View Full Version : Greggs The Leigh Griffiths Is Going To.............. ???????? Thread
Gerard
05-01-2013, 09:53 PM
We need to be patient as Hibs need time to discuss the situation with Wolves. If we can get Sparkly to sign then great but if not, it will not have been for lack of effort. I think Sparky has a great future in the game. We all know about the 'Golden Generation' that has gone on to other clubs. Sparky is a young man who would benefit from being at Hibs for a little longer.
I have a feeling that Sparky just might be at Hibs a little longer.
05-01-2013, 09:57 PM
Agents suck!
muirhousehibby
05-01-2013, 09:58 PM
There's a few ways this could all go now-
Wolves board might leave it up to the new appointed manager, who may think
He's been out on loan at Hibernian and he's done great, they loved him there He's back now and it's up to him.
They could also loan him out till end of season to someone down south, or may sell if cash fee is met by someone else.
Going to maybe be a tough 2 weeks ahead but hopefully it goes our way in the end.:thumbsup:
Gerard
05-01-2013, 10:22 PM
There's a few ways this could all go now-
Wolves board might leave it up to the new appointed manager, who may think
He's been out on loan at Hibernian and he's done great, they loved him there He's back now and it's up to him.
They could also loan him out till end of season to someone down south, or may sell if cash fee is met by someone else.
Going to maybe be a tough 2 weeks ahead but hopefully it goes our way in the end.:thumbsup:
As fans we can help our club by attending games when it is possible. I use the word our club as the club is always owned by people who are its stewards and the club belongs to its fans. The more money that we give to our club as fans there will be more chance of keeping the loan players.
As a club we have gone through a few tough years but there is light at the end of this tunnel. The team is a lot mentally stronger and we as fans could benefit from this mental toughness.
steviej147
05-01-2013, 11:47 PM
Well guys wolves have sacked there manager and threatening half the first team also this could blow the griffiths deal right out the water pf and rp need to sort this sharpish.:pfgwa
06-01-2013, 12:04 AM
Well guys wolves have sacked there manager and threatening half the first team also this could blow the griffiths deal right out the water pf and rp need to sort this sharpish.:pfgwa
.......or could it benefit us if Wolves are 'clearing the decks' so to speak.
06-01-2013, 12:17 AM
We've also just sold de la Cruz. Raging.
06-01-2013, 12:20 AM
hey !! when did this all happen
...WentToMowAnSPL
06-01-2013, 01:16 AM
I think we need to inform twitter how disappointing Leigh griffiths is to prevent out ( just outside) Birmingham brethren from retaining his services ...
06-01-2013, 08:41 AM
Surprise Surprise, from today's SP:-
"Celtic are considering taking a £250,000 punt on Leigh Griffiths as part of the club's on -going winter transfer activity"
:bitchy:
Now that is one move I'd really hate to see.
06-01-2013, 09:12 AM
I would ask - is this forum predominantly about football or is it now about money?
By that logic we should be letting Griffiths go and replacing him with Messi. We have to live within our means, so all signings have to be affordable.
For what it's worth, I'd agree Griffiths is worth the £150k because we'd finish a few places lower without him (which means less prize money, so the fee is self-financing) and his wages as a Hibs player won't be that much more than our contribution to what Wolves are paying him.
06-01-2013, 03:30 PM
How many walk up / 1/2 ST's were we short of doing a deal :dunno:
How many manager/player pay-offs would have needed to be avoided to have had the cash to sign him?
It's not always the fans' fault.
06-01-2013, 04:00 PM
I think the sacking paves the way for loan deal to be extended till end season.
I agree that this is the most likely outcome.
Although Leigh has scored a few goals in Scotland,im not so sure he has a future at Wolves
06-01-2013, 04:08 PM
The thought that if Calderwood saw the opportunity that was staring him in the eyes we wouldn't be in this predicament. Instead we tried to get PhilAirey on loan.
When people say that we can't keep blaming Calderwood for things that are going wrong for us, there you go.
06-01-2013, 04:26 PM
I was told earlier (by a Hibs supporter with solid connections) that Leeds have offered FOUR TIMES the salary that Hibs have been able to put together for Leigh.
It will take a miracle to happen for him to be a Hibs player after the winter break. :boo hoo:
06-01-2013, 04:48 PM
I was told earlier (by a Hibs supporter with solid connections) that Leeds have offered FOUR TIMES the salary that Hibs have been able to put together for Leigh.
It will take a miracle to happen for him to be a Hibs player after the winter break. :boo hoo:
If that is the case then there is only one outcome and one which you couldnt blame either club or player. We would just need to get a decent quality replacement and move on.
06-01-2013, 04:53 PM
"Celtic are considering taking a £250,000 punt on Leigh Griffiths as part of the club's on -going winter transfer activity"
Not that it would be much of a shock Celtic trying to weaken another SPL team, but they already have 6 first team strikers in their squad, what would they need Griffiths for?
If we dont sign him, I really hope he doesnt go there, as it would most likely be a waste of another talented player.
06-01-2013, 05:02 PM
If true, it'll be tempting for Griffiths but he will realise that it will be his career on hold for a couple of years and then possiblly he'll have to start again. He won't sniff regular games and if he had no connections with an SPL club, they wouldn't be interested.
06-01-2013, 05:04 PM
Not that it would be much of a shock Celtic trying to weaken another SPL team, but they already have 6 first team strikers in their squad, what would they need Griffiths for?
If we dont sign him, I really hope he doesnt go there, as it would most likely be a waste of another talented player.
Having already made a move down south and it not worked out maybe just maybe he'll decide to bide his time at hibs till say end of next season , on less money but getting first team football and scoring goals in his home town, for his club, near all his family. We can but hope that his agent sees the bigger picture of career development here.
06-01-2013, 05:05 PM
Not surprised if this was the case.
The thought crossed my mind when Leigh didnt celebrate too much when he scored against them. Hope i'm well off the mark and he stays..... but wondering what might be going on behind the green door ?
Glory Glory
06-01-2013, 05:27 PM
What a load of tosh.I've got a better conspiracy theory -he didn't score at all against the previous seven clubs-perhaps he's heard that they've all bought raffle tickets for him.
Twiglet
06-01-2013, 05:37 PM
Not surprised if this was the case.
The thought crossed my mind when Leigh didnt celebrate too much when he scored against them. Hope i'm well off the mark and he stays..... but wondering what might be going on behind the green door ?
Glory Glory
I just took that as "it's early in the game, alot can change, especially against Celtic" rather than "that might be my club soon".
06-01-2013, 05:44 PM
I just took that as "it's early in the game, alot can change, especially against Celtic" rather than "that might be my club soon".
Yup, and when you think of some previous celebrations maybe its a sign he's maturing.
06-01-2013, 05:44 PM
Whats the latest with Kenny Miller? where's cat23?
06-01-2013, 05:47 PM
He also sucked his thumb to the GFITW, hardly the actions of someone trying to endear themselves ;)
06-01-2013, 06:09 PM
I'll tel you the latest.
Hibs have never ever been in touch with Miller or his agent. Complete bollox to suggest otherwise, Sorry Cat..but the're has been no dialogue with Hibs and Miller whatsoever.
06-01-2013, 06:15 PM
I'll tel you the latest.
Hibs have never ever been in touch with Miller or his agent. Complete bollox to suggest otherwise, Sorry Cat..but the're has been no dialogue with Hibs and Miller whatsoever.
All I've heard is that he has been training with Sevco and said that he would be open to a move to the Huns.
06-01-2013, 06:17 PM
Having thought about it we should be fine if Griffiths goes, we've got big Shefki on the bench :greengrin
06-01-2013, 06:23 PM
Miller is training with the huns.
06-01-2013, 06:23 PM
I'll tel you the latest.
Tbf I think that's what he's always said but he said miller woul like to join us.
06-01-2013, 06:44 PM
Having thought about it we should be fine if Griffiths goes, we've got big Shefki on the bench :greengrin
Very much this :agree:
06-01-2013, 06:46 PM
Tbf I think that's what he's always said but he said miller woul like to join us.
I think Miller was interested in a temporary loan (like Beckham and Robbie Keane have done before) and Hibs were a candidate, particularly given that Rangers can't sign anyone. His MLS team appear to have knocked the idea on the head, so there's nothing Hibs can do.
