12:19 PM
said pretty much the same thing on the last thread and got pelters.
I love deek, but sadly he's past it.
But I certainly don't love deek. In fact I almost resent the wee sod. He's the most technically gifted player we've produced for years. Him and o Connor should be in the premiership and playing upfront together for Scotland. Sadly neither had the commitment or desire to reach their potential and hav become a tragic waste of talent.
I guess the envy/ resentment/ frustration comes from the fact that they have both wasted the tremendous privilege they've been given. I'd give my right arm to pull on a Hibs strip.
Persevere80
29-06-2013, 12:29 PM
Hibs legend in my eyes. I think he did a good job second time around. He scored sone amount of goals and a decent assist record considering he was playing on the left rather than up front. I'm not desperate for him to come back, but I certainly wouldn't complain if I seen him back in a hibs shirt. If he did offer to play and fenlon wasn't interested than it ain't gonna happen.
29-06-2013, 12:36 PM
I'd offer him a one year contract with the option to be cancelled immediately by Hibs if he ever entered a nightclub.
29-06-2013, 12:36 PM
Most people have missed the most pertinent question.
What exactly is the point of this thread?
29-06-2013, 12:53 PM
Would have loved to of seen an attacking front 3 for next season of Griffiths, Riordan and then a big target man. In the mould of Mixu/Brewster.
Griffiths - To do all the hard work, closing down, creating space etc and of course scoring goals.
Riordan - Scoring goals. Specials one and tap in's.
Target man - bringing midfield into play, setting up Deeks and Griffiths, and scoring a few himself.
The entertainment would have been outstanding!!
you make it sound so easy , when riorden played first time around we had special players who could create chances for these guys, when they came back these special players were gone so they then had to graft more and it just didnt suit riorden and oconners game so it aint going to work third time round
West hamBERNIAN
29-06-2013, 12:56 PM
Most people have missed the most pertinent question.
What exactly is the point of this thread?
when you have a squad like ours and what looks like limited options striker wise then the availability of what is without doubt a legend is going to be a good talking point. it amazes me that people on here would rather pay what would be a large wage on rooney than a very small wage on deek.
Birmingham City (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birmingham_City_F.C.)
(4)
2012–2013
→ Swindon Town (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swindon_Town_F.C.) (loan)
(9
not exactly prolific especially when you consider swindon were the 2nd highest scorers in the league last year so must have had plenty chances. dont get the way ppl come in threads they arent interested in just to say, dont talk about this? anyone could say the same for any thread. what is the point?:rolleyes:
West hamBERNIAN
29-06-2013, 01:02 PM
you make it sound so easy , when riorden played first time around we had special players who could create chances for these guys, when they came back these special players were gone so they then had to graft more and it just didnt suit riorden and oconners game so it aint going to work third time round
you make the opposite sound so easy, who is to say he wouldnt or would flourish. he'd be on a fraction of kuqis(or whoever replaces him) wage to do nothing if it didnt work. :agree:
29-06-2013, 01:05 PM
when you have a squad like ours and what looks like limited options striker wise then the availability of what is without doubt a legend is going to be a good talking point. it amazes me that people on here would rather pay what would be a large wage on rooney than a very small wage on deek.
(4)
2012–2013
(9
not exactly prolific especially when you consider swindon were the 2nd highest scorers in the league last year so must have had plenty chances. dont get the way ppl come in threads they arent interested in just to say, dont talk about this? anyone could say the same for any thread. what is the point?:rolleyes:
Have you checked out Deek's stats with his last 3 clubs?
29-06-2013, 01:30 PM
:agree: :top marks
The Leith Dutch
29-06-2013, 01:40 PM
(4)
2012–2013
(9
Probably worth noting that even if you were to ignore the fact that Riordan hasn't really played much in the last two seasons and use the figures from his last season at Hibs (2010-11):
He hit 11 goals in 38 games - figures not unlike the ones for Rooney above.
Significantly worse than Rooney's haul of 21 from 42 in that same season when he played for ICT.
And again for clarity - I loved Riordan as a player with us and he deserves massive respect for what he's achieved at Hibs.
West hamBERNIAN
29-06-2013, 01:45 PM
Have you checked out Deek's stats with his last 3 clubs?
he also only scored 5 goals at celtic and nobody said he was past it then. if your not getting opportunities your not going to score, he managed to score a lot in his second spell from LM. the difference with rooney was he had a lot of opportunities in a winning team and never scored regularly. they main difference being if we brought deek in we'd have money for a plan b. rooney would command a large wage and i doubt we'd have a plan b. :confused:
29-06-2013, 01:59 PM
(4)
2012–2013
(9
Actually, I think you missed MY point.
I was wondering what the point was of discussing this top for the hundredth time, when we all know he's not coming back and, in fact, neither Deek nor the club have said anything to warrant going over this same ground yet again.
West hamBERNIAN
29-06-2013, 02:06 PM
Actually, I think you missed MY point.
I was wondering what the point was of discussing this top for the hundredth time, when we all know he's not coming back and, in fact, neither Deek nor the club have said anything to warrant going over this same ground yet again.
maybe i said too much, because it proves to be a good talking point. 5 or 6 pages every time its brought up proves that. admittedly probably half of that is ppl saying they dont want to talk about it. :confused:
TheFamous1875
29-06-2013, 02:39 PM
Riordan probably should have been leaving Hibs by the time he came back. Could have been going down to the EPL for quite a few million. As sad as it is from a fans point of view, it just shows you need more than talent to make it. The amount of players with no where near the ability he has that have made a great career for themselves. If only he had the same approach to his career as Fletcher, or Collins. On a separate note, I had a theory that if it had been Collins that had got the Hibs job instead of Mowbray, this crop of players at the time may have had better attitudes and better careers.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
29-06-2013, 06:46 PM
Deek played on left and scored goals in his second spell .. yes might have lost his way a wee bit but there is a few scottish players ho went down to championship ,league 1 and never set heather on fire ... but i bet he can still score goals if played as a striker he was never blessed with pace but he was capble of flashes of brilliance and scored a load of goals id give him a chance ... look at mcfadden hardly played in 3 years either similar sort of player
29-06-2013, 06:54 PM
Deek played on left and scored goals in his second spell .. yes might have lost his way a wee bit but there is a few scottish players ho went down to championship ,league 1 and never set heather on fire ... but i bet he can still score goals if played as a striker he was never blessed with pace but he was capble of flashes of brilliance and scored a load of goals id give him a chance ... look at mcfadden hardly played in 3 years either similar sort of player
It's an interesting point about McFadden, but McFadden played at a much higher level in the EPL and had a relatively successful spell with Scotland. Imho that would put a bit of a gap between him and Riordan in terms of experience if nothing else.
