View Full Version : Greggs The Leigh Griffiths Is Going To.............. ???????? Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

10-01-2013, 06:51 PM
The ostriches are debating a Webster for Griffiths/ Wolves deal. :-)

10-01-2013, 06:54 PM
I'm getting a bit fed up reading this tbh. We had the worst result in our history last May & Yams had their best & yet our season ticket sales are only a few hundred lower than the big team's! Given that awful day I'm astonished & hugely proud of the loyalty & resilience of our support this season. If our team, management & owners had performed as well as our support over the last few years, then we would be in a far better place than we currently are.

How would you have done things differently ? its easy to say "i would have hired better" but really any manager we get in is a throw of the dice in my opinion some work out and some dont. The fact of the matter is if we want the players on the pitch to be of a good standard by hook or by crook we have to pay for them :wink: or will all the Stay away Hibees wait till we are totally ****ed like over the road before we start standing up and being counted ? I get that times are hard, May was Gash, The last 3 years have been dire i get all that, But the amount of people that seem to think we should be or are in a position to buy player at 150k and pay them what they are worth while attacting 10k fans to ER worries me :agree: You dont have to look too hard on here to find some folk suggesting we keep the 3 loanees and try and bring in 3-4 others :faf::faf::faf:

10-01-2013, 06:55 PM
I'm getting a bit fed up reading this tbh. We had the worst result in our history last May & Yams had their best & yet our season ticket sales are only a few hundred lower than the big team's! Given that awful day I'm astonished & hugely proud of the loyalty & resilience of our support this season. If our team, management & owners had performed as well as our support over the last few years, then we would be in a far better place than we currently are.

I and many others (think it may have been record numbers) "got back on the horse" in the Leith festival for the fantastic open day held at the club by the historical trust. I took great heart from seeing like minded hibbies taking in what defines our club, history and traditions looking at the exhibits on display in the impressive museum. We are and never will be defined by that result against them we're bigger than that. We may get knocked down but we've sure as hell proved over the years we get back up again. When things do click it'll be an interesting ride.:flag:

Technofob
10-01-2013, 06:57 PM
:greengrin Did you catch the number of the train? :wink:

FTH 7062 :greengrin

10-01-2013, 07:17 PM
How would you have done things differently ? its easy to say "i would have hired better" but really any manager we get in is a throw of the dice in my opinion some work out and some dont. The fact of the matter is if we want the players on the pitch to be of a good standard by hook or by crook we have to pay for them :wink: or will all the Stay away Hibees wait till we are totally ****ed like over the road before we start standing up and being counted ? I get that times are hard, May was Gash, The last 3 years have been dire i get all that, But the amount of people that seem to think we should be or are in a position to buy player at 150k and pay them what they are worth while attacting 10k fans to ER worries me :agree: You dont have to look too hard on here to find some folk suggesting we keep the 3 loanees and try and bring in 3-4 others :faf::faf::faf:

Exactly.....I get annoyed with the number of people who tell me we have no ambition, or we are crap, but they never attend home games.....:rolleyes:

10-01-2013, 07:42 PM
Can guarantee that he is in fact staying till at LEAST the eots. Hint. :aok:

Are you hinting that he may be here beyond this season ?

1950's hibbie
10-01-2013, 07:49 PM
Just watc hed the Wolves manager on TV. He said his priority is a striker, Griffiths was discussed, and the manager said if he signed a high priced striker some of his players may continue loans to get more experience and improve their game. It could be taken that if he cant buy someone, Leigh would stay at Wolves.

10-01-2013, 07:58 PM
Just watc hed the Wolves manager on TV. He said his priority is a striker, Griffiths was discussed, and the manager said if he signed a high priced striker some of his players may continue loans to get more experience and improve their game. It could be taken that if he cant buy someone, Leigh would stay at Wolves.

Well I hope Saunders doesn't keep Fenlon waiting till the last minute. It's possible we could lose Griffiths and end up with no replacement.

10-01-2013, 08:02 PM

I wasn't really being overly critical of anyone at ER. I was only saying IMO & given our results in last few seasons that our support has actually been our most consistent & best performing area in that period. As a London based season ticket holder/Hibernians member I'm trying to do my bit but I recognise times are hard & many people are having to make tough choices about where to spend their money. I would always wish our gates to be bigger but I think in circumstances that our support this season has been better than expected & hopefully will improve along with the team & results in 2nd half of the season.