06-01-2013, 06:55 PM
Possibly not the most valuable contribution to this thread, but did we ever find out if the aliens that abducted Sparky actually gave us the real one back? Is it possible that the one playing with us is in fact a replicant that we can replace with the original if he is ever beamed back?
steviej147
06-01-2013, 07:31 PM
dean saunders is the new manager at wolves hope this doesnt stop pf signing lg that would be a big blow to the mighty hibees.:flag::pfgwa
06-01-2013, 07:32 PM
That was quick.
Was he in the Wolves shop yesterday? :greengrin
06-01-2013, 07:33 PM
A handy striker in his day, might fancy working with Griffiths.
06-01-2013, 07:35 PM
Was at a dinner he was speaking at last year. Didn't really come across that well more just one of the lads. Certainly couldn't see him selling Wolves to Leigh. He is hoping I am right.
06-01-2013, 07:37 PM
If I was Griffiths I'd want to work with him in the second half of the season, try and make it down south but if it didn't work out try and move back to hibs in the summer.
from a career point of view He'd be crazy to committ to hibs just now imo
06-01-2013, 07:42 PM
That was quick.
Pat Murphy said that Wolves were planning to bin Solbakken irrespective of the result against Luton.
06-01-2013, 07:44 PM
If I was Griffiths I'd want to work with him in the second half of the season, try and make it down south but if it didn't work out try and move back to hibs in the summer.
from a career point of view He'd be crazy to committ to hibs just now imo
True. He's got an opportunity now to show Saunders that he is good enough to play in the championship. If he does go back to Wolves then I wish Leigh Griffiths all the best. If it doesn't work out, then hopefully he will be back in a Hibs jersey.
06-01-2013, 07:47 PM
Miller is training with the huns.
I read today, with quotes, that he is desperate to sign for Newco ( supported them as a boy and the usual cliches).
steviej147
06-01-2013, 07:52 PM
That was quick.
lmfao dean saunders will be unveiled to fans tomorrow and morgan has vowed to give him cash to bolster the squad in this transfer window.:flag:
Greendub
06-01-2013, 08:49 PM
Petrie will give him some cash too
06-01-2013, 10:33 PM
I just hope this gets sorted out one way or another in next week!! The will he/wont he saga has dragged on too long and is doing my head in!! If he is leaving we need to start concentrating our efforts on finding a replacement!!
07-01-2013, 07:32 AM
It was only a matter of time before the Press tried to pin more things on hi
... :o)
http://m.scotsman.com/news/health/scotland-s-high-teenage-pregnancy-rate-will-be-investigated-1-2721300
07-01-2013, 07:38 AM
I can't see Saunders waiting till the 20th of January for the return of Griffiths in order to make a decision about a fringe player i.e. whether to use him till the end of the season, extend his contract or get rid of him for a nominal fee. The media are saying that Saunder's arrival will scupper Hibs chances of getting Griffiths but I think it might work in Hibs favour. Get in there Petrie while Wolves are in a state of transitory confusion.
07-01-2013, 08:50 AM
I can't see Saunders waiting till the 20th of January for the return of Griffiths in order to make a decision about a fringe player i.e. whether to use him till the end of the season, extend his contract or get rid of him for a nominal fee. The media are saying that Saunder's arrival will scupper Hibs chances of getting Griffiths but I think it might work in Hibs favour. Get in there Petrie while Wolves are in a state of transitory confusion.
I think your right. Saunders will probably have too move players on to bring in some of his own signings
07-01-2013, 08:58 AM
It might work in our favour, but a new manager might also wonder why a young player who is top scorer in another league isnt getting a chance in a team who are struggling. Saunders hasnt got anything to lose by giving Griffiths a chance, but hopefully for us he thinks otherwise!
07-01-2013, 10:42 AM
I fear that Wolves' signing of a new manager will have totally scuppered our chances of keeping Griffiths for the rest of the season. It's very likely that Saunders will want a look at the likes of Griffiths to make his own mind up about his abilities
Considering he has been available for 150K for the last 4 months or so I'm afraid this will go down as a missed opportunity.
He can't be recalled until the due date, it's a contract between Hibs and Wolves and the contract runs out then.
07-01-2013, 10:45 AM
Considering he has been available for 150K for the last 4 months or so I'm afraid this will go down as a missed opportunity.
Is that a real FACT? Or a hibs.net FACT?
07-01-2013, 11:19 AM
It's one of these facts that if repeated enough becomes FACT.
07-01-2013, 11:30 AM
I've never seen that figure quoted officially anywhere.
I have, however, read that Wolves may well invoke the year’s option on his contract and take him back.
It's naive and unfair simply to blame Hibs if he doesn't stay with us.
There are several players in this.
Leigh himself, Hibs, Wolves and all the other clubs who might fancy having him lead their line.
If Leigh is desperate to play for Hibs, regardless of wages he might get elsewhere, he could easily sign a pre-contract and strengthen Hibs' hand.
For whatever reason, he hasn't done that.
07-01-2013, 11:39 AM
Saunders, who will take Wolves down or be sacked trying, will need to cut his wage bill.
Spanky needs to sign a pre-contract if possible and as radge says, put all the pressure on Wolves to do a deal now.
07-01-2013, 11:48 AM
Saunders, who will take Wolves down or be sacked trying, will need to cut his wage bill.
Spanky needs to sign a pre-contract if possible and as radge says, put all the pressure on Wolves to do a deal now.
Can Sparky sign a pre contract if Wolves have a years option, i dont know how these things work? :confused:
07-01-2013, 11:52 AM
Can Sparky sign a pre contract if Wolves have a years option, i dont know how these things work? :confused:
I've no idea either.
Wouldn't both parties need to agree to the option being triggered anyway? :dunno:
07-01-2013, 11:52 AM
I've no idea either, but it'd seem very one sided if he can't. Or maybe the years option thing is there to avoid that happening and was a condition when the contract wes offered in the first place. :dunno:
07-01-2013, 11:53 AM
This article seems to say Wolves will invoke the one year option; http://www.shropshirestar.com/sport/wolverhampton-wanderers-fc/2013/01/01/wolves-chief-executive-jez-moxey-on-offensive/
But I'm also confused about it, can they just invoke it and thats that? Or would Sparky have to agree to it?
07-01-2013, 11:54 AM
I've no idea either.
Wouldn't both parties need to agree to the option being triggered anyway? :dunno:
I think the club can trigger the years option without the player agreeing, although that would not be great practise?
07-01-2013, 11:59 AM
This article seems to say Wolves will invoke the one year option; http://www.shropshirestar.com/sport/wolverhampton-wanderers-fc/2013/01/01/wolves-chief-executive-jez-moxey-on-offensive/
But I'm also confused about it, can they just invoke it and thats that? Or would Sparky have to agree to it?
i imagine wolves would only 'trigger' this extra year extension if they had any thoughts of actually playing the sparkmeister, my wild guess is they will not :)
07-01-2013, 12:15 PM
i imagine wolves would only 'trigger' this extra year extension if they had any thoughts of actually playing the sparkmeister, my wild guess is they will not :)
The might trigger it for business reasons, i.e. to sell him in the summer when he still has a year left on his contract and can't sign a pre-contract elsewhere.
Even if he doesn't play all their games between now and May, they'd still get much more for him than they'd get now.
07-01-2013, 12:15 PM
Wolves fans don't seem too fussed what he does http://www.wolvesforum.co.uk/showthread.php?19673-Leigh-griffiths
07-01-2013, 12:18 PM
Wolves fans don't seem too fussed what he does http://www.wolvesforum.co.uk/showthread.php?19673-Leigh-griffiths
Hardly surprising since hardly any of them will have seen him play.
07-01-2013, 12:19 PM
That's not surprising cionsidering he's never played for them.
However, a few dissenting voices on here (http://www.molineuxmix.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=77159) with one guy demanding they sell him for £1m plus sell on clause!
07-01-2013, 12:21 PM
Hardly surprising since hardly any of them will have seen him play.
Reading their posts it appears that at least a few of them have been keeping tabs on him.
07-01-2013, 12:21 PM
Some of the stuff slavered on that thread is classic :faf:
Manchester United took up the extra year on Berbatov's contract to stop him walking for free. It's not quite the same though as Wolves won't get £4m for Leigh.
I think the extra year has to be activated by a certain date that will have been inserted in the original contract. I suspect that if Wolves extend it then Griffiths will have no say.
