View Full Version : Match Updates Hearts vs Hibs

Pages : 1 2 [3]

StevesFamau5
03-01-2013, 08:44 PM
im happy with that. not delerious or giving it laldy... but satisfied. IMO mcgirven and big ben were stand out. lewis was a good choice of sub. and as we are unbeaten against the puddle drinkers... its better than last few years. onwards and upwards lads GGTTH!!!!

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

...WentToMowAnSPL
03-01-2013, 08:44 PM
Superb Hibs, well done another great battling performance, we might have even won it had Doyle had his shooting boots on. Unbeaten in 3 against them, James McPake has kept his word, no longer will the tramps run over the top of us. :top marks

A break now, and lets see what the transfer window brings? :pfgwa

Blackpoolhibs is keeping our spirits up ! #GGTTH

Leishy1995
03-01-2013, 08:45 PM
Mcgivern should get a knighthood though.

For all our talk about hearts being rubbish and 2 of their best defenders missing, we were just woeful, no one prepared to pass the ball. We didn't have a shape at all, once again hibs follow up a good performance with a bad one. Stevenson deserves a starting place in that team.

Absolutely, we only started playing football once he came on

kevo1875
I think we now know our best back four...need McGivern signed up... Great defensive performance

crash
The 2 centre halfs were excellent. Clancy played well too, otherwise that was horrific.

I thought Clancy had a nightmare tonight.Hearts definitely targeted him.

TheEastTerrace
A point at Tynie is fine

But let's look at the bigger picture here; that game was the worst I've seen in a long long time and I'm really lost for words at how bad the standards are in Scotland

TheReg!
03-01-2013, 08:46 PM
We had to dig in and we did! They will not beat us this season, I'm pretty confidant that we will go on a decent wee run against them. Good point and the Yams are only going to get worse.

unfortunately it's going to take at least another two clear-outs at the pink palace to even things up, imo

dire is all that can describe that game. My thouts are this - 1 why the **** does Williams constantly insist on booting up the pitch, why? ive been saying this for a while now pass the ball to the full backs or throw out to midfield get the quick game going. 2. not only Williams but all the team aimlessly booting it up the pitch to Griffiths, have some confidence and take a touch ffs! 3. why did fenlon not change things at half time? its clear going 4-4-2 would have worked better or got deegen/claros/taiwo to sit further up the pitch. 4. why do we stand off players and let them run at us? other way around teams close us down in seconds, we panic and boot it away. and 5. for about 4 year + now we have been utter utter ***** at throw ins, 9 times out of 10 we throw it back to the opposition up the line, yet when they have throw ins we give them all the space in the world.

We were poor, the game was awful, tactics entirely unconvincing, but if there was one plus point for me, it was seeing a few harder tackles and a bit of fight from us. It`s still a point and they must be feeling sick at not having won it, with all of that possession and those chances. I will also take 3 unbeaten against them. I am also totally mystified at the slagging off of Sparky on this thread. What did you expect our (14 goals this season) striker to do with absolutely no service? We also had 2 very very good chances to nick it, maybe 3, with Wotherspoon's header.

What an appalling performance by Hibs. They were lucky not to get hammered.

Hearts were pretty well structured in their attacks. Only inept striking stopped them from winning 2 - 0 at least.

I personnally am fed up with Hibs capitulating at Tynecastle.

03-01-2013, 08:47 PM
A point at Tynie is fine

But let's look at the bigger picture here; that game was the worst I've seen in a long long time and I'm really lost for words at how bad the standards are in Scotland
someone mentioned it earlier, its the Hearts way. A soft turf, small pitch and loads of hard tackling. Not a recipe for good football.

If that's his goodbye game, I'm let down. He done fantastic for 9 minutes of the game.

what else could griffiths do ? the first time i heard claros's name getting mentioned in the 2nd half was with 3 mins to FT, and nope i'm not just blaming claros, our midfield created zip

Hearts were pretty well structured in their attacks. Only inept striking stopped them from winning 2 - 0 at least.

How many did we lose by tonight? :confused:

03-01-2013, 08:48 PM

Lucky we didn't capitulate then.....

...WentToMowAnSPL
03-01-2013, 08:48 PM
I think we now know our best back four...need McGivern signed up... Great defensive performance

This .. AND we need Stevenson and Wotherspoon we have to be more than just 11 players we need decent players in a squad

03-01-2013, 08:49 PM
Was that a goodbye from Sparky at the end of the game. :dunno:

kevo1875
Four points from Celtic n the yaks... Would have bit their hand off if offered that after county game

A draw is a draw but our dire performance gives them back the bragging rights.