10-01-2013, 08:04 PM
Can guarantee that he is in fact staying till at LEAST the eots. Hint. :aok:

YIPEEE!!! :woohoo::flag::scarf:

I'm of the belief that we have a manager and the bones of a team to really kick on leaving the Yams spewing in our wake - but securing Leigh's services at least until the end of the season was always going to be a pre-requisite to making a start on that THIS season, SO basically I am freckin delighted at this news (you'd bettr be right mind :take that :greengrin)

Bleeds green
10-01-2013, 08:05 PM

That was yesterday Saunders said that I can 100 percent say sparky is a hibby until the end of the season!!!!!

10-01-2013, 08:27 PM
I and many others (think it may have been record numbers) "got back on the horse" in the Leith festival for the fantastic open day held at the club by the historical trust. I took great heart from seeing like minded hibbies taking in what defines our club, history and traditions looking at the exhibits on display in the impressive museum. We are and never will be defined by that result against them we're bigger than that. We may get knocked down but we've sure as hell proved over the years we get back up again. When things do click it'll be an interesting ride.:flag:

Great post, but you might be missing a vital wee adverb?

GGTTH07
10-01-2013, 08:29 PM
YIPEEE!!! :woohoo::flag::scarf:

I'm of the belief that we have a manager and the bones of a team to really kick on leaving the Yams spewing in our wake - but securing Leigh's services at least until the end of the season was always going to be a pre-requisite to making a start on that THIS season, SO basically I am freckin delighted at this news (you'd bettr be right mind :take that :greengrin)
Not saying its 100% just what I'm told by a close source :aok: Put it clearer unless wolves change there minds he's ours till eots. Obviously his contract is up meaning he is free to talk to clubs...

1950's hibbie
10-01-2013, 09:53 PM
That was yesterday Saunders said that I can 100 percent say sparky is a hibby until the end of the season!!!!!

I never thought of that, hope I am not spreading misinformation. That happens quite a lot with that station, British news is sometimes a day old.

10-01-2013, 10:35 PM
A lot of these guys who are certain of Griffiths saying seem to be new posters. Not saying that none of you have a legitimate source, just rather coincidental.

10-01-2013, 10:38 PM
A lot of these guys who are certain of Griffiths saying seem to be new posters. Not saying that none of you have a legitimate source, just rather coincidental.

I hope he stays - but I really hope he GTF off twitter. He continues to make himself look like a tit arguing with arseoles every night on social networks. He's a pro footballer and its time to step away from the keyboard assassins.

10-01-2013, 11:09 PM
I hope he stays - but I really hope he GTF off twitter. He continues to make himself look like a tit arguing with arseoles every night on social networks. He's a pro footballer and its time to step away from the keyboard assassins.

Not good reading from him on Twitter tonight.

10-01-2013, 11:11 PM
He should've kept it deleted, all he does is cause himself bother by biting at everything people say to him. Really poor from him tonight.

10-01-2013, 11:25 PM
He should've kept it deleted, all he does is cause himself bother by biting at everything people say to him. Really poor from him tonight.

Telling someone to go back to there own country. :rolleyes:

10-01-2013, 11:30 PM
Anyway, it does sound like his short term future has been decided. Someone just asked him if he's going back to wolves and his reply was "all will be revealed soon".

HibeeN
10-01-2013, 11:32 PM

Saw that, though he seems to have deleted it. A bit late for that! Just when he seems to have turned the corner and doing well with his attitude, he goes and does something like this.

Really making himself out to be an idiot on twitter tonight. Won't be making a good impression for the new Wolves manager!

10-01-2013, 11:34 PM
Saw that, though he seems to have deleted it. A bit late for that! Just when he seems to have turned the corner and doing well with his attitude, he goes and does something like this.

Really making himself out to be an idiot on twitter tonight. Won't be making a good impression for the new Wolves manager!

HibeeN
10-01-2013, 11:35 PM

Silver lining I suppose!