07-01-2013, 12:24 PM
most of them seemed to want him back
07-01-2013, 12:24 PM
The might trigger it for business reasons, i.e. to sell him in the summer when he still has a year left on his contract and can't sign a pre-contract elsewhere.
Even if he doesn't play all their games between now and May, they'd still get much more for him than they'd get now.
That's what Hibs will be hoping for, that they take up the option and extend his loan to the end of the season. If they put him on the open market now Hibs have got almost no chance.
07-01-2013, 12:26 PM
What's all the talk about him being an ******** and a scrote etc?
For all he seems a bit of a livewire or whatever, whenever any players talk about him it always seems full of nothing but praise for both his attitude and ability.
Just wondering what he's done to upset Wolves fans.
07-01-2013, 12:33 PM
Not just a Hibs.net fact anyway as it has been all over the papers at various points that Griffiths was available to Hibs for 150K.
I don't know if there's been any other sides to it (eg wage demands) but Griffiths has by all accounts been available to Hibs for what seems to me to be a very reasonable fee of 150K for at least the last 4 months.
07-01-2013, 12:36 PM
Not just a Hibs.net fact anyway as it has been all over the papers at various points that Griffiths was available to Hibs for 150K.
Why are there no links to this news if it was all over the papers?
I think this started on the messageboard and the Record copied it.
I've never seen it properly quoted anywhere.
07-01-2013, 12:39 PM
most of them seemed to want him back
Mixed reaction but the way I read it is that they don't care too much what happens
For all he seems a bit of a livewire or whatever, whenever any players talk about him it always seems full of nothing but praise for both his attitude and ability.
I'm guessing it's just all the bad press he has had up here, whether that be his 4 bairns at 22 or owing his skint uncle dosh. Then we have the alledged training ground bust up with fenlon and the rumors that he stuck the nut on billy brown, we know that it's ***** but they will probably believe it. Also seem to remember a picture of him sleeping in the changing rooms during Wolves pre season.
Sparky does seem a bit of a live wire but I reckon he has matured a lot in the last few months and this has showed on the pitch
07-01-2013, 12:41 PM
Mixed reaction but the way I read it is that they don't care too much what happens
I'm guessing it's just all the bad press he has had up here, whether that be his 4 bairns at 22 or owing his skint uncle dosh. Then we have the alledged training ground bust up with fenlon and the rumors that he stuck the nut on billy brown, we know that it's ***** but they will probably believe it. Also seem to remember a picture of him sleeping in the changing rooms during Wolves pre season.
Sparky does seem a bit of a live wire but I reckon he has matured a lot in the last few months and this has showed on the pitch
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2012/03/21/hibernian-striker-lee-griffiths-head-butts-manager_n_1369235.html
07-01-2013, 01:19 PM
true, but they must have some idea of whether they will play him on a regular basis,or not, he will be a rather expensive/costly bit-part player for them otherwise
07-01-2013, 01:24 PM
true, but they must have some idea of whether they will play him on a regular basis,or not, he will be a rather expensive/costly bit-part player for them otherwise
Another option could for them to trigger the extension and keep him on loan here until the summer, but his sell on value may not be as high as it would be if he was playing and scoring for Wolves.
Personally, I think he'll sign for another club altogether.
07-01-2013, 01:43 PM
Fair cop - I certainly thought I'd seen the 150K value quoted in the papers but after doing some research all I could find quoted was ....
Wolves paid Dundee 150K for Griffiths in 2011
Stale Solbakken was not happy with him and stated his desire in early November to sell him rather than extend his loan with Hibs
Griffiths deal with Wolves runs out in the summer
I do think it's fair to say that interest in Griffiths has increased since early November and it would have been in Hibs' interest to resolve matters sooner rather than later - also fair to say though that the sums being quoted at that point were unknown and that the 150K was likely extrapolated from the sum paid for him, his situation with the then Wolves manager and the short term left on his deal with Wolves.
07-01-2013, 02:16 PM
Is there anything in the rumour that Leeds have offered him 4x what we can?
C'mon rod, pull it out the bag!!
07-01-2013, 02:24 PM
The strange this is since the yams home cup game - he has lost his form.
However I still want him to stay a Hibs player and think he could go on and be a Hibs legend or at least get us some more for him if he signs then we sell in 2 years.
I do think Hibs should have gone for it more and agreed a deal sooner to keep him - right now I don't know what will happen.
We ideally need him to stay and help us perform well in the league but I could live with an an agreement that he signed a pre-contract and he came at the end of the season for free.
However surely Wolves would rather take some money now then loose him for free in summer - all depends on what the new manager Dean Saunders wants to do and how tight Hibs are - as I am sure LG would stay here if given a reasonable deal.
07-01-2013, 02:32 PM
They possibly follow him on Twitter? Really doesn't cover himself in glory when reacting to some of the abuse he receives.
07-01-2013, 02:39 PM
Found this. http://www.12yards.co.uk/article/195508/150000-for-leigh-griffiths/1
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/8375074/
No direct quotes i know.
07-01-2013, 02:40 PM
He can't be recalled until the due date, it's a contract between Hibs and Wolves and the contract runs out then.
I know he won't be called back till the contracted date. My point is that Griffiths won't be anywhere near the forefront of Saunder's plans or mind and he won't be waiting with bated breath till the 20th to make decisions about the likes of Griffiths. I'm just saying that amid the chaos at Wolves it might be to our advantage to take a minor player off their hands, especially when the player himself has expressed a strong desire to stay at ER. We have to remember also that the stumbling block appears not to be the Wolves/Hibs issue but the salary and conditions of the players.
07-01-2013, 02:45 PM
Now is not the time to be fannying aboot, get him signed, we need a settled team for the second half of the season, nae guid all this up in the air stuff.
07-01-2013, 03:42 PM
Tweet from Pat Murphy at Saunders' press call today:
"DS will have to ship out a few Wolves players before bringing any in. Says 40 is too many - hard to disagree with that."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wolverhampton_Wanderers_F.C.#First_team_squad
07-01-2013, 04:23 PM
"DS will have to ship out a few Wolves players before bringing any in. Says 40 is too many - hard to disagree with that."
On top of that, he wants players who are committed to playing for Wolves.
A guy who has said that he wants to stay at Hibs probably doesn't fit the bill :greengrin
07-01-2013, 06:45 PM
Apart from the really big teams who can afford/need to have lots of players on their books, I dont think Ive ever seen a squad that size! 40 odd players is mental for a team that seem to be in danger of getting relegated from the Championship!
07-01-2013, 07:18 PM
Apart from the really big teams who can afford/need to have lots of players on their books, I dont think Ive ever seen a squad that size! 40 odd players is mental for a team that seem to be in danger of getting relegated from the Championship!
Blackpool have 46, and the new manager says he needs 5 or 6 new players to be competitive in the championship. :greengrin
08-01-2013, 04:00 AM
I was told last night that LG has been recalled to Wolves for a meeting and that Smelltic are considering a £250k offer for him:grr:. The source of this is apparently his girlfriend's dad.
08-01-2013, 04:07 AM
I was told last night that LG has been recalled to Wolves for a meeting and that Smelltic are considering a £250k offer for him:grr:. The source of this is apparently his girlfriend's dad.
Which one?
Teuchter Hibbie
08-01-2013, 04:42 AM
deal should have been done in the summer imo - now we may find ourselves bidding with clubs who can offer a much more attractive package to Griffiths. We really need to make a statement and find the cash to make this happen - else we risk disillusioning a large portion of an already hurting support, and accepting mid-table mediocrity in a season where we could really be pushing on. Petrie needs to accept that he may have to break his precious wage structure just this once, but it really is a must for Hibs. The most ridiculous thing being the fact that Griffiths himself has said he wants to stay with Hibs!
08-01-2013, 04:45 AM
He was seen at Waverly yesterday afternoon with a massive packed case. He might have been recalled
08-01-2013, 06:22 AM
He was seen at Waverly yesterday afternoon with a massive packed case. He might have been recalled
He still has another game to play for us. More likely he is going on a wee winter break trip.