29-06-2013, 07:46 PM
Should we also be debating bringing Sauzee and Latapy back? Since the argument seems to be if you were a brilliant player for us before you can be again.
Would rather give game time to our youngsters or try and unearth the next 'legend' than bring someone back to do nothing other than tarnish the only positives their careers gave them.
29-06-2013, 07:59 PM
The sad thing about these threads are that Deek should still playing professional football and a final stint at Hibs as a squad player wouldn't have been a bad move.
However everything that has happened since he left Hibs the first time has been up and down and although when he returned he scored a few screamers had lost any pace / sharpness he used to have.
He would have to be more of a luxury player now and it's something Fenlon has changed / avoided since coming in.
Riordan has / had amazing talent and is / was a natural finisher but the other baggage is probably why he isn't at ER.
Kuqi last season showed he's not a natural finisher compared to DR but Kuqi helping kids / coaching behind the scenes allowed Fenlon to find a role for him.
I'm not even sure how much Deek wants it now as surely he would be training / getting himself some trials with teams to prove what he has left if he still wants to play SPL. At St J he struggled to adapt to the demands Lomas had.
LeighLoyal
29-06-2013, 08:25 PM
Should we also be debating bringing Sauzee and Latapy back? Since the argument seems to be if you were a brilliant player for us before you can be again.
Would rather give game time to our youngsters or try and unearth the next 'legend' than bring someone back to do nothing other than tarnish the only positives their careers gave them.
Franck was 33, pushing 34, when McLeish signed him and Latapy 30. Latapy, the smoker who liked clubbing and bevvy, maybe a risky signing eh?
29-06-2013, 08:32 PM
Riordan probably should have been leaving Hibs by the time he came back. Could have been going down to the EPL for quite a few million. As sad as it is from a fans point of view, it just shows you need more than talent to make it. The amount of players with no where near the ability he has that have made a great career for themselves. If only he had the same approach to his career as Fletcher, or Collins. On a separate note, I had a theory that if it had been Collins that had got the Hibs job instead of Mowbray, this crop of players at the time may have had better attitudes and better careers.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Actually kind of agree with the last point....
29-06-2013, 08:33 PM
Franck was 33, pushing 34, when McLeish signed him and Latapy 30. Latapy, the smoker who liked clubbing and bevvy, maybe a risky signing eh?
2 of our greatest signings ever... (Well, in my lifetime anyway)
29-06-2013, 08:38 PM
The sad thing about these threads are that Deek should still playing professional football and a final stint at Hibs as a squad player wouldn't have been a bad move.
However everything that has happened since he left Hibs the first time has been up and down and although when he returned he scored a few screamers had lost any pace / sharpness he used to have.
He would have to be more of a luxury player now and it's something Fenlon has changed / avoided since coming in.
Riordan has / had amazing talent and is / was a natural finisher but the other baggage is probably why he isn't at ER.
Kuqi last season showed he's not a natural finisher compared to DR but Kuqi helping kids / coaching behind the scenes allowed Fenlon to find a role for him.
I'm not even sure how much Deek wants it now as surely he would be training / getting himself some trials with teams to prove what he has left if he still wants to play SPL. At St J he struggled to adapt to the demands Lomas had.
What demands would they be, pretty sure when he was up there for the handful of games, the team went to Spain for a session and he was invited to go with the squad, he decided to stay and train and get fit for these handful of games, what more can you ask of him, sure Lomas commented when they came back that the team had took there foot of the pedal and he said the trip was a bad idea, the players had let him down.
LeighLoyal
29-06-2013, 08:41 PM
2 of our greatest signings ever... (Well, in my lifetime anyway)
And mine. :not worth
29-06-2013, 08:48 PM
What demands would they be, pretty sure when he was up there for the handful of games, the team went to Spain for a session and he was invited to go with the squad, he decided to stay and train and get fit for these handful of games, what more can you ask of him, sure Lomas commented when they came back that the team had took there foot of the pedal and he said the trip was a bad idea, the players had let him down.
I like Deek - I rate him highly - but from a player who plays there told me he struggled to adapt / fit in. Not saying he was all in the wrong - as the same player told me he and several other players didn't like Lomas either.
29-06-2013, 08:50 PM
And we signed O'Connor again when he had well known fitness and drug problems, and Riordan came back after all his nightclub issues and other problems.
My point was about resigning them now however. Just because Player A was a legend for us 5 years ago (or however long ago) isn't a factor in deciding whether they should be signed now.
West hamBERNIAN
29-06-2013, 08:55 PM
Truth is there is no real reason we shouldn't have Deek at the club. If there were, it wouldn't just be sarcastic remarks like "get Sauzee back too" really don't understand why you all get so offended by the thought of giving a club legend another chance to do what he does best, scoring goals for hibs! Boyd was another that was past it and would be a horrific signing yet he scored 3 in 8 at killie despite looking like he was far from match fit.
30-06-2013, 10:00 PM
Truth is there is no real reason we shouldn't have Deek at the club. If there were, it wouldn't just be sarcastic remarks like "get Sauzee back too" really don't understand why you all get so offended by the thought of giving a club legend another chance to do what he does best, scoring goals for hibs! Boyd was another that was past it and would be a horrific signing yet he scored 3 in 8 at killie despite looking like he was far from match fit.
Jeez, because it's already been done, he has been back, was given another chance and didn't take it! Why do so many folk choose to ignore the facts and clamour for Deek to return again it's bizarre. Deek and Hibernian are finished get over it.
Hibee Ryan
30-06-2013, 11:01 PM
If you could guarantee the Deek from his first spell then it's a no-brainer but nobody can so therefore I'm out.