10-01-2013, 11:36 PM
Anyway, it does sound like his short term future has been decided. Someone just asked him if he's going back to wolves and his reply was "all will be revealed soon".

http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mac3x3mzkj1ruj2iwo1_400.gif

10-01-2013, 11:37 PM
Well I hope Saunders doesn't keep Fenlon waiting till the last minute. It's possible we could lose Griffiths and end up with no replacement.

10-01-2013, 11:37 PM

Yep, he's not the brightest at times. No doubt be making its way into the papers now! He's usually good at having a bit of banter or returning a comment but he needs to learn when to just shut his gob.

10-01-2013, 11:43 PM
Yep, he's not the brightest at times. No doubt be making its way into the papers now! He's usually good at having a bit of banter or returning a comment but he needs to learn when to just shut his gob.

Maybe Saunders will think twice about keeping him there, keep it up Leigh :greengrin:aok:

10-01-2013, 11:49 PM
if he doesnt stop he'll end up with an SFA charge. its daft. Pat needs to have a big word with him.

hungryhibs
11-01-2013, 12:51 AM
the guy is only sticking up for his self that's what we do where we are brought up no matter who u are

11-01-2013, 06:56 AM
the guy is only sticking up for his self that's what we do where we are brought up no matter who u are

Johm smeaton - is that you? :)

Actually double slap head with hand moment.

Scotland is more diverse these days, narrow-mindedness will only hold the country back. Doesn't matter what your name is we're all Jock Tamsons bairns. Besides your name no longer marks where
You are born.

In an odd way I wonder if this spike in Leighs tweets is because he's bored out his nut whilst away from home.... Another sign he's better off where he is?

Russell The Dug
11-01-2013, 09:59 AM
Jail?

11-01-2013, 11:18 AM
Back home tae leith ?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20987474

SheriffLobo
11-01-2013, 11:36 AM
http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article/club-statement-leigh-griffiths-110113-591317.aspx

"The player is currently on loan at Hibernian FC and is likely to remain there for the rest of the season. “

From the wolves statement on Sparky.....

11-01-2013, 11:37 AM
Johm smeaton - is that you? :)

Actually double slap head with hand moment.

Scotland is more diverse these days, narrow-mindedness will only hold the country back. Doesn't matter what your name is we're all Jock Tamsons bairns. Besides your name no longer marks where
You are born.

In an odd way I wonder if this spike in Leighs tweets is because he's bored out his nut whilst away from home.... Another sign he's better off where he is?

Unless it was a deliberate ploy to make his employers annoyed enough to let him stay.................knowing Leigh probably not clever enough to even think of that but glad he's staying.

11-01-2013, 01:10 PM
Well aside from all the twatter nonsense - YAAAAAAS! Now just sort out McGivern and Claros and add a good winger and we'll be cooking with gas :thumbsup:

11-01-2013, 04:45 PM
from the BBC article about leigh:

The player is currently on loan at Hibernian FC and is likely to remain there for the rest of the season.

....yay!...?

(I'm delighted if true, though some people maybe want him strung up...?)

11-01-2013, 04:51 PM
................and it's only 5 days till Hearts' next (non)payday .:greengrin

11-01-2013, 05:00 PM
also, tomorrow's saturday! :aok:

neilmartinrocks
11-01-2013, 05:02 PM
also, tomorrow's saturday! :aok:

but no football

11-01-2013, 05:16 PM
but no football
yeah, but better than tomorrow being monday, no? :dunno:

11-01-2013, 07:24 PM
Wolves must have some squad if Griffiths can't even get on the bench ! It doesn't look like it though in the first 40 mins of this match v Blackburn

007 Mickey Weir
11-01-2013, 07:45 PM
Why would he be on the bench? He is a Hibs player until the 19th at least.

davhibby
11-01-2013, 10:09 PM
Wolves must have some squad if Griffiths can't even get on the bench ! It doesn't look like it though in the first 40 mins of this match v Blackburn

He left wolves yesterday

11-01-2013, 10:33 PM
He left wolves yesterday

I wasn't expecting him to be quoted , I was just referencing my surprise that he can't get a game down there - they don't look that special - and he often does..

11-01-2013, 10:34 PM
Why would he be on the bench? He is a Hibs player until the 19th at least.

As above - was a more general point...

11-01-2013, 10:37 PM
Having picked up on the griffiths twitter story it seems liverpool are now ready to step in with a bid.