08-01-2013, 06:42 AM
deal should have been done in the summer imo - now we may find ourselves bidding with clubs who can offer a much more attractive package to Griffiths. We really need to make a statement and find the cash to make this happen - else we risk
disillusioning a large portion of an already hurting support, and accepting mid-table mediocrity in a season
where we could really be pushing on. Petrie needs to accept that he may have to break his precious wage structure just this once, but it really is a must for Hibs. The most ridiculous thing being the fact that Griffiths himself has said he wants to stay with Hibs!
as much as i would.like this to happen it wont if griffiths stays it will be another loan as i doubt we will be paying any transfer fees
08-01-2013, 06:51 AM
He still has another game to play for us. More likely he is going on a wee winter break trip.
He's defo been recalled, defo. We never get any luck, poor us, we always miss out. I heard he's declared his love for the yams and went into a tattoo parlour to get Stevie Fulton's Face on his nads. Tattooist took one look and told him he thought it was already done.
Bet he signs for Rangers AND Celtic at the same time and scores the winning goal against us in every SC final from now until he retires.
We just can't live without him and we've no chance of getting him now. Defofact!
08-01-2013, 07:55 AM
Why would smellies pay £250k for him when its been widely quote as wolves wanting£150k. Also why would he go there? They have got too many strikers already.
08-01-2013, 08:52 AM
He's defo been recalled, defo. We never get any luck, poor us, we always miss out. I heard he's declared his love for the yams and went into a tattoo parlour to get Stevie Fulton's Face on his nads. Tattooist took one look and told him he thought it was already done.
Bet he signs for Rangers AND Celtic at the same time and scores the winning goal against us in every SC final from now until he retires.
We just can't live without him and we've no chance of getting him now. Defofact!
Christ! You're in an optimistic mood are you not!? :wink:
08-01-2013, 08:58 AM
08-01-2013, 09:50 AM
Which one?
Which dad or which .... :greengrin
08-01-2013, 09:56 AM
Now is not the time to be fannying aboot, get him signed, we need a settled team for the second half of the season, nae guid all this up in the air stuff.
When is the time to be fannying aboot? I need to put it in my diary so I don't forget.
08-01-2013, 10:13 AM
A we winter break to Wolves.
Great news if we can manage to sign Leigh but if we don't, then it's the managers job to find a replacement.
It's been many a long year since Rod/STF showed any great ambition when it comes to funding new signings and I am not holding my breath on it happening here either.
08-01-2013, 10:40 AM
Great news if we can manage to sign Leigh but if we don't, then it's the managers job to find a replacement.
It's been many a long year since Rod/STF showed any great ambition when it comes to funding new signings and I am not holding my breath on it happening here either.
What would you consider ambitious?
08-01-2013, 10:59 AM
deal should have been done in the summer imo - now we may find ourselves bidding with clubs who can offer a much more attractive package to Griffiths. We really need to make a statement and find the cash to make this happen - else we risk disillusioning a large portion of an already hurting support, and accepting mid-table mediocrity in a season where we could really be pushing on. Petrie needs to accept that he may have to break his precious wage structure just this once, but it really is a must for Hibs. The most ridiculous thing being the fact that Griffiths himself has said he wants to stay with Hibs!
So you are head of a business which has just lost £900k for the last 2 years, the country is all but in a recession with people having no spare money, you appeal to supporters to buy half season tickets and attend matches and they don't. You have cut the non playing staff to the bare bones. It is likely we will post a loss again or at best have a small profit this season as we have no assets to sell. What do you do? Run the business into the ground by spending money you don't have or cut your cloth to meet your income? What do you do when other players come to the end of their contracts and say Leigh is getting £x per week I want that as well or I will walk away for nothing?
Where is the money coming from? Do we adopt Yamanomics and take him in the hope that someone signs him for a fortune in a year like Stokes or that we end up with another Liam Miller? I am sure that if clubs really wanted him they will be knocking down his agent's door when they can get him for next to nothing just now. What happens if Leigh goes off the boil or gets injured? What are the alternatives with his wages, could we maybe pick up 2 speed merchants or the elusive box to box goalscoring midfielder in the Pat McGinlay mode now that we have 3 Matty Jacks?
Hibs pay more in wages than almost anyone other than Celtic and Hearts in the SPL (I think Aberdeen have reduced their bill to pretty much the same as ours) so how are we tight? I am sick and tired of hearing that we don't spend money when the facts, at least in the Scottish game, say differently.
I remember being gutted when Paul Wright left us to go to St Johnstone as I really though he had the makings of a good player. The next day or so we signed Keith Wright. I know which was the better deal.
I would love Leigh to stay, become a Hibs legend and be sold for millions. It just isn't as simple as that.
Argylehibby
08-01-2013, 11:06 AM
So you are head of a business which has just lost £900k for the last 2 years, the country is all but in a recession with people having no spare money, you appeal to supporters to buy half season tickets and attend matches and they don't. You have cut the non playing staff to the bare bones. It is likely we will post a loss again or at best have a small profit this season as we have no assets to sell. What do you do? Run the business into the ground by spending money you don't have or cut your cloth to meet your income? What do you do when other players come to the end of their contracts and say Leigh is getting £x per week I want that as well or I will walk away for nothing?
Where is the money coming from? Do we adopt Yamanomics and take him in the hope that someone signs him for a fortune in a year like Stokes or that we end up with another Liam Miller? I am sure that if clubs really wanted him they will be knocking down his agent's door when they can get him for next to nothing just now. What happens if Leigh goes off the boil or gets injured? What are the alternatives with his wages, could we maybe pick up 2 speed merchants or the elusive box to box goalscoring midfielder in the Pat McGinlay mode now that we have 3 Matty Jacks?
Hibs pay more in wages than almost anyone other than Celtic and Hearts in the SPL (I think Aberdeen have reduced their bill to pretty much the same as ours) so how are we tight? I am sick and tired of hearing that we don't spend money when the facts, at least in the Scottish game, say differently.
I remember being gutted when Paul Wright left us to go to St Johnstone as I really though he had the makings of a good player. The next day or so we signed Keith Wright. I know which was the better deal.
I would love Leigh to stay, become a Hibs legend and be sold for millions. It just isn't as simple as that.
08-01-2013, 11:08 AM
LG wasnt exactly setting himself up as the perfect footballer last year. He's only really been a 'must have' this season, so saying we should have signed him in the summer is, IMO, nonsense.
Hindsight is a wonderful thing.
08-01-2013, 11:14 AM
When is the time to be fannying aboot? I need to put it in my diary so I don't forget.
I tend to pencil it in for 8.54pm
That's right, six tae nine.
08-01-2013, 11:16 AM
LG wasnt exactly setting himself up as the perfect footballer last year. He's only really been a 'must have' this season, so saying we should have signed him in the summer is, IMO, nonsense.
http://cybertims.net/media/k2/items/cache/e1e1ad60f07c4aa3ccbcb2973e9d7007_XL.jpg
What would you consider ambitious?
To stretch the budget a wee bit for a player that the manager you appointed, really wanted to sign as he feels he will make a difference to the side, or losing said player would have an adverse influence on the side, one that might cost money in the long run by dropping down the league table and/or being knocked out the cup.
Of course signing the player does not mean that we might still not drop down the league etc, but you are backing up the manager you appointed by doing so and IMO, showing a wee bit ambition.
However, as Pathead said above, we have to live within our means, unlike some other clubs, and if our budget doesn't allow us to sign THAT player, then we have to move on and the manager has to find an alternative to that player.
My preference would be for Griffiths to sign but if he doesn't, we move on and hope the manager can come up with another gem from somewhere.
08-01-2013, 11:30 AM
Correct.
The "stay away brigade" will tell you that they'll be back if Hibs sign him. But they said they'd be back if Rangers were voted out of the league, we got a better manager, we got players who look like they give a ****, we got a competitive league, we were near the top of the competitive league, etc, etc.
Spending money that the club doesn't have isn't really an option after two successive big losses. If the money's there it'll be done. If not it won't.
08-01-2013, 11:44 AM
Correct.
The "stay away brigade" will tell you that they'll be back if Hibs sign him. But they said they'd be back if Rangers were voted out of the league, we got a better manager, we got players who look like they give a ****, we got a competitive league, we were near the top of the competitive league, etc, etc.
Spending money that the club doesn't have isn't really an option after two successive big losses. If the money's there it'll be done. If not it won't.
Agree with the general point your making but the fans are coming back, our crowds are up a fair bit from last year?
Considering how the last few years have gone I think its unrealistic to expect crowds to be where they were in say the Mowbray era just cos we've had a decent half season.