Hibs.net resident moaner strikes again.

We were poor but it was hardly a capitulation.

You weren't happy beating Celtic on Saturday though so you must be in tears tonight.

pepe
First time ive been dissapointed with a draw at the pbs for a long time.

Off the bar
03-01-2013, 08:50 PM
Lucky to get a point, nothing from midfield, only Williams and magivern between us and a tanking

03-01-2013, 08:50 PM

No one's saying that G, the performance was very poor apart from our defence, harder to break down but we need to start creating and dominating poor teams like Hearts.

03-01-2013, 08:51 PM

"Hammered"? We didn't lose the game though, did we? They should have scored a bucketload, but they didn't. They will be sick at not finishing us off.

Also, the stats will show Hibs P3 W1 D2 L0 this season so far. That's improvement for me on recent times, no matter how terrible we looked there. See the big picture.

03-01-2013, 08:51 PM
Was that a goodbye from Sparky at the end of the game. :dunno:

PF just said he will sit down and talk with sparky in the morning :) i imagine a contract extension will be mentioned :greengrin

03-01-2013, 08:53 PM

some folks are never happy.

Hibs (well, Doyle) had great chances and Cairney 1st half shot could have been better, whilst we nearly had the break of the ball from Doyles shot similar to them when Ben kicked it off Stevenson.
Hearts had more of the play but we had chance too.

They were desperate to beat us, but DIDN'T... 3 games this season and 1 (gifted) goal conceded and no defeats.

We have to be satisfied (at least!)

ps well played blondie. what a game.

03-01-2013, 08:54 PM
Lucky to get a point, nothing from midfield, only Williams and magivern between us and a tanking

Apart from the decent save and then the kick with his left foot, he flapped 2-3 times at crosses, still unsure about him, good shot stopper but worried about his command of the area.

03-01-2013, 08:55 PM
PF just said he will sit down and talk with sparky in the morning :) i imagine a contract extension will be mentioned :greengrin

It didn't look like that was happening the way Griffiths waved to the Hibs fans tonight. :greengrin

We should have scored towards the end :(

Can't fault the players effort - especially the defence, but not a lot of quality on display tonight, by any means.

We seemed to start off where we left off at the end of the Celtic game - hoofing the ball up the park in the hope that a mistake would BE made by the opposing defence and we would capitalise on it.

Never any chance that we were going to craft a goal by silky interpassing!

Thought Stevenson and Wotherspoon when they came on were a distinct improvement - but Hearts once again seemed fitter than us and more ready for the challenge.

With a performance like that we have to be delighted to take a point.

If only Doyle's chance had dropped to Sparky :rolleyes:. We were very lucky tonight but then again I thought Hearts were as well. The luck of the jambos is fading...times are changing.

What happened down our end with all the Hearts fans going ballistic? :confused:

Woody70x2
Just listened to that trumpet McGlynn on the radio... They beat Celtic and think they are champions... Was a prize chump.

A point at Tynie is fine

Where have you been? Scottish football has been dire for a very long time, if you are only noticing now then you haven't been looking very hard.

Good point. Rotten game and performance. 4pts vs Celtic at home and vs them is a good return though.It

is :agree:

But 1 from Killie & RC is not :rolleyes:

Off the bar
03-01-2013, 08:56 PM
Apart from the decent save and then the kick with his left foot, he flapped 2-3 times at crosses, still unsure about him, good shot stopper but worried about his command of the area.

considering how much he had to deal with I thought he played well, best keeper in a while IMO

hibsmad
03-01-2013, 08:56 PM
Decent to come away with a point but I'm a bit pissed with the performance. In my opinion we should have tried to win it more, whether that be by trying to play football, or more positive tactics, or more urgency to get forward from the players.

I feel this way mostly due to the fact that today is the first time in a number of years where I felt our starting eleven was stronger than theirs.

...WentToMowAnSPL
03-01-2013, 08:57 PM
All I heard on Tv was Allez Allez oh Hibernian Fc

03-01-2013, 08:57 PM

There's lots of things to be worried about with Hibs BUT I can't quite see how anyone can see goalkeeper Williams as being one of the problems!