Unfortunately Derek is a waster, and before people start moaning read on, he wasted all his talent he had bucket-loads. He first wasted it by going and signing for Celtic when he should of done exactly what Fletcher done which was wait for a chance down south! He had more natural ability than Fletcher IMO and should be at the same level as Fletcher is now but he isn't and that's exactly why I don't want him back.
He wasted all his talent and even on the off-chance that that attitude rubbed off on any Hibs youngsters it just wouldn't be worth the risk for me. Love the man and always will but he's flawed and now it's just not worth the risks involved in bringing him back for a third time
Graham Law
02-07-2013, 12:44 AM
Have these lads not got a club yet ? I had heard that Riordan had got another SPL club ?
VivaHiberña
02-07-2013, 01:33 AM
Nope. Doubt he will within the immediate future. End of discussion.
02-07-2013, 02:44 AM
Have these lads not got a club yet ? I had heard that Riordan had got another SPL club ?
Should we be looking into signing them up on short term deals?
:whistle:
Black Kyle
02-07-2013, 05:29 AM
Unfortunately, the fact they are both still free agents speaks volumes for me. Such a waste of potential and talent.
02-07-2013, 06:27 AM
More to the point, why are others so unable to see a difference between the Riordan / O'Connor of 5, 10 years ago, and the players they are today?
Both are out of the question, people need to move on.
02-07-2013, 12:26 PM
I like Deek - I rate him highly - but from a player who plays there told me he struggled to adapt / fit in. Not saying he was all in the wrong - as the same player told me he and several other players didn't like Lomas either.
Could only have been the drink culture up there, as i said while the team went away for a piss up Deek stayed behind to train, yes Deek may like to go out for a drink after a game, up there they were out drinking the night before game's, Lomas let his players do whatever they wanted.
ionahibby
12-07-2013, 08:32 PM
[after 0-0 friendly draw at Raith]
Not getting beat that's the main thing!
Thought i would drown out the pessimists on here ;)
12-07-2013, 08:36 PM
Not getting beat that's the main thing!
Thought i would drown out the pessimists on here ;)
Pessimists or realists? -that is the question.
LeighLoyal
12-07-2013, 08:42 PM
Pessimists or realists? -that is the question.
The two guys that scored all the goals are away, and we're going into a Euro tie with no replacements. Bloody shambles imo.
12-07-2013, 08:49 PM
The two guys that scored all the goals are away, and we're going into a Euro tie with no replacements. Bloody shambles imo.
FFS, the Europa league is a wee bonus. we might get 1 or 2 rounds max. PF has to get the team ready for Motherwell in 3 weeks time. But even then the transfer window is open for another 6 weeks. Far to early for crap like this
12-07-2013, 08:52 PM
Behave yourself man. We could easily have signed any two run-of-the -mill strikers in time for Europe but clearly we are after players of a slightly higher calibre.
And those type of players generally weigh up their options before making a move. Look across Europe, very few deals have been done.
Of course it would be nice to get them in early but it's simply not possible.
I can only assume that we are targetting 'better than decent' players and these deals can take time.
Just my opinion of course.
LeighLoyal
12-07-2013, 09:05 PM
Behave yourself man. We could easily have signed any two run-of-the -mill strikers in time for Europe but clearly we are after players of a slightly higher calibre.
And those type of players generally weigh up their options before making a move. Look across Europe, very few deals have been done.
Of course it would be nice to get them in early but it's simply not possible.
I can only assume that we are targetting 'better than decent' players and these deals can take time.
Just my opinion of course.
Given the fact the deadline is today and they've signed nobody, no surprise, what would have been wrong in giving Riordan a chance? We're bringing back Kevin Thomson and, tbh, he hasn't done it for me - was the worst guy on the park at Hampden, but Riordan who'd play for free is not getting a sniff because of an unsuccessful short spell at Bristol Rovers. It just smacks of incompetence and penny pinching. Malmo are no world beaters at all but they are going to get a nice juicy tie with a £2m carrot at the end of it because Petrie won't stump up an extra few grand to Falkirk. Just poor leadership by the office bearers.
12-07-2013, 09:18 PM
Given the fact the deadline is today and they've signed nobody, no surprise, what would have been wrong in giving Riordan a chance? We're bringing back Kevin Thomson and, tbh, he hasn't done it for me - was the worst guy on the park at Hampden, but Riordan who'd play for free is not getting a sniff because of an unsuccessful short spell at Bristol Rovers. It just smacks of incompetence and penny pinching. Malmo are no world beaters at all but they are going to get a nice juicy tie with a £2m carrot at the end of it because Petrie won't stump up an extra few grand to Falkirk. Just poor leadership by the office bearers.
Riordan always looks out of shape these days and still lacks discipline despite his age.
We need a couple of fit, well disciplined forwards. They don't need to be world beaters who will break the bank, they just need to show some hunger and a desire to improve their game.
Attracting players like that shouldn't be a problem for a club like ours.
12-07-2013, 09:24 PM
So you think Riordan, who hasn't played a game in how long could get back to a state of fitness that he'd be a better option than the young boys by next week?
I'm happy enough that the Board are prioritising going after Griffiths / Taylor than pouncing on whoever today.
Plus one further player can still be registered next week anyway.
LeighLoyal
12-07-2013, 09:27 PM
Riordan always looks out of shape these days and still lacks discipline despite his age.
We need a couple of fit, well disciplined forwards. They don't need to be world beaters who will break the bank, they just need to show some hunger and a desire to improve their game.
His record at Hibs speaks for itself, over a hundred Hibs goals. If he'd been brought in at the start of pre season the fitness could have been worked on for the Malmo game. If he patently didn't have it then no loss, instead of that no strikers and the first proper Euro tie in years probably up s hit creek.
12-07-2013, 09:32 PM
Given the fact the deadline is today and they've signed nobody, no surprise, what wEuropeave been wrong in giving Riordan a chance? We're bringing back Kevin Thomson and, tbh, he hasn't done it for me - was the worst guy on the park at Hampden, but Riordan who'd play for free is not getting a sniff because of an unsuccessful short spell at Bristol Rovers. It just smacks of incompetence and penny pinching. Malmo are no world beaters at all but they are going to get a nice juicy tie with a £2m carrot at the end of it because Petrie won't stump up an extra few grand to Falkirk. Just poor leadership by the office bearers.
Who knows the real reason behind Lyle Taylor? Maybe the boy and his agent are the ones sitting tight?