I know that means we might miss out on players like sparky but let's not be too harsh on our fans.
08-01-2013, 11:59 AM
Agree with the general point your making but the fans are coming back, our crowds are up a fair bit from last year?
Considering how the last few years have gone I think its unrealistic to expect crowds to be where they were in say the Mowbray era just cos we've had a decent half season.
I know that means we might miss out on players like sparky but let's not be too harsh on our fans.
I don't think anyone is having a pop at the stay aways more the ones who moan about lack of ambition and saying I would come back "if", Get back now "support" the team and be a "fan" these things will help keep players like Leigh not empty promises
08-01-2013, 01:10 PM
I believe Pat Fenlon is lining up Lyle Taylor from Falkirk either way.
08-01-2013, 01:10 PM
I don't think anyone is having a pop at the stay aways more the ones who moan about lack of ambition and saying I would come back "if", Get back now "support" the team and be a "fan" these things will help keep players like Leigh not empty promises
Ultrabee1-0
08-01-2013, 01:35 PM
Sold him to ipswich for a undisclosed fee.
My point is he is a striker and its signs of wolves selling and saunders first transfer movement so we should hear about leigh pretty soon hopfully!
08-01-2013, 01:53 PM
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2012/03/21/hibernian-striker-lee-griffiths-head-butts-manager_n_1369235.html
JDHibs
08-01-2013, 02:04 PM
Problem is Nouble is not a goalscorer, Leigh is, Wolves need goals!
08-01-2013, 02:57 PM
a 'model' professional and 14 in 18 for the Bairns but unlikely, because he's not Irish.
08-01-2013, 03:13 PM
Is he any good?
08-01-2013, 03:18 PM
Is he any good?
Haven't a clue mate, but I'm 100% on the info being correct - I knew we were keeping an eye on one of their younger players where compensation was going to be an issue - however PF is having Taylor watched and I'm told is ready to make a bid to get him.
08-01-2013, 03:20 PM
Is he any good?
http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=50091
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lyle_Taylor
hibeequinn
08-01-2013, 03:25 PM
one of my mate's has a season ticket for Falkirk and rates Lyle very highly and says would score a barrel load in the spl. would be nice to keep Griffiths and get another good goalscoring striker and pop Doyle out left could we afford billy McKay from caley.
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
08-01-2013, 03:27 PM
Striker, 6'2", part time model and professional cockerney, name similar to Tate n Lyle so plenty of mileage for amusing play on words, nearly a goal a game for the Bairns:aok:
Could be the new Colin Nish.
These are all valid points but the main reason we have lost money in the last 2 seasons is we've brought in a minimal amount in transfer fees. There are no obvious candidates to bring in significant cash currently at ER so if we signed Leigh he would almost certainly be our most marketable asset. Sometimes you can't afford not to take a chance.
08-01-2013, 03:34 PM
Which subsequently turned out to be absolute rubbish.
hibeequinn
08-01-2013, 03:36 PM
to need honest Saunders will be looking for a player who he knows can score goals week in week out at a league higher than the spl. so a really can't see Saunders wanting Griffiths back when his wage could be used towards someone who is already playing at the level of football.
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
08-01-2013, 03:40 PM
I know he won't be called back till the contracted date. My point is that Griffiths won't be anywhere near the forefront of Saunder's plans or mind and he won't be waiting with bated breath till the 20th to make decisions about the likes of Griffiths. I'm just saying that amid the chaos at Wolves it might be to our advantage to take a minor player off their hands, especially when the player himself has expressed a strong desire to stay at ER. We have to remember also that the stumbling block appears not to be the Wolves/Hibs issue but the salary and conditions of the players.
Apparently Leigh was down in Wolverhampton this morning to meet Saunders,hopefully we can keep him till the end of the season as cant see us signing him unless he takes a massive hit in his wages.
08-01-2013, 03:41 PM
Striker, 6'2", part time model and professional cockerney, name similar to Tate n Lyle so plenty of mileage for amusing play on words, nearly a goal a game for the Bairns:aok:
Could be the new Colin Nish.
As the late Dick Emery would have said 'oooh bollah you are awful......but I like ya' :greengrin
Haven't a clue about how good this Taylor chap is......but my 'guy on the street' is certain we are going to bid for him.
08-01-2013, 03:50 PM
Yet, we increased the capacity, spent the last of the cash and took on more debt.. Is that what you do?
08-01-2013, 03:57 PM
Yet, we increased the capacity, spent the last of the cash and took on more debt.. Is that what you do?
No I wouldn't.
They took a gamble once which didn't work. 2 wrongs don't make a right.
08-01-2013, 04:00 PM
Isnt there £1m cash sitting in the bank?
08-01-2013, 04:00 PM
As the late Dick Emery would have said 'oooh bollah you are awful......but I like ya' :greengrin
Haven't a clue about how good this Taylor chap is......but my 'guy on the street' is certain we are going to bid for him.
If he can bang in 22 goals and get us into Europe like The Nishter i wont be complaining:greengrin
08-01-2013, 04:02 PM
Isnt there £1m cash sitting in the bank?
Loaned fae Holding Co, and to be repaid
08-01-2013, 04:03 PM
No I wouldn't.
Expensive mistake
08-01-2013, 04:06 PM
Loaned fae Holding Co, and to be repaid
Ah but if we've borrowed it from ourselves then it isn't really debt is it! :wink:
ancienthibby
08-01-2013, 04:08 PM
No I wouldn't.
Company Boards do not take gambles!
They make informed decisions based on all the information presented to them.
In Hibs case, the real issue has been putting a fabulous infrastructure in place, but not following that up with the best of decisions about managerial appointments.
Then, from these decisions, STF has kept the club on an absolute shoestring!!
The monies that PF needs to bolster the squad are petty cash to STF, but so far he won't open the cheque book.
He needs to right now, otherwise the good work of PF may be lost!!
08-01-2013, 04:20 PM
Expensive mistake
Is it ? will it not pay for its self over the next few years hosting Scotland/semis that dont feature us and the like ?. Serious question not having a go :wink:
08-01-2013, 04:40 PM
Yet, we increased the capacity, spent the last of the cash and took on more debt..
:tub4:
08-01-2013, 04:53 PM
Is it ? will it not pay for its self over the next few years hosting Scotland/semis that dont feature us and the like ?. Serious question not having a go :wink:
If I remember correctly, there were also sound economic arguments for building the East Stand when we did. The price of steel was at an all time low and construction companies were begging for work therefore it was possible to secure very competitive bids for the construction costs.
08-01-2013, 05:00 PM
Easter Road looks terrific these days and we have a fantastic stadium - we had to get it done and for me it looks the business when it's near capacity a la the cup game and v Celtic - the new East also generates a great atmosphere and S43 etc have to be commended in making it a more positive place to sit and watch a game of football.
Take a look at Dens, Tannadice and Todders and then ask where you would rather sit and watch football. Hibs moved faster than the rest and it will pay dividends - just look at our neighbours over the road and their death trap of a stadium.
I'm glad we moved to complete the stadium - there was always the risk that the football team would suffer, which it did, but again you can just as easy point the finger at poor appointments and poor poor signings made the investment in the infrastructure look 'risky'.
08-01-2013, 05:05 PM
Easter Road looks terrific these days and we have a fantastic stadium - we had to get it done and for me it looks the business when it's near capacity a la the cup game and v Celtic - the new East also generates a great atmosphere and S43 etc have to be commended in making it a more positive place to sit and watch a game of football.
Take a look at Dens, Tannadice and Todders and then ask where you would rather sit and watch football. Hibs moved faster than the rest and it will pay dividends - just look at our neighbours over the road and their death trap of a stadium.
I'm glad we moved to complete the stadium - there was always the risk that the football team would suffer, which it did, but again you can just as easy point the finger at poor appointments and poor poor signings made the investment in the infrastructure look 'risky'.
Couldn't agree more. Shame we don't have a team to match it:agree:
hibee bouncer
08-01-2013, 05:08 PM
In the papers down south that Wolves have to release 9 players by August. Not sure if it's a good thing or not. Griffiths could potentially be a quick sale to us or it might be the higher pai players that are punted.
08-01-2013, 05:21 PM
If I remember correctly, there were also sound economic arguments for building the East Stand when we did. The price of steel was at an all time low and construction companies were begging for work therefore it was possible to secure very competitive bids for the construction costs.