03-01-2013, 08:58 PM
Blackpoolhibs is keeping our spirits up ! #GGTTH
Some places put fluoride into the water, Blackpool pur in Prozac :)

03-01-2013, 08:58 PM
Absolutely delighted with a point. We should of been slaughtered tonight thank god hearts are worse at scoring than the 40 year old virgin.

kevo1875
03-01-2013, 08:59 PM
Just listened to that trumpet McGlynn on the radio... They beat Celtic and think they are champions... Was a prize chump.

Sums that clown up

SJNB Hibby
03-01-2013, 08:59 PM
Very poor performance, tactically wrong by Fenlon, defence immense, midfield non existent, Griffiths feeding off scraps against a very average Hearts team.

We should be dominating against a team like that but instead too many players hid or just didn't turn up, again our midfield showed we are crying out for a creative CM, unfortunately Cairney didn't look like that this evening.

You're glad you're no a YAM then-imagine how they feel-this is a final score we would never have got in the last two years after that performance-at least we stuck in-the defence were massive, and we had a stroke of luck.
Next gane at OUR place, we'll take them:flag:

Dan Sarf
03-01-2013, 09:00 PM
Very interested in Hearts tactic of sending someone down the touchline then crossing it into the box for their (admittedly non existent) strikers to hit. Could it possibly work for us?

There's lots of things to be worried about with Hibs BUT I can't quite see how anyone can see goalkeeper Williams as being one of the problems!

Never said a problem but he did flap terribly at at least 3 crosses tonight, he didn't give me confidence tonight that's all.

im happy with that. not delerious or giving it laldy... but satisfied. IMO mcgirven and big ben were stand out. lewis was a good choice of sub. and as we are unbeaten against the puddle drinkers... its better than last few years. onwards and upwards lads GGTTH!!!!

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Thats me as well, we played at the poorer end of our scale for this season, but all of the back 5 played well, thought Lewis helped us get a bit more of a grip on the game when he came on.

and, how many of these matches have we seen where they've played pash and nicked a goal, and we've crumpled - not now, the last three games we've shown character and gumption, guys like Clancy, McPake, Williams, and McGivern have stood nose to nose with the, and not allowed us to be intimidated.

and we're unbeaten in three against them, with them only heading downwards. We're still a work in progress, but so far from where we were last year.

TheEastTerrace
03-01-2013, 09:02 PM
Where have you been? Scottish football has been dire for a very long time, if you are only noticing now then you haven't been looking very hard.

Where in my post did I insinuate I thought it was any good? :confused:

03-01-2013, 09:02 PM
Hibs.net resident moaner strikes again.

We were poor but it was hardly a capitulation.

You weren't happy beating Celtic on Saturday though so you must be in tears tonight.

I beg your pardon! I was happy on Saturday. Who the hell are you?

Before I go to Gatwick, -please tell me whay I should regret being a Hibby? This result is Okay but you must admit it is not marvellous.

03-01-2013, 09:03 PM
No one's saying that G, the performance was very poor apart from our defence, harder to break down but we need to start creating and dominating poor teams like Hearts.

Yes we do need to start creating more, and hopefully this transfer window might help in that quest? When not losing starts to become a regular thing at tynie, i will start to share your opinion on it being a poor performance, until then i will be quietly satisfied?

McPake said they will not run over the top of us ever again, they have not. 3 undefeated against the gimps, and 4th in the league, thats progress. :pfgwa

Very interested in Hearts tactic of sending someone down the touchline then crossing it into the box for their (admittedly non existent) strikers to hit. Could it possibly work for us?

Is that why they've scored so many this year?!

Four points from Celtic n the yaks... Would have bit their hand off if offered that after county game

03-01-2013, 09:04 PM
You're glad you're no a YAM then-imagine how they feel-this is a final score we would never have got in the last two years after that performance-at least we stuck in-the defence were massive, and we had a stroke of luck.
Next gane at OUR place, we'll take them:flag:

Happy with the point just bitterly disappointed with the performance, not the defence ( immense ) just the general non existent midfield and creativity, they were poor and we should be dominating teams like that.

03-01-2013, 09:04 PM
Never said a problem but he did flap terribly at at least 3 crosses tonight, he didn't give me confidence tonight that's all.

Fair point: I'm not saying he's perfect, but I don't worry about him - personally I think for some of the crosses he was unfairly under pressure from opponents (here "in Europe" he would have had a free kick anytime a Hearts player touched him in the 6 yard box at a corner....)

Dan Sarf
03-01-2013, 09:05 PM
Is that why they've scored so many this year?!

You're right. Forget wingers. Stupid idea.