We really have to get over Riordan. He's gone, it's finished. Next you'll be demanding Garry comes back.
Thomson on the other hand? Well I saw enough last season to think he's still got plenty to offer us.
Forget europe, it's not our priority.
As I mentioned before, we could easily have signed 2 strikers by now. There's plenty of washed up journeymen out there who'd sign in a flash. (Gaz, Deeks etc)
Thankfully we appear to be looking at far better players than that. Sadly deals for these players take time. Be patient would be my advice.
12-07-2013, 09:34 PM
I honestly cannot believe people are talking about Riordan...
Frightening, absolutely frightening
12-07-2013, 09:35 PM
His record at Hibs speaks for itself, over a hundred Hibs goals. If he'd been brought in at the start of pre season the fitness could have been worked on for the Malmo game. If he patently didn't have it then no loss, instead of that no strikers and the first proper Euro tie in years probably up s hit creek.
Can we get Dobbie, Rocastle and Roland Edge back anaw?
LeighLoyal
12-07-2013, 09:38 PM
Rowan Vine hadn't scored a goal for two years before St J took a punt on him, frightening, absolutely frightening...
12-07-2013, 09:44 PM
Rowan Vine hadn't scored a goal for two years before St J took a punt on him, frightening, absolutely frightening...
When did I mention Vine?
However what I would say is that Vine is currently a professional footballer... Riordan isn't....
12-07-2013, 09:44 PM
Riordan is done. Time to move on
LeighLoyal
12-07-2013, 09:48 PM
When did I mention Vine?
However what I would say is that Vine is currently a professional footballer... Riordan isn't....
Kuqi is still a professional footballer, means nowt.
12-07-2013, 09:55 PM
Riordan isn't the solution to our problems. I have great memories of him and I wish him well with whatever he chooses to do with the rest of his life but I think the fact that no club has chosen to sign him since he became a free agent 7 months ago is quite revealing.
And I say all that as someone who was absolutely ecstatic at his return to the club in 2008.
Greenblood70
12-07-2013, 09:56 PM
Talk of riordan is obviously desperation. It doesn't excuse the fact we have planned appallingly over the last six months tho and even to find ourselves in this position with a euro game coming up is IMO bitterly disappointing.
12-07-2013, 09:56 PM
Kuqi is still a professional footballer, means nowt.
Listen mate, I for one would rather bide our time than take a 'punt' as you put it, on a washed up player who has repeatedly proved to be past it.
He was a real talent but is not a player we should ever be considering.
If you feel so lonely without Riordan I'd suggest you go and play golf with the guy...
hibbydog
12-07-2013, 10:02 PM
Listen mate, I for one would rather bide our time than take a 'punt' as you put it, on a washed up player who has repeatedly proved to be past it.
If you feel so lonely without Riordan I'd suggest you go and play golf with the guy...
I don't think riordan would have the desire to make it round 18 holes. Lacks fitness and self discipline.
Still though, he'd produce the odd flash of brilliance...
LeighLoyal
12-07-2013, 10:07 PM
Nonsense, three short stints where he didn't fit, so what.
All I said was he should have got the opportunity to prove he was past it or not in pre season, if he is indeed past it then no money lost. What would have been wrong with that ffs? Who has Fenlon signed again? No ***t.
Given the fact the deadline is today and they've signed nobody, no surprise, what would have been wrong in giving Riordan a chance? We're bringing back Kevin Thomson and, tbh, he hasn't done it for me - was the worst guy on the park at Hampden, but Riordan who'd play for free is not getting a sniff because of an unsuccessful short spell at Bristol Rovers. It just smacks of incompetence and penny pinching. Malmo are no world beaters at all but they are going to get a nice juicy tie with a £2m carrot at the end of it because Petrie won't stump up an extra few grand to Falkirk. Just poor leadership by the office bearers.Get over yersel man ..Riordan is not coming back to hibs ....1 goal in 24 games 2011/12 ...aye just the player we need right now ..:crazy:
LeighLoyal
12-07-2013, 11:05 PM
Get over yersel man ..Riordan is not coming back to hibs ....1 goal in 24 games 2011/12 ...aye just the player we need right now ..:crazy:
I know he isn't now, but he should have been given a chance as A. We lost the three strikers we had last year, and B. Petrie won't spend money to replace like with like.
And
Have you looked at 31 in September Rowan Vine's record before he signed for St Johnstone? 2008-2012: 5 in 51 for QPR and then 2 in 36 for a few loan teams. Riordan scored 36 times for us in that same period.
12-07-2013, 11:18 PM
Aye, a free agent with over a 100 goals for Hibs but folk pishing their frilies over Lyle Taylor and Vine? Ridiculous eh, someone phone the polis.
Vine or Taylor will never score half the goals Derek Riordan has scored for Hibs, really ****ing pisses me of how unappreciated he is by
12-07-2013, 11:22 PM
Aye, a free agent with over a 100 goals for Hibs but folk pishing their frilies over Lyle Taylor and Vine? Ridiculous eh, someone phone the polis.
Vine or Taylor will never score half the goals Derek Riordan has scored for Hibs, really ****ing pisses me .
I appreciated greatly the player he was....now he is a has been ...move on
12-07-2013, 11:24 PM
We should have signed the Motherwell team from last season, they finished 2nd with a much better side than we currently have.
They have set Europe on fire recently, if we'd only splashed out a little we could have done the same as them.
12-07-2013, 11:26 PM
Vine or Taylor will never score half the goals Derek Riordan has scored for Hibs, really ****ing pisses me .
What a pile of pish, ok lets sign Riordan, how far do you think we'd get in Europe with him on board?
12-07-2013, 11:28 PM
Vine or Taylor will never score half the goals Derek Riordan has scored for Hibs, really ****ing pisses me .If current Derek Riordan had the same ability as he did when he was scoring those goals for Hibs then he wouldn't be a free agent, face it, he isnae very good now and the fact he scored goals then for us isn't a reason to sign him now.
Also people having different opinions from you doesn't make them ''bawbags'' :rolleyes:
12-07-2013, 11:32 PM
If current Derek Riordan had the same ability as he did when he was scoring those goals for Hibs then he wouldn't be a free agent, face it, he isnae very good now and the fact he scored goals then for us isn't a reason to sign him now.