Ain't that the truth, that stand was put up for a quite remarkable price.
08-01-2013, 05:41 PM
Ain't that the truth, that stand was put up for a quite remarkable price.
So good in fact Fans of the "big team" have slagged the quality of it suggesting it was a cheap job :wink: Envy doesnt show on a Sh*T coloured Jersey :greengrin
Everyone Knows a Decent stand with Boxes and Boxes of planning material is £51million FACT
08-01-2013, 05:58 PM
Saunders if he does his job correctly will no doubt have a good look at who is on available now and out on loan, I do not think it will go unoticed that Leigh has more goals than their current top scorer all be it in a different league.
08-01-2013, 07:18 PM
So good in fact Fans of the "big team" have slagged the quality of it suggesting it was a cheap job :wink: Envy doesnt show on a Sh*T coloured Jersey :greengrin
Everyone Knows a Decent stand with Boxes and Boxes of planning material is £51million FACT
Ultrabee1-0
09-01-2013, 09:16 AM
http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/hibs-leigh-griffiths-back-training-with-wolves-as-future-remains-unclear-1-2726263
says here leigh is back training with wolves? Although he is still with us iv herd nothing & saunders says he's back training with hibs later on this week hmm I smell a yam journalist!
09-01-2013, 09:17 AM
Maybe they're just wrong?
09-01-2013, 09:22 AM
Maybe right, maybe wrong but definitely not liars over such a trivial thing. Leave the paranoia to the Yams.
Ultrabee1-0
09-01-2013, 09:24 AM
Where is there source?? even to post such a thing on here you need a source, they have no photo no source just a yam fud making up ****!
Sergio sledge
09-01-2013, 09:25 AM
It would be sensible for any new manager to make contact with all his players, even the ones on loan, to introduce himself and get to know them. Perhaps it was decided that Leigh would travel down for some talks with Saunders due to there being a winter break in the SPL and in order to keep fit, Leigh is using the training facilities down there. Maybe the evening news just got it slightly wrong.
I should add, I have know inside knowledge, just speculating.
09-01-2013, 09:51 AM
Where is there source?? even to post such a thing on here you need a source, they have no photo no source just a yam fud making up ****!
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/hibs-leigh-griffiths-back-training-with-wolves-as-future-remains-unclear-1-2726263
I think you can take it as read that Leigh is down at Wolves, Saunders is quoted directly.
09-01-2013, 10:06 AM
Saunders obviously wanted to have a a training session with as many players as he could in order to figure out who's staying etc. Hopefully Sparky is someone who isn't in his plans...
09-01-2013, 10:07 AM
Saunders obviously wanted to have a a training session with as many players as he could in order to figure out who's staying etc. Hopefully Sparky is someone who isn't in his plans...
:agree: Here's hoping he goes out his way to make a crap impression.
Maybe he wants to have a word with Leigh re any permanent move, as his manager it would only be correct procedure to talk to the lad and hear from himself whether he wants to stay or go, or even just to tell him whether he wants him or not.
09-01-2013, 11:10 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/hibs-leigh-griffiths-back-training-with-wolves-as-future-remains-unclear-1-2726263
I think you can take it as read that Leigh is down at Wolves, Saunders is quoted directly.
Those of us who can read don't need pictures :wink:
09-01-2013, 11:17 AM
:tub4:
:greengrin - I did say it beforehand also :wink:
I said ‘hi’ to Leigh before my first training session but I’ve not had a proper chance to speak to him yet,” said Saunders. “He’s due to be back training with Hibs later this week I think, but as yet I don’t know what’s happening with Leigh. We should have a better idea of who’s staying and who’s going over the next few days."
This was the quote from Saunders, the bit in bold tells it's own story, if Leigh wants to stay at ER then it looks like Saunders is happy with that, also the fact that he said he's coming back to Hibs later this week.
Remember Leigh's tweet when he said what a crap winter's break it was, obviously meaning he wasn't having a break and was down at Wolves seeing the new manager and training instead of relaxing.
09-01-2013, 11:18 AM
Ah but if we've borrowed it from ourselves then it isn't really debt is it! :wink:
09-01-2013, 11:21 AM
It does look fabulous and but for S43 it would be soulless IMHO.
My fave (and coldest) match experience is recent times was at Cowdenbeath - real fitbaw that day!
East Coast Hibe
09-01-2013, 12:00 PM
Griffiths is definitely at Wolves training this week. Saunders want's to evaluate all players in the squad (I understand they have more than 40 senior players on their books), including the players on loan at other clubs. Saunders will undoubtedly need to move players on before he can bring in fresh faces.
Hibs restart training on Monday !
09-01-2013, 12:10 PM
Heres hoping that Leigh makes a great impression on Saunders by falling asleep in the changing rooms after sticking the nut on him then bumping him out of £500 after pumping his daughter and getting her pregnant. That should be enough to secure a 3 year deal at Easter Road :aok:
hibby rae
09-01-2013, 12:14 PM
Griffiths is definitely at Wolves training this week. Saunders want's to evaluate all players in the squad (I understand they have more than 40 senior players on their books), including the players on loan at other clubs. Saunders will undoubtedly need to move players on before he can bring in fresh faces.
Hibs restart training on Monday !
Think I saw on the bbc website that he wants to reduce the squad from 40 to 25 so I'd imagine if he has players that want to go and there is a club wanting to take them. Possibly the main problem could be a rival offer coming in for him? Surprised the daily ****** hasn't published a story expressing celtic interest.
VickMackie
09-01-2013, 01:14 PM
He's just confirmed on twitter he's back at wolves and expects to play against Dundee.
Doesn't know his future yet.
09-01-2013, 01:24 PM
:agree: Here's hoping he goes out his way to make a crap impression.
He has a headache. :agree: :greengrin
09-01-2013, 01:25 PM
Signed for Leeds!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20447760
09-01-2013, 01:27 PM
Signed for Leeds!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20447760
Just not funny. :wink:
09-01-2013, 02:20 PM
Hope he does nothing to impress Saunders.
09-01-2013, 02:23 PM
He's just confirmed on twitter he's back at wolves and expects to play against Dundee.
Doesn't know his future yet.
He's contracted at Hibs until after the Dundee game so that makes sense.
09-01-2013, 05:38 PM
Just heard Saunders on SSN.
Sounds promising that we can keep Leigh, Wolves are looking to buy a fairly expensive new striker and he said he'd rather Leigh was out on loan playing and learning.
So keeping my fingers crossed !
GoldenEagle
09-01-2013, 05:39 PM
Saunders admitting that if he can get his own 'expensive' targets in then Leigh can stay on loan and play games.
I'm confident.
TheFamous1875
09-01-2013, 05:42 PM
Just see it anaw, good signs all round! I also felt he sounded quite supportive of Sparky, rather than their last manager who was quite disrespectful to his own (hopefully our) player.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
09-01-2013, 05:47 PM
Saunders admitting that if he can get his own 'expensive' targets in then Leigh can stay on loan and play games.
I'm confident.
Stay on loan is the same as free contract surely as his deal is up at the end of the season?
09-01-2013, 05:56 PM
Stay on loan is the same as free contract surely as his deal is up at the end of the season?
Word is that Wolves have another year by means of an option, which they might or might not take up.
09-01-2013, 06:10 PM
Word is that Wolves have another year by means of an option, which they might or might not take up.
That could work in our favour if they do don't you think scoopy ? I'd love to have him on a permanent deal but hey ho I'd accept til end of season meantime.
Are you hearing the same whispers about Lyle Taylor that I am this week ? Can't say I've heard of the lad however on checking his stats he seems to be scoring for fun in Division 1.
09-01-2013, 06:13 PM
That could work in our favour if they do don't you think scoopy ? I'd love to have him on a permanent deal but hey ho I'd accept til end of season meantime.
Are you hearing the same whispers about Lyle Taylor that I am this week ? Can't say I've heard of the lad however on checking his stats he seems to be scoring for fun in Division 1.
Hibs have been going to a lot of Falkirk games. No names though.
09-01-2013, 06:18 PM
Yeah, I think it could work in our favour at least in the short term.
Dean Saunders would probably watch Leigh a few times himself if we keep him on loan, there will be a few occasions we will have games when they don't. The Monday game at home to SJ springs to mind.
Not hearing a lot to be honest mate, only thing of note was Ryan McGivern passing comment that he was wanting to stay. I'm relying on .net to keep me informed.