FFS, will someone tell me how many we lost by? :confused:

It was a terrible game, they had a lot more of the ball but still couldn't score against us. We missed a few good chances and got a wee bit of luck with the McPake pen incident. They got very lucky that Stevenson wasn't sent for an early bath.

A draw at the PBS is an ok result, particularly when we weren't at our best.

Good couple of saves from Williams and block of the season from the blonde bombshell! Sign him up Pat! :wink:

For those (including all the commentators) saying Griffiths was saying goodbye, have you watched any of our other games this season? Griffiths always comes to the fans at the end of the game and makes a big show of applauding etc. stop being paranoid, it means nowt.

Before I go to Gatwick, -please tell me whay I should regret being a Hibby? This result is Okay but you must admit it is not marvellous.

How many marvellous performances have you seen from us recently, tonights result is decent?

Nothing to get carried away with, but certainly nothing to get all upset about, especially about how we played?

Mixu62
Rubbish game, rode our luck to take a point. Midfield disappeared 2nd half. Still not convinced with Doyle, not much composure, but he's still young eh? Positives, still in the top 4 and not conceded a goal in 2 tough games.

03-01-2013, 09:06 PM
I loved the fight from our team and its something we have been missing for a long time.

03-01-2013, 09:08 PM
You're right. Forget wingers. Stupid idea.

I presume their two gave scored and created more than Wothersoon and Cairney? Or Doyle who played wide tonight?

Aye we could do with a pacey winger or two bit lets not hold them up as some sort of way to go.

03-01-2013, 09:09 PM
Thought we were a wee bit lucky to come away with a point but still had a few chances to nick it.

Fenlon is doing what all good Managers do when inheriting a pish team. Make them hard to beat and then build from there.

The defence played very well tonight and it was good to see us mixing it with them. The style of Hibs play might not be what we want but I think Pat is getting it right. A few good signings in the transfer window and the next course of bricks could be laid.

It might not be easy on the eye but we are at the right end of the table and rarely have I watched games this year and thought the players weren't playing for the jersey. That is all you can ask sometimes. Long unbeaten runs always contain a few dodgey performances so lets just be satisfied that we are 3 in a row unbeaten and we are heading in the right direction whilst they plummet.

03-01-2013, 09:11 PM
Superb Hibs, well done another great battling performance, we might have even won it had Doyle had his shooting boots on. Unbeaten in 3 against them, James McPake has kept his word, no longer will the tramps run over the top of us. :top marks

A break now, and lets see what the transfer window brings? :pfgwa
Exactly. That would have been one or two to them for most of the last few seasons. A blood and guts derby not spoiled by pernickity refing and huge progress from Hibs - particularly at the back. Hard earned point.

Seekyit
03-01-2013, 09:11 PM
Let's settle for a point here. By the way, support was excellent.

03-01-2013, 09:12 PM
On the balance of play a point gained more than 2 lost. Disappointing performance but not surprising tbh. Gotta look at the positives. 4th in league and still in the Cup.

03-01-2013, 09:13 PM
On the balance of play a point gained more than 2 lost. Disappointing performance but not surprising tbh. Gotta look at the positives. 4th in league and still in the Cup.Lets not have any of that sort of talk please.

Dan Sarf
03-01-2013, 09:13 PM
I presume their two gave scored and created more than Wothersoon and Cairney? Or Doyle who played wide tonight?

Aye we could do with a pacey winger or two bit lets not hold them up as some sort of way to go.

Em, I was talking about the tactic, not the ******s. Perhaps you didn't notice? Or did you think we played with wingers tonight?

loanheadhibby
03-01-2013, 09:15 PM

agreed, the worst hearts team we have played in possibly 5 years and we sneak a point. Can't be overly excited about that but I'll take it.

03-01-2013, 09:18 PM

Sniff, sniff...

TheReg!
03-01-2013, 09:21 PM
We have to remember that we put in a massive effort against Celtic, this will take it's toll on the players. So to come away with a point on a tight pitch, which looked heavy by the way, is a good result. 4th in the league and looking good for a top six finish. Tell me who would have turned that down at the start of the season???
BTW We may loose Claros and Lee but we will get other players in and so far Pat has done well in the Transfer Market.

03-01-2013, 09:22 PM
I loved the fight from our team and its something we have been missing for a long time.

1st post so be kind :greengrin

Great effort tonight after a fantastic result against the SMELTIC at the weekend.
At long last we seem to have a team built by Paddy that do give a s**t about the club the jersey and the fans.