Also people having different opinions from you doesn't make them ''bawbags'' :rolleyes:
I loved Riordan when he played for Hibs, and loved every one of his 100+ goals for us.
He's not kicked a ball in anger for ages and has done nothing to suggest he can still cut it in the SPL.
12-07-2013, 11:35 PM
Have you seen him lately like, he is enjoying his pre-season and looking fit, mind you he never looked out of shape before, he looks after himself and keeps fit.
12-07-2013, 11:37 PM
So you think Riordan, who hasn't played a game in how long could get back to a state of fitness that he'd be a better option than the young boys by next week?
I'm happy enough that the Board are prioritising going after Griffiths / Taylor than pouncing on whoever today.
Plus one further player can still be registered next week anyway.
As i have said he is doing a pre- season now to get fit and is getting there. :aok:
12-07-2013, 11:42 PM
I don't think riordan would have the desire to make it round 18 holes. Lacks fitness and self discipline.
Still though, he'd produce the odd flash of brilliance...
Pish
Obviously you don't no him if you are making comments about him like that. :rolleyes:
12-07-2013, 11:45 PM
As i have said he is doing a pre- season now to get fit and is getting there. :aok:
With a club?
12-07-2013, 11:45 PM
What a pile of pish, ok lets sign Riordan, how far do you think we'd get in Europe with him on board?
All the way. :greengrin
12-07-2013, 11:46 PM
I loved Riordan when he played for Hibs, and loved every one of his 100+ goals for us.
He's not kicked a ball in anger for ages and has done nothing to suggest he can still cut it in the (SPL) Sunday League.
Edited for accuracy.
12-07-2013, 11:47 PM
With a club?
Yes
12-07-2013, 11:50 PM
Yes
That's good to hear, hopefully it all works out for him :aok:
12-07-2013, 11:56 PM
That's good to hear, hopefully it all works out for him :aok:
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 12:00 AM
Good to hear. If he still has the hunger, I believe he'll come back and prove a lot of people wrong.
13-07-2013, 06:53 AM
Vine or Taylor will never score half the goals Derek Riordan has scored for Hibs, really ****ing pisses me of how unappreciated he is by
Jimmy O'Rourke is a free agent mate and he scored lots more than Deek, should we sign him?
Should HOMFC resign John Robertson?
Scotland bring Kenny Dalglish back?
Let legends be legends.
13-07-2013, 07:01 AM
Jimmy O'Rourke is a free agent mate and he scored lots more than Deek, should we sign him?
Let legends be legends.
hibbydog
13-07-2013, 07:55 AM
Pish
Obviously you don't no him if you are making comments about him like that. :rolleyes:
Naw. Imagine if he hooked his ball into the rough and couldn't find it. He wouldn'y want to 'track back' and play 3 off the tee....
Maybe a good partner for a 2 ball 4 though. Much less graft needed.
Sarcasm.
13-07-2013, 08:05 AM
Good to hear. If he still has the hunger, I believe he'll come back and prove a lot of people wrong.
Maybe come back to football, but I very much doubt he will ever be back at Hibs.
13-07-2013, 08:20 AM
Let legends be legends.
I suspect Dalglish might get a game ! ;-)
13-07-2013, 08:41 AM
Most people on hear want Deek back. Your point is?
Thats just another made up .net fact. FACT!
Knowing Hibs, we would sign him then sit him on the bench to confuse the opposition manager ;)
13-07-2013, 09:39 AM
Griffiths is twice the player Riordan ever was. Let's focus on the next legends as opposed to stupid wee jakes who have pissed their entire career against the wall.
13-07-2013, 09:40 AM
All the way. :greengrin
:greengrin As you know, Derek is one of my favorite all time Hibs players,and i'd still have him at the club now if it were up to me.
Although after saying that, its ridiculous to think he'd make any difference to the team as he is now fitness wise. I don't remember the last time he actually played a game, and cant personally see him getting back to SPL level. :boo hoo:
I'd love to be wrong though.
13-07-2013, 10:25 AM
Let legends be legends.
No offence Scoops but the players you mention are not free agents they have retired from football, Deek is still a football player and doing his best to be ready fitness wise for the start of the season to play football where ever that may be. :aok:
13-07-2013, 10:37 AM
Griffiths is twice the player Riordan ever was. Let's focus on the next legends as opposed to stupid wee jakes who have pissed their entire career against the wall.
I hope Deeks does manage to find a club and we see him playing football somewhere this year. As for his attitude to training, fitness etc I really have no idea. Judging by the comments of Rankin whilst he was with us Riordan was one of the few who would stay behind afterwards to work on improving his technique. We certainly enjoyed the benefits of that. No need to totally trash the guy is there?
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 10:41 AM
No offence Scoops but the players you mention are not free agents they have retired from football, Deek is still a football player and doing his best to be ready fitness wise for the start of the season to play football where ever that may be. :aok:
Up front with Vine would do me. :aok:
13-07-2013, 11:02 AM
Preseason games mean absolutely nothing. Teams like us with a competitive game next week will be in the middle of I would assume a very hard schedule. Lets see where we are next week. Signing Deek, do me a favour.
13-07-2013, 11:06 AM
..., Deek is still a football player and doing his best to be ready fitness wise for the start of the season to play football where ever that may be. :aok:
If all that is true, and he still has a reasonable level of talent, why hasn't he already signed for someone?
FWIW, my opinion on Deeks v Leigh is; when Deeks came through at first, I thought he was the most naturally talented striker I'd seen at Hibs for 30 years. Overall, though, I'd have Leigh in my team over Deeks any day of the week, as Leigh just has more overall, including a never say die attitude and is more a team player. He also, once again IMHO, is just as talented a striker of the ball as Deeks.
13-07-2013, 11:29 AM
:greengrin As you know, Derek is one of my favorite all time Hibs players,and i'd still have him at the club now if it were up to me.
Although after saying that, its ridiculous to think he'd make any difference to the team as he is now fitness wise. I don't remember the last time he actually played a game, and cant personally see him getting back to SPL level. :boo hoo:
I'd love to be wrong though.