09-01-2013, 06:27 PM
Yeah, I think it could work in our favour at least in the short term.
Dean Saunders would probably watch Leigh a few times himself if we keep him on loan, there will be a few occasions we will have games when they don't. The Monday game at home to SJ springs to mind.
Not hearing a lot to be honest mate, only thing of note was Ryan McGivern passing comment that he was wanting to stay. I'm relying on .net to keep me informed.
We all are, Scoop - the Tache included :cool2:
09-01-2013, 06:31 PM
Hibs have been going to a lot of Falkirk games. No names though.
Pat was never away from the place last season. :greengrin
09-01-2013, 07:31 PM
He said
'He's due to go back to Scotland on Satday and IF I do need to sign a - an expensive striker - an he's not gonna play - then I'd rather he go out an play games an learn'
on sky sports news now....wolves have recalled leigh
(apologies if this has already been posted...im just in the front door)
GGTTH07
09-01-2013, 07:41 PM
on sky sports news now....wolves have recalled leigh
(apologies if this has already been posted...im just in the front door)
Just letting the manager asses him for a couple days training according to him anyway
09-01-2013, 09:17 PM
Just came up on Sky Sports News!
LeighLoyal
09-01-2013, 09:37 PM
Good luck to him of course, but not sure the Championship is for him so I think he'll be back at Hibs before too long.
09-01-2013, 09:40 PM
Good luck to him of course, but not sure the Championship is for him so I think he'll be back at Hibs before too long.
Yep, Friday.
09-01-2013, 10:41 PM
A change of manager at Wolves was never going to be great news for us and our hopes of keeping Griffiths.
Last week there were reports from Griffiths himself saying that he hoped to stay with us on a permanent deal. A week later, they have a different manager who is now looking at giving him a chance and won't rule out keeping him.
It's disappointing that we couldn't have got the agreements in place earlier to keep him until at least the end of the season but if he's going to leave us after the Dundee game then I wish him all the best.
We are going to struggle without him though.
09-01-2013, 10:44 PM
Hope he stays. He's a class ahead of our other forwards. Where could we find a replacement?
Russell The Dug
10-01-2013, 09:55 AM
It's not looking good the longer this goes. If there was a deal in place with wolves for say £150k surely he would be signed by now? I hope Fenlon has someone as a replacement lined up and were not arsing about till the last day of the window looking at the Daryl Duffys of the world.
10-01-2013, 10:50 AM
Can't help thinking this situation could have been avoided if the board had just splashed out and bought him.
10-01-2013, 10:53 AM
It's not looking good the longer this goes. If there was a deal in place with wolves for say £150k surely he would be signed by now? I hope Fenlon has someone as a replacement lined up and were not arsing about till the last day of the window looking at the Daryl Duffys of the world.
Can't help thinking this situation could have been avoided if the board had just splashed out and bought him.
If it had simply been for the sake of £150k, then I'd would have been signed in the summer - his wages were more likely to be the stumbling block.
HarpyHibby
10-01-2013, 11:10 AM
If it had simply been for the sake of £150k, then I'd would have been signed in the summer - his wages were more likely to be the stumbling block.
Heard he's on 10k a week, of which Hibs pay 2.
10-01-2013, 11:15 AM
Sorry that is nonsense.
Makaveli
10-01-2013, 11:16 AM
Why would he be on £10k?
There was no huge clamour from other English clubs and Wolves are hardly going to throw a nice big round figure at him for the sake of it.
East Coast Hibe
10-01-2013, 11:16 AM
Don't know where you "Heard" that mate - but it's bollocks.
We wont be paying anywhere near a grand towards his wage at the moment, and he won't be on anywhere near half of what you have heard !
10-01-2013, 11:17 AM
If true, not bad for a player who hardly kicked a ball for them and not a bad sum for Saunders to put towards a 'better player'. He could end up at ER still.
East Coast Hibe
10-01-2013, 11:22 AM
It will be announced soon that he will be staying at ER until the summer
10-01-2013, 11:35 AM
It's easy to say now that we should have done a deal to get him permanently in the summer. However that's just good old hindsight related hibs.net amnesia.
There were more than a handful of posters on here who didn't even want Leighs back on loan because he was 'a bad influence' or 'overrated'. If we are being honest he showed glimpses last season of what he could do but he wasn't fantastic, its only this season he's really caught fire.
It's also worth remembering this mythical £150K figure isn't known to actually exist and seems to be an accepted figure based on internet hearsay.
10-01-2013, 11:39 AM
Why would he be on £10k?
There was no huge clamour from other English clubs and Wolves are hardly going to throw a nice big round figure at him for the sake of it.
£10k a week is probably not wide of the mark. He signed for Wolves when they were in the Premiership (Jan 2011) and £10k a week isn't much in that league.
10-01-2013, 11:41 AM
I heard he is on 4k a week. Lucky if he was on £900 a week at dundee.
East Coast Hibe
10-01-2013, 11:46 AM
£10k a week is probably not wide of the mark. He signed for Wolves when they were in the Premiership (Jan 2011) and £10k a week isn't much in that league.
But he was a 20 year old Scottish first division player earning around a grand a week (tops) at Dundee. Why would they want to pay him 10 times what he was earning with no track record ? It's a bit different now that he has scored a few this season in the SPL. Wolves would have seen it as no lose. Buy him for £150K (which is peanuts to an EPL team) and pay him a few grand a week. Worth a punt and they would know he could sell for half of what they paid at the end of his contract (minimum)
Anyway..... watch for the news !!
10-01-2013, 11:54 AM
My info is 6k a week with Hibs picking up around a third of the tab.
Source - a mate whose son played alongside and against Sparky at Juvenile. Sparky often visited my mate and once showed him a wage slip from Wolves. As a side story same mate was with Sparky one time at Livvy and he was very close to going to Italy for a very big wage through that Italian imposter that owned the club at the time.
East Coast Hibe
10-01-2013, 12:06 PM
My info is 6k a week with Hibs picking up around a third of the tab.
Source - a mate whose son played alongside and against Sparky at Juvenile. Sparky often visited my mate and once showed him a wage slip from Wolves. As a side story same mate was with Sparky one time at Livvy and he was very close to going to Italy for a very big wage through that Italian imposter that owned the club at the time.
That is true mate, it was with Parma and Andy Halliday (now with Middlesborough) and Joe McKee (now at Bolton) were also there
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/livingston-starlets-get-chance-to-train-with-parma-1015602
He aint on 6K a week tho :)
10-01-2013, 12:52 PM
Sorry that is nonsense.
hungryhibs
10-01-2013, 12:57 PM
Am told he is on 5k hibs only pay 1k of that and am told he is wanting to stay as long as he is on the same wage as mcpake why not give him his wish hibs fan plays for the shirt and if it was not for his goals where would we be? Get him signed
Dalkeith
10-01-2013, 01:08 PM
Am told he is on 5k hibs only pay 1k of that and am told he is wanting to stay as long as he is on the same wage as mcpake why not give him his wish hibs fan plays for the shirt and if it was not for his goals where would we be? Get him signed
not far from what i've been told but 5k bit is higher than what i was told
maybe no future at wolves
http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/wolverhampton-wanderers-boss-dean-saunders-641310
10-01-2013, 01:24 PM
It's easy to say now that we should have done a deal to get him permanently in the summer. However that's just good old hindsight related hibs.net amnesia.
There were more than a handful of posters on here who didn't even want Leighs back on loan because he was 'a bad influence' or 'overrated'. If we are being honest he showed glimpses last season of what he could do but he wasn't fantastic, its only this season he's really caught fire.
It's also worth remembering this mythical £150K figure isn't known to actually exist and seems to be an accepted figure based on internet hearsay.
I seem to remember a lot of people were going bananas that we were "outbid" for Craig Beattie rather than getting Griffiths. Really unlucky eh
Velma Dinkley
10-01-2013, 01:44 PM
I haven't been told anything.
10-01-2013, 01:46 PM
Surprise Surprise :greengrin
sadtom
10-01-2013, 01:50 PM
Source!!!
Hibby Gav
10-01-2013, 02:07 PM
He's just tweeted that he is on his way back to Edinburgh.....
duffers
10-01-2013, 02:08 PM
A photo on his twitter saying 'on my way' and picture of a train with Edinburgh on it. Should this get me excited?