:pfgwa:flag:

03-01-2013, 09:23 PM
Hibs are S****!

03-01-2013, 09:25 PM
1st post so be kind :greengrin

Great effort tonight after a fantastic result against the SMELTIC at the weekend.
At long last we seem to have a team built by Paddy that do give a s**t about the club the jersey and the fans.

:pfgwa:flag:
Welcome to the forum. :aok:

It's good to see the fight. We have been soft for so long. The performances will come soon. :agree:

03-01-2013, 09:26 PM
Hibs are S****!

:crazy:

03-01-2013, 09:28 PM
Hibs are S****!

Correction, Hibs were **** :wink:

Seen enough decent performances this season from us to know that we are better than that.

Disappointed with tonight, to be honest, but at least they didn't score.

03-01-2013, 09:31 PM
Hibs are S****!

Gone tomorrow hopefully..

EK_Hibs
03-01-2013, 09:35 PM
Poor from us tonight. Taouil was given too much time to spread the play. Rubbish game.

03-01-2013, 09:36 PM
Hibs are S****!

You should not drink on an empty head.

...WentToMowAnSPL
03-01-2013, 09:36 PM
Poor from us tonight. Taouil was given too much time to spread the play. Rubbish game.

Taouil was good ... Pleased when he goes

Andy Bee
03-01-2013, 09:38 PM
Hibs are S****!

"Super" :dunno:

"Sexxy" :dunno:

From the capital....nope that doesn't fit

Erm "Still" 4th :dunno:

03-01-2013, 09:38 PM
It was a great result for Hibs. Hearts should have won the match.

03-01-2013, 09:56 PM
Very poor game, both teams played long balls all night but they were the better side but 3 games undefeated against them is a step in the right direction

03-01-2013, 10:01 PM
Hibs are S****!

I apoligise for that remark. I was merely reacting to the fact that we could have got beaten tonight.

Hibs are, in fact, magic and always will be.

03-01-2013, 10:06 PM
Hibs are S****!

Thanks for that.

Piqué
03-01-2013, 10:16 PM
gie the baw tae reilly

Nicky Riley of Dundee? He was in the stand tonight ;-)

bob12345
03-01-2013, 10:44 PM
Positive - Defence and goalkeeper were extremely well organised and committed. Under constant pressure, with countless balls being flung into the box, and didn't give an inch.

Negative - Lack of an out ball. Sometimes you have to clear the ball anywhere, that's a given. But even when our players had enough time to measure a clearance, it was still being lofted up to the Hearts' centre halves. Surely balls into the channels or feet of the striker and an midfielder - who was moving into intelligent space - would be worth a shot? It's just as easy to do that as it is to punt it high and straight.

03-01-2013, 10:55 PM
Hibs were awful tonight let's face it. They just reacted to Hearts attacks without building anything of their own.

In other words they were a defeat waiting to happen and they were bloody lucky it didn't happen.

03-01-2013, 11:23 PM
Was it just me that thought we played well? Especially towards the end?

03-01-2013, 11:26 PM

We had a 5-10 minute spell, if that, where we looked threatening. Other than that and a couple of chances, we just stopped them scoring. I think Fenlon was wanting to make the point that the Yams are that pish, our midfield could take the night off and they'd still not score.

That was them at their best, and us at our worst, and there wasn't much to choose between the teams. We could easily have nicked it towards the end.

03-01-2013, 11:29 PM

They could have scored twice in the last ten mins, when McGivern cleared off the line and also when they hit the bar....dont think we looked like scoring near the end.

03-01-2013, 11:29 PM

No, i agree with you.

After last season's horror show, I'm happy that Fenlons make us hard to beat and every player always battles for 90 minutes. Rebuilding takes time.

03-01-2013, 11:32 PM
Hibs were awful tonight let's face it. They just reacted to Hearts attacks without building anything of their own.

In other words they were a defeat waiting to happen and they were bloody lucky it didn't happen.

No they were bloody well organised at the back and broke up play in all sections of the field - and they created two or three really good goal scoring chances that could hav seen another 1-0 victory.

I'm pretty certain we could have played for another hour without Hearts scoring. They had their three top scorers this season on the park at the end - who are still two goals behind Griffiths between them.

That is the sort of blood and guts performance you need to have in derbies to just step up to the plate. The fancy football and big wins can come later.

SneakersO'Toole
04-01-2013, 06:40 AM
Accept the point gladly and take solace in the fact we are unbeaten this season against the knuckle draggers.