G, all Derek can do is get a pre-season behind him and get himself fit which he is doing, he does look after himself and will be looking for a club before the season starts, it may not be in the SPL, he may have to go abroad to play his football but he is willing to take that chance to get back playing, he is doing everything he can to get back to match fitness, he is doing his best, he ain't prowling George Street every night, :wink: :greengrin
I am not advocating that he comes back to Hibs on .net or any where else, but you know i will defend him when folk start spouting pish about him and they really no f all about what he gets up to, he was a good servant to the club in both spells at Hibs but some of the abuse he gets on here from fans is unbelievable, he gave 10 good years service to the club and managed to hit 104 goals for the club in that time.
Myself, i wish him all the best and hope he gets a club and back playing football soon.
13-07-2013, 11:31 AM
I'll never understand the level of abuse Riordan takes on here.
Whilst I very much doubt we'll see him back at ER he remains one of the best goalscorers the club has had and the verbals are quite unnecessary.
13-07-2013, 11:39 AM
That is out of order IMO.
I don't know the details of Derek's situation, nor do I know how he arrived where he is today.
But I do know that some of my best memories of Hibs in the recent past have been the times when Derek Riordan produced an outrageous piece of footwork that ended up with the ball in the back of the net when no one else in the SPL could have put it there.
I don't think it would be best for him to return to Hibs, but that decison in the end of the day rests with Pat Fenlon and Jimmy Nicholl. But if they decided to bring him back, he and they would have my full support.
13-07-2013, 11:57 AM
13-07-2013, 12:00 PM
That is out of order IMO.
I don't know the details of Derek's situation, nor do I know how he arrived where he is today.
But I do know that some of my best memories of Hibs in the recent past have been the times when Derek Riordan produced an outrageous piece of footwork that ended up with the ball in the back of the net when no one else in the SPL could have put it there.
I don't think it would be best for him to return to Hibs, but that decison in the end of the day rests with Pat Fenlon and Jimmy Nicholl. But if they decided to bring him back, he and they would have my full support.
I've no idea why anyone thinks we should be looking at Deeks. That period is history and let's look forward now.
13-07-2013, 12:02 PM
13-07-2013, 12:13 PM
If all that is true, and he still has a reasonable level of talent, why hasn't he already signed for someone?
FWIW, my opinion on Deeks v Leigh is; when Deeks came through at first, I thought he was the most naturally talented striker I'd seen at Hibs for 30 years. Overall, though, I'd have Leigh in my team over Deeks any day of the week, as Leigh just has more overall, including a never say die attitude and is more a team player. He also, once again IMHO, is just as talented a striker of the ball as Deeks.
Still plenty time for that, the window doesn't close until August and in the mean time he is getting fit so if a club come calling he will be ready to go.
Don't know why you are comparing him to Sparky though.
13-07-2013, 12:43 PM
WTF are you on about, "stupid wee jake" aye very good description of someone who has served the club so well you
13-07-2013, 12:45 PM
G, all Derek can do is get a pre-season behind him and get himself fit which he is doing, he does look after himself and will be looking for a club before the season starts, it may not be in the SPL, he may have to go abroad to play his football but he is willing to take that chance to get back playing, he is doing everything he can to get back to match fitness, he is doing his best, he ain't prowling George Street every night, :wink: :greengrin
I am not advocating that he comes back to Hibs on .net or any where else, but you know i will defend him when folk start spouting pish about him and they really no f all about what he gets up to, he was a good servant to the club in both spells at Hibs but some of the abuse he gets on here from fans is unbelievable, he gave 10 good years service to the club and managed to hit 104 goals for the club in that time.
Myself, i wish him all the best and hope he gets a club and back playing football soon.
Moments like this I wish this forum had a like button.
I'm in the same camp as Blackpool, loved every minute of him at Hibs, unfortunately don't ever see him returning and I'm unsure if he would cope at SPL level but I'd really live to be proved wrong. Hope he gets sorted soon, glad he's still got his hunger and is tryi g to stay in the fame rather than just jacking it all in.
13-07-2013, 02:05 PM
Yeah, fair point Silv.
Deek will always be one of my favourite Hibs players, that will never change.
However I think too many people think that if we get him back then we are going to see the same Derek Riordan that delighted us in his first spell at the club.
I would hate to see him return and for him to get pelters if he wasn't a success, he doesn't deserve that.
I used to hate it when boxers who were brilliant used to carry on well past their sell by date and simply became cannon fodder for also rans.
I never wish to see Deek get the same treatment as Colin Nish.
I hope he gets signed up and does well Silv and I will follow his progress with them.
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 02:15 PM
Yeah, fair point Silv.
I would hate to see him return and for him to get pelters if he wasn't a success, he doesn't deserve that.
I never wish to see Deek get the same treatment as Colin Nish.
He deserved a chance to show Fenlon what he could or couldn't do surely.
Nish, not fit to lace Deek's boots and never had any capital with the fans to lose anyway.
13-07-2013, 02:29 PM
Nish, not fit to lace Deek's boots and never had any capital with the fans to lose anyway.
Why? He deserves our thanks for the great memories he left us with but Pat Fenlon owes him nothing. He has to be free to operate without being constrained by sentiment. If the current manager thought he was worth looking at again then he would.
13-07-2013, 02:32 PM
So it was ok then in your eyes to give Nish abuse?
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 02:43 PM
Why? He deserves our thanks for the great memories he left us with but Pat Fenlon owes him nothing. He has to be free to operate without being constrained by sentiment. If the current manager thought he was worth looking at again then he would.
I never said Fenlon owed him anything, I said he should have got a chance to get into shape at East Mains and show what he had or not. WTF was there to lose in that? Fenlon is either an idiot for not having a look at him or Petrie is working his strings. This has more to do with a-hole club doorman than football.
13-07-2013, 02:55 PM
Still plenty time for that, the window doesn't close until August and in the mean time he is getting fit so if a club come calling he will be ready to go.
Is he actively seeking a club? Not intended as Deek bashing or anything but waiting till a club comes calling doesn't sound like the best plan to me.
Don't know why you are comparing him to Sparky though.
Only in response to others comparisons of the same two players.
13-07-2013, 02:57 PM
I never said Fenlon owed him anything, I said he should have got a chance to get into shape at East Mains and show what he had or not. WTF was there to lose in that? Fenlon is either an idiot for not having a look at him or Petrie is working his strings. This has more to do with a-hole club doorman than football.