11-01-2013, 10:37 PM
Read the threads, he's a Hibs player till the end of the season

11-01-2013, 10:42 PM
Read the threads, he's a Hibs player till the end of the season

Read this thread - was just making a general point ...I know he is with us...

KanyeWestLower
12-01-2013, 12:45 AM
Has anyone said jail yet because that would be humorous

12-01-2013, 05:30 AM
Read this thread - was just making a general point ...I know he is with us...

Fair do's, I get you now, think you'll find the championship is still a lot higher quality than SPL, he might look the bee's here but down there he's probably just another journeyman player.

12-01-2013, 05:40 AM
Has anyone said jail yet because that would be humorous

A custodial sentence is no doubt a possibility. I have been walking around the house shaking my head in mock outrage at his antics. Even the wife and mother in law and shocked and have been phoning friends to discuss. It makes the Saville headlines pale into insignificance....I couldn't even sleep last night. I might have to set up a Facebook discussion group and take a couple of days of work to get me head round it again.

Outrageous what he did. Just dispicable........what was it he said again? I seem to have forgotten due to all the mock outrage.

12-01-2013, 07:50 AM
A custodial sentence is no doubt a possibility. I have been walking around the house shaking my head in mock outrage at his antics. Even the wife and mother in law and shocked and have been phoning friends to discuss. It makes the Saville headlines pale into insignificance....I couldn't even sleep last night. I might have to set up a Facebook discussion group and take a couple of days of work to get me head round it again.

Outrageous what he did. Just dispicable........what was it he said again? I seem to have forgotten due to all the mock outrage.

A racially-aggravated public order offence carries a maximum sentence of 2 years in custody.

They should throw away the key.

12-01-2013, 10:41 AM

A racially-aggravated public order offence carries a maximum sentence of 2 years in custody.

They should throw away the key.

He should be paraded at yam home games, where the self righteous merricks can throw (free) tomatoes at him to show their indignation..

12-01-2013, 10:57 AM
Fair do's, I get you now, think you'll find the championship is still a lot higher quality than SPL, he might look the bee's here but down there he's probably just another journeyman player.

Fair play - it must be a higher standard if players like him are not getting a look in - it certainly looks a more athletic standard - players
Look bigger and faster , more technical - Leigh's has excellent technique which makes it more a surprise for me that he didn't get a decent run at it

12-01-2013, 11:13 AM

I'm not convinced its much better. I see a lot of it down here & trust me there's some right garbage. The players are undoubtedly stronger & more athletic but it doesn't necessarily make them better, see Sodje & Agogo for example. I guess we'll never know but the fact that the Dobster could go from Q of S to starring in the Championship puts some perspective on it. PS, I should say I think SD is a very talented player but he'd slipped to Dumbarton in Scotland.

12-01-2013, 11:20 AM

He should be paraded at yam home games, where the self righteous merricks can throw (free) tomatoes at him to show their indignation..

Bananas were the preferred fruit of choice to hurl at Tynie - before they get on their high horse about Leigh...

12-01-2013, 12:48 PM
You know all the hearts fans I actually know and are friends with agree that is has been blown out of all proportion

13-01-2013, 06:05 PM

No such thing as a free tomato. However, if this tomato cash comes out of their shan fighting fund, then I'm all in favour.

13-01-2013, 07:26 PM
No such thing as a free tomato. However, if this tomato cash comes out of their shan fighting fund, then I'm all in favour.

I was only suggesting free ones, because there's no way they'd be able to afford 400,000 paid for ones....maybe they could just blow him kisses....or is he too old?

LeighLoyal
13-01-2013, 07:34 PM
If this Twitter garbage helps Wolves punt him to us perm then great. Glad it happened. :aok:

13-01-2013, 07:40 PM
If this Twitter garbage helps Wolves punt him to us perm then great. Glad it happened. :aok:

13-01-2013, 08:26 PM
One might almost think Sparky cooked up the whole thing on purpose so that Wolves would be glad to send him back to us!

He'd have to be daft to do something like that though wouldn't he?

Russell The Dug
13-01-2013, 08:34 PM
One might almost think Sparky cooked up the whole thing on purpose so that Wolves would be glad to send him back to us!

He'd have to be daft to do something like that though wouldn't he?

I think he was already told he's staying at us one Thurs mate.