10-01-2013, 02:09 PM
A photo on his twitter saying 'on my way' and picture of a train with Edinburgh on it. Should this get me excited?
No he's just going home as was the initial plan.
Hibby Gav
10-01-2013, 02:10 PM
was always coming back mate...he has one last game before is loan is done...or extended...
Only if you're a train spotter. :agree:
He's just tweeted that he is on his way back to Edinburgh.....
Hardly surprising since he will be playing for us on the 19th and he has several bairns up here. :greengrin
10-01-2013, 02:11 PM
Only if you're a train spotter. :agree:
:greengrin Did you catch the number of the train? :wink:
10-01-2013, 02:11 PM
He will be playing against dundee on the 19th.
10-01-2013, 02:16 PM
Hardly surprising since he will be playing for us on the 19th and he has several bairns up here. :greengrin
anyone dreaming of a team of Griffith's (sound like a twat if you say this).....may get lucky :-)
cam75
10-01-2013, 02:17 PM
Thought wolves wanted him there till Friday?
10-01-2013, 02:20 PM
anyone dreaming of a team of Griffith's (sound like a twat if you say this).....may get lucky :-)
2033 Line up for Hibs in the Scottish Cup Final against Celtic:
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Manager: Leigh Griffiths
10-01-2013, 02:21 PM
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
That joke's old. :wink:
10-01-2013, 02:26 PM
That joke's old. :wink:
:boo hoo:
Well for those who haven't heard of the joke :na na:
just_joe
10-01-2013, 03:10 PM
A very reliable source just informed me that Sparky is here till the summer:thumbsup:
10-01-2013, 03:10 PM
A very reliable source just informed me that Sparky is here till the summer:thumbsup:
Who is your very reliable source :cb
just_joe
10-01-2013, 03:12 PM
Who is your very reliable source :cb
Those kinda things have to remain anonymous mate lol
Titch
10-01-2013, 03:14 PM
It will be announced soon that he will be staying at ER until the summer
:agree::agree::thumbsup::thumbsup::pfgwa
Titch
10-01-2013, 03:16 PM
i have also been told sparky is here till the summer and the source doesnt get much closer to him
Liams
10-01-2013, 03:19 PM
i have also been told sparky is here till the summer and the source doesnt get much closer to him
His wee laddie ?
10-01-2013, 03:20 PM
Surprise Surprise :greengrin
Scousehibby will get it too. :greengrin
10-01-2013, 03:21 PM
:boo hoo:
Well for those who haven't heard of the joke :na na:
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?251855-Leigh-s-Tweet&p=3438072&viewfull=1#post3438072 :wink:
10-01-2013, 03:23 PM
Good stuff! :thumbsup:
I am still astounded that Wolves don't want him back! It seems mad that a player of his ability is still not playing in the Championship. Mon the Sparky! :flag:
10-01-2013, 03:24 PM
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
Griffiths
What's going on here Stevie boy, first you steal gifs now my joke as well.
Talk to you on chatbox about this. :greengrin
10-01-2013, 03:27 PM
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?251855-Leigh-s-Tweet&p=3438072&viewfull=1#post3438072 :wink:
And only £10. :agree:
:faf::faf:
smack
10-01-2013, 03:34 PM
:greengrin Did you catch the number of the train? :wink:
the happy hibee
10-01-2013, 04:19 PM
ive been told too that griffiths is signing until the end of the season from a very reliable source!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
10-01-2013, 04:20 PM
On loan?
10-01-2013, 04:24 PM
ive been told too that griffiths is signing until the end of the season from a very reliable source!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
If he is here until the summer is it not possible for hibs to tie him up to a pre-contract now then? or are wolves expected to activate the (alleged) extra year option to his contract with them?
Delighted if he is here till the summer but wish for once Hibs would show they have a pair and get the obvious talent tied up on proper contracts that give them future value to the club.
10-01-2013, 04:27 PM
Good stuff! :thumbsup:
I am still astounded that Wolves don't want him back! It seems mad that a player of his ability is still not playing in the Championship. Mon the Sparky! :flag:
Not really. Saunders has enough on his plate atm. He's seen Leigh, who's probably made his feelings known (without getting uppity). Wolves have an option on his contract and can afford to leave him here, getting games and experience. He's only 22 and another 5 months with us won't do Wolves or him any harm, leaving Dean free to give him a fuller assessment in the summer.
It's a win, win, win situation for all three interested parties
10-01-2013, 04:28 PM
On loan?
Ignore me!!
It's obviously on loan. :doh:
10-01-2013, 04:32 PM
Sounds pretty authoritative - must be the Fishman then? :wink: Looking good.
the happy hibee
10-01-2013, 04:35 PM
If he is here until the summer is it not possible for hibs to tie him up to a pre-contract now then? or are wolves expected to activate the (alleged) extra year option to his contract with them?
Delighted if he is here till the summer but wish for once Hibs would show they have a pair and get the obvious talent tied up on proper contracts that give them future value to the club.
From what ive been told is they are going to activate the extra year option! He would love to sign for us full time mate but its just we cant afford the wages that he is likely to be able to get down south!!
10-01-2013, 04:35 PM
Maybe sparky doesn't want to commit beyond this summer
10-01-2013, 04:41 PM
Maybe sparky doesn't want to commit beyond this summer
Maybe (probably) foolish of me but, I was just taking it for granted that his "I want to stay at Easter Road" comment was one of actual commitment. :wink:
10-01-2013, 04:50 PM
From what ive been told is they are going to activate the extra year option! He would love to sign for us full time mate but its just we cant afford the wages that he is likely to be able to get down south!!
There are that many loop holes in the contracts that us fans really don't know what's actually going on. Thought that might be the case with wolves though, It would be silly of them to allow a guy who currently sits top of the spl scoring charts to leave for nothing when you have guys like Jamie Murphy going for £100k (potentially 250K)
I understand that there is potential for more money down south, but a top earner at Hibs will still take home a decent wage. would love it if we got him long term giving us a decent sell on value.
Rod is running out of infrastructure to invest the cash in so maybe... just maybe, us fans would see him invest in the squad with any future big money sales.
We are all allowed to dream :greengrin
10-01-2013, 05:14 PM
There are that many loop holes in the contracts that us fans really don't know what's actually going on. Thought that might be the case with wolves though, It would be silly of them to allow a guy who currently sits top of the spl scoring charts to leave for nothing when you have guys like Jamie Murphy going for £100k (potentially 250K)
I understand that there is potential for more money down south, but a top earner at Hibs will still take home a decent wage. would love it if we got him long term giving us a decent sell on value.
Rod is running out of infrastructure to invest the cash in so maybe... just maybe, us fans would see him invest in the squad with any future big money sales.
We are all allowed to dream :greengrin
I think this will be the case now, However unless the Fans turn up then there will be no money to invest on the pitch :wink:
10-01-2013, 05:28 PM
I think this will be the case now, However unless the Fans turn up then there will be no money to invest on the pitch :wink:
What's wrong with the pitch now, not that am slating it or that. :greengrin
Rod might fine me. :greengrin
I'm getting a bit fed up reading this tbh. We had the worst result in our history last May & Yams had their best & yet our season ticket sales are only a few hundred lower than the big team's! Given that awful day I'm astonished & hugely proud of the loyalty & resilience of our support this season. If our team, management & owners had performed as well as our support over the last few years, then we would be in a far better place than we currently are.
10-01-2013, 06:15 PM
I'm getting a bit fed up reading this tbh. We had the worst result in our history last May & Yams had their best & yet our season ticket sales are only a few hundred lower than the big team's! Given that awful day I'm astonished & hugely proud of the loyalty & resilience of our support this season. If our team, management & owners had performed as well as our support over the last few years, then we would be in a far better place than we currently are.
Good points mate
GGTTH07
10-01-2013, 06:20 PM
Can guarantee that he is in fact staying till at LEAST the eots. Hint. :aok:
10-01-2013, 06:41 PM
Can guarantee that he is in fact staying till at LEAST the eots. Hint. :aok:
Hope you are the other posters are correct
10-01-2013, 06:42 PM
WestEndHibee
10-01-2013, 06:48 PM
Maybe (probably) foolish of me but, I was just taking it for granted that his "I want to stay at Easter Road" comment was one of actual commitment. :wink:
Well he is staying at Easter road. It's just on a loan.