I think you need to go and lie down for a while.
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 02:59 PM
So it was ok then in your eyes to give Nish abuse?
I didn't give him much stick personally, but what do you suggest fans do with a forward that spends most of the game on his buttocks, can't run, jump or finish?
13-07-2013, 03:07 PM
[/B]
WTF are you on about, "stupid wee jake" aye very good description of someone who has served the club so well you clown.
Yep he served the club very well kicking about with his pleb mates and getting in the paoers, going to Celtic at the first opportunity (with no cash for Hibs) and epitomising a terrible attitude that used to pervade our squad.
He was a good player in his first spell but don't romanticise him because he is a Hibs fan. He was also grossly overpaid during his second spell.
"Served the club so well" is pish. He only ever thought about himself and that's why he's ultimately amounted to nothing.
13-07-2013, 03:12 PM
:top marks :agree: I'd love to see him back playing again, and if he does i hope he bangs the goals in again for whoever that may be. :hibees
Derek Riordan Hibs legend. :not worth
13-07-2013, 03:13 PM
10 goals a season is a pretty pish return for a "legend".
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 03:13 PM
Yep he served the club very well kicking about with his pleb mates and getting in the paoers, going to Celtic at the first opportunity (with no cash for Hibs) and epitomising a terrible attitude that used to pervade our squad.
He was a good player in his first spell but don't romanticise him because he is a Hibs fan. He was also grossly overpaid during his second spell.
"Served the club so well" is pish. He only ever thought about himself and that's why he's ultimately amounted to nothing.
Wrong, Hibs got about £200k from my recollection.
Did somebody else score those 100 goals? What are you slavering at man?
13-07-2013, 03:16 PM
£200k that will have paid for about 6 months of his ineffectual second spell. Great. What a legend making such a valuable contribution to the clubs infrastructure.
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 03:19 PM
£200k that will have paid for about 6 months of his ineffectual second spell. Great. What a legend making such a valuable contribution to the clubs infrastructure.
36 goals in 102 apps is ineffectual? He was played as winger for a lot of those games to.
Did he mount your burd or are you just a bitter wee Yam fudd?
I did not think you could make more of an idiot of yourself, but hey presto you succeeded. :rolleyes:
Wrong, Hibs got about £200k from my recollection.
Did somebody else score those 100 goals? What are you slavering at man?
Yes, but he signed a deal starting the day after our claim to a development fee ran out. We only got cash because he would have been out of the game for 6 odd months between us and Celtic.
Having said that, I don't know how anyone can bash him for his contribution on the pitch 100+ goals and probably easily 25+ assist in 6 odd years. Fantastic return for 300,000 or whatever we paid for him.
13-07-2013, 03:22 PM
Ineffectual? Rubbish. I concede that his last few months with us were disappointing but he played some great football for us during his second spell. In fact some of his best goals were scored after he returned starting with a peach at Hamilton. When Stokes arrived the partnership they struck up was terrific with each of them spurring the other on as they attempted to outdo each other. Your are letting your own personal dislike of the player blind you to the positives.
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 03:25 PM
Ineffectual? Rubbish. I concede that his last few months with us were disappointing but he played some great football for us during his second spell. In fact some of his best goals were scored after he returned starting with a peach at Hamilton. When Stokes arrived the partnership they struck up was terrific with each of them spurring the other on as they attempted to outdo each other. Your are letting your own personal dislike of the player blind you to the positives.
Petrie selling Stokes put all the pressure on Riordan to score because Nish couldn't hit a barn door and the guys Hughes got in, Duffy and some hopeless Lith I've forgotten the name of, never kicked a ball. So it's no wonder he shaded a bit at the end, but he scored a peach in his last game.
13-07-2013, 03:32 PM
Get your facts right before you start spouting pish.
He turned down several offers before celtc paid a fee for him, please tell me about the terrible attitude he had in the squad.
What's his wage got to do with anything, Hibs offered, he took it, he was grossly underpaid in his first spell, Hibs offered, he took it.
And yes he served the club well.
You seem a bit bitter about Deek and his mates. :confused: :aok:
13-07-2013, 03:43 PM
I did not think you could make more of an idiot of yourself, but hey presto you succeeded. :rolleyes:
Can you stop insulting posters when you don't agree. Cheers.
Riordan was good for Hibs but ultimately far from a legend. I'd put about 5 or 6 players ahead of him from that same Mowbray team. It was quite funny when he was winding up jambos but it's hardly deserving of legend status.
13-07-2013, 03:44 PM
When the split took place that season i think he only played/started 1 game and that was the last game against the Dons, he also missed a few games before the split, yeah he wasn't on top form but who was in that team at that time.
Agree about the goals in his second spell, couple against celtc and a cracker at St Mirren to name a few.
Pames McJake should just say he doesn't like Riordan, for whatever reason it is.
13-07-2013, 03:47 PM
Riordan was good for Hibs but ultimately far from a legend. I'd put about 5 or 6 players ahead of him from that same Mowbray team. It was quite funny when he was winding up jambos but it's hardly deserving of legend status.
Sorry you are right, i should just think you are a plumb and not post what i think.
How many of Mowbrays team scored the amount of goals he did, and played as many games to make them legends? :confused:
13-07-2013, 03:56 PM
Sorry you are right, i should just think you are a plumb and not post what i think.
How many of Mowbrays team scored the amount of goals he did, and played as many games to make them legends? :confused:
You did it again....it's plum btw.
There is no goal or appearance criteria for legend status. I'd rather take into account how players treat the club and how they carry themselves.
13-07-2013, 04:00 PM
Your are letting your own personal dislike of the player blind you to the positives.
Very much so.
13-07-2013, 04:02 PM
There is no goal or appearance criteria for legend status. I'd rather take into account how players treat the club and how they carry themselves.
Again sorry, i think i have internet tourettes? :rolleyes:
Personally my legends are gauged on how they have treated other clubs, like scoring over 100 goals for instance, you know doing things few other players in our history have achieved.
13-07-2013, 04:02 PM
His goal tally would suggest that he is a club legend, your posts regarding him suggests that you are bitter and jealous, dont know why.