We will crush them at home in a few months time.

04-01-2013, 06:50 AM
When we had the ball on the deck we put nice passes together. Unfortunately not often enough. As God said before the game, a draw at Tynecastle is s good result. I thought we would rip them when I saw their line up but we never. ****** game. Good result.

04-01-2013, 08:45 AM
Many people saying it was a great performance from the defence today, especially from Clancy and McGivern and I would agree that defending was great but the distribution of the ball from defence was pretty bad. The whole back 4 were guilty of panicking and booting the ball up field when a pass was on, it just created pressure on us as the ball was coming back so quick. Clancy was targetted IMO and although he dealt with everything well he did make a lot of wayward passes, something that I think he needs to work on. I dont think Hearts gave any of the defenders a roasting and the defence wasnt under pressure because of good attacking play by hearts, we were put under pressure because we couldnt keep the ball. Stevenson came on and imediately tried to bring the ball down and pass it around, I think Felon needs to watch what he is doing with stevenson as the lad will quickly become disillusioned if he keeps putting in better performances than those around him and finds himself on the bench each week. Completely understand why McGivern was picked ahead of him because of the height issue, but Stevenson can add something in midfield as well.

I think it was clear to see that hibs didnt want to lose the game more than they wanted to win it. It seems there is still a big mental issue for hibs when it comes to playing hearts which will perhaps only go away with time.

04-01-2013, 09:15 AM
Many people saying it was a great performance from the defence today, especially from Clancy and McGivern and I would agree that defending was great but the distribution of the ball from defence was pretty bad. The whole back 4 were guilty of panicking and booting the ball up field when a pass was on, it just created pressure on us as the ball was coming back so quick. Clancy was targetted IMO and although he dealt with everything well he did make a lot of wayward passes, something that I think he needs to work on. I dont think Hearts gave any of the defenders a roasting and the defence wasnt under pressure because of good attacking play by hearts, we were put under pressure because we couldnt keep the ball. Stevenson came on and imediately tried to bring the ball down and pass it around, I think Felon needs to watch what he is doing with stevenson as the lad will quickly become disillusioned if he keeps putting in better performances than those around him and finds himself on the bench each week. Completely understand why McGivern was picked ahead of him because of the height issue, but Stevenson can add something in midfield as well.

I think it was clear to see that hibs didnt want to lose the game more than they wanted to win it. It seems there is still a big mental issue for hibs when it comes to playing hearts which will perhaps only go away with time.

Unbeaten in 3 now against them, we are beginning to understand that this game is a different game from the rest of them. It is about winning of course it is, but not losing is sometimes just as good in this fixture.

Our next game at easter road becomes even more vital for them, if we win or draw it becomes unbeaten in 4 for us, and a fixture they wont have WON in 4 for them.

04-01-2013, 09:28 AM

It doesn't go away with time, it goes away with winning (or at least not losing) games. Last night was the first time that Hibs haven't lost a derby away from home for over three years.

04-01-2013, 05:04 PM
That wasn't a football match.
That was human pinball.
you cannot play blood and thunder derby football on that tiny wee pitch (has it gotten smaller than it used to be?)
Yams coped better but they are used to pinball.
The good chances they had where more from fortunate ricochets rather than carving us open with good football.

04-01-2013, 05:14 PM
They could have scored twice in the last ten mins, when McGivern cleared off the line and also when they hit the bar....dont think we looked like scoring near the end.

There was one their keeper spilled and Griffiths managed a tackle on the clearing defender which might have gone in and Spoony's near post header from a corner. It was actually an exciting end to end game for about 10 minutes at the end!

I think the rest of the season will define how good a result this was. Beat them back at ER, make the split and keep them in the bottom 6 and that's a handy 2 win 2 draw unbeaten season against them.

04-01-2013, 05:16 PM
That wasn't a football match.
That was human pinball.
you cannot play blood and thunder derby football on that tiny wee pitch (has it gotten smaller than it used to be?)
Yams coped better but they are used to pinball.
The good chances they had where more from fortunate ricochets rather than carving us open with good football.

Think it's actually bigger (though still Tiny). Didn't they remove a row of seats so UEFA would let them use it?

04-01-2013, 06:06 PM
Think it's actually bigger (though still Tiny). Didn't they remove a row of seats so UEFA would let them use it?

That made it slightly longer, not wider. Reduced capacity by about 500 because they had to take out a couple of rows at each end.