13-07-2013, 04:05 PM
You've repeatedly slagged Derek Riordan and his mates with personal abuse throughout this thread yet BH gives you a bit back nd you get all nippy.
Bit hypocritical, no?
13-07-2013, 04:05 PM
Its papers not paoers.
Your just making a fool of yourself.
13-07-2013, 04:06 PM
Legendary status should be given to people who are going to be remembered for many decades down the line and spoken about by different generations.
I think that considering Derek Riordan is one of only ten Hibs players to have reached 100+ goals for the club since the end of WWII, I think it's appropriate to say that he's a legend.
13-07-2013, 04:07 PM
But it is okay for you to insult others. :rolleyes:
13-07-2013, 04:07 PM
:hijack:
Maybe this subject deserves its own thread. After all, it must be ages since we had a thread dedicated to Deeks :wink:
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 04:10 PM
lol you plumb, a hundred goals and more, just behind Joe Baker in the all time list. Are you on Garry O's sniff bag ya trumpet? :rolleyes: He's the best we've had since the famous five and you don't think he's a legend? :blah:
I smell YAM.
:bye:
13-07-2013, 04:10 PM
well, i think it's about time for another deeks thread, not saw one for ermmm, at least several days now, same old same old
13-07-2013, 04:12 PM
I didn't give him much stick personally, but what do you suggest fans do with a forward that spends most of the game on his buttocks, can't run, jump or finish?
Encouragement would be my answer, never deserved the abuse he got and IIRC is in the top ten of SPL scorers.
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 04:23 PM
Encouragement would be my answer, never deserved the abuse he got and IIRC is in the top ten of SPL scorers.
How bad would a player have to be to warrant a barracking from fans in your book, or should they all be clapped and cheered on? I watched just about all Nish's Hibernian appearances and he was very poor for the most, especially laterally where he just couldn't score no matter what. Form he took with him to Hartlepool and Dundee, now Dunfermline I believe.
13-07-2013, 04:29 PM
How bad would a player have to be to warrant a barracking from fans in your book, or should they all be clapped and cheered on? I watched just about all Nish's Hibernian appearances and he was very poor for the most, especially laterally where he just couldn't score no matter what. Form he took with him to Hartlepool and Dundee, now Dunfermline I believe.
That is where you let yourself down, where did I suggest they should be clapped and cheered on.
Stop making things up.
You don't have to boo a player or barrack them, everyone worth a sook can see if a player is struggling and giving them crap isn't going to help.
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 04:35 PM
That is where you let yourself down, where did I suggest they should be clapped and cheered on.
Stop making things up.
You don't have to boo a player or barrack them, everyone worth a sook can see if a player is struggling and giving them crap isn't going to help.
You do realise that giving a player stick is not always for the player himself but for the manager who picks him every week, in Nish's case Hughes and Mixu for the most. Sadly Hughes and Mixu were both two pig headed to heed the fans on Nish and they were sacked, maybe not as a result of Nish of course, but defo a contributing factor. Fans are entitled to boo. I didn't boo Nish, but I didn't clap him off or on the park either and I don't scold fans who are not being listened to. Hughes and Mixu never listened to the fans on anything and got the bullet, Nish was part of that.
13-07-2013, 06:17 PM
If you can't even the facts right when trying to slag a Hibs legend, then I suggest you give up and stop yourself from slavering even more pish!
As for the "Hibs Fan" remark, I couldn't really give a toss who he supports it's his massive contribution to Hibernian that matters to me. I see you're complaining about BH abusing you! In my opinion you're fair game for abuse if you come on here abusing a great servant to the club as you have done so with that in mind GIRFUY.
13-07-2013, 06:29 PM
Have a word wi' yersel. Seriously
13-07-2013, 06:35 PM
10 goals a season is a pretty pish return for a "legend".
Jeez. Do you know Derek personally. Do you have evidence to back up your allegations or did he sleep with your bird or something?
I never said Fenlon owed him anything, I said he should have got a chance to get into shape at East Mains and show what he had or not. WTF was there to lose in that? Fenlon is either an idiot for not having a look at him or Petrie is working his strings. This has more to do with a-hole club doorman than football.Why should Fenlon or hibs for that matter offer him the facilities to get "into shape" :confused: ..that's Deeks problem ..not Fenlons or hibs...!! move on ffs !!
13-07-2013, 07:33 PM
Why should Fenlon or hibs for that matter offer him the facilities to get "into shape" :confused: ..that's Deeks problem ..not Fenlons or hibs...!! move on ffs !!
Why not, they done it for Kevin Thomson. :wink:
Why not, they done it for Kevin Thomson. :wink:With the view of signing him as a free agent after leaving a Championship club ....& Deeks ..?..:wink:
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 07:43 PM
Why should Fenlon or hibs for that matter offer him the facilities to get "into shape" :confused: ..that's Deeks problem ..not Fenlons or hibs...!! move on ffs !!
Why did he give Katie the chance and not Deek? Katie, the guy with a history of horrendous injury problems who said he'd crawl over broken glass all along the M8 to sign for the hun. I would sign Deek tonight for the Hibs. Shame I'm not in charge instead of that turnip, Rod.
13-07-2013, 07:47 PM
Why did he give Katie the chance and not Deek? Katie, the guy with a history of horrendous injury problems who said he'd crawl over broken glass all along the M8 to sign for the hun. I would sign Deek tonight for the Hibs. Shame I'm not in charge instead of that turnip, Rod.
Some of Petrie's biggest critics may struggle to agree with that statement.
13-07-2013, 07:49 PM
Would certainly solve the issue of whether we should re-sign Zemmama or not!
13-07-2013, 07:50 PM
With the view of signing him as a free agent after leaving a Championship club ....& Deeks ..?..:wink:
Not what PF said at the time.
& Deeks, he is training. :wink:
LeighLoyal
13-07-2013, 07:52 PM
Some of Petrie's biggest critics may struggle to agree with that statement.
I said it tongue in cheek, but he should get Deek in and stop pissing us Deek fans about. With all respect to Rowan Vine, I don't see where the goals are coming from.
13-07-2013, 07:55 PM
I said it tongue in cheek, but he should get Deek in and stop pissing us Deek fans about. With all respect to Rowan Vine, I don't see where the goals are coming from.
Any chance you could play in goal for Malmo then? :